1 Hanno and Wilfried Kuhn Players: 2 5 Age: 12 and up Playing time: min years of civilizational development go by along 5 epochs. Each player takes charge of one tribe, makes achievements, builds villages and cities, enjoys the favours of the gods and tries to withstand disasters at the end of each epoch. A playful ride through the times of the first civilizations. He, whose civilization comes out developed best, wins the game. Game Idea Game Idea proceeds clockwise with the starting player taking the first turn. When it is your turn, you may perform up to 3 of the following actions in any order and combination (but no more than 3 altogether): At any time during your turn, you may additionally: Use a card with the symbol no action (this is optional and does not count as an action). Place 1 Settlement piece (this is optional and does not count as an action). Draw a card Place a card Use a card s effect 23
2 drawing a card You either take 1 of the face up Achievement cards from the main card display, or draw the top card from the drawing pile. If it s a Deity, deal with it as set out in the section on Dealing with a Deity on page 37; as compensation, you keep drawing 1 more card from the drawing pile until you draw an Achievement; any additional Deities drawn are placed on the discard pile without taking any effect. Draw 1 card from the main card display 24 If you draw a Deity, reveal the card... or Draw the top card from the drawing pile... and draw another card Note: Gaps in the main card display (because of drawing a card) are filled up with new cards from the drawing pile only at the end of a player s turn (see End of a player s turn on page 35).
3 placing a card At the start of the game, there is one S1-Achievement placed in front of each player. Newly placed Achievements may replace old ones or be placed next to them. An Achievement may be replaced by another Achievement of any colour. You may never have more than 5 different Achievements placed in front of you. Before After Placing next to existing card Replacing the old Achievement back to hand or 25
4 In order to place a certain card, you need to have as many cards in your hand (including the card to be placed) as the number of its stage (1 4). All of these cards need to be of the same colour as the card you want to place. If you meet these requirements, place the desired card face up in front of you and discard the other ones you used for payment. Example: Andrew wants to place Block & Tackle, a yellow S3Achievement. He places Block & Tackle in front of him and discards any 2 more yellow cards to the discard pile. 26 Discard pile
5 Card effect Stage Colour of card Illustration Name of card Structure of an Achievement If you do not have enough cards of the required colour, you may substitute any pair of cards of the same colour for one of the cards you need. Stage and effect of such a pair do not matter, as long as both cards are of the same colour. Example: For his second action in his turn, Andrew wants to place the Ziggurat, a red S4-Achievement. He only has 1 other red card in his hand. To make up for the 2 missing red cards he discards any 2 yellow cards and any 2 pink cards. 27
6 Discard pile 28 When placing an Achievement, you have to follow the stage+1 rule : the card to be placed may not be more than 1 stage higher than the currently highest Achievement lying in front of you, even if you replace that Achievement with the new one. It does not matter where that Achievement is placed in front of you. For example, you may replace your only S3-Achievement with a S4Achievement. You may always replace an Achievement of a higher stage with one of a lower stage. Replacing an Achievement does not affect any Settlement pieces placed above it.
7 Example: Darien has placed in front of him 3 S2-Achievements and the Kiln, a S1-Achievement. In his hand he has all the necessary cards to place Astronomy, a S4-Achievement. However, he may only place Astronomy after having placed any S3Achievement since he has to place any S3-Achievement before he can place any S4-Achievement. Example: Darien replaces his Wheels & Axle (S2) with Ziggurat (S4). He may do so because he also has Water Clock (S3) in front of him. Before back to hand After 29
8 Any replaced Achievement goes back in your hand and can be used later for placing, payment, or forming a pair of cards of the same colour. Example: Amy replaces her red S1-Achievement Kiln with Lyre, a yellow S3-Achievement. She places the Lyre in front of her and takes the Kiln back in her hand. Since she does not have any other yellow cards, she discards 1 pair of pink cards ( Domestication and Brewing ), and 1 pair of red cards ( City Wall and the Kiln she just took back in her hand) from her hand to the discard pile. 30 Discard pile
9 using a card s effect You may use the effect of any Achievement placed in front of you. (See the leaflet for more on these effects.) Only S1-Achievements do not have any effect. Some Achievements may be used at any time during your turn without spending an action ; these cards are indicated by a crossed out gear and using them does not count as an action. Important: An Achievement s effect may only be used once per turn. Example: For her first action, Amy uses the Quarry Achievement; she takes 1 Brick from the bank and places it in front of her. She cannot use the Quarry to get any more resources in this turn. Then, she uses her Plough (an effect that does not count as an action) to exchange 1 Brick for 1 Pig. For her second action, Amy uses her Block & Tackle and gets 1 more Pig from the bank placing it in front of her. Now she still has her third action. First action No action 31
10 Second action Placing 1 Settlement piece (optional) At any time during your turn, you may place 1 Settlement piece. This does not count as an action. To build a village or city you must meet the requirements printed on the corresponding Civilization card (see Civilzation Cards on page 35). If you don t, you may not buy and place a Settlement piece. If you do, take 1 Settlement piece from the Epoch card with the lowest stage containing any Settlement pieces and return the resources printed on that card to the bank. Place the Settlement piece above one of the Achievements lying in front of you. The first Settlement piece indicates a village, a second one - stacked on top of the first - turns it into a city. Only 1 village or city may be placed above any one Achievement. 32 The basic cost for a Settlement piece is 2 resources of the same colour as the Achievement it is placed above (AA). An Epoch II Settlement costs an additional 2 resources of the same colour; this colour must be different from the one used for the basic cost (BB). For an Epoch III Settlement you have to pay the basic cost, and 2 more pairs of same-coloured resources in different colours, adding up to 3 pairs of resources in 3 different colours (AA/BB/CC).
11 Epoch IV and V Settlements cost 4 pairs of resources in 4 different colours each (AA/BB/CC/DD). Resources used for payment are returned to the bank. Example: Amy wants to buy a Settlement piece from the Epoch III card to place above her yellow Achievement Lyre. To do so she has to pay 3 pairs of resources of 3 different colours (AA, BB, and CC). Lyre is a yellow Achievement, so the basic cost is 2 Golds (AA). For the remaining 2 pairs, Amy chooses 2 Pigs (BB) and 2 Water (CC). yellow/ Gold Note: You may never place a Settlement piece without any corresponding Achievement. If you have to discard an Achievement (e.g. due to a disaster), you keep any Settlement lying above it (exception: Famine ). However, if it is a village, you first Village City CC BB AA 33
12 have to place an Achievement below it before you can turn it into a city. The new Achievement indicates the colour of the basic cost (AA). Epoch I Settlements can only be placed as villages. Settlement pieces from Epochs II through V can be used to found both villages and cities. You may only take Settlement pieces from the lowest possible Epoch card. So, you may only turn a village into a city after there are no more Settlement pieces on the Epoch I card (exception: Scales ). When the last piece is taken from the Epoch IV card, continue according to section End of game, page In order to place a Settlement piece you also have to meet the requirements printed on the lower half of the Civilization card. Each time you want to place a Settlement piece, check if you meet the requirements for the corresponding epoch. Since the Civilization cards are placed halfway between two Epoch cards, the requirements on the first Civilization card apply to Epoch II only (see illustration on the leaflet game setup). Epoch I Settlements do not have any requirements (apart from the basic disaster cost). The requi(upper half) rements shown on the four Civirequirements for placing lization cards apsettlements (lower half) ply to Settlement pieces of Epochs II through V. Structure of a Civilization card
13 End of a player s turn At the end of your turn, close any gaps in the main card display with cards from the drawing pile. If it s a Deity, deal with it as set out in the section Dealing with a Deity on page 37. After this is done, your turn ends and the player to your left takes their turn. Civilization cards are divided into 2 parts: a disaster (upper half) and requirements for placing Settlements (lower half). See the illustration on the left side. Once the last settlement piece was taken from an epoch card, this epoch is ending. In this case, the usual sequence of a player s turn is interrupted and all players are dealing with the Civilization card. At the end of each epoch, there is a disaster awaiting the player s civilizations. The disaster part is divided into two fields: the upper one shows the requirements you have to meet in order to be unaffected by the disaster. Usually, you have to pay/discard the resources/cards listed here in order to avert the effects of the disaster shown in the lower field. Note: If you meet the requirements to avert a disaster, you must pay/discard the appropriate resources/cards! - general Rules - general Rules civilization cards civilization cards 35
14 civilization cards - general Rules Example: At the end of the second epoch, an enormous firestorm destroys huge parts of the players civilizations. This disaster has the following effects: each player has to pay 2 Gold. If you do not have 2 Gold, you have to discard all the cards in your hand. Melvin has 3 Gold placed in front of him and 5 cards in his hand, so he returns 2 Gold to the bank. Melvin Serena has 2 Gold and no cards in her hand. She, too, has to pay 2 Gold. civilization cards - general Rules Greg has 1 Gold and 3 cards in his hand, so he keeps the Gold and places his 3 cards on the discard pile. 36 The lower half of a Civilization card shows the requirements a player has to meet in order to place a Settlement piece. Since Civilization cards are placed halfway between two Epoch cards, you can see exactly what epoch the requirements apply to (see illustration on the leaflet game setup). After a disaster has been dealt with, place the Epoch card face down on top of the upper half of the Civilization card, so only the lower half can be seen. Then, the next Civilization card is bank Serena Greg Discard pile
15 civilization cards - general Rules civilization cards - general Rules flipped face up (see illustration below). - General Rules When you draw a Deity card from the drawing pile, the usual sequence of your turn is interrupted. Place the Deity face up in front of you and draw 1 more card; if you draw another Deity card, ignore it and discard it; keep drawing and discarding Deity cards, until you get an Achievement. This goes for all Deity cards drawn by any player during dealing with a Deity! Now, follow the instructions in the top field of the Deity card in front of you. Take 1 Settlement piece from the lowest possible Epoch card containing Settlements and place it on the Epoch V card. dealing with a deity dealing with a deity 37
16 dealing with a deity - General Rules Remove 1 Settlement piece Name of Deity Discard down to 5 hand cards Instruction field Bonus for all players fulfilling the instruction Bonus for all other players dealing with a deity - General Rules Structure of a Deity card 38 Players holding more than 5 cards in their hand discard any surplus cards so they only have 5 cards in their hand. Next, all players follow the instructions in the other fields of the Deity card in a clockwise order, beginning with the one who drew the card. After that, place the Deity card on the discard pile and resume your turn. Example: For her second action, Serena draws a card from the drawing pile. It is the Deity card Enlil. Serena places it in front of her and draws another card. It is another Deity, so it goes right to the discard pile. The next card Serena draws is an Achievement. Before she can do anything else in her turn, she now has to deal with the Deity. First, 1 she takes 1 Settlement from the Epoch III and places it on the Epoch V card. Then, 2 all players discard cards from their hands until they hold no more than 5 cards. So, Serena and Andrew can keep all their cards, but Darien has to discard two cards, he chooses Domestication and Boat.
17 dealing with a deity - General Rules Next, 3 she checks which players have the fewest Bricks. Andrew and Serena both have 1 Brick, Darien has 3. Andrew and Serena get 2 Bricks each from the bank, and Darien gets 1. This concludes the dealing with the Deity. Enlil is placed on the discard pile and Serena resumes her turn. She may perform one more action, use any non-action card effects, and/or place a Settlement piece. bank Serena Andrew 2 Darien 2 Discard pile It may happen that a player s turn gets interrupted more than once to deal with 2 or more Deity cards. Note: If dealing with a Deity removes the last Settlement piece from an Epoch card, deal with the Civilization card right after the Deity card. Only when the old Epoch card is placed on the Civilization card, and the next Civilization card is flipped face up, you may resume your turn. dealing with a deity - General Rules 3 39
18 end of game end of game When the last Settlement piece is taken from the Epoch IV card, the final phase of the game begins. From now on, all Deity cards drawn are discarded at once and all players may buy Settlement pieces from the Epoch V card. There are no limits to the number of Settlement pieces on the Epoch V card. After the current round has been completed (that is until the player to the right of the starting player has taken his/her turn), each player gets 1 more turn. Then, the game ends and scoring starts. scoring At the end of the game, each player gets victory points for: scoring Achievements placed in front of them: an Achievement without Settlement scores 1 point; an Achievement with a village scores as many points as the Achievement s stage; an Achievement with a city scores twice as many points as its stage. The effects of the cards Brewing, Lyre, Lighthouse, and Water Clock. Resources lying in front of them: any 5 resources score 1 point. (However, any resources used for scoring with the Water Clock effect do not count.) Settlements without an Achievement don t score any victory points. 40 The player scoring the most points wins the game. If two or more players have the same amount of victory points, the player who sits farthest away (in clockwise direction) from the starting player wins the game.
19 scoring VP VP 3 1 VP VP VP Example: Serena has the following display: 4V P 2 VP 1 VP Total: 29 VP scoring She scores 22 points for the Achievements in front of her ( ). She has Granary in her hand and could have played it, thus scoring 4 more points because of her Lyre. Due to the effect of the Lighthouse she gains 2 more points. She also gets 1 point for 5 resources (the remaining 2 do not count). This adds up to 29 victory points in total. 41
20 scoring VP VP 3 3 VP 3 VP 3 8 VP Example: Melvin has the following display: 2 VP 3V P 3 VP 3 VP Total: 31 VP scoring He scores 20 points for the Achievements in front of him ( ). He could have played Sewers from his hand, thus scoring 3 more points because of his Lyre. Through the effects of his Lighthouse, Brewing, and Water Clock he also scores 3, 2, and 3 points respectively. Melvin scores 31 victory points in total. 42
21 what happens, if... The drawing pile is used up After the drawing pile is used up for the first time, turn over the discard pile (so the cards are face down) and remove some cards from that pile without showing them to anyone: if there are only 2 players, remove the top 10 cards; if there are 3 players, remove the top 15 cards; if there are 4 players, remove the top 20 cards; if there are 5 players, remove the top 25 cards. (Always remove 5 cards per player.) there are not enough pieces It may happen (if only rarely) that there are not enough resources in the bank or Settlement pieces on the Epoch V card. Since these pieces are not supposed to be limited, you may substitute coins or playing pieces from other games for them. what happens, if... Shuffle the remaining cards and place them on the table. This is the new drawing pile. If the drawing pile is exhausted again, just turn over and shuffle the discard pile but do not remove any more cards. 43
22 Publishing house and authors thank the following gamers for the intensive testing and valuable hints: Tobias Beck, Benedikt Baron Böhm, Gerd Eibach, Jasmin Engert, Ralf Foldenauer, Ingo Hahn, Birgit Hirth, Kurt Koller, Ulrike & Karsten Lenuweit, Florian Männer, David Palme, Christoph Röder, Karl-Heinz Schmiel, Johannes Bienlein Schuler, Katharina Zuber, the gamers of the Würzburger Spielerlei and the Kitzinger Spieletreff as well as the AK Spiel der FOS/BOS Triesdorf DDD publishing house GmbH 2014 DDD Verlag GmbH Zweierweg 38a, Würzburg, Germany Version 1.0 Authors: Hanno & Wilfried Kuhn Cover: Katharina Kubisch Illustration: Katharina Kubisch Implementing: Carsten Grebe, Albert Wolf Editoring: Hanna & Alex Weiß