Information guide. How to make a complaint

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Information guide. How to make a complaint"

Transcription

1 Information guide How to make a complaint

2 How to make a complaint We always aim to provide you with the best service possible. We are committed to the consistent development and improvement of our services, so your concerns and complaints are always welcome.

3 If you have a concern or complaint about the service you have received from the doctors, nurses, or any of the staff working in our service please let us know. We operate a complaints procedure as part of the National Health Service system for dealing with complaints. How to complain We hope that most problems can be sorted out easily and quickly at the time they arise and with the person concerned. If your problem cannot be sorted out in this way and you wish to make a complaint, we would like you to let us know as soon as possible, ideally, within a matter of days or at most a few weeks. This will enable us to establish what happened more easily. If it is not possible to do that, please let us have details of your complaint: within six months of the incident that caused the problem; or within six months of discovering that you have a problem, provided that no more than 12 months has elapsed from the date of the incident. Written complaints should be addressed to the service manager or customer care manager who will explain the complaints procedure to you and will make sure that

4 your concerns are dealt with promptly. It will be a great help if you are as specific as possible about your complaint. You can find full contact details on the back of this leaflet. What we will do We will acknowledge your complaint within three working days. If we cannot offer a full explanation at this stage we will contact you to agree a reasonable timescale for a full response. For instance, it may take longer to investigate a complaint that involves a number of issues. We will keep you updated throughout any investigation and when it is complete we will be in a position to offer you an explanation or a meeting with the people involved. When we look into your complaint we aim to: find out what happened and what went wrong; arrange for you to discuss the problem with those concerned, if you would like us to do so; make sure you receive an apology where this is appropriate; and identify what we can do to make sure the problem does not happen again. If you feel that you have not had a satisfactory response or outcome to your complaint, from

5 the service you are using, you may appeal to Virgin Care Limited. To do so please contact the governance manager at Virgin Care head office and provide as much detail as possible about your complaint. Virgin Care, Governance Manager 6400 Daresbury Business Park Warrington WA4 4GE Complaining on behalf of someone else Please note that we strictly keep to the rules of medical confidentiality. If you are complaining on behalf of someone else, we have to know that you have their permission to do so or are a parent or carer with parental responsibility. A note signed by the person concerned will be needed, unless they are incapable (because of illness or disability) of providing this. Complaining to the NHS We hope that if you have a problem, you will use our complaints procedure. We believe that this will give us the best chance of putting right whatever has gone wrong and an opportunity to improve our service. Submitting a concern or complaint in no way affects your right to approach the NHS

6 if you feel you cannot raise your complaint with us or you are dissatisfied with the result of our investigation. If you wish to complain to your local NHS please contact your local Patient Advice and Liaison (PALS) Team and ask to speak to the complaints lead. Your local advocacy service Independent specialist advice is available to help you through the NHS complaints process. It is a free, independent service that can help you make a complaint about any NHS treatment or service. If you would like to be put in contact with your local advocacy service, please contact us using the details on the back of this leaflet or ask at reception and they will be more than happy to give you the details. Care Quality Commission (CQC) You also have the right to report any dissatisfaction or concerns to the CQC which is the independent regulator of health and adult social care services in England. If you do write to the CQC, they can use the information provided to investigate the service and use their legal powers to ensure the service improves to meet important

7 standards of quality and safety. However it is important to note that they will not be able to respond directly to individual complaints. Care Quality Commission National customer service centre Citygate, Gallowgate Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4PA t: e:

8 Who to contact Virgin Care Customer Services Bournewood House Guildford Road Chertsey Surrey KT16 0QA t: f: e:

OLD HALL SURGERY COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE (FORM 1)

OLD HALL SURGERY COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE (FORM 1) (FORM 1) WE OPERATE A PRACTICE AS PART OF THE N.H.S. SYSTEM FOR DEALING WITH COMPLAINTS. OUR SYSTEM MEETS NATIONAL CRITERIA. OUR AIM IS TO GIVE YOU THE HIGHEST POSSIBLE STANDARD OF SERVICE AND WE TRY TO

More information

HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT

HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT Issue Date: November 2014 Review Date: January 2016 Authors: Patient Relations Department, North Cumbria University Hospitals NHS Trust SFT-NCA8299: 10/14 REV 1 If it matters to

More information

How to complain about a health or social care service

How to complain about a health or social care service How to complain about a health or social care service February 2014 About this leaflet Although most people have no problems when using health or social care services, sometimes things can go wrong. This

More information

SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP

SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP COMPLAINTS INFORMATION LEAFLET FOR PATIENTS Dr I D Whyte, Dr K K Wlodarczyk, Dr T M Golding Dr C J Brown, Dr C J Fogg, Dr C Dalton 42 King Street, Whalley, Nr Clitheroe BB7

More information

How to complain about a health service or social care service. This is an EasyRead version of How to complain about a health or social care service

How to complain about a health service or social care service. This is an EasyRead version of How to complain about a health or social care service How to complain about a health service or social care service This is an EasyRead version of How to complain about a health or social care service About this booklet Sometimes things go wrong with our

More information

EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure

EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE As a Practice we try to provide the best service possible for our patients. We recognise, however, that

More information

St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust. Compliments, Complaints and Suggestions

St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust. Compliments, Complaints and Suggestions St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust Compliments, Complaints and Suggestions Contents Compliments Page 4 Complaints Page 5 Suggestions Page 5 Making a complaint Page 6 How do I make a formal

More information

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Introduction At Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust we work hard to deliver a first-class comprehensive health care service. We value the opinions of patients

More information

Your right to complain. The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure. RDaSH. Corporate Services

Your right to complain. The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure. RDaSH. Corporate Services Your right to complain The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure RDaSH Corporate Services Section One: What do I do if I want to complain? Why is it important to complain? If you are not happy with

More information

This guide will help you to prepare a complaint letter and provide information regarding where you should send your complaint to.

This guide will help you to prepare a complaint letter and provide information regarding where you should send your complaint to. Guide to Making a Complaint About Medical Treatment If you are dissatisfied with the medical treatment that you or a family member have received then you are entitled to make a complaint. Complaint guide

More information

PENKRIDGE MEDICAL PRACTICE

PENKRIDGE MEDICAL PRACTICE PENKRIDGE MEDICAL PRACTICE PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE We aim to offer the highest standard of service at all times but we appreciate that, as in any ganisation, mistakes can be made

More information

Complaints, Comments and Appreciations

Complaints, Comments and Appreciations FOLD HERE No Stamp Required Freepost RLUJ-RKYT-AZGH Gillian Summers Complaints Officer North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust Bernicia House Goldcrest Way Newburn Riverside Newcastle upon Tyne

More information

The Abington Medical Centre The Abington Health Complex 51a Beech Avenue Northampton NN3 2JG PRACTICE COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE

The Abington Medical Centre The Abington Health Complex 51a Beech Avenue Northampton NN3 2JG PRACTICE COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE The Abington Medical Centre The Abington Health Complex 51a Beech Avenue Northampton NN3 2JG PRACTICE COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE Patient Information Leaflet If you have a complaint or concern about the service

More information

THE HADLEIGH PRACTICE Complimentary Information Pack

THE HADLEIGH PRACTICE Complimentary Information Pack PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET How to make Comments, Suggestions and Complaints This leaflet explains how you can make comments, suggestions and complaints about the services provided by The Hadleigh Practice.

More information

Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS)

Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Patient information leaflet Royal Surrey County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Formal complaints PALS What does this leaflet cover? How to make a formal complaint.

More information

Raising concerns or complaints about the NHS

Raising concerns or complaints about the NHS Independent Complaints Advocacy Northumberland You can, We can, ICAN Raising concerns or complaints about the NHS A step by step guide to help you raise a concern or complaint about any service provided

More information

Complaints procedure

Complaints procedure Complaints procedure This leaflet explains what to do if you have a complaint about any aspect of our service. We treat all complaints seriously and aim to resolve them as quickly and fully as we can.

More information

The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services.

The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services. Xxxxxxxxxxxx Directory The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services. Issue Date: 29 September 2014 Contents Page 2: Page 3: Tips on Complaining Services This guide has been produced by Healthwatch

More information

Policies and Procedures. Policy on the Handling of Complaints

Policies and Procedures. Policy on the Handling of Complaints RMP. South Tyneside NHS Foundation Trust Policies and Procedures Policy on the Handling of Complaints Approved by Trust Board December 2006 (revised version approved by RMEC May 2010) Policy Type Policy

More information

A fresh start, our plans for checking mental health services

A fresh start, our plans for checking mental health services A fresh start, our plans for checking mental health services An easy read version of: A fresh start for the regulation and inspection of mental health services Working together to change how we regulate

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy. A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS. www.pohwer.net

NHS Complaints Advocacy. A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS. www.pohwer.net NHS Complaints Advocacy A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS NHS Complaints Advocacy Important Information Please read this section before the rest of this guide to ensure you take

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy

NHS Complaints Advocacy NHS Complaints Advocacy Raising Concerns or Complaints About the NHS Advocacy in Surrey is provided by Surrey Disabled People s Partnership (SDPP) In partnership with SDPP is a registered Charity: 1156963

More information

Complaints Procedures. Listening... Acting... Improving

Complaints Procedures. Listening... Acting... Improving x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw 17/04/2015 15:32 Page 1 Complaints Procedures Listening... Acting... Improving x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw 17/04/2015 15:32 Page 2 x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw

More information

What standards you have a right to expect from the regulation of your dentist

What standards you have a right to expect from the regulation of your dentist What standards you have a right to expect from the regulation of your dentist 1 About this booklet This guide is for you if you receive treatment or care from a dental practice in England. It helps you

More information

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE Cuckfield Medical Practice and The Vale Surgery 1 CONTENTS Contents Page Introduction 1.0 NHS Complaints Regulations 3 2.0 Who

More information

Making a Complaint. The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made.

Making a Complaint. The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made. Making a Complaint The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made. Sometimes people feel let down by the NHS. They might think that the service, care

More information

Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns

Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns Pleased? Tell us about it Enquiry? Let us help you Unhappy? Let s resolve it together PALS: We are here to help you As a patient, or as a carer for someone who attends

More information

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH Rheynn Slaynt. National Health Service Complaints Procedure A Patient s Guide

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH Rheynn Slaynt. National Health Service Complaints Procedure A Patient s Guide DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH Rheynn Slaynt National Health Service Complaints Procedure A Patient s Guide Issue Date January 2012 A Patient s Guide to the NHS Complaints Procedure The Complaints Procedure The

More information

COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE ENGLAND BEAUFORT ROAD SURGERY INTRODUCTION

COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE ENGLAND BEAUFORT ROAD SURGERY INTRODUCTION COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE ENGLAND BEAUFORT ROAD SURGERY INTRODUCTION This procedure sets out the Practice s approach to the handling of complaints and is intended as an internal guide who should be made readily

More information

Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team

Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team Worthing and Southlands Hospitals Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Trust which combines St Richard s Hospital in Chichester and Worthing and Southlands

More information

HOPE HOUSE CHILDREN S HOSPICES COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE

HOPE HOUSE CHILDREN S HOSPICES COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE HOPE HOUSE CHILDREN S HOSPICES COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE Originator: Approved by: David Featherstone, Chief Executive Kath Jones, Director of Care Clinical Governance Group Date: September 2010 Review

More information

http://www.gmc-uk.org/concerns/making_a_complaint/who_to_complain_to_en.asp

http://www.gmc-uk.org/concerns/making_a_complaint/who_to_complain_to_en.asp Who to complain to information for patients in England http://www.gmc-uk.org/concerns/making_a_complaint/who_to_complain_to_en.asp The process of making a complaint will be easier and less stressful if

More information

Healthcare complaints advocacy self help pack

Healthcare complaints advocacy self help pack Berrows Business Centre Bath Street Hereford HR1 2HE Telephone 01432 364 481 Healthcare complaints advocacy self help pack Thank you for requesting this self help pack. It has been compiled to enable you

More information

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service February 2014 Healthwatch Coventry www.healthwatchcoventry.org.uk Contents 1. About this guide page 3 2. The NHS complaints procedure page 3 3. About the

More information

Complaints, Comments & Compliments Policy

Complaints, Comments & Compliments Policy Complaints, Comments & Compliments Policy 1. INTRODUCTION We welcome our customers views and will use them to improve our services. The purpose of this policy is to provide a framework for dealing with

More information

Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers. Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust

Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers. Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust Welcome At Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust (CNWL) we aim to give you the best

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS

Making a complaint about the NHS Making a complaint about the NHS NHS SCOTLAND The NHS tries hard to look after you, but sometimes things go wrong. This leaflet tells you what to do if you are not happy with the NHS. Things you can complain

More information

Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure

Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure Introduction The Practice aims to provide a high quality service to all its patients at all times, but we recognise that there may be times when you feel

More information

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care Factsheet 66 August 2011 Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care About this factsheet The factsheet explains the approach to handling complaints about National Health Service (NHS) services,

More information

Complaints that are not required to be considered under the arrangements

Complaints that are not required to be considered under the arrangements Under the provisions of the National Health Service (Pharmaceutical Services) Regulations 2005 pharmacy contractors are required to have in place arrangements, for the handling and consideration of complaints

More information

Your rights and how to make a complaint

Your rights and how to make a complaint Your rights and how to make a complaint Most medical care and treatment goes well, but things occasionally go wrong, and you may want to complain. So where do you start? Every NHS organisation has a complaints

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS

Making a complaint about the NHS Making a complaint about the NHS Version 2 Produced in June 2007 Revision date June 2009 NHS SCOTLAND In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. We value comments,

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Southdowns Private Healthcare 97 Havant Road, Emsworth, PO10

More information

External Whistleblowing (Protected Disclosures) Policy

External Whistleblowing (Protected Disclosures) Policy External Whistleblowing (Protected Disclosures) Policy 1. Introduction Monitor is the sector regulator for health care. Our main duty is to protect and promote the interests of patients by regulating the

More information

Guide to healthcare complaints

Guide to healthcare complaints Guide to healthcare complaints A guide to healthcare complaints The majority of patients have a positive experience of their NHS treatment. Where this is not the case there are a number of options open

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS

Making a complaint about the NHS Making a complaint about the NHS NHS Grampian In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. We value comments, good or bad, to help us improve the service. If you are

More information

FELLVIEW HEALTHCARE LIMITED IN-HOUSE COMPLAINTS FORM. If you need help to complete the form please ask the Branch Manager for assistance.

FELLVIEW HEALTHCARE LIMITED IN-HOUSE COMPLAINTS FORM. If you need help to complete the form please ask the Branch Manager for assistance. FELLVIEW HEALTHCARE LIMITED IN-HOUSE COMPLAINTS FORM Note It is important for the practice to get as much information as possible about the nature of your complaint so that we investigate thoroughly and

More information

Complaints - what to do if you re not happy with a service

Complaints - what to do if you re not happy with a service IS 22 April 2009 Information sheet Complaints - what to do if you re not happy with a service Introduction... 1 Before you make a complaint... 2 Help with making your complaint... 2 How to make a complaint

More information

Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints. Patient guide

Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints. Patient guide Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints Patient guide Patient satisfaction comments & compliments We hope you re delighted with the

More information

High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Lead Author(s) Change History Document complies with the Equality Act 2010

High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Lead Author(s) Change History Document complies with the Equality Act 2010 High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Document Type CQC Standard 7 Service Application Version 2 Ratification Date Target Group All staff Last Reviewed October 2012 Next Review Date October

More information

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Why has this factsheet been produced? This factsheet is for anyone who

More information

Making a complaint in the independent healthcare sector. A guide for patients

Making a complaint in the independent healthcare sector. A guide for patients Contents 1. Introduction pages 3 5 2. Local Resolution Stage One pages 6 8 3. Complaints Review Stage Two page 9 4. Independent External Adjudication Stage Three pages 10 11 2 The Patients Association

More information

Clydebank Housing Association Ltd. Factoring Complaints Handling Procedure

Clydebank Housing Association Ltd. Factoring Complaints Handling Procedure Clydebank Housing Association Ltd. Factoring Complaints Handling Procedure Management Committee submission: 27 November 2012 Approved: 27 November 2012 Review date: November 2015 This policy can be made

More information

Review of compliance. Brico Limited t/a Bluebird Care (Guildford) Bluebird Care (Guildford) South East. Region:

Review of compliance. Brico Limited t/a Bluebird Care (Guildford) Bluebird Care (Guildford) South East. Region: Review of compliance Brico Limited t/a Bluebird Care (Guildford) Bluebird Care (Guildford) Region: Location address: Type of service: South East Unit 15, Westminster Court Hipley Street Old Woking Surrey

More information

A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS

A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS Please read this first Are you worried or unhappy about your current healthcare or treatment of that of a loved one? If you are then it may be more

More information

NHS Complaints Handling: Briefing Note. The standard NHS complaints procedure can be used for most complaints about NHS services.

NHS Complaints Handling: Briefing Note. The standard NHS complaints procedure can be used for most complaints about NHS services. APPENDIX 1 NHS Complaints Handling: Briefing Note NHS Complaints Procedure The standard NHS complaints procedure can be used for most complaints about NHS services. The legislation governing the NHS complaints

More information

Experiences count. We are here to listen. www.lpft.nhs.uk

Experiences count. We are here to listen. www.lpft.nhs.uk Experiences count We are here to listen www.lpft.nhs.uk Experiences count Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust (LPFT) provides specialist health services for people with a learning disability,

More information

Feedback and complaints:

Feedback and complaints: Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Feedback and complaints (version 1) Produced in October 2012 - Revision

More information

Contents. Section/Paragraph Description Page Number

Contents. Section/Paragraph Description Page Number - NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICA CLINICAL NON CLINICAL - CLINICAL CLINICAL Complaints Policy Incorporating Compliments, Comments,

More information

Complaints Policy & Procedure 1

Complaints Policy & Procedure 1 Introduction Complaints about the surgery or member of staff are always taken seriously at Eyam Surgery. We always try to provide the best service possible, but there may be times when a patient may feel

More information

PALS. Patient Advice and Liaison Service. Royal Manchester Children s Hospital. Saint Mary s Hospital. Manchester Royal Eye Hospital

PALS. Patient Advice and Liaison Service. Royal Manchester Children s Hospital. Saint Mary s Hospital. Manchester Royal Eye Hospital Royal Children s Hospital Saint Mary s Hospital Royal Eye Hospital PALS Patient Advice and Liaison Service Royal Infirmary University Dental Hospital of Central Community Services Trafford General Stretford

More information

Complaints. It is also important to learn from complaints in order to prevent or minimise the risk of similar problems happening again.

Complaints. It is also important to learn from complaints in order to prevent or minimise the risk of similar problems happening again. 6 Complaints Even the most careful and competent dental professional is likely to receive a complaint about the quality of the service, care or treatment they have provided, at some point in their career.

More information

Complaints Policy and Procedure. Contents. Title: Number: Version: 1.0

Complaints Policy and Procedure. Contents. Title: Number: Version: 1.0 Title: Complaints Policy and Procedure Number: Version: 1.0 Contents 1 Purpose and scope... 2 2 Responsibilities... 2 3 Policy Statement: Aims and Objectives... 4 4 Definition of a complaint... 4 5 Procedure...

More information

How to complain about a doctor. England

How to complain about a doctor. England How to complain about a doctor England This booklet is for patients in England. Our procedures are the same throughout the UK, but healthcare and support organisations do vary. We have therefore also produced

More information

Certificate of Registration

Certificate of Registration Certificate of Registration This is to certify the following service provider has been registered by the Care Quality Commission under the Health and Social Care Act 2008 Certificate number: Certificate

More information

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Why has this factsheet been produced? This factsheet is for anyone who

More information

Giving feedback or making a complaint. about the NHS. Giving feedback about the NHS. Making a complaint. about the NHS. How can I give my feedback?

Giving feedback or making a complaint. about the NHS. Giving feedback about the NHS. Making a complaint. about the NHS. How can I give my feedback? Giving feedback or making a complaint about the NHS In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. You can help us improve services by giving your views, good as well

More information

How to complain about a doctor

How to complain about a doctor How to complain about a doctor England This booklet is for patients in England. Our procedures are the same throughout the UK, but healthcare and support organisations do vary. We have therefore also produced

More information

Principles of Good Complaint Handling

Principles of Good Complaint Handling Principles of Good Complaint Handling Principles of Good Complaint Handling Good complaint handling means: 1 Getting it right 2 Being customer focused 3 Being open and accountable 4 Acting fairly and proportionately

More information

Policies, Procedures, Guidelines and Protocols

Policies, Procedures, Guidelines and Protocols Policies, Procedures, Guidelines and Protocols Document Details Title Complaints and Compliments Policy Trust Ref No 1353-29025 Local Ref (optional) N/A Main points the document This policy and procedure

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS in England

Making a complaint about the NHS in England Making a complaint about the NHS in England The Health Service Ombudsman can carry out independent investigations into complaints made about poor treatment or service provided through the NHS. We are the

More information

Complaints Policy (Listening, Responding and Learning from Views and Concerns)

Complaints Policy (Listening, Responding and Learning from Views and Concerns) (Listening, Responding and Learning from Views and Concerns) Version 1.0 Ratified By Date Ratified 14 th November 2012 Author(s) Responsible Committee / Officers Date Issue 1 st April 2013 Review Date

More information

NHS COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE SELF-HELP PACK

NHS COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE SELF-HELP PACK NHS COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE SELF-HELP PACK FOR PEOPLE LIVING IN SOUTH GLOUCESTERSHIRE INTRODUCTION This self-help guide aims to help you understand the process involved in raising concerns and making complaints

More information

Complaints Procedure for Health Services A Patient s Guide Help Us to Help You

Complaints Procedure for Health Services A Patient s Guide Help Us to Help You Department of Health and Social Care Rheynn Slaynt as Kiarail y Theay National Health Service Complaints Procedure for Health Services A Patient s Guide Help Us to Help You May 2015 NH15 A Patient s Guide

More information

Complaints in the NHS

Complaints in the NHS IMPROVING HEALTH IN WALES Complaints in the NHS A Guide to handling complaints in Wales April 2003 Making suggestions and complaints Do you have suggestions about how we can provide a better service? Your

More information

NHS Complaints and raising concerns

NHS Complaints and raising concerns NHS Complaints and raising concerns This document is a guide to help you raise concerns yourself Raising concerns and or making a complaint can be quite daunting and can often be quite a negative experience.

More information

The State Hospital s Board for Scotland

The State Hospital s Board for Scotland The State Hospital s Board for Scotland PATIENT & CARER FEEDBACK Procedure for Feedback; Comments, Concerns, Compliments and Complaints (Incorporating the NHS Can I Help you Guidance) Policy Reference

More information

I have a complaint about health care, what to do? Landelijk Meldpunt

I have a complaint about health care, what to do? Landelijk Meldpunt I have a complaint about health care, what to do? Landelijk Meldpunt Z0rg The National Health Care Report Centre can help! Sometimes your contact with a health care provider can fall short of your expectations.

More information

Contents. Appendices. 1. Complaints Relating to Commissioned Services Page 15

Contents. Appendices. 1. Complaints Relating to Commissioned Services Page 15 COMPLAINTS POLICY 1 Contents 1. Introduction Page 3 2. Purpose Page 3 3. Principles Page 4 4. Scope Page 4 5. Exclusions Page 5 6. Responsibilities Page 5 7. Complaints Management Process: Local Resolution

More information

Complaint and Concern handling and learning

Complaint and Concern handling and learning TAUNTON & SOMERSET NHS FOUNDATION TRUST Complaint and Concern handling and learning Report to: Trust Board on 25 September 2013 Purpose of the Report: (Please type in Bold) This report sets out how the

More information

Complaints Policy. Controlled Document Number: Version Number: 6 Controlled Document Sponsor: Controlled Document Lead: Approved By:

Complaints Policy. Controlled Document Number: Version Number: 6 Controlled Document Sponsor: Controlled Document Lead: Approved By: Complaints Policy CONTROLLED DOCUMENT CATEGORY: CLASSIFICATION: PURPOSE Controlled Document Number: Version Number: 6 Controlled Document Sponsor: Controlled Document Lead: Approved By: Policy Governance

More information

Writing a NHS complaint letter

Writing a NHS complaint letter Writing a NHS complaint letter The NHS Complaints Advocacy Service is a service offered by POhWER POhWER Registered Office: Hertlands House, Primett Road, Stevenage, Hertfordshire SG1 3EE Registered number

More information

COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS

COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS Information Leaflet Your Health. Our Priority. Page 2 of 6 Introduction We aim to provide the highest possible standard of care for our patients. We want to hear your

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Warrington Hospital Lovely Lane, Warrington, WA5 1QG Tel: 01925635911

More information

Complaints, compliments and suggestions

Complaints, compliments and suggestions Complaints, compliments and suggestions This leaflet gives you information about how to tell us what you think about NHS Fife. Staff at NHS Fife want to know what you think about the help that you get

More information

Comments, compliments and complaints

Comments, compliments and complaints Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints Patient guide Patient satisfaction comments & compliments We hope you re delighted with the

More information

Frequently Asked Questions about NHS Complaints

Frequently Asked Questions about NHS Complaints Frequently Asked Questions about NHS Complaints Who can complain? Anyone who is receiving, or has received NHS treatment or services can complain. If you are unable to complain yourself then someone else,

More information

Healthcare complaints advocacy self help pack

Healthcare complaints advocacy self help pack Prittlewell Chapel North Road Westcliff on Sea Essex SS0 7AF Telephone 01702 220102 Healthcare complaints advocacy self help pack Thank you for requesting this self help pack. It has been compiled to enable

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS

Making a complaint about the NHS Making a complaint about the NHS Version 4 Produced in October 2011 Revision date Spring 2012 Ayrshire & Arran In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. We value

More information

Patient Information Service The NHS complaints procedure and how it works

Patient Information Service The NHS complaints procedure and how it works Patient Information Service The NHS complaints procedure and how it works SOU1682.indd 1 10/07/2013 14:54 SOU1682.indd 2 10/07/2013 14:54 This information is for people who wish to submit a complaint about

More information

Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Groups

Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Groups Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Groups Corporate Policy 1 (CP1) CCG Policy for the Handling of Complaints Version: 1 Ratified by: Date ratified: April 2013 Name of originator/author: Name of responsible

More information

Concern / Complaints Flowchart

Concern / Complaints Flowchart Concern / Complaints Flowchart INFORMAL CONCERN (usually verbal) A concern can be made to any member of staff or the Patient Advice and Liaison Service Staff/PALS will try to resolve the issue within 1

More information

ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY. Complaints Procedure General Practice

ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY. Complaints Procedure General Practice ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY Complaints Procedure General Practice Index 1. Introduction 2. Practice Complaints Administrator 3. What Constitutes a Complaint 4. Matters Excluded from the Complaints Process

More information

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY A GENERAL 1. INTRODUCTION This policy sets out the process for handling complaints, generated by patients, carers and the general public, by the Clinical Commissioning Group

More information

Complaints Handling Policy Incorporating Complaints, Concerns and Compliments Version 5.0

Complaints Handling Policy Incorporating Complaints, Concerns and Compliments Version 5.0 Complaints Handling Policy Incorporating Complaints, Concerns and Compliments Version 5.0 Purpose: For use by: This document is compliant with /supports compliance with: To advise and inform hospital staff

More information

The Legal Ombudsman can help you resolve your complaint about legal services

The Legal Ombudsman can help you resolve your complaint about legal services Legal Ombudsman Here to help What to do if you have a complaint The Legal Ombudsman can help you resolve your complaint about legal services Are you unhappy with the service your lawyer or law firm has

More information

The ACCURE-UK Trial: The feasibility of undertaking Appendicectomy to impact upon the Clinical Course of UlceRativE Colitis

The ACCURE-UK Trial: The feasibility of undertaking Appendicectomy to impact upon the Clinical Course of UlceRativE Colitis The ACCURE-UK Trial: The feasibility of undertaking Appendicectomy to impact upon the Clinical Course of UlceRativE Colitis Patient Research Interview Information Sheet ACCURE-UK non-participants Version

More information

Consent what you have a right to expect

Consent what you have a right to expect Consent what you have a right to expect A guide for children and young people Consent it s your choice Before a doctor, a nurse, or anyone else looking after your health can examine you or treat you,

More information

This document can be produced in large print, in Braille, on audio cassette and in other languages on request

This document can be produced in large print, in Braille, on audio cassette and in other languages on request GIVING A COMPLIMENT, RAISING A CONCERN OR MAKING A COMPLAINT A Guide for Patients, Carers, Relatives and Visitors to the Trust to tell us what you think This document can be produced in large print, in

More information