Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints. Patient guide

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints. Patient guide"

Transcription

1 Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints Patient guide

2 Patient satisfaction comments & compliments We hope you re delighted with the care you receive at Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS). If there is however, anything big or small you wish to comment or compliment us on, please share it with a member of our team. We take our patient satisfaction seriously at GM CATS and we aim to keep our service the best it can be by regularly asking patients like you about your experience. If you get chance at your appointment, please take a moment to complete our satisfaction survey. If you feel we have let you down at all throughout your patient experience, don t be afraid to tell us straight away. Speak to any member of staff or manager as it can often be something that we can quickly resolve or action. You can also provide feedback to the staff at the Patient Management Centre, who are available on between 8am and 8pm Monday to Friday and 10am to 4pm on Saturdays. In the unlikely event that you want to make a complaint, you can do this verbally or in writing (including ). We will respond to your concerns, considerately, quickly and as effectively as possible in line with the NHS Complaints Regulations (2009). We do take your feedback very seriously and will (where the regulations and guidance allow us to do so) investigate all concerns and complaints from patients or their families. 2 3

3 Making a complaint local resolution Complaining on behalf of someone else Our complaints procedure is designed to make sure that we settle any complaints as quickly as possible. You can let us know you are unhappy and make a complaint: In person at your appointment or by telephone ask to speak to a senior person and / or manager. In writing (including ) some complaints are easier to explain in writing Please give as much information as you can and send to: Customer Care Manager Patient Management Centre Greater Manchester NHS CATS 3rd Floor 111 Piccadilly Manchester M1 2HY or We shall contact you within three working days of receipt to discuss how you would like the complaint taken forward and investigated. We will also agree with you a timescale within which our response will be sent. The response will tell you how the complaint was investigated, the evidence considered, the conclusions reached and any actions taken. It may be helpful for you to meet with a Manager and a Clinician to discuss your concerns; if this is the case arrangements will be made for this to happen at a convenient time. Please note that we keep strictly to the rules of confidentiality. If you are complaining on behalf of someone else, we have to know that you have their permission to do so. We will require their written permission unless they are unable to provide this. Internal review If you are unhappy with the response you receive from the Manager you can write to the Managing Director of Health Care for Care UK and request an internal review (contact details will be provided in the response letter to you). Only information relevant to the complaint will be disclosed. If the patient does not want any information from their health records to be disclosed, this might affect the extent to which we can investigate and respond to your complaint. You can expect an impartial and objective re-investigation into your complaint by a member of the Managing Director s team. The investigation will also review how your complaint was handled at the local stage. 4 5

4 The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman (PHSO) Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) If you are dissatisfied with the outcome of your complaint you may request an external review of your complaint, from the Parliamentary Health Service Ombudsman (PHSO). The Ombudsman would generally only agree to review a complaint if they feel you have exhausted all attempts to directly resolve your complaint with us. You can contact the Ombudsman helpline for advice on You could also write to the ombudsman at: The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman Millbank Tower Millbank, London SW1P 4QP Or visit their website at If you require information about NHS services in your area you may wish to speak to your local Patient Advice and Liaison Services (PALS). PALS is a confidential NHS service that gives advice and support to patients, carers and their relatives about healthcare and other services. You can find more information and local PALS contact details at The Independent Complaints Advisory Service (ICAS) NHS complaint procedure If you require support when making a complaint, you can also contact the Independent Complaints Advisory Service (ICAS), run by the Carers Federation, on You will find further details through their website Further information and details of the NHS complaints procedure is available on the NHS website 6 7

5 This leaflet is available in other languages. Please contact to request a copy. Copies of all documents and information can be found at This document is available in other languages upon request Dokument ten jest na życzenie udostępniany w języku polskim. Write to us Patient Management Centre Greater Manchester NHS CATS 3rd Floor 111 Piccadilly Manchester M1 2HY Tel:

Comments, compliments and complaints

Comments, compliments and complaints Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints Patient guide Patient satisfaction comments & compliments We hope you re delighted with the

More information

Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints. An information guide

Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints. An information guide TO PROVIDE THE VERY BEST CARE FOR EACH PATIENT ON EVERY OCCASION Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints An information guide Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints Commitment to quality At

More information

HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT

HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT Issue Date: November 2014 Review Date: January 2016 Authors: Patient Relations Department, North Cumbria University Hospitals NHS Trust SFT-NCA8299: 10/14 REV 1 If it matters to

More information

St Ann Street Medical Practice. Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint

St Ann Street Medical Practice. Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint St Ann Street Medical Practice Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint Who can complain? Anyone who is receiving, or has received, NHS treatment or services can complain, as can anyone affected

More information

Complaints procedure

Complaints procedure Complaints procedure This leaflet explains what to do if you have a complaint about any aspect of our service. We treat all complaints seriously and aim to resolve them as quickly and fully as we can.

More information

How to compliment, comment or complain about our services

How to compliment, comment or complain about our services How to compliment, comment or complain about our services We welcome your compliments, comments and complaints NHS St Helens Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) welcomes any comments you may have on the

More information

Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team

Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team Worthing and Southlands Hospitals Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Trust which combines St Richard s Hospital in Chichester and Worthing and Southlands

More information

Complaints Procedures. Listening... Acting... Improving

Complaints Procedures. Listening... Acting... Improving x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw 17/04/2015 15:32 Page 1 Complaints Procedures Listening... Acting... Improving x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw 17/04/2015 15:32 Page 2 x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw

More information

OLD HALL SURGERY COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE (FORM 1)

OLD HALL SURGERY COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE (FORM 1) (FORM 1) WE OPERATE A PRACTICE AS PART OF THE N.H.S. SYSTEM FOR DEALING WITH COMPLAINTS. OUR SYSTEM MEETS NATIONAL CRITERIA. OUR AIM IS TO GIVE YOU THE HIGHEST POSSIBLE STANDARD OF SERVICE AND WE TRY TO

More information

Complaints. How to raise your concerns

Complaints. How to raise your concerns Complaints How to raise your concerns Raising your Concerns RNOH NHS Trust staff will do whatever they can to make sure you get quick, proper and fair treatment. However, sometimes things can go wrong

More information

Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns

Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns Pleased? Tell us about it Enquiry? Let us help you Unhappy? Let s resolve it together PALS: We are here to help you As a patient, or as a carer for someone who attends

More information

How to make a comment, make a complaint or express your appreciation. Information for patients/relatives/carers

How to make a comment, make a complaint or express your appreciation. Information for patients/relatives/carers How to make a comment, make a complaint or express your appreciation Information for patients/relatives/carers How to tell us about a concern, make a complaint or express your appreciation Here at the

More information

Complaints, Comments and Appreciations

Complaints, Comments and Appreciations FOLD HERE No Stamp Required Freepost RLUJ-RKYT-AZGH Gillian Summers Complaints Officer North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust Bernicia House Goldcrest Way Newburn Riverside Newcastle upon Tyne

More information

Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers. Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust

Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers. Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust Welcome At Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust (CNWL) we aim to give you the best

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS in England

Making a complaint about the NHS in England Making a complaint about the NHS in England The Health Service Ombudsman can carry out independent investigations into complaints made about poor treatment or service provided through the NHS. We are the

More information

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Introduction At Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust we work hard to deliver a first-class comprehensive health care service. We value the opinions of patients

More information

Give us your views. Complaint. Compliment. Comment. Concern

Give us your views. Complaint. Compliment. Comment. Concern Mental & Social Healthcare Concern Complaint Compliment Comment Give us your views This leaflet explains what to do if you have a complaint, comment, concern or compliment about your experience of our

More information

COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS

COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS Information Leaflet Your Health. Our Priority. Page 2 of 6 Introduction We aim to provide the highest possible standard of care for our patients. We want to hear your

More information

PALS. Patient Advice and Liaison Service. Royal Manchester Children s Hospital. Saint Mary s Hospital. Manchester Royal Eye Hospital

PALS. Patient Advice and Liaison Service. Royal Manchester Children s Hospital. Saint Mary s Hospital. Manchester Royal Eye Hospital Royal Children s Hospital Saint Mary s Hospital Royal Eye Hospital PALS Patient Advice and Liaison Service Royal Infirmary University Dental Hospital of Central Community Services Trafford General Stretford

More information

Customer ser vices. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind

Customer ser vices. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind Customer ser vices Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints A short guide to the customer services team and how we can provide you with support and information

More information

Compliments, Concerns and Complaints

Compliments, Concerns and Complaints Compliments, Concerns and Complaints When you don't know where to turn for advice Compliments The Trust would like to receive your input about our services including positive comments relating to the services

More information

Information guide. How to make a complaint

Information guide. How to make a complaint Information guide How to make a complaint How you can comment, compliment or complain about your treatment or service We are committed to providing you with the best service possible. We are always looking

More information

ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY. Complaints Procedure General Practice

ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY. Complaints Procedure General Practice ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY Complaints Procedure General Practice Index 1. Introduction 2. Practice Complaints Administrator 3. What Constitutes a Complaint 4. Matters Excluded from the Complaints Process

More information

Comments, compliments and complaints

Comments, compliments and complaints Comments, compliments and complaints 02 Our commitment to engaging with the community We want to make sure we are open, honest and transparent commissioners of care. It is our intention to be truthful

More information

Complaints and PALS. How to make a complaint. Freephone: 0800 328 7971

Complaints and PALS. How to make a complaint. Freephone: 0800 328 7971 How to make a complaint Freephone: 0800 328 7971 Why make a complaint? Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust aims to provide the highest possible quality of health care. We try hard to ensure that we meet

More information

How did we do? Promoting hope and wellbeing together. How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services.

How did we do? Promoting hope and wellbeing together. How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services. West London Mental Health NHS Trust How did we do? How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services. Promoting hope and wellbeing together What do you think

More information

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE Cuckfield Medical Practice and The Vale Surgery 1 CONTENTS Contents Page Introduction 1.0 NHS Complaints Regulations 3 2.0 Who

More information

FOR HANDLING ORGANISATIONAL COMPLAINTS AGAINST THE PRACTICE OR INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS OF STAFF

FOR HANDLING ORGANISATIONAL COMPLAINTS AGAINST THE PRACTICE OR INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS OF STAFF 1. PURPOSE This procedure is to ensure the proper handling of any complaint about the organisation, care which a patient has received from Lintonville Medical Group or an individual member of staff. The

More information

Your right to complain. The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure. RDaSH. Corporate Services

Your right to complain. The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure. RDaSH. Corporate Services Your right to complain The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure RDaSH Corporate Services Section One: What do I do if I want to complain? Why is it important to complain? If you are not happy with

More information

COMMENTS, CONCERNS OR COMPLAINTS

COMMENTS, CONCERNS OR COMPLAINTS University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay NHS Foundation Trust COMMENTS, CONCERNS OR COMPLAINTS What to do if you want to raise a comment, concern or complaint Patient Relations Department Patient Information

More information

EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure

EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE As a Practice we try to provide the best service possible for our patients. We recognise, however, that

More information

Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust This leaflet provides practical information on how you can provide

More information

THE HADLEIGH PRACTICE Complimentary Information Pack

THE HADLEIGH PRACTICE Complimentary Information Pack PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET How to make Comments, Suggestions and Complaints This leaflet explains how you can make comments, suggestions and complaints about the services provided by The Hadleigh Practice.

More information

We are happy to discuss your concerns and are always ready to listen to your comments and views on the care we provide.

We are happy to discuss your concerns and are always ready to listen to your comments and views on the care we provide. Complaints, concerns and compliments We are sorry you have a complaint. This booklet explains what to do if you have a complaint about your clinical care and treatment, or if you are complaining on behalf

More information

A Guide to Resolving Issues or Making a Complaint

A Guide to Resolving Issues or Making a Complaint A Guide to Resolving Issues or Making a Complaint If you are unhappy with the treatment or service you receive from the NHS you are entitled to make a complaint, have it considered, and receive a response

More information

Complaints Policy & Procedure 1

Complaints Policy & Procedure 1 Introduction Complaints about the surgery or member of staff are always taken seriously at Eyam Surgery. We always try to provide the best service possible, but there may be times when a patient may feel

More information

Patient Experience Team (PET)

Patient Experience Team (PET) Patient Experience Team (PET) We are here to help with: Comments Concerns Compliments Complaints Information for patients This leaflet can be made available in other formats including large print, CD and

More information

How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service?

How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service? How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service? I m not happy about something I d just like to say How do I? Most NHS care and treatment goes well but sometimes things can go wrong. If

More information

Experiences count. We are here to listen. www.lpft.nhs.uk

Experiences count. We are here to listen. www.lpft.nhs.uk Experiences count We are here to listen www.lpft.nhs.uk Experiences count Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust (LPFT) provides specialist health services for people with a learning disability,

More information

SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP

SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP COMPLAINTS INFORMATION LEAFLET FOR PATIENTS Dr I D Whyte, Dr K K Wlodarczyk, Dr T M Golding Dr C J Brown, Dr C J Fogg, Dr C Dalton 42 King Street, Whalley, Nr Clitheroe BB7

More information

NHS Complaints and raising concerns

NHS Complaints and raising concerns NHS Complaints and raising concerns This document is a guide to help you raise concerns yourself Raising concerns and or making a complaint can be quite daunting and can often be quite a negative experience.

More information

This document can be produced in large print, in Braille, on audio cassette and in other languages on request

This document can be produced in large print, in Braille, on audio cassette and in other languages on request GIVING A COMPLIMENT, RAISING A CONCERN OR MAKING A COMPLAINT A Guide for Patients, Carers, Relatives and Visitors to the Trust to tell us what you think This document can be produced in large print, in

More information

Your rights and how to make a complaint

Your rights and how to make a complaint Your rights and how to make a complaint Most medical care and treatment goes well, but things occasionally go wrong, and you may want to complain. So where do you start? Every NHS organisation has a complaints

More information

Guide to healthcare complaints

Guide to healthcare complaints Guide to healthcare complaints A guide to healthcare complaints The majority of patients have a positive experience of their NHS treatment. Where this is not the case there are a number of options open

More information

Policies and Procedures. Policy on the Handling of Complaints

Policies and Procedures. Policy on the Handling of Complaints RMP. South Tyneside NHS Foundation Trust Policies and Procedures Policy on the Handling of Complaints Approved by Trust Board December 2006 (revised version approved by RMEC May 2010) Policy Type Policy

More information

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service February 2014 Healthwatch Coventry www.healthwatchcoventry.org.uk Contents 1. About this guide page 3 2. The NHS complaints procedure page 3 3. About the

More information

Our patient transport services

Our patient transport services Our patient transport services This leaflet explains what you can expect from patient transport services at Guy s and St Thomas. If you have any further questions, please speak to the patient transport

More information

Helping more people by investigating more complaints about the NHS. September 2013

Helping more people by investigating more complaints about the NHS. September 2013 Helping more people by investigating more complaints about the NHS September 2013 Helping more people by investigating more NHS complaints In 2012-13 We resolved 15,944 enquiries about the NHS 12,175 3,770

More information

Guide to making an NHS Complaint

Guide to making an NHS Complaint Guide to making an NHS Complaint Introduction Most people are happy with their NHS treatment however if this is not the case and you are unhappy with the service you or others have received from a hospital,

More information

The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services.

The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services. Xxxxxxxxxxxx Directory The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services. Issue Date: 29 September 2014 Contents Page 2: Page 3: Tips on Complaining Services This guide has been produced by Healthwatch

More information

Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS)

Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Patient information leaflet Royal Surrey County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Formal complaints PALS What does this leaflet cover? How to make a formal complaint.

More information

Complaints, concerns and feedback. Our Process

Complaints, concerns and feedback. Our Process Complaints, concerns and feedback Our Process About us Devon Doctors Group comprises of Devon Doctors Ltd and other subsidiaries including Access Dental, Access Health Care and Cornwall Health. We exist

More information

A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS

A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS Please read this first Are you worried or unhappy about your current healthcare or treatment of that of a loved one? If you are then it may be more

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy

NHS Complaints Advocacy NHS Complaints Advocacy Raising Concerns or Complaints About the NHS Advocacy in Surrey is provided by Surrey Disabled People s Partnership (SDPP) In partnership with SDPP is a registered Charity: 1156963

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Contents Page 4 Introduction How to use this pack How can NHS Complaints Advocacy Help? Page 5 Raising concerns and complaints First Steps Step 1 - What

More information

Protocols and Policies. The Lighthouse Medical Practice. Complaints

Protocols and Policies. The Lighthouse Medical Practice. Complaints Complaints This leaflet provides all the information you might need if you feel that you would like to complain about any part of the Practice. At we strive to offer the highest level of care to all our

More information

Making a Complaint. The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made.

Making a Complaint. The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made. Making a Complaint The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made. Sometimes people feel let down by the NHS. They might think that the service, care

More information

Concerns, Complaints and Compliments

Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Exceptional healthcare, personally delivered Welcome to North Bristol NHS Trust North Bristol NHS Trust is the largest hospital trust in the South West of England,

More information

2013 Satisfaction Survey. How are we doing? Easier to Read Version

2013 Satisfaction Survey. How are we doing? Easier to Read Version 2013 Satisfaction Survey How are we doing? Easier to Read Version We asked people some questions about their support. Here is some of what people said and the changes we will make. That someone who knows

More information

Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure

Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure Introduction The Practice aims to provide a high quality service to all its patients at all times, but we recognise that there may be times when you feel

More information

St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust. Compliments, Complaints and Suggestions

St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust. Compliments, Complaints and Suggestions St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust Compliments, Complaints and Suggestions Contents Compliments Page 4 Complaints Page 5 Suggestions Page 5 Making a complaint Page 6 How do I make a formal

More information

High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Lead Author(s) Change History Document complies with the Equality Act 2010

High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Lead Author(s) Change History Document complies with the Equality Act 2010 High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Document Type CQC Standard 7 Service Application Version 2 Ratification Date Target Group All staff Last Reviewed October 2012 Next Review Date October

More information

Your guide to making comments, compliments and complaints

Your guide to making comments, compliments and complaints Your guide to making comments, compliments and complaints Your views are important Our values and behaviours framework brings together everything we believe about the importance of kindness and compassion,

More information

Making a complaint about government departments and services to the Parliamentary Ombudsman

Making a complaint about government departments and services to the Parliamentary Ombudsman Making a complaint about government departments and services to the Parliamentary Ombudsman Section 1 Can we look at your complaint? Have you complained to the organisation? Yes No Have you received a

More information

Making a complaint. The difference between making a complaint and clinical negligence

Making a complaint. The difference between making a complaint and clinical negligence Macmillan and Cancerbackup have merged. Together we provide free, high quality information for all. Making a complaint This fact sheet is for people who want to make a complaint because they re unhappy

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy. A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS. www.pohwer.net

NHS Complaints Advocacy. A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS. www.pohwer.net NHS Complaints Advocacy A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS NHS Complaints Advocacy Important Information Please read this section before the rest of this guide to ensure you take

More information

Complaints and Compliments

Complaints and Compliments Complaints and Compliments Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Comments, Compliments, & Complaints If you require this document in an alternative format, i.e easy read, large text, audio, braille

More information

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY A GENERAL 1. INTRODUCTION This policy sets out the process for handling complaints, generated by patients, carers and the general public, by the Clinical Commissioning Group

More information

How to complain about a health or social care service

How to complain about a health or social care service How to complain about a health or social care service February 2014 About this leaflet Although most people have no problems when using health or social care services, sometimes things can go wrong. This

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising concerns and complaints A step by step guide Raising concerns and complaints Questions to ask yourself: 1. What am I concerned or dissatisfied

More information

What does the NHS Constitution mean for me? Can I get involved in decisions about my care?

What does the NHS Constitution mean for me? Can I get involved in decisions about my care? What does the NHS Constitution mean for me? Can I get involved in decisions about my care? Why do we need an NHS Constitution? The NHS belongs to all of us The NHS is there for us from the moment we re

More information

A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care

A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care www.healthwatchhampshire.co.uk Step by step Page 3 Are you concerned about something that is happening now? Do you need to make a

More information

The Abington Medical Centre The Abington Health Complex 51a Beech Avenue Northampton NN3 2JG PRACTICE COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE

The Abington Medical Centre The Abington Health Complex 51a Beech Avenue Northampton NN3 2JG PRACTICE COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE The Abington Medical Centre The Abington Health Complex 51a Beech Avenue Northampton NN3 2JG PRACTICE COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE Patient Information Leaflet If you have a complaint or concern about the service

More information

How to make a complaint about your care

How to make a complaint about your care How to make a complaint about your care This leaflet tells you what to do if you wish to raise any concerns about your care and what will happen if you do this. Overall, the feedback we get from patients

More information

Comments, Compliments, Concerns and Complaints

Comments, Compliments, Concerns and Complaints WH PALS & Complaints 01-03-12:Layout 1 14/5/12 11:31 Page 1 Comments, Compliments, Concerns and Complaints PALS and Complaints Service, Patient Relations Office, Whittington Health, Whittington Hospital,

More information

Customer services. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind

Customer services. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind Customer services Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind A short guide to customer services and how we can provide you with support

More information

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care Factsheet 66 August 2011 Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care About this factsheet The factsheet explains the approach to handling complaints about National Health Service (NHS) services,

More information

How to make a comment or a complaint An easy read guide

How to make a comment or a complaint An easy read guide How to make a comment or a complaint An easy read guide 1 of 12 Making a comment We would like you to tell us what you think of our hospitals and the care you have received from us. Please tell us if you

More information

Giving feedback or making a complaint about the NHS

Giving feedback or making a complaint about the NHS Giving feedback or making a complaint about the NHS The NHS in Scotland tries to give you the best possible care and treatment. You can help us improve services by telling us what you think of them, good

More information

Patient Advice and Liaison Service

Patient Advice and Liaison Service Service We are here to help: If you need advice If you have problems with treatment If you need help but don t know who you can talk to. This information sheet is available in other languages and formats.

More information

Complaints Policy and Procedure

Complaints Policy and Procedure Complaints Policy and Procedure REFERENCE NUMBER DraftAug2012V1MH APPROVING COMMITTEE(S) AND DATE THIS DOCUMENT REPLACES REVIEW DUE DATE March 2014 RATIFICATION DATE/DRAFT No NHS West Lancashire Clinical

More information

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Why has this factsheet been produced? This factsheet is for anyone who

More information

Principles of Good Complaint Handling

Principles of Good Complaint Handling Principles of Good Complaint Handling Principles of Good Complaint Handling Good complaint handling means: 1 Getting it right 2 Being customer focused 3 Being open and accountable 4 Acting fairly and proportionately

More information

How to make a complaint

How to make a complaint The Patients Association PO Box 935, Harrow, Middlesex,HA1 3YJ How to make a complaint Patients Association PO Box 935, Harrow Middlesex HA1 3YJ 020 8423 9111 Monday Friday 09:00 17:30 Helpline: 0845 608

More information

This guide will help you to prepare a complaint letter and provide information regarding where you should send your complaint to.

This guide will help you to prepare a complaint letter and provide information regarding where you should send your complaint to. Guide to Making a Complaint About Medical Treatment If you are dissatisfied with the medical treatment that you or a family member have received then you are entitled to make a complaint. Complaint guide

More information

How do I complain about the service I get from the Child Support Agency? Information and guidance

How do I complain about the service I get from the Child Support Agency? Information and guidance How do I complain about the service I get from the Child Support Agency? Information and guidance What is this leaflet about? This leaflet explains how you can make a complaint about the service you have

More information

How to complain about a doctor. England

How to complain about a doctor. England How to complain about a doctor England This booklet is for patients in England. Our procedures are the same throughout the UK, but healthcare and support organisations do vary. We have therefore also produced

More information

The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman, (PHSO) for NHS Complaints or the Local Government Ombudsman (LGO) for Public Health complaints, are the second

More information

NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY

NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY Applies to: NHS LA employees, contractors and Non Executive Directors Date of Board Approval: May 2014 Review Date: May 2017 1 May 2014 1. Introduction The NHSLA is committed to

More information

POLICY FOR THE REPORTING AND MANAGEMENT OF PATIENT COMPLAINTS

POLICY FOR THE REPORTING AND MANAGEMENT OF PATIENT COMPLAINTS Item 9 POLICY FOR THE REPORTING AND MANAGEMENT OF PATIENT COMPLAINTS Authorship: Chief Operating Officer Approved date: 20 September 2012 Approved Governing Body Review Date: April 2013 Equality Impact

More information

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY A GENERAL 1. INTRODUCTION 1.1 This policy sets out the process that the Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCG) will use for handling complaints, generated by patients, carers

More information

SOMETHING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT? REVISITED

SOMETHING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT? REVISITED SOMETHING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT? REVISITED A follow up to Something to Complain About? - A look at how easy it is to find the right information and support to make a complaint about GP services. Table of Contents

More information

NHS SOUTH DEVON AND TORBAY CLINICAL COMMISSIONING GROUP COMPLAINTS POLICY

NHS SOUTH DEVON AND TORBAY CLINICAL COMMISSIONING GROUP COMPLAINTS POLICY NHS SOUTH DEVON AND TORBAY CLINICAL COMMISSIONING GROUP COMPLAINTS POLICY Version: 1.4 dated 26 March 2014 DATE VERSION CONTROL 01/08/2013 1.0 First draft Phil Stimpson Based upon initial policy produced

More information

To start with, who you contact to make a formal complaint will depend on:

To start with, who you contact to make a formal complaint will depend on: The Complaints Process For many, the thought of complaining can be daunting. This guide takes you through the process of making your complaint and where you can obtain further information. To start with,

More information

How to complain about a doctor

How to complain about a doctor How to complain about a doctor England This booklet is for patients in England. Our procedures are the same throughout the UK, but healthcare and support organisations do vary. We have therefore also produced

More information

Policies, Procedures, Guidelines and Protocols

Policies, Procedures, Guidelines and Protocols Policies, Procedures, Guidelines and Protocols Document Details Title Complaints and Compliments Policy Trust Ref No 1353-29025 Local Ref (optional) N/A Main points the document This policy and procedure

More information

NHS complaints procedure An overview

NHS complaints procedure An overview MEDICAL PROTECTION SOCIETY PROFESSIONAL SUPPORT AND EXPERT ADVICE MPS COMPLAINTS SERIES BOOK 5 NHS complaints procedure An overview www.mps.org.uk Contents Regulations and principles page 3 Putting the

More information

Complaints in the NHS

Complaints in the NHS IMPROVING HEALTH IN WALES Complaints in the NHS A Guide to handling complaints in Wales April 2003 Making suggestions and complaints Do you have suggestions about how we can provide a better service? Your

More information

How to Make a Complaint Easy Read Leaflet. An information guide

How to Make a Complaint Easy Read Leaflet. An information guide TO PROVIDE THE VERY BEST CARE FOR EACH PATIENT ON EVERY OCCASION How to Make a Complaint Easy Read Leaflet An information guide Make a Complaint How to Make a Complaint Are you unhappy about the way you

More information

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Why has this factsheet been produced? This factsheet is for anyone who

More information