dcpm and other common online advertising performance models



Similar documents
Introduction to Pay Per Click

Cost Per Acquisition means that your reader actually has to buy the Product or subscription.

Display Advertising. Xuelin Cao Yahoo! Beijing R&D Center

Search Engine Optimization and Pay Per Click Building Your Online Success

CIBC Business Toolkit Grow and Manage Your Business Online. Part 5: Grow Online Worksheet

The CEO s Manual to DNTX How to use DNTX.com

The Social Network Guide for Skeptical Small Business Owners Bill McBride!!!!! p! c! r! SocIal

OPTIMIZE YOUR BUSINESS WITH SUCCESSFUL ONLINE ADVERTISING & ADWORDS GENERATION

MHABC AGM Presentation

Case Study: How Generic Domain Names Impact a SEM Campaign

2013 Ad Solutions. Cross Channel Advertising. (800) Partnership Opportunities 1. (800)

Introduction. Ad formats and buying models MOBILE AD FORMATS EXPLAINED. Ad format CPI CPC CPM CPA CPV. Display

How. B2B Companies. Can Generate More Demand and Better Leads at Less Cost

7 Tips for Google AdWords Optimisation. By Ferdie Bester

[Checklist] Audit Your Pay-Per-Click (PPC) Advertising

Slide 1. Welcome to Chapter 12. This chapter is an excursion on Marketing called Online Marketing. The author is Vicente Lluch.

DISCOVER NEW BUSINESS WITH PAID SEARCH.

GUIDE TO GOOGLE ADWORDS

How to get started with search marketing

Common Online Advertising Terms Provided by ZEDO, Inc.

Meet the Refs! Download your own copy of this ebook:

PPC TUNE UP CLINIC. Beginner Track. Presented By Brian Jones. Senior Manager, Advertising Performance, Dealer.com

6 Digital Advertising. From Code to Product gidgreen.com/course

you work to improve your website in order to naturally (with- Internet Marketing is also known as Online Marketing, is a gen-

BEING SEEN ANSWERING YOUR QUESTIONS ABOUT AD VIEWABILITY

Shallow Review of Online Advertising

For more information, please contact:

Doubletrade Affiliate Marketing in Russia. An introduction to Affiliate Solutions in Russia

How to Use Google AdWords

Retargeting Banner Best Practices & Ad Specs

Essential Guide Cross Border Trade. Cross Border Trade. The Essential Guide.

Salony Creations. Namita Ramani Founder & CEO Lead Generation Expert Certified Google Trainer

agency capabilities Digital Media Services Medical Parkway # 201 Austin, TX 78756

A SIMPLE GUIDE TO PAID SEARCH (PPC)

PPC: THE PAST, PRESENT & FUTURE OF CUSTOMER CONVERSION YOUR LOCAL MARKETING PARTNER

Where s my real ROI? White Paper #1 February expert Services

The ABCs of AdWords. The 49 PPC Terms You Need to Know to Be Successful. A publication of WordStream & Hanapin Marketing

Interpreting and optimising reach and frequency

Session 9 Online acquisition media. Australian Direct Marketing Association

7 THINGS YOU NEED TO KNOW BEFORE TRYING GOOGLE ADWORDS

The PPC Marketing Guide

Online Advertising Glossary. by Delta Projects

How to Dominate Your Local Market Online Now

THE NEXT AD BIDDING GUIDE AN EASY GUIDE TO HELP YOU OPTIMISE YOUR BIDDING STRATEGY

Introduction to Search Engine Marketing

6 Selling Advertising. From Code to Product gidgreen.com/course

Pay Per Click Advertising

Adwords 110 Success Secrets. Copyright by Lois Rogers

Brief A webmaster can generate revenue by selling advertising space. How does the webmaster make money from the adverts?

Ad Networks vs. Ad Exchanges: How They Stack Up

MONTHLY REPORT PERFORMANCE RECAP LAST MONTH TWO MONTHS AGO CONVERSIONS CLICKS. Account: zenclick Period: February 1-29, 2012

Search Engine Marketing. Agency and Client Perspectives

So what is this session all about?

How to pay less for your pay per click leads or sales. by Ann Stanley MD Anicca Digital Solutions

CONTEXTUAL RETARGETING

The Definitive Guide to Google AdWords

Natural SEO or Pay-per-click which one to choose?

Paid Advertising on Search Engines: Tips on how to create and manage a successful pay-per-click marketing campaign

Pay Per Click Judo. Getting it Done Better and Faster by Doing What Works

How to Run a Test Trial of New B2B Distribution Channels

How To Get Instant Traffic Online With A Pay Per Click Advertising Campaign (Ppc)

How To Create A Pco Ad On A Website

Online marketing. Summery. Introduction. marketing. Martin Hellgren,

How to Drive. Online Marketing through Web Analytics! Tips for leveraging Web Analytics to achieve the best ROI!

4 Online Advertising Traffic Sources. 95% Marketers Know Nothing About

Expanding Your Digital Audience

Advertising your business on google

ECM 210 Chapter 6 - E-commerce Marketing Concepts: Social, Mobile, Local

Campaign Goals, Objectives and Timeline SEO & Pay Per Click Process SEO Case Studies SEO & PPC Strategy On Page SEO Off Page SEO Pricing Plans Why Us

Website Custom Audiences Guide

Social Media, How To Guide for American Express Merchants

Mobile App Monetization. With The Facebook Audience Network

How To Pay For Ebay Traffic

BEST PRACTICES FOR MOBILE AND APP BUSINESS. Acquire app s users and monetize mobile traffic

How to Turn Online Marketing Into a Profit Center

Search Star An Introduction to Pay Per Click

How to set up a campaign with Admedo Premium Programmatic Advertising. Log in to the platform with your address & password at app.admedo.

PPC Plan Proposal. Exioms - "Dream Never Sleep"

Internet Marketing with Yieldbot and Site Visits

How to get 2 Cents Clicks by Colin Klinkert

The Definitive Guide to Mobile Monetization

PPC vs. SEO. Friends or Foes?

Studying the international way. in Practice. Professor (FH) Mag. Christian Maurer. IOETI Conference, El Gouna, Dec 2009

PPC - Pay Per Click. What it is and how to build a successful campaign. A Publication of Digital Marketing Experts theeword

Single-Period Balancing of Pay Per-Click and Pay-Per-View Online Display Advertisements

& PPC Proposal. Table of Contents Executive Summary. Why Search Engine Marketing 2. Paid Search Campaign 11. Campaign Reporting 14

Online Advertising Agency.

Google and Yahoo Keyword Auctions. Ryan Gabbard

3 Signs That You Need a PPC Agency. Is it time to outsource your PPC management? A WordStream Guide

Measuring Media the Right Way; Online & Offline. Paul Mosenson President, NuSpark Marketing November 9, 2010

SEARCH ENGINE MARKETING 101. A Beginners Guide to Search Engine Marketing

SocialMoov. Facebook targeting + custom audience + CPM optimized + page post link = GOLD MINE FOR LEAD GENERATION

Media Pack Mobile Display Global 2012/13

MARKETING INTELLIGENCE FOR ADVERTISERS AND AGENCIES

An Explanation Of Google Adwords And Facebook Advertising Terminology By Internet Marketing Solution

DIGITAL MARKETING BASICS: PPC

12/6/12. Online Advertising. Online advertising $ Administrative. David Kauchak cs458 Fall Papers due tomorrow

Why It Is Important? Retargeting. Common Objections

A Comparison of Media Sources for Mobile App User Acquisition

Media Markets as Two-Sided Markets: Consumer Behaviour and Search Engines

Transcription:

dcpm and other common online advertising performance models What is CPM? Per Mille. Usually reflects the price of 00 banner impressions in dollar currency. Payment depends on the number of impressions solely. For example, a banner is being shown times at CPM of, means that the payment by theadvertiser to the publisher would be * 0.5 / 00 = $0. Advantages - The advertiser knows exactly how many times the banner will be shown, and what would be his daily / total costs. - Common model when buying media against a specific URL / site / ad spot. - CPM is being prioritized first by ad-networks since the publisher knows exactly what the expected revenue per impression is. - Very weak performance matrix, very weak correlation with sales or leads. - No indications for the advertiser on banner, campaign or media quality. - When dealing with multiple sites or ad spots advertiser might receive cheap media instead of effective media. - Effective frequency capping is unknown. CPM [fixed] $0 $0

What is CPC? Per Click. Known also as pay-per-click (PPC) from the publisher's point of view. In this model the advertiser pays for each click made on a banner impression. Payment depends on the number of clicks solely. For example, a banner is being shown times, and being clicked 00 times at a cost of per click. The Click through rate - CTR in this case is 00/ = 0.5%. The cost to the advertiser would be * 00 =. Since the advertiser paid for we say that his Effective CPM (or ecpm) is 80/200 =. Advantages - The advertiser knows exactly how many times his landing page / site will be clicked, and what would be his daily / total costs. - The banner will be shown until enough clicks are being generated - Common model when looking for exposure with no direct lead or sale goals - CPC is optimized quiet fast by optimizing ad-networks to generate high CTR - Reasonable indicator for banner quality - Weak correlation with Sales or - Dependable on click tracking technology and measurement - Weak performance matrix, vulnerable to click frauds - No indication for campaign quality (only banner quality) - Advertiser might receive cheap media instead of effective media - Effective frequency capping is unknown Clicks CPC [fixed rate] ecpm 00 00 $0 $0.8 00 3

What is CPL CPA CPS? Per Lead / Per Acquisition / Per Sale. In this model the advertiser pays explicitly per transaction type made by the buyer that resulted from a click on a banner impression. Payment depends either on the cost of lead, cost of sale or a percentage of the sale's revenue. For example, a banner is being shown times, and being clicked 00 times. clicks converted to a lead where the advertiser pays 5$ per lead. The total advertising cost would be *5 = 50$. Advantages - The advertiser pays according to results only. - The banner will be shown for unlimited period of time. - Preferred model for the advertiser. Zero risk on his side. - Low vulnerability to frauds. - High correlation between sales and campaign and banner quality. - Publisher will not allocate premium media for questionable profit - Publisher will refuse to work in this model when cpm / cpc models can fill his inventory - Dependable on conversion tracking technology and measurement. - Hard for the publisher to estimate when to stop a campaign CPL [fixed rate] 0 $60 Note: There are many other Per Action models, like per Call (for cellular advertising), per Download (for downloadable products), per View (a common term for video based advertising). Advertisers who claim to support all available model sometimes use the term CPE cost per everything.

What is? In order to explain what dcpm is easily, we need to introduce the term effective cost per action. We add an action count (Lead for instance) to the previous examples, and calculate how much did the advertiser actually paid for each Lead act. Lets assume the advertiser is profitable when he pays 5$ per lead. on a CPL/CPA/CPS model Here naturally, the is the predefined CPL. CPL [fixed rate] ecpm [fixed rare] 0 $60 $0.3 Although the cost per Lead was as desired by the advertiser, the publisher might drop the campaign receiving only $0.3 ecpm on day 3. on a CPM Model In this case, the reflects the total cost each day divided by the number of leads. We can see that the advertiser has very little control regarding the price he pays for each lead. CPM [fixed rate] ecpm [fixed rate] $0 0/ =$ 75/= $0 0/=$8.3 Here, the publisher might be satisfied with his 0.5$ CPM but the advertiser loses on day 1 and day 3 paying more than 5$ per lead dropping the campaign as well.

on a CPC Model Similar to the CPM model, the reflects the total cost each day divided by the number of leads. Although sometimes there is some correlation between the number of clicks and the number of acquisitions, still the advertiser has little control over the price he pays for each lead. Clicks CPC [fixed rate] ecpm 00 80/=$8 00 $0 $0.8 0/=$8 00 3 80/=$6.6 Although the publisher in this example receives satisfactory ecpms, the advertiser is not profitable at $8 per lead. Solution: Dynamic CPM with a CPA target

What is dcpm with a CPA target? Dynamic cost per mille with a cost per action target. This model is the most effective and balanced both for the advertiser and the publisher. In this model the the advertiser continues to advertise as long as his is under his CPA goal, and the publisher decides to advertise as long as the CPM he receives is higher than the competing advertisers. This is why neither the CPM nor the in this model is fixed. The following example describes the decision making process: CPM 0,000 0*0.4=$40 40/=$4 0*0.5= 75/= $0.6 16 200*0.6=$0 0/16=$7.5 Analysis: On day 1 the optimization process sees that the advertiser is profitable and even has a margin as he pays $4 for a worth leads. This usually means that by driving more traffic, more leads can be obtained. On day 2, more leads have been obtained, advertising still paying under his target lead price. On day 3, even more traffic is being bought breaking the CPA limit of the advertiser. The optimization process decides to reduce traffic for the campaign. CPM Day 4 0.5 75/= Day 40 $0.3 5 $45 $9 Analysis: The campaign maintains a good balance between the for the advertiser and the CPM for the publisher until day 40 where even at the price of $0.3 CPM the campaign is not effective anymore at an of $9. Publisher cannot decrease the price since other advertisers bid more and advertiser is not profitable. The campaign is dropped.

Advantages - The advertiser is optimized toward paying according to results only. - The publisher does not advertise unless advertiser pays minimal price. - The banner will be shown for unlimited period and unlimited amount of time as long as being effective for both sides. - Good balance between advertiser's risk and publisher's profit. - Low vulnerability to frauds. - Allows the advertiser to compete over premium media with high CPM at low risk as long as his campaign is effective. - Campaign stops automatically. - Advertiser has to risk an initial sum before seeing results. - Dependable on conversion tracking technology. Marketing Experts at Your Service Site: http://www.tlvmedia.com Email: sales@tlvmedia.com