Review of compliance. Florence Nightingale Hospitals Limited Capio Nightingale Hospital. London. Region: Lisson Grove Marylebone London NW1 6SH

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Review of compliance. Florence Nightingale Hospitals Limited Capio Nightingale Hospital. London. Region: 11-19 Lisson Grove Marylebone London NW1 6SH"

Transcription

1 Review of compliance Florence Nightingale Hospitals Limited Capio Nightingale Hospital Region: Location address: Type of service: London Lisson Grove Marylebone London NW1 6SH Diagnostic and/or screening service Date of Publication: January 2012 Overview of the service: Capio Nightingale Hospital provides mental health care and treatment for up to 80 people who may or may not be detained under the Mental Health Act The hospital offers general psychiatry, eating disorder and addiction treatment to adults; and general psychiatry and eating disorder treatment to adolescents. Page 1 of 16

2 Summary of our findings for the essential standards of quality and safety Our current overall judgement Capio Nightingale Hospital was not meeting one or more essential standards. Improvements are needed. The summary below describes why we carried out this review, what we found and any action required. Why we carried out this review We carried out this review as part of our routine schedule of planned reviews. How we carried out this review We reviewed all the information we hold about this provider, carried out a visit on 9 December 2011, talked to staff and talked to people who use services. What people told us People were given adequate information about what to expect and were satisfied with their care and treatment. People felt safe in the hospital, had their privacy and dignity respected and felt involved in their treatment. What we found about the standards we reviewed and how well Capio Nightingale Hospital was meeting them Outcome 01: People should be treated with respect, involved in discussions about their care and treatment and able to influence how the service is run People who use the service understand the care, treatment and support choices available to them. They are involved in their treatment and care and have their privacy and dignity respected. Overall, Capio Nightingale Hospital was meeting this essential standard. Outcome 02: Before people are given any examination, care, treatment or support, they should be asked if they agree to it People who use the service have their mental capacity assessed to make specific decisions, and where appropriate, give valid consent to their care and treatment. However, there was no documented evidence that people using the service were informed by staff that they could withdraw their consent to treatment at any time. Overall, Capio Nightingale Hospital was meeting this essential standard, however to maintain this, we have suggested improvements. Outcome 04: People should get safe and appropriate care that meets their needs Page 2 of 16

3 and supports their rights People using the service experience safe and appropriate care, treatment and support that meets their needs and protects their rights. Overall, Capio Nightingale Hospital was meeting this essential standard. Outcome 07: People should be protected from abuse and staff should respect their human rights People using the service are protected from abuse, or the risk of abuse. However, staff working with adolescents had not attended child protection training in the past year. Overall, we found that improvements were needed with this essential standard. Outcome 14: Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills People using the service have their health and welfare needs met by competent staff. Overall, Capio Nightingale Hospital was meeting this essential standard. Outcome 16: The service should have quality checking systems to manage risks and assure the health, welfare and safety of people who receive care People who use the service benefit from safe, quality care, treatment and support, due to the management of risks to their health, welfare and safety. Overall, Capio Nightingale Hospital was meeting this essential standard. Actions we have asked the service to take We have asked the provider to send us a report within 28 days of them receiving this report, setting out the action they will take to improve. We will check to make sure that the improvements have been made. Where we have concerns we have a range of enforcement powers we can use to protect the safety and welfare of people who use this service. When we propose to take enforcement action, our decision is open to challenge by a registered person through a variety of internal and external appeal processes. We will publish a further report on any action we have taken. Other information Please see previous reports for more information about previous reviews. Page 3 of 16

4 What we found for each essential standard of quality and safety we reviewed Page 4 of 16

5 The following pages detail our findings and our regulatory judgement for each essential standard and outcome that we reviewed, linked to specific regulated activities where appropriate. We will have reached one of the following judgements for each essential standard. Compliant means that people who use services are experiencing the outcomes relating to the essential standard. A minor concern means that people who use services are safe but are not always experiencing the outcomes relating to this essential standard. A moderate concern means that people who use services are safe but are not always experiencing the outcomes relating to this essential standard and there is an impact on their health and wellbeing because of this. A major concern means that people who use services are not experiencing the outcomes relating to this essential standard and are not protected from unsafe or inappropriate care, treatment and support. Where we identify compliance, no further action is taken. Where we have concerns, the most appropriate action is taken to ensure that the necessary improvements are made. Where there are a number of concerns, we may look at them together to decide the level of action to take. More information about each of the outcomes can be found in the Guidance about compliance: Essential standards of quality and safety Page 5 of 16

6 Outcome 01: Respecting and involving people who use services What the outcome says This is what people who use services should expect. People who use services: * Understand the care, treatment and support choices available to them. * Can express their views, so far as they are able to do so, and are involved in making decisions about their care, treatment and support. * Have their privacy, dignity and independence respected. * Have their views and experiences taken into account in the way the service is provided and delivered. What we found The provider is compliant with Outcome 01: Respecting and involving people who use services Our findings What people who use the service experienced and told us People we spoke with told us that they were given adequate information about what to expect and were given information packs on admission, which described the services available. People using the service told us that their privacy and dignity was respected and they felt involved in their treatment and care. Other evidence We observed that people using the service were provided with information about the aims, objectives and purpose of the service. People were involved in their care where appropriate and signed care plans as necessary. We saw staff interacting with people using the service in a polite manner and treating them dignity and respect. People who use the service understand the care, treatment and support choices available to them. They are involved in their treatment and care and have their privacy and dignity respected. Overall, Capio Nightingale Hospital was meeting this essential standard. Page 6 of 16

7 Outcome 02: Consent to care and treatment What the outcome says This is what people who use services should expect. People who use services: * Where they are able, give valid consent to the examination, care, treatment and support they receive. * Understand and know how to change any decisions about examination, care, treatment and support that has been previously agreed. * Can be confident that their human rights are respected and taken into account. What we found The provider is compliant with Outcome 02: Consent to care and treatment Our findings What people who use the service experienced and told us We did not speak to people using the service about this outcome on this occasion. Other evidence We saw evidence that staff had completed training on the Mental Capacity Act Records reviewed indicated that people using the service were initially assessed as to whether they had the capacity to make specific decisions or required a detailed assessment. Medical staff carry out decision-specific capacity assessments for treatment. The wards were unlocked and people using the service who were informal, could leave if they desired. However, there was restricted access to the hospital entrance, and people using the service, would require permission to leave the building. We did not see evidence that people using the service were informed by staff that they could withdraw their consent to treatment at any time. People who use the service have their mental capacity assessed to make specific decisions, and where appropriate, give valid consent to their care and treatment. However, there was no documented evidence that people using the service were informed by staff that they could withdraw their consent to treatment at any time. Page 7 of 16

8 Overall, Capio Nightingale Hospital was meeting this essential standard, however to maintain this, we have suggested improvements. Page 8 of 16

9 Outcome 04: Care and welfare of people who use services What the outcome says This is what people who use services should expect. People who use services: * Experience effective, safe and appropriate care, treatment and support that meets their needs and protects their rights. What we found The provider is compliant with Outcome 04: Care and welfare of people who use services Our findings What people who use the service experienced and told us People we spoke with told us that they were satisfied with their care and treatment. We were told by people using the service that they knew who their key worker was and most had signed their care plans in agreement. Other evidence We saw evidence that each person using the service had a named key worker on each ward. People using the service had initial risk assessments upon their admission. Brief risk assessments were also carried out on a daily basis by registered nurses. The records we reviewed showed that people using the service had individual care plans and signed in agreement. Notes on peoples' progress were recorded in a chronological order in their personal file. Where people were detained under the Mental Health Act, a leaflet on their rights was given to them and documented in their file. We observed that staff wore name badges and kept the people using the service under an appropriate level of observation. A community meeting for people using the service was held on each ward on a regular basis, where issued were discussed and resolved. Adolescents were cared for in a separate unit to that of adults. The treatment programme for adolescents included educational activities. People using the service experience safe and appropriate care, treatment and support that meets their needs and protects their rights. Overall, Capio Nightingale Hospital was meeting this essential standard. Page 9 of 16

10 Outcome 07: Safeguarding people who use services from abuse What the outcome says This is what people who use services should expect. People who use services: * Are protected from abuse, or the risk of abuse, and their human rights are respected and upheld. What we found There are minor concerns with Outcome 07: Safeguarding people who use services from abuse Our findings What people who use the service experienced and told us People using the service told us that they felt safe in the hospital. Other evidence Staff told us that they would discuss any safeguarding concerns they had with the relevant person and report it their manager. We were told by staff that there was a safeguarding officer based at the hospital, who they would refer suspected cases of abuse. We saw evidence that staff had attended training on safeguarding vulnerable adults, which included training on the deprivation of liberty. We did not see evidence that staff working with adolescents had attended child protection training in the past year. People using the service are protected from abuse, or the risk of abuse. However, staff working with adolescents had not attended child protection training in the past year. Overall, we found that improvements were needed with this essential standard. Page 10 of 16

11 Outcome 14: Supporting staff What the outcome says This is what people who use services should expect. People who use services: * Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by competent staff. What we found The provider is compliant with Outcome 14: Supporting staff Our findings What people who use the service experienced and told us We did not speak to people using the service about this outcome on this occasion. Other evidence Staff told us that they received supervision either individually or in a group and were appraised on their performance on an annual basis. There were monthly meetings on each ward and staff told us that they felt supported and managers were approachable. We saw records that staff had attended training on fire safety, breakaway techniques and basic life support. People using the service have their health and welfare needs met by competent staff. Overall, Capio Nightingale Hospital was meeting this essential standard. Page 11 of 16

12 Outcome 16: Assessing and monitoring the quality of service provision What the outcome says This is what people who use services should expect. People who use services: * Benefit from safe quality care, treatment and support, due to effective decision making and the management of risks to their health, welfare and safety. What we found The provider is compliant with Outcome 16: Assessing and monitoring the quality of service provision Our findings What people who use the service experienced and told us We did not speak to people using the service about this outcome on this occasion. Other evidence We saw evidence that staff carried out routine environmental checks on a weekly basis. There are monthly clinical governance meetings that monitor compliance with essential standards. These meetings were attended by doctors, nurses, managers and pharmacists. There are clinical advisory committee meetings and clinical audits were carried out on therapy files and people detained under the Mental Health Act. Records of people's satisfaction and feedback are kept and analysed on a monthly basis. There was a staff satisfaction survey in 2010, where most staff were satisfied with the service provided. People who use the service benefit from safe, quality care, treatment and support, due to the management of risks to their health, welfare and safety. Overall, Capio Nightingale Hospital was meeting this essential standard. Page 12 of 16

13 Action we have asked the provider to take Improvement actions The table below shows where improvements should be made so that the service provider maintains compliance with the essential standards of quality and safety. Regulated activity Regulation Outcome Treatment of disease, disorder or injury Regulation 18 HSCA 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2010 Outcome 02: Consent to care and treatment Why we have concerns: There was no documented evidence that people using the service were informed by staff that they could withdraw their consent to treatment at any time. The provider must send CQC a report about how they are going to maintain compliance with these essential standards. This report is requested under regulation 10(3) of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations The provider's report should be sent to us within 28 days of the date that the final review of compliance report is sent to them. CQC should be informed in writing when these improvement actions are complete. Page 13 of 16

14 Compliance actions The table below shows the essential standards of quality and safety that are not being met. Action must be taken to achieve compliance. Regulated activity Regulation Outcome Treatment of disease, disorder or injury Regulation 11 HSCA 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2010 Outcome 07: Safeguarding people who use services from abuse How the regulation is not being met: Staff working with adolescents had not attended child protection training in the past year. The provider must send CQC a report that says what action they are going to take to achieve compliance with these essential standards. This report is requested under regulation 10(3) of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations The provider's report should be sent to us within 28 days of the date that the final review of compliance report is sent to them. Where a provider has already sent us a report about any of the above compliance actions, they do not need to include them in any new report sent to us after this review of compliance. CQC should be informed in writing when these compliance actions are complete. Page 14 of 16

15 What is a review of compliance? By law, providers of certain adult social care and health care services have a legal responsibility to make sure they are meeting essential standards of quality and safety. These are the standards everyone should be able to expect when they receive care. The Care Quality Commission (CQC) has written guidance about what people who use services should experience when providers are meeting essential standards, called Guidance about compliance: Essential standards of quality and safety. CQC licenses services if they meet essential standards and will constantly monitor whether they continue to do so. We formally review services when we receive information that is of concern and as a result decide we need to check whether a service is still meeting one or more of the essential standards. We also formally review them at least every two years to check whether a service is meeting all of the essential standards in each of their locations. Our reviews include checking all available information and intelligence we hold about a provider. We may seek further information by contacting people who use services, public representative groups and organisations such as other regulators. We may also ask for further information from the provider and carry out a visit with direct observations of care. When making our judgements about whether services are meeting essential standards, we decide whether we need to take further regulatory action. This might include discussions with the provider about how they could improve. We only use this approach where issues can be resolved quickly, easily and where there is no immediate risk of serious harm to people. Where we have concerns that providers are not meeting essential standards, or where we judge that they are not going to keep meeting them, we may also set improvement actions or compliance actions, or take enforcement action: Improvement actions: These are actions a provider should take so that they maintain continuous compliance with essential standards. Where a provider is complying with essential standards, but we are concerned that they will not be able to maintain this, we ask them to send us a report describing the improvements they will make to enable them to do so. Compliance actions: These are actions a provider must take so that they achieve compliance with the essential standards. Where a provider is not meeting the essential standards but people are not at immediate risk of serious harm, we ask them to send us a report that says what they will do to make sure they comply. We monitor the implementation of action plans in these reports and, if necessary, take further action to make sure that essential standards are met. Enforcement action: These are actions we take using the criminal and/or civil procedures in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and relevant regulations. These enforcement powers are set out in the law and mean that we can take swift, targeted action where services are failing people. Page 15 of 16

16 Information for the reader Document purpose Author Audience Further copies from Copyright Review of compliance report Care Quality Commission The general public / Copyright (2010) Care Quality Commission (CQC). This publication may be reproduced in whole or in part, free of charge, in any format or medium provided that it is not used for commercial gain. This consent is subject to the material being reproduced accurately and on proviso that it is not used in a derogatory manner or misleading context. The material should be acknowledged as CQC copyright, with the title and date of publication of the document specified. Care Quality Commission Website Telephone address Postal address Care Quality Commission Citygate Gallowgate Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4PA Page 16 of 16

Review of compliance. Brico Limited t/a Bluebird Care (Guildford) Bluebird Care (Guildford) South East. Region:

Review of compliance. Brico Limited t/a Bluebird Care (Guildford) Bluebird Care (Guildford) South East. Region: Review of compliance Brico Limited t/a Bluebird Care (Guildford) Bluebird Care (Guildford) Region: Location address: Type of service: South East Unit 15, Westminster Court Hipley Street Old Woking Surrey

More information

Rotherham, Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust Great Oaks

Rotherham, Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust Great Oaks Review of compliance Rotherham, Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust Great Oaks Region: Location address: Type of service: Yorkshire & Humberside Ashby High Street Scunthorpe Lincolnshire DN16

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Southdowns Private Healthcare 97 Havant Road, Emsworth, PO10

More information

Review of compliance. Ashbourne Homes Limited Lakeside. South East. Region: Brambling Watermead Aylesbury Buckinghamshire HP19 3WH.

Review of compliance. Ashbourne Homes Limited Lakeside. South East. Region: Brambling Watermead Aylesbury Buckinghamshire HP19 3WH. Review of compliance Ashbourne Homes Limited Lakeside Region: Location address: Type of service: South East Brambling Watermead Aylesbury Buckinghamshire HP19 3WH Care home service with nursing Date of

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Vision MH - Cornerstone House Barnet Lane, Elstree, WD6 3QU

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Appletree Care Home 158 Burnt Oak Broadway, Burnt Oak, Edgware,

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Quince House 77 Adeyfield Road, Hemel Hempstead, HP2 5DZ Tel:

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Lindsay House 110-116 Lindsay Avenue, Abington, Northampton,

More information

Details about this location

Details about this location Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Manchester Private Medical Clinic 222 Wilmslow Road, Rusholme,

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Borough of Poole - Civic Centre Borough of Poole, Civic Centre,

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Royal Free Hospital Urgent Care Centre Royal Free Hospital,

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Sunrise Operations of Westbourne 16-18 Poole Road, Westbourne,

More information

Details about this location

Details about this location Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Prince George Duke of Kent Court Shepherds Green, Chislehurst,

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Prestige Nursing - Newcastle First & Second Floors, 22 Athenaeum

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. The Manor House Whitton Road, Alkborough, Nr Scunthorpe, DN15

More information

Review of compliance. Redcar and Cleveland PCT Redcar Primary Care Hospital. North East. Region: West Dyke Road Redcar TS10 4NW.

Review of compliance. Redcar and Cleveland PCT Redcar Primary Care Hospital. North East. Region: West Dyke Road Redcar TS10 4NW. Review of compliance Redcar and Cleveland PCT Redcar Primary Care Hospital Region: Location address: Type of service: Regulated activities provided: Type of review: Date of site visit (where applicable):

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Kumari Care Limited 5 Palace Yard Mews, Queen Square, Bath,

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Julia Brewin - Portland Place 57 Portland Place, London, W1B

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Mid Suffolk Home First The Kingsfield Centre, Chilton Way, Stowmarket,

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Bluebird Care (Milton Keynes) Suite 107, Interchange Business

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Warwickshire & Northamptonshire Air Ambulance Fire & Rescue

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Amvale Medical Transport - Ambulance Station Unit 1D, Birkdale

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Harrow Health Limited 37 Love Lane, Pinner, Harrow, HA5 3EE

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Warrington Hospital Lovely Lane, Warrington, WA5 1QG Tel: 01925635911

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inglewood Nursing Home Deal Road, Redcar, TS10 2RG Date of Inspection:

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Telegraph House 97 Telegraph Road, Deal, CT14 9DF Tel: 01304369031

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Bury DCA United Response, City View Business Centre, 9 Long

More information

Review of compliance. Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust Stafford Hospital. West Midlands. Region:

Review of compliance. Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust Stafford Hospital. West Midlands. Region: Review of compliance Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust Stafford Hospital Region: Location address: Type of service: Regulated activities provided: Type of review: West Midlands Mid Staffordshire NHS

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Eastham Walk In Centre Eastham Clinic, Eastham Rake, Eastham,

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Watford House Residential Home 263 Birmingham Road, Shenstone

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Allied Healthcare Lowestoft Hipperson Mews, 53a Station Road,

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Apex Dental Care - Penge 52 High Street, Penge, London, SE20

More information

Review of compliance. Great North Air Ambulance Service Great North Air Ambulance Service. North East. Region:

Review of compliance. Great North Air Ambulance Service Great North Air Ambulance Service. North East. Region: Review of compliance Great North Air Ambulance Service Great North Air Ambulance Service Region: Location address: Type of service: North East The Imperial Centre Grange Road Darlington Co Durham DL1 5NQ

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Dr R C Gulati & Dr P Gulati 357-359 Dickenson Road, Longsight,

More information

Acute services with overnight beds Rehabilitation services Date of Publication: October 2012

Acute services with overnight beds Rehabilitation services Date of Publication: October 2012 Review of compliance East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust Irvine Unit Bexhill Hospital Region: Location address: Type of service: South East Holliers Hill Bexhill-on-Sea East Sussex TN40 2DZ Acute services

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. St Ann's Hospital 69 Haven Road, Canford Cliffs, Poole, BH13

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Pellon Care Centre 200 Pellon Lane, Halifax, HX1 5RD Tel: 01422342002

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Copper Beeches 5 Sylewood Close, Borstal, Rochester, ME1 3LL

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Bolton Community Practice CIC Navigation Park, Waters Meeting

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Old Catton Medical Practice 55 Lodge Lane, Old Catton, Norwich,

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Loddon Vale Practice Hurricane Way, Woodley, Reading, RG5 4UX

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Stirling Park Residential Home 87 Stirling Road, Wood Green,

More information

What standards you have a right to expect from the regulation of your dentist

What standards you have a right to expect from the regulation of your dentist What standards you have a right to expect from the regulation of your dentist 1 About this booklet This guide is for you if you receive treatment or care from a dental practice in England. It helps you

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. University of Southampton Auditory Implant Service Building

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Knowles Court Residential and Nursing Home 2 Bridgeway, Bradford,

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Sk:n - Brighton Jubillee Street 8-9 Jubilee Street, Brighton,

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Benfield Park Medical Group Benfield Park Healthcare & Diagnostic

More information

Age UK Rotherham. Age Concern Rotherham Limited. Overall rating for this service. Inspection report. Ratings. Good

Age UK Rotherham. Age Concern Rotherham Limited. Overall rating for this service. Inspection report. Ratings. Good Age Concern Rotherham Limited Age UK Rotherham Inspection report Galax Building Fitzwilliam Road, Eastwood Trading Estate Rotherham South Yorkshire S65 1SL Tel: 01709835214 Website: www.ageuk.org.uk/rotherham

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Goose Cottage Goose Cottage, Patches Farm, Norwich Road, Buxton,

More information

Thinking about using a hidden camera or other equipment to monitor someone s care?

Thinking about using a hidden camera or other equipment to monitor someone s care? Thinking about using a hidden camera or other equipment to monitor someone s care? FEBRUARY 2015 We are the Care Quality Commission. Our job is to inspect health and social care services such as your local

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Venner Avenue 40 Venner Avenue, Cowes, PO31 8AG Tel: 01983293782

More information

Harrow Council. Overall rating for this service Good. Inspection report. Ratings. Overall summary. Is the service safe? Good

Harrow Council. Overall rating for this service Good. Inspection report. Ratings. Overall summary. Is the service safe? Good Harrow Council Harrow Council - Harrow Shared Lives Inspection report PO Box 7 Adults & Housing Services Civic Centre Harrow Middlesex HA1 2UH Tel: 020 8736 6070 Website: www.harrow.gov.uk Date of inspection

More information

Summary of findings. The five questions we ask about hospitals and what we found. We always ask the following five questions of services.

Summary of findings. The five questions we ask about hospitals and what we found. We always ask the following five questions of services. Barts Health NHS Trust Mile End Hospital Quality report Bancroft Road London E1 4DG Telephone: 020 8880 6493 www.bartshealth.nhs.uk Date of inspection visit: 7 November 2013 Date of publication: January

More information

A fresh start for the regulation and inspection of primary care dental services

A fresh start for the regulation and inspection of primary care dental services A fresh start for the regulation and inspection of primary care dental services Working together to change how we regulate primary care dental services The Care Quality Commission is the independent regulator

More information

External Whistleblowing (Protected Disclosures) Policy

External Whistleblowing (Protected Disclosures) Policy External Whistleblowing (Protected Disclosures) Policy 1. Introduction Monitor is the sector regulator for health care. Our main duty is to protect and promote the interests of patients by regulating the

More information

Certificate of Registration

Certificate of Registration Certificate of Registration This is to certify the following service provider has been registered by the Care Quality Commission under the Health and Social Care Act 2008 Certificate number: Certificate

More information

Surrey and Borders Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Surrey and Borders Partnership NHS Foundation Trust Surrey and Borders Partnership NHS Foundation Trust Services for older people Quality Report Tel: 0300 555522 Website: www.sabp.nhs.uk Date of inspection visit: 7 11 July 2014 Date of publication: 24 October

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. St Martins 42 St Martins Road, Bilborough, Nottingham, NG8 3AR

More information

Statutory notification about a person who lives in a care home

Statutory notification about a person who lives in a care home Statutory notification about a person who lives in a care home Please read Guidance for Providers: How to tell us about notifiable events for detailed advice on how and when to make statutory notifications

More information

A fresh start for the regulation of independent healthcare. Working together to change how we regulate independent healthcare

A fresh start for the regulation of independent healthcare. Working together to change how we regulate independent healthcare A fresh start for the regulation of independent healthcare Working together to change how we regulate independent healthcare The Care Quality Commission is the independent regulator of health and adult

More information

A fresh start for the regulation and inspection of substance misuse services

A fresh start for the regulation and inspection of substance misuse services A fresh start for the regulation and inspection of substance misuse services Working together to change how we regulate, inspect and monitor specialist substance misuse services The Care Quality Commission

More information

Rethink 2008 www.rethink.org. the mental health act. essential information for parents and carers

Rethink 2008 www.rethink.org. the mental health act. essential information for parents and carers Rethink 2008 www.rethink.org the mental health act essential information for parents and carers 1 About Rethink Rethink, the leading national mental health membership charity, works to help everyone affected

More information

Use of the Mental Health Act 1983 in general hospitals without a psychiatric unit

Use of the Mental Health Act 1983 in general hospitals without a psychiatric unit Use of the Mental Health Act 1983 in general hospitals without a psychiatric unit This guidance relates to England only Previously issued by the Mental Health Act Commission; revised April 2010 1 Introduction

More information

Care and Social Services Inspectorate Wales

Care and Social Services Inspectorate Wales Care and Social Services Inspectorate Wales Care Standards Act 2000 Inspection Report Aylecare Domiciliary Services 11 Alexandra Road Gorseinon Swansea SA4 4NW Type of Inspection Baseline Date(s) of inspection

More information

Oran Home Care Support Service Care at Home Birkbrae Blebo Craigs Cupar KY15 5UG

Oran Home Care Support Service Care at Home Birkbrae Blebo Craigs Cupar KY15 5UG Oran Home Care Support Service Care at Home Birkbrae Blebo Craigs Cupar KY15 5UG Inspected by: Patsy McDermott Type of inspection: Announced Inspection completed on: 15 July 2013 Contents Page No Summary

More information

Display of ratings. A guide for care providers on how to display ratings

Display of ratings. A guide for care providers on how to display ratings Display of ratings A guide for care providers on how to display ratings March 2015 The Care Quality Commission is the independent regulator of health and adult social care in England. Our purpose We make

More information

Summerfield Medical Limited

Summerfield Medical Limited Summerfield Medical Limited Summerfield Nursing Unit Inspection report 58 Whittington Road Cheltenham GL51 6BL Tel: 01242 259260 Website: www.summerfieldnursing.co.uk Date of inspection visit: 1 and 2

More information

Stoke House Care Home

Stoke House Care Home Stoke House Care Home Ltd Stoke House Care Home Inspection report 24-26 Stoke Lane Gedling Nottingham Nottinghamshire NG4 2QP Tel: 0115 940 0635 Website: www.stokehouse.com Date of inspection visit: 27

More information

Aspirations Support Bristol Limited

Aspirations Support Bristol Limited Aspirations Support Bristol Limited Aspirations Support Bristol Inspection report Design House 26 South View Staple Hill Bristol BS16 5PJ Tel: : 0117 965 1447 Website: www.aspirations-support.co.uk Date

More information

Key inspection report

Key inspection report Key inspection report CARE HOME ADULTS 18-65 Endymion Road, 2 2 Endymion Road London N4 1EE Lead Inspector Margaret Flaws Key Unannounced Inspection 28th September 2009 10:00 Endymion Road, 2 DS0000060622.V378137.R01.S.doc

More information

A fresh start, our plans for checking mental health services

A fresh start, our plans for checking mental health services A fresh start, our plans for checking mental health services An easy read version of: A fresh start for the regulation and inspection of mental health services Working together to change how we regulate

More information

SKILLSOFT S CARE CERTIFICATE SOLUTION. Health and Social Care

SKILLSOFT S CARE CERTIFICATE SOLUTION. Health and Social Care SKILLSOFT S CARE CERTIFICATE SOLUTION Health and Social Care CARE CERTIFICATE SOLUTION The Care Certificate is the new training standard for all social and health care workers in England. Introduced in

More information

How to complain about a health or social care service

How to complain about a health or social care service How to complain about a health or social care service February 2014 About this leaflet Although most people have no problems when using health or social care services, sometimes things can go wrong. This

More information

Standards of conduct, ethics and performance. July 2012

Standards of conduct, ethics and performance. July 2012 Standards of conduct, ethics and performance July 2012 Reprinted July 2012. The content of this booklet remains the same as the previous September 2010 edition. The General Pharmaceutical Council is the

More information

Code of Ethics for Pharmacists and Pharmacy Technicians

Code of Ethics for Pharmacists and Pharmacy Technicians Code of Ethics for Pharmacists and Pharmacy Technicians About this document Registration as a pharmacist or pharmacy technician carries obligations as well as privileges. It requires you to: develop and

More information

Worcestershire Health and Care NHS Trust

Worcestershire Health and Care NHS Trust Worcestershire Health and Care NHS Trust Long stay/rehabilitationation mental health wards for working age adults Quality Report Requires Improvement Isaac Maddox House Shrub Hill Road Worcester Worcestershire

More information

HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT

HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT Issue Date: November 2014 Review Date: January 2016 Authors: Patient Relations Department, North Cumbria University Hospitals NHS Trust SFT-NCA8299: 10/14 REV 1 If it matters to

More information

Quality Report. Boultham Park Road Lincoln LN6 7SS Tel: 01522 874444 Website: www.boulthamparkmedicalpractice.co.uk

Quality Report. Boultham Park Road Lincoln LN6 7SS Tel: 01522 874444 Website: www.boulthamparkmedicalpractice.co.uk Boultham Park Medical Centre Quality Report Boultham Park Road Lincoln LN6 7SS Tel: 01522 874444 Website: www.boulthamparkmedicalpractice.co.uk Date of inspection visit: 07 May 2014 Date of publication:

More information

NOTICE OF PRIVACY PRACTICES

NOTICE OF PRIVACY PRACTICES NOTICE OF PRIVACY PRACTICES Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) and Drug Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Rehabilitation ACT THE CENTER FOR HEALTH CARE SERVICES 3031 IH

More information

1. Glossary Some information in this factsheet is quite technical. This glossary gives an explanation of some of the phrases and words that are used:

1. Glossary Some information in this factsheet is quite technical. This glossary gives an explanation of some of the phrases and words that are used: Nearest Relative This factsheet looks at the role of the nearest relative. This is a term used in the Mental Health Act. It covers who someone s nearest relative would be, what the nearest relative s rights

More information

Coventry and Warwickshire Partnership Trust

Coventry and Warwickshire Partnership Trust Coventry and Warwickshire Partnership Trust Brooklands Quality Report Coleshill Road Marston Green West Midlands B37 7HL Tel: 0121 329 4900 Date of publication: 17/04/2014 Website: www.covwarkpt.nhs.uk

More information

We are happy to discuss your concerns and are always ready to listen to your comments and views on the care we provide.

We are happy to discuss your concerns and are always ready to listen to your comments and views on the care we provide. Complaints, concerns and compliments We are sorry you have a complaint. This booklet explains what to do if you have a complaint about your clinical care and treatment, or if you are complaining on behalf

More information

Deprivation of liberty in health and social care

Deprivation of liberty in health and social care Briefing For: Health and Social Care Providers Date: 16/04/2014 Issue Deprivation of liberty in health and social care On 19 March 2014, the Supreme Court handed down its judgment in the case of P v Cheshire

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Shared Lives Service - Perth & Kinross Adult Placement Service Suite 2 South Inch Business Centre Shore Road Perth Inspection completed on 16 May 2016 Service

More information

Summerfield Medical Limited

Summerfield Medical Limited Summerfield Medical Limited Summerfield Nursing Unit Inspection report 58 Whittington Road Cheltenham Gloucestershire GL51 6BL Tel: 01242259260 Website: www.summerfieldnursing.co.uk Date of inspection

More information

Resident Rights in Nursing Homes

Resident Rights in Nursing Homes Resident Rights in Nursing Homes Nursing home residents have patient rights and certain protections under the law. The nursing home must list and give all new residents a copy of these rights. Resident

More information

How to complain about a health service or social care service. This is an EasyRead version of How to complain about a health or social care service

How to complain about a health service or social care service. This is an EasyRead version of How to complain about a health or social care service How to complain about a health service or social care service This is an EasyRead version of How to complain about a health or social care service About this booklet Sometimes things go wrong with our

More information

Information guide. How to make a complaint

Information guide. How to make a complaint Information guide How to make a complaint How to make a complaint We always aim to provide you with the best service possible. We are committed to the consistent development and improvement of our services,

More information

Date of publication: 07/05/2014 Website: www. gtdhealthcare.co.uk Date of inspection visit: 10/12 March 2014

Date of publication: 07/05/2014 Website: www. gtdhealthcare.co.uk Date of inspection visit: 10/12 March 2014 Go To Doc Limited Quality Report The forum 2 Tameside Business Park Windmill Lane Denton Manchester M34 3QS Tele: 01613363252 Date of publication: 07/05/2014 Website: www. gtdhealthcare.co.uk Date of inspection

More information

Inspection report. Inspection of compliance with the Ionising Radiation (Medical Exposure) Regulations 2000

Inspection report. Inspection of compliance with the Ionising Radiation (Medical Exposure) Regulations 2000 Inspection report Inspection of compliance with the Ionising Radiation (Medical Exposure) Regulations 2000 Organisation Site inspected Date of inspection Date of publication County Durham and Darlington

More information

Welcome. Our aim is to provide firstclass independent healthcare for

Welcome. Our aim is to provide firstclass independent healthcare for PATIENT GUIDE Welcome We are delighted to welcome you as a patient to Highgate Private Hospital. The purpose of this guide is to introduce our hospital and make sure you are aware of your rights as a patient.

More information

Detention under the Mental Health Act

Detention under the Mental Health Act Detention under the Mental Health Act This factsheet gives information about detention under the Mental Health Act. This is also known as being sectioned. It explains what the Mental Health Act is, why

More information

Sheffield Health and Social Care NHS Foundation Trust

Sheffield Health and Social Care NHS Foundation Trust Sheffield Health and Social Care NHS Foundation Trust Community-based mental health services for older people Quality Report Fulwood House Old Fulwood Road Sheffield South Yorkshire S10 3TH Tel: 0114 271

More information

Monitoring the Mental Health Act in 2013/14

Monitoring the Mental Health Act in 2013/14 Monitoring the Mental Health Act in 2013/14 Care Quality Commission Monitoring the Mental Health Act in 2013/14 Presented to Parliament pursuant to Section 120D(3) of the Mental Health Act 1983 Care Quality

More information

Statement on CQC s roles and responsibilities for safeguarding children and adults

Statement on CQC s roles and responsibilities for safeguarding children and adults Statement on CQC s roles and responsibilities for safeguarding children and adults June 2015 Contents Introduction... 3 What is our vision for safeguarding?... 3 What is our role in safeguarding?... 4

More information

Mandatory Training Summary of Requirements - September 2013

Mandatory Training Summary of Requirements - September 2013 . Safeguarding Children Conflict Resolution Statutory - Children Act 1989 and 2004 Every Child Matters 2003 'Working Together to Safeguard Children' 2010, HCSA Reg 11, Safeguarding Children and Young People:

More information

Borderline personality disorder

Borderline personality disorder Understanding NICE guidance Information for people who use NHS services Borderline personality disorder NICE clinical guidelines advise the NHS on caring for people with specific conditions or diseases

More information

Old Village Care Limited

Old Village Care Limited Old Village Care Limited The Old Village School Nursing Home Inspection report Bedford Road Marston Moretaine MK43 0ND Tel: 01234 768001 Website: Date of inspection visit: 08 and 10 June 2015 Date of publication:

More information

Guidance to support the Levels of Need poster

Guidance to support the Levels of Need poster Guidance to support the Levels of Need poster V.1 Approved by Cheshire East Safeguarding Children Board 24 th January 2014 1 Introduction This Framework aims to provide all professionals working with children

More information

Statement of Purpose

Statement of Purpose Statement of Purpose Name:... Date Serviced Commenced:... Signature:... Philosophy We will provide you with support that helps you to live your life to the full, in the way that you choose, with enjoyment,

More information