Traffic Safety Milestones A Short History of Traffic Safety Legislation and Public Policy in New Mexico Since Statehood

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Traffic Safety Milestones A Short History of Traffic Safety Legislation and Public Policy in New Mexico Since Statehood"

Transcription

1 Traffic Safety Milestones A Short History of Traffic Safety Legislation and Public Policy in New Mexico Since Statehood Carolyn Johnson, Training and Development Section Transportation Safety Law Center, Institute of Public Law, University of New Mexico School of Law MSC , 1 University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM : First state legislature (second session) passes anti-dwi law. Penalties: Fines between $25 and $100; jail between 30 and 90 days. 1919: DWI penalties raised to $1000 fine and one year in jail. The legislature also made it a crime for a passenger to knowingly and willfully ride with an intoxicated driver. The passenger was subject to the same penalties as the driver $1000 fine and a year in jail. (Note: Prohibitionthe 18 th Amendment to the US Constitutionwas ratified in 1919 and took effect in 1920). 1929: Legislature repeals the statute making it unlawful to ride with an intoxicated driver Prohibition repealed by the 21 st Amendment to the US. Constitution. New Mexico imposes excise tax on liquor. 1938: New Mexico Supreme Court defines under the influence for the first time in New Mexico: "A person who has taken a drink of intoxicating liquor is not necessarily under its influence; but if it affects him so that, to the slightest degree, he is 'less able, either mentally or physically or both, to exercise the clear judgment and steady hand necessary to handle as powerful and dangerous a mechanism as a modern automobile with safety to himself and the public,' ( Hasten v. State, supra), he is under the influence of intoxicating liquor within the meaning of the statute." (State v. Sisneros, 42 N.M. 500, 82 P.2d 274 (S. Ct. 1938) citing the Arizona Case of Hasten v. State, 35 Ariz. 427, 280 P. 670 (1929). Read the case at ) 1967: NHTSA issues Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 208, requiring auto manufacturers to install lap and shoulder belts in outboard positions (next to windows) and lap belts in all other positions. This law takes effect in : Implied Consent Law passed. Contained the following presumptions: under.05 it is presumed that person is not intoxicated;.05 to.09: no presumption is made as to intoxication;.10 and over it is presumed that the person is intoxicated. These presumptions could be overcome by competent evidence as to the intoxication or sobriety of the driver. They did not apply to the criminal portion of

2 the law, but only to license revocation. 1971: Implied Consent Act with revocation for refusal to take a breath test is taken out of the courts and made an entirely administrative (non-criminal) proceeding. New Mexicos first DWI school is established in Albuquerque as part of the Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP). 1973: Universal motorcycle helmet law enacted: every motorcyclist in New Mexico must wear a helmet, effective June 15, : Universal motorcycle helmet law repealed for everyone 18 and over: only motorcyclists age 17 and under must wear a helmet, effective June 17, Congress mandates national 55mph speed limit. MADD founded 1983: The per se standard of.10 is added to the criminal portion of the law ( C). Under this section of the law, a person can be convicted of DWI for driving with a blood alcohol concentration of.10 or more. New Mexico enacts child safety restraint law, which applies only to children under 5, and has only secondary enforcement.* (*See 1985 amendment) 1984: The per se standard of.10 is added to the Implied Consent Act, which now defines driving with a BAC over.10 as both a criminal violation and an administrative (noncriminal) violation. The administrative per se violation replaces the portion of the law which provided that at.10 BAC or over, the driver was presumed to be intoxicated. Under this new law, ( C) the driver with a.10 or higher BAC has his license administratively revoked and is charged with the crime of DWI. 1985: Safety belt use law enacted for adults. This original law has primary enforcement* but applies only to front seat occupants and does not apply to pickup trucks. New Mexicos mandatory child restraint law amended to include children under 11 with primary enforcement. * A primary enforcement safety belt law is one where the officer can stop and ticket the motorist for the sole offense of not wearing a safety belt. A secondary enforcement law means that a police officer has to have some other reason to stop and ticket the driverillegal turn, failure to signal, speeding, etc. before writing the ticket for the safety belt violation. 1986: New Mexicos mandatory adult safety belt law goes into effect (passed in 1985).

3 1987: New Mexico Court of Appeals holds sobriety checkpoints constitutional in New Mexico (City of Las Cruces v. Betancourt) as long as certain guidelines are followed. New Mexico raises the speed limit on rural highways to 65mph. Section 410 drunk driving prevention program legislation enacted by US Congress. 1988: The cars of second and third time offenders impounded for 30 and 60 days, respectively. Fourth or subsequent offenders will receive mandatory six-month jail sentences. Mandatory 96 hours in jail for driving with a license revoked for DWI. Clarifies that DWI convictions will be recorded against offenders even if their sentence is suspended, deferred or taken under advisement. 1989: Passes open container law, Modifies mandatory safety belt law to apply to pickup trucks as well as passenger cars, Passes new law, the Local Liquor Excise Tax Act, which applies only to McKinley County and allows voters in that county to enact a local tax on alcohol of 5%, to fund drug abuse education, prevention and treatment programs. Later that year, McKinley votes to pass the tax. 1990: Farmington enacts ordinance providing for mandatory three days in jail for ALL DWI offenders. US Supreme Court approves sobriety checkpoints, provided that police agencies comply with outlined procedures, Michigan Dept. of State Police v. Sitz, 496 U.S. 444 (1990). 1992: Albuquerque passes states first DWI vehicle forfeiture ordinance for driving while revoked for DWI. The penalty is entirely civil and will eventually encompass both driving while revoked and DWI. 1993: Creates new crimes of felony DWI for a fourth or subsequent offense and aggravated DWI for any one of the following:.16+ BAC, a refusal or causing bodily injury while DWI. Mandatory fines for second or third offenses: $500 on a second offense and $750 for a third offense Mandatory incarceration: 72 hours for a second offense, 30 days for a third offense, and 6 months for a fourth or subsequent offense, now a felony offense; seven days for driving while revoked for DWI. BAC per se standard is lowered from.10 to.08. DWI Local Grant Fund is created for communities to apply for grants to fight DWI at local level (funded from alcohol taxes) Mandatory alcohol evaluation for all DWI offenders Server training now required for all alcohol licensees and their employees. The Implied Consent Act is amended to clarify that a law enforcement officer may now ask for both a blood and breath test (Section A) and the law enforcement officer must advise the suspect that after that test, the suspect is entitled to arrange for a test of his or her own choosing (Section ). Albuquerques Metropolitan Court is made a court of record for DWI and domestic violence cases. First time applicants for NM drivers licenses must attend an approved 3-4 hour DWI prevention and education class in order to obtain a license. New drivers under 18 will be required to attend 56 hours of classroom instruction in public schools or 33 hours in private commercial driver schools.

4 Most of these new laws went into effect in : Legislature requires fingerprinting of all convicted DWI offenders. 1998: Legislature outlaws service to drive-up alcohol windows effective August, : Limited licenses for convicted offenders become available to offenders who install ignition interlocks on their cars (among other requirements) vehicles may be driven only to work or school. Graduated drivers license legislation passed, pertaining to youth under age : Law passed requiring all adults to be in a safety belt in all positions of a vehicle, closing the loophole which allowed persons over age 11 to be unbelted in the back seat.) 2002: Requires ignition interlocks to be installed on the vehicles of all convicted repeat DWI offenders and aggravated DWI offenders. Imposes a fee equal to 10% of the cost of an interlock, to be paid by interlock users into a new fund called the Interlock Device Fund, to assist indigent persons in getting interlocks installed on their vehicles. Other 2002 developments: New Mexico Supreme Court holds that Albuquerques DWI vehicle forfeiture ordinance does not constitute double jeopardy (City of Albuquerque v. One 1984 White Chevy). 2003: Ignition Interlock License Act passed, providing for DWI offenders to obtain an ignition interlock license, allowing them to drive anywhere at any time with an interlock device installed in their car. This option is available to all DWI offenders, except those convicted of vehicular homicide or great bodily injury by vehicle while DWI. Law now allows tribal convictions to be counted as prior offenses in New Mexico, and allows tribes to submit records to statewide MVD/DWI database, at tribes option. Boating While Intoxicated Act passed, effective July 1, 2003 (Section ). Makes it illegal to operate a boat under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs or with a BAC of.08 or greater. Refusal, causing great bodily injury while DWI or boating with a BAC of.16 or greater is an aggravated offense. Other 2003 Developments Doña Aña Countys vehicle forfeiture ordinance goes into effect. 2004: DWI is raised from a fourth degree felony to a third degree felony on a sixth or subsequent offense. Makes substance abuse counseling and treatment mandatory on every subsequent offense and for all persons incarcerated for DWI. Tribal convictions are now included as priors for purposes of sentence enhancement. Each prior DWI conviction within the last 10 years now adds four years to a prison sentence for

5 vehicular homicide, (mandatory). This doubled the previous enhancement of two years. Its now a felony (fourth degree) for a person to sell, serve, give, buy, or deliver alcohol to a minor, or assist a minor to buy, procure or be served alcohol. This includes getting someone else to give alcohol to minors by deceptive practices. Other 2004 developments: Las Cruces and Torrance County vehicle forfeiture ordinances go into effect. 2005: Increases period of license revocation for a conviction for DWI, as follows: 1 year revocation on a first, 2 years on a second, 3 years on a third and lifetime for a 4 th subject to a five-year review in the district court. Requires any convicted offender to obtain an ignition interlock license and have interlock installed and operating on all cars driven by offender, according to the same timetable as the license revocation. Makes juveniles subject to benefits and responsibilities of the Interlock Device Fund (for indigent offenders). Adds mandatory community service for first and third time offenders. Requires standardization of law enforcement arrest records and procedures. Expands definition of ignition interlock device as one that prevents the operation of a motor vehicle by an intoxicated or impaired person. Off-Highway Motor Vehicle Act overhauled with provisions added for rider education, helmets, goggles, certification of educators and an Off Highway Vehicle Safety Board. Booster seat law passed, requiring children 5-6 regardless of weight, or children weighing less than 60 pounds, regardless of age, be properly secured in either a child booster seat or an appropriate child passenger restraint device, and children 7-12 be properly secured in a child passenger restraint device or by a seat belt. 2006: The administration of the Ignition Interlock Device Fund (for indigent offenders) is changed from the Local Government Division of the Department of Finance and Administration to the Traffic Safety Bureau of the Department of Transportation. The TSB will determine by rule the amount of the fee imposed on those convicted of DWI and will distribute the fees imposed to the Interlock Device Fund. Other 2006 developments: As of July 2 nd, Santa Fe Countys seizure/forfeiture ordinance goes into effect. New Mexico now has 5 forfeiture ordinances: Albuquerque, Las Cruces, Doña Ana County, Torrance County and Santa Fe County. 2007: Passes the Child Helmet Safety Act, requiring minors (under 18) to wear protective helmets while operating or riding as a passenger on a bicycle, tricycle, skates, scooter or skateboard. Parents who knowingly allow their children to use these devices without helmets are subject to a maximum $10 civil (not criminal) fine. New Mexico is now the only state in the US that requires every minor under the age of 18 to wear a helmet on every motorized or non-motorized recreational vehicle. Requires drivers from other states who apply for a New Mexico drivers license to have an ignition interlock license, if they were convicted of a DWI in any state or the District of Columbia, or any government subdivision thereof, according to the same schedule required of drivers convicted in New Mexico. The legislature also makes a $1.1 million startup appropriation to MVD for verification

6 and background checks of out of state drivers and allows the Division to charge applicants $15 in the future for such verification. Clarifies that the per se DWI crime is now to have a BAC of.08 or higher within three hours of driving, when the BAC is from alcohol consumed before or while driving. This allows a three hour window for the administration of breath or blood tests, without the need for an expert to calculate the BAC at the time of driving. Adds probation and parole officers to the list of agencies that can make determinations of eligibility for the Interlock Device Fund (for indigent offenders). Other 2007 Developments: City of Santa Fe passes seizure/forfeiture ordinance. New Mexico now has 6 forfeiture ordinances: Albuquerque, Las Cruces, Doña Ana County, Torrance County, Santa Fe County and City of Santa Fe. 2008: Ignition interlock tampering penalties: A vehicle operator who disconnects or otherwise tampers with an interlock when it's required by law is now subject to the same penalties as those for driving while revoked for DWI. Eliminates the Motor Vehicle Divisions (MVD) authority to waive the commercial drivers license test even when the applicant complies with other provisions of the Commercial Drivers License Act. Outlines a formula that will provide a monthly distribution of $20,750 to the City of Farmington to be used for alcohol treatment and rehabilitation services for street inebriates. The formula only applies to Farmington. Limits to $75 the amount a municipality can collect for violations of traffic signs or signals (including a red light violation) or speeding offenses. After the costs of the program have been subtracted out by the municipality, the balance of the funds are distributed to various state agencies and programs In order to reinstate a full (non-interlock) drivers license under , the law now requires a minimum of six months of driving with an ignition interlock license with no attempts to circumvent or tamper with the ignition interlock device. Effective July 1, Senate Joint Memorial 61 convenes a task force to study the current effectiveness of ignition interlock requirements, identify any ambiguity in the law and make recommendations to strengthen the requirements and induce positive behavior change in offenders. Raises the amount a municipality can charge for violations of traffic signs or signals (including a red light violation) or speeding offenses from $75 to $100. Institute of Public Law, UNM School of Law Carolyn Johnson, Training and Development Section 505/

The High Cost of DWI. Ignition interlock license available 66-5-503 7

The High Cost of DWI. Ignition interlock license available 66-5-503 7 The High Cost of DWI In New Mexico 2007-2008 The New Mexico Department of Transportation, Traffic Safety Bureau Offense Jail 1 Fines and Fees 2 License Revocation 1 st 90 days 48 hours if offender fails

More information

Significant Laws in Oregon Traffic Safety

Significant Laws in Oregon Traffic Safety Significant Laws in Oregon Traffic Safety 1931 As part of National Model Driver License law, driver licenses could be suspended upon conviction for DUII. 1937 Law passed making driving under the influence

More information

Chapter 813. Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants 2013 EDITION. Title 59 Page 307 (2013 Edition)

Chapter 813. Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants 2013 EDITION. Title 59 Page 307 (2013 Edition) Chapter 813 2013 EDITION Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants GENERAL PROVISIONS 813.010 Driving under the influence of intoxicants; penalty 813.011 Felony driving under the influence of intoxicants;

More information

Vermont Legislative Council

Vermont Legislative Council Vermont Legislative Council 115 State Street Montpelier, VT 05633-5301 (802) 828-2231 Fax: (802) 828-2424 MEMORANDUM To: From: House Judiciary Committee Erik FitzPatrick Date: February 19, 2015 Subject:

More information

Issue Brief. Arizona State Senate. ARIZONA DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE (DUI): DUI Laws and DUI Courts INTRODUCTION DUI, EXTREME DUI AND AGGRAVATED DUI

Issue Brief. Arizona State Senate. ARIZONA DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE (DUI): DUI Laws and DUI Courts INTRODUCTION DUI, EXTREME DUI AND AGGRAVATED DUI Arizona State Senate Issue Brief November 24, 2014 Note to Reader: The Senate Research Staff provides nonpartisan, objective legislative research, policy analysis and related assistance to the members

More information

To: Commission From: Christopher Cavaiola and Laura C. Tharney Re: Title 39 Driving while intoxicated Date: July 11, 2011 M E M O R A N D U M

To: Commission From: Christopher Cavaiola and Laura C. Tharney Re: Title 39 Driving while intoxicated Date: July 11, 2011 M E M O R A N D U M To: Commission From: Christopher Cavaiola and Laura C. Tharney Re: Title 39 Driving while intoxicated Date: July 11, 2011 M E M O R A N D U M Various officials have asked the Commission to consider revising

More information

ALABAMA s FELONY DUI STATUTE- A HISTORY. [This document was originally prepared by AOC and was later revised and updated by Patrick Mahaney.

ALABAMA s FELONY DUI STATUTE- A HISTORY. [This document was originally prepared by AOC and was later revised and updated by Patrick Mahaney. ALABAMA s FELONY DUI STATUTE- A HISTORY [This document was originally prepared by AOC and was later revised and updated by Patrick Mahaney.] Felony DUI, as a statutory offense under the Alabama Code, was

More information

First Regular Session Sixty-ninth General Assembly STATE OF COLORADO INTRODUCED HOUSE SPONSORSHIP SENATE SPONSORSHIP

First Regular Session Sixty-ninth General Assembly STATE OF COLORADO INTRODUCED HOUSE SPONSORSHIP SENATE SPONSORSHIP First Regular Session Sixty-ninth General Assembly STATE OF COLORADO INTRODUCED LLS NO. 1-01.01 Richard Sweetman x HOUSE BILL 1- Waller, HOUSE SPONSORSHIP (None), SENATE SPONSORSHIP House Committees Judiciary

More information

It s a Privilege to Drive: Snapshot of Impaired Driving in Montana

It s a Privilege to Drive: Snapshot of Impaired Driving in Montana It s a Privilege to Drive: Snapshot of Impaired Driving in Montana Unlawful Acts Notes Montana Code Drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol: DUI Operate a noncommercial vehicle with excessive alcohol

More information

Intoxicated Driver Laws

Intoxicated Driver Laws Intoxicated Driver Laws Informational Paper 58 Wisconsin Legislative Fiscal Bureau January, 2013 Wisconsin Legislative Fiscal Bureau January, 2013 Intoxicated Driver Laws Prepared by Jon Dyck Wisconsin

More information

NEBRASKA DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE (DUI) LAW

NEBRASKA DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE (DUI) LAW NEBRASKA DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE (DUI) LAW (If convicted of DUI in Nebraska the following penalties will apply.) Revised February 2012 Class W Misdemeanor First Offense - 28-106 & 60-6,197.03 (1) 60

More information

Issue Current Law House Bill Senate Bill Mandatory

Issue Current Law House Bill Senate Bill Mandatory Mandatory booking A police officer has authority to arrest a person when the officer has probable cause to believe that the person has violated certain traffic laws. Requires mandatory arrest upon a person's

More information

DUI (Driving Under the Influence)

DUI (Driving Under the Influence) DUI (Driving Under the Influence) Driving Under the Influence (DUI) In Illinois, a person is considered to be driving under the influence when: The driver has an alcohol concentration on the breath of.08

More information

First Regular Session Seventieth General Assembly STATE OF COLORADO INTRODUCED SENATE SPONSORSHIP

First Regular Session Seventieth General Assembly STATE OF COLORADO INTRODUCED SENATE SPONSORSHIP First Regular Session Seventieth General Assembly STATE OF COLORADO INTRODUCED LLS NO. 1-00.01 Richard Sweetman x HOUSE BILL 1- HOUSE SPONSORSHIP Saine and McCann, Cooke and Johnston, SENATE SPONSORSHIP

More information

I just got arrested for a State of South Carolina DUI charge. What happens now?

I just got arrested for a State of South Carolina DUI charge. What happens now? I just got arrested for a State of South Carolina DUI charge. What happens now? ISSUE ONE: The South Carolina Implied Consent Proceeding: Under South Carolina's implied consent law, a person who drives

More information

PENALTIES AND FINES FOR ALCOHOL AND DRUG RELATED DRIVING OFFENSES IN NEW YORK STATE

PENALTIES AND FINES FOR ALCOHOL AND DRUG RELATED DRIVING OFFENSES IN NEW YORK STATE PENALTIES AND FINES FOR ALCOHOL AND DRUG RELATED DRIVING OFFENSES IN NEW YORK STATE Offense Mandatory Fine Maximum Jail Term Mandatory Action Against Your License DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED OR WHILE ABILITY

More information

You and the Drinking Driving Laws

You and the Drinking Driving Laws Page 1 of 7 You and the Drinking Driving Laws WHY ARE PENALTIES FOR DRINKING AND DRIVING SO STRICT? Drinking and driving is a hazardous combination. CONSIDER THESE FACTS: One third of the fatalities in

More information

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Yes 28.35.031(b) Also applies to CMV operators 28.33.031 Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Yes 28.35.

Preliminary Breath Test Law: Yes 28.35.031(b) Also applies to CMV operators 28.33.031 Implied Consent Law: Arrest Required (Yes/No): Yes 28.35. STATE: General Reference: Basis for a DWI Charge: ALASKA Alaska Statutes ALASKA Standard DWI Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC/BrAC): Presumption (BAC/BrAC): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol: Under the

More information

You And The Drinking Driving Laws

You And The Drinking Driving Laws You nd The Drinking Driving Laws WHY RE PENLTIES FOR DRINKING ND DRIVING SO STRICT? Drinking and driving is a hazardous combination. One third of the fatalities in New York State involve impaired or intoxicated

More information

A GUIDE TO SUSPENSION & REVOCATION OF DRIVING PRIVILEGES IN NEW YORK STATE

A GUIDE TO SUSPENSION & REVOCATION OF DRIVING PRIVILEGES IN NEW YORK STATE DEFINITIONS sus.pen.sion n 1: Your license, permit, or privilege to drive is taken away for a period of time before it is returned. You may be required to pay a suspension termination fee. re.vo.ca.tion

More information

90 day license suspension. 5 year license suspension

90 day license suspension. 5 year license suspension STATE LICENSEE WITH IN STATE DUI RESULT OF REFUSAL LICENSEE WITH OUT OF STATE DUI ALABAMA Alabama Department of Public Safety Division Chief: (334) 353 1470 Chief Driver License Examiner: (334) 353 1974

More information

About D.U.I. (Driving Under the Influence) Published by The Alaska Court System PUB-11 (6/13)(green)

About D.U.I. (Driving Under the Influence) Published by The Alaska Court System PUB-11 (6/13)(green) About D.U.I. (Driving Under the Influence) Published by The Alaska Court System PUB-11 (6/13)(green) Introduction This pamphlet summarizes the penalties for violating several Alaska statutes relating to

More information

SECTION I: GENERAL INFORMATION {Indicate if analysis is on an original bill, amendment, substitute or a correction of a previous bill}

SECTION I: GENERAL INFORMATION {Indicate if analysis is on an original bill, amendment, substitute or a correction of a previous bill} LFC Requester: AGENCY BILL ANALYSIS 2015 REGULAR SESSION WITHIN 24 HOURS OF BILL POSTING, EMAIL ANALYSIS TO: LFC@NMLEGIS.GOV and DFA@STATE.NM.US {Include the bill no. in the email subject line, e.g., HB2,

More information

THE BIANCHI LAW FIRM 605 Thomas Street Seattle, WA 98109 WASHINGTON DRINKING & DRIVING PENALTIES AS OF JANUARY 1, 2014

THE BIANCHI LAW FIRM 605 Thomas Street Seattle, WA 98109 WASHINGTON DRINKING & DRIVING PENALTIES AS OF JANUARY 1, 2014 THE BIANCHI LAW FIRM 605 Thomas Street Seattle, WA 98109 WASHINGTON DRINKING & DRIVING PENALTIES AS OF JANUARY 1, 2014 I. CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS FOR DUI [RCW 46.61.502] OR PHYSICAL CONTROL [RCW 46.61.504]

More information

DWI Penalties 1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense

DWI Penalties 1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense DWI Penalties Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) in Texas is a serious offense. Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) over.08% or being under the influence of a controlled substance are grounds for arrest under Texas

More information

NEW JERSEY STATE PROFILE

NEW JERSEY STATE PROFILE The National Hardcore Drunk Driver Project NEW JERSEY STATE PROFILE KEY HARDCORE DRUNK DRIVING LEGISLATION: Administrative License Revocation Yes High BAC Law (0.15 BAC or greater) Yes Enhanced Penalties

More information

SECOND CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT BRIEF HOUSE SUBSTITUTE FOR SENATE BILL NO. 35

SECOND CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT BRIEF HOUSE SUBSTITUTE FOR SENATE BILL NO. 35 SESSION OF 2007 SECOND CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT BRIEF HOUSE SUBSTITUTE FOR SENATE BILL NO. 35 Brief* As Agreed to April 25, 2007 House Sub. for SB 35 would:! Clarify when a violation for speeding would

More information

ILLINOIS STATE PROFILE

ILLINOIS STATE PROFILE The National Hardcore Drunk Driver Project ILLINOIS STATE PROFILE KEY HARDCORE DRUNK DRIVING LEGISLATION: Administrative License Revocation Yes High BAC Law (0.15 BAC or greater) Yes Enhanced Penalties

More information

BACKGROUND. National. Cell Phone Use and Text Messaging

BACKGROUND. National. Cell Phone Use and Text Messaging BACKGROUND National Developing public policies and legislation is an important component of injury and violence prevention. Implementing and enforcing regulations and laws can help reduce injuries, reduce

More information

THE BIANCHI LAW FIRM 2000 112 TH AVE NE BELLEVUE, WA 98004 WASHINGTON DRINKING & DRIVING PENALTIES AS OF JANUARY 1, 2014

THE BIANCHI LAW FIRM 2000 112 TH AVE NE BELLEVUE, WA 98004 WASHINGTON DRINKING & DRIVING PENALTIES AS OF JANUARY 1, 2014 THE BIANCHI LAW FIRM 2000 112 TH AVE NE BELLEVUE, WA 98004 WASHINGTON DRINKING & DRIVING PENALTIES AS OF JANUARY 1, 2014 I. CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS FOR DUI [RCW 46.61.502] OR PHYSICAL CONTROL [RCW 46.61.504]

More information

DUI... INSTANT CRIMINAL RECORD

DUI... INSTANT CRIMINAL RECORD DUI... INSTANT CRIMINAL RECORD TABLE OF CONTENTS Implied Consent How DUIs Are Handled p. 2 p. 2 I. DUI ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES II. DUI COURT PROCEDURES A. Penalties B. First Offense Election C. IID License

More information

PUBLIC DRUNKENNESS Section 5505 of the Pennsylvania Crimes Code (Title 18)

PUBLIC DRUNKENNESS Section 5505 of the Pennsylvania Crimes Code (Title 18) PUBLIC DRUNKENNESS Section 5505 of the Pennsylvania Crimes Code (Title 18) A person is guilty of a summary offense if he appears in any public place manifestly under the influence of alcohol to the degree

More information

ARIZONA ARIZONA STATE: Basis for a DWI Charge:

ARIZONA ARIZONA STATE: Basis for a DWI Charge: STATE: General Reference: Basis for a DWI Charge: ARIZONA Arizona Revised Statutes Annotated ARIZONA Standard DWI Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC/BrAC): Presumption (BAC/BrAC): Types of Drugs/Drugs and

More information

CHAPTER 7 - YOUR DRIVING PRIVILEGES

CHAPTER 7 - YOUR DRIVING PRIVILEGES CHAPTER 7 - YOUR DRIVING PRIVILEGES Driving in Minnesota is a privilege. You can lose your driving privileges if you break certain laws or fail to meet certain requirements. The Minnesota Department of

More information

SECTION I: GENERAL INFORMATION {Indicate if analysis is on an original bill, amendment, substitute or a correction of a previous bill}

SECTION I: GENERAL INFORMATION {Indicate if analysis is on an original bill, amendment, substitute or a correction of a previous bill} LFC Requester: AGENCY BILL ANALYSIS 2015 REGULAR SESSION WITHIN 24 HOURS OF BILL POSTING, EMAIL ANALYSIS TO: LFC@NMLEGIS.GOV and DFA@STATE.NM.US {Include the bill no. in the email subject line, e.g., HB2,

More information

! Person operates a motor vehicle or permits another to operate a motor vehicle

! Person operates a motor vehicle or permits another to operate a motor vehicle N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a) Driving While Intoxicated SENTENCES & PENALTIES SELECTED MV OFFENSES! Person operates a motor vehicle or permits another to operate a motor vehicle! While under the influence of intoxicating

More information

Title 28 Vehicular Crimes

Title 28 Vehicular Crimes Title 28 Vehicular Crimes 28.622.01 Unlawful Flight From Pursuing Law Enforcement Vehicle The crime of unlawful flight from a pursuing law enforcement vehicle requires proof of the following three things:

More information

AN ACT RELATING TO DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF INTOXICATING LIQUOR OR DRUGS; AMENDING THE IGNITION INTERLOCK LICENSING

AN ACT RELATING TO DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF INTOXICATING LIQUOR OR DRUGS; AMENDING THE IGNITION INTERLOCK LICENSING AN ACT RELATING TO DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF INTOXICATING LIQUOR OR DRUGS; AMENDING THE IGNITION INTERLOCK LICENSING REQUIREMENT TO PROVIDE THAT A PERSON WITH ONLY ONE PRIOR CONVICTION FOR DRIVING

More information

Michigan s Super Drunk Law Patrick T. Barone Barone Defense Firm, Birmingham, MI

Michigan s Super Drunk Law Patrick T. Barone Barone Defense Firm, Birmingham, MI Michigan s Super Drunk Law Patrick T. Barone Barone Defense Firm, Birmingham, MI Where We ve Been September 1897 The first drunk-driving arrest was made. The man arrested was George Smith, a London taxi

More information

Oregon Suspension/Revocation/Cancellation Guide

Oregon Suspension/Revocation/Cancellation Guide Oregon Suspension/Revocationlation Guide Implied Consent (IC) (ORS 813.100) TYPE LENGTH HARDSHIP WAIT Breath/Blood/Urine Test Refusal 1 year 9 Breath/Blood/Urine Test Refusal Increased 3 years 3 years

More information

Driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or other intoxicating substances;

Driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or other intoxicating substances; OCGA 40-6-391 Brief Description Driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or other intoxicating substances; Statutory Language (a) A person shall not drive or be in actual physical control of any

More information

DWI Conviction Penalties. Penalty Overview

DWI Conviction Penalties. Penalty Overview Penalty Overview As your Attorney, I will work to have your DWI charge dismissed or have you found not guilty. If DWI conviction penalties, such as a fine or jail time, are incurred, we will work together

More information

DELAWARE STATE PROFILE

DELAWARE STATE PROFILE The National Hardcore Drunk Driver Project DELAWARE STATE PROFILE KEY HARDCORE DRUNK DRIVING LEGISLATION: Administrative License Revocation Yes High BAC Law (0.15 BAC or greater) Yes Enhanced Penalties

More information

Who Should Read This? Your Driving Record. The cost of DUI. Bottom line: It s not worth the risk.

Who Should Read This? Your Driving Record. The cost of DUI. Bottom line: It s not worth the risk. Who Should Read This? Your Driving Record Anyone who thinks a DUI is no big deal All Montana drivers Parents of young drivers Employers Educators Health professionals On average, each year on Montana s

More information

THE BIANCHI LAW FIRM 605 Thomas Street Seattle, WA 98109 WASHINGTON DRINKING & DRIVING PENALTIES AS OF DECEMBER 6, 2012

THE BIANCHI LAW FIRM 605 Thomas Street Seattle, WA 98109 WASHINGTON DRINKING & DRIVING PENALTIES AS OF DECEMBER 6, 2012 PT THE BIANCHI LAW FIRM 605 Thomas Street Seattle, WA 9809 WASHINGTON DRINKING & DRIVING PENALTIES AS OF DECEMBER 6, 202 I. CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS FOR DUI [RCW 46.6.502] OR PHYSICAL CONTROL [RCW 46.6.504]

More information

What should I do if the police ask me to take Field Sobriety Tests?

What should I do if the police ask me to take Field Sobriety Tests? DWI A DWI is not like a traffic ticket. It is a much more serious offense that carries a penalty of up to 180 days in jail and up to a $2,000 fine for a first offense. Repeat DWI offenders increase their

More information

House Bill 128, Amendments to

House Bill 128, Amendments to Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice Utah Justice Research Brief October 2004 Child Endangerment and Driving Under the Influence Mike Haddon, Julie Christenson & Jace Garfield House Bill 128,

More information

CALIFORNIA. Yes Vehicle Code 236l2(a)(l)

CALIFORNIA. Yes Vehicle Code 236l2(a)(l) STATE: General Reference: CALIFORNIA West s Annotated California Code Basis for a DWI Charge: Standard DWI Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC/BrAC): Presumption (BAC/BrAC): Types of Drugs/Alcohol and Drugs:

More information

OWI SENTENCING GUIDELINES

OWI SENTENCING GUIDELINES FIFTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT OWI SENTENCING GUIDELINES Citation Issued On or After: July 2, 2013 District Court Administrator 215 S. Hamilton Street, Room 6111 Madison WI 53703-3295 (608) 267-8820 James P.

More information

Wisconsin Operating While Intoxicated Law A Client's Guide to the Language and Procedure

Wisconsin Operating While Intoxicated Law A Client's Guide to the Language and Procedure Wisconsin Operating While Intoxicated Law A Client's Guide to the Language and Procedure BAKKE NORMAN L A W O F F I C E S Welcome Thank you for considering Bakke Norman, S.C. to represent your interests.

More information

ON THE ROAD. License. Automobile Insurance

ON THE ROAD. License. Automobile Insurance ON THE ROAD License The minimum age, to obtain a driver s license in New Hampshire, is 18 years old. Individuals between the ages of 16 and 18 may obtain a drivers license, with permission from their parent

More information

COLORADO STATE: COLORADO. Basis for a DWI Charge:

COLORADO STATE: COLORADO. Basis for a DWI Charge: STATE: General Reference: Basis for a DWI Charge: Standard DWI Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC/BrAC): Presumption (BAC/BrAC): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol: Chemical Breath Tests for Alcohol Concentration:

More information

I. FIRST DUI OFFENSE VEHICLE CODE 23152

I. FIRST DUI OFFENSE VEHICLE CODE 23152 I. FIRST DUI OFFENSE VEHICLE CODE 23152 VC 23536 WITHOUT PROBATION Jail: CAVEAT: 96 hours to 6 months (48 hours are continuous unless it interferes with work) None required; however, DMV will not reinstate

More information

Legislative Analysis EXTEND SUNSET KEEPING 0.08 BAC AS "PER SE" LEVEL FOR INTOXICATION OR IMPAIRMENT

Legislative Analysis EXTEND SUNSET KEEPING 0.08 BAC AS PER SE LEVEL FOR INTOXICATION OR IMPAIRMENT Legislative Analysis EXTEND SUNSET KEEPING 0.08 BAC AS "PER SE" LEVEL FOR INTOXICATION OR IMPAIRMENT Mary Ann Cleary, Director Phone: (517) 373-8080 http://www.house.mi.gov/hfa House Bill 4093 as enrolled

More information

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE PENALTIES AND PROCESS INFORMATION

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE PENALTIES AND PROCESS INFORMATION DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE PENALTIES AND PROCESS INFORMATION prepared by: LAW OFFICES OF MARK L. HORWITZ A Professional Association 17 East Pine Street Orlando, Florida 32801 (407) 843-7733 CRIMINAL CHARGE

More information

Michigan Driving Record Alcohol, Drugs and Consequences

Michigan Driving Record Alcohol, Drugs and Consequences 7 Your Michigan Driving Record Alcohol, Drugs and Consequences Michigan maintains a driving record for every driver. The driving record contains information the Secretary of State is required to maintain,

More information

LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF IDAHO Sixty-third Legislature First Regular Session - 2015 IN THE SENATE SENATE BILL NO. 1026

LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF IDAHO Sixty-third Legislature First Regular Session - 2015 IN THE SENATE SENATE BILL NO. 1026 LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF IDAHO Sixty-third Legislature First Regular Session - 0 IN THE SENATE SENATE BILL NO. 0 BY JUDICIARY AND RULES COMMITTEE 0 0 0 0 AN ACT RELATING TO DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE;

More information

VIRGINIA DUI FACTSHEET

VIRGINIA DUI FACTSHEET VIRGINIA DUI FACTSHEET BOSE LAW FIRM, PLLC Former Police & Investigators Springfield Offices: 6354 Rolling Mill Place, Suite 102 Springfield, Virginia 22152 Telephone: 703.926.3900 Facsimile: 800.927.6038

More information

DUI & APC 47 O.S. 11-901 Amended by Swezey Act & McGee Act There will be two versions of the statute come November 1.

DUI & APC 47 O.S. 11-901 Amended by Swezey Act & McGee Act There will be two versions of the statute come November 1. This summary is intended to highlight the major changes and provide a guid to penalties and such that will be in place effective November 1, 2011. DUI & APC 47 O.S. 11-901 Amended by Swezey Act & McGee

More information

COLORADO DUI AND DUID LAW WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW WHEN CHARGED. A White Paper Presented By

COLORADO DUI AND DUID LAW WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW WHEN CHARGED. A White Paper Presented By COLORADO DUI AND DUID LAW WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW WHEN CHARGED A White Paper Presented By COLORADO DUI AND DUID LAW WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW WHEN CHARGED A Guide To Understanding The Penalties And Legal Processes

More information

ARTICLE 333 Driving Under the Influence; Reckless Driving

ARTICLE 333 Driving Under the Influence; Reckless Driving 27 ARTICLE 333 Driving Under the Influence; Reckless Driving 333.01 Driving under the influence. 333.03 Hazardous driving. 333.02 Reckless driving. 333.99 Penalty. CROSS REFERENCES See sectional histories

More information

An Analysis of Idaho s Kootenai County DUI Court

An Analysis of Idaho s Kootenai County DUI Court An Analysis of Idaho s Kootenai County DUI Court AN ALCOHOL TREATMENT PROGRAM FOR PERSONS ARRESTED FOR THEIR SECOND DUI OFFENSE OR BAC OF 0.20% OR HIGHER Prepared for National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

More information

ACT 24 OF 2003: DRIVING AFTER IMBIBING ALCOHOL OR USING DRUGS

ACT 24 OF 2003: DRIVING AFTER IMBIBING ALCOHOL OR USING DRUGS SPECIAL EDITION REVISED FALL 2003 ACT 24 OF 2003: DRIVING AFTER IMBIBING ALCOHOL OR USING DRUGS New DUI Law Emphasizes Treatment On September 30, Governor Ed Rendell signed Act 24 of 2003. This Act amends

More information

LEGISLATIVE GUIDE TO OPERATING WHILE INTOXICATED (OWI) LAW IN IOWA

LEGISLATIVE GUIDE TO OPERATING WHILE INTOXICATED (OWI) LAW IN IOWA LEGISLATIVE GUIDE TO OPERATING WHILE INTOXICATED (OWI) LAW IN IOWA Legislative Services Agency Note to Reader: Research is conducted by the Legal Services Division of the Iowa Legislative Services Agency

More information

Fines and Penalties of Driving While Intoxicated ( DWI ), Permitting DWI, DWI in a School Zone and Refusal Offenses

Fines and Penalties of Driving While Intoxicated ( DWI ), Permitting DWI, DWI in a School Zone and Refusal Offenses Fines Penalties of Driving While Intoxicated ( DWI ), Permitting DWI, DWI in a School Zone Refusal Offenses N.J.S.A. 39:4-50; N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(g); 39:4-50.4a JANUARY 10, 2011 DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED,

More information

Pennsylvania DUI Handbook

Pennsylvania DUI Handbook Pennsylvania DUI Handbook Published by: The Martin Law Firm, P.C. The Martin Law Firm, P.C. 725 Skippack Pike, Suite 337 Blue Bell, PA 19422 215.646.3980 www.jbmartinlaw.com Although DUI drunk driving

More information

CHAPTER 4: DRIVING RECORD INFORMATION

CHAPTER 4: DRIVING RECORD INFORMATION CHAPTER 4: DRIVING RECORD INFORMATION This chapter provides important information about your driving record. PennDOT maintains a driving record for every licensed driver in Pennsylvania. The Bureau of

More information

MIsc. RUles of the RoaD

MIsc. RUles of the RoaD MIsc. RUles of the RoaD The following are motor vehicle traffic laws that have not been covered in a specific section. It is illegal to: Drive on a bet or wager Engage in drag racing Throw garbage or glass

More information

North Dakota Attorney General 24/7 Sobriety Program

North Dakota Attorney General 24/7 Sobriety Program Transdermal Alcohol Monitoring Case Studies North Dakota Attorney General 24/7 Sobriety Program Republished from Transdermal Alcohol Monitoring: Case Studies National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

More information

HAWAII Hawaii Revised Statutes

HAWAII Hawaii Revised Statutes STATE: Reference: HAWAII Hawaii Revised Statutes Basis for a DWI Charge*: Standard DWI Offense: Under the influence of alcohol 315 291E-61(a)(1) Illegal Per Se Provision (BAC/BrAC):.08 316and317 291E-

More information

N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 and 39:4-50.4a August 9, 2004

N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 and 39:4-50.4a August 9, 2004 39:4-50 Driving while intoxicated N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 and 39:4-50.4a August 9, 2004 1 st BAC 0.08% or higher, but less than.10% - $250 to $400 fine, and - IDRC 12 to 48 hours, and - in court s discretion,

More information

MARYLAND. Under the influence of alcohol per se is defined as having a BAC/BrAC.08 at the time of testing. Tran. 11-127.1

MARYLAND. Under the influence of alcohol per se is defined as having a BAC/BrAC.08 at the time of testing. Tran. 11-127.1 STATE: General References: Basis for a DWI Charge: Standard DWI Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC/BrAC): Presumption (BAC): Types of Drugs/Drugs and Alcohol: Other: Chemical Breath Tests for Alcohol Concentration:

More information

NEW HAMPSHIRE New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated. Yes 265-A:4

NEW HAMPSHIRE New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated. Yes 265-A:4 STATE: General Reference: NEW HAMPSHIRE New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated Basis for a DWI Charge: Standard DWI Offense: Illegal Per Se Law (BAC/BrAC): Presumption (BAC): Types of Drugs/Drugs and

More information

Ignition Interlocks: Every State, For Every Convicted Drunk Driver

Ignition Interlocks: Every State, For Every Convicted Drunk Driver Ignition Interlocks: Every State, For Every Convicted Drunk Driver In 2013, 10,076 people were killed in crashes caused by a drunk driver with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of.08 or greater. General

More information

LICENSE SUSPENSIONS RESULTING FROM CONVICTIONS

LICENSE SUSPENSIONS RESULTING FROM CONVICTIONS LICENSE SUSPENSIONS RESULTING FROM CONVICTIONS Statute Description Predicate Offense(s) Permit Comments O.C.G.A. 32-6-30 Refusal to weigh O.C.G.A. 32-6-30 *6 month license suspension * Commercial vehicles

More information

First Regular Session Sixty-ninth General Assembly STATE OF COLORADO INTRODUCED SENATE SPONSORSHIP

First Regular Session Sixty-ninth General Assembly STATE OF COLORADO INTRODUCED SENATE SPONSORSHIP First Regular Session Sixty-ninth General Assembly STATE OF COLORADO INTRODUCED LLS NO. -0.01 Richard Sweetman x HOUSE BILL -1 HOUSE SPONSORSHIP Waller and Fields, (None), SENATE SPONSORSHIP House Committees

More information

Matt Burress, Legislative Analyst Rebecca Pirius, Legislative Analyst Updated: September 2012. Traffic Citations

Matt Burress, Legislative Analyst Rebecca Pirius, Legislative Analyst Updated: September 2012. Traffic Citations INFORMATION BRIEF Research Department Minnesota House of Representatives 600 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155 Matt Burress, Legislative Analyst Rebecca Pirius, Legislative Analyst Updated: September

More information

ALCOHOL AND OTHER DRUG-IMPAIRED DRIVING COLORADO LAWS SUPPLEMENT TO LESSON

ALCOHOL AND OTHER DRUG-IMPAIRED DRIVING COLORADO LAWS SUPPLEMENT TO LESSON DRIVING WITH CARE ALCOHOL AND OTHER DRUG-IMPAIRED DRIVING COLORADO LAWS SUPPLEMENT TO LESSON 2 LEVEL I AND LEVEL II EDUCATION August, 2013 Preface There are several changes in this iteration of the Supplement.

More information

STATE OF OKLAHOMA. 1st Session of the 49th Legislature (2003) COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE

STATE OF OKLAHOMA. 1st Session of the 49th Legislature (2003) COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE STATE OF OKLAHOMA 1st Session of the 49th Legislature (2003) COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE FOR SENATE BILL 789 By: Wilkerson COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE [ corrections - judicial review - modifying when report is provided

More information

Frequently asked questions about ignition interlock devices

Frequently asked questions about ignition interlock devices Legal Issues Frequently asked questions about ignition interlock devices Q: Who can be ordered to install an ignition interlock device? A: Wisconsin Act 100, which took effect on July 1, 2010, requires

More information

A History of Alabama s Driving Under the Influence Statutes: Over 90 Years of Evolution

A History of Alabama s Driving Under the Influence Statutes: Over 90 Years of Evolution A History of Alabama s Driving Under the Influence Statutes: Over 90 Years of Evolution By Patrick Mahaney Alabama s DWI laws, 1911-1980: Alabama s first traffic laws originated in 1911, shortly after

More information

2014 Changes in DUI Law

2014 Changes in DUI Law 2014 Changes in DUI Law Mississippi Code 63-11-30: All the following changes take effect on October 1, 2014. Driving under the influence as provided by 63-11-30: (1) It is unlawful for a person to drive

More information

AN INFORMATIONAL BRIEF PREPARED FOR MEMBERS OF THE OHIO GENERAL ASSEMBLY BY THE LEGISLATIVE SERVICE COMMISSION STAFF

AN INFORMATIONAL BRIEF PREPARED FOR MEMBERS OF THE OHIO GENERAL ASSEMBLY BY THE LEGISLATIVE SERVICE COMMISSION STAFF Members Only AN INFORMATIONAL BRIEF PREPARED FOR MEMBERS OF THE OHIO GENERAL ASSEMBLY BY THE LEGISLATIVE SERVICE COMMISSION STAFF An Updated Summary of Ohio OVI and OVUAC Law* Volume 128 Issue 1 PREPARED

More information

IN THE MUNICIPAL COURT OF THE CITY OF SEATTLE

IN THE MUNICIPAL COURT OF THE CITY OF SEATTLE IN THE MUNICIPAL COURT OF THE CITY OF SEATTLE THE CITY OF SEATTLE, PLAINTIFF vs, DEFENDANT Statement of Defendant on Plea of Guilty Case # 1. My true name is. 2. My age is. Date of Birth. 3. I went through

More information

ALCOHOL POLICY, REGULATIONS AND CITATIONS IN STATE OF CALIFORNIA. Legal drinking age of the United States is 21 years old.

ALCOHOL POLICY, REGULATIONS AND CITATIONS IN STATE OF CALIFORNIA. Legal drinking age of the United States is 21 years old. ALCOHOL POLICY, REGULATIONS AND CITATIONS IN STATE OF CALIFORNIA. According to the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) Legal drinking age of the United States is 21 years old. 1.

More information

Guide to Drunk and Drugged Driving Laws

Guide to Drunk and Drugged Driving Laws Guide to Drunk and Drugged Driving Laws DEPARTMENT OF LEGISLATIVE SERVICES 2016 Guide to Drunk and Drugged Driving Laws Department of Legislative Services Office of Policy Analysis Annapolis, Maryland

More information

Child Endangerment. Black s Law Dictionary defines child abuse as:

Child Endangerment. Black s Law Dictionary defines child abuse as: Child Endangerment In 2012, 20 percent of the children age 14 and younger who were killed in motor vehicle crashes were killed in alcohol-impaired crashes. Of the 239 children 0 to 14 years old who were

More information

Oregon Suspension/Revocation/Cancellation Guide

Oregon Suspension/Revocation/Cancellation Guide Oregon Suspension/Revocationlation Guide If eligible for a hardship permit, will be noted in the HARDSHIP? column along with the wait time a person must serve before DMV can issue a permit. Wait times

More information

The Basics of Missouri DWI Law. DWI Criminal Statute. Prior Offenses & Penalties 10/22/2015. Presenter: Jason Korner 577.010. Misdemeanor DWI Offenses

The Basics of Missouri DWI Law. DWI Criminal Statute. Prior Offenses & Penalties 10/22/2015. Presenter: Jason Korner 577.010. Misdemeanor DWI Offenses The Basics of Missouri DWI Law Presenter: Jason Korner DWI Criminal Statute 577.010 A person commits the crime of driving while intoxicated if he operates a motor vehicle while in an intoxicated or drugg

More information

THE LAW AND YOU. What can I do when the School Board and I disagree on discipline? Do I have a choice when Family Court decides who I ll live with?

THE LAW AND YOU. What can I do when the School Board and I disagree on discipline? Do I have a choice when Family Court decides who I ll live with? THE LAW AND YOU 15-1 Each state has particular laws that deal with acts usually committed by young people. Just because someone is under the age of 17 (considered a juvenile) does not mean that laws do

More information

UTAH STATE: UTAH. Basis for a DWI Charge:

UTAH STATE: UTAH. Basis for a DWI Charge: STATE: General Reference: Utah Code Annotated Basis for a DWI Charge: Standard DWI Offense: Under the influence of alcohol 41-6-44(2)(a)(ii) Illegal Per Se Law (BAC/BrAC):.08 1163and1164 41-6-44(2)(a)(i)

More information

OF MULTIPLE TRAFFIC OFFENSES INVOLVING ALCOHOL OR DRUGS, AND MAKING AN APPROPRIATION THEREFOR.

OF MULTIPLE TRAFFIC OFFENSES INVOLVING ALCOHOL OR DRUGS, AND MAKING AN APPROPRIATION THEREFOR. NOTE: This bill has been prepared for the signature of the appropriate legislative officers and the Governor. To determine whether the Governor has signed the bill or taken other action on it, please consult

More information

AN ACT. The goals of the alcohol and drug treatment divisions created under this Chapter include the following:

AN ACT. The goals of the alcohol and drug treatment divisions created under this Chapter include the following: ENROLLED Regular Session, 1997 HOUSE BILL NO. 2412 BY REPRESENTATIVE JACK SMITH AN ACT To enact Chapter 33 of Title 13 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, comprised of R.S. 13:5301 through 5304,

More information

November, 2009. Massachusetts. Michigan. New Hampshire. New York. New Mexico

November, 2009. Massachusetts. Michigan. New Hampshire. New York. New Mexico November, 2009 California Federal Government Illinois Kentucky Massachusetts Michigan New Hampshire New York New Mexico Ohio Pennsylvania Wisconsin California CA HB 172: Alcohol beverages: places of consumption

More information

DWI / DUI in North Carolina

DWI / DUI in North Carolina DWI / DUI in North Carolina 4th Fighter Wing Office of the Staff Judge Advocate 1600 Wright Brother Ave, Suite 265 Seymour Johnson AFB NC 27531 (919)722-5322 Current as of September 2014 The following

More information

Senate Bill No. 38 Committee on Transportation and Homeland Security

Senate Bill No. 38 Committee on Transportation and Homeland Security Senate Bill No. 38 Committee on Transportation and Homeland Security CHAPTER... AN ACT relating to criminal records; creating the Records and Technology Division of the Department of Public Safety; enumerating

More information

Senate Bill No. 86 Committee on Transportation and Homeland Security

Senate Bill No. 86 Committee on Transportation and Homeland Security Senate Bill No. 86 Committee on Transportation and Homeland Security CHAPTER... AN ACT relating to offenses; providing that counseling and evaluations required for certain offenses may be conducted in

More information

Florida Spring Break. Survival Guide. Spring 2011. Traffic Law Alcohol Related Law Drug Related Law Criminal Procedures

Florida Spring Break. Survival Guide. Spring 2011. Traffic Law Alcohol Related Law Drug Related Law Criminal Procedures Florida Spring Break Survival Guide Spring 2011 Traffic Law Alcohol Related Law Drug Related Law Criminal Procedures Funded by A&SF through Student Government 1 Have Fun & Stay Safe The following information

More information

Department of Legislative Services Maryland General Assembly 2009 Session

Department of Legislative Services Maryland General Assembly 2009 Session Department of Legislative Services Maryland General Assembly 2009 Session HB 1217 FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE House Bill 1217 Judiciary (Delegate Kramer, et al.) Vehicle Laws - Mandatory Use of Ignition Interlock

More information

Colorado Legislative Council Staff Fiscal Note STATE and LOCAL FISCAL IMPACT. Date: Bill Status: Fiscal Analyst:

Colorado Legislative Council Staff Fiscal Note STATE and LOCAL FISCAL IMPACT. Date: Bill Status: Fiscal Analyst: Colorado Legislative Council Staff Fiscal Note STATE and LOCAL FISCAL IMPACT Drafting Number: Prime Sponsor(s): LLS 15-0042 Rep. Saine; McCann Sen. Cooke; Johnston Date: Bill Status: Fiscal Analyst: House

More information