Review for College Algebra Final Exam

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Review for College Algebra Final Exam"

Transcription

1 Review for College Algebra Fial Exam (Please remember that half of the fial exam will cover chapters 1-4. This review sheet covers oly the ew material, from chapters 5 ad 7.) 5.1 Systems of equatios i two variables Vocabulary: system of (liear) equatios, solutio of a system of equatios, cosistet system, icosistet system, graphical method, substitutio method, elimiatio method, equivalet equatios A solutio (x, y) of a system of two equatios is a ordered pair which makes both equatios true. Graphical method: Each liear equatio defies a lie i the plae. Graph the lie for each equatio i the system ad fid the itersectio (overlap) of the lies. The itersectio could be lie (if the two lies are the same), a poit (most commo), or othig (if the lies are parallel but ot the same). If a system of equatios has at least oe solutio, it is cosistet. If ot, it is icosistet. Substitutio method: I oe of the equatios, solve for oe variable (say x) i terms of the other (say y) ad use the result to substitute for x i the other equatio. This other equatio will ow ivolve oly y s, ad you ca solve for y. Plug this y-value back ito the equatio you solved for x (this is called back-substitutio) i order to fid x. Of course, x ad y ca be switched i this whole process. Elimiatio method: Multiply oe or both equatios by a costat to get equivalet equatios for which either the x- or the y-coefficiets are egatives of each other. Add the equatios to elimiate oe variable. Solve for the other variable, ad the back-substitute ito oe of the origial equatios to fid the variable which was elimiated. 5.2 Systems of equatios i three variables To solve a system of three liear equatios i three variables, choose two pairs of equatios from the three equatios, ad elimiate the same variable from each pair usig the elimiatio method from 5.1. Now you have a system of two liear equatios i two variables. Use the elimiate method agai to elimiate aother variable ad solve for the value of the oe remaiig variable. Fially, back-substitute ito oe of the earlier two-variable equatios to fid the value of a secod variable, ad the back-substitute both values ito oe of the origial equatios to fid the value of the third variable. 5.7 Systems of iequalities ad liear programmig Vocabulary: liear iequality, half-plae, system of liear iequalities, objective fuctio, costraits, regio of feasible solutios

2 Graphig a liear iequality A liear iequality is a iequality that ca be writte i the form Ax + By < C, with A ad B ot both zero. The < sig may be replaced by >,, or. The iequality may also be give i slope-itercept form, such as y < mx + b. To graph the solutio set of a liear iequality: 1. Replace the iequality symbol with a equals sig ad draw the graph of the resultig liear equatio. Use a dotted lie if the symbol is < or > ad a solid lie if the symbol is or. The dotted lie meas that the poits o the lie are ot solutios, while the solid lie meas that the poits o the lie are solutios. 2. To determie which side (or half-plae) of the lie cotais solutios to the iequality, test whether a poit o oe side of the lie is a solutio. If it is, the shade that side of the lie. If it is ot, shade the other side of the lie. Graphig a system of liear iequalities A system of iequalities cosists of two or more iequalities cosidered simultaeously. For example: x y 5 2x + 3y > 0 The solutio set of a system is the set of poits which are solutios to every iequality i the system. To graph the solutio set of a system of liear iequalities: Graph the solutio set of each iequality o the same set of axes. The overlap of these solutios sets is the solutio set for the whole system. Istead of shadig the half-plae for each iequality, it is cleaer to draw small arrows idicatig which side would be shaded. The, usig this iformatio, you ca shade oly the solutio set for the etire system of equatios. A poit o more tha oe of the boudary lies is icluded i the fial solutio set if ad oly if all of the boudary lies cotaiig it are solid lies. Liear programmig To fid the maximum or miimum value of a liear objective fuctio subject to a set of liear costraits: 1. Graph the regio of feasible solutios (the solutio set for the system of costraits). 2. Fid the coordiates of the vertices of this regio of feasible solutios. 3. Evaluate the objective fuctio at each vertex ad fid the largest or smallest value.

3 7.1 Sequeces ad series Vocabulary: sequece, ifiite/fiite sequece, terms of a sequece, geeral term, alteratig sequece, series, ifiite/fiite series, partial sum, sigma/summatio otatio, idex of summatio, explicit defiitio, recursive defiitio Give a explicit or a recursive defiitio of a sequece, fid particular terms of the sequece directly from the defiitio. Give particular terms of a sequece, fid a explicit or a recursive defiitio of the sequece. Calculate partial sums by addig up the first few terms of a sequece. Evaluate expressios writte usig summatio otatio. Write expressios usig summatio otatio. 7.2 Arithmetic sequeces ad series Vocabulary: arithmetic sequece, commo differece, th term, arithmetic series Fid a recursive formula for a arithmetic sequece usig the first term a 1 ad the commo differece d: { a 1 = value of a 1 = a + d a +1 Fid a explicit formula for a arithmetic sequece usig the first term a 1 ad the commo differece d: a = a 1 + ( 1)d. Give ay two terms of a arithmetic sequece, fid the explicit formula for the sequece ad use it to determie ay other term of the sequece. Give the value of a term i a arithmetic sequece, determie which term it is. Fid the sum of a fiite arithmetic series usig the formula: ( ) a1 + a S = a k =. 2 Use arithmetic sequeces ad series to solve applied problems. 7.3 Geometric sequeces ad series Vocabulary: geometric sequece, commo ratio, geometric series, ifiite geometric series, limit Fid a recursive formula for a geometric sequece usig the first term a 1 ad the commo ratio r: { a 1 = value of a 1 = a r a +1

4 Fid a explicit formula for a geometric sequece usig the first term a 1 ad the commo ratio r: a = a 1 r 1. Give ay two terms of a geometric sequece, fid the explicit formula for the sequece ad use it to determie ay other term of the sequece. Give the value of a term i a geometric sequece, determie which term it is. Fid the sum of a fiite geometric series usig the formula: S = ( ) 1 r a k = a 1. 1 r Fid the sum of a ifiite geometric series usig the formula: S = a k = a 1 1 r. Write a ifiitely repeatig decimal as a fractio by expressig it as a ifiite geometric series ad the usig the sum formula above. Use geometric sequeces ad series to solve applied problems. 7.5 Combiatorics: permutatios Vocabulary: permutatio, the fudametal coutig priciple, combied actio, with/without repetitio, idetical/odistiguishable objects A permutatio is a ordered arragemet. Fid the umber of permutatios of objects usig the formula: P =! = ( 1)( 2) (3)(2)(1). Fid the umber of permutatios of objects take k at a time usig the formula: P k =! = ( 1)( 2) ( (k 1)). ( k)! If a combied actio ca be performed as a sequece of k steps, ad the ith step ca be performed i i ways, the the combied actio ca be performed i ways k Give differet letters, the umber of k-letter codes that ca be formed from the letters, with repetitio allowed, is k.

5 Suppose we have k differet types of objects, with i objects of type i, for each i. Suppose there are = k total objects. The the umber of arragemets of all objects is:! 1! 2! k!. Apply these priciples to solve various coutig problems. The formulas will ot be give to you. It will be easier to remember them if you uderstad why they are true. 7.6 Combiatorics: combiatios Vocabulary: combiatio A combiatio is a uordered selectio or choice. Fid the umber of combiatios of objects take k at a time usig the formula: ( ) C k = = P k! = k kp k k!( k)!. Apply this formula, alog with the fudametal coutig priciple, to solve various coutig problems. The formula will ot be give to you. It will be easier to remember it if you uderstad why it is true. Choosig k people out of people to be o your committee is equivalet to choosig ( k) people out of people ot to be o your committee, hece: ( ) ( ) =. k k We ca cout the umber of committees of ay size which ca formed out of people i two differet ways, yieldig two expressios which must be equal: ( ) ( ) ( ) ( ) =

Basic Elements of Arithmetic Sequences and Series

Basic Elements of Arithmetic Sequences and Series MA40S PRE-CALCULUS UNIT G GEOMETRIC SEQUENCES CLASS NOTES (COMPLETED NO NEED TO COPY NOTES FROM OVERHEAD) Basic Elemets of Arithmetic Sequeces ad Series Objective: To establish basic elemets of arithmetic

More information

CS103X: Discrete Structures Homework 4 Solutions

CS103X: Discrete Structures Homework 4 Solutions CS103X: Discrete Structures Homewor 4 Solutios Due February 22, 2008 Exercise 1 10 poits. Silico Valley questios: a How may possible six-figure salaries i whole dollar amouts are there that cotai at least

More information

Soving Recurrence Relations

Soving Recurrence Relations Sovig Recurrece Relatios Part 1. Homogeeous liear 2d degree relatios with costat coefficiets. Cosider the recurrece relatio ( ) T () + at ( 1) + bt ( 2) = 0 This is called a homogeeous liear 2d degree

More information

5.3. Generalized Permutations and Combinations

5.3. Generalized Permutations and Combinations 53 GENERALIZED PERMUTATIONS AND COMBINATIONS 73 53 Geeralized Permutatios ad Combiatios 53 Permutatios with Repeated Elemets Assume that we have a alphabet with letters ad we wat to write all possible

More information

SAMPLE QUESTIONS FOR FINAL EXAM. (1) (2) (3) (4) Find the following using the definition of the Riemann integral: (2x + 1)dx

SAMPLE QUESTIONS FOR FINAL EXAM. (1) (2) (3) (4) Find the following using the definition of the Riemann integral: (2x + 1)dx SAMPLE QUESTIONS FOR FINAL EXAM REAL ANALYSIS I FALL 006 3 4 Fid the followig usig the defiitio of the Riema itegral: a 0 x + dx 3 Cosider the partitio P x 0 3, x 3 +, x 3 +,......, x 3 3 + 3 of the iterval

More information

Infinite Sequences and Series

Infinite Sequences and Series CHAPTER 4 Ifiite Sequeces ad Series 4.1. Sequeces A sequece is a ifiite ordered list of umbers, for example the sequece of odd positive itegers: 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27, 29...

More information

NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 12

NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 12 NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE MATHEMATICS P EXEMPLAR 04 MARKS: 50 TIME: 3 hours This questio paper cosists of 8 pages ad iformatio sheet. Please tur over Mathematics/P DBE/04 NSC Grade Eemplar INSTRUCTIONS

More information

SECTION 1.5 : SUMMATION NOTATION + WORK WITH SEQUENCES

SECTION 1.5 : SUMMATION NOTATION + WORK WITH SEQUENCES SECTION 1.5 : SUMMATION NOTATION + WORK WITH SEQUENCES Read Sectio 1.5 (pages 5 9) Overview I Sectio 1.5 we lear to work with summatio otatio ad formulas. We will also itroduce a brief overview of sequeces,

More information

Here are a couple of warnings to my students who may be here to get a copy of what happened on a day that you missed.

Here are a couple of warnings to my students who may be here to get a copy of what happened on a day that you missed. This documet was writte ad copyrighted by Paul Dawkis. Use of this documet ad its olie versio is govered by the Terms ad Coditios of Use located at http://tutorial.math.lamar.edu/terms.asp. The olie versio

More information

In nite Sequences. Dr. Philippe B. Laval Kennesaw State University. October 9, 2008

In nite Sequences. Dr. Philippe B. Laval Kennesaw State University. October 9, 2008 I ite Sequeces Dr. Philippe B. Laval Keesaw State Uiversity October 9, 2008 Abstract This had out is a itroductio to i ite sequeces. mai de itios ad presets some elemetary results. It gives the I ite Sequeces

More information

CS103A Handout 23 Winter 2002 February 22, 2002 Solving Recurrence Relations

CS103A Handout 23 Winter 2002 February 22, 2002 Solving Recurrence Relations CS3A Hadout 3 Witer 00 February, 00 Solvig Recurrece Relatios Itroductio A wide variety of recurrece problems occur i models. Some of these recurrece relatios ca be solved usig iteratio or some other ad

More information

Discrete Mathematics and Probability Theory Spring 2014 Anant Sahai Note 13

Discrete Mathematics and Probability Theory Spring 2014 Anant Sahai Note 13 EECS 70 Discrete Mathematics ad Probability Theory Sprig 2014 Aat Sahai Note 13 Itroductio At this poit, we have see eough examples that it is worth just takig stock of our model of probability ad may

More information

Trigonometric Form of a Complex Number. The Complex Plane. axis. ( 2, 1) or 2 i FIGURE 6.44. The absolute value of the complex number z a bi is

Trigonometric Form of a Complex Number. The Complex Plane. axis. ( 2, 1) or 2 i FIGURE 6.44. The absolute value of the complex number z a bi is 0_0605.qxd /5/05 0:45 AM Page 470 470 Chapter 6 Additioal Topics i Trigoometry 6.5 Trigoometric Form of a Complex Number What you should lear Plot complex umbers i the complex plae ad fid absolute values

More information

.04. This means $1000 is multiplied by 1.02 five times, once for each of the remaining sixmonth

.04. This means $1000 is multiplied by 1.02 five times, once for each of the remaining sixmonth Questio 1: What is a ordiary auity? Let s look at a ordiary auity that is certai ad simple. By this, we mea a auity over a fixed term whose paymet period matches the iterest coversio period. Additioally,

More information

FOUNDATIONS OF MATHEMATICS AND PRE-CALCULUS GRADE 10

FOUNDATIONS OF MATHEMATICS AND PRE-CALCULUS GRADE 10 FOUNDATIONS OF MATHEMATICS AND PRE-CALCULUS GRADE 10 [C] Commuicatio Measuremet A1. Solve problems that ivolve liear measuremet, usig: SI ad imperial uits of measure estimatio strategies measuremet strategies.

More information

1. MATHEMATICAL INDUCTION

1. MATHEMATICAL INDUCTION 1. MATHEMATICAL INDUCTION EXAMPLE 1: Prove that for ay iteger 1. Proof: 1 + 2 + 3 +... + ( + 1 2 (1.1 STEP 1: For 1 (1.1 is true, sice 1 1(1 + 1. 2 STEP 2: Suppose (1.1 is true for some k 1, that is 1

More information

Lecture 13. Lecturer: Jonathan Kelner Scribe: Jonathan Pines (2009)

Lecture 13. Lecturer: Jonathan Kelner Scribe: Jonathan Pines (2009) 18.409 A Algorithmist s Toolkit October 27, 2009 Lecture 13 Lecturer: Joatha Keler Scribe: Joatha Pies (2009) 1 Outlie Last time, we proved the Bru-Mikowski iequality for boxes. Today we ll go over the

More information

2-3 The Remainder and Factor Theorems

2-3 The Remainder and Factor Theorems - The Remaider ad Factor Theorems Factor each polyomial completely usig the give factor ad log divisio 1 x + x x 60; x + So, x + x x 60 = (x + )(x x 15) Factorig the quadratic expressio yields x + x x

More information

Incremental calculation of weighted mean and variance

Incremental calculation of weighted mean and variance Icremetal calculatio of weighted mea ad variace Toy Fich faf@cam.ac.uk dot@dotat.at Uiversity of Cambridge Computig Service February 009 Abstract I these otes I eplai how to derive formulae for umerically

More information

Your organization has a Class B IP address of 166.144.0.0 Before you implement subnetting, the Network ID and Host ID are divided as follows:

Your organization has a Class B IP address of 166.144.0.0 Before you implement subnetting, the Network ID and Host ID are divided as follows: Subettig Subettig is used to subdivide a sigle class of etwork i to multiple smaller etworks. Example: Your orgaizatio has a Class B IP address of 166.144.0.0 Before you implemet subettig, the Network

More information

Notes on exponential generating functions and structures.

Notes on exponential generating functions and structures. Notes o expoetial geeratig fuctios ad structures. 1. The cocept of a structure. Cosider the followig coutig problems: (1) to fid for each the umber of partitios of a -elemet set, (2) to fid for each the

More information

Example 2 Find the square root of 0. The only square root of 0 is 0 (since 0 is not positive or negative, so those choices don t exist here).

Example 2 Find the square root of 0. The only square root of 0 is 0 (since 0 is not positive or negative, so those choices don t exist here). BEGINNING ALGEBRA Roots ad Radicals (revised summer, 00 Olso) Packet to Supplemet the Curret Textbook - Part Review of Square Roots & Irratioals (This portio ca be ay time before Part ad should mostly

More information

Sequences and Series

Sequences and Series CHAPTER 9 Sequeces ad Series 9.. Covergece: Defiitio ad Examples Sequeces The purpose of this chapter is to itroduce a particular way of geeratig algorithms for fidig the values of fuctios defied by their

More information

THE ARITHMETIC OF INTEGERS. - multiplication, exponentiation, division, addition, and subtraction

THE ARITHMETIC OF INTEGERS. - multiplication, exponentiation, division, addition, and subtraction THE ARITHMETIC OF INTEGERS - multiplicatio, expoetiatio, divisio, additio, ad subtractio What to do ad what ot to do. THE INTEGERS Recall that a iteger is oe of the whole umbers, which may be either positive,

More information

S. Tanny MAT 344 Spring 1999. be the minimum number of moves required.

S. Tanny MAT 344 Spring 1999. be the minimum number of moves required. S. Tay MAT 344 Sprig 999 Recurrece Relatios Tower of Haoi Let T be the miimum umber of moves required. T 0 = 0, T = 7 Iitial Coditios * T = T + $ T is a sequece (f. o itegers). Solve for T? * is a recurrece,

More information

Week 3 Conditional probabilities, Bayes formula, WEEK 3 page 1 Expected value of a random variable

Week 3 Conditional probabilities, Bayes formula, WEEK 3 page 1 Expected value of a random variable Week 3 Coditioal probabilities, Bayes formula, WEEK 3 page 1 Expected value of a radom variable We recall our discussio of 5 card poker hads. Example 13 : a) What is the probability of evet A that a 5

More information

. P. 4.3 Basic feasible solutions and vertices of polyhedra. x 1. x 2

. P. 4.3 Basic feasible solutions and vertices of polyhedra. x 1. x 2 4. Basic feasible solutios ad vertices of polyhedra Due to the fudametal theorem of Liear Programmig, to solve ay LP it suffices to cosider the vertices (fiitely may) of the polyhedro P of the feasible

More information

4.3. The Integral and Comparison Tests

4.3. The Integral and Comparison Tests 4.3. THE INTEGRAL AND COMPARISON TESTS 9 4.3. The Itegral ad Compariso Tests 4.3.. The Itegral Test. Suppose f is a cotiuous, positive, decreasig fuctio o [, ), ad let a = f(). The the covergece or divergece

More information

Engineering 323 Beautiful Homework Set 3 1 of 7 Kuszmar Problem 2.51

Engineering 323 Beautiful Homework Set 3 1 of 7 Kuszmar Problem 2.51 Egieerig 33 eautiful Homewor et 3 of 7 Kuszmar roblem.5.5 large departmet store sells sport shirts i three sizes small, medium, ad large, three patters plaid, prit, ad stripe, ad two sleeve legths log

More information

I. Chi-squared Distributions

I. Chi-squared Distributions 1 M 358K Supplemet to Chapter 23: CHI-SQUARED DISTRIBUTIONS, T-DISTRIBUTIONS, AND DEGREES OF FREEDOM To uderstad t-distributios, we first eed to look at aother family of distributios, the chi-squared distributios.

More information

Chapter 7 Methods of Finding Estimators

Chapter 7 Methods of Finding Estimators Chapter 7 for BST 695: Special Topics i Statistical Theory. Kui Zhag, 011 Chapter 7 Methods of Fidig Estimators Sectio 7.1 Itroductio Defiitio 7.1.1 A poit estimator is ay fuctio W( X) W( X1, X,, X ) of

More information

Department of Computer Science, University of Otago

Department of Computer Science, University of Otago Departmet of Computer Sciece, Uiversity of Otago Techical Report OUCS-2006-09 Permutatios Cotaiig May Patters Authors: M.H. Albert Departmet of Computer Sciece, Uiversity of Otago Micah Colema, Rya Fly

More information

SEQUENCES AND SERIES CHAPTER

SEQUENCES AND SERIES CHAPTER CHAPTER SEQUENCES AND SERIES Whe the Grat family purchased a computer for $,200 o a istallmet pla, they agreed to pay $00 each moth util the cost of the computer plus iterest had bee paid The iterest each

More information

CHAPTER 3 THE TIME VALUE OF MONEY

CHAPTER 3 THE TIME VALUE OF MONEY CHAPTER 3 THE TIME VALUE OF MONEY OVERVIEW A dollar i the had today is worth more tha a dollar to be received i the future because, if you had it ow, you could ivest that dollar ad ear iterest. Of all

More information

5 Boolean Decision Trees (February 11)

5 Boolean Decision Trees (February 11) 5 Boolea Decisio Trees (February 11) 5.1 Graph Coectivity Suppose we are give a udirected graph G, represeted as a boolea adjacecy matrix = (a ij ), where a ij = 1 if ad oly if vertices i ad j are coected

More information

NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 11

NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 11 NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE MATHEMATICS P NOVEMBER 007 MARKS: 50 TIME: 3 hours This questio paper cosists of 9 pages, diagram sheet ad a -page formula sheet. Please tur over Mathematics/P DoE/November

More information

Lecture 5: Span, linear independence, bases, and dimension

Lecture 5: Span, linear independence, bases, and dimension Lecture 5: Spa, liear idepedece, bases, ad dimesio Travis Schedler Thurs, Sep 23, 2010 (versio: 9/21 9:55 PM) 1 Motivatio Motivatio To uderstad what it meas that R has dimesio oe, R 2 dimesio 2, etc.;

More information

Convexity, Inequalities, and Norms

Convexity, Inequalities, and Norms Covexity, Iequalities, ad Norms Covex Fuctios You are probably familiar with the otio of cocavity of fuctios. Give a twicedifferetiable fuctio ϕ: R R, We say that ϕ is covex (or cocave up) if ϕ (x) 0 for

More information

Repeating Decimals are decimal numbers that have number(s) after the decimal point that repeat in a pattern.

Repeating Decimals are decimal numbers that have number(s) after the decimal point that repeat in a pattern. 5.5 Fractios ad Decimals Steps for Chagig a Fractio to a Decimal. Simplify the fractio, if possible. 2. Divide the umerator by the deomiator. d d Repeatig Decimals Repeatig Decimals are decimal umbers

More information

Section 11.3: The Integral Test

Section 11.3: The Integral Test Sectio.3: The Itegral Test Most of the series we have looked at have either diverged or have coverged ad we have bee able to fid what they coverge to. I geeral however, the problem is much more difficult

More information

BINOMIAL EXPANSIONS 12.5. In this section. Some Examples. Obtaining the Coefficients

BINOMIAL EXPANSIONS 12.5. In this section. Some Examples. Obtaining the Coefficients 652 (12-26) Chapter 12 Sequeces ad Series 12.5 BINOMIAL EXPANSIONS I this sectio Some Examples Otaiig the Coefficiets The Biomial Theorem I Chapter 5 you leared how to square a iomial. I this sectio you

More information

3. If x and y are real numbers, what is the simplified radical form

3. If x and y are real numbers, what is the simplified radical form lgebra II Practice Test Objective:.a. Which is equivalet to 98 94 4 49?. Which epressio is aother way to write 5 4? 5 5 4 4 4 5 4 5. If ad y are real umbers, what is the simplified radical form of 5 y

More information

Properties of MLE: consistency, asymptotic normality. Fisher information.

Properties of MLE: consistency, asymptotic normality. Fisher information. Lecture 3 Properties of MLE: cosistecy, asymptotic ormality. Fisher iformatio. I this sectio we will try to uderstad why MLEs are good. Let us recall two facts from probability that we be used ofte throughout

More information

Chapter 5: Inner Product Spaces

Chapter 5: Inner Product Spaces Chapter 5: Ier Product Spaces Chapter 5: Ier Product Spaces SECION A Itroductio to Ier Product Spaces By the ed of this sectio you will be able to uderstad what is meat by a ier product space give examples

More information

INFINITE SERIES KEITH CONRAD

INFINITE SERIES KEITH CONRAD INFINITE SERIES KEITH CONRAD. Itroductio The two basic cocepts of calculus, differetiatio ad itegratio, are defied i terms of limits (Newto quotiets ad Riema sums). I additio to these is a third fudametal

More information

Mathematical goals. Starting points. Materials required. Time needed

Mathematical goals. Starting points. Materials required. Time needed Level A1 of challege: C A1 Mathematical goals Startig poits Materials required Time eeded Iterpretig algebraic expressios To help learers to: traslate betwee words, symbols, tables, ad area represetatios

More information

Solutions to Selected Problems In: Pattern Classification by Duda, Hart, Stork

Solutions to Selected Problems In: Pattern Classification by Duda, Hart, Stork Solutios to Selected Problems I: Patter Classificatio by Duda, Hart, Stork Joh L. Weatherwax February 4, 008 Problem Solutios Chapter Bayesia Decisio Theory Problem radomized rules Part a: Let Rx be the

More information

Asymptotic Growth of Functions

Asymptotic Growth of Functions CMPS Itroductio to Aalysis of Algorithms Fall 3 Asymptotic Growth of Fuctios We itroduce several types of asymptotic otatio which are used to compare the performace ad efficiecy of algorithms As we ll

More information

Now here is the important step

Now here is the important step LINEST i Excel The Excel spreadsheet fuctio "liest" is a complete liear least squares curve fittig routie that produces ucertaity estimates for the fit values. There are two ways to access the "liest"

More information

SEQUENCES AND SERIES

SEQUENCES AND SERIES Chapter 9 SEQUENCES AND SERIES Natural umbers are the product of huma spirit. DEDEKIND 9.1 Itroductio I mathematics, the word, sequece is used i much the same way as it is i ordiary Eglish. Whe we say

More information

Theorems About Power Series

Theorems About Power Series Physics 6A Witer 20 Theorems About Power Series Cosider a power series, f(x) = a x, () where the a are real coefficiets ad x is a real variable. There exists a real o-egative umber R, called the radius

More information

Permutations, the Parity Theorem, and Determinants

Permutations, the Parity Theorem, and Determinants 1 Permutatios, the Parity Theorem, ad Determiats Joh A. Guber Departmet of Electrical ad Computer Egieerig Uiversity of Wiscosi Madiso Cotets 1 What is a Permutatio 1 2 Cycles 2 2.1 Traspositios 4 3 Orbits

More information

MATHEMATICS P1 COMMON TEST JUNE 2014 NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 12

MATHEMATICS P1 COMMON TEST JUNE 2014 NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 12 Mathematics/P1 1 Jue 014 Commo Test MATHEMATICS P1 COMMON TEST JUNE 014 NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 1 Marks: 15 Time: ½ hours N.B: This questio paper cosists of 7 pages ad 1 iformatio sheet. Please

More information

3. Greatest Common Divisor - Least Common Multiple

3. Greatest Common Divisor - Least Common Multiple 3 Greatest Commo Divisor - Least Commo Multiple Defiitio 31: The greatest commo divisor of two atural umbers a ad b is the largest atural umber c which divides both a ad b We deote the greatest commo gcd

More information

Lesson 15 ANOVA (analysis of variance)

Lesson 15 ANOVA (analysis of variance) Outlie Variability -betwee group variability -withi group variability -total variability -F-ratio Computatio -sums of squares (betwee/withi/total -degrees of freedom (betwee/withi/total -mea square (betwee/withi

More information

Solutions to Exercises Chapter 4: Recurrence relations and generating functions

Solutions to Exercises Chapter 4: Recurrence relations and generating functions Solutios to Exercises Chapter 4: Recurrece relatios ad geeratig fuctios 1 (a) There are seatig positios arraged i a lie. Prove that the umber of ways of choosig a subset of these positios, with o two chose

More information

Cooley-Tukey. Tukey FFT Algorithms. FFT Algorithms. Cooley

Cooley-Tukey. Tukey FFT Algorithms. FFT Algorithms. Cooley Cooley Cooley-Tuey Tuey FFT Algorithms FFT Algorithms Cosider a legth- sequece x[ with a -poit DFT X[ where Represet the idices ad as +, +, Cooley Cooley-Tuey Tuey FFT Algorithms FFT Algorithms Usig these

More information

FIBONACCI NUMBERS: AN APPLICATION OF LINEAR ALGEBRA. 1. Powers of a matrix

FIBONACCI NUMBERS: AN APPLICATION OF LINEAR ALGEBRA. 1. Powers of a matrix FIBONACCI NUMBERS: AN APPLICATION OF LINEAR ALGEBRA. Powers of a matrix We begi with a propositio which illustrates the usefuless of the diagoalizatio. Recall that a square matrix A is diogaalizable if

More information

Chapter 5 O A Cojecture Of Erdíos Proceedigs NCUR VIII è1994è, Vol II, pp 794í798 Jeærey F Gold Departmet of Mathematics, Departmet of Physics Uiversity of Utah Do H Tucker Departmet of Mathematics Uiversity

More information

5.4 Amortization. Question 1: How do you find the present value of an annuity? Question 2: How is a loan amortized?

5.4 Amortization. Question 1: How do you find the present value of an annuity? Question 2: How is a loan amortized? 5.4 Amortizatio Questio 1: How do you fid the preset value of a auity? Questio 2: How is a loa amortized? Questio 3: How do you make a amortizatio table? Oe of the most commo fiacial istrumets a perso

More information

PERMUTATIONS AND COMBINATIONS

PERMUTATIONS AND COMBINATIONS Chapter 7 PERMUTATIONS AND COMBINATIONS Every body of discovery is mathematical i form because there is o other guidace we ca have DARWIN 7.1 Itroductio Suppose you have a suitcase with a umber lock. The

More information

Overview of some probability distributions.

Overview of some probability distributions. Lecture Overview of some probability distributios. I this lecture we will review several commo distributios that will be used ofte throughtout the class. Each distributio is usually described by its probability

More information

Lecture 4: Cheeger s Inequality

Lecture 4: Cheeger s Inequality Spectral Graph Theory ad Applicatios WS 0/0 Lecture 4: Cheeger s Iequality Lecturer: Thomas Sauerwald & He Su Statemet of Cheeger s Iequality I this lecture we assume for simplicity that G is a d-regular

More information

1 Computing the Standard Deviation of Sample Means

1 Computing the Standard Deviation of Sample Means Computig the Stadard Deviatio of Sample Meas Quality cotrol charts are based o sample meas ot o idividual values withi a sample. A sample is a group of items, which are cosidered all together for our aalysis.

More information

http://www.webassign.net/v4cgijeff.downs@wnc/control.pl

http://www.webassign.net/v4cgijeff.downs@wnc/control.pl Assigmet Previewer http://www.webassig.et/vcgijeff.dows@wc/cotrol.pl of // : PM Practice Eam () Questio Descriptio Eam over chapter.. Questio DetailsLarCalc... [] Fid the geeral solutio of the differetial

More information

I. Why is there a time value to money (TVM)?

I. Why is there a time value to money (TVM)? Itroductio to the Time Value of Moey Lecture Outlie I. Why is there the cocept of time value? II. Sigle cash flows over multiple periods III. Groups of cash flows IV. Warigs o doig time value calculatios

More information

Running Time ( 3.1) Analysis of Algorithms. Experimental Studies ( 3.1.1) Limitations of Experiments. Pseudocode ( 3.1.2) Theoretical Analysis

Running Time ( 3.1) Analysis of Algorithms. Experimental Studies ( 3.1.1) Limitations of Experiments. Pseudocode ( 3.1.2) Theoretical Analysis Ruig Time ( 3.) Aalysis of Algorithms Iput Algorithm Output A algorithm is a step-by-step procedure for solvig a problem i a fiite amout of time. Most algorithms trasform iput objects ito output objects.

More information

Listing terms of a finite sequence List all of the terms of each finite sequence. a) a n n 2 for 1 n 5 1 b) a n for 1 n 4 n 2

Listing terms of a finite sequence List all of the terms of each finite sequence. a) a n n 2 for 1 n 5 1 b) a n for 1 n 4 n 2 74 (4 ) Chapter 4 Sequeces ad Series 4. SEQUENCES I this sectio Defiitio Fidig a Formula for the th Term The word sequece is a familiar word. We may speak of a sequece of evets or say that somethig is

More information

Lesson 17 Pearson s Correlation Coefficient

Lesson 17 Pearson s Correlation Coefficient Outlie Measures of Relatioships Pearso s Correlatio Coefficiet (r) -types of data -scatter plots -measure of directio -measure of stregth Computatio -covariatio of X ad Y -uique variatio i X ad Y -measurig

More information

The following example will help us understand The Sampling Distribution of the Mean. C1 C2 C3 C4 C5 50 miles 84 miles 38 miles 120 miles 48 miles

The following example will help us understand The Sampling Distribution of the Mean. C1 C2 C3 C4 C5 50 miles 84 miles 38 miles 120 miles 48 miles The followig eample will help us uderstad The Samplig Distributio of the Mea Review: The populatio is the etire collectio of all idividuals or objects of iterest The sample is the portio of the populatio

More information

hp calculators HP 12C Statistics - average and standard deviation Average and standard deviation concepts HP12C average and standard deviation

hp calculators HP 12C Statistics - average and standard deviation Average and standard deviation concepts HP12C average and standard deviation HP 1C Statistics - average ad stadard deviatio Average ad stadard deviatio cocepts HP1C average ad stadard deviatio Practice calculatig averages ad stadard deviatios with oe or two variables HP 1C Statistics

More information

Vladimir N. Burkov, Dmitri A. Novikov MODELS AND METHODS OF MULTIPROJECTS MANAGEMENT

Vladimir N. Burkov, Dmitri A. Novikov MODELS AND METHODS OF MULTIPROJECTS MANAGEMENT Keywords: project maagemet, resource allocatio, etwork plaig Vladimir N Burkov, Dmitri A Novikov MODELS AND METHODS OF MULTIPROJECTS MANAGEMENT The paper deals with the problems of resource allocatio betwee

More information

where: T = number of years of cash flow in investment's life n = the year in which the cash flow X n i = IRR = the internal rate of return

where: T = number of years of cash flow in investment's life n = the year in which the cash flow X n i = IRR = the internal rate of return EVALUATING ALTERNATIVE CAPITAL INVESTMENT PROGRAMS By Ke D. Duft, Extesio Ecoomist I the March 98 issue of this publicatio we reviewed the procedure by which a capital ivestmet project was assessed. The

More information

Measures of Spread and Boxplots Discrete Math, Section 9.4

Measures of Spread and Boxplots Discrete Math, Section 9.4 Measures of Spread ad Boxplots Discrete Math, Sectio 9.4 We start with a example: Example 1: Comparig Mea ad Media Compute the mea ad media of each data set: S 1 = {4, 6, 8, 10, 1, 14, 16} S = {4, 7, 9,

More information

THE REGRESSION MODEL IN MATRIX FORM. For simple linear regression, meaning one predictor, the model is. for i = 1, 2, 3,, n

THE REGRESSION MODEL IN MATRIX FORM. For simple linear regression, meaning one predictor, the model is. for i = 1, 2, 3,, n We will cosider the liear regressio model i matrix form. For simple liear regressio, meaig oe predictor, the model is i = + x i + ε i for i =,,,, This model icludes the assumptio that the ε i s are a sample

More information

Math 113 HW #11 Solutions

Math 113 HW #11 Solutions Math 3 HW # Solutios 5. 4. (a) Estimate the area uder the graph of f(x) = x from x = to x = 4 usig four approximatig rectagles ad right edpoits. Sketch the graph ad the rectagles. Is your estimate a uderestimate

More information

GCSE STATISTICS. 4) How to calculate the range: The difference between the biggest number and the smallest number.

GCSE STATISTICS. 4) How to calculate the range: The difference between the biggest number and the smallest number. GCSE STATISTICS You should kow: 1) How to draw a frequecy diagram: e.g. NUMBER TALLY FREQUENCY 1 3 5 ) How to draw a bar chart, a pictogram, ad a pie chart. 3) How to use averages: a) Mea - add up all

More information

Definition. A variable X that takes on values X 1, X 2, X 3,...X k with respective frequencies f 1, f 2, f 3,...f k has mean

Definition. A variable X that takes on values X 1, X 2, X 3,...X k with respective frequencies f 1, f 2, f 3,...f k has mean 1 Social Studies 201 October 13, 2004 Note: The examples i these otes may be differet tha used i class. However, the examples are similar ad the methods used are idetical to what was preseted i class.

More information

Chapter 6: Variance, the law of large numbers and the Monte-Carlo method

Chapter 6: Variance, the law of large numbers and the Monte-Carlo method Chapter 6: Variace, the law of large umbers ad the Mote-Carlo method Expected value, variace, ad Chebyshev iequality. If X is a radom variable recall that the expected value of X, E[X] is the average value

More information

AP Calculus BC 2003 Scoring Guidelines Form B

AP Calculus BC 2003 Scoring Guidelines Form B AP Calculus BC Scorig Guidelies Form B The materials icluded i these files are iteded for use by AP teachers for course ad exam preparatio; permissio for ay other use must be sought from the Advaced Placemet

More information

WHEN IS THE (CO)SINE OF A RATIONAL ANGLE EQUAL TO A RATIONAL NUMBER?

WHEN IS THE (CO)SINE OF A RATIONAL ANGLE EQUAL TO A RATIONAL NUMBER? WHEN IS THE (CO)SINE OF A RATIONAL ANGLE EQUAL TO A RATIONAL NUMBER? JÖRG JAHNEL 1. My Motivatio Some Sort of a Itroductio Last term I tought Topological Groups at the Göttige Georg August Uiversity. This

More information

Taking DCOP to the Real World: Efficient Complete Solutions for Distributed Multi-Event Scheduling

Taking DCOP to the Real World: Efficient Complete Solutions for Distributed Multi-Event Scheduling Taig DCOP to the Real World: Efficiet Complete Solutios for Distributed Multi-Evet Schedulig Rajiv T. Maheswara, Milid Tambe, Emma Bowrig, Joatha P. Pearce, ad Pradeep araatham Uiversity of Souther Califoria

More information

A probabilistic proof of a binomial identity

A probabilistic proof of a binomial identity A probabilistic proof of a biomial idetity Joatho Peterso Abstract We give a elemetary probabilistic proof of a biomial idetity. The proof is obtaied by computig the probability of a certai evet i two

More information

Lecture 4: Cauchy sequences, Bolzano-Weierstrass, and the Squeeze theorem

Lecture 4: Cauchy sequences, Bolzano-Weierstrass, and the Squeeze theorem Lecture 4: Cauchy sequeces, Bolzao-Weierstrass, ad the Squeeze theorem The purpose of this lecture is more modest tha the previous oes. It is to state certai coditios uder which we are guarateed that limits

More information

Project Deliverables. CS 361, Lecture 28. Outline. Project Deliverables. Administrative. Project Comments

Project Deliverables. CS 361, Lecture 28. Outline. Project Deliverables. Administrative. Project Comments Project Deliverables CS 361, Lecture 28 Jared Saia Uiversity of New Mexico Each Group should tur i oe group project cosistig of: About 6-12 pages of text (ca be loger with appedix) 6-12 figures (please

More information

Descriptive Statistics

Descriptive Statistics Descriptive Statistics We leared to describe data sets graphically. We ca also describe a data set umerically. Measures of Locatio Defiitio The sample mea is the arithmetic average of values. We deote

More information

MARTINGALES AND A BASIC APPLICATION

MARTINGALES AND A BASIC APPLICATION MARTINGALES AND A BASIC APPLICATION TURNER SMITH Abstract. This paper will develop the measure-theoretic approach to probability i order to preset the defiitio of martigales. From there we will apply this

More information

Part - I. Mathematics

Part - I. Mathematics Part - I Mathematics CHAPTER Set Theory. Objectives. Itroductio. Set Cocept.. Sets ad Elemets. Subset.. Proper ad Improper Subsets.. Equality of Sets.. Trasitivity of Set Iclusio.4 Uiversal Set.5 Complemet

More information

Solving Logarithms and Exponential Equations

Solving Logarithms and Exponential Equations Solvig Logarithms ad Epoetial Equatios Logarithmic Equatios There are two major ideas required whe solvig Logarithmic Equatios. The first is the Defiitio of a Logarithm. You may recall from a earlier topic:

More information

BENEFIT-COST ANALYSIS Financial and Economic Appraisal using Spreadsheets

BENEFIT-COST ANALYSIS Financial and Economic Appraisal using Spreadsheets BENEIT-CST ANALYSIS iacial ad Ecoomic Appraisal usig Spreadsheets Ch. 2: Ivestmet Appraisal - Priciples Harry Campbell & Richard Brow School of Ecoomics The Uiversity of Queeslad Review of basic cocepts

More information

Time Value of Money. First some technical stuff. HP10B II users

Time Value of Money. First some technical stuff. HP10B II users Time Value of Moey Basis for the course Power of compoud iterest $3,600 each year ito a 401(k) pla yields $2,390,000 i 40 years First some techical stuff You will use your fiacial calculator i every sigle

More information

A Faster Clause-Shortening Algorithm for SAT with No Restriction on Clause Length

A Faster Clause-Shortening Algorithm for SAT with No Restriction on Clause Length Joural o Satisfiability, Boolea Modelig ad Computatio 1 2005) 49-60 A Faster Clause-Shorteig Algorithm for SAT with No Restrictio o Clause Legth Evgey Datsi Alexader Wolpert Departmet of Computer Sciece

More information

THE HEIGHT OF q-binary SEARCH TREES

THE HEIGHT OF q-binary SEARCH TREES THE HEIGHT OF q-binary SEARCH TREES MICHAEL DRMOTA AND HELMUT PRODINGER Abstract. q biary search trees are obtaied from words, equipped with the geometric distributio istead of permutatios. The average

More information

Our aim is to show that under reasonable assumptions a given 2π-periodic function f can be represented as convergent series

Our aim is to show that under reasonable assumptions a given 2π-periodic function f can be represented as convergent series 8 Fourier Series Our aim is to show that uder reasoable assumptios a give -periodic fuctio f ca be represeted as coverget series f(x) = a + (a cos x + b si x). (8.) By defiitio, the covergece of the series

More information

Sequences and Series Using the TI-89 Calculator

Sequences and Series Using the TI-89 Calculator RIT Calculator Site Sequeces ad Series Usig the TI-89 Calculator Norecursively Defied Sequeces A orecursively defied sequece is oe i which the formula for the terms of the sequece is give explicitly. For

More information

UC Berkeley Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. EE 126: Probablity and Random Processes. Solutions 9 Spring 2006

UC Berkeley Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. EE 126: Probablity and Random Processes. Solutions 9 Spring 2006 Exam format UC Bereley Departmet of Electrical Egieerig ad Computer Sciece EE 6: Probablity ad Radom Processes Solutios 9 Sprig 006 The secod midterm will be held o Wedesday May 7; CHECK the fial exam

More information

1. C. The formula for the confidence interval for a population mean is: x t, which was

1. C. The formula for the confidence interval for a population mean is: x t, which was s 1. C. The formula for the cofidece iterval for a populatio mea is: x t, which was based o the sample Mea. So, x is guarateed to be i the iterval you form.. D. Use the rule : p-value

More information

CME 302: NUMERICAL LINEAR ALGEBRA FALL 2005/06 LECTURE 8

CME 302: NUMERICAL LINEAR ALGEBRA FALL 2005/06 LECTURE 8 CME 30: NUMERICAL LINEAR ALGEBRA FALL 005/06 LECTURE 8 GENE H GOLUB 1 Positive Defiite Matrices A matrix A is positive defiite if x Ax > 0 for all ozero x A positive defiite matrix has real ad positive

More information

Institute of Actuaries of India Subject CT1 Financial Mathematics

Institute of Actuaries of India Subject CT1 Financial Mathematics Istitute of Actuaries of Idia Subject CT1 Fiacial Mathematics For 2014 Examiatios Subject CT1 Fiacial Mathematics Core Techical Aim The aim of the Fiacial Mathematics subject is to provide a groudig i

More information