NHS Complaints and raising concerns

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "NHS Complaints and raising concerns"

Transcription

1 NHS Complaints and raising concerns This document is a guide to help you raise concerns yourself Raising concerns and or making a complaint can be quite daunting and can often be quite a negative experience. This should not be the case with your NHS complaint. By raising a concern wrongs can be made right and the NHS service can be improved by lessons learnt through the complaint procedure.

2 Identify the Problem What are you complaining about? From the beginning of the process you need to be 100% clear on what the issue or issues are that you are complaining about. Write them down and keep them clear and concise. This will help you when writing letters and sitting in meetings explaining your concerns. It will also help the NHS organisation to deal with your complaints correctly. What is your desired outcome? This is something you need to have clear in your mind before you start the actual complaints procedure. Stop and think what the end goal is for you. As above, it would be a good idea to write down the precise outcome or outcomes you want. This will help the NHS organisation in dealing with your issue. What do you want to come from the process? An apology An explanation Improvement of services Financial compensation The NHS complaints procedure is focused on righting wrongs; giving explanations in particular cases to help you understand the circumstances surrounding your issue and improvement of services, so if you are looking for financial compensation it might be best to speak to a solicitor. 2

3 Taking Action Sometimes the solution to a problem can be quite simple. Why go through a long process when we can get the problem solved quickly? Step1: Talk to the Clinician involved or to a Practice Manager directly. Every NHS service or department will have a Practice Manager or Complaints Manager. Give them the chance to deal with your issue and find a solution for you. The Practice Manager will also give you a copy of the particular service s complaints procedure. This will give you further guidance with your complaint and will give you the details of the person/persons to complain to. If this does not resolve your issue or you are not comfortable going directly to the Practice Manager. then you can talk to the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS). PALS can be found at any of your local hospitals. They will be able to help you with your issue and give you advice on the necessary steps to be taken to get the issue resolved. Step2: If you are still not satisfied that your issue has been dealt with then the NHS formal complaints procedure will be the way forward. This step is known as Local Resolution. QA PALS: Front entrance Queen Alexandra Hospital. Open Monday to Friday 08:30 to 16:30 Telephone: ( leave a message after hours ) 3

4 Local Resolution This is your chance to explain what you are unhappy with and to indicate what you would like the outcome to be. You can make your complaint: 1) In person 2) By letter 3) By telephone 4) By Writing a letter would be the best way to make your complaint. It will be easier to keep records of all correspondence. A letter will give you a chance to write out clearly what your concerns are and what you would want to see at the end of the process. NHS services and departments also prefer complaints in writing. Although writing a letter may be the best way to make your original Complaint, you may not be able to. If you make your complaint in person or by phone the person recording your complaint will send you a written copy of your complaint. If you need assistance in writing a complaints letter an advocate at Healthwatch Portsmouth would be available to support you. NB It is NHS policy that a complaint needs to be made within twelve months of the incident. The NHS service may investigate the issue beyond this timescale if they feel that there is a legitimate reason for the delay, such as illness or bereavement Who to complain to? Complaints about primary care and independent providers such as your GP; Pharmacist; Health Centre; Dentist; Optician or any other independent NHS contractor. 1)Complain directly to that service. All these services and departments will have a Practice Manager that will deal with complaints. 2)If you are not satisfied with the way your complaint has been dealt with or if you do not feel comfortable dealing directly with the service provider, then you can make your complaint to your local Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG). Call the NHS Portsmouth CCG and they will be able to tell you who you need to contact. NHS Portsmouth CCG St James Hospital Locksway Road Milton Tel: Portsmouth PO4 8LD Complaints about care received in hospital or about the ambulance service. 1)Complain directly to that service. Each department or ward will have a Practice Manageror ward head that will deal with your complaint directly and try to solve the issue immediately. You can also go to the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) of the hospital. 2)If you are not satisfied with the way your complaint has been dealt with or if you do not feel comfortable dealing directly with the service provider, then you can make your complaint to the Chief Executive Officer of the Portsmouth NHS trust. Trust Headquarters Queen Alexandra Hospital Southwick Hill Road Cosham Portsmouth PO6 3LY 4

5 What Next? If the problem cannot be resolved immediately. -You should receive an acknowledgment of your complaint within three working days. -In the acknowledgment you will receive contact details of the person dealing with your case, so that you can contact them whenever you need to discuss the case or any concerns you have. -There will be an investigation into your complaint. That should take around 28 working days. If this is not the caseyou will be informed. During the investigation: -The person involved with your case should explain the complaints procedure and keep you informed throughout the process. -It may be necessary to have a meeting between you and the medical professionals involved in your case. This is known as a Local Resolution Meeting. You are allowed to take someone to support you during any meetings. This could be a relative; a friend and an advocate. If you need the support of an advocate for a meeting, you can contact Healthwatch Portsmouth to arrange for an Advocate to accompany you to your meeting. -Write down the points that you want discussed and explained during the meeting. -The NHS organisation may use a mediation service if they feelit is required. The mediator would be a neutral person helping to resolve the differences between you and the NHS organisation. receive a letter containing: -A summary of the complaint. -The findings of the investigation. -An apology if required. -An outline of the action to be taken by the NHS service. -A timescale for the actions to be put into place. -Instructions on what to do if you are not satisfied with the outcome. -The letter should be clear and easily understood with explanations of technical terms if they are used. Not happy with the outcome? If youare not happy with the outcome of the local resolution you can: -Write another letter explaining what you feel wasn t covered and why you are not happy with the outcome of the local resolution. -Call the person handling your complaint and voice your concerns. -You can ask for another meeting to discuss your concerns that you feel were not dealt with. The NHS organisation may choose to investigate your concerns further. At this point they will discuss a way forward and agreed timescales with you. If the NHS organisation feels that they have done everything they can to resolve your issue, they will inform you in writing. This would signal the end of the local resolution.if you are not happy with the way the NHS organisation has dealt with your complaint. You have the right to ask the Parliamentary and Health ServiceOmbudsman (PHSO) to investigate your complaint. After the investigation: Once the investigation is completed you will 5

6 Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman The PHSO is a free and independent service. The PHSO will look at every complaint that they receive. The PHSO will not investigate every complaint they receive. V Reason for not investigating: If the complaint has not been through the local resolution stage. If the PHSO feels that the NHS organisation has done everything possible to address your complaint and put things right. The PHSO won t investigate the complaint just because you disagree with the outcome of the local resolution. There needs to be evidence to prove that your complaint has not been dealt with correctly If the PHSO decides not to investigate your case, you will be informed. In certain circumstances the PHSO may decide not to investigate but they might instruct the NHS organisation to take certain action that will resolve your case. If the PHSO decides to investigate the case there will be a thorough investigation with a detailed report. In the report the PHSO may make recommendations to the NHS organisation to make things right. The investigation can be time consuming but the PHSO aims to complete their investigation within 12 months You can contact the Ombudsman on: Phone if you are deaf or have problems using a standard telephone Request a call by texting call back with your name and mobile number to or write to: Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman, Millbank Tower, Millbank, London SW1P 4QP. You can also visit their website at Contact us at Healthwatch Portsmouth. This document was created to help guide you through the NHS complaints procedure. -If you have any queries and need some advice. -If you need help drafting letters. -If you want an advocate to accompany you to any local resolution meetings. -Or if you feel that you are not capable of completing the complaints procedure yourself. Please contact us at Healthwatch Portsmouth

To start with, who you contact to make a formal complaint will depend on:

To start with, who you contact to make a formal complaint will depend on: The Complaints Process For many, the thought of complaining can be daunting. This guide takes you through the process of making your complaint and where you can obtain further information. To start with,

More information

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service February 2014 Healthwatch Coventry www.healthwatchcoventry.org.uk Contents 1. About this guide page 3 2. The NHS complaints procedure page 3 3. About the

More information

How to compliment, comment or complain about our services

How to compliment, comment or complain about our services How to compliment, comment or complain about our services We welcome your compliments, comments and complaints NHS St Helens Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) welcomes any comments you may have on the

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy

NHS Complaints Advocacy NHS Complaints Advocacy Raising Concerns or Complaints About the NHS Advocacy in Surrey is provided by Surrey Disabled People s Partnership (SDPP) In partnership with SDPP is a registered Charity: 1156963

More information

Complaints procedure

Complaints procedure Complaints procedure This leaflet explains what to do if you have a complaint about any aspect of our service. We treat all complaints seriously and aim to resolve them as quickly and fully as we can.

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Contents Page 4 Introduction How to use this pack How can NHS Complaints Advocacy Help? Page 5 Raising concerns and complaints First Steps Step 1 - What

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising concerns and complaints A step by step guide Raising concerns and complaints Questions to ask yourself: 1. What am I concerned or dissatisfied

More information

FOR HANDLING ORGANISATIONAL COMPLAINTS AGAINST THE PRACTICE OR INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS OF STAFF

FOR HANDLING ORGANISATIONAL COMPLAINTS AGAINST THE PRACTICE OR INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS OF STAFF 1. PURPOSE This procedure is to ensure the proper handling of any complaint about the organisation, care which a patient has received from Lintonville Medical Group or an individual member of staff. The

More information

Guide to making an NHS Complaint

Guide to making an NHS Complaint Guide to making an NHS Complaint Introduction Most people are happy with their NHS treatment however if this is not the case and you are unhappy with the service you or others have received from a hospital,

More information

Your rights and how to make a complaint

Your rights and how to make a complaint Your rights and how to make a complaint Most medical care and treatment goes well, but things occasionally go wrong, and you may want to complain. So where do you start? Every NHS organisation has a complaints

More information

THE HADLEIGH PRACTICE Complimentary Information Pack

THE HADLEIGH PRACTICE Complimentary Information Pack PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET How to make Comments, Suggestions and Complaints This leaflet explains how you can make comments, suggestions and complaints about the services provided by The Hadleigh Practice.

More information

Customer ser vices. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind

Customer ser vices. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind Customer ser vices Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints A short guide to the customer services team and how we can provide you with support and information

More information

HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT

HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT Issue Date: November 2014 Review Date: January 2016 Authors: Patient Relations Department, North Cumbria University Hospitals NHS Trust SFT-NCA8299: 10/14 REV 1 If it matters to

More information

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Introduction At Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust we work hard to deliver a first-class comprehensive health care service. We value the opinions of patients

More information

How did we do? Promoting hope and wellbeing together. How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services.

How did we do? Promoting hope and wellbeing together. How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services. West London Mental Health NHS Trust How did we do? How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services. Promoting hope and wellbeing together What do you think

More information

Information guide. How to make a complaint

Information guide. How to make a complaint Information guide How to make a complaint How you can comment, compliment or complain about your treatment or service We are committed to providing you with the best service possible. We are always looking

More information

How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service?

How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service? How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service? I m not happy about something I d just like to say How do I? Most NHS care and treatment goes well but sometimes things can go wrong. If

More information

A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS

A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS Please read this first Are you worried or unhappy about your current healthcare or treatment of that of a loved one? If you are then it may be more

More information

Comments, compliments and complaints

Comments, compliments and complaints Comments, compliments and complaints 02 Our commitment to engaging with the community We want to make sure we are open, honest and transparent commissioners of care. It is our intention to be truthful

More information

Your right to complain. The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure. RDaSH. Corporate Services

Your right to complain. The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure. RDaSH. Corporate Services Your right to complain The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure RDaSH Corporate Services Section One: What do I do if I want to complain? Why is it important to complain? If you are not happy with

More information

Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns

Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns Pleased? Tell us about it Enquiry? Let us help you Unhappy? Let s resolve it together PALS: We are here to help you As a patient, or as a carer for someone who attends

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy. A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS. www.pohwer.net

NHS Complaints Advocacy. A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS. www.pohwer.net NHS Complaints Advocacy A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS NHS Complaints Advocacy Important Information Please read this section before the rest of this guide to ensure you take

More information

Complaints. How to raise your concerns

Complaints. How to raise your concerns Complaints How to raise your concerns Raising your Concerns RNOH NHS Trust staff will do whatever they can to make sure you get quick, proper and fair treatment. However, sometimes things can go wrong

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS in England

Making a complaint about the NHS in England Making a complaint about the NHS in England The Health Service Ombudsman can carry out independent investigations into complaints made about poor treatment or service provided through the NHS. We are the

More information

Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints. Patient guide

Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints. Patient guide Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints Patient guide Patient satisfaction comments & compliments We hope you re delighted with the

More information

Complaints Policy & Procedure 1

Complaints Policy & Procedure 1 Introduction Complaints about the surgery or member of staff are always taken seriously at Eyam Surgery. We always try to provide the best service possible, but there may be times when a patient may feel

More information

Raising concerns or complaints about the NHS

Raising concerns or complaints about the NHS Independent Complaints Advocacy Northumberland You can, We can, ICAN Raising concerns or complaints about the NHS A step by step guide to help you raise a concern or complaint about any service provided

More information

St Ann Street Medical Practice. Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint

St Ann Street Medical Practice. Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint St Ann Street Medical Practice Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint Who can complain? Anyone who is receiving, or has received, NHS treatment or services can complain, as can anyone affected

More information

OLD HALL SURGERY COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE (FORM 1)

OLD HALL SURGERY COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE (FORM 1) (FORM 1) WE OPERATE A PRACTICE AS PART OF THE N.H.S. SYSTEM FOR DEALING WITH COMPLAINTS. OUR SYSTEM MEETS NATIONAL CRITERIA. OUR AIM IS TO GIVE YOU THE HIGHEST POSSIBLE STANDARD OF SERVICE AND WE TRY TO

More information

Complaints Procedures. Listening... Acting... Improving

Complaints Procedures. Listening... Acting... Improving x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw 17/04/2015 15:32 Page 1 Complaints Procedures Listening... Acting... Improving x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw 17/04/2015 15:32 Page 2 x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw

More information

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE Cuckfield Medical Practice and The Vale Surgery 1 CONTENTS Contents Page Introduction 1.0 NHS Complaints Regulations 3 2.0 Who

More information

Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints. An information guide

Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints. An information guide TO PROVIDE THE VERY BEST CARE FOR EACH PATIENT ON EVERY OCCASION Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints An information guide Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints Commitment to quality At

More information

Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure

Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure Introduction The Practice aims to provide a high quality service to all its patients at all times, but we recognise that there may be times when you feel

More information

Comments, compliments and complaints

Comments, compliments and complaints Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints Patient guide Patient satisfaction comments & compliments We hope you re delighted with the

More information

A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care

A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care www.healthwatchhampshire.co.uk Step by step Page 3 Are you concerned about something that is happening now? Do you need to make a

More information

Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team

Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team Worthing and Southlands Hospitals Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Trust which combines St Richard s Hospital in Chichester and Worthing and Southlands

More information

How to complain about a health or social care service

How to complain about a health or social care service How to complain about a health or social care service February 2014 About this leaflet Although most people have no problems when using health or social care services, sometimes things can go wrong. This

More information

EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure

EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE As a Practice we try to provide the best service possible for our patients. We recognise, however, that

More information

The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman, (PHSO) for NHS Complaints or the Local Government Ombudsman (LGO) for Public Health complaints, are the second

More information

COMMENTS, CONCERNS OR COMPLAINTS

COMMENTS, CONCERNS OR COMPLAINTS University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay NHS Foundation Trust COMMENTS, CONCERNS OR COMPLAINTS What to do if you want to raise a comment, concern or complaint Patient Relations Department Patient Information

More information

Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers. Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust

Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers. Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust Welcome At Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust (CNWL) we aim to give you the best

More information

PERFORMANCE OF THE DEPARTMENT FOR BUSINESS, INNOVATION AND SKILLS FOR 2012

PERFORMANCE OF THE DEPARTMENT FOR BUSINESS, INNOVATION AND SKILLS FOR 2012 From the Ombudsman Dame Julie Mellor DBE Mr Martin Donnelly CMG Permanent Secretary Department for Business, Innovation and Skills Victoria Street London SWH 0ET 4 March 203 Dear Martin, PERFORMANCE OF

More information

Guide to healthcare complaints

Guide to healthcare complaints Guide to healthcare complaints A guide to healthcare complaints The majority of patients have a positive experience of their NHS treatment. Where this is not the case there are a number of options open

More information

Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust This leaflet provides practical information on how you can provide

More information

Complaints, concerns and feedback. Our Process

Complaints, concerns and feedback. Our Process Complaints, concerns and feedback Our Process About us Devon Doctors Group comprises of Devon Doctors Ltd and other subsidiaries including Access Dental, Access Health Care and Cornwall Health. We exist

More information

The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services.

The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services. Xxxxxxxxxxxx Directory The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services. Issue Date: 29 September 2014 Contents Page 2: Page 3: Tips on Complaining Services This guide has been produced by Healthwatch

More information

Customer services. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind

Customer services. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind Customer services Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind A short guide to customer services and how we can provide you with support

More information

Making a Complaint. The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made.

Making a Complaint. The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made. Making a Complaint The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made. Sometimes people feel let down by the NHS. They might think that the service, care

More information

Experiences count. We are here to listen. www.lpft.nhs.uk

Experiences count. We are here to listen. www.lpft.nhs.uk Experiences count We are here to listen www.lpft.nhs.uk Experiences count Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust (LPFT) provides specialist health services for people with a learning disability,

More information

Give us your views. Complaint. Compliment. Comment. Concern

Give us your views. Complaint. Compliment. Comment. Concern Mental & Social Healthcare Concern Complaint Compliment Comment Give us your views This leaflet explains what to do if you have a complaint, comment, concern or compliment about your experience of our

More information

Complaints and PALS. How to make a complaint. Freephone: 0800 328 7971

Complaints and PALS. How to make a complaint. Freephone: 0800 328 7971 How to make a complaint Freephone: 0800 328 7971 Why make a complaint? Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust aims to provide the highest possible quality of health care. We try hard to ensure that we meet

More information

http://www.gmc-uk.org/concerns/making_a_complaint/who_to_complain_to_en.asp

http://www.gmc-uk.org/concerns/making_a_complaint/who_to_complain_to_en.asp Who to complain to information for patients in England http://www.gmc-uk.org/concerns/making_a_complaint/who_to_complain_to_en.asp The process of making a complaint will be easier and less stressful if

More information

ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY. Complaints Procedure General Practice

ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY. Complaints Procedure General Practice ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY Complaints Procedure General Practice Index 1. Introduction 2. Practice Complaints Administrator 3. What Constitutes a Complaint 4. Matters Excluded from the Complaints Process

More information

PALS. Patient Advice and Liaison Service. Royal Manchester Children s Hospital. Saint Mary s Hospital. Manchester Royal Eye Hospital

PALS. Patient Advice and Liaison Service. Royal Manchester Children s Hospital. Saint Mary s Hospital. Manchester Royal Eye Hospital Royal Children s Hospital Saint Mary s Hospital Royal Eye Hospital PALS Patient Advice and Liaison Service Royal Infirmary University Dental Hospital of Central Community Services Trafford General Stretford

More information

A Guide to Resolving Issues or Making a Complaint

A Guide to Resolving Issues or Making a Complaint A Guide to Resolving Issues or Making a Complaint If you are unhappy with the treatment or service you receive from the NHS you are entitled to make a complaint, have it considered, and receive a response

More information

How to complain about a health service or social care service. This is an EasyRead version of How to complain about a health or social care service

How to complain about a health service or social care service. This is an EasyRead version of How to complain about a health or social care service How to complain about a health service or social care service This is an EasyRead version of How to complain about a health or social care service About this booklet Sometimes things go wrong with our

More information

Complaints, Comments and Appreciations

Complaints, Comments and Appreciations FOLD HERE No Stamp Required Freepost RLUJ-RKYT-AZGH Gillian Summers Complaints Officer North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust Bernicia House Goldcrest Way Newburn Riverside Newcastle upon Tyne

More information

How to make a comment, make a complaint or express your appreciation. Information for patients/relatives/carers

How to make a comment, make a complaint or express your appreciation. Information for patients/relatives/carers How to make a comment, make a complaint or express your appreciation Information for patients/relatives/carers How to tell us about a concern, make a complaint or express your appreciation Here at the

More information

Making a complaint about government departments and services to the Parliamentary Ombudsman

Making a complaint about government departments and services to the Parliamentary Ombudsman Making a complaint about government departments and services to the Parliamentary Ombudsman Section 1 Can we look at your complaint? Have you complained to the organisation? Yes No Have you received a

More information

Healthcare complaints advocacy self help pack

Healthcare complaints advocacy self help pack Berrows Business Centre Bath Street Hereford HR1 2HE Telephone 01432 364 481 Healthcare complaints advocacy self help pack Thank you for requesting this self help pack. It has been compiled to enable you

More information

This guide will help you to prepare a complaint letter and provide information regarding where you should send your complaint to.

This guide will help you to prepare a complaint letter and provide information regarding where you should send your complaint to. Guide to Making a Complaint About Medical Treatment If you are dissatisfied with the medical treatment that you or a family member have received then you are entitled to make a complaint. Complaint guide

More information

We are happy to discuss your concerns and are always ready to listen to your comments and views on the care we provide.

We are happy to discuss your concerns and are always ready to listen to your comments and views on the care we provide. Complaints, concerns and compliments We are sorry you have a complaint. This booklet explains what to do if you have a complaint about your clinical care and treatment, or if you are complaining on behalf

More information

Complaints & Comments Leaflet

Complaints & Comments Leaflet Church Road Medical Practice Complaints & Comments Leaflet LET THE PRACTICE KNOW YOUR VIEWS PARTNERS Dr D Y Patwala Dr N Mugerwa Please Print a Copy (Revised Sept 2013) 1 Complaints Information on Website

More information

Principles of Good Complaint Handling

Principles of Good Complaint Handling Principles of Good Complaint Handling Principles of Good Complaint Handling Good complaint handling means: 1 Getting it right 2 Being customer focused 3 Being open and accountable 4 Acting fairly and proportionately

More information

Your guide to making comments, compliments and complaints

Your guide to making comments, compliments and complaints Your guide to making comments, compliments and complaints Your views are important Our values and behaviours framework brings together everything we believe about the importance of kindness and compassion,

More information

Policies and Procedures. Policy on the Handling of Complaints

Policies and Procedures. Policy on the Handling of Complaints RMP. South Tyneside NHS Foundation Trust Policies and Procedures Policy on the Handling of Complaints Approved by Trust Board December 2006 (revised version approved by RMEC May 2010) Policy Type Policy

More information

Healthcare complaints advocacy self help pack

Healthcare complaints advocacy self help pack Prittlewell Chapel North Road Westcliff on Sea Essex SS0 7AF Telephone 01702 220102 Healthcare complaints advocacy self help pack Thank you for requesting this self help pack. It has been compiled to enable

More information

NHS Complaints Handling: Briefing Note. The standard NHS complaints procedure can be used for most complaints about NHS services.

NHS Complaints Handling: Briefing Note. The standard NHS complaints procedure can be used for most complaints about NHS services. APPENDIX 1 NHS Complaints Handling: Briefing Note NHS Complaints Procedure The standard NHS complaints procedure can be used for most complaints about NHS services. The legislation governing the NHS complaints

More information

NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY

NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY Applies to: NHS LA employees, contractors and Non Executive Directors Date of Board Approval: May 2014 Review Date: May 2017 1 May 2014 1. Introduction The NHSLA is committed to

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS

Making a complaint about the NHS Making a complaint about the NHS NHS Greater Glasgow In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. We value comments, good or bad, to help us improve the service. If

More information

Complaints and Compliments

Complaints and Compliments Complaints and Compliments Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Comments, Compliments, & Complaints If you require this document in an alternative format, i.e easy read, large text, audio, braille

More information

SOMETHING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT? REVISITED

SOMETHING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT? REVISITED SOMETHING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT? REVISITED A follow up to Something to Complain About? - A look at how easy it is to find the right information and support to make a complaint about GP services. Table of Contents

More information

Protocols and Policies. The Lighthouse Medical Practice. Complaints

Protocols and Policies. The Lighthouse Medical Practice. Complaints Complaints This leaflet provides all the information you might need if you feel that you would like to complain about any part of the Practice. At we strive to offer the highest level of care to all our

More information

Complaints Policy and Procedure

Complaints Policy and Procedure Complaints Policy and Procedure REFERENCE NUMBER DraftAug2012V1MH APPROVING COMMITTEE(S) AND DATE THIS DOCUMENT REPLACES REVIEW DUE DATE March 2014 RATIFICATION DATE/DRAFT No NHS West Lancashire Clinical

More information

COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS

COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS Information Leaflet Your Health. Our Priority. Page 2 of 6 Introduction We aim to provide the highest possible standard of care for our patients. We want to hear your

More information

Principles for Remedy

Principles for Remedy Principles for Remedy Principles for Remedy Good practice with regard to remedies means: 1 Getting it right 2 Being customer focused 3 Being open and accountable 4 Acting fairly and proportionately 5 Putting

More information

Compliments, Concerns and Complaints

Compliments, Concerns and Complaints Compliments, Concerns and Complaints When you don't know where to turn for advice Compliments The Trust would like to receive your input about our services including positive comments relating to the services

More information

How to make a complaint

How to make a complaint The Patients Association PO Box 935, Harrow, Middlesex,HA1 3YJ How to make a complaint Patients Association PO Box 935, Harrow Middlesex HA1 3YJ 020 8423 9111 Monday Friday 09:00 17:30 Helpline: 0845 608

More information

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY A GENERAL 1. INTRODUCTION 1.1 This policy sets out the process that the Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCG) will use for handling complaints, generated by patients, carers

More information

SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP

SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP COMPLAINTS INFORMATION LEAFLET FOR PATIENTS Dr I D Whyte, Dr K K Wlodarczyk, Dr T M Golding Dr C J Brown, Dr C J Fogg, Dr C Dalton 42 King Street, Whalley, Nr Clitheroe BB7

More information

Making a Social Care Complaint

Making a Social Care Complaint Making a Social Care Complaint You have a right to make a complaint about local authority social services. You can do this by using the local authority social services complaints procedure. To use this

More information

Complaint Letter Guide

Complaint Letter Guide 15151 Who do I complain to? Leeds Independent Health Complaints Advocacy If you want to complain about your hospital, ambulance service or most community healthcare contact the Chief Executive of the NHS

More information

High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Lead Author(s) Change History Document complies with the Equality Act 2010

High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Lead Author(s) Change History Document complies with the Equality Act 2010 High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Document Type CQC Standard 7 Service Application Version 2 Ratification Date Target Group All staff Last Reviewed October 2012 Next Review Date October

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS

Making a complaint about the NHS Making a complaint about the NHS NHS Grampian In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. We value comments, good or bad, to help us improve the service. If you are

More information

Complaints Policy and Procedure. Contents. Title: Number: Version: 1.0

Complaints Policy and Procedure. Contents. Title: Number: Version: 1.0 Title: Complaints Policy and Procedure Number: Version: 1.0 Contents 1 Purpose and scope... 2 2 Responsibilities... 2 3 Policy Statement: Aims and Objectives... 4 4 Definition of a complaint... 4 5 Procedure...

More information

Making a complaint. The difference between making a complaint and clinical negligence

Making a complaint. The difference between making a complaint and clinical negligence Macmillan and Cancerbackup have merged. Together we provide free, high quality information for all. Making a complaint This fact sheet is for people who want to make a complaint because they re unhappy

More information

Complaints in the NHS

Complaints in the NHS IMPROVING HEALTH IN WALES Complaints in the NHS A Guide to handling complaints in Wales April 2003 Making suggestions and complaints Do you have suggestions about how we can provide a better service? Your

More information

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care Factsheet 66 August 2011 Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care About this factsheet The factsheet explains the approach to handling complaints about National Health Service (NHS) services,

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS

Making a complaint about the NHS Making a complaint about the NHS Version 2 Produced in June 2007 Revision date June 2009 NHS SCOTLAND In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. We value comments,

More information

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY A GENERAL 1. INTRODUCTION This policy sets out the process for handling complaints, generated by patients, carers and the general public, by the Clinical Commissioning Group

More information

HELP WITH MAKING YOUR NHS COMPLAINT

HELP WITH MAKING YOUR NHS COMPLAINT HELP WITH MAKING YOUR NHS COMPLAINT Contents Introduction 03 What is covered by the NHS Complaints Process? 04 Who can complain? 04 What can I get from my complaint? 05 Accessing health records 05 The

More information

Principles of Good Administration

Principles of Good Administration Principles of Good Administration Principles of Good Administration Good administration by public bodies means: 1 Getting it right 2 Being customer focused 3 Being open and accountable 4 Acting fairly

More information

Helping more people by investigating more complaints about the NHS. September 2013

Helping more people by investigating more complaints about the NHS. September 2013 Helping more people by investigating more complaints about the NHS September 2013 Helping more people by investigating more NHS complaints In 2012-13 We resolved 15,944 enquiries about the NHS 12,175 3,770

More information

Fact sheet: Writing a complaint letter. General guidelines

Fact sheet: Writing a complaint letter. General guidelines Fact sheet: Writing a complaint letter General guidelines Who do I complain to? If you want to complain about a hospital or an ambulance service contact the Complaints Manager or the Chief Executive of

More information

NHS COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE SELF-HELP PACK

NHS COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE SELF-HELP PACK NHS COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE SELF-HELP PACK FOR PEOPLE LIVING IN SOUTH GLOUCESTERSHIRE INTRODUCTION This self-help guide aims to help you understand the process involved in raising concerns and making complaints

More information

Customer Satisfaction Research

Customer Satisfaction Research Customer Satisfaction Research Summary of results June 2012 - October 2012 Contents Terminology 4 Research methodology 4 Who are our customers? 6 Overall satisfaction with our service 8 Parliamentary

More information

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH Rheynn Slaynt. National Health Service Complaints Procedure A Patient s Guide

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH Rheynn Slaynt. National Health Service Complaints Procedure A Patient s Guide DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH Rheynn Slaynt National Health Service Complaints Procedure A Patient s Guide Issue Date January 2012 A Patient s Guide to the NHS Complaints Procedure The Complaints Procedure The

More information

This document can be produced in large print, in Braille, on audio cassette and in other languages on request

This document can be produced in large print, in Braille, on audio cassette and in other languages on request GIVING A COMPLIMENT, RAISING A CONCERN OR MAKING A COMPLAINT A Guide for Patients, Carers, Relatives and Visitors to the Trust to tell us what you think This document can be produced in large print, in

More information

Comments, Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Policy

Comments, Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Policy Comments, Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Policy Policy ID CG05 Version: 1.2 Date ratified by Governing Body 29/11/13 Author Suzi Shettle, Head of Communications and Engagement Last review date: November

More information

Making a Complaint about the NHS

Making a Complaint about the NHS Making a Complaint about the NHS Version 3 Produced in June 2009 Revision date June 2011 In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. We value comments, good or bad,

More information