A YEAR IN REVIEW

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "A YEAR IN REVIEW2010.2011"

Transcription

1 SCHOOL OF CRIMINOLOGY AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE A YEAR IN REVIEW CRIMINAL JUSTICE NIPISSING UNIVERSITY School of Criminal Justice and School of and Criminal Justice Nipissing University

2 A Facultiy of Name Newsletter North Bay, Ontario July, 2008 CRIMINAL JUSTICE: A YEAR IN REVIEW & & & 0& Another wonderful year!"#$%&'()*%&+","#&)'-&.%$-/&0"1& )$0-$-*$#&.+'(')0'12&$,'-3&4$+& $,$'5$1+&$,$%$1-*%&1')'3&6,'8*.%&,$0-*)&#')*)/&).2'--')&.0/&'.&0*,')&1$0/& %",,')&<'-.$/&,':$#"3&?*10&,"#$%& Second Edition +'.%/&<$='0*,.&1$0/&.+'(')0'12&)$+/& #="1&0*)&$2$-/&"+'"3&9#.)&'1&;*)-"& Another year )$+&-$,,*)&:':$1+*%&(*,<'1.#3& has passed and so much has happened 7#.$)$1-&)0$,$#')8*$&+","#&'+&'(& in such a short period of time. In the past )*%3&7#"'1&($+$&%.21./&5.&*0':*)& year, criminal justice has experienced exciting.-/&)0$,$#')8*$&<'-.$/&<$='0*,.&1"1/& changes, including a 1'),3&>1-$2$#&0"1)$0-$-*$#&)$%&<$,& name change, a new addition to the -*#(')3&?*,,.%&.&-*#(')&.&;*)-"&2#.& faculty and an <'+.&(")*$#$3&?*10&5$#%$1-*%3& overwhelming growth in the number of criminal justice majors. Our students and alumni have also done some incredible things, from traveling around the world to landing some fabulous careers in the criminal justice field. The pages to follow will highlight some of these great student accomplishments, as well as get you up-to-date on the particular changes that have happened within the program The second edition of Criminal Justice: A Year in Review will continue to provide a connection between the CJ program and past, current and future students. School of Criminal Justice and To familiarize the unfamiliar, the Criminal Justice Program at Nipissing University is a student centered program which offers unique opportunities to our students. Our students not only obtain an in-depth theoretical knowledge, !"#$%&'()*%&+","#&-./&0%$/& 1$8*$3&7#"'1&($+$&7#"'1&$)-&$#")/& *,&-#'0$)&)'-&.%$-/&<$1$1.-')&<$,3& 6$1$.1&'1-$#+*%/&($+$&.& 5$*2'.-&%",,')/&$#")3& 7$&,,$1-$)8*$&,'2*,.&$)-/&0*#)*)& '1/&)*)0'('-&1$03& 4*)($1+'))$&("-$1-'3&%.)).3& 9*#.:'-*#&,.0*)&-#')-'8*$3& A-'.%&,$0-*)&%'/&,."#$$-&'+/&<$& ='0*,.&("#--'-"#/&0"1<.,,')&'1-$#& +*%/&%.21.3&+'21')&)'%&)'-&.%$-/& )$%3&9*#.:'-*#&%",$)&-'$/&1*,,.&*-& but also valuable practical experience in the areas of policing, corrections, criminology and criminal justice studies. Students interested in policing and corrections are able to obtain a college degree and an honours diploma in only four years of study. Our criminology students have the opportunity to participate in a field placement, as well as work on one of the several research projects conducted by the Institute of Applied Social Research (IASR). Most recently, four undergraduate criminal justice students had the opportunity to travel to Hamilton and conduct a study for the Hamilton Police Service. Opportunities like this are not often afforded to students at the undergraduate level and this is only one of the many reasons why Nipissing criminal justice is considered one of the best criminal justice programs in the country. What s Inside?.$$(/),,(*$'#0,%(#'1(222-'3$4,+5$#&*6#0,-7+6( In the second edition you will find updates about criminal justice at Nipissing, as well as the IASR. In addition, the director of the Canadore College Law and Justice program $2$)-.)&.,'8*.%/&.*2*$&"#0'&'%($& provides an update on what is going on in our #+'$-&1*,,./&)'-&.%$-&)*)&0'('-&<$,'-&,'2*,.&'1&$,'-3&C.$&0$1.)&0"12*$& cooperative program. In the area of student 0"1<.,,')&1'),3&D*)0$&,*0-*)&5$,')3&& life, our Criminal Justice Student Association President reviews the past year, as well as!"#$%&'()*%&+","#&& informs you as to what is in store for Particularly exciting is the new CJ B*')&+","#&%.))./&0*#)*)&1"1/&'.0*& merchandise available to purchase. Check it,')&1$0/&=$1+#$#'-&<'-.$/&%.)).3&?*,& out on page 14!,.%&<$)-':*,*%&+*'&$2$-&($+$& Special features in this edition include the <$,'-/&'1-$#+*%&)'-&.%$-/&5#'12',,.& experiences of three CJ students who went on 8*')/&0*#)*)&)'-&.%$-/&,':$#"3&9#.)& exchange, as well as a feature article on one 8*.%&1*,,./&(#$-'*%&"#1.#$/&,":"#& particularly exceptional alumni, Jessica -')&)*)0'('-/&$,$'5$1+&$2$)-.)/&%.*#')3& Standeven, who has had incredible success B*')&+","#&%.))./&0*#)*)&1"1/&'.0*& since graduating. Finally, convocation 2011 will,')&1$0/&=$1+#$#'-&<'-.$/&%.)).3&?*,& be highlighted, including a list of our graduates!,.%&<$)-':*,*%39#.)&8*.%&1*,,./& (#$-'*%&"#1.#$/&,":"#-')&)*)0'('-/& Thank you for taking the time to read the $,$'5$1+&$2$)-.)/&%.*#')3( second edition of A Year in Review. Kindra McMillan Criminal Justice Advisor School of Criminal Justice and 2

3 School of Criminal Justice and What s New in Criminal Justice One major change to the Criminal Justice program in 2010 was the name! Formerly known as the School of Criminal Justice and Legal Studies, we made the change to the School of Criminal Justice and. The rationale for this change was that almost half of all Criminal Justice students were enrolled in the criminology stream, therefore it was thought that the name should be more reflective of the strong criminology component of the program. In addition, several graduates of the criminology stream have gone on to graduate studies and law school and by adding criminology to the title it better represented the program s academic strength. Another major change to the program was the removal of the Legal Studies and Administration Stream. Criminal Justice students are now able to specify in the following streams: Criminal Justice Studies Corrections There were two reasons for the removal of this stream. The first reason was due to the stream s low enrollment, and the primary reason was because of the cancellation of the Law Clerk program at Canadore College. Students enrolled in the Legal Studies and Administration stream were required to spend a year at Canadore college in the Law Clerk program. Due to the fact that the Canadore program no longer existed, we were no longer able to offer the stream option. Introducing Dr. Paul Millar In January 2011, the School of Criminal Justice and welcomed a new addition to the CJ faculty - Dr. Paul Millar, from the School of Criminal Justice and Legal Studies in Calgary, Alberta. He is an avid researcher and teacher of law and society, sociology, criminology and statistics. His most recent book is a study of Canadian family law entitled The Best Interests of Children - An Evidence Based Approach. Please help us in welcoming Dr. Millar to the Nipissing CJ family. Alpha Phi Sigma - National Criminal Justice Honour Society On March 3, 2011, Nipissing University became home to the first Canadian chapter of the National Criminal Justice Honour Society - Chapter name Mu Kappa. 3 students, 1 faculty member and 1 administrator were initiated in Toronto during a special ceremony held to honour Nipissing as the first Canadian chapter. Mu Kappa also had the honour of initiating an additional 16 students and 1 faculty member on April 4th, 2011 at Nipissing University. Our Students in In , several students completed the final year of their degree by attending Canadore College for the Police Foundations program (9) and the Community & Justice Services program (2). Our students once again demonstrated their professionalism and leadership qualities through their participation in the CJ Field Placement. Ten students were placed at various organizations around the community including: the Crown Attorney s office, the Victim/ Witness Assistance program, Crisis Centre North Bay, Nipissing Juvenile Detention Centre, Military Police, North Bay Jail, PESAR (Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services), Amelia Rising Sexual Assault Center, and the O.P.P. One of these students even had the opportunity to use his placement experience and extend it into summer employment with the O.P.P. Marine Unit. We are also very proud of four of our students, Ashley Cerisano, Anthony Imbesi, Giancarlo DiRocco and Amanda Smith who were our first CJ students to complete in a Moot Competition - the Osgoode Cup. One team placed just outside the top 10 out of over 50 teams from universities across Canada. Anthony and Giancarlo plan to compete again this year, and we cannot wait to see what they accomplish! The purpose of Mu Kappa will not only be to For all degree requirements, please check promote academic excellence through the The CJSA (Criminal Justice Student out: recognition of scholarship but to provide Association) was also very active this year, opportunities for service to the community and and click on planning several social and educational events the field of criminal justice as well as assist in programs & courses for CJ students. See page 11 for a letter from the development of professional and personal the CJSA president and a review of leadership. events of the CJSA this year as well as events to look forward to in School of Criminal Justice and 3

4 Canadore College S E Q U O I A C L U B Law & Justice As the program coordinator for the Police Foundations Program (PFP), I am please and proud to report that the graduating class of 2011 included nine Nipissing criminal justice students. I trust that their year spent in PFP will be as valuable as the blanace of their unviersity program. In determining the importance and value of this combination of post-secondary experience, one need only look at the recent history of hiring activity in the local, regional, provincial and federal policing services as many of the police stream graduates have been successfully recruited. It is apparent that police services have come to appreciate the blanace of theoretical and applied curriculum found within our respective programs where our students concurrently complete their degree and diploma. The PFP faculty certainly appreciate the very positive contribution the CJ students make to the college classroom environment as these students were always eager to engage in an examination of the various topical issues found in the field of criminal justice all the while encouraging their college classmates to join in the debate and/or critical discussion of these same issues. And while the academic life in our post secondary institutions is extremely important, the importance of the non-academic activities should not be ignored. In deed one of the joys of teaching, particularly at this small college campus (Commerce court) with the relatively small class sizes, is that we the faculty get to known about the student s home towns, families, likes, dislikes and of course their social experiences. We also observe the development of friendships and as one who married his college sweetheart I get a huge kick out of being witness to budding relationships. I have always maintained that the non-academic part of the post-secondary experience is extremely important as social and personal relationships are forged, memories are creasted and networks are established. This is nearly as important as the book stuff (note I said nearly ). I comment on this only because this past year saw a smooth integration of college and university students within our programs all who seemed to get along very well likely resulting in the creation of some life-long friendships and in at least two cases a more serious commitment. Here s hoping that all of the graduates from both programs are rewarded with personal and professional success. Congraulations to all of the graduating students of the CJ program and for those of you who completed the policing stream remember to keep in touch and let us know about all of your successes. Finally, over the past several years we have witnessed the growth in the development of the CJ/PFP partnership between Nipissing and Canadore. This would not be possible without a high level of cooperation and collaboration as demonstrated by the Nipissing CJ faculty and staff. I want to especially acknowledge and thank Dr. Greg Brown, Dr. Jane Barker and Mrs. Kindra McMillan who have contributed to this successful partnership which may well serve as a future model for criminal justice stdies in other post secondary institutions. Leo de Jourdan Program Coordinator, Police Foundations Phone: ext I n s t i t u t e f o r Applied Social Research The IASR was established in September The IASR designs and conducts both academic and applied research and evaluation projects, with special emphasis on northern Ontario. An important goal of the Institute is to provide students with the opportunity to assist in conducting research and evaluation projects. The Director of the IASR is Dr. Gregory P. Brown, Associate Professor in Criminal Justice, and Chair and Professor in the Department of Sociology. Students are also employed by the IASR, which not only provide them financial benefits, but also research experience that they would not have the opportunity to receive at a larger university. The IASR draws on the expertise of a wide variety of faculty associates in designing and conducting research projects. There are several current projects being conducted by the IASR in conjunction with The Ontario Provincial Police; The Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services; The Ministry of Health; and The North Bay Police Service. The IASR has expertise in research design and analysis; program and policy evaluation; focus group facilitation; structured interviewing; and statistical forecasting. Current Projects The IASR had many exciting projects on the go this year that involved several criminal justice students. Two major projects deserve particular attention The first project, which began in the Spring of 2011 and which will continue into the Fall of 2011 was the North Bay Police Service Safe Schools Survey. The North Bay Police Service asked for the assistance of the IASR in order to survey students in grades 7-12 and ask questions in regards to bullying and other school safety issues. One student had the opportunity to work on this during the summer and the survey will be rolled out Fall The second project that the IASR was involved in was the Hamilton Police Service Community project. In June 2011, four lucky students had the unbelievable opportunity to work side by side with the HPS and interview individuals within the Hamilton community about the perception of crime in Hamilton as well as their views on the HPS. For more information about the IASR, or past research and events please contact: Dr. Greg Brown - 4 School of Criminal Justice and

5 S E Q U O I A C L U B CJ STUDENTS STUDYING ABROAD Tanya Schade - China Danika Page - Paris Kristen Little - Virginia, USA Three criminal justice students set off on amazing adventures in that brought them to various places around the world. Tanya Schade, third year criminology student went to China, Danika Page, a third year criminology student went to France and Kristen Little, a second year criminology student went to Manassas, Virginia for 2 weeks over the summer to train at the FBI Training Academy. Below are their experiences. Tanya Schade - China On February 15th of this year, Tanya found herself sitting on a plane to China with the final destination being Suzhou University in a small town called Suzhou. The town had a population of over 6 million people and was a mere 30 minutes east of Shanghai. When she arrived at the University, she was set up in the Foreign Students dormitory and began studying level 1 of the Chinese language. Right from the start she noticed that her classroom experience would be similar to that of Nipissing. The classes had about 20 students each, and she was able to get to know her teachers on a personal level. The teachers were very caring, and offered plenty of opportunities to ask questions. These similarities to Nipissing made it much easier for Tanya to persistently attend class, motivate her to do her work, and definitely not give up in the face of learning over 600 Chinese characters. Tanya s experience in Suzhou led her to the conclusion that the Chinese culture is one of many customs. On an everyday basis, she witnessed great similarities and vast differences between the Western culture and the Chinese culture. For instance, lines on the road were more of guidelines, the horn was a vehicle of communication, and a bicycle or scooter was more often dangerous to a pedestrian than a car. With her interest in the criminal justice system, she discovered that the death penalty is still in existence and that the police and government are riddled with corruption. This was evident when Tanya spoke with people about their work experiences in China. She found that unless a person knows the language and their rights, they were very likely to have the finger pointed at them in any accident and be taken advantage of at every opportunity. Her recommendation, for the most part, is to try and avoid dealing with the criminal justice system in China. For Tanya, China was not an easy country to live in. However, she would strongly recommend it to any student with enough desire to face challenges that would never be presented in Canada, to learn how to survive on instincts and not what we believe to be the absolute truth, and to live where there are opportunities that are unfathomable in Canada. For instance, drinking on the streets, partying until all hours of the nights in clubs, getting jobs based on the colour of your skin, traveling that is inexpensive, street food galore, and cheap everything! These experiences gave her the opportunity to realize what she appreciated about Canada and what she could get away with if she lived in another country. From this international exchange Tanya says she will take away more knowledge than any single university experience can ever offer. She learned a new language and she mastered airports through her travels to Shanghai, Beijing, Zhangjiajie, Hong Kong, and Thailand. In addition, she now has better money managerial skills because she had no kitchen for five months and had to eat out for every meal. She also learned that she can survive without many of the life comforts that I thought I needed. Mostly though, I feel that my independence and self-confidence has been renewed and now restored for the better through this experience. School of Criminal Justice and 5

6 S E Q U O I A C L U B Danika Page - France From January until April of 2011, Danika Page had the opportunity to attend Jean- Moulin Lyon 3 in Lyon, France. She had the chance to study law and political science. Her impression of France was that it was much slower paced than Canada. People were never rushed, never in a hurry, or worried about being late. University life was also very laid back, her classes consisted of one final exam worth 100% of her grade. Despite the lack of written assignments, a skill she was able to develop while attending a French school was note-taking. French students write down each lecture word for word as they are not given any additional aids. An important aspect of a criminal justice student going on exchange is the chance to learn about another country s legal system. Danika learned that French legal system does not use precedents; legislation is the primary source of law. France uses Le Code Civil, which was once Le Code Napoleonien. France also has two systems, the administrative and the judicial. the administrative system deals with issues between individuals and the government and the judicial deals with civil and criminal cases. Another interesting fact was that the french legal system does not use juries. Besides learning about the educational and criminal justice system, Danika took away many other things from her exchange experience. From her extensive travels around Europe, she learned that things always work out. An example of this was when traveling by herself to Dublin, Ireland and she almost missed her flight because it was an unanticipated 2 hour ride to the Beauvais airport in Paris. But, with minutes to spare she caught her flight. In addition, on her way to the Lyon airport to catch her flight back to Canada she left one of her bags in a cab. Luckily, a cab driver from another company helped her contact the driver of the cab and she got her bag back just in time to catch the train taking her to the airport. Going on exchange can be full of both positive and negative experiences. Danika s favourite part of her exchange was discovering many new cultures through travel and from meeting new friends. She didn t just meet people from France, but from around the world. On the negative side, missing home and family was very hard. Because of the time difference and cost of a phone call, Danika relied on Skype to communicate but it was unfortunately not always reliable as the connection to the internet was very unreliable. Despite the negative aspect of being so far away from home and missing family, Danika would recommend that Criminal Justice students take the opportunity, if possible to study in France. She feels that her experience gave her a new perspective on the Canadian legal system and she learned more about the French system and the Civil Code. This opportunity was also great because she had the chance to learn about various different cultures and how laws can be quite different in various countries. Her ability to travel through Europe gave her even more of a chance to see the differences in laws from country to country. For example, in some countries it was legal to drink in public and their legal drinking age was quite different. In Germany, it is legal to have open containers of alcohol in public, as long as you are over 16 (to drink beer and wine) and 18 (for spirits), or if you are 14, under the supervision of a legal guardian. The experience of seeing people casually drinking beer on public transportation (the Metro) was quite strange! Overall, Danika had an eye opening exchange experience and would recommend any criminal justice student, if at all possible, to take the opportunity to spend a semester on exchange! Kristen Little - Virginia, USA Kristen Little spent 2 weeks in Manassas, VA to train at the FBI Training Academy. This is her story of that experience. My experience at the Violent Crime Behaviour course held in Manassas, Virginia was absolutely amazing. The faculty members of the Academy Group are incredible teachers and I learned so much from each of them. I spent two weeks learning about violent crimes and offenders through the experiences of former FBI Agents from the Behavioural Sciences Unit. The course was taught by examining actual case histories the faculty members investigated during their careers and probing into the behaviour of the offender, motives and crime scene characteristics. During the two week course, the other attendees and I were given the opportunity to tour the FBI Academy in Quantico, Virginia. We were all in awe of the building itself and the legendary work that has been done within it by the faculty of the Academy Group, as well as the work that continues to be done today. I feel very fortunate to have been given the chance to attend this course! Kristen is entering her third year of study in the Criminal Justice program. She will continue to take courses in Serial Homicide to further her interest in this area. 6 School of Criminal Justice and

7 S E Q U O I A C L U B ALUMNI Our alumni continue to impress - check out what they have been up to in the past year When our students move on from Nipissing we are sad to see them go, but so excited to see what they accomplish beyond these walls. We have had more great accomplishments by our former students this year, in particular, we now have students representing on the Guelph police force, Halton police as well as a recently graduated lawyer working for the Ministry of the Attorney general in Dryden, Ontario. But this edition plans to highlight one student in particular, Jessica Standeven. The following article is taken from Stages, an internal newsletter sent out to all employees in the Ministry of Children and Youth Serices. Jessica Standeven - Way Up North Jessica started her job as a probation officer in December 2008 in Sioux Lookout. On her first day, Jessica and her manager - Stephen Mitchell, and another probation officer - Chad English flew up to Fort Severn, the northernmost settlement in Ontario. Here is her story: First Day on the Job - boarding a Plane that seats five I started my career as a youth probation officer in Peterborough, never expecting that within a few months I would be packing my bags and heading 21 hours north to Sioux Lookout. I flew out of Toronto on a gorgeous, 8-degree December morning. The next day, my first day on the job, I found myself boarding a plan that seats five to Fort Severn and Kasabonika where temperatures dipped to below -40. I supervise 11 of the 29 communities that are serviced out of Sioux Lookout. Many of the communities are accessible only by air and occasionally by ice roads during the winter months. I thought I was fortunate to fly to work rather than sit in traffic jams on the 401. That was until, after a day of flying to various communities, we were met on the runway by Sioux Lookout Emergency Services. They had doubts about our ability to land safely, due to issues with the landing gear on our aircraft. Apart from flying charter and scheduled flights to many of our communities, there are court plans that transport justice, legal counsel, victim services, Legal Aid and probation officers to court on a regular basis. I was surprised on one of these trips when we walked into a school gym, and began setting up chairs and tables for court. As it is common for members of the community to attend court, I am no longer amazed when children or even the occasional dog can be found running around the court house. In fact, one of those wandering dogs found its way into my heart and home, and now sleeps at the foot of my bed. Traveling into these communities has presented many challenges and rewards. Weather and unexpected events often cause organized days to quickly become unpredictable. It is not uncommon to find yourself stuck at the airport searching for transportation or sitting in an interview using hand signals and interpreters to overcome language barriers. I am incredibly thankful for my coworkers and manger who have an unlimited supply of knowledge and experience that I often find myself taping into. Simply put, my northern experience has been incredible. I am learning first hand about First Nations people and culture including challenges that are present working and living in a small northern community. I have met many new acquaintances both professionally and socially and continue to look forward to workdays filled with exciting new experiences and rewards. - Jessica Standeven, Probation Officer School of Criminal Justice and 7

8 S E Q U O I A C L U B CONVOCATION 2011 June 10, 2011 It was a beautiful day in North Bay, and the School of Criminal Justice and was brimming with pride as we watched 34 of our students graduate and quickly become alumni. Thirteen students graduated from the policing stream, four from the Corrections Stream, two from Criminal Justice studies, one from Legal Studies and Administration and 14 from. Eight of those students graduated with distinction, achieving an overall G.P.A of 80%. Alpha Phi Sigma Honour Students Something particularly special about many of our graduates this year was watching them shine in gold sashes. Fifteen of our graduates were given the honour of joining the first Canadian chapter of the National Criminal Justice Honour society - Alpha Phi Sigma. With this honour, they were given special recognition at convocation - by being able to distinguish themselves as honour students within the School of Criminal Justice and. The gold sashes caused a buzz at the ceremony, as not only did they look fantastic - but people wanted to know what they meant. It was with pride we were able to tell them all about Nipissing s induction as the first Canadian chapter of Alpha Phi Sigma (as mentioned on page 3) and that these students are among some of the top at Nipissing University. Congratulations graduates of The School of Criminal Justice and wishes you all of the best in your future. And remember, do not forget us as you begin to take on new adventures! We would love nothing more then to share with you in your successes as well as remain eager to help in whatever way we can with your future endeavors. If you can imagine it, you can achieve it; if you can dream it, you can become it ~ Williar Arthur Ward 8 School of Criminal Justice and

9 Criminal Justice, BA Honours Graduates June 10, 2011 NAME STREAM Bishop, Allison Booth, Jacob Boyes, Benjamin Brzezynski, Benjamin (with Distincition) Burgoyne, Field Calder, Sarah (Alpha Phi Sigma) Cerisano, Ashley (Alpha Phi Sigma) Cousineau, Phillipe Curts, Brittany (with Distinction) (Alpha Phi Sigma) Davis, Trevor (Alpha Phi Sigma) (Alpha Phi Sigma) Doner, Jennifer (with Distinction) (Alpha Phi Sigma) Duchesne, Barbara (Alpha Phi Sigma) Dunk, Megan Elton, Nicholas Garwood, Leon (with Distinction) (Alpha Phi Sigma) Gionet, Cassandra Hawkins, Nathaniel Hill, Cassandra (with Distinction) (Alpha Phi Sigma) Hynes, Courtney Kampf, Leslie Kariuki, Alex (with Distinction) Kuo, Michael Marques, Steven Corrections Corrections Criminal Justice Studies Corrections Criminal Justice Studies School of Criminal Justice and Legal Studies 9

10 NAME S E Q U O I A C L U B STREAM McBride Samantha (Alpha Phi Sigma) McDonald, Heather (Alpha Phi Sigma) Nemcsok, Kathryn Payne, Ashley (Alpha Phi Sigma) Proulx, Janelle (with Distinction) Rondeau, Valerie (Alpha Phi Sigma) Schultz, John Smith, Amanda (with Distinction) (Alpha Phi Sigma) Stewart, Kelly-Ann Vandermeer, Kim Wilson, Candace Legal Studies and Admin Corrections 10 School of and Criminal Justice Nullam arcu leo, facilisis 10 ut

North Bay, Ontario. North Bay, Ontario. A Facultiy of Name Newsletter 2009.2010 1$8*$3&7#"'1&($+$&7#"'1&$)-&$#")/&

North Bay, Ontario. North Bay, Ontario. A Facultiy of Name Newsletter 2009.2010 1$8*$3&7#'1&($+$&7#'1&$)-&$#)/& SCHOOL OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LEGAL STUDIES A Facultiy of Name Newsletter CRIMINAL JUSTICE: A YEAR IN REVIEW A Facultiy of Name Newsletter North Bay, Ontario North Bay, Ontario 2009.2010!"#$%&'()*%&+","#&-./&0%$/&

More information

Exchange Semester at Daniels College of Business

Exchange Semester at Daniels College of Business Exchange Semester at Daniels College of Business Background I felt that going on an exchange semester as a part of my MSc degree was the right choice for me since I had not been on exchange during my undergraduate

More information

THE TRAVEL REPORT. University College Dublin, Ireland. The Michael Smurfit Graduate School of Business. Spring semester 2014

THE TRAVEL REPORT. University College Dublin, Ireland. The Michael Smurfit Graduate School of Business. Spring semester 2014 THE TRAVEL REPORT University College Dublin, Ireland The Michael Smurfit Graduate School of Business Spring semester 2014 Programme: Master of Science in International Business 281793 1. Preparing for

More information

Iva Slavova. Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Course: Structural and Architectural Engineering

Iva Slavova. Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Course: Structural and Architectural Engineering Iva Slavova Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Course: Structural and Architectural Engineering 1. Name of host University and country University of South Carolina, United States 2. Orientation

More information

What does student success mean to you?

What does student success mean to you? What does student success mean to you? Student success to me means to graduate with a B average with no failing grades. Ferris is ridicules tuition rates don t affect me since I was fortunate enough to

More information

Homestay Newsletter. Farewell Wakamatsu! University of Otago Language Centre and Foundation Year. Frances Ross. Mary Wilson

Homestay Newsletter. Farewell Wakamatsu! University of Otago Language Centre and Foundation Year. Frances Ross. Mary Wilson Farewell Wakamatsu! Mary Wilson Frances Ross HOMESTAY NEWSLETTER OCTOBER 2012 Welcome again to another Homestay Newsletter. The intent of the Homestay Newsletter is to ensure that you are well informed

More information

Choose. Criminal Justice. at UCM.

Choose. Criminal Justice. at UCM. Choose Criminal Justice at UCM. Choose Red to find the right balance. The University of Central Missouri s Department of Criminal Justice offers a holistic academic experience that balances classroom studies

More information

TINA: But we re getting ahead of ourselves. Let s start at the beginning This is Ivy Tech.

TINA: But we re getting ahead of ourselves. Let s start at the beginning This is Ivy Tech. SFX: Commercial Soundtrack STU: There s nothing like it. Walking across that stage knowing you ve graduated and you re ready for the next step. Whether it s a job or continuing on with your education Ivy

More information

Washburn University. Fall Semester 2014 Topeka/Kansas/USA. Andrea Egger

Washburn University. Fall Semester 2014 Topeka/Kansas/USA. Andrea Egger Washburn University Fall Semester 2014 Topeka/Kansas/USA Andrea Egger I started my exchange semester on August 8 th 2014, after I got my Visa and after months of preparation. I took my flight from Salzburg

More information

Canadian Centre for Verbatim Studies Newsletter Summer 2010 Volume 3 Issue II

Canadian Centre for Verbatim Studies Newsletter Summer 2010 Volume 3 Issue II Canadian Centre for Verbatim Studies Newsletter Summer 2010 Volume 3 Issue II Message from the President Summer at CCVS! We hope everyone is having a great summer. Things have been very busy for CCVS and

More information

04.2015 07.2015. I agree to the publication of my personal report on the website of the International Office of Pädagogische Hochschule Freiburg.

04.2015 07.2015. I agree to the publication of my personal report on the website of the International Office of Pädagogische Hochschule Freiburg. PERSONAL REPORT for incoming exchange students Cover Sheet Please save your personal report as a PDF-file and send it to Mrs. Angelika Vogelmann. Note that the file size should not exceed 4 MB and must

More information

Foster Achievement Fellowship Newsletter. Wednesday, April 22, 2015

Foster Achievement Fellowship Newsletter. Wednesday, April 22, 2015 FOSTER ACHIEVEMENT FELLOWSHIP NEWSLETTER Issue 1 Foster Achievement Fellowship Newsletter Wednesday, April 22, 2015 IN THIS ISSUE by FAF President, Edwin P resswood- Castro Fostering Achievement Fellowship

More information

Your Future. It s Happening Here.

Your Future. It s Happening Here. www.louisville.edu/online Your Future. It s Happening Here. 100% Online Master of Science in Administration of Justice What s Inside... > Letter from the Department Chair 1 > About UofL 2 > Program Overview

More information

INVESTIGATE CRIMINAL JUSTICE AT RADFORD UNIVERSITY

INVESTIGATE CRIMINAL JUSTICE AT RADFORD UNIVERSITY INVESTIGATE CRIMINAL JUSTICE AT RADFORD UNIVERSITY Since 1974, Radford University has been preparing students to make an impact with careers in criminal justice. The Criminal Justice program at Radford

More information

Schulich School of Education

Schulich School of Education Schulich School of Education www.nipissingu.ca Bachelor of Education (BEd ) Consecutive Program An Internationally Recognized Leader The Schulich School of Education at Nipissing University is built on

More information

University of Ottawa TELFER SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT. The Telfer BCom. Not just business as usual

University of Ottawa TELFER SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT. The Telfer BCom. Not just business as usual University of Ottawa TELFER SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT The Telfer BCom Not just business as usual Honours Bachelor of Commerce An ideal learning environment for ambitious students who wish to thrive in today

More information

Happenings. The MVV Mission. August 1, 2015. August 10th First Day of SCHOOL. Mountain View Virtual is open and still enrolling

Happenings. The MVV Mission. August 1, 2015. August 10th First Day of SCHOOL. Mountain View Virtual is open and still enrolling August 1, 2015 Happenings August 10th First Day of SCHOOL Mountain View Virtual is open and still enrolling students Lead Story Headline Refer a Friend to MVV for a chance to win a Prize Back to School

More information

The Flying Start Degree Programme Henley Business School at the University of Reading

The Flying Start Degree Programme Henley Business School at the University of Reading The Flying Start Degree Programme Henley Business School at the University of Reading Start your degree Start your career Realise your potential BA Accounting and Business (NN41) Welcome This booklet will

More information

PROSPECTUS. Business.IllinoisState.edu

PROSPECTUS. Business.IllinoisState.edu Overview From Bloomington-Normal to Asia, the College of Business at Illinois State University continues to develop partnerships with leading corporations and businesses of all sizes. As a result, we are

More information

Bachelor of Education (BEd) Consecutive Program

Bachelor of Education (BEd) Consecutive Program SCHULICH SCHOOL OF EDUCATION www.nipissingu.ca Bachelor of Education (BEd) Consecutive Program An Internationally Recognized Leader The Schulich School of Education at is built on a tradition of excellence

More information

Victims of crime: Understanding the support you can expect

Victims of crime: Understanding the support you can expect Victims of crime: Understanding the support you can expect If you have been a victim of crime, you are entitled to certain information and support from criminal justice organisations such as the police

More information

College Planning Timeline

College Planning Timeline College Planning Timeline 9 th Grade - 12 th Grade Planning for Students and Parents Report by Stan Ezekiel, Founder and President: Join us on Facebook Visit our Website 1 Contents (click on the links

More information

it gives her the chance to thrive!

it gives her the chance to thrive! it gives her the chance to thrive! About Christian Children s Fund of Canada: Christian Children s Fund of Canada (CCFC) is an international development organization addressing the needs of children in

More information

Host University: Friedrich-Schiller-Universität

Host University: Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Student s Name: Ruth Conlon UL Course: BA Psychology and Sociology Academic Year: 2014/ 2015 Semester: Autumn Host University: Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Host University Code: D JENA 01 1 P a g e Student

More information

Learn beyond the classroom

Learn beyond the classroom Fast Facts One of the largest business schools in Canada with 2000 students in the BCom programs The first Canadian business school to be accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of

More information

This Issue. July is a day in the life of... Be sure to check in on Facebook every Friday for a feature of one of our healthcare professionals!

This Issue. July is a day in the life of... Be sure to check in on Facebook every Friday for a feature of one of our healthcare professionals! Newsletter Helping people navigate healthcare. July 2013 This Issue Spotlight on Criminal Law in Canada...Page 2 Upcoming Summer Events...Page 3 Featured Rock Star - Jessica McCallum...Page 4 Social Media

More information

My name is Sheila Neuburger and I graduated from the University of Toronto, Factor- Inwentash Faculty of Social Work in 1979.

My name is Sheila Neuburger and I graduated from the University of Toronto, Factor- Inwentash Faculty of Social Work in 1979. Profiles in Social Work Episode 29 Sheila Neuburger Intro - Hi, I m Charmaine Williams, Associate Professor and Associate Dean, Academic, for the University of Toronto, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social

More information

Body Language Boot Camp: Master Communications

Body Language Boot Camp: Master Communications Discover the simple body movements that show power, politics, interest and status EXTRAORDINARY 2 DAY EVENT Body Language Boot Camp: Master Communications We communicate mainly through body language, especially

More information

Andrejs Berzins 15 Wendover Avenue Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, K1S 4Z5 613-737-3298 berzinsa@yahoo.com

Andrejs Berzins 15 Wendover Avenue Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, K1S 4Z5 613-737-3298 berzinsa@yahoo.com Andrejs Berzins 15 Wendover Avenue Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, K1S 4Z5 613-737-3298 berzinsa@yahoo.com Education: 1968 Bachelor of Arts, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada 1971 Bachelor of Laws,

More information

rce.csuchico.edu/alci

rce.csuchico.edu/alci rce.csuchico.edu/alci AT C A L I FO R N I A S TAT E U N I V E R S IT Y, C H I CO GREETINGS FROM CHICO! ALCI faculty and staff The mission of the American Language and Culture Institute (ALCI Chico) is

More information

The Lakewood College executives are responsible for the overall success and expansion of the company. They also oversee day to day operations.

The Lakewood College executives are responsible for the overall success and expansion of the company. They also oversee day to day operations. COMPANY PROFILE WHO WE ARE Lakewood College, formerly known as the American Center for Conflict Resolution, was founded by Tanya Haggins on October 22, 1998. What began as an organization for mediation,

More information

CLASSROOM TO CAREER. College of

CLASSROOM TO CAREER. College of CLASSROOM TO CAREER College of CAREER READY The Western New England University Advantage There s a reason why employers come scouting for top business talent at Western New England University, and why

More information

Juvenile Court Mock Trial

Juvenile Court Mock Trial Juvenile Court Mock Trial CAST: One of the Judges of the juvenile court will preside. Defense Attorney: Attorney court tour guide. Prosecutor: Attorney court tour guide. A student selected by the teacher.

More information

Phillips Academy Summer Session & (MS) 2 Elwin Sykes Teaching Assistant Program

Phillips Academy Summer Session & (MS) 2 Elwin Sykes Teaching Assistant Program Phillips Academy Summer Session & (MS) 2 Elwin Sykes Teaching Assistant Program The Teaching Assistant program at Phillips Academy looks to give rising seniors, recent college graduates, and graduate students

More information

Marco Polo Report: Seoul National University (SNU)

Marco Polo Report: Seoul National University (SNU) Marco Polo Report: Seoul National University (SNU) Author: André Defrain Date: 25th February 2015 Seoul National University A. General Report: 1. Host institution and exact dates of semester abroad I studied

More information

M.A. in FORENSIC PSYCHOLOGY

M.A. in FORENSIC PSYCHOLOGY M.A. in FORENSIC PSYCHOLOGY CBU S MA IN FORENSIC PSYCHOLOGY PROGRAM PREPARES STUDENTS WITH THE PRINCIPLES AND PRACTICAL APPLICATIONS OF FORENSIC PSYCHOLOGY, BIBLICAL UNDERSTANDING OF CRIMINAL PSYCHOLOGY

More information

REYKJAVÍK UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF LAW BA ML PhD

REYKJAVÍK UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF LAW BA ML PhD REYKJAVÍK UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF LAW BA ML PhD Welcome to Reykjavík University Reykjavík University (RU) is a vibrant international university located at the heart of Reykjavík, the capital of Iceland. Reykjavík

More information

Academic English. University Pathway to Undergraduate Programs. Conditional Acceptance to Masters & PhD Programs. Custom Programs

Academic English. University Pathway to Undergraduate Programs. Conditional Acceptance to Masters & PhD Programs. Custom Programs Academic English University Pathway to Undergraduate Programs Conditional Acceptance to Masters & PhD Programs Custom Programs English Language Programs University of Guelph 160 Johnston Hall Guelph, Ontario

More information

JOSEPH J. GUZIK, M.P.A. Senior Lecturer Indiana University Northwest

JOSEPH J. GUZIK, M.P.A. Senior Lecturer Indiana University Northwest EDUCATION JOSEPH J. GUZIK, M.P.A. Senior Lecturer Indiana University Northwest Office: Dunes Professional Building Room 2119 jguzik@iun.edu Office: 219-980-6842 Master of Public Affairs, June 30, 1992

More information

Internship in Psychology Department at Istanbul Bilgi University

Internship in Psychology Department at Istanbul Bilgi University Internship in Psychology Department at Istanbul Bilgi University How I found the internship I was already looking for an internship in Istanbul for five months and it revealed to be very difficult since

More information

The College Visit and the Interview

The College Visit and the Interview Chapter 8 The College Visit and the Interview College Representatives on Your High School Campus As you are determining which colleges and universities will be included on your final college application

More information

THE STATESMAN. A GWC Student Attends Law School. New 2005 George Wythe College Campus. Happy Holidays! From George Wythe College. On Campus Seminars:

THE STATESMAN. A GWC Student Attends Law School. New 2005 George Wythe College Campus. Happy Holidays! From George Wythe College. On Campus Seminars: THE STATESMAN Volume 8 Issue 12 December 2005 Happy Holidays! From George Wythe College On Campus Seminars: Dec 16-17 Mar 4-5 Mar 7-8 May 2-27 May 30-31 July 15-16 Roots of America How to Read a Book A

More information

The Flying Start Degree Programme Henley Business School at the University of Reading

The Flying Start Degree Programme Henley Business School at the University of Reading The Flying Start Degree Programme Henley Business School at the University of Reading Start your degree Start your career Realise your potential BA Accounting and Business (NN41) The Flying Start Degree

More information

Peel High School Students and Post-secondary School Opportunities. Peel Children and Youth Initiative April 2014

Peel High School Students and Post-secondary School Opportunities. Peel Children and Youth Initiative April 2014 Peel High School Students and Post-secondary School Opportunities Peel Children and Youth Initiative April 2014 1 Introduction In 2012, PCYI published the findings from a mixed method study on improving

More information

My name is Jim Felstiner and I graduated from the University of Toronto, Factor- Inwentash Faculty of Social Work in 1961.

My name is Jim Felstiner and I graduated from the University of Toronto, Factor- Inwentash Faculty of Social Work in 1961. Profiles in Social Work Episode 23 James Felstiner Intro - Hi, I m Charmaine Williams, Associate Professor and Associate Dean, Academic, for the University of Toronto, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social

More information

smith EMBA just like you steady driven Determined Motivated confident Ambitious

smith EMBA just like you steady driven Determined Motivated confident Ambitious University of Maryland Robert H. Smith School of Business Executive MBA Smart ready Experienced Successful just like you steady Determined confident Motivated smith Ambitious driven EMBA Our students and

More information

F CU C LT L Y C A I L S IE I N E CES SOCIAL SCIENCES

F CU C LT L Y C A I L S IE I N E CES SOCIAL SCIENCES FACULTY OF SOCIAL 93 SOCIAL DEGREES OFFERED Website: http://www.hku.hk/socsc/ Title Abbreviation to be used JUPAS Code in the application form Bachelor of Social Sciences BSS 6717 BSocSc Bachelor of Social

More information

Personal Report. A year abroad at the University of Mississippi. Thomas Kiefer

Personal Report. A year abroad at the University of Mississippi. Thomas Kiefer A year abroad at the University of Mississippi Personal Report Thomas Kiefer Home University: Pädagogische Hochschule Freiburg Europalehramt an Realschulen English, Mathematics, Physics 7 th semester In

More information

Save the Date and join us for the Region Conference

Save the Date and join us for the Region Conference Promotional information is sent by e-mail. The conference chair needs to send a "blurb" to Diane Matteson (matteson@ksu.edu) and we will send them out to the region members from our office. Planning ahead

More information

CRIMINAL JUSTICE. Major in Criminal Justice. Faculty

CRIMINAL JUSTICE. Major in Criminal Justice. Faculty CRIMINAL JUSTICE The Criminal program provides students with a comprehensive understanding of the criminal justice system, which consists of public and private police, courts and corrections. The course

More information

the Key Newsletter for Upsilon Sigma Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Spring 2016 A Reflection as Phi Theta Kappa President Mary Chandler Izard

the Key Newsletter for Upsilon Sigma Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Spring 2016 A Reflection as Phi Theta Kappa President Mary Chandler Izard the Key Newsletter for Upsilon Sigma Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Spring 2016 A Reflection as Phi Theta Kappa President Mary Chandler Izard My school year as Phi Theta Kappa President has been such an amazing

More information

A Hays County Adult Probation Internship Blog

A Hays County Adult Probation Internship Blog A Hays County Adult Probation Internship Blog Week 1: First Step in the Door I had never written a blog before! When my internship coordinator asked me to write one based on my internship experience at

More information

CJS 101: Introduction to Criminal Justice Sciences

CJS 101: Introduction to Criminal Justice Sciences CJS 101: Introduction to Criminal Justice Sciences COURSE SYLLABUS Summer Online Offering Professor: Jason Ingram, Ph.D. Office: Schroeder Hall #415 Office Hours: Tuesdays & Thursdays, 1-3 p.m. & by appointment

More information

Loughborough Psychology

Loughborough Psychology Undergraduate courses Loughborough Psychology www.lboro.ac.uk/psychology 4 RANKED 4TH GUARDIAN GUIDE 17 UK TOP SUBJECT TIMES GOOD 7 RANKED 7TH COMPLETE GUIDE 17 Loughborough University offers five integrated

More information

Orleans United Church Youth Ministry

Orleans United Church Youth Ministry Orleans United Church Youth Ministry Principles, Programs and Goals and Objectives Summer 2012 Michael Parsche, Chair, Youth Ministry Orleans United Church 1111 Orleans Blvd, Orleans, Ontario Orleans United

More information

The Hottest Recruiting Scripts in MLM by Eric Worre

The Hottest Recruiting Scripts in MLM by Eric Worre The Hottest Recruiting Scripts in MLM by Eric Worre It s a stone cold fact that we have a better way, now let s go tell the world For more information on how to become a Network Marketing Professional,

More information

STUDY LAW IN BEIJING 在 北 京 学 习 法 律. // Master of European and International Law. www.cesl.edu.cn

STUDY LAW IN BEIJING 在 北 京 学 习 法 律. // Master of European and International Law. www.cesl.edu.cn STUDY LAW IN BEIJING 在 北 京 学 习 法 律 在 北 京 学 习 法 律 // Master of European and International Law www.cesl.edu.cn // International advantages STUDY IN ENGLISH IN CHINA Why study the Master of European and International

More information

TEACHER TRAINING UNIVERSITY OF CAMBRIDGE (ESOL) CELTA TESL DIPLOMA (TESL CANADA CERTIFIED) TEFL CERTIFICATION 5 HOUR WORKSHOPS. www.solteachers.

TEACHER TRAINING UNIVERSITY OF CAMBRIDGE (ESOL) CELTA TESL DIPLOMA (TESL CANADA CERTIFIED) TEFL CERTIFICATION 5 HOUR WORKSHOPS. www.solteachers. TEACHER TRAINING UNIVERSITY OF CAMBRIDGE (ESOL) CELTA TESL DIPLOMA (TESL CANADA CERTIFIED) TEFL CERTIFICATION 5 HOUR WORKSHOPS SOL GROUP OF CAREER COLLEGES TEACHER TRAINING Sol Group Of Career Colleges

More information

The complete guide to becoming a mortgage advisor

The complete guide to becoming a mortgage advisor The complete guide to becoming a mortgage advisor Mortgage advisors help people with one of the biggest purchases of their lives, helping them to secure a mortage to buy or re-mortgage property. If you

More information

Report on Practicum Placement - Community Services & Youth Court By Whitney Larsen, August 2004

Report on Practicum Placement - Community Services & Youth Court By Whitney Larsen, August 2004 Report on Practicum Placement - Community Services & Youth Court By Whitney Larsen, August 2004 1. Introduction The John Howard Society is a non-profit community agency with a mission to Bridge the gap

More information

Student Evaluation Form

Student Evaluation Form A. Student Information Student Evaluation Form Degree(s) enrolled in at VUW Bachelor of Architecture Major(s) Architecture Exchange Institution Rhode Island School of Design VUW Trimester(s) and Year of

More information

Internationally trained lawyers can get into legal work.

Internationally trained lawyers can get into legal work. Immigrant Issues Internationally trained lawyers can get into legal work. By Wendy Terry Internationally trained lawyers have one of the most challenging professions in which to recertify when moving from

More information

As part of their course on law and/or sociology in this module, participants will be able to:

As part of their course on law and/or sociology in this module, participants will be able to: Correctional Service Service correctionnel Service correctionnel Correctional Service Law Correctional Service : At the Heart of Criminal Justice Description The Correctional Service of : At the Heart

More information

Contents. Why study with us? 3. Student support 4. Business courses 5. Criminal justice courses 7

Contents. Why study with us? 3. Student support 4. Business courses 5. Criminal justice courses 7 University of Essex Online Prospectus 2012 2013 About us University of Essex Online courses are available to both UK and international students and enable students to benefit from a flexible approach to

More information

Interviewing Practice = Preparation

Interviewing Practice = Preparation Interviewing Practice = Preparation What is the Purpose of an Interview? STUDENT An interview is a two-way exchange, a conversation, in which both participants have some goals. The Interviewer wants to

More information

SPECIAL EDUCATION. you actively participate in the decisions made about your child s education; and

SPECIAL EDUCATION. you actively participate in the decisions made about your child s education; and SPECIAL EDUCATION Meeting the needs of students with disabilities and behaviour problems is one of the most difficult challenges facing the public education system in Ontario. The laws governing public

More information

Deaf Education Faculty Recruitment Begin at the Beginning: The Undergraduate Level A Panel Discussion Saturday, February 20, 2010

Deaf Education Faculty Recruitment Begin at the Beginning: The Undergraduate Level A Panel Discussion Saturday, February 20, 2010 Association of College Educators-Deaf/Hard or Hearing 2010 Conference Lexington, Kentucky Deaf Education Faculty Recruitment Begin at the Beginning: The Undergraduate Level A Panel Discussion Saturday,

More information

Academic Credit Recognition of Canadian Forces Military Police Occupation Training Qualification Level 5 (QL5)

Academic Credit Recognition of Canadian Forces Military Police Occupation Training Qualification Level 5 (QL5) ALGONQUIN COLLEGE POLICE FOUNDATIONS PROGRAM Ontario College Diploma 0444P01PWO Introduction Algonquin College s 2-Year Police Foundations program provides you with comprehensive knowledge and essential

More information

BUSINESS HUMAN RESOURCES PROGRAM (B134)

BUSINESS HUMAN RESOURCES PROGRAM (B134) BUSINESS HUMAN RESOURCES PROGRAM (B134) PROGRAM NAME COURSE CODE SCHOOL CENTRE LOCATION DURATION Business Human Resources B134 School of Human Resources Business St. James Campus 2 years (4 semesters)

More information

Exchange report: Richard Ivey School of Business Spring 2011

Exchange report: Richard Ivey School of Business Spring 2011 Exchange report: Richard Ivey School of Business Spring 2011 I was fortunate enough to go on exchange to the Richard Ivey School of Business (Ivey) in London, Ontario, during the spring of 2011 as part

More information

a threat made in school

a threat made in school a threat made in school ADAM S BACKGROUND LEADING UP TO THE CRIME Adam, 15, is the youngest of four children. His parents are divorced. He lives with his mother, has regular contact with his father, and

More information

Chapter 35 SENIOR SUPER HERO

Chapter 35 SENIOR SUPER HERO Chapter 35 Kevin Reichard Senior Financial Network SENIOR SUPER HERO (Story told by the Reverse Mortgage Professional) I was sitting at my desk in my home office comparing two great job offers after me,

More information

Welcome to the Hong Kong summer program!

Welcome to the Hong Kong summer program! Welcome to the Hong Kong summer program! Welcome to the program! I am Professor Karin Carter, and will be directing the Hong Kong program in 2013. We expect that you are stating to get excited about what

More information

Above: Canadian Potters with the Korean Masters in front of the TOYO Mascot

Above: Canadian Potters with the Korean Masters in front of the TOYO Mascot Above: Canadian Potters with the Korean Masters in front of the TOYO Mascot 1 President s Message Darlene Pratt Welcome home to the five intrepid world travellers from The London Potters Guild who spent

More information

7. MY RIGHTS IN DEALING WITH CRIMINAL LAW AND THE GARDAÍ

7. MY RIGHTS IN DEALING WITH CRIMINAL LAW AND THE GARDAÍ 7. MY RIGHTS IN DEALING WITH CRIMINAL LAW AND THE GARDAÍ 7.1 Victim of a crime What are my rights if I have been the victim of a crime? As a victim of crime, you have the right to report that crime to

More information

Interview with the new president, Doctor Sandie Soldwisch. Welcome to Student Organization Heather Homick and Brittany Long!

Interview with the new president, Doctor Sandie Soldwisch. Welcome to Student Organization Heather Homick and Brittany Long! Fall 2015 Saint Anthony College of Nursing Features This Month: Interview with the new president, Doctor Sandie Soldwisch Welcome to Student Organization Heather Homick and Brittany Long! Benefits of Volunteer

More information

Now More Than Ever: Community Colleges Daniel Wister

Now More Than Ever: Community Colleges Daniel Wister 28 Preview Now More Than Ever: Community Colleges Daniel Wister When Miranda left for school at a faraway university, she thought that all her dreams were on their way to coming true. Then, once disappointment

More information

The Victims Code: Young victims of crime: Understanding the support you should get

The Victims Code: Young victims of crime: Understanding the support you should get The Victims Code: Young victims of crime: Understanding the support you should get If you re a victim of crime, support and information is available to help you get through it. The Victims Code is a Government

More information

CYNTORIA JOHNSON CURRICULUM VITAE SPRING 2015

CYNTORIA JOHNSON CURRICULUM VITAE SPRING 2015 CYNTORIA JOHNSON CURRICULUM VITAE SPRING 2015 CONTACT INFORMATION Georgia State University Andrew Young School of Policy Studies Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology Post Office Box 4018 Atlanta,

More information

Backgrounder: Summary of Recommendations

Backgrounder: Summary of Recommendations Backgrounder: Summary of Recommendations POLICING 1. Aboriginal Police Services must be improved and strengthened by having their investigative powers and resources, training, and systems of accountability

More information

BACK SCHOOL. Roane State Community College. www.roanestate.edu. A guide for adults returning to the classroom

BACK SCHOOL. Roane State Community College. www.roanestate.edu. A guide for adults returning to the classroom BACK to SCHOOL A guide for adults returning to the classroom Roane State Community College www.roanestate.edu Welcome This guide is written specifically for adults who have been away from school for a

More information

I have always been good at school. I enjoyed it, and did very well. I think that is why I never got a diagnosis of Asperger s Syndrome until

I have always been good at school. I enjoyed it, and did very well. I think that is why I never got a diagnosis of Asperger s Syndrome until Jennica s Speech for Family Weekend Brunch ASAT student Jennica Harris was a featured speaker at Chapel Haven s April 27, 2014 Family Weekend Brunch. Her remarks are shared with her permission. Hello!

More information

Contents TWENTY-ONE TRUE CASES OF TEEN CRIME

Contents TWENTY-ONE TRUE CASES OF TEEN CRIME Contents Introduction.............................................. viii A Brief Look at the Juvenile Justice System.................... 1 How to Use This Book....................................... 4

More information

BRANDON COLLEGE. English as a Second Language. San Francisco, California Est. 1938 SCHOOL CATALOG

BRANDON COLLEGE. English as a Second Language. San Francisco, California Est. 1938 SCHOOL CATALOG BRANDON COLLEGE San Francisco, California Est. 1938 English as a Second Language 2015 SCHOOL CATALOG Welcome To Brandon College Brandon College was established in 1938 and is one of the oldest private

More information

JUDGE ERIK PATRICK CHRISTIAN DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA SUPERIOR COURT CHAMBERS 1610 WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

JUDGE ERIK PATRICK CHRISTIAN DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA SUPERIOR COURT CHAMBERS 1610 WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001 JUDGE ERIK PATRICK CHRISTIAN DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA SUPERIOR COURT CHAMBERS 1610 WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001 Jurisdictional Bar Membership U.S. Supreme Court District of Columbia New Jersey Pennsylvania U.S.

More information

STUDENT HANDBOOK 2014-15

STUDENT HANDBOOK 2014-15 STUDENT HANDBOOK 2014-15 WESTERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY LEE HONORS COLLEGE PREFACE This handbook is intended to provide students with important information about the Lee Honors College. All honors college

More information

Study Abroad Scheme 2014 Division of Business Community College of City University

Study Abroad Scheme 2014 Division of Business Community College of City University Study Abroad Scheme 2014 Division of Business Community College of City University Student Report of Visiting The University of British Columbia Vancouver, Canada 19 July 2014 19 August 2014 1 Contents

More information

I m in the Principal s Seat, Now What??? Five Things You Can Do Tomorrow To Create an Exemplary School

I m in the Principal s Seat, Now What??? Five Things You Can Do Tomorrow To Create an Exemplary School I m in the Principal s Seat, Now What??? Five Things You Can Do Tomorrow To Create an Exemplary School VISIBILITY If you listen to nothing else, you need to internalize the importance of the leader s VISIBILITY.

More information

CMJ 260-D01 Criminal Justice Field Experience Fall 2015 Syllabus. Office Hours: Monday: 10:45 A.M. 11:45 A.M. 5:30 P.M. 6:30 P.M.

CMJ 260-D01 Criminal Justice Field Experience Fall 2015 Syllabus. Office Hours: Monday: 10:45 A.M. 11:45 A.M. 5:30 P.M. 6:30 P.M. CMJ 260-D01 Criminal Justice Field Experience Fall 2015 Syllabus I. INSTRUCTOR INFORMATION II. III. IV Assistant Professor Edmond J. O Brien Office Location: Guerrieri Hall, Room 202C Office Phone Number:

More information

Back to School: Working with Teachers and Schools

Back to School: Working with Teachers and Schools Back to School: Working with Teachers and Schools Starting school each fall is a challenge for the student and parents. The following article offers some valuable suggestions as your child starts a new

More information

A Guide to Bridgewater College. For International Students

A Guide to Bridgewater College. For International Students A Guide to Bridgewater College For International Students The Town The 1.2 km 2 campus is located in Bridgewater, Virginia. The town (approximate population of 5,300) is about a two-hour drive from Washington,

More information

Adelaide Law School. Canadians: Study Law in Australia

Adelaide Law School. Canadians: Study Law in Australia Adelaide Law School Canadians: Study Law in Australia Gain international experience and earn your Bachelor of Laws (LLB) at a top ranked Australian Law School Want to study law but just missed out on a

More information

Involving Parents in the School - Ministry of Education Tips http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/parents/involvement/gettingstarted.html

Involving Parents in the School - Ministry of Education Tips http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/parents/involvement/gettingstarted.html Involving Parents in the School - Ministry of Education Tips http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/parents/involvement/gettingstarted.html We believe that good schools are even better when parents are involved

More information

I was born and raised in Post Falls, Idaho and graduated

I was born and raised in Post Falls, Idaho and graduated My name is Lee Bauder I am a recruit here at SVFD. I have wanted to be a firefighter for ten years. When I found out that I could do the things that I liked to as well as serve the public and provide for

More information

Qualifying as a Lawyer in Canada: Career Options For Graduates of Cardiff University

Qualifying as a Lawyer in Canada: Career Options For Graduates of Cardiff University Qualifying as a Lawyer in Canada: Career Options For Graduates of Cardiff University See now the Guidelines Issued by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada as revised in January 2015 at http://www.flsc.ca/en/nca/nca-resources/policies/

More information

Child Abuse, Child Neglect. What Parents Should Know If They Are Investigated

Child Abuse, Child Neglect. What Parents Should Know If They Are Investigated Child Abuse, Child Neglect What Parents Should Know If They Are Investigated Written by South Carolina Appleseed Legal Justice Center with editing and assistance from the Children s Law Center and the

More information

LL.M. in U.S. Legal Studies

LL.M. in U.S. Legal Studies LL.M. in U.S. Legal Studies Dean s Welcome You can be the best judge of the University of Connecticut School of Law when you see our beautiful campus and meet the talented, dedicated people who work and

More information

Bachelor of Criminal Justice 06/10/2013-08/03/2013

Bachelor of Criminal Justice 06/10/2013-08/03/2013 Summer 2013 BACJ/MCJ Electives Bachelor of Criminal Justice 06/10/2013-08/03/2013 CRJU 2041 Crime Theory and Causes Online This course provides a general survey of the nature and causes of crime and efforts

More information