The Writing Process: Planning an Imaginative Recount. Reviewing the Text Type

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "The Writing Process: Planning an Imaginative Recount. Reviewing the Text Type"

Transcription

1 Fiction Imaginative Fiction The Writing Process: Poster Kit #2, Part 1 Modeled Writing / Shared Writing Teaching Focuses Understand the specific purpose and structure of a imaginative recount Discuss the main features of a plan 6+1 Traits: Ideas Share When writing an imaginative recount, it is important to include who was there as well as when, where, and how the event happened. My friends Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 Poster B/Imaginative Recount Deconstruction Organizer To share about missing the school bus one day woke up late Late for School! I Missed the Bus! Poster B Retell an event Say who was there Say where it happened Say when it happened Make it interesting dressed washed face brushed teeth ran outside missed bus Session 1 Text Type and Process Review Reviewing the Text Type breakfast Begin the session with the Text Sample Passage (Poster A) on your easel where students can see it clearly. Using openended questions, help students state their understandings of the features of an imaginative recount. Gather responses and then read the text. Let s think about what we already know about recounts. Yes, recounts can be about a realistic event like this one. What Uh-oh! I woke up late for school. Hurry up, Sam! Mom said. I put on my shirt and my pants. Hurry up, Sam! Mom said. I ate my cereal and drank my milk. Hurry up, Sam! Mom said. I brushed my teeth and washed my face. Sam! Mom said. The bus is here! I ran outside. I saw the bus drive away. I missed the bus! Poster A Text Sample Passage Deconstruction Organizer Poster B Deconstruction Organizer Poster B else do you know about an imaginative recount? What would the author have to think about before writing one? Look for those ideas in this text. Introducing the Writing Process Focus Referring to the Text Sample Passage, review the process that a writer takes from planning to publishing. Be sure students understand that they are studying the text from the writer s perspective. Let s think like writers now. What steps did the author follow in creating this recount? Yes, he would have thought about making a plan. What else? That s right, the order of the events is important, too. We think about this when we are composing. Highlight the planning stage of the writing process and check students understanding (the writer thinks about the purpose, audience, topic, and text type of their piece). Planning is the very first stage of the writing process. What do you think a writer needs to do when planning? Yes, he thinks about who will read the recount and why he is writing it. Deconstructing the Writing Process Focus Arrange the poster kit so that the Text Sample Passage (Poster A) and the Deconstruction Organizer (Poster B) sit side by side on your easel. Focus the discussion on aspects of planning that the writer might have followed while planning I Missed the Bus! Record student ideas on the organizer. Your notes may or may not be similar to the example at the left. We have been thinking about the planning process for this recount. Now let s record our ideas on the organizer. What did this author think about during the planning stage? Yes, he would be thinking about some possible ideas. What would they have been? I ll record that with a quick sketch. Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 I Missed the Bus! 1

2 Session 2 Modeled Writing: Planning (Authorial) Teaching Focuses Discuss the main features of a plan Use objects, experiences, or other texts to help focus thoughts in preparation for writing 6+1 Traits: Ideas Teacher Tip Kindergarten students will create recounts based on their own experiences and combine the actual events with imaginative elements. Personal recounts of this type are thus both works of fiction and nonfiction. Reflecting on the Writing Process Focus Recap the writing process with students, linking back to the previous session. Explain that you will be doing a modeled writing session about the planning stage of the writing process. Specifically, you will be demonstrating how a writer plans an imaginative recount. As we talked about the planning process for I Missed the Bus! yesterday, what did we decide the author had done to plan his recount? Quickly share your ideas with your partner. We have been reading some different recounts in class. I am going to model how I would plan an imaginative recount about seeing a big Thanksgiving Day parade. Recording the Teacher s Thoughts Place the poster kit on your easel so that the () is visible to all students. As you plan your recount, demonstrate how good writers think about all aspects of the planning process. Model the types of questions writers may might themselves as they plan while writing your plan on the Planning Organizer. You may choose your own topic or use the one we have shown as an example below. When planning, in addition to thinking about the text type, audience, and purpose, I need to think about the events to include in my recount. Which events will be most interesting to the reader? When planning an imaginative recount, I can use something that has happened to me, but I can make up part of the story as well. I will use quick sketches to get my ideas down. My students To share what I liked best at the parade giant balloons It retells an event Order is important Say when it happened Say who and where Make it interesting floats Once you have completed each section of your plan on the, revisit the teaching focus of the session. Indicate how you may use objects, experiences, and/or other texts to help focus thoughts in preparation for writing. I ve completed my plan, but I need to check a few things. Have I thought who my audience will be? The reason I am writing? Have I considered the special features of recounts? Do I have enough ideas to create an interesting story? How have I used ideas from the parade I really did see? Reflecting on the Modeled Writing Process Focus Bring the session to a close by guiding students to reflect on how the planning process you have modeled will assist them in making use of personal experiences to create imaginative recounts. marching bands The Thanksgiving Day Parade dancers As I planned today, I was thinking about my story ideas, the setting, and events of the recount. Authors think about their story ideas when they are planning their work. When you are planning stories on your own, I want you to think about your experiences and how you can use them in your stories. clowns Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 /Imaginative Recount 2 Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 I Missed the Bus!

3 Session 3 Shared Writing: Planning (Authorial) Reviewing the Writing Process Focus Seat students on the floor where they can all see the (). Erase the plan you created in Session 2. Convey the teaching focus, and then invite students to participate in the planning of an imaginative recount. We know that recounts can tell about an event that could happen to us. Let s choose something we have done and create an imaginative recount. We can start with something we have done and add what we would like to do. Think about some possible ideas. How will we decide? Generating Students Thoughts Teaching Focuses Discuss the main features of a plan Use objects, experiences, or other texts to help focus thoughts in preparation for writing 6+1 Traits: Ideas Teacher Tip Facilitate a discussion with your students, encouraging them to consider the features of an imaginative recount and the experiences they have had that would make an interesting recount. We have decided to write an imaginative recount about going ice skating. Let s think about what we know about ice skating. How can we use this for an imaginative recount? What might happen in the story? Remember that when we are planning, we are thinking about our ideas. In shared writing, the teacher takes responsibility for recording student ideas. This leaves the students free to focus on the authorial aspect of planning. Generation of a wide range of ideas should be the focus at this time. Recording Students Thoughts As the discussion continues, record student ideas using quick sketches and labels on the, having them think about audience and purpose along with the recount events. This supports students in the creation of a more complicated storyline than they would develop on their own. Think about who will read our recount. What information will we need to give the reader of our recount? How can we help them to understand our ideas? What will make our recount interesting? Yes, we will need to think about where we went skating. We could write about skating on a lake, even if we haven t done this ourselves. Reflecting on the Shared Writing Process Focus Conclude the shared writing session by having students think about the planning process they used in the session and how it will help them when generating ideas for their own work. Planning is the very first thing a good writer does when getting ready to write a new piece. Talk to your neighbor about the things you will do when you plan. Think of a few objects or experiences you ve had that might make good story ideas. You can do this when you write on your own as well. It retells an event [Text Graphic =Poster The order is important C: reduced, partially Say when it happened Who and where completed Composing It should be interesting Organizer - shared writing] Kindergarten class We want to write about going ice skating jacket skates Ice Skating on the Lake hat gloves scarf slippery success! fell over Dad helped Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 /Imaginative Recount Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 I Missed the Bus! 3

4 Deconstruction Organizer Poster B Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 Poster B/Imaginative Recount 4 Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 I Missed the Bus!

5 Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 /Imaginative Recount Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 I Missed the Bus! 5

6 From Planning to Publishing: Imaginative Recount Poster Kit #2, Part 2 Teaching Focus Think about and discuss the purpose for the writing 6+1 Traits: Ideas ELL Support Support ELL students by having them brainstorm vocabulary on different topics to increase the range of words they include in their writing. Session 1 Shared Writing: Planning (Authorial) Introducing the Concept of the Piece Arrange the poster kit so that the (Poster D) is clearly visible to all students. Explain that they will be contributing to an imaginative recount. We have been looking closely at how we might plan an imaginative recount. Now let s use what we have learned to write an imaginative recount of our own. What do you suggest? Yes, a visit to the circus would be a good choice. Who remembers what we need to do when planning? Generating Students Thoughts Who will read my story? My Ideas What do I know about a recount? Poster D Poster D Have students consider their audience, purpose, and text type features as they think about topics and ideas. Use open-ended questions to prompt their thoughts. Turn and share with your partner what events you think we should include in our recount. How can we use something that you have experienced in our imaginative recount? What do you remember about a visit to the circus? As you think about these questions, keep in mind who will read our recount and our reason for writing it. Poster D Recording Students Thoughts Shared Writing Who will read my story? My Ideas Other students For display in the school library funny What do I know about a recount? Retell an event. Order is important. Say when it happened. Say who and where. Needs to be interesting. tricks Using the to record ideas, elicit students contributions and shape them into a cohesive plan. Guide them to think about how they will describe the events for their audience. An example is provided at left. As we work on our plan, we need to think about our audience. We need to be sure that they will find our recount interesting. I want you to throw out lots of ideas to me. If we have more than we need, we can choose not to use some when we compose. Let s start by describing the circus. What comes to mind? Okay, I ll sketch that here. What label can I use? circus tent clowns makeup Reflecting on the Planning Process Focus At the Circus Round off the session by having students think about the aspects of planning they had to consider, and whether they have thought about their purpose for writing the recount. ring ringmaster animals costume Let s review the things we though about as we did our plan. Who wants to start? Who remembers what our reason, or purpose for writing is? These are things to think about when you are writing on your own, too. Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 Poster D/Imaginative Recount Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 I Missed the Bus! 12

7 Session 2 Shared Writing: Composing (Authorial) Teaching Focus Reflecting on the Use social vocabulary and/or simple academic language (book language) to express thoughts verbally and in writing With the completed (Poster D) from the previous session on the easel where students can see it easily, begin by reflecting on the ideas generated the day before. Poster D Who will read my story? What do I know about a recount? My Ideas Composing an Imaginative Recount Take the ideas from your plan and add more details. Draw pictures in each frame. Then add some labels. 6+1 Traits: Word Choice Teacher Tip The is a teaching tool. Students are not expected to use one every time they compose. You may use this organizer to demonstrate to students how to take one aspect of their plan and provide additional details. Let s read over our plan from yesterday and think about the ideas we talked about. Share your ideas with your partner. As authors, what other decisions do we need to make now? Can you think of anything else we should include in this plan? What ideas do you have? What changes could we make? Organizing Students Thoughts Poster D Arrange the poster kit so that the completed (Poster D) and the () sit side by side on your easel or chalk board ledge. Students will need to refer to them simultaneously. Using the headings, focus students thinking on moving from planning to the composing process. Let s think about adding more details to our ideas for a recount. What more could we say about the clowns? Share your ideas with your neighbor. How can we make our readers, or audience, understand how we remember the clowns? What made you laugh? How could we say that? Let s draw and write those ideas down now. Composing an Imaginative Recount Take the ideas from your plan and add more details. Draw pictures in each frame. Then add some labels. Clowns makeup costume Recording Students Thoughts As you write student responses onto the, encourage them to select ideas from the plan and expand these ideas into text that will convey their thinking to their audience. At this point, they may decide to add new ideas or leave out some elements of the original plan. Think about where the circus was. How could we describe that? Yes, we need to help our readers picture those clowns. How do you picture them? That sounds great I will write that on the organizer. What else did the clowns do? Think about how a writer would say that. Now, how will we describe how they made us laugh? Reflecting on the Composing Process Focus each clown has a special face tricks make funny mistakes baggy pants and big shoes funny clowns make me laugh At the conclusion of the session, refer back to the teaching focus and encourage students to decide how well they expressed their thoughts in their recount. Establish an expectation they will continue to think about these aspects when composing independently. Let s listen to the way we expressed some of our thoughts. What do you think? How do you like the words we used? Does it sound like you talking? Why do you think it s important to listen to how our words sound? Yes, if we like the way they sound, our readers will, too. Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 /Imaginative Recount 11 Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 I Missed the Bus!

8 Session 3 Shared Writing: Recording (Secretarial) Reflecting on the Review the process from planning to composing that students have contributed to in prior sessions. Use the completed organizers to prompt students thinking, and explain to students how this work will be helpful when recording their story. Yesterday we composed our recount. We chose ideas from our plan and added more details. We also thought about words we could use to express our ideas. This will help us as we record our recount today. Turn and tell your neighbor how you think this will be helpful. Who has an idea to share? Recording Students Thoughts (on chart paper) Composing an Imaginative Recount Take the ideas from your plan and add more details. Draw pictures in each frame. Then add some labels. Teaching Focus Hear and record final sounds in words 6+1 Traits: Conventions Teacher Tip Students need the opportunity to think about the way words look by trying several different patterns and other words with that pattern. As you take responsibility for recording the story on chart paper, refer students to both the and the Recording Pointers poster as they contribute to the recording of the piece. Make reference to the teaching focus for this session as you emphasize the things good writers consider when recording. How will we start our recount about the circus? What would be a good way to describe the clown? As we record our ideas, we need to think about spelling. What can we do when we come to a word we are unsure of? Yes, we can say the word slowly and listen to the sounds we hear. We already have the m at the beginning. Let s see if we can hear the last sound in makeup. Reflecting on the Recording Process Focus Conclude the session by having students reflect on the recording process. Highlight the use of the Recording Pointers poster that you have on display with the expectation they will begin to make use of these ideas when writing independently. Teacher Tip Demonstrate to students how to articulate words slowly in order to hear the individual sounds. At first, accept any sound they hear, regardless of its position in the word. Once they are hearing most sounds in a word, encourage them to give them in correct sequence. Session 4 Shared Writing: Revising (Authorial) Revisiting Students Text Teaching Focus Begin with a shared reading of the text you recorded yesterday. Help students reflect on their ideas from the planning and composing sessions. This is the time to ensure that their piece achieves what they set out to do on the Planning and s. Composing an Imaginative Recount Take the ideas from your plan and add more details. Draw pictures in each frame. Then add some labels. Revising Tips Revising an Imaginative Recount Will my recount be interesting to the reader? Have I included who, what, when, where, and why? Are my ideas in a good order? Have I shared my feelings? Have I written this as if I had seen the event? Do I need to write more information? Can the reader picture where the story happens? Do I have a good ending? How does it sound when I read it aloud? Now I am ready to read it to a friend. Poster F Refer back to plan when revising text 6+1 Traits: Organization As we read our recount, let s think about our original plan. Have we done what we set out to do? What do you think? I agree, we have described the circus and the clowns so that readers can picture them in their minds. What else do we need to think about? Are we happy with the order of our ideas? Poster F Revising Tips Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 I Missed the Bus! 10

9 Session 4 (cont.) Share As they revise, good writers think about the order of their ideas. They also check to be sure that their writing gives readers the message they intended when they were planning. Revising Students Thoughts Encourage students to refer to the Revising Tips poster as they reflect on the original purpose and audience for the writing. They may consider changing or omitting ideas to make their message clearer. As we read the recount aloud, think about the message of our story. Would someone from another class understand our ideas? Would taking something out make it easier to understand? Let s try that. Then we can reread the recount to see if it makes our ideas clearer. Reflecting on the Revising Process Focus Round off the session by having students think back on the revision process. Remind them to think about their original plan when revising their own work. Make copies of Revising Tips for their writing folders. Session 5 Shared Writing: Editing & Publishing (Secretarial) Teaching Focus Edit writing to check for spelling 6+1 Traits: Conventions Share When editing your work, check that you have used a capital letter for the start of each sentence and a period at the end. Be sure you have used capital letters for names, too. Editing Students Text Editing provides an opportunity to consider spelling, and to begin to check for overused words or sentence structures. Establish the expectation that students will edit their own work before asking another student to read and check it for them. Remind them to check the Publishing Pointers poster for helpful hints. Now that we are happy with the message of our recount, we need to check that it is correct in every detail and ready for publishing. What things do we need to check? Yes, spelling and punctuation are things we check when we edit our work. How will we do this? Completing the Publishing Process Editing Your Work Reread your work. Make sure it is clear. Check your capital letters and periods. Check your spelling. Use proofreading marks if you need to fix things. Reread your work one more time. Publishing Your Work Proofreading Marks Change to a capital letter Check spelling Add period Use neat handwriting or computer type. Keep even spaces between words. For fiction, draw pictures that go with the story. For nonfiction, draw pictures that make the information clearer. Number the pages of a book. Make a cover and an About the Author page. Publishing Pointers With the editing process completed, have students decide how to publish the story. They should consider text type, purpose, and audience as they select their publishing media. How shall we publish our recount? Yes, this is going to be displayed in the library. What will be the best way to do this? Is there another suggestion? Having decided the format of the recount, involve students in the production of the published version, by hand or on a computer. Encourage them to consider layout; type font, size, and color; and the placement of any illustrations. Have students reflect on their involvement in the writing process from planning to publishing. Have them articulate what they learned about writing through their shared writing experience. Let s think about what we learned about the writing process as we created our recount. What did we do really well? Which parts of this process were tricky? How will you use what we learned about the writing process when writing your own recounts? 9 Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 I Missed the Bus!

10 Poster D Who will read my story? What do I know about a recount? My Ideas Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 Poster D/Imaginative Recount Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 I Missed the Bus! 8

11 Composing an Imaginative Recount Take the ideas from your plan and add more details. Draw pictures in each frame. Then add some labels. Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 /Imaginative Recount 7 Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 I Missed the Bus!

12 Revising Tips Poster F Revising an Imaginative Recount Will my recount be interesting to the reader? Have I included who, what, when, where, and why? Are my ideas in a good order? Have I shared my feelings? Have I written this as if I had seen the event? Do I need to write more information? Can the reader picture where the story happens? Do I have a good ending? How does it sound when I read it aloud? Now I am ready to read it to a friend. Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 /Imaginative Recount Mondo Pathways to Writing K 2 I Missed the Bus! 6

Language Arts Core, First Grade, Standard 8 Writing-Students write daily to communicate effectively for a variety of purposes and audiences.

Language Arts Core, First Grade, Standard 8 Writing-Students write daily to communicate effectively for a variety of purposes and audiences. Genre Unit Reading and Writing Fables by Amy Kinney Language Arts Core, First Grade, Standard 7 Comprehension-Students understand, interpret, and analyze narrative and informational grade level text. Objective

More information

Unit Map 2011-2012 Columbia University Teachers College Collaboration / Writing* / Kindergarten (Elementary School)

Unit Map 2011-2012 Columbia University Teachers College Collaboration / Writing* / Kindergarten (Elementary School) Unit Map 2011-2012 Columbia University Teachers College Collaboration / Writing* / Kindergarten (Elementary School) June 21, 2011, 9:13AM Unit 01 Launching The Writing Workshop (Week 1, 4 Weeks) Unit Rationale

More information

Resources & References: (adapted from, acknowledgments) Portland Public Schools

Resources & References: (adapted from, acknowledgments) Portland Public Schools Informative Writing: All-About (1) Defining All-About Text and Brainstorming Topics Minilesson Teaching Point: Define All-About text and brainstorm topics. Standard(s): W.1.2 Write informative/explanatory

More information

4th Grade MELD Lessons Aligned to CCSS Narrative Writing

4th Grade MELD Lessons Aligned to CCSS Narrative Writing 4th Grade MELD Lessons Aligned to CCSS Narrative Writing Overview Throughout the course of this writing unit you will see strategies used as part of a Culturally Relevant balanced literacy program. You

More information

Lesson: Comprehension Strategies for Informational Science Texts

Lesson: Comprehension Strategies for Informational Science Texts Lesson: Comprehension Strategies for Informational Science Texts Objectives Common Core State Standards Utilizes strategies to self-monitor comprehension during reading Recognizes when a comprehension

More information

Informational Writing. First Grade

Informational Writing. First Grade Informational Writing First Grade Concept 1: Writers select things they know all about so they can teach others. Lesson 1: Think of topics in which they are experts and contribute their ideas to develop

More information

Kindergarten - Unit 2 Tell A Story, 1-2-3

Kindergarten - Unit 2 Tell A Story, 1-2-3 Week 3 Focus Standards RL.K.1 RI.K.1 W.K.2 RF.K.2a SL.K.1 RL.K.5 RI.K.7 W.K.3 RF.K.2c SL.K.1a RL.K.7 RI.K.10 W.K.5 RF.K.2d SL.K.1b RL.K.10 Reading Mentor Text Writing Mentor Text Ten Red Apples by Pat

More information

Little Red Riding Hood

Little Red Riding Hood GUIDED READING FAIRY TALE Little Red Riding Hood Written by Robert Vitro and illustrated by Jeff Mack KEY IDEA A little girl in a red cape sets out to visit her grandmother, but meets up with a pesky wolf

More information

Grade 3: Module 3A: Unit 3: Lesson 2 Writing a First-Draft Peter Pan Summary

Grade 3: Module 3A: Unit 3: Lesson 2 Writing a First-Draft Peter Pan Summary Grade 3: Module 3A: Unit 3: Lesson 2 This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License. Exempt third-party content is indicated by the footer: (name

More information

Teaching writing. Guide for Years 1 3. December 2009

Teaching writing. Guide for Years 1 3. December 2009 150624 Contents Building a supportive writing community 1 The teaching focus... 2 Planning modelled writing lessons 3 Before writing... 3 Step 1: Identifying the writing task in context and... 3 Step 2:

More information

Opinion Essay. Writing Process. Part I: Prewriting

Opinion Essay. Writing Process. Part I: Prewriting Opinion Essay An opinion essay tells what the writer thinks or feels about a topic. People have different opinions about things. In an opinion essay, you write your opinion about a topic. When you write

More information

Grade 3 Theme 1. Writing Title: Personal Narrative

Grade 3 Theme 1. Writing Title: Personal Narrative Grade 3 Theme 1 Writing Title: Personal Narrative Performance Standard W1.1 The student writes about a topic. GLES: [3] 1.1.2 Writing a paragraph on a single topic with two or more supporting details.

More information

Grizzly Bears. Written by Marilyn Woolley and Keith Pigdon

Grizzly Bears. Written by Marilyn Woolley and Keith Pigdon Grizzly Bears Guided Reading Report 680L Written by Marilyn Woolley and Keith Pigdon KEY IDEA This report discusses how grizzly bears live and care for their young. It also highlights the importance of

More information

The Reading- Writing Poster Pack. by Steve Peha

The Reading- Writing Poster Pack. by Steve Peha The Reading- Writing Poster Pack by Steve Peha Good Writing Has all of these traits Ideas that are interesting and important. Main Idea Details Showing Purpose Surprises Organization that is logical and

More information

ELA Common Core State Standards Lesson Plan Packet

ELA Common Core State Standards Lesson Plan Packet ELA Common Core State Standards Lesson Plan Packet Kindergarten Procedural: How To 05/17/12 Draft Last updated 5/17/12 jac. This document is the property of the Michigan Association of Intermediate School

More information

Daily Writing Time for first grade

Daily Writing Time for first grade Welcome Back, Superkids Daily Writing Time Unit 1, Review Lesson 1 Reproducible Page 2011 by Rowland Reading Foundation Name: Directions: Have children write a title in the box at the top and list items

More information

The First 20 Days of Reading: Intermediate Description of Lessons

The First 20 Days of Reading: Intermediate Description of Lessons Day 1 The First 20 Days of Reading: Intermediate Description of Lessons Read Aloud & Independent Reading Read Aloud: Reading is Thinking! Teacher will model how they think as they read. Teacher will think

More information

3 days Lifting the Qualities of Effective Fiction Writing. 3 4 days Stretching Out the Problem and Imagining Creative Solutions to Stories

3 days Lifting the Qualities of Effective Fiction Writing. 3 4 days Stretching Out the Problem and Imagining Creative Solutions to Stories Grade 1, Unit 3 Realistic Fiction Adapted from Realistic Fiction (Unit 3) in A Curricular Plan for the Writing Workshop, Grade 1 by Calkins Section of the Unit of Study Minilesson Focus Points Time (approximate)

More information

Students will participate in a cold-write of an opinion.

Students will participate in a cold-write of an opinion. : Instructional Strategies: DAY 1 Students will participate in a cold-write of an opinion. Advanced Graphic Organizers, Instructional Conversations facilitated by purposeful use of Participation and Discussion

More information

MStM Reading/Language Arts Curriculum Lesson Plan Template

MStM Reading/Language Arts Curriculum Lesson Plan Template Grade Level: 6 th grade Standard 1: Students will use multiple strategies to read a variety of texts. Grade Level Objective: 1. A.6.1: compare/contrast the differences in fiction and non-fiction text.

More information

Genre Mini Unit. Writing Informational Nonfiction By Joyce Dunning

Genre Mini Unit. Writing Informational Nonfiction By Joyce Dunning Genre Mini Unit Writing Informational Nonfiction By Joyce Dunning Grade Level: 2 nd Grade State Core Standards: Standard 2, Objective 1: Demonstrate an understanding that print carries the message. Standard

More information

Character Traits. Teacher Talk

Character Traits. Teacher Talk Character Traits Teacher Talk What: (What are character traits, emotions and motives?): Characters are the people or animals in a story. When looking at characters, notice details about how they look,

More information

Components of a Reading Workshop Mini-Lesson

Components of a Reading Workshop Mini-Lesson Components of a Reading Workshop Mini-Lesson Mini-Lesson: The Connection How will you begin the Reading Workshop mini-lesson with a connection in which you tell students what you ll be teaching them &

More information

Top tips for supporting your child with Literacy

Top tips for supporting your child with Literacy Top tips for supporting your child with Literacy As a parent/carer you are the person who know your child best, so you are ideally placed to help them with reading, writing, speaking and listening. Everywhere

More information

Writing Poetry with Second Graders By Shelly Prettyman

Writing Poetry with Second Graders By Shelly Prettyman Day 1 Mini-Lesson: What is Poetry (review)? Time: 30-45 min Writing Poetry with Second Graders By Shelly Prettyman Standard 7--Comprehension Students understand, interpret, and analyze grade level poetry.

More information

2 nd Grade MELD LESSONS ALIGNED TO CCSS

2 nd Grade MELD LESSONS ALIGNED TO CCSS MELD Lesson Objective(s): Materials/Resources Formative Assessment On demand performance assessment prompt for opinion writing DAY 1 Write an opinion piece that introduces the topic, state an opinion,

More information

Writing Workshop First Grade. Unit 3 Small Moment Stories Lessons Writing Small Moments, Part 2

Writing Workshop First Grade. Unit 3 Small Moment Stories Lessons Writing Small Moments, Part 2 Writing Workshop First Grade Unit 3 Small Moment Stories Lessons 1 8 1. Writing Small Moments, Part 1 2. Writing Small Moments, Part 2 3. Writing Over Pages 4. Planning with Sketches, Part 1 5. Planning

More information

Grade 3: Module 1: Unit 1: Lesson 8 Paragraph Writing Instruction

Grade 3: Module 1: Unit 1: Lesson 8 Paragraph Writing Instruction Grade 3: Module 1: Unit 1: Lesson 8 This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License. Exempt third-party content is indicated by the footer: (name

More information

Writing Workshop First 20 Days. Key Learnings: To understand, develop, and follow routines for Writing Workshop.

Writing Workshop First 20 Days. Key Learnings: To understand, develop, and follow routines for Writing Workshop. Key Learnings: To understand, develop, and follow routines for Writing Workshop. Lesson Topics: Day 1 Components of Writer s workshop / Generate topic list ANCHOR CHART Day 2 Organizing folders and Writer

More information

Grade 4: Module 1B: Unit 2: Lesson 4 Reading, Writing, and Emotion: Love That Dog, Pages 68 72

Grade 4: Module 1B: Unit 2: Lesson 4 Reading, Writing, and Emotion: Love That Dog, Pages 68 72 Grade 4: Module 1B: Unit 2: Lesson 4 Love That Dog, Pages 68 72 This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License. Exempt third-party content is indicated

More information

Students will know Vocabulary: opinion preference title topic word sentence

Students will know Vocabulary: opinion preference title topic word sentence Kindergarten Grade Writing : Text Types and Purposes Essential opinion/preference, title, topic, word, sentence, title, topic, word, facts, nonfiction, fiction, sequence (order), event, reaction (feelings)

More information

Refining Informational Writing: Grade 5 Writing Unit 3

Refining Informational Writing: Grade 5 Writing Unit 3 Unit Title: Refining Informational Writing Concepts: 1. Writers read mentor texts to study informational writing. 2. Writers generate ideas and experiment with notebook entries. 3. Writers learn strategies

More information

An Overview of Conferring

An Overview of Conferring An Overview of Conferring You may have several important questions about writing conferences: ª What are the goals of a writing conference? ª When should I confer with students about their writing? ª What

More information

Expository Reading and Writing By Grade Level

Expository Reading and Writing By Grade Level Expository and Writing By Grade Level Kindergarten TEKS identify the topic of an informational text heard identify the topic and details in expository text heard or read, referring to the words and/or

More information

Sight Words: think, let, going, wood, bird. 11/02 WEDNESDAY Session 12

Sight Words: think, let, going, wood, bird. 11/02 WEDNESDAY Session 12 READING November 2-8, 2016 Wed Nov 2 Session 12 Thurs Nov 3 Session 13 - Read to 2 nd grade Fri Nov 4 Session 14 Mon Nov 7 Session 1 Tues Nov 8 Assessment Comprehension Standard Vocabulary Standard Foundation

More information

3 rd Grade MELD LESSONS ALIGNED TO CCSS

3 rd Grade MELD LESSONS ALIGNED TO CCSS MELD Lesson Objective(s): Materials/Resources Formative Assessment On demand performance assessment prompt for opinion writing DAY 1 What is an opinion? What is opinion writing? Write an opinion piece

More information

The Cat in the Hat Comes Back

The Cat in the Hat Comes Back The Cat in the Hat Comes Back Dr. Seuss Directed Reading Thinking Activity Created by Adrienne Wiggins awigginsworld.blogspot.com Introduction This book is the second to the book The Cat in The Hat, also

More information

K-1 Common Core Writing Santa Fe Public Schools Presented by: Sheryl White

K-1 Common Core Writing Santa Fe Public Schools Presented by: Sheryl White K-1 Common Core Writing Santa Fe Public Schools Presented by: Sheryl White Session Objectives Review expectations in Common Core Writing Gain ideas for teaching opinion writing Collaborate and articulate

More information

What phrases did you and your partner use to do each of the things below?

What phrases did you and your partner use to do each of the things below? Informal and Formal Presentations Take the topic sheet your teacher gives you, prepare what you are going to say and then speak for two or three minutes. Your partner will listen to you and then ask for

More information

Lesson 1: Model Story Mapping

Lesson 1: Model Story Mapping Lesson 1: Model Story Mapping Subject English, Language Arts Grade: 1 to 2 Description The teacher uses modeling to introduce the Story Mapping strategy. Pupils listen while the teacher reads a story;

More information

Independent Reading: The First Twenty Days of Teaching

Independent Reading: The First Twenty Days of Teaching Independent Reading: The First Twenty Days of Teaching M=Management Minilesson S=Strategies and Skills Minilesson L=Literary Analysis Minilesson Day 1 (M) We have specific ways to Students learn how Management

More information

Aim To help students prepare for the Academic Reading component of the IELTS exam.

Aim To help students prepare for the Academic Reading component of the IELTS exam. IELTS Reading Test 1 Teacher s notes Written by Sam McCarter Aim To help students prepare for the Academic Reading component of the IELTS exam. Objectives To help students to: Practise doing an academic

More information

xxx Lesson 11 1. Comprehend the writing process 2. Respond positively to the writing process

xxx Lesson 11 1. Comprehend the writing process 2. Respond positively to the writing process xxx Lesson 11 The Writing Process Overview: This lesson will focus on the writing process and how it relates to communication. Learners will be taught what the writing process is, its parts, and how they

More information

Reading Strategies by Level. Early Emergent Readers

Reading Strategies by Level. Early Emergent Readers The charts below were created as a common language for teachers and students in the Wallingford Public Schools in kindergarten through eighth grade. The level of the chart selected for use in the classroom

More information

Title of Lesson: What does it mean to be a responsible community member?

Title of Lesson: What does it mean to be a responsible community member? Title of Lesson: What does it mean to be a responsible community member? Level: Elementary Overview: Using a first day of school scenario, students are introduced to what a community is, how communities

More information

My Reading Goals These are goals decided upon by my teacher and me to help me become a better reader.

My Reading Goals These are goals decided upon by my teacher and me to help me become a better reader. Name: My Reading Goals These are goals decided upon by my teacher and me to help me become a better reader. Date Goal Achieved Reading Log Select a book to read. Enter the title, author, color code, and

More information

HEALTHY COMMUNICATION SKILLS

HEALTHY COMMUNICATION SKILLS HEALTHY COMMUNICATION SKILLS A Step-by-Step Guide For Educators Excerpted From Curricula Developed By The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) PURPOSE OF SESSION 1. Increase awareness about

More information

Writing Curriculum Grade 4

Writing Curriculum Grade 4 Writing Curriculum Grade 4 TABLE OF CONTENTS WRITING UNITS OF STUDY LAUNCHING WRITERS WORKSHOP... LAUNCHING WRITING OVERVIEW... LAUNCHING WRITING LESSONS... UNIT 1 PERSONAL NARRATIVE... PERSONAL NARRATIVE

More information

Reading Workshop Unit of Study - Kindergarten Unit 5

Reading Workshop Unit of Study - Kindergarten Unit 5 Content Area: Reading Workshop Grade Level: Kindergarten Unit Title: Nonfiction Reading Strategies Duration: 5 weeks (May- June) Concepts: Readers get ready to study nonfiction text. Readers use features

More information

READING Workshop. Mrs. Kinsel and Mrs. Barham Week of: September 28 Oct 2. Theme: Community

READING Workshop. Mrs. Kinsel and Mrs. Barham Week of: September 28 Oct 2. Theme: Community Mrs. Kinsel and Mrs. Barham Week of: September 28 Oct 2 Theme: Community READING Workshop Standards: RI.3.5a Use various text features (e.g., captions, bold prints, headings, subheadings, table of contents,

More information

Starting and Ending Presentations- Phrases

Starting and Ending Presentations- Phrases Starting and Ending Presentations- Phrases Without looking below, listen to your teacher read out phrases and hold up the right one of the cards they have given you. If the phrase can be used both at the

More information

Which of these two examples most closely reflects the displays in your classroom or around your school?

Which of these two examples most closely reflects the displays in your classroom or around your school? How to create learning-foc Which of these two examples most closely reflects the displays in your classroom or around your school? a) A beautiful wall display located outside a kindergarten classroom.

More information

Grade 5: Module 1: Unit 2: Lesson 10 Characters Charging Over Time (Chapter 10: Las Papas/Potatoes )

Grade 5: Module 1: Unit 2: Lesson 10 Characters Charging Over Time (Chapter 10: Las Papas/Potatoes ) Grade 5: Module 1: Unit 2: Lesson 10 Characters Charging Over Time This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License. Exempt third-party content is

More information

Sample Parent Education Lessons

Sample Parent Education Lessons PART III: PARENT EDUCATION Sample These sample lessons are based on the concepts presented in the Learning to Read and Write Overview on page III 10. Each lesson can be adapted to the educational needs

More information

Retelling. In the beginning.. Then,... After that,... And then,... Finally,... Do I understand what I read? Does it make sense?

Retelling. In the beginning.. Then,... After that,... And then,... Finally,... Do I understand what I read? Does it make sense? Retelling Gr 1-3 In the beginning.. Then,... After that,... And then,... Finally,... Do I understand what I read? Does it make sense? Retelling Gr 1-3 Page 1 Grade: Prior Knowledge: What prior knowledge

More information

The following strategies have been shared by Kate Christensen from William Colenso College. Kate offers detailed explanations for how each strategy

The following strategies have been shared by Kate Christensen from William Colenso College. Kate offers detailed explanations for how each strategy The following strategies have been shared by Kate Christensen from William Colenso College. Kate offers detailed explanations for how each strategy support learners to develop comprehension skills, how

More information

Baby Dinosaur Can Play

Baby Dinosaur Can Play Baby Dinosaur Can Play Level 4 Fiction Word count: 89 Text type: Narrative HFW introduced: HFW consolidated: Linking texts: Curriculum link: Phonological awareness: Story summary: are, ran, we, you baby,

More information

Magnets. Teacher s Guide. Level C/3. Small Group Reading Lesson Skills Bank Reproducible Activities

Magnets. Teacher s Guide. Level C/3. Small Group Reading Lesson Skills Bank Reproducible Activities Level C/3 Science Teacher s Guide Skills & Strategies Anchor Comprehension Strategies Identify Cause and Effect Summarize Information Phonemic Awareness Listening for words with /i/ Phonics Short i Concepts

More information

Effective Posters, Presentations, and Abstracts. Dr. Tom Gilmore UROP Director July 25, 2011

Effective Posters, Presentations, and Abstracts. Dr. Tom Gilmore UROP Director July 25, 2011 Effective Posters, Presentations, and Abstracts Dr. Tom Gilmore UROP Director July 25, 2011 Posters vs. Oral Presentations Posters Roaming audience Interactive discussion: small groups or often 1-on-1

More information

4th Grade Genre Unit: Legends

4th Grade Genre Unit: Legends 4th Grade Genre Unit: Legends Michigan Legends Melissa Gucker TE 802 Fall 2006 Lesson #1/Day #1 Lesson Topic: The Legend of the Loon : 1 st Characteristic of Legends: Heroes/Heroines. Goals: R.NT.04.02:

More information

Vernon Public Schools Grade 4 Unit 1 Writing, Realistic Fiction Lesson Plans

Vernon Public Schools Grade 4 Unit 1 Writing, Realistic Fiction Lesson Plans Unit 1: Writing Realistic Fiction Vernon Public Schools Grade 4 Unit 1 Writing, Realistic Fiction Lesson Plans Objective: What is writer s workshop? Writers keep a notebook. Lesson: Teaching Point 1 Process:

More information

Clothing/Colors. Objective: Students will learn the ten basic colors and major pieces of clothing.

Clothing/Colors. Objective: Students will learn the ten basic colors and major pieces of clothing. Clothing/Colors Objective: Students will learn the ten basic colors and major pieces of clothing. Materials: vocabulary cards (go to www.mes-english.com for flashcards of various sizes), several sets of

More information

A Party for Teddy. A Party for Teddy. The cover

A Party for Teddy. A Party for Teddy. The cover A Party for Teddy The story The two stories in this book are about Teddy. The children read about Teddy in Little Explorers A. Shopping The first story is about Teddy and Mum going to the shop. Mum has

More information

Monitoring for Meaning

Monitoring for Meaning Monitoring for Meaning Grades 3-5 eeee Wwh Monitoring comprehension is above all engagement. When readers monitor their thinking, they have an inner conversation with the text. They listen to the voice

More information

Grade 4 English Language Arts 140 Writing, Lesson 4

Grade 4 English Language Arts 140 Writing, Lesson 4 GRADE 4 English Language Arts Writing Lesson 4 Read aloud to the students the material that is printed in boldface type inside the boxes. Information in regular type inside the boxes and all information

More information

5 factor. 6 prioritise

5 factor. 6 prioritise This lesson encourages students to look at the ways people manage their time. It also suggests ways in which they could improve their own time management. Level: Pre-intermediate and above (equivalent

More information

GRADE 8 English Language Arts Proofreading: Lesson 6

GRADE 8 English Language Arts Proofreading: Lesson 6 GRADE 8 English Language Arts Proofreading: Lesson 6 Read aloud to the students the material that is printed in boldface type inside the boxes. Information in regular type inside the boxes and all information

More information

LISTEN WRITE AND READ

LISTEN WRITE AND READ LISTEN WRITE AND READ Sentences for Sight Word Dictation A teaching guide and resource for giving dictation Levels 1-5 LISTEN WRITE AND READ Sentences for Sight Word Dictation Paul J. Wickham 2 Table of

More information

Building a Collaborative Community of Writers. Developmental Studies Center

Building a Collaborative Community of Writers. Developmental Studies Center Building a Collaborative Community of Writers Session Goals Review a framework for and the core elements of effective writing instruction Examine the role of talk in the writer s workshop Discuss strategies

More information

Monthly Family Projects

Monthly Family Projects Monthly Family Projects Teacher Overview Thank you so much for purchasing these monthly family projects! Family projects are a great way to encourage family togetherness and to strengthen the home-school

More information

Writing Simple Stories Grade One

Writing Simple Stories Grade One Ohio Standards Connections Writing Applications Benchmark A Compose writings that convey a clear message and include well-chosen details. Indicator 1 Write simple stories with a beginning, middle and end

More information

2 Mathematics Curriculum

2 Mathematics Curriculum New York State Common Core 2 Mathematics Curriculum GRADE GRADE 2 MODULE 3 Topic E: Model Numbers Within 1000 with Place Value Disks 2.NBT.A Focus Standard: 2.NBT.A Understand place value. Instructional

More information

Unit 5 Recount: Police Report

Unit 5 Recount: Police Report Summary and context This unit looks at a recount text in a form that is not often used in schools a police report. It enables pupils to consolidate skills previously covered in recount work and apply them

More information

Desired Results for the Unit

Desired Results for the Unit Halmoni and the Picnic Reading Unit Plan 3 rd Grade at Candlebrook Elementary Lauren Neudorfer Established Goals: Desired Results for the Unit Students will be able to identify problems and solutions embedded

More information

Lesson 1.1 P.WRITE, Gr. 2 & 3, 08-09. PWRITE: POW + TREE: LESSON # 1 Part 1

Lesson 1.1 P.WRITE, Gr. 2 & 3, 08-09. PWRITE: POW + TREE: LESSON # 1 Part 1 PWRITE: POW + TREE: LESSON # 1 Part 1 Purpose: Develop Background Knowledge, Discuss It Objectives: Introduction to POW, writing to persuade, and TREE; identification of TREE parts in essay example Materials:

More information

California. www.heinemann.com Phone: 800.225.5800

California. www.heinemann.com Phone: 800.225.5800 California Preschool Learning Foundations, Vol. 1 (Foundations in Language and Literacy) and The Continuum of Literacy Learning, Grades PreK 8: A Guide to Teaching by Gay Su Pinnell and Irene C. Fountas

More information

TOPIC C6.3 : ICT PRESENTATION SKILLS

TOPIC C6.3 : ICT PRESENTATION SKILLS ACTION-BASED ACTIVITIES TOPIC C6.3 : ICT PRESENTATION SKILLS THEME C6 USING ICT IN SOCIAL ROLES L E V E L S 1 & 2 ISSUED 2013 L E V E L 2 INSTRUCTIONS WHAT DO I DO? L E V E L 2 Use this booklet to help

More information

Support for Student Literacy

Support for Student Literacy Support for Student Literacy Introduction In today s schools, many students struggle with English language literacy. Some students grow up speaking, reading and/or writing other languages before being

More information

Improving the Quality of Personal Narratives: Grade 3 Writing Unit 2

Improving the Quality of Personal Narratives: Grade 3 Writing Unit 2 Unit Title: Improving the Quality of Personal Narratives Duration: 4 weeks Concepts: 1. Writers generate ideas and experiment with notebook entries. 2. Writers learn strategies for writing good personal

More information

ANCHOR CHARTS FOR READING SKILLS

ANCHOR CHARTS FOR READING SKILLS ANCHOR CHARTS FOR READING SKILLS These materials were designed as supplemental instruction for several FCAT tested skills. There is a one-page definition in student-friendly language, explaining each skill.

More information

Organizing and Managing a Book Discussion Group

Organizing and Managing a Book Discussion Group Organizing and Managing a Book Discussion Group This guide was adapted for CCH s April California Stories Uncovered campaign from a book discussion guide developed by the Washington Center for the Book

More information

Narrative Literature Response Letters Grade Three

Narrative Literature Response Letters Grade Three Ohio Standards Connection Writing Applications Benchmark A Write narrative accounts that develop character, setting and plot. Indicator: 1 Write stories that sequence events and include descriptive details

More information

How to Take Running Records

How to Take Running Records Running Records are taken to: guide teaching match readers to appropriate texts document growth overtime note strategies used group and regroup children for instruction How to Take Running Records (adapted

More information

Level 2 6.4 Lesson Plan Session 1

Level 2 6.4 Lesson Plan Session 1 Session 1 Materials Materials provided: image of 3R symbol; 4 environment images; Word Map; homework puzzle. Suggested additional materials: examples of compostable and non-compostable waste, i.e., apple

More information

Weekly Lesson Plan for Shared Reading Kindergarten

Weekly Lesson Plan for Shared Reading Kindergarten Weekly Lesson Plan for Shared Reading Kindergarten Level: Emergent Week of: Note: This sample plan contains considerably more detail than you would include in your own day book plan. This level of detail

More information

English Language Arts/Literacy: Retelling Information

English Language Arts/Literacy: Retelling Information English Language Arts/Literacy: Retelling Information Overview Skillful readers summarize and synthesize information they read. Comprehension is deepened by a process that involves building knowledge,

More information

Cohesion, organisation and presentation

Cohesion, organisation and presentation Cohesion, organisation and presentation Introduction This chapter builds on the work done in Year 5. The early parts of this chapter cover cohesive devices. Later parts deal with layout and organisational

More information

Grade 3: Module 1: Unit 3: Lesson 7 Close Reading of Excerpts from My Librarian is a Camel: How Do People Access Books Around the World?

Grade 3: Module 1: Unit 3: Lesson 7 Close Reading of Excerpts from My Librarian is a Camel: How Do People Access Books Around the World? Grade 3: Module 1: Unit 3: Lesson 7 Close Reading of Excerpts from My Librarian is a Camel: How Do People Access Books Around the World? This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike

More information

If You Give A Moose A Muffin

If You Give A Moose A Muffin If You Give A Moose A Muffin Skyler Harwood Comprehension Kindergarten Essential Questions How do we think while reading in order to understand and respond? How do we apply reading skills and strategies

More information

ELA Common Core State Standards Lesson Plans

ELA Common Core State Standards Lesson Plans ELA Common Core State Standards Lesson Plans Kindergarten Unit 4: Pattern Books 11/12/12 Draft 1 Table of Contents Background Section Abstract 3 Unit Section Resources and Materials Needed 4 Why a script?

More information

Text-Type Writing Study: Persuasive Poster

Text-Type Writing Study: Persuasive Poster Text-Type Writing Study: Persuasive Poster In this writing study students will learn that posters are carefully designed to share information, promote a specific message, or persuade us to think or act

More information

Context Clues. Reading Module Context Clues. Lesson Objective. Vocabulary. Reviewed Vocabulary Instructional Materials

Context Clues. Reading Module Context Clues. Lesson Objective. Vocabulary. Reviewed Vocabulary Instructional Materials Lesson Objective Vocabulary Reviewed Vocabulary Instructional Materials (Vocabulary) Students will learn to find and interpret context clues to help determine the meaning of unfamiliar words. context clues:

More information

Helping English Language Learners Make Sense of Math Word Problems

Helping English Language Learners Make Sense of Math Word Problems Helping English Language Learners Make Sense of Math Word Problems A Lesson with Second Graders Rusty Bresser, Kathy Melanese, and Christine Sphar Featured in Math Solutions Online Newsletter, Fall 2008,

More information

Speech and Language Development during Elementary School

Speech and Language Development during Elementary School Speech and Language Development during Elementary School By the end of kindergarten your child should be able to do the following: Follow 1-2 simple directions in a sequence Listen to and understand age-appropriate

More information

Inside the Maize Maze by Sharon Holt, photographs by Anthony Russell. Copyright for the text, illustrations and/or photographs

Inside the Maize Maze by Sharon Holt, photographs by Anthony Russell. Copyright for the text, illustrations and/or photographs The New Zealand Curriculum Reading AT SCHOOL SUPPORTING YOUR CHILD S LEARNING AFTER 2 YEARS AT SCHOOL If your child is meeting the Reading Standard after two years at school......they will be reading books

More information

2 Mathematics Curriculum

2 Mathematics Curriculum New York State Common Core 2 Mathematics Curriculum GRADE GRADE 2 MODULE 3 Topic G: Use Place Value Understanding to Find 1, 10, and 100 More or Less than a Number 2.NBT.2, 2.NBT.8, 2.OA.1 Focus Standard:

More information

Grade 4: Module 1B: Unit 3: Lesson 11 Writing the Essay: Body Paragraph

Grade 4: Module 1B: Unit 3: Lesson 11 Writing the Essay: Body Paragraph Grade 4: Module 1B: Unit 3: Lesson 11 This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License. Exempt third-party content is indicated by the footer: (name

More information

Teachers College Writing Workshop Lucy Calkins Guide for Parents

Teachers College Writing Workshop Lucy Calkins Guide for Parents Teachers College Writing Workshop Lucy Calkins Guide for Parents At Bradford, we believe that the Teachers College Writing Workshop model allows students to have the last word; it allows students to take

More information

Persuasive Writing Persuasive Paragraph

Persuasive Writing Persuasive Paragraph 183 Persuasive Writing Persuasive Paragraph How would you complete the next sentence? The best event at school is... Would you say hat day, grandparents day, the school carnival? A special event can make

More information

Mini-Lesson Focus Key Concept Resources Needed Day 1 Immersion: What do you notice about memoir?

Mini-Lesson Focus Key Concept Resources Needed Day 1 Immersion: What do you notice about memoir? Memoir Upper Grades Classroom Goals and teaching points for Memoir Unit 1. Students will be able to define and identify characteristics of 2. Students will generate memories and ideas for a theme or focus

More information