Protocols and Policies. The Lighthouse Medical Practice. Complaints

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Protocols and Policies. The Lighthouse Medical Practice. Complaints"

Transcription

1 Complaints This leaflet provides all the information you might need if you feel that you would like to complain about any part of the Practice. At we strive to offer the highest level of care to all our patients. We also try to make sure that all our staff, both clinical and non-clinical, treats everyone with dignity, respect, care and consideration. Sadly from time to time you may feel that we have not done things well. In these circumstances we hope that you will come and talk to us about any issues. If you have a complaint please contact us first. Most administrative issues can be dealt with by our Reception staff and if you wish to talk to a more senior staff member, our Administration and Operations Managers Claire Carter and Kate Openshore - they should be able to help you immediately or However if you feel your matter is unresolved you can contact: Claire Carter who is in charge of Administrative Complaints Amanda Sayer Practice Manager who is in charge of Medical Complaints.

2 Claire and Amanda cover both sites but the whole team is here to help and support you. Receiving complaints If you feel that you have been treated in an unacceptable manner you have a right to complain. This can be done in two ways: You may complain directly to the Practice, to do this verbally, via or letter by a patient or (with consent) on behalf of a patient. Alternatively you have a right to complain directly to the NHS England, their details can also be found in the contact details of this leaflet. We have a complaints form that you can fill in if you wish and we can help you with this form. Feedback form.rtf We can only deal with complaints about the Practice and our employed staff. Should your complaint involve the Hospital, Community Services or any other NHS organisation you will need to copy your complaint to them. Period within which complaints can be made The NHS complaints procedure may be used within twelve months of the date on which the event occurred or twelve months from the

3 date on which the event comes to the complainants notice (provided the complaint is made no later than twelve months after the date of the event). The Complaints Manager/NHS England/GP has the right to extend the time limits if the complainant has suffered particular distress. Action upon receipt of a complaint Most complaints can be dealt with immediately by a member of our team. These still get logged by us. This is done to keep our patients safe and to enable us to make sure that issues do not continue to occur. If your complaint involves numerous issues, is received in writing or is in any way more complex we will: Log your complaint Acknowledge your complaint within 3 working days of a Manager receiving it in person. This may be via a phone call or in writing. Offer to meet with you The complaint will be discussed, properly investigated and a full response with outcomes and conclusions will be forwarded to the complainant. This can be done verbally or in writing The patient will be kept aware of the progress of the investigation. All complaints will be dealt with within a reasonable time frame depending on the number of people and issues involved and the receipt of this information from relevant parties. Further information about complaints

4 Review of complaints. The Practice will discuss significant complaints as part of its Significant Events meetings. These are meetings involving the whole team and are a way of the whole team learning from and improving our service as a result of an event. We also hold annual reviews of all complaints. This is again to ensure safety, education and learning. In this meeting we look at any themes or trends that may have occurred and aim to rectify these. We are also asked to submit a report to NHS England detailing numbers of complaints. We report all our logged complaints. Confidentiality of complaints All complaints will be treated in the strictest of confidence by the Practice and the Complaints Managers. Should any information held on the complainant s medical record need to be disclosed to a third party the Complaints Managers will inform the complainant beforehand. No details of any complaints will be held within the complainants medical records but will be held securely by the Complaints Manager. If you are unhappy with the outcome of a complaint You will be advised of what further action you can take under the provisions of the NHS complaints procedure when you receive the report from the Complaints Manager. Further action might include:

5 Further discussions with the Practice Further discussions with the NHS England Independent arbitration Complaints that cannot be resolved locally If a member of the public has a complaint about a GP, Dentist, Pharmacy or Optician that can t be resolved locally with the practice, they need to contact NHS England at: Telephone: Address: NHS England PO BOX Redditch B97 9PT Complaints about Hospital Treatment Contact Information PALS is a confidential service. They can be contacted at: Eastbourne District General Hospital Kings Drive, Eastbourne, East Sussex, BN21 2UD. Telephone: (01323)

6 Conquest Hospital The Ridge, St. Leonards-on-Sea, East Sussex, TN37 7RD. Telephone: (01424) Healthwatch Healthwatch is the independent consumer champion created to gather and represent the views of the public on issues relating to health and social care. Healthwatch will play a role at both a national and local level, ensuring that the views of the public and people who use services are taken into account. For more information about Healthwatch in East Sussex visit their website - Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman (PHSO) are the final step of the complaints system, giving you an independent and last resort to have your complaint looked at. They investigate complaints that individuals have been treated unfairly or have received poor service from the NHS in England. PHSO are a free service open to everyone. To complain you can: Visit 'Making a complaint page' Call Customer Helpline on from 8:30am to 5:30pm, Monday to Friday. Send a text to 'call back' service: Dial textphone (minicom): Last updated June 2015

How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service?

How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service? How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service? I m not happy about something I d just like to say How do I? Most NHS care and treatment goes well but sometimes things can go wrong. If

More information

FOR HANDLING ORGANISATIONAL COMPLAINTS AGAINST THE PRACTICE OR INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS OF STAFF

FOR HANDLING ORGANISATIONAL COMPLAINTS AGAINST THE PRACTICE OR INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS OF STAFF 1. PURPOSE This procedure is to ensure the proper handling of any complaint about the organisation, care which a patient has received from Lintonville Medical Group or an individual member of staff. The

More information

How to compliment, comment or complain about our services

How to compliment, comment or complain about our services How to compliment, comment or complain about our services We welcome your compliments, comments and complaints NHS St Helens Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) welcomes any comments you may have on the

More information

Making a Complaint. The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made.

Making a Complaint. The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made. Making a Complaint The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made. Sometimes people feel let down by the NHS. They might think that the service, care

More information

COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE ENGLAND BEAUFORT ROAD SURGERY INTRODUCTION

COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE ENGLAND BEAUFORT ROAD SURGERY INTRODUCTION COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE ENGLAND BEAUFORT ROAD SURGERY INTRODUCTION This procedure sets out the Practice s approach to the handling of complaints and is intended as an internal guide who should be made readily

More information

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service February 2014 Healthwatch Coventry www.healthwatchcoventry.org.uk Contents 1. About this guide page 3 2. The NHS complaints procedure page 3 3. About the

More information

A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS

A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS Please read this first Are you worried or unhappy about your current healthcare or treatment of that of a loved one? If you are then it may be more

More information

IL03: How to make a comment, complaint or compliment

IL03: How to make a comment, complaint or compliment April 2015 IL03: How to make a comment, complaint or compliment We welcome all your views. Comments We d like to hear from you if you have a suggestion on how we can improve our service. You can write

More information

Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints. Patient guide

Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints. Patient guide Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints Patient guide Patient satisfaction comments & compliments We hope you re delighted with the

More information

Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure

Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure Introduction The Practice aims to provide a high quality service to all its patients at all times, but we recognise that there may be times when you feel

More information

Complaints & Comments Leaflet

Complaints & Comments Leaflet Church Road Medical Practice Complaints & Comments Leaflet LET THE PRACTICE KNOW YOUR VIEWS PARTNERS Dr D Y Patwala Dr N Mugerwa Please Print a Copy (Revised Sept 2013) 1 Complaints Information on Website

More information

ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY. Complaints Procedure General Practice

ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY. Complaints Procedure General Practice ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY Complaints Procedure General Practice Index 1. Introduction 2. Practice Complaints Administrator 3. What Constitutes a Complaint 4. Matters Excluded from the Complaints Process

More information

Your rights and how to make a complaint

Your rights and how to make a complaint Your rights and how to make a complaint Most medical care and treatment goes well, but things occasionally go wrong, and you may want to complain. So where do you start? Every NHS organisation has a complaints

More information

EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure

EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE As a Practice we try to provide the best service possible for our patients. We recognise, however, that

More information

How did we do? Promoting hope and wellbeing together. How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services.

How did we do? Promoting hope and wellbeing together. How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services. West London Mental Health NHS Trust How did we do? How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services. Promoting hope and wellbeing together What do you think

More information

Comments, compliments and complaints

Comments, compliments and complaints Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints Patient guide Patient satisfaction comments & compliments We hope you re delighted with the

More information

The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services.

The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services. Xxxxxxxxxxxx Directory The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services. Issue Date: 29 September 2014 Contents Page 2: Page 3: Tips on Complaining Services This guide has been produced by Healthwatch

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising concerns and complaints A step by step guide Raising concerns and complaints Questions to ask yourself: 1. What am I concerned or dissatisfied

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS in England

Making a complaint about the NHS in England Making a complaint about the NHS in England The Health Service Ombudsman can carry out independent investigations into complaints made about poor treatment or service provided through the NHS. We are the

More information

Complaints and MP Enquiries Quarter 1 Report 2015/2016

Complaints and MP Enquiries Quarter 1 Report 2015/2016 Complaints and MP Enquiries Quarter 1 Report 2015/2016 Governing Body meeting 1 October 2015 Item 17m Author(s) Sarah Neil, Complaints Manager and Patient Experience Lead Sponsor Kevin Clifford, Chief

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy. A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS. www.pohwer.net

NHS Complaints Advocacy. A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS. www.pohwer.net NHS Complaints Advocacy A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS NHS Complaints Advocacy Important Information Please read this section before the rest of this guide to ensure you take

More information

The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman, (PHSO) for NHS Complaints or the Local Government Ombudsman (LGO) for Public Health complaints, are the second

More information

THE HADLEIGH PRACTICE Complimentary Information Pack

THE HADLEIGH PRACTICE Complimentary Information Pack PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET How to make Comments, Suggestions and Complaints This leaflet explains how you can make comments, suggestions and complaints about the services provided by The Hadleigh Practice.

More information

PALS. Patient Advice and Liaison Service. Royal Manchester Children s Hospital. Saint Mary s Hospital. Manchester Royal Eye Hospital

PALS. Patient Advice and Liaison Service. Royal Manchester Children s Hospital. Saint Mary s Hospital. Manchester Royal Eye Hospital Royal Children s Hospital Saint Mary s Hospital Royal Eye Hospital PALS Patient Advice and Liaison Service Royal Infirmary University Dental Hospital of Central Community Services Trafford General Stretford

More information

Complaints Policy and Procedure

Complaints Policy and Procedure First issued by/date Issue Version Purpose of Issue/Description of Change Sept 2013 7 This policy has been reviewed and updated in line with planned review date. Planned Review Date October 2018 Named

More information

Complaints Policy & Procedure 1

Complaints Policy & Procedure 1 Introduction Complaints about the surgery or member of staff are always taken seriously at Eyam Surgery. We always try to provide the best service possible, but there may be times when a patient may feel

More information

NHS England Complaints Policy

NHS England Complaints Policy NHS England Complaints Policy 1 2 NHS England Complaints Policy NHS England Policy and Corporate Procedures Version number: 1.1 First published: September 2014 Prepared by: Kerry Thompson, Senior Customer

More information

Our patient transport services

Our patient transport services Our patient transport services This leaflet explains what you can expect from patient transport services at Guy s and St Thomas. If you have any further questions, please speak to the patient transport

More information

How to complain about a health or social care service

How to complain about a health or social care service How to complain about a health or social care service February 2014 About this leaflet Although most people have no problems when using health or social care services, sometimes things can go wrong. This

More information

NHS Complaints and raising concerns

NHS Complaints and raising concerns NHS Complaints and raising concerns This document is a guide to help you raise concerns yourself Raising concerns and or making a complaint can be quite daunting and can often be quite a negative experience.

More information

SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP

SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP COMPLAINTS INFORMATION LEAFLET FOR PATIENTS Dr I D Whyte, Dr K K Wlodarczyk, Dr T M Golding Dr C J Brown, Dr C J Fogg, Dr C Dalton 42 King Street, Whalley, Nr Clitheroe BB7

More information

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Why has this factsheet been produced? This factsheet is for anyone who

More information

To start with, who you contact to make a formal complaint will depend on:

To start with, who you contact to make a formal complaint will depend on: The Complaints Process For many, the thought of complaining can be daunting. This guide takes you through the process of making your complaint and where you can obtain further information. To start with,

More information

Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns

Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns Pleased? Tell us about it Enquiry? Let us help you Unhappy? Let s resolve it together PALS: We are here to help you As a patient, or as a carer for someone who attends

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Contents Page 4 Introduction How to use this pack How can NHS Complaints Advocacy Help? Page 5 Raising concerns and complaints First Steps Step 1 - What

More information

Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team

Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team Worthing and Southlands Hospitals Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Trust which combines St Richard s Hospital in Chichester and Worthing and Southlands

More information

HELP WITH MAKING YOUR NHS COMPLAINT

HELP WITH MAKING YOUR NHS COMPLAINT HELP WITH MAKING YOUR NHS COMPLAINT Contents Introduction 03 What is covered by the NHS Complaints Process? 04 Who can complain? 04 What can I get from my complaint? 05 Accessing health records 05 The

More information

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Why has this factsheet been produced? This factsheet is for anyone who

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy

NHS Complaints Advocacy NHS Complaints Advocacy Raising Concerns or Complaints About the NHS Advocacy in Surrey is provided by Surrey Disabled People s Partnership (SDPP) In partnership with SDPP is a registered Charity: 1156963

More information

Complaints procedure

Complaints procedure Complaints procedure This leaflet explains what to do if you have a complaint about any aspect of our service. We treat all complaints seriously and aim to resolve them as quickly and fully as we can.

More information

OLD HALL SURGERY COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE (FORM 1)

OLD HALL SURGERY COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE (FORM 1) (FORM 1) WE OPERATE A PRACTICE AS PART OF THE N.H.S. SYSTEM FOR DEALING WITH COMPLAINTS. OUR SYSTEM MEETS NATIONAL CRITERIA. OUR AIM IS TO GIVE YOU THE HIGHEST POSSIBLE STANDARD OF SERVICE AND WE TRY TO

More information

Give us your views. Complaint. Compliment. Comment. Concern

Give us your views. Complaint. Compliment. Comment. Concern Mental & Social Healthcare Concern Complaint Compliment Comment Give us your views This leaflet explains what to do if you have a complaint, comment, concern or compliment about your experience of our

More information

Comments, compliments and complaints

Comments, compliments and complaints Comments, compliments and complaints 02 Our commitment to engaging with the community We want to make sure we are open, honest and transparent commissioners of care. It is our intention to be truthful

More information

How to complain about a doctor. England

How to complain about a doctor. England How to complain about a doctor England This booklet is for patients in England. Our procedures are the same throughout the UK, but healthcare and support organisations do vary. We have therefore also produced

More information

SOMETHING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT? REVISITED

SOMETHING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT? REVISITED SOMETHING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT? REVISITED A follow up to Something to Complain About? - A look at how easy it is to find the right information and support to make a complaint about GP services. Table of Contents

More information

High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Lead Author(s) Change History Document complies with the Equality Act 2010

High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Lead Author(s) Change History Document complies with the Equality Act 2010 High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Document Type CQC Standard 7 Service Application Version 2 Ratification Date Target Group All staff Last Reviewed October 2012 Next Review Date October

More information

Feedback and complaints:

Feedback and complaints: Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Feedback and complaints (version 1) Produced in October 2012 - Revision

More information

Complaint Letter Guide

Complaint Letter Guide 15151 Who do I complain to? Leeds Independent Health Complaints Advocacy If you want to complain about your hospital, ambulance service or most community healthcare contact the Chief Executive of the NHS

More information

What does the NHS Constitution mean for me? Can I get involved in decisions about my care?

What does the NHS Constitution mean for me? Can I get involved in decisions about my care? What does the NHS Constitution mean for me? Can I get involved in decisions about my care? Why do we need an NHS Constitution? The NHS belongs to all of us The NHS is there for us from the moment we re

More information

How to complain about a doctor

How to complain about a doctor How to complain about a doctor England This booklet is for patients in England. Our procedures are the same throughout the UK, but healthcare and support organisations do vary. We have therefore also produced

More information

Complaints Policy (Listening, Responding and Learning from Views and Concerns)

Complaints Policy (Listening, Responding and Learning from Views and Concerns) (Listening, Responding and Learning from Views and Concerns) Version 1.0 Ratified By Date Ratified 14 th November 2012 Author(s) Responsible Committee / Officers Date Issue 1 st April 2013 Review Date

More information

Gathering community views NHS Complaints Insight

Gathering community views NHS Complaints Insight Gathering community views NHS Complaints Insight Healthwatch Islington Healthwatch Islington is an independent organisation led by volunteers from the local community. It is part of a national network

More information

St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust. Compliments, Complaints and Suggestions

St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust. Compliments, Complaints and Suggestions St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust Compliments, Complaints and Suggestions Contents Compliments Page 4 Complaints Page 5 Suggestions Page 5 Making a complaint Page 6 How do I make a formal

More information

http://www.gmc-uk.org/concerns/making_a_complaint/who_to_complain_to_en.asp

http://www.gmc-uk.org/concerns/making_a_complaint/who_to_complain_to_en.asp Who to complain to information for patients in England http://www.gmc-uk.org/concerns/making_a_complaint/who_to_complain_to_en.asp The process of making a complaint will be easier and less stressful if

More information

We are happy to discuss your concerns and are always ready to listen to your comments and views on the care we provide.

We are happy to discuss your concerns and are always ready to listen to your comments and views on the care we provide. Complaints, concerns and compliments We are sorry you have a complaint. This booklet explains what to do if you have a complaint about your clinical care and treatment, or if you are complaining on behalf

More information

What standards you have a right to expect from the regulation of your dentist

What standards you have a right to expect from the regulation of your dentist What standards you have a right to expect from the regulation of your dentist 1 About this booklet This guide is for you if you receive treatment or care from a dental practice in England. It helps you

More information

Guide to making an NHS Complaint

Guide to making an NHS Complaint Guide to making an NHS Complaint Introduction Most people are happy with their NHS treatment however if this is not the case and you are unhappy with the service you or others have received from a hospital,

More information

NHS COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE SELF-HELP PACK

NHS COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE SELF-HELP PACK NHS COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE SELF-HELP PACK FOR PEOPLE LIVING IN SOUTH GLOUCESTERSHIRE INTRODUCTION This self-help guide aims to help you understand the process involved in raising concerns and making complaints

More information

NHS complaints procedure An overview

NHS complaints procedure An overview MEDICAL PROTECTION SOCIETY PROFESSIONAL SUPPORT AND EXPERT ADVICE MPS COMPLAINTS SERIES BOOK 5 NHS complaints procedure An overview www.mps.org.uk Contents Regulations and principles page 3 Putting the

More information

Guide to to good handling of complaints for CCGs. CCGs. May 2013. April 2013 1

Guide to to good handling of complaints for CCGs. CCGs. May 2013. April 2013 1 Guide to to good handling of complaints for CCGs CCGs May 2013 April 2013 1 NHS England INFORMATION READER BOX Directorate Commissioning Development Publications Gateway Reference: 00087 Document Purpose

More information

Your right to complain. The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure. RDaSH. Corporate Services

Your right to complain. The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure. RDaSH. Corporate Services Your right to complain The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure RDaSH Corporate Services Section One: What do I do if I want to complain? Why is it important to complain? If you are not happy with

More information

Complaining about a health service

Complaining about a health service Stroke Helpline: 0303 3033 100 Website: stroke.org.uk Complaining about a health service Most people receive excellent care and treatment after having a stroke. However, sometimes things don t go as well

More information

Contents. Section/Paragraph Description Page Number

Contents. Section/Paragraph Description Page Number - NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICA CLINICAL NON CLINICAL - CLINICAL CLINICAL Complaints Policy Incorporating Compliments, Comments,

More information

Complaints Procedures. Listening... Acting... Improving

Complaints Procedures. Listening... Acting... Improving x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw 17/04/2015 15:32 Page 1 Complaints Procedures Listening... Acting... Improving x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw 17/04/2015 15:32 Page 2 x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw

More information

A Guide to Resolving Issues or Making a Complaint

A Guide to Resolving Issues or Making a Complaint A Guide to Resolving Issues or Making a Complaint If you are unhappy with the treatment or service you receive from the NHS you are entitled to make a complaint, have it considered, and receive a response

More information

BOARD MEETING. The Reporting and Monitoring of Safety and Quality Care Quality Commission Regulation 19 (Outcome 17) Complaints

BOARD MEETING. The Reporting and Monitoring of Safety and Quality Care Quality Commission Regulation 19 (Outcome 17) Complaints BOARD MEETING The Reporting and Monitoring of Safety and Quality Care Quality Commission Regulation 19 (Outcome 17) Complaints PRESENTER AUTHOR Rosie Trainor, Associate Director of Quality & Integrated

More information

The Legal Ombudsman can help you resolve your complaint about legal services

The Legal Ombudsman can help you resolve your complaint about legal services Legal Ombudsman Here to help What to do if you have a complaint The Legal Ombudsman can help you resolve your complaint about legal services Are you unhappy with the service your lawyer or law firm has

More information

Getting help with making a complaint. England. General Medical Council 02

Getting help with making a complaint. England. General Medical Council 02 Getting help with making a complaint England General Medical Council 02 All patients should receive the best care possible. When you feel this has not happened, it can be confusing to know who to talk

More information

POLICY FOR THE REPORTING AND MANAGEMENT OF PATIENT COMPLAINTS

POLICY FOR THE REPORTING AND MANAGEMENT OF PATIENT COMPLAINTS Item 9 POLICY FOR THE REPORTING AND MANAGEMENT OF PATIENT COMPLAINTS Authorship: Chief Operating Officer Approved date: 20 September 2012 Approved Governing Body Review Date: April 2013 Equality Impact

More information

Policies, Procedures, Guidelines and Protocols

Policies, Procedures, Guidelines and Protocols Policies, Procedures, Guidelines and Protocols Document Details Title Complaints and Compliments Policy Trust Ref No 1353-29025 Local Ref (optional) N/A Main points the document This policy and procedure

More information

Patient Experience Team (PET)

Patient Experience Team (PET) Patient Experience Team (PET) We are here to help with: Comments Concerns Compliments Complaints Information for patients This leaflet can be made available in other formats including large print, CD and

More information

Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Groups

Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Groups Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Groups Corporate Policy 1 (CP1) CCG Policy for the Handling of Complaints Version: 1 Ratified by: Date ratified: April 2013 Name of originator/author: Name of responsible

More information

Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback : how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Who is this factsheet for and what is it about? This factsheet is for anyone who uses

More information

Complaints, concerns and feedback. Our Process

Complaints, concerns and feedback. Our Process Complaints, concerns and feedback Our Process About us Devon Doctors Group comprises of Devon Doctors Ltd and other subsidiaries including Access Dental, Access Health Care and Cornwall Health. We exist

More information

Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust This leaflet provides practical information on how you can provide

More information

COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE. Version: 1.4. Date Approved November 2014. Interim Complaints Manager. Date issued: November 2014

COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE. Version: 1.4. Date Approved November 2014. Interim Complaints Manager. Date issued: November 2014 COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE Version: 1.4 Committee Approved by: Integrated Governance Committee Date Approved November 2014 Author: Responsible Directorate: Interim Complaints Manager Finance and Governance Date

More information

Raising concerns or complaints about the NHS

Raising concerns or complaints about the NHS Independent Complaints Advocacy Northumberland You can, We can, ICAN Raising concerns or complaints about the NHS A step by step guide to help you raise a concern or complaint about any service provided

More information

Complaints Policy. Complaints Policy. Page 1

Complaints Policy. Complaints Policy. Page 1 Complaints Policy Page 1 Complaints Policy Policy ref no: CCG 006/14 Author (inc job Kat Tucker Complaints & FOI Manager title) Date Approved 25 November 2014 Approved by CCG Governing Body Date of next

More information

Contents Page Description

Contents Page Description Complaints and Concerns Policy Listening, Learning and Improving Making Experiences Count To make sure the services provided by NHS Fylde and Wyre Clinical Commissioning Group (FWCCG) are accessible, this

More information

Policy to support people to raise a concern, tell us their story or make a complaint

Policy to support people to raise a concern, tell us their story or make a complaint Policy to support people to raise a concern, tell us their story or make a complaint Listening, Responding & Learning UNIQUE IDENTIFIER: CE/XX/055/V6 DOCUMENT STATUS: Final DATE ISSUED: October 2014 DATE

More information

HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT

HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT Issue Date: November 2014 Review Date: January 2016 Authors: Patient Relations Department, North Cumbria University Hospitals NHS Trust SFT-NCA8299: 10/14 REV 1 If it matters to

More information

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care Factsheet 66 August 2011 Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care About this factsheet The factsheet explains the approach to handling complaints about National Health Service (NHS) services,

More information

This guide will help you to prepare a complaint letter and provide information regarding where you should send your complaint to.

This guide will help you to prepare a complaint letter and provide information regarding where you should send your complaint to. Guide to Making a Complaint About Medical Treatment If you are dissatisfied with the medical treatment that you or a family member have received then you are entitled to make a complaint. Complaint guide

More information

POLICY & PROCEDURE FOR THE MANAGEMENT OF COMPLIMENTS, PALS ENQUIRIES AND COMPLAINTS INCLUDING UNREASONABLE OR PERSISTENT COMPLAINANTS

POLICY & PROCEDURE FOR THE MANAGEMENT OF COMPLIMENTS, PALS ENQUIRIES AND COMPLAINTS INCLUDING UNREASONABLE OR PERSISTENT COMPLAINANTS POLICY & PROCEDURE FOR THE MANAGEMENT OF COMPLIMENTS, PALS ENQUIRIES AND COMPLAINTS INCLUDING UNREASONABLE OR PERSISTENT COMPLAINANTS APPROVED BY: South Gloucestershire Clinical Commissioning Group Quality

More information

A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care

A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care www.healthwatchhampshire.co.uk Step by step Page 3 Are you concerned about something that is happening now? Do you need to make a

More information

About POhWER NHS Complaints Advocacy. This guide will tell you what to expect if you decide to work with POhWER to make a complaint about the NHS

About POhWER NHS Complaints Advocacy. This guide will tell you what to expect if you decide to work with POhWER to make a complaint about the NHS About POhWER NHS Complaints Advocacy This guide will tell you what to expect if you decide to work with POhWER to make a complaint about the NHS About POhWER NHS Complaints Advocacy Your Right to Complaints

More information

COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS

COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS Information Leaflet Your Health. Our Priority. Page 2 of 6 Introduction We aim to provide the highest possible standard of care for our patients. We want to hear your

More information

Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints. An information guide

Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints. An information guide TO PROVIDE THE VERY BEST CARE FOR EACH PATIENT ON EVERY OCCASION Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints An information guide Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints Commitment to quality At

More information

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE Cuckfield Medical Practice and The Vale Surgery 1 CONTENTS Contents Page Introduction 1.0 NHS Complaints Regulations 3 2.0 Who

More information

NHS Constitution The NHS belongs to the people. This Constitution principles values rights pledges responsibilities

NHS Constitution The NHS belongs to the people. This Constitution principles values rights pledges responsibilities for England 21 January 2009 2 NHS Constitution The NHS belongs to the people. It is there to improve our health and well-being, supporting us to keep mentally and physically well, to get better when we

More information

Complaints, Comments and Appreciations

Complaints, Comments and Appreciations FOLD HERE No Stamp Required Freepost RLUJ-RKYT-AZGH Gillian Summers Complaints Officer North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust Bernicia House Goldcrest Way Newburn Riverside Newcastle upon Tyne

More information

This document can be produced in large print, in Braille, on audio cassette and in other languages on request

This document can be produced in large print, in Braille, on audio cassette and in other languages on request GIVING A COMPLIMENT, RAISING A CONCERN OR MAKING A COMPLAINT A Guide for Patients, Carers, Relatives and Visitors to the Trust to tell us what you think This document can be produced in large print, in

More information

Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers. Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust

Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers. Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust Welcome At Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust (CNWL) we aim to give you the best

More information

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care Factsheet 66 November 2014 Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care About this factsheet The factsheet explains how NHS organisations should handle complaints about National Health Service

More information

Complaints. How to raise your concerns

Complaints. How to raise your concerns Complaints How to raise your concerns Raising your Concerns RNOH NHS Trust staff will do whatever they can to make sure you get quick, proper and fair treatment. However, sometimes things can go wrong

More information

Complaints Framework 2014/15

Complaints Framework 2014/15 Complaints Framework 2014/15 NHS Greater Huddersfield CCG Complaints Framework 2014-15 v1.0 July 2014 1 Version: 1.0 Responsible Committee: Quality And Safety Committee Date approved: 23 July 2014 Name

More information

Customer Care and Complaints Policy

Customer Care and Complaints Policy Customer Care and Complaints Policy Introduction The ETTA is committed to delivering excellent customer service. This customer care and complaints policy sets out what this commitment means in practice

More information

A: Complaints about NHS foundation trusts (which do not relate to choice and competition or pricing)

A: Complaints about NHS foundation trusts (which do not relate to choice and competition or pricing) To: The Board For meeting on: 30 April 2014 Agenda item: 7 Report by: Tom Grimes, Enquiries and Complaints Manager Report for: Decision TITLE: How Monitor handles complaints Summary 1. This paper aims

More information

Giving feedback or making a complaint about the NHS

Giving feedback or making a complaint about the NHS Giving feedback or making a complaint about the NHS The NHS in Scotland tries to give you the best possible care and treatment. You can help us improve services by telling us what you think of them, good

More information

St Ann Street Medical Practice. Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint

St Ann Street Medical Practice. Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint St Ann Street Medical Practice Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint Who can complain? Anyone who is receiving, or has received, NHS treatment or services can complain, as can anyone affected

More information