IL03: How to make a comment, complaint or compliment

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "IL03: How to make a comment, complaint or compliment"

Transcription

1 April 2015 IL03: How to make a comment, complaint or compliment We welcome all your views. Comments We d like to hear from you if you have a suggestion on how we can improve our service. You can write to us or talk to us in person. You can also contact us by phone, or through social media. All the contact details are given on the next page. Complaints We aim to provide you with the best possible service. So, if we get it wrong, we want to know about it. We aim to sort out complaints quickly and fairly and we will try to sort out any mistake or misunderstanding straight away. Sometimes it may take a bit of time to sort out a problem, but we will tell you how long it will take. If you make a complaint it won t affect any service you get now or in the future. We learn from complaints and, if necessary, we will change things to improve what we do. We keep records of all the complaints we receive and check these records regularly to help us to:

2 see where we need to make changes and improve services; and make sure we are dealing with complaints effectively and consistently. Compliments If you re particularly happy with any part of the service you receive, please tell us. You can write to us at the address on this page, phone us, or tell us in person. We will record your views and pass them on to the people involved. Your comments, complaints and compliments are dealt with by our complaints team. You can contact them at: Complaints Team Adult Social Care East Sussex County Council County Hall St Anne s Crescent Lewes, BN7 1UE Phone: Text message: Fax:

3 Also, East Sussex County Council is on Twitter and on Facebook at facebook.com/eastsussexcc. If you need an interpreter or sign-language interpreter, we can arrange this for you. Making a complaint Who can make a complaint? You, if you are the person who receives the service. Someone acting on your behalf and with your permission. Your next of kin (your partner or other close family member) who has authority to act on your behalf, if you are not able to make decisions for yourself. What you can complain about You can complain about any part of our service, including: your assessments, care plan or review of your services, a poor-quality service, including services we ve arranged but which are delivered by an independent care provider, or our attitude or behaviour. 3

4 Who can help you make a complaint You can ask a friend or relative to speak to us on your behalf, as long as we know they have your permission. Or, if you prefer, you can ask us to put you in touch with an independent organisation such as Citizens Advice, or we can help you find an advocate, who is someone to help you make your complaint. If you need someone to help you make a complaint, please read our fact sheet FS2: Independent advocacy Someone to speak up for you. Page 16 of this leaflet gives you the details of how to get a copy of any of our fact sheets or leaflets. Other organisations If your complaint also involves a service provided by the NHS or another organisation, with your permission we will contact them and agree who will reply to you. We will tell you who will reply to all your complaints. You won t necessarily have to wait for separate replies from each organisation. How to complain A good start is to contact the person or team who has been involved in the situation you are concerned about. They will try to sort things out quickly. 4

5 If you have already done this, or would rather speak to someone else, you can contact our complaints team who will help you. You can contact them by phone, , letter or text message, whichever is easiest for you. Their contact details are further up in this factsheet. What happens when you make a complaint When you contact us with your concerns, you can tell us what you think would put things right. We will see if we can sort out the problem straight away without you needing to do anything else. We will acknowledge your complaint within three working days. In our acknowledgement letter we will let you know: if it is suitable to set up a meeting to discuss your concerns; how long it is likely to take us to look at your complaint; and who will reply to you. This is called your complaint plan. We will try to sort out most complaints within 10 to 20 working days. You will receive a letter from the manager named in your complaint plan, letting you know their findings and 5

6 explaining what they will do to put things right. Sometimes they may not agree with all of your complaint. If so, they will give reasons for this in their letter. If you are not satisfied with the response to your complaint If you are not happy with our response to your complaint, you will have the opportunity to discuss why you are still not happy and what else you think we should do to put things right. We will then consider the points you have raised and look at what we said in the reply to your complaint. We will see if there is any way of sorting out your complaint without having to investigate it further. We may, for example, suggest a meeting with the relevant manager to talk about your concerns. We will write to you to explain what further action, if any, we can take to deal with your complaint. If your complaint is very complicated, we may decide that we should investigate it further. Sometimes complaints are so serious or complicated that they need to be investigated by someone who is not directly involved with the service. If this is the case, we will appoint an investigating officer to look into your complaint. 6

7 Local Government Ombudsman If you are not happy with the final decision or the way we have dealt with your complaint, you can contact the Local Government Ombudsman for their views. PO Box 4771 Coventry, CV4 0EH Phone: or Text message: (Text call back to this number, and an adviser will call you back.) Fax: Website: Online form: Exceptions and special circumstances Information that comes from, or is connected to, a complaint may lead to: action under our staff procedures; a police criminal investigation; an investigation to protect an adult at risk or a child; or a legal process, such as applying for a court order or a claim of negligence being made against us. 7

8 When this happens, we might need to put the complaints procedure on hold until these other processes are finished. We will tell you why we need to do this, and we will deal with your complaint as soon as possible. If your comment or complaint is about local health services Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) provide confidential, advice and support about any concerns you may have about the care provided by East Sussex Healthcare. This service is independent and acts on your behalf to sort out problems quickly. You can contact PALS at Conquest Hospital or Eastbourne District General Hospital. Conquest Hospital The Ridge St. Leonards-on-Sea, TN37 7RD Phone: Eastbourne District General Hospital Kings Drive Eastbourne, BN21 2UD Phone:

9 The Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust has its own Service Experience team who can help you with comments, compliments, enquiries or complaints for mental-health services. They are at: Swandean Hospital, Arundel Road Worthing BN13 3EP Phone: NHS England If you have tried to settle your complaint at a local level and this has failed, you can make an official complaint to NHS England. Complaints Manager, NHS England PO Box Redditch, B97 9PT Phone: (Monday to Friday 8am to 6pm, except bank holidays in England) 9

10 (Put For the attention of the complaints manager in the subject line.) Keeping people safe Abuse can come in many forms. It could be in the form of discrimination against a person, or financial, physical, emotional, sexual, verbal or domestic abuse. It could also be that a person is being neglected or they may be neglecting themselves. Abuse is a harmful act against another person. It can be: physical including assault, hitting, slapping, pushing, misuse of medication, domestic abuse physical, sexual, psychological, financial and emotional abuse and honour based violence, psychological including emotional abuse, threats of harm, deprivation of contact, neglect and acts of omission ill treatment, or a poor standard of care, financial or material stealing, defrauding or persuading someone to hand over money or property, sexual sexual activity that someone does not want or cannot prevent, organisational poor delivery of care, 10

11 self-neglect neglecting to care for one s personal hygiene, health or surroundings, modern day slavery encompasses slavery, forced labour and domestic servitude, or discriminatory treating someone badly, for example because of their age, disability or ethnic background. Caring for another person can be very rewarding but also very demanding. Sometimes people who are being cared for can harm or abuse their carer. This can happen because they have a condition that changes their behaviour. When a carer is managing a challenging situation, this may lead to them abusing or neglecting the person they care for whether this is intentional or unintentional. Everyone has a right to live free from abuse and neglect. If you suspect someone is at risk of abuse, you have a duty to report it. If you are at risk of abuse as a carer, you should also report this so that there could be an enquiry in to the situation and the appropriate steps taken to protect you and the person you care for. This is essential for both the well being of the carer and the adult they care for. 11

12 To report abuse, contact Adult Social Care Direct (the contact details are at the top of these pages). In an emergency you can call 999 for immediate help. What will happen next? We will take any report of abuse or neglect, including if a person is neglecting themselves, seriously and will ensure the circumstances are looked into fully in a fair and confidential way. The police may be involved if a crime is suspected. Professionals will: talk with the person who has been abused or neglected and any other relevant people and to ask what they want to happen in relation to the concern, and plan together how to keep the person safe in future. Getting involved If you would like to be involved in shaping our services, you could join the People Bank, a database of volunteers who have an interest in our services. Membership is voluntary and there are many ways you can be involved. You could, for example, take part in a one-off consultation event, or join a working group for a specific project. When you register you can give details of 12

13 how you would like to contribute and the services you are interested in. The People Bank will be able to match you with opportunities when they are available. If you are interested in joining the People Bank, or would like more information, phone , eastsussex.gov.uk or visit eastsussex.gov.uk/volunteering. Getting more information about health and social care For more information about adult social care, please read our other leaflets and fact sheets. You can get them from us, or you can download them from the website at eastsussex.gov.uk. Adult Social Care Direct Phone: (Calls are charged at your phone company s local rate and may be recorded.) Textphone: Text message: Opening hours: 8.30am to 5pm Monday to Thursday and 8.30am to 4.30pm on Fridays 13

14 Health information You can find information about your health needs and local health services from the NHS website at nhs.uk. Or you can use the links from the East Sussex County Council website to find local health services. If you urgently need medical help or advice but it's not a lifethreatening situation, you can phone NHS 111 for free (open 24 hours a day, seven days a week). Sussex Mental Healthline Sussex Mental Healthline provides out-of-hours support and information on mental-health issues for residents of East Sussex. Phone: (Calls are charged at your phone company s local rate.) Website: 14

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising concerns and complaints A step by step guide Raising concerns and complaints Questions to ask yourself: 1. What am I concerned or dissatisfied

More information

Complaints & Comments Leaflet

Complaints & Comments Leaflet Church Road Medical Practice Complaints & Comments Leaflet LET THE PRACTICE KNOW YOUR VIEWS PARTNERS Dr D Y Patwala Dr N Mugerwa Please Print a Copy (Revised Sept 2013) 1 Complaints Information on Website

More information

How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service?

How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service? How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service? I m not happy about something I d just like to say How do I? Most NHS care and treatment goes well but sometimes things can go wrong. If

More information

Protocols and Policies. The Lighthouse Medical Practice. Complaints

Protocols and Policies. The Lighthouse Medical Practice. Complaints Complaints This leaflet provides all the information you might need if you feel that you would like to complain about any part of the Practice. At we strive to offer the highest level of care to all our

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Contents Page 4 Introduction How to use this pack How can NHS Complaints Advocacy Help? Page 5 Raising concerns and complaints First Steps Step 1 - What

More information

Model Safeguarding Policy and Procedure for Smaller Voluntary and Community Groups

Model Safeguarding Policy and Procedure for Smaller Voluntary and Community Groups Introduction Model Safeguarding Policy and Procedure for Smaller Voluntary and Community Groups This NAME OF ORGANISATION policy follows guidelines set out in Bath & North East Somerset (B&NES) Safeguarding

More information

How to complain about a health or social care service

How to complain about a health or social care service How to complain about a health or social care service February 2014 About this leaflet Although most people have no problems when using health or social care services, sometimes things can go wrong. This

More information

Recognising adult abuse and what to do about it!

Recognising adult abuse and what to do about it! Recognising adult abuse and what to do about it! Who is this guidance for? 1 Who is a Vulnerable Adult? 3 Why do we need to protect Vulnerable Adults? 3 What is adult abuse? 4 Who might the abuser be?

More information

Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback : how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Who is this factsheet for and what is it about? This factsheet is for anyone who uses

More information

Complaints, Comments & Compliments Policy

Complaints, Comments & Compliments Policy Complaints, Comments & Compliments Policy 1. INTRODUCTION We welcome our customers views and will use them to improve our services. The purpose of this policy is to provide a framework for dealing with

More information

Careline user handbook

Careline user handbook Careline user handbook Careline organisers tel: 0121 303 4205 Careline control room tel: 0121 303 3826 2 Contents Welcome to Careline 3 How to use your alarm 4 Information about you 4 Responders 5 Medical

More information

Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust This leaflet provides practical information on how you can provide

More information

Statement of Purpose. Child Protection/Safeguarding Service

Statement of Purpose. Child Protection/Safeguarding Service Statement of Purpose Child Protection/Safeguarding Service 1. What we do Child Protection/Safeguarding is part of the South Eastern HSC Trust s Children s Services which provides services to ensure the

More information

Care Programme Approach (CPA)

Care Programme Approach (CPA) Care Programme Approach (CPA) The Care Programme Approach (CPA) is the system that is used to organise many people s care from 'secondary mental health services'. This factsheet explains what you should

More information

Care Programme Approach

Care Programme Approach Care Programme Approach care plan What is Care Programme Approach? care programme approach Plan Care Programme Approach is also called CPA. CPA makes sure you get all the help you need to improve your

More information

Rethink 2008 www.rethink.org. the mental health act. essential information for parents and carers

Rethink 2008 www.rethink.org. the mental health act. essential information for parents and carers Rethink 2008 www.rethink.org the mental health act essential information for parents and carers 1 About Rethink Rethink, the leading national mental health membership charity, works to help everyone affected

More information

Children, Families & Education Directorate. Children s Social Services in Kent

Children, Families & Education Directorate. Children s Social Services in Kent Children, Families & Education Directorate Children s Social Services in Kent Photographs courtesy of www.johnbirdsall.co.uk Both the government s Every Child Matters framework and the Children Act 2004

More information

Health and Social Care Department. A Guide to. Adult Social Care Services

Health and Social Care Department. A Guide to. Adult Social Care Services Health and Social Care Department A Guide to Adult Social Care Services photography: www.johnbirdsall.co.uk Contents Introduction 4 How can we help you? 6 Social Care Direct 7 I need an assessment. What

More information

The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services.

The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services. Xxxxxxxxxxxx Directory The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services. Issue Date: 29 September 2014 Contents Page 2: Page 3: Tips on Complaining Services This guide has been produced by Healthwatch

More information

Customer feedback procedure

Customer feedback procedure Customer feedback procedure Comments, compliments and complaints Working with you, for you, improving our communities, our places Hertsmere Borough Council Our promise to you We aim to provide high-quality

More information

Your rights and how to make a complaint

Your rights and how to make a complaint Your rights and how to make a complaint Most medical care and treatment goes well, but things occasionally go wrong, and you may want to complain. So where do you start? Every NHS organisation has a complaints

More information

How to compliment, comment or complain about our services

How to compliment, comment or complain about our services How to compliment, comment or complain about our services We welcome your compliments, comments and complaints NHS St Helens Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) welcomes any comments you may have on the

More information

How do I complain about the service I get from the Child Support Agency? Information and guidance

How do I complain about the service I get from the Child Support Agency? Information and guidance How do I complain about the service I get from the Child Support Agency? Information and guidance What is this leaflet about? This leaflet explains how you can make a complaint about the service you have

More information

Essex County Council Complaints, Comments and Compliments Policy

Essex County Council Complaints, Comments and Compliments Policy Essex County Council Complaints, Comments and Compliments Policy We want to hear about your experiences of our services. Complaints, compliments and feedback can help us improve the services we provide

More information

About the Department for Work and Pensions. Our service standards

About the Department for Work and Pensions. Our service standards About the Department for Work and Pensions Our service standards 2 About the Department for Work and Pensions Contents 3 Introduction 3 Disability and Carers Service 4 Jobcentre Plus 4 The Pension Service

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy

NHS Complaints Advocacy NHS Complaints Advocacy Raising Concerns or Complaints About the NHS Advocacy in Surrey is provided by Surrey Disabled People s Partnership (SDPP) In partnership with SDPP is a registered Charity: 1156963

More information

The Care Record Guarantee Our Guarantee for NHS Care Records in England

The Care Record Guarantee Our Guarantee for NHS Care Records in England The Care Record Guarantee Our Guarantee for NHS Care Records in England Introduction In the National Health Service in England, we aim to provide you with the highest quality of healthcare. To do this,

More information

Complaints and Compliments

Complaints and Compliments Complaints and Compliments Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Comments, Compliments, & Complaints If you require this document in an alternative format, i.e easy read, large text, audio, braille

More information

Social Care, Health and Housing Substance Misuse Team. How can we help? www.carmarthenshire.gov.uk/socialcare

Social Care, Health and Housing Substance Misuse Team. How can we help? www.carmarthenshire.gov.uk/socialcare Social Care, Health and Housing Substance Misuse Team How can we help? www.carmarthenshire.gov.uk/socialcare If you require this information in large print, Braille or on Audio please telephone 01267 228703

More information

What to do if you re unhappy with the Child Maintenance Service. Help with complaints, disputes and appeals

What to do if you re unhappy with the Child Maintenance Service. Help with complaints, disputes and appeals What to do if you re unhappy with the Child Maintenance Service Help with complaints, disputes and appeals About this leaflet This leaflet explains what to do if you re unhappy with the service provided

More information

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE Cuckfield Medical Practice and The Vale Surgery 1 CONTENTS Contents Page Introduction 1.0 NHS Complaints Regulations 3 2.0 Who

More information

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Why has this factsheet been produced? This factsheet is for anyone who

More information

Bullying Information Guide

Bullying Information Guide Easy to Read Bullying Information Guide Aimed at People with an Intellectual Disability National Anti-Bullying Advocacy Group NAAG Acknowledgements This guide was developed by the National Anti-Bullying

More information

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service February 2014 Healthwatch Coventry www.healthwatchcoventry.org.uk Contents 1. About this guide page 3 2. The NHS complaints procedure page 3 3. About the

More information

A guide to managing your own home care. Support to Live at Home.

A guide to managing your own home care. Support to Live at Home. A guide to managing your own home care. Support to Live at Home. 2 l l 3 Introduction: The Care Act 2014 has changed the way local authorities manage care. This leaflet will explain Suffolk County Council

More information

Complaints Policy. Complaints Policy. Page 1

Complaints Policy. Complaints Policy. Page 1 Complaints Policy Page 1 Complaints Policy Policy ref no: CCG 006/14 Author (inc job Kat Tucker Complaints & FOI Manager title) Date Approved 25 November 2014 Approved by CCG Governing Body Date of next

More information

How to make a comment, make a complaint or express your appreciation. Information for patients/relatives/carers

How to make a comment, make a complaint or express your appreciation. Information for patients/relatives/carers How to make a comment, make a complaint or express your appreciation Information for patients/relatives/carers How to tell us about a concern, make a complaint or express your appreciation Here at the

More information

About POhWER NHS Complaints Advocacy. This guide will tell you what to expect if you decide to work with POhWER to make a complaint about the NHS

About POhWER NHS Complaints Advocacy. This guide will tell you what to expect if you decide to work with POhWER to make a complaint about the NHS About POhWER NHS Complaints Advocacy This guide will tell you what to expect if you decide to work with POhWER to make a complaint about the NHS About POhWER NHS Complaints Advocacy Your Right to Complaints

More information

What can you expect from a good care home?

What can you expect from a good care home? What can you expect from a good care home? If you (or a member of your family or a friend) receive care, treatment or support in a care home in England, this booklet will tell you what you can expect from

More information

A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care

A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care www.healthwatchhampshire.co.uk Step by step Page 3 Are you concerned about something that is happening now? Do you need to make a

More information

IL05 Self-directed Support

IL05 Self-directed Support eastsussex.gov.uk IL05 Self-directed Support The Seven Stages New for 2014/15 Adult Social Care Direct 0345 60 80 191 Getting this information in other languages This leaflet is about what happens when

More information

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Why has this factsheet been produced? This factsheet is for anyone who

More information

Safeguarding adults from neglect and abuse

Safeguarding adults from neglect and abuse Safeguarding adults from neglect and abuse This leaflet explains what adult abuse is and tells you where to go in Leeds for advice and support. Introduction The Leeds Safeguarding Adults Partnership includes

More information

Information guide. How to make a complaint

Information guide. How to make a complaint Information guide How to make a complaint How you can comment, compliment or complain about your treatment or service We are committed to providing you with the best service possible. We are always looking

More information

Complaints procedure

Complaints procedure Complaints procedure This leaflet explains what to do if you have a complaint about any aspect of our service. We treat all complaints seriously and aim to resolve them as quickly and fully as we can.

More information

Patient Experience Team (PET)

Patient Experience Team (PET) Patient Experience Team (PET) We are here to help with: Comments Concerns Compliments Complaints Information for patients This leaflet can be made available in other formats including large print, CD and

More information

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Why has this factsheet been produced? This factsheet is for anyone who

More information

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Introduction At Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust we work hard to deliver a first-class comprehensive health care service. We value the opinions of patients

More information

Making a Social Care Complaint

Making a Social Care Complaint Making a Social Care Complaint You have a right to make a complaint about local authority social services. You can do this by using the local authority social services complaints procedure. To use this

More information

Birmingham Healthy Minds

Birmingham Healthy Minds Birmingham Healthy Minds Take the first step... 1 What does Birmingham Healthy Minds do? Birmingham Healthy Minds (BHM) is an NHS Improving Access Psychological Therapy (IAPT) compliant primary care psychological

More information

How to complain about a doctor

How to complain about a doctor How to complain about a doctor Wales This booklet is for patients in Wales. Our procedures are the same throughout the UK, but healthcare and support organisations do vary. We have therefore also produced

More information

Domestic violence. Information from Victim Support. 1

Domestic violence. Information from Victim Support.  1 Domestic violence Information from Victim Support www.victimsupport.org.uk 1 What is domestic violence? Domestic violence is threats, violence or abuse between people who have a relationship with each

More information

Making a complaint. The difference between making a complaint and clinical negligence

Making a complaint. The difference between making a complaint and clinical negligence Macmillan and Cancerbackup have merged. Together we provide free, high quality information for all. Making a complaint This fact sheet is for people who want to make a complaint because they re unhappy

More information

Compliments, Comments & Complaints. This leaflet tells you how to compliment, comment or complain about our Services. www.wakefield.gov.

Compliments, Comments & Complaints. This leaflet tells you how to compliment, comment or complain about our Services. www.wakefield.gov. Compliments, Comments & Complaints This leaflet tells you how to compliment, comment or complain about our Services www.wakefield.gov.uk Comments, Compliments and Complaints We welcome your views We are

More information

How to complain about a doctor

How to complain about a doctor How to complain about a doctor Scotland This booklet is for patients in Scotland. Our procedures are the same throughout the UK, but healthcare and support organisations do vary. We have therefore also

More information

Complaining about a health service

Complaining about a health service Stroke Helpline: 0303 3033 100 Website: stroke.org.uk Complaining about a health service Most people receive excellent care and treatment after having a stroke. However, sometimes things don t go as well

More information

PROTECTING YOUR HEALTH INFORMATION A GUIDE TO PRIVACY ISSUES FOR USERS OF MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES

PROTECTING YOUR HEALTH INFORMATION A GUIDE TO PRIVACY ISSUES FOR USERS OF MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES PROTECTING YOUR HEALTH INFORMATION A GUIDE TO PRIVACY ISSUES FOR USERS OF MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES Prepared for the Mental Health Commission by the Wellington Community Law Centre, September 1999 The Mental

More information

Core Assessments. Information for Parents and Carers

Core Assessments. Information for Parents and Carers Department for Children and Young People Core Assessments Information for Parents and Carers If you need this information in other languages, in large print, Braille or on audio tape, or any other help

More information

Easy Read summaryummary

Easy Read summaryummary Easy Read summaryummary Mental Capacity Act 2005 - A Summary Mental capacity means being able to make your own decisions The Mental Capacity Act 2005 will help people to make their own decisions. The Mental

More information

Making Think Autism Work

Making Think Autism Work Making Think Autism Work How local councils and the NHS should use our plans for people with autism 19 Please tell us what you think before the 19th December 2014. Easy Read version of: Consultation on

More information

Safeguarding: A Guide for Accommodation Providers

Safeguarding: A Guide for Accommodation Providers Safeguarding: A Guide for Accommodation Providers Safeguarding is everybody s business abuse can happen to anyone, anywhere, and responsibility for addressing it lies with all of us What is safeguarding?

More information

Complaints, Comments and Appreciations

Complaints, Comments and Appreciations FOLD HERE No Stamp Required Freepost RLUJ-RKYT-AZGH Gillian Summers Complaints Officer North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust Bernicia House Goldcrest Way Newburn Riverside Newcastle upon Tyne

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS

Making a complaint about the NHS Making a complaint about the NHS Version 2 Produced in June 2007 Revision date June 2009 NHS SCOTLAND In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. We value comments,

More information

Social Services Department. Children and Families Services. Child Protection. a guide for adults. A Conwy Publication

Social Services Department. Children and Families Services. Child Protection. a guide for adults. A Conwy Publication Social Services Department Children and Families Services Child Protection a guide for adults A Conwy Publication Child Protection This leaflet is about protecting children and keeping them safe from harm

More information

Safeguarding policy. Supporting you and your decisions

Safeguarding policy. Supporting you and your decisions Safeguarding policy Supporting you and your decisions gov.uk/opg This document is available on large print, Welsh, audio and Braille on request. Please call +44 (0)300 456 0300 or email customerservices@publicguardian.gsi.gov.uk

More information

The Care Record Guarantee Our Guarantee for NHS Care Records in England

The Care Record Guarantee Our Guarantee for NHS Care Records in England The Care Record Guarantee Our Guarantee for NHS Care Records in England January 2011, version 5 Introduction In the National Health Service in England, we aim to provide you with the highest quality of

More information

Mental capacity and mental illness

Mental capacity and mental illness Mental capacity and mental illness The Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) Mental capacity is the ability to make your own decisions. If you lose mental capacity the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) protects

More information

Giving feedback or making a complaint. about the NHS. Giving feedback about the NHS. Making a complaint. about the NHS. How can I give my feedback?

Giving feedback or making a complaint. about the NHS. Giving feedback about the NHS. Making a complaint. about the NHS. How can I give my feedback? Giving feedback or making a complaint about the NHS In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. You can help us improve services by giving your views, good as well

More information

Feedback and complaints:

Feedback and complaints: Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Feedback and complaints (version 1) Produced in October 2012 - Revision

More information

1. Glossary Some information in this factsheet is quite technical. This glossary gives an explanation of some of the phrases and words that are used:

1. Glossary Some information in this factsheet is quite technical. This glossary gives an explanation of some of the phrases and words that are used: Nearest Relative This factsheet looks at the role of the nearest relative. This is a term used in the Mental Health Act. It covers who someone s nearest relative would be, what the nearest relative s rights

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS

Making a complaint about the NHS Making a complaint about the NHS NHS Grampian In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. We value comments, good or bad, to help us improve the service. If you are

More information

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, HOUSING AND HOMELESSNESS

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, HOUSING AND HOMELESSNESS DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, HOUSING AND HOMELESSNESS Domestic violence accounts for around a quarter of all recorded crime and is one of the leading causes of homelessness for women. This guide sets out your housing

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS

Making a complaint about the NHS Making a complaint about the NHS The NHS tries hard to look after you, but sometimes things go wrong. This leaflet tells you what to do if you are not happy with the NHS. Things you can complain about

More information

How to make a comment or a complaint An easy read guide

How to make a comment or a complaint An easy read guide How to make a comment or a complaint An easy read guide 1 of 12 Making a comment We would like you to tell us what you think of our hospitals and the care you have received from us. Please tell us if you

More information

This leaflet aims to explain the actions Lincolnshire Police will take when called to incidents involving domestic abuse.

This leaflet aims to explain the actions Lincolnshire Police will take when called to incidents involving domestic abuse. Domestic Abuse OUR SERVICE TO YOU This leaflet aims to explain the actions Lincolnshire Police will take when called to incidents involving domestic abuse. Domestic abuse is a serious problem which Lincolnshire

More information

Antisocial personality disorder

Antisocial personality disorder Understanding NICE guidance Information for people who use NHS services Antisocial personality disorder NICE clinical guidelines advise the NHS on caring for people with specific conditions or diseases

More information

NorseCare. Complaints and Compliments. Dignity in everything we do...

NorseCare. Complaints and Compliments. Dignity in everything we do... NorseCare Complaints and Compliments At NorseCare, we always welcome comments, suggestions and complaints as we believe that these can help us to improve our services. If you are pleased with the service

More information

Protecting Children. Information for families and carers involved in the child protection process

Protecting Children. Information for families and carers involved in the child protection process Protecting Children Information for families and carers involved in the child protection process This leaflet provides information for families who are involved in the child protection process. It will

More information

Making a Complaint about the NHS

Making a Complaint about the NHS Making a Complaint about the NHS Version 3 Produced in June 2009 Revision date June 2011 In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. We value comments, good or bad,

More information

There are other sections that may be used to detain the patient without consent, which are described in later sections of this booklet.

There are other sections that may be used to detain the patient without consent, which are described in later sections of this booklet. L12 Understanding the Mental Health Act Information for Patients/Relatives and Carers What happens when a patient is detained in hospital? Usually two doctors will examine and assess the patient not necessarily

More information

Assessment and services from your local council in England

Assessment and services from your local council in England Guide Guide 12 Assessment and services from your local council in England This guide explains about how to ask for a needs assessment and what support services you may receive from your local council if

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy. A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS. www.pohwer.net

NHS Complaints Advocacy. A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS. www.pohwer.net NHS Complaints Advocacy A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS NHS Complaints Advocacy Important Information Please read this section before the rest of this guide to ensure you take

More information

CB7. Guide for separated parents: children and the family courts. Help with deciding what should happen with your children

CB7. Guide for separated parents: children and the family courts. Help with deciding what should happen with your children CB7 Guide for separated parents: children and the family courts Deciding what should happen to your children when you and your partner have split up can be difficult. You might not be able to agree who

More information

Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team

Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team Worthing and Southlands Hospitals Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Trust which combines St Richard s Hospital in Chichester and Worthing and Southlands

More information

Birmingham Healthy Minds

Birmingham Healthy Minds Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust Birmingham Healthy Minds Adult services Patient information leaflet What does Birmingham Healthy Minds do? Birmingham Healthy Minds (BHM) is an

More information

Living with a terminal illness in prison

Living with a terminal illness in prison Living with a terminal illness in prison Living with a terminal illness while in prison shouldn t mean that you won t be well cared for. You ll still have a choice when it comes to how you re cared for

More information

Making a comment or complaint

Making a comment or complaint Making a comment or complaint Putting things right tenant checked Our commitment 4 Our standards 4 We value your feedback 5 Making a comment or compliment 6 Making a complaint 6 Who else can help? 8 Housing

More information

Care Programme Approach (CPA)

Care Programme Approach (CPA) Care Programme Approach (CPA) The Care Programme Approach (CPA) is used to plan many people s mental health care. This factsheet explains what it is, when you should get and when it might stop. The Care

More information

How to see your Health Records

How to see your Health Records How to see your Health Records Version 3 Produced in April 2007 Revision date April 2009 NHS SCOTLAND Who is this leaflet for? It is for people who use the NHS in Scotland. People using private healthcare

More information

Code of Practice: Mental Health Act 1983

Code of Practice: Mental Health Act 1983 Code of Practice: Mental Health Act 1983 Easy Read version What is in this booklet About this booklet About the Mental Health Act About the Code of Practice Why the Code of Practice needs to change How

More information

A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS

A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS Please read this first Are you worried or unhappy about your current healthcare or treatment of that of a loved one? If you are then it may be more

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS

Making a complaint about the NHS Lothian Making a complaint about the NHS In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. We value comments, good or bad, to help us improve the service. If you are not

More information

SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP

SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP COMPLAINTS INFORMATION LEAFLET FOR PATIENTS Dr I D Whyte, Dr K K Wlodarczyk, Dr T M Golding Dr C J Brown, Dr C J Fogg, Dr C Dalton 42 King Street, Whalley, Nr Clitheroe BB7

More information

Advocacy. Making your voice heard

Advocacy. Making your voice heard Advocacy Making your voice heard If you have found it difficult to get what you want from the NHS or social services, advocates can help you to express your concerns, get information and explore options

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS

Making a complaint about the NHS Making a complaint about the NHS NHS Greater Glasgow In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. We value comments, good or bad, to help us improve the service. If

More information

Contents. Section/Paragraph Description Page Number

Contents. Section/Paragraph Description Page Number - NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICA CLINICAL NON CLINICAL - CLINICAL CLINICAL Complaints Policy Incorporating Compliments, Comments,

More information

OLD HALL SURGERY COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE (FORM 1)

OLD HALL SURGERY COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE (FORM 1) (FORM 1) WE OPERATE A PRACTICE AS PART OF THE N.H.S. SYSTEM FOR DEALING WITH COMPLAINTS. OUR SYSTEM MEETS NATIONAL CRITERIA. OUR AIM IS TO GIVE YOU THE HIGHEST POSSIBLE STANDARD OF SERVICE AND WE TRY TO

More information

EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure

EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE As a Practice we try to provide the best service possible for our patients. We recognise, however, that

More information

How to complain about a doctor

How to complain about a doctor How to complain about a doctor England This booklet is for patients in England. Our procedures are the same throughout the UK, but healthcare and support organisations do vary. We have therefore also produced

More information

Your legal rights. A short guide for parents and carers of young people with complex needs and disabilities.

Your legal rights. A short guide for parents and carers of young people with complex needs and disabilities. Your legal rights A short guide for parents and carers of young people with complex needs and disabilities. About Young Epilepsy Young Epilepsy is the national charity working exclusively on behalf of

More information