Introduction to e-marketing

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1 Introduction to e-marketing

2 Introduction marketing Search engine marketing Google Adwords Social Media for Tourism Facebook advertising Bringing people to my site

3 Definitions edm - Electronic Direct Mail an (standard or newsletter) to a potential customer who has subscribed to correspondence with you or your business Open Rate - The number or percentage of people from your total pool of edm subscribers who have opened your CTR - Click-Through-Rate the number or percentage of people from the pool of people who have opened your edm that have clicked on a link in the edm PPC - Pay-per-Click an advertising charge model whereby you only pay for the advert when someone clicks on it CPC - Cost-per-click - the $ value you pay every time a potential customer clicks on one of your search engine or social media adverts CPM - Cost-per-thousand the $ value you pay every thousand times your advert is displayed to potential customers CPA - Cost-per-acquisition the $ value you pay every time a potential customer completes a required action after a click e.g. clicks a lead button or a booking button or buys a ticket Blog Contraction of web log. A discussion or information site consisting of individual posts usually listed in reverse chronological order. Blogs can have single or multiple authors.

4 Marketing

5 Marketing Also known as edm = Electronic Direct Mail Most direct line of communication for conversion to sales Australian average open rate is 21.96% 91.66% of all Australian s are opened within 72hrs Mobile opens have increased by 34% Australian average click through rate is 4.24% Source: BrandMails Australian Marketing Benchmarks Report 2013

6 Why Marketing? 1. It is personal Direct way of initiating one-to-one conversation Build relationships with customers through regular contact 2. Trusted Customers already opted in to messages from you 3. Measurable Measure open rates, click through rates, bounces etc 4. It works Generally highest ROI in marketing Customers pre-sold and ready to buy 5. Affordable Powerful and cost-effective

7 Tips for successful marketing Headlines: Useful Ultra-specific Unique Urgent Content: Interesting and relevant Call to action Tips about your region Make it easy to unsubscribe Link to your site Specials

8 Tips for successful marketing (cont..) Important Actions: Create a communications plan Maximise your template dimensions Keep text short and easy to scan Keep list clean Images alt text, title text and links Test your edm before it is sent Create an HTML and a text only version of your

9 Best and Worst Times To Send Best Times of Day Consider: 10pm 9am Sleeping 9am 10am Starting Day s opened 10am Noon - Focus on work Noon 2pm Lunchtime 2pm 3pm Focus on work 3pm -5 pm Winding down 5pm 7pm Magic moment 7pm 10pm After work activities Best Times of the Week Consider: Test what works for your business Early in the week good for planning trips for next weekend Later in the week good for last minute deals

10 Search Engine Marketing (Pay-Per-Click)

11 Search engine marketing Why Search Engines? Market share Global (Desktop): Google 83% Bing 5.63% Yahoo 8.08% You Tube is the second largest search engine In the world and is owned by Google Benefits Speed to market Reach Highly Targeted and Customisable Maximise your ROI by only paying per click Tracking

12 Search engine marketing Getting started with your Google AdWords Account Getting started Choose your budget Create your ads Select keywords that match your ads to potential customers Enter your billing information. Campaign Structure cost-per-thousand-impressions, or CPM, bid cost-per-click, or CPC, bid. cost-per-acquisition, or CPA, bid Example: Clicks for your keywords are approx. $0.10. Target 100 clicks per day. $0.10 x 100 = $10 per day (Cost-per-click x Clicks per day = Daily budget) Budget = $10 per day.

13 Search Engine Marketing Writing a good advert Highlight what makes your product/offer unique Include prices & promotions Tell your customers what they can do Purchase, Call Today, Order, Sign Up Include keywords in your text Your keyword appears bold in the advert Match your ad to your landing page Ensure you ad is able to be viewed on mobile devices Experiment

14 Search Engine Marketing Other Directory Listings PAID Yellow Pages (Sensis) Google Adwords Reachlocal Truelocal Citysearch FREE Hotfrog ATDW Truelocal Gumtree Start Local Benefits Instant traffic Benefits Free 14

15 Social Media for Tourism

16 Social Media is now Mass Media Channel Australia % AU Pop n NZ % NZ Pop n Facebook 11.7 million 50.92% 2.27 million 50.89% YouTube 9.92 million 43.29% 2.07 million 46.39% LinkedIn 3.98 million 17.33% 743, % Twitter 2.97 million 12.95% 396, % WordPress 1.76 million 7.68% 343, % Pinterest 1.46 million 6.52% 188, % Flickr 1.2 million 5.24% 140, % Instagram 916, % 182, % Tripadvisor 730, % 243, % Benefits Free Easy to setup Target potential customers Challenges Will require time to monitor and maintain Advertising will cost 16

17 Social Media for Tourism Facebook Do s: Do post regularly relevant content Do have great photos, links, videos Do keep business separate from personal Do offer value and incentive to be liked Don ts: Don t use personal for business, it violates terms of service Don t talk to clients the way you talk to friends Don t try to flog your product constantly Don t forget to check your page daily Statistics Users Worldwide % Global Use AU Users 1.2 billion 11% 11.7 million

18 Social Media for Tourism Google + Benefits: Growing fast Google+ influences search ranking Similar to Facebook but you can allocate followers to groups and target messages Challenges: Time Statistics Users Worldwide 135 million Daily Use 60% Resources

19 Social Media for Tourism Twitter Benefits: Communicating Generating Leads Researching trends Seeking Feedback Customer service Challenges: Time Resources Spamming Statistics Users Worldwide 485 million Daily Use 20% AU Users 1.6 million

20 YouTube Benefits: Increase conversion rate Customers understand your product Rank better in a Google search Showcase your personality Challenges: Cost Looks professional Statistics Users Monthly Worldwide 1 billion Daily Use 40% AU Users 9.92 million

21 Social Media Points to Note Be professional Be active on social media to improve social signals Improve preference in search engines.

22 Facebook Advertising

23 Facebook advertising Different advert types Key differences: Google Ads bid on keywords people are searching for Facebook ads bid on likes and peoples interests Advert types: External Website (Standard) Ads Facebook Object (Like) Ads Page Post Ads Sponsored Stories Promoted Posts Facebook Offers

24 Facebook advertising Setting up an ad campaign What do you want to achieve Page Likes? Promote Posts? Reach the right audience What s your ideal customer? Location, age, gender Campaign Pricing and Schedule Budget Timing Test multiple ads Have a test control Change one part at a time Measure your ad performance

25 Bringing People to My Site

26 Bringing people to my site Partnering and Clustering Links & info about other relevant attractions Regional blog Improved destination information Guest blogs Create media releases Video Google + Local

27 Exercises & Resources

28 Exercises Come up with 5 killer headlines to ensure I will open up your newsletter Write 3 posts for your Facebook Business Page this week

29 USEFUL LINKS RESOURCES & Newsletter Management Software & Google Adwords and Display Network Centres & Campaign and Website Tracking and Monitoring tools Example directory listing websites

30 USEFUL LINKS RESOURCES Facebook Help Centre Use this tool to explore the keywords most relevant to your product For general information about T-QUAL accreditation For information on the Australian Tourism Data Warehouse and current distributors Get Connected/ATDW registration page Tourism e-kit free digital educational tutorials for the tourism industry in Australia

31 Tourism E-Kit tutorials Marketing Tutorial 25 Google Adwords Tutorial 27 Social Media for Tourism 31 - Tutorial 40 TXA Tutorial Tutorial 24 ATDW Tutorial - Tutorial 31 31

32 32

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