Southportonians Review

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Southportonians Review"

Transcription

1 The Old Southportonians Review No. 138 SUMMER 2011 Old boys gathered, exchanged memories and had a great time. That is what will be remembered

2 Old Southportonians Association Council 2011 Founded 1907 OSA COUNCIL 2011 President Paul Wood (Del 80-84) Vice-President Peter Lockhart (Tho 62-65) Hon. Secretary Nathan Quartermaine (McK 96-99) Hon. Asst. Secretary Brodie Cunningham (Tho 02-07) Hon. Treasurer Damien Moffrey (Wal 81-88) Hon. Asst. Treasurer Ashley Quinton (Kai 84-85) Patron Jake MacRonald (Tho 49-57) Immediate Past President V. Bruce Wright (Rad 76-85) NON-EXECUTIVE COUNCIL MEMBERS Hon. Editor Review Bruce Rogers (McK 58-62) Membership Development Scott Andrews (Wal 94-98) Young Old Boys Representative Dominic Buckland (Kai 98-10) ELECTED COUNCIL MEMBERS James Kennett (Wal 70-74) Ian Browne (Del 82-83) John Hillier (Atk 78-87) Christopher Johnstone (Bid 79-90) Tony Burchill (Rad 78-84) Ross Norman (Del 85-89) Simon Nicholls (Tur 80-86) Jock Beveridge (Atk 86-89) James Stewart (Del 93-97) Paul Veivers (Del 75-80) Vaughan Oxenford (Mel 80-84) OLD BOYS ON SCHOOL COUNCIL F.D. Perrin (Rad 78-84) V.B. Wright (Rad 76-85) P.A. Graham (Tho 59-65) M.M.A. Blumenstein (Mau 88-92) G.C. Rix (Wal 72-77) School Archivist Lesley Walker Auditor WHK Audit & Assurance, Carrara St, Benowa EDITORIAL COMMITTEE The Old Southportonians Review B. Rogers (McK 58-62) K. Hailey (OSA Coordinator) LAYOUT & DESIGN Csquared Design BRANCH REPRESENTATIVES BRISBANE J. MacAulay (Del 94-96) D. Fielding (McK 83-87) CENTRAL WEST NSW R. Nicholls (Tur 80-88) CENTRAL WEST QLD W. Chandler (Del 48-58) M. Macmillan (Del 83-86) DARLING DOWNS B. Battersby (Kai 77-79) D. Greenup (Del 82-86) FAR NORTH QUEENSLAND T. McInnes (McK 80-86) M. Trout (Kai 76-80) HONG KONG W. Parfitt (Mel 78-82) B. Michael (Rad 80-93) Kaye Hastie (Ex TSS Staff) LOCKYER VALLEY A.G.M. Kemp (Tho 56-63) Mrs A.A. Kemp LONDON D.G. Serafini (Mel 88-98) S. Douglas (Tho 83-91) C. Faes (Tur 83-84) MACKAY G. McKinnon (Tur 80-84) NEW ZEALAND R. Mehta (McK 88-92) J. Mcllwain (McK 75-83) NORTHERN RIVERS NSW P. Kerkenezov (Del 57-65) NORTHERN TERRITORY N. Eames (Mel 57-65) NORTH QUEENSLAND R.A.W. Lyne (Tho 69-74) PAPUA NEW GUINEA C. Burgess (Kai 85-88) ROCKHAMPTON D.J.D. Rodgers (McK 01-05) ROMA N. Cameron (Bid 85-89) S. Gray (McK 49-52) D. Jones (Del 75-78) SINGAPORE C. Poetzscher (Wal 83-87) SOUTH AUSTRALIA H. Muller (McK 49-52) D. Jones (Del 75-78) SOUTH WEST QUEENSLAND S. Fraser (McK 71-74) G. Webster (Tho 57-63) STANTHORPE P.C. Blundell (Tho 75-79) SUNSHINE COAST M. Elks (Del 73-74) SYDNEY J.M. Hawker (McK 59-63) I. Lambert (Wal 74-78) UNITED STATES OF AMERICA G. Tweedie (Del 63-65) VICTORIA W.N. Adderley (Del 59-68) L. Meerkin (JS 42-47) WESTERN AUSTRALIA S.J. Conran (Bid 89-93) WIDE BAY D. McIver (Del 48-52) D. Chandler (Del 87-92) HIDDEN CREEK Manager Clinton Cronk Enquiries (02) , OSA OFFICE OSA Coordinator - Mrs Kris Hailey The Southport School, Winchester Street, Southport QLD 4215 Tel , Fax , Web link Keep in touch 2 THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW

3 Contents From the President Pg 4 Editorial Pg 5 From the Headmaster Pg 6 Keeping in Touch Pg 7 Cover page Pictured Murray Murdoch (Tho 57-62) Garth Davidson (Del 48-58) John Wettenhall (Tho 51-55) Archie Douglas (Tho 56-61)* Lance Look (Tho 56-61)* Alastair Bassingthwaighte (58-60)* Ian McLaren (55-61)* *Celebrating their 50 Year Reunion ARTICLE Reunion Weekend Pg 8-13 TSS Foundation Pg 14 Branch Functions Pg 15 Race Day Pg Bursaries Pg 18 Mentors Update Pg Births, Baptisms and Weddings Pg REFLECTIONS By Bert Cockerill Pg 24 MEMORIES Pg Request to share your ideas Pg 27 CALENDAR Dates to remember Pg 27 OLDEST OLD BOY William Slane Pg 29 PERSONAL NOTES Pg Bill Chandler Pg SPORTING UPDATES Reds Pg TSS SCHOOL NEWS Pg OBITUARIES Pg BEQUESTS Donald Stuart Scott Pg FINANCIALS Pg THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW 3

4 From the President It is a pleasure to be able to write an overview of the Old Southportonians activities for the last edition of the OSA magazine for I d like to start by giving our newest Old Boys a warm and heartfelt welcome to the Old Southportonians Association a community you will be a part of for ever. With our Young Old Boys program and the developing support through the OSA Online Community for mentoring, study and work experience, please do not wait five to 10 years before you tap into this valuable resource. I m sure you will all agree that time has flown by this year. The year started with floods in Queensland and New South Wales, a cyclone in North Queensland, an earthquake in New Zealand and a tsunami in Japan, not to mention a number of other natural disasters that happened both nationally and internationally throughout The positive from all of the devastation was the way our community come together and offered assistance to those in need. These events were covered in depth in our first edition of the OSA magazine, published in May this year. As we are all aware, the economic turmoil of the United States of America and Europe is having severe effects on not only Australia, but the rest of the world. Despite the doom and gloom, we all continue on with our lives. It causes us to reflect and take stock of what is important to us our family our community. TSS community remains strong, as does the School Spirit, and this is evident with the continued and ever-increasing numbers of Old Boys that visit the School and gather for various events held at the School and all over the world. This year, the OSA, along with the Branch Representatives, have held functions in Perth, Port Moresby, Mulgowie, Katherine, Toowoomba, Hervey Bay, Barcaldine, Cairns, Sydney, London, Hollywood and Northern Rivers. The Old Boys community remains in constant contact with the OSA Office through quarterly newsletters and bi-annual magazines. Every day we receive notification of addresses from lost Old Boys through our recently introduced TSS Old Boys website, narrowing the gap of Old Boys missing from our database. These events take an enormous amount of preparation and I would like to again thank all involved. The Reunion Weekend this year was very successful and was one of the biggest gatherings of Old Boys at the School. This proves that more Old Boys are realising the importance of remaining in contact with the OSA their community. The range of Old Boys who visited the school is vast; from our newest Old Boys who left in 2010 to our oldest Old Boys who left over 60 years ago or more. A very special and unique event involving the Older Old Boys is organised every year and this year, over 40 Older Old Boys received the OSA commemorative tie, which is presented to Old Boys who were enrolled at the School 60 years or more ago. The special tie is graciously accepted and worn by those recipients with immense pride. At this year s Old Boys weekend I had the pleasure to invite immediate past president Bruce Wright to present Bill Chandler with the Mervyn Dane Collings award. This award has only been presented four times and is only awarded to those who have contributed enormously to the OSA and the School over many years. More detailed information can be found in this publication. Congratulations Bill. The OSA Mentor program saw a number of very generous and accomplished Old Boys give their time and knowledge, speaking to TSS students this year. The TSS Old Boys network is an incredible source of knowledge and has a wealth of experience that the School holds in high regard. The School, in conjunction with the OSA Office, is keen to tap into every Old Boy who is prepared to help guide the young students of today through their various decisions that they must make in the later stages of life at school. We sincerely thank all those who were involved the names and details of these caring Old Boys who were involved in the OSA Mentor program, is published on page 21. We strongly encourage more Old Boys to become involved in the OSA mentor program the rewards are priceless for both you and the students involved. For more information, contact the OSA Office. 4 THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW

5 Editorial I wish we had kept in touch. How often do we hear those words when we read of a good friend who passed on? Because of our busy lifestyles, it seems almost too hard to keep in touch with our old friends while being in the business of making new ones. Even when you eventually get to be a senior, over 60, you are sometimes so busy you cannot think. Everyone knows how that feels. This is about keeping in touch it s about remembering that which is important to you and about looking back in pride at your achievements while you were at our school. Our magazine is important for cementing friendships that have been forged over time and introducing new friends to our circle. The OSA Review makes it easy for you to keep in touch by reporting all the OSA news and including some favourite columns like Bert Cockerill s Reflections and whether you are into swimming, rowing, football, tennis, cricket or any sport, you ll most likely find something about your favourite pastime here. Remember, keeping in touch is so important if you have any old Southportonians in your circle of friends, make sure they know about the Review and all the news contained therein. Enjoy your read. Bruce Rogers (McK 58-62) Editor Contributions Welcome We are always interested in what you have been doing with your life, news of your travels and who you have caught up with from TSS. All contributions should be directed to: OSA Office, TSS, Winchester Street, Southport 4215 or to The OSA publishes personal notes in good faith as a service to the school community and to the alumni. The OSA accepts no responsibility for publishing information in this section of the magazine that may be erroneous, incomplete or false. From the President the President cont. The OSA Council and Committee have worked hard again this year to keep the OSA on track financially. The introduction of one fundraising event each year has helped to raise much needed funds for those families who would like to provide their boys with the same education they were fortunate enough to receive. The bursaries are awarded annually to students who have a connection with the TSS community. The OSA Race Day is a very successful event held in October each year and provides much needed funds that are allocated to families in need. This has never been more important for our community especially in times like these. Thank you to all those in our community who supported this event. Sincere thanks to our major sponsor, SmartPrint Fleet Management, for their generous support to this very worthy cause. Thank you for the support of the School Council and in particular the Headmaster, with whom the OSA has been working directly with resolving matters facing the School and the OSA. It has been a pleasure working with all involved this year in my first term as OSA President. A special thank you to Kris Hailey for all of the incredible work she does for the OSA, not to mention keeping me in line as well. Mention must also be made to the staff of The Southport School who actively help support the OSA and endorse the undeniable value our association adds to the School. The OSA s strategic plan presented to the School Council last year included the implementation of a full-time OSA Coordinator to assist with communicating and providing support to all members of the OSA. The OSA Office has been instrumental in coordinating and maintaining contact with our members, and this has helped to keep our community up to date with events and the continuing projects taking place at the School. Before I conclude, I would like to mention that this year we have seen the passing of quite a few members of our community. To those of you in our community who have lost loved ones this past year, our thoughts and prayers are with you. Finally, on behalf of the OSA Council and myself, I d like to wish our entire TSS community, Old Boys and families a very merry Christmas and a safe, happy and prosperous All the best, Paul Wood (Del 80-84) THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW 5

6 From the Headmaster He is not missing. He is here. These words formed part of the address given by Lord Plumer in 1927 at the unveiling of the Menin Gate Memorial at Ypres in Belgium. The Germans needed to control Ypres to go on and take the Channel Ports through which British support was flooding into France. Several battles were fought, including the battle referred to as Passchendael. British and Commonwealth soldiers often passed through the Menin Gate (Menenpoort) on their way to the front lines, some 300,000 of them died in the battles. Ninety thousand of these soldiers have no known graves. The Menin Gate Memorial s Hall of Memory contains names on stone panels of 54,896 Commonwealth soldiers who died in those World War I battles around Ypres, but whose bodies have never been identified or located. Ten Old Boys are named on those stone panels. Following the Menin Gate Memorial opening in 1927, the citizens of Ypres wanted to express their gratitude towards those who had given their lives for Belgium s freedom. Every evening at 20:00 hours, buglers from the local fire brigade close the road that passes under the Memorial and sound the Last Post. In 1993, well before our time at TSS, Kate and I visited a number of the World War I battlefields. As a non-historian I was initially a somewhat reluctant visitor to that part of the world, yet very quickly I came to realise what an important place it is for Australians. The greetings and gratitude from the locals when they found out we were Australian was amazing. To see streets in these small French and Belgian towns named after Australian cities was quite surprising. To learn about the role of our soldiers on the Western Front was very educational, while being both inspiring and sad at the same time. At Menin Gate the 8pm service was particularly moving. I am pleased that next year a contingent of over 40 boys from Years 5 to 12, and staff and parents, will participate in a music and cadet tour of the Western Front. The choir will sing at a number of churches and ceremonies, including being a part of the Menin Gate ceremony singing the hymn and laying a wreath. It has been arranged that one of our boys will play the Reveille on that night; a great honour for the School. The names of the Old Boys at Menin Gate will be located by the boys, as will the five graves of Old Boys at the Australian War Memorial at Villers-Bretonneux, where a TSS Ceremony of Remembrance will also be conducted. The group will also visit a number of other sites where Old Boys lie or are commemorated, including Albert, Flanders War Museum, Fromelle, Le Hamel, Dernancourt and Pozieres. It will be a wonderful trip and one that key organiser and Head of the Preparatory School Mr Jeff Symms hopes may be a regular educational tour on our program. Thank you - As I write this article I am looking out my window at the newly completed Bennett Building (to the west of the Dixon Administration Building) housing the Year 7 Centre, Visual Art Centre and the Leadership Development facilities. Thank you to the many Old Boys who philanthropically contributed to this wonderful new threestorey facility. The Year 7 Centre will house staff from now until late next year, during which time the old Sheil building will be demolished and a new Student Services, staff room, Robotics and Drama building will be completed. In 2013, the Year 7 boys will move into their new Year 7 Transition Program Centre and join the secondary School. Between the appeals to refurbish Delpratt House, rebuild the River Centre and build the new Bennett Building, 2010 was the most successful philanthropic year in recent history. Again, my thanks, and the thanks of the School Council, to all who have helped make this happen. Best wishes Greg Wain Headmaster 6 THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW

7 Online Keeping in Touch Many of you will have been visited our new online community database in recent months to update your profile, post photos, search for your schoolmates, check events, functions and meeting dates and even join the Super XV footy-tipping competition. The OSA Office encourages all TSS past students to seek out the website, which has limitless potential in developing a solid networking support system for all Old Boys. Joining this community database is completely free and all Old Boys are invited to register. Log on and update your profile, add a picture and your bio, update your contact details so you will receive all the latest enewsletters, s and invitations to various events. For more info, contact the OSA Office on Footy Tipping Top 3! 1 Congratulations to the top three placed Old Boys in the Super XV footy-tipping competition. Points Name Peer year 88 Kevin O Dowd David Watts Timothy Borten 1988 A big thank you to our sponsors, Bendigo Bank, Burling Brown Architects and Baker, Affleck, Moffrey Chartered Accountants, for providing the prizes. Well done to all involved and we hope you will all join in again for the next footy-tipping competition. 1 PHOTO - The very happy Kevin O Dowd pictured accepting his prize from Bendigo Bank Relationship Manager Peter Kai-Nielsen. THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW 7

8 Reunion Weekend PHOTO - Reunion family BBQ on TSS river ovals. 2 PHOTO - Jake Ogburn 3 PHOTO - Ryan Corrigan, Dave McClymont, Jack Rankin 4 PHOTO - Gladiator Challenge 5 THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW PHOTO - Delpratt Breakfast on Clock Tower lawn

9 Reunion Weekend Old Boys gathered, exchanged memories and had a great time. That is what will be remembered... 1 This year, crowds of Old Boys descended on campus to reignite and invigorate the Spirit that is definitely alive and well in TSS Old Boys, both young and old. A reunion is many things to many people. Its major significance, though, is to keep contact with traditions and have a sense of place. Renewing acquaintances with people and travelling to the places that were once so important in our lives helps refresh our perspective on what has happened to us since our schooldays. We also have a chance to give our significant other, a glimpse into our past. The Generations Dinner was the start to a very busy weekend of events. Situated this year in the brand-new Old Gym Café were over 150 second, third and fourth-generation families. The venue, while not the traditional place for the dinner, was very well accepted and was nicely decorated in school colours, with photos from archives displayed on photo boards around the entire area. The next scheduled event was the traditional Older Old Boys assembly. Here we had 50 Older Old Boys attend, along with their wives and families. These Older (and wise) gentlemen commenced school 60 years ago and were therefore eligible to receive the Commemorative Older Old Boys tie. All those 1951 Old Boys who were unable to attend were posted their commemorative tie. After assembly, lunch followed for all the OOBs and their families in the Dining Hall. Bert Cockerill (McK 46-55) was thrilled to do the traditional Roll Call and kept everyone entertained recounting stories that have grown over the years. still managed to entice over 50 Old Boys to share morning tea and a chat with the Acting Headmaster, Mr Alan Parsons, joined by Mrs Kate Wain. The Rediscovery Tour of the School saw over 50 Old Boys visit the various new and old buildings on campus. The Reunion Family BBQ on the River Ovals at lunchtime was a huge success. Entertainment was provided by Young Old Boys singer Jake Ogburn (Mel 00-07). A gladiator challenge and jumping castle was provided for the children, as well as Mr Whippy ice creams for everyone! The Old Boys Reunion Dinner on Saturday evening took place in the Dining Hall and saw over 180 Old Boys and partners attend this very special annual dinner. At the dinner, Old Boy and staunch supporter of TSS Bill Chandler (Del 48-58) was presented with the very prestigious Mervyn Dane Collings Award by Past President Bruce Wright. A very deserving award for a man who has served the School and OSA for over 50 years. Pictures do speak louder than words these photos help to capture how successful the 2011 Old Boys Weekend was 2 Saturday commenced with the Delpratt Breakfast organised by Phil Ward, Delpratt housemaster, with the most ever on record of Old Boys attending. Next function was the Headmaster s morning tea after such a large breakfast, we 1 2 PHOTO - Fraser Perrin, Rev Canon Bruce Maughan, Bruce Wright, Paul Wood PHOTO - Conrad Brown, Brodie Cunningham, Alex McCowan, Dean Counter, Josh Perring, Alex Uruchurtu THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW 9

10 Seated Row: Peter Larner (Junior School ), Bill Laver (McK ), Edward Kernke (Del ), Sam Pollard (Del ), Bob Akes (Del ), Keith Gill (Del ), Tom Eady (Del ), Graeme Parry (Tho ), Trevor Dover (Del ), Ian Bucknell (Junior School ), Ray Lewis (Tho ), Peter Fletcher (McK ), Jim Dover (Del ), Ellis Goldman (Tho ), Alan Radcliffe (Tho 1927; ) Second Row: Paul Brown (Del ), John Douglas (Del ), Tom Frith (Del ), Roger Harding (Mitre ), Errol Steinhardt (McK ), Peter Dowling (Tho ), Bill Campbell (Tho ), Neil Goldsmith (Del ), Bert Cockerill (McK ), John Walker (McK ), Charles Eden (McK ), John Taylor (McK ), Bob Andrew (Del ) Third Row: Lew Cooper (McK ), A. Gavan Lahey (McK ), Alan McWilliam (Del ), Spencer Sutton (McK ), Graeme Rylance (McK ), Jake MacRonald (Tho ), John Austin (Tho ), Garth Davidson (Del ), David Miller (Tho ), Neville Hawkins (Del ), Sandy Taylor (Tho ) Fourth Row: John Roberts (McK ), Bill Chandler (Del ), Captain Ralph Derbidge (Junior School ), Peter Lengenberg (Del ), John Wettenhall (Tho ), Frank Young (Tho ), Rad West (McK ), Kevin Davies (Del ), Des Neill-Ballantine (Del ) 1 Seven of those who commenced in 1951 were presented with the Commemorative Older Old Boys Tie by Vice-President Peter Lockhart. Captain Ralph T Derbidge M.B.E.R.A. Junior School Mr Frank Young Thorold Mr Kevin Davies Delpratt Mr Peter Lengenberg Delpratt Mr Rad West McKinley Mr Des Neill-Ballantine Delpratt Mr John Wettenhall Thorold Older Old Boys presented with their Commemorative Old Boys tie Seated Row: Rad West (McK ), Captain Ralph Derbidge (Junior School ), Peter Lengenberg (Del ), Frank Young (Tho ) Second Row: Kevin Davies (Del ), Des Neill-Ballantine (Del ), Peter Lockhart, OSA Vice-President (Tho ), Missing from photo John Wettenhall (Tho 51-55) 10 THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW

11 1 PHOTO - Four generations: Lleyton and Lawrence Sehmaish-Lahey, Gavan and Greg Lahey (portrait of Thomas George Lahey) 2 PHOTO - John Millroy 3 PHOTO - Generations Dinner in Old Gym Cafe 4 PHOTO - John Wettenhall and Graeme Rylance 5 PHOTO - Reunion Dinner in the Great Hall THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW 11

12 The 2011 Old Boys Reunion Weekend proved to be an eye-opener with recent new building work and the boatshed looked great. I wonder if they use as much fuel in winter as some of the boys did in PHOTO - Kevin Fowler, George and Judy Gowing Kevin Fowler (McK 67-71) writes I met up with George Gowing and his wife Judy for morning tea and we then went on a discovery tour with the Deputy Headmaster, Alan Parsons. He was a very vibrant man and if he is typical of the teachers at TSS then they are a lucky group of boys. Some of our vibrant teachers were there as well and Creepy Crowther was still wearing his rubber-soled shoes. The Luncheon was the source of many tall tales after I met up with Denis Stephenson, Wally Campbell, Peter Evans and Stewie Wells. We beat Ipswich Grammar at the Rugby and I heard that a few others from 1971 were at the game. Chris Calderwood was one of them. It was good to see and hear the boys cheering on their team. The Reunion Dinner saw Shane Salmon, Shane Rushbrook and Alan Postle with his wife Karen add to the numbers. We lamented the fact that there were not a lot of Old Boys from 1971, so we proposed that an effort should be made to see if that could be rectified for the next event. I did wonder what to expect at the reunion and I was pleasantly surprised with our discussions and memories that came back to me. I look forward to next time. Anthony Delaney (Wal 85-91) writes What an excellent weekend I had catching up with Old Boys, particularly with my 91 class peers. Yes some with a little less hair, some with larger waistlines, and some that haven t changed at all. But most importantly, there were lots of laughs, good times reminiscing, and it was great to hear how the next chapter in each person s life has developed. I m already looking forward to our 30- year reunion. 2 Brian Hardiman (Del 1960) writes Congratulations on organising a great weekend in late July. I could say without fear of contradiction that all the 1961 alumni had a very good weekend well done. We started on a very positive note with a Friday evening gathering at Lance and Laney Look s home, where they very generously catered for ers and their partners. I was asked for feedback on the catering and service and I am pleased to say it was fine, and one of my close friends from the class of 61, Don Williams (McK 59-61), a professional caterer much of his life, said as much. One comment though regarding the Reunion Dinner; for many of us it was a unique opportunity (to attend) and not being able to hear guest speakers in the Dining Hall was unfortunate. Overall, I thought the organisation of the Reunion Weekend went very well, from the first point of contact until the last, and congratulations for that. On Sunday we were again hosted by Lance and Laney on their boat they were extremely generous. Sincere thanks to the year group coordinators for all their efforts in contacting their classmates and encouraging them to attend the 2011 Reunion Weekend 2 PHOTO - Ben Mack, Collin Myers & Lance Look Tom Lawton (Tho 79-81) writes Coming back to the school and meeting up with old and sometimes forgotten classmates was a fantastic occasion, It made me thankful for my opportunity 30 years ago and proud to have such close and dear friends. I haven t laughed like that for years. 12 THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW

13 Messages from those unable to make the Reunion Weekend Tony Gill (McK 68-71) Sends his very best wishes to his year group as he is unable to attend the Reunion Weekend. Tony says he has owned fine art galleries for 16 years now. He and his wife Jane own Art of Cairncross just outside Maleny and are often busy organising satellite exhibitions as far afield as Chinchilla and the Stockman s Hall of Fame at Longreach. Tony would love to meet up with any TSS Old Boys along the way. He says he has a fascinating life, always full of new discoveries and great characters both artists and clients! Greg Tweedie (Del 63-65) ed to advise he is currently living in Los Angeles and is unable to make the reunion. He passes on his best wishes to all who attended. James Fountain (Rad 00-02) Has been living overseas for the past three years and is unable to make this year s reunion. Dr Matthew Meerkin (She 42-47) writes My apologies for not responding earlier, but I have just arrived back from overseas. Unfortunately I will not be unable to attend the TSS Old Boys reunion. You would not believe this, but I was walking around Pompeii on a very hot day a few weeks ago and someone tapped me on the shoulder to ask if I really went to TSS. I was wearing a white TSS cap. Of course I said yes and this guy responded saying his son (standing with him) was also at TSS and in the same house in the Junior School as I was Shepherd House. They were a lovely family. Such a small world. I m sorry to be missing the reunion. Dan Morahan (Kai 95-01) Had full intentions to attend the reunion, however, unfortunately had to cancel due to work commitments. Dan passes on his best wishes to his 2001 year group. John Morison (McK 55-59) Wrote to say he received the letter regarding his 50-year reunion. Thanks for inviting me but, unfortunately, we will be away travelling in Western Australia. Hope you all have a great time. John Williamson (Del 50-53) ed to advise he is unable to make the reunion this year. Justin Andrew Kidd (Kai 78-81) ed to say he would be in China while the reunion was on, but passed on his best wishes to his year group. Mark James Stigwood (Del 68-69) ed classmate and 1971 year group coordinator Chooky (Kevin Fowler) I will have to decline the invitation to attend the reunion, as I now live in Tanzania, East Africa. Ross Sheil (Del 47-50) Sadly, I cannot be with you for this year s celebrations. Please present my apologies and give my warm regards and best wishes to everybody. THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW 13

14 TSS Foundation OSA McWhirter Cup Golf Day PHOTO - REGULAR PLAYERS Trent Pevy (Atk 94-98), Richard Brown (Mel 90-97), Simon Anderson (Tur 92-98), Garth Trathen (Mel 93-98), Jason Pohl (Wal 95-06), Hilton Pohl (Wal 95-99), Jon Llewellyn (Sur 92-98) PHOTO - WINNERS OF THE 2011 OSA MCWHIRTER CUP L to R Mark Westcott (Tho 66-74), Jim Twentyman (Tho 66-73), John Elks (Del 72-74), Murray Elks (Del 80-84) PHOTO GROUP Doug Murphy (McK 61-68), Phil Mahoney (McK 67-68) and Jack Cooper (Tho 64-68) By Gerry Northausen, TSS Foundation Coordinator 4 PHOTO - WINNERS OF THE 2011 FOUNDATION GOLF DAY David Wood, Wayne Washington, Peter Middleton, Jonathan Pitt This year 100 players competed in the Annual Foundation/ OSA McWhirter Cup Golf Day at RACV Royal Pines. Again we were lucky with the weather and a great time was had by all. The winners of the McWhirter Cup were Old Boys Mark Wescott, John Elks, Murray Elks and Jim Twentyman with a score of 106 pts. Runners-up were our sponsor Beric Lynton, Paul Weel, Matthew Busby and Tom Pickett with a score of 103 pts. Congratulations also to Simon Livingstone who won the OSA NTP on Hole 7. The Foundation Golf Trophy was won by the George Laurens (GC) team of David Wood, Wayne Washington, Peter Middleton and Jonathan Pitt with a score of 110 pts, followed closely in second place by Terry Jackman, Peter Arnison, Des Power, Gary Medley with 109 pts, followed closely in third place by Rob Whitton, Paul Sanders, Steve Wyndham and Dan Whitton from Fast Proof Press with a score of 108 pts. 3 2 Congratulations to all those who won on the day and a huge thank you to all sponsors, especially our major sponsor, Beric Lynton and Bruce Lynton BMW, our players and RACV Royal Pines Resort. We look forward to seeing you all again next year THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW

15 Branch Functions 1 PHOTO - Caravans camped at Hidden Creek Hidden Creek a piece of paradise If ever you were going to see the real Australia without travelling thousands of kilometres, you can do it right here in S.E. Queensland This is a part of Hidden Creek, the place where dreams really do come true. Some of our friends, including our own Kerry Eddowes (Queen of the Clock Tower), took time out to visit this beautiful place. It has to be one of the best-kept secrets in Australia. Contact the OSA for more information on how to get there and how to enjoy this excellent piece of paradise. Toowoomba Reception Tony Watt Director of Community Relations and Headmaster Mr Greg Wain hosted a reception for current, prospective and past parents as well as Old Boys at Gips Restaurant in Toowoomba on Wednesday, September 7th. Westech (Barcaldine) Function Bill Chandler (Del 48-58) and his ever- helpful wife Julann banded together to cater for a bunch of Old Boys and current parents at the Westech Field Day, Ken Wilson Pavilion, on Tuesday, September 13th. Cairns Branch Function Tony McInnes (McK 80-86) and Michael Trout (Kai 76-80) welcomed 20 Old Boys, partners and children to a fabulous family BBQ at Paradise Palms Resort & Country Club at Kewarra Beach, just outside of Cairns on September 17th. Tony reports It was a great event that went to plan. Great mixing with all TSS Old Boys enjoying themselves and sharing all the usual boarding anecdotal stories. Robert Bryett was replaced (subbed) by young Old Boy (2008 vintage) Harry Blundell, who is Peter Blundell s son/ James Blundell s nephew. It was encouraging to see quite a few new faces this time from far and wide that did not attend our 2010 inaugural Cairns reunion. We were fortunate to have John & Sue Warner formerly of Cairns up visiting us from Brisbane where they now live. John is the son of our recently passed Oldest Old Boy Jack Warner. The Warners are a fourth generation TSS Family. In 2012 we aim to get a bigger attendance with our Old Boys in Cairns and the Far North. London Function The UK OSA Representative, David Serafini, arranged a very successful London Branch function with special guest in attendance, Mr Greg Wain, Headmaster of The Southport School, on October 19th. Fourteen Old Boys attended the function, which was held at The East India Club in London. The Old Boys in attendance were: Mark Beames (Rad 1985), Kieran Blight (Del 1994), Stephen Cadell (Tho 1998), Sam Douglas (Tur 1991), Christian Faes (Sur 1994), Douglas Gadaloff (Del 1985), James Illing (Kai 1998), Andrew Look (Mau 1999), Carey O Dowd (Del 1996), David Serafini (McK 1998), Michael Squirrell (Del 1993), Stewart Tan (Sur 1989), Aaron Weisz-Koves (Tho 1994), Anthony Whittaker (Del 1987). Branch News PHOTO - Headmaster Mr Greg Wain speaking at the London Branch function On Thursday, March 31, the Class of 54 gathered at Maleny for a luncheon. Those present were Sandy Taylor, John and Libby Robertson, Kevin Davies, Des Neill- Ballantine, Radley and Jill West, Margaret Wyman, David Walker, Fred and Allison Reichert, John and Di Falconer and David and Elwyn Miller. David Miller reports It was a most enjoyable day, a great venue, beautiful countryside and tasty food. Radley West is hoping for a special reunion in 2014 and asks that all members of the class of 54 mark this special occasion in their diaries as it may be our last opportunity to get together. 2 2 THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW 15

16 Race Day Quotes Jason Ganis, Managing Director of SmartPrint says SmartPrint Fleet Management and staff had a great day at the races and OSA did a sensational job with the function and promotion. We look forward to sponsorship in the coming years! Susan Presto says The food, fashion and photo with the winning horse all contributed to a fabulous day at the races for OSA Race Day! Everybody had a fantastic time, and win or lose on the track, everybody left smiling! Thanks for a GREAT day! Tom Ray says... Thanks to you (Kris) and your colleagues for organising such an enjoyable OSA Race Day as you did last Saturday. If there was a tote for the world s worst punter I d be odds on favourite for winner. Fortunately that was no matter for me in being there - for all the $5 bets I lost with the bookie throughout the day - it was worth the opportunity to have a fantastic day out with old friends and even a few past teachers. I ll look forward to coming back next year! Phil Ward (current Delpratt Housemaster) says Jan and I had a delightful time thank you. It was amazing to catch up with all the old boys from the late 80s and early 90s and to hear of all their wonderful successes in life they are all very grateful to us which was nice of them to say. Good to see many of them sending their sons back to us. 16 THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW

17 Thank you to our major sponsor: The OSA Race Day was held on October 1st at the Gold Coast Turf Club. The weather held out and the track was dry, allowing all seven races to run on the day. All guests were able to watch each race from the first-class viewing deck of the Winner s Circle Room, providing great trackside entertainment for all the 140 guests from the local community who supported the OSA s only fundraising event for the year. Many guests did not go home empty-handed, with over 30 raffle prizes drawn during the day. All prizes were generously donated by our local community, with prizes worth hundreds of dollars up for grabs. An auction of a limited edition TSS Reds players jersey was outbid by none other than keen Reds and TSS supporter, OSA President Paul Wood. The Race Day provided a chance for all guests to enjoy a good meal, plenty of drinks, a chance to place a bet on any of the seven local races and numerous interstate races, have a chance to network and catch up with many people from the Gold Coast community, all while supporting a very worthwhile cause. Villotti Photography; Outermark Australia; Konc Hairdressing; Esteem Day Spa Marina Mirage; Coca-Cola; Streets; Gold Coast Alfa; Coolamon Mining; Pelican Waters Golf Club; Negoriants Fine Wine Shippers; Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa; Shuck Seafood; Gold Coast Turf Club. Thanks must also go to the Table Sponsors: SmartPrint Fleet Management (Major sponsor); Bendigo Bank (Race Sponsor); Stewart Silver King and Burns; Midway Metals; RPS; ISCS; KordaMentha; Anthony Delaney Lawyers; Yeats; Burling Brown Architects; Ross Wolbers; Outermark Australia; The Southport School; Aussie Home Loans, Toowoomba. No doubt, due to the success of the day, everyone will be back next year! The OSA is the only Old Boys association in Australia to offer bursaries to students wishing to enrol at The Southport School and all funds raised from this event go towards the OSA Bursary fund. Bursary conditions apply. Applications can be found of the TSS website. Inquiries can be directed to the OSA Office; Tel Thanks must go to the businesses who contributed to the extensive list of prizes that were raffled off on the day: THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW 17

18 OSA Bursaries Applications close April 13, 2012 Each year the OSA offers up to: One Nimmo Bursary One Tritton Bursary Seven General Bursaries The Dr J R Nimmo Bursary This Bursary is a two-year Bursary for students beginning Years 11 & 12 in The Bursary has an indicative value of $3000 per annum, and is only available to students who intend to pursue a career with a Medical or Science degree. The continuation of the Bursary, into the second year, is subject to performance. The Tritton Bursary This Bursary is available to boys entering Years 9 or 10 in 2013, and the applicant need not to have had a direct family descendant who was or is an Old Boy of the School. The Bursary has an indicative value of $3,000 per annum, and is for a maximum of two years. The continuation of the Bursary, into the second year, is subject to performance. Please be advised that OSA Bursaries are limited to two successful applications per qualifying student. The OSA Bursary is valid for one year thereafter; you must reapply for consideration for a second year. Successful applicants for either Academic, Music, Creative Art, Sport, Foundation Scholarships, General and Country Boarder Bursaries are not eligible to receive an OSA Bursary. Applications close on Friday, 13 April, 2012, and successful applicants will be notified by mail. All applications must be sent to: CHAIRMAN OF THE OSA BURSARY COMMITTEE OSA OFFICE, THE SOUTHPORT SCHOOL WINCHESTER STREET SOUTHPORT General Bursaries For consideration of a General Bursary (an indicative value of $1000-$3000) an existing student or a new applicant needs to have a family member who is either attending The Southport School or is an Old Boy of the School. A family member shall include a direct line descendant and/ or brothers. The criteria for the selections, except for the Nimmo Bursary, will be based upon financial needs. A financial assessment will be required, so please provide as much relevant and supportive income and asset information as possible. All applications are strictly confidential, and will be reviewed only by the members of the OSA Bursary Committee. 18 THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW

19 Mentors Update 1 TSS Business guest speaker Mr Craig Hobart spoke to TSS students and this report was written by current TSS student, Brodan Tanner 1 PHOTO - Craig Hobart talking to TSS Business Students In August, TSS students were privileged with the honour of meeting TSS Old Boy Craig Hobart. Mr Hobart shared with us the knowledge that he had acquired through past experiences, as well as recommendations on how to achieve our goals and ambitions in life. Mr Hobart started his schooling life at The Southport School, and then went on to study at the University of Queensland, before graduating from the Macquarie School of Management. Since then he has had numerous jobs in the funds management industry and is currently the Managing Director at Tyndall Investment Management, one of Australia s biggest fund management corporations. He claimed that his accomplishments had come from following some simple techniques. The most important was to try and be effective and efficient in everything you do. Mr Hobart also stated that being accountable and responsible for your behaviour, utilising leadership position, implementing tactical and strategic techniques to achieve goals, and presenting yourself appropriately, were all distinctive factors between success and failure. However, the three most memorable attributes that I took from the lecture were sticking at it, involving yourself and taking opportunities, and doing something you are passionate about. In order to succeed, you must first be willing to fail. This quote really encapsulates the strong, recurring message that is engraved into the members of the Business Leadership Passport Program. Not a single person will go through life without making mistakes. Richard Branson, Steve Jobs, Donald Trump and Bill Gates are some of the most well-known and influential business leaders of our generation. But what do they all have in common? They all possess the ability to learn, and move on from their mistakes. Try and fail, but don t fail to try. Stephen Kaggwa. Another characteristic carved into Mr Hobart, and all past and present students of TSS, is to involve yourself and take all the opportunities that present themselves to you. While at school he involved himself in rugby and rowing, making it on to the first teams for both sports. He stated, In life there are two different types of people, those who make the best of opportunities, and those who sit back. There are also those who succeed, and those who fail. Outside of school, opportunities are not so apparent. You have to go out and find them. But by taking on challenges in your life, you will quite often reap the rewards. Mr Hobart stressed the importance of this final point. He stated that to truly succeed in something you must have a strong passion for it. If you do not enjoy something, then you will not be very motivated to do it. This is true in all of our lives and applies to school, work and other activities we involve ourselves in. All the boys in the lecture came out with a strong understanding of the requirements to achieve their dreams and ambitions in life. Mr Hobart concluded with a passionate and motivating statement: Don t look back and think what could have been. Know that you made the best decisions, tried your best, and took all the opportunities you could. On behalf of every person in the Business Leadership Passport Program, I would like to thank Mr Hobart for coming in and sharing his experiences and knowledge with us. THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW 19

20 OSA Mentor Network written by Mike Halpin OSA Mentor what a great title! What does it mean and why are we trying to set up this system of connecting present students with members of the OSA? What s involved and what s the commitment? TSS has been a leading school on the Gold Coast for over a century. We have a distinguished body of Old Boys, successful in the many facets of life. Some have done amazing things in their lives; many are inspirational people with a wealth of knowledge and expertise to share. Many have established successful and long-lasting businesses here on the Gold Coast, while many others have moved back to home communities or overseas to make the most of the opportunities that have come their way. Some may see their lives as reflecting just a normal life, while others may recognise that their lives have been anything but normal whatever that means. We want to hear your story! We want the current crop of TSS boys to benefit from your life s journey, to maximise their learning opportunities while minimising the pitfalls along the way. At TSS, like every other school, we have Year 10 boys who need to make important decisions about which subjects to study for the last two years of their schooling. We have Year 12 boys who are about to enter the post-secondary phase of their lives, which involves a working knowledge of the myriad pathways and careers surrounding them. You were there once, and you, too, had to make these decisions for some it wasn t so long ago and perhaps the mistakes you made are still fresh! For others, maybe you had a dream run and ended up where you are now because of well-made decisions made at critical times. Maybe some had a helping hand along the way, which made the climb a bit easier. Some may still be struggling to achieve those elusive goals. Perhaps some may feel that if they had their time over again then they would do it all differently. Whatever your situation, the OSA Mentor Network could become an invaluable way of sharing your experiences, so please consider registering your name and details with Kris Hailey (OSA Office) or Mike Halpin (Office of Vocational Education and Training), so that current TSS boys can make informed decisions based on the sound, practical knowledge and experience of those who have gone before them. Tel: Tel: I thank you sincerely in advance for any time you may be able to give. 20 THE OLD SOUTHPORTONIANS REVIEW

A beautiful sunny day in July; I m walking on a street in the middle of a city, being surrounded by

A beautiful sunny day in July; I m walking on a street in the middle of a city, being surrounded by A Trip to Cambridge By Iina Lahti A beautiful sunny day in July; I m walking on a street in the middle of a city, being surrounded by stunning old buildings. Colleges and churches seem to be in every corner,

More information

Getting together. Present simple 1. New Year in Vietnam. Reading: Everybody s birthday. Word focus: Special occasions

Getting together. Present simple 1. New Year in Vietnam. Reading: Everybody s birthday. Word focus: Special occasions 2 A Present simple 1 B Present simple: questions C Communication strategies Showing interest D Interaction Are you a people person? Getting together Present simple 1 Word focus: Special occasions 1 Work

More information

The Chronicle 2-10-2012

The Chronicle 2-10-2012 The Chronicle 2-10-2012 A publication of the Rotary Club of Croydon ID No 18360 R I District 9810 2012-2013 President Mr Ross Taylor DATE October 2 nd Dorset Gardens Hotel, 6.00 for 6.30pm start. SUBJECT

More information

Commerce Career Services Rouss & Robertson Halls, Suite 407 434.924.7986 www.commerce.virginia.edu/career_services. Networking!

Commerce Career Services Rouss & Robertson Halls, Suite 407 434.924.7986 www.commerce.virginia.edu/career_services. Networking! Commerce Career Services Rouss & Robertson Halls, Suite 407 434.924.7986 www.commerce.virginia.edu/career_services Networking! The Art of the Follow-Up Networking will be an integral component of your

More information

Swimming for Fairholme College Students

Swimming for Fairholme College Students Swimming for Fairholme College Students Why choose Fairholme? At Fairholme College Aquatic Centre we believe that swimming is your playground for life. Through a holistic program based on principles of

More information

The Historical Society of Orange Park

The Historical Society of Orange Park The Historical Society of Orange Park Newsletter Monthly Meeting Monday, August 13, 2012 6:30 PM Clarke House 1039 Kingsley Avenue Orange Park, FL 32073 There will be no monthly meeting in July. Our next

More information

MAURICE BLACKBURN LAWYERS WILL DISPUTES

MAURICE BLACKBURN LAWYERS WILL DISPUTES MAURICE BLACKBURN LAWYERS WILL DISPUTES 02 MAURICE BLACKBURN YOU RE WORTH FIGHTING FOR. If you are facing an unfair situation, you and your family shouldn t have to suffer. That s why we never stand back

More information

Words of LIFE. Newsletter 1/2010 Jan - June. Dear Family and Friends,

Words of LIFE. Newsletter 1/2010 Jan - June. Dear Family and Friends, Newsletter 1/2010 Jan - June Australia Victoria Romsey South Australia Adelaide Naracoorte Roxby Downs Barossa Queensland Cairns Mareeba New South Wales Sydney Western Australia Esperance & Teen Challenge

More information

The Executive Event on Retail Security and Loss Prevention

The Executive Event on Retail Security and Loss Prevention You re Invited, All Expenses Paid You re Invited, All Expenses Paid Airfare, Hotel, Meals & Event at No Cost The Executive Event on Retail Security and Loss Prevention An Eaton Hall Event Airfare, Hotel,

More information

DARTMOUTH CLUB OF TAMPA BAY

DARTMOUTH CLUB OF TAMPA BAY In the Pledge of Fellowship Hello fellow Tampa Bay alumni! Welcome to the inaugural edition of our own Dartmouth Club of Tampa Bay newsletter. We have high hopes this newsletter provides yet another opportunity

More information

Prospecting Scripts. 2 keys to success in Real Estate

Prospecting Scripts. 2 keys to success in Real Estate Prospecting Scripts 2 keys to success in Real Estate 1. TALK TO PEOPLE 2. ASK THE RIGHT QUESTIONS 1. Door-knocking or cold calling properties around a new listing (inviting them to a property preview)

More information

Dedicated care and support for people living with dementia

Dedicated care and support for people living with dementia Helping me to live my life Dedicated care and support for people living with dementia I ve always loved being outdoors, so I was worried when I moved from my own home that I would miss my garden and not

More information

Urana Central School Newsletter

Urana Central School Newsletter Urana Central School Newsletter Personalised, innovative education in a unique and caring environment 5 December, 2013 Term 4, Issue 5 Urana Central School 62 William St Urana NSW 2645 Phone: (02) 69 208

More information

HOW TO ORGANISE AN ALUMNI REUNION

HOW TO ORGANISE AN ALUMNI REUNION HOW TO ORGANISE AN ALUMNI REUNION UCL Alumni Relations Development & Alumni Relations Office UCL Gower Street London WC1E 6BT Tel: +44(0)20 3108 3832 Email: alumni@ucl.ac.uk www.ucl.ac.uk/alumni ReunionPackLandscape_Cover.indd

More information

Save the Date and join us for the Region Conference

Save the Date and join us for the Region Conference Promotional information is sent by e-mail. The conference chair needs to send a "blurb" to Diane Matteson (matteson@ksu.edu) and we will send them out to the region members from our office. Planning ahead

More information

1 st Year Induction. College of Business BSc Logistics and Supply Chain Management

1 st Year Induction. College of Business BSc Logistics and Supply Chain Management 1 st Year Induction College of Business BSc Logistics and Supply Chain Management Induction Week commencing Monday 14 th September 2015 Welcome Dear Student, All staff at the College of Business would

More information

THE YORKSHIRE DRY STONE WALLING GUILD

THE YORKSHIRE DRY STONE WALLING GUILD YDSWG Newsletter Spring 2009 Welcome to 2009 with the YDSWG! In spite of the current lousy economic situation and recent heavy snowfalls let us look forward to spring and a bit of sunshine. As is usual,

More information

SPINE SOCIETY OF AUSTRALIA

SPINE SOCIETY OF AUSTRALIA SPINE SOCIETY OF AUSTRALIA MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (FIRST BUSINESS MEETING) Hyatt Hotel, Canberra Saturday 26 April 2003 1700-1800 hours 1.0 PRESENT N. Jones (President), P. Turner (Secretary),

More information

flight attendant lawyer journalist programmer sales clerk mechanic secretary / receptionist taxi driver waiter/waitress

flight attendant lawyer journalist programmer sales clerk mechanic secretary / receptionist taxi driver waiter/waitress Work Choices UNIT 3 Getting Ready Discuss these questions with a partner. flight attendant lawyer journalist programmer sales clerk mechanic secretary / receptionist taxi driver waiter/waitress 1 Look

More information

Preliminary English Test

Preliminary English Test Preliminary English Test Placement Test Time allowed: 2 hours QUESTION PAPER DO NOT write on this paper Instructions: Please answer all questions DO NOT USE a dictionary Write all answers on the separate

More information

BISHOP O DOWD HIGH SCHOOL REUNION GUIDE

BISHOP O DOWD HIGH SCHOOL REUNION GUIDE BISHOP O DOWD HIGH SCHOOL REUNION GUIDE Director of Alumni Relations: LizaDawn Ramirez * (510) 577-9100 x317 * lramirez@bishopodowd.org Bishop O Dowd High School Reunion Planning Guide The Office of Alumni

More information

Dear Expectant Mother,

Dear Expectant Mother, Dear Expectant Mother, We are Lisa and DJ and we ve been married for a very happy twelve years. Having a child is something that we have always dreamed of. Like most people, we assumed it would come naturally

More information

Petaluma Arts Association June Newsletter 2013

Petaluma Arts Association June Newsletter 2013 Supporting art in the community, in the schools, and artists with art activities Post Office Box 2623, Petaluma CA 94953 707-793-2113 Petaluma Arts Association June Newsletter 2013 Regular Meeting, Tuesday,

More information

To All BIS Digital, Inc. Associates:

To All BIS Digital, Inc. Associates: To All BIS Digital, Inc. Associates: It is with deep sorrow that I have to announce the passing of Bob Wolfe. After fighting cancer for the last several months he had called me last Friday from the hospital

More information

W I N T E R 2 0 0 9 $ 5. 9 5

W I N T E R 2 0 0 9 $ 5. 9 5 WINTER 2009 $5.95 getaway story by Randy Hess photos by Kenneth Boone Alabama Getaway BobandJanHarrisfind Lake Martin has lots of waysto pleasethem when is a second house not a second house? when you find

More information

Hill Top Sports and SATURDAYNITERS NIGHT AT THE DOGS SATURDAY 12TH OF SEPTEMBER 2015

Hill Top Sports and SATURDAYNITERS NIGHT AT THE DOGS SATURDAY 12TH OF SEPTEMBER 2015 Hill Top Sports and Social Club Newsletter SATURDAYNITERS NIGHT AT THE DOGS wwwhilltopclub.co.uk SATURDAY 12TH OF SEPTEMBER 2015 Great fun night out, all the thrills and spills of greyhound and piglets

More information

Start-Up Loans launches 1000 th young entrepreneur

Start-Up Loans launches 1000 th young entrepreneur PRESS RELEASE Start-Up Loans launches 1000 th young entrepreneur Start-Up Loans, the 112 million Government scheme created to help young people to start their own business, has now supported its 1000 th

More information

Sullivan High School

Sullivan High School Home of the Golden Arrows Sullivan High School 902 N Section St., Sullivan, IN 47882 April/May 2014 From the Principal s Desk As the 2013-2014 school year comes to a close, it is time to say goodbye to

More information

EKOLA Junior High School Bilingual Programme Entrance Test (1h15) Sample Paper. Result:

EKOLA Junior High School Bilingual Programme Entrance Test (1h15) Sample Paper. Result: EKOLA Junior High School Bilingual Programme Entrance Test (1h15) Sample Paper Name: Result: Task 1 Which notice says what? For questions 1 5, match the correct letter A H. 1. You do not have to pay extra

More information

Term 3 Newsletter 2015

Term 3 Newsletter 2015 Term 3 Newsletter 2015 Principals Message: Shane Meyer Spring has arrived!! It s so wonderful to feel the warmth of the sun after the cold and wet winter. With the finer weather comes fantastic opportunities

More information

February 28, 2014. General OLLI at LSU Announcements

February 28, 2014. General OLLI at LSU Announcements Kori Chisham From: OLLI at LSU on behalf of OLLI at LSU Sent: Friday, February 28, 2014 4:29 PM To: OLLI Subject: OLLI News February

More information

Welcome to a lifetime of Free Vacations and to Business Opportunities.

Welcome to a lifetime of Free Vacations and to Business Opportunities. Welcome to a lifetime of Free Vacations and to Business Opportunities. On behalf of Club Solaris I am so proud to present to our much loved members the enhancement of the Solaris Gratitude Rewards Program

More information

1st International Congress July 26-31, 2015 Bozeman, Montana

1st International Congress July 26-31, 2015 Bozeman, Montana 1st International Congress July 26-31, 2015 Bozeman, Montana The World of Trout is a seminal event celebrating trout and the passion they inspire around the world. Arguably no other freshwater species

More information

David Capps LLB, English Solicitor

David Capps LLB, English Solicitor David Capps LLB, English Solicitor GROUP CHAIRMAN After obtaining a law degree from Birmingham University, David was articled to London maritime lawyers, Sinclair Roche & Temperley. He came to Jersey in

More information

Donation form. Make a single or regular gift. Option one: Single donation. Your Details

Donation form. Make a single or regular gift. Option one: Single donation. Your Details Donation form Make a single or regular gift You can use this form to make a single gift to your Tribute Fund or to start a regular donation via Direct Debit. If you are a UK taxpayer please remember to

More information

The University of Pennsylvania Positive Psychology Training Conference Delegate Information Package

The University of Pennsylvania Positive Psychology Training Conference Delegate Information Package The University of Pennsylvania Positive Psychology Training Conference Delegate Information Package 20 24 January 2013 / Memorial Hall, St Peter s College, Adelaide A Message from the Headmaster Dear applicant

More information

SOCIETY EXCELLENCE AWARDS APPLICATION- OUTREACH & AWARENESS CAMPAIGN

SOCIETY EXCELLENCE AWARDS APPLICATION- OUTREACH & AWARENESS CAMPAIGN SOCIETY EXCELLENCE AWARDS APPLICATION- OUTREACH & AWARENESS CAMPAIGN Instructions: Complete all sections of the application and return electronically to Society Relations by 23 March 2012. Applications

More information

Homestay Newsletter. Farewell Wakamatsu! University of Otago Language Centre and Foundation Year. Frances Ross. Mary Wilson

Homestay Newsletter. Farewell Wakamatsu! University of Otago Language Centre and Foundation Year. Frances Ross. Mary Wilson Farewell Wakamatsu! Mary Wilson Frances Ross HOMESTAY NEWSLETTER OCTOBER 2012 Welcome again to another Homestay Newsletter. The intent of the Homestay Newsletter is to ensure that you are well informed

More information

18 JANUARY 2015. 10.00 am 3.00pm. Brothers Leagues Club 99-105 Anderson Road Manunda, QLD !!!

18 JANUARY 2015. 10.00 am 3.00pm. Brothers Leagues Club 99-105 Anderson Road Manunda, QLD !!! 18 JANUARY 2015 10.00 am 3.00pm Brothers Leagues Club 99-105 Anderson Road Manunda, QLD ABOUT SAVE THE DATE WEDDING EXPO Ourevent Save the Date Wedding Expo is a chance for members of the Cairns wedding

More information

Diploma of YOUR GUIDE TO THE BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION

Diploma of YOUR GUIDE TO THE BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION YOUR GUIDE TO THE Diploma of BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION WELCOME Hello and congratulations on your decision to study the Diploma of Business Administration with us. The choice to take that first step towards

More information

Comprehension and Discussion Activities for the Movie Bend it Like Beckham

Comprehension and Discussion Activities for the Movie Bend it Like Beckham Comprehension and Discussion Activities for the Movie Bend it Like Beckham This module is designed to accompany the award-winning 2002 British film Bend it Like Beckham. Bend it like Beckham is about football,

More information

For information on area hotels, resources and attractions, please view the following website:

For information on area hotels, resources and attractions, please view the following website: August 7, 2015 Dear Christendom College Parents, Though it s still summer, Parents Weekend is right around the corner! It is a pleasure to invite you to the annual Christendom College Parents Weekend from

More information

August 2015 WELFARE NEWS. Special Kapiti Promotion. Welfare AGM Notice. Devastation in Whanganui FRFANZ 2015. Healthcare 99.

August 2015 WELFARE NEWS. Special Kapiti Promotion. Welfare AGM Notice. Devastation in Whanganui FRFANZ 2015. Healthcare 99. WELFARE NEWS www.firefighters.org.nz August 2015 thesec@firefighters.org.nz Special Kapiti Promotion Welfare AGM Notice Nelson Fire Station September 2 1830 hours - barbecue spit 1900 hours - meeting September/October

More information

Objective: God has a Plan! Bible Memory Verse: Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans THEME OVERVIEW

Objective: God has a Plan! Bible Memory Verse: Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans THEME OVERVIEW Miraculous Catches of Fish Scripture: Luke 5:1-11; John 21:1-6 Objective: God has a Plan! Bible Memory Verse: Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you

More information

PARAGRAPH ORGANIZATION 1 Worksheet 1: What is an introductory paragraph?

PARAGRAPH ORGANIZATION 1 Worksheet 1: What is an introductory paragraph? PARAGRAPH ORGANIZATION 1 Worksheet 1: What is an introductory paragraph? Read the paragraph. This is the introductory paragraph for an essay. What is the title of the essay? a The oldest person in your

More information

Iva Slavova. Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Course: Structural and Architectural Engineering

Iva Slavova. Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Course: Structural and Architectural Engineering Iva Slavova Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Course: Structural and Architectural Engineering 1. Name of host University and country University of South Carolina, United States 2. Orientation

More information

Everyone wins with tata kids of steel

Everyone wins with tata kids of steel www.tatasteel.com While care has been take to ensure that the information contained in this publication is accurate, neither Tata Steel Europe Limited, nor its subsidiaries, accept responsibility or liability

More information

Apologies: Mitch Edwards, Sonia Hook, Dan Hewins Maurice Allen,

Apologies: Mitch Edwards, Sonia Hook, Dan Hewins Maurice Allen, SPORT AND PHYSICAL ACTIVITY MANAGEMENT GROUP DATE OF MEETING: 3 March 2015 MINUTES PREPARED BY: Present:, Trevor Low, Jane Brown, Michelle Welland Caroline Dennies, Michael Burgess, Dave Harris, Harneck

More information

I am very honored to belong to this organization... -Ruthann Manlet, MAPPA President See page 2. MAPPA 2011 Annual Conference.

I am very honored to belong to this organization... -Ruthann Manlet, MAPPA President See page 2. MAPPA 2011 Annual Conference. September 2011 MAPPA 2011 Annual Conference October 9-13, 2011 Kingsgate Marriott Conference Center Cincinnati, OH The Midwest Association of Higher Education Facilities Officers (MAPPA) invites you to

More information

The reunion was an incredible time and inspiring experience. I look forward to the next one in 2 years:) Monica Devlin Eagles 2002-2007

The reunion was an incredible time and inspiring experience. I look forward to the next one in 2 years:) Monica Devlin Eagles 2002-2007 That was such a wonderful, successful event, thank you for including me into your program. Everyone was having a blast it s been a long time since I ve been to a sit-down dinner that was that much fun!

More information

Getting Paid. on time every time. invest in us... invest in you

Getting Paid. on time every time. invest in us... invest in you Getting Paid on time every time invest in us... invest in you The AVN Excellence model is based on 15 years of research into what makes accounting firms world class. Northern Accountants is the first firm

More information

GLENDA WATSON-KAHLENBERG

GLENDA WATSON-KAHLENBERG RESTORATION MINISTRIES INTERNATIONAL, INC GLENDA WATSON-KAHLENBERG DECEMBER 2011 Dear Family and Friends, As this is being written, I am in Malaysia and next week will be in Singapore and then the Philippines

More information

KEY ENGLISH TEST for Schools

KEY ENGLISH TEST for Schools KEY ENGLISH TEST for Schools PAPER 1 Reading and Writing Sample Paper Time 1 hour 10 minutes INSTRUCTIONS TO CANDIDATES Do not open this question paper until you are told to do so. Write your name, Centre

More information

BC QUARTERLY B C CELEBRATING CHANGE IN 2013

BC QUARTERLY B C CELEBRATING CHANGE IN 2013 BC QUARTERLY Q B C CELEBRATING CHANGE IN 2013 BC QUARTERLY Issue #1 2 The year 2013 will bring exciting changes to BC starting with the release of the first issue of BC Quarterly. THE FIRST BC QUARTERLY

More information

Newsletter. Stuart Lancaster at Dudley Kingswinford Rugby Football Club ISSUE 9 2015 INSIDE THIS ISSUE

Newsletter. Stuart Lancaster at Dudley Kingswinford Rugby Football Club ISSUE 9 2015 INSIDE THIS ISSUE Newsletter. ISSUE 9 2015 Stuart Lancaster at Dudley Kingswinford Rugby Football Club England Rugby Head Coach, Stuart Lancaster, was the guest of honour at the annual Sporting Dinner at Dudley Kingswinford

More information

Running a Successful Club Publicity Officer

Running a Successful Club Publicity Officer Tips for Young Farmer Leaders Running a Successful Club Publicity Officer Welcome to running Successful Clubs Tips for Leaders - a guide to help you run a strong and successful Young Farmers Club. The

More information

The 12 Step Follow Up System Finally A Follow Up System That s Simple, FUN and Most Importantly PROFITABLE!

The 12 Step Follow Up System Finally A Follow Up System That s Simple, FUN and Most Importantly PROFITABLE! The 12 Step Follow Up System Finally A Follow Up System That s Simple, FUN and Most Importantly PROFITABLE! Copyright 2013, All Rights Reserved Nancy Matthews Page 1 Congratulations! Welcome you to the

More information

VOLUME 148 n APRIL n 2013. Rehab on the Spot! Our Website Gets a Facelift!

VOLUME 148 n APRIL n 2013. Rehab on the Spot! Our Website Gets a Facelift! VOLUME 148 n APRIL n 2013 Happenings THE COLONY CLUB Happy Birthday! Rose Price (April 3 rd ) Pearl DiCiacca (April 4 th ) Lino Sanchez (April 8 th ) George Harrell (April 9 th ) Barbara Schnapp (April

More information

Guide to Letters of Recommendation, Thank You and First Choice Letters

Guide to Letters of Recommendation, Thank You and First Choice Letters Guide to Letters of Recommendation, Thank You and First Choice Letters Letters of Recommendation You should only provide a letter of recommendation to a school if you re asked for one. Some schools may

More information

Blessings and Birthrights

Blessings and Birthrights Blessings and Birthrights Bible Verse The Lord bless you and keep you. (Numbers 6:24) Did You Know? The birth of Jacob and Esau, twin sons of Isaac and Rebekah, continues the story of the descendants of

More information

Welcome to the Spring 2011 edition of our e-newsletter

Welcome to the Spring 2011 edition of our e-newsletter S p r i n g N e w s l e t t e r 2 0 1 1 Welcome to the Spring 2011 edition of our e-newsletter Based on the positive feedback to the first trial edition last autumn, we have been asked to continue with

More information

Date. Hello, Good Afternoon and Welcome to Pegasus Racing! I cordially invite you to join me...

Date. Hello, Good Afternoon and Welcome to Pegasus Racing! I cordially invite you to join me... "I m One Of The UK s Top Horse Racing Tipsters & I m Going To Show You My Closely Guarded Secrets Of How I Make Thousands From Horse Racing So You Can Too!" Date Hello, Good Afternoon and Welcome to Pegasus

More information

HARMONY DAY is on 18 th MARCH

HARMONY DAY is on 18 th MARCH Thursday, 5 th March, 2015 The GRIP STUDENT LEADERSHIP CONFERENCE with Edwardstown Primary s 2015 student leaders. MAR 6 PUPIL FREE DAY 9 ADELAIDE CUP PUBLIC HOLIDAY 16, 17, 18 Rooms 4 & 5 Yr 3 / 4 Camp

More information

Bushmills Primary School & Nursery Unit

Bushmills Primary School & Nursery Unit Bushmills Primary School & Nursery Unit March 2016 As you are aware this last term is one which has been extremely busy for all involved with Bushmills Primary School & Nursery Unit. Major events included

More information

Exchange Semester at Daniels College of Business

Exchange Semester at Daniels College of Business Exchange Semester at Daniels College of Business Background I felt that going on an exchange semester as a part of my MSc degree was the right choice for me since I had not been on exchange during my undergraduate

More information

PHOENIX HELPING YOUTH RISE ABOVE

PHOENIX HELPING YOUTH RISE ABOVE PHOENIX HELPING YOUTH RISE ABOVE Amy arrived in Nova Scotia as a young mother escaping an abusive relationship. She wanted to work and pursue an education while being the best mom she could be. That s

More information

Identify the brand, find the right people

Identify the brand, find the right people Identify the brand, find the right people Developing their unique selling point, a strategic approach, and talented staff were the key to Waiuku College setting itself apart. When Waiuku College principal

More information

Business development for accountants and solicitors: how to make winning new business a part of your dayto-day

Business development for accountants and solicitors: how to make winning new business a part of your dayto-day Business development for accountants and solicitors: how to make winning new business a part of your dayto-day activities The ability to generate business is not so much an afterthought for professional

More information

NORTH BURLINGTON WOMEN S PROBUS CLUB MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT JOANNE GILLELAND

NORTH BURLINGTON WOMEN S PROBUS CLUB MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT JOANNE GILLELAND NORTH BURLINGTON WOMEN S PROBUS CLUB NOV/DEC 2015 NEWSLETTER MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT JOANNE GILLELAND As I write this message, the Federal Election is finally over and we have a majority Liberal government

More information

Fredessa Hamilton Cobb s Graduate Student Address for Fall 2013 Communication Department Commencement Ceremony

Fredessa Hamilton Cobb s Graduate Student Address for Fall 2013 Communication Department Commencement Ceremony Fredessa Hamilton Cobb s Graduate Student Address for Fall 2013 Communication Department Commencement Ceremony Good afternoon, Class of 2013! Good afternoon, parents, family members, friends, and the esteemed

More information

DESIGN + CREATIVE CONSULTANCY + ENVIRONMENTAL GRAPHICS + WORKSHOPS & TRAINING

DESIGN + CREATIVE CONSULTANCY + ENVIRONMENTAL GRAPHICS + WORKSHOPS & TRAINING DESIGN + CREATIVE CONSULTANCY + ENVIRONMENTAL GRAPHICS + WORKSHOPS & TRAINING WE BELIEVE IN THE POWER OF CREATIVITY TO SOLVE COMPLEX PROBLEMS. FOR OVER 18 YEARS HUMAN CREATIVE HAS PROVIDED CREATIVE SOLUTIONS

More information

ONE DOLLAR AND EIGHTY-SEVEN CENTS.

ONE DOLLAR AND EIGHTY-SEVEN CENTS. T h e G i f t o f t h e M a g i p T h e G i f t o f t h e M a g i ONE DOLLAR AND EIGHTY-SEVEN CENTS. That was all. She had put it aside, one cent and then another and then another, in her careful buying

More information

OUR PAST THROUGH FILM

OUR PAST THROUGH FILM OUR PAST THROUGH FILM Watching old footage helps us to learn more about what life was like in the past, and it can also help us access our own memories. This activity pack will help you run some activities

More information

Kangourou Italia Cambridge English Language Assessment Gara del 26 febbraio 2014

Kangourou Italia Cambridge English Language Assessment Gara del 26 febbraio 2014 Kangourou Italia ambridge English Language ssessment Gara del 26 febbraio 2014 ategoria Per studenti della classe quinta della Scuola Primaria LISTENING TEST YOU NEED: This question paper n answer sheet

More information

De La Salle College Jersey

De La Salle College Jersey De La Salle College Jersey CONTENTS: PAGE 3 Message From The Headteachers PAGE 4 PAGE 7 PAGE 10 PAGE 13 PAGE 14 PAGE 16 The Spirit of De La Salle Starting The Journey Reaching The Highest Potential Celebrating

More information

Mammon and the Archer

Mammon and the Archer O. H e n r y p Mammon and the Archer OLD ANTHONY ROCKWALL, WHO HAD MADE millions of dollars by making and selling Rockwall s soap, stood at a window of his large Fifth Avenue house. He was looking out

More information

ISGR PYP Newsletter MAY-JUNE EDITION 2015

ISGR PYP Newsletter MAY-JUNE EDITION 2015 ISGR PYP Newsletter MAY-JUNE EDITION 2015 Dear PYP Families, This is the final newsletter for this school year and we have many things to reflect on and accomplishments to celebrate! This month s newsletter

More information

April 2015 Newsletter

April 2015 Newsletter St. Sebastian School 65 Chaparral Drive SE Calgary, AB T2X 0E6 Phone: 403-500-2116 Fax: 403-500-2316 Webpage: http://www.cssd.ab.ca/ schools/stsebastian/ April 2015 Newsletter Do Justice, Love Kindness,

More information

newsletter COURT NETWORK

newsletter COURT NETWORK newsletter COURT NETWORK Support, information and referral service for court users AUTUMN 2011 NEWSLETTER: ISSUE 4 State Manager Update To say that this year has started off much differently than anticipated

More information

Porter Creek Substance Free Grad Committee Newsletter

Porter Creek Substance Free Grad Committee Newsletter Porter Creek Substance Free Grad Committee Newsletter February 2015 Volume 1, Issue 3, 2014/2015 Only 4 months to go!!! In no time at all it will be your Graduation Day. The Executive, along with the Student

More information

what could Our supporters have run, swum, climbed, sung, golfed and walked - not to mention danced and partied.

what could Our supporters have run, swum, climbed, sung, golfed and walked - not to mention danced and partied. what could you do?? Our supporters have run, swum, climbed, sung, golfed and walked - not to mention danced and partied. In doing so, they ve also helped us look for cures for diseases and provide scholarships

More information

Young Learners English

Young Learners English University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations Young Learners English Flyers Information for Candidates Information for candidates YLE Flyers Dear Parent Thank you for encouraging your child to learn English

More information

Redwing Flyer. A Message from the Principal. 9th Grade Student Aims for the Sky

Redwing Flyer. A Message from the Principal. 9th Grade Student Aims for the Sky Redwing Flyer V O L U M E 1, I S S U E 2 N O V E M B E R 2 0 1 Hoboken Junior/Senior High School 800 Clinton Street Hoboken, NJ 0700 www. Hoboken. k12. nj. Us Main Office (201) 56 70 (menu option 6 for

More information

An Invitation to Meet the Nations: World Assembly 2015

An Invitation to Meet the Nations: World Assembly 2015 Nyssa's Campus Ministry Newsletter September 2015 View this email in your browser Here We Go Again! Only two weeks ago, 5000 first year students arrived on campus in Guelph, ready to embark on a new season

More information

REAL PEOPLE REAL NEEDS REAL HELP

REAL PEOPLE REAL NEEDS REAL HELP REAL PEOPLE REAL NEEDS REAL HELP USQ Alumnus, Alan Cory, and his partner, Janet Gibson. REAL PEOPLE Couple help rural students achieve university goals Rural students wanting to further their education

More information

Marketing/BD Specialists Consider a career in law-it s got it all. cartermurray.com. London Dubai

Marketing/BD Specialists Consider a career in law-it s got it all. cartermurray.com. London Dubai Marketing/BD Specialists Consider a career in law-it s got it all Dubai Move into law - it s got it all The law is a powerful, commercial and expanding sector which offers exciting opportunities for marketing

More information

An education in fashion

An education in fashion An education in fashion Gloucestershire College is excited to announce the introduction of the new Cheltenham Fashion Academy based at the College s Cheltenham Campus. The Academy will bring together all

More information

LESSON TITLE: Parable of the Workers in the Vineyard

LESSON TITLE: Parable of the Workers in the Vineyard Devotion NT255 CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE WEEK OF: LESSON TITLE: Parable of the Workers in the Vineyard THEME: God is more concerned with our heart s attitude than our service. SCRIPTURE: Matthew 20:1-16

More information

FRONTLINE HOSPITALITY SALARY GUIDE 2013 WWW.FRONTLINEHOSPITALITY.COM.AU

FRONTLINE HOSPITALITY SALARY GUIDE 2013 WWW.FRONTLINEHOSPITALITY.COM.AU FRONTLINE HOSPITALITY SALARY GUIDE 2013 The Annual Frontline Hospitality Salary Guide for 2013 is dedicated to the salary information taken from our annual collection of hospitality salaries across Australia.

More information

Welcome From Head of School

Welcome From Head of School Welcome From Head of School Dear Trinity families, The beginning is always my favorite. The end of the year always feels rushed - - so many things to finish before the final day. The beginning is so very

More information

Please enjoy the latest VUU Alumni e-newsletter. Alumni E-Newsletter. September 2015 VUU WELCOMES CLASS OF 2019

Please enjoy the latest VUU Alumni e-newsletter. Alumni E-Newsletter. September 2015 VUU WELCOMES CLASS OF 2019 Page 1 of 8 Alumni E-Newsletter September 2015 VUU WELCOMES CLASS OF 2019 Virginia Union University welcomes the freshman class of 2019! VUU freshman arrived to campus on August 8th and 9th and participated

More information

Working Towards the Examinations of the Royal Statistical Society

Working Towards the Examinations of the Royal Statistical Society Working Towards the Examinations of the Royal Statistical Society DISTANCE LEARNING PROGRAMME The Society and its Examinations The Royal Statistical Society, having merged with the Institute of Statisticians,

More information

How to Follow Up with Leads from thesbcsystem.com. Our Simple, Proven Process:

How to Follow Up with Leads from thesbcsystem.com. Our Simple, Proven Process: How to Follow Up with Leads from thesbcsystem.com Our Simple, Proven Process: 1. Get Traffic 2. Get Leads 3. Call the Leads Immediately 4. Get them on the Conference Calls 5. Sign them up OR 3-way call

More information

Alumni Luncheon. You are invited... Jackson Memorial Hospital School of Nursing JACKSON HEALTH SYSTEM NEWS SPRING 2011

Alumni Luncheon. You are invited... Jackson Memorial Hospital School of Nursing JACKSON HEALTH SYSTEM NEWS SPRING 2011 Jackson Memorial Hospital School of Nursing SPRING 2011 JACKSON HEALTH SYSTEM NEWS Jane Mass, the former Director for the School of Nursing and later Senior Vice President for Nursing retired October 15,

More information

16 th Annual. Bob Hallbauer Invitational Golf Tournament Highlights July 12, 2013. The Mining Suppliers Association of B.C. www.miningsuppliersbc.

16 th Annual. Bob Hallbauer Invitational Golf Tournament Highlights July 12, 2013. The Mining Suppliers Association of B.C. www.miningsuppliersbc. 16 th Annual Bob Hallbauer Invitational Golf Tournament Highlights July 12, 2013 The Mining Suppliers Association of B.C. www.miningsuppliersbc.ca Terry Mulligan, President & CEO The 16th Annual Bob Hallbauer

More information

No One is Too Busy for the Human Race

No One is Too Busy for the Human Race No One is Too Busy for the Human Race If you only have 2 hours a week Find two to five people who will get out there and tell people about your group and collect pledges. One or two good askers can do

More information

Guide to Giving. Involved

Guide to Giving. Involved KENT DENVER SCHOOL Guide to Giving AND Getting Involved SCHOLARS STUDENTS ATHLETES ARTISTS LEADERS FRIENDS OPPORTUNITY Dear Parents, AlumNI and Families, Your participation in Kent Denver School is critical

More information

Caldicott. Preparatory School

Caldicott. Preparatory School Caldicott Preparatory School From the Headmaster Caldicott is a preparatory school for boys from 7 to 13 years old. Boys are day boys until they board for their final two years. We believe that these two

More information

Achieve. Message from David James, Principal. Issue 17. October 2012. Inside this issue: Keeping parents/carers in the loop! Christmas Show 2012

Achieve. Message from David James, Principal. Issue 17. October 2012. Inside this issue: Keeping parents/carers in the loop! Christmas Show 2012 Achieve Keeping parents/carers in the loop! Raveloe Drive Nuneaton CV11 4QP Tel: 02476 744000 www.george-eliot.warwickshire.sch.uk Issue 17 October 2012 Company Registered Number 07191874 Registered in

More information

NEW DINING HALL FOR STARTERS!

NEW DINING HALL FOR STARTERS! Spring 2010 NEW DINING HALL FOR STARTERS! 2 Headmaster s Joy Since our first edition of Development Update we have made significant progress on building work around both the Senior School and the Preparatory

More information