Reviewfrom Last Class

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Reviewfrom Last Class"

Transcription

1 Reviewfrom Last Class The most used fallacy on Earth! Ad Hominem Several Types of Ad Hominem Fallacies 1. Personal Attack Ad Hominem 2. Inconsistency Ad Hominem 3. Circumstantial Ad Hominem 4. Poisoning the Well 5. Positive 6. Genetic

2 Reviewfrom Last Class Beyond attacking the source 7. Straw Man Do I want the police department to take charge of writing parking tickets? You mean, do I want to get shot if I pull up next to a fire hydrant? What do you think? 8. False Dilemma Are you kidding me? Either we get another department to write parking tickets or we ll start getting shot when we pull up to a fire hydrant.

3 #9. False Dilemma Special Type: Perfectionist Believing something is either perfect or must be rejected. What s wrong with this reasoning? It s impossible to eliminate terrorism entirely. We should stop wasting money on it. Can you think of (or make up) others?

4 #10. False Dilemma Special Type: Line-Drawing Believing that either there is a precise place to draw a line or there is no line to be drawn. What s wrong with this reasoning? There shouldn t be restrictions on violence in the movies. After all, when is a movie too violent? You can t draw a line. Can you think of (or make up) others?

5 What s wrong with this argument? No, I don t believe in three strikes and you re out for convicted felons. Next thing it will be two strikes, then one strike. Then we will be sticking people in jail for life for misdemeanors. It s not good policy. Issue: Whether three strikes and you re out is a good policy. Conclusion: No, it s not. Premise: Three strikes and you re out will lead to jail for life for misdemeanors.

6 #11. Slippery Slope When it is assumed that some event must inevitably follow from some other event. No, I don t believe in three strikes and you re out for convicted felons. Next thing it will be two strikes, then one strike. Then we will be sticking people in jail for life for misdemeanors. It s not good policy.

7 Where is the Slippery Slope Fallacy?

8 Group Exercise In groups of 3 to 6 Create examples for the following special types of fallacies. (Start with a claim first. Then assign somebody as the proponent of that claim. Then create the fallacy.) Personal Attack Ad Hominem Inconsistency Ad Hominem Circumstantial Ad Hominem Poisoning the Well Ad Hominem Positive Ad Hominem Genetic

9 Group Exercise In groups of 3 to 6 Create examples for the following special types of fallacies. (Start with a claim first. Then create the fallacy.) Straw Man False Dilemma Perfectionist Fallacy Line-Drawing Fallacy Slippery Slope

10 What s wrong with this argument? Bill: "I think that Mr. Galindo has psychic powers." Jill: No way. What s your proof? Bill: Can you prove that he doesn t have psychic powers? Issue: Whether Mr. Galindo have psychic powers. Conclusion: Yes. Mr. Galindo has psychic powers. Premise:??

11 #12. Misplacing the Burden of Proof When the burden of proof is placed on the wrong side of an issue. (The why not or prove it isn t true premise.) So how do we know which side of the issue has the burden of proof?

12 So how do we know which side of the issue has the burden of proof? 1. The side that has less initial plausibility. Jim: I think I got a raise today because I have an invisible good luck unicorn living in my bathroom Kate: What? No way. Jim: Hey, can you prove that it s not true?

13 So how do we know which side of the issue has the burden of proof? 2. Affirmative side, if all things are equal. Jane: High school graduates would be (affirmative) better off going straight to work rather than going to college. Marcia: Why? Jane: Prove that they wouldn t be (negative) better off!

14 So how do we know which side of the issue has the burden of proof? 3. Special Circumstances (decided at the outset) Example Criminal Court Innocent until proven guilty.

15 #13. Misplacing the Burden of Proof Special Case: Appeal to Ignorance. We should believe it because nobody has proved it isn t so. Example: Bill: "I think that Mr. Galindo has psychic powers." Jill: "What is your proof?" Bill: "No one has been able to prove that he doesn t have psychic powers."

16 What wrong with this argument? Fallacies

17 #14. Begging the Question (circular reasoning) Using premises that already assume the conclusion is true. irresponsible-dead-people---insensitive-papa-john-s https://showyou.com/v/h-9aptnb25rqx-56wx/tipwag-irresponsible-dead-people-insensitive-papa-johns Interviewer: "Your resume looks impressive but I need another reference. Bill: "Jill can give me a good reference. Interviewer: "Good. But how do I know that Jill is trustworthy? Bill: That s easy! I can vouch for her."

18 Group Exercise In groups of 3 to 6 Create examples for the following special types of fallacies. (Start with a claim first. Then assign somebody as the proponent of that claim. Then create the fallacy.) Personal Attack Ad Hominem Inconsistency Ad Hominem Circumstantial Ad Hominem Poisoning the Well Ad Hominem Positive Ad Hominem Genetic

19 Group Exercise In groups of 3 to 6 Create examples for the following special types of fallacies. (Start with a claim first. Then create the fallacy.) Straw Man False Dilemma Perfectionist Fallacy Line-Drawing Fallacy Slippery Slope Misplacing the Burden of Proof Appeal to Ignorance Begging the Question

20 Group Exercise 7-3 #2, 3, 4, 6, 9 2. Perfectionist Fallacy 3. False Dilemma 4. Straw Man 6. Poisoning the Well 9. Begging the Question

A. Arguments are made up of statements, which can be either true or false. Which of the following are statements?

A. Arguments are made up of statements, which can be either true or false. Which of the following are statements? Critical Thinking University of St Andrews March 2007 Bullet point material is not on the students copies. Feel free to use the material as you see fit, depending on timing, ability, enthusiasm etc. Good

More information

Fallacies are deceptive errors of thinking.

Fallacies are deceptive errors of thinking. Fallacies are deceptive errors of thinking. A good argument should: 1. be deductively valid (or inductively strong) and have all true premises; 2. have its validity and truth-of-premises be as evident

More information

Sexual Assault of a Child VOIR DIRE QUESTIONS

Sexual Assault of a Child VOIR DIRE QUESTIONS ATTORNEYS Sexual Assault of a Child VOIR DIRE QUESTIONS 1. What are your feelings or opinions about criminal defense attorneys? 2. Have you ever had a bad experience with a criminal defense attorney? If

More information

What Is Circular Reasoning?

What Is Circular Reasoning? What Is Circular Reasoning? Logical fallacies are a type of error in reasoning, errors which may be recognized and corrected by observant thinkers. There are a large number of informal fallacies that are

More information

DUI FAQ Guide. FAQs to Help Guide You Through The Florida DUI Process

DUI FAQ Guide. FAQs to Help Guide You Through The Florida DUI Process DUI FAQ Guide FAQs to Help Guide You Through The Florida DUI Process Randy Berman, Esq. Law Offices of Randy Berman (561) 537-3877 RandyBermanLaw.com A Simple guide for someone recently arrested for a

More information

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF INDIANA

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF INDIANA Pursuant to Ind.Appellate Rule 65(D, this Memorandum Decision shall not be regarded as precedent or cited before any court except for the purpose of establishing the defense of res judicata, collateral

More information

8 THE TWISTED THINKING OF LOGICAL FALLACIES (CHAPTER 5)

8 THE TWISTED THINKING OF LOGICAL FALLACIES (CHAPTER 5) 8 THE TWISTED THINKING OF LOGICAL FALLACIES (CHAPTER 5) Overview Statement: To be good critical thinkers, leaders must study logical fallacies, both so they can avoid using them and spot them in others.

More information

CJ-110 INTRODUCTION TO CRIMINAL JUSTICE

CJ-110 INTRODUCTION TO CRIMINAL JUSTICE CJ-110 INTRODUCTION TO CRIMINAL JUSTICE INTRODUCTION Welcome to CJ-110,. This course is designed around four key themes: 1. The field of criminal justice is interdisciplinary and shares elements from criminology,

More information

If You have Been Arrested Don t Do Anything Until You Read My Special Report!

If You have Been Arrested Don t Do Anything Until You Read My Special Report! If You have Been Arrested Don t Do Anything Until You Read My Special Report! If you have been arrested by the police for a criminal offense, you re probably confused or worried about what steps to take

More information

OPENING INSTRUCTIONS

OPENING INSTRUCTIONS OPENING INSTRUCTIONS Members of the Jury: Respective Roles of Jurors and Judge You ve been chosen as jurors for this case, and you ve taken an oath to decide the facts fairly. As we begin the trial, I

More information

Slippery Slopes and Vagueness

Slippery Slopes and Vagueness Slippery Slopes and Vagueness Slippery slope reasoning, typically taken as a fallacy. But what goes wrong? Is it always bad reasoning? How should we respond to a slippery slope argument and/or guard against

More information

VOIR DIRE 2/11/2015 STATE OF TEXAS VS JANE DOE 1. CONVERSATION - ONLY TIME YOU CAN ASK THE LAWYERS QUESTIONS 2. NO RIGHT OR WRONG ANSWER

VOIR DIRE 2/11/2015 STATE OF TEXAS VS JANE DOE 1. CONVERSATION - ONLY TIME YOU CAN ASK THE LAWYERS QUESTIONS 2. NO RIGHT OR WRONG ANSWER STATE OF TEXAS VS JANE DOE VOIR DIRE 1. CONVERSATION - ONLY TIME YOU CAN ASK THE LAWYERS QUESTIONS 2. NO RIGHT OR WRONG ANSWER 3. DESELECTION (TO MAKE THE JURY = SIT THERE & BE QUIET) 4. SOME QUESTIONS

More information

Full details of the course syllabus, support and examination arrangements are provided below.

Full details of the course syllabus, support and examination arrangements are provided below. A Level Studies in conjunction with Oxford College Study House is pleased to be able to offer students the opportunity to study A levels through our partner Oxford College who will provide study materials

More information

Informal Fallacies informal fallacies fallacy fallacy of relevance fallacy of presumption Common fallacies of relevance ad hominem

Informal Fallacies informal fallacies fallacy fallacy of relevance fallacy of presumption Common fallacies of relevance ad hominem Informal Fallacies Aristotle called humans the rational animal. But this does not mean that we are purely reasoning creatures. Humans possess reasoning capabilities but are likewise governed by emotions

More information

PEOPLE V. HARRY POTTER

PEOPLE V. HARRY POTTER PEOPLE V. HARRY POTTER THE COURT: Members of the jury, the defendant, Harry Potter, is charged in a one-count information which reads as follows: On or about November 23, 2008, HARRY POTTER, did unlawfully

More information

Chapter 4 Legal Ethics

Chapter 4 Legal Ethics Chapter 4 Legal Ethics Yes. You read that right legal ethics. Har de har. Go ahead. Get it out of your system. How about this one? Why do scientists prefer using lawyers over lab rats? There are some things

More information

ROLES TO ASSIGN. 1. Judge. 2. Courtroom Deputy. 3. Prosecutor 1 opening statement. 4. Prosecutor 2 direct of Dana Capro

ROLES TO ASSIGN. 1. Judge. 2. Courtroom Deputy. 3. Prosecutor 1 opening statement. 4. Prosecutor 2 direct of Dana Capro ROLES TO ASSIGN 1. Judge 2. Courtroom Deputy 3. Prosecutor 1 opening statement 4. Prosecutor 2 direct of Dana Capro 5. Prosecutor 3 direct of Jamie Medina 6. Prosecutor 4 cross of Pat Morton 7. Prosecutor

More information

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI WESTERN DIVISION

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI WESTERN DIVISION IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI WESTERN DIVISION UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ) ) Plaintiff, ) ) vs. ) Case No. 09-00296-03-CR-W-FJG ) ROBERT E. STEWART, ) ) Defendant.

More information

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE T. HENLEY GRAVES SUSSEX COUNTY COURTHOUSE RESIDENT JUDGE 1 THE CIRCLE, SUITE 2 GEORGETOWN, DE 19947 (302) 856-5257 December 16, 2014 Natalie S. Woloshin, Esquire

More information

Argument Mapping 2: Claims and Reasons

Argument Mapping 2: Claims and Reasons #2 Claims and Reasons 1 Argument Mapping 2: Claims and Reasons We ll start with the very basics here, so be patient. It becomes far more challenging when we apply these basic rules to real arguments, as

More information

How to write a great job ad

How to write a great job ad How to write a great job ad How to write a great job ad A job ad sounds like the simplest thing in the world to write doesn t it? Surely all the hard work lies with the jobseekers? Well, no. With more

More information

Introduction to Hypothesis Testing

Introduction to Hypothesis Testing Introduction to Hypothesis Testing A Hypothesis Test for Heuristic Hypothesis testing works a lot like our legal system. In the legal system, the accused is innocent until proven guilty. After examining

More information

New Housing Rights for Victims of Domestic Violence, Rape, Sexual Assault and Stalking

New Housing Rights for Victims of Domestic Violence, Rape, Sexual Assault and Stalking New Housing Rights for Victims of Domestic Violence, Rape, Sexual Assault and Stalking Victims of domestic violence, rape, sexual assault and stalking have increased rights and protections under a new

More information

Decades of Successful Sex Crimes Defense Contact the Innocence Legal Team Now

Decades of Successful Sex Crimes Defense Contact the Innocence Legal Team Now Criminal Court Felonies The U.S. has the highest rate of felony conviction and imprisonment of any industrialized nation. A felony crime is more serious than a misdemeanor, but the same offense can be

More information

State of Florida v. Jeffrey Lovelace Docket Number: 05-1395

State of Florida v. Jeffrey Lovelace Docket Number: 05-1395 The following is a real-time transcript taken as closed captioning during the oral argument proceedings, and as such, may contain errors. This service is provided solely for the purpose of assisting those

More information

GOPY7. for DUI with property damage, and one for driving with a. two for driving under the. No. 86,019 STATE OF FLORIDA, Petitioner,

GOPY7. for DUI with property damage, and one for driving with a. two for driving under the. No. 86,019 STATE OF FLORIDA, Petitioner, No. 86,019 GOPY7 STATE OF FLORIDA, Petitioner, vs. WILLIAM R. WOODRUFF, Respondent. [May 16, 19961 GRIMES, C.J. We have for review State v. WoodrUf f, 654 So. 2d 585 (Fla. 3d DCA 19951, which expressly

More information

If You Have Been Charged With a Crime that Requires the Prosecution to Prove Possession Based on a Constructive Possession Argument It Is Crucial for

If You Have Been Charged With a Crime that Requires the Prosecution to Prove Possession Based on a Constructive Possession Argument It Is Crucial for CONSTRUCTIVE POSSESSION IN TENNESSEE CRIMINAL OFFENSES If You Have Been Charged With a Crime that Requires the Prosecution to Prove Possession Based on a Constructive Possession Argument It Is Crucial

More information

323 GLOSSARY 359 INDEX

323 GLOSSARY 359 INDEX Contents in Brief PREFACE xiii CHAPTER 1 Arguments and Methodology 1 CHAPTER 2 Philosophical Ethics: An Introduction 16 CHAPTER 3 Our Philosophical Approaches 66 CHAPTER 4 Euthanasia 90 CHAPTER 5 Autonomy

More information

*Reference Material For information only* The following was put together by one of our classmates! Good job! Well Done!

*Reference Material For information only* The following was put together by one of our classmates! Good job! Well Done! From: "We The People for Independent Texas" Subject: No contract - No case. *Reference Material For information only* The following was put together by one of our classmates! Good job! Well Done! Courts

More information

How to write a great job ad

How to write a great job ad How to write a great job ad Introduction A job ad sounds like the simplest thing in the world to write, doesn t it? Surely all the hard work lies with the jobseekers? Well, no. With more candidates than

More information

CRM: The Golden Rules CRM. The Golden Rules. Part of the Waterdale Group of Companies

CRM: The Golden Rules CRM. The Golden Rules. Part of the Waterdale Group of Companies CRM The Golden Rules 2 1 CRM isn t just technology, it s a way of life 2 Who is the customer? Nobody has all the answers when it comes to the perfect customer strategy. But there are some basic principles

More information

Here are several tips to help you navigate Fairfax County s legal system.

Here are several tips to help you navigate Fairfax County s legal system. Since 2004, I ve been a daily presence in the Fairfax County Courthouse and have handled hundreds of drug cases as both a Prosecutor and a Defense Attorney. I have spent the last decade analyzing the legal

More information

CROSS EXAMINATION OF AN EXPERT WITNESS IN A CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE CASE. Mark Montgomery

CROSS EXAMINATION OF AN EXPERT WITNESS IN A CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE CASE. Mark Montgomery CROSS EXAMINATION OF AN EXPERT WITNESS IN A CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE CASE Mark Montgomery Post Office Box 161 Durham, NC 27702 (919) 680-6249 mark.montgomery@mindspring.com Opinion Testimony by a Pediatrician/Nurse/Counselor/Social

More information

Website Copy. Injured? Get an Expert Personal Injury Solicitor and Only Pay if You Win!

Website Copy. Injured? Get an Expert Personal Injury Solicitor and Only Pay if You Win! FOR: Thomas Phelan Website Copy Home Page Headline: Injured? Get an Expert Personal Injury Solicitor and Only Pay if You Win! Would a solicitor who works exclusively in personal injury, that can handle

More information

STUDENT ROLE GUIDE: LAWYERS

STUDENT ROLE GUIDE: LAWYERS magistrates court mock trial competition STUDENT ROLE GUIDE: LAWYERS Sponsored by Organised in partnership with Contents Role Guide: Lawyers 2 ID Slip 5 Order of Procedure 6 Evaluation 8 Student Role

More information

T E X A S Y O U N G L A W Y E R S A S S O C I A T I O N A N D S T A T E B A R O F T E X A S G UIDE T O C O URT

T E X A S Y O U N G L A W Y E R S A S S O C I A T I O N A N D S T A T E B A R O F T E X A S G UIDE T O C O URT T E X A S Y O U N G L A W Y E R S A S S O C I A T I O N A N D S T A T E B A R O F T E X A S G UIDE T O T RAFFIC C O URT A G UIDE T O T RAFFIC C O URT Prepared and distributed as a Public Service by the

More information

16 Questions Sales Managers Must Ask

16 Questions Sales Managers Must Ask 16 Questions Sales Managers Must Ask Here are 16 critical questions sales managers should learn to ask their salespeople about any pending sale. If managers make a habit of asking these questions during

More information

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI NO. 2003-KA-01700-COA STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI NO. 2003-KA-01700-COA STATE OF MISSISSIPPI IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI NO. 2003-KA-01700-COA TOMMY BANKS A/K/A TOMMY EARL BANKS (HARRY) APPELLANT v. STATE OF MISSISSIPPI APPELLEE DATE OF TRIAL COURT JUDGMENT: 5/27/2003 TRIAL

More information

Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a DUI Lawyer

Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a DUI Lawyer Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a DUI Lawyer 1 Introduction Some people don t quite understand the severity of getting a DUI. In many cases, your license is instantly taken away and you won t

More information

DWI / DUI Defense Lawyer / Attorney for Tyler and East Texas

DWI / DUI Defense Lawyer / Attorney for Tyler and East Texas DWI / DUI Defense Lawyer / Attorney for Tyler and East Texas The law is actually in your favor, especially for a DWI or DUI case. An arrest does not make you guilty of a DWI or DUI, but the prosecution

More information

With the Tan function, you can calculate the angle of a triangle with one corner of 90 degrees, when the smallest sides of the triangle are given:

With the Tan function, you can calculate the angle of a triangle with one corner of 90 degrees, when the smallest sides of the triangle are given: Page 1 In game development, there are a lot of situations where you need to use the trigonometric functions. The functions are used to calculate an angle of a triangle with one corner of 90 degrees. By

More information

CRIMINAL LAW AND VICTIMS RIGHTS

CRIMINAL LAW AND VICTIMS RIGHTS Chapter Five CRIMINAL LAW AND VICTIMS RIGHTS In a criminal case, a prosecuting attorney (working for the city, state, or federal government) decides if charges should be brought against the perpetrator.

More information

PLEADING YOUR LICENSE AWAY

PLEADING YOUR LICENSE AWAY PLEADING YOUR LICENSE AWAY By Ralph B. Saltsman with Stephen Warren Solomon and Stephen A. Jamieson File this scenario under Just when you think your troubles are over. You accidentally place a bunch of

More information

def: An axiom is a statement that is assumed to be true, or in the case of a mathematical system, is used to specify the system.

def: An axiom is a statement that is assumed to be true, or in the case of a mathematical system, is used to specify the system. Section 1.5 Methods of Proof 1.5.1 1.5 METHODS OF PROOF Some forms of argument ( valid ) never lead from correct statements to an incorrect. Some other forms of argument ( fallacies ) can lead from true

More information

IN THE HIGH COURT OF AUSTRALIA -T-UL-L-Y-

IN THE HIGH COURT OF AUSTRALIA -T-UL-L-Y- n IN THE HIGH COURT OF AUSTRALIA -T-UL-L-Y- V. b e a c h...a n d. o t h e r s REASONS FOR JUDGMENT t u l l y v. BEACH AND OTHERS - JUDGMENT (o r a l ). JUDGMENT OF THE COURT DELIVERED BY DIXON C.J. COMM:

More information

Self-Defense and Predominant Aggressor Training Materials

Self-Defense and Predominant Aggressor Training Materials Self-Defense and Predominant Aggressor Training Materials Self Defense and Defense of Self; There is a Difference The following materials provide an outline of topics to cover by someone in your community

More information

Stages in a Capital Case from http://deathpenaltyinfo.msu.edu/

Stages in a Capital Case from http://deathpenaltyinfo.msu.edu/ Stages in a Capital Case from http://deathpenaltyinfo.msu.edu/ Note that not every case goes through all of the steps outlined here. Some states have different procedures. I. Pre-Trial Crimes that would

More information

Chapter 5: Fallacies. 23 February 2015

Chapter 5: Fallacies. 23 February 2015 Chapter 5: Fallacies 23 February 2015 Plan for today Talk a bit more about arguments notice that the function of arguments explains why there are lots of bad arguments Turn to the concept of fallacy and

More information

Disclaimer: Ratek Group, Inc. is not dispensing legal advice and in no way represents any information offered as legal advice. No legal advice is

Disclaimer: Ratek Group, Inc. is not dispensing legal advice and in no way represents any information offered as legal advice. No legal advice is HOW TO CHOOSE THE RIGHT LAWYER LEARN HOW TO CHOOSE THE RIGHT LAWYER AND AVOID THE MISTAKES MOST PEOPLE MAKE WHEN HIRING A LAWYER CHOOSING THE WRONG LAWYER IS LIKE THROWING YOUR MONEY AWAY Disclaimer: Ratek

More information

Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a DUI Attorney

Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a DUI Attorney Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a DUI Attorney Seven Things to Know Before Hiring a DUI Attorney Copyright 2014 SmartWeb Online 1 Introduction Some people don t quite understand the severity of

More information

Utah Eviction Training

Utah Eviction Training Utah Eviction Training Presented dby Attorney Jeremy Shorts www.utahevictionlaw.com info@utahevictionlaw.com 801-610-9879 You ll be hearing PLENTY of free legal advice & war stories To start Don t rent

More information

How to Protect Your Rights After a DWI Arrest in Fairfax County

How to Protect Your Rights After a DWI Arrest in Fairfax County How to Protect Your Rights After a DWI Arrest in Fairfax County Copyright 2014 by Faraji Rosenthall Law Office of Faraji A. Rosenthall All Rights Reserved. No part of this special report may be reproduced

More information

YOUR CONTACT DETAILS (ADDRESS, PHONE, EMAIL etc.):

YOUR CONTACT DETAILS (ADDRESS, PHONE, EMAIL etc.): Justice WA YOUR NAME: YOUR CONTACT DETAILS (ADDRESS, PHONE, EMAIL etc.): TODAY S DATE: INDICATE WHO IS COMPLETING THIS FORM: Defendant Family Member of Defendant (Relationship : ) Friend of Defendant Other:

More information

Free Legal Consumer Guide Series www.southernmarylandlaw.com

Free Legal Consumer Guide Series www.southernmarylandlaw.com Free Legal Consumer Guide Series Brought To You By Meeting All Your Legal Needs For 50 Years 2 What You Need To Know About Criminal Law & Juvenile Charges HOW TO USE THIS GUIDE If you read this guide,

More information

Because Fear Makes No Class Distinctions Abuse Support Group Helps Affluent Women End Silent Suffering

Because Fear Makes No Class Distinctions Abuse Support Group Helps Affluent Women End Silent Suffering 11:42 PM CDT on Saturday, April 9, 2005 Because Fear Makes No Class Distinctions Abuse Support Group Helps Affluent Women End Silent Suffering By Kim Horner, The Dallas Morning News Dallas lawyer Julianne

More information

Employment Screening and Criminal Records: Pitfalls and Best Practices

Employment Screening and Criminal Records: Pitfalls and Best Practices Employment Screening and Criminal Records: Pitfalls and Best Practices Tanisha Wilburn Senior Attorney Advisor U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission December 4, 2013 2 BACKGROUND April 25, 2012

More information

If you have registered previously with Job Service, simply log in with your username and password to start posting jobs.

If you have registered previously with Job Service, simply log in with your username and password to start posting jobs. HOW TO ENTER YOUR OWN JOB ORDER More and more employers are using the Job Service website, https://jobs.mt.gov to post and monitor their own job listings. Here are some hints that will help make your job

More information

To convince my audience by proposition of policy that juveniles who commit murder should be tried as adults.

To convince my audience by proposition of policy that juveniles who commit murder should be tried as adults. STUDENT S NAME: TITLE: Kids Get Away With Murder DATE: PURPOSE: THESIS: PREVIEW: To convince my audience by proposition of policy that juveniles who commit murder should be tried as adults. Youths are

More information

Table of Contents. Monder Law Group 2015 www.monderlaw.com 619 405 0063 1

Table of Contents. Monder Law Group 2015 www.monderlaw.com 619 405 0063 1 Table of Contents Introduction....... 2 Arraignment...3 Bonds.......4 Readiness Conference....7 Preliminary Hearing.....8 Motions... 9 Discovery......9 Suppress Evidence...... 10 Dismiss.....11 Sever......11

More information

Hypothesis testing. c 2014, Jeffrey S. Simonoff 1

Hypothesis testing. c 2014, Jeffrey S. Simonoff 1 Hypothesis testing So far, we ve talked about inference from the point of estimation. We ve tried to answer questions like What is a good estimate for a typical value? or How much variability is there

More information

Anthony James Lenz and another man, Glenn Anderkay, burglarized and vandalized an Anchorage laundromat in May 2012. They smashed the laundromat s

Anthony James Lenz and another man, Glenn Anderkay, burglarized and vandalized an Anchorage laundromat in May 2012. They smashed the laundromat s NOTICE The text of this opinion can be corrected before the opinion is published in the Pacific Reporter. Readers are encouraged to bring typographical or other formal errors to the attention of the Clerk

More information

STATE ATTORNEY REVIEW

STATE ATTORNEY REVIEW STATE ATTORNEY Fourth Judicial Circuit of Florida ANGELA B. COREY 311 West Monroe Street STATE ATTORNEY Jacksonville, Florida 32202 Tel: (904) 255-2500 Fax: (904)255-3009 STATE ATTORNEY REVIEW JUSTIFIABLE

More information

Negative Automatic Thoughts

Negative Automatic Thoughts The Problem Negative Automatic Thoughts People who are depressed tend to think about themselves, the world and the future in a negative way. These negative thoughts are: AUTOMATIC DISTORTED UNHELPFUL PLAUSIBLE

More information

DIVISION ONE. STATE OF ARIZONA, Appellee, JOHN F. MONFELI, Appellant. No. 1 CA-CR 13-0126

DIVISION ONE. STATE OF ARIZONA, Appellee, JOHN F. MONFELI, Appellant. No. 1 CA-CR 13-0126 IN THE ARIZONA COURT OF APPEALS DIVISION ONE STATE OF ARIZONA, Appellee, v. JOHN F. MONFELI, Appellant. No. 1 CA-CR 13-0126 Appeal from the Superior Court in Maricopa County No. LC2012-000405-001 The Honorable

More information

United States Court of Appeals

United States Court of Appeals United States Court of Appeals For the First Circuit No. 11-1385 UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Appellee, v. ROBERT J. VENTI, Defendant, Appellant. APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT

More information

How to generate better leads that your sales team can close. Written By: Victoria Dyke

How to generate better leads that your sales team can close. Written By: Victoria Dyke How to generate better leads that your sales team can close Written By: Victoria Dyke Introduction It isn t uncommon for companies to rely on their sales teams to call for leads, however the days of making

More information

Fourteenth Court of Appeals

Fourteenth Court of Appeals Affirmed and Opinion filed November 8, 2001. In The Fourteenth Court of Appeals NO. 14-00-00880-CR JOHN CARROLL, Appellant V. THE STATE OF TEXAS, Appellee On Appeal from 248th District Court Harris County,

More information

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF INDIANA

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF INDIANA Pursuant to Ind.Appellate Rule 65(D), this Memorandum Decision shall not be regarded as precedent or cited before any court except for the purpose of establishing the defense of res judicata, collateral

More information

San Diego Chapter THE REAL BURDEN OF PROOF AUDITORS UNCOVERING CRIMINAL ACTS OR DBPP V1.0

San Diego Chapter THE REAL BURDEN OF PROOF AUDITORS UNCOVERING CRIMINAL ACTS OR DBPP V1.0 San Diego Chapter AUDITORS UNCOVERING CRIMINAL ACTS THE REAL BURDEN OF PROOF OR DBPP V1.0 Who is This Guy? George R. Thomas, MBA, CIA, CGAP, CRMA Detective Sergeant San Diego Police Department Current

More information

TOP TEN TIPS FOR WINNING YOUR CASE IN JURY SELECTION

TOP TEN TIPS FOR WINNING YOUR CASE IN JURY SELECTION TOP TEN TIPS FOR WINNING YOUR CASE IN JURY SELECTION PRESENTED BY JEFF KEARNEY KEARNEY & WESTFALL 2501 PARKVIEW STREET, SUITE 300 FORT WORTH, TEXAS 76102 (817) 336-5600 LUBBOCK CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS

More information

IN THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS OF TENNESSEE AT KNOXVILLE Assigned on Briefs May 24, 2011

IN THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS OF TENNESSEE AT KNOXVILLE Assigned on Briefs May 24, 2011 IN THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS OF TENNESSEE AT KNOXVILLE Assigned on Briefs May 24, 2011 STATE OF TENNESSEE v. SHAWN DALE OWNBY Direct Appeal from the Circuit Court for Sevier County No. 14548-III Rex

More information

Adult Probation: Terms, Conditions and Revocation

Adult Probation: Terms, Conditions and Revocation Adult Probation: Terms, Conditions and Revocation Mandatory Conditions of Community Supervision Restitution Mandatory that it be pronounced at sentencing Sauceda v. State, 309 S.W. 3 rd 767 (Amarillo Ct

More information

2015 IL App (3d) 140968-U. Order filed September 30, 2015 IN THE APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS THIRD DISTRICT A.D., 2015

2015 IL App (3d) 140968-U. Order filed September 30, 2015 IN THE APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS THIRD DISTRICT A.D., 2015 NOTICE: This order was filed under Supreme Court Rule 23 and may not be cited as precedent by any party except in the limited circumstances allowed under Rule 23(e(1. 2015 IL App (3d 140968-U Order filed

More information

Sample. Session 4: Case Analysis & Planning. Identify potential legal and non-legal options for achieving client goals

Sample. Session 4: Case Analysis & Planning. Identify potential legal and non-legal options for achieving client goals Session Goals Session 4: Case Analysis & Planning Demonstrate ability to clarify client s goals Identify potential legal and non-legal options for achieving client goals Evaluate legal options using a

More information

NEW ZEALAND LAWYERS AND CONVEYANCERS DISCIPLINARY TRIBUNAL [2011] NZLCDT 15 LCDT 022/10. of the Lawyers and Conveyancers Act 2006

NEW ZEALAND LAWYERS AND CONVEYANCERS DISCIPLINARY TRIBUNAL [2011] NZLCDT 15 LCDT 022/10. of the Lawyers and Conveyancers Act 2006 NEW ZEALAND LAWYERS AND CONVEYANCERS DISCIPLINARY TRIBUNAL [2011] NZLCDT 15 LCDT 022/10 IN THE MATTER of the Lawyers and Conveyancers Act 2006 BETWEEN AUCKLAND STANDARDS COMMITTEE 1 OF THE NEW ZEALAND

More information

THE COURT: You have been selected and sworn to determine the facts and

THE COURT: You have been selected and sworn to determine the facts and 1 THE COURT: You have been selected and sworn to determine the facts and render a verdict in the case of the Commonwealth / 1 of Pennsylvania versus Robert Greene, who is charged with one count of robbery,

More information

1255 West Colton Avenue, Suite 101, Redlands, CA 92374 Phone: (909) 255-0658 Fax: (909) 253-7800

1255 West Colton Avenue, Suite 101, Redlands, CA 92374 Phone: (909) 255-0658 Fax: (909) 253-7800 1255 West Colton Avenue, Suite 101, Redlands, CA 92374 Phone: (909) 255-0658 Fax: (909) 253-7800 11801 Pierce Street, 2 nd Fl, Riverside, CA 92505 Phone: (951) 530-1586 Fax: (951) 579-4738 3281 East Guasti

More information

RULES OF SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA PART THREE A CRIMINAL PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE APPENDIX

RULES OF SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA PART THREE A CRIMINAL PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE APPENDIX RULES OF SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA PART THREE A CRIMINAL PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE APPENDIX Form 6. Suggested Questions to Be Put by the Court to an Accused Who Has Pleaded Guilty (Rule 3A:8). Before accepting

More information

Claims. Who s at. Fault? We consider the circumstances of each case. How your adjuster assesses fault How fault affects you Appeal options

Claims. Who s at. Fault? We consider the circumstances of each case. How your adjuster assesses fault How fault affects you Appeal options Claims Who s at Fault? We consider the circumstances of each case How your adjuster assesses fault How fault affects you Appeal options March 2010 Under Manitoba law, motorists involved in a collision

More information

Introduction to Hypothesis Testing

Introduction to Hypothesis Testing Introduction to Hypothesis Testing A Hypothesis Test for μ Heuristic Hypothesis testing works a lot like our legal system. In the legal system, the accused is innocent until proven guilty. After examining

More information

The Top Five. FMLA Compliance Mistakes That Could Land You in Court

The Top Five. FMLA Compliance Mistakes That Could Land You in Court The Top Five FMLA Compliance Mistakes That Could Land You in Court A slip of the tongue, a misplaced remark, the wrong job assignment: managers make mistakes every day. When the mistake involves FMLA,

More information

CONSTRUCTING A LOGICAL ARGUMENT

CONSTRUCTING A LOGICAL ARGUMENT Sloan Communication Program Teaching Note CONSTRUCTING A LOGICAL ARGUMENT The purpose of most business writing is to recommend some course of action ("we should open a branch office in Duluth"; "management

More information

Philosophical argument

Philosophical argument Michael Lacewing Philosophical argument At the heart of philosophy is philosophical argument. Arguments are different from assertions. Assertions are simply stated; arguments always involve giving reasons.

More information

Bail in Rape Cases. CONFERENCE ROOM 3 o clock. I need to take this phone call. I will return in a few minutes. AT THE SAME TIME...

Bail in Rape Cases. CONFERENCE ROOM 3 o clock. I need to take this phone call. I will return in a few minutes. AT THE SAME TIME... Bail in Rape Cases CONFERENCE ROOM 3 o clock I need to take this phone call. I will return in a few minutes. A FEW MINUTES LATER... AT THE SAME TIME... LATER THAT DAY... You have been arrested on suspicion

More information

C RIMINAL LAW O V E RVIEW OF T H E T E XAS C RIMINAL J USTICE P ROCESS

C RIMINAL LAW O V E RVIEW OF T H E T E XAS C RIMINAL J USTICE P ROCESS T E X A S Y O U N G L A W Y E R S A S S O C I A T I O N A N D S T A T E B A R O F T E X A S C RIMINAL LAW 1 0 1 : O V E RVIEW OF T H E T E XAS C RIMINAL J USTICE P ROCESS A C RIMINAL LAW 1 0 1 Prepared

More information

APPLICATION FOR DUI COURT

APPLICATION FOR DUI COURT IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF CENTRE COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA OTN # v CP-14-CR- - (name of applicant) APPLICATION FOR DUI COURT the District Attorney of Centre County I,, defendant

More information

Why Your Job Search Isn t Working

Why Your Job Search Isn t Working Why Your Job Search Isn t Working 6 mistakes you re probably making and how to fix them I t s easy to think that your lack of success in finding a new job has nothing to do with you. After all, this is

More information

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF THE STATE OF IDAHO. Docket No. 41435 ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) )

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF THE STATE OF IDAHO. Docket No. 41435 ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) ) IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF THE STATE OF IDAHO Docket No. 41435 STATE OF IDAHO, Plaintiff-Respondent, v. ANDREY SERGEYEVICH YERMOLA, Defendant-Appellant. 2015 Unpublished Opinion No. 348 Filed: February

More information

SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA MARICOPA COUNTY LC2014-000424-001 DT 01/22/2015 THE HON. CRANE MCCLENNEN HIGHER COURT RULING / REMAND

SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA MARICOPA COUNTY LC2014-000424-001 DT 01/22/2015 THE HON. CRANE MCCLENNEN HIGHER COURT RULING / REMAND Michael K. Jeanes, Clerk of Court *** Filed *** 01/26/2015 8:00 AM THE HON. CRANE MCCLENNEN STATE OF ARIZONA CLERK OF THE COURT J. Eaton Deputy GARY L SHUPE v. MONICA RENEE JONES (001) JEAN JACQUES CABOU

More information

LICENSE APPEAL COMMISSION CITY OF CHICAGO

LICENSE APPEAL COMMISSION CITY OF CHICAGO LICENSE APPEAL COMMISSION CITY OF CHICAGO Oura & Company, Inc. ) d/b/a Johhny O Hagan s ) for the premises located at ) 3374 North Clark Street ) Case No. 12 LA 22 ) v. ) ) Department of Business Affairs

More information

1 VERGERONT, J. 1 Daniel Stormer was convicted of operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated, third offense, contrary to WIS. STAT.

1 VERGERONT, J. 1 Daniel Stormer was convicted of operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated, third offense, contrary to WIS. STAT. COURT OF APPEALS DECISION DATED AND FILED May 31, 2001 Cornelia G. Clark Clerk, Court of Appeals of Wisconsin NOTICE This opinion is subject to further editing. If published, the official version will

More information

Fourteenth Court of Appeals

Fourteenth Court of Appeals Appellant s Motion for Rehearing Overruled, Opinion of April 19, 2001, Withdrawn, Affirmed and Corrected Opinion filed August 9, 2001. In The Fourteenth Court of Appeals NO. 14-99-01124-CR EMI GUTIERREZ

More information

raise until unsatisfactory

raise until unsatisfactory Enter your E-mail address below, and we'll keep you informed on site updates and future live events. enter Free samples for corrections employee evaluation reviews performance review,. For communication;.

More information

June 10, 2014. Prepared Statement of Kenneth W. Sukhia Before the United States Sentencing Commission. I. Introductory Statement

June 10, 2014. Prepared Statement of Kenneth W. Sukhia Before the United States Sentencing Commission. I. Introductory Statement June 10, 2014. Prepared Statement of Kenneth W. Sukhia Before the United States Sentencing Commission I. Introductory Statement As a former federal prosecutor and United States Attorney who served 14 years

More information

For DUI Can Be What Gets You Off.

For DUI Can Be What Gets You Off. - Cutting Edge DUI Defense At A Price You Can Afford - Not Guilty Dismissed Reduced The Exact Same Science That Got You Arrested For DUI Can Be What Gets You Off. The Decision You Make Right Now Will Affect

More information

WHAT SHOULD I DO IF I HAVE AN AUTO ACCIDENT? 1. If I have an auto accident, do I have to stop? 2. What should I do if someone is injured?

WHAT SHOULD I DO IF I HAVE AN AUTO ACCIDENT? 1. If I have an auto accident, do I have to stop? 2. What should I do if someone is injured? WHAT SHOULD I DO IF I HAVE AN AUTO ACCIDENT? 1. If I have an auto accident, do I have to stop? 2. What should I do if someone is injured? 3. How can I get help? 4. What information should I gather at the

More information

Escape Conviction when Prosecuted for a Federal Tax Crime. Court, DOJ, IRS no jurisdiction without specific Section of Title 26 quoted

Escape Conviction when Prosecuted for a Federal Tax Crime. Court, DOJ, IRS no jurisdiction without specific Section of Title 26 quoted Escape Conviction when Prosecuted for a Federal Tax Crime Court, DOJ, IRS no jurisdiction without specific Section of Title 26 quoted Why, in a "Federal District Court" when charged with a "tax crime"

More information

9 secrets most divorce lawyers won t tell you

9 secrets most divorce lawyers won t tell you 9 secrets most divorce lawyers won t tell you CONTENTS Introduction Why is Divorce So Difficult? 1. Your Lawyer s Outlook Matters - Your Attorney s Outlook on Divo rce 2. Your Lawyer s Experience Matters

More information

CRIMINAL RECORDS AND EMPLOYMENT

CRIMINAL RECORDS AND EMPLOYMENT CRIMINAL RECORDS AND EMPLOYMENT PROTECTING YOURSELF FROM DISCRIMINATION HELP WANTED CRIMINAL RECORDS AND EMPLOYMENT TABLE OF CONTENTS WHAT DOES THIS BOOKLET COVER? p. 1 WHAT MAY EMPLOYERS ASK ABOUT MY

More information

I use several different introductions when it comes to calling purchased leads or leads that I have generated on my own through different ads.

I use several different introductions when it comes to calling purchased leads or leads that I have generated on my own through different ads. COLD MARKET LEAD SCRIPTS COLD LEAD BUSINESS SCRIPT I use several different introductions when it comes to calling purchased leads or leads that I have generated on my own through different ads. You will

More information