ACG 3024 Accounting for Non-Financial Majors Homework Portfolio Study Guide



Similar documents
BA213 Review for test # 2 Key

The Basic Framework of Budgeting

Standard Costs Overview

Principles of Managerial Accounting ACC-102-TE. TECEP Test Description

Flexible budgets and budget variances. First, let us consider the following example: Standard Cost Sheet Product: Widget

WJEC Applied Business A level. ABUS 1 and ABUS 5

Chapter 4. Systems Design: Process Costing. Types of Costing Systems Used to Determine Product Costs

Dutchess Community College ACC 204 Managerial Accounting Quiz Prep Chapter 9

NATIONAL UNIVERSITY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY FACULTY OF COMMERCE GRADUATE SCHOOL OF BUSINESS GENERAL MASTER OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION

> DO IT! Chapter 6. CVP Income Statement D-1. Solution. Action Plan

PRODUCTION BUDGET Budgeted sales + desired ending inventory beginning inventory = required production

1. Which one of the following is the format of a CVP income statement? A. Sales Variable costs = Fixed costs + Net income.

ACG 2071 Midterm 2 Review Problems & Solutions

Institute of Certified Management Accountants of Sri Lanka. Operational Level November 2012 Examination

How To Calculate Overhead Absorption Rate For A Business

CHAPTER 9. Cost accounting systems CONTENTS

Accounting 2910, Summer 2002 Practice Exam The cost of materials entering directly into the manufacturing process is classified as:

Quiz Chapter 7 - Solution

MANAGEMENT ACCOUNTING

Principles of Cost Accounting, 16th Edition, Edward J. VanDerbeck, 2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be copied, scanned, or

Multiple Choice Questions (45%)

There are two basic types of cost accounting systems:

Gleim / Flesher CMA Review 15th Edition, 1st Printing Part 1 Updates

Part 1 : 07/28/10 08:41:15

SOLUTIONS TO BRIEF EXERCISES

Analysis of Inventories. Inventory: Asset or Expense?

ACCOUNTING FOR NON-ACCOUNTANTS MARGINAL COSTING

6. Financial Planning. Break-even. Operating and Financial Leverage.

Chapter 6 Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships

COST AND MANAGEMENT ACCOUNTING

MGT402 - Cost & Management Accounting Glossary For Final Term Exam Preparation

CHAPTER 7 FLEXIBLE BUDGETS, DIRECT-COST VARIANCES, AND MANAGEMENT CONTROL

Exercises. Differential Analysis Sell (Alt. 1) or Lease (Alt. 2)

Budget types. CH 6: Budgets HOW DO YOU COME UP WITH THE NUMBERS? Budget Periods WHY BUDGET?

Introduction To Cost Accounting

CHAPTER 9 BREAK-EVEN POINT AND COST-VOLUME-PROFIT ANALYSIS

The estimated total cash collections during April from sales and accounts receivables would be: A) $155,900. B) $167,000. C) $171,666. D) $173,400.

Management Accounting 2 nd Year Examination

CHAPTER 11 DECISION MAKING AND RELEVANT INFORMATION

Fill-in-the-Blank Equations. Exercises

House Published on

LEBANESE ASSOCIATION OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS MANAGERIAL ACCOUNTING

AGENDA: JOB-ORDER COSTING

The Nature of Accounting Systems

Module Title: Management Accounting 2

Assumptions of CVP Analysis. Objective 1: Contribution Margin Income Statement. Assumptions of CVP Analysis. Contribution Margin Example

Understanding Variance Analysis By: Helen O Brien Gately B Comm; MAcc; FCA. Examiner: Formation 2 Management Accounting

UNIVERSITY OF BOLTON BUSINESS SCHOOL ACCOUNTANCY SEMESTER 1 EXAMINATION 2015/2016 MANAGEMENT ACCOUNTING AND DECISION MAKING MODULE NO: ACC5002

STUDENT NAME: STUDENT ID: UWDIR/Quest Id:

Functional Area Systems Lecture 5

Accounting System. Page 1 of 9

ACCA Certified Accounting Technician Examination Paper T7. Section A. 2 C ($200,000 ($200, x 0 15)) = $50,000

REVIEW FOR FINAL EXAM, ACCT-2302 (SAC)

University of Waterloo Final Examination

C 6 - ACRONYMS notesc6.doc Instructor s Supplemental Information Written by Professor Gregory M. Burbage, MBA, CPA, CMA, CFM

Hedging With Options 101

EXERCISES. Testing Equipment Vehicle Estimated average annual income: $24,300/6... $4,050 $15,000/8... $1,875

Chapter 6: Break-Even & CVP Analysis

FINANCIAL INTRODUCTION

Lesson-13. Elements of Cost and Cost Sheet

Chapter 22: Cost-Volume-Profit

Questions 1, 3 and 4 gained reasonable average marks, whereas Question 2 was poorly answered, especially parts (b),(c) and (f).

1. Merchandising company VS Service company V.S Manufacturing company

CHAPTER 19 (FIN MAN); CHAPTER 4 (MAN) COST BEHAVIOR AND COST-VOLUME-PROFIT ANALYSIS

Course- Financial Management.

Course- Financial Management.

JUNE 2012 EXAMINATION. D2. Business Finance. Answer ALL THREE questions. Question 1: 20 marks available. Question 2: 30 marks available

Paper F2. Management Accounting. Pilot Paper from December 2011 onwards. Fundamentals Pilot Paper Knowledge Module

Accounting Building Business Skills. Learning Objectives: Learning Objectives: Paul D. Kimmel. Chapter Fourteen: Cost-volume-profit Relationships

Paper MA2. Managing Costs and Finance FOUNDATIONS IN ACCOUNTANCY. Specimen Exam applicable from June 2014

STUDENT NAME: STUDENT ID:

CASH BUDGETS AND RELATED TOPICS

Summary. Chapter Five. Cost Volume Relations & Break Even Analysis

Export Business Plan Guide

Pricing Your Work (Overhead Recovery Review)

CE2451 Engineering Economics & Cost Analysis. Objectives of this course

Marginal Costing and Absorption Costing

Accounting and Finance for Managers and Entrepreneurs

Frequently Used Formulas for Managing Operations

BASIC CONCEPTS AND FORMULAE

December 2013 exam. (4CW) SME cash and working capital. Instructions to students. reading time.

CHAE Review Pricing Modules, Cash Management and Ratio Analysis

Cost VOLUME RELATIONS & BREAK EVEN ANALYSIS

Modeling Equipment Costs

CORK INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY INSTITIÚID TEICNEOLAÍOCHTA CHORCAÍ. Semester 1 Examinations 20014/15

Teaching the Budgeting Process Using a Spreadsheet Template

RENAISSANCE ENTREPRENEURSHIP CENTER First Finance Class (FIN-1)

THE CORE & SPECIAL COMPETENCIES MODEL FOR MANAGERIAL ACCOUNTING 1C -- DE ANZA COLLEGE MALLORY MCWILLIAMS, SJSU KEN HARPER, DE ANZA COLLEGE

UG802: COST MEASUREMENT AND COST ANALYSIS

RAPID REVIEW Chapter Content

The University of Georgia

Accounting 610 6A Relevant Costs and Operational Decisions Page 1

n System Design Job Order Costing n What is Product Costing n Types of Product Costing n When and how to use Job-Order Costing McGraw-Hill /Irwin

ACC 121 PRINCIPLES OF MANAGERIAL ACCOUNTING

Chapter 19 (4) Cost Behavior and Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Study Guide Solutions Fill-in-the-Blank Equations

Financial Objectives

Session 07. Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis

Managing Working Capital

Transcription:

ACG 3024 Accounting for Non-Financial Majors Homework Portfolio Study Guide These are similar questions with the answers to help guide you when preparing the Homework Portfolio that you will upload to the Dropbox tab labeled Homework Portfolio. #1 Preppy Co. makes and sells a single product. The current selling price is $35 per unit. Variable costs are $20 per unit and fixed expenses total $80,000 per month. Sales volume for July totaled 10,000 units. Page 451-454, and page 458-461 (a) Calculate the operating income for July. Use the Contribution Margin Format Revenues (10,000 units x35=350,000) $350,000 Variable Expense (10,000 units x20=200,000) - 200,000 Contribution Margin 150,000 Fixed Expenses - 80,000 Operating Income (loss) $70,000 (b) Calculate the break-even point in units sold and break-even total revenues. First: Calculate Contribution Margin per Unit: (Revenues per Unit Variable Expense per Unit) (Although we are given the per unit information in this problem, here is how you would calculate it if it were not given.) Revenues per unit- $350,000/10,000 units = $35 per unit Variable Expense per unit - $200,000/10,000 units = $20 per unit Contribution Margin per unit = Revenues per Unit Variable Expense per Unit Contribution Margin per unit = $35 $20 = $15 Second: Calculate break-even points in units: (Fixed Expenses/Contribution Margin per Unit) (Note: you must round to whole units) = $80,000/$15 = 5,333 units Third: Calculate contribution margin ratio (Contribution per unit / Revenues per unit) $15/$35 =.428 cm ratio Finally: Calculate break-even total revenues: (Fixed Expenses/Contribution Margin Ratio) $80,000/.428 = $186,916.89

#2 George's Garage incurred the following costs during May: Page 501-502 Raw Material $35,000 Direct labor 100,000 Manufacturing OH 50,000 Selling Expense 34,000 Administrative Expense 21,000 Interest Expense 10,000 Finished Goods Inventory May 1 1,000 Finished Goods Inventory May 31 3,500 during the month, 5,000 units of product were manufactured and 4,000 units of product were sold. On May 1, George's carried no Raw Materials inventories. (a.) Calculate the cost of goods manufactured during May and the average cost per unit of product manufactured. Raw materials: Raw Material Inventory, May 1 $0 Purchases during May 35,000 Raw Materials available for use 35,000 *Less: Raw Material Inventory May 31-7,000 (be careful here do not use finished goods information) Cost of Raw Material used 28,000 Direct Labor cost incurred in May 100,000 Manufacturing OH applied during May 50,000 Total manufacturing Costs incurred during May $178,000 Average Cost per Unit $178,000/5,000 units manufactured = $35.60 *Ending Raw Material inventory is calculated 5,000 units produced and 4,000 sold = 1,000 units is remaining in ending inventory (5,000-4,000=1,000) $35,000/5,000 = $7 x 1,000 units = $7,000 (This is the value of the 1,000 units in ending inventory on May 31 st. )

Problem 2 continued (b.) Calculate the cost of goods sold during May. Beginning Finished Goods Inventory, May 1 $1,000 Cost of Manufactured 178,000 Cost of goods available for sale $179,000 Less: ending Finished Goods Inventory, May 31-3,500 Cost of Goods Sold $175,500 #3 Dominic's, Inc. had actual sales for January and February and forecasted sales for March, April, May and June as follows: Page 543 Actual: January $152,000 February $208,000 Forecast: March $205,000 April $198,000 May $220,000 June $205,000 Based on company experience, it is estimated that 25 percent of a month's sales are collected in the month of sale, 50 percent of the prior month s sales, and 15 percent of the second prior months sales. Calculate the estimated cash collections for March, April, and May. March Collections April Collection May Collections January 152,000 x 15% $22,800 February 208,000 x 50% $104,000 February 208,000 x 15% $31,200 March 205,000 x 25% $51,250 March 205,000 x 50% $102,500 March 205,000 x 15% $30,750 April 198,000 x 25% $49,500 April 198,000 x 50% $99,000 May 220,000 x 25% $55,000 March April May Total $178,050 $183,200 $184,750

#4 The standards (budgets) for one case of Peardrax are: Page 575, 580, & 581 Direct materials (Raw Material) -based on 2,900 cases 7 lbs@ 3.60/lb Direct labor -based on 2,900 cases 3 hrs @ $15.50/hr Variable Overhead -based on 2,900 cases 2 hrs @ $5.50/hr During the week ended June 7 the following activity took place: Actual 1) 5,120 machine hours were worked; 2) 23,400 lbs. of raw material (direct material) were purchased for inventory at a total cost of $79,560; 3) 3,100 cases of finished product were produced; 4) 22,650 lbs. of raw material (direct material) were used; 5) 10,260 labor hours were worked at an average rate of $15.10 per hour; 6) $26,774 actual variable overhead costs were incurred and 2 hours of variable overhead hours. Calculate each of the following: Make sure you indicate whether the variance is favorable or. Variances are ALWAYS stated in dollar amounts. A) Flexible Budget B) Price variance for raw materials purchased C) Raw materials usage variance D) Direct labor rate variance E) Direct labor efficiency variance F) Variable overhead spending variance G) Variable overhead efficiency variance

Step 1: Calculate the Flexible Budget: Standards (Budget) Standards (Budget) Flexed DM 2,900 Cases x 7 lbs = 20,300 lb x $3.60 = $73,080 DM 3,100 Cases x 7 lbs = 21,700 lb x $3.60 = $78,120 DL 2,900 Cases x 3 hrs = 8,700 hrs x $15.50 = $134,850 DL 3,100 Cases x 3 hrs = 9,300 hrs x $15.50 = $144,150 VOH 2,900 Cases x 2 hrs = 5,800 hrs x $5.50 = $31,900 VOH 3,100 Cases x 2 hrs =6,200 hrs x $5.50 = $34,100 Actual - DM -$79,560 / 23,400 = $3.40 x 22,650 lbs = $77,010 DL -10,260 x $15.10 = $154,926 VOH-$26,774 / 6,200 (3,100 cases x 2hrs) = $4.32 A) Flexible Budget the budget allowance for variable costs should be flexed to show the costs that should have been incurred for the level of activity actually experienced. Page 576 Budget Actual Variance Flex Budget Actual Variance Raw Materials Direct Labor $73,080 $77,010 $3,930 Unfavorable $134,850 $154,926 $20,076 $78,120 $77,010 $1,110 favorable $144,150 $154,926 $10,776 Variance OH $31,900 $26,774 $5,126favorable $34,100 $26,774 $7,326 favorable Total $239,830 $258,710 $18,880 $256,370 $258,710 $2,340 Step 2: Calculate the following Variances: Quantity Variance = (standard quantity allowed- actual quantity used) x standard cost per unit - Page 580 Cost per unit of input variance = (standard cost per unit actual cost per unit) x actual quantity used Page 581 (Do not use the Flex Budget amounts for B-G) B) Price Variance for raw materials purchased = ($3.60 - $3.40) x 22,650 = $4,530 favorable (cost per unit of input variance) C) Raw materials usage variance= (20,300 22,650) x $3.60 = $8,460 (quantity variance) D) Direct Labor rate variance= ($15.50 - $15.10) x 10,260 = $4,104 favorable (cost per unit of input variance) E) Direct labor efficiency variance= (8,700-10,260) x $15.50 = $24,180 (quantity variance) F) Variable overhead spending variance= ($5.50 - $4.32) x 10,260 = $12,106 favorable (cost per unit of input variance) G) Variable overhead efficiency variance= (5,800-5,120) x $5.50 = $3,740 favorable (quantity variance)

#5 Marshall, Inc., produces three products but weekly demand for the three products exceeds the available amount of machine time. Following is information about each product: Page 624 Product A Product B Product C Contribution margin per unit $450 $500 $250 Machine hours per unit 1.5 2 1.25 Weekly demand units 320 300 500 Determine how many units each of Product A, Product B, and Product C that Marshall, Inc., should Produce each week assuming 1,000 hours of available machine time. First calculate contribution margin (cm) per unit in dollars /machine hours to get cm per unit in hours Product A = $450/1.5 = $300 Product B = $500/2=$250 Product C = $250/1.25=$200 (Product A s contribution margin is $300 per unit when machine hours needed are considered.) (Product B s contribution margin is $250 per unit when machine hours needed are considered.) (Product C s contribution margin is $200 per unit when machine hours needed are considered.) Next determine which product has the greatest contribution margin per hour. Product A has the greatest CM per hour than Product B or C when machine hours needed are considered. Then determine (based on weekly demand) which product should be produced first. If there is residual machine time left, then produce the product with the next best contribution margin per hour until all the available machine hours have been used. In this problem there is 1,000 machine hours available. Product A - 320 (weekly demand) x 1.5 hrs (machine hours per unit) = 480 hrs of machine time needed to produce at this demand Product B- 300(weekly demand) x 2hrs (machine hours per unit) = 600 hrs of machine time needed to produce at this demand Product C - 500 (weekly demand) x 1.25hrs (machine hours per unit) = 625 hrs of machine time needed to produce at this demand Problem Answer: Total Machine Hours available 1,000 Highest Product CM/per machine hour - 480 (Product A-all of demand is met) Machine hours available to use in production 520 (machine hours to allocate to another product) Next highest product cm/per machine hour - 520 (Product B- only 520 hours of demand is met) Machine hours available to use in production 0 (all machine hours have been utilized) First use the 480 hours of weekly demand for Product A, then use 520 hours of weekly demand of Product B to total 1000 machine hours, which are available. Note: Product B s total demand is not met (only 520 hours) and none of product C s demand is met. This is due to the limited machine time available to produce products.