Digital Media Glossary. A user-friendly guide to the language of digital media.

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1 Digital Media Glossary A user-friendly guide to the language of digital media.

2 Lost in the lingo of digital media? We ve got you covered. This glossary of basic digital terms gives you everything you need to learn the language. And by the time you re done, you ll be able to speak like a seasoned digital media geek. GENERAL DIGITAL TERMS Aspect Ratio Width-to-height ratio of a picture or video frame. Usually the aspect ratio is 300x250 or something similar. Beta Test version of a product, such as a website or software, prior to final release. Cache Memory used to temporarily store the most frequently requested content/files/pages in order to speed its delivery to the user. Caches can be local (i.e. on a browser) or on a network. In the case of local cache, most computers have both memory (RAM), and disk (hard drive) cache. Cookies A message given to a web browser by a web server. The browser stores the message in a text file. The message is then sent back to the server each time the browser requests a page from the server. The main purpose of cookies is to identify users and possibly prepare customized web pages for them. When you enter a website using cookies, you may be asked to fill out a form providing such information as your name and interests. This information is packaged into a cookie and sent to your Web browser which stores it for later use. The next time you go to the same website, your browser will send the cookie to the web server. The server can use this information to present you with custom web pages. So, for example, instead of seeing just a generic welcome page, you might see a welcome page with your name on it. File Transfer Protocol (FTP) Internet protocol which facilitates downloading or uploading digital files. Fold The line below which a user has to scroll to see content not immediately visible when a web page loads in a browser. Ads or content displayed "above the fold" are visible without any end-user interaction. Monitor size and resolution determine where on a web page the fold lies Graphic Interchange Format (GIF) A standard web graphic format which uses compression to store and display images. 2

3 GENERAL DIGITAL TERMS (continued) Hit Also called a page hit. The retrieval of any item, like a page or a graphic, from a web server. For example, when a visitor calls up a web page with four graphics, that's five hits, one for the page and four for the graphics. For this reason, hits often aren't a good indication of web traffic. Compare with page view. Host (noun) A computer system that is accessed by a user working at a remote location. Typically, the term is used when there are two computer systems connected by modems and telephone lines. The system that contains the data is called the host, while the computer at which the user sits is called the remote terminal. Host (verb) Provides the infrastructure for a computer service. For example, there are many companies that host web servers. This means that they provide the hardware, software, and communications lines required by the server, but the content on the server may be controlled by someone else. Index Another name for the database used by a search engine. It contains information on all the websites the search engine was able to find. If a website is not in a search engine's index, users will not be able to find it using that search engine. Search engines regularly update their indexes. IP Address The numerical address assigned to each computer on the Internet so that its location and activities can be distinguished from those of other computers. Landing Page A stand-alone web page that a user "lands" on, commonly after visiting a paid search engine listing or following a link in an newsletter. This kind of page is often designated with a very specific purpose for visitors. Log Files A file that lists actions that have occurred. For example, web servers maintain log files listing every request made to the server. With log file analysis tools, it's possible to get a good idea of where visitors are coming from, how often they return, and how they navigate through a site. Using cookies enables webmasters to log even more detailed information about how individual users are accessing a site. 3

4 GENERAL DIGITAL TERMS (continued) Opt-In A term that refers to promotional s that have been requested by the individual receiving them. Unlike spam, promotional s that get sent out to large lists of recipients without regard to whether or not they want the information, opt-in s are only sent to people who specifically request them. Opt-in s are targeted and often personalized and carry information about specific topics or promotions that users are interested in learning about. Typical opt-in s contain newsletters, product information or special promotional offers. For example, if a user frequented a website that sold books and music online, that user could "opt in" to receive announcements when his or her favorite author or musician released new material. The promotional may even present the recipient with a special promotional offer to purchase the product at a discount available only to those on the opt-in list. Real-Time Bidding Bidding on events that happen live at a particular moment. Inventory that is available to purchase at a particular time that usually results in paying a premium. Really Simple Syndication (RSS) The process by which content, such as blog posts or podcasts, can be updated regularly and syndicated to subscribers in feeds. RSS feeds enable users to access content updates from various outlets all in one central location. Referrers A term used in web logs to identify the source website the visitor clicked on to get to your website. For example, if a person finds your site using Google, Google would be considered the referrer. Server A computer or device on a network that manages network resources. For example, a file server is a computer and storage device dedicated to storing files. Any user on the network can store files on the server. A print server is a computer that manages one or more printers, and a network server is a computer that manages network traffic. A database server is a computer system that processes database queries. Servers are often dedicated, meaning that they perform no other tasks besides their server tasks. On multiprocessing operating systems, however, a single computer can execute several programs at once. A server in this case could refer to the program that is managing resources rather than the entire computer. 4

5 DIGITAL TACTICS Attitudinal Targeting Targeting based on attitudes, values, and beliefs of the recipients (to influence action). Banner Ads Also referred to as a banner ad, a banner is typically a rectangular advertisement placed on a website either above, below, or on the sides of the website's main content and is linked to the advertiser's own website. In the early days of the Internet, banners were ads with text and graphic images. Today, with technologies such as Flash, banners have gotten much more complex and can be ads with text, animated graphics, and sound. Most commerce-related websites use banner ads. Conquest Targeting Competitive search terms to piggyback off of a competitor. Customer Relationship Management (CRM) CRM entails all aspects of interaction a company has with its customer, whether it be sales or service related. Computerization has changed the way companies are approaching their CRM strategies because it has also changed consumer buying behavior. With each new advance in technology, especially the proliferation of self-service channels like the web and WAP phones, more of the relationship is being managed electronically. Organizations are therefore looking for ways to personalize online experiences (a process also referred to as mass customization) through tools such as help-desk software, organizers, and web development apps. Demand Side Platform (DSP) A DSP is a system that allows buyers of digital advertising inventory to manage multiple ad exchange and data exchange accounts through one interface. Directory A form of search engine that provides category type searches, similar to the Yellow Pages, in that sites are listed by the category they fall into. Display Graphic ads that show up next to content on web pages, IM applications, , etc. Also referred to as banners. Display Network A collection of websites that show AdWords ads. This network also includes mobile sites and apps. 5

6 DIGITAL TACTICS (continued) Sponsorship Buying advertising space in an e-newsletter. These ads are usually text based or banner ads that are incorporated into an newsletter that targets a specific type of reader. Similar to print advertising where you buy space in publications that are read by your target audience. Flash Adobe s vector-based rich media file format, which is used to display interactive animations on a web page. Geotargeting Displaying (or preventing the display of) content based on automated or assumed knowledge of an end user s position in the real world. Relevant to both PC and mobile data services. Google Display Network (GDN) Google network to build audience profiles and place ads on relevant websites. Interstitial Meaning in between, an advertisement that appears in a separate browser window while you wait for a web page to load. Interstitials are more likely to contain large graphics, streaming presentations, and applets than conventional banner ads, and some studies have found that more users click on interstitials than on banner ads. Some users, however, have complained that interstitials slow access to destination pages. Linking Strategy A process by which you identify and encourage linking to your site by partners or sites that contain similar content. Native Advertising A form of advertising that matches the form and function of the platform on which it appears. So, an article written by an advertiser to promote its product, but using the same form as an article written by the editorial staff (kind of like an advertorial). Negative Keywords Words that will prevent your ad from showing to people searching for things you do not offer. Pre-Roll The name of an online video commercial that appears prior to an online video. It typically lasts :10-:15 seconds in length. 6

7 DIGITAL TACTICS (continued) Programmatic Advertising A cost-efficient way to advertise digitally because you re targeting your niche audience, rather than blanketing the digital space, or just one website. Push Down Banners Banners that push website content down, while expanding the banner to show more advertising space. Re-Targeting The use of a pixel tag or other code to enable a third party to recognize particular users outside of the domain from which the activity was collected. Rich Media Advertisements with which user can interact in a web page format. Run of Network (RON) Scheduling of Internet advertising whereby an ad network positions ads across the sites it represents at its own discretion, according to available inventor. The advertiser usually forgoes premium positioning in exchange for more advertising weight at a lower CPM. Run of Site (ROS) The scheduling of Internet advertising whereby ads run across an entire site, often at a lower cost to the advertiser than the purchase of specific site sub-sections. Search Engine Optimization (SEO) The process of affecting the visibility of a website in a search engine's unpaid results. Referred to as "organic." SEO considers how search engines work, what popular keywords people search for, and the actual terms or keywords typed into the search engines. DIGITAL REPORTING Bounce Rate Refers to the percentage of a given page's visitors who exit without visiting another page on the same site. Also known as "abandonment rate." 7

8 DIGITAL REPORTING (continued) Click Fraud A type of Internet crime that occurs in pay per click online advertising when a person, automated script, or computer program imitates a legitimate user of a web browser clicking on an ad, for the purpose of generating a charge per click without having actual interest in the target of the ad's link. Click-Thru Rate (CTR) Measures the effectiveness of a campaign by how many people clicked on a specific link. Conversion A desired action taken by a website visitor, such as making a purchase, registering for an event, subscribing to an e-newsletter, etc. Cost Per Action (CPA) The cost factor for identifying the cost per action a visitor takes on your website. For example, if you were paying a $20 CPM on banner ads, and had 10 out of 1,000 people click on your banner ($2 cost per click) and only four filled out the form on your website you d have a $5 cost per action. Cost Per Click (CPC) CPC is an Internet marketing formula used to price online advertisements. Advertisers will pay Internet publishers based on the number of clicks a specific ad gets. Cost Per Lead (CPL) Cost of advertising based on the number of database files (leads) received. Cost per Thousand (CPM) Abbreviated as CPM (the letter "M" in the abbreviation is the Roman numeral for one thousand). CPM is used by Internet marketers to price ad banners. Sites that sell advertising will guarantee an advertiser a certain number of impressions (number of times an ad banner is downloaded and presumably seen by visitors), then set a rate based on that guarantee times the CPM rate. A website that has a CPM rate of $25 and guarantees advertisers 600,000 impressions will charge $15,000 ($25 x 600) for those advertisers' ad banner. Duration A term used in web logs to identify how long a visitor spends on your site. 8

9 DIGITAL REPORTING (continued) Impressions An instance of an organic search-engine listing or sponsored ad being served on a particular web page or an image being viewed in display advertising. Presented in a number form. Key Performance Indicators (KPI) The ways in which an organization defines and measures progress toward organizational goals. Lost Impression Share (Budget) The percentage of time your ads weren t shown on the search/display network due to insufficient budget. Lost Impression Share (Rank) The percentage of time your ads weren t shown on the search/display network due to poor Ad Rank in the auction. Page View A web page that has been viewed by one visitor. Page views are often used in online advertising, where advertisers use the number of page views a site receives to determine where and how to advertise. Search Marketing Marketing your products or services through search engine placement. The two forms of search marketing include optimization where you use coding and content to make your site recognizable by search engines and paid-placement where you purchase listings based on keyword searches. Stickiness A measure used to gauge the effectiveness of a site in retaining individual users. Usually measured by the duration of the visit. Visitors/Unique Visitors When tracking the amount of traffic on a website, it refers to a person who visits a website. A unique visitor is a visitor who has visited more than once within a specified period of time. Software that tracks and counts website traffic can distinguish between visitors who only visit the site once and unique visitors who return to the site. Different from a site's hits or page views, which are measured by the number of files that are requested from a site, unique visitors are measured according to their unique IP addresses, which are like online fingerprints, and unique visitors are counted only once no matter how many times they visit the site. There are some ISPs that use Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol, such as AOL and cable modem providers, which use different IPs for every file requested, making one visitor look like many. In this case, a single IP address does not indicate a unique visitor. 9

10 The Bottom Line With a number of highly targeted, highly cost-efficient advertising vehicles at its disposal, digital media is a booming category that will only continue to grow. As it does, so too will its language. And while many of the terms and concepts featured within this guide may seem foreign or complicated, just remember: it is a relatively new space to everyone. Marketers and advertisers who take the time to develop a base understanding of digital media will only position themselves to fully utilize its potential. In other words, stay with it. It s worth it. And while you re at it, take the time to understand traditional media, too. Look for our glossary of traditional terms (coming soon) to help you along the way. About Butler/Till We are a media and communication agency that delivers progressive ideas for engaging audiences across multiple platforms, channels, and media. We dream it up, build it, execute it, measure it, and continually improve it. We d love to start a conversation with you. Actually, Amanda would to be more exact adevito@butlertill.com Amanda DeVito Vice President of Engagement 10

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