Display Advertising. Xuelin Cao Yahoo! Beijing R&D Center

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1 Display Advertising Xuelin Cao Yahoo! Beijing R&D Center

2 Agenda Display Advertising Overview Ad Exchange Introduction Real Time Bidding (RTB) Data Collection & Cookie Mapping Publisher Control & Private Exchange Trust & Safety Introduction 2

3 Publishers Economics

4 DISPLAY ADVERTISING

5 Display Advertising Display advertising is a form of online advertising that resembles the kind of advertising done in periodicals and magazines, where advertising can appear on the same page as, or on the page adjacent to, general editorial content. Display advertising appears on web pages in many forms, including web banners. These banners can consist of static or animated images, as well as interactive media that may include audio and video elements. 5

6 Display Advertising - Example

7 Display Advertising Basic Goals

8 Brand VS. Performance

9 Common Pricing Types Pricing Types CPM (Cost Per Mille) Or CPT (Cost Per Thousand) CPC (Cost Per Click) Or PPC (Pay Per Click) CPA (Cost Per Action) Or PPF (Pay Per Performance) CPT (Cost Per Time) Common Customer s Usage Advertiser typically pays for 1000 impressions Mostly used to create brand awareness In RMX, margin per serving, is typically low for CPM ads With CPM ads, risk is typically borne by advertisers Advertiser typically pays for each click Used more in Performance Display than Branded Display In RMX, margin per serving, is typically higher than CPM ads With CPC ads, risk is typically borne by Publishers Advertiser typically pays for each action Used primarily in Performance Display In RMX, margin per serving, is typically the highest among Pricing Types With CPA ads, risk is typically borne by Publishers Also known as Sponsorship in North America In China, this is primarily the pricing type With CPT ads, risk is typically borne by advertisers 3/27/13 9

10 Common Pricing Types When all of the pricing types must bid in the same auction, a conversion factor must be used to "convert to the same coin" ecpm is the "Effective CPM" ecpm ~ CPM ecpm ~ Pclick * CPC ecpm ~ Pact * CPA Pclick = probability of click Pact = probability of action

11 Click Trough Rate Prediction User Attributes: Age, Gender, etc. Segments Publisher Attributes: Publisher, URL, channel, etc. Advertiser Attributes: Advertiser, Creative, Landing page, etc

12 Basic Model of an Ad System

13 Ad Serving

14 Ad Serving

15 Ad Serving

16 Ad Click

17 DISPLAY MONETIZATION

18 Display Monetization GUARANTEED DISPLAY ( C1 Class 1, GD ) Contract booked advertisements in advance Gives advertisers a guaranteed amount of impressions for specific inventory to be delivered over a period of time (e.g. 10M impressions, Men, New York, 18 45, March April) Publishers are responsible for any shortfall in the guaranteed user visits NON-GUARANTEED DISPLAY ( C2 Class 2, NGD ) Impressions are sold at auction in (approximately) real-time Advertiser buys ad with impression-by-impression model Price point can be 10x lower absent the guarantee

19 Guaranteed Display

20 Guaranteed Display

21 MARKETPLACE PLAYERS

22

23 Marketplace Players Publisher Maintains a website, desktop application or other inventory type with ad space for sale to advertisers Advertiser Buys web page ad space ( inventory ) to show their advertisements ( creatives ) Network An entity that facilitates the buying and selling of media between a group of publishers and advertisers.

24 Marketplace Players Agency An advertising company that represents other companies by providing advertising related services such as planning, creating, buying and tracking an advertisement on behalf of their client. Technology Provider Integrates its technique (e.g. behavioral targeting) with the RMX and help RMX advertisers, publishers, and networks sell it to their clients in return for a fee Demand Side Platform (DSP) Technology providers that interface directly with demand-side entities and build media buying platforms for advertisers Supply Side Platform (SSP) Technology providers that interface directly with supply-side entities and build media selling platforms to unload unsold inventory for publishers

25 25 AD EXCHANGE

26 What is an Ad Exchange 26

27

28 Sell Buy Network

29 Sell Buy

30

31

32 Right Media Exchange Overview An Open Exchange for Online Media The Right Media Exchange (RMX) is online advertising's premier open exchange. Similar to a stock exchange It provides advertisers an efficient and centralized way to buy media, manage and optimize campaigns globally, and get the most from their ad spend It also provides publishers selling their inventory by each impression based on its true market value 32

33 Where We Are 33

34 REAL TIME BIDDING

35 Demand Side Platforms

36 How does RTB Work Z=300x250&s= &B=10&t=3&u=&v=1 RightMedia Exchange atoms/85/56/8e/ 47/85568e47daa873c770e98b3444d a72d8.jpg Bid 2$ Creative Server ( content.ad.com) Bid 5$ Turn Ad.com

37 DATA COLLECTION & COOKIE MAPPING

38 Pixel Pixels, also known as web Beacons, can be used for: Tagging the user onto a user audience segment (e.g. a user visits a automobile collection page and is tagged as member of the auto enthusiast segment). Tracking of Goals based on specific actions defined by Advertisers based on their sales funnel Registering a Conversion Event typically immediately after a sales Tracking visits for analytics

39 Track User s Actions and Behavior

40 Cookie Mapping Cookie mapping is used to identify the same user across different platforms/domains

41 ID Management in RTB User :123 User :ABC Bid:5$ 10 years old; Rock fan User :ABC Bid:3$ User : years old; Rock fan

42 Cookie Mapping (4)exchange.com/cms?myid=123 (5)ad.com/cms?myid=ABC (1) ad (3)exchange.com/cms?myid=123 (6)ad.com/cms?myid=ABC (2)ad.com/cms

43 43 PUBLISHER CONTROL & PRIVATE EXCHANGE

44 Publisher Control Publishers may choose to mask some of the inventory information (URL, channel, etc.) sent to RTB to prevent data harvesting 44

45 Private Exchange Private Exchange is a set of granular supply & demand side controls that allow the trading of biddable media in a transparent and collaborative environment. Publishers are able to expose their inventory to preferred sources of Demand while retaining strict control over Buyer Priorities, Transparency, Quality and Yield. Advertisers are able to access premium, brand safe supply with insight into the Source and Buying Terms of the transaction. Allows premium publishers to engage with demand sources with full control transparency, pricing and buying terms More premium inventory available for programmatic / RTB buying 45

46 Why Private Exchange Premium publishers remain hesitant to bring high-value inventory to RTB Channel conflict Loss of control Programmatic Buying 46

47 47 TRUST & SAFETY

48 Trust & Safety Right Media's Trust and Safety program leverages people, policies, and technology to help create a safer display marketplace for brand-conscious advertisers and publishers 48

49 Trust & Safety - Creative Tester This proprietary, automated program runs every hosted creative or third-party ad tag and corresponding landing page through a series of tests based on exchange policies, and is continually scanned and tested as long as the creative is active If a violation is detected, the client is notified and the creative may be deactivated 49

50 50 Q & A

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