CHAPTER 10: UNCERTAINTY AND RISK IN CAPITAL BUDGETING: PART I
|
|
|
- Noel Moore
- 10 years ago
- Views:
Transcription
1 CHAPTER 10: UNCERTAINTY AND RISK IN CAPITAL BUDGETING: PART I 10-1 Year ATCF 0-2,500,000 Initial Investment = $2,500,000 1 $1,280,000 Annual Operating Cash Flows 2 $1,280,000 Revenues $5,000,000 3 $1,280,000 Variable Cost $2,000,000 4 $1,280,000 Fixed Costs $1,000,000 5 $1,280,000 Depreciation $200,000 6 $1,280,000 EBIT $1,800,000 7 $1,280,000 EBIT (1-t) $1,080,000 8 $1,280,000 + Depreciation $200,000 9 $1,280,000 ATCF $1,280, $1,780, 000 a. NPV of Store = -$2,500,000 + $1,280,000 (PVA,14%,10 years) + $500,000/1.14^10 = $4,311,500 IRR of Store = 50.51% b. Sensitivity of NPV/IRR to Sales/Square Foot and Variable Costs as % of Revenues Sales/Sq Foot NPV IRR $100 -$3.199 million NA $200 -$1.321 million 0% $300 $555, % $400 $2.433 million 35.36% $500 $ 4.31 million 50.51% Variable Cost NPV IRR 40% $4.311 mil 50.51% 50% $2.746 mil 37.93% 60% $1.181 mil 24.77% 70% - $.383 mil 10.24%
2 c. Break even in Financial Terms for Sales per Square Foot = $270 / square foot (NPV = 0) Break even in Accounting Terms for Sales/Square Foot = $200/ square foot (EBIT = 0) 10-2 Initial Investment = $(10,000,000) Annual Operating Cash Flows Year Revenues = $5,000,000 $5,250,000 $5,512,500 $5,788,125 $6,077,531 - Variable Cost $2,000,000 $2,100,000 $2,205,000 $2,315,250 $2,431,013 - Fixed Costs $500,000 $500,000 $ 500,000 $500,000 $500,000 - Depreciation $2,000,000 $2,000,000 $2,000,000 $2,000,000 $2,000,000 EBIT $500,000 $650,000 $807,500 $972,875 $1,146,519 EBIT (1-t) $300,000 $390,000 $484,500 $583,725 $687,911 + Depreciation $2,000,000 $2,000,000 $2,000,000 $2,000,000 $2,000,000 ATCF $2,300,000 $2,390,000 $2,484,500 $2,583,725 $2,687,911 PV at 15% $2,000,000 $1,807,183 $1,633,599 $1,477,253 $1,336,367 a. Total PV of Cash Inflows = $8,254,403 NPV = -$10,000,000 + $8,254,403 = $(1,745,597) IRR of Project = 7.55% b. Year CF 0-10,000,000 1 $2,300,000 2 $2,390,000 3 $2,484,500 4 $2,583,725 5 $2,687,911 Sensitivity of Measures to Changes in Assumptions # Units Sold NPV IRR 15,000 ($3,390,179) -0.13% 20,000 ($1,745,597) 7.55% 25,000 ($101,016) 14.58% 30,000 $1,543, % Sales Price/Unit NPV IRR 200 ($3,061,262) 1.47% 250 ($1,745,597) 7.55% 300 ($429,932) 13.22% 350 $885, % 400 $2,201, % c. Breakeven number of units (NPV = 0) = 25,307 units
3 Breakeven number of units (EBIT = 0) = 16,667 units 10-3 a. I would draw from these distributions to do my simulations. b. Over a large number of simulations, I would expect the average NPV to converge to the base case (-$1.745 million) and the average IRR to also converge on the base case (7.55%). c. I would look at the distribution of NPV and IRR across the simulations a: Year CF PV of Cash Flow 0 $(10,000,000) $(10,000,000) 1 $1,500,000 $1,339,286 2 $1,575,000 $1,255,580 3 $1,653,750 $1,177,107 4 $1,736,438 $1,103,538 5 $1,823,259 $1,034,566 6 $1,914,422 $969,906 7 $2,010,143 $909,287 8 $2,110,651 $852,457 9 $2,216,183 $799, $2,326,992 $1,000,000 $1,071,202 NPV = $512,106 b. (1) if projects continue for 5 more years, growing at 5% a year: Terminal Value in year 10 = PV of $2,326,992 growing at 5% a year for 5 years + PV of Salvage of $1 million (discounted back 5 years) = $10,194,317 NPV of Project with this Terminal Value = $3,472,430 (2) if cash flows continue for 10 more years with no growth: Terminal Value in year 10 = PV of annuity of $2,326,992 for 10 years + PV of Salvage of $1 million discounted back 10 years = $13,469,997 NPV of Project with this Terminal value = $4,527,111 (3) If cash flow in year 10 continues in perpetuity: Terminal Value in year 10 = $2,326,992/.12 = $19,391,600 NPV of Project with this terminal value = $6,433, a: Succeed Cash Flows NPV Prob Better $40 for 5 years $ Full Introduction ($50) As Well As $20 for 5 years ($1.85) 0.15 Worse $5 for 5 years ($48.84) 0.15 Than
4 Test Marketing ($5) Fails Regional Introduction ($20) Stops after testing the market $(23.18) 0.15 ($5) 0.4 b. NPV of Project = $60.81 (.15) - $1.85(.15) - $48.84 (.15) - $23.18 (.15) = $(3.96) c. The option to abandon has no value here, since the project cash flows are always positive NPV Number Probability NPV * Probability $(30.00) % $(1.13) $(5.00) % $(0.44) $ % $0.63 $ , % $3.75 $ , % $6.25 $ % $4.38 $ % $3.38 $ % $3.75 a. Expected NPV = $20.56 b. Probability that NPV < 0 = 12.50% c. I would use the entire distribution rather than just the base case NPV to make my decision a. Base Case Analysis: Initial Investment = - $20 million Annual Operating Cash Flows: Year Cash Flow 0-20,000, ,280, ,280, ,280, ,280, ,280,000 Revenues 28,000,000 - Fixed Costs 10,000,000 - Var. Costs 5,200,000
5 - Depreciation 4,000,000 EBIT 8,800,000 EBIT (1-t) 5,280,000 + Depreciation 4,000,000 ATCF = 9,280,000 NPV of Project = -$20,000,000 + $9,280,000 (PVA,12) = $13,452,323 IRR of Project = 36.67% b. Sensitivity of NPV and IRR to number of units sold: # of Units Sold NPV IRR 25,000 $799, % 50,000 $5,017, % 75,000 $9,234, % 100,000 $13,452, % 125,000 $17,669, % c. Breakeven number of units = 20, Yes. Having the flexibility to get out of the project if the cash flows do not meet my expectations will make it more likely that I take the project a. Test Marketing Next Stage Cash Flows NPV Probability Build ($50 million) $10 million/year for 10 $1,445,671.6 yrs ($10 million) Abandon ($10 million).4 NPV of Project = 0.6 * $1,445, * ($10,000) = $(3,132,597) b. No. I would not do the test market, since the expected present value of the project does not cover the test market cost Initial Investment = $100 million (1-.4) = $60,000,000 a. Accounting Breakeven = Fixed Costs/Contribution Margin per Units = $10 million / $0.30 = 33,333,333 b. Annual Operating Cash Flows Revenues $37,595,940
6 - Variable Cost $15,038,376 # of Units = 75,191,880 - Fixed Cost $10,000,000 EBIT $12,557,564 EBIT (1-t) $7,534,538 NPV of Project = $1.49 Approximately 75,191,880 cans have to be sold to break even financially a. Initial Increase needed in Working Capital =.2 (6) -.1 (4) = $800, Annual Increase in after-tax cash flows = $2 million (.1) = $200, NPV = - $800,000 + $200,000 (PVA,14%,10 years) + $800,000/1.14 _ 10 = $459, Yes. You should offer credit. [We assume that working capital is fully salvaged.] b. The revenues will have to increase roughly $778,000 for the firm to break even. c. The solution is not sensitive to the number of years you stay in business, as long as the working capital is fully salvageable a. Variable Base Case Break Even Margin for Error Volume 100,000 92, % Price/Unit $1,000 $ % Operating Margin 15% 14.10% 6.00% Discount Rate 12.50% 14% % Life of Project % b. I would examine the margins for error to ensure that I felt comfortable with these margins. c. I might also spend money on acquiring more information on those variables where I felt that my margin for error was too slim. I might also try to enter into agreements to reduce uncertainty on some variables (say, labor cost) a. Initial Investment = ($10,000,000) Annual Operating Cash Flows: Revenues Variable Cost EBIT per subscriber EBIT (1-t) $15 per subscriber $5 per subscriber $10 per subscriber $6 per subscriber
7 Annual Cash Flow needed to make NPV positive in two years = $10,000,000 / (APV,14%,2) = $6,072,897 Number of Subscribers needed for 2-year life to have positive NPV = $6,072,897/($6*12) = 84,356 b: If 500,000 subscribers are signed, ATCF = $3,000,000 Number of years the firm has to stay in business: -10,000, (PVA, %,n) = 0! Monthly breakeven Solving for n, n is between 3 and 4 months If the discount rate already reflects the risk, and the project has a positive NPV, it can be argued that the risk in the project has already been considered. The fact that a what-if analysis leads to negative NPVs should then not be a basis for rejecting the project. However, the discount rate may reflect only market risk, whereas the what-if analysis can look at all risk Initial Investment = ($15,000,000) After-tax Operating Cash Flow per unit sold = $80 a. Annual CF needed over 3 years to make NPV positive = $15,000,000 (APV,15%,3years) = $6,569,654 Number of units you would need to sell to breakeven = $6,569,654/$80 = 82, b. If I was uncertain about the life, I would have to calculate this break even for each life time (2 years, 3 years, 4 years etc.) and then look at an expected value for the break even a: Mega Well NPV Probability 500,000 barrels for 20 $10,833, years: Full Rig Typical Well ($50,000,000) 250,000 barrels for 20 $(2,083,216) 0.2 years Bust Well $(12,416,64) 0.2 Initial Cost ($10,000,000) 50,000 barrels for 20 years $(10,000,000) 0.4 Expected NPV without abandonment option = $(4,733,258)
8 b. The company should not spend any money for the option to explore, since the expected NPV is negative. c. If you can abandon the project, you would under the 50,000 barrels scenario. Expected NPV with abandonment option = $(3,684,090) Value of the abandonment option = $1,049,168
9
CHAPTER 8: ESTIMATING CASH FLOWS
CHAPTER 8: ESTIMATING CASH FLOWS 8-1 a. Straight line depreciation = ($15 - $3)/10 = $1.20 Annual Tax Savings from Depreciation = $ 1.2 (0.4) = $0.48 Present Value of Tax Savings from Depreciation = $
Session #5 Capital Budgeting - II Damodaran - Chapter 9: 6,12,16,18 Chapter 10: 2,10,16(a&b) Chapter 11: 6,12,14
Session #5 Capital Budgeting - II Damodaran - Chapter 9: 6,12,16,18 Chapter 10: 2,10,16(a&b) Chapter 11: 6,12,14 I. Additional Issues in Capital Budgeting. A. Capital rationing: Use profitability index
Capital Budgeting continued: Overview:(1) Estimating cash flows (2) CB examples (3) Dealing with uncertainty of cash flows
Capital Budgeting continued: Overview:(1) Estimating cash flows (2) CB examples (3) Dealing with uncertainty of cash flows Chapter 7: 1,5,7,8,27,32 Chapter 8: 1,3,5,8,13 (clarification for problem 13b:
Project cash flows and NPVs may be estimated under different assumptions to improve the decision process.
FIN 301 Class Notes Chapter 9: Project Analysis WHAT-IF Analysis Project cash flows and NPVs may be estimated under different assumptions to improve the decision process. Sensitivity Analysis A. Changing
Lecture 8 (Chapter 11): Project Analysis and Evaluation
Lecture 8 (Chapter 11): Project Analysis and Evaluation Discounted cash flow analysis is a very powerful tool, but it is not easy to use. We have already seen one difficulty: How do we identify the cash
Chapter 9. Year Revenue COGS Depreciation S&A Taxable Income After-tax Operating Income 1 $20.60 $12.36 $1.00 $2.06 $5.18 $3.11
Chapter 9 9-1 We assume that revenues and selling & administrative expenses will increase at the rate of inflation. Year Revenue COGS Depreciation S&A Taxable Income After-tax Operating Income 1 $20.60
CHAPTER 9 NET PRESENT VALUE AND OTHER INVESTMENT CRITERIA
CHAPTER 9 NET PRESENT VALUE AND OTHER INVESTMENT CRITERIA Basic 1. To calculate the payback period, we need to find the time that the project has recovered its initial investment. After two years, the
Strategy and Analysis in Using NPV. How Positive NPV Arises
Strategy and Analysis in Using NPV (Text reference: Chapter 8) Topics how positive NPV arises decision trees sensitivity analysis scenario analysis break-even analysis investment options AFM 271 - Strategy
CHAPTER 11. Proposed Project. Incremental Cash Flow for a Project. Treatment of Financing Costs. Estimating cash flows:
CHAPTER 11 Cash Flow Estimation and Risk Analysis Estimating cash flows: Relevant cash flows Working capital treatment Inflation Risk Analysis: Sensitivity Analysis, Scenario Analysis, and Simulation Analysis
Finance for Cultural Organisations Lecture 9. Capital Budgeting: Project Analysis and Evaluation
Finance for Cultural Organisations Lecture 9. Capital Budgeting: Project Analysis and Evaluation Lecture 9. Capital Budgeting: Project Analysis & Evaluation Understand forecasting risk and sources of value
Capital Budgeting. Financial Modeling Templates
Financial Modeling Templates http://spreadsheetml.com/finance/capitalbudgeting.shtml Copyright (c) 2009-2014, ConnectCode All Rights Reserved. ConnectCode accepts no responsibility for any adverse affect
Chapter. Project Analysis and Evaluation. McGraw-Hill/Irwin. Copyright 2006 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Chapter 11 Project Analysis and Evaluation McGraw-Hill/Irwin Copyright 2006 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. Key Concepts and Skills Understand forecasting risk and sources of value
Chapter 9. Project Analysis
Chapter 9 Project Analysis 9-2 Topics Covered How Firms Organize the Investment Process Some what if Questions Sensitivity Analysis Scenario Analysis Break Even Analysis Real Options and the Value of Flexibility
Capital Budgeting: Decision. Example. Net Present Value (NPV) FINC 3630 Yost
Capital Budgeting: Decision Criteria Example Consider a firm with two projects, A and B, each with the following cash flows and a 10 percent cost of capital: Project A Project B Year Cash Flows Cash Flows
FIN 614 Cash Flow Forecasting. Professor Robert B.H. Hauswald Kogod School of Business, AU. Vitamin C. Cash flows matter: focus on economics
FIN 64 Cash Flow Forecasting Professor Robert B.H. Hauswald Kogod School of Business, AU Vitamin C Cash flows matter: focus on economics not earnings or other accounting measures Continue our focus on
Chapter 11 Cash Flow Estimation and Risk Analysis ANSWERS TO SELECTED END-OF-CHAPTER QUESTIONS
Chapter 11 Cash Flow Estimation and Risk Analysis ANSWERS TO SELECTED END-OF-CHAPTER QUESTIONS 11-1 a. Cash flow, which is the relevant financial variable, represents the actual flow of cash. Accounting
CHAPTER 14 COST OF CAPITAL
CHAPTER 14 COST OF CAPITAL Answers to Concepts Review and Critical Thinking Questions 1. It is the minimum rate of return the firm must earn overall on its existing assets. If it earns more than this,
DUKE UNIVERSITY Fuqua School of Business. FINANCE 351 - CORPORATE FINANCE Problem Set #1 Prof. Simon Gervais Fall 2011 Term 2.
DUKE UNIVERSITY Fuqua School of Business FINANCE 351 - CORPORATE FINANCE Problem Set #1 Prof. Simon Gervais Fall 2011 Term 2 Questions 1. Two years ago, you put $20,000 dollars in a savings account earning
CHAPTER 7 MAKING CAPITAL INVESTMENT DECISIONS
CHAPTER 7 MAKING CAPITAL INVESTMENT DECISIONS Answers to Concepts Review and Critical Thinking Questions 1. In this context, an opportunity cost refers to the value of an asset or other input that will
Pro Forma Income Statements Sales $50,000 Var. costs 30,000 Fixed costs 5,000 Depreciation 7,000 EBIT $8,000 Taxes (34%) 2,720 Net income $5,280
Project Analysis: Suppose we want to prepare a set of pro forma financial statements for a project for Norma Desmond Enterprises. In order to do so, we must have some background information. In this case,
CHAPTER 9 NET PRESENT VALUE AND OTHER INVESTMENT CRITERIA
CHAPTER 9 NET PRESENT VALUE AND OTHER INVESTMENT CRITERIA 1. To calculate the payback period, we need to find the time that the project has recovered its initial investment. After three years, the project
How To Get A Profit From A Machine
Vol. 2, Chapter 4 Capital Budgeting Problem 1: Solution Answers found using Excel formulas: 1. Amount invested = $10,000 $21,589.25 Compounding period = annually Number of years = 10 Annual interest rate
Chapter 9 Making Capital Investment Decisions Introduction
Chapter 9 Making Capital Investment Decisions Introduction The cash flows that should be included in a capital budgeting analysis are those that will only occur if the project is accepted These cash flows
Chapter 09 - Using Discounted Cash-Flow Analysis to Make Investment Decisions
Solutions to Chapter 9 Using Discounted Cash-Flow Analysis to Make Investment Decisions 1. Net income = ($74 $42 $10) [0.35 ($74 $42 $10)] = $22 $7.7 = $14.3 million Revenues cash expenses taxes paid =
Chapter 10: Making Capital Investment Decisions
Chapter 10: Making Capital Investment Decisions Faculty of Business Administration Lakehead University Spring 2003 May 21, 2003 Outline 10.1 Project Cash Flows: A First Look 10.2 Incremental Cash Flows
Multiple Choice Questions (45%)
Multiple Choice Questions (45%) Choose the Correct Answer 1. The following information was taken from XYZ Company s accounting records for the year ended December 31, 2014: Increase in raw materials inventory
Chapter 7: Net Present Value and Capital Budgeting
Chapter 7: Net Present Value and Capital Budgeting 7.1 a. Yes, the reduction in the sales of the company s other products, referred to as erosion, should be treated as an incremental cash flow. These lost
The table for the present value of annuities (Appendix A, Table 4) shows: 10 periods at 14% = 5.216. = 3.93 years
21-18 Capital budgeting methods, no income taxes. The table for the present value of annuities (Appendix A, Table 4) shows: 10 periods at 14% 5.216 1a. Net present value $28,000 (5.216) $146,048 $36,048
Which projects should the corporation undertake
Which projects should the corporation undertake Investment criteria 1. Investment into a new project generates a flow of cash and, therefore, a standard DPV rule should be the first choice under consideration.
CAPITAL BUDGETING. Definition. Time Value of Money [TVM] TVM is the reward for postponement of consumption of money.
11 CAPITAL BUDGETING 1LO 1: Time Value of Money Definition Time Value of Money [TVM] TVM is the reward for postponement of consumption of money. Principle Rs.100 received today is greater than Rs. 100
11.3 BREAK-EVEN ANALYSIS. Fixed and Variable Costs
385 356 PART FOUR Capital Budgeting a large number of NPV estimates that we summarize by calculating the average value and some measure of how spread out the different possibilities are. For example, it
SAMPLE FACT EXAM (You must score 70% to successfully clear FACT)
SAMPLE FACT EXAM (You must score 70% to successfully clear FACT) 1. What is the present value (PV) of $100,000 received five years from now, assuming the interest rate is 8% per year? a. $600,000.00 b.
Discount rates for project appraisal
Discount rates for project appraisal We know that we have to discount cash flows in order to value projects We can identify the cash flows BUT What discount rate should we use? 1 The Discount Rate and
1.1 Introduction. Chapter 1: Feasibility Studies: An Overview
Chapter 1: Introduction 1.1 Introduction Every long term decision the firm makes is a capital budgeting decision whenever it changes the company s cash flows. Consider launching a new product. This involves
Chapter 22 Real Options
Chapter 22 Real Options Multiple Choice Questions 1. The following are the main types of real options: (I) The option to expand if the immediate investment project succeeds (II) The option to wait (and
$1,300 + 1,500 + 1,900 = $4,700. in cash flows. The project still needs to create another: $5,500 4,700 = $800
1. To calculate the payback period, we need to find the time that the project has recovered its initial investment. After three years, the project has created: $1,300 + 1,500 + 1,900 = $4,700 in cash flows.
Chapter 011 Project Analysis and Evaluation
Multiple Choice Questions 1. Forecasting risk is defined as the: a. possibility that some proposed projects will be rejected. b. process of estimating future cash flows relative to a project. C. possibility
Chapter 6. 1. Your firm is considering two investment projects with the following patterns of expected future net aftertax cash flows:
Chapter 6 1. Your firm is considering two investment projects with the following patterns of expected future net aftertax cash flows: Year Project A Project B 1 $1 million $5 million 2 2 million 4 million
CHAPTER 6 NET PRESENT VALUE AND OTHER INVESTMENT CRITERIA
CHAPTER 6 NET PRESENT VALUE AND OTHER INVESTMENT CRITERIA Answers to Concepts Review and Critical Thinking Questions 1. Assuming conventional cash flows, a payback period less than the project s life means
Net Present Value and Capital Budgeting. What to Discount
Net Present Value and Capital Budgeting (Text reference: Chapter 7) Topics what to discount the CCA system total project cash flow vs. tax shield approach detailed CCA calculations and examples project
How To Calculate Discounted Cash Flow
Chapter 1 The Overall Process Capital Expenditures Whenever we make an expenditure that generates a cash flow benefit for more than one year, this is a capital expenditure. Examples include the purchase
Project Management Seminars. Financial Management of Projects
Project Management Seminars Financial Management of Projects.inproject managementandsystems engineering, is a deliverable-oriented decomposition of a project into smaller components. (source: Wikipedia)
Part 7. Capital Budgeting
Part 7. Capital Budgeting What is Capital Budgeting? Nancy Garcia and Digital Solutions Digital Solutions, a software development house, is considering a number of new projects, including a joint venture
Chapter 14 Demonstration Problem Solutions Page 1
Chapter 14 Demonstration Problem Solutions Page 1 Demo 14-1 ANSWER a. First, we need to calculate the tax bill: Year (A) (B) (CA-B) (D.4C) Cash Flow Depreciation Taxable Inc Tx Rate Taxes 1 $ 100,000 -
( ) ( )( ) ( ) 2 ( ) 3. n n = 100 000 1+ 0.10 = 100 000 1.331 = 133100
Mariusz Próchniak Chair of Economics II Warsaw School of Economics CAPITAL BUDGETING Managerial Economics 1 2 1 Future value (FV) r annual interest rate B the amount of money held today Interest is compounded
MODULE 2. Capital Budgeting
MODULE 2 Capital Budgeting Capital Budgeting is a project selection exercise performed by the business enterprise. Capital budgeting uses the concept of present value to select the projects. Capital budgeting
EXAM 1 REVIEW QUESTIONS
EXAM 1 REVIEW QUESTIONS 1) Free cash flow. Consider the following financial statements for United Technologies Corp. What is UT's free cash flow (total cash flow from assets) for 2001? UNITED TECHNOLOGIES:
Why Use Net Present Value? The Payback Period Method The Discounted Payback Period Method The Average Accounting Return Method The Internal Rate of
1 Why Use Net Present Value? The Payback Period Method The Discounted Payback Period Method The Average Accounting Return Method The Internal Rate of Return Problems with the IRR Approach The Profitability
Chapter 10 Richard A. Brealey Stewart C. Myers Slides by Matthew Will McGraw Hill/Irwin
Principles of Corporate Finance Chapter 10 A Project Is Not a Black Box Seventh Edition Richard A. Brealey Stewart C. Myers Slides by Matthew Will - 2 Topics Covered Sensitivity Analysis Break Even Analysis
Chapter 9 Cash Flow and Capital Budgeting
Chapter 9 Cash Flow and Capital Budgeting MULTIPLE CHOICE 1. Gamma Electronics is considering the purchase of testing equipment that will cost $500,000. The equipment has a 5-year lifetime with no salvage
The Time Value of Money
The Time Value of Money Future Value - Amount to which an investment will grow after earning interest. Compound Interest - Interest earned on interest. Simple Interest - Interest earned only on the original
Capital Budgeting Cash Flows
Learning Objectives 1-1 Capital Budgeting Cash Flows 1 Corporate Financial Management 3e Emery Finnerty Stowe 1-2 Calculate incremental after-tax cash flows for a capital budgeting project. Explain the
Corporate Finance: Final Exam
Corporate Finance: Final Exam Answer all questions and show necessary work. Please be brief. This is an open books, open notes exam. For partial credit, when discounting, please show the discount rate
Chapter 7. . 1. component of the convertible can be estimated as 1100-796.15 = 303.85.
Chapter 7 7-1 Income bonds do share some characteristics with preferred stock. The primary difference is that interest paid on income bonds is tax deductible while preferred dividends are not. Income bondholders
Week- 1: Solutions to HW Problems
Week- 1: Solutions to HW Problems 10-1 a. Payback A (cash flows in thousands): Annual Period Cash Flows Cumulative 0 ($5,000) ($5,000) 1 5,000 (0,000) 10,000 (10,000) 3 15,000 5,000 4 0,000 5,000 Payback
Chapter 10. What is capital budgeting? Topics. The Basics of Capital Budgeting: Evaluating Cash Flows
Chapter 10 The Basics of Capital Budgeting: Evaluating Cash Flows 1 Topics Overview and vocabulary Methods NPV IRR, MIRR Profitability Index Payback, discounted payback Unequal lives Economic life 2 What
Chapter 5 Capital Budgeting
Chapter 5 Capital Budgeting Road Map Part A Introduction to finance. Part B Valuation of assets, given discount rates. Fixed-Income securities. Common stocks. Real assets (capital budgeting). Part C Determination
Course 3: Capital Budgeting Analysis
Excellence in Financial Management Course 3: Capital Budgeting Analysis Prepared by: Matt H. Evans, CPA, CMA, CFM This course provides a concise overview of capital budgeting analysis. This course is recommended
Capital Budgeting OVERVIEW
WSG12 7/7/03 4:25 PM Page 191 12 Capital Budgeting OVERVIEW This chapter concentrates on the long-term, strategic considerations and focuses primarily on the firm s investment opportunities. The discussions
NPV calculation. Academic Resource Center
NPV calculation Academic Resource Center 1 NPV calculation PV calculation a. Constant Annuity b. Growth Annuity c. Constant Perpetuity d. Growth Perpetuity NPV calculation a. Cash flow happens at year
Spring 2012. True/False Indicate whether the statement is true or false.
Corporation Finance Spring 2012 Sample Exam 2B True/False Indicate whether the statement is true or false. 1. The total return on a share of stock refers to the dividend yield less any commissions paid
(Relevant to AAT Examination Paper 4 Business Economics and Financial Mathematics)
Capital Budgeting: Net Present Value vs Internal Rate of Return (Relevant to AAT Examination Paper 4 Business Economics and Financial Mathematics) Y O Lam Capital budgeting assists decision makers in a
CHAPTER 7: NPV AND CAPITAL BUDGETING
CHAPTER 7: NPV AND CAPITAL BUDGETING I. Introduction Assigned problems are 3, 7, 34, 36, and 41. Read Appendix A. The key to analyzing a new project is to think incrementally. We calculate the incremental
Answers to Warm-Up Exercises
Answers to Warm-Up Exercises E10-1. Answer: E10-2. Answer: Payback period The payback period for Project Hydrogen is 4.29 years. The payback period for Project Helium is 5.75 years. Both projects are acceptable
] (3.3) ] (1 + r)t (3.4)
Present value = future value after t periods (3.1) (1 + r) t PV of perpetuity = C = cash payment (3.2) r interest rate Present value of t-year annuity = C [ 1 1 ] (3.3) r r(1 + r) t Future value of annuity
Capital Budgeting Further Considerations
Capital Budgeting Further Considerations For 9.220, Term 1, 2002/03 02_Lecture10.ppt Lecture Outline Introduction The input for evaluating projects relevant cash flows Inflation: real vs. nominal analysis
WHAT IS CAPITAL BUDGETING?
WHAT IS CAPITAL BUDGETING? Capital budgeting is a required managerial tool. One duty of a financial manager is to choose investments with satisfactory cash flows and rates of return. Therefore, a financial
Chapter 7 Fundamentals of Capital Budgeting
Chapter 7 Fundamentals of Capital Budgeting 7-1. Pisa Pizza, a seller of frozen pizza, is considering introducing a healthier version of its pizza that will be low in cholesterol and contain no trans fats.
Oklahoma State University Spears School of Business. Capital Investments
Oklahoma State University Spears School of Business Capital Investments Slide 2 Incremental Cash Flows Cash flows matter not accounting earnings. Sunk costs do not matter. Incremental cash flows matter.
Measuring Investment Returns
Measuring Investment Returns Aswath Damodaran Stern School of Business Aswath Damodaran 156 First Principles Invest in projects that yield a return greater than the minimum acceptable hurdle rate. The
HO-23: METHODS OF INVESTMENT APPRAISAL
HO-23: METHODS OF INVESTMENT APPRAISAL After completing this exercise you will be able to: Calculate and compare the different returns on an investment using the ROI, NPV, IRR functions. Investments: Discounting,
How To Calculate A Profit From A Machine Shop
CHAPTER 21 CAPITAL BUDGETING AND COST ANALYSIS 21-20 Capital budgeting with uneven cash flows, no income taxes. 1. Present value of savings in cash operating costs: $10,000 0.862 $ 8,620 8,000 0.743 5,944
Chapter 11 Cash Flow Estimation and Risk Analysis
Chapter 11 Cash Flow Estimation and Risk Analysis ANSWERS TO END-OF-CHAPTER QUESTIONS 11-1 a. Cash flow, which is the relevant financial variable, represents the actual flow of cash. Accounting income,
EMBA in Management & Finance. Corporate Finance. Eric Jondeau
EMBA in Management & Finance Corporate Finance EMBA in Management & Finance Lecture 5: Capital Budgeting For the Levered Firm Prospectus Recall that there are three questions in corporate finance. The
Problems on Time value of money January 22, 2015
Investment Planning Problems on Time value of money January 22, 2015 Vandana Srivastava SENSEX closing value on Tuesday: closing value on Wednesday: opening value on Thursday: Top news of any financial
Net Present Value (NPV)
Investment Criteria 208 Net Present Value (NPV) What: NPV is a measure of how much value is created or added today by undertaking an investment (the difference between the investment s market value and
Things to Absorb, Read, Do
McGraw-Hill/Irwin Copyright 2012 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. Things to Absorb, Read, Do Need to Absorb - There are three important areas in this chapter; decision trees, sensitivity/
Finance 3130 Corporate Finiance Sample Final Exam Spring 2012
Finance 3130 Corporate Finiance Sample Final Exam Spring 2012 True/False Indicate whether the statement is true or falsewith A for true and B for false. 1. Interest paid by a corporation is a tax deduction
Chapter 17 Option Pricing with Applications to Real Options ANSWERS TO SELECTED END-OF-CHAPTER QUESTIONS
Chapter 17 Option Pricing with Applications to Real Options ANSWERS TO SELECTED END-OF-CHAPTER QUESTIONS 17-1 a. An option is a contract which gives its holder the right to buy or sell an asset at some
Chapter 14 Notes Page 1
Chapter 14 Notes Page 1 Capital Budgeting This chapter examines various tools used to evaluate potential projects or investments. Accountants advocate the use of the Simple Rate of Return, which is based
Finance 445 Practice Exam Chapters 1, 2, 5, and part of Chapter 6. Part One. Multiple Choice Questions.
Finance 445 Practice Exam Chapters 1, 2, 5, and part of Chapter 6 Part One. Multiple Choice Questions. 1. Similar to the example given in class, assume that a corporation has $500 of cash revenue and $300
CHAPTER 12 RISK, COST OF CAPITAL, AND CAPITAL BUDGETING
CHAPTER 12 RISK, COST OF CAPITAL, AND CAPITAL BUDGETING Answers to Concepts Review and Critical Thinking Questions 1. No. The cost of capital depends on the risk of the project, not the source of the money.
Chapter 20 Lease Financing ANSWERS TO END-OF-CHAPTER QUESTIONS
Chapter 20 Lease Financing ANSWERS TO END-OF-CHAPTER QUESTIONS 20-1 a. The lessee is the party leasing the property. The party receiving the payments from the lease (that is, the owner of the property)
Cash Flow, Taxes, and Project Evaluation. Remember Income versus Cashflow
Cash Flow, Taxes, and Project Evaluation Of the four steps in calculating NPV, the most difficult is the first: Forecasting cash flows. We now focus on this problem, with special attention to What is cash
Copyright 2009 Pearson Education Canada
The consequence of failing to adjust the discount rate for the risk implicit in projects is that the firm will accept high-risk projects, which usually have higher IRR due to their high-risk nature, and
Capital Budgeting Tools. Chapter 11. Capital Budgeting. Types of Capital Budgeting Projects. The Basics of Capital Budgeting: Evaluating Cash Flows
Capital Budgeting Tools () Payback Period (a) Discounted Payback Period Chapter The Basics of Capital Budgeting: Evaluating s () Net Present Value (NPV) (a) Profitability Index (PI) () Internal Rate of
Types of Leases. Lease Financing
Lease Financing Types of leases Tax treatment of leases Effects on financial statements Lessee s analysis Lessor s analysis Other issues in lease analysis Who are the two parties to a lease transaction?
Capital Budgeting Formula
apital Budgeting Formula Not in the book. Wei s summary If salvage value S is less than U n : If salvage value S is greater than U n : Note: IF t : incremental cash flows (could be negative) )(NW): change
The Marginal Cost of Capital and the Optimal Capital Budget
WEB EXTENSION12B The Marginal Cost of Capital and the Optimal Capital Budget If the capital budget is so large that a company must issue new equity, then the cost of capital for the company increases.
(Relevant to AAT Examination Paper 4: Business Economics and Financial Mathematics)
Decision making made easy (Relevant to AAT Examination Paper 4: Business Economics and Financial Mathematics) YO Lam, SCOPE, City University of Hong Kong In the competitive world of business, we need to
Understanding Financial Management: A Practical Guide Guideline Answers to the Concept Check Questions
Understanding Financial Management: A Practical Guide Guideline Answers to the Concept Check Questions Chapter 8 Capital Budgeting Concept Check 8.1 1. What is the difference between independent and mutually
Chapter 8: Fundamentals of Capital Budgeting
Chapter 8: Fundamentals of Capital Budgeting-1 Chapter 8: Fundamentals of Capital Budgeting Big Picture: To value a project, we must first estimate its cash flows. Note: most managers estimate a project
Chapter 8 Capital Budgeting Process and Techniques
Chapter 8 Capital Budgeting Process and Techniques MULTIPLE CHOICE 1. The capital budgeting process involves a. identifying potential investments b. analyzing the set of investment opportunities, and identifying
Planning for Capital Investments
12-1 Planning for Capital Investments Managerial Accounting Fifth Edition Weygandt Kimmel Kieso 12-2 study objectives 1. Discuss capital budgeting evaluation, and explain inputs used in capital budgeting.
What is the net present value of the project (to the nearest thousand dollars)?
corporate finance, final exam practice questions, NPV *Question 1.1: Net Present Value A firm invests $200,000 in machinery that yields net after-tax cash flows of $90,000 at the end of each of the next
CHAPTER 14: WORKING CAPITAL: INVESTMENT DECISIONS AND FINANCING
CHAPTER 14: WORKING CAPITAL: INVESTMENT DECISIONS AND FINANCING 14-1 a. Current Ratio = Current Assets / Current Liabilities = 91,524/50,596 = 1.81 b. Quick Ratio = (Cash + Marketable Securities)/Current
CHAPTER 9 NET PRESENT VALUE AND OTHER INVESTMENT CRITERIA
CHAPTER 9 NET PRESENT VALUE AND OTHER INVESTMENT CRITERIA Answers to Concepts Review and Critical Thinking Questions 1. A payback period less than the project s life means that the NPV is positive for
ACTSC 371 Final Exam Review
ACTSC 371 Final Exam Review L A TEXer: W Kong Chapters 1 to 2 The 3 steps of Corporate Finance: (1) In what long-lived assets should the firm invest? (2) How can the firm raise cash for required capital
How To Calculate The Value Of A Project
Chapter 02 How to Calculate Present Values Multiple Choice Questions 1. The present value of $100 expected in two years from today at a discount rate of 6% is: A. $116.64 B. $108.00 C. $100.00 D. $89.00
Investment Appraisal
Investment Appraisal Article relevant to F1 Business Mathematics and Quantitative Methods Author: Pat McGillion, current Examiner. Questions 1 and 6 often relate to Investment Appraisal, which is underpinned
