April 2011 Issue 100. The Official Journal of Leeds Law Society. 100 issues. 100 LAWYERS. 100 opinions.

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "April 2011 Issue 100. The Official Journal of Leeds Law Society. 100 issues. 100 LAWYERS. 100 opinions."

Transcription

1 April 2011 Issue 100 Celebrating a century The Official Journal of Leeds Law Society 100 issues. 100 LAWYERS. 100 opinions.

2 Recourse Legal Solutions A groundbreaking service from ARAG Greater cover than you d expect Extremely competitive rates An on-line application facility providing easy policy issue. All policies fully underwritten by an A rated insurer, providing the best security for your clients. Contingent premiums High limits of indemnity to provide total peace of mind for the more complex cases. Various types of cases underwritten, not just personal injury. Extremely competitive commission rates. A UK management team with a wealth of experience in the legal expenses market. To find out more call us on or visit All with the secure backing of an international group The ARAG Group is one of the world leaders in legal solutions with over 3,300 employees worldwide, and an annual premium income of over 1.4 billion. With over 70 years experience as an insurance services specialist in Germany, ARAG is now a world leader in international growth markets and is active in thirteen European countries. Undisputed market leaders in Spain and Italy, the group is also a leading player in the US legal insurance market. ARAG plc Registered in England number Registered office: 9 Whiteladies Road, Clifton, Bristol BS8 1NN. ARAG plc is authorised and regulated by the Financial Services Authority, registration number and this can be checked by visiting the FSA website at or by contacting the FSA on

3 CONtenTS Leeds Law Society 1 Albion Place Leeds LS1 6JL DX Leeds Tel: EDITORIAL: Editor Steven Bancroft Founding Editor Ian McCombie Editorial Assistant Sophie Dilley PRODUCTION: Head of Design Lucy Taylor Junior Designer Jessica Horton PROJECT MANAGER: Kate McKittrick ADVERTISING: Martin Smith Published by Barker Brooks Media Ltd 4 Greengate Cardale Park Harrogate HG3 1GY Tel: Fax: PRINT: Acorn Web Offset Ltd 2011 Leeds Law Society & Barker Brooks Media Ltd. All rights in and relating to this publication are expressly reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any form or by any means without written permission from the publishers. The views expressed in Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer are not necessarily those of the Leeds Law Society or the publisher. While the publishers have taken every care in compiling this publication to ensure accuracy at the time of going to press, they do not accept liability or responsibility for errors or omissions therein however PEFC/ caused. Views 05 President's column One hundred issues are marked in fitting style with a wander down Memory Lane News 07 Society Book your place at May's inaugural Yorkshire Legal Conference in Leeds 08 Achievements Leeds Legal earns recognition for its work in the volunteer sector 11 Charity Thirty brave souls walk over hot coals and all in the name of giving 12 Business development Family law mediation service launches this month 15 Appointments Find out who s going where in our latest round-up Features Celebrating a century In our landmark issue we test the mood of the legal scene by quizzing 100 local practitioners 17 Fortune favours the brave Founding Editor Ian McCombie explains the origins and predicts the brightest of futures Barker Brooks Media offers a full range of creative, marketing and communications services. To discuss how we could help your business, please call Ben Rushton on or creative events management publishing sales & sponsorship 18 Looking back at the past How has Leeds and the wider Yorkshire area changed since our very first issue debuted in June 2001? 22 Present day scene Is the local legal scene better for the changes that have occurred during the past decade? 26 Focusing on the future What will happen in the short, medium and long term to the profession around us? 29 Also celebrating It is not only Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer that has reached a major milestone 32 Judiciary interview A knockback led His Honour Judge Paul Hoffman to reassess and succeed in the latest in the series of exclusive interviews 35 Pre-nuptial agreements The House of Windsor might be advised to consider a pre-nuptial agreement Lifestyle 36 Comment Tree hugging and the afterlife, plus one longserving columnist bids a fond farewell 37 Win a stay at Malmaison Take part in our photography competition and you could win a top prize 38 The last word Christopher Butterworth, Managing Partner at Raworths, goes under the microscope Issue 100 in association with: Yorkshire Cancer Research is the largest independent regional medical research charity in the UK, funding vital research projects at universities across Yorkshire. The charity was delighted to be involved in the 2010 Yorkshire Lawyer Awards. Charity number: Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer Issue 100 3

4

5 President s Column Celebrating a century James Haddleton is President of Leeds Law Society and a Partner at DWF in Leeds O ne hundred editions of Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer is a great landmark. With our newly appointed editor, Steven Bancroft, come new ideas and a modern format. Monthly features with local judges, editorial comment from other lawyers in Yorkshire, a good spread of local stories and photos we all want to know what s happening in our own backyard. One hundred years ago Leeds Law Society (pictured right is the headquarters on Albion Street from yesteryear) was making representations to the Royal Commission on Divorce and Matrimonial Causes on the reform of divorce law. The Commission reported in At that time parties had to travel to London for court appearances and husbands always paid their wives costs. The report explained: The figures show a cost, in ordinary cases, altogether beyond the means of a working man except in the rare cases in which he can obtain considerable assistance from friends, or save up money for years. For those who couldn t afford court fees (referred to, even then, as paupers) an application in forma pauperis was required. This was available to those who earned less than shillings per week (about 105 in today s money). A barrister also had to advise that there were reasonable prospects of success. A pauper was exempt from court fees but would probably still need some legal help as the petition had to be filed in London. The Commission observed that: though solicitors are often good natured enough to assist them for nothing, we find that solicitors are naturally reluctant to take up these cases. The low take-up of divorce in England was considered by the authorities to demonstrate that England was more moral than France and Germany where access to justice through funding was provided more widely. Not everyone favoured reform. The Hon. Mrs Evelyn Hubbard, vice-president of the Mothers' Union, obtained a petition with 21,389 signatures (claiming to represent 85,491 people). She noted a very low state of morality amongst the poor and worried that reform to the divorce law would lead to divorce for trivial reason. The Commission, in considering whether to extend jurisdiction outside of London, was concerned that there would be certain judges of the Assizes who would not want to exercise jurisdiction as they were Roman Catholics, a particular problem in traditionally catholic Yorkshire. Our relative morality and tolerance levels may have changed considerably over the past 100 years but issues of administration of justice and access to justice remain as relevant today as ever. Finally, the Leeds Annual Legal Dinner on 17 March was a wonderful occasion and thank you to everybody who took part and enjoyed the St Patrick s Day celebrations. Pints of Guinness were enjoyed all round! THE YORKSHIRE LEGAL CONFERENCE 2011 The new legal model A bright future? Join us at The Rose Bowl, Leeds on May 16 for an unmissable one-day conference covering ABS, growth, opportunity and the future for the legal scene For the latest information and booking enquiries, contact Laura Callicott at Barker Brooks Media on or YLC_2011.indd 1 11/03/ :27 Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer Issue 100 5

6 Worried about contaminated land? You needn t be with the right cover. CLS are pleased to announce that we are now expanding our suite of contaminated land insurance products to offer cover for both Residential and Commercial properties. CLS have worked in conjunction with Landmark Information Group to create market leading insurance policies providing comprehensive cover for contaminated land issues. CLS s insurance policies are underwritten by Great Lakes Reinsurance (UK) PLC, the UK arm of Munich Re, giving CLS access to the strongest rated, and more importantly, the most consistently rated security in the market. Visit Call Trust Innovation Expertise Think CLS Conveyancing Liability Solutions Ltd is authorised and regulated by the Financial Services Authority The Home of ChancelSure

7 NEWS: Society Don t miss the first ever Yorkshire Legal Conference Picture courtesy of Leeds Metropolitan University Does the new legal model offer a bright future for all? What does it mean for you and your circumstances? How can you benefit? All of these topical subjects are up for debate at the inaugural Yorkshire Legal Conference on 16 May. Held in the heart of Yorkshire, at the Rose Bowl (pictured), Leeds, the one-day conference is supported by Leeds Law Society and will cover a host of key issues facing the industry at a pivotal moment in its evolution. Subjects to be covered: Alternative business structures and their implications The regulation of new business New opportunities for growth Planning for growth and change The view of the investor The year ahead is certainly an interesting one, and that's why a Yorkshire Legal Conference here on our very doorstep is a welcome addition to the calendar, explained Leeds Law Society President James Haddleton. As summer gives way to autumn, the profession will admit outside investors and some will take up new opportunities through alternative business structures. Like the take-up of LLP status, some will be entrepreneurial and take the plunge now while others will see how it all shakes out before committing. It is important to keep up to speed with the latest developments and a conference tailored for the specific needs of regional practitioners and including an exciting lineup of eminent experts can only be beneficial. Don t be left behind. This one-day conference is taking place on 16 May at the Rose Bowl, Leeds with tickets priced at 95 + VAT. For the latest information and booking enquiries, contact Head of Events at Barker Brooks Media, Laura Callicott, on or Hamilton visit leads to Parliamentary question Fabian Hamilton is the latest MP to meet with Society members to discuss both local and national issues. In February the Labour MP for Leeds North East, who hails from a family of lawyers, followed Ed Balls and Hilary Benn in meeting and greeting local practitioners at Leeds Law Society s Albion Place headquarters. Pictured above is Hamilton with current President James Haddleton (left) and committee member Philip Goldberg (right). Being able to meet face-to-face with local MPs, especially at times of proposed change, is extremely important, explained Goldberg, a Partner at Lester Morrill and the committee s Criminal Law Liaison?. The recent Green Paper on legal aid was the overriding theme of the session and Mr Hamilton was very supportive. He agreed to table a question in the House of Commons so it is pleasing that we, as a Society, have managed to have direct influence on those who make decisions on a national scale. Coulson discusses local and national issues Mr Justice Coulson, the Presiding Judge of the North Eastern Circuit, met a group of local practitioners at the Leeds office of DWF in mid-february following an invitation from Leeds Law Society. Other local members of the judiciary, including Her Honour Judge Penny Belcher, were also in attendance at the session where both local and national issues were discussed. As the discussions were informal it was possible to get a real insight into issues which affect both the judiciary and practitioners, explained President James Haddleton. Clearly at the forefront of everybody s mind were the impending cuts to the courts as well as the inadequacy of some of the buildings, such as Coverdale House and the Crown Court. However, there is a degree of gritty realism that, for the time being at least, Leeds will need to make do with its current facilities. Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer Issue 100 7

8 NEWS: Achievements Prestigious volunteering award for Leeds Legal Firm gives apprentices the chance to shine Leeds Legal s Education & Enterprise Week won the prestigious Volunteering Corporate Group award at this year s Leeds Volunteering Awards. Leeds Legal, in conjunction with Leeds Ahead, organised the region s largest annual volunteering initiative for the profession, which allows professionals from the legal sector the opportunity to take the world of work into some of the city s most deprived communities. Education & Enterprise Week empowers young people to consider and develop their future career ambitions and kickstart the passion to work towards their ideal jobs. The school-based volunteering initiative, now in its third year, attracted around 130 lawyers and support staff from 14 leading law firms who worked with around 400 primary school pupils in Seacroft and Manston in Leeds to support young people in some of the most challenged communities. Ford & Warren are continuing their commitment to apprenticeships following a successful initiative last year. The firm first became involved in March 2010 and it was so successful from the 10 apprentices that joined last year, five have been offered permanent positions they are recruiting for 2011 in a scheme which they run in conjunction with Chapel Allerton-based company Learning Innovations. Learning Innovations not only places young people in relevant positions but also provides relevant coaching. Those businesses interested in taking part can visit Accolade for injury lawyer Atherton Godfrey partner John McQuater recently received the honour of being invited to join FOCIS (Forum of Complex Injuries Solicitors). FOCIS consists of the UK s most respected personal injury and clinical negligence lawyers, as well as US lawyer Richard D. Grand, the forum s President and Founder. Delighted with his membership, McQuater (pictured left) commented: This membership will help me, along with Atherton Godfrey, promote an understanding of issues which arise for those that suffer from serious injuries, both locally and nationally. McQuater recently served a full and successful term as President of APIL (Association of Personal Injury Lawyers) and is considered to be among the top personal injury and clinical negligence lawyers in the country. Diskin joins Team Blacks Blacks Solicitors LLP, fast becoming one of the UK s leading niche sports practices, has appointed Matt Diskin of Bradford Bulls and former Leeds Rhino as its latest sports consultant. Diskin follows a number of other highprofile sports personnel who have joined the firm in recent years, including Yorkshire cricketer Gerard Brophy, former footballers Robbie Savage, John Hendrie and Brian Deane (pictured above), together with ex-head of Nike and Scotland international Jim Pearson. Blacks Managing Partner Chris Allen said: Matt will provide real industry knowledge to our rugby clients, and supplement and support the expertise and industry knowledge we already have within our sports team. As well as acting for various professional sports organisations, Blacks recently acted for Spirit of 1873 Ltd in the buyout of the Wakefield Trinity Wildcats Rugby League Club. 8 Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer Issue 100

9 Sponsored by: NEWS: Achievements New-look Shulmans sets sights on major growth Shulmans Solicitors has launched its new brand identity based on a platform of almost 30 year's experience, international market knowledge and a desire to grow the business by 50 percent by Chairman and founder of the firm, Jeremy Shulman (pictured left), in consultation with his management board, decided to mark 30 years in business in 2011 by examining every area of the business and developing a comprehensive plan for growth. Despite the current economic uncertainty, we felt the time was right to develop an aggressive policy of growth, said Shulman. We have pointed the business in a direction which no longer makes it reliant upon good trading conditions by majoring on innovative legal services designed to support business. The rebrand and repositioning of the firm in tandem with its growth policy is all part of the firm s aim to grow the business by 50 percent within five years. Growth is an essential part of our business strategy, added Shulman. Our strongest client base is undoubtedly within Yorkshire, but we frequently attract work from outside the region and a substantial part of our work is international, due to our leading position with global legal network Interlegal. Crossley wins major business accolade Squire Sanders Hammonds Leeds-based Managing Partner for Europe, Peter Crossley, was named Management Partner of the Year at the Legal Business Awards. The award comes on the back of Hammonds transatlantic tie-up with Squire, Sanders & Dempsey in January, making it one of the top 25 global legal practices with approximately 1,275 lawyers working in 37 offices throughout the world, including Birmingham, Leeds, London and Manchester. This is a fantastic achievement and a very welldeserved accolade, said the firm s Chief Operating Officer Sue Nickson. Peter has served as Managing Partner of Hammonds for six years and it is fair to say that his enthusiasm and commitment have helped transform the firm. As one of the architects of the combination with Squire, Sanders & Dempsey, his vision and drive brought about the launch of our new firm in less than six months and enabled us to realise our ambition to build a genuinely global business. Conveyancing quality mark for Hamers Hull firm Hamers Solicitors LLP has become one of the first practices in England and Wales to secure the Law Society s Conveyancing Quality Scheme (CQS) accreditation the mark of excellence for the home-buying process. Hamers underwent rigorous assessment by the Law Society in order to secure CQS status, which marks the firm out as meeting high standards in the residential conveyancing process. Hamers is one of the flag bearers of the CQS and their accreditation begins a new chapter in the home-buying process, said Law Society President Linda Lee. In what is already a crowded conveyancing market, CQS-accredited legal practices will be clearly visible to anyone looking to buy a home. Jim Wyatt (pictured above, far left), Partner at Hamers, added: As the legal services marketplace opens up yet further in October, customers will have a greater choice of legal providers. We want to be able to compete in this new marketplace by offering customers, old and new, a costeffective quality conveyancing service. Special reception for Hinds Selena Hinds, Partner and Head of Probate, Wills and Trusts at Raworths, has been invited to attend a special reception at the House of Commons in honour of the first 100 Legal Executives to become partners in their law firms. The regulations enabling qualified individuals other than solicitors to become partners in law firms changed in March Selena was one of the first Legal Executives to become a partner, achieving this on the first day after new regulations came into force. The Institute of Legal Executives (ILEX) is honouring the first 100 such partners and the first Legal Executive Judge at a reception at the House of Commons in late March. Selena joined Raworths in 2003 having previously worked at Nelson & Co and Pinsent Curtis Biddle in Leeds. Managing Partner Christopher Butterworth commented: Fellows of the Institute of Legal Executives are very well qualified lawyers and it is entirely appropriate that their abilities and contribution towards the management of firms can now be recognised at partner level. We are delighted that Selena has been invited to such a prestigious event. Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer Issue 100 9

10 NEWS: Social Drinks reception marks expansion of Chambers Webb spins World Cup yarns at business lunch Leeds newest barristers chambers has marked its expansion into the city with an official drinks reception. Exchange Chambers, also based in Manchester and Liverpool, has taken on 6,000 sq ft at Oxford House, Oxford Row, in the city centre. Since opening its doors in Leeds, Exchange Chambers has expanded quickly and welcomed a number of new barristers alongside a new senior clerk. We were delighted to mark the opening of our new chambers with a drinks reception for the region s legal community, said Director of Chambers Tom Handley. Since opening in Leeds last year we have been made to feel very welcome. Senior clerk Ian Spencer added: This event was extremely well supported and we are very much looking forward to working with solicitors from throughout the region in the future. Zenith plans a charity perfect ten To celebrate its 10th anniversary, Leeds Zenith Chambers is planning a series of events to raise 10,000 for charity. Their plans include 10 barristers and staff taking part in the one mile swim in Lake Windermere known as The Great North Swim, a Beat the Barrister pub quiz, Dragon Boat Race at Roundhay Park, numerous 10k runs including the Abbey Dash and a celebratory 'Decade Masquerade' party in December. 'We wanted to do something meaningful to celebrate and raising money for a variety of charities is the perfect way to do this,' explained Marketing Director Natalie Rodgers. Zenith Chambers, which was formed in March 2001, offers a comprehensive service across key practice areas including crime, family personal injury, housing and commercial law. They have recently launched a new website and marketing material. For more information visit Newtons Solicitors were proud sponsors of the recent Harrogate Business Lunch at which Howard Webb was the guest speaker. Webb, who hails from Rotherham, is an experienced Premier League and Champions League football referee whose stock reached an all-time high last summer when he officiated for the World Cup Final between Spain and the Netherlands in South Africa. Chris Newton from the Harrogate firm (pictured above left with Webb) also spoke at the event which attracted 330 people from the whole spectrum of local businesses. If people hadn t heard of us before, they certainly have now, commented Newton. Commercial property forum planned for city O Rourke Reid is holding a commercial property forum at its Leeds Office on 21 March. The event will be attended by the Lord and Lady Mayoress of Leeds, James and Andrea McKenna, where the Vision for Leeds 2011 will be discussed. Other speakers include John Weir, who heads the Leeds office of Drivers Jonas Deloitte. He will give his view on the potential impact of the Localism Bill on local planning policy. O Rourke Reid is inviting a wide range of participants in the sector from all the professional bodies, as well as the major players and representatives from the lending agencies, so as to provide everyone with an opportunity to participate in a Q&A and networking session. For more information visit 10 Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer Issue 100

11 Sponsored by: NEWS:?????? Charity Flaming firewalk success for local hospice Hospital receives major garden boost The temperature rose when a brave 30-strong group walked over fire in an attempt to raise 10,000 for St Gemma s Hospice in Leeds at an event hosted by Roundhay firm Winston Solicitors. Fundraising started a month before the event in an effort to reach the 10k target and each participant took part in a twohour training session immediately prior to the firewalk. After plenty of fire-themed songs, Rich Williams from Radio Aire warmed up the 250-strong crowd before the fearless 30 walked one by one across 20 feet of wood embers burning at an incredible 1236 degrees Fahrenheit. Knowing St Gemma s as we do, we wanted to be able to raise a large sum of money for the hospice. The majority of the 8 million they need each year is raised via fundraising initiatives and donations, explained Jonathan Winston of Winston Solicitors. The firewalk has been a great way to raise awareness of the hospice while giving people the opportunity to have an inspirational experience. Knowing you ve walked on fire gives you a boost that allows you to achieve anything. Scheme will help locals Sheffield solicitors Taylor&Emmet LLP is inviting local residents to have a will drawn up for free throughout March, in return for a donation to the firm s annual charity St Luke s Hospice. The probate team at Taylor&Emmet is supporting St Luke s Wills Month 2011 by providing professionally written wills to clients who make a donation to the hospice. Appointments to have a will drawn up for free by one of the firm s probate experts can be made anytime during March at Taylor&Emmet s Arundel Gate, Ecclesall Road or Dronfield offices. All they ask in return is that a minimum donation of 50 for a single will or 90 per pair of wills is made to St Luke s. Nichola Carmichael, one of Taylor&Emmet s specialist probate solicitors, said: It is an excellent opportunity to put plans in place for a fraction of the normal cost and support this invaluable community resource. Zenith Chambers donated over 1,400 to Leeds Children s Hospital s Clarendon Wing following a Winter Wonderlandthemed Christmas party. Mr David Crabbe, Paediatric Consultant at Leeds General Infirmary, commented: This donation will allow us to create a new-look garden which will be a colourful feature for many years to come. We are extremely grateful to Zenith Chambers for organising this very kind and practical donation. The money will be used to plant 115 low-maintenance shrubs in a variety of shapes and colours, which will brighten up the Clarendon Wing. National charity honour for Walker Morris Walker Morris has been successful in its bid to provide legal services to the NSPCC. The Leeds firm is one of only four legal firms to be appointed to the national panel for all legal work, demonstrating the strength of their national reputation and reach. The NSPCC is the only charity in the UK solely focused on protecting children from abuse and it campaigns for changes in law and practice as well as providing public education, consultancy and a wide range of services that benefit children and their families throughout the country. Our dedicated team is one of the largest single-site teams outside London and, unlike many of our competitors, Walker Morris has focused on delivering our expertise from a single centre of excellence, said Partner Gwendoline Davies. We believe this enables us to work seamlessly with all our departments, which is increasingly important in today s complex legal work. Catherine Dixon, General Counsel at NSPCC, added The firm s staff will also be fundraising for NSPCC in 2011 so we can continue to provide vital services in Leeds and across the UK. Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer Issue

12 NEWS: Business development Family law mediation service launched Stowe Family Law has launched a partner firm dedicated to family law mediation. Stowe Family Law Settlements aims to help couples and families whose relationships have broken down but who wish to avoid protracted courtroom battles. It is staffed by a nine-strong team of trained family mediators who are also qualified and experienced family lawyers. With offices in Yorkshire, Cheshire and London, Stowe Family Law Settlements is headed by Marilyn Stowe (pictured above front), the senior partner and founder of Stowe Family Law. The Ministry of Justice recently confirmed that mediation assessment meetings before making an application in relevant family proceedings will be required from April The protocol will affect the majority of applications concerning children and or finance issues and the new venture hopes to build partnerships with other law firms. Mortimer heads to Raworths Harrogate firm, Raworths has appointed well-known York lawyer Jonathan Mortimer (pictured left) to head it's Dispute Resolution. He joins from Langleys where he was a partner and head of the Commercial Dispute Resolution Unit at their York office. Mortimer s experience is wide and ranges from representing clients with regulatory matters in the Magistrates Court to advising on complicated competition issues in the Supreme Court. I am delighted to be joining Raworths at such an important time in the development of the firm, commented Mortimer. The continued commitment to providing the highest level of advice and expertise to the local business community in Harrogate is paramount in my new role and I look forward to bringing my legal experience and know-how back to my home town. Chief Exec appointment breaks new ground Atteys Solicitors has appointed non-lawyer Charles Glover as its new Chief Executive. Glover has over 20 years experience owning and running businesses, including marketing agency Paradigm which he successfully merged with Scope Creative Marketing in 2003 to create Dig For Fire, which was sold to the AIM-listed Digital Marketing Group in Glover will help Atteys to realise the opportunities presented by the Legal Services Act by helping it develop a range of innovative legal services and products that meet changing consumer and business demands. Charles is the ideal appointment to this role, following a rigorous recruitment process designed to help Atteys develop and expand its offer to clients in light of the Legal Services Act, said Gill Knight (pictured above), Atteys Partner and Head of Personal Injury. It is critical that the legal profession widens its approach and harnesses the best talent if it is to secure a profitable future. Merger leads to new office opening in York Following the merger of York firm Gildeners with Richardson & Co, the new York office of Richardson Gildener has officially opened. The new firm, based on Peckitt Street, offers, in addition to its private client services, a wide range of commercial services, including commercial property, company and commercial law, litigation, agricultural law and landlord and tenant. The merger of Richardson & Co and Gildeners will unite the exceptional quality services already provided to private individuals in York with the high-class business-based legal services which Richardson & Co specialise in providing, explained Richardson & Co Senior Partner Danny Richardson (pictured left with Gordon Gildener right). This merger provides an opportunity for us to provide the full range of our legal services to those in the York region. 12 Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer Issue 100

13 Sponsored by: NEWS: Business development New Sheffield office for Simpson Millar Simpson Millar LLP is opening an office in Sheffield as well as welcoming a dedicated Business Development Director to expand its work with serious injury charities, support groups and SMEs. The firm already has offices in eight UK cities and Velocity House on Solly Street will be the location for its ninth base. New appointment Chris Rodgers spent almost four years with Yell and was most recently Regional Business Development Manager for Insider Media in Yorkshire. We have been looking to set up an office in Sheffield for some time and now that we are here everyone is keen to start building relationships with local businesses, personal injury charities and trade unions, said the firm s Managing Partner, Peter Watson (pictured above right with Rodgers left). We are constantly looking to refine our portfolio of legal services for core clients and Chris profile matches our growth strategy very well. Relocation for growing Doncaster department Following a past year of substantial growth for Doncaster firm Atherton Godfrey, the expansion of its Clinical Negligence Department has resulted in an office relocation. As a result of the shortage of space at the Hall Gate office, the department has relocated to offices on South Parade. Included in the move is the firm s Senior Partner, Charles Godfrey, who has been based at the offices on Hall Gate since the firm was founded in Pleased with this expansion, Charles commented: Whilst moving offices after over 30 years does seem a little strange, I am delighted that Atherton Godfrey is performing well, especially in the current economic climate. The remaining departments of the firm, including Personal Injury, Clinical Negligence, Family Law and Wills and Probate, will remain at the original premises on Hall Gate. Lupton Fawcett launches new family department Lupton Fawcett LLP has launched a new department specialising in legal advice and representation on all aspects of matrimonial and family issues through the legal aid route. Absolute Family will operate out of the Leeds- and Sheffieldbased commercial firm s South Yorkshire office and will be jointly headed by Rachel Roebuck, one of the region s leading child and family experts, who also sits as a Deputy District Judge, and Ann Miller, a highly experienced family and collaborative lawyer. Childcare issues and relationship breakdown are never easy to deal with and people need all sorts of practical and emotional help, commented Richard Marshall, Managing Director. Whether they are a privately paying client or eligible for representation under the legal aid scheme, our clients will receive the best advice and representation in all areas of family law from a highly skilled and well-respected team with a proven track record. Leeds to stage April CLAN meeting The Commercial Litigation Association (CLAN) is holding an event in Leeds on 7 April. CLAN is a national network of commercial litigators, academics, mediators, litigation funders, in-house lawyers, judges, barristers and solicitors, and exists to champion the cause of all who are involved in the practice and business of commercial dispute resolution in its broadest sense. With a strong national and international network representing the interests of commercial litigators, CLAN provides extensive opportunities to join special campaigns focused on improving the courts, access to networking events and the opportunity to work with other representative groups such as the Law Society of England and Wales, regional law societies, the Bar Council and many others. Over the last 12 months CLAN seminars have been held in Birmingham, Manchester and London. The events have been well-attended and have attracted top-rate speakers and delegates. They involve speaking slots as well as discussion forums and networking opportunities. The focus of the Leeds event will be on the management of costs by the courts, third party funding and access to justice and regulatory change in For further details visit or Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer Issue

14 Would you like to reduce the cost of your employees? It is likely that the most significant cost to your business is your employees, and the National Insurance increase on 6 April is likely to impact on your business costs. Would you like to reduce these costs? Armstrong Watson has a team of specialist advisers who have a great deal of experience in finding ways to save your business money. Our proactive approach helps you reduce your staff overheads, meaning an increase in profitability for your business. If you would like to speak to us about how we can help save your business money, contact us to arrange a free initial meeting. Call Ian Prescott on Leeds Armstrong Watson is registered to carry on audit work by the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and is authorised and regulated by the Financial Services Authority Anakin Seal Legal Recruitment CORPORATE SOLICITOR Leeds to 65,000 Expanding national practice require a dynamic and ambitious corporate solicitor to join their Leeds team.you will undertake a variety of corporate work and are be able to run your own transactions. Ref:EP/ EMPLOYMENT SOLICITOR Leeds from 40,000 Top six law firm are looking for an employment lawyer. The successful candidate will assist on a wide range of contentious and non contentious employment matters and will be dealing with blue chip clients. Ref:EP/ PRIVATE CLIENT LEGAL EXECUTIVE Leeds Competitive Solid regional firm is looking for a private client ILEX to join their Leeds based team. You will be competent managing a caseload of wills, trusts, tax planning and probate. Contentious experience advantageous. Ref:AGI/ CLAIMANT PERSONAL INJURY FEE EARNER Leeds to 35,000 + Benefits Excellent opportunity for a claimant PI fee earner to join this progressive Yorkshire practice. Applicants should have experience managing a caseload of * Number employers' correct and at time o public liability from start to finish. Ref: AGI/ For solicitor appointments please and for legal executive and paralegal appointments please Tel:

15 In association with Quality Briefs NEWS: Appointments No6_banner.indd 1 21/07/ :05 Chris Green Gordons has bolstered its commercial property team with the appointment of Chris Green as a consultant. With 22 years experience at Bradford s Whitaker Firth, he has specialist knowledge of commercial property transactions for both private individuals and corporate clients and joins the 30-strong commercial property team at Gordons. Shulmans Shulmans has made two new appointments to its construction and property litigation division in Michael Grant and specialist construction lawyer Susan Barrington-Binns. Nathan Combes Lee & Priestley LLP has strengthened its employment department with the appointment of Nathan Combes as an associate. He joins the Leeds firm from Harrowells LLP after being recognised by the Legal 500 as a leading expert in the field of employment law with particular expertise in contentious issues. Helen Gott Clarion has expanded its private client team with the appointment of Helen Gott as Associate. She trained with the firm and has now returned after spending two-and-half years with Jordans. Zenith Chambers Jessica Strange and Sobia Ahmed have joined the Crime Team at Zenith Chambers. Strange, a former solicitor, and Ahmed, fresh from the Crown Prosecution Service, have both joined at an exciting time as Zenith is celebrating its 10th anniversary. Rebecca Lovel Williamsons Solicitors has appointed solicitor Rebecca Lovel to the family and childcare department at the firm s Driffield office. Lovel, who is a member of national organisation Resolution, deals with all areas of family law, with particular expertise in issues regarding children, public law care proceedings, separation and divorce. Philip Austick During 32 years with Last Cawthra Feather, Philip Austick has worked his way up the career ladder from legal clerk to paralegal and has now been admitted to the Role of Solicitors. Stephen Elliott Stephen Elliott has joined Langleys where he will lead the York employment team and work closely with the overall unit head Kate Hindmarch. He has over 12 years experience after beginning his career training with Punch Robson in Middlesbrough before moving on to Ward Hadaway, where he became partner. Rowena Rogers Dickinson Dees has strengthened its private client team with the appointment of solicitor Rowena Rogers to the firm s wealth management department. Rogers, who studied at Cambridge University and York College of Law, joins Dickinson Dees from Harrowells solicitors in York. Williamsons Williamsons Solicitors has appointed four trainee solicitors to support its thriving legal practice. Lucy Ordidge, Stephen Orridge, Lindsey Rhodes and Emma Wells have all joined. Sarah Burton Sarah Burton has joined the litigation & dispute resolution department at Keeble Hawson LLP. Burton, who has been a solicitor since 2001, joins the firm as an Associate following a recent move from the Isle of Man, where she had been an Advocate and partner in a leading legal practice for many years. Natalie Saunders Former head of employment and a director at Berwins in Harrogate, Natalie Saunders has established an employment law and HR practice in Leeds. Her new venture, Pharos Legal, advises employers and employees on the full spectrum of employment law and HR issues. Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer Issue

16 Energy efficient Save on time and resources with our online property searches In today s tough market, conveyancers cannot afford to take risks or compromise on quality. Efficiency is the key by taking advantage of SearchFlow s one-stop shop, you can reduce the effort and time taken on processing searches and concentrate on delivering strong client engagement. Highest quality customer service and support Market leader for electronic searches Effective AML tools for both UK citizens and foreign nationals Smart technology to power your business forward. To switch on to SearchFlow: visit or call

17 In association with SPECIAL ANNIVERSARY FOCUS The Leeds Law Society Official Journal April 2010 Issue 90 The Leeds Law Society Official Journal GEARING UP February 2010 Issue 89 Spotting a fake How are Yorkshire chambers preparing for future challenges? Examining the dangers posed by unqualified will writers The Leeds Law Society Official Journal February 2010 Issue 88 The Leeds Law Society Official Journal December 2009 Issue 87 The Leeds Law Society Official Journal November 2009 Issue 86 DIRECTION Developments to come Why leadership training is essential Focussing on 2010 The Leeds Law Society Official Journal October 2009 Issue 85 The Leeds Law Society Official Journal August 2009 Issue 84 TWITTER TO WOO TIME FOR CELEBRATION Issue 83 WHAT BECOMES OF THE BROKEN-HEARTED? How social networking is transforming the way legal firms do business This year s Yorkshire Lawyer Awards The Leeds Law Society Official Journal The Leeds Law Society Official Journal The Leeds Law Society Official Journal April 2009 Issue 80 FLYING SOLO Is now the time to set up as a sole practitioner? 16/3/09 11:31:20 am The Leeds Law Society Official Journal LYL88_TW.indd 1 18/01/ :19 LYL87_EJ.indd 1 23/11/ :56 LYL86_TW.indd 1 27/10/ :40 LYL85_jr.indd /12/ :31 LYL84.indd 1 07/08/ :32 LYL83.indd 1 March 2008 Issue 70 ANYTHING TO DECLARE? The emergence of Leeds as an ADR centre 19/6/09 3:35:43 pm LYL82.indd 1 Celebrating a century LYL_80_jr.indd 1 15/02/ :58 WINDS OF CHANGE THE YORKSHIRE LAWYER AWARDS 2009 Fortune favours the brave LYL89_24.indd 1 May 2009 Issue 81 The search is on...to all our readers, as we look back over another year 15/03/ :33 The Leeds Law Society Official Journal YORKSHIRE LAWYER AWARDS 2009 Recession and divorce settlements SEASON S GREETINGS LYL90_EJ.indd 1 Issue 82 19/5/09 9:26:00 am LYL_81_LT.indd 1 17/4/09 3:10:09 pm The Leeds Law Society Official Journal April 2008 Issue 71 KEEPING THE WHEELS TURNING Local government lawyers at work LYL_71.indd 1 17/4/08 11:09:17 The Leeds Law Society Official Journal Issue 61 MEASURING UP Migrant workers and Yorkshire s lawyers How are Yorkshire s law societies dealing with national issues? Ian McCombie is the Founding Editor of Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer and is a Partner at hlw Commercial Lawyers in Leeds lyl70.indd 1 13/3/08 10:33:58 The Leeds Law Society Official Journal Issue 60 EATEN ALIVE? B The Legal Services Bill are the fat cats really ready to pounce? LYL 60.indd 1 L & ack in June 2001 we took the decision to strike out boldly with a new format for the official publication of the Leeds Law Society. A few months short of a decade later I look back with immense satisfaction on how Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer has evolved from two pages stapled together and sent out to 1,000 local solicitors to the glossy, 40-page magazine which stands before us today and has a monthly circulation of over 7,000. In all honesty I can take little credit for the evolution save a word of guidance here and there as it is fair to say the vision and energy of our publishers Barker Brooks has often been the driving force. All I did was start the ball rolling and, from the launch issue a decade ago, Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer very quickly established its reputation as the best regional law society publication bar none. 19/4/07 1:02:36 pm EEDS YORKSHIRE LAWYER THE LEEDS LAW SOCIETY OFFICIAL JOURNAL 50TH ISSUE THE YORKSHIRE BUILDING SOCIETY The rise of law in the region April 2006 Issue 50 & yleedslawyer LYL 50 REPRO.indd 1 6/4/06 10:06:18 ORKSHIRE THE LEEDS LAW SOCIETY OFFICIAL JOURNAL Watson Burton moves in More freedom for business angels ROYAL ASCOT AT YORK The event of the summer is on its way April 2005 Issue 40 THE LEEDS LAW SOCIETY OFFICIAL JOURNAL ISSUE 30 APRIL 2004 Duty of care A referee s responsibilities PROPERTY LONG LIVE THE LEASE MEDIATION WHY BOTHER? LEEDS & YORKS LAWYER 20 24/4/03 10:44 AM Page 1 LEEDS & YORKS LAWYER 19 XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX THE LEEDS LAW SOCIETY OFFICIAL JOURNAL ISSUE 20 HARROGATE FIRM ON THE MOVE WHITER THAN WHITE? POINTING THE FINGER OVER PROCEEDS OF CRIME CLAMPDOWN ON CRIMINAL LIFESTYLES Page 1 XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX FOCUS ON:BUDGET 2002 YORKSHIRE NEWS WHAT S HAPPENING IN LEGAL CIRCLES E-CONVEYANCING A HOUSE AT THE CLICK OF A MOUSE THE LEEDS LAW SOCIETY OFFICIAL JOURNAL FLYING HIGH CYBERCRIME GETS SOPHISTICATED FUN-LOVIN CRIMINALS? THE LEEDS LAW SOCIETY OFFICIAL JOURNAL Page 1 FOCUS ON INSOLVENCY ATTACK OF THE CLONES 29/4/02 3:18 pm 9:58 AM XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX FOCUS ON ENVIRONMENT LEEDS & YORKS LAWYER 10 19/3/03 ISSUE 10 ISSUE 19 Part of the reason for this success has been the willingness of people to take part, whether it be in the form of offering news items or stating opinions. To this day it remains a positive publication which people want to read. For example, when I go in front of District Judges or talk to young solicitors, they often comment on how much they enjoy reading about the vibrant legal scene that we have here. It hasn t always been easy but it is testament to the strength of the local legal community that the journal continues to evolve and spread its message. So it is with great pleasure that I invite you to turn over the page and digest the views of 100 practitioners on the current state of the profession within our region. After listening to everybody from experienced barristers and managing partners to associates and indeed newcomers to the region, we are proud to present a comprehensive feature which looks at the past, present and future of the legal profession in Leeds and the wider Yorkshire area. Meanwhile, I m sure, like me, you ll wish Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer continued success as we look forward to issue 200 in another 10 years! LYL 61_Repro.indd 1 23/5/07 11:37:16 L & EEDS YORKSHIRE LAWYER THE LEEDS LAW SOCIETY OFFICIAL JOURNAL TRAILBLAZERS A bold new initiative for the legal community May/June 2006 Issue 51 L & LYL_51_.30_05_06.indd 1 30/5/06 10:37:04 am EEDS YORKSHIRE LAWYER THE LEEDS LAW SOCIETY OFFICIAL JOURNAL The Yorkshire Lawyer Awards nominations open Rodney Lester s final article as Law Society President EVER CHANGING STEPHEN HOPKINS ON BALANCING LOCAL RESPONSIBILITIES AND GLOBAL STRATEGY May 2005 Issue 41

18 In association with SPECIAL ANNIVERSARY FOCUS Looking back in time Plenty has happened to the legal profession during the past 10 years, but what was and remains the attraction, and how optimistic are local practitioners? What originally persuaded you to practise here? It was the natural region to choose once the decision had been taken to move away from London. Yorkshire had both the attraction of the established Leeds legal community and the added draw of friends and family. Edward Heaton, Senior Solicitor, Mills & Reeve Having spent my career working in London and internationally I wanted, on a personal and professional level, to seek a new challenge. Yorkshire, and Leeds in particular, felt like the right fit a close-knit but highly talented and skilled professional environment against the backdrop of an area that provides a great quality of life. Plus, to a native Yorkshireman, it has felt like something of a homecoming. David Woolmer, Associate, Walker Morris Leeds has always billed itself as the commercial legal centre of the north, and still does. As a commercial property lawyer, I wanted to move somewhere where I didn t need to compromise on the quality of work. James Speed, Pinsent Masons The Yorkshire marketplace offers a challenging and competitive commercial working environment. With the richness of culture, countryside and vibrant historic cities it is the perfect place to find that balance between a working life and a home life. Jonathan Moore, Associate, Dickinson Dees The market opportunities and expanding commercial base has meant my aspirations continue to be met. Martin Holdsworth, Head of Contentious Wills, Trusts and Probate, Gordons My wife. And a long commute to the (then) Hammonds office in London. Apparently, it would be good for me to take more responsibility picking up the kids from Brownies, Scouts and football practice! I wouldn t swap it for the world now though. Matthew Lewis, Partner and Head of the Employment Practice, Squire, Sanders Hammonds I would like to say that it was a well-thought-out strategy but it was for personal reasons. Having moved from London over 14 years ago, it is the best decision I have made. Rachael Heenan, Partner and Head of the National Health Employment Team, Beachcroft The region has a strong profile as a leading commercial centre and is home to some major national and international businesses. Sarah Taylor, Legal Director, Pinsent Masons Leeds reputation as a professional services centre and the range and depth of commercial activity in the region. Tristan Meears-White, Litigation Partner, DWF Robin Smith is a former Managing Partner of DLA and is the Chairman of Leeds Building Society There has been significant change in the legal profession as evidenced by the number of mergers and the sheer growth in international firms. This process which was undoubtedly underway in 2001 has continued rapidly and, as long as global trends are present, there is no sign that it will end any time soon. We now find ourselves in a better place in one very material respect: the needs of the clients are being better addressed by the depth of expertise, not only in the UK but cross-border. In recent years I have been on the client side of the relationship rather than the lawyer side, and when I have a problem in any of the organisations with which I am involved it is normally a multi-faceted one. For example, with a corporate finance issue I m almost certainly going to need advice on employment law, intellectual property law, immigration law and, if there is an international angle, I will need that advice to be given in an international context. Because of the changes we have seen in the past decade, I can now get the advice I need all under one roof. It is still possible to work on a horses-for-courses basis and hire a number of firms, but in my view that is not what the market wants and not what the market will continue to want. 18 Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer Issue 100

19 In association with SPECIAL ANNIVERSARY FOCUS What have you found to be the most rewarding aspect of working here? Personally, as a matrimonial/ family lawyer, the best thing about working here is the other solicitors dealing in the same area of work. This is probably quite an unusual thing to say, but, when dealing with family cases, it is important to be able to work constructively with the opposing legal team. Justine Osmotherley, Partner, Clarion Yorkshire has everything: glorious countryside, a beautiful coastline, fine historic centres and exciting, forward-thinking cities. I am even getting to rather like Yorkshiremen, which is never an easy admission for a Lancastrian! Paul Jackson, Partner, Russell Jones & Walker The quality and variety of work without the rat race of the capital! Robert Goldstone, Associate, Walker Morris Quality clients, the lack of any significant commute, very pretty surroundings and committed colleagues who work hard, are very supportive and, when appropriate, are great fun. Christopher Newton, Solicitor, Newtons Solicitors It s a place where you work hard but can also relax and enjoy life. Being able to drive to work through the spectacular scenery of the Yorkshire countryside really lifts my spirits before work begins. It also soothes me after a stressful day at work. Marilyn Stowe, Senior Partner, Stowe Family Law The people without question. There is far less politics from what I have seen and generally people are keen to work with each other to share in the common goal. David Eade, Head of Personal Injury, Keeble Hawson Aside from the quality of the work and clients, you have the advantages of working in a great region that boasts major commercial centres as well as beautiful countryside and a dynamic rural economy. Where else could you work and be in the centre of a major metropolitan area and then, 15 minutes later (well, when it s the school holidays at least), be out enjoying some of the most attractive views this country has to offer? Richard Watkinson, Pinsent Masons I m local as I grew up here and a lot of my clients are the same. We do a lot of work with trade unions, like Community for the steel workers, as well as the Police Federation based in Yorkshire. Working nearby means plenty of face-to-face interaction, which is one of the best ways of developing a professional relationship. Sara Heppenstall, Solicitor, Russell Jones & Walker I d say it s the attitude of the people. Leeds is wonderfully diverse and, I feel, a very vibrant and positive place to live and work. Victoria Lungu, Family Law Solicitor, Blacks Solicitors Nigel McClea is the former Head of Pinsent Masons LLP and now acts as a consultant to the firm Speaking from the perspective of a large commercial law firm, what has happened is that those operating in Leeds have given themselves a much wider vision for the provision of legal services than existed 10 years ago. It is true to say that, back then, the vast majority of commercial work done by lawyers here was for clients who were based within a 50-mile radius, but that has now changed dramatically and, today, there are lawyers working in Leeds on behalf of national and international firms. Another sharp trend has been the elimination of private client work from most major law firms. They have realised that their bread and butter is in the corporate legal sphere and that dealing with issues like wills, probate and traffic offences for you and me is not actually what they are about. That s not to say that these issues aren t necessary or valuable, but they have tended to pass down the line to the smaller, family-related firms; indeed most of the big firms have detached their previous family sections out to what are excellent specialists. There has also been an increasing trend towards commoditisation. At one stage lawyers were regarded as witch doctors whom clients should fall in front of in awe and pay in guineas. Now, increasingly savvy clients are seeing lawyers as a vaguely necessarily evil and if they can find a way to drive prices down they will try and do so. Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer Issue

20 Finding a legal indemnity solution in no time When time is tight and you urgently need a legal indemnity policy to help complete the conveyancing process, Isis can help. Call us on and with expert underwriters capable of handling all your enquiries, we won t waste a second in getting a quote to you. Isis_focused on legal indemnities Telephone: DX 5200 Norwich Isis Conveyancing Insurance Specialists Ltd is authorised and regulated by the Financial Services Authority. Firm Reference Number All policies underwritten by Liberty Legal Indemnities at Lloyd s. Stopwatch advert - Leeds & Yorkshire Lawyer 185x135 Our food combines the simplicity of true Italian cooking using only the very best ingredients. Marcello Distefano Managing Director Winner of TWELVE Prestigious Awards Originale Cucina Italiana Winner of TWELVE Prestigious Awards Tel: South Parade, Leeds LS1 5QX London Manchester Birmingham Bristol Leeds Leicester Liverpool Milan Rome Kuwait San Carlo Leeds - yorkshire lawyer.indd 1 8/2/11 17:27:53

Further Accolade for Injury Lawyer. Atherton Godfrey Expands Clinical Negligence Team

Further Accolade for Injury Lawyer. Atherton Godfrey Expands Clinical Negligence Team Issue 1 // Spring 2011 new website launched athertongodfrey.co.uk Law Firm Well Represented at Clinical Negligence Conference Sponsoring Local Sports Stars Relocation of the Commercial and Property Department

More information

The Flying Start Degree Programme Henley Business School at the University of Reading

The Flying Start Degree Programme Henley Business School at the University of Reading The Flying Start Degree Programme Henley Business School at the University of Reading Start your degree Start your career Realise your potential BA Accounting and Business (NN41) Welcome This booklet will

More information

THE RIGHT HON. THE LORD THOMAS OF CWMGIEDD LORD CHIEF JUSTICE OF ENGLAND AND WALES

THE RIGHT HON. THE LORD THOMAS OF CWMGIEDD LORD CHIEF JUSTICE OF ENGLAND AND WALES THE RIGHT HON. THE LORD THOMAS OF CWMGIEDD LORD CHIEF JUSTICE OF ENGLAND AND WALES SPEECH TO THE TEMPLE WOMEN S FORUM AND THE ASSOCIATION OF WOMEN BARRISTERS 29 APRIL 2015 INTRODUCTION 1. Thank you very

More information

The Flying Start Degree Programme Henley Business School at the University of Reading

The Flying Start Degree Programme Henley Business School at the University of Reading The Flying Start Degree Programme Henley Business School at the University of Reading Start your degree Start your career Realise your potential BA Accounting and Business (NN41) The Flying Start Degree

More information

Our Training Contract & Vacation Scheme

Our Training Contract & Vacation Scheme Our Training Contract & Vacation Scheme Welcome Hay & Kilner is based in Newcastle with a branch office in Wallsend. The firm was established in 1946 and we now have over 50 solicitors and legal executives

More information

Family. Supporting you and your family. www.dwf.co.uk

Family. Supporting you and your family. www.dwf.co.uk Family Supporting you and your family Gratefully received Just some of the consistent comments about the DWF Family Team, taken from Chambers Guide, the Legal 500 and our clients feedback over the last

More information

InsideManufacturing Issue 5

InsideManufacturing Issue 5 InsideManufacturing Issue 5 02 Welcome 03 Case study: CPA Joinery Ltd 04 Close Brothers SME Apprenticeship Programme 05 Case study: Southern Precision Ltd 06 Meet Tom Ryan 07 Training Academy 07 Regional

More information

DELIVERING OUR STRATEGY

DELIVERING OUR STRATEGY www.lawsociety.org.uk DELIVERING OUR STRATEGY Our three year plan 2015 2018 >2 > Delivering our strategy Catherine Dixon Chief executive Foreword Welcome to our three year business plan which sets out

More information

1. Outline the qualifications and training required to become a barrister and solicitor, and describe the work each profession carries out.

1. Outline the qualifications and training required to become a barrister and solicitor, and describe the work each profession carries out. AQA LAW - AS EXAMINATIONS Unit 1 - LAW01 - Law Making and the Legal System THE LEGAL PROFESSIONS BARRISTERS and SOLICITORS 1. Outline the qualifications and training required to become a barrister and

More information

Simpson Millar LLP working with the South Yorkshire Police Federation

Simpson Millar LLP working with the South Yorkshire Police Federation Simpson Millar LLP Background Simpson Millar LLP has been providing services to trade unions and their members for well over 100 years. We currently work with the CWU, GMB and a number of other unions

More information

Your career starts here.

Your career starts here. Contact us Tel: 01384 342100 www.higgsandsons.co.uk email.graduaterecruitment@higgsandsons.co.uk Your career starts here. Contents. The facts What we do Before you start Training contract Out of the office

More information

EBulletin. Do you need family advice? Be April aware!

EBulletin. Do you need family advice? Be April aware! EBulletin Winter Edition December 2012 Special points of interest: Family advice? Be April aware Simpson Millar continued to impress at awards ceremony Our services Simpson Millar agrees sponsorship deal

More information

personal injury & clinical negligence in tune with the clients needs, from the very early stages of a claim to final resolution Chambers UK

personal injury & clinical negligence in tune with the clients needs, from the very early stages of a claim to final resolution Chambers UK personal injury & clinical negligence in tune with the clients needs, from the very early stages of a claim to final resolution Chambers UK about devereux We are one of the UK s top civil and commercial

More information

A trusted guide, counsel and expert for the things that matter over a lifetime.

A trusted guide, counsel and expert for the things that matter over a lifetime. A trusted guide, counsel and expert for the things that matter over a lifetime. Life is full of challenges, opportunities and, sometimes, unexpected moments. But they re not the same for everyone we re

More information

Public Sector Charities. Healthcare. Intellectual Property. Sports Construction & Engineering. Partnership. Pensions. Transport Education

Public Sector Charities. Healthcare. Intellectual Property. Sports Construction & Engineering. Partnership. Pensions. Transport Education Accreditation: Panel Admission: 2001 2004 Languages: Location: English United Kingdom MICHAEL ORD Knew his job very well and handled some very difficult issues very competently Mediation Feedback Overview

More information

Wage watch: Legal executives

Wage watch: Legal executives Wage watch: Legal executives This excellent article from the October 2006 Legal Executive Journal is worth a read, so enjoy! John Burns, head of membership interests at ILEX says at this time of year the

More information

Our taught Masters awards in Law:

Our taught Masters awards in Law: School Our taught Masters awards in : Legal Practice Family Healthcare and Ethics International Trade and Commerce International Sports 2 School why choose our law school for your? Welcome to Staffordshire

More information

THE CILEx GUIDE TO LEGAL QUALIFICATIONS

THE CILEx GUIDE TO LEGAL QUALIFICATIONS THE CILEx GUIDE TO LEGAL QUALIFICATIONS YOUR BEST ROUTE TO A CAREER IN LAW ABOUT THE CHARTERED INSTITUTE OF LEGAL EXECUTIVES Founded in 1963 the Chartered Institute of Legal Executives (CILEx) is the professional

More information

CAREERS AND QUALIFICATIONS GUIDE. Earn As You Learn: Your best route to a career as a lawyer

CAREERS AND QUALIFICATIONS GUIDE. Earn As You Learn: Your best route to a career as a lawyer CAREERS AND QUALIFICATIONS GUIDE Earn As You Learn: Your best route to a career as a lawyer THINKING OF A CAREER IN LAW? The Chartered Institute of Legal Executives offers unparalleled access to a flexible

More information

HR Fast Stream Graduate Programme

HR Fast Stream Graduate Programme HR Fast Stream Graduate Programme 02 Contents Welcome p.03 What is the HR Fast Stream Graduate Programme? p.04 What are we looking for? p.07 Your Fast Stream career path p.08 Location p.09 Profiles p.10

More information

School Of Law. The Sheffield Postgraduate Diploma in Legal Practice. Shape your future.

School Of Law. The Sheffield Postgraduate Diploma in Legal Practice. Shape your future. School Of Law. The Sheffield Postgraduate Diploma in Legal Practice Shape your future. Welcome The University of Sheffield is one of only two Russell Group Universities to offer a Legal Practice Course

More information

enoch evans LLP to our services

enoch evans LLP to our services enoch evans LLP Solicitors YOUR GUIDE to our services Enoch Evans LLP is a law firm with offices in Walsall, having over 40 Lawyers and in excess of 65 members of staff. The central location allows the

More information

RECRUITMENT INTERNATIONAL. July 2014

RECRUITMENT INTERNATIONAL. July 2014 Ri RECRUITMENT INTERNATIONAL July 2014 Serocor: Reaching out to outstanding recruiters We first met with the newly formed Serocor in April last year to learn about its beginnings as a specialist Recruitment

More information

Employment and Human Resource - Working With You

Employment and Human Resource - Working With You Employment and Human Resource - Working With You Our team prides itself on offering commercial solutions to an organisation s employment and HR issues. We never lose sight of what good employment law and

More information

Northern. Law Awards 2015 PROPERTY SOLUTIONS. Title Sponsor. Thursday 11th June 2015 The Biscuit Factory. Winner s Guide

Northern. Law Awards 2015 PROPERTY SOLUTIONS. Title Sponsor. Thursday 11th June 2015 The Biscuit Factory. Winner s Guide Northern Law Awards SOLUTIONS 2015 PROPERTY Title Sponsor Thursday 11th June 2015 The Biscuit Factory s Guide 1 HOME OF THE CON29DW We re the North East s provider of the CON29DW Drainage and Water enquiry

More information

InsideManufacturing Issue 4. 02 Welcome 03 Case study: LE-AL Furniture Ltd 04 Regional Growth Fund (RGF) Update

InsideManufacturing Issue 4. 02 Welcome 03 Case study: LE-AL Furniture Ltd 04 Regional Growth Fund (RGF) Update InsideManufacturing Issue 4 02 Welcome 03 Case study: LE-AL Furniture Ltd 04 Regional Growth Fund (RGF) Update 05 Case study: Bromley Sports 07 FAQs 08 Events & Did you know? 02 InsideManufacturing Introduction

More information

Salary Survey 2014. legal talent

Salary Survey 2014. legal talent Salary Survey 2014 legal talent legal talent Welcome to the 2014 edition of enl Legal s annual salary survey. This has been compiled using results gathered from a comprehensive national survey of law firms

More information

Welcome to Pearson Rowe

Welcome to Pearson Rowe Client Testimonials Welcome to Pearson Rowe A leading Birmingham city centre firm of solicitors At Pearson Rowe, we are passionate about providing our clients with the very best legal advice and guidance.

More information

About Just Employment Law. About our team

About Just Employment Law. About our team GLASGOW ABERDEEN LONDON About Just Employment Law The Company Employment law isn t just one of the things we do, it s the only thing we do. Our clients have on their side a team of highly qualified and

More information

Chairman. Deputy Chairs

Chairman. Deputy Chairs Chairman Professor John Angel Retired solicitor Acting President of the General Regulatory Chamber Deputy Judge of the Administrative Appeals Chamber of the Upper. Visiting Professor at the Institute of

More information

Start-Up Loans launches 1000 th young entrepreneur

Start-Up Loans launches 1000 th young entrepreneur PRESS RELEASE Start-Up Loans launches 1000 th young entrepreneur Start-Up Loans, the 112 million Government scheme created to help young people to start their own business, has now supported its 1000 th

More information

SUFFOLK BUSINESS SCHOOL WORKING WITH EMPLOYERS

SUFFOLK BUSINESS SCHOOL WORKING WITH EMPLOYERS SUFFOLK BUSINESS SCHOOL WORKING WITH EMPLOYERS WELCOME TO SUFFOLK BUSINESS SCHOOL THE SUFFOLK BUSINESS SCHOOL AT UCS HAS OVER 700 STUDENTS, WITH A GROWING INTERNATIONAL INTAKE. 92% OF 2013 UCS GRADUATES

More information

Who we are. Our Mission

Who we are. Our Mission Active Member Guide Introduction Welcome to the Royal Town Planning Institute. We are delighted that you have decided to become an active member and hope you will find being actively involved with your

More information

The legal system. Chapter 2 TYPES OF LAW. Criminal and civil law. Public and private law

The legal system. Chapter 2 TYPES OF LAW. Criminal and civil law. Public and private law Chapter This chapter covers the way the English legal system is organised: the two main branches of law; the personnel of the legal system and their roles; and the courts which make up the system. As court

More information

Sheffield Business School

Sheffield Business School Sheffield Business School Study with Sheffield Business School Power up your career prospects Sheffield Business School is a unique place. For a start, we have unusually good relationships with employers

More information

Leadership and Management Training

Leadership and Management Training Bury College Business Solutions Leadership and Management Training The employers choice. For all your company training needs. Bury College Business Solutions - Customer Excellence Award Winner 2011 Develop

More information

Professional Indemnity Division. An Introduction

Professional Indemnity Division. An Introduction 01 Professional Indemnity Division An Introduction 02 Professional Indemnity Division The Howden way We believe in building relationships based on trust and respect. We work with businesses that take their

More information

The Flying Start Degree Programme at Nottingham University Business School Start your degree Start your career Realise your potential

The Flying Start Degree Programme at Nottingham University Business School Start your degree Start your career Realise your potential The Flying Start Degree Programme at Nottingham University Business School Start your degree Start your career Realise your potential BSc Accountancy, N410 The Flying Start Degree Programme One Welcome

More information

Family law. www.leedsday.co.uk. Providing intelligent legal solutions Providing intelligent legal solutions Providing intelligent legal solutions

Family law. www.leedsday.co.uk. Providing intelligent legal solutions Providing intelligent legal solutions Providing intelligent legal solutions Family law The Family team at Leeds Day understands that Family and Matrimonial matters require more than just keen negotiating skills and technical excellence. We never lose sight of the real issues that

More information

Rathbone Greenbank Investments Why invest with us?

Rathbone Greenbank Investments Why invest with us? Rathbone Greenbank Investments Why invest with us? The value of your investments and the income from them may go down as well as up, and you may get back less than you invested. Ethical investors Why invest

More information

North East, Yorkshire & Humberside. November 2013 Special Edition 1 REGIONAL PANEL SOLICITORS

North East, Yorkshire & Humberside. November 2013 Special Edition 1 REGIONAL PANEL SOLICITORS UNITE LEGAL NEWS North East, Yorkshire & Humberside November 2013 Special Edition 1 REGIONAL PANEL SOLICITORS Welcome to a special edition bulletin introducing all of our regional panel solicitors who

More information

LEGAL SUPPORT FOR YOUR BUSINESS

LEGAL SUPPORT FOR YOUR BUSINESS LEGAL SUPPORT FOR YOUR BUSINESS QualitySolicitors Burroughs Day QSBD have taken time to understand our organisation and the way we operate. The relationship we ve developed with them has proven to be invaluable.

More information

The Academy of Experts. Expert Witness Training. Course Programme. Hong Kong www.academy-experts.org THE ACADEMY OF EXPERTS

The Academy of Experts. Expert Witness Training. Course Programme. Hong Kong www.academy-experts.org THE ACADEMY OF EXPERTS THE ACADEMY OF EXPERTS The Academy of Experts Expert Witness Training Course Programme Hong Kong Academy Member Rates for HKAM Members Autumn 2012 Course Programme To book on any of the courses shown here

More information

Insurance. Personal Injury Construction & Engineering. Intellectual Property. Professional Negligence Employment & Workplace

Insurance. Personal Injury Construction & Engineering. Intellectual Property. Professional Negligence Employment & Workplace CEDR Accreditation: CEDR Panel Admission: Languages: 1994 1996 English Location: United Kingdom Robust, sensible, good at knocking heads together and intensely pragmatic Paul Houghton Chambers & Partners

More information

JOB CREATION AND BUSINESS GROWTH IN THE UK.

JOB CREATION AND BUSINESS GROWTH IN THE UK. JOB CREATION AND BUSINESS GROWTH IN THE UK. A PROGRAMME TO STIMULATE JOB CREATION AND ECONOMIC GROWTH. Encouraging entrepreneurial activity in the UK is vital to the health of our economy. We know that

More information

Solicitors. Specialist Solicitor Accountants. Newsletter Winter 2015. Simon Bladen Legal Partner. Introduction

Solicitors. Specialist Solicitor Accountants. Newsletter Winter 2015. Simon Bladen Legal Partner. Introduction Solicitors Specialist Solicitor Accountants Newsletter Winter 2015 Introduction Welcome to our final newsletter of 2015. It has been an interesting year for the sector and as such we have tried to cover

More information

I AM DELIGHTED TO INTRODUCE OUR FIRST COMMUNITY CHARTER, WHICH SETS OUT

I AM DELIGHTED TO INTRODUCE OUR FIRST COMMUNITY CHARTER, WHICH SETS OUT Our community charter VERSION 1: PUBLISHED JULY 2011 WE RE BRITISH LAND WE MANAGE, FINANCE AND DEVELOP SOME OF THE UK S FINEST BUILDINGS I AM DELIGHTED TO INTRODUCE OUR FIRST COMMUNITY CHARTER, WHICH SETS

More information

John Y. Gotanda has been dean of Villanova University School

John Y. Gotanda has been dean of Villanova University School 10 Questions for John Y. Gotanda Dean, Villanova University School of Law and Boston before joining the Villanova faculty in 1994. Courtenay R. Dunn: How is law school different than it was 15 or 20 years

More information

InsideManufacturing. Close Brothers Asset Finance Manufacturing Newsletter Issue 2. 04 Funding to suit your business needs 06 Meet the expert

InsideManufacturing. Close Brothers Asset Finance Manufacturing Newsletter Issue 2. 04 Funding to suit your business needs 06 Meet the expert InsideManufacturing Close Brothers Asset Finance Manufacturing Newsletter Issue 2 02 Welcome 03 Case study ADV Manufacturing Ltd 04 Funding to suit your business needs 06 Meet the expert 07 Case study

More information

Litigation Funding It s all about perspective

Litigation Funding It s all about perspective Litigation Funding It s all about perspective The current litigation landscape from a judicial, barrister, practitioner and funders view. We are delighted to invite you to a full day conference, accredited

More information

USING LAWYERS IN HONG KONG

USING LAWYERS IN HONG KONG USING LAWYERS IN HONG KONG This Guide deals in general terms with using lawyers in Hong Kong. It aims to help a seafarer understand the legal profession in Hong Kong, and how to select, engage and if need

More information

HIGHER DIPLOMA IN PARALEGAL PRACTICE JOINT UNIVERSITY SCHEME

HIGHER DIPLOMA IN PARALEGAL PRACTICE JOINT UNIVERSITY SCHEME Rationale: LG02 Lincoln House, 1-3 Brixton Road, London SW9 6DE info@nationalparalegals.co.uk 0845 862 7000 HIGHER DIPLOMA IN PARALEGAL PRACTICE JOINT UNIVERSITY SCHEME Within the last few years, the term

More information

CLAIMS SERVICE SOLVING THE TOUGHEST PROBLEMS

CLAIMS SERVICE SOLVING THE TOUGHEST PROBLEMS CLAIMS SERVICE SOLVING THE TOUGHEST PROBLEMS 02 CLAIMS SPECIALISTS THE EXCEPTIONAL EVERY DAY We believe that a consistent, high-quality claims service is pivotal to a successful client relationship. We

More information

The impact of corporate reputation on business performance

The impact of corporate reputation on business performance The impact of corporate reputation on business performance Graham McWilliam, Group Director of Corporate Affairs PR Week Reputation Management Strategy Conference 27 November 2012 Thanks James. I m going

More information

It s what you make it...

It s what you make it... It s what you make it... It s what you make it... Help a Formula 1 team secure one of only a few technical geniuses geeky enough to develop the latest engine. Be part of the selection process for a FTSE

More information

The Surrey MBA Surrey Business School

The Surrey MBA Surrey Business School The Surrey MBA Surrey Business School Surrey Business School University of Surrey Surrey Business School provides business and management education to students from around the globe. The quality of our

More information

trust When you choose an accountant, you need someone you can trust. This trust does not come from a job title - it needs to be earned.

trust When you choose an accountant, you need someone you can trust. This trust does not come from a job title - it needs to be earned. about us trust When you choose an accountant, you need someone you can trust. This trust does not come from a job title - it needs to be earned. At Duncan & Toplis we understand this and our clients trust

More information

Head Injuries. Personal Legal Services

Head Injuries. Personal Legal Services Head Injuries Personal Legal Services This information relates to the law and procedures in England and Wales. Please contact us if you need advice about the law and procedure in other legal jurisdictions.

More information

Personal Injury. How we can help

Personal Injury. How we can help Personal Injury How we can help This information relates to the law and procedures in England and Wales. Please contact us if you need advice about the law and procedure in other legal jurisdictions. The

More information

Careers. Accountants and financial planners who care about your future. Accountants Business Advisers Financial Planners

Careers. Accountants and financial planners who care about your future. Accountants Business Advisers Financial Planners Careers Accountants and financial planners who care about your future Accountants Business Advisers Financial Planners Contents and potentially priceless. Chapter 1. Our people 2. School leavers 3. Work

More information

Arctic Oil Campaigner

Arctic Oil Campaigner Arctic Oil Campaigner Fixed Term (12 months) / Full time Greenpeace defends the natural world and promotes peace by investigating, exposing and confronting environmental abuse, and championing environmentally

More information

Chief Executive and Principal

Chief Executive and Principal Chief Executive and Principal Starting school year 2015 2016 Internationally JSD Essentials British 1 Chief Executive and Principal Starting school year 2015 2016 The British School in The Netherlands

More information

CITYACTION EMPLOYABILIT HEART OF THE CITY A THE BARBICAN THE LORD MAYOR SOCIAL INVESTMENT INVOLVEMENT GUIDE THE CITY OF LONDON ECONOMIC RESEARCH

CITYACTION EMPLOYABILIT HEART OF THE CITY A THE BARBICAN THE LORD MAYOR SOCIAL INVESTMENT INVOLVEMENT GUIDE THE CITY OF LONDON ECONOMIC RESEARCH THE CITY OF LONDON HEART OF THE CITY T CITYACTION RESPONSIBLE PROCUREMENT SOCIAL INVESTMENT EMPLOYABILIT Y Y AND LOCAL RECRUITMENT CORPORATE COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT GUIDE RESPONSIBLE CONSTRUCTION ARTS PA

More information

Professional, Personal, Prompt.

Professional, Personal, Prompt. 17 PRIVATE CLIENT SERVICES Professional, Personal, Prompt. eatons-solicitors.co.uk PRIVATE CLIENT SERVICES eatons-solicitors.co.uk Professional, Personal, Prompt. EATON S TEAM If you work within the sport,

More information

Stephen Barker Independent Commercial Mediator 2015 CV

Stephen Barker Independent Commercial Mediator 2015 CV Stephen Barker "His calm approach helped him put the parties at ease, and he was able to quickly narrow the issues, he brings the consequences of going to trial to the clients in a friendly way." Chambers

More information

WHO ARE THE NSW YOUNG LAWYERS?

WHO ARE THE NSW YOUNG LAWYERS? PARTNERSHIP OPPORTUNITY WHO ARE THE NSW YOUNG LAWYERS? Founded more than 50 years ago, NSW Young Lawyers is constituted by 15 substantive committees, a law students committee, an Executive Council of 15

More information

Sydney office - 2016 Firm Profile. Sydney NSW 2000. http://www.klgates.com/ Telephone: (02) 9513 2000. Facsimile: (02) 9513 2399

Sydney office - 2016 Firm Profile. Sydney NSW 2000. http://www.klgates.com/ Telephone: (02) 9513 2000. Facsimile: (02) 9513 2399 Sydney office - 2016 Firm Profile Firm Name: Office address: Website: K&L Gates Level 31, 1 O'Connell Street, Sydney NSW 2000 http://www.klgates.com/ Telephone: (02) 9513 2000 Facsimile: (02) 9513 2399

More information

Welcome to Sheffield The UK s most business friendly city

Welcome to Sheffield The UK s most business friendly city E-learning Welcome to Sheffield The UK s most business friendly city E-learning Sheffield is increasingly being seen nationally and internationally as one of the most business friendly cities in the UK,

More information

EDUCATION SERVICES FREE SCHOOLS. Support in Establishing your Free School

EDUCATION SERVICES FREE SCHOOLS. Support in Establishing your Free School EDUCATION SERVICES FREE SCHOOLS Support in Establishing your Free School 1 INTRODUCING BDO * ONCE YOU HAVE RECEIVED GOVERNMENT APPROVAL TO ESTABLISH A FREE SCHOOL, YOU WILL NOW BE CONSIDERING WHAT HAPPENS

More information

Supporting today, enabling tomorrrow.

Supporting today, enabling tomorrrow. Supporting today, enabling tomorrrow. www.braininjuryexperts.co.uk Taking the decision to make a claim is a big step, and it is important that you meet the people or person who may be handling your claim.

More information

APIL Certificate in Personal Injury Law

APIL Certificate in Personal Injury Law APIL Certificate in Personal Injury Law At APIL, we recognise that many of you and your colleagues have been aspiring to gain recognition of your expertise in carrying out a personal injury caseload. The

More information

PUBLIC. CIVIL JUSTICE COMMITTEE Minutes of the meeting on 12 November 2014 at 10.30 in the Holborn/Lincoln Room, 113 Chancery Lane, London

PUBLIC. CIVIL JUSTICE COMMITTEE Minutes of the meeting on 12 November 2014 at 10.30 in the Holborn/Lincoln Room, 113 Chancery Lane, London Posted on Corporate Business on 10 December 2014 as approved by the Chair Present: Apologies CIVIL JUSTICE COMMITTEE Minutes of the meeting on 12 November 2014 at 10.30 in the Holborn/Lincoln Room, 113

More information

SOLICITORS PROFESSIONAL INDEMNITY INSURANCE APPLICATION FORM

SOLICITORS PROFESSIONAL INDEMNITY INSURANCE APPLICATION FORM SOLICITORS PROFESSIONAL INDEMNITY INSURANCE APPLICATION FORM T L Dallas & Co Ltd Dallas House Low Moor Bradford BD12 0HF Tel: 01274 465500 Fax: 01274 465504 www.tldallas.com PROFESSIONAL INDEMNITY INSURANCE

More information

Inaugural Ms Leneen Forde Public Address

Inaugural Ms Leneen Forde Public Address We are pleased to announce our Inaugural Ms Leneen Forde Public Address to create an ongoing legacy acknowledging the critical importance of child protection This event is named in honour of Ms Leneen

More information

All those working in Unipol are jointly employed by Unipol Student Homes and the University of Leeds.

All those working in Unipol are jointly employed by Unipol Student Homes and the University of Leeds. Unipol Student Homes Digital and Social Marketing Coordinator Full time fixed term for two years This exciting and challenging new post reflects the high priority we are giving to expanding Unipol s digital

More information

END OF YEAR TRAINING CONTRACT SURVEY. Survey of Applicants Views on Applying for Training Contracts in 2009

END OF YEAR TRAINING CONTRACT SURVEY. Survey of Applicants Views on Applying for Training Contracts in 2009 END OF YEAR TRAINING CONTRACT SURVEY 2009 Survey of Applicants Views on Applying for Training Contracts in 2009 A survey carried out by TraineeSolicitor.co.uk www.traineesolicitor.co.uk Contents Page Introduction

More information

InsideManufacturing. Close Brothers Asset Finance Manufacturing Newsletter Issue 1. 04 Sale and HP Back 06 Case Study 3 Dimensional

InsideManufacturing. Close Brothers Asset Finance Manufacturing Newsletter Issue 1. 04 Sale and HP Back 06 Case Study 3 Dimensional InsideManufacturing Close Brothers Asset Finance Manufacturing Newsletter Issue 1 02 Welcome 03 Case Study Metal Co Ltd 04 Sale and HP Back 06 Case Study 3 Dimensional 07 Case Study Nottinghamshire Recycling

More information

Affordable, flexible, listed Grade A office space, in a vibrant community

Affordable, flexible, listed Grade A office space, in a vibrant community dean Clough is ideal for our business requirements. It s an historic setting combined with modern office space, which can be flexible to our changing needs. Adrian Brown, RSA @ dean clough, halifax Affordable,

More information

ONE-STOP. Business Support FUNDING NETWORKS SUPPORT

ONE-STOP. Business Support FUNDING NETWORKS SUPPORT ONE-STOP Business Support FUNDING NETWORKS SUPPORT WELCOME It is an unassailable fact that businesses create jobs. Northamptonshire Enterprise Partnership s (NEP) primary objective is to support Northamptonshire

More information

Holiday Illness. Personal Legal Services

Holiday Illness. Personal Legal Services Holiday Illness Personal Legal Services This information relates to the law and procedures in England and Wales. Please contact us if you need advice about the law and procedure in other legal jurisdictions.

More information

DIPLOMA IN FINANCIAL STRATEGY: PWC SCHOLARSHIP

DIPLOMA IN FINANCIAL STRATEGY: PWC SCHOLARSHIP DIPLOMA IN FINANCIAL STRATEGY: PWC SCHOLARSHIP WWW.SBS.OXFORD.EDU EDUCATING LEADERS FOR 800 YEARS OXFORD DIPLOMA IN FINANCIAL STRATEGY The Oxford Diploma in Financial Strategy is a postgraduate qualification

More information

Wealth Management. Guiding private client investment strategies. Wealth management as it should be

Wealth Management. Guiding private client investment strategies. Wealth management as it should be Wealth Management Guiding private client investment strategies Wealth management as it should be Managing private client wealth for over a century At Smith & Williamson Investment Management, our focus

More information

Capgemini UK Graduate Programmes

Capgemini UK Graduate Programmes What UK Graduate s Next > What You want to be inspired ing alongside industry specialists and thought leaders from all over the world? You want to be at is one of the world s leading suppliers of consulting,

More information

Real Estate Masters. Postgraduate. at Reading. School of Real Estate & Planning

Real Estate Masters. Postgraduate. at Reading. School of Real Estate & Planning School of Real Estate & Planning Real Estate Masters at Reading Postgraduate Real Estate & Planning at Reading The MSc at Reading has given me the understanding and acumen necessary to be propelled into

More information

Undergraduate Courses in Law Leeds Law School. www.leedsmet.ac.uk/fbl

Undergraduate Courses in Law Leeds Law School. www.leedsmet.ac.uk/fbl Undergraduate Courses in Law Leeds Law School www.leedsmet.ac.uk/fbl visit www.leedsmet.ac.uk/fbl for more information LEEDS LAW SCHOOL 1 Contents About Leeds Law School 3 Undergraduate Courses 5-7 Law

More information

Technology in Business Fast Stream Graduate Programme

Technology in Business Fast Stream Graduate Programme Technology in Business Fast Stream Graduate Programme 02 Contents Welcome p.03 What is the Technology in Business Fast Stream? p.04 What are we looking for? p.06 Your Fast Stream career path p.08 Profiles

More information

Building International Capability

Building International Capability Building International Capability Introducing BridgehouseLaw and DWF link TOP 5 5 STAR Futures TOP 10 Employer NPS 61 crisis response pinpoint C.Sat 8.6 30 % FTSE 100 7,764 pro-bono hours invested Better

More information

Newsletter. Stuart Lancaster at Dudley Kingswinford Rugby Football Club ISSUE 9 2015 INSIDE THIS ISSUE

Newsletter. Stuart Lancaster at Dudley Kingswinford Rugby Football Club ISSUE 9 2015 INSIDE THIS ISSUE Newsletter. ISSUE 9 2015 Stuart Lancaster at Dudley Kingswinford Rugby Football Club England Rugby Head Coach, Stuart Lancaster, was the guest of honour at the annual Sporting Dinner at Dudley Kingswinford

More information

Advice Note. An overview of civil proceedings in England. Introduction

Advice Note. An overview of civil proceedings in England. Introduction Advice Note An overview of civil proceedings in England Introduction There is no civil code in England; English civil law comprises of essentially legislation by Parliament and decisions by the courts.

More information

Public Relations and Communications

Public Relations and Communications Public Relations and Communications BA Hons Greenwich Campus gre.ac.uk/business Why study this programme? The public relations (PR) industry has expanded rapidly in the last two decades. It is increasingly

More information

THE FUTURE OF CROWDFUNDING

THE FUTURE OF CROWDFUNDING THE FUTURE OF CROWDFUNDING CROWDFUNDING - THE FUTURE? Presented by KPMG Welcome to the first of our roundtable reports from Tech City News. Our monthly roundtables cover topical issues that affect London

More information

The Big Business & Charity Breakfast. Sponsored by

The Big Business & Charity Breakfast. Sponsored by The Big Business & Charity Breakfast Sponsored by Proud to be involved with Small Charity Week 2014 We work with many smaller charities, not only assisting with financial and tax compliance matters, but

More information

High profile award win. Snow and Ice. Call for Anti-Fraud training. Hilary SPEAKS OUT AT national conference CHARITY TRUSTEE

High profile award win. Snow and Ice. Call for Anti-Fraud training. Hilary SPEAKS OUT AT national conference CHARITY TRUSTEE HI January 2015 High profile award win Snow and Ice Call for Anti-Fraud training Hilary SPEAKS OUT AT national conference CHARITY TRUSTEE Women AND THE British infantry Carry on Fundraising Wills sorted

More information

SUBMISSION TO THE AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION COMMISSION ON THE FUTURE OF LEGAL SERVICES

SUBMISSION TO THE AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION COMMISSION ON THE FUTURE OF LEGAL SERVICES SUBMISSION TO THE AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION COMMISSION ON THE FUTURE OF LEGAL SERVICES 1. INTRODUCTION Slater and Gordon is pleased to provide a submission to the American Bar Association s Commission on

More information

Field Fisher Waterhouse

Field Fisher Waterhouse Field Fisher Waterhouse Field Fisher Waterhouse is more than just a full-service European law firm. It s our ability to embrace change and to navigate and capitalise on the changing market that makes us

More information

Family Law Awards 2015 Celebrating excellence in family law

Family Law Awards 2015 Celebrating excellence in family law 8 OCTOBER GRAND CONNAUGHT ROOMS, LONDON WC2B 5DA #famlawawards 8 OCTOBER GRAND CONNAUGHT ROOMS, LONDON WC2B 5DA Sponsorship packages Principal Sponsor 30,000 + VAT Announcement and presentation of one

More information

W ILLIAMSONS H U L L D R I F F I E L D B R I D L I N G T O N. Help Yourself YOUR CASE IN YOUR CONTROL

W ILLIAMSONS H U L L D R I F F I E L D B R I D L I N G T O N. Help Yourself YOUR CASE IN YOUR CONTROL W ILLIAMSONS S O L I C I T O R S H U L L D R I F F I E L D B R I D L I N G T O N Help Yourself YOUR CASE IN YOUR CONTROL TAKE CONTROL OF YOUR COSTS IT S TIME TO Take Control You ve already taken a decisive

More information

ABS s The Future for Law Firm Investment? (A) investment in law firms by non-lawyers, from individuals to large corporates; and

ABS s The Future for Law Firm Investment? (A) investment in law firms by non-lawyers, from individuals to large corporates; and slaughter and may BRIEFING august 2012 Jeff Triggs 1. Introduction 1.1 What is an ABS? ABS stands for the rather unexciting term Alternative Business Structure. It is a creature of the Legal Services Act

More information

LEGAL SERVICES FOR EXPATS LIVING IN THE UK AND ABROAD

LEGAL SERVICES FOR EXPATS LIVING IN THE UK AND ABROAD LEGAL SERVICES FOR EXPATS LIVING IN THE UK AND ABROAD www.pannone.com Legal Services for Expats Living in the UK and Abroad Pannone offers clear, friendly, straightforward, good advice to its family law

More information