Complaints, Comments and Appreciations

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Complaints, Comments and Appreciations"

Transcription

1 FOLD HERE No Stamp Required Freepost RLUJ-RKYT-AZGH Gillian Summers Complaints Officer North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust Bernicia House Goldcrest Way Newburn Riverside Newcastle upon Tyne NE15 8NY Complaints, Comments and Appreciations

2 Introduction At North East Ambulance Service we are committed to Equality, Diversity and Human Rights. This means that we work to make sure you are treated fairly and with respect. However there may be times when things go wrong or you are dissatisfied with the service we provide. When this happens we will investigate your concerns as quickly as possible with those directly concerned with your care. This leaflet tells you what to do if you wish to raise an issue about the service provided and explains the procedure. We also welcome appreciations from patients on what we have done well. Complaints and compliments can be submitted on page 11. How to raise a concern Front line staff In many cases, concerns can be resolved straight away if you talk to someone who is close to the cause of your concern. This may be ambulance or Patient Transport Service staff or a control officer. Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) You may wish to raise your concerns with someone who is not involved in your care. The Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) provides: Advice and support to patients, their families and carers Information on NHS services Help to sort out problems quickly on your behalf and listen to your concerns, suggestions or queries. PALS give confidential advice and support. Contact them on freephone or If you decide that you would like to make a complaint directly to the Trust, PALS can provide you with information on how to do so. You can also access the Independent Complaints Advocacy Service (ICAS) for support PALS can put you in touch or you can contact ICAS directly see details on page

3 Trust Complaints Department Complaints can be made in writing, electronically via the NEAS website (www.neas.nhs.uk) or verbally direct to the Trust s Complaints Department. They may be made on your behalf by someone else. If someone is making the complaint on your behalf and we need to disclose confidential information to investigate the complaint, we will always seek your consent first. This is to protect your confidentiality. Whoever you ask to look into your concern or complaint will do their best to sort out the problem as quickly as possible. They will be careful to make sure that any information about you is kept confidential and that complaining will not influence or affect any further care and treatment. Your information When you register a concern or make a complaint you will be asked to provide some information about yourself such as details of gender, age and ethnicity. This will help us monitor the complaints/concerns of patients to see if there are any issues affecting certain sectors of the community so we can address them more effectively. The NHS has a legal duty to keep information about you confidential unless you give permission for it to be shared. Local resolution All complaints should be acknowledged (either verbally or in writing) within three working days. Following receipt of your complaint you will be contacted by a member of staff in the Complaints Department. At this point a way forward will be agreed with you. Options for the handling of your complaint, how it is responded to, a time scale to respond and what you would ideally like to see happen to resolve your complaint will be discussed. An Investigating Officer will be appointed to look into your complaint. This person will keep you updated about the investigation progress and discuss any potential changes such as longer timescales required and further information needed etc. By the end of the investigation we hope to answer all your questions, address your concerns satisfactorily and make necessary improvements to service where appropriate. This is called local resolution. What will happen next? The Trust operates a complaints process in line with The Local Authority Social Services and National Health Service Complaints (England) Regulations If contact is by telephone or in person, we will clarify the issues raised and agree the way forward. When contact is either by letter or a member of the complaints team will endeavour to telephone and speak with you within three working days of receipt of your 4 5

4 correspondence. If we are not able to speak with you, a letter of acknowledgement will be sent within this timescale. If you are making a complaint, the Trust will undertake an investigation into the issues raised and aim to provide a full written response within 25 working days. Where this is not possible, either due to a delay occurring or if the complaint is of a more complex nature, you will be kept informed of progress and a future date for a response will be agreed upon. What if my complaint involves more than one NHS and/or social care organisation? To make the process as easy as possible for you, the NHS and social organisations have an agreement about handling complaints which involve more than one organisation within the Trust s area. In such cases the main organisation involved in your care will usually take the lead in investigating the complaint and will ask other organisations involved to look into the issues relating to their organisation. They will then provide a response to the lead organisation. This means you can receive one response covering all aspects of your complaint rather than separate responses from each organisation. This approach will be discussed and agreed with you during the initial contact stage. 6 What if I am not satisfied with the response? The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman While we do all we can do to provide a satisfactory response you may still feel that your concerns have not been fully addressed. If this is the case you can seek review by the Health Service Ombudsman once the local resolution stage of the complaints process has been completed. The Ombudsman can carry out independent investigations into complaints about poor treatment or service provided through the NHS in England. The Ombudsman s services are free. For further information on contacting The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman see page 9. Is there a timescale for making a complaint? The law states that people wishing to make a complaint should do so within 12 months of the incident happening or of becoming aware of the matter being complained about. There may be a few occasions when this timescale may not be possible to achieve. If the organisation receiving the complaint outside this period feels there was good reason for it not being raised earlier and the complaint can still be handled effectively and fairly, they may decide that it is still possible to investigate. 7

5 What if I need some advocacy or support in making my complaint? The Independent Complaints Advocacy Service (ICAS) provides support to people (e.g. in writing complaint letters) who want to make a complaint about their NHS treatment. ICAS is totally independent of the NHS and is free and confidential to all NHS users. See contact details on page 9. To compliment a service You can contact the Trust directly or you can phone or write to PALS and they will pass your compliment on to the staff concerned. Complaints, comments and appreciations If you have any ideas, comments or criticisms do let us know. Your valued comments will help us review and improve the services that we provide. Should you wish to pay a compliment, make a general comment or complaint, please complete and send the attached form to us by freepost. And finally We want to know when things go wrong so we can put them right for you quickly and learn from your experience on how to improve services for others. As an organisation we would like to encourage patients and callers to comment on any aspects of the services they have experienced. You can write to the Chief Executive or the Complaints Manager with your comments, complaints or appreciations. These contacts are listed on page 9. Chief Executive or Complaints Manager North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust, Bernicia House, Goldcrest Way, Newburn Riverside, NE15 8NY Phone: Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS): Freepost: RLTC-SGHH-EGXJ North of Tyne PALS, The Old Stables, Grey s Yard, Morpeth, NE61 1QD Freephone: Text: The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman: The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman, Millbank Tower, Millbank, London, SW1P 4QP Telephone: ombudsman.org.uk Fax: Independent Complaints Advocacy Service (ICAS): Telephone: Independent Complaints Advocacy Service (ICAS), The Executive Centre, City Road, All Saints, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 2ET carersfederation.co.uk Fax: or Independent Complaints Advocacy Service (ICAS), Evans Incubation Centre, Durham Way South, Aycliffe Business Park, Newton Aycliffe, Co Durham, DL5 6XP carersfederation.co.uk Fax:

6 NB: You should not use this form to provide private, confidential or sensitive information about yourself or anyone else. Name: Address: Telephone Number: Compliment: Comment: This document can be made available on CD, in Braille, large print or in other languages on request. Please contact the Communications department on or Moisten here Complaint: Moisten here Further information on the North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust (NEAS) can be found on the website December 2012 Comp 01 10

Complaints Procedures. Listening... Acting... Improving

Complaints Procedures. Listening... Acting... Improving x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw 17/04/2015 15:32 Page 1 Complaints Procedures Listening... Acting... Improving x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw 17/04/2015 15:32 Page 2 x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw

More information

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Introduction At Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust we work hard to deliver a first-class comprehensive health care service. We value the opinions of patients

More information

HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT

HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT Issue Date: November 2014 Review Date: January 2016 Authors: Patient Relations Department, North Cumbria University Hospitals NHS Trust SFT-NCA8299: 10/14 REV 1 If it matters to

More information

FOR HANDLING ORGANISATIONAL COMPLAINTS AGAINST THE PRACTICE OR INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS OF STAFF

FOR HANDLING ORGANISATIONAL COMPLAINTS AGAINST THE PRACTICE OR INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS OF STAFF 1. PURPOSE This procedure is to ensure the proper handling of any complaint about the organisation, care which a patient has received from Lintonville Medical Group or an individual member of staff. The

More information

Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team

Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team Worthing and Southlands Hospitals Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Trust which combines St Richard s Hospital in Chichester and Worthing and Southlands

More information

Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints. Patient guide

Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints. Patient guide Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints Patient guide Patient satisfaction comments & compliments We hope you re delighted with the

More information

Complaints. How to raise your concerns

Complaints. How to raise your concerns Complaints How to raise your concerns Raising your Concerns RNOH NHS Trust staff will do whatever they can to make sure you get quick, proper and fair treatment. However, sometimes things can go wrong

More information

OLD HALL SURGERY COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE (FORM 1)

OLD HALL SURGERY COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE (FORM 1) (FORM 1) WE OPERATE A PRACTICE AS PART OF THE N.H.S. SYSTEM FOR DEALING WITH COMPLAINTS. OUR SYSTEM MEETS NATIONAL CRITERIA. OUR AIM IS TO GIVE YOU THE HIGHEST POSSIBLE STANDARD OF SERVICE AND WE TRY TO

More information

Patient Experience Team (PET)

Patient Experience Team (PET) Patient Experience Team (PET) We are here to help with: Comments Concerns Compliments Complaints Information for patients This leaflet can be made available in other formats including large print, CD and

More information

Complaints procedure

Complaints procedure Complaints procedure This leaflet explains what to do if you have a complaint about any aspect of our service. We treat all complaints seriously and aim to resolve them as quickly and fully as we can.

More information

We are happy to discuss your concerns and are always ready to listen to your comments and views on the care we provide.

We are happy to discuss your concerns and are always ready to listen to your comments and views on the care we provide. Complaints, concerns and compliments We are sorry you have a complaint. This booklet explains what to do if you have a complaint about your clinical care and treatment, or if you are complaining on behalf

More information

Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints. An information guide

Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints. An information guide TO PROVIDE THE VERY BEST CARE FOR EACH PATIENT ON EVERY OCCASION Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints An information guide Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints Commitment to quality At

More information

Information guide. How to make a complaint

Information guide. How to make a complaint Information guide How to make a complaint How you can comment, compliment or complain about your treatment or service We are committed to providing you with the best service possible. We are always looking

More information

How to compliment, comment or complain about our services

How to compliment, comment or complain about our services How to compliment, comment or complain about our services We welcome your compliments, comments and complaints NHS St Helens Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) welcomes any comments you may have on the

More information

Comments, compliments and complaints

Comments, compliments and complaints Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints Patient guide Patient satisfaction comments & compliments We hope you re delighted with the

More information

Complaints and Compliments

Complaints and Compliments Complaints and Compliments Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Comments, Compliments, & Complaints If you require this document in an alternative format, i.e easy read, large text, audio, braille

More information

Your right to complain. The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure. RDaSH. Corporate Services

Your right to complain. The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure. RDaSH. Corporate Services Your right to complain The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure RDaSH Corporate Services Section One: What do I do if I want to complain? Why is it important to complain? If you are not happy with

More information

PALS. Patient Advice and Liaison Service. Royal Manchester Children s Hospital. Saint Mary s Hospital. Manchester Royal Eye Hospital

PALS. Patient Advice and Liaison Service. Royal Manchester Children s Hospital. Saint Mary s Hospital. Manchester Royal Eye Hospital Royal Children s Hospital Saint Mary s Hospital Royal Eye Hospital PALS Patient Advice and Liaison Service Royal Infirmary University Dental Hospital of Central Community Services Trafford General Stretford

More information

Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers. Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust

Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers. Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust Welcome At Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust (CNWL) we aim to give you the best

More information

Customer ser vices. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind

Customer ser vices. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind Customer ser vices Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints A short guide to the customer services team and how we can provide you with support and information

More information

Experiences count. We are here to listen. www.lpft.nhs.uk

Experiences count. We are here to listen. www.lpft.nhs.uk Experiences count We are here to listen www.lpft.nhs.uk Experiences count Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust (LPFT) provides specialist health services for people with a learning disability,

More information

Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns

Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns Pleased? Tell us about it Enquiry? Let us help you Unhappy? Let s resolve it together PALS: We are here to help you As a patient, or as a carer for someone who attends

More information

St Ann Street Medical Practice. Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint

St Ann Street Medical Practice. Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint St Ann Street Medical Practice Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint Who can complain? Anyone who is receiving, or has received, NHS treatment or services can complain, as can anyone affected

More information

EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure

EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE As a Practice we try to provide the best service possible for our patients. We recognise, however, that

More information

How did we do? Promoting hope and wellbeing together. How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services.

How did we do? Promoting hope and wellbeing together. How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services. West London Mental Health NHS Trust How did we do? How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services. Promoting hope and wellbeing together What do you think

More information

The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services.

The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services. Xxxxxxxxxxxx Directory The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services. Issue Date: 29 September 2014 Contents Page 2: Page 3: Tips on Complaining Services This guide has been produced by Healthwatch

More information

Policies and Procedures. Policy on the Handling of Complaints

Policies and Procedures. Policy on the Handling of Complaints RMP. South Tyneside NHS Foundation Trust Policies and Procedures Policy on the Handling of Complaints Approved by Trust Board December 2006 (revised version approved by RMEC May 2010) Policy Type Policy

More information

Information guide. How to make a complaint

Information guide. How to make a complaint Information guide How to make a complaint How to make a complaint We always aim to provide you with the best service possible. We are committed to the consistent development and improvement of our services,

More information

COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS

COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS Information Leaflet Your Health. Our Priority. Page 2 of 6 Introduction We aim to provide the highest possible standard of care for our patients. We want to hear your

More information

SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP

SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP COMPLAINTS INFORMATION LEAFLET FOR PATIENTS Dr I D Whyte, Dr K K Wlodarczyk, Dr T M Golding Dr C J Brown, Dr C J Fogg, Dr C Dalton 42 King Street, Whalley, Nr Clitheroe BB7

More information

Comments, compliments and complaints

Comments, compliments and complaints Comments, compliments and complaints 02 Our commitment to engaging with the community We want to make sure we are open, honest and transparent commissioners of care. It is our intention to be truthful

More information

THE HADLEIGH PRACTICE Complimentary Information Pack

THE HADLEIGH PRACTICE Complimentary Information Pack PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET How to make Comments, Suggestions and Complaints This leaflet explains how you can make comments, suggestions and complaints about the services provided by The Hadleigh Practice.

More information

This document can be produced in large print, in Braille, on audio cassette and in other languages on request

This document can be produced in large print, in Braille, on audio cassette and in other languages on request GIVING A COMPLIMENT, RAISING A CONCERN OR MAKING A COMPLAINT A Guide for Patients, Carers, Relatives and Visitors to the Trust to tell us what you think This document can be produced in large print, in

More information

Give us your views. Complaint. Compliment. Comment. Concern

Give us your views. Complaint. Compliment. Comment. Concern Mental & Social Healthcare Concern Complaint Compliment Comment Give us your views This leaflet explains what to do if you have a complaint, comment, concern or compliment about your experience of our

More information

Guide to making an NHS Complaint

Guide to making an NHS Complaint Guide to making an NHS Complaint Introduction Most people are happy with their NHS treatment however if this is not the case and you are unhappy with the service you or others have received from a hospital,

More information

Compliments, Concerns and Complaints

Compliments, Concerns and Complaints Compliments, Concerns and Complaints When you don't know where to turn for advice Compliments The Trust would like to receive your input about our services including positive comments relating to the services

More information

Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust This leaflet provides practical information on how you can provide

More information

How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service?

How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service? How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service? I m not happy about something I d just like to say How do I? Most NHS care and treatment goes well but sometimes things can go wrong. If

More information

A Guide to Resolving Issues or Making a Complaint

A Guide to Resolving Issues or Making a Complaint A Guide to Resolving Issues or Making a Complaint If you are unhappy with the treatment or service you receive from the NHS you are entitled to make a complaint, have it considered, and receive a response

More information

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care Factsheet 66 August 2011 Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care About this factsheet The factsheet explains the approach to handling complaints about National Health Service (NHS) services,

More information

Complaints, concerns and feedback. Our Process

Complaints, concerns and feedback. Our Process Complaints, concerns and feedback Our Process About us Devon Doctors Group comprises of Devon Doctors Ltd and other subsidiaries including Access Dental, Access Health Care and Cornwall Health. We exist

More information

Comments, concerns, compliments and complaints

Comments, concerns, compliments and complaints Comments, concerns, compliments and complaints Patient Information Making a comment or raising a concern If you have something to say about any of our services please talk to a member of staff such as

More information

Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure

Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure Introduction The Practice aims to provide a high quality service to all its patients at all times, but we recognise that there may be times when you feel

More information

This guide will help you to prepare a complaint letter and provide information regarding where you should send your complaint to.

This guide will help you to prepare a complaint letter and provide information regarding where you should send your complaint to. Guide to Making a Complaint About Medical Treatment If you are dissatisfied with the medical treatment that you or a family member have received then you are entitled to make a complaint. Complaint guide

More information

ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY. Complaints Procedure General Practice

ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY. Complaints Procedure General Practice ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY Complaints Procedure General Practice Index 1. Introduction 2. Practice Complaints Administrator 3. What Constitutes a Complaint 4. Matters Excluded from the Complaints Process

More information

Walkergate Park Neurological Rehabilitation Outpatient Department

Walkergate Park Neurological Rehabilitation Outpatient Department Walkergate Park Neurological Rehabilitation Outpatient Department Patient, Carer and Relative Information Leaflet Shining a light on the future Contents Page Welcome 3 The Outpatient Team 4 Where we are

More information

Complaints and PALS. How to make a complaint. Freephone: 0800 328 7971

Complaints and PALS. How to make a complaint. Freephone: 0800 328 7971 How to make a complaint Freephone: 0800 328 7971 Why make a complaint? Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust aims to provide the highest possible quality of health care. We try hard to ensure that we meet

More information

Complaints Policy. Complaints Policy. Page 1

Complaints Policy. Complaints Policy. Page 1 Complaints Policy Page 1 Complaints Policy Policy ref no: CCG 006/14 Author (inc job Kat Tucker Complaints & FOI Manager title) Date Approved 25 November 2014 Approved by CCG Governing Body Date of next

More information

[ ] Complaint [ ] Suggestion [ ] Compliment

[ ] Complaint [ ] Suggestion [ ] Compliment [ ] Complaint [ ] Suggestion [ ] Compliment (Please tick) Your name (Please print) Address Telephone number Date 2014 Copyright Norfolk and Suffolk NHS Foundation Trust. GFX3304.2 How to complain, do something

More information

PATIENT TRANSPORT SERVICE PATIENT CHARTER. Delivering the right care, at the right time, in the right place.

PATIENT TRANSPORT SERVICE PATIENT CHARTER. Delivering the right care, at the right time, in the right place. PATIENT TRANSPORT SERVICE PATIENT CHARTER Delivering the right care, at the right time, in the right place. 1 NEAS PATIENT CHARTER Delivering the right care, at the right time, in the right place. WHAT

More information

St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust. Compliments, Complaints and Suggestions

St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust. Compliments, Complaints and Suggestions St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust Compliments, Complaints and Suggestions Contents Compliments Page 4 Complaints Page 5 Suggestions Page 5 Making a complaint Page 6 How do I make a formal

More information

Concerns, Complaints and Compliments

Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Exceptional healthcare, personally delivered Welcome to North Bristol NHS Trust North Bristol NHS Trust is the largest hospital trust in the South West of England,

More information

Transport Care. The Patient Charter. Safely there and back.

Transport Care. The Patient Charter. Safely there and back. Transport Care The Patient Charter Safely there and back. 1 Our Patient Charter What is the Patient Transport Service? North East Ambulance Service (NEAS) provides pre planned non-emergency transport for

More information

How to complain about a health or social care service

How to complain about a health or social care service How to complain about a health or social care service February 2014 About this leaflet Although most people have no problems when using health or social care services, sometimes things can go wrong. This

More information

Raising concerns or complaints about the NHS

Raising concerns or complaints about the NHS Independent Complaints Advocacy Northumberland You can, We can, ICAN Raising concerns or complaints about the NHS A step by step guide to help you raise a concern or complaint about any service provided

More information

Your rights and how to make a complaint

Your rights and how to make a complaint Your rights and how to make a complaint Most medical care and treatment goes well, but things occasionally go wrong, and you may want to complain. So where do you start? Every NHS organisation has a complaints

More information

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service February 2014 Healthwatch Coventry www.healthwatchcoventry.org.uk Contents 1. About this guide page 3 2. The NHS complaints procedure page 3 3. About the

More information

Guide to healthcare complaints

Guide to healthcare complaints Guide to healthcare complaints A guide to healthcare complaints The majority of patients have a positive experience of their NHS treatment. Where this is not the case there are a number of options open

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS in England

Making a complaint about the NHS in England Making a complaint about the NHS in England The Health Service Ombudsman can carry out independent investigations into complaints made about poor treatment or service provided through the NHS. We are the

More information

How to complain about a health service or social care service. This is an EasyRead version of How to complain about a health or social care service

How to complain about a health service or social care service. This is an EasyRead version of How to complain about a health or social care service How to complain about a health service or social care service This is an EasyRead version of How to complain about a health or social care service About this booklet Sometimes things go wrong with our

More information

High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Lead Author(s) Change History Document complies with the Equality Act 2010

High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Lead Author(s) Change History Document complies with the Equality Act 2010 High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Document Type CQC Standard 7 Service Application Version 2 Ratification Date Target Group All staff Last Reviewed October 2012 Next Review Date October

More information

Your guide to making comments, compliments and complaints

Your guide to making comments, compliments and complaints Your guide to making comments, compliments and complaints Your views are important Our values and behaviours framework brings together everything we believe about the importance of kindness and compassion,

More information

The Abington Medical Centre The Abington Health Complex 51a Beech Avenue Northampton NN3 2JG PRACTICE COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE

The Abington Medical Centre The Abington Health Complex 51a Beech Avenue Northampton NN3 2JG PRACTICE COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE The Abington Medical Centre The Abington Health Complex 51a Beech Avenue Northampton NN3 2JG PRACTICE COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE Patient Information Leaflet If you have a complaint or concern about the service

More information

Complaints Policy & Procedure 1

Complaints Policy & Procedure 1 Introduction Complaints about the surgery or member of staff are always taken seriously at Eyam Surgery. We always try to provide the best service possible, but there may be times when a patient may feel

More information

How to make a complaint about your care

How to make a complaint about your care How to make a complaint about your care This leaflet tells you what to do if you wish to raise any concerns about your care and what will happen if you do this. Overall, the feedback we get from patients

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy

NHS Complaints Advocacy NHS Complaints Advocacy Raising Concerns or Complaints About the NHS Advocacy in Surrey is provided by Surrey Disabled People s Partnership (SDPP) In partnership with SDPP is a registered Charity: 1156963

More information

Contents. Section/Paragraph Description Page Number

Contents. Section/Paragraph Description Page Number - NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICA CLINICAL NON CLINICAL - CLINICAL CLINICAL Complaints Policy Incorporating Compliments, Comments,

More information

How to make a comment or a complaint An easy read guide

How to make a comment or a complaint An easy read guide How to make a comment or a complaint An easy read guide 1 of 12 Making a comment We would like you to tell us what you think of our hospitals and the care you have received from us. Please tell us if you

More information

Complaints Policy and Procedure

Complaints Policy and Procedure Complaints Policy and Procedure REFERENCE NUMBER DraftAug2012V1MH APPROVING COMMITTEE(S) AND DATE THIS DOCUMENT REPLACES REVIEW DUE DATE March 2014 RATIFICATION DATE/DRAFT No NHS West Lancashire Clinical

More information

NHS Complaints and raising concerns

NHS Complaints and raising concerns NHS Complaints and raising concerns This document is a guide to help you raise concerns yourself Raising concerns and or making a complaint can be quite daunting and can often be quite a negative experience.

More information

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE Cuckfield Medical Practice and The Vale Surgery 1 CONTENTS Contents Page Introduction 1.0 NHS Complaints Regulations 3 2.0 Who

More information

Complaints Policy and Procedure. Contents. Title: Number: Version: 1.0

Complaints Policy and Procedure. Contents. Title: Number: Version: 1.0 Title: Complaints Policy and Procedure Number: Version: 1.0 Contents 1 Purpose and scope... 2 2 Responsibilities... 2 3 Policy Statement: Aims and Objectives... 4 4 Definition of a complaint... 4 5 Procedure...

More information

Making a Complaint. The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made.

Making a Complaint. The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made. Making a Complaint The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made. Sometimes people feel let down by the NHS. They might think that the service, care

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising concerns and complaints A step by step guide Raising concerns and complaints Questions to ask yourself: 1. What am I concerned or dissatisfied

More information

Chesterfield Royal Hospital NHS Foundation Trust THE ADVICE CENTRE AND COMPLAINTS POLICY

Chesterfield Royal Hospital NHS Foundation Trust THE ADVICE CENTRE AND COMPLAINTS POLICY Chesterfield Royal Hospital NHS Foundation Trust THE ADVICE CENTRE AND COMPLAINTS POLICY 1. INTRODUCTION 1.1 The aim of the Advice Centre is to support the Trust s Service Experience Strategy by providing

More information

Felton Surgery. Complaints Policy and Procedure

Felton Surgery. Complaints Policy and Procedure Felton Surgery Complaints Policy and Procedure Policy Statement Felton Surgery is committed to providing a high quality, patient-focused service. Complaints and comments from patients are taken very seriously,

More information

Concern / Complaints Flowchart

Concern / Complaints Flowchart Concern / Complaints Flowchart INFORMAL CONCERN (usually verbal) A concern can be made to any member of staff or the Patient Advice and Liaison Service Staff/PALS will try to resolve the issue within 1

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Contents Page 4 Introduction How to use this pack How can NHS Complaints Advocacy Help? Page 5 Raising concerns and complaints First Steps Step 1 - What

More information

GUIDANCE FOR RESPONDING TO COMPLAINTS. Director of Nursing and Quality. Patient Experience and Customer Services Manager

GUIDANCE FOR RESPONDING TO COMPLAINTS. Director of Nursing and Quality. Patient Experience and Customer Services Manager REFERENCE NUMBER: IN-007 GUIDANCE FOR RESPONDING TO COMPLAINTS AREA: NAME OF RESPONSIBLE COMMITTEE / INDIVIDUAL NAME OF ORIGINATOR / AUTHOR Trust Wide Director of Nursing and Quality Patient Experience

More information

NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY

NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY Applies to: NHS LA employees, contractors and Non Executive Directors Date of Board Approval: May 2014 Review Date: May 2017 1 May 2014 1. Introduction The NHSLA is committed to

More information

Patient Information Service The NHS complaints procedure and how it works

Patient Information Service The NHS complaints procedure and how it works Patient Information Service The NHS complaints procedure and how it works SOU1682.indd 1 10/07/2013 14:54 SOU1682.indd 2 10/07/2013 14:54 This information is for people who wish to submit a complaint about

More information

Complaints & Comments Leaflet

Complaints & Comments Leaflet Church Road Medical Practice Complaints & Comments Leaflet LET THE PRACTICE KNOW YOUR VIEWS PARTNERS Dr D Y Patwala Dr N Mugerwa Please Print a Copy (Revised Sept 2013) 1 Complaints Information on Website

More information

PENKRIDGE MEDICAL PRACTICE

PENKRIDGE MEDICAL PRACTICE PENKRIDGE MEDICAL PRACTICE PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE We aim to offer the highest standard of service at all times but we appreciate that, as in any ganisation, mistakes can be made

More information

The State Hospital s Board for Scotland

The State Hospital s Board for Scotland The State Hospital s Board for Scotland PATIENT & CARER FEEDBACK Procedure for Feedback; Comments, Concerns, Compliments and Complaints (Incorporating the NHS Can I Help you Guidance) Policy Reference

More information

Comments, Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Policy

Comments, Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Policy Comments, Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Policy Policy ID CG05 Version: 1.2 Date ratified by Governing Body 29/11/13 Author Suzi Shettle, Head of Communications and Engagement Last review date: November

More information

Principles of Good Complaint Handling

Principles of Good Complaint Handling Principles of Good Complaint Handling Principles of Good Complaint Handling Good complaint handling means: 1 Getting it right 2 Being customer focused 3 Being open and accountable 4 Acting fairly and proportionately

More information

Making a complaint. The difference between making a complaint and clinical negligence

Making a complaint. The difference between making a complaint and clinical negligence Macmillan and Cancerbackup have merged. Together we provide free, high quality information for all. Making a complaint This fact sheet is for people who want to make a complaint because they re unhappy

More information

Customer services. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind

Customer services. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind Customer services Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind A short guide to customer services and how we can provide you with support

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy. A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS. www.pohwer.net

NHS Complaints Advocacy. A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS. www.pohwer.net NHS Complaints Advocacy A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS NHS Complaints Advocacy Important Information Please read this section before the rest of this guide to ensure you take

More information

POLICY & PROCEDURE FOR THE MANAGEMENT OF COMPLIMENTS, PALS ENQUIRIES AND COMPLAINTS INCLUDING UNREASONABLE OR PERSISTENT COMPLAINANTS

POLICY & PROCEDURE FOR THE MANAGEMENT OF COMPLIMENTS, PALS ENQUIRIES AND COMPLAINTS INCLUDING UNREASONABLE OR PERSISTENT COMPLAINANTS POLICY & PROCEDURE FOR THE MANAGEMENT OF COMPLIMENTS, PALS ENQUIRIES AND COMPLAINTS INCLUDING UNREASONABLE OR PERSISTENT COMPLAINANTS APPROVED BY: South Gloucestershire Clinical Commissioning Group Quality

More information

North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust. Job Description

North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust. Job Description North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust Job Description Job Title Patient Experience Clerk A4C Band 3 Accountability Complaints Manager Directorate Clinical Care and Patient Safety Date September

More information

A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care

A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care www.healthwatchhampshire.co.uk Step by step Page 3 Are you concerned about something that is happening now? Do you need to make a

More information

Comments, Compliments, Concerns and Complaints

Comments, Compliments, Concerns and Complaints WH PALS & Complaints 01-03-12:Layout 1 14/5/12 11:31 Page 1 Comments, Compliments, Concerns and Complaints PALS and Complaints Service, Patient Relations Office, Whittington Health, Whittington Hospital,

More information

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY A GENERAL 1. INTRODUCTION 1.1 This policy sets out the process that the Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCG) will use for handling complaints, generated by patients, carers

More information

NHS COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE SELF-HELP PACK

NHS COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE SELF-HELP PACK NHS COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE SELF-HELP PACK FOR PEOPLE LIVING IN SOUTH GLOUCESTERSHIRE INTRODUCTION This self-help guide aims to help you understand the process involved in raising concerns and making complaints

More information

Making Experiences Count Procedure

Making Experiences Count Procedure Making Experiences Count Procedure When a mistake happens, it is important to acknowledge it, put things right quickly and learn from the experience. Listening, Responding, Improving A guide to better

More information

Policy and Procedure on Complaints Management

Policy and Procedure on Complaints Management Policy and Procedure on Complaints Management Policy approved by: Board June 2005, Dec 2006, Jan 2007 Review date: May 2010 Next review date: May 2013 Policy approved by: NHS Rotherham Board, May 2010

More information

Complaints. It is also important to learn from complaints in order to prevent or minimise the risk of similar problems happening again.

Complaints. It is also important to learn from complaints in order to prevent or minimise the risk of similar problems happening again. 6 Complaints Even the most careful and competent dental professional is likely to receive a complaint about the quality of the service, care or treatment they have provided, at some point in their career.

More information

A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS

A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS Please read this first Are you worried or unhappy about your current healthcare or treatment of that of a loved one? If you are then it may be more

More information

CARE QUALITY COMMISSION -ESSENTIAL STANDARDS OF QUALITY AND SAFETY

CARE QUALITY COMMISSION -ESSENTIAL STANDARDS OF QUALITY AND SAFETY CARE QUALITY COMMISSION -ESSENTIAL STANDARDS OF QUALITY AND SAFETY Outcome 17- Regulation 19 Complaints Self Assessment of Compliance August 2010 CQC 17A 17A(1) Evidence of compliance / People who use

More information