How to Use This Book. Actual Test. 12 Various Units. Words & Expressions. Reviews. Vocabulary Exercises. Warm-up. Workbook

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "How to Use This Book. Actual Test. 12 Various Units. Words & Expressions. Reviews. Vocabulary Exercises. Warm-up. Workbook"

Transcription

1

2

3 How to Use This Book 12 Various Units The 12 units in <Super er 2> include a variety of real-life topics, which are essential on English tests for elementary learners. Warm-up Words & Expressions This section introduces new vocabulary and phrases related to the topic of the unit. Check the expressions and think about their meanings with the teacher. Vocabulary Exercises This part shows five important sentences and dialogs related to the topic of the unit. Answer the directions, and listen to these sentences and dialogs with the MP3 files. This section contains short dialogs and monologs based on the expressions on the previous page. Learners can practice their listening comprehension skills with these simple exercising questions. Checking the Details ing Focus on Dialogs / Monologs Each ing Focus section includes two dialogs and two monologs. Note-taking Practices These note-taking sections give learners the chance to do some simple writing exercises. In the ing Focus sections, learners will listen to each dialog and monolog twice, which will give them a better chance to understand the details in them. Actual Test This test includes various styles of questions that frequently appear on many English tests for elementary learners. Learners can test their listening abilities with these questions, which appear after both long and short dialogs and monologs. Reviews This section appears after every three units. The students review what they have learned and test their understanding. Workbook In the workbook, learners can check their knowledge of vocabulary and test their deeper understanding through dictation exercises. Answers & Scripts with Translations Learners and teachers can download the full Answer & Scripts with Translations from

4 Contents Unit 01 What does he look like? 6 Describing People Unit 02 I want to buy this jacket. 12 Clothes & Style Unit 03 You look down today. 18 Emotion and Moods Unit 07 I have a bad cold. 50 Sickness & Symptoms Unit 08 I think I can help you. 56 Problems & Solutions Unit 09 I want to be a scientist. 62 Jobs Review III 68 Review I 24 Unit 04 I like comedy programs. 28 Entertainment Unit 05 I like outdoor sports. 34 Sports Unit 06 Do you know what UCC is? 40 Computer & the Internet Review II 46 Unit 10 I missed the bus. 72 Transportations Unit 11 Signs are everywhere! 78 Signs Unit 12 What did you see in N.Y.? 84 Traveling Review IV 90

5 Unit 01 What does he look like? Warm-Up Words & Expressions *Look at the following expressions. Check the meanings. A and circle the words you hear This is my best friend, Marco. He s very tall and (healthy / handsome). He is not (shy / kind) at all. Marco is very (active / friendly) in many school clubs. short tall slim overweight pretty look like have freckles handsome friendly have pimples wear glasses active shy quiet curly square round 2 B Mom, we have a new teacher at school. She s really (nice / kind). W Really? What does she (teach / look like)? B She has (freckles / pimples) and wears (glasses / makeup). A and fill in the blanks My brother is very. He loves basketball. 2 Your sister is and. 3 His mother a movie star. 4 My best friend is and a little. 5 Does your older sister? B Circle the best title for the story. 005 My Cute Sister My Handsome Brother I Look Like My Brother My Family Is Friendly B Match the expressions with the proper responses What does he look like? 2 I m 160 cm. How tall are you? 3 Do you play sports? 4 Jennifer is very kind. 5 Does your mom have freckles? a I m short. I m only 145 cm. b I know. She s friendly to everyone. c No, but my sister does. d He s very handsome. e Yes, I do. I m very active. C and match a b c Now listen and check your answers. Super er 2 Unit 01

6 ing Focus 1 & Write and take notes. 1 ing Focus Dialogs 1 & Write 007 and take notes. My Appearance & Answer Again. 2 Check T or F. 1) Dan is the boy s cousin. T 2) The girl met Rob before. 3) They will see a movie this weekend. Super er 2 4) Again. 2 What do Christine s friends call her? 1 Who is Bruce s youngest brother? Again. 2 Check T or F. F 1) Bruce has one older brother. T F T F 2) Bruce s sister loves fast food. T F T F 3) Bruce s sister wants to be a model. T F Again. Who is the boy s cousin? hair 2) wear 5) 1 3) 1) and a yellow Wearing: blue 4) & Answer My Character tall Face shape: 3) Where did the boy lose his sister? 009 My name is Christine. People say I look like a boy. cm Hair color: 2) 2 Monologs Hi, I m Christine. Missing Child Report Height: 1) Unit 01

7 Actual Test A and choose the correct statements. 011 D [7-8] to the dialog and answer each question Where is this conversation taking place? a b c d Jim a b c d a at a post office b at a police station c at home d at a zoo B and choose the right responses What does the girl want to find? a her letter 3 a She has a square face like you. b her horn b My sister is very tall. c her bike c No, my friend has long hair. d her sunglasses d I have new glasses. 4 a No, my brother is shy. b Yes, but he has many friends. c My brother is kind and cute. E [9-10] to the monolog and answer each question What does the speaker say about her new classmate? d My brother is seven years old. a He s not very handsome. b He s in many different clubs. C and choose the best words for the blanks Olivia s sister doesn t have. c He has dark hair. d He doesn t wear glasses. a long hair c freckles b curly hair d glasses 10 What is the speaker doing? a b c d 6 The boy looks like. a his sister c his father b his mother d his best friend Super er 2 Unit 01

8 Review Unit 01~Unit 03 A and dictate. Then write the meanings B and choose C and choose what comes next a Yes, he wears glasses. 2 a Yes, I was scared. b No, he is overweight. b Yes, I m serious. c No, he is very shy. c No, I watched a movie. d Yes, he is not slim. d Yes, it wasn t funny. 3 a Yes, I saw it on TV. 4 a The dresses are over there. b Well, isn t it too big? b Yes, it s fifteen dollars. c I think purple is fine. c Sure. Go ahead. d No, that s not my style. d This skirt looks really good. D and choose the best answer to each question Who is the girl s brother? a The boy wearing a striped T-shirt and shorts. b The boy wearing a white T-shirt with jeans. c The boy wearing a black cap and shorts. d The boy wearing a black cap and jeans. 2 What color is the trend these days? a green b black c blue d gray 3 How does Jake feel now? a b c d a b a b 3 4 a b a b Super er 2 Review Ⅰ

9 E [1-4] to the dialog and choose the correct answers Who is Kate s brother? a b c d F [1-4] to the monolog and choose the correct answers Where did the speaker go today? a b c d 2 How does Kate feel about her brother? a She is worried about her brother. b She is angry at her brother. c She wants to be a model like her brother. d She is really happy now for her brother. 3 What is the big reason Kate s brother is a model? a He is handsome. b He is slim. c He follows trends. d He doesn t have pimples. 2 How did the woman s feelings change? a sad angry b angry surprised c sad happy d happy sad 3 What is true about Kyle? a He is wearing a red T-shirt and has long hair. b He is wearing red pants. c He is wearing a purple T-shirt and glasses. d He is wearing a blue T-shirt and has long hair. 4 again and fill in the blanks. 4 again and fill in the blanks. G Guess what? My brother got a job as a. B Really? Is he, Kate? G Yes. He is tall and slim. And he has nice skin no at all. B Does he dress well? G Yeah. He always follows the newest. B I guess that s the big reason he s a model. G I think so too. He always wears and colorful. B So how do you feel? You must be really happy for him. G Actually, I m about him. It will be hard work. B I know what you mean. Don t worry. I m sure he will do well. B Today I went to the. In the afternoon, there were many people watching a. I saw one woman crying alone. She couldn t find her son, Kyle. I asked about him. The woman said he was. He was wearing a red T-shirt and purple pants. She also said her son has hair and wears. We looked around together. It was easy to find his red T-shirt. He was standing by the. The woman was very happy and thanked me. Super er 2 Review Ⅰ

10

11

12 C Dictation. and fill in the blanks B My name is Bruce. about my large family. I B. I lost my sister in this toy store. M Don t worry. What does she? B She s 130 cm and has. M Does she wear? have two younger brothers and one older sister. My is short. He loves fast food, so he is. My other brother is the tallest in the family. He is slim and. My sister has hair and looks like a model. I love my family. B No. She has a square face like me. M OK.? B Blue jeans and a yellow T-shirt. M I think I see her over there G Officer, can you help me? M Sure.? G I rode my bike to the post office today. M OK. What happened at the? B Sarah, do you remember my cousin Rob? G Sure. He s. B No, that s my brother Dan. Rob is. G Now I remember. He has a B Yes. He s coming to visit this. G Really? I d like to meet him again. right? G Someone took my bike! M Did you see someone take your bike? G Yes a tall boy with and. M OK. What color is your bike? G It s black with a horn. M Let s the post office first and look around. B OK. Let s go to the park G My name is Christine, but my friends me Chris. I think Chris is a boy s name. Many people say I because I am tall and have really. I guess it is. Or maybe it s my glasses. Girls my age are often, but I am and active. Are you too? 6. G Dear Diary, There s a new student in my class. His name is Eric and he s really. He has a nice smile and all of the girls like him. He s really active, so the boys like him too. He s from, but I think he looks Italian. His skin is and he has dark curly hair. Today we had in the cafeteria. I think I m the luckiest girl in school. I have to go to bed now. I will write again tomorrow. Workbook Unit 01

Appearances. Unit. Before you begin... Look at the picture. Can you find someone who... has long hair? has short hair? is young? is old?

Appearances. Unit. Before you begin... Look at the picture. Can you find someone who... has long hair? has short hair? is young? is old? Appearances In Unit 11, you learn how to... use have and have got to describe people. use phrases with verb + -ing and prepositions to identify people. talk about what people look like. show that you re

More information

DESCRIBING A PERSON. 1-Text. 2- Unfamiliar words. 3- Reading Comprehension. 4-Key answers. 5- Four Friends. 6-Remember.

DESCRIBING A PERSON. 1-Text. 2- Unfamiliar words. 3- Reading Comprehension. 4-Key answers. 5- Four Friends. 6-Remember. DESCRIBING A PERSON 1-Text 2- Unfamiliar words 3- Reading Comprehension 4-Key answers 5- Four Friends 6-Remember 7-Key answers 1 1-Text Michael Douglas / Star / Cinema / Celebrity. Michael Douglas Michael

More information

Fry Phrases Set 1. TeacherHelpForParents.com help for all areas of your child s education

Fry Phrases Set 1. TeacherHelpForParents.com help for all areas of your child s education Set 1 The people Write it down By the water Who will make it? You and I What will they do? He called me. We had their dog. What did they say? When would you go? No way A number of people One or two How

More information

Family Unit: Level 1. Directions: Look at the pictures. Read the family words in a group. Label the picture.

Family Unit: Level 1. Directions: Look at the pictures. Read the family words in a group. Label the picture. Family Unit: Level 1 Name: Directions: Look at the pictures. Read the family words in a group. Label the picture. Grandfather and grandmother Grandmother Grandfather Grandparents Mother Father Parents

More information

What does your sister look like? A. LOGGING ON

What does your sister look like? A. LOGGING ON Unit 2 Unit 2 A. LOGGING ON 1. Goals: In this unit: You will learn how to describe people s physical appearance. You will practice: Third person singular e.g. She looks great! Order of adjectives e.g.

More information

Lesson 11. What s your style? What do you have to buy? Vocabulary:

Lesson 11. What s your style? What do you have to buy? Vocabulary: Lesson 11 What s your style? What do you have to buy? Vocabulary: 60 LISTENING Listen carefully to the recording and color the pictures. Boots Jacket Tie Pants GRAMMAR: The verb have to/has to is used

More information

Class. Kids in My. Unit. Listen, look and say. 4 Class Yearbook. Sylvia has got. Natalie has got wavy blonde hair. She s clever and likes to read.

Class. Kids in My. Unit. Listen, look and say. 4 Class Yearbook. Sylvia has got. Natalie has got wavy blonde hair. She s clever and likes to read. Unit 1 1:02 1 Kids in My Class Listen, look and say. 3 4 Class Yearbook 1 2 5 Sylvia has got brown hair. She carries a bright pink backpack. Natalie has got wavy blonde hair. She s clever and likes to

More information

LOOK LIKE? WHAT DOES SHE. Preview PERSON DESCRIPTION A Listen. Circle the words you hear.

LOOK LIKE? WHAT DOES SHE. Preview PERSON DESCRIPTION A Listen. Circle the words you hear. 2 WHAT DOES SHE LOOK LIKE? Preview A 1 09 Listen. Circle the words you hear. 1. Person A has (long / short) red hair. 2. Person B has (wavy / curly) brown hair. 3. Person C has (blond / black) hair and

More information

Fry High Frequency Words and Dolch 220 Comparison List

Fry High Frequency Words and Dolch 220 Comparison List Fry High Frequency Words and Dolch 220 Comparison List The Dolch List has not been revised for decades, while the Fry list is more current. The Fry list also is more comprehensive in that it includes 1,000

More information

Clothing/Colors. Objective: Students will learn the ten basic colors and major pieces of clothing.

Clothing/Colors. Objective: Students will learn the ten basic colors and major pieces of clothing. Clothing/Colors Objective: Students will learn the ten basic colors and major pieces of clothing. Materials: vocabulary cards (go to www.mes-english.com for flashcards of various sizes), several sets of

More information

Unit 7: Childhood memories

Unit 7: Childhood memories Unit 7 Childhood memories KEY READING SKILL INFERRING MEANING KEY VOCABULARY SKILL WORDS WITH DIFFERENT MEANINGS Focus 1 Look at these pictures and read the information. childhood noun the time of your

More information

A Pretty Face. 1 Zoe is angry

A Pretty Face. 1 Zoe is angry A Pretty Face 1 Zoe is angry Zoe is seventeen years old. She works in a bookstore, in the little town of Newport. Zoe likes books and she likes her work. But after work she likes to act in plays with the

More information

Trek s reporters in Africa

Trek s reporters in Africa 2 Lesson 1 Aims Trek s reporters in Africa Learn and use new vocabulary: camera, big, small, lion, giraffe, tall, short, funny, Let s go. Learn and use new grammar: plural s Materials A camera, magazine

More information

Cain and Abel. The children will hear that we can learn to love our brothers and sisters and to help take care of them.

Cain and Abel. The children will hear that we can learn to love our brothers and sisters and to help take care of them. Cain and Abel Teacher Pep Talk: Everyone understands sibling rivalry. Even the youngest child can relate to being upset with a brother or sister. Cain and Abel are the first example of this enmity. Cain

More information

Level 5-10 The Gift of the Magi

Level 5-10 The Gift of the Magi Level 5-10 The Gift of the Magi Workbook Teacher s Guide and Answer Key 1 A. Summary 1. Book Summary Teacher s Guide Della and Jim are poor. Tomorrow is Christmas, and Della only has $1.87 to buy a gift

More information

Flyers classroom activities

Flyers classroom activities Young Learners Flyers classroom activities These activities are based on topics from the Cambridge English: Flyers Word List Picture Book. UCLES 2015 CE/3552/6Y01 Cambridge English: Flyers Worksheet No.

More information

HISTORY MATHS CHEMISTRY GEOGRAPHY ENGLISH MUSIC SCIENCE BIOLOGY P.E. LITERATURE COMPUTER SCIENCE ART RELIGION FRENCH

HISTORY MATHS CHEMISTRY GEOGRAPHY ENGLISH MUSIC SCIENCE BIOLOGY P.E. LITERATURE COMPUTER SCIENCE ART RELIGION FRENCH 1. My school Which subjects do you find easy from the following list? Which subjects are difficult form the list? HISTORY MATHS CHEMISTRY GEOGRAPHY ENGLISH MUSIC SCIENCE BIOLOGY P.E. LITERATURE COMPUTER

More information

NO LONGER THE FIRST 2010 Josh Danz

NO LONGER THE FIRST 2010 Josh Danz NO LONGER THE FIRST 2010 Josh Danz Free performance of this play for high school and college level competitive forensics is permitted. All other rights reserved. The Intriguing Interp Series is published

More information

Dating Vocabulary Lesson

Dating Vocabulary Lesson Hello and welcome to the vocabulary lesson for the conversation called Dating. Now this is a conversation Joe and I were having about some of our friends and the different dates that they have gone on.

More information

California Treasures High-Frequency Words Scope and Sequence K-3

California Treasures High-Frequency Words Scope and Sequence K-3 California Treasures High-Frequency Words Scope and Sequence K-3 Words were selected using the following established frequency lists: (1) Dolch 220 (2) Fry 100 (3) American Heritage Top 150 Words in English

More information

Grade 2, Theme Two. Family Letter

Grade 2, Theme Two. Family Letter Family Letter Grade 2, Theme Two Dear Family, It s time for the second theme of Fully Alive, our family life program. Because the partnership of home, church, and school is so important, this letter is

More information

UNIT 16 ROLE MODEL. Conversation Idioms:

UNIT 16 ROLE MODEL. Conversation Idioms: UNIT 16 ROLE MODEL UNIT OVERVIEW: In this unit students will talk about people they admire. Conversation Starters: People We Admire Friends talk about the people who inspire them. Building Fluency Expressing

More information

Connectedness and the Emotional Bank Account

Connectedness and the Emotional Bank Account Connectedness and the Emotional Bank Account Directions This is a self-guided activity that can be completed by parents, teens or both. It contains five parts and should take about 45 minutes to complete.

More information

Most Common Words Transfer Card: List 1

Most Common Words Transfer Card: List 1 Most Common Words Transfer Card: List 1 the to a and in you that of it not for I is an Meg is in the bed. That is not for you. It is in a bag. I am not mad. Most Common Words Transfer Card: List 2 on with

More information

Tiger Woods. Pre-Reading Activity. Discuss these questions. 1. Describe the man in the picture. 2. What do you think he is doing?

Tiger Woods. Pre-Reading Activity. Discuss these questions. 1. Describe the man in the picture. 2. What do you think he is doing? UNIT 6 People Tiger Woods Pre-Reading Activity Discuss these questions. 1. Describe the man in the picture. 2. What do you think he is doing? 3. Why do you think he is famous? 90 Weaving It Together 1

More information

Today, it is spoken in some offices. He's going to study English hard. and talk with a lot of people in the future.

Today, it is spoken in some offices. He's going to study English hard. and talk with a lot of people in the future. Good. How are you? You re welcome. How are you? Oh, no. You mustn t help him. OK. I ll ask him. Why did you finish the report? You can t buy a dictionary. No, thank you. How are you? It s cloudy. How are

More information

MODULE 4 DESCRIBE PEOPLE AND OBJECTS

MODULE 4 DESCRIBE PEOPLE AND OBJECTS MODULE 4 DESCRIBE PEOPLE AND OBJECTS Information and Language Models L.E.L.I. Martha Guadalupe Hernández Alvarado L.E.L.I. Claudia Nayeli González Gardini INFORMATION AND LANGUAGE MODELS DESCRIBE PEOPLE

More information

Fry Instant Phrases. Give them to me. Then we will go.

Fry Instant Phrases. Give them to me. Then we will go. Fry Instant Phrases The words in these phrases come from Dr. Edward Fry s Instant Word List (High Frequency Words). According to Fry, the first 300 words in the list represent about 67% of all the words

More information

The IGA Step-by-Step Guide to drawing your own cartoon character. Create your own Kids Club Character

The IGA Step-by-Step Guide to drawing your own cartoon character. Create your own Kids Club Character The IGA Step-by-Step Guide to drawing your own cartoon character Create your own Kids Club Character Before putting pencil to paper... Hi fellow artists, we hope you have fun creating your own Kids club

More information

What It s Like to Feel Sad and Lonely

What It s Like to Feel Sad and Lonely Chapter 1 What It s Like to Feel Sad and Lonely Kareem, age eleven, feels lonely since his family moved to a new neighborhood. He can t find any kids around who are his age. At his old house, his best

More information

Vocabulary. Adjectives: personality. 3 Look at the descriptions of the faces. Choose the best words in the texts below. Justify your answers.

Vocabulary. Adjectives: personality. 3 Look at the descriptions of the faces. Choose the best words in the texts below. Justify your answers. unit 1 Face to face Start thinking 1 What s face reading? 2 Describe a person who is an albino. 3 What s a portrait? Aims Vocabulary Adjectives: personality Verbs: communication and attitude Grammar Adverbs

More information

Fry Instant Word List

Fry Instant Word List First 100 Instant Words the had out than of by many first and words then water a but them been to not these called in what so who is all some oil you were her sit that we would now it when make find he

More information

to happen Light one candle This first week of Advent, we begin to prepare our hearts and souls for Jesus by working on different things each day.

to happen Light one candle This first week of Advent, we begin to prepare our hearts and souls for Jesus by working on different things each day. Prayers Around The Advent Wreath That time of year is here again. Advent is the season when we should take time to think about the why of Christmas. It should be a time to look within our hearts to see

More information

LEVEL PRE-A1 LAAS LANGUAGE ATTAINMENT ASSESSMENT SYSTEM. English English Language Language Examinations Examinations. December 2005 May 2015

LEVEL PRE-A1 LAAS LANGUAGE ATTAINMENT ASSESSMENT SYSTEM. English English Language Language Examinations Examinations. December 2005 May 2015 NAME.. LAAS LANGUAGE ATTAINMENT ASSESSMENT SYSTEM LEVEL PRE-A1 Certificate Recognised by ICC English English Language Language Examinations Examinations HERE ARE YOUR INSTRUCTIONS: Do not open this booklet

More information

Proficiency Evaluation Test Intermediate to Advanced

Proficiency Evaluation Test Intermediate to Advanced Proficiency Evaluation Test Intermediate to Advanced Name I. Grammar / Vocabulary II. Reading Comprehension III. Writing Sample IV. Conversation / Interview Directions for the Tutor: Allow the participant

More information

Fry Instant Words High Frequency Words

Fry Instant Words High Frequency Words Fry Instant Words High Frequency Words The Fry list of 600 words are the most frequently used words for reading and writing. The words are listed in rank order. First Hundred Group 1 Group 2 Group 3 Group

More information

Home Tutor Scheme. Lesson Plan. Topic: Describing People: Physical appearance. The Smith Family Home Tutor Scheme

Home Tutor Scheme. Lesson Plan. Topic: Describing People: Physical appearance. The Smith Family Home Tutor Scheme Home Tutor Scheme Lesson Plan Topic: Describing People: Physical appearance Height He is tall He is average height He is short Hair blonde/fair hair brown hair red hair black hair grey hair blonde brunette

More information

Persuade, Complain, Offer, Accept Help and Apologize

Persuade, Complain, Offer, Accept Help and Apologize Persuade, Complain, Offer, Accept Help and Apologize CASAS Competencies: 0.1.2 Identify or use appropriate language for informational purposes 4.8.1 Demonstrate ability to work cooperatively with others

More information

Exploring Citizenship Unit I

Exploring Citizenship Unit I 4H CIM 10 Exploring Citizenship Unit I Me, my family and my friends! This book belongs to: My name: My address: My phone number: Table of Contents Introduction What will I learn in this project?... page

More information

This is me. My name is Chiara. I m 12 years old. I m from Grotte S. Stefano, in Italy. I m Italian.

This is me. My name is Chiara. I m 12 years old. I m from Grotte S. Stefano, in Italy. I m Italian. This is me My name is Chiara. I m 12 years old. I m from Grotte S. Stefano, in Italy. I m Italian. I have long brown hair, brown eyes, a small nose and freckles. I m tall and thin. I always wear sport

More information

ENGLISH FILE Elementary

ENGLISH FILE Elementary 2 Grammar, Vocabulary, and Pronunciation A GRAMMAR 1 Tick ( ) the correct sentence. Example: A Roald Dahl is a author. B Roald Dahl is an author. 1 A It s a house. B It s an house. 2 A These is our classroom.

More information

101 IELTS Speaking Part Two Topic cards about sports, hobbies and free time A- Z

101 IELTS Speaking Part Two Topic cards about sports, hobbies and free time A- Z 101 IELTS Speaking Part Two Topic cards about sports, hobbies and free time A- Z As the topics of sports, hobbies and free time are easy ones that tie in with IELTS Speaking Part One and students like

More information

Fast Phrases. - Timed - PHRASES WITH FRY INSTANT WORDS

Fast Phrases. - Timed - PHRASES WITH FRY INSTANT WORDS Fast Phrases - Timed - PHRASES WITH FRY INSTANT WORDS Fry Instant Words are high-frequency words that occur in reading. By practicing reading these phrases containing these words, students can improve

More information

Moving As A Child Part 2 Mini-Story Lesson

Moving As A Child Part 2 Mini-Story Lesson Hi, welcome to the mini-story lesson for the conversation Moving As A Child Part 2. Okay, let s get started with the story. * * * * * Julia Roberts house in Los Angeles was on fire. She called her friend

More information

Phonics. High Frequency Words P.008. Objective The student will read high frequency words.

Phonics. High Frequency Words P.008. Objective The student will read high frequency words. P.008 Jumping Words Objective The student will read high frequency words. Materials High frequency words (P.HFW.005 - P.HFW.064) Choose target words. Checkerboard and checkers (Activity Master P.008.AM1a

More information

ESL Health Unit Unit Three Managing Illness. Lesson Two High Blood Pressure

ESL Health Unit Unit Three Managing Illness. Lesson Two High Blood Pressure ESL Health Unit Unit Three Managing Illness Lesson Two High Blood Pressure Reading and Writing Practice Advanced Beginning Goals for this lesson: Below are some of the goals of this lesson. Which ones

More information

WITS LEADS Connection: Look and Listen, Explore Points of View, Act, Seek Help

WITS LEADS Connection: Look and Listen, Explore Points of View, Act, Seek Help THE HUNDRED DRESSES By Eleanor Estes Wanda Petronski, is ridiculed by her classmates for wearing the same faded blue dress every day. Wanda claims she has one hundred dresses at home, but everyone knows

More information

The Perfect Gift. by Kelly Hashway. Why don t you make them something? Colin s older sister Whitney asked.

The Perfect Gift. by Kelly Hashway. Why don t you make them something? Colin s older sister Whitney asked. by Kelly Hashway Colin walked through the mall with his head down. He couldn t bear to look at another window display of great Christmas gifts he couldn t afford. There were only a few days left until

More information

1 English Short Stories for Beginners,

1 English Short Stories for Beginners, 1 English Short Stories for Beginners, www.really-learn-english.com Thanks for downloading the English Short Stories booklet. It includes the first 2 chapters of the English Short Stories Book and Workbook.

More information

Jahrgangsstufentest Englisch. am Gymnasium

Jahrgangsstufentest Englisch. am Gymnasium Jahrgangsstufentest Englisch am Gymnasium Jahrgangsstufe 6 Aufgaben 04. Oktober 2013 Bearbeitungszeit: 45 Minuten bei freier Zeiteinteilung für die Teile II und III Name: Klasse: 6 Punkte: / 56 Note Part

More information

James is a five year old boy and spends his days at the. spends time with each individually. One of activities James loves is to sit down on the

James is a five year old boy and spends his days at the. spends time with each individually. One of activities James loves is to sit down on the Sarah Neuhalfen Case Study Child Development May 12, 2006 James is a five year old boy and spends his days at the Manchester Early Learning Center. He is the average size for his age and has blond hair

More information

Dolch Sight Words, Phrases & Sentences. Student Presentation Forms

Dolch Sight Words, Phrases & Sentences. Student Presentation Forms Dolch Sight Words, Phrases & Sentences Student Presentation Forms Dolch 220 Sight Words List 1 List 2 List 3 List 4 1. the 1. at 1. do 1. big 2. to 2. him 2. can 2. went 3. and 3. with 3. could 3. are

More information

Kindergarten-2nd. September 12-13, Samuel. I Samuel 3; Phil 4:13. God speaks.

Kindergarten-2nd. September 12-13, Samuel. I Samuel 3; Phil 4:13. God speaks. Kindergarten-2nd September 12-13, 2015 Samuel I Samuel 3; Phil 4:13 God speaks. Connect Time (15 minutes): Five minutes after the service begins, split kids into groups and begin their activity. Large

More information

CONTENTS LESSON PLAN TEACHER S SCRIPT

CONTENTS LESSON PLAN TEACHER S SCRIPT Lollipop 1 7.1A 7.1B Pages: 134 135 Phase: ESA (ENGAGE) To identify clothes (familiar context) blouse, skirt, socks, shirt, pants, shoes It s a shirt. Is this a blouse? Yes. / No. Does Tony wear a skirt?

More information

Get Well Soon! Nell s best friend, Belle, had been missing from school for three days.

Get Well Soon! Nell s best friend, Belle, had been missing from school for three days. Name Read the story. Read it again. Can you find the special words in the story? Count the number of times that you see each special word and write it next to the word below. Get Well Soon! Nell s best

More information

BUSEL 2015-2016 ACADEMIC YEAR ELEMENTARY EXAM TASK TYPES

BUSEL 2015-2016 ACADEMIC YEAR ELEMENTARY EXAM TASK TYPES The Elementary exams will have all or some the following task types. READING SECTION TIPS FOR THE READING SECTION DO practise reading English as much as possible. revise the topics, grammar and vocabulary

More information

ESOL Customer Service Training: Unit 1 1: 1 Student Book. Unit 1: Talking With Your Customer

ESOL Customer Service Training: Unit 1 1: 1 Student Book. Unit 1: Talking With Your Customer ESOL Customer Service Training: Unit 1 1: 1 Unit 1: Talking With Your Customer ESOL Customer Service Training: Unit 1 1: 2 What are your goals? Note to Instructor: If you have permission, use Stand Out

More information

A Note to Parents. 1. As you study the list, vary the order of the words.

A Note to Parents. 1. As you study the list, vary the order of the words. A Note to Parents This Wordbook contains all the sight words we will be studying throughout the year plus some additional enrichment words. Your child should spend some time each week studying this Wordbook

More information

TEST 5-6 FUNCTIONAL LANGUAGE. Complete the five conversations. Choose the correct answer. 1 Can I phone you back later? Выберите ответ: I hope so.

TEST 5-6 FUNCTIONAL LANGUAGE. Complete the five conversations. Choose the correct answer. 1 Can I phone you back later? Выберите ответ: I hope so. TEST 5-6 FUNCTIONAL LANGUAGE Complete the five conversations. Choose the correct answer. 1 Can I phone you back later? I hope so. It s not time. That s fine. 2 Let s have a coffee break. I do too. That

More information

Unit 1. Unit Vocabulary. Before You Read. How to Study for a Test

Unit 1. Unit Vocabulary. Before You Read. How to Study for a Test Unit 1 Before You Read Before you read a text, you should look at the title and the pictures and think about what you know about the topic. These questions will help you prepare to read the text on this

More information

Jesus at the Temple (at age 12)

Jesus at the Temple (at age 12) Jesus at the Temple (at age 12) Teacher Pep Talk: Twelve sounds so grown up, especially when you are a Little Guy! But to us adults, 12 seems really young to be doing some of the things Jesus was doing

More information

English as a Second Language Podcast. ESL Podcast 225 Feeling Homesick

English as a Second Language Podcast. ESL Podcast 225 Feeling Homesick GLOSSARY long face an expression of sadness on someone s face; the look on a person s face when they are unhappy * He had such a long face when he got home from work that we immediately knew something

More information

The New Baby. The New Baby. The cover

The New Baby. The New Baby. The cover The New Baby The story The two stories in this book are about Holly and Tom and their family. Mum is expecting a new baby and these stories show us how the family prepares for the new baby and then what

More information

CD Our Own Way Lyrics

CD Our Own Way Lyrics CD Our Own Way Lyrics Beverly Granoff 2012 1. All The Things We See 2. Remember the Rules 3. You and Me 4. This Too Shall Pass 5. My Best Try 6. Our Own Way 7. A Little Help From You 8. My La La Melody

More information

English in my home Someone at the door Unit 1d The neighbour

English in my home Someone at the door Unit 1d The neighbour English in my home Someone at the door Unit 1d The neighbour 1 Contents Unit 1d The neighbour teacher s notes The neighbour learner resources The neighbour video transcript The neighbour additional resources

More information

GOD CREATED PEOPLE PREPARING FOR THE LESSON

GOD CREATED PEOPLE PREPARING FOR THE LESSON THE BIBLE: Genesis 1:27-28, Psalm 67:6-7 GOD CREATED PEOPLE BOOK 2, PART 2, LESSON 5 THEME: The Bible gives us a record of God as creator and sustainer of the universe, and of the persons who are created

More information

2. YL6 MOCK EXAMINATION

2. YL6 MOCK EXAMINATION 2. YL6 MOCK EXAMINATION YL6 MOCK EXAMINATION Young Learner Diploma TIME ALLOWED 60 MINUTES DATE: NAME:.. PLACE AND DATE OF BIRTH:... BRITISH INSTITUTES YL6 Mock Examination: Written Paper 2006 Section

More information

SAFE ENVIRONMENT LESSON PLAN

SAFE ENVIRONMENT LESSON PLAN SAFE ENVIRONMENT LESSON PLAN Grade: First Grade All portions of this lesson plan can be completed in one session. OBJECTIVES The First Grade student will 1. Illustrate 3 ways that their bodies are good

More information

Lesson Plans for ESL Kids Teachers

Lesson Plans for ESL Kids Teachers Lesson: General: Time: 40 mins - 1 hour Objectives: Saying morning routine verbs Structures: "It s time to..." "I have to..." Target Vocab: Good morning, wake up, get up, wash my face, brush my hair, get

More information

PHRASAL VERBS INTRODUCTION. The Òsmall wordsó in phrasal verbs are important, because they completely change the meaning.

PHRASAL VERBS INTRODUCTION. The Òsmall wordsó in phrasal verbs are important, because they completely change the meaning. PHRASAL VERBS INTRODUCTION Phrasal verbs have two parts: a verb (e.g.: put, take, get, give, go, etc) and one or sometimes two "small words" (e.g.: on, up, out, in, etc) which go with the verb. Compare:

More information

Guess the correct definition with a partner. The word Slang describes a way of speaking. Do you think slang is:

Guess the correct definition with a partner. The word Slang describes a way of speaking. Do you think slang is: Slang Task 1 Guess the definition Guess the correct definition with a partner. The word Slang describes a way of speaking. Do you think slang is: a) An abbreviation of special language, originally used

More information

Level 3-10 The Nightingale and the Rose

Level 3-10 The Nightingale and the Rose Level 3-10 The Nightingale and the Rose Workbook Teacher s Guide and Answer Key 1 A. Summary 1. Book Summary Teacher s Guide The Nightingale and the Rose is a story about love. A student wanted to find

More information

She goes into a small room and comes back with a camera in her hand. This was my son s first camera. Take it, she says.

She goes into a small room and comes back with a camera in her hand. This was my son s first camera. Take it, she says. Ali and his camera Ali lives in Istanbul, a big city in Turkey. He lives in an old building near the famous Blue Mosque. After school, Ali comes home and sits at the window. He looks at the boats. They

More information

Heroes and villains. Lessons son 1 2. My manga album. My favourite character is a man. Who is he? Is he weak? No, he isn t Weak Wizard. Is he wise?

Heroes and villains. Lessons son 1 2. My manga album. My favourite character is a man. Who is he? Is he weak? No, he isn t Weak Wizard. Is he wise? Heroes and villains Lessons son 1 2 1 Look at Keiko s pictures. Listen and repeat. 1:11 2 Listen and say the words. 1:12 Keiko s blog @ Keiko Japan Hi. I m Keiko from Japan. Manga cartoons are from Japan

More information

Activate! B1+ Extra Grammar Tests Test 1

Activate! B1+ Extra Grammar Tests Test 1 1. Choose the word or phrase (A, B, C, or D) that best completes the sentence. 1 Alexandria sports and enjoys her life. A is liking B like C likes D is like 2 My brother so scared when he watches frightening

More information

Class. Kids in My. Class Yearbook. Unit. Listen, look, and say. Sylvia has brown hair. She carries a bright pink backpack.

Class. Kids in My. Class Yearbook. Unit. Listen, look, and say. Sylvia has brown hair. She carries a bright pink backpack. Unit 1 2 1 Kids in My Class Listen, look, and say. 3 4 Class Yearbook 1 2 5 Sylvia has brown hair. She carries a bright pink backpack. Natalie has wavy blonde hair. She s smart and likes to read. 6 Trish

More information

Chapter 1. Mum s new baby

Chapter 1. Mum s new baby Chapter 1 Mum s new baby I threw my school bag onto the floor in my room, changed into jeans and a T-shirt and then ran back down the hall. Mum called me. Jenna, I need you for a minute. I looked at my

More information

Flyers Reading & Writing

Flyers Reading & Writing Page 48 Flyers Cambridge Young Learners English Tests Blank Page 2 Part 1 10 questions Look and read. Choose the correct words and write them on the lines. There is one example. a fridge an apartment cupboards

More information

Sample questions (Changing sentences)

Sample questions (Changing sentences) Sample questions (Changing sentences) Complete the second sentence so that it means the same as the first. Use no more than 3 words. 1. Do you play basketball well? Are you a player? 2. Does art interest

More information

Trouble at Recess STUTTERING FOUNDATION THE PUBLICATION NO. 0034

Trouble at Recess STUTTERING FOUNDATION THE PUBLICATION NO. 0034 Trouble at Recess THE STUTTERING FOUNDATION PUBLICATION NO. 0034 Trouble at Recess Publication No. 0034 Published by Stuttering Foundation of America ISBN 0-933388-60-1 Copyright 2008-2014 by Stuttering

More information

Case Study Child Development Kelsey Heisler May 6, 2009

Case Study Child Development Kelsey Heisler May 6, 2009 Case Study Child Development Kelsey Heisler May 6, 2009 This case study is on a young girl named Hannah. She was observed in a classroom at the Early Learning Center. She is 4 years old. She is the only

More information

ENGLISH FILE Intermediate

ENGLISH FILE Intermediate 8 Grammar, Vocabulary, and Pronunciation A GRAMMAR 1 Complete the sentences using reported speech. Example: Do you want to go or not? He asked me if / whether I wanted to go. 1 We re having a sale next

More information

3PK. August 24-25, Samuel Listens to God. I Samuel 3. God Speaks to Us

3PK. August 24-25, Samuel Listens to God. I Samuel 3. God Speaks to Us 3PK August 24-25, 2013 Samuel Listens to God I Samuel 3 God Speaks to Us SCHEDULE for all sites: First 10 minutes of the service hour: Relationship-building time (kids get to know each other and the volunteers)

More information

Activate! B1 Extra Grammar Tests Test 1

Activate! B1 Extra Grammar Tests Test 1 1. Choose the word or phrase (A, B, C, or D) that best completes the sentence. 1 Kevin because he s late for his class. A is running B runs C run D are running 2 They in the garden at the moment. A work

More information

Don t bully me! Advice for primary age children

Don t bully me! Advice for primary age children Don t bully me! Advice for primary age children Don t bully me! Hello! This booklet is for you. It is about bullying. Bullying is when someone makes you unhappy by being nasty on purpose. They might bully

More information

Mad Libs Instructions:

Mad Libs Instructions: Mad Libs Instructions: Preparation: Before beginning Mad Libs, copy each word list and behind it the corresponding story with blanks in it on the notepad. You will also need notecards or post its so you

More information

1. Listen to your teacher read the vocabulary words.

1. Listen to your teacher read the vocabulary words. Lesson 6 Literature Link 1. Listen to your teacher read the vocabulary words. Vocabulary Tilda Tennessee troublemaker chicken visitors special invited outwit enough bridle saddle reins different comfortable

More information

Point of View, Perspective, Audience, and Voice

Point of View, Perspective, Audience, and Voice Lesson Da 2 Day 1 Point of View, Perspective, Audience, and Voice A story can be told from more than one point of view. If a story is written by someone who is a character in the story, then it is said

More information

Because of Winn-Dixie

Because of Winn-Dixie Because of Winn-Dixie By Kate DiCamillo Adapted Text The adapted text can be found at http://coedpages.uncc.edu/access/adaptedbooks.htm. Book Adapted by General Curriculum Access Projects Research Staff

More information

A Trip to Egypt. Can, Be able to Use these to express an ability that a person has. This ability may be natural or acquired, or mental or physical.

A Trip to Egypt. Can, Be able to Use these to express an ability that a person has. This ability may be natural or acquired, or mental or physical. UNIT 1: Modals of Ability A Trip to Egypt Can, Be able to Use these to express an ability that a person has. This ability may be natural or acquired, or mental or physical. 1.1 From our hotel room, we

More information

Banquet with Simon. (Luke 7:36-50) Keep these tips in mind as you welcome kids to the workshop and explore the story together.

Banquet with Simon. (Luke 7:36-50) Keep these tips in mind as you welcome kids to the workshop and explore the story together. BIBLE SKILLS & GAMES LEADER GUIDE Banquet with Simon (Luke 7:36-50) Lower Elementary Workshop Focus: Big or small Jesus forgives it all! Keep these tips in mind as you welcome kids to the workshop and

More information

How to Talk about a Movie in English. A Vocabulary Lesson

How to Talk about a Movie in English. A Vocabulary Lesson How to Talk about a Movie in English A Vocabulary Lesson Our Method Step 1 Listen to a real Conversation Step 2 Focus on New Vocabulary Words Step 3 Listen to a dialogue Step 6 Practice live with a real

More information

Self-Acceptance. A Frog Thing by E. Drachman (2005) California: Kidwick Books LLC. ISBN 0-9703809-3-3. Grade Level: Third grade

Self-Acceptance. A Frog Thing by E. Drachman (2005) California: Kidwick Books LLC. ISBN 0-9703809-3-3. Grade Level: Third grade Self-Acceptance A Frog Thing by E. Drachman (2005) California: Kidwick Books LLC. ISBN 0-9703809-3-3 This Book Kit was planned by Lindsay N. Graham Grade Level: Third grade Characteristic Trait: Self Acceptance

More information

EVALUATION OF THE TASC AFTER-SCHOOL PROGRAM. Elementary Student Survey School Year 2001/2002

EVALUATION OF THE TASC AFTER-SCHOOL PROGRAM. Elementary Student Survey School Year 2001/2002 EVALUATION OF THE TASC AFTER-SCHOOL PROGRAM Elementary Student Survey School Year 2001/2002 Dear Student: Thank you for answering the questions in this survey. To help make the program better, we are surveying

More information

Fry s Sight Word Phrases

Fry s Sight Word Phrases The people Write it down By the water Who will make it? You and I What will they do? He called me. We had their dog. What did they say? When would you go? No way A number of people One or two How long

More information

Popcorn ELT Readers Teacher s Notes. k t n. Peanuts Worldwide LLC

Popcorn ELT Readers Teacher s Notes. k t n. Peanuts Worldwide LLC The I e- k t n C s a I g Peanuts Worldwide LLC Welcome to the Popcorn ELT Readers series, a graded readers series for low-level learners of English. These free teacher s notes will help you and your classes

More information

Making Inferences Picture #1

Making Inferences Picture #1 Making Inferences Picture #1 Casey and Josie are standing in front of East Moore Middle School. Making Inferences Picture #2 Sue surprised her friend with a gift. Making Inferences Picture #3 Angela isn

More information

Abraham and Isaac. July 4-5, God wants our obedience. Genesis 22; Jeremiah 29:11

Abraham and Isaac. July 4-5, God wants our obedience. Genesis 22; Jeremiah 29:11 rd 3 5 July 4-5, 2015 Genesis 22; Jeremiah 29:11 Connect Time (20 minutes): Five minutes after the service begins, split kids into groups and begin their activity. Large Group (30 minutes): Begin 20 minutes

More information

Master Supplies List. Optional Supplies

Master Supplies List. Optional Supplies LESSON 7 Humanity Bible Basis: Genesis 4:1 16; Matthew 18:10 14 Key Verse: John 3:16: God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son. Anyone who believes in him will not die but will have eternal

More information

Top tips for supporting your child with Literacy

Top tips for supporting your child with Literacy Top tips for supporting your child with Literacy As a parent/carer you are the person who know your child best, so you are ideally placed to help them with reading, writing, speaking and listening. Everywhere

More information