1 Slide Accounting for decision making 1.3 Cost-volume volume-profit relationships
2 Slide Introduction This chapter examines one of the most basic planning tools available to managers: cost volume profit (CVP) analysis. Cost volume volume profit analysis examines the behaviour of total revenues, total costs and operating profit as changes occur in the output level, selling price, variable costs per unit or fixed costs.
3 Slide Learning Objectives 1 Distinguish between the general case and a special case of CVP 2 Explain the relationship between operating profit and net profit 3 Describe the assumptions underlying CVP 4 Demonstrate three methods for determining the breakeven point and target operating profit
4 Slide Learning Objectives (Continued) 5 Explain how sensitivity analysis can help managers cope with uncertainty
5 Slide Learning Objective 1 Distinguish between the general case and a special case of CVP
6 Slide General case versus special case of CVP Using a general case of profit planning, we realise that a business has many cost drivers and revenue streams that are fundamental to its profitability. In CVP analysis, we assume a much more simple model, where there are restrictions on these setting, as outlined in the following slides.
7 Slide Cost Volume Volume Profit Assumptions and Terminology 1 Changes in the level of revenues and costs arise only because of changes in the number of product (or service) units produced and sold. 2 Total costs can be divided into a fixed component and a component that is variable with respect to the level of output.
8 Slide Cost Volume Volume Profit Assumptions and Terminology (Continued) 3 When graphed, the behaviour of total revenues and total costs is linear (straight-line) in relation to output units within the relevant range (and time period). 4 The unit selling price, unit variable costs and fixed costs are known and constant.
9 Slide Cost Volume Volume Profit Assumptions and Terminology (Continued) 5 The analysis either covers a single product or assumes that the sales mix when multiple products are sold will remain constant as the level of total units sold changes. 6 All revenues and costs can be added and compared without taking into account the time value of money.
10 Slide Cost Volume Volume Profit Assumptions and Terminology (Continued) Operating profit = Total revenues Total Cost Net Profit = Operating profit + Non-operating operating revenues (such as interest revenue) Non-operating operating costs (such as interest cost) Profit taxes
11 Slide Learning Objective 2 Explain the relationship between operating profit and net profit
12 Slide Operating Profit versus Net Profit Operating profit statement emphasises operating profit (contribution margin). Revenues Variable cost of goods sold Variable operating costs Fixed operating costs = Operating profit Operating profit Taxes = Net profit
13 Slide Operating Profit versus Net Profit (Continued) Financial accounting profit statement emphasises operating profit. Revenues Cost of goods sold = Gross Profit Gross Profit Operating costs = Operating Profit
14 Slide Learning Objective 3 Describe the assumptions underlying CVP
15 Slide Assumptions of CVP Analysis Assume that the shop Dresses by Mary can purchase dresses for 32 from a local factory; other variable costs amount to 10 per dress. Because she plans to sell these dresses overseas, the local factory allows Mary to return all unsold dresses and receive a full 32 refund per dress within one year.
16 Slide Assumptions of CVP Analysis (Continued) Mary can use CVP analysis to examine changes in operating profit as a result of selling different quantities of dresses. Assume that the average selling price per dress is 70 and total fixed costs amount to 84,000. How much revenue will she receive if she sells 2,500 dresses?
17 Slide Assumptions of CVP Analysis (Continued) 2, = 175,000 How much variable costs will she incur? 2, = 105,000 Would she show an operating profit or an operating loss? An operating loss 175, ,000 84,000 = ( 14,000)
18 Slide Assumptions of CVP Analysis (Continued) The only numbers that change are total revenues and total variable cost. Total revenues total variable costs = Contribution margin Contribution margin per unit = selling price variable cost per unit What is Mary s s contribution margin per unit?
19 Slide Assumptions of CVP Analysis (Continued) = 28 contribution margin per unit What is the total contribution margin when 2,500 dresses are sold? 2, = 70,000
20 Slide Assumptions of CVP Analysis (Continued) Contribution margin percentage (contribution margin ratio) is the contribution margin per unit divided by the selling price. What is Mary s s contribution margin percentage? = 40%
21 Slide Assumptions of CVP Analysis (Continued) If Mary sells 3,000 dresses, revenues will be 210,000 and contribution margin would equal 40% 210,000 = 84,000.
22 Slide Learning Objective 4 Demonstrate three methods for determining the breakeven point and target operating profit
23 Slide Breakeven Point Breakeven point is the sales level at which operating profit is zero. At the breakeven point, sales minus variable expenses equals fixed expenses. Total revenues = Total costs
24 Slide Abbreviations USP = Unit selling price UVC = Unit variable costs UCM = Unit contribution margin CM% = Contribution margin percentage FC = Fixed costs
25 Slide Abbreviations (Continued) Q = Quantity of output (units sold or manufactured) OP = Operating profit TOP = Target operating profit TNP = Target net profit
26 Slide Methods for Determining Breakeven Point Breakeven can be computed by using either the equation method, the contribution margin method or the graph method.
27 Slide Equation Method With the equation approach, breakeven sales in units is calculated as follows: (Unit sales price Units sold) (Variable unit cost units sold) Fixed expenses = Operating profit
28 Slide Equation Method (Continued) Using the equation approach, compute the breakeven for Dresses by Mary. 70Q 42Q 84,000 = 0 28Q = 84,000 Q = 84, Q = 3,000 units
29 Slide Contribution Margin Method With the contribution margin method, breakeven is calculated by using the following relationship: (USP UVC) Q = FC + OP UCM Q = FC + OP Q = FC + OP UCM 84, = 3,000 units
30 Slide Contribution Margin Method (Continued) Using the contribution margin percentage, what is the breakeven point for Dresses by Mary? 84,000 40% = 210,000
31 Slide Graph Method In this method, we plot a line for total revenues and total costs. The breakeven point is the point at which the total revenue line intersects the total cost line. The area between the two lines to the right of the breakeven point is the operating profit area.
32 Slide Graph Method Dresses by Mary (000) 245 Revenue 231 Breakeven Total expenses ,000 3,500 Units
33 Slide Target Operating Profit Target operating profit can be determined by using any of three methods: 1 The equation method 2 The contribution margin method 3 The graph method.
34 Slide Target Operating Profit (Continued) Insert the target operating profit in the formula and solve for target sales either in pounds or units. (Fixed costs + Target operating profit) divided either by Contribution margin percentage or Contribution margin per unit.
35 Slide Target Operating Profit (Continued) Assume that Mary wants to have an operating profit of 14,000. How many dresses must she sell? ( 84, ,000) 28 = 3,500 What sales are needed to achieve this profit? ( 84, ,000) 40% = 245,000
36 Slide Learning Objective 5 Explain how sensitivity analysis can help managers cope with uncertainty
37 Slide Using CVP Analysis Suppose the management of Dresses by Mary anticipates selling 3,200 dresses. Management is considering an advertising campaign that would cost 10,000. It is anticipated that the advertising will increase sales to 4,000 dresses. Should Mary advertise?
38 Slide Using CVP Analysis (Continued) 3,200 dresses sold with no advertising: Contribution margin 89,600 Fixed costs 84,000 Operating profit 5,600 4,000 dresses sold with advertising: Contribution margin 112,000 Fixed costs 94,000 Operating profit 18,000
39 Slide Using CVP Analysis (Continued) Mary should advertise. Operating profit increases by 12,400. The 10,000 increase in fixed costs is offset by the 22,400 increase in the contribution margin.
40 Slide Using CVP Analysis (Continued) Instead of advertising, management is considering reducing the selling price to 61 per dress. It is anticipated that this will increase sales to 4,500 dresses. Should Mary decrease the selling price per dress to 61?
41 Slide Using CVP Analysis (Continued) 3,200 dresses sold with no change in the selling price: Operating profit 5,600 4,500 dresses sold at a reduced selling price: Contribution margin: (4,500 19) 85,500 Fixed costs 84,000 Operating profit 1,500
42 Slide Using CVP Analysis (Continued) The selling price should not be reduced to 61. Operating profit decreases from 5,600 to 1,500.
43 Slide Sensitivity Analysis and Uncertainty Sensitivity analysis is a what if technique that examines how a result will change if the original predicted data are not achieved or if an underlying assumption changes.
44 Slide Sensitivity Analysis and Uncertainty (Continued) Assume that Dresses by Mary can sell 4,000 dresses. Fixed costs are 84,000. Contribution margin ratio is 40%. At the present time Dresses by Mary cannot handle more than 3,500 dresses.
45 Slide Sensitivity Analysis and Uncertainty (Continued) To satisfy a demand for 4,000 dresses, management must acquire additional space for 6,000. Should the additional space be acquired?
46 Slide Sensitivity Analysis and Uncertainty (Continued) Revenues at breakeven with existing space are 84, = 210,000. Revenues at breakeven with additional space are 90, = 225,000.
47 Slide Sensitivity Analysis and Uncertainty (Continued) Operating profit at 245,000 revenues with existing space = ( 245, ) 84,000 = 14,000. (3,500 dresses 28) 84,000 = 14,000.
48 Slide Sensitivity Analysis and Uncertainty (Continued) Operating profit at 280,000 revenues with additional space = ( 280, ) 90,000 = 22,000. (4,000 dresses 28 contribution margin) 90,000 = 22,000.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Cost-Volume-Profit Assumptions and Terminology 1 Changes in the level of revenues and costs arise only because of changes in the number of product (or service) units produced
C 6 - ACRONYMS notesc6.doc Instructor s Supplemental Information ACRONYMS (ABBREVIATIONS) FOR USE WITH MANAGERIAL ACCOUNTING RELATING TO COST-VOLUME-PROFIT ANALYSIS. CM Contribution Margin in total dollars
01 technical cost-volumeprofit relevant to acca qualification paper F5 In any business, or, indeed, in life in general, hindsight is a beautiful thing. If only we could look into a crystal ball and find
Part Five Cost Volume Profit Analysis COST VOLUME PROFIT ANALYSIS Study of the effects of changes of costs and volume on a company s profits A critical factor in management decisions Important in profit
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis is used to determine how changes in costs and volume affect a company's operating income and net income. In performing this analysis, there
Chapter 18 Identify how changes in volume affect Total variable change in direct proportion to changes in the volume of activity Unit variable cost remains constant Units produced 3 5 Total direct materials
Chapter 6 Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships 6-2 LEARNING OBJECTIVES After studying this chapter, you should be able to: 1. Explain how changes in activity affect contribution margin. 2. Compute the contribution
Assumptions of CVP Analysis Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Expenses can be classified as either variable or fixed. CVP relationships are linear over a wide range of production and sales. Sales prices, unit
Accounting Building Business Skills Paul D. Kimmel Chapter Fourteen: Cost-volume-profit Relationships PowerPoint presentation by Kate Wynn-Williams University of Otago, Dunedin 2003 John Wiley & Sons Australia,
TM 5-1 COST-VOLUME-PROFIT RELATIONSHIPS Cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis is concerned with the effects on net operating income of: Selling prices. Sales volume. Unit variable costs. Total fixed costs.
HOSP 2110 (Management Acct) Learning Centre Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis The basic principles of CVP analysis were covered in business math. CVP analysis can be done both graphically, through plotting the
Accounting 610 2C Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Page 1 I. OVERVIEW A. The managerial accountant uses analytical tools to advise line managers in decision making functions. C-V-P (CVP) analysis provides
Study Unit 8 CVP Analysis and Marginal Analysis SU- 8.1 Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis - Theory CVP = Break-even analysis Allows us to analyze the relationship between revenue and fixed and variable
SOLUTIONS TO EXERCISES EXERCISE 3-1 (20 minutes) 1. Fixed costs B E point in units = Contribution margin per unit $180,000 $180,000 = = = 7,500 units $40 - $16 $24 B E point in sales dollars = Fixed costs
MANAGERIAL ACCOUNTING 7e Al L. Hartgraves Wayne J. Morse Learning Objective 1 CHAPTER 3 Cost Volume Profit Analysis and Planning Identify the uses and limitations of traditional cost volume profit analysis.
CHAPTER II LITE RATURE STUDY 2.1. Cost Terminology Based on Charles T.Horngren (2009: 53), cost is a resource sacrificed or forgone to achieve a specific objective. A cost is usually measured as the monetary
Chapter 6 Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Solutions to Questions 6-1 The contribution margin (CM) ratio is the ratio of the total contribution margin to total sales revenue. It can be used in a variety
CHAPTER 3 COST-VOLUME-PROFIT ANALYSIS NOTATION USED IN CHAPTER 3 SOLUTIONS SP: Selling price VCU: Variable cost per unit CMU: Contribution margin per unit FC: Fixed costs TOI: Target operating income 3-1
Cost-Volume-Profit analysis (Relevant to AAT Examination Paper 3 Management Accounting) Li Tak Ming, Andy, Deputy Head, Department of Business Administration, Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education
Chapter 6-1 Chapter 6 Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships McGraw-Hill /Irwin The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2007 Basics of Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Contribution Margin (CM) is the amount remaining from
1. Introduction The cost volume profit (CVP) analysis helps management in finding out the relationship of costs and revenues to profit. Cost depends on various factors like Volume of production Product
Section 1.5: Linear Models An asset is an item owned that has value. Linear Depreciation refers to the amount of decrease in the book value of an asset. The purchase price, also known as original cost,
Summary Chapter Five Cost Volume Relations & Break Even Analysis 1. Introduction : The main aim of an undertaking is to earn profit. The cost volume profit (CVP) analysis helps management in finding out
Chapter 4 Solutions Question 4.1 A) Explain the following The term marginal cost refers to the additional costs incurred in providing a unit of product or service. The term contribution refers to the amount
Managerial Accounting Prof. Dr. Vardaraj Bapat Department of School of Management Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay Lecture - 26 Cost Volume Profit Analysis Dear participations in our early session,
Chapter 5 Break-even analysis (CVP analysis) 1 5.1 Introduction Cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis looks at how profit changes when there are changes in variable costs, sales price, fixed costs and quantity.
Breakeven Analysis Variable Vary directly in proportion to activity: Example: if sales increase by 5%, then the Variable will increase by 5% Remain the same, regardless of the activity level Mixed Combines
MANAGEMENT ACCOUNTING Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Zofia Krokosz-Krynke, Ph.D., MBA email@example.com Wroclaw University of Technology, Building B4 Room 521 http://www.ioz.pwr.edu.pl/pracownicy/krokosz/
Quiz Chapter 7 - Solution 1. In an income statement prepared as an internal report using the variable costing method, variable selling and administrative expenses would: A) not be used. B) be treated the
COST DATA FOR SHORT-RUN TACTICAL DECISION MAKING To decide on the acceptance or rejection of a special order from a supplier, marginal costing and contribution analysis should be applied. The company may
Quantitative Marketing Analysis CLASS 2 09.16.13 Revenue (sales) Income Statement Sections 5 Expenses Cost of goods sold (FC and VC) Operating expenses (generally FC) Profit 1 EXHIBIT 2.4: PRO FORMA INCOME
1. CVP analysis and purposes: Profit per unit of a product depends on its selling price and cost of sales. Total profit depends on sales volume which in turn depends inter alia on selling price. By and
12 CHAPTER Managerial Accounting and Cost-Volume-Profit When asked by a marketing or production manager what a certain item or activity costs, the management accountant who asks Why do you want to know?
CHAPTER 3 Overview Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis This chapter explains a planning tool called costvolume-profit (CVP) analysis. CVP analysis examines the behavior of total revenues, total costs, and operating
5-1 Cost-Volume-Profit Managerial Accounting Fifth Edition Weygandt Kimmel Kieso 5-2 study objectives 1. Distinguish between variable and fixed costs. 2. Explain the significance of the relevant range.
12 Marginal Costing BASIC CONCEPTS AND FORMULAE Basic Concepts 1. Absorption Costing: a method of costing by which all direct cost and applicable overheads are charged to products or cost centers for finding
Math 1314 Lesson 8 Business Applications: Break Even Analysis, Equilibrium Quantity/Price Three functions of importance in business are cost functions, revenue functions and profit functions. Cost functions
Managerial accounting Concept of Cost COST definition and classifications In general, cost means the amount of expenditure (actual or notional) incurred on, or attributable to a given thing. However, the
Cost volume profit analysis Shown below is a typical cost volume profit chart: Required: (a) Explain to a colleague who is not an accountant the reasons for the change in result on this cost volume profit
BREAKEVEN ANALYSIS INTRODUCTION Break-even even analysis is a technique widely used by production management and management accountants. Ir. Haery Sihombing/IP Pensyarah Pelawat Fakulti Kejuruteraan Pembuatan
Topic 4: Cost Volume Profit analysis Ana Mª Arias Alvarez University of Oviedo Department of Accounting firstname.lastname@example.org School of Business Administration Course: Financial Statement Analysis and Management
Answers for Weekly Challenge 2 Challenge 1 (i) The key to calculating the breakeven point is to determine the contribution per unit. Contribution point = $120 ($22 + $36 + $14) = $48 Fixed overhead Breakeven
9 Break-Even Point and Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Objectives After completing this chapter, you should be able to answer the following questions: LO.1 LO.2 LO.3 LO.4 LO.5 LO.6 What is the break-even point
Variable Cost increases in direct proportion to Volume Fixed Costs do not change as Volume changes (in a relevant range). If we are in business and we are selling something our price is going to be larger
GCSE Business Studies Ratios For first teaching from September 2009 For first award in Summer 2011 Ratios At the end of this unit students should be able to: Interpret and analyse final accounts and balance
Chapter 22 Helena Company reports the following total costs at two levels of production. 10,000 Units 20,000 Units Direct materials $20,000 $40,000 Maintenance 8,000 10,000 Direct labor 17,000 34,000 Indirect
3.3 Applications of Linear Functions A function f is a linear function if The graph of a linear function is a line with slope m and y-intercept b. The rate of change of a linear function is the slope m.
2.0 Chapter Introduction In this chapter, you will learn to use cost-volume-profit analysis. Assumptions. When you acquire supplies or services, you normally expect to pay a smaller price per unit as the
Chapter 25 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Questions 1. Cost-volume-profit analysis is used to accomplish the first step in the planning phase for a business, which involves predicting the volume of activity,
Break-even analysis On page 256 of It s the Business textbook, the authors refer to an alternative approach to drawing a break-even chart. In order to survive businesses must at least break even, which
Profit maximization and Cost minimization are fundamental concepts in Business and Economic Theory. This handout is formatted to explain the process of understanding, creating, and interpreting cost-revenue-profit
CHAPTER 22 Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships ASSIGNMENT CLASSIFICATION TABLE Study Objectives Questions Brief Exercises Exercises A Problems B Problems * 1. Distinguish between variable and fixed costs.
PRINCIPLES OF MANAGERIAL ACCOUNTING COURSE DESCRIPTION: Prerequisites: ACC 120 Corequisites: None This course includes a greater emphasis on managerial and cost accounting skills. Emphasis is on managerial
19 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Learning Objectives 1 Identify how changes in volume affect costs 2 Use CVP analysis to compute breakeven points 3 Use CVP analysis for profit planning, and graph the CVP
c Dr Oksana Shatalov, Summer 2012 1 1.3: Linear Functions and Mathematical Models 1.4: Intersection of Straight Lines Linear Function DEFINITION 1. A function, f, is a rule that assigns to each value of
Marginal Costing and absorption Costing Compared -29feb2012 Marginal Costing as a cost accounting system is significantly different from absorption costing. It is an alternative method of accounting for
UNIT2:- Session 1-3 :- Cost analysis for planning and decision making :- * Cost classification and approach :- A- Marginal costing :- - variable and fixed. - Variable cost is charged to the product unit.
Solutions to Homework Problems for CVP! Cost Volume Profit by David Albrecht Solution to Problem #26 CVP analysis using CM per unit. The controller of Stardust Furniture Company has determined the following
Professional Development Programme on Enriching Knowledge of the Business, Accounting and Financial Studies (BAFS) Curriculum Course 1 : Contemporary Perspectives on Accounting Unit 7 : Marginal and Absorption
Management Level Paper P2 Performance Management March 2014 examination Examiner s Answers Note: Some of the answers that follow are fuller and more comprehensive than would be expected from a well-prepared
Financial Analysis, Modeling, and Forecasting Techniques Course #5710B/QAS5710B Course Material TECHNIQUES OF FINANCIAL ANALYSIS, MODELING, AND FORECASTING Delta Publishing Company Copyright 2011 by DELTA
START YOUR OWN BUSINESS WORK BOOK 4 BUSINESS VIABILITY BUSINESS VIABILITY What costs do I need to consider and what s the difference between startup, fixed and variable costs? How much do I need to sell
Chapter 18 Cost Behavior and Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis QUESTIONS 1. A variable cost is one that varies proportionately with the volume of activity. For example, direct materials and direct labor (when
ECON 3310 Homework #4 - Solutions 1: Suppose the following indicates how many units of output y you can produce per hour with different levels of labor input (given your current factory capacity): PART
Chapter 2 Solutions Solution 2.1 a) Explain what you understand by the term 'cost' The term cost can be defined as 'the resources consumed or used up to achieve a certain objective'. This objective may
Pricing decisions and profitability analysis Solutions to Chapter 11 questions Question 11.24 (a) (b) Computation of full costs and budgeted cost-plus selling price EXE WYE Stores Maintenance Admin ( m)
Ray H. Garrison, Eric W. Noreen, Peter C. Brewer Managerial accounting Chapter One Managerial Accounting: An Overview 1 Chapter Two Managerial Accounting and Cost Concepts 24 Chapter Three Job-Order Costing
Linear Cost, Revenue and Profit Functions: If x is the number of units of a product manufactured or sold at a firm then, The cost function, C(x), is the total cost of manufacturing x units of the product.