Financial Accounting & Statement Analysis Workshop II Philippe Giraudon

Similar documents
Chapter 17: Financial Statement Analysis

Primary Market - Place where the sale of new stock first occurs. Initial Public Offering (IPO) - First offering of stock to the general public.

CMAC meeting Agenda paper 2 Debt vs Equity

CIS September 2012 Exam Diet. Examination Paper 2.2: Corporate Finance Equity Valuation and Analysis Fixed Income Valuation and Analysis

Financial Statement and Cash Flow Analysis

TIP If you do not understand something,

CHAPTER 3 LONG-TERM FINANCIAL PLANNING AND GROWTH

SOLUTIONS. Practice questions. Multiple Choice

MBA (3rd Sem) MBA/29/FM-302/T/ODD/13-14

Interpretation of Financial Statements

Often stock is split to lower the price per share so it is more accessible to investors. The stock split is not taxable.

Problem 1 Problem 2 Problem 3

Equity Analysis and Capital Structure. A New Venture s Perspective

CHAPTER 8 INTEREST RATES AND BOND VALUATION

Chapter 15: Debt Policy

EMBA in Management & Finance. Corporate Finance. Eric Jondeau

Relative valuation and Technical Analysis

A Basic Introduction to the Methodology Used to Determine a Discount Rate

Fundamentals Level Skills Module, Paper F9. Section A. Mean growth in earnings per share = 100 x [(35 7/30 0) 1/3 1] = 5 97% or 6%

Chapter 16 Debt-Equity Mix 1. Divido Corporation is an all-equity financed firm with a total market value of $100 million.

Chapter 8. Stock Valuation Process. Stock Valuation

Q. 20. X Ltd. is considering the proposal to acquire Y Ltd. and their financial information is given below :

140 SU 3: Profitability Analysis and Analytical Issues

Key Concepts and Skills Chapter 8 Stock Valuation

Review for Exam 3. Instructions: Please read carefully

Chapter 17 Does Debt Policy Matter?

Pascal Quiry July 2010

There was no evidence of time pressure in this exam and the majority of candidates were able to attempt all questions within the time limit.

BDI BioEnergy Intern Neutral. Activity level in Q3 might not support FY estimates

UNIVERSITY OF WAH Department of Management Sciences

CHAPTER 12 RISK, COST OF CAPITAL, AND CAPITAL BUDGETING

Option Pricing Applications in Valuation!

FSA Note: Summary of Financial Ratio Calculations

How To Calculate Financial Leverage Ratio

M5.1 Forecasting from Traded Price-to-Book Ratios: Cisco Systems Inc.

Income Measurement and Profitability Analysis

Leverage and Capital Structure

Stock Valuation: Gordon Growth Model. Week 2

Chapter 14 Capital Structure in a Perfect Market

MGT201 Solved MCQs(500) By

Fundamental Analysis Ratios

Level 6 Advanced Diploma in Finance (531) 126 Credits

How To Value A Stock

Understanding Financial Management: A Practical Guide Guideline Answers to the Concept Check Questions

Financial Analysis Project. Apple Inc.

Chapter. How Well Am I Doing? Financial Statement Analysis

CHAPTER 8 STOCK VALUATION

Chapter 11 The Cost of Capital ANSWERS TO SELECTED END-OF-CHAPTER QUESTIONS

IESE UNIVERSITY OF NAVARRA OPTIMAL CAPITAL STRUCTURE: PROBLEMS WITH THE HARVARD AND DAMODARAN APPROACHES. Pablo Fernández*

Forecasting and Valuation of Enterprise Cash Flows 1. Dan Gode and James Ohlson

GESTÃO FINANCEIRA II PROBLEM SET 2 - SOLUTIONS

Modified dividend payout ratio =

Business Valuations. Business Valuations. Shares Valuation Methods. Dividend valuation. method. P/E ratio. No growth. method.

Wrap-up of Financing. Katharina Lewellen Finance Theory II March 11, 2003

Excellence in Financial Management. Prepared by: Matt H. Evans, CPA, CMA, CFM

This document may not be used, reproduced or sold without the authorisation of the Groupe HEC

Financial Ratio Cheatsheet MyAccountingCourse.com PDF

Fundamentals Level Skills Module, Paper F9. Section A. Monetary value of return = $3 10 x = $3 71 Current share price = $3 71 $0 21 = $3 50

Financial ratio analysis

FINC 3630: Advanced Business Finance Additional Practice Problems

CHAPTER 5 HOW TO VALUE STOCKS AND BONDS

E. V. Bulyatkin CAPITAL STRUCTURE

Chapter component of the convertible can be estimated as =

CAPITAL STRUCTURE [Chapter 15 and Chapter 16]

HEALTHCARE FINANCE An Introduction to Accounting and Financial Management. Online Appendix A Financial Analysis Ratios

Equity Market Risk Premium Research Summary. 12 April 2016

Streetbites from the media perspective The efficient market hypothesis!

a. A U.S. Treasury bill is an example of a money market transaction. b. Long-term corporate bonds are examples of capital market transactions.

Use the table for the questions 18 and 19 below.

FNCE 301, Financial Management H Guy Williams, 2006

Chapter 17 Corporate Capital Structure Foundations (Sections 17.1 and Skim section 17.3.)

Discussion Board Articles Ratio Analysis

Guidance on Accounting Elements

Trade Date The date of the previous trading day. Recent Price is the closing price taken from this day.

STUDENT CAN HAVE ONE LETTER SIZE FORMULA SHEET PREPARED BY STUDENT HIM/HERSELF. FINANCIAL CALCULATOR/TI-83 OR THEIR EQUIVALENCES ARE ALLOWED.

Review for Exam 3. Instructions: Please read carefully

Features of Common Stock. The Stock Markets. Features of Preferred Stock. Valuation of Securities: Stocks

Unit Return computation with cash purchase vs. margin purchase

Multiple Choice Questions (45%)

Finance Master. Winter 2015/16. Jprof. Narly Dwarkasing University of Bonn, IFS

The Essence of Financial Management

KEY EQUATIONS APPENDIX CHAPTER 2 CHAPTER 3

Bond Valuation. What is a bond?

Achievement of Market-Friendly Initiatives and Results Program (AMIR 2.0 Program) Funded by U.S. Agency for International Development

] (3.3) ] (1 + r)t (3.4)

CIS September 2013 Exam Diet Examination Paper 2.2: Corporate Finance Equity Valuation and Analysis Fixed Income Valuation and Analysis Level 2

Paper F9. Financial Management. Specimen Exam applicable from December Fundamentals Level Skills Module

Chapters 3 and 13 Financial Statement and Cash Flow Analysis

Actuarial Society of India

You just paid $350,000 for a policy that will pay you and your heirs $12,000 a year forever. What rate of return are you earning on this policy?

Financial Statement Analysis!

Solutions to Chapter 4. Measuring Corporate Performance

Chapter 9. The Valuation of Common Stock. 1.The Expected Return (Copied from Unit02, slide 36)

CHAPTER 13 Capital Structure and Leverage

MM1 - The value of the firm is independent of its capital structure (the proportion of debt and equity used to finance the firm s operations).

Ratio Analysis Fixed Assets Fixed Assets + Net Working Capital =0.75 Fixed Assets

CHAPTER 18 Dividend and Other Payouts

Financial Planning for East Coast Yachts

INTERVIEWS - FINANCIAL MODELING

Transcription:

Financial Accounting & Statement Analysis Workshop II Philippe Giraudon

Below are the 2012 forecasts of companies A and B which operate in the same sector: P&L Statement ( m) Alpha Beta Revenues 1 230 1 170 Operating Income (EBIT) 62 75 Interests 21 3 Profit Before Tax (BPT) 41 72 Tax 16 29 Net result 25 43 ROE (%) 8.0% 8.0% Earning per share (USD) 10.0 10.0 Dividend per share (USD) 6.0 6.0 Number of shares (million) 2.5 4.3 Balance Sheet Alpha Beta Current assets 320 350 Other assets 120 180 Property, Plant 570 300 and Equipment Total assets 1 010 830 Short term debt 280 230 Long term debt 420 60 Shareholders 310 540 equity Total liabilities 1 010 830 1) Compare Alpha and Beta ROE, ROCE and leverage effects (in two ways), based on accounting values 2

1) Compare Alpha and Beta ROE, ROCE and leverage effects (in two ways), based on accounting values ( m) Alpha Beta EBIT 62 75 EBITx(1-IS) 62x(1-40%) = 37.2 75x(1-40%)=45 Capital Employed: WCR+Assets (320-280)+(120+570)=730 (350-230)+(180+300)=600 Invested Capital: Net fin debt+shs eq. 420+310 =730 60+540 =600 ROCE: EBITx(1-IS)/CE 37.2/730 = 5.10% 45/600 = 7.50% Leverage effect: ROE - ROCE 8% - 5.10% = 2.90% 8% - 7.50% = 0.50% Leverage effect: After tax cost of debt (21/420)x(1-40%) = 3% (3/60)x(1-40%) = 3% gearing: debt/shs eq. 420/310 = 1.35x 60/540 = 0.11x (ROCE - cost of debt after tax) x gearing (5.10%-3%)x1.35 = 2.90% (7.50%-3%)x0.11 = 0.5% Financial leverage Significant Very low 3

2) Compare Alpha and Beta break-even, assuming that variable costs account for c. 35% of sales for both companies (as they operate in the same sector) Break-even analysis is a measure of the margin sensitivity to a change in sales We can say that break-even sales level is such that margin on variable costs = fixed costs Fixed charges: - Alpha: Fixed charges = sales EBIT variable costs = 1,230 62 35% x 1,230 = 737.5 - Beta: Fixed charges = sales EBIT variable costs = 1,170 75 35% x 1,170 = 685.5 Break-even sales: - Alpha: 737,5 / (1-35%) = 1,135 Higher operating leverage - Beta: 685.5 / (1-35%) = 1,055 Check: EBIT = sales variable costs fixed charges - Alpha: 1,135 35% x 1,135 737.5 = 0 - Beta: 1,055 35% x 1,055 685.5 = 0 4

3) A Financial Analyst considers that that Alpha performance is to fluctuate more in the future. Considering they have similar ROE, EPS and DPS, do you share his opinion? Yes indeed, the following reasons can be given: - figures show that property, plant and equipment account for a larger % for Alpha the lower margin as a % of sales is Alpha s (5.04% vs. 6.41% for Beta) = Alpha has a higher operating leverage Alpha will thus have higher depreciation and other fixed costs, and, should its sales change, will have wider fluctuations in its operating profit - the balance sheets show that Alpha also has a higher % of long-term debt Alpha thus has larger interest payments and any change in its operating profit will result in wider fluctuations in its EPS = Alpha has a higher financial leverage cf. degree of financial leverage: EBIT/Pretax income (inverse of the interest burden) 1.51 for Alpha vs. 1.04 for Beta 5

4) The Financial Analyst concludes that Alpha theoretical share price will be lower taking into account the higher volatility of its results. Justify this assessment on the basis of Gordon-Shapiro Constant Growth Dividend Model According to the constant growth dividend discount model: Theoretical share price = Dividends per share. Required rate of return sustainable growth rate Also, sustainable growth rate = ROE x (1 payout ratio) Forecasts say that Alpha and Beta will have the same dividends per share, and the same ROE and payout ratios in the future However, Alpha has a higher operating leverage and financial leverage, so its beta and its required rate of return will be higher and its theoretical share price therefore lower 6

5) Beta management have set up a project aiming at increasing the company sustainable growth rate (= ROE x retention ratio) by reducing its pay-out ratio a) By using Gordon-Shapiro model, calculate Beta theoretical share price as of 01/01/12, assuming a required rate of return (cost of equity) of 10% According to the constant growth dividend discount model: Theoretical share price = Dividends per share. Required rate of return sustainable growth rate Beta sustainable growth rate = ROE x (1 payout ratio) = 8% x (1 6/10) = 3.2% Beta theoretical share price = 6 / (10% - 3.2%) = 88.24 b) What would be Beta theoretical share price if the dividend par share was 5 instead of 6, all other things being equal? Beta sustainable growth rate = ROE x (1 payout ratio) = 8% x (1 5/10) = 4.0% Beta theoretical share price = 6 / (10% - 4.0%) = 83.33 7

5) Beta management have set up a project aiming at increasing the company sustainable growth rate (= ROE x retention ratio) by reducing its pay-out ratio c) Comment the economic reason explaining the change in Beta theoretical share price as calculated in the 2 previous questions A lower dividend means a higher retention rate. As Beta ROE is 8.0%, which is lower than the required rate of return of 10%, this means that Beta has a negative net present value (NPV) on its investment (Beta is destroying value ) Even though Beta sustainable growth rate will be higher, if Beta increases its retention rate and uses the increase in retention for re-investment in its operations, Beta theoretical share price will decline as such an investment will bring a negative PV 8

6) Alpha projects a 100 million bond issue to buy its own shares, with a purchase price of 100 per share (current share price). Bond interest rate amounts to 5% a) Calculate Alpha ROE (Return on Equity) after the share buyback After the bond issuance, Alpha will have a higher interest burden of 5m ( 100m x5%) Alpha P&L Statement ( m) Before bond issue Revenues 1 230 1 230 Operating Income (EBIT) 62 62 Interests 21 26 Profit Before Tax (BPT) 41 35 Tax 16 14 Net result 25 22 Alpha will thus have a decreasing net income of 22m Alpha shareholders equity will decrease from 310m to 210m After bond issue Alpha ROE will thus increase to 22 / 210 = 10.5% (or even 22 / (210 3) = 10.6%) 9

6) Alpha projects a 100 million bond issue to buy its own shares b) Another financial analyst asserts that this share buyback will increase Beta shareholders wealth as Beta EPS (Earning per Share) will necessarily increase Provide 3 arguments supporting and contradicting this statement EPS will indeed increase with a decrease of 1 million shares (100 m/100) : from 10 to 21 / (2. -1) = 14: this is a pure accounting effect due to the positive leverage However, we have to look at the market effect of the stock repurchase: - in a Modigliani & Miller world with taxes, a higher leverage will benefit shareholders due to the interest tax shield; - however, ABC has already a high debt ratio: D/EV = 700/(700 + 2.5 x 100) = 73.68%; assuming no market effect, after the stock repurchase, D/EV = (700+100)/950 = 84.21% Levels probably beyond the optimal debt level and the stock repurchase will probably induce a decrease in the shareholders' wealth due to bankruptcy & agency costs; - investors may interpret this repurchase as a sign that the company did not have any promising investment opportunities, & this would have a negative impact on the share prices 10

7) Omega, which benefits from a high growth potential, considers the opportunity to acquire Alpha (with its own shares). Both companies operate in the same sector but are not competitors and the potential merger is not expected to bring substantial synergies Omega key financial figures are provided below: - Forecast net result: 30m - Share price: 200 - Number of shares: 3m Based on the market data provided, the newly merged entity EPS will amount to 12.94 An analyst following Omega considers that if the share exchange ratio is based on market prices, the merger will increase Omega shareholders wealth, even without any synergies. He estimates that the newly merged entity s EPS will increase after the merger, probably leading to a share price increase. What do you think of this estimates? Explain The analyst is right: EPS will indeed increase as it appears in the answer of question 3b), - but this is a purely technical effect that occurs all the time when the acquiring firm has a higher P/E ratio than the acquired company (bootstrap effect) - he is wrong as regards the impact on price which should remain constant : the newly Omega merged firm has a lower potential growth than the former one Therefore, the P/E ratio should decrease 11

8) The financial analyst following Omega actually realises that he not only has to calculate its basic EPS but also its diluted EPS, considering that the company also has: - 10% treasury shares - 3 million convertible bond (with a face value of 1,000 and a 5% interest rate), which are convertible with a ratio of 1 convertible bonds for 7 shares Assume that Omega tax rate is 30% Calculate Omega Basic and Diluted EPS Basic EPS = Net result = 30 = 30 = 11.1 per share number of shares (excluding treasury shares) 3-3 * 0.1 2.7 Diluted EPS = Net result taking into account all potential dilution effects = Net result excluding convertible bond interest. number of share (excl. treas. sh.) including converted convertible bonds 12

8) The financial analyst following Omega actually realises that he not only has to calculate its basic EPS but also its diluted EPS, considering that the company also has: - 10% treasury shares - 3 million convertible bond (with a face value of 1,000 and a 5% interest rate), which are convertible with a ratio of 1 convertible bonds for 7 shares Assume that Omega tax rate is 30% Net result excluding convertible bond interests = 30 + 5% x (1 30%) x 3 = 30.105 Number of shares including converted convertible bonds (and excl. treasury shares) = 3 + (3/1,000 x 7) - 3 * 0.1 = 2.721 Diluted EPS = 30.105 / 2.721 = 11.06 per share 13

Appendix: relevant formulae 14

Questions pgiraudon<a>gmx.net 15