A NATIVITY CAROL. Written by. Joel Newport. Preview Copy Only. MyChristmasPageant.com PREVIEW COPY ONLY.

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "A NATIVITY CAROL. Written by. Joel Newport. Preview Copy Only. MyChristmasPageant.com PREVIEW COPY ONLY."

Transcription

1 A NATIVITY CAROL Written by Joel Newport MyChristmasPageant.com PREVIEW COPY ONLY.

2 Hello? Hello? I m looking for the master carpenters. Yes, yes we re here. Oh, good. I have wonderful news. Pilot needs to order more crosses. It s been a busy month. And why is that such good news? Because you ll be paid for your work. I m not sure that s much motivation anymore. Well, then you ll be arrested and thrown into Caesar's prison. (sighs) How many crosses does Pilot require? I believe ten will suffice. It s been a little busy since Jesus was put to death. Jesus? Yes? Surely you heard? No. Why would Pilot put Jesus to death? He was peaceful. He didn t deserve to die. Well, who ever He was, He s in a tomb right now, sealed up by a giant stone forever. The cross you made was perfect.

3 2. We had no idea. I ll be back tomorrow to pick up the order. Fine, fine. We ll have them ready. Very good. Hail Caesar! & 2 (unenthused) Yeah, Yeah. Hail Caesar... The soldier leaves as enters. Hello Ishmael, Josiah, I ve brought you some dinner. Thank you, Martha. Yes, thank you, I m famished. So, I see we were visited by a soldier. Another order from the Romans? Yes, sadly. More crosses. They never tire of persecuting anyone who doesn t believe as they do. Speaking of that, did you hear? They put Jesus to death. 1 Oh, no! That s terrible. And the worst part, they hung him on a cross we made.

4 3. Martha leaves. Oh, Josiah and Ishmael, I am so sorry. And now we need to make ten more. I just don t think I can do it anymore. Well we have to. If we don t, we ll be the ones in front of Pilot. I know, I know. I ll leave you two alone so you can get your rest. Then tomorrow you can get your work done. She s right. We need to rest. This day has been exhausting. Yes. Perhaps tomorrow will be a better day. The Carpenters lays down. An enters. Master Carpenters? Wake up! What? Who are you? I am an angel of the Lord. Do not be afraid. Are you here to punish us? Why would I punish you?

5 4. We are the carpenters who made the cross where Jesus was hung. I understand, but you must not be dismayed. How can we not? They killed Jesus. Come with me. I have something to show you. I would like to show you the joy of Christmas. Christmas? Never heard of it. To learn about Christmas, we will make three journeys together. First, let s start at the beginning. The first Christmas. Walk around the alter. Shepherds enter. Where are we? Bethlehem. About 30 years ago. Right. Sure we are. (To the Shepherds) Hey! Kind shepherds! Can you tell me where we are? They cannot answer you. They can t see or hear any of us. So why are we here? So you can see something amazing. Just watch. SHEPHERD 1 Lovely night.

6 5. 2 enters. SHEPHERD 2 It certainly is. That star is so bright, I can see all the way down the hill to Bethlehem. SHEPHERD 1 Well, something is going on. Everything seems different tonight. Even the sheep are acting funny. Like they re waiting for something. Look! SHEPHERD 2 The shepherds drop to their knees. 2 Shepherds. Do not be afraid; for behold, I bring you good news of great joy which will be for all the people; for today in the city of David there has been born for you a Savior, who is Christ the Lord. This will be a sign for you: you will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger. Wait. Who are they talking about? Who has been born? The angel takes their hands and leads them away. Where are we going now? They travel around the alter and arrive at the manger scene. MARY, JOSEPH and the Shepherds are there. Three KINGS enter as well. KING 1 Greetings. We are kings from the East. KING 2 We have seen the star in the heavens. KING 3 A sign. From God. Announcing the birth of his son.

7 6. This is amazing! The birth of the Son of God? I can t believe we re seeing this. KING 1 We bring gifts to honor the Heavenly King. The first King kneels before the manger. KING 1 (CONT D) Gold. A true gift fit for a king. The King 2 kneels before the manger. King 3 Kneels. KING 2 The precious perfume Frankincense. KING 3 And the royal anointing oil, myrrh. This is the most incredible thing I ve ever witnessed. It s not everyday the Son of God is born. The Son of God? Born here? In a stable? Yes. Why would God allow his Son to be born here? In a dirty, dark stable? The Kings from the East said themselves. This child is a King, worthy of all the riches of the Earth. But understand, He is not and earthly king. He is a heavenly king. Sent from God to live among us as a man.

8 7. What is His name? Just listen. SONG: AWAY IN A MANGER Wait? Did I hear Lord Jesus? Yes. You did. This is Jesus of Nazareth. So Jesus, was the Son of God? Why are you showing this to us? Isn t there someone more important to show this glorious vision too? No Ishmael, it s important that you and Josiah see this. Look closely at the manger. The Carpenter moves to the manger and examines it. This looks just like the mangers we used to build. That s because it is. So we built the manger where the Son of God spent His first days on Earth. But then he was killed, over 30 years later on a cross that was also built by us. How is that supposed to make us feel better? It s time to go. Go? But we have so many questions. I understand. But not tonight. Just lay down now and rest.

9 8. The Carpenters lay down. All the other characters sit back down, leaving the Carpenters alone on the stage. Martha enters. Josiah, Ishmael! It s getting late. What are you doing? The Josiah and Ishmael sit up, still groggy. I don t know. We must have slept in. Well, you better get a move on. You promised the Romans ten crosses. We know, we know. We will get on that right away. You better. We don t need the Romans angry with us. It s hard enough as it is to get by. I just had the strangest dream. I was with an Angel, and she showed me that Jesus was the Son of God. I had the exact same dream! As strange as it is that both of you claim to have had the same dream, none of that matters now. Jesus has been crucified. Your right. It was just a crazy dream. We ll get to work. Martha leaves and the Carpenter picks up his tools to get start working. The Angel appears again. Hello, master carpenter.

10 9. You again? I m not asleep, so I must be going mad. Well if your going mad, so am I because I see her too! Look, we need to work. We have to get this order finished for the Romans. I understand. But I have something else for you too see. I don t think I can handle another trip back in time. No, we will not be going back in time. Good. It s time to visit Christmas present. Or more specifically, why Christmas will become so important. The Angel and the Carpenter walk around the alter. Where are we now? The tomb. Where Jesus was buried. You mean is buried, right? But the tomb is empty. MARY MAGDALENE enters, crying. 2 approaches. 2 Woman, why are you crying?

11 10. MARY MAGDALENE Someone has taken my Lord away and I don t know where they have put him. JESUS enters behind Mary Magdalene. JESUS Woman, who is it you are looking for? MARY MAGDALENE Oh, sir, if you have carried him away, please, tell me where you have put him and I will get him. Mary. JESUS Mary drops to her knees in front of Jesus. Teacher! MARY MAGDALENE Wait a minute! Jesus is alive? How is that possible? He is the Son of God. He has risen, to fulfill the Word of God by defeating death itself, so that who ever believes in him shall not parish but have everlasting life. So this is why Christmas is important. Yes. Today, because of Christ s resurrection, Christmas will now be celebrated by all who believe. This is incredible. Everyone leaves the stage, but the Carpenter. (CONT D) Wait, where are you going? We have more questions? Don t go now. The carpenters spin around a few times as Martha enters.

12 11. Josiah! Ishmael! Have you heard? Heard what? Jesus! He has risen. He s alive. So it s true? Jesus is alive? Yes. Everyone s talking about it. I m heading into town now to see if I can learn more. Okay. Good idea. We will stay here and keep working - but please come back and tell us what you have learned. Martha leaves and the Angel returns. You again? Yes, It s me. It s time for us to take our third and final journey. So it appears that everything you ve showed us is true. You ve showed us the birth of Jesus and then his resurrection. What more could you possibly need with us? I want to show you Christmas future? Well, I don t suppose we have a choice? They walk around the alter. All the Shepherds, the Kings and Mary and Joseph return to the stage at the manger. Where are we? This place is so strange, yet so familiar.

13 12. It is a house of worship. More than 2,000 years in the future. 2,000 years! Yes. It s a Christmas celebration not only 2,000 years in the future, but halfway around the world. Jesus impact is still being felt? So far in the future and by so many people... It certainly is. Just watch. The smaller children dance. That was beautiful. It s wonderful to see all ages take part in Christmas worship. It is a special time of year. One filled with peace, love, joy and song. All in the celebration of the birth of Jesus. And this far in the future, people still know the story? How Jesus was born in a stable? I think you ll be surprised how much of Jesus birth is remembered. KING 1 In those days Caesar Augustus issued a decree that a census should be taken of the entire Roman world. KING 2 This was the first census that took place while Quirinius was governor of Syria.

14 13. JOSEPH And everyone went to his own town to register. So Joseph also went up from the town of Nazareth in Galilee to Judea, to Bethlehem the town of David, because he belonged to the house and line of David. MARY He went there to register with Mary, who was pledged to be married to him and was expecting a child. 6 While they were there, the time came for the baby to be born, and she gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and placed him in a manger, because there was no room for them in the inn. SHEPHERD 1 And there were shepherds living out in the fields nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night. SHEPHERD 2 An angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified. 2 But the angel said to them, "Do not be afraid. I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people. Suddenly a great company of the heavenly host appeared with the angel, praising God and saying, Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace to men on whom his favor rests." SING: S WE HAVE HEARD ON HIGH SHEPHERD 1 When the angels had left them and gone into heaven, the shepherds said to one another, "Let's go to Bethlehem and see this thing that has happened, which the Lord has told us about."

Sermon for Christmas Eve Christmas Means Your Savior Is Born Luke 2:10-11 12/24/14b

Sermon for Christmas Eve Christmas Means Your Savior Is Born Luke 2:10-11 12/24/14b Sermon for Christmas Eve Christmas Means Your Savior Is Born Luke 2:10-11 12/24/14b Then the angel said to them, Do not be afraid, for behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy which will be to all

More information

Bible for Children. presents THE BIRTH OF JESUS

Bible for Children. presents THE BIRTH OF JESUS Bible for Children presents THE BIRTH OF JESUS Written by: Edward Hughes Illustrated by: M. Maillot Adapted by: E. Frischbutter and Sarah S. Produced by: Bible for Children www.m1914.org 2007 Bible for

More information

Nativity Program Night of Miracles

Nativity Program Night of Miracles Nativity Program Night of Miracles Introduction The night of our Savior s birth was miraculous for many reasons. It was an unforgettable night a night when centuries old prophecy came miraculously true,

More information

JUST A LITTLE CHRISTMAS

JUST A LITTLE CHRISTMAS Type: For: Characters: Costumes: Props: Optional: Sound: Setting: JUST A LITTLE CHRISTMAS A Christmas Skit Elementary age children (Children s Version) About 12 actors and actresses: Narrators (1-3) Mary

More information

September Matthew 5:1-12

September Matthew 5:1-12 September Matthew :- Seeing the crowds, he went up on the mountain, and when he sat down, his disciples came to him. And he opened his mouth and taught them, saying: Blessed are the poor in spirit, for

More information

NOTES to accompany Powerpoint presentation

NOTES to accompany Powerpoint presentation Meaningful Chocolate 2014 Resources for Advent Assembly Title 1: Which parts of Christmas do we celebrate? KS1-2 NOTES to accompany Powerpoint presentation Assembly 1: Which parts of Christmas do we celebrate?

More information

THE BLESSINGS OF CHRISTMAS TODAY

THE BLESSINGS OF CHRISTMAS TODAY #5147 THE BLESSINGS OF CHRISTMAS TODAY (The program requires a Narrator and a Leader. To enhance the program with a visual presentation, build a creche scene by adding the figures to the display as they

More information

THE CHRISTMAS NATIVITY. (Script adapted/quoted from the New International Version of the Bible) (Matthew 1-2 and Luke 1-2) Annette McDermott

THE CHRISTMAS NATIVITY. (Script adapted/quoted from the New International Version of the Bible) (Matthew 1-2 and Luke 1-2) Annette McDermott THE CHRISTMAS NATIVITY (Script adapted/quoted from the New International Version of the Bible) (Matthew 1-2 and Luke 1-2) by Annette McDermott (c) 2014, LoveToKnow.com. LoveToKnow grants permission for

More information

Manger Mania. Script. Summary. Characters. Scene 1. Song #1 Friendly Beast (2:32) 2/3 Room with audience while kids play instruments

Manger Mania. Script. Summary. Characters. Scene 1. Song #1 Friendly Beast (2:32) 2/3 Room with audience while kids play instruments Manger Mania A musical by Raymond J. Lombardi (with adaptation by Susie Hostetler, Abby McCune, and Christina Johnson) (Note: a royalty is required for this script. For conditions, see details at the foot

More information

Angels And Shepherds Luke 2:8-20

Angels And Shepherds Luke 2:8-20 Lesson 208 Angels And Shepherds Luke 2:8-20 MEMORY VERSE LUKE 2:11 For there is born to you this day in the c ity of D av id a S avior, who is the Christ the Lord. WHAT YOU WILL NEED: As many 8.5"x11"

More information

Devotion NT207 CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE WEEK OF: LESSON TITLE: The Birth of Jesus. THEME: God is in control of all things. SCRIPTURE: Luke 2:1-7

Devotion NT207 CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE WEEK OF: LESSON TITLE: The Birth of Jesus. THEME: God is in control of all things. SCRIPTURE: Luke 2:1-7 Devotion NT207 CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE WEEK OF: LESSON TITLE: The Birth of Jesus THEME: God is in control of all things. SCRIPTURE: Luke 2:1-7 Dear Parents Welcome to Bible Time for Kids! Bible Time

More information

A CHRISTMAS NATIVITY PLAY FOR CHILDREN. (Script adapted/quoted from the New International Version of the Bible; Luke 1 and 2) Annette McDermott

A CHRISTMAS NATIVITY PLAY FOR CHILDREN. (Script adapted/quoted from the New International Version of the Bible; Luke 1 and 2) Annette McDermott A CHRISTMAS NATIVITY PLAY FOR CHILDREN (Script adapted/quoted from the New International Version of the Bible; Luke 1 and 2) by Annette McDermott (c) 2014, LoveToKnow.com. LoveToKnow grants permission

More information

NOTES to accompany Powerpoint presentation

NOTES to accompany Powerpoint presentation Meaningful Chocolate 2014 Resources for Advent Assembly Title 5: A family Christmas KS1-2 NOTES to accompany Powerpoint presentation Assembly 5: A family Christmas KS1-2 1 Aim: To review the different

More information

The Birth of Jesus Christ Brought Joy to the Earth

The Birth of Jesus Christ Brought Joy to the Earth Lesson 7 The Birth of Jesus Christ Brought Joy to the Earth Purpose To help each child feel the joy that Jesus Christ s birth brought to the earth. Preparation 1. Prayerfully study Luke 2:1 20. 2. Bring

More information

LESSON 2: JESUS, THE LIGHT OF THE WORLD, IS BORN

LESSON 2: JESUS, THE LIGHT OF THE WORLD, IS BORN LESSON 2: JESUS, THE LIGHT OF THE WORLD, IS BORN Leader Guide for One Room Classroom: M y Classroom Luke 2:1-20 06/06/2016 Teachers Dig In Dig In to the Bible Read: Luke 2:1-20 In This Passage: Mary and

More information

The children will learn about the glad tidings of great joy, the gospel or good news, of Christ s birth.

The children will learn about the glad tidings of great joy, the gospel or good news, of Christ s birth. Lesson 12: Advent III - The Shepherds HEAR the Good News Goal: The children will remember that advent means the coming of Jesus Christ the Gospel of Luke Chapter 1, tells of Gabriel s visit to Mary that

More information

December 15-16, Wise Men Worship. Matthew 2. The wise men worshiped and we can too!

December 15-16, Wise Men Worship. Matthew 2. The wise men worshiped and we can too! rd 3 5 th December 15-16, 2012 Wise Men Worship Matthew 2 The wise men worshiped and we can too! Play games and hang out (10 minutes) Large group (30 minutes) Small group (20 minutes) Video/song review

More information

The Gift That Keeps On Giving December 24, 2013

The Gift That Keeps On Giving December 24, 2013 Luke 2:1-20 The Gift That Keeps On Giving December 24, 2013 This is one of the most wonderful times of the year it s Christmas Eve and many are waiting with anticipation to see what gifts we get. Many

More information

NURSERY NATIVITY SCRIPT SAMPLE

NURSERY NATIVITY SCRIPT SAMPLE SYNOPSIS NURSERY NATIVITY Poem 1: Welcome to our Nursery Nativity SCRIPT SAMPLE Song 1: Where will Mary have her baby? Mary, Joseph and donkey travel to Bethlehem. Innkeepers 1 & 2 turn them away, Innkeeper

More information

Printable Nativity Scenes

Printable Nativity Scenes Printable Nativity Scenes www.gospelhall.org The following pages contain cutout materials you can use to create a nativity scene featuring shepherds, the manger, Joseph and Mary. However, you will notice

More information

Advent Family Devotional

Advent Family Devotional Advent Family Devotional For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince

More information

GLENVIEW NEW CHURCH SUNDAY MORNING PROGRAM Preschool Lessons, Phase 2 Lesson 14 The Wise Men (Matthew 2:1-12)

GLENVIEW NEW CHURCH SUNDAY MORNING PROGRAM Preschool Lessons, Phase 2 Lesson 14 The Wise Men (Matthew 2:1-12) GLENVIEW NEW CHURCH SUNDAY MORNING PROGRAM Preschool Lessons, Phase 2 Lesson 14 The Wise Men (Matthew 2:1-12) Theme: Christmas - The Lord's Birth I. Underlying Ideas for the Teacher A. The Lord's corning

More information

The Colors of Christmas

The Colors of Christmas The Colors of Christmas A Children s Celebration of the Nativity By Dottie Lafferty Setting: Scene: Characters: Opening: Child1: Child2: Child3: Child4: Child5: Grandma s Living Room The only props will

More information

Just a Little Christmas (Teens Version)

Just a Little Christmas (Teens Version) Type: For: Characters: Costumes: Props: Optional: Sound: Setting: A Christmas Skit Just a Little Christmas (Teens Version) Young Teens to perform for Younger Audiences. About 12 actors and actresses: Narrators

More information

The Birth of Jesus Foretold

The Birth of Jesus Foretold GOSPEL STORY CURRICULUM (NT) PRESCHOOL LESSON 1 The Birth of Jesus Foretold LUKE 1:26 38 BIBLE TRUTH THE BABY TO BE BORN TO MARY WOULD BE THE SAVIOR OF THE WORLD l e s s o n snapshot 1. OPENING ACTIVITY

More information

A Very Merry Christmas!

A Very Merry Christmas! A Very Merry Christmas! It s that time of year to spread Christmas cheer and celebrate Jesus. There s joy in the air. There s holiday sounds and love all around. Church bells are ringing! They re all over

More information

"Every man shall give as he is able, according to the blessing of the LORD your God that he has given you." Deuteronomy 16:17

Every man shall give as he is able, according to the blessing of the LORD your God that he has given you. Deuteronomy 16:17 Making cookies is a favorite pasttime for most families during the Christmas season. Cookie cutters are used to turn ordinary cookie dough into edible masterpieces. God doesn't use any cookie cutters when

More information

Advent Devotions for Families with Children

Advent Devotions for Families with Children Advent Devotions for Families with Children Age 3-5th Grade http://www.dltk-holidays.com /xmas/color/daubers/index.htm Introduction What is Advent? The season of Advent is a time when individuals prepare

More information

Christmas in black and white it s plain as day and night Look through God s Word and you ll see Christmas in black and white.

Christmas in black and white it s plain as day and night Look through God s Word and you ll see Christmas in black and white. Song: Christmas in Black & White Your favorite Christmas colors may be red and green Or you may be someone who likes a different scheme But once you realize what Christmas really means You ll see the colors

More information

To us a child is born, a son is given To us a child is born, a son is given, is given

To us a child is born, a son is given To us a child is born, a son is given, is given To Us a Child Is Born To us a child is born, a son is given To us a child is born, a son is given, is given Joy to the world, the lord is come. Let earth receive her king. Let ev ry heart prepare him room

More information

Lighting the Advent Wreath

Lighting the Advent Wreath Lighting the Advent Wreath Advent comes from the Latin word 'adventus' meaning 'Coming.' Advent begins the church year starting four Sundays before Christmas. The season of Advent has been set aside as

More information

Christmas by The Book By Sharon Kay Chatwell

Christmas by The Book By Sharon Kay Chatwell Christmas by The Book By Sharon Kay Chatwell TYPE: LENGTH: Traditional Christmas Skit for Older Children and Youth (10 18 yrs.) 20 minutes (without the optional Christmas Carols) PARTS: NARRATOR #1 NARRATOR

More information

Wise Men from Afar. Coloring page for each child. Glue, gold glitter, and newspaper. Costumes for skit (Optional) See skit for costume ideas.

Wise Men from Afar. Coloring page for each child. Glue, gold glitter, and newspaper. Costumes for skit (Optional) See skit for costume ideas. Wise Men from Afar Teacher Pep Talk: Say you are a wise man. You study the stars. In addition you have a working knowledge of mathematics and have read the ancient Hebrew scriptures. You know that one

More information

February 2014 Angels in Art

February 2014 Angels in Art February 2014 Angels in Art By Sharon Jeffus In this first lesson of the New Year, I want to quote Billy Graham. The evangelist once said, Believers look up, for the angels are nearer than you think. Angels

More information

Handouts for Mary, Mother of Jesus Session

Handouts for Mary, Mother of Jesus Session Handouts for Mary, Mother of Jesus Session 1. Opening Prayer 2. The Perfect Life 3. Fruit of the Womb 4. Mary in Luke 5. Mary in Mark and Luke 6. Gift or Curse? 7. Mary s Gifts 8. My Gifts 9. Visitation

More information

LESSON TITLE: The Last Supper. Maidens. THEME: Jesus is the Passover lamb. SCRIPTURE: Luke 22:7-10 CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE WEEK OF:

LESSON TITLE: The Last Supper. Maidens. THEME: Jesus is the Passover lamb. SCRIPTURE: Luke 22:7-10 CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE WEEK OF: Devotion NT269 CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE WEEK OF: Maidens LESSON TITLE: The Last Supper THEME: Jesus is the Passover lamb. SCRIPTURE: Luke 22:7-10 Dear Parents Welcome to Bible Time for Kids. Bible

More information

MARY PONDERS, DO WE?

MARY PONDERS, DO WE? MARY PONDERS, DO WE? The Word of God on this Christmas Day is Luke 2:19 which reads: And Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart. So far the text. The glory of God has been revealed,

More information

BECOMING A CHRISTIAN UNDERSTANDING THE BASICS

BECOMING A CHRISTIAN UNDERSTANDING THE BASICS BECOMING A CHRISTIAN UNDERSTANDING THE BASICS 1 BECOMING A CHRISTIAN UNDERSTANDING THE BASICS God created us and loves us so much He wants to have a personal relationship with us. But, HOW? one might well

More information

The Christmas Star: The Mystical Story of the Three Wise Men

The Christmas Star: The Mystical Story of the Three Wise Men The Christmas Star: The Mystical Story of the Three Wise Men Part 2: Epiphany The Gifts of the Three Wise Men Do you know what gifts that the Three Wise Men brought to the baby Jesus? They brought gold,

More information

Merry Christmas from LifeWay Kids!

Merry Christmas from LifeWay Kids! FAMILY ADVENT GUIDE Merry Christmas from LifeWay! Use these devotions, activities, and connection questions to help your family rest in the love, peace, joy, and hope that only Jesus can bring. He s the

More information

Devotion NT267 CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE WEEK OF: LESSON TITLE: The Second Coming. THEME: Jesus is coming again. SCRIPTURE: Matthew 24:27-31

Devotion NT267 CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE WEEK OF: LESSON TITLE: The Second Coming. THEME: Jesus is coming again. SCRIPTURE: Matthew 24:27-31 Devotion NT267 CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE WEEK OF: LESSON TITLE: The Second Coming THEME: Jesus is coming again. SCRIPTURE: Matthew 24:27-31 Dear Parents Welcome to Bible Time for Kids. Bible Time for

More information

A CHRISTMAS TO BELIEVE IN

A CHRISTMAS TO BELIEVE IN A CHRISTMAS TO BELIEVE IN Christmas skit for teens. Cast requires 7 or more actors. Traditional Christmas theme. CAST Narrator #1 (male or female) Narrator #2 (male) Mary (female) Joseph (male) Angel (male

More information

WELCOME TO GOD S FAMILY

WELCOME TO GOD S FAMILY WELCOME TO GOD S FAMILY To all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband

More information

THE ROAD TO EMMAUS (B.1.SPRING.10)

THE ROAD TO EMMAUS (B.1.SPRING.10) THE ROAD TO EMMAUS (B.1.SPRING.10) Biblical Reference Luke 24:13-35 Key Verse Luke 24:34, John 8:58 Key Concept By faith I believe in the resurrection of Jesus Christ. Educational Objectives At the end

More information

GOD WITH US: A NATIVITY PLAY FROM TEARFUND

GOD WITH US: A NATIVITY PLAY FROM TEARFUND PAGE 1 OF 7 GOD WITH US: A NATIVITY PLAY FROM TEARFUND This is a traditional, Bible-based Nativity play script for children aged four and over. There are two variations, the first where the children learn

More information

Jesus at the Temple (at age 12)

Jesus at the Temple (at age 12) Jesus at the Temple (at age 12) Teacher Pep Talk: Twelve sounds so grown up, especially when you are a Little Guy! But to us adults, 12 seems really young to be doing some of the things Jesus was doing

More information

THE FIRST CHRISTMAS: A CHILDREN S CHRISTMAS PAGEANT by Louise Egan. A One-Act Play

THE FIRST CHRISTMAS: A CHILDREN S CHRISTMAS PAGEANT by Louise Egan. A One-Act Play THE FIRST CHRISTMAS: A CHILDREN S CHRISTMAS PAGEANT by Louise Egan A One-Act Play The First Christmas (c) 2002 Louise Egan (In the center of the stage is a stable, open on all sides, its four supports

More information

LESSON TITLE: Jesus Heals Blind Bartimaeus

LESSON TITLE: Jesus Heals Blind Bartimaeus Devotion NT257 CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE WEEK OF: LESSON TITLE: Jesus Heals Blind Bartimaeus THEME: Jesus always has time for us! SCRIPTURE: Mark 10:46-52 Dear Parents Welcome to Bible Time for Kids!

More information

THEME: Jesus sent the Holy Spirit to indwell and empower us.

THEME: Jesus sent the Holy Spirit to indwell and empower us. Devotion NT285 CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE WEEK OF: LESSON TITLE: The Day of Pentecost THEME: Jesus sent the Holy Spirit to indwell and empower us. Dear Parents SCRIPTURE: Acts 2:1-41 Dear Parents, Welcome

More information

THE JOURNEY TO JERUSALEM

THE JOURNEY TO JERUSALEM BOOK 3, PART 1, LESSON 1 THE JOURNEY TO JERUSALEM THE BIBLE: Luke 19:29-40 THEME: We remember that Jesus taught about love and showed love in everything he did. During Lent and Easter, we remember and

More information

Is There Room for Jesus Under Your Christmas Tree?

Is There Room for Jesus Under Your Christmas Tree? Is There Room for Jesus Under Your Christmas Tree? Behold, I stand at the door and knock; anyone who hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in. (Revelations 3:20). Children s Sermon By Brenda Carpenter

More information

Fridge Memory Reminder

Fridge Memory Reminder APPLE ACRES ENTRANCE BOOKLET BEAR HUG A: Due on Parent Night; Cubbies Key Verse 1 John 4:10: God loved us and sent His Son None The Big Apple: God loves us very much! He sent His Son to be our Savior.

More information

CHRISTMAS QUIZ ANSWERS. 1) According to the Bible, how did Mary and Joseph travel to Bethlehem?

CHRISTMAS QUIZ ANSWERS. 1) According to the Bible, how did Mary and Joseph travel to Bethlehem? CHRISTMAS QUIZ ANSWERS 1) According to the Bible, how did Mary and Joseph travel to Bethlehem? It does not say how they traveled however due to the fact that they were poor as seen in the offering offered

More information

God Is Good. Pre-Session Warm Up. Opening Prayer. Memory Verse. Lesson. Psalm 103:1. (Psalm 103)

God Is Good. Pre-Session Warm Up. Opening Prayer. Memory Verse. Lesson. Psalm 103:1. (Psalm 103) God Is Good (Psalm 103) Psalm 103:1 Let all that I am praise the Lord; with my whole heart, I will praise his holy name. Pre-Session Warm Up Have you ever been ungrateful to someone who has been kind and

More information

LIFE OF CHRIST from the gospel of

LIFE OF CHRIST from the gospel of LIFE OF CHRIST from the gospel of Mark Lesson 8 Jesus Enters jerusalem Mark 11:1-11 Created for use with young, unchurched learners Adaptable for all ages including adults Mission Arlington/Mission Metroplex

More information

UNIQUENESS OF JESUS CHRIST: HIS DEATH 1 PETER 1:3

UNIQUENESS OF JESUS CHRIST: HIS DEATH 1 PETER 1:3 UNIQUENESS OF JESUS CHRIST: HIS DEATH 1 PETER 1:3 Jesus Christ is unique and last week I talked about THE UNIQUENESS OF JESUS: HIS LIFE and this week THE UNIQUENESS OF JESUS: HIS DEATH. Jesus death was

More information

Come adore Him, Come, Come adore Him. Come adore Him, Come, Come adore Him. O come, O come Emmanuel, and ransom captive Israel

Come adore Him, Come, Come adore Him. Come adore Him, Come, Come adore Him. O come, O come Emmanuel, and ransom captive Israel O COME, O COME EMMANUEL [Em] Come adore Him, Come, Come adore Him Come adore Him, Come, Come adore Him Verse 1 O come, O come Emmanuel, and ransom captive Israel That mourns in lowly exile here, until

More information

The Story of Holy Week

The Story of Holy Week The Story of Holy Week The Bible tells us that Jesus had many friends. He liked to be with them. He taught them many things. Yet the time came for His Passion. That meant it was time for Him to suffer

More information

Angels we have heard on high sweetly singing o er the plains. And the mountains in reply echoing their joyous strains.

Angels we have heard on high sweetly singing o er the plains. And the mountains in reply echoing their joyous strains. Eleven Christmas Carols with Suggested Alternate Words All words adapted from the Wings of Song hymnal. Suggested altered words are in red. The purpose was to change as few words as possible and stay congruent

More information

Theme: The deliverance of the Israelites from Egypt demonstrates God s power

Theme: The deliverance of the Israelites from Egypt demonstrates God s power Title: THE LIBERATING POWER AND LOVE OF GOD Theme: The deliverance of the Israelites from Egypt demonstrates God s power Bible Basis: Genesis 15:13-15 CEV; Exodus 1-12* Introduction: We have been learning

More information

LESSON TITLE: Jesus is the Way, the Truth, and the Life

LESSON TITLE: Jesus is the Way, the Truth, and the Life Devotion NT271 CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE WEEK OF: LESSON TITLE: Jesus is the Way, the Truth, and the Life THEME: We can always trust Jesus. SCRIPTURE: John 14:1-6 Dear Parents Welcome to Bible Time

More information

CHORUS Hosanna! Hosanna! (Rejoice) Hosanna! Hosanna! (Rejoice) Lift up your voices and sing. Who took children into his arms (Only the one )

CHORUS Hosanna! Hosanna! (Rejoice) Hosanna! Hosanna! (Rejoice) Lift up your voices and sing. Who took children into his arms (Only the one ) HOSANNA! Who spoke words of wisdom and life? Only the one they call Jesus Understood what people are like, Nobody other than him. Who performed miraculous signs? Only the one they call Jesus Healed the

More information

PRAYING for OUR YOUTH CELEBRATING WORLD YOUTH DAY

PRAYING for OUR YOUTH CELEBRATING WORLD YOUTH DAY PRAYING for OUR YOUTH CELEBRATING WORLD YOUTH DAY We have come to worship Him. Matthew 2:2 Thousands of high school and college aged students along with young adults from all over the world will gather

More information

A vision of the Return of Jesus and the Day of Judgment, given to a young Asian girl named Sarang.

A vision of the Return of Jesus and the Day of Judgment, given to a young Asian girl named Sarang. A vision of the Return of Jesus and the Day of Judgment, given to a young Asian girl named Sarang. The following is an interview with Sarang and her mother regarding all Sarang saw. Included are pictures

More information

The Passion and Resurrection of Christ (paraphrase of Matthew 26-28)

The Passion and Resurrection of Christ (paraphrase of Matthew 26-28) Stories on the Way: Lesson Plans for Small Sunday Schools The Passion and Resurrection of Christ (paraphrase of Matthew 26-28) page A Note 1 The Story 2 The Lessons 1. Saying No 4 2. The Passion 7 Written

More information

Colour and Cut Out Nativity

Colour and Cut Out Nativity Colour and Cut Out Nativity Copyright Beryl L Pratt Nov 2010 CONTENTS 3 Ideas for your Nativity pictures GO TO PAGE 3 ALL YOU NEED IS: Paper or card Scissors Sellotape or glue stick Coloured pencils, crayons

More information

How to Share the Plan of Salvation

How to Share the Plan of Salvation How to Share the Plan of Salvation You can use the following method to share the Gospel with a person of any age. You will also notice that the following is so simple that even a child can understand it.

More information

REFERENCES: LUKE 2:1-20; MATTHEW 2:1-12; THE DESIRE OF AGES, PP. 43-49, 59-67. Memory Verse: I love you, O Lord. PSALM 18:1, NIV.

REFERENCES: LUKE 2:1-20; MATTHEW 2:1-12; THE DESIRE OF AGES, PP. 43-49, 59-67. Memory Verse: I love you, O Lord. PSALM 18:1, NIV. REFERENCES: LUKE 2:1-20; MATTHEW 2:1-12; THE DESIRE OF AGES, PP. 43-49, 59-67. Baby Jesus Is Born. Memory Verse: I love you, O Lord. PSALM 18:1, NIV. The Message: We love Jesus. Parents: By the end of

More information

Schedule 3 Alternative Great Thanksgivings Alternative Great Thanksgiving A (alternative to Thanksgiving of the People of God)

Schedule 3 Alternative Great Thanksgivings Alternative Great Thanksgiving A (alternative to Thanksgiving of the People of God) The Lord is here. God s Spirit is with us. Lift up your hearts. We lift them to the Lord. Schedule 3 Alternative Great Thanksgivings Alternative Great Thanksgiving A (alternative to Thanksgiving of the

More information

God Sends the Holy Spirit (Pentecost)

God Sends the Holy Spirit (Pentecost) God Sends the Holy Spirit (Pentecost) Teacher Pep Talk: It had been 10 days since Jesus ascended into Heaven. He had promised to send the Holy Spirit to be with His disciples forever. On Pentecost, when

More information

God is Worthy of Our Praise. Psalm 145: 1-10

God is Worthy of Our Praise. Psalm 145: 1-10 God is Worthy of Our Praise Psalm 145: 1-10 This morning we have read from David s Psalm of praise. Some theologians consider this to be his favorite Psalm of praise. There are many others that lift praise

More information

Our Lady Invites Us To Wake Up From Our Spiritual Coma - Medjugorje.com

Our Lady Invites Us To Wake Up From Our Spiritual Coma - Medjugorje.com Medjugorje visionary, Ivan, speaking to several thousand pilgrims today, August 18, 2010. Ivan was given special instructions from Our Lady concerning the youth and family. Being married to an American

More information

Crossing Kids Advent Devotional

Crossing Kids Advent Devotional Every Good and Perfect Gift: Crossing Kids Advent Devotional Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. James

More information

Guildford s Advent Calendar. Guildford Churches Together

Guildford s Advent Calendar. Guildford Churches Together Guildford s Advent Calendar Guildford Churches Together Guildford s Advent Calendar 1 st December In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth King James Bible: Genesis Ch. 1 verse 1 Artists:

More information

Double Oak Community Church Advent Devotionals

Double Oak Community Church Advent Devotionals Page 1 Double Oak Community Church Advent Devotionals What is Advent? Advent is the season leading to Christmas Day. It is a time of excitement and expectation. It is a time of looking back to the birth

More information

Tri-State Senior Camp Bible Quiz 2015 The Book of John

Tri-State Senior Camp Bible Quiz 2015 The Book of John Tri-State Senior Camp Bible Quiz 2015 The Book of John Who is the author of John John the Apostle Quote John 1:1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God and the Word was God Who was sent

More information

LESSON TITLE: Jesus Visits Mary and Martha THEME: Jesus wants us to spend time with \ Him. SCRIPTURE: Luke 10:38-42

LESSON TITLE: Jesus Visits Mary and Martha THEME: Jesus wants us to spend time with \ Him. SCRIPTURE: Luke 10:38-42 Devotion NT249 CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE WEEK OF: LESSON TITLE: Jesus Visits Mary and Martha THEME: Jesus wants us to spend time with \ Him. SCRIPTURE: Luke 10:38-42 Dear Parents Welcome to Bible Time

More information

Jesus is The Way. A copy of the activity sheet for each child A hole-punch Crayons, scissors, yarn, and double-sided tape Duct tape for one activity

Jesus is The Way. A copy of the activity sheet for each child A hole-punch Crayons, scissors, yarn, and double-sided tape Duct tape for one activity Jesus is The Way Teacher Pep Talk: How do we get to heaven? It seems like such a simple question, and it deserves a straightforward answer. Jesus gave that answer to His disciples on the night before His

More information

OPENING PRAYER CAROLS

OPENING PRAYER CAROLS OPENING PRAYER CAROLS (Worship Leader: Lead the singing of the Carols below.) O Come, O Come, Emmanuel (UMH 211, stanzas 1 4) Angels We Have Heard on High (UMH 238, 1 3) O Little Town of Bethlehem (UMH

More information

HEAVEN, GOD S BEAUTIFUL HOME

HEAVEN, GOD S BEAUTIFUL HOME Bible for Children presents HEAVEN, GOD S BEAUTIFUL HOME Written by: E. Duncan Hughes Illustrated by: Lazarus Adapted by: Sarah S. Produced by: Bible for Children www.m1914.org BFC PO Box 3 Winnipeg, MB

More information

Jesus Resurrection and Ascension. April 6-7, One day, Jesus will come back in the same way he left. Until then, we have a job to do!

Jesus Resurrection and Ascension. April 6-7, One day, Jesus will come back in the same way he left. Until then, we have a job to do! rd th 3-5 April 6-7, 2013 Jesus Resurrection and Ascension Luke 24 (Pg.1161), John 20 (Pg.1193), Acts 1 (Pg.1198) One day, Jesus will come back in the same way he left. Until then, we have a job to do!

More information

My Merry Christmas Song Book

My Merry Christmas Song Book My Merry Christmas Song Book Songs, fingerplays, and Bible verses for the Christmas season Compiled by www.hubbardscupboard.org 2007 Scripture quoted from the English Standard Version Clipart Copyright

More information

The Glorious Mysteries of Death

The Glorious Mysteries of Death www.realliferosary.com The Glorious Mysteries of Death The Resurrection And taking him down, he wrapped him in fine linen, and laid him in a sepulchre that was hewed in stone, wherein never yet any man

More information

Lesson 18:Prayers are answered in the Best Way. Lesson 18:Prayers are answered in the Best Way, Primary 2: Choose the Right A, (1995), 91 95

Lesson 18:Prayers are answered in the Best Way. Lesson 18:Prayers are answered in the Best Way, Primary 2: Choose the Right A, (1995), 91 95 Lesson 18:Prayers are answered in the Best Way Lesson 18:Prayers are answered in the Best Way, Primary 2: Choose the Right A, (1995), 91 95 Purpose To help each child understand that Heavenly Father always

More information

Celebrating CHRISTmas

Celebrating CHRISTmas Celebrating CHRISTmas Daily Activities to Celebrate Christmas and the Birth of Christ Samples Michelle Hubbard HubbardsCupboard.org Celebrating CHRISTmas Celebrating CHRISTmas Daily Activities to Celebrate

More information

A PRAYER IN THE GARDEN

A PRAYER IN THE GARDEN BOOK 3, PART I, LESSON 4 A PRAYER IN THE GARDEN THE BIBLE: Luke 22:39-53, Mark 14:32-50 THEME: We remember that Jesus taught about love and showed love in everything he did. During Lent and Easter we remember

More information

Greetings, Blessings, Scott DeWitt Director of Spiritual Outreach Casas por Cristo

Greetings, Blessings, Scott DeWitt Director of Spiritual Outreach Casas por Cristo Team Devotional Greetings, Welcome to Casas por Cristo! If you are reading this, then more than likely you are embarking on a week-long adventure serving our Lord and Savior along the U.S. / México border

More information

The Trinity is a mystery. Even great theologians don t completely understand it, and some scholars spend their whole lives studying it.

The Trinity is a mystery. Even great theologians don t completely understand it, and some scholars spend their whole lives studying it. Holy Trinity Sunday In the name of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit Mathew 28:16-20 Sometimes when I m leading chapel for our preschoolers, I ask a question like: Who was born in Bethlehem? And one of

More information

Cain and Abel. The children will hear that we can learn to love our brothers and sisters and to help take care of them.

Cain and Abel. The children will hear that we can learn to love our brothers and sisters and to help take care of them. Cain and Abel Teacher Pep Talk: Everyone understands sibling rivalry. Even the youngest child can relate to being upset with a brother or sister. Cain and Abel are the first example of this enmity. Cain

More information

Worship in Prayer. Lesson

Worship in Prayer. Lesson Lesson 3 Worship in Prayer In Lesson 1 we learned that worship is fellowship and communion with the Lord. This is why God made us. He wanted to share His love with people who could love Him in return.

More information

The Empty Tomb. (Easter Sunday)

The Empty Tomb. (Easter Sunday) The Empty Tomb! (Easter Sunday) Teacher Pep Talk: Congratulations! You get to teach children the greatest Bible story of all: The Resurrection of Jesus Christ! EASTER!! There is no greater story of God

More information

Jesus Makes Breakfast (The Reconciliation of Peter)

Jesus Makes Breakfast (The Reconciliation of Peter) Jesus Makes Breakfast (The Reconciliation of Peter) Teacher Pep Talk: Sometimes we sin. That s it. We sin and that sin separates us from God, who loves us. When Peter denied Christ three times, you would

More information

Bible for Children. presents THE FIRST EASTER

Bible for Children. presents THE FIRST EASTER Bible for Children presents THE FIRST EASTER Written by: Edward Hughes Illustrated by: Janie Forest Adapted by: Lyn Doerksen Produced by: Bible for Children www.m1914.org 2007 Bible for Children, Inc.

More information

Following the Wise Men What s Your Star? Matthew 2:1-12

Following the Wise Men What s Your Star? Matthew 2:1-12 1 Natalie W. Bell January 4, 2015 Epiphany Sunday Following the Wise Men What s Your Star? Matthew 2:1-12 Has anything grabbed your attention lately? What was it? And could it be God could God be using

More information

THE ORDER OF THE MASS

THE ORDER OF THE MASS THE ORDER OF THE MASS The first part of the Mass is about getting to know everyone and welcoming everyone to God s house. It s called the INTRODUCTORY RITES. Entrance Song We sing to celebrate that we

More information

Palmerston Place Church. bringing Christian worship, fellowship and service back to the heart of everyday life

Palmerston Place Church. bringing Christian worship, fellowship and service back to the heart of everyday life Palmerston Place Church bringing Christian worship, fellowship and service back to the heart of everyday life Rev Colin A M Sinclair BA BD Morning Worship Sunday 12 March 2006 Theme: Being thankful Prayer

More information

THE TRIAL (B.1.SPRING.7)

THE TRIAL (B.1.SPRING.7) THE TRIAL (B.1.SPRING.7) Biblical Reference Matthew 26:57-27:26 Key Verse Isaiah 53:8, John 10:9 Key Concept Jesus didn t fight back because he was willing to die for the salvation of the world. Educational

More information

God in Heaven?? ThaT you are going to be with. Why should I let you into My Heaven? If God were to ask you, what would you say?

God in Heaven?? ThaT you are going to be with. Why should I let you into My Heaven? If God were to ask you, what would you say? 2 ThaT you are going to be with God in Heaven?? If God were to ask you, Why should I let you into My Heaven? what would you say? Not sure? Then this booklet has... 3 The best news 4 You Could ever hear!

More information

THEME: We should take every opportunity to tell others about Jesus.

THEME: We should take every opportunity to tell others about Jesus. Devotion NT307 CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE WEEK OF: LESSON TITLE: Paul Goes Before Agrippa THEME: We should take every opportunity to tell others about Jesus. SCRIPTURE: Acts 25:13 26:32 Dear Parents

More information

Born a Savior, Born a King

Born a Savior, Born a King Born a Savior, Born a King Philippians 2:5-11 What word comes to your mind when you hear the name "Jesus"? Probably "Savior." We know that the name Jesus means the Lord saves or the Lord is salvation.

More information