Version PREVIEW Practice 8 carroll (11108) 1

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Version PREVIEW Practice 8 carroll (11108) 1"

Transcription

1 Version PREVIEW Practice 8 carroll This print-out should have 12 questions. Multiple-choice questions may continue on the net column or page find all choices before answering. Inertia of Solids points A circular disk, a ring, and a square have the same mass M and width 2 r points A small metallic bob is suspended from the ceiling by a thread of negligible mass. The ball is then set in motion in a horizontal circle so that the thread describes a cone. The acceleration of gravity is 9.8 m/s 2. ring disk square 9.8 m/s m 2 r 2 r 2 r For the moment of inertia about their center of mass about an ais perpendicular to the plane of the paper, which statement concerning their moments of inertia is true? 1. I square > I ring > I disk correct v 5 kg Calculate the magnitude of the angular momentum of the bob about the supporting point. Correct answer: kg m 2 /s. 2. I disk > I square > I ring 3. I disk > I ring > I square Basic Concepts: Angular Momentum 4. I square > I disk > I ring 5. I ring > I disk > I square L = m r v. 6. I ring > I square > I disk In the ring, the same mass of the disk is concentrated at the maimum distance from the ais, so I ring > I disk. Note: In this problem r and v are perpendicular, where r = l sin. In the square, the same mass of the ring lies at distances which are between r and r 2 at least the radius of the ring, so I square > I ring and I square > I ring > I disk. Let : l = 2.4 m, = 34, g = 9.8 m/s 2, m = 5 kg. and Conical Pendulum 04 Use the free body diagram below.

2 T Version PREVIEW Practice 8 carroll bar is fastened by a pivot at one end to a wall which is at an angle with respect to the horizontal. The bar is held horizontal by a vertical cord that is fastened to the bar at a distance a distance from the wall. A mass m 2 is suspended from the free end of the bar. T mg Solution: The second Newton s law in the vertical and horizontal projections, respectively, in our case reads T cos mg = 0 T sin mω 2 l sin = 0, where T is the force with which the wire acts on the bob and the radius of the orbit is R = l sin. From this system of equations we find g ω = l cos = 9.8 m/s m cos34 = rad/s. The angular momentum L then will amount to L = mω l sin 2 g l = m sin 2 3 cos = 5 kg sin m/s m 3 cos34 = kg m 2 /s. L Find the tension T in the cord. 1. T = 0 2. T = 2 m 1 + m 2 m 1 m 2 g correct 3. T = m 1 + m 2 g cos 4. T = 2 m 1 + m 2 g cos cord L g 5. T = m 1 + m T = m L 2 m 2 g cord 7. T = m L 2 m 2 g cos cord 8. T = m L 2 m 2 g sin cord 9. T = 2 m 1 + m 2 g sin 10. T = m 1 + m 2 g sin Basic Concepts: Static Equilibrium: F = 0. Beam on a Slanted Wall part 1 of points A solid bar of length L has a mass m 1. The τ = 0. Torque: τ = r F = r F

3 Version PREVIEW Practice 8 carroll We can begin by either summing the torques or the forces and setting them equal to zero. In this case, since we know little about the reaction force between the bar and the wall, it is easiest to begin by eamining the torques around the connection between the bar and the wall, because the reaction forces will produce no torques around that point. τ = L m2 g + T L 2 m 1 g = 0. Solving this for T gives T = 2 m 1 + m 2 g. 004 part 2 of points Find the the horizontal component of the force eerted on the bar by the wall. Take the positive direction to be right. 1. F = m 1 + m 2 g cos 2. F = m 1 + m 2 g sin 3. F = 2 m 1 + m 2 g cos cord L g 4. F = m 1 + m F = m L 2 m 2 g sin cord 6. F = m L 2 m 2 g cord 7. F = 2 m 1 + m 2 g sin 8. F = 0 correct 9. F = 2 m 1 + m F = m L 2 m 2 g g cos In general, there will be a horizontal reaction force R at the connection between an object and a wall. However, none of the other forces in this situation act in the horizontal direction. Therefore: F = R = 0. Rotation of a Solid Disk points A uniform solid disk of radius 6.85 m and mass 34.8 kg is free to rotate on a frictionless pivot through a point on its rim. Pivot 6.85 m If the disk is released from rest in the position shown by the solid circle, what is the speed of its center of mass when the disk reaches the position indicated by the dashed circle? The acceleration of gravity is 9.8 m/s 2. Correct answer: m/s. Let : r = 6.85 m and m = 34.8 kg. From the parallel ais theorem I = 1 2 M R2 + M R 2 = 3 2 M R2. so the final kinetic energy is K f = M R2 = M v 2 ω 2 = 3 4 M v2 = 3 4 M R2 ω 2. From conservation of energy K + U i = K + U f 0 + M g R = 1 2 I ω2 M g R = 3 4 M R2 ω 2 4 g ω = 3 R

4 Version PREVIEW Practice 8 carroll Hence the velocity of the center of mass is v cm = ω R R g = m 9.8 m/s = = m/s. Alternate Solution The kinetic energy is K total f keywords: = K rotational f cm linear + Kf K f = M R2 ω M v2 = M v M v2 = 3 4 M v2 = 3 4 M R2 ω 2. Solid Sphere on an Incline part 1 of points A solid sphere of radius 34 cm is positioned at the top of an incline that makes 26 angle with the horizontal. This initial position of the sphere is a vertical distance 1.6 m above its position when at the bottom of the incline. The sphere is released and moves down the incline. 34 cm l µ M m Calculate the speed of the sphere when it reaches the bottom of the incline if it rolls without slipping. The acceleration of gravity is 9.8 m/s 2. The moment of inertia of a sphere with respect to an ais through its center is 2 5 M R2. Correct answer: m/s. From conservation of energy we have U i = K trans,f + K rot,f M g h = 1 2 M v I ω2 = 1 2 M v v M R2 R 2 = 7 10 M v2.v 1 = 10 = m/s2 1.6 m = m/s g h 007 part 2 of points Calculate the speed of the sphere if it reaches the bottom of the incline by slipping frictionlessly without rolling. Correct answer: 5.6 m/s. From conservation of energy we have U i = K trans,f M g h = 1 2 M v2 v 2 = 2 g h = m/s m = 5.6 m/s. keywords: /* If you use any of these, fi the comment symbols. g=9.8 ; * u=m/s 2 h = e 34; u = J s Someof yourvariablesresembleconstants. Airplane Momentum 008 part 1 of points An airplane of mass kg flies level to the ground at an altitude of 16 km with a constant speed of 172 m/s relative to the Earth. What is the magnitude of the airplane s angular momentum relative to a ground observer directly below the airplane in kg m 2 /s? Correct answer: kg m 2 /s.

5 Version PREVIEW Practice 8 carroll Since the observer is directly below the airplane, L = h mv 009 part 2 of points Does this value change as the airplane continues its motion along a straight line? 1. Yes. L changes with certain period as the airplane moves. 2. Yes. L decreases as the airplane moves. 3. Yes. L increases as the airplane moves. 4. No. L = constant. correct 5. Yes. L changes in a random pattern as the airplane moves. L = constant since the perpendicular distance from the line of flight to Earth s surface doesn t change. Asteroid Collision 010 part 1 of points Consider an Earth-like planet hit by an asteroid. The planet has mass M p = kg and radius R p = m, and you may approimate it as a solid ball of uniform density. It rotates on its ais once every T = 16 hr. The asteroid has mass M a = kg and speed v a = m/s relative to the planet s center; its velocity vector points = 70 below the Eastward horizontal. The impact happens at an equatorial location. The picture below shows the view from above the planet s North pole: ω R v m First, calculate the planet s angular momentum relative to its spin ais before the impact. Correct answer: kg m 2 /s. Basic Concept: A rigid body rotating around a fied ais has angular momentum L = I ω where I is the body s moment of inertia about the ais of rotation. Approimating the planet as a solid ball of uniform density, its moment of inertia is I p = 2 5 M R2 = kg m 2. Its angular velocity before the impact is ω = 2 π T = rad/s, so L = I ω = I ω = kg m rad/s = kg m 2 /s. 011 part 2 of points Calculate the asteroid s angular momentum relative to the planetary ais. Correct answer: kg m 2 /s. Approimating the asteroid as a pointlike particle, its angular momentum is L a = R M a v a where R is the asteroid s radius vector and M a v a is its linear momentum vector. At the moment of impact, both the radius vector R and the momentum vector M a v a of the asteroid lie in the planet s equatorial plane. Consequently, their vector product is perpendicular to the equatorial plane and

6 Version PREVIEW Practice 8 carroll parallel to the planet ais. Because the horizontal component of the asteroid s velocity is directed Eastward the same as the planet s rotation the asteroid s angular momentum L a has the same direction as the planet s angular momentum L p. In magnitude, L a = R p M a horizontal component of v a = R p M a v a cos = m kg m/s cos70 = kg m 2 /s. 012 part 3 of points The impact is totally inelastic the asteroid is stuck in the planet s crust. But thanks to the asteroid s angular momentum, the planet rotates faster after the impact than it did before. By how many seconds has the collision shortened the planetary day? For simplicity, ignore the effect of the asteroid s mass on the planet s moment of inertia and assume I after = I before planet. Warning: At intermediate stages of this calculation, do not round off intermediate results and keep at least 7 significant digits. Correct answer: s. The net angular momentum is conserved in this collision, so after the impact the planet with the asteroid stuck in its crust has and since we assume unchanged moment of inertia I p = I p, it follows that after the impact, the planet rotates at new angular velocity ω = L p I p In other words, = ω + R p M a v a cos I p. ω = ω ω = R p M a v a cos I p = 5 M a v a cos 2 M p R p = rad/s. In terms of the planetary day, this change means T = T T = 2 π ω 2 π ω = 2 πω ω ω ω = 2 π ω 1 ω + ω ω = 2 π rad/s rad/s rad/s = s, where ω + ω = rad/s rad/s = rad/s. L p = L p + L a. Focusing on the Northward component of L the other two components vanish, we have L p = L p + L a At the same time, = I p ω + R p M a v a cos. L p = I P ω,

Homework 4. problems: 5.61, 5.67, 6.63, 13.21

Homework 4. problems: 5.61, 5.67, 6.63, 13.21 Homework 4 problems: 5.6, 5.67, 6.6,. Problem 5.6 An object of mass M is held in place by an applied force F. and a pulley system as shown in the figure. he pulleys are massless and frictionless. Find

More information

PHYSICS 111 HOMEWORK SOLUTION #10. April 8, 2013

PHYSICS 111 HOMEWORK SOLUTION #10. April 8, 2013 PHYSICS HOMEWORK SOLUTION #0 April 8, 203 0. Find the net torque on the wheel in the figure below about the axle through O, taking a = 6.0 cm and b = 30.0 cm. A torque that s produced by a force can be

More information

Physics 2A, Sec B00: Mechanics -- Winter 2011 Instructor: B. Grinstein Final Exam

Physics 2A, Sec B00: Mechanics -- Winter 2011 Instructor: B. Grinstein Final Exam Physics 2A, Sec B00: Mechanics -- Winter 2011 Instructor: B. Grinstein Final Exam INSTRUCTIONS: Use a pencil #2 to fill your scantron. Write your code number and bubble it in under "EXAM NUMBER;" an entry

More information

PHYS 211 FINAL FALL 2004 Form A

PHYS 211 FINAL FALL 2004 Form A 1. Two boys with masses of 40 kg and 60 kg are holding onto either end of a 10 m long massless pole which is initially at rest and floating in still water. They pull themselves along the pole toward each

More information

Physics 1A Lecture 10C

Physics 1A Lecture 10C Physics 1A Lecture 10C "If you neglect to recharge a battery, it dies. And if you run full speed ahead without stopping for water, you lose momentum to finish the race. --Oprah Winfrey Static Equilibrium

More information

F N A) 330 N 0.31 B) 310 N 0.33 C) 250 N 0.27 D) 290 N 0.30 E) 370 N 0.26

F N A) 330 N 0.31 B) 310 N 0.33 C) 250 N 0.27 D) 290 N 0.30 E) 370 N 0.26 Physics 23 Exam 2 Spring 2010 Dr. Alward Page 1 1. A 250-N force is directed horizontally as shown to push a 29-kg box up an inclined plane at a constant speed. Determine the magnitude of the normal force,

More information

C B A T 3 T 2 T 1. 1. What is the magnitude of the force T 1? A) 37.5 N B) 75.0 N C) 113 N D) 157 N E) 192 N

C B A T 3 T 2 T 1. 1. What is the magnitude of the force T 1? A) 37.5 N B) 75.0 N C) 113 N D) 157 N E) 192 N Three boxes are connected by massless strings and are resting on a frictionless table. Each box has a mass of 15 kg, and the tension T 1 in the right string is accelerating the boxes to the right at a

More information

IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT WEBASSIGN:

IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT WEBASSIGN: Week 8 homework IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT WEBASSIGN: In the WebAssign versions of these problems, various details have been changed, so that the answers will come out differently. The method to find the solution

More information

PHYSICS 111 HOMEWORK SOLUTION #10. April 10, 2013

PHYSICS 111 HOMEWORK SOLUTION #10. April 10, 2013 PHYSICS 111 HOMEWORK SOLUTION #10 April 10, 013 0.1 Given M = 4 i + j 3 k and N = i j 5 k, calculate the vector product M N. By simply following the rules of the cross product: i i = j j = k k = 0 i j

More information

Midterm Solutions. mvr = ω f (I wheel + I bullet ) = ω f 2 MR2 + mr 2 ) ω f = v R. 1 + M 2m

Midterm Solutions. mvr = ω f (I wheel + I bullet ) = ω f 2 MR2 + mr 2 ) ω f = v R. 1 + M 2m Midterm Solutions I) A bullet of mass m moving at horizontal velocity v strikes and sticks to the rim of a wheel a solid disc) of mass M, radius R, anchored at its center but free to rotate i) Which of

More information

Center of Gravity. We touched on this briefly in chapter 7! x 2

Center of Gravity. We touched on this briefly in chapter 7! x 2 Center of Gravity We touched on this briefly in chapter 7! x 1 x 2 cm m 1 m 2 This was for what is known as discrete objects. Discrete refers to the fact that the two objects separated and individual.

More information

Rotational inertia (moment of inertia)

Rotational inertia (moment of inertia) Rotational inertia (moment of inertia) Define rotational inertia (moment of inertia) to be I = Σ m i r i 2 or r i : the perpendicular distance between m i and the given rotation axis m 1 m 2 x 1 x 2 Moment

More information

PHY121 #8 Midterm I 3.06.2013

PHY121 #8 Midterm I 3.06.2013 PHY11 #8 Midterm I 3.06.013 AP Physics- Newton s Laws AP Exam Multiple Choice Questions #1 #4 1. When the frictionless system shown above is accelerated by an applied force of magnitude F, the tension

More information

Chapter 5 Using Newton s Laws: Friction, Circular Motion, Drag Forces. Copyright 2009 Pearson Education, Inc.

Chapter 5 Using Newton s Laws: Friction, Circular Motion, Drag Forces. Copyright 2009 Pearson Education, Inc. Chapter 5 Using Newton s Laws: Friction, Circular Motion, Drag Forces Units of Chapter 5 Applications of Newton s Laws Involving Friction Uniform Circular Motion Kinematics Dynamics of Uniform Circular

More information

PHY231 Section 2, Form A March 22, 2012. 1. Which one of the following statements concerning kinetic energy is true?

PHY231 Section 2, Form A March 22, 2012. 1. Which one of the following statements concerning kinetic energy is true? 1. Which one of the following statements concerning kinetic energy is true? A) Kinetic energy can be measured in watts. B) Kinetic energy is always equal to the potential energy. C) Kinetic energy is always

More information

Solution Derivations for Capa #11

Solution Derivations for Capa #11 Solution Derivations for Capa #11 1) A horizontal circular platform (M = 128.1 kg, r = 3.11 m) rotates about a frictionless vertical axle. A student (m = 68.3 kg) walks slowly from the rim of the platform

More information

Rotation: Moment of Inertia and Torque

Rotation: Moment of Inertia and Torque Rotation: Moment of Inertia and Torque Every time we push a door open or tighten a bolt using a wrench, we apply a force that results in a rotational motion about a fixed axis. Through experience we learn

More information

PHY231 Section 1, Form B March 22, 2012

PHY231 Section 1, Form B March 22, 2012 1. A car enters a horizontal, curved roadbed of radius 50 m. The coefficient of static friction between the tires and the roadbed is 0.20. What is the maximum speed with which the car can safely negotiate

More information

Chapter 13, example problems: x (cm) 10.0

Chapter 13, example problems: x (cm) 10.0 Chapter 13, example problems: (13.04) Reading Fig. 13-30 (reproduced on the right): (a) Frequency f = 1/ T = 1/ (16s) = 0.0625 Hz. (since the figure shows that T/2 is 8 s.) (b) The amplitude is 10 cm.

More information

Physics 41 HW Set 1 Chapter 15

Physics 41 HW Set 1 Chapter 15 Physics 4 HW Set Chapter 5 Serway 8 th OC:, 4, 7 CQ: 4, 8 P: 4, 5, 8, 8, 0, 9,, 4, 9, 4, 5, 5 Discussion Problems:, 57, 59, 67, 74 OC CQ P: 4, 5, 8, 8, 0, 9,, 4, 9, 4, 5, 5 Discussion Problems:, 57, 59,

More information

Lecture 17. Last time we saw that the rotational analog of Newton s 2nd Law is

Lecture 17. Last time we saw that the rotational analog of Newton s 2nd Law is Lecture 17 Rotational Dynamics Rotational Kinetic Energy Stress and Strain and Springs Cutnell+Johnson: 9.4-9.6, 10.1-10.2 Rotational Dynamics (some more) Last time we saw that the rotational analog of

More information

Chapter 10 Rotational Motion. Copyright 2009 Pearson Education, Inc.

Chapter 10 Rotational Motion. Copyright 2009 Pearson Education, Inc. Chapter 10 Rotational Motion Angular Quantities Units of Chapter 10 Vector Nature of Angular Quantities Constant Angular Acceleration Torque Rotational Dynamics; Torque and Rotational Inertia Solving Problems

More information

Physics 201 Homework 8

Physics 201 Homework 8 Physics 201 Homework 8 Feb 27, 2013 1. A ceiling fan is turned on and a net torque of 1.8 N-m is applied to the blades. 8.2 rad/s 2 The blades have a total moment of inertia of 0.22 kg-m 2. What is the

More information

circular motion & gravitation physics 111N

circular motion & gravitation physics 111N circular motion & gravitation physics 111N uniform circular motion an object moving around a circle at a constant rate must have an acceleration always perpendicular to the velocity (else the speed would

More information

VIII. Magnetic Fields - Worked Examples

VIII. Magnetic Fields - Worked Examples MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY Department of Physics 8.0 Spring 003 VIII. Magnetic Fields - Worked Examples Example : Rolling rod A rod with a mass m and a radius R is mounted on two parallel rails

More information

Acceleration due to Gravity

Acceleration due to Gravity Acceleration due to Gravity 1 Object To determine the acceleration due to gravity by different methods. 2 Apparatus Balance, ball bearing, clamps, electric timers, meter stick, paper strips, precision

More information

Answer, Key { Homework 6 { Rubin H Landau 1 This print-out should have 24 questions. Check that it is complete before leaving the printer. Also, multiple-choice questions may continue on the next column

More information

Chapter 24 Physical Pendulum

Chapter 24 Physical Pendulum Chapter 4 Physical Pendulum 4.1 Introduction... 1 4.1.1 Simple Pendulum: Torque Approach... 1 4. Physical Pendulum... 4.3 Worked Examples... 4 Example 4.1 Oscillating Rod... 4 Example 4.3 Torsional Oscillator...

More information

NEWTON S LAWS OF MOTION

NEWTON S LAWS OF MOTION NEWTON S LAWS OF MOTION Background: Aristotle believed that the natural state of motion for objects on the earth was one of rest. In other words, objects needed a force to be kept in motion. Galileo studied

More information

5.2 Rotational Kinematics, Moment of Inertia

5.2 Rotational Kinematics, Moment of Inertia 5 ANGULAR MOTION 5.2 Rotational Kinematics, Moment of Inertia Name: 5.2 Rotational Kinematics, Moment of Inertia 5.2.1 Rotational Kinematics In (translational) kinematics, we started out with the position

More information

www.mathsbox.org.uk Displacement (x) Velocity (v) Acceleration (a) x = f(t) differentiate v = dx Acceleration Velocity (v) Displacement x

www.mathsbox.org.uk Displacement (x) Velocity (v) Acceleration (a) x = f(t) differentiate v = dx Acceleration Velocity (v) Displacement x Mechanics 2 : Revision Notes 1. Kinematics and variable acceleration Displacement (x) Velocity (v) Acceleration (a) x = f(t) differentiate v = dx differentiate a = dv = d2 x dt dt dt 2 Acceleration Velocity

More information

Ph\sics 2210 Fall 2012 - Novcmbcr 21 David Ailion

Ph\sics 2210 Fall 2012 - Novcmbcr 21 David Ailion Ph\sics 2210 Fall 2012 - Novcmbcr 21 David Ailion Unid: Discussion T A: Bryant Justin Will Yuan 1 Place answers in box provided for each question. Specify units for each answer. Circle correct answer(s)

More information

AP Physics Circular Motion Practice Test B,B,B,A,D,D,C,B,D,B,E,E,E, 14. 6.6m/s, 0.4 N, 1.5 m, 6.3m/s, 15. 12.9 m/s, 22.9 m/s

AP Physics Circular Motion Practice Test B,B,B,A,D,D,C,B,D,B,E,E,E, 14. 6.6m/s, 0.4 N, 1.5 m, 6.3m/s, 15. 12.9 m/s, 22.9 m/s AP Physics Circular Motion Practice Test B,B,B,A,D,D,C,B,D,B,E,E,E, 14. 6.6m/s, 0.4 N, 1.5 m, 6.3m/s, 15. 12.9 m/s, 22.9 m/s Answer the multiple choice questions (2 Points Each) on this sheet with capital

More information

Chapter 13. Gravitation

Chapter 13. Gravitation Chapter 13 Gravitation 13.2 Newton s Law of Gravitation In vector notation: Here m 1 and m 2 are the masses of the particles, r is the distance between them, and G is the gravitational constant. G = 6.67

More information

Unit 4 Practice Test: Rotational Motion

Unit 4 Practice Test: Rotational Motion Unit 4 Practice Test: Rotational Motion Multiple Guess Identify the letter of the choice that best completes the statement or answers the question. 1. How would an angle in radians be converted to an angle

More information

Angular acceleration α

Angular acceleration α Angular Acceleration Angular acceleration α measures how rapidly the angular velocity is changing: Slide 7-0 Linear and Circular Motion Compared Slide 7- Linear and Circular Kinematics Compared Slide 7-

More information

Chapter 11. h = 5m. = mgh + 1 2 mv 2 + 1 2 Iω 2. E f. = E i. v = 4 3 g(h h) = 4 3 9.8m / s2 (8m 5m) = 6.26m / s. ω = v r = 6.

Chapter 11. h = 5m. = mgh + 1 2 mv 2 + 1 2 Iω 2. E f. = E i. v = 4 3 g(h h) = 4 3 9.8m / s2 (8m 5m) = 6.26m / s. ω = v r = 6. Chapter 11 11.7 A solid cylinder of radius 10cm and mass 1kg starts from rest and rolls without slipping a distance of 6m down a house roof that is inclined at 30 degrees (a) What is the angular speed

More information

Sample Questions for the AP Physics 1 Exam

Sample Questions for the AP Physics 1 Exam Sample Questions for the AP Physics 1 Exam Sample Questions for the AP Physics 1 Exam Multiple-choice Questions Note: To simplify calculations, you may use g 5 10 m/s 2 in all problems. Directions: Each

More information

Exemplar Problems Physics

Exemplar Problems Physics Chapter Eight GRAVITATION MCQ I 8.1 The earth is an approximate sphere. If the interior contained matter which is not of the same density everywhere, then on the surface of the earth, the acceleration

More information

Exam 3 Review Questions PHY Exam 3

Exam 3 Review Questions PHY Exam 3 Exam 3 Review Questions PHY 2425 - Exam 3 Section: 8 1 Topic: Conservation of Linear Momentum Type: Numerical 1 An automobile of mass 1300 kg has an initial velocity of 7.20 m/s toward the north and a

More information

B) 40.8 m C) 19.6 m D) None of the other choices is correct. Answer: B

B) 40.8 m C) 19.6 m D) None of the other choices is correct. Answer: B Practice Test 1 1) Abby throws a ball straight up and times it. She sees that the ball goes by the top of a flagpole after 0.60 s and reaches the level of the top of the pole after a total elapsed time

More information

226 Chapter 15: OSCILLATIONS

226 Chapter 15: OSCILLATIONS Chapter 15: OSCILLATIONS 1. In simple harmonic motion, the restoring force must be proportional to the: A. amplitude B. frequency C. velocity D. displacement E. displacement squared 2. An oscillatory motion

More information

Chapter 13 - Gravity. David J. Starling Penn State Hazleton Fall Chapter 13 - Gravity. Objectives (Ch 13) Newton s Law of Gravitation

Chapter 13 - Gravity. David J. Starling Penn State Hazleton Fall Chapter 13 - Gravity. Objectives (Ch 13) Newton s Law of Gravitation The moon is essentially gray, no color. It looks like plaster of Paris, like dirty beach sand with lots of footprints in it. -James A. Lovell (from the Apollo 13 mission) David J. Starling Penn State Hazleton

More information

3600 s 1 h. 24 h 1 day. 1 day

3600 s 1 h. 24 h 1 day. 1 day Week 7 homework IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT WEBASSIGN: In the WebAssign versions of these problems, various details have been changed, so that the answers will come out differently. The method to find the solution

More information

Physics 125 Practice Exam #3 Chapters 6-7 Professor Siegel

Physics 125 Practice Exam #3 Chapters 6-7 Professor Siegel Physics 125 Practice Exam #3 Chapters 6-7 Professor Siegel Name: Lab Day: 1. A concrete block is pulled 7.0 m across a frictionless surface by means of a rope. The tension in the rope is 40 N; and the

More information

1) The gure below shows the position of a particle (moving along a straight line) as a function of time. Which of the following statements is true?

1) The gure below shows the position of a particle (moving along a straight line) as a function of time. Which of the following statements is true? Physics 2A, Sec C00: Mechanics -- Winter 2011 Instructor: B. Grinstein Final Exam INSTRUCTIONS: Use a pencil #2 to ll your scantron. Write your code number and bubble it in under "EXAM NUMBER;" an entry

More information

11. Rotation Translational Motion: Rotational Motion:

11. Rotation Translational Motion: Rotational Motion: 11. Rotation Translational Motion: Motion of the center of mass of an object from one position to another. All the motion discussed so far belongs to this category, except uniform circular motion. Rotational

More information

AP Physics C. Oscillations/SHM Review Packet

AP Physics C. Oscillations/SHM Review Packet AP Physics C Oscillations/SHM Review Packet 1. A 0.5 kg mass on a spring has a displacement as a function of time given by the equation x(t) = 0.8Cos(πt). Find the following: a. The time for one complete

More information

Homework #8 203-1-1721 Physics 2 for Students of Mechanical Engineering. Part A

Homework #8 203-1-1721 Physics 2 for Students of Mechanical Engineering. Part A Homework #8 203-1-1721 Physics 2 for Students of Mechanical Engineering Part A 1. Four particles follow the paths shown in Fig. 32-33 below as they pass through the magnetic field there. What can one conclude

More information

Lecture 07: Work and Kinetic Energy. Physics 2210 Fall Semester 2014

Lecture 07: Work and Kinetic Energy. Physics 2210 Fall Semester 2014 Lecture 07: Work and Kinetic Energy Physics 2210 Fall Semester 2014 Announcements Schedule next few weeks: 9/08 Unit 3 9/10 Unit 4 9/15 Unit 5 (guest lecturer) 9/17 Unit 6 (guest lecturer) 9/22 Unit 7,

More information

Physics: Principles and Applications, 6e Giancoli Chapter 4 Dynamics: Newton's Laws of Motion

Physics: Principles and Applications, 6e Giancoli Chapter 4 Dynamics: Newton's Laws of Motion Physics: Principles and Applications, 6e Giancoli Chapter 4 Dynamics: Newton's Laws of Motion Conceptual Questions 1) Which of Newton's laws best explains why motorists should buckle-up? A) the first law

More information

Problem Set V Solutions

Problem Set V Solutions Problem Set V Solutions. Consider masses m, m 2, m 3 at x, x 2, x 3. Find X, the C coordinate by finding X 2, the C of mass of and 2, and combining it with m 3. Show this is gives the same result as 3

More information

Halliday, Resnick & Walker Chapter 13. Gravitation. Physics 1A PHYS1121 Professor Michael Burton

Halliday, Resnick & Walker Chapter 13. Gravitation. Physics 1A PHYS1121 Professor Michael Burton Halliday, Resnick & Walker Chapter 13 Gravitation Physics 1A PHYS1121 Professor Michael Burton II_A2: Planetary Orbits in the Solar System + Galaxy Interactions (You Tube) 21 seconds 13-1 Newton's Law

More information

TIME OF COMPLETION DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL SCIENCES. PHYS 2212, Exam 2 Section 1 Version 1 April 16, 2014 Total Weight: 100 points

TIME OF COMPLETION DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL SCIENCES. PHYS 2212, Exam 2 Section 1 Version 1 April 16, 2014 Total Weight: 100 points TIME OF COMPLETION NAME DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL SCIENCES PHYS 2212, Exam 2 Section 1 Version 1 April 16, 2014 Total Weight: 100 points 1. Check your examination for completeness prior to starting. There

More information

charge is detonated, causing the smaller glider with mass M, to move off to the right at 5 m/s. What is the

charge is detonated, causing the smaller glider with mass M, to move off to the right at 5 m/s. What is the This test covers momentum, impulse, conservation of momentum, elastic collisions, inelastic collisions, perfectly inelastic collisions, 2-D collisions, and center-of-mass, with some problems requiring

More information

Halliday, Resnick & Walker Chapter 13. Gravitation. Physics 1A PHYS1121 Professor Michael Burton

Halliday, Resnick & Walker Chapter 13. Gravitation. Physics 1A PHYS1121 Professor Michael Burton Halliday, Resnick & Walker Chapter 13 Gravitation Physics 1A PHYS1121 Professor Michael Burton II_A2: Planetary Orbits in the Solar System + Galaxy Interactions (You Tube) 21 seconds 13-1 Newton's Law

More information

AP Physics Newton's Laws Practice Test

AP Physics Newton's Laws Practice Test AP Physics Newton's Laws Practice Test Answers: A,D,C,D,C,E,D,B,A,B,C,C,A,A 15. (b) both are 2.8 m/s 2 (c) 22.4 N (d) 1 s, 2.8 m/s 16. (a) 12.5 N, 3.54 m/s 2 (b) 5.3 kg 1. Two blocks are pushed along a

More information

Lecture 16. Newton s Second Law for Rotation. Moment of Inertia. Angular momentum. Cutnell+Johnson: 9.4, 9.6

Lecture 16. Newton s Second Law for Rotation. Moment of Inertia. Angular momentum. Cutnell+Johnson: 9.4, 9.6 Lecture 16 Newton s Second Law for Rotation Moment of Inertia Angular momentum Cutnell+Johnson: 9.4, 9.6 Newton s Second Law for Rotation Newton s second law says how a net force causes an acceleration.

More information

Chapter 7 Homework solutions

Chapter 7 Homework solutions Chapter 7 Homework solutions 8 Strategy Use the component form of the definition of center of mass Solution Find the location of the center of mass Find x and y ma xa + mbxb (50 g)(0) + (10 g)(5 cm) x

More information

Tennessee State University

Tennessee State University Tennessee State University Dept. of Physics & Mathematics PHYS 2010 CF SU 2009 Name 30% Time is 2 hours. Cheating will give you an F-grade. Other instructions will be given in the Hall. MULTIPLE CHOICE.

More information

Torque Analyses of a Sliding Ladder

Torque Analyses of a Sliding Ladder Torque Analyses of a Sliding Ladder 1 Problem Kirk T. McDonald Joseph Henry Laboratories, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ 08544 (May 6, 2007) The problem of a ladder that slides without friction while

More information

Dynamics of Iain M. Banks Orbitals. Richard Kennaway. 12 October 2005

Dynamics of Iain M. Banks Orbitals. Richard Kennaway. 12 October 2005 Dynamics of Iain M. Banks Orbitals Richard Kennaway 12 October 2005 Note This is a draft in progress, and as such may contain errors. Please do not cite this without permission. 1 The problem An Orbital

More information

Objective: Equilibrium Applications of Newton s Laws of Motion I

Objective: Equilibrium Applications of Newton s Laws of Motion I Type: Single Date: Objective: Equilibrium Applications of Newton s Laws of Motion I Homework: Assignment (1-11) Read (4.1-4.5, 4.8, 4.11); Do PROB # s (46, 47, 52, 58) Ch. 4 AP Physics B Mr. Mirro Equilibrium,

More information

8.012 Physics I: Classical Mechanics Fall 2008

8.012 Physics I: Classical Mechanics Fall 2008 MIT OpenCourseWare http://ocw.mit.edu 8.012 Physics I: Classical Mechanics Fall 2008 For information about citing these materials or our Terms of Use, visit: http://ocw.mit.edu/terms. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE

More information

Chapter 8: Rotational Motion of Solid Objects

Chapter 8: Rotational Motion of Solid Objects Chapter 8: Rotational Motion of Solid Objects 1. An isolated object is initially spinning at a constant speed. Then, although no external forces act upon it, its rotational speed increases. This must be

More information

CHAPTER 6 WORK AND ENERGY

CHAPTER 6 WORK AND ENERGY CHAPTER 6 WORK AND ENERGY CONCEPTUAL QUESTIONS. REASONING AND SOLUTION The work done by F in moving the box through a displacement s is W = ( F cos 0 ) s= Fs. The work done by F is W = ( F cos θ). s From

More information

HW Set VI page 1 of 9 PHYSICS 1401 (1) homework solutions

HW Set VI page 1 of 9 PHYSICS 1401 (1) homework solutions HW Set VI page 1 of 9 10-30 A 10 g bullet moving directly upward at 1000 m/s strikes and passes through the center of mass of a 5.0 kg block initially at rest (Fig. 10-33 ). The bullet emerges from the

More information

Lecture L22-2D Rigid Body Dynamics: Work and Energy

Lecture L22-2D Rigid Body Dynamics: Work and Energy J. Peraire, S. Widnall 6.07 Dynamics Fall 008 Version.0 Lecture L - D Rigid Body Dynamics: Work and Energy In this lecture, we will revisit the principle of work and energy introduced in lecture L-3 for

More information

No Brain Too Small PHYSICS. 2 kg

No Brain Too Small PHYSICS. 2 kg MECHANICS: ANGULAR MECHANICS QUESTIONS ROTATIONAL MOTION (2014;1) Universal gravitational constant = 6.67 10 11 N m 2 kg 2 (a) The radius of the Sun is 6.96 10 8 m. The equator of the Sun rotates at a

More information

Solution: (a) For a positively charged particle, the direction of the force is that predicted by the right hand rule. These are:

Solution: (a) For a positively charged particle, the direction of the force is that predicted by the right hand rule. These are: Problem 1. (a) Find the direction of the force on a proton (a positively charged particle) moving through the magnetic fields as shown in the figure. (b) Repeat part (a), assuming the moving particle is

More information

Ch 6 Forces. Question: 9 Problems: 3, 5, 13, 23, 29, 31, 37, 41, 45, 47, 55, 79

Ch 6 Forces. Question: 9 Problems: 3, 5, 13, 23, 29, 31, 37, 41, 45, 47, 55, 79 Ch 6 Forces Question: 9 Problems: 3, 5, 13, 23, 29, 31, 37, 41, 45, 47, 55, 79 Friction When is friction present in ordinary life? - car brakes - driving around a turn - walking - rubbing your hands together

More information

Practice Exam Three Solutions

Practice Exam Three Solutions MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY Department of Physics Physics 8.01T Fall Term 2004 Practice Exam Three Solutions Problem 1a) (5 points) Collisions and Center of Mass Reference Frame In the lab frame,

More information

Problem 6.40 and 6.41 Kleppner and Kolenkow Notes by: Rishikesh Vaidya, Physics Group, BITS-Pilani

Problem 6.40 and 6.41 Kleppner and Kolenkow Notes by: Rishikesh Vaidya, Physics Group, BITS-Pilani Problem 6.40 and 6.4 Kleppner and Kolenkow Notes by: Rishikesh Vaidya, Physics Group, BITS-Pilani 6.40 A wheel with fine teeth is attached to the end of a spring with constant k and unstretched length

More information

Lab 7: Rotational Motion

Lab 7: Rotational Motion Lab 7: Rotational Motion Equipment: DataStudio, rotary motion sensor mounted on 80 cm rod and heavy duty bench clamp (PASCO ME-9472), string with loop at one end and small white bead at the other end (125

More information

Problem Set 1. Ans: a = 1.74 m/s 2, t = 4.80 s

Problem Set 1. Ans: a = 1.74 m/s 2, t = 4.80 s Problem Set 1 1.1 A bicyclist starts from rest and after traveling along a straight path a distance of 20 m reaches a speed of 30 km/h. Determine her constant acceleration. How long does it take her to

More information

Two-Body System: Two Hanging Masses

Two-Body System: Two Hanging Masses Specific Outcome: i. I can apply Newton s laws of motion to solve, algebraically, linear motion problems in horizontal, vertical and inclined planes near the surface of Earth, ignoring air resistance.

More information

Phys222 Winter 2012 Quiz 4 Chapters 29-31. Name

Phys222 Winter 2012 Quiz 4 Chapters 29-31. Name Name If you think that no correct answer is provided, give your answer, state your reasoning briefly; append additional sheet of paper if necessary. 1. A particle (q = 5.0 nc, m = 3.0 µg) moves in a region

More information

PHYS 101-4M, Fall 2005 Exam #3. MULTIPLE CHOICE. Choose the one alternative that best completes the statement or answers the question.

PHYS 101-4M, Fall 2005 Exam #3. MULTIPLE CHOICE. Choose the one alternative that best completes the statement or answers the question. PHYS 101-4M, Fall 2005 Exam #3 Name MULTIPLE CHOICE. Choose the one alternative that best completes the statement or answers the question. 1) A bicycle wheel rotates uniformly through 2.0 revolutions in

More information

Newton s Laws of Motion

Newton s Laws of Motion Section 3.2 Newton s Laws of Motion Objectives Analyze relationships between forces and motion Calculate the effects of forces on objects Identify force pairs between objects New Vocabulary Newton s first

More information

Mechanics 2. Revision Notes

Mechanics 2. Revision Notes Mechanics 2 Revision Notes November 2012 Contents 1 Kinematics 3 Constant acceleration in a vertical plane... 3 Variable acceleration... 5 Using vectors... 6 2 Centres of mass 8 Centre of mass of n particles...

More information

Lab 8: Ballistic Pendulum

Lab 8: Ballistic Pendulum Lab 8: Ballistic Pendulum Equipment: Ballistic pendulum apparatus, 2 meter ruler, 30 cm ruler, blank paper, carbon paper, masking tape, scale. Caution In this experiment a steel ball is projected horizontally

More information

Physics 9e/Cutnell. correlated to the. College Board AP Physics 1 Course Objectives

Physics 9e/Cutnell. correlated to the. College Board AP Physics 1 Course Objectives Physics 9e/Cutnell correlated to the College Board AP Physics 1 Course Objectives Big Idea 1: Objects and systems have properties such as mass and charge. Systems may have internal structure. Enduring

More information

CHAPTER 15 FORCE, MASS AND ACCELERATION

CHAPTER 15 FORCE, MASS AND ACCELERATION CHAPTER 5 FORCE, MASS AND ACCELERATION EXERCISE 83, Page 9. A car initially at rest accelerates uniformly to a speed of 55 km/h in 4 s. Determine the accelerating force required if the mass of the car

More information

Problem Set 5 Work and Kinetic Energy Solutions

Problem Set 5 Work and Kinetic Energy Solutions MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY Department o Physics Physics 8.1 Fall 1 Problem Set 5 Work and Kinetic Energy Solutions Problem 1: Work Done by Forces a) Two people push in opposite directions on

More information

Fundamental Mechanics: Supplementary Exercises

Fundamental Mechanics: Supplementary Exercises Phys 131 Fall 2015 Fundamental Mechanics: Supplementary Exercises 1 Motion diagrams: horizontal motion A car moves to the right. For an initial period it slows down and after that it speeds up. Which of

More information

Physics Notes Class 11 CHAPTER 5 LAWS OF MOTION

Physics Notes Class 11 CHAPTER 5 LAWS OF MOTION 1 P a g e Inertia Physics Notes Class 11 CHAPTER 5 LAWS OF MOTION The property of an object by virtue of which it cannot change its state of rest or of uniform motion along a straight line its own, is

More information

Physics 112 Homework 5 (solutions) (2004 Fall) Solutions to Homework Questions 5

Physics 112 Homework 5 (solutions) (2004 Fall) Solutions to Homework Questions 5 Solutions to Homework Questions 5 Chapt19, Problem-2: (a) Find the direction of the force on a proton (a positively charged particle) moving through the magnetic fields in Figure P19.2, as shown. (b) Repeat

More information

Chapter 3.8 & 6 Solutions

Chapter 3.8 & 6 Solutions Chapter 3.8 & 6 Solutions P3.37. Prepare: We are asked to find period, speed and acceleration. Period and frequency are inverses according to Equation 3.26. To find speed we need to know the distance traveled

More information

Physics 1653 Exam 3 - Review Questions

Physics 1653 Exam 3 - Review Questions Physics 1653 Exam 3 - Review Questions 3.0 Two uncharged conducting spheres, A and B, are suspended from insulating threads so that they touch each other. While a negatively charged rod is held near, but

More information

Physics 1120: Simple Harmonic Motion Solutions

Physics 1120: Simple Harmonic Motion Solutions Questions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 Physics 1120: Simple Harmonic Motion Solutions 1. A 1.75 kg particle moves as function of time as follows: x = 4cos(1.33t+π/5) where distance is measured

More information

1. Units of a magnetic field might be: A. C m/s B. C s/m C. C/kg D. kg/c s E. N/C m ans: D

1. Units of a magnetic field might be: A. C m/s B. C s/m C. C/kg D. kg/c s E. N/C m ans: D Chapter 28: MAGNETIC FIELDS 1 Units of a magnetic field might be: A C m/s B C s/m C C/kg D kg/c s E N/C m 2 In the formula F = q v B: A F must be perpendicular to v but not necessarily to B B F must be

More information

TEACHER ANSWER KEY November 12, 2003. Phys - Vectors 11-13-2003

TEACHER ANSWER KEY November 12, 2003. Phys - Vectors 11-13-2003 Phys - Vectors 11-13-2003 TEACHER ANSWER KEY November 12, 2003 5 1. A 1.5-kilogram lab cart is accelerated uniformly from rest to a speed of 2.0 meters per second in 0.50 second. What is the magnitude

More information

At the skate park on the ramp

At the skate park on the ramp At the skate park on the ramp 1 On the ramp When a cart rolls down a ramp, it begins at rest, but starts moving downward upon release covers more distance each second When a cart rolls up a ramp, it rises

More information

Linear Motion vs. Rotational Motion

Linear Motion vs. Rotational Motion Linear Motion vs. Rotational Motion Linear motion involves an object moving from one point to another in a straight line. Rotational motion involves an object rotating about an axis. Examples include a

More information

Chapter 18 Static Equilibrium

Chapter 18 Static Equilibrium Chapter 8 Static Equilibrium 8. Introduction Static Equilibrium... 8. Lever Law... Example 8. Lever Law... 4 8.3 Generalized Lever Law... 5 8.4 Worked Examples... 7 Example 8. Suspended Rod... 7 Example

More information

Rotation. Moment of inertia of a rotating body: w I = r 2 dm

Rotation. Moment of inertia of a rotating body: w I = r 2 dm Rotation Moment of inertia of a rotating body: w I = r 2 dm Usually reasonably easy to calculate when Body has symmetries Rotation axis goes through Center of mass Exams: All moment of inertia will be

More information

Conceptual: 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 16, 18, 19. Problems: 4, 6, 8, 11, 16, 20, 23, 27, 34, 41, 45, 56, 60, 65. Conceptual Questions

Conceptual: 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 16, 18, 19. Problems: 4, 6, 8, 11, 16, 20, 23, 27, 34, 41, 45, 56, 60, 65. Conceptual Questions Conceptual: 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 16, 18, 19 Problems: 4, 6, 8, 11, 16, 20, 23, 27, 34, 41, 45, 56, 60, 65 Conceptual Questions 1. The magnetic field cannot be described as the magnetic force per unit charge

More information

Last Name: First Name: Physics 102 Spring 2007: Exam #1 Multiple-Choice Questions 1. Two small conducting spheres attract one another electrostatically. This can occur for a variety of reasons. Which of

More information

AP Physics: Rotational Dynamics 2

AP Physics: Rotational Dynamics 2 Name: Assignment Due Date: March 30, 2012 AP Physics: Rotational Dynamics 2 Problem A solid cylinder with mass M, radius R, and rotational inertia 1 2 MR2 rolls without slipping down the inclined plane

More information

State Newton's second law of motion for a particle, defining carefully each term used.

State Newton's second law of motion for a particle, defining carefully each term used. 5 Question 1. [Marks 20] An unmarked police car P is, travelling at the legal speed limit, v P, on a straight section of highway. At time t = 0, the police car is overtaken by a car C, which is speeding

More information