THE SOCIAL SERVICES COMPLAINTS AND REPRESENTATIONS PROCEDURE. A Guide For Service Users, Their Families and Carers

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "THE SOCIAL SERVICES COMPLAINTS AND REPRESENTATIONS PROCEDURE. A Guide For Service Users, Their Families and Carers"

Transcription

1 THE SOCIAL SERVICES COMPLAINTS AND REPRESENTATIONS PROCEDURE A Guide For Service Users, Their Families and Carers This procedure is based in accordance with: The Social Services Complaints Procedure (Wales) Regulations 2014, and The Representations Procedure (Wales) Regulations This procedure takes effect from 1 August

2 Summary Everyone who makes a complaint about Flintshire Social Services has the right to be listened to properly and have their concerns resolved quickly, fairly and effectively. We will deal with your concerns in an open and honest way. The Complaints Procedure promotes this belief and uses complaints to learn from experience with a view to minimising similar problems and improving services for everyone who uses them. We aim to clearly explain any issues which you are not sure about. We will aim to provide any service to which you are entitled where we have failed to do so previously without good reason. We will apologise if we get something wrong, and where possible try to put things right. We also aim to learn from our mistakes and use the information we gain to improve our services. Our Commitment We aim to provide high quality services to eligible residents. However, there may be occasions when people using or wanting to use our services will want to make comments or complaints about the service they receive. When you express your concerns or complain to us, we will respond in the way described below. We will make sure that your dealings with us in the future do not suffer just because you have expressed a concern or made a complaint. What Is A Complaint? There is no definitive description of a complaint, but broadly a complaint is: An expression of dissatisfaction or concern. Either written or spoken or made by any other communication method. Made by one or more members of the public. About a public service provider s action or lack of action. About the standard of service provided. A complaint is not: An initial request for a service. A formal review or appeal against a decision or determination, the procedure for which is set out in legislation or regulations. A means to seek change to legislation or a properly made policy decision. A means for lobbying groups/organisations to seek to promote a cause. 2

3 We will only look at your concerns if you tell us about them within 12 months of the issues occurring. This is because it s better to look into your concerns while the issues are still fresh in everyone s mind. In exceptional circumstances we may be able to look at concerns which are brought to our attention later than this. However, you will have to give us strong reasons why you have been unable to bring it to our attention earlier and we will need to have sufficient information about the issue to allow us to consider it properly. Who Is Entitled To Complain? The Complaints Procedure applies to both adults and children. You may be eligible to make a complaint about Social Services if: You have received (or were entitled to receive) a service from Social Services. You have suffered due to the inappropriate actions of Social Services. In the case of complaints about Children s Social Services, we will look into if: You are either being looked after by Social Services, or are not being looked after by them but are a child in need. You are a parent of such a child. You are not a parent but you have parental responsibility for such a child. You are a foster carer or adoptive parent. The council considers you have a sufficient interest in a child s welfare You are a care leaver. We will assess all cases where an individual claims to have sufficient interest in a child s welfare. We will make a decision as quickly as possible. If we don t believe you have sufficient interest, we will notify you in writing with the reasons why. If the matter you raise warrants further attention, we may look into it further but you will not receive a formal response with the outcome. Help With Making A Complaint The choice of using an Advocate will be promoted with you when you first use the complaints procedure. The range of advocacy providers in Flintshire are also listed in the complaints information leaflets. If you intend making a complaint on behalf of another person, we will require confirmation of their agreement to you acting on their behalf. We will quickly make the necessary arrangements if you want to make your complaint in Welsh. 3

4 Ways Of Complaining You can express your concerns in any of the ways below. You do not have to put your complaint in writing. You can: Speak with staff who are working with you such as your Social Worker. Get in touch with the Complaints Officer on or if you want to make your complaint over the telephone. Use the form on our website at us at: Write a letter to us at the following address: The Complaints Officer Social Services Department County Hall Mold Flintshire CH7 6ND The Complaints Procedure Stage 1 Local Resolution If possible, we believe it s best to deal with any issue straight away rather than try to sort the problem out later. If you have a concern, raise it with the person you are dealing with (e.g. your Social Worker). They will try to resolve it for you there and then. If we are unable to resolve your complaint immediately or by the end of the next working day, we will acknowledge your complaint within 2 working days and we will tell you the name of the Manager we have asked to look into your complaint. You will be offered the opportunity to meet with them in person or, if you prefer, to discuss the matter over the telephone. After this discussion, we will write to confirm the outcome within 5 working days. If it is not possible to provide you with a response within this timescale, we will contact you to discuss the reason for the delay and when you can expect a response. Occasionally, we might suggest mediation or another method to try to resolve disputes. It is hoped that all concerns can be resolved by Social Services without a need for further action. 4

5 Stage 2 - Formal Investigation If your complaint has been considered at the first stage of the complaints procedure and you remain unhappy with the outcome, you may ask for the complaint to be investigated by a person who is independent of the Council. You also have the right to ask for a complaint to be considered at this stage from the outset, though we believe the quickest and most effective way to deal with complaints is at Stage 1. We will either meet with you in person or discuss your request over the telephone within 5 working days of your request. We will need to record and agree with you any issues you remain unhappy about and the outcomes you are seeking. If we don t agree to a Formal Investigation, we will explain the reasons why and advise you how to take the matter further instead with the Public Services Ombudsman for Wales. If we agree to a Formal Investigation, we will ask someone from outside the Council to conduct the investigation. This person is referred to as an Independent Investigator and they will begin their investigation as quickly as possible. If you are a child or young person, an Independent Person is also appointed to take part in the investigation and any discussion about what action we should take. The Independent Person s role is to oversee the handling of the complaint and make sure everyone has the opportunity to give their view. The Independent Person is also not a Council employee. The Independent Investigator (and Independent Person if you are a child/young person) will meet with you in order that you can give a more detailed background of events leading up to your complaint. They will also read relevant case records we hold before interviewing staff involved in your complaint. Their investigation should take 20 working days after which they will produce a report into their findings. We will consider the report s findings and recommendations and formally write to you about what we are going to do. You will also receive a copy of the report. If the investigation finds that we got it wrong, we will tell you what errors were made and how it happened. If we find there is a fault in our systems or the way we do things, we will tell you what it is and how we plan to change things to stop it happening again. If we got it wrong, we will always apologise. If we didn t provide a service you should have had, we will aim to provide it if that s possible. If we didn t do something well, we will aim to put it right. If you have lost out as a result of a mistake on our part we will try to put you back in the position you would have been in if we had got it right. 5

6 Complaints about Registered (Privately Run) Service Providers If you have a complaint about a Registered Provider (such as a privately run care home or a domiciliary care agency), you can either: Approach the Provider directly yourself with your concerns, or Contact the Complaints Officer who can take the matter forward on your behalf. Similar to what happens with complaints at Stage 1 about Social Services, the Provider s Manager will look into your concerns and respond formally in writing. The Complaints Officer will also receive a copy of their reply. All complaints about Registered Providers and their outcomes are recorded and may be used to inform how we monitor the contract we have with the Provider and judge their performance. Lessons Learned We take your concerns and complaints seriously and try to learn from any mistakes we have made. Every three months, our senior management team considers all the complaints made in the period and their outcomes. Every complaint made, whether at Stage 1 or 2, is reviewed to see if anything could have been done better to improve our services as a whole Concurrent Investigations In some cases, where other investigations may be in progress or under consideration (e.g. court matters or other legal proceedings, and child protection or police investigations), your complaint may be put on hold until such other investigations are completed. Should this occur we will notify you in writing and invite you to re-submit your complaint when those other matters are concluded. Public Services Ombudsman for Wales If you remain dissatisfied with the outcomes at Stage 2, or with the investigation itself, you have the right to approach the Public Services Ombudsman for Wales to consider your complaint. They can be contacted at: Public Services Ombudsman for Wales 1 Ffordd yr Hen Gae Pencoed CF35 5LJ Telephone:

Complaints Policy. What is a Complaint?

Complaints Policy. What is a Complaint? Complaints Policy Statement and Purpose Natural Resources Wales is committed to dealing effectively with any concerns or complaints that we receive about our service. We aim to clarify any issues our customer(s)

More information

Complaints Wales Group. Proposals for. 1. Model Concerns and Complaints Policy for adoption by Public Services Providers in Wales

Complaints Wales Group. Proposals for. 1. Model Concerns and Complaints Policy for adoption by Public Services Providers in Wales Complaints Wales Group Proposals for 1. Model Concerns and Complaints Policy for adoption by Public Services Providers in Wales 2. Guidance for Public Service Providers on Implementing the Model Concerns

More information

The Fostering Network 2006 Managing Allegations and Serious Concerns About Foster Carers Practice: a guide for fostering services.

The Fostering Network 2006 Managing Allegations and Serious Concerns About Foster Carers Practice: a guide for fostering services. 1 foreword The role of foster carers is a unique and challenging one. They look after some of our most vulnerable children, 24 hours a day, and it is essential that they are properly supported. The way

More information

London Borough of Enfield Fostering Service

London Borough of Enfield Fostering Service London Borough of Enfield Fostering Service Comments, Compliments & Complaints Procedure May 2008 Contents Introduction 3 Foster carers complaints about the fostering service 3 Complaints about the service

More information

NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY

NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY Applies to: NHS LA employees, contractors and Non Executive Directors Date of Board Approval: May 2014 Review Date: May 2017 1 May 2014 1. Introduction The NHSLA is committed to

More information

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Introduction At Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust we work hard to deliver a first-class comprehensive health care service. We value the opinions of patients

More information

Principles for Remedy

Principles for Remedy Principles for Remedy Principles for Remedy Public Services Ombudsman for Wales 1 Ffordd yr Hen Gae, Pencoed CF35 5LJ Tel. 01656 641150 Fax: 01656 641199 E-mail: ask@ombudsman-wales.org.uk Website: www.ombudsman-wales.org.uk

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy

NHS Complaints Advocacy NHS Complaints Advocacy Raising Concerns or Complaints About the NHS Advocacy in Surrey is provided by Surrey Disabled People s Partnership (SDPP) In partnership with SDPP is a registered Charity: 1156963

More information

Complaints in the NHS

Complaints in the NHS IMPROVING HEALTH IN WALES Complaints in the NHS A Guide to handling complaints in Wales April 2003 Making suggestions and complaints Do you have suggestions about how we can provide a better service? Your

More information

Scomis Customer Feedback Policy

Scomis Customer Feedback Policy Scomis Customer Feedback Policy Scomis recognises that customer feedback is an opportunity for us to learn and improve. We are committed to focusing on the needs of our customers and using customer feedback

More information

Concerns and Complaints about Health Services in Wales. Concerns and Complaints about Health Services in Wales

Concerns and Complaints about Health Services in Wales. Concerns and Complaints about Health Services in Wales Concerns and Complaints about Health Services in Wales About HIW Healthcare Inspectorate Wales (HIW) is an independent inspectorate. Our role is to regulate and inspect on behalf of Welsh Ministers, NHS

More information

Policies and Procedures. Policy on the Handling of Complaints

Policies and Procedures. Policy on the Handling of Complaints RMP. South Tyneside NHS Foundation Trust Policies and Procedures Policy on the Handling of Complaints Approved by Trust Board December 2006 (revised version approved by RMEC May 2010) Policy Type Policy

More information

Devon County Council. Children & Young Peoples Services Directorate. Complaints & Representations Policy

Devon County Council. Children & Young Peoples Services Directorate. Complaints & Representations Policy Devon County Council Children & Young Peoples Services Directorate Complaints & Representations Policy Created April 2008-amended Sept 2009 1 Index 1. Introduction 2. Legislative Background and National

More information

Occupational Therapy Services

Occupational Therapy Services Occupational Therapy Services May 2014 For a copy of this leaflet in braille, large print, CD or tape call 01352 803444. The Purpose of this leaflet This leaflet has been given to you to provide some basic

More information

Principles of Good Complaint Handling

Principles of Good Complaint Handling Principles of Good Complaint Handling Principles of Good Complaint Handling Good complaint handling means: 1 Getting it right 2 Being customer focused 3 Being open and accountable 4 Acting fairly and proportionately

More information

NEWPORT CITY COUNCIL FOSTERING SERVICE STATEMENT OF PURPOSE. January 2016 1

NEWPORT CITY COUNCIL FOSTERING SERVICE STATEMENT OF PURPOSE. January 2016 1 NEWPORT CITY COUNCIL FOSTERING SERVICE STATEMENT OF PURPOSE January 2016 1 Introduction to the Fostering Service Statement of Purpose This statement has been produced in accordance with the Fostering Services

More information

Complaint about your pension? Here s how we can help

Complaint about your pension? Here s how we can help Complaint about your pension? Here s how we can help When I retired I should have received my pension straightaway but it took months to organise. I m ill and unable to work. My pension scheme allows for

More information

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Why has this factsheet been produced? This factsheet is for anyone who

More information

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care Factsheet 66 August 2011 Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care About this factsheet The factsheet explains the approach to handling complaints about National Health Service (NHS) services,

More information

Customer Services (Enquiries/Concerns/Complaints) Framework 2012/13

Customer Services (Enquiries/Concerns/Complaints) Framework 2012/13 Customer Services (Enquiries/Concerns/Complaints) Framework 2012/13 Version: One Responsible Committee: The Audit & Governance Group Date approved: Name of author: JANET SMART Name of responsible director/

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy. A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS. www.pohwer.net

NHS Complaints Advocacy. A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS. www.pohwer.net NHS Complaints Advocacy A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS NHS Complaints Advocacy Important Information Please read this section before the rest of this guide to ensure you take

More information

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service February 2014 Healthwatch Coventry www.healthwatchcoventry.org.uk Contents 1. About this guide page 3 2. The NHS complaints procedure page 3 3. About the

More information

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE Cuckfield Medical Practice and The Vale Surgery 1 CONTENTS Contents Page Introduction 1.0 NHS Complaints Regulations 3 2.0 Who

More information

2013 Satisfaction Survey. How are we doing? Easier to Read Version

2013 Satisfaction Survey. How are we doing? Easier to Read Version 2013 Satisfaction Survey How are we doing? Easier to Read Version We asked people some questions about their support. Here is some of what people said and the changes we will make. That someone who knows

More information

Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback : how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Who is this factsheet for and what is it about? This factsheet is for anyone who uses

More information

GUIDANCE FOR RESPONDING TO COMPLAINTS. Director of Nursing and Quality. Patient Experience and Customer Services Manager

GUIDANCE FOR RESPONDING TO COMPLAINTS. Director of Nursing and Quality. Patient Experience and Customer Services Manager REFERENCE NUMBER: IN-007 GUIDANCE FOR RESPONDING TO COMPLAINTS AREA: NAME OF RESPONSIBLE COMMITTEE / INDIVIDUAL NAME OF ORIGINATOR / AUTHOR Trust Wide Director of Nursing and Quality Patient Experience

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS

Making a complaint about the NHS Making a complaint about the NHS NHS SCOTLAND The NHS tries hard to look after you, but sometimes things go wrong. This leaflet tells you what to do if you are not happy with the NHS. Things you can complain

More information

Complaints, Comments & Compliments Policy

Complaints, Comments & Compliments Policy Complaints, Comments & Compliments Policy 1. INTRODUCTION We welcome our customers views and will use them to improve our services. The purpose of this policy is to provide a framework for dealing with

More information

Contents. Section/Paragraph Description Page Number

Contents. Section/Paragraph Description Page Number - NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICA CLINICAL NON CLINICAL - CLINICAL CLINICAL Complaints Policy Incorporating Compliments, Comments,

More information

Feedback and complaints:

Feedback and complaints: Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Feedback and complaints (version 1) Produced in October 2012 - Revision

More information

A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care

A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care www.healthwatchhampshire.co.uk Step by step Page 3 Are you concerned about something that is happening now? Do you need to make a

More information

Nottinghamshire County Council. Customer Service Standards

Nottinghamshire County Council. Customer Service Standards Nottinghamshire County Council Customer Service Standards February 2014 Why do we have Customer Service Standards? Nottinghamshire County Council aims to deliver high standards of customer care and service

More information

Social Care, Health and Housing Substance Misuse Team. How can we help? www.carmarthenshire.gov.uk/socialcare

Social Care, Health and Housing Substance Misuse Team. How can we help? www.carmarthenshire.gov.uk/socialcare Social Care, Health and Housing Substance Misuse Team How can we help? www.carmarthenshire.gov.uk/socialcare If you require this information in large print, Braille or on Audio please telephone 01267 228703

More information

the ombudsman and smaller businesses

the ombudsman and smaller businesses the ombudsman and smaller businesses your guide to the Financial Ombudsman Service the independent expert in settling complaints between consumers and businesses providing financial services about this

More information

Information Pack for Individuals & Referral Agencies

Information Pack for Individuals & Referral Agencies Information Pack for Individuals & Referral Agencies Information Pack for Individuals & Referral Agencies The following information pack has been designed for agencies who work with our service users and

More information

How do I complain about the service I get from the Child Support Agency? Information and guidance

How do I complain about the service I get from the Child Support Agency? Information and guidance How do I complain about the service I get from the Child Support Agency? Information and guidance What is this leaflet about? This leaflet explains how you can make a complaint about the service you have

More information

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Why has this factsheet been produced? This factsheet is for anyone who

More information

Complaints, Comments and Appreciations

Complaints, Comments and Appreciations FOLD HERE No Stamp Required Freepost RLUJ-RKYT-AZGH Gillian Summers Complaints Officer North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust Bernicia House Goldcrest Way Newburn Riverside Newcastle upon Tyne

More information

Guide to making an NHS Complaint

Guide to making an NHS Complaint Guide to making an NHS Complaint Introduction Most people are happy with their NHS treatment however if this is not the case and you are unhappy with the service you or others have received from a hospital,

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising concerns and complaints A step by step guide Raising concerns and complaints Questions to ask yourself: 1. What am I concerned or dissatisfied

More information

About the Department for Work and Pensions. Our service standards

About the Department for Work and Pensions. Our service standards About the Department for Work and Pensions Our service standards 2 About the Department for Work and Pensions Contents 3 Introduction 3 Disability and Carers Service 4 Jobcentre Plus 4 The Pension Service

More information

Clydebank Housing Association Ltd. Factoring Complaints Handling Procedure

Clydebank Housing Association Ltd. Factoring Complaints Handling Procedure Clydebank Housing Association Ltd. Factoring Complaints Handling Procedure Management Committee submission: 27 November 2012 Approved: 27 November 2012 Review date: November 2015 This policy can be made

More information

Corporate Performance Management Customer Care Team

Corporate Performance Management Customer Care Team Corporate Performance Management Customer Care Team Title Annual Report 2009/2010 Subject Children s Services complaints and representations Creator Heather Maybury Version 7.0 Date July 2010 Status draft

More information

Special educational needs reform England: Frequently Asked Questions

Special educational needs reform England: Frequently Asked Questions Special educational needs reform England: Frequently Asked Questions This document was last updated on: 10 September 2014. All children and young people are entitled to an education that enables them to

More information

Statement of Purpose. Child Protection/Safeguarding Service

Statement of Purpose. Child Protection/Safeguarding Service Statement of Purpose Child Protection/Safeguarding Service 1. What we do Child Protection/Safeguarding is part of the South Eastern HSC Trust s Children s Services which provides services to ensure the

More information

What to do if you re unhappy with the Child Maintenance Service. Help with complaints, disputes and appeals

What to do if you re unhappy with the Child Maintenance Service. Help with complaints, disputes and appeals What to do if you re unhappy with the Child Maintenance Service Help with complaints, disputes and appeals About this leaflet This leaflet explains what to do if you re unhappy with the service provided

More information

Customer services. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind

Customer services. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind Customer services Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind A short guide to customer services and how we can provide you with support

More information

Staying Put: What does it mean for you? First edition: November 2014 Catch22 NCAS Young Peoples Benchmarking Forum Guide

Staying Put: What does it mean for you? First edition: November 2014 Catch22 NCAS Young Peoples Benchmarking Forum Guide Staying Put: What does it mean for you? First edition: November 2014 Catch22 NCAS Young Peoples Benchmarking Forum Guide People get to understand what our real needs are as individuals and as a group.

More information

The NHS complaints procedure (England only) August 2009

The NHS complaints procedure (England only) August 2009 The NHS complaints procedure (England only) August 2009 Introduction This document has been produce to provide LMCs, practices and GPs with guidance on the requirements of the NHS complaints system, including

More information

Comments, compliments and complaints

Comments, compliments and complaints Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints Patient guide Patient satisfaction comments & compliments We hope you re delighted with the

More information

HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT

HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT Issue Date: November 2014 Review Date: January 2016 Authors: Patient Relations Department, North Cumbria University Hospitals NHS Trust SFT-NCA8299: 10/14 REV 1 If it matters to

More information

Making a complaint. The difference between making a complaint and clinical negligence

Making a complaint. The difference between making a complaint and clinical negligence Macmillan and Cancerbackup have merged. Together we provide free, high quality information for all. Making a complaint This fact sheet is for people who want to make a complaint because they re unhappy

More information

Complaints procedure

Complaints procedure Complaints procedure This leaflet explains what to do if you have a complaint about any aspect of our service. We treat all complaints seriously and aim to resolve them as quickly and fully as we can.

More information

Nationwide Paym. Terms and Conditions. How will Nationwide use your personal information? Terms and Conditions

Nationwide Paym. Terms and Conditions. How will Nationwide use your personal information? Terms and Conditions Nationwide Paym Terms and Conditions How will Nationwide use your personal information? In signing up and agreeing to these terms and conditions, you give your express consent to the use and disclosure

More information

Your legal rights. A short guide for parents and carers of young people with complex needs and disabilities.

Your legal rights. A short guide for parents and carers of young people with complex needs and disabilities. Your legal rights A short guide for parents and carers of young people with complex needs and disabilities. About Young Epilepsy Young Epilepsy is the national charity working exclusively on behalf of

More information

Customer ser vices. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind

Customer ser vices. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind Customer ser vices Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints A short guide to the customer services team and how we can provide you with support and information

More information

Complaints Procedures. Listening... Acting... Improving

Complaints Procedures. Listening... Acting... Improving x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw 17/04/2015 15:32 Page 1 Complaints Procedures Listening... Acting... Improving x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw 17/04/2015 15:32 Page 2 x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw

More information

The Legal Ombudsman can help you resolve your complaint about legal services

The Legal Ombudsman can help you resolve your complaint about legal services Legal Ombudsman Here to help What to do if you have a complaint The Legal Ombudsman can help you resolve your complaint about legal services Are you unhappy with the service your lawyer or law firm has

More information

Getting Help from Adult Social Services 01352 803444

Getting Help from Adult Social Services 01352 803444 Getting Help from Adult Social Services 01352 803444 January 2016 For a copy of this leaflet in Braille, large print or tape call 01352 803444 Who is this leaflet for? This leaflet explains how to get

More information

how to make a complaint

how to make a complaint The following is a summary of the benefits and entitlements that may be relevant to carers. Fact sheets on some items are available from the or website If you are a carer you may be involved with a range

More information

Why use ADR? Pros & cons

Why use ADR? Pros & cons Why use ADR? Pros & cons Thinking about ADR? This leaflet is for you if you ve heard about alternative dispute resolution (ADR) and are wondering whether to use it to try and resolve a dispute. It will

More information

Complaints handling procedure

Complaints handling procedure East Ayrshire Council Complaints handling procedure September 2012 2 East Ayrshire Council Complaints handling procedure: September 2012 East Ayrshire Council - Complaints handling procedure Foreword Our

More information

St Ann Street Medical Practice. Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint

St Ann Street Medical Practice. Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint St Ann Street Medical Practice Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint Who can complain? Anyone who is receiving, or has received, NHS treatment or services can complain, as can anyone affected

More information

Complaints. It is also important to learn from complaints in order to prevent or minimise the risk of similar problems happening again.

Complaints. It is also important to learn from complaints in order to prevent or minimise the risk of similar problems happening again. 6 Complaints Even the most careful and competent dental professional is likely to receive a complaint about the quality of the service, care or treatment they have provided, at some point in their career.

More information

Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints. Patient guide

Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints. Patient guide Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints Patient guide Patient satisfaction comments & compliments We hope you re delighted with the

More information

Social Services Department. Children and Families Services. Child Protection. a guide for adults. A Conwy Publication

Social Services Department. Children and Families Services. Child Protection. a guide for adults. A Conwy Publication Social Services Department Children and Families Services Child Protection a guide for adults A Conwy Publication Child Protection This leaflet is about protecting children and keeping them safe from harm

More information

Adaptations in your home

Adaptations in your home Adaptations in your home A Guide to the process including Disabled Facilities Grants May 2015 This guide is available free in large print, Braille, CD and tape by calling 01352 803444. Adaptations We aim

More information

HOPE HOUSE CHILDREN S HOSPICES COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE

HOPE HOUSE CHILDREN S HOSPICES COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE HOPE HOUSE CHILDREN S HOSPICES COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE Originator: Approved by: David Featherstone, Chief Executive Kath Jones, Director of Care Clinical Governance Group Date: September 2010 Review

More information

Protecting Children. Information for families and carers involved in the child protection process

Protecting Children. Information for families and carers involved in the child protection process Protecting Children Information for families and carers involved in the child protection process This leaflet provides information for families who are involved in the child protection process. It will

More information

MOTOR VEHICLE COMPENSATION CLAIM SUCCESS

MOTOR VEHICLE COMPENSATION CLAIM SUCCESS MOTOR VEHICLE COMPENSATION CLAIM SUCCESS 6 WAYS TO RUIN YOUR MOTOR VEHICLE COMPENSATION CLAIM 6 WAYS TO RUIN YOUR MOTOR VEHICLE COMPENSATION CLAIM In this guide, we have outlined the 6 most common ways

More information

Easy Read summaryummary

Easy Read summaryummary Easy Read summaryummary Mental Capacity Act 2005 - A Summary Mental capacity means being able to make your own decisions The Mental Capacity Act 2005 will help people to make their own decisions. The Mental

More information

SECTION 60I CERTIFICATES

SECTION 60I CERTIFICATES SECTION 60I CERTIFICATES This Fact Sheet outlines general information about certificates issued under section 60I of the Family Law Act 1975 and the Family Law (Family Dispute Resolution Practitioners)

More information

The Court and your child:

The Court and your child: The Court and your child: when social workers get involved easy words and pictures The Court and your child when social workers get involved People These are the people who appear in the booklet. 2 3 Text

More information

Complaints Policy. Complaints Policy. Page 1

Complaints Policy. Complaints Policy. Page 1 Complaints Policy Page 1 Complaints Policy Policy ref no: CCG 006/14 Author (inc job Kat Tucker Complaints & FOI Manager title) Date Approved 25 November 2014 Approved by CCG Governing Body Date of next

More information

Complaints - what to do if you re not happy with a service

Complaints - what to do if you re not happy with a service IS 22 April 2009 Information sheet Complaints - what to do if you re not happy with a service Introduction... 1 Before you make a complaint... 2 Help with making your complaint... 2 How to make a complaint

More information

POLICY FOR THE REPORTING AND MANAGEMENT OF PATIENT COMPLAINTS

POLICY FOR THE REPORTING AND MANAGEMENT OF PATIENT COMPLAINTS Item 9 POLICY FOR THE REPORTING AND MANAGEMENT OF PATIENT COMPLAINTS Authorship: Chief Operating Officer Approved date: 20 September 2012 Approved Governing Body Review Date: April 2013 Equality Impact

More information

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care in Wales

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care in Wales Factsheet 66w January 2013 Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care in Wales About this factsheet This factsheet explains the approach to handling complaints about National Health Service

More information

The NHS complaints procedure (England only): guidance for primary care

The NHS complaints procedure (England only): guidance for primary care The NHS complaints procedure (England only): guidance for primary care August 2015 Introduction This document provides LMCs (local medical committees), practices and GPs with guidance on the requirements

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Contents Page 4 Introduction How to use this pack How can NHS Complaints Advocacy Help? Page 5 Raising concerns and complaints First Steps Step 1 - What

More information

Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns

Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns Pleased? Tell us about it Enquiry? Let us help you Unhappy? Let s resolve it together PALS: We are here to help you As a patient, or as a carer for someone who attends

More information

The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman, (PHSO) for NHS Complaints or the Local Government Ombudsman (LGO) for Public Health complaints, are the second

More information

Making a Complaint. The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made.

Making a Complaint. The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made. Making a Complaint The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made. Sometimes people feel let down by the NHS. They might think that the service, care

More information

PLEASE CONTACT US IF YOU REQUIRE THESE TERMS OF BUSINESS IN LARGER PRINT. Painters. Version 3: January 2014

PLEASE CONTACT US IF YOU REQUIRE THESE TERMS OF BUSINESS IN LARGER PRINT. Painters. Version 3: January 2014 PLEASE CONTACT US IF YOU REQUIRE THESE TERMS OF BUSINESS IN LARGER PRINT Painters Terms of Business Version 3: January 2014 Introduction We aim to offer our clients quality legal advice with a personal

More information

Dealing with customer complaints and compliments procedure

Dealing with customer complaints and compliments procedure Dealing with customer complaints and compliments procedure Classification: Policy Name: First Issued / Approved: 05/08/08 Last Reviewed: Management Policies & Procedures Dealing with customer complaints

More information

Guide to healthcare complaints

Guide to healthcare complaints Guide to healthcare complaints A guide to healthcare complaints The majority of patients have a positive experience of their NHS treatment. Where this is not the case there are a number of options open

More information

Making a Complaint about the NHS

Making a Complaint about the NHS Making a Complaint about the NHS Version 3 Produced in June 2009 Revision date June 2011 In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. We value comments, good or bad,

More information

Giving feedback or making a complaint. about the NHS. Giving feedback about the NHS. Making a complaint. about the NHS. How can I give my feedback?

Giving feedback or making a complaint. about the NHS. Giving feedback about the NHS. Making a complaint. about the NHS. How can I give my feedback? Giving feedback or making a complaint about the NHS In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. You can help us improve services by giving your views, good as well

More information

Getting social care support under the new law in England

Getting social care support under the new law in England Factsheet What does the Care Act mean for me? Getting social care support under the new law in England This factsheet concentrates on parts of the Care Act which will most affect people who use social

More information

IL03: How to make a comment, complaint or compliment

IL03: How to make a comment, complaint or compliment April 2015 IL03: How to make a comment, complaint or compliment We welcome all your views. Comments We d like to hear from you if you have a suggestion on how we can improve our service. You can write

More information

Making a complaint in the independent healthcare sector. A guide for patients

Making a complaint in the independent healthcare sector. A guide for patients Contents 1. Introduction pages 3 5 2. Local Resolution Stage One pages 6 8 3. Complaints Review Stage Two page 9 4. Independent External Adjudication Stage Three pages 10 11 2 The Patients Association

More information

FAMILY LAW AND YOUNG PEOPLE

FAMILY LAW AND YOUNG PEOPLE FAMILY MATTERS FAMILY LAW AND YOUNG PEOPLE IN SCOTLAND FAMILY LAW AND YOUNG PEOPLE IN SCOTLAND Scottish Ministers vision for children and young people 1 in Scotland is that they are safe, nurtured, achieving,

More information

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Why has this factsheet been produced? This factsheet is for anyone who

More information

Complaints Policy and Procedure. Contents. Title: Number: Version: 1.0

Complaints Policy and Procedure. Contents. Title: Number: Version: 1.0 Title: Complaints Policy and Procedure Number: Version: 1.0 Contents 1 Purpose and scope... 2 2 Responsibilities... 2 3 Policy Statement: Aims and Objectives... 4 4 Definition of a complaint... 4 5 Procedure...

More information

Getting Medi-Cal Outpatient Specialty Mental Health Services

Getting Medi-Cal Outpatient Specialty Mental Health Services California s Protection & Advocacy System Toll-Free (800) 776-5746 Getting Medi-Cal Outpatient Specialty Mental Health Services August 2010, Pub #5084.01 I was told that I need Medi-Cal specialty mental

More information

Legal Ombudsman January Signposting Information

Legal Ombudsman January Signposting Information January 2015 Signposting Information 1 Helping you to get it right We want to help you learn from complaints to improve your customer service and business. We have produced this signposting pack to help

More information

Choosing, Arranging and Managing Your Care and Support

Choosing, Arranging and Managing Your Care and Support Adult Care and Health Services Choosing, Arranging and Managing Your Care and Support Your guide to Personal Budget Support www.reading.gov.uk/communitycare Welcome You have been given this booklet because

More information

Complaints Procedure. Director (Learner Services & Skills)

Complaints Procedure. Director (Learner Services & Skills) COLLEGE POLICY: Complaints Procedure POLICY HOLDER: Director (Learner Services & Skills) Last Reviewed: Sept. 15 Next Review: Sept. 16 Review By: Corporation Current Reference: 1.0 Introduction and Context

More information

USING LAWYERS IN HONG KONG

USING LAWYERS IN HONG KONG USING LAWYERS IN HONG KONG This Guide deals in general terms with using lawyers in Hong Kong. It aims to help a seafarer understand the legal profession in Hong Kong, and how to select, engage and if need

More information

Information Sheet Updated March 2007

Information Sheet Updated March 2007 Duty of Care and Negligence Villamanta Disability Rights Legal Service Inc. Information Sheet Updated March 2007 What is Negligence? Negligence is when someone who owes you a duty of care, has failed to

More information

Terms of Business. Accepting our Terms of Business

Terms of Business. Accepting our Terms of Business Accepting our Terms of Business Terms of Business By asking us to quote for, arrange or handle your insurances, you are providing your informed agreement to these Terms of Business. We draw your particular

More information