Care service inspection report

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Care service inspection report"

Transcription

1 Care service inspection report Full inspection Falkirk Council - Leaving Care Service Housing Support Service Unit 1 St Johns Sawmill Etna Road Falkirk Inspection completed on 30 May 2016

2 Service provided by: Falkirk Council Service provider number: SP Care service number: CS Inspection Visit Type: Announced (Short Notice) Care services in Scotland cannot operate unless they are registered with the Care Inspectorate. We inspect, award grades and set out improvements that must be made. We also investigate complaints about care services and take action when things aren't good enough. Please get in touch with us if you would like more information or have any concerns about a care service. Contact Us Care Inspectorate Compass House 11 Riverside Drive Dundee DD1 4NY page 2 of 24

3 Summary This report and grades represent our assessment of the quality of the areas of performance which were examined during this inspection. Grades for this care service may change after this inspection following other regulatory activity. For example, if we have to take enforcement action to make the service improve, or if we investigate and agree with a complaint someone makes about the service. We gave the service these grades Quality of care and support 6 Excellent Quality of staffing 6 Excellent Quality of management and leadership N/A What the service does well Falkirk Council - Leaving Care Service provides an excellent support service to young people leaving care. Young people told us they felt safe and protected and that staff took time to listen and get to know them well. What the service could do better We did not identify any areas for improvement at this inspection. The service should continue to identify any areas for development through their effective use of self-evaluation and quality assurance procedures which they have in place. What the service has done since the last inspection The service has recently moved to new premises. They outlined their plans to continue to hold open days for the young people to show off the new building as well as ask young people how they want to use the space. Open days for professionals and carers will also be scheduled and young people will be involved in these, explaining the work of the team. page 3 of 24

4 Conclusion Inspection report Overall we found the dedication, commitment and persistence of the staff team meant that the young people who were entitled to support received it in a person centred and consistent way. The outcomes for young people were farreaching and young people were keen to tell us about their initial involvement, the ongoing support they have received and how they can re-engage with the service quickly when things are not so good. page 4 of 24

5 1 About the service we inspected Inspection report The Care Inspectorate regulates care services in Scotland. Information about all care services is available on our website at This service was previously registered with the Care Commission and transferred its registration to the Care Inspectorate on 1 April Through care is the process by which the local authority plans and prepares for young people leaving care, and aftercare is the provision of advice, guidance and assistance for young people who are no longer looked after. Falkirk Council provide through care and aftercare by providing a service called "The Leaving Care Service". The service is provided by a team of specialist resource workers. The service provides help to young people preparing to leave the "care" system and move into adulthood. They provide support and guidance to young people during the changes and difficulties they may experience. The service is based in a warm, friendly environment with quiet and private areas available if preferred. Recommendations A recommendation is a statement that sets out actions that a care service provider should take to improve or develop the quality of the service, but where failure to do so would not directly result in enforcement. Recommendations are based on the National Care Standards, SSSC codes of practice and recognised good practice. These must also be outcomes-based and if the provider meets the recommendation this would improve outcomes for people receiving the service. Requirements A requirement is a statement which sets out what a care service must do to improve outcomes for people who use services and must be linked to a breach in the Public Services Reform (Scotland) Act 2010 (the "Act"), its regulations, or orders made under the Act, or a condition of registration. Requirements are enforceable in law. page 5 of 24

6 We make requirements where (a) there is evidence of poor outcomes for people using the service or (b) there is the potential for poor outcomes which would affect people's health, safety or welfare. Based on the findings of this inspection this service has been awarded the following grades: Quality of care and support - Grade 6 - Excellent Quality of staffing - Grade 6 - Excellent Quality of management and leadership - N/A This report and grades represent our assessment of the quality of the areas of performance which were examined during this inspection. Grades for this care service may change following other regulatory activity. You can find the most up-to-date grades for this service by visiting our website or by calling us on or visiting one of our offices. page 6 of 24

7 2 How we inspected this service The level of inspection we carried out In this service we carried out a low intensity inspection. We carry out these inspections when we are satisfied that services are working hard to provide consistently high standards of care. What we did during the inspection We wrote this report following an unannounced inspection. This was carried out by a Care Inspectorate inspector. The inspection took place on 28 April 2016 from 12.00pm to 3.00pm. We also visited on 30 May 2016 from 10.00am to 6.30pm. We gave feedback to the manager and the senior practitioner at the end of the second visit. As part of the inspection, we took account of the completed annual return and self-assessment forms that we asked the provider to submit to us. We also asked the service to distribute questionnaires to young people and staff prior to the inspection visit. Fourteen young people and seven staff responded to our questionnaires. During this inspection process, we gathered evidence from various sources, including the following: information on how the organisation will involve people who use the service and how they can have their say individual support plans and information recorded about the young people including risk assessments evidence of meetings with outside health professionals accident and incident records suggestions and comments minutes of meetings including young people, staff and management staff training, development and supervision records information on focus groups and events involving young people a range of audits relating to the service quality assurance procedures. page 7 of 24

8 We spoke with: six young people two parents the manager the senior practitioner five staff seven external professionals: - TC&AC Nurse - Who cares? Scotland - Review Co-ordinator - Barnardos Axis worker - Housing Support Co-ordinator - Senior Housing Support Officer - Policy and Community Planning Team Leader We spent time within the service during the day and visited a separate flat where the Peer Mentoring Service for Care Leavers takes place. We took all of the above evidence into consideration when writing this report. We also took into account the Public Services Reform (Scotland) Act 2010 and its associated statutory instruments, the National Care Standards and the Scottish Social Services Council (SSSC) Codes of Practice for Social Service Workers and Employers. page 8 of 24

9 Grading the service against quality themes and statements We inspect and grade elements of care that we call 'quality themes'. For example, one of the quality themes we might look at is 'Quality of care and support'. Under each quality theme are 'quality statements' which describe what a service should be doing well for that theme. We grade how the service performs against the quality themes and statements. Details of what we found are in Section 3: The inspection Inspection Focus Areas (IFAs) In any year we may decide on specific aspects of care to focus on during our inspections. These are extra checks we make on top of all the normal ones we make during inspection. We do this to gather information about the quality of these aspects of care on a national basis. Where we have examined an inspection focus area we will clearly identify it under the relevant quality statement. Fire safety issues We do not regulate fire safety. Local fire and rescue services are responsible for checking services. However, where significant fire safety issues become apparent, we will alert the relevant fire and rescue services so they may consider what action to take. You can find out more about care services' responsibilities for fire safety at page 9 of 24

10 The annual return Every year all care services must complete an 'annual return' form to make sure the information we hold is up to date. We also use annual returns to decide how we will inspect the service. Annual Return Received: Yes - Electronic Comments on Self Assessment Every year all care services must complete a 'self assessment' form telling us how their service is performing. We check to make sure this assessment is accurate. The Care Inspectorate received a completed self-assessment document from the provider. We were satisfied with the way the provider completed this and with the relevant information included for each heading that we grade services under. The provider identified what it thought the service did well, some areas for development and any changes it had planned. The provider told us how the people who used the care service had taken part in the self-assessment process. Taking the views of people using the care service into account We spoke with six young people during the inspection visit and we received fourteen Care Standards Questionnaires from the young people during this inspection. Young people's views were extremely positive. Whilst we refer to these throughout the report we have noted a range of these below: "They have helped me with a lot over the years that I could not do on my own". "They get me money to help me live independently because I can't stay at home. I meet with my worker once a week and can contact the office between Monday and Friday 9-5 for support if needed". page 10 of 24

11 "I feel as if the service always has my best interests at heart and I feel confident in the fact that I am always listened to. Thank You!". "Always have my best interests at heart". Inspection report "[Staff] helps and supports me through hard times and I am thankful for this". "I now volunteer for the Peer Mentoring Service as I'd like to give something back". "I am a previous client whose case was closed when I was 19 ½. I recently asked to have my case re-opened as I am now 21 and have just had my second daughter and I am a single mum and wanted support both emotionally and to get help re my benefits". "I have had ongoing support to help me get a house and furniture. I can always phone if I need support and someone will help". "They [staff] have helped me through everything even got me out the jail". All young people 'strongly agreed' with the question 'staff have enough time for me'. Taking carers' views into account We met with two parents during our inspection visits. The parents we spoke to commented on how well their daughter had been supported by staff. They told us the communication was excellent and that staff support was consistent and visits were regular. page 11 of 24

12 3 The inspection We looked at how the service performs against the following quality themes and statements. Here are the details of what we found. Quality Theme 1: Quality of Care and Support Grade awarded for this theme: 6 - Excellent Statement 3 We ensure that service users' health and wellbeing needs are met. Service Strengths We reviewed this statement as the Care Inspectorate is looking in detail at the level of knowledge and activity related to child sexual exploitation (CSE) across care services for children and young people. The information we gather will help us understand the current situation in Scotland and allow us to identify where improvements in knowledge and skills are needed. We concluded that the service achieved an excellent standard in this area, demonstrating major strengths. Young people told us they felt safe and protected and that staff took time to listen and get to know them well. The provider had a policy and supporting guidance on child sexual exploitation (CSE) and staff we spoke to were all familiar with the framework of practice that sets out responsibilities in relation to managing risks and concerns. All staff had received training in this area and could comprehensively detail the vulnerability indicators that could increase concerns. Staff told us about examples of when concerns had been raised and we saw how these had been managed effectively with a high level of sensitivity and care. A child sexual exploitation (CSE) data monitoring assessment was completed where there were any concerns and this formed the basis of further action. page 12 of 24

13 We saw that relevant information was contained within the young people's plans and all the young people we spoke with told us that staff supported them in managing their health and wellbeing needs effectively. Young people were encouraged to take responsibility for their own appointments, but said they could always rely on staff to support them when they needed it. Staff were advocating for the young people exceptionally well and young people told us they could always contact staff when things got difficult. We spoke with the Who Cares? Scotland Worker who told us she was actively involved with young people from the service and that staff invited her along to all relevant meetings and events. She told us how the level of contact and support offered to the young people by the staff at Falkirk Council - Leaving Care Service was one of the best she had seen. We saw staff helped young people consistently in a full range of comprehensive, creative and innovative ways. Young people said the support they received from staff helped them to build the confidence and engage in new or difficult things. One young person told us that the support they received had enabled them to make a success of their new tenancy. Without staff support she said she knows she would have lost her flat. "Staff have showed me how to survive on my own". We saw that the service recognised the importance of family support for the young people to strengthen their relationships with significant others. Staff supported young people to explore the impact of past experiences as a way of improving their emotional wellbeing. Young people told us they valued this level of support. The service had continued to develop effective ways of obtaining young people's views and involving them in decision-making in the day-to-day life and developments of the service and in their own plans and reviews. This was evident in methods such as meetings, informal discussions and regular consultation on areas such as the quality of service and key documents such as aims and objectives. page 13 of 24

14 Young people were also involved in local and national events and forums and had given their views on a wide range of consultations with regards to through care and after care provision. They had been involved with focus groups in relation to new legislation affecting young people leaving care. The young people we spoke to were passionate about sharing their positive experiences so professionals continue to get it right for young people who need this support. We met with one young person who had been instrumental in the development of the recently established Peer Mentioning Service for Care Leavers that Falkirk Council - Leaving Care has set up. The aim of this service is to lessen social isolation. The young persons involvement began at the funding application stage and they are now part of the peer mentoring team who will support other young people. They told us of the outstanding benefits of sharing concerns with people who have experienced similar situations in their life. The service worked in proactive and meaningful partnerships with all the services that young people would need. These partnerships all brought very significant benefits for the young people's individual support and outcomes. The young people we met told us how they felt access to these services helped them to during times of change and difficulties they may experience. Areas for improvement We did not identify any areas for improvement at this inspection. The service should continue to identify any areas for development through their effective use of self-evaluation and quality assurance procedures which they have in place. Grade 6 - Excellent Number of requirements - 0 Number of recommendations - 0 Inspection report page 14 of 24

15 Statement 6 People who use, or would like to use the service, and those who are ceasing the service, are fully informed as to what the service provides. Service Strengths We reviewed this statement as we are looking at how young people move in to and out of services. We concluded that the service achieved an excellent standard in this area, demonstrating major strengths in relation to young people's transitions. Young people told us they felt extremely well supported by the service at every step of the way. We found that when young people were identified as requiring a service, this was acknowledged at the earliest possible stage. Effective partnership working between statutory services, health and other agencies meant that young people were known to the service in advance of being allocated a key member of staff. We spoke to the through care and after care nurse who described how her remit meant that young people who were looked after and accommodated were offered continuity in their health assessments throughout the care journey. Allocations and referrals were led by the manager in consultation with the staff team to ensure effective oversight. The manager also attended planning meetings to provide a coordinated approach to meeting the young people's needs. Visits by and to young people before they started allowed them to meet staff and attend groups so they could become familiar with what the service had to offer. Young people told us they were provided with a range of written information about the service at the point of referral and once a worker had been allocated they made contact with them quickly. Young people told us that from the very start the communication was always very good. One young person said: "staff are very persistent in encouraging you to meet with them. I am so glad they kept trying to get a hold of me as it has been the best thing for me. It's been great". page 15 of 24

16 Staff worked with a number of young people who were in residential placements with a view to support being well established prior to their return home to the local area. This included young people who were placed out of area, some distance away. Advocacy and practical support for young people leaving care and transitions were well-planned and showed effective partnership with other agencies. Strong links with housing, benefits, education and social work services meant that young people experienced transitions that were well planned and coordinated. Outcomes Star framework was used when assessing young people's housing needs, this covered a range of areas for assessment that supported effective transitions. We saw how the information recorded supported staff and young people to make realistic judgements as to if and when they were ready for their own tenancy. Overall we found the dedication, commitment and persistence of the staff team meant that the young people who were entitled to support received it in a person centred and consistent way. The outcomes for young people were farreaching and young people were keen to tell us about their initial involvement, the ongoing support they have received and how they can re-engage with the service quickly when things are not so good. Areas for improvement We did not identify any areas for improvement at this inspection. The service has recently moved to new premises. They outlined their plans to continue to hold open days for the young people to show off the new building as well as ask young people how they want to use the space. Open days for professionals and carers will also be scheduled and young people will be involved in these, explaining the work of the team. Grade 6 - Excellent Number of requirements - 0 Number of recommendations - 0 Inspection report page 16 of 24

17 Quality Theme 3: Quality of Staffing Grade awarded for this theme: 6 - Excellent Statement 3 We have a professional, trained and motivated workforce which operates to National Care Standards, legislation and best practice. Service Strengths We concluded that the service achieved an excellent standard in this area, demonstrating major strengths. Young people told us they felt supported by staff who were professional, well-trained and motivated within the areas outlined in the National Care Standards, legislation and best practice. The manager was appropriately registered with the Scottish Social Services Council (SSSC) and there was a plan in place for all staff that were due for registration to be registered within the set timescales. The service was proactive in preparing staff for registration and staff were already working towards the relevant qualifications. The service has introduced a performance assessment system based on the Scottish Social Service Council's Continuous Learning Framework. This provided a consistent way of assessing the performance of staff and setting improvement targets in relation to their roles and responsibilities. We spoke individually with some members of staff and informally with others. We found that they were clear and passionate about their roles in providing support for the young people at Falkirk Council - Leaving Care Service. In discussions, they were able to demonstrate a professional understanding of the range of needs of the young people and we observed positive interactions between the staff and young people during our visit. page 17 of 24

18 We found that individual members of staff were committed and dedicated to the work they were engaged in and worked hard to help the young people achieve their aspirations. Young people told us how staff were always accessible and helped them with things from day-to-day activities and routines to managing bigger events in their lives. The young people told us they valued this. Staff told us that they could access a range of appropriate training and were encouraged to expand their knowledge and skills. Formal supervision sessions were used to ensure that members of the staff team were able to achieve their potential as well as following individual interests. The range of training undertaken was directly related to young people's needs and current issues and we saw young people regularly attended a range of training, local and national forums and events alongside staff. Young people we spoke with had a real knowledge and understanding of current issues, legislation changes and their entitlements. This meant they had a greater understanding of the supports available to them and to other young people. Annual appraisals enabled ongoing discussion of development and training needs which are informed by the member of staff reflecting on their own work and information gathered through their supervisor and manager. Team meetings took place with regular meetings for senior managers. Meeting minutes viewed evidenced a commitment to encourage staff to continually develop their knowledge and skills. We saw how staff had additional responsibilities, taking forward areas of best practice and new initiatives and could develop areas of particular interest, one being the Peer Mentoring Service for Care Leavers. page 18 of 24

19 Areas for improvement We did not identify any areas for improvement at this inspection. In accordance with the SSSC workforce register the service should continue with their plan to have all staff registered within the required timescale. Grade 6 - Excellent Number of requirements - 0 Number of recommendations - 0 page 19 of 24

20 Statement 4 We ensure that everyone working in the service has an ethos of respect towards service users and each other. Service Strengths This statement was examined based on our observations of staff working with young people, speaking with staff and reviewing young people's records and relevant policies and procedures. We concluded that the service achieved an excellent standard in this area, demonstrating major strengths. Young people told us they felt treated with dignity and respect and always felt welcomed within the service. When communicating with young people, staff used a calm and encouraging tone of voice. They used techniques aimed at motivating young people and we could see how getting the best for young people was their main priority. The language used in written records was respectful and we saw how young people's opinions were noted in daily communications records. We saw staff used a process of negotiation with young people to get positive outcomes. Staff were as discrete as they could be when talking in the presence of young people and managed silent communications well. There were effective arrangements for keeping personal information confidential, including paper and electronic documents. Staff respected young people's privacy, for example, staff met young people where it was most suitable for them. They helped arrange transport and met young people in places where they felt most comfortable. The staff had undertaken training on rights and responsibilities, sexual health training and other areas relating to the rights of the child. This level of training helped young people to feel confident and secure with the level of skills workers showed when meeting with staff. Staff had a good knowledge of legislation and used this to guide practice which help young people to learn and grow. page 20 of 24

21 We spoke to young people who told us things like: "Nothing is ever too much trouble". "Staff go above and beyond to help me". "I wish everyone who needs it gets this chance". "Staff always respect my views, they are thoughtful". Areas for improvement We did not identify any areas for improvement at this inspection. The service should continue to identify any areas for development through their effective use of self-evaluation and quality assurance procedures which they have in place. Grade 6 - Excellent Number of requirements - 0 Number of recommendations - 0 page 21 of 24

22 Quality Theme 4: Quality of Management and Leadership Quality theme not assessed 4 What the service has done to meet any requirements we made at our last inspection Previous requirements There are no outstanding requirements. 5 What the service has done to meet any recommendations we made at our last inspection Previous recommendations There are no outstanding recommendations. 6 Complaints No complaints have been upheld, or partially upheld, since the last inspection. page 22 of 24

23 7 Enforcements We have taken no enforcement action against this care service since the last inspection. Inspection report 8 Additional Information There is no additional information. 9 Inspection and grading history Date Type Gradings 23 Sep 2013 Unannounced Care and support 6 - Excellent Environment Not Assessed Staffing 6 - Excellent Management and Leadership 6 - Excellent 20 Jul 2011 Unannounced Care and support 6 - Excellent Environment Not Assessed Staffing 6 - Excellent Management and Leadership 5 - Very Good 10 Feb 2009 Announced Care and support 6 - Excellent Environment Not Assessed Staffing 6 - Excellent Management and Leadership 5 - Very Good page 23 of 24

24 To find out more This inspection report is published by the Care Inspectorate. You can download this report and others from our website. You can also read more about our work online. Contact Us Care Inspectorate Compass House 11 Riverside Drive Dundee DD1 4NY Other languages and formats This report is available in other languages and formats on request. Inspection report Tha am foillseachadh seo ri fhaighinn ann an cruthannan is c?nain eile ma nithear iarrtas. page 24 of 24

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Stirling Home Care Service Support Service Wallace House 17-21 Maxwell Place Stirling Inspection completed on 13 May 2016 Service provided by: Sue Ryder Service

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Richmondhill House Care Home Service 18 Richmondhill Place Aberdeen Inspection completed on 25 May 2016 Service provided by: Aberdeen Association of Social

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Skelmorlie After School Club Day Care of Children Skelmorlie Primary School Innes Park Road Skelmorlie Inspection completed on 06 May 2016 Service provided

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection 1st Homecare Ltd Housing Support Service Banchory Business Centre Burn O Bennie Road Banchory Inspection completed on 10 June 2016 Service provided by: 1st

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Inspire Huntly Housing Support Service 18 Milton Wynd Huntly Inspection completed on 11 May 2016 Service provided by: Inspire (Partnership Through Life) Ltd

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Kirkconnel Activity & Resource Centre Support Service Main Street Kirkconnel Sanquhar Inspection completed on 06 May 2016 Service provided by: Dumfries &

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Assistance In Care Services Ltd Support Service 1 New Law House Saltire Centre Glenrothes Inspection completed on 12 May 2016 Service provided by: Assistance

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Stoneside Flat Care Home Service 18 Stoneside Drive East wood Glasgow Inspection completed on 12 May 2016 Service provided by: Action for Children Service

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection SSCN Social Care Housing Support Service Suite 3, Floor 2 ELS House 555 Gorgie Road Edinburgh Inspection completed on 03 May 2016 Service provided by: Support

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Newcross Healthcare Solutions Aberdeen Branch Nurse Agency Suite K Woodburn House 4/5 Golden Square Aberdeen Inspection completed on 16 May 2016 Service provided

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Loretto Personalised and Self - Directed Support Services (Glasgow) Housing Support Service 2045-2047 Maryhill Road Glasgow Inspection completed on 29 October

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Annan Activity & Resource Centre Support Service 15 Ednam Street Annan Inspection completed on 05 May 2016 Service provided by: Dumfries & Galloway Council

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Community Playgroups (West Calder) Day Care of Children West Calder Community Centre Dickson Street West Calder Inspection completed on 24 May 2016 Service

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Gorebridge Out of School Care Day Care of Children c/o Gorebridge Primary School 2c Barleyknowe Lane Gorebridge Inspection completed on 14 March 2016 Service

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Willowbank Bungalows 1,2&3 Care Home Service Willowbank Glendaveny Peterhead Inspection completed on 09 May 2016 Service provided by: Aberdeenshire Council

More information

Childminder inspection report. Burnett, Margaret Aberdeen

Childminder inspection report. Burnett, Margaret Aberdeen Burnett, Margaret Aberdeen Inspection completed on 08 June 2016 Service provided by: Burnett, Margaret Service provider number: SP2003900448 Care service number: CS2003001722 Inspection Type: Unannounced

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Shared Lives Service - Perth & Kinross Adult Placement Service Suite 2 South Inch Business Centre Shore Road Perth Inspection completed on 16 May 2016 Service

More information

Childminder inspection report. Jenni Tots Childcare Glasgow

Childminder inspection report. Jenni Tots Childcare Glasgow Jenni Tots Childcare Glasgow Inspection completed on 26 May 2016 Service provided by: Ballantyne, Jennifer Service provider number: SP2015986781 Care service number: CS2015336256 Inspection Type: Unannounced

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Carolton Care Care Home Service 53 Seabank Road Nairn Inspection completed on 05 May 2016 Service provided by: Carolton Care Ltd Service provider number:

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Milan Day Care Support Service Support Service Portlee Resource Centre for Older People 17 Hawkhill Avenue Edinburgh Inspection completed on 19 May 2016 Service

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Dalweem Care Home Service Taybridge Road Aberfeldy Inspection completed on 03 June 2016 Service provided by: Perth & Kinross Council Service provider number:

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Loreburn Housing Support Service Housing Support Service 27 Moffat Road Dumfries Inspection completed on 31 May 2016 Service provided by: Loreburn Housing

More information

Oran Home Care Support Service Care at Home Birkbrae Blebo Craigs Cupar KY15 5UG

Oran Home Care Support Service Care at Home Birkbrae Blebo Craigs Cupar KY15 5UG Oran Home Care Support Service Care at Home Birkbrae Blebo Craigs Cupar KY15 5UG Inspected by: Patsy McDermott Type of inspection: Announced Inspection completed on: 15 July 2013 Contents Page No Summary

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection 33 Malcolms Mount Care Home Service 33 Malcolms Mount Stonehaven Inspection completed on 02 June 2016 Service provided by: Inspire (Partnership Through Life)

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Quality themed inspection (day care for children) Queen Street Nursery School Day Care of Children Queen Street Falkirk Inspection completed on 01 June 2016 Service provided

More information

Carr Gomm - Edinburgh Housing Support Service 16-18 London Road Edinburgh EH7 5AT Telephone: 0131 228 6623

Carr Gomm - Edinburgh Housing Support Service 16-18 London Road Edinburgh EH7 5AT Telephone: 0131 228 6623 Carr Gomm - Edinburgh Housing Support Service 16-18 London Road Edinburgh EH7 5AT Telephone: 0131 228 6623 Inspected by: David Todd Type of inspection: Announced (Short Notice) Inspection completed on:

More information

Childminder inspection report. Hulse, Hazel Inverurie

Childminder inspection report. Hulse, Hazel Inverurie Hulse, Hazel Inverurie Inspection completed on 21 March 2016 Service provided by: Hulse, Hazel Service provider number: SP2008968596 Care service number: CS2008169823 Inspection Type: Unannounced Care

More information

Childminder inspection report. Young, Evelyn and Mirelle Selkirk

Childminder inspection report. Young, Evelyn and Mirelle Selkirk Childminder inspection report Young, Evelyn and Mirelle Selkirk Inspection completed on 19 May 2016 Service provided by: Evelyn and Mirelle Young a Partnership Service provider number: SP2003908200 Care

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Tom's Croft Care Home Service Bunachton Inverness Inspection completed on 25 May 2016 Service provided by: Common Thread Ltd Service provider number: SP2005007437

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Quality themed inspection (day care for children) Rising Stars Mobile Play Team Day Care of Children Adelphi Centre 12 Commercial Road Glasgow Inspection completed on 08

More information

Childminder inspection report. Chesworth, Gwenda Muir of Ord

Childminder inspection report. Chesworth, Gwenda Muir of Ord Chesworth, Gwenda Muir of Ord Inspection completed on 04 May 2016 Service provided by: Chesworth, Gwenda Service provider number: SP2003907536 Care service number: CS2003013883 Inspection Type: Announced

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Quality themed inspection (day care for children) Longniddry Primary School Nursery Day Care of Children Kitchener Crescent Longniddry Prestonpans Inspection completed on

More information

Childminder inspection report. Charlene Morning Child Minding Service Glasgow

Childminder inspection report. Charlene Morning Child Minding Service Glasgow Charlene Morning Child Minding Service Glasgow Inspection completed on 02 May 2016 Service provided by: Morning, Charlene Service provider number: SP2015986975 Care service number: CS2015337662 Inspection

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection School's Out Peebles Day Care of Children Peebles Community Centre Walkershaugh Peebles Inspection completed on 18 May 2016 Service provided by: Perceptive

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Quality themed inspection (day care for children) Craigour Park Primary School Nursery Class Day Care of Children Craigour Park Primary School Moredun Park Road Edinburgh

More information

Childminder inspection report. Still, Angela Aberdeen

Childminder inspection report. Still, Angela Aberdeen Still, Angela Aberdeen Inspection completed on 26 April 2016 Service provided by: Still, Angela Service provider number: SP2003900387 Care service number: CS2003001632 Inspection Type: Unannounced Care

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Forth Valley Housing Support Housing Support Service 14 New Mart Road Edinburgh Inspection completed on 10 March 2016 Service provided by: Abbeyfield Scotland

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Leonard Cheshire - Dysart Day Support Support Service 91d High Street Dysart Kirkcaldy Inspection completed on 19 May 2016 Service provided by: Leonard Cheshire

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Inverclyde Centre Housing Support Service 98 Dalrymple Street Greenock Inspection completed on 26 April 2016 Service provided by: Inverclyde Council Service

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Bield at Home - Linlithgow/Biggar Support Service Westport Resource 1 St Ninians Road Linlithgow Inspection completed on 11 March 2015 Service provided by:

More information

Diamond Childcare Agency Child Care Agency Unit 3a Whitecrook Business Centre 78 Whitecrooks Street Clydebank G81 1QF Telephone: 0141 951 4754

Diamond Childcare Agency Child Care Agency Unit 3a Whitecrook Business Centre 78 Whitecrooks Street Clydebank G81 1QF Telephone: 0141 951 4754 Diamond Childcare Agency Child Care Agency Unit 3a Whitecrook Business Centre 78 Whitecrooks Street Clydebank G81 1QF Telephone: 0141 951 4754 Inspected by: Donna Laing Type of inspection: Unannounced

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Rosyth Support Service - Leonard Cheshire Support Service 195 Queensferry Road Rosyth Dunfermline Inspection completed on 26 May 2016 Service provided by:

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection The Paddock Care Home Service The Paddock Ochiltree Cumnock Inspection completed on 11 April 2016 Service provided by: Radical Services Ltd Service provider

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Home Care Services - Mainstream Team Housing Support Service Southbank House Southbank Business Park Kirkintilloch Glasgow Inspection completed on 29 April

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Adalia Wood Care Home Service Orkie Miln Farmhouse Kingskettle Cupar Inspection completed on 25 May 2016 Service provided by: Adalia Wood Ltd Service provider

More information

Childminder inspection report. Corbett, Lisa South Queensferry

Childminder inspection report. Corbett, Lisa South Queensferry Corbett, Lisa South Queensferry Inspection completed on 23 March 2016 Service provided by: Corbett, Lisa Service provider number: SP2014986155 Care service number: CS2014328865 Inspection Type: Unannounced

More information

Childminder inspection report. McDonald, Gillian Dunfermline

Childminder inspection report. McDonald, Gillian Dunfermline McDonald, Gillian Dunfermline Inspection completed on 20 July 2015 Service provided by: Gillian Mcdonald Service provider number: SP2003904078 Care service number: CS2003007052 Inspection Type: Announced

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Quality themed inspection (day care for children) Stanley Primary School Nursery Class Day Care of Children Stanley Road Ardrossan Inspection completed on 01 June 2016 Service

More information

Childminder inspection report. O'Donnell, Kathleen Edinburgh

Childminder inspection report. O'Donnell, Kathleen Edinburgh O'Donnell, Kathleen Edinburgh Inspection completed on 18 May 2016 Service provided by: O`donnell, Mrs Kathleen Service provider number: SP2003906002 Care service number: CS2003012277 Inspection Type: Unannounced

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Balnacraig School School Care Accommodation Service Fairmount Terrace Perth Inspection completed on 27 May 2016 Service provided by: Balnacraig School Service

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Validation inspection Windyedge Care Home Care Home Service 55A Strathmore Avenue Forfar Inspection completed on 24 May 2016 Service provided by: Thomas Dailey trading as

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Quality themed inspection (day care for children) Rainbow Childcare and Education Ltd Day Care of Children Little Crook Forres Inspection completed on 13 May 2016 Service

More information

Childminder inspection report. Pitcairn Childminding Glenrothes

Childminder inspection report. Pitcairn Childminding Glenrothes Pitcairn Childminding Glenrothes Inspection completed on 27 May 2016 Service provided by: Tracey Docherty trading as Pitcairn Childminding Service provider number: SP2011981555 Care service number: CS2011281193

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection St. Serf's R C Primary School Nursery Day Care of Children Preston Street High Valleyfield Dunfermline Inspection completed on 14 January 2016 Service provided

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Tigh-a-Rudha Residential Home Care Home Service Scarinish Isle of Tiree Inspection completed on 26 May 2016 Service provided by: Argyll and Bute Council Service

More information

Childminder inspection report. Roach, Jacqueline Livingston

Childminder inspection report. Roach, Jacqueline Livingston Roach, Jacqueline Livingston Inspection completed on 16 February 2016 Service provided by: Roach, Jacqueline Service provider number: SP2003910099 Care service number: CS2003015632 Inspection Type: Announced

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Care & Support at Home Housing Support Service Hillend Centre 2 East Crawford Street Greenock Inspection completed on 12 May 2016 Service provided by: Inverclyde

More information

Care Services in Ferry House - A Review

Care Services in Ferry House - A Review Care service inspection report Full inspection Ferry House Residential Home Care Home Service 8 Gray Street Broughty Ferry Dundee Inspection completed on 03 June 2016 Service provided by: Ferry House Residential

More information

The Hut - Lumphanan Preschool Day Care of Children Lumphanan Recreation Park School Road Lumphanan Banchory AB31 4SU

The Hut - Lumphanan Preschool Day Care of Children Lumphanan Recreation Park School Road Lumphanan Banchory AB31 4SU The Hut - Lumphanan Preschool Day Care of Children Lumphanan Recreation Park School Road Lumphanan Banchory AB31 4SU Inspected by: Karen Provan Type of inspection: Unannounced Inspection completed on:

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Mugdock House Care Home Care Home Service Stockiemuir Road Bearsden Glasgow Inspection completed on 20 May 2016 Service provided by: BUPA Care Homes (ANS)

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Dalry Out Of School Care Day Care of Children Dalry Community Centre St. Margaret's Avenue Dalry Inspection completed on 20 April 2016 Service provided by:

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Clashfarquhar House Care Home Service 23 Robert Street Stonehaven Inspection completed on 03 May 2016 Service provided by: Church of Scotland Trading as Crossreach

More information

Details about this location

Details about this location Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Prince George Duke of Kent Court Shepherds Green, Chislehurst,

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Royal Free Hospital Urgent Care Centre Royal Free Hospital,

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Kingsmead Nursing Home Care Home Service Kingswood Drive Kingswells Aberdeen Inspection completed on 26 May 2016 Service provided by: Mead Medical Services

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Telegraph House 97 Telegraph Road, Deal, CT14 9DF Tel: 01304369031

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection 3 Bridges Care Home Care Home Service 108 Carmunnock Road Glasgow Inspection completed on 29 April 2016 Service provided by: Northcare (Scotland) Ltd Service

More information

Publications code: REG-0812-032. Registering and running a childminding service: what you need to know

Publications code: REG-0812-032. Registering and running a childminding service: what you need to know Publications code: REG-0812-032 Registering and running a childminding service: what you need to know Contents Introduction 1 Section 1: What is childminding? 2 Section 2: Before you apply to register

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Building Blocks Dunfermline Nursery Day Care of Children 1 Innova Way Rosyth Europarc Rosyth Dunfermline Inspection completed on 28 January 2016 Service provided

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Kumari Care Limited 5 Palace Yard Mews, Queen Square, Bath,

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Bury DCA United Response, City View Business Centre, 9 Long

More information

Dalry Out Of School Care Day Care of Children Dalry Community Centre St. Margaret's Avenue Dalry KA24 4BA Telephone: 01294 835812

Dalry Out Of School Care Day Care of Children Dalry Community Centre St. Margaret's Avenue Dalry KA24 4BA Telephone: 01294 835812 Dalry Out Of School Care Day Care of Children Dalry Community Centre St. Margaret's Avenue Dalry KA24 4BA Telephone: 01294 835812 Inspected by: Catherine Bain Type of inspection: Unannounced Inspection

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Playdays Nursery School Day Care of Children 4 East Suffolk Road Newington Edinburgh Inspection completed on 27 April 2016 Service provided by: Mohamed, Ashira

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. The Manor House Whitton Road, Alkborough, Nr Scunthorpe, DN15

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Adams House Care Home Service Auchenlodment Road Elderslie Johnstone Inspection completed on 27 April 2016 Service provided by: Church of Scotland Trading

More information

Capability Scotland - Sycamore Service Day Care of Children Westerlea 11 Ellersly Road Edinburgh EH12 6HY Telephone: 0131 347 1077

Capability Scotland - Sycamore Service Day Care of Children Westerlea 11 Ellersly Road Edinburgh EH12 6HY Telephone: 0131 347 1077 Capability Scotland - Sycamore Service Day Care of Children Westerlea 11 Ellersly Road Edinburgh EH12 6HY Telephone: 0131 347 1077 Type of inspection: Unannounced Inspection completed on: 25 March 2015

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Harrow Health Limited 37 Love Lane, Pinner, Harrow, HA5 3EE

More information

Aspirations Support Bristol Limited

Aspirations Support Bristol Limited Aspirations Support Bristol Limited Aspirations Support Bristol Inspection report Design House 26 South View Staple Hill Bristol BS16 5PJ Tel: : 0117 965 1447 Website: www.aspirations-support.co.uk Date

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inglewood Nursing Home Deal Road, Redcar, TS10 2RG Date of Inspection:

More information

nationalcarestandards

nationalcarestandards nationalcarestandards dignity privacy choice safety realising potential equality and diversity SCOTTISH EXECUTIVE Making it work together nationalcarestandards dignity privacy choice safety realising potential

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Fairknowe Care Home Service Fairknowe House 3 Cargill Road Maybole Inspection completed on 05 May 2016 Service provided by: Mead Medical Services Limited

More information

Inspection report for children's home. Unique reference number. Type of Inspection

Inspection report for children's home. Unique reference number. Type of Inspection Inspection report for children's home Unique reference number Inspection date Inspector Type of Inspection SC002264 18 March 2010 Caroline Brailsford Random Date of last inspection 12 October 2009 . Crown

More information

Services for children and young people in North Ayrshire 28 October 2013. Report of a pilot joint inspection

Services for children and young people in North Ayrshire 28 October 2013. Report of a pilot joint inspection Services for children and young people in North Ayrshire 28 October 2013 Report of a pilot joint inspection Contents 1. Introduction 1 2. Background 1 3. The Community Planning Partnership area 2 4. Particular

More information

Age UK Rotherham. Age Concern Rotherham Limited. Overall rating for this service. Inspection report. Ratings. Good

Age UK Rotherham. Age Concern Rotherham Limited. Overall rating for this service. Inspection report. Ratings. Good Age Concern Rotherham Limited Age UK Rotherham Inspection report Galax Building Fitzwilliam Road, Eastwood Trading Estate Rotherham South Yorkshire S65 1SL Tel: 01709835214 Website: www.ageuk.org.uk/rotherham

More information

Inspection report for children's home. Unique reference number. Type of Inspection

Inspection report for children's home. Unique reference number. Type of Inspection Inspection report for children's home Unique reference number Inspection date Inspector Type of Inspection SC002264 12 October 2009 Caroline Brailsford Key Date of last inspection 23 February 2009 . Crown

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Pellon Care Centre 200 Pellon Lane, Halifax, HX1 5RD Tel: 01422342002

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Southdowns Private Healthcare 97 Havant Road, Emsworth, PO10

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Sunrise Operations of Westbourne 16-18 Poole Road, Westbourne,

More information

Care and Social Services Inspectorate Wales

Care and Social Services Inspectorate Wales Care and Social Services Inspectorate Wales Care Standards Act 2000 Inspection Report Aylecare Domiciliary Services 11 Alexandra Road Gorseinon Swansea SA4 4NW Type of Inspection Baseline Date(s) of inspection

More information

Kilfillan House Care Home

Kilfillan House Care Home Bupa Care Homes (BNH) Limited Kilfillan House Care Home Inspection report Graemesdyke Road Berkhamsted Hertfordshire HP4 3LZ Date of inspection visit: 06 April 2016 Date of publication: 20 May 2016 Ratings

More information

Darlington College Childcare Centre

Darlington College Childcare Centre Darlington College Childcare Centre Central Park, Haughton Road, Darlington, County Durham, DL1 1DR Inspection date Previous inspection date 8 July 2015 4 February 2011 The quality and standards of the

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Oakwell Children's Nursery Day Care of Children 5 Pardovan Holdings Linlithgow Inspection completed on 09 May 2016 Service provided by: Oakwell Children's

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Boquhanran House Care Home Service Dickens Avenue Clydebank Inspection completed on 18 May 2016 Service provided by: West Dunbartonshire Council Service provider

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection NAS SW Scotland Supported Living Housing Support Service The Stables Administration & Resource Centre The National Autistic Society Sorn Road Catrine Mauchline

More information

Inspection dates 19 21 March 2014. Effectiveness of leadership and management

Inspection dates 19 21 March 2014. Effectiveness of leadership and management Further Education and Skills inspection report Date published: 25 April 2014 Inspection Number: 429097 URN: 131959 Portland College Independent specialist college Inspection dates 19 21 March 2014 Overall

More information

National Care Standards Review Overarching Principles Consultation Report

National Care Standards Review Overarching Principles Consultation Report National Care Standards Review Overarching Principles Consultation Report February 2016 Background The National Care Standards are a set of standards for care services in Scotland. They help everyone understand

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Mid Suffolk Home First The Kingsfield Centre, Chilton Way, Stowmarket,

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Bluebird Care (Milton Keynes) Suite 107, Interchange Business

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Appletree Care Home 158 Burnt Oak Broadway, Burnt Oak, Edgware,

More information

Looked after children good practice in schools

Looked after children good practice in schools Looked after children good practice in schools This is a short report based on a small-scale survey of good practice in schools in relation to looked after children. It does not cover all aspects of looked

More information