CPAs & ADVISORS WORKING CAPITAL AND AVOIDING PURCHASE PRICE DISPUTES. Matt Klauser, CPA, CM&AA

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "CPAs & ADVISORS WORKING CAPITAL AND AVOIDING PURCHASE PRICE DISPUTES. Matt Klauser, CPA, CM&AA"

Transcription

1 CPAs & ADVISORS WORKING CAPITAL AND AVOIDING PURCHASE PRICE DISPUTES Matt Klauser, CPA, CM&AA

2 AGENDA What is a working capital target and post-closing adjustment? What types of pro forma adjustments may be included? What methodologies can be utilized to calculate a working capital target in an acquisition? What are examples of common items that can lead to post-closing disputes? How do generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP) differ from past practices in terms of influencing the working capital target and adjustment? What are common questions received from Sellers? Questions from the audience (including questions submitted in advance) 2

3 ARE YOU READY FOR TONIGHT? 3

4 WHAT IS A WORKING CAPITAL TARGET? Working capital is required to operate the business Sellers are frequently valued on a cash-free, debt-free basis Would your company exist if it did not extend credit to customers or purchase/manufacture inventory in advance of the eventual sale? Buyers don t want to have to utilize a line of credit to fund the short-term working capital needs of the company post-closing As a result, Buyers require Sellers to deliver a normal level of working capital at closing to fund operations post-closing this is known as the working capital target (or peg) The working capital target is negotiable, similar to the preliminary valuation Consider including an example calculation in the purchase agreement specifying exactly which accounts will be included in working capital 4

5 WHAT IS A POST-CLOSING ADJUSTMENT? At closing, actual working capital is measured and compared to the target If actual working capital is greater than the target, purchase price is increased, and vice versa (usually two-step process) Typical process for calculating actual working capital is as follows: A few days before closing, Seller provides estimate of working capital and the purchase price at closing includes an adjustment equal to the difference between the estimate and the target Within a specified time period post-closing, Buyer prepares actual working capital and delivers to Seller Seller has specified time period to review Buyer s calculation If agreement cannot be reached, disputed amounts are presented to independent third-party for resolution Eventually, purchase price is adjusted for the difference between actual working capital and the estimate 5

6 EXAMPLES OF PRO FORMA ADJUSTMENTS Remove assets and liabilities excluded from the transaction Cash, debt, related party, income taxes GAAP adjustments Reserves and accruals more on this later Interim vs. year-end accounting Consistency of adjustments made only at each quarter-end or year-end Changes in the business Customer payment terms Inventory purchasing patterns Adjustments to EBITDA Add back excess compensation costs, exposures related to reserves, etc. One-time/non-recurring accruals 6

7 TARGET WORKING CAPITAL METHODOLOGIES How was the valuation determined? Simple historical average (commonly last 12 months but could be longer or shorter) Working capital as of a recent date Ratio of working capital to EBITDA (or sales) multiplied by the EBITDA (or sales) used in the valuation Expected working capital at closing Projected working capital at a future date Almost anything you can imagine 7

8 ITEMS THAT LEAD TO POST-CLOSING DISPUTES Overcommitting before completing working capital diligence Not completing working capital diligence early in the exclusivity period Using vague or misleading wording in the definitive agreement and assuming we will handle it post-closing Using the working capital adjustment in an effort to close a gap related to the preliminary valuation Not understanding the significance of the working capital adjustment Trying to go it alone and not utilizing individuals experienced in the subject matter Lack of clarification regarding GAAP vs. past practices 8

9 GAAP VS. PAST PRACTICES Will working capital be computed in accordance with GAAP, or consistent with the company s past practices? Beware of the dreaded comma! If you use the dreaded comma, which one prevails? Buyers may lean towards GAAP (to align with cash flow expectations) while Sellers may lean towards past practices (for consistency) 9

10 WHY ARE THESE ITEMS IMPORTANT Do you want to flip a coin to avoid going to arbitration? 10

11 ADVANCE QUESTIONS FROM THE AUDIENCE Treatment of deferred revenue Often given a haircut when allocating purchase price is that considered when calculating the working capital target? Methodology in a professional services organization such as a consulting firm No inventory and employee time is billed against jobs 11

12 COMMON QUESTIONS FROM SELLERS Should I be able to keep the accounts receivable and inventory at closing since I paid for it? If Buyer is going to acquire my accounts receivable and inventory, should they have to pay me for it? Why would I agree to a working capital target that is significantly different from expected working capital at closing? Should seasonality influence the working capital target? Why do I have to include a working capital target? What happens if my company has negative working capital? What is a collar? What is a one-way adjustment? How do you handle accounting estimates in closing working capital where GAAP may accept multiple answers? 12

13 THANK YOU FOR MORE INFORMATION // For a complete list of our offices and subsidiaries, visit bkd.com or contact: Matt Klauser, CPA, CM&AA // Senior Managing Consultant mklauser@bkd.com //

Negotiating working capital targets and definitions

Negotiating working capital targets and definitions Negotiating working capital targets and definitions Prepared by: Robert Moore, Partner, McGladrey LLP 847.413.6223, bob.moore@mcgladrey.com The textbook definition of working capital is the difference

More information

ACC SF Bay Area. Corporate and Securities Committee NUTS AND BOLTS OF M&A DEALS: Demystifying the Working Capital Adjustment

ACC SF Bay Area. Corporate and Securities Committee NUTS AND BOLTS OF M&A DEALS: Demystifying the Working Capital Adjustment ACC SF Bay Area Corporate and Securities Committee NUTS AND BOLTS OF M&A DEALS: Demystifying the Working Capital Adjustment December 1, 2014 (San Francisco) December 2, 2014 (Palo Alto) presented by Stephen

More information

Issues in Negotiating Cash-Free Debt-Free Deals

Issues in Negotiating Cash-Free Debt-Free Deals Issues in Negotiating Cash-Free Debt-Free Deals Prepared by: Robert B. Moore, Partner, Transaction Advisory Group, McGladrey LLP 847.413.6223, bob.moore@mcgladrey.com Andy Jenkins, Director, Transaction

More information

Minimizing Working Capital Disputes in Healthcare Deals

Minimizing Working Capital Disputes in Healthcare Deals April 2014 Minimizing Working Capital Disputes in Healthcare Deals By: Ken Conner, CPA Shannon Farr, CPA/ABV/CFF Cole Powell, CPA/CGMA/FHFMA Working Capital Settlement Woes Too often, a game of tug of

More information

Second Annual Conference September 16, 2015 to September 18, 2015 Chicago, IL

Second Annual Conference September 16, 2015 to September 18, 2015 Chicago, IL Second Annual Conference September 16, 2015 to September 18, 2015 Chicago, IL Mergers and Acquisitions Primer for Service Contract Providers Brian T. Casey, Esq. Partner, Co-Chair Regulatory & Transactions

More information

DUE-DILIGENCE. Nitin Arora II Associate Director II. Corporate Catalyst India www.cci.in

DUE-DILIGENCE. Nitin Arora II Associate Director II. Corporate Catalyst India www.cci.in FINANCIAL DUE-DILIGENCE August 26, 2010 Nitin Arora II Associate Director II Corporate Catalyst India www.cci.in Financial Due Diligence (FDD) Financial Due Diligence is a reasonable level of enquiry into

More information

REALIZING VALUE - BUYING AND SELLING YOUR BUSINESS

REALIZING VALUE - BUYING AND SELLING YOUR BUSINESS REALIZING VALUE - BUYING AND SELLING YOUR BUSINESS Presented By: Norm Snyder and Jeff Capron November 2009 805 King Farm Boulevard, Suite 300 Rockville, Maryland 20850 301.231.6200 301.231.7630 F www.aronsoncompany.com

More information

Key Issues in M&A Transactions Ethical and Practical Considerations

Key Issues in M&A Transactions Ethical and Practical Considerations Key Issues in M&A Transactions Ethical and Practical Considerations Presented to: The Association of Corporate Counsel Arizona Chapter February 3, 2011 2011 Jennings, Strouss & Salmon, PLC. All rights

More information

Earn-out arrangements in a business combination impact of the revised IFRS 3

Earn-out arrangements in a business combination impact of the revised IFRS 3 ey.com/ifrs Negotiation series Earn-out arrangements in a business combination impact of the revised IFRS 3 January 2010 When negotiating a business acquisition, the potential consequences of the accounting

More information

Minimizing Working Capital Disputes in Healthcare Deals

Minimizing Working Capital Disputes in Healthcare Deals Minimizing Working Capital Disputes in Healthcare Deals By Ken Conner, CPA, Shannon Farr, CPA ABV CFF and Cole Powell, CPA, CGMA, FHFMA Published April 16, 2013 A global reach with a local perspective.

More information

IFRS brings a radical change to financial statement presentation

IFRS brings a radical change to financial statement presentation IFRS brings a radical change to financial statement presentation CMA MANAGEMENT 28 February 2009 Imagine having a balance sheet that doesn t look like it balances. If there is one thing that accountants

More information

BASIS OF ACCOUNTING WHICH ONE SHOULD YOU USE?

BASIS OF ACCOUNTING WHICH ONE SHOULD YOU USE? From time to time a question is raised by managers and board members regarding the basis of accounting that should be used when preparing interim financial statements for a homeowners association. Before

More information

C A L C U L A T I O N A N D A D J U S T M E N T O F P U R C H A S E P R I C E I N M & A T R A N S A C - T I O N S

C A L C U L A T I O N A N D A D J U S T M E N T O F P U R C H A S E P R I C E I N M & A T R A N S A C - T I O N S C A L C U L A T I O N A N D A D J U S T M E N T O F P U R C H A S E P R I C E I N M & A T R A N S A C - T I O N S Introduction Provisions on the calculation and adjustment of purchase prices are among

More information

Business Acquisition Process

Business Acquisition Process Ilse De Loof Business Acquisition Process Target Identification Engagement Due Diligence Negotiation of the transaction Closing Implementation & transition Phase 1: Target identification Deal teams Key

More information

Deal Essentials: Working Capital Considerations for a Successful Transaction

Deal Essentials: Working Capital Considerations for a Successful Transaction Deal Essentials: Working Capital Considerations for a Successful Transaction Jonathan Stevens, Baker & McKenzie, New York Nick Marchica, Baker & McKenzie, New York Margaret Hanson, Axis Capital Baker &

More information

Contingent Consideration, Earnouts and Holdbacks in M&A Transactions

Contingent Consideration, Earnouts and Holdbacks in M&A Transactions Contingent Consideration, Earnouts and Holdbacks in M&A Transactions December 6, 2011 Presented by: Pamela A. Grinter 4828-8886-1198 Contingent Consideration Contingent Consideration Many M&A transactions

More information

Having cash on hand is costly since you either have to raise money initially (for example, by borrowing from a bank) or, if you retain cash out of

Having cash on hand is costly since you either have to raise money initially (for example, by borrowing from a bank) or, if you retain cash out of 1 Working capital refers to liquid funds used to purchase materials and pay workers. This is in contrast to long term capital such as buildings and machinery. Part of working capital management is cash

More information

Due Diligence. Due Diligence. Advisory Services. Assurance Services. Financial. Commercial. Legal / Tax. Pre-Sale / Vendor

Due Diligence. Due Diligence. Advisory Services. Assurance Services. Financial. Commercial. Legal / Tax. Pre-Sale / Vendor Due Diligence Financial Commercial Legal / Tax Pre-Sale / Vendor IAS Partner GmbH Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft Steuerberatungsgesellschaft Advisory Services IAS / IFRS, US GAAP Due diligence Internal

More information

WESTERN DIGITAL CORPORATION CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS. (in millions; unaudited) ASSETS

WESTERN DIGITAL CORPORATION CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS. (in millions; unaudited) ASSETS CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS (in millions; unaudited) ASSETS Apr. 1, July 3, 2016 2015 Current assets: Cash and cash equivalents $ 5,887 $ 5,024 Short-term investments 146 262 Accounts receivable,

More information

Valuation for Mergers and Acquisitions. Prepared By Ooi Kok Hwa MRR Consulting

Valuation for Mergers and Acquisitions. Prepared By Ooi Kok Hwa MRR Consulting Valuation for Mergers and Acquisitions Prepared By Ooi Kok Hwa MRR Consulting Agenda This seminar will explain: Various valuation approaches for M&A exercises; Determine the value of target companies as

More information

Income Statement (1) First Quarter 2002

Income Statement (1) First Quarter 2002 Income Statement (1) (in millions of EUR) 1 st Q 2002 1 st Q 2001 2002/2001 Sales 5,402.2 4,993.6 +8.2% (2) EBITDA (FIFO) 408.7 366.1 +11.6% EBITDA margin 7.6% 7.3% - Depreciation (145.5) (134.6) +8.1%

More information

Lecture 5 - Financial Planning and Forecasting

Lecture 5 - Financial Planning and Forecasting Lecture 5 - Financial Planning and Forecasting Strategy A company s strategy consists of the competitive moves, internal operating approaches, and action plans devised by management to produce successful

More information

Financial Statement Analysis in Mergers and Acquisitions. Howard E. Johnson, MBA, CA, CMA, CBV, CPA, CFA. Campbell Valuation Partners Limited

Financial Statement Analysis in Mergers and Acquisitions. Howard E. Johnson, MBA, CA, CMA, CBV, CPA, CFA. Campbell Valuation Partners Limited - 1 - Financial Statement Analysis in Mergers and Acquisitions Howard E. Johnson, MBA, CA, CMA, CBV, CPA, CFA Campbell Valuation Partners Limited Overview Financial statement analysis is fundamental to

More information

Forward Looking Statements

Forward Looking Statements Velti 1 Forward Looking Statements The information contained herein includes certain estimated and unaudited financial information. Some of the information has been derived by the application of adjustments

More information

Advanced Merger Model Quick Reference Common Formulas & Model Setup. http://breakingintowallstreet.com. Transaction Structure & Assumptions

Advanced Merger Model Quick Reference Common Formulas & Model Setup. http://breakingintowallstreet.com. Transaction Structure & Assumptions Transaction Structure & Assumptions Equity Purchase Price = Diluted Shares Outstanding * Per Share Purchase Price For private companies, you don t have shares outstanding or share prices, so the equity

More information

3. In this paper, the staff recommend that the exposure draft:

3. In this paper, the staff recommend that the exposure draft: IASB Meeting January 2010 IASB agenda reference 14 Project Topic Financial Statement Presentation Net debt information Purpose of the meeting 1. At the September 2009 meeting, the IASB tentatively agreed

More information

CENTILLIUM COMMUNICATIONS ANNOUNCES FILING OF ANNUAL REPORT ON FORM 10-K

CENTILLIUM COMMUNICATIONS ANNOUNCES FILING OF ANNUAL REPORT ON FORM 10-K Press Contact: Investor Contact: Laurie Falconer Darrel Slack Director of Corporate Communications Chief Financial Officer (510) 771-3647 (510) 771-3917 laurie@centillium.com darrel@centillium.com CENTILLIUM

More information

Summary of Consolidated Financial Results for the Year Ended March 31, 2016 (Based on Japanese GAAP)

Summary of Consolidated Financial Results for the Year Ended March 31, 2016 (Based on Japanese GAAP) Translation Notice: This document is an excerpt translation of the original Japanese document and is only for reference purposes. In the event of any discrepancy between this translated document and the

More information

CARDIOME PHARMA CORP.

CARDIOME PHARMA CORP. Consolidated Financial Statements (Expressed in thousands of United States (U.S.) dollars) (Prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles used in the United States of America (U.S.

More information

The material in this document is intended to provide only general information to Canadian Western Bank s clients and the public, and not for the

The material in this document is intended to provide only general information to Canadian Western Bank s clients and the public, and not for the Business Valuation The material in this document is intended to provide only general information to Canadian Western Bank s clients and the public, and not for the purposes of providing professional advice.

More information

ACCOUNT DEBIT CREDIT Accounts receivable 10,000 Sales 10,000 To record the sale of merchandise to Sophie Company

ACCOUNT DEBIT CREDIT Accounts receivable 10,000 Sales 10,000 To record the sale of merchandise to Sophie Company CURRENT RECEIVABLES Receivables are the amount owed to the organization by its customers and/or others. Current receivables will be collected within one year or the current operating cycle which ever is

More information

CHAPTER 3 The Accounting Information System

CHAPTER 3 The Accounting Information System CHAPTER 3 The Accounting Information System 3-1 LECTURE OUTLINE Chapter 3 provides a review of accounting procedures throughout the accounting cycle. Depending on time constraints and students accounting

More information

Financial Modeling & Forecasting. Jason MacMorran www.pncpa.com

Financial Modeling & Forecasting. Jason MacMorran www.pncpa.com Financial Modeling & Forecasting Jason MacMorran www.pncpa.com Presentation Outline I. Introduction and Learning Objectives II. Definitions and Standards Overview III. Uses for Financial Models IV. Basics

More information

TRICKS AND TRAPS IN BUSINESS ACQUISITIONS

TRICKS AND TRAPS IN BUSINESS ACQUISITIONS TRICKS AND TRAPS IN BUSINESS ACQUISITIONS HELPING YOUR LENDING CLIENTS SECURE THE ASSETS THEY WANT AND THE COLLATERAL YOU NEED By Keith A. Wood (336) 478-1185 kaw@crlaw.com CARRUTHERS & ROTH, P.A. 235

More information

Farm Financial Standards Council Update Big Data Will Drive Financial Statements

Farm Financial Standards Council Update Big Data Will Drive Financial Statements Farm Financial Standards Council Update Big Data Will Drive Financial Statements Paul Neiffer, CPA Investment advisory services are offered through CliftonLarsonAllen Wealth Advisors, LLC, an SEC-registered

More information

Global Review of Business and Economic Research GRBER Vol. 8 No. 2 Autumn 2012 : 237-245. Jian Zhang *

Global Review of Business and Economic Research GRBER Vol. 8 No. 2 Autumn 2012 : 237-245. Jian Zhang * Global Review of Business and Economic Research GRBER Vol. 8 No. 2 Autumn 2012 : 237-245 Jian Zhang * Abstract: This study analyzes the contribution of return on asset (ROA) and financial leverage gain

More information

Merger Model Overview

Merger Model Overview Merger Model Overview We can divide the merger model into an 8-step process: The merger model tells you what happens when one company acquires another company. Usually, the buyer makes an offer to acquire

More information

Market Leader(R) Grows Q3 Revenue With SaaS-Based Vision Products

Market Leader(R) Grows Q3 Revenue With SaaS-Based Vision Products Market Leader(R) Grows Q3 Revenue With SaaS-Based Vision Products Company Release - 10/28/2010 16:00 Double Digit Revenue Growth Projected for the Coming Quarter KIRKLAND, WA -- (MARKET WIRE) -- 10/28/10

More information

Chunghwa Telecom Co., Ltd. and Subsidiaries

Chunghwa Telecom Co., Ltd. and Subsidiaries Chunghwa Telecom Co., Ltd. and Subsidiaries GAAP Reconciliations of Consolidated Financial Statements for the Nine Months Ended September 30, and 2009 1. SUMMARY OF SIGNIFICANT DIFFERENCES BETWEEN ACCOUNTING

More information

For the three months ended March 31, 2001 2000. Net sales $ 1,921 $ 1,351 Cost of sales 1,112 788. Gross margin 809 563

For the three months ended March 31, 2001 2000. Net sales $ 1,921 $ 1,351 Cost of sales 1,112 788. Gross margin 809 563 Pro Forma Consolidated Statements of Income Excluding Amortization of Purchased Intangibles and Goodwill, Purchased In-Process Research and Development, Acquisition-Related Costs and Non-Recurring Items

More information

Calculating performance indicators - liquidity

Calculating performance indicators - liquidity Calculating performance indicators - liquidity Introduction When a business is deciding whether to grant credit to a potential customer, or whether to continue to grant credit terms to an existing customer,

More information

Small Business Financing Basics

Small Business Financing Basics How to Buy an Existing Business Ralph T Mooney, CPA/ABV, CVA May 20, 2008 Mooney & Thomas, PC rtmooney@mooneythomas.com Introduction Small business is risky Buying a going business can be less risky than

More information

To lock or not to lock An introduction to the Locked Box closing mechanism

To lock or not to lock An introduction to the Locked Box closing mechanism September 2013 A publication from PwC s Deals practice To lock or not to lock An introduction to the Locked Box closing mechanism At a glance Deal closings can be lengthy and difficult processes with many

More information

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS IN MERGERS & ACQUISITIONS

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS IN MERGERS & ACQUISITIONS EMPLOYEE BENEFITS IN MERGERS & ACQUISITIONS PRESENTED BY: Bret A. McKitrick, JD Vice President HR Consultant Associated Financial Group Employee Benefits. Insurance. HR Solutions. LEARNING OBJECTIVES By

More information

Investments and advances... 313,669

Investments and advances... 313,669 Consolidated Financial Statements of the Company The consolidated balance sheet, statement of income, and statement of equity of the Company are as follows. Please note the Company s consolidated financial

More information

Monster Worldwide, Inc. Q1 2014 Financial Highlights

Monster Worldwide, Inc. Q1 2014 Financial Highlights Monster Worldwide, Inc. Q1 2014 Financial Highlights May 1, 2014 Safe Harbor Statement The statements in this presentation that are not strictly historical, including without limitation statements regarding

More information

Mike Bollinger - Profile. Independent Pharmacy - Today. Discussion Topics. Independent Pharmacy - Today 6/19/2012. Mike Bollinger June 22, 2012

Mike Bollinger - Profile. Independent Pharmacy - Today. Discussion Topics. Independent Pharmacy - Today 6/19/2012. Mike Bollinger June 22, 2012 Mike Bollinger - Profile Mike Bollinger June 22, 2012 Presenting to the members of: Business Management / Marketing, BA - University of New Orleans Manager, Independent Pharmacy - Majoria Drugs Sales Consultant,

More information

BUYING OR SELLING A BUSINESS: A CHECKLIST FOR SUCCESSFULLY NEGOTIATING PRICE

BUYING OR SELLING A BUSINESS: A CHECKLIST FOR SUCCESSFULLY NEGOTIATING PRICE BUYING OR SELLING A BUSINESS: A CHECKLIST FOR SUCCESSFULLY NEGOTIATING PRICE Phil Thompson Business Lawyer, Corporate Counsel www.thompsonlaw.ca A COMMON GOAL AND COMMON UNDERSTANDINGS Agreed: Our common

More information

FINANCIAL DUE DILIGENSE SERVICES

FINANCIAL DUE DILIGENSE SERVICES FINANCIAL DUE DILIGENSE SERVICES 2 BDO Kazakhstan OVERVIEW failed transaction or ill-researched business venture can be a costly scenario on many levels. Generally, Adue diligence refers to the care a

More information

TABLE OF CONTENTS CHAPTER 9

TABLE OF CONTENTS CHAPTER 9 TABLE OF CONTENTS CHAPTER 9 Purpose...1 Balance Sheet Accounts...1 Assets...1 Cash...1 Accounts Receivable...2 Accounts Receivable Allowances...4 Loans and Notes Receivable...4 Loans and Notes Allowances...5

More information

Buying and Selling ESOP Companies

Buying and Selling ESOP Companies Buying and Selling ESOP Companies 1 2015 CALIFORNIA/WESTERN STATES CHAPTER CONFERENCE UNITED FOR PEAK PERFORMANCE FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 25 Alan Weissman Independent Trustee Therese Kingsbury Miles Treaster

More information

Goals of the Session

Goals of the Session Accounting for ESOPs: Impact on Financial Statements of Plan Sponsors Presented by Lisa J. Tilley, CPA Senior Vice President Corporate Capital Resources, LLC Norman S. Kocol Chief Financial Officer Mapes

More information

IASB Meeting Agenda reference 4 Week Date. the objective of a limited scope project to amend IAS 12 Income Taxes and

IASB Meeting Agenda reference 4 Week Date. the objective of a limited scope project to amend IAS 12 Income Taxes and IASB Meeting Agenda reference 4 Week Date Staff Paper beginning 15 March 2010 Project Topic Income Tax Scope Cover note Purpose of this paper 1. This paper discusses: the objective of a limited scope project

More information

Focus on Forensics. Providing valuable insights to corporate decision-makers and their legal counsel May 2009

Focus on Forensics. Providing valuable insights to corporate decision-makers and their legal counsel May 2009 Focus on Forensics Providing valuable insights to corporate decision-makers and their legal counsel May 2009 Post-Acquisition Disputes and Net Working Capital By Bradley J. Preber CPA, CFF, CFE The sales

More information

Share Purchase Agreements Accounting rules for completion accounts

Share Purchase Agreements Accounting rules for completion accounts Share Purchase Agreements Accounting rules for completion accounts Undertaking a professional due diligence exercise has become an established part of the standard transaction process. When the due diligence

More information

September 2011. Tax accounting services: The impact of transfer pricing in financial reporting

September 2011. Tax accounting services: The impact of transfer pricing in financial reporting September 2011 Tax accounting services: The impact of transfer pricing in financial reporting This publication serves to highlight several important areas of financial reporting that can be affected by

More information

Credit necessary for business growth, but carrying both risk and cost

Credit necessary for business growth, but carrying both risk and cost CREDIT POLICY Author: Glen Bullivant FICM Credit necessary for business growth, but carrying both risk and cost The granting of trade credit is a powerful selling aid, and is a fundamental foundation upon

More information

Price Equals Value Plus Terms

Price Equals Value Plus Terms SUCCESSION PLANNING/BUSINESS VALUATION When a firm changes hands, a satisfying deal for both buyer and seller is in the trade-off details. Price Equals Value Plus Terms REPRINTED WITH PERMISSION FROM THE

More information

Part I: Understanding and Interpreting Financial Statements. The Asset Side of the Balance Sheet. The Liability Side of the Balance Sheet

Part I: Understanding and Interpreting Financial Statements. The Asset Side of the Balance Sheet. The Liability Side of the Balance Sheet Financial Statement Analysis & Business Valuation for the Practical Lawyer TABLE OF CONTENTS Sidebars Preface Acknowledgments Introduction Part I: Understanding and Interpreting Financial Statements Chapter

More information

AVOIDING COSTLY POST-CLOSING ACCOUNTING DISPUTES: PERSPECTIVES FROM A FORENSIC ACCOUNTANT AND A LITIGATOR

AVOIDING COSTLY POST-CLOSING ACCOUNTING DISPUTES: PERSPECTIVES FROM A FORENSIC ACCOUNTANT AND A LITIGATOR AVOIDING COSTLY POST-CLOSING ACCOUNTING DISPUTES: PERSPECTIVES FROM A FORENSIC ACCOUNTANT AND A LITIGATOR Jeff Compton, Compton & Wendler PC Joshua L. Fuchs, Jones Day Alexandra Wilde, Jones Day 1 On the

More information

BIOQUAL, INC. AND SUBSIDIARY AUDITED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATE:MENTS MAY 31, 2014 AND 2013

BIOQUAL, INC. AND SUBSIDIARY AUDITED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATE:MENTS MAY 31, 2014 AND 2013 BIOQUAL, INC. AND SUBSIDIARY AUDITED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATE:MENTS MAY 31, 2014 AND 2013 Table of Contents Page Independent Auditor's Report 1-2 Audited Consolidated Financial Statements Consolidated

More information

! "#$ %&!& "& ' - 3+4 &*!&-.,,5///2!(.//+ & $!- )!* & % +, -).//0)& 7+00///2 *&&.4 &*!&- 7.00///2 )!*.//+ 8 -!% %& "#$ ) &!&.

! #$ %&!& & ' - 3+4 &*!&-.,,5///2!(.//+ & $!- )!* & % +, -).//0)& 7+00///2 *&&.4 &*!&- 7.00///2 )!*.//+ 8 -!% %& #$ ) &!&. ! "#!""#$%$#$#$"& $'"()*+,$-).,/ 012! "#$ %&!& "& '!(&)!*&%+,-).//0 -#$#3-4' &,'1$1# $!-!(.//0)& +01+///2 *&& - 3+4 &*!&-.,,5///2!(.//+ &!(!-6%(!(.//.$(!(.//0)& 01,///2 //+2% &*!&- 5,0///2 //32%!(.//+

More information

Financial Due Diligence

Financial Due Diligence Restricted Circulation www.pwc.com Financial Due Diligence 11 February 2015 3rd National Seminar on Due Diligence - ASSOCHAM Agenda 1 Introduction to Financial Due Diligence 1 2 Why Financial Due Diligence?

More information

BUYING OR SELLING YOUR BUSINESS

BUYING OR SELLING YOUR BUSINESS BUYING OR SELLING YOUR BUSINESS On a regular basis I and work with buyers and sellers of businesses. In this article, I thought I would walk you through some considerations from an Advisor s point-of-view

More information

AICPA Technical Hotline's Top A&A Issues Facing CPAs

AICPA Technical Hotline's Top A&A Issues Facing CPAs AICPA Technical Hotline's Top A&A Issues Facing CPAs Kristy L. Illuzzi, CPA Frances S. McClintock, CPA Kristy L. Illuzzi, CPA Kristy Illuzzi moved to North Carolina and joined the AICPA in May 2007 as

More information

Valuation for merger and acquisition. March 2015

Valuation for merger and acquisition. March 2015 Valuation for merger and acquisition March 2015 Flow of presentation Valuation methodologies Valuation in the context of Merger and Acquisition Indian Regulatory Environment and Minority Interest Safeguard

More information

Budgeting and Planning Process

Budgeting and Planning Process Budgeting and Planning Process Summary The budget is an important annual planning document for the university and reflects choices, priorities and tactics set forth as the result of intensive planning.

More information

Accounting and Reporting Policy FRS 102. Staff Education Note 16 Financing transactions

Accounting and Reporting Policy FRS 102. Staff Education Note 16 Financing transactions Accounting and Reporting Policy FRS 102 Staff Education Note 16 Financing transactions Disclaimer This Education Note has been prepared by FRC staff for the convenience of users of FRS 102 The Financial

More information

Meeting the Needs of Private Equity in the Finance Organization

Meeting the Needs of Private Equity in the Finance Organization Meeting the Needs of Private Equity in the Finance Organization When there is a change in a company s ownership, significant changes are generally required in its finance organization. This is especially

More information

RMA Commercial & Business Banking

RMA Commercial & Business Banking RMA Commercial & Business Banking The Commercial Real Estate Lending Decision Process The Commercial Real Estate Lending Decision Process, authored by The Risk Management Association and brought to you

More information

Tax @ KPMG. kpmgcampus.com

Tax @ KPMG. kpmgcampus.com Tax @ KPMG kpmgcampus.com b Tax @ KPMG Tax @ KPMG 1 We are making a significant investment in our people to help them grow and develop at KPMG Tax. Skip Robichaux, Tax Partner and People Leader The world

More information

HP INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES CONSOLIDATED CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF EARNINGS (Unaudited) (In millions, except per share amounts)

HP INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES CONSOLIDATED CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF EARNINGS (Unaudited) (In millions, except per share amounts) CONSOLIDATED CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF EARNINGS (In millions, except per share amounts) 2015 Three months ended July 31, 2015 2014 Net revenue $ 25,714 $ 25,349 $ 28,406 Costs and expenses: Cost of sales

More information

ENGLISH FOR LAW STUDENTS

ENGLISH FOR LAW STUDENTS ENGLISH FOR LAW STUDENTS Legal Due Diligence 8 February2012 By Helen Michelle Jørgensen LEGAL DUE DILIGENCE Pre the event Post the event LEGAL DUE DILIGENCE Pre the event: buying an asset buying a business

More information

Buying and Selling a Business: Getting the Deal Done October 7, 2009

Buying and Selling a Business: Getting the Deal Done October 7, 2009 Buying and Selling a Business: Getting the Deal Done October 7, 2009 4840-7004-9028 Deal Sequencing Solicitation and confirmation of interest Confidentiality agreement Negotiation of key business terms

More information

Bridging the Purchase Price Gap in Business Acquisitions

Bridging the Purchase Price Gap in Business Acquisitions Bridging the Purchase Price Gap in Business Acquisitions Curt P. Creely and Michael D. James, Foley & Lardner LLP Many transactional attorneys and other dealmakers have experienced the frustration of being

More information

How To Write A Leveraged Employee Stock Ownership Plan

How To Write A Leveraged Employee Stock Ownership Plan Leveraged Employee Stock Ownership Plans May 29, 2007 J. Todd Butler, Esq. LESOPs in General An employee stock ownership plan ( ESOP ) is a qualified retirement plan. The main difference between an ESOP

More information

Vermont Employee Ownership Center. Sixth Annual Employee Ownership Conference. Financing an ESOP. Burlington, VT June 6, 2008

Vermont Employee Ownership Center. Sixth Annual Employee Ownership Conference. Financing an ESOP. Burlington, VT June 6, 2008 Vermont Employee Ownership Center Sixth Annual Employee Ownership Conference Financing an ESOP Burlington, VT June 6, 2008 Copyright 2008 by SES Advisors, Inc. All rights reserved. Program Agenda Basic

More information

CONSIDERATIONS IN BUYING AND SELLING A BUSINESS

CONSIDERATIONS IN BUYING AND SELLING A BUSINESS CONSIDERATIONS IN BUYING AND SELLING A BUSINESS David H. Pettit, Esq. Feil, Pettit & Williams, PLC Charlottesville, VA I. Ownership A. Are the owners of sound mind and in agreement? B. Can the transaction

More information

Econ Pro Valuation Methods - General recap and pitfalls. October 1, 2010

Econ Pro Valuation Methods - General recap and pitfalls. October 1, 2010 Econ Pro Valuation Methods - General recap and pitfalls October 1, 2010 1 Agenda Valuation Dimensions & Applications Valuation Methods Market method Cost method Income method Income method for Intangible

More information

Investments and advances... 344,499

Investments and advances... 344,499 Consolidated Financial Statements of the Company The consolidated balance sheet, statement of income, and statement of equity of the Company are as follows. Please note the Company s consolidated financial

More information

CPA DUE DILIGENCE CHECKLIST FOR THE SALE AND ACQUISITION OF A BUSINESS

CPA DUE DILIGENCE CHECKLIST FOR THE SALE AND ACQUISITION OF A BUSINESS Law Offices of Robert A. Briskin, a Professional Corporation 1901 Avenue of the Stars, Suite 1700, Los Angeles, California 90067 Certified Specialist - Taxation Law Telephone (310) 201-0507 The State Bar

More information

M&A Purchase Price Adjustment Clauses

M&A Purchase Price Adjustment Clauses Presenting a live 90-minute webinar with interactive Q&A M&A Purchase Price Adjustment Clauses Crafting Provisions to Mitigate Buyers' Financial Risks and Achieve Fair Compensation for Sellers THURSDAY,

More information

Accounting & Bookkeeping

Accounting & Bookkeeping Accounting & Bookkeeping Building Blocks for Financial Success Accounting vs. Bookkeeping Do you know the difference between accounting and bookkeeping? Bookkeeping is the systematic recording of amounts,

More information

Consolidated Financial Statements. Nippon Unipac Holding and Consolidated Subsidiaries

Consolidated Financial Statements. Nippon Unipac Holding and Consolidated Subsidiaries Consolidated Financial Statements Nippon Unipac Holding and Consolidated Subsidiaries Period from March 30, 2001 (date inception) to September 30, 2001 Nippon Unipac Holding and Consolidated Subsidiaries

More information

Lawyers Guide to Formulas in Deal Documents and Sec Filings

Lawyers Guide to Formulas in Deal Documents and Sec Filings Brochure More information from http://www.researchandmarkets.com/reports/2130254/ Lawyers Guide to Formulas in Deal Documents and Sec Filings Description: Written for lawyers at all levels of mathematical

More information

Reading Between the Bottom Lines

Reading Between the Bottom Lines #1 F I N A N C I A L S T A T E M E N T A N A L Y S I S Reading Between the Bottom Lines CPA... Imagine the possibilities! Intro Learning Activity Learning Objectives 1. Obtain a working knowledge of financial

More information

Costa Rica Negotiated M&A Guide

Costa Rica Negotiated M&A Guide Costa Rica Negotiated M&A Guide Corporate and M&A Law Committee Contact Juan Manuel Godoy Consortium Laclé & Gutiérrez San José, Costa Rica jmgodoy@consortiumlegal.com Coordinator Rafael Alvarado-Riedel

More information

A Closer Look at Purchase Price Allocations

A Closer Look at Purchase Price Allocations A Closer Look at Purchase Price Allocations Companies making acquisitions must comply with the Fair Value accounting rules of ASC 805, Business Combinations, and should consider an independent valuation

More information

Defining Issues. FASB Issues New Consolidation Guidance. February 2015, No. 15-6. Key Facts

Defining Issues. FASB Issues New Consolidation Guidance. February 2015, No. 15-6. Key Facts Defining Issues February 2015, No. 15-6 FASB Issues New Consolidation Guidance On February 18, 2015, the FASB issued a new consolidation standard to improve targeted areas of the consolidation guidance

More information

Moving Forward in an M&A Transaction The Art and Science

Moving Forward in an M&A Transaction The Art and Science November 2005 GREENBERG TRAURIG, LLP 1 ATTORNEYS AT LAW WWW.GTLAW.COM Moving Forward in an M&A Transaction The Art and Science Presented to the WMACCA Corporate Law Forum September 9, 2014 Scott Meza,

More information

The Insider s Guide to Leasing

The Insider s Guide to Leasing The Insider s Guide to Leasing Table of Contents 1 The Power of Leasing 2 The 11 Advantages of Leasing 4 Cash Flow & Credit 6 Upgrading & Adding Equipment 7 Tax & Reporting Advantages 8 The Three Types

More information

Derecognition of Financial Assets and Liabilities

Derecognition of Financial Assets and Liabilities FASB MEETING 8 APRIL 2010 SLIDES TO ACCOMPANY AGENDA PAPER 5 International Financial Reporting Standards Derecognition of Financial Assets and Liabilities FASB Educational Session Update on Derecognition

More information

How To Integrate Hr

How To Integrate Hr Houston Compensation & Benefits Post-Deal Integration Planning for Compensation & Benefits Wednesday, April 22, 2015 Agenda Deal Timeline/Background Integration of Compensation and Benefits Medical/Retirement

More information

Financial Statements and Ratios: Notes

Financial Statements and Ratios: Notes Financial Statements and Ratios: Notes 1. Uses of the income statement for evaluation Investors use the income statement to help judge their return on investment and creditors (lenders) use it to help

More information

Investor & Analyst Presentation Acquisition of Centor US Holding Inc. Uwe Röhrhoff, CEO Rainer Beaujean, CFO Duesseldorf, July 28, 2015

Investor & Analyst Presentation Acquisition of Centor US Holding Inc. Uwe Röhrhoff, CEO Rainer Beaujean, CFO Duesseldorf, July 28, 2015 Investor & Analyst Presentation Acquisition of Centor US Holding Inc. Uwe Röhrhoff, CEO Rainer Beaujean, CFO Duesseldorf, July 28, 2015 Disclaimer 1. This presentation may contain certain forward-looking

More information

Short-term investments (also known as marketable securities) are easily convertible to cash that a company plans to hold for a year or less.

Short-term investments (also known as marketable securities) are easily convertible to cash that a company plans to hold for a year or less. Accounting Fundamentals Lesson 5 5.0 Receivables & Investments Short-term investments (also known as marketable securities) are easily convertible to cash that a company plans to hold for a year or less.

More information

CDW Corporation. Non-GAAP Reconciliations First Quarter 2016. CDW.com 800.800.4239

CDW Corporation. Non-GAAP Reconciliations First Quarter 2016. CDW.com 800.800.4239 CDW Corporation Non-GAAP Reconciliations First Quarter 2016 CDW.com 800.800.4239 Q1 2016 Adjusted EBITDA Reconciliation to Net Income Three Months Ended March 31, 2016 2015 Net income $ 77.8 $ 54.7 Depreciation

More information

Property and equipment, net 1,043 167 Goodwill, net 59,169 - Other intangibles, net 3,005 - Other assets 892 744

Property and equipment, net 1,043 167 Goodwill, net 59,169 - Other intangibles, net 3,005 - Other assets 892 744 U.S. SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20549 ------------------------------- FORM 10-QSB Quarterly Report under Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 For the quarterly

More information

Jon Persky, CPA, CIC, PHR Optimum Performance Solutions, LLC 813-835-7337 jon@optperform.com www.optperform.com

Jon Persky, CPA, CIC, PHR Optimum Performance Solutions, LLC 813-835-7337 jon@optperform.com www.optperform.com Jon Persky, CPA, CIC, PHR Optimum Performance Solutions, LLC 813-835-7337 jon@optperform.com www.optperform.com EBITDA Multiplier? 10x $500,000 = $5 million 5x $1million = $5 million EBITDA Dollar Amount?

More information

Notes to the Interim Consolidated Financial Information (unaudited)

Notes to the Interim Consolidated Financial Information (unaudited) Note 1. The Company and basis of presentation ABB Ltd and its subsidiaries (collectively, the Company) together form a leading global company in power and automation technologies that enable utility and

More information