1 Public Carrier FAQ s Q. Is there a special license or endorsement required to operate a taxicab and/or limousine in the State of Delaware? A. Yes, in order to operate a taxicab and/or limousine in this State, a person must first obtain a Taxicab and Limousine ( Z ) endorsement on his/her driver license. Q. What qualifications do I need to meet if I am a resident of another State and wish to operate a taxicab and/or limousine in the State of Delaware? A. In order to drive a taxicab and/or limousine in this State, out-of-state taxicab and/or limousine operators shall meet the licensing requirements of their home state and the qualifications required of Delaware taxicab and/or limousine operators as defined in Del. C. Title In order to meet these qualifications, out-of-state drivers shall provide the following documentation to their employer: Upon first employment, and thereafter annually, provide to the driver s employer a current copy of the driver s home state driving record; Upon first employment, and upon re-employment following separation, provide to the driver s employer a current copy of the driver s criminal history background check; and Inform the driver s employer any time his/her driver license is suspended or revoked. Q. What crimes would permanently disqualify me from operating a taxicab and/or limousine in the State of Delaware? A. Any crime constituting the manufacture, delivery or possession of a controlled substance or a counterfeit controlled substance classified as such in Schedule I, II, III, IV or V of Chapter 47 of Title 16; Any crime against a child; Any crime constituting a class A or B felony; Any crime constituting a felony homicide, including, but not limited to murder, manslaughter and vehicular homicide; Any crime constituting a felony sexual offense; Any crime constituting a felony offense against public administration involving bribery, improper influence or abuse of office;
2 Q. What crimes would temporarily disqualify me from operating a taxicab and/or limousine in the State of Delaware? A. Any crime, other than those listed as a permanent disqualifier, constituting a felony for which the person has not been pardoned or for which less than 5 years have passed since the person fully discharged all imposed sentences. As used herein, the term sentence includes, but is not limited to, all periods of modification of a sentence, probation, parole or suspension, and all forms of fines, restitution or community service. If a person's driver license has been suspended, revoked, or disqualified in this State or any other jurisdiction for moving violations during the immediate preceding 5 years. If the applicant has not shown evidence of having satisfactorily completed, within 30 days of the date of issuing the taxicab and/or limousine authorization or endorsement, a defensive driving course approved by the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles. Q. If I have had a criminal history background check performed previously, may I submit the results to DelDOT to satisfy part of the qualification for employment or the taxicab/limousine endorsement for my license? A. The results of the criminal history background check must be performed by the State Bureau of Identification and Federal Bureau of Investigation and are not more than 180 days old. The criminal history background check results must be forwarded by the State Bureau of Identification and Federal Bureau of Investigation to the DelDOT s Deputy Attorney General for review. Criminal history background checks obtained from any other source other than the State Bureau of Identification and Federal Bureau of Investigation (e.g. internet based criminal history report), do not meet the requirements set forth in Chapter 85 of Title 11 and cannot be used for purposes of obtaining a taxicab and limousine endorsement. Q. How do I find a defensive driving course approved by the Director of Motor Vehicles? A. The list of defensive driving courses can be found on the Divisions web page: Q. If I have taken an approved defensive driving course within the last three years, will the Certificate of Completion be acceptable to obtain the taxicab/limousine endorsement on my license? A. If a person was operating a limousine prior to September 26, 2012, the Division of Motor Vehicles will accept a valid defensive driving course Certificate of Completion, not more than three years old, until December 31, Beginning January 2, 2013, all taxicab and limousine endorsement applicants must show evidence of having satisfactorily completed a defensive driving course approved by the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles within 30 days of the date of issuing the authorization or endorsement.
3 Q. To obtain the taxicab/limousine endorsement on my driver license, the Division of Motor Vehicles requires a written test as part of the qualification; do I need to take this test? A. If a person was operating a limousine prior to September 26, 2012, the Division of Motor Vehicles will waive the general knowledge test requirement until December 31, Beginning January 2, 2013, all taxicab and limousine endorsement applicants will be required to pass the general knowledge test in order to qualify for the taxicab and limousine endorsement. Q. I received a letter in the mail from DelDOT stating I am not eligible for the taxicab/limousine endorsement; what do I do now? A. If you believe the disqualification to be in error, you may request a Division of Motor Vehicles hearing by sending a written request to the Driver Improvement Hearing Section at the following address: The Division of Motor Vehicles Driver Improvement Hearing Section P.O. Box 698 Dover, DE Please make sure your letter specifically states that your hearing request pertains to the denial of a taxicab/limousine endorsement. You may also visit the Board of Pardons website to obtain the forms necessary to have the disqualifying charge pardoned or expunged. The forms can be found on the internet at the following address: Q. Who may I contact if I have any questions about taxicab and/or limousine endorsements? A. For questions or concerns please contact the Office of Public Regulation at (302)
4 Q. As a company, what qualifications must I look for and what records must I maintain on file for all of my drivers? A. In accordance with Del. C. Title and Delaware Transportation Administrative Code 2287, companies must meet the following criteria: Delaware licensed drivers Check to ensure all drivers have a Taxicab and Limousine endorsement ( Z ) on their current and valid driver license; Provide to DelDOT a Federal Bureau of Investigation and a State Bureau of Identification criminal history background check to verify that all individuals operating qualified vehicles are clear from disqualifying crimes as defined in Del. C. Title This information must be submitted to DelDOT by all companies within 30 days of employment or re-employment and cannot be more than 180 days old; Furnish to DelDOT within 30 days of employment or re-employment the full name, address, date of birth, driver license number, and proof of legal presence in United States of America. Out-of-state licensed drivers operating in Delaware Ensure the driver meets the requirements of their home state for driving a taxicab, or limousine; Provide to DelDOT a Federal Bureau of Investigation and a State Bureau of Identification (from the state of residence) criminal history background check to verify that all drivers are clear from disqualifying crimes as defined in Del. C. Title This information must be submitted to DelDOT by all companies within 30 days of employment or re-employment and cannot be more than 180 days old; Furnish to DelDOT within 30 days of employment or re-employment the full name, address, date of birth, driver license, and proof legal presence in the United States of America; Furnish to DelDOT within 30 days of employment or re-employment a current copy of the driver s driving record; Maintain on file a current copy of the driver s criminal history background check and driving record; Annually update and review the driver s driving records to ensure the driver has not been suspended, revoked, or disqualified during the immediate preceding 5 years for moving violations; An employer shall not knowingly permit a driver to operate upon the highways of this State when the employer is aware of any disqualifying crimes or motor vehicle violations.
5 Q. My vehicle is registered with the Office of Public Carrier Regulation, how long am I able to register my vehicle? A. No vehicle shall have vehicle registration which expires after the unexpired Certificate of Inspection sticker issued by DelDOT located in the upper right hand corner of the windshield. The vehicle registration will be issued for no longer than six months. Q. What is the purpose of the LX tag conversion? A. The LX tag was developed as an identifier for compliance purposes and to serve in promoting public confidence and safety as it relates to the Certificate of Inspection sticker located in the upper right hand corner of the vehicle s windshield. Q. Does six month registration cost me more money? A. Half of the vehicles yearly registration fee is paid at each six month renewal resulting in no additional fees. Q. How long does the application process take? A. Each applicant has 90 days to complete the application process once the application has been submitted and date stamped by the Office of Public Carrier Regulation. Q. What do you require to prove a useful public purpose, a useful public necessity and a useful public convenience responsive to public demand? A. This requirement is satisfied through the presentation of petitions, surveys, requests for service from Medicaid providers, demographic trend surveys, contracts for service, letters of support for service, documenting excessive wait times for the public, or other documents that clearly identify that a public demand exists, and/or existing Public Carriers are unable to meet the demand for each county you intend to serve. Q. Can we mail in renewals? A. Vehicle renewals can be mailed to the following address: Office of Public Carrier Regulation P.O. Drawer E Dover, DE You must complete the insurance information on the front of the Vehicle Inspection Report supplied by the Office of Public Carrier Regulation. Attach the Pass vehicle inspection report provided to you by the Division of Motor Vehicles inspection lane, $20.00 check made payable to DelDOT for the Office of Public Carrier inspection sticker, and a check made payable to DMV for half of your vehicle s yearly registration fee. All documentation must be mailed timely, in order to allow the Office of Public Carrier Regulation adequate time to process the paperwork and to return the vehicles credentials to you by mail, prior to the vehicle expiration.
6 Q. Can we pay with Credit card? A. Currently, the Office of Public Carrier Regulation does not have the ability to accept credit card payments; however, the Division of Motor Vehicles will allow credit card payments for your vehicle s six month registration fee. This service is not available over the phone or by mail; this service is only available to customers visiting our office in Dover, Delaware. Q. Background Checks I don t feel as if my family members and I should have to get them in order to operate. Why is this necessary? A. Delaware law, 2 Del C, c (e)(1) requires the applicant to be of good moral character, as shall be evidenced by exhibiting compliance with all applicable laws and regulations, and shall not have been convicted of a felonious or infamous crime involving fraud or deceit. In order to legally determine if this statutory requirement is met, information must be provided showing compliance. This office cannot obtain this information directly from the State Bureau of Identification (SBI); therefore it is necessary for the applicant to obtain this information and send it to the Office of Public Carrier Regulation. The only mechanism to do this is through the criminal background check process established by the SBI. Q. Is there an acceptable solution which will allow a limousine operator to not post the surname of their client in the back right window while waiting in front of a business establishment for security purposes? A. It will be acceptable to have a signed contract in the vehicle, during the trip, to verify the vehicles purpose. The goal is to identify companies that are registered as a limousine, and may be acting in the capacity of an illegal taxicab service. Q. How often must a vehicle, operating under a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity issued by DelDOT, be inspected? A. All vehicles which operate under a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity must be inspected by the Division of Motor Vehicles semi-annually. Q. How do I determine the passenger capacity of my vehicle? A. The passenger capacity of each vehicle is determined by the manufacturer s rating, however, the vehicle may be permanently altered to reduce passenger capacity as long as integrity and safety of the vehicle has not been compromised and has been approved by DelDOT.
7 Q. Can a limousine be haled by a curb side passenger? A. A limousine for hire can only engage in prearranged transportation over regular or irregular routes between 2 termini, at least 1 of which must be fixed. A limousine for Hire, picking up passengers at any location in the State of Delaware, must have been arranged or reserved by the passenger or a third party via telephone, facsimile, or computer at the request of the passenger before the Vehicle for Hire is dispatched and may not pick up anyone other than the passenger. A written trip ticket and/or written contract of having been summoned by the passenger to provide service for this specific date, time, and trip must be available in the vehicle for inspection by DelDOT. Lack of such written evidence shall constitute operation of an illegal Taxicab Service. Q What is a Medical Transport Vehicle? A. A Medical Transport Vehicle is a motor vehicle designed or used to transport 15 persons or less, including the driver, on a prearranged basis for visit to medical care providers or other destinations related to health and welfare that require Protective Oversight of passengers with special needs. Q. What is meant by the term Protective Oversight as used in Medical Transport Vehicle? A. Protective Oversight means the continuity of responsibility for the safety and welfare of passengers. Due to the level of disability, behavior, physical ability or medical condition, some passengers are at risk if left alone and require continuous oversight by another party. Q. Are Medical Transport Vehicles required to be inspected? A. Yes, all Medical Transport Vehicles for which Certificates have been issued by DelDOT must be inspected at a Delaware motor vehicle inspection lane semi-annually. Q. How would a passenger preparing to enter a taxi, limousine or medical transport know if the vehicle has a current and valid inspection? A. You will find prominently displayed on the right hand side of the windshield and visible from the exterior, an unexpired Certificate of Inspection sticker issued by DelDOT. Q. Can a passenger negotiate a flat fee as compared to a metered rate? A. It is the responsibility of the public carrier operating a taxicab or taxicabs under a Certificate of Public Convenience to cause the taximeters to be so regulated that the fare shall be calculated and registered in accordance with the current rates on file with and approved by DelDOT. The taximeter shall be in operation during every trip, the entire time the taxicab is engaged by a passenger. The passenger shall be required to pay only the amount recorded on the meter at the point of destination. If a flat fee is agreed upon prior to the trip, the passenger shall be required to pay the lesser of the two fares.
8 Q. Can I ask for a receipt from a taxicab driver? A. The driver of any taxicab shall, if requested, shall deliver to the person paying for hire of said vehicle, at the time of payment, a correct receipt of such payment. The receipt shall be legible and shall show the name of the company or owner, the vehicle number, the name of the driver, all items for which a charge is made, the total amount paid and the date of payment. Q. As a passenger in a bus, taxicab, limousine or medical transport, I feel as though I have been mistreated, what is the procedure to file a complaint? A. There is a Public Carrier Compliant Form made available to you online at; On the top right of the web page, you will find a box marked Information, simply click on the Complaints link. Once the web page loads, you will find the complaint form at the bottom of the page. Please provide a detailed message as to the nature of the complaint and submit the complaint form by .
TERMS AND CONDITIONS car2go N.A., LLC and car2go Canada Ltd. (Collectively, car2go ) offer car-sharing memberships to individuals and authorized legal entities that have been pre-approved through an application
Dear Fellow Drivers: Thank you for taking the time to review the Nebraska Driver s Manual. The information in this booklet is designed to help you study for the driver license written and skills tests.
NOTICE TO CONTRACTORS *PLEASE IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT YOU READ THIS.* The Contractor s Registration Act requires that all home improvement contractors register with the N.J. Division of Consumer Affairs
--INSTRUCTIONS -- PETITION FOR REMOVAL OF A CRIMINAL DISQUALIFICATION OR AN APPLICATION FOR A REHABILITATION EMPLOYMENT PERMIT You will find a blank application/petition form which should be used to apply
APPLICATION FOR SCHOOL PSYCHOLOGIST LICENSURE *INSTRUCTIONS* SECTION I - GENERAL REQUIREMENTS AND INFORMATION This application should not be submitted until you are ready for licensure. That means that
A Guide to Naturalization M-476 (rev. 03/12) Table of Contents Welcome What Are the Benefits and Responsibilities of Citizenship? Frequently Asked Questions Who Is Eligible for Naturalization? Table of
TERMS AND CONDITIONS car2go N.A., LLC and car2go Canada Ltd. (collectively, car2go ) offer car-sharing memberships to individuals and authorized legal entities that have been pre-approved through an application
State of New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development Please Read This Guide And Save It For Future Reference PR-94 (R-3-15) ON THE INTERNET Visit www.nj.gov/labor for unemployment and reemployment
AGENCY OF TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES COMMERCIAL VEHICLE ENFORCEMENT UNIT PREFACE This guide has been written based on Vermont laws and regulations. Since the Vermont legislature convenes
New Jersey Office of the Attorney General Division of Consumer Affairs Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Advisory Committee th 124 Halsey Street, 6 Floor, PO Box 45002, Newark, NJ 07101 Memorandum
STATE OF CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH Nursing Home Administrator Application AN APPLICATION WILL NOT BE REVIEWED BY PROFESSIONAL STAFF OF THE DEPARTMENT UNTIL ALL REQUIRED DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN
Colorado Division of Registrations Office of Licensing Podiatry 1560 Broadway, Suite 1350 Denver, CO 80202 Phone: (303) 894-7690 / FAX: (303) 894-7693 www.dora.state.co.us/registrations APPLICATION FOR
Business Guidelines Guggenheim Life and Annuity Company 10689 N. Pennsylvania, Suite 200 Indianapolis, IN 46280-0248 800-767-7749 www.guggenheiminsurance.com To our valued agents... As a representative
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development Department of Unemployment Assistance www.mass.gov/dua A Message from the Director Unemployment Insurance (UI) is a
MICHIGAN COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE MANUAL RUTH JOHNSON SECRETARY OF STATE Due to frequent changes in federal and state regulations, the Michigan Department of State cannot ensure the accuracy of the material
ORDINANCE NO. - AN ORDINANCE OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF BROWARD COUNTY, FLORIDA, PERTAINING TO PART II, CHAPTER, ARTICLE VII, DIVISION, "TOWING AND IMMOBILIZATION," OF THE BROWARD COUNTY CODE
Kids Need L ve & Tennessee Child Support Handbook Child $upport Tennessee Department Of Human Services Revised 06/13 TABLE OF CONTENTS Introduction. 3 Services Provided. 4 Rights and Responsibilities...
New Jersey Office of the Attorney General Division of Consumer Affairs State Board of Psychological Examiners 124 Halsey Street, 6th Floor, P.O. Box 45017 Newark, New Jersey 07101 (973) 504-6470 Dear Applicant:
CHAPTER 121A MANUAL OF REQUIREMENTS FOR ADOPTION AGENCIES STATE OF NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES EFFECTIVE - NOVEMBER 3, 2008 AMENDED - AUGUST 4, 2014 EXPIRES - NOVEMBER 3, 2015 DEPARTMENT
CUSTOMERS BANK ONLINE & MOBILE BANKING ACCESS AGREEMENT 1) Scope of Agreement 2) Definitions 3) Terms and Conditions of Online Banking A. Requirements B. Online Banking Services - General C. Electronic
Published and prepared by: Ohio Department of Public Safety P.O. Box 182081, Columbus, Ohio 43218-2081 An Equal Opportunity Employer To order additional copies, please call (614) 466-4775, or visit www.publicsafety.ohio.gov
A Consumer Guide to auto INSURANCE INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION Table of Contents Introduction...1 How to Shop for Auto Insurance....1 What Factors Impact Rates?...6 What Discounts are Available?....8 Basic
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Lemon Law Your Road to Relief 03/12 Introduction to the New Jersey Your Road to Relief - The New Jersey Lemon Law Unit The New Jersey Lemon Law Unit was formed in 1989 to provide
Auto Insurance Consumer s Guide Prepared by Commonwealth of Virginia State Corporation Commission Bureau of Insurance P.O. Box 1157 Richmond, Virginia 23218 (804) 371-9185 (877) 310-6560 Website: www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/
Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Ohio s (Last reviewed 10/23/14) Note: Please pay particular attention to the answers to questions 4 and 19, which provide clarification on the types of work that enable