1 Relevant Costs for Decision Making Identifying Relevant Costs A relevant cost is a cost that differs between alternatives. An avoidable cost can be eliminated, in whole or in part, by choosing one alternative over another. Avoidable costs are relevant costs. Unavoidable costs are irrelevant costs. Two broad categories of costs are never relevant in any decision. They include: Sunk k costs. Future costs that do not differ between the alternatives.
2 Identifying Relevant Costs Cynthia, a Boston student, is considering visiting her friend in New York. She can drive or take the train. By car, it is 230 miles to her friend s apartment. She is trying to decide which alternative is less expensive and has gathered the following information: Automobile Costs (based on 10,000 miles driven per year) Annual Cost Cost per of Fixed Items Mile 1 Annual straight-line depreciation on car $ 2,800 $ Cost of gasoline Annual cost of auto insurance and license , Maintenance and repairs Parking fees at school Total average cost $ $45 per month 8 months $1.60 per gallon 32 MPG $18,000 cost $4,000 salvage value 5 years Identifying Relevant Costs Automobile Costs (based on 10,000 miles driven per year) Annual Cost Cost per of Fixed Items Mile 1 Annual straight-line depreciation on car $ 2,800 $ Cost of gasoline Annual cost of auto insurance and license 1, Maintenance and repairs Parking fees at school Total average cost $ Some Additional Information 7 Reduction in resale value of car per mile of wear $ Round-tip train fare $ Benefits of relaxing on train trip???? 10 Cost of putting dog in kennel while gone $ Benefit of having car in New York???? 12 Hassle of parking car in New York???? 13 Per day cost of parking car in New York $ 25
3 Identifying Relevant Costs Which costs and benefits are relevant in Cynthia s decision? i The cost of the car is a sunk cost and is not relevant to the current decision. The annual al cost of insurance is not relevant. It will remain the same if she drives or takes the train. However, the cost of gasoline is clearly relevant if she decides to drive. If she takes the train, the cost would not be incurred, so it varies depending on the decision. Identifying Relevant Costs Which costs and benefits are relevant in Cynthia s decision? The cost of maintenance and repairs is relevant. In the long-run these costs depend upon miles driven. The monthly school parking fee is not relevant because it must be paid if Cynthia drives or takes the train. At this point, we can see that some of the average cost of $0.569 per mile are relevant and others are not.
4 Identifying Relevant Costs Which costs and benefits are relevant in Cynthia s decision? The decline in resale value due to additional miles is a relevant cost. Relaxing on the train is relevant even though it is difficult to assign a dollar value to the benefit. The round-trip train fare is clearly relevant. If she drives the cost can be avoided. The kennel cost is not relevant because Cynthia will incur the cost if she drives or takes the train. Identifying Relevant Costs Which costs and benefits are relevant in Cynthia s decision? The cost of parking is relevant because it can be avoided if she takes the train. The benefits of having a car in New York and the problems of finding a parking space are both relevant but are difficult to assign a dollar amount.
5 Identifying Relevant Costs From a financial standpoint, Cynthia would be better off taking the train to visit her friend. Some of the nonfinancial factors may influence her final decision. Relevant Financial Cost of Driving Gasoline $ per mile) $ Maintenance $0.065 per mile) Reduction in resale $0.026 per mile) Parking in New York (2 $25 per day) Total $ Relevant Financial Cost of Taking the Train Round-trip ticket $ Total and Differential Cost Approaches The management of a company is considering a new labor saving machine that rents for $3,000 per year. Data about the company s annual sales and costs with and without the new machine are: Situation Differential Current Situation With New Machine Costs and Benefits Sales (5,000 $40 per unit) $ 200,000 $ 200,000 - Less variable expenses: Direct materials (5,000 $14 per unit) 70,000 70,000 - Direct labor (5,000 $8 and $5 per unit) 40,000 25,000 15,000 Variable overhead (5,000 $2 per unit) 10, , Total variable expenses 120, ,000 - Contribution margin 80,000 95,000 15,000 Less fixed expense: Other 62,000 62,000 - Rent on new machine - 3,000 (3,000) Total fixed expenses 62,000 65,000 (3,000) Net operating income $ 18,000 $ 30, ,000
6 Total and Differential Cost Approaches As you can see, the only costs that differ between the alternatives are the direct labor costs savings and the increase in fixed rental costs. Current Situation Situation With New Machine Differential Costs and Benefits Sales (5,000 $40 per unit) $ 200,000 $ 200,000 - Less variable expenses: Direct materials (5,000 $14 per unit) 70,000 70,000 - Direct labor (5,000 $8 and $5 per unit) 40,000 25,000 15,000 Variable overhead (5,000 $2 per unit) 10, , Total variable expenses 120, ,000 - Contribution margin 80,000 95,000 15,000 Less fixed expense: Other 62,000 62,000 - Rent on new machine - 3,000 (3,000) Total fixed expenses 62,000 65,000 (3,000) Net operating income $ 18,000 $ 30,000 12,000 We can efficiently analyze the decision by looking at the different costs and revenues and arrive at the same solution. NtAd Net Advantage to Renting the New Machine Decrease in direct labor costs (5,000 $3 per unit) $ 15,000 Increase in fixed rental expenses (3,000) Net annual cost saving from renting the new machine $ 12,000 Total and Differential Cost Approaches Using the differential approach is desirable for two reasons: 1. Only rarely will enough information be available to prepare detailed income statements for both alternatives. 2. Mingling irrelevant costs with relevant costs may cause confusion and distract attention away from the information that is really critical.
7 Decision 1: Drop or retain a product line? Adding/Dropping Segments Due to the declining popularity of digital watches, Lovell Company s digital watch line has not reported a profit for several years. Lovell is considering dropping this product line.
8 A Contribution Margin Approach DECISION RULE Lovell should drop the digital watch segment only if its profit would increase. This would only happen if the fixed cost savings exceed the lost contribution margin. Adding/Dropping Segments Segment Income Statement Digital it Watches Sales $ 500,000 Less: variable expenses Variable manufacturing costs $ 120,000 Variable shipping costs 5,000 Commissions 75, ,000 Contribution margin $ 300,000 Less: fixed expenses FMOH $ 60, Salary of line manager 90,000 Depreciation of equipment 50,000 Advertising - direct 100,000 Rent - factory space 70,000 General admin. expenses 30, ,000 Net operating loss $ (100,000)
9 Adding/Dropping Segments Segment Income Statement Digital Watches Sales $ 500,000 Less: Investigation variable has expenses revealed that total FMOH and general Variable manufacuring costs $ 120, administrative expenses would not be affected if the Variable shipping costs 5,000 digital Commissions watch line is dropped. The FMOH 75,000 and general 200,000 Contribution administrative margin expenses assigned to this product $ 300,000 would Less: fixed expenses be reallocated to other product lines. General factory overhead $ 60, Salary of line manager 90,000 Depreciation of equipment 50,000 Advertising i - direct 100, Rent - factory space 70,000 General admin. expenses 30, ,000 Net operating loss $ (100,000) Adding/Dropping Segments Segment Income Statement Digital Watches Sales $ 500,000 Less: variable expenses The Variable equipment manufacturing used costs to manufacture $ 120, Variable shipping costs 5,000 digital watches has no resale Commissions 75, ,000 Contribution value margin or alternative use. $ 300,000 Less: fixed expenses General factory overhead $ 60,000 Salary of line manager 90,000 Depreciation of equipment 50,000 - i Rent - factory space the digital watch 70,000 segment? General admin. expenses 30, ,000 Net operating loss $ (100,000) 000)
10 A Contribution Margin Approach Contribution Margin Solution Contribution margin lost if digital watches are dropped $ (300,000) 000) Less fixed costs that can be avoided Salary of the line manager $ 90,000 Advertising i - direct 100, Rent - factory space 70, ,000 Net disadvantage $ (40,000) Decision: Retain Decision 2: Make or Buy? Produce in-house or outsource?
11 The Make or Buy Decision: An Example Essex Company manufactures part 4A that is used in one of its products. The unit product cost of this part is: Direct materials $ 9 Direct labor 5 Variable overhead 1 Depreciation of special equip. 3 Supervisor's s salary 2 General factory overhead 10 Unit product cost $ 30 The Make or Buy Decision The special equipment used to manufacture part 4A has no resale value. The total amount of general factory overhead, which is allocated on the basis of direct labor hours, would be unaffected by this decision. The $30 unit product cost is based on 20,000 parts produced each year. An outside supplier has offered to provide the 20,000 parts at a cost of $25 per part. Should we accept the supplier s offer?
12 The Make or Buy Decision Cost Per Unit Cost of 20, Units Make Buy Outside purchase price $ 25 $ 500,000 Direct materials $ 9 180,000 Direct labor 5 100, Variable overhead 1 20,000 Depreciation of equip. 3 - Supervisor's salary 2 40, General factory overhead 10 - Total cost $ 30 $ 340,000 $ 500,000 20,000 $9 per unit = $180,000 The Make or Buy Decision Cost Per Unit Cost of 20, Units Make Buy Outside purchase price $ 25 $ 500,000 Direct materials $ 9 180,000 Direct labor 5 100, Variable overhead 1 20,000 Depreciation of equip. 3 - Supervisor's salary 2 40, General factory overhead 10 - Total cost $ 30 $ 340,000 $ 500,000 The special equipment has no resale value and is a sunk cost.
13 The Make or Buy Decision Cost Per Unit Cost of 20, Units Make Buy Outside purchase price $ 25 $ 500,000 Direct materials $ 9 180,000 Direct labor 5 100, Variable overhead 1 20,000 Depreciation of equip. 3 - Supervisor's salary 2 40, General factory overhead 10 - Total cost $ 30 $ 340,000 $ 500,000 Not avoidable; irrelevant. If the product is dropped, it will be reallocated to other products. The Make or Buy Decision Cost Per Unit Cost of 20, Units Make Buy Outside purchase price $ 25 $ 500,000 Direct materials $ 9 180,000 Direct labor 5 100, Variable overhead 1 20,000 Depreciation of equip. 3 - Supervisor's salary 2 40, General factory overhead 10 - Total cost $ 30 $ 340,000 $ 500,000 Should we make or buy part 4A?
14 Opportunity Cost An opportunity cost is the benefit that is foregone as a result of pursuing some course of action. Opportunity costs are not actual dollar outlays and are not recorded in the formal accounts of an organization. How would this concept potentially relate to the Essex Company? Decision 3: Accept or reject a special order?
15 Special Orders Jet, Inc. makes a single product whose normal selling price is $20 per unit. A foreign distributor offers to purchase 3,000 units for $10 per unit. This is a one-time order that would not affect the company s regular business. Annual capacity is 10, units, but Jet, Inc. is currently producing and selling only 5,000 units. Should Jet accept the offer? Special Orders Jet, Inc. Contribution Income Statement Revenue (5,000 $20) $ 100,000 Variable costs: Direct materials $ 20,000 Direct labor 5,000 Manufacturing overhead 10,000$8000$8 variable cost Marketing costs 5,000 Total variable costs 40,000 Contribution margin 60,000 Fixed costs: Manufacturing overhead $ 28,000 Marketing costs 20,000 Total fixed costs 48,000 Net operating income $ 12,000
16 Special Orders If Jet accepts the offer, net operating income will increase by $6,000. Increase in revenue (3,000 $10) $ 30,000 Increase in costs (3,000 $8 variable cost) 24,000 Increase in net income $ 6,000 Note: This answer assumes that fixed costs are unaffected by the order and that variable marketing costs must be incurred on the special order. Decision 4: Knowing that t we have a bottleneck, should we be emphasizing Product 1 or Product 2?
17 Utilization of a Constrained Resource When a constraint exists, a company should select a product mix that maximizes the total contribution margin earned since fixed costs usually remain unchanged. A company should not necessarily promote those products that have the highest unit contribution margin. Rather, it should promote those products that earn the highest contribution margin in relation to the constraining resource. Utilization of a Constrained Resource: An Example Ensign Company produces two products and selected data are shown below: Product 1 2 Selling price per unit $ 60 $ 50 Less variable expenses per unit Contribution margin per unit $ 24 $ 15 Current demand per week (units) 2,000 2,200 Contribution margin ratio 40% 30% Processing time required on machine A1 per unit 1.00 min min.
18 Utilization of a Constrained Resource Machine A1 is the constrained resource and is being used at 100% of its capacity. There is excess capacity on all other machines. Machine A1 has a capacity of 2,400 minutes per week. Should Ensign focus its efforts on Product 1 or Product 2? Utilization of a Constrained Resource The key is the contribution margin per unit of the constrained resource. Product 1 2 Contribution margin per unit $ 24 $ 15 Time required to produce one unit 1.00 min min. Contribution margin per minute $ 24 $ 30 Product 2 should be emphasized. Provides more valuable use of the constrained resource machine A1, yielding a contribution margin of $30 per minute as opposed to $24 for Product 1.
19 Utilization of a Constrained Resource The key is the contribution margin per unit of the constrained resource. Product 1 2 Contribution margin per unit $ 24 $ 15 Time required to produce one unit 1.00 min min. Contribution margin per minute $ 24 $ 30 If there are no other considerations, the best plan would be to produce to meet current demand for Product 2 and then use remaining capacity to make Product 1. Utilization of a Constrained Resource Let s see how this plan would work. Alloting Our Constrained Resource (Machine A1) Weekly demand for Product 2 2,200 units Time required per unit 0.50 min. Total time required to make Product 2 1,100 min.
20 Utilization of a Constrained Resource Let s see how this plan would work. Alloting Our Constrained Resource (Machine A1) Weekly demand for Product 2 2,200 units Time required per unit 0.50 min. Total time required to make Product 2 1,100 min. Total time available 2,400 min. Time used to make Product 2 1,100 min. Time available for Product ,300 min. Utilization of a Constrained Resource Alloting Our Constrained Resource (Machine A1) Weekly demand for Product 2 2,200 units Time required per unit 0.50 min. Total time required to make Product 2 1,100 min. Total time available 2,400 min. Time used to make Product 2 1,100 min. Time available for Product ,300 min. Time required per unit 1.00 min. Production of Product 1 1,300 units
21 Utilization of a Constrained Resource According to the plan, we will produce 2,200 units of Product 2 and 1,300 of Product 1. Our contribution margin looks like this. Product 1 Product 2 Production and sales (units) 1,300 2,200 Contribution margin per unit $ 24 $ 15 Total contribution margin $ 31,200 $ 33,000 The total contribution margin for Ensign is $64,200. Managing Constraints Finding ways to process more units through a resource bottleneck At the bottleneck itself: Improve the process Add overtime or another shift Hire new workers or acquire more machines Subcontract production Reduce amount of defective units produced Add workers transferred from non-bottleneck departments
22 Decision 5: Should a joint product be sold at the split-off point or processed further? Joint Costs In some industries, a number of end products are produced from a single raw material input. Two or more products produced from a common input are called joint products. The point in the manufacturing process where each joint product can be recognized as a separate product is called the split-off point.
23 Joint Products Oil Joint I t Common Production Gasoline Input Production Process Gasoline Chemicals Split Split-Off Off Point Point Point Point Joint Products Joint Joint Separate Processing Final Sale Joint Joint Costs Costs Oil Final S l Joint I t Common Production Gasoline Sale Input Production Process Gasoline Separate Processing Final Sale Chemicals Separate Separate Product Product Split Split-Off Off Point Point Product Product Costs Costs Point Point
24 The Pitfalls of Allocation Joint costs are often allocated to end products on the basis of the relative sales value of each product or on some other basis. Although allocation is needed for some purposes such as balance sheet inventory valuation, allocations of this kind are very dangerous for decision making. Sell or Process Further Joint costs are irrelevant in decisions regarding what to do with a product from the split-off point forward. It will always be profitable to continue processing a joint product after the split-off point so long as the incremental revenue exceeds the incremental processing costs incurred after the split-off point.
25 Sell or Process Further: An Example Sawmill, Inc. cuts logs from which unfinished lumber and sawdust are the immediate joint products. Unfinished lumber is sold as is or processed further into finished lumber. Sawdust can also be sold as is to gardening wholesalers or processed further into presto-logs. Sell or Process Further Data about Sawmill s joint products includes: Per Log Lumber Sawdust Sales value at the split-off point $ 140 $ 40 Sales value after further processing Allocated joint product costs Cost of further processing 50 20
26 Sell or Process Further Analysis of Sell or Process Further Lumber Per Log Sawdust Sales value after further processing $ 270 $ 50 Sales value at the split-off point Incremental revenue Sell or Process Further Analysis of Sell or Process Further Per Log Lumber Sawdust Sales value after further processing $ 270 $ 50 Sales value at the split-off point Incremental revenue Cost of further processing Profit (loss) from further processing $ 80 $ (10)
27 Sell or Process Further Analysis of Sell or Process Further Per Log Lumber Sawdust Sales value after further processing $ 270 $ 50 Sales value at the split-off point Incremental revenue Cost of further processing Profit (loss) from further processing $ 80 $ (10) We should process the lumber further and sell the sawdust as is.
Cost Concepts for Decision Making Relevant Costs for Decision Making A relevant cost is a cost that differs between alternatives. Chapter Thirteen 1 2 An avoidable cost can be eliminated (in whole or in
Exercise 13-2 1. No, production and sale of the racing bikes should not be discontinued. If the racing bikes were discontinued, then the operating income for the company as a whole would decrease by $11,000
Management Accounting 161 Incremental Analysis and Decision-making Costs Nature of Incremental Analysis Decision-making is essentially a process of selecting the best alternative given the available information
Accounting 610 6A Relevant Costs and Operational Decisions Page 1 I. Relevant Costs in Operational Decisions A. Theo Epstein the 37 year old (as of spring, 2011) Executive Vice President/General Manager
CHAPTER 22 Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships ASSIGNMENT CLASSIFICATION TABLE Study Objectives Questions Brief Exercises Exercises A Problems B Problems * 1. Distinguish between variable and fixed costs.
Management Accounting 175 Incremental Analysis and Cost Volume Profit Analysis: Special Applications Incremental analysis is a flexible decision-making tool that may be used in making many different kinds
Lesson-13 Elements of Cost and Cost Sheet Learning Objectives To understand the elements of cost To classify overheads on different bases To prepare a cost sheet Elements of Cost Raw materials are converted
Management Accounting 31 Financial Statements for Manufacturing Businesses Importance of Financial Statements Accounting plays a critical role in decision-making. Accounting provides the financial framework
29 COST SHEET You are running a factory which manufactures electronic toys. You incur expenses on raw material, labour and other expenses which can be directly attibuted to cost and which cannot be directly
CHAPTER19 Managerial Accounting Acct202 19-1 PreviewofCHAPTER19 19-2 Managerial Accounting Basics Managerial accounting, a field of accounting that provides economic and financial information for managers
FINANCIAL INTRODUCTION In earlier sections you calculated your cost of goods sold, overhead expenses and capital cost in order to help you determine the sales price of your product. In your business plan,
7-1 Incremental Analysis Managerial Accounting Fifth Edition Weygandt Kimmel Kieso 7-2 study objectives 1. Identify the steps in management s decision-making process. 2. Describe the concept of incremental
Study Unit 8 CVP Analysis and Marginal Analysis SU- 8.1 Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis - Theory CVP = Break-even analysis Allows us to analyze the relationship between revenue and fixed and variable
Management Accounting 51 Classification of Manufacturing Costs and Expenses Introduction Management accounting, as previously explained, consists primarily of planning, performance evaluation, and decision
CHAPTER 9 COST OF GOODS AND INVENTORY 1 WHAT IS REPORTED AS INVENTORY? Inventory represents goods that are either manufactured or purchased for resale in the normal course of business Inventory is classified
Chapter 9 Plant Assets Plant Assets are also called fixed assets; property, plant and equipment; plant and equipment; long-term assets; operational assets; and long-lived assets. They are characterized
Cost Accounting For Decision Making Joyce L. Wang 24 June 2014 2014/6/24 1 How to make decision? Variable cost Incremental cost Opportunity cost Fixed cost Avoidable cost Sunk cost... 2014/6/24 2 Relevance
Quantitative Marketing Analysis CLASS 2 09.16.13 Revenue (sales) Income Statement Sections 5 Expenses Cost of goods sold (FC and VC) Operating expenses (generally FC) Profit 1 EXHIBIT 2.4: PRO FORMA INCOME
UNIT2:- Session 1-3 :- Cost analysis for planning and decision making :- * Cost classification and approach :- A- Marginal costing :- - variable and fixed. - Variable cost is charged to the product unit.
Chapter 2 Cost Concepts and Behavior McGraw-Hill/Irwin Copyright 2011 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. Learning Objectives L.O. 1 Explain the basic concept of cost. L.O. 2 Explain
Teaching Special Decisions In A Lean Accounting Environment Daniel Haskin, University of Central Oklahoma, USA ABSTRACT Lean accounting has become increasingly important as more and more companies adopt
1. A company that desires to lower its break-even point should strive to: A. decrease selling prices B. reduce variable costs C. increase fixed costs D. sell more units E. pursue more than one of the above
CHAPTER 10 In-Class QUIZ 1. A mixed cost function has a constant component of $20,000. If the total cost is $60,000 and the independent variable has the value 200, what is the value of the slope coefficient?
TM 3-1 AGENDA: JOB-ORDER COSTING A. The documents in a job-order costing system. 1. Materials requisition form. 2. Direct labor time ticket. 3. Job cost sheet. B. Applying overhead using a predetermined
Lesson 5: Inventory 5.1 Introduction Whether it is a brick and mortar or digital store, for many businesses, inventory management is a key cog of their operations. Managing inventory is an important key
CHAPTER 7 MAKING CAPITAL INVESTMENT DECISIONS Answers to Concepts Review and Critical Thinking Questions 1. In this context, an opportunity cost refers to the value of an asset or other input that will
Section 2 DEPRECIATION UNDER GAAP (FOR BOOK PURPOSES) Introduction Most plant and equipment assets wear out or become obsolete over the years. Similarly, although land is not depreciated (because it does
11-30 Relevant Cost Exercises a. Make or Buy: The relevant cost for producing the product is as follows: Cost Per Unit Direct Materials $28 Direct Labor 18 Variable Overhead 16 Total $62 ($62/unit 2,000
Preliminary Test of Cost Accounting Knowledge--Does not affect your grade! Name Mark one letter for each question response. Note that in some cases there are options like ʺD) Both A and C are correct.ʺ
Chapter 7: Net Present Value and Capital Budgeting 7.1 a. Yes, the reduction in the sales of the company s other products, referred to as erosion, should be treated as an incremental cash flow. These lost
Chapter 1: Introduction 1.1 Introduction Every long term decision the firm makes is a capital budgeting decision whenever it changes the company s cash flows. Consider launching a new product. This involves
Chapter 9 Cash Flow and Capital Budgeting MULTIPLE CHOICE 1. Gamma Electronics is considering the purchase of testing equipment that will cost $500,000. The equipment has a 5-year lifetime with no salvage
Final Draft Final Report on for the February 2012 MERCURY ASSOCIATES, INC. February 24, 2012 Mr. Tim Ryburn, Administrator Iowa Department of Administrative Services General Services, Enterprise 109 S.E.
CHAPTER 11 DECISION MAKING AND RELEVANT INFORMATION 11-28 Equipment upgrade versus replacement. 1. Based on the analysis in the table below, TechGuide will be better off by $337,500 over three years if
How to Forecast Your Revenue and Sales A Step by Step Guide to Revenue and Sales Forecasting in a Small Business By BizMove Management Training Institute Other free books by BizMove that may interest you:
Breakeven Analysis Variable Vary directly in proportion to activity: Example: if sales increase by 5%, then the Variable will increase by 5% Remain the same, regardless of the activity level Mixed Combines
FIRSTAX Your Tax Advisors for Life 1221 McKinney, Suite 3275 Houston, TX 77010 TEL & FAX 713.781.9999 TEL 800.781.9996 email@example.com www.firstax.com FIRSTAX SAVES YOU TAXES A TAX SAVING WORKBOOK
Dollars and Sense Introduction Your dream is to operate a profitable business and make a good living. Before you open, however, you want some indication that your business will be profitable, if not immediately
1 Building Blocks of Managerial Accounting CHAPTER 2 2 Distinguish among service, merchandising, and manufacturing companies OBJECTIVE 1 3 Service Companies Provide an intangible service only Largest sector
Brief Exercise 2-3 (10 minutes) The predetermined overhead rate is computed as follows: Estimated total manufacturing overhead... $134,000 Estimated total direct labor hours (DLHs)... 20,000 DLHs = Predetermined
Brief Exercise 1-1 (15 minutes) 1. The cost of a hard-drive installed in a computer: direct materials cost. 2. The cost of advertising in the Puget Sound Computer User newspaper: selling cost. 3. The wages
Chapter 2 Job-Order Costing and Modern Manufacturing Practices QUESTIONS 1. Manufacturers need product costing systems in order to measure and record the cost of manufactured products. Product cost information
4-33 Dollars Company uses a job costing system that applies factory overhead on the basis of direct labor. No job was in process on February 1. During the month of February, the company worked on these
Financial Analysis, Modeling, and Forecasting Techniques Course #5710B/QAS5710B Course Material TECHNIQUES OF FINANCIAL ANALYSIS, MODELING, AND FORECASTING Delta Publishing Company Copyright 2011 by DELTA
Professional Development Programme on Enriching Knowledge of the Business, Accounting and Financial Studies (BAFS) Curriculum Course 1 : Contemporary Perspectives on Accounting Unit 7 : Marginal and Absorption
Financial Analysis, Modeling, and Forecasting Techniques Course #5710A/QAS-5710A Course Material Financial Analysis, Modeling, and Forecasting Techniques (Course #5710A/QAS-5710A) Table of Contents PART
Cost Accounting Acct 362/562 Analyzing Relevant Benefits & Costs Making good decisions is important to managers as they guide their organization. Sometimes the decision is based on both qualitative (non-financial)
Chapter 14 Managerial Accounting Concepts and Principles QUESTIONS 1. The managerial accountant plays an important role in preparing the information necessary for effective planning and control decisions.
business builder 3 how to prepare a profit and loss (income) statement amegy bank business resource center how to prepare a profit and loss (income) statement 2 how to prepare a profit and loss (income)
Lesson 9 Take Control of Debt: Use Credit Wisely Lesson Description In this lesson, students review the balance sheet (Lesson 1) and the budget worksheet (Lesson 2) and consider ways to use these two documents
BUSINESS BUILDER 3 HOW TO PREPARE A PROFIT AND LOSS (INCOME) STATEMENT zions business resource center 2 how to prepare a profit and loss (income) statement A Profit and Loss (P&L) or income statement measures
ACG 2071 Midterm 2 Review Problems & Solutions 5-1. On July 1, JKL Corporation s packaging department had Work in Process inventory of 6,000 units that were 75% complete with respect to materials and 30%
Master Budgeting 1 The Basic Framework of Budgeting A budget is a detailed quantitative plan for acquiring and using financial and other resources over a specified forthcoming time period. 1. The act of
Multiple Choice Questions (45%) Choose the Correct Answer 1. The following information was taken from XYZ Company s accounting records for the year ended December 31, 2014: Increase in raw materials inventory
Chapter 1 The Overall Process Capital Expenditures Whenever we make an expenditure that generates a cash flow benefit for more than one year, this is a capital expenditure. Examples include the purchase
Page 1 of 21 TEST BANK > CONTROL PANEL > POOL MANAGER > POOL CANVAS Pool Canvas Add, modify, and remove questions. Select a question type from the Add Question drop-down list and click Go to add questions.
Chapter 24 and Product Pricing Study Guide Solutions Fill-in-the-Blank Equations 1. Differential revenue 2. Differential costs 3. Differential income (Loss) 4. Markup per unit 5. Estimated units produced
Constraint Management Chapter 7 How Constraint Management fits the Operations Management Philosophy Operations As a Competitive Weapon Operations Strategy Project Management Process Strategy Process Analysis
Part 7. Capital Budgeting What is Capital Budgeting? Nancy Garcia and Digital Solutions Digital Solutions, a software development house, is considering a number of new projects, including a joint venture
03-Seidman.qxd 5/15/04 11:52 AM Page 41 3 An Introduction to Business Financial Statements In this chapter, we build on the basic knowledge of how businesses are financed by looking at how firms organize
Accounting for inventory Whats inside Accounting for your inventory is as important as accounting for your sales. Every product you have on the shelf has a cost value, and the total cost of goods is likely
Cash Flow Estimation Topics to be covered Discount Cash Flow, Not Profit Discount Incremental Cash Flow - Include all direct effects. - Forget Sunk Costs - Include Opportunity Costs - Recognize the Investment
University of Waterloo Final Examination Term: Winter Year: 2006 Student Name UW Student ID Number Place an X by the section in which you are registered: 1 (MWF 8:30 am to 9:20 am) 2 (MWF 9:30 am to 10:20
COST CLASSIFICATION AND COST BEHAVIOR INTRODUCTION LESSON# 1 Cost Accounting Cost Accounting is an expanded phase of financial accounting which provides management promptly with the cost of producing and/or
The Cost of Production 1. Opportunity Costs 2. Economic Costs versus Accounting Costs 3. All Sorts of Different Kinds of Costs 4. Cost in the Short Run 5. Cost in the Long Run 6. Cost Minimization 7. The
Absorption Costing - Overview 1. Overview of Absorption costing and Variable Costing 2. Review how costs for Manufacturing are transferred to the product 3. Job Order Vs. Process Costing 4. Overhead Application
385 356 PART FOUR Capital Budgeting a large number of NPV estimates that we summarize by calculating the average value and some measure of how spread out the different possibilities are. For example, it
Management Accounting 137 Comprehensive Business Budgeting Goals and Objectives Profit planning, commonly called master budgeting or comprehensive business budgeting, is one of the more important techniques
Print this form out, take some time to fill it out, and bring it with you when you come to the office. This will save you time and money, and help us help you more effectively. Tax Return Questionnaire
Print this form out, take some time to fill it out, and bring it with you when you come to the office. This will save you time and money, and help us help you more effectively. Tax Return Questionnaire
Chapter 10 Budgetary Planning and Control QUESTIONS 1. Budgets are useful in the planning process because they increase communication and coordination. Also, they force managers to carefully consider their
Principles of Managerial Accounting ACC-102-TE This TECEP tests the material usually taught in a one-semester course in managerial accounting. It focuses on the information that managers need to make decisions
CHAPTER 2 Decision Making using Cost Concepts and CVP Analysis Basic Concepts Absorption Costing * Assigns direct costs and all or part of overhead to cost units using one or more overhead absorption rates.
FIN 301 Class Notes Chapter 8: Using DCF Analysis to Make Investment Decisions Capital Budgeting: is the process of planning for capital expenditures (long term investment). Planning process involves 1-
2-1 Today s Lecture Management Accounting Lecture 7 (Chapter 2) Systems Design: n System Design Job Order Costing n What is Product Costing n Types of Product Costing n When and how to use n Journal entries
Exam Name MULTIPLE CHOICE. Choose the one alternative that best completes the statement or answers the question. Hint: draw graphs in the margins to check your answers. And remember that an increase in
Instructions for Page 4 of Application (FINANCIAL STATEMENTS) Part of determining whether an applicant is fit to become a household goods mover involves provision of information about financial capability.
1. Managerial accounting: A. is governed by generally accepted accounting principles. B. places emphasis on special-purpose information. C. pertains to the entity as a whole and is highly aggregated. D.
This is How Are Operating Budgets Created?, chapter 9 from the book Accounting for Managers (index.html) (v. 1.0). This book is licensed under a Creative Commons by-nc-sa 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/
Your consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website.