Introduction to e-marketing
Introduction Email marketing Search engine marketing Google Adwords Social Media for Tourism Facebook advertising Bringing people to my site
Definitions edm - Electronic Direct Mail an email (standard or newsletter) to a potential customer who has subscribed to email correspondence with you or your business Open Rate - The number or percentage of people from your total pool of edm subscribers who have opened your email CTR - Click-Through-Rate the number or percentage of people from the pool of people who have opened your edm that have clicked on a link in the edm PPC - Pay-per-Click an advertising charge model whereby you only pay for the advert when someone clicks on it CPC - Cost-per-click - the $ value you pay every time a potential customer clicks on one of your search engine or social media adverts CPM - Cost-per-thousand the $ value you pay every thousand times your advert is displayed to potential customers CPA - Cost-per-acquisition the $ value you pay every time a potential customer completes a required action after a click e.g. clicks a lead button or a booking button or buys a ticket Blog Contraction of web log. A discussion or information site consisting of individual posts usually listed in reverse chronological order. Blogs can have single or multiple authors.
Email Marketing
Email Marketing Also known as edm = Electronic Direct Mail Most direct line of communication for conversion to sales Australian average open rate is 21.96% 91.66% of all Australian emails are opened within 72hrs Mobile email opens have increased by 34% Australian average click through rate is 4.24% Source: BrandMails Australian Email Marketing Benchmarks Report 2013
Why Email Marketing? 1. It is personal Direct way of initiating one-to-one conversation Build relationships with customers through regular contact 2. Trusted Customers already opted in to messages from you 3. Measurable Measure open rates, click through rates, bounces etc 4. It works Generally highest ROI in marketing Customers pre-sold and ready to buy 5. Affordable Powerful and cost-effective
Tips for successful email marketing Headlines: Useful Ultra-specific Unique Urgent Content: Interesting and relevant Call to action Tips about your region Make it easy to unsubscribe Link to your site Specials
Tips for successful email marketing (cont..) Important Actions: Create a communications plan Maximise your template dimensions Keep text short and easy to scan Keep email list clean Images alt text, title text and links Test your edm before it is sent Create an HTML and a text only version of your email
Best and Worst Times To Send Email Best Times of Day Consider: 10pm 9am Sleeping 9am 10am Starting Day Emails opened 10am Noon - Focus on work Noon 2pm Lunchtime 2pm 3pm Focus on work 3pm -5 pm Winding down 5pm 7pm Magic moment 7pm 10pm After work activities Best Times of the Week Consider: Test what works for your business Early in the week good for planning trips for next weekend Later in the week good for last minute deals
Search Engine Marketing (Pay-Per-Click)
Search engine marketing Why Search Engines? Market share Global (Desktop): Google 83% Bing 5.63% Yahoo 8.08% You Tube is the second largest search engine In the world and is owned by Google Benefits Speed to market Reach Highly Targeted and Customisable Maximise your ROI by only paying per click Tracking http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bnhr6iqjgzs
Search engine marketing Getting started with your Google AdWords Account Getting started Choose your budget Create your ads Select keywords that match your ads to potential customers Enter your billing information. Campaign Structure cost-per-thousand-impressions, or CPM, bid cost-per-click, or CPC, bid. cost-per-acquisition, or CPA, bid Example: Clicks for your keywords are approx. $0.10. Target 100 clicks per day. $0.10 x 100 = $10 per day (Cost-per-click x Clicks per day = Daily budget) Budget = $10 per day.
Search Engine Marketing Writing a good advert Highlight what makes your product/offer unique Include prices & promotions Tell your customers what they can do Purchase, Call Today, Order, Sign Up Include keywords in your text Your keyword appears bold in the advert Match your ad to your landing page Ensure you ad is able to be viewed on mobile devices Experiment
Search Engine Marketing Other Directory Listings PAID Yellow Pages (Sensis) Google Adwords Reachlocal Truelocal Citysearch FREE Hotfrog ATDW Truelocal Gumtree Start Local Benefits Instant traffic Benefits Free 14
Social Media for Tourism
Social Media is now Mass Media Channel Australia % AU Pop n NZ % NZ Pop n Facebook 11.7 million 50.92% 2.27 million 50.89% YouTube 9.92 million 43.29% 2.07 million 46.39% LinkedIn 3.98 million 17.33% 743,000 16.66% Twitter 2.97 million 12.95% 396,000 8.89% WordPress 1.76 million 7.68% 343,000 7.69% Pinterest 1.46 million 6.52% 188,000 4.21% Flickr 1.2 million 5.24% 140,000 3.14% Instagram 916,000 3.99% 182,000 4.08% Tripadvisor 730,000 3.18% 243,000 5.46% Benefits Free Easy to setup Target potential customers Challenges Will require time to monitor and maintain Advertising will cost 16
Social Media for Tourism Facebook Do s: Do post regularly relevant content Do have great photos, links, videos Do keep business separate from personal Do offer value and incentive to be liked Don ts: Don t use personal for business, it violates terms of service Don t talk to clients the way you talk to friends Don t try to flog your product constantly Don t forget to check your page daily Statistics Users Worldwide % Global Use AU Users 1.2 billion 11% 11.7 million
Social Media for Tourism Google + Benefits: Growing fast Google+ influences search ranking Similar to Facebook but you can allocate followers to groups and target messages Challenges: Time Statistics Users Worldwide 135 million Daily Use 60% Resources
Social Media for Tourism Twitter Benefits: Communicating Generating Leads Researching trends Seeking Feedback Customer service Challenges: Time Resources Spamming Statistics Users Worldwide 485 million Daily Use 20% AU Users 1.6 million
YouTube Benefits: Increase conversion rate Customers understand your product Rank better in a Google search Showcase your personality Challenges: Cost Looks professional Statistics Users Monthly Worldwide 1 billion Daily Use 40% AU Users 9.92 million
Social Media Points to Note Be professional Be active on social media to improve social signals Improve preference in search engines.
Facebook Advertising
www.hubspot.com Facebook advertising Different advert types Key differences: Google Ads bid on keywords people are searching for Facebook ads bid on likes and peoples interests Advert types: External Website (Standard) Ads Facebook Object (Like) Ads Page Post Ads Sponsored Stories Promoted Posts Facebook Offers
www.hubspot.com Facebook advertising Setting up an ad campaign What do you want to achieve Page Likes? Promote Posts? Reach the right audience What s your ideal customer? Location, age, gender Campaign Pricing and Schedule Budget Timing Test multiple ads Have a test control Change one part at a time Measure your ad performance
Bringing People to My Site
Bringing people to my site Partnering and Clustering Links & info about other relevant attractions Regional blog Improved destination information Guest blogs Create media releases Video Google + Local
Exercises & Resources
Exercises Come up with 5 killer headlines to ensure I will open up your email newsletter Write 3 posts for your Facebook Business Page this week
USEFUL LINKS RESOURCES www.aweber.com & www.campaignmonitor.com Email Newsletter Management Software http://www.google.com/adwords/ & http://www.google.com.au/adwords/displaynetwork Google Adwords and Display Network Centres https://www.reachlocal.com.au &http://www.clickmanager.com.au Campaign and Website Tracking and Monitoring tools http://www.hotfrog.com.au, http://www.trulocal.com.au, http://www.gumtree.com.au, http://www.startlocal.com.au/ Example directory listing websites
USEFUL LINKS RESOURCES http://www.facebook.com/help/ Facebook Help Centre https://adwords.google.com/o/keywordtool Use this tool to explore the keywords most relevant to your product http://www.ret.gov.au/ntaf For general information about T-QUAL accreditation http://atdw.com.au/ For information on the Australian Tourism Data Warehouse and current distributors http://getconnectedregister.dnsw.com.au/getconnected.asp Get Connected/ATDW registration page http://www.atdw.com.au/tourismekit.aspx Tourism e-kit free digital educational tutorials for the tourism industry in Australia
Tourism E-Kit tutorials Email Marketing Tutorial 25 Google Adwords Tutorial 27 Social Media for Tourism 31 - Tutorial 40 TXA Tutorial Tutorial 24 ATDW Tutorial - Tutorial 31 31
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