A NATIVITY CAROL. Written by. Joel Newport. Preview Copy Only. MyChristmasPageant.com PREVIEW COPY ONLY.

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "A NATIVITY CAROL. Written by. Joel Newport. Preview Copy Only. MyChristmasPageant.com PREVIEW COPY ONLY."

Transcription

1 A NATIVITY CAROL Written by Joel Newport MyChristmasPageant.com PREVIEW COPY ONLY.

2 Hello? Hello? I m looking for the master carpenters. Yes, yes we re here. Oh, good. I have wonderful news. Pilot needs to order more crosses. It s been a busy month. And why is that such good news? Because you ll be paid for your work. I m not sure that s much motivation anymore. Well, then you ll be arrested and thrown into Caesar's prison. (sighs) How many crosses does Pilot require? I believe ten will suffice. It s been a little busy since Jesus was put to death. Jesus? Yes? Surely you heard? No. Why would Pilot put Jesus to death? He was peaceful. He didn t deserve to die. Well, who ever He was, He s in a tomb right now, sealed up by a giant stone forever. The cross you made was perfect.

3 2. We had no idea. I ll be back tomorrow to pick up the order. Fine, fine. We ll have them ready. Very good. Hail Caesar! & 2 (unenthused) Yeah, Yeah. Hail Caesar... The soldier leaves as enters. Hello Ishmael, Josiah, I ve brought you some dinner. Thank you, Martha. Yes, thank you, I m famished. So, I see we were visited by a soldier. Another order from the Romans? Yes, sadly. More crosses. They never tire of persecuting anyone who doesn t believe as they do. Speaking of that, did you hear? They put Jesus to death. 1 Oh, no! That s terrible. And the worst part, they hung him on a cross we made.

4 3. Martha leaves. Oh, Josiah and Ishmael, I am so sorry. And now we need to make ten more. I just don t think I can do it anymore. Well we have to. If we don t, we ll be the ones in front of Pilot. I know, I know. I ll leave you two alone so you can get your rest. Then tomorrow you can get your work done. She s right. We need to rest. This day has been exhausting. Yes. Perhaps tomorrow will be a better day. The Carpenters lays down. An enters. Master Carpenters? Wake up! What? Who are you? I am an angel of the Lord. Do not be afraid. Are you here to punish us? Why would I punish you?

5 4. We are the carpenters who made the cross where Jesus was hung. I understand, but you must not be dismayed. How can we not? They killed Jesus. Come with me. I have something to show you. I would like to show you the joy of Christmas. Christmas? Never heard of it. To learn about Christmas, we will make three journeys together. First, let s start at the beginning. The first Christmas. Walk around the alter. Shepherds enter. Where are we? Bethlehem. About 30 years ago. Right. Sure we are. (To the Shepherds) Hey! Kind shepherds! Can you tell me where we are? They cannot answer you. They can t see or hear any of us. So why are we here? So you can see something amazing. Just watch. SHEPHERD 1 Lovely night.

6 5. 2 enters. SHEPHERD 2 It certainly is. That star is so bright, I can see all the way down the hill to Bethlehem. SHEPHERD 1 Well, something is going on. Everything seems different tonight. Even the sheep are acting funny. Like they re waiting for something. Look! SHEPHERD 2 The shepherds drop to their knees. 2 Shepherds. Do not be afraid; for behold, I bring you good news of great joy which will be for all the people; for today in the city of David there has been born for you a Savior, who is Christ the Lord. This will be a sign for you: you will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger. Wait. Who are they talking about? Who has been born? The angel takes their hands and leads them away. Where are we going now? They travel around the alter and arrive at the manger scene. MARY, JOSEPH and the Shepherds are there. Three KINGS enter as well. KING 1 Greetings. We are kings from the East. KING 2 We have seen the star in the heavens. KING 3 A sign. From God. Announcing the birth of his son.

7 6. This is amazing! The birth of the Son of God? I can t believe we re seeing this. KING 1 We bring gifts to honor the Heavenly King. The first King kneels before the manger. KING 1 (CONT D) Gold. A true gift fit for a king. The King 2 kneels before the manger. King 3 Kneels. KING 2 The precious perfume Frankincense. KING 3 And the royal anointing oil, myrrh. This is the most incredible thing I ve ever witnessed. It s not everyday the Son of God is born. The Son of God? Born here? In a stable? Yes. Why would God allow his Son to be born here? In a dirty, dark stable? The Kings from the East said themselves. This child is a King, worthy of all the riches of the Earth. But understand, He is not and earthly king. He is a heavenly king. Sent from God to live among us as a man.

8 7. What is His name? Just listen. SONG: AWAY IN A MANGER Wait? Did I hear Lord Jesus? Yes. You did. This is Jesus of Nazareth. So Jesus, was the Son of God? Why are you showing this to us? Isn t there someone more important to show this glorious vision too? No Ishmael, it s important that you and Josiah see this. Look closely at the manger. The Carpenter moves to the manger and examines it. This looks just like the mangers we used to build. That s because it is. So we built the manger where the Son of God spent His first days on Earth. But then he was killed, over 30 years later on a cross that was also built by us. How is that supposed to make us feel better? It s time to go. Go? But we have so many questions. I understand. But not tonight. Just lay down now and rest.

9 8. The Carpenters lay down. All the other characters sit back down, leaving the Carpenters alone on the stage. Martha enters. Josiah, Ishmael! It s getting late. What are you doing? The Josiah and Ishmael sit up, still groggy. I don t know. We must have slept in. Well, you better get a move on. You promised the Romans ten crosses. We know, we know. We will get on that right away. You better. We don t need the Romans angry with us. It s hard enough as it is to get by. I just had the strangest dream. I was with an Angel, and she showed me that Jesus was the Son of God. I had the exact same dream! As strange as it is that both of you claim to have had the same dream, none of that matters now. Jesus has been crucified. Your right. It was just a crazy dream. We ll get to work. Martha leaves and the Carpenter picks up his tools to get start working. The Angel appears again. Hello, master carpenter.

10 9. You again? I m not asleep, so I must be going mad. Well if your going mad, so am I because I see her too! Look, we need to work. We have to get this order finished for the Romans. I understand. But I have something else for you too see. I don t think I can handle another trip back in time. No, we will not be going back in time. Good. It s time to visit Christmas present. Or more specifically, why Christmas will become so important. The Angel and the Carpenter walk around the alter. Where are we now? The tomb. Where Jesus was buried. You mean is buried, right? But the tomb is empty. MARY MAGDALENE enters, crying. 2 approaches. 2 Woman, why are you crying?

11 10. MARY MAGDALENE Someone has taken my Lord away and I don t know where they have put him. JESUS enters behind Mary Magdalene. JESUS Woman, who is it you are looking for? MARY MAGDALENE Oh, sir, if you have carried him away, please, tell me where you have put him and I will get him. Mary. JESUS Mary drops to her knees in front of Jesus. Teacher! MARY MAGDALENE Wait a minute! Jesus is alive? How is that possible? He is the Son of God. He has risen, to fulfill the Word of God by defeating death itself, so that who ever believes in him shall not parish but have everlasting life. So this is why Christmas is important. Yes. Today, because of Christ s resurrection, Christmas will now be celebrated by all who believe. This is incredible. Everyone leaves the stage, but the Carpenter. (CONT D) Wait, where are you going? We have more questions? Don t go now. The carpenters spin around a few times as Martha enters.

12 11. Josiah! Ishmael! Have you heard? Heard what? Jesus! He has risen. He s alive. So it s true? Jesus is alive? Yes. Everyone s talking about it. I m heading into town now to see if I can learn more. Okay. Good idea. We will stay here and keep working - but please come back and tell us what you have learned. Martha leaves and the Angel returns. You again? Yes, It s me. It s time for us to take our third and final journey. So it appears that everything you ve showed us is true. You ve showed us the birth of Jesus and then his resurrection. What more could you possibly need with us? I want to show you Christmas future? Well, I don t suppose we have a choice? They walk around the alter. All the Shepherds, the Kings and Mary and Joseph return to the stage at the manger. Where are we? This place is so strange, yet so familiar.

13 12. It is a house of worship. More than 2,000 years in the future. 2,000 years! Yes. It s a Christmas celebration not only 2,000 years in the future, but halfway around the world. Jesus impact is still being felt? So far in the future and by so many people... It certainly is. Just watch. The smaller children dance. That was beautiful. It s wonderful to see all ages take part in Christmas worship. It is a special time of year. One filled with peace, love, joy and song. All in the celebration of the birth of Jesus. And this far in the future, people still know the story? How Jesus was born in a stable? I think you ll be surprised how much of Jesus birth is remembered. KING 1 In those days Caesar Augustus issued a decree that a census should be taken of the entire Roman world. KING 2 This was the first census that took place while Quirinius was governor of Syria.

14 13. JOSEPH And everyone went to his own town to register. So Joseph also went up from the town of Nazareth in Galilee to Judea, to Bethlehem the town of David, because he belonged to the house and line of David. MARY He went there to register with Mary, who was pledged to be married to him and was expecting a child. 6 While they were there, the time came for the baby to be born, and she gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and placed him in a manger, because there was no room for them in the inn. SHEPHERD 1 And there were shepherds living out in the fields nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night. SHEPHERD 2 An angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified. 2 But the angel said to them, "Do not be afraid. I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people. Suddenly a great company of the heavenly host appeared with the angel, praising God and saying, Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace to men on whom his favor rests." SING: S WE HAVE HEARD ON HIGH SHEPHERD 1 When the angels had left them and gone into heaven, the shepherds said to one another, "Let's go to Bethlehem and see this thing that has happened, which the Lord has told us about."

Luke 2:1-20 (New International Version 1984)

Luke 2:1-20 (New International Version 1984) Luke 2:1-20 (New International Version 1984) 1 In those days Caesar Augustus issued a decree that a census should be taken of the entire Roman world. 2 (This was the first census that took place while

More information

Build a Pageant First Congregational Church Litchfield

Build a Pageant First Congregational Church Litchfield Build a Pageant 2016 First Congregational Church Litchfield 2 INTRODUCTIONS OF MAIN CHARACTERS AND GROUPS Animals: let me hear your animal sounds. (Pause for the animals to sound) Angels: let me see you

More information

A CHRISTMAS BIBLE STUDY

A CHRISTMAS BIBLE STUDY A CHRISTMAS BIBLE STUDY A Christmas Bible Study We are all familiar with the Christmas story, perhaps too familiar. Sometimes when we ve heard a story over and over through the years we become a little

More information

NATIVITY STORY. Written by. Joel Newport

NATIVITY STORY. Written by. Joel Newport NATIVITY STORY Written by Joel Newport Copyright mychristmaspageant.com FOR PREVIEW ONLY - NOT FOR PRODUCTION INT. LIVING ROOM - DAY Okay, kids, who wants to set up the nativity? I do! Me too! Billy, what

More information

Drama Ideas for Telling the Story of Christmas

Drama Ideas for Telling the Story of Christmas Drama Ideas for Telling the Story of Christmas Submitted by Betsy Strain of First Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), Crawfordsville, Indiana Have one or more persons prepared to sing the following

More information

December 1-6. StampinFool.com

December 1-6. StampinFool.com December 1-6 StampinFool.com Now in the sixth month the angel Gabriel was sent from God to a city in Galilee called Nazareth, to a virgin engaged to a man whose name was Joseph, of the descendants of David;

More information

Gabriel: The Holy Spirit will come down to you, and God s power will come over you. So your child will be called the Holy Son of God.

Gabriel: The Holy Spirit will come down to you, and God s power will come over you. So your child will be called the Holy Son of God. 11/18/2013 A er the ministers greet the audience, narrators begin. Narrator : I welcome you all to the first Christmas. We start our story a few thousand years before the birth of Jesus. Here tonight we

More information

Waiting & Watching A Living Journey to the Manger

Waiting & Watching A Living Journey to the Manger Waiting & Watching A Living Journey to the Manger Guides: (Need 3 or 4) Welcome to our live nativity story Waiting and Watching: A Living Journey to the Manger. Tonight you will have the chance to meet

More information

B is for the town of Bethlehem, where Jesus is born. Bethlehem was a bustling place, filled with travelers and merchants.

B is for the town of Bethlehem, where Jesus is born. Bethlehem was a bustling place, filled with travelers and merchants. The ABCs of Christmas as told by Mary and Hope Koon Oak Grove Presbyterian Church December 24, 2014, Family Worship Inspired by/adapted from Erin Klassen, Fidelia s Sister a publication of the Young Clergy

More information

Jesus, the Joy of Christmas. Luke 2:1-20

Jesus, the Joy of Christmas. Luke 2:1-20 Jesus, the Joy of Christmas Luke 2:1-20 The Christ in Christmas Isaiah 9:1-7: Jesus, the Hope of Christmas Luke 2:1-20: Jesus, the Joy of Christmas Ephesians 2:14-22 Jesus: the Peace of Christmas Luke

More information

A Proper School Nativity

A Proper School Nativity A Proper School Nativity Cast: Narrator: Mary: Joseph: Donkey: Sheep: 1st Innkeeper / Angel: 2nd Innkeeper / Angel: 3rd Innkeeper / Angel: Lead Angel: Shepherd 1: Shepherd 2: Wise Man 1: Wise Man 2: Wise

More information

Advent Prayer Stations with Instructions

Advent Prayer Stations with Instructions Advent Prayer Stations with Instructions Source: These stations and their instructions are adapted from http:// stealourstuff.wordpress.com I just curated some of the ideas I liked best, repackaged them

More information

An outline for a Crib Service narrated by the Archangels Michael and Gabriel. This includes scripted readings and suggestions for carols.

An outline for a Crib Service narrated by the Archangels Michael and Gabriel. This includes scripted readings and suggestions for carols. Crib Service 1 An outline for a Crib Service narrated by the Archangels Michael and Gabriel. This includes scripted readings and suggestions for carols. Order of service Welcome For a very special day.

More information

A BETHLEHEM A PRESCHOOL/KINDERGARTEN CHRISTMAS PROGRAM

A BETHLEHEM A PRESCHOOL/KINDERGARTEN CHRISTMAS PROGRAM A BETHLEHEM A-B-C A PRESCHOOL/KINDERGARTEN CHRISTMAS PROGRAM A BETHLEHEM A-B-C TEACHER INSTRUCTIONS A BETHLEHEM A-B-C is designed for preschool or kindergarten children to present in church or in their

More information

DECEMBER WEEK FOUR: CHRISTMAS THE TRIP. Monday Luke 2:1 20

DECEMBER WEEK FOUR: CHRISTMAS THE TRIP. Monday Luke 2:1 20 DECEMBER WEEK FOUR: CHRISTMAS THE TRIP Monday Mary and Joseph were glad to reach their destination. They had traveled many days to get to Bethlehem, the town that King David was from. They had to go to

More information

2013 Kremer Publications, Inc.

2013 Kremer Publications, Inc. 2013 Kremer Publications, Inc. INTRODUCTION The Many Shapes of Christmas is a program designed for your preschool and kindergarten children to present to the congregation, or simply at a small gathering

More information

1 - Mary, a young virgin, was living in Galilee of Nazareth and was engaged to be married to Joseph, a Jewish carpenter.

1 - Mary, a young virgin, was living in Galilee of Nazareth and was engaged to be married to Joseph, a Jewish carpenter. 1 - Mary, a young virgin, was living in Galilee of Nazareth and was engaged to be married to Joseph, a Jewish carpenter. 2 - An angel named Gabriel, visited her and explained to her that she would conceive

More information

Jesus is Born Sources: Matthew 1 and 2 / Luke 2

Jesus is Born Sources: Matthew 1 and 2 / Luke 2 Jesus is Born Sources: Matthew 1 and 2 / Luke 2 Introduction: Many things happen in the world, but the most important things happened in Bethlehem many years ago! There! There are the lights of Bethlehem!

More information

CHILDREN S CHRISTMAS GIFT

CHILDREN S CHRISTMAS GIFT CHILDREN S CHRISTMAS GIFT By Lorelei Graybeal Performance Rights To copy this text is an infringement of the federal copyright law as is to perform this play without royalty payment. All rights are controlled

More information

Come Let Us Adore Him

Come Let Us Adore Him Come Let Us Adore Him A Silent Christmas Presentation Please no talking or loud movement. The purpose in presenting this in silence is to help you feel the spirit in different ways. You will be reading,

More information

Lesson One: The Birth of Jesus

Lesson One: The Birth of Jesus Lesson One: The Birth of Jesus taken from Jesus Christ: A Bible Study in Simple English by Howard Killion, Ph.D. Lesson 1, Section 1 Read this story from the book of Matthew in the Bible. Look at the vocabulary

More information

KEY PASSAGE: Matthew 1:21 She will give birth to a son, and you are to give him the name Jesus, because he will save his people from their sin.

KEY PASSAGE: Matthew 1:21 She will give birth to a son, and you are to give him the name Jesus, because he will save his people from their sin. SESSION TITLE: Jesus Was Born BIBLE PASSAGE: Luke 2:1-20 MAIN POINT: Jesus was born to be God s promised Savior. KEY PASSAGE: Matthew 1:21 She will give birth to a son, and you are to give him the name

More information

Sermon for Christmas Eve Christmas Means Your Savior Is Born Luke 2:10-11 12/24/14b

Sermon for Christmas Eve Christmas Means Your Savior Is Born Luke 2:10-11 12/24/14b Sermon for Christmas Eve Christmas Means Your Savior Is Born Luke 2:10-11 12/24/14b Then the angel said to them, Do not be afraid, for behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy which will be to all

More information

We Three Kings. We three kings of Orient are Bearing gifts we traverse afar Field and fountain, moor and mountain Following yonder star

We Three Kings. We three kings of Orient are Bearing gifts we traverse afar Field and fountain, moor and mountain Following yonder star Follow the Star Hear the wonderful Christmas story Let the carols ring And tell the world of His glory Bring you heart to the king of kings A story of wise men and shepherds and kings A heralding chorus

More information

What Gift Will I Bring To Jesus The Hope of Christmas - Part 1

What Gift Will I Bring To Jesus The Hope of Christmas - Part 1 What Gift Will I Bring To Jesus The Hope of Christmas - Part 1 Jesus was born in the town of Bethlehem in Judea during the time when Herod was king. After Jesus was born, some wise men from the East came

More information

SUNDAY SCHOOL LESSON Christmas Sunday

SUNDAY SCHOOL LESSON Christmas Sunday SUNDAY SCHOOL LESSON Christmas Sunday THE BIRTH OF JESUS Elementary Lesson Year Two, Quarter Four, Lesson Twelve AIM: to teach my class that Jesus is the greatest gift that has ever been given OBJECTS

More information

The Insignificant Surrounding the Birth of Christ

The Insignificant Surrounding the Birth of Christ BIRTH OF CHRIST The Insignificant Surrounding the Birth of Christ 1 The Insignificant Surrounding the Birth of Christ Luke 2: 1-20 INTRODUCTION: A. Luke 2:1-20 - 1 And it came to pass in those days that

More information

CHRISTMAS QUIZ. Mary Matthew 1:18. Carpenter Matthew 13: The name of the mother of Jesus was: 2. Joseph was a: 3. Jesus was born in what town?

CHRISTMAS QUIZ. Mary Matthew 1:18. Carpenter Matthew 13: The name of the mother of Jesus was: 2. Joseph was a: 3. Jesus was born in what town? CHRISTMAS QUIZ 1. The name of the mother of Jesus was: H O W MU C H D O Y O U K N O W A B O U T C H R IS T M A S? Martha Mary Eve Deborah Mary Matthew 1:18 2. Joseph was a: This is how the birth of Jesus

More information

Sing a Song of Christmas. Sing a song of Christmas, Sing a song of the King Sing a song of Christmas And the joy Jesus brings.

Sing a Song of Christmas. Sing a song of Christmas, Sing a song of the King Sing a song of Christmas And the joy Jesus brings. 1. 2012 Sing a Song of Christmas, Sing a song of the King And the joy Jesus brings., Sing of peace on the earth. Come celebrate His birth. Raise your voices in praise to Him Honour the Baby of Bethlehem,

More information

ILLUSTRATIONS BY: HANNAH GARRITY 32 SANCTIFIED ART ADVENT DEVOTIONAL

ILLUSTRATIONS BY: HANNAH GARRITY 32 SANCTIFIED ART ADVENT DEVOTIONAL 32 SANCTIFIED ART ADVENT DEVOTIONAL ILLUSTRATIONS BY: HANNAH GARRITY SUNDAY, DECEMBER 11 READ LUKE 1:26-38 (CEV) One month later God sent the angel Gabriel to the town of Nazareth in Galilee with a message

More information

Bible for Children. presents THE BIRTH OF JESUS

Bible for Children. presents THE BIRTH OF JESUS Bible for Children presents THE BIRTH OF JESUS Written by: Edward Hughes Illustrated by: M. Maillot Adapted by: E. Frischbutter and Sarah S. Produced by: Bible for Children www.m1914.org 2007 Bible for

More information

The Wise Men Visit Jesus

The Wise Men Visit Jesus The Wise Men Visit Jesus Matthew 2:1-2 Magi from the east came to Jerusalem and asked, Where is the one who has been born king of the Jews? We saw his star in the east and have come to worship him. The

More information

Can you label this picture. Now colour it carefully. Baby Jesus was born in a stable

Can you label this picture. Now colour it carefully. Baby Jesus was born in a stable Can you label this picture. Now colour it carefully. Baby Jesus was born in a stable An angel told Mary she would have a special baby. Mary and Joseph had to travel all the way to Bethlehem. All the inns

More information

Advent Week One The Candle of Prophecy: Elizabeth and Zechariah

Advent Week One The Candle of Prophecy: Elizabeth and Zechariah Advent Week One The Candle of Prophecy: Elizabeth and Zechariah Welcome to the first week of Advent, a time of waiting and preparation as we prepare for the birth of Christ. This week you will light the

More information

The First Week of Advent

The First Week of Advent Family Advent Prayers - Preparing the Manger Scene This simple ritual focuses on preparing the manger scene as we move through the Advent season. Mary will be placed in the stable on the first Sunday,

More information

The First Christmas. An Intermediate ESL Reading about Christmas

The First Christmas. An Intermediate ESL Reading about Christmas The First Christmas An Intermediate ESL Reading about Christmas The First Christmas An Intermediate ESL Reading about Christmas Copyright 2010 by Grace Community Church. All rights reserved. All Scripture

More information

Reader s Theater- The Christmas Story

Reader s Theater- The Christmas Story Reader s Theater- The Christmas Story Master List of Readers Luke 1:26-38 Mary and Gabriel Mary Gabriel Matthew 1:18-28 Joseph s Dream Angel Joseph Luke 2:1-7 1 Birth of Jesus 2 3 Luke 2:8-10 Shepherds

More information

United Church of God An International Association. Level 3 Unit 5 Week 1 CHRIST S BIRTH

United Church of God An International Association. Level 3 Unit 5 Week 1 CHRIST S BIRTH United Church of God An International Association SABBATH S CHOOL Preteen Sabbath Instruction Program Teacher s Outline Level 3 Unit 5 Week 1 CHRIST S BIRTH OBJECTIVE: The student will learn about the

More information

Sunday, 25 December The Ordinary Christmas

Sunday, 25 December The Ordinary Christmas Sunday, 25 December 2016 The Ordinary Christmas I'm actually someone who really loves everything about this time of year. I love the decorations, even the cheesy ones. I love the lights and the music.

More information

Nativity Program Night of Miracles

Nativity Program Night of Miracles Nativity Program Night of Miracles Introduction The night of our Savior s birth was miraculous for many reasons. It was an unforgettable night a night when centuries old prophecy came miraculously true,

More information

Carols by Candlelight. Nine Lessons

Carols by Candlelight. Nine Lessons Carols by Candlelight Nine Lessons Reader: 1 Genesis 3:8-15, 17,19 2 Genesis 22: 15-18 3 Isaiah 9, 2, 6-7 4 Micah 5, 2-4 5 Matthew 1, 18-23 6 Luke 2:1-7 7 Luke 2:8-20 8 Matthew 2, 1-12 9 John 1, 1-14 FIRST

More information

Things Our Children Should Know About Christmas Pastor Eddie Turner Sunday, December 18, 2016

Things Our Children Should Know About Christmas Pastor Eddie Turner Sunday, December 18, 2016 Things Our Children Should Know About Christmas Pastor Eddie Turner Sunday, December 18, 2016 Matt. 1:18-25(NLT)- 18 This is how Jesus the Messiah was born. His mother, Mary, was engaged to be married

More information

How far is it to Bethlehem?

How far is it to Bethlehem? How far is it for pilgrims today? When Jesus came kicking and screaming as a little baby into this world he arrived to a very small village. But it was the same place where David, his ancestor had grown

More information

(Easter Season 3-B) Narration ( ) - We left you at Christmas at the manger. Both sides were ready for the conflict. We continue the story.

(Easter Season 3-B) Narration ( ) - We left you at Christmas at the manger. Both sides were ready for the conflict. We continue the story. Page 1 The Great Controversy Part 2 (Easter Season 3-B) Written by Deborah Wasmer, Gr. 1-8 teacher warrenschool@samnet.net Warren SDA School (Massachusetts), Southern New England Conference Students playing

More information

Activity Sheet: Distribute activity pages and instruct the kids to complete the challenge. (On the back of the coloring sheet)

Activity Sheet: Distribute activity pages and instruct the kids to complete the challenge. (On the back of the coloring sheet) Jesus was born 4pm: 1 st 4 th Grade Teacher Guide Bible Passage: Luke 2:1-20 Main Point: Our Savior was born! Memory Verse: Luke 2:11 "Today your Savior was born in David's town. He is Christ, the Lord."

More information

ADULT SUNDAY SCHOOL CURRICULUM 13-week study FEARLESS CONVERSATION. Why is Jesus so radical? Discussions FROM LEADER GUIDE

ADULT SUNDAY SCHOOL CURRICULUM 13-week study FEARLESS CONVERSATION. Why is Jesus so radical? Discussions FROM LEADER GUIDE ADULT SUNDAY SCHOOL CURRICULUM 13-week study FEARLESS CONVERSATION Why is Jesus so radical? Discussions FROM MATTHEW AND LUKE LEADER GUIDE Contents Lesson 1: Luke 2:1-20 Why did God come as a baby? Lesson

More information

D. The Lord came into the world to teach people how to be good. F. The Lord's coming was the most important thing that ever happened.

D. The Lord came into the world to teach people how to be good. F. The Lord's coming was the most important thing that ever happened. Glenview New Church Sunday Morning Program Preschool Lessons, Phase 1 - Lesson 14 The Shepherds Come (Luke 2: 1-20) Theme: Christmas - the Lord's Birth I. Underlying Ideas for the Teacher A. The baby Jesus

More information

nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night.

nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night. 8And there were shepherds living out in the fields nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night. 9An angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified.

More information

JUST A LITTLE CHRISTMAS Simplified Version

JUST A LITTLE CHRISTMAS Simplified Version JUST A LITTLE CHRISTMAS Simplified Version Sunday School Center Cast Narrator 1 Narrator 2 Narrator 3 Mary Joseph Angel Gabriel Emperor Caesar Augustus Shepherds any number Angels Any number Wise men 3

More information

GOSPEL STORY CURRICULUM (NT) PRESCHOOL LESSON 2. The Birth of Jesus LUKE 2:4 20 BIBLE TRUTH IN THE FULLNESS OF TIME, GOD SENT FORTH HIS SON

GOSPEL STORY CURRICULUM (NT) PRESCHOOL LESSON 2. The Birth of Jesus LUKE 2:4 20 BIBLE TRUTH IN THE FULLNESS OF TIME, GOD SENT FORTH HIS SON GOSPEL STORY CURRICULUM (NT) PRESCHOOL LESSON 2 The Birth of Jesus LUKE 2:4 20 BIBLE TRUTH IN THE FULLNESS OF TIME, GOD SENT FORTH HIS SON l e s s o n snapshot 1. OPENING ACTIVITY AND INTRODUCTION....

More information

God sent the mighty angel Gabriel from His throne in heaven to a small city of Galilee named Nazareth. It was in this city that the angel appeared to

God sent the mighty angel Gabriel from His throne in heaven to a small city of Galilee named Nazareth. It was in this city that the angel appeared to 1 God sent the mighty angel Gabriel from His throne in heaven to a small city of Galilee named Nazareth. It was in this city that the angel appeared to the virgin Mary. "And the angel came to Mary and

More information

NINE LESSONS AND CAROLS

NINE LESSONS AND CAROLS NINE LESSONS AND CAROLS by Keith Dawson & Mike Smith LIBRETTO ISBN 1 84237 049 9 OldSox Productions 1994 Narrator 1 DRAMATIS PERSONAE Narrator 2 Narrator 3 Narrator 4 Gabriel Mary Angel Isaiah a prophet

More information

Where Shepherds Lately Knelt

Where Shepherds Lately Knelt Where Shepherds Lately Knelt by Kermit G. Moldenhauer Processional: Hymn 42 Come, Your Hearts and Voices Raising Preschool Song: Introduction/Opening of Service by Pastor Welcome to our celebration of

More information

Let There Be Light. A Jesus Cares Christmas Service

Let There Be Light. A Jesus Cares Christmas Service Let There Be Light A Jesus Cares Christmas Service 1 Let There Be Light: A Jesus Cares Ministries Christmas Service Written by Myrtiss Riediger Edited by Jane Mose To God be the glory! Overview: This service

More information

The Baby in the Feed Box

The Baby in the Feed Box The Baby in the Feed Box Luke 2:1-20 Well, it s Christmas time. There s no point denying it anymore. As of today there are 12 days until Christmas. I get a little grumpy sometimes as the shops seem to

More information

Messy Nativity. 24th December pm

Messy Nativity. 24th December pm Messy Nativity 24th December 2016 4.00pm Welcome Carol Once, in royal David s city Stood a lowly cattle shed, Where a mother laid her baby In a manger for his bed: Mary was that mother mild, Jesus Christ

More information

know when she came to the Christmas Pageant last Sunday. She and her parents had been talking about the baby Jesus a lot in their house, it being his

know when she came to the Christmas Pageant last Sunday. She and her parents had been talking about the baby Jesus a lot in their house, it being his 1 Christmas Eve, 2010 Where s the baby? That s what Maya, who is 2 years old, wanted to know when she came to the Christmas Pageant last Sunday. She and her parents had been talking about the baby Jesus

More information

JUST A LITTLE CHRISTMAS

JUST A LITTLE CHRISTMAS Type: For: Characters: Costumes: Props: Optional: Sound: Setting: JUST A LITTLE CHRISTMAS A Christmas Skit Elementary age children (Children s Version) About 12 actors and actresses: Narrators (1-3) Mary

More information

Noah Builds a Boat. Genesis 6 8, 9:8-17 Lesson 4

Noah Builds a Boat. Genesis 6 8, 9:8-17 Lesson 4 Genesis 6 8, 9:8-17 Lesson 4 Noah Builds a Boat God looked down on the earth He had made. There were lots of people. God was sad because the people were evil. They didn t care about God and they didn t

More information

WRITTEN AND PRODUCED BY SCOTT AND ANDREA VANDER PLOEG PREKPLAYS.COM

WRITTEN AND PRODUCED BY SCOTT AND ANDREA VANDER PLOEG PREKPLAYS.COM WRITTEN AND PRODUCED BY SCOTT AND ANDREA VANDER PLOEG PREKPLAYS.COM All material is copyrighted and all rights are reserved. Once you have purchased Christmas Around the World, you have permission to make

More information

A Party for Baby Jesus

A Party for Baby Jesus A Party for Baby Jesus This book belongs to Introduction Here s an interactive nativity story for a toddler group Christmas party or celebration or for families to use at home. Its message is simply that

More information

The Christmas Cross. Family Devotional. Safari Kids SUMMIT VIEW CHURCH

The Christmas Cross. Family Devotional. Safari Kids SUMMIT VIEW CHURCH The Christmas Cross Family Devotional Safari Kids SUMMIT VIEW CHURCH SUMMIT VIEW CHURCH WE EXIST TO BRING GLORY TO GOD AND HELP PEOPLE BECOME MORE LIKE JESUS Dear Parents: You are invited to celebrate

More information

As for me and my household, we will serve the Lord. Joshua 24:15b

As for me and my household, we will serve the Lord. Joshua 24:15b As for me and my household, we will serve the Lord. Joshua 24:15b November 27-December 25, 2016 For God, who said, Let light shine out of darkness, made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light

More information

Big Idea 4 God speaks through His Word. Unit 1 = The God Who Reveals Himself Unit 1 Answer He shows me what He s like.

Big Idea 4 God speaks through His Word. Unit 1 = The God Who Reveals Himself Unit 1 Answer He shows me what He s like. Unit 1 = The God Who Reveals Himself Unit 1 Answer He shows me what He s like. Amos 4:13 (ESV) 13 For behold, he who forms the mountains and creates the wind, and declares to man what is his thought the

More information

A Preschool/Kindergarten Christmas Service

A Preschool/Kindergarten Christmas Service A Preschool/Kindergarten Christmas Service All Scripture quotations in this publication are from the Holy Bible, New International Version, Copyright 1973, 1978, 1983, International Bible Society. Used

More information

September Matthew 5:1-12

September Matthew 5:1-12 September Matthew :- Seeing the crowds, he went up on the mountain, and when he sat down, his disciples came to him. And he opened his mouth and taught them, saying: Blessed are the poor in spirit, for

More information

JESUS CHRIST THE STORY OF. David C Cook. All Rights Reserved

JESUS CHRIST THE STORY OF. David C Cook. All Rights Reserved THE STORY OF JESUS CHRIST THIS IS THE TRUE STORY OF JESUS CHRIST. HE WAS A MAN, BUT HE WAS MUCH MORE THAN A MAN. HE is THE ONLY SON OF GOD. OF COURSE HE WAS POWERFUL. EVEN THE WIND AND THE SEA OBEYED HIM.

More information

Thank you for visiting and experiencing the Walk Through Nativity! What follows are the words of the presentation for each scene you have just

Thank you for visiting and experiencing the Walk Through Nativity! What follows are the words of the presentation for each scene you have just Thank you for visiting and experiencing the Walk Through Nativity! What follows are the words of the presentation for each scene you have just witnessed and a brief note from Pastor Reeder. SCENE 1 Family

More information

Of Shepherds and Angels

Of Shepherds and Angels Just Us Little Guys Christmas Series Lesson #4 Sunday School Center www.sundayschoolcenter.com Of Shepherds and Angels Teacher Pep Talk: It wasn t that long ago, if you think about it. Of course, it has

More information

Luke 2:8-18English (ESV) The Shepherds and the Angels

Luke 2:8-18English (ESV) The Shepherds and the Angels Luke 2:8-18English (ESV) The Shepherds and the Angels 8 And in the same region there were shepherds out in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night. 9 And an angel of the Lord appeared to them,

More information

Nativity Script Pax Christi

Nativity Script Pax Christi Nativity Script Pax Christi Good evening and welcome to Pax Christi's program of the birth of Jesus. Please join us downstairs in the church hall after the program for cookies and fellowship. As we wait

More information

advent May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

advent May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. advent The season of Christmas can be a time of great joy and happiness. But more often than not, it can seem stressful and hectic as our to do list grows. So, this Christmas, Fellowship Kids staff would

More information

THE CHRISTMAS CANDLELIGHT

THE CHRISTMAS CANDLELIGHT Main program Option 1 THE CHRISTMAS CANDLELIGHT (Adapted from "A Christmas Candlelight Drama" by Melody Mosley Morris.) LOGISTICS CHECKLIST 1. Accompaniment trax. 2. Songsheets of carols (Make as many

More information

Matthew 2:10. Sample file. Silent Night! Holy Night

Matthew 2:10. Sample file. Silent Night! Holy Night Matthew 2:2 Where is he that is born King of the Jews? for we have seen his star in the east, and are come to worship him. The First Noel They looked up and saw a star Shining in the East, beyond them

More information

Child s Name: Adult #1 Name: Date: (please print) Adult #2 Name: Date: (please print) Adult #3 Name: Date: (please print)

Child s Name: Adult #1 Name: Date: (please print) Adult #2 Name: Date: (please print) Adult #3 Name: Date: (please print) 1 Corinthians 13:4-8 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.

More information

NOTES to accompany Powerpoint presentation

NOTES to accompany Powerpoint presentation Meaningful Chocolate 2014 Resources for Advent Assembly Title 1: Which parts of Christmas do we celebrate? KS1-2 NOTES to accompany Powerpoint presentation Assembly 1: Which parts of Christmas do we celebrate?

More information

Smelly shepherds Luke 2:8-20 Leader s version

Smelly shepherds Luke 2:8-20 Leader s version Smelly shepherds Luke 2:8-20 Leader s version Check in with the group sitting in a semi-circle go round and ask everyone, including leaders, how they are and how they're feeling about studying the Bible

More information

BECOMING JESUS PERSONAL FRIEND

BECOMING JESUS PERSONAL FRIEND BECOMING JESUS PERSONAL FRIEND Gospel Meditations for Christmas and Beyond 1 1. INTRODUCTION The celebration of Christmas is a reminder that God became part of our human history. He was born in Bethlehem

More information

Christmas /Advent Season

Christmas /Advent Season Light the first candle: Before eating light the first candle. Traditionally a purple candle is lit first, but the color is not important. Consider taking turns lighting the candles and reading the verses

More information

Promises Kept. Lesson 4. Promises Kept

Promises Kept. Lesson 4. Promises Kept Promises Kept Lesson 4 Mission Lesson 4/page Arlington 1 of 8 Mission Metroplex Christmas 2008 Hosea 11:1 A son brought out of Egypt Scriptures Hosea 11:1 Matthew 2:1-15 Memory Verse Lord, you are everything

More information

For The Love of Christmas. By Mary Engquist

For The Love of Christmas. By Mary Engquist For The Love of Christmas By Mary Engquist Puppeteers Ministry Music starts playing in background. We Need A little Christmas and Puppeteers act it out while children are walking on stage. Props: A Christmas

More information

Luke s Christmas (Luke 2:1-20, King James Version) Adapted for Readers Theater by Carol Montgomery

Luke s Christmas (Luke 2:1-20, King James Version) Adapted for Readers Theater by Carol Montgomery Luke s Christmas (Luke 2:1-20, King James Version) Adapted for Readers Theater by Carol Montgomery Performance Time = about 3 1/2 minutes CAST (8+) Narrator Joseph Mary Angel 1 Angel 2 Angels (Angels 1

More information

Christmas Advent Season - Week 1 Hope

Christmas Advent Season - Week 1 Hope Christmas Advent Season - Week 1 Hope Light the First Candle: Traditionally a purple candle is lit first, but the color is not important. If your child is old enough, consider taking turns lighting the

More information

CHRISTMAS CLOWN Setting: Characters: Props:

CHRISTMAS CLOWN Setting: Characters: Props: CHRISTMAS CLOWN Setting: The annual Christmas pageant. Manger scene is close to the center of the stage. Mary and Joseph will sit behind the manger. Make sure they can be easily seen. You can use just

More information

God s Son Came To Earth

God s Son Came To Earth God s Son Came To Earth From the Holy Bible Simplified English Version for Indigenous Australians Published by The Bible League Inc. 2014 PO Box 714 Penrith NSW 2751 Freecall: 1800 800 937 info@bl.org.au

More information

Jesus Was Born. Coloring Page / Activity / Craft / Intro Bible Story 8:30 9:15 10:30 11:15. Large Group Worship in Clubhouse 9:15 9:35 11:15 11:35

Jesus Was Born. Coloring Page / Activity / Craft / Intro Bible Story 8:30 9:15 10:30 11:15. Large Group Worship in Clubhouse 9:15 9:35 11:15 11:35 Club 4-10 December 18, 2016 Jesus Was Born Bible Passage: Luke 2:1-20 Key Passage: Matthew 1:21 Main Point: Jesus was born. Christ Connection: Jesus was born! This was very good news! Jesus was not like

More information

is designed to be simple and will tell you exacly what you need, what you do, and what to say.

is designed to be simple and will tell you exacly what you need, what you do, and what to say. Merry Christmas! This year, we hope that you will be able to enjoy your Christmas surrounded by family and loved ones, which is why we won t be meeting for services on Christmas Day. But, we still want

More information

THE BLESSINGS OF CHRISTMAS TODAY

THE BLESSINGS OF CHRISTMAS TODAY #5147 THE BLESSINGS OF CHRISTMAS TODAY (The program requires a Narrator and a Leader. To enhance the program with a visual presentation, build a creche scene by adding the figures to the display as they

More information

A Rehearsal-Free Christmas Pageant

A Rehearsal-Free Christmas Pageant A Rehearsal-Free Christmas Pageant The NARRATION SCRIPT Intro music (note: Ideally, people should have their costumes on by the time they are entering the sanctuary). Welcome and Introduction (M.C. says

More information

Enclosed is a play script version of the nativity story. It has been written with whole class participation in mind.

Enclosed is a play script version of the nativity story. It has been written with whole class participation in mind. Dear Teacher, Enclosed is a play script version of the nativity story. It has been written with whole class participation in mind. The script has twenty-three speaking parts written (these can be altered

More information

Lesson Six: Jesus was Born Read the following story.

Lesson Six: Jesus was Born Read the following story. Lesson Six: Jesus was Born Read the following story. Jesus Christ was a descendant of King David, who was from the family of Abraham (and Sarah) This is how Jesus Christ was born. A young woman named Mary

More information

ALL Are Welcome At The Manger Text: Luke 2:1-20

ALL Are Welcome At The Manger Text: Luke 2:1-20 ALL Are Welcome At The Manger Text: Luke 2:1-20 At that time the Emperor Augustus ordered a census of the Roman Empire. 2 This was the first census taken while Quirinius was governor of Syria. 3 All the

More information

Sample: MESSIAH S MESSENGERS INTRODUCTION

Sample: MESSIAH S MESSENGERS INTRODUCTION Sample: MESSIAH S MESSENGERS (The service has a witness theme that uses angels to display visuals that highlight each part. The description of the visuals along with patterns is included in the packet.)

More information

A Kid s Christmas Play

A Kid s Christmas Play A Kid s Christmas Play This Nativity play was written in its entirety, by a small group of children ages kindergarten through 3 rd grade from London Heights Baptist Church in Kansas City, Kansas. It is

More information

ANGELS APPEAR TO SHEPHERDS

ANGELS APPEAR TO SHEPHERDS Bible Story 168 ANGELS APPEAR TO SHEPHERDS LUKE 2:8-20 And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid. And the angel said unto

More information

Christmas Missionaries Luke 2:8-16 Pastor Eddie Ildefonso

Christmas Missionaries Luke 2:8-16 Pastor Eddie Ildefonso Christmas Missionaries Luke 2:8-16 Pastor Eddie Ildefonso The Christmas narrative from Luke chapter 2 introduces us to some individuals who we could easily call the ORIGINAL CHRISTMAS MISSIONARIES. While

More information

CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE THIRD WEEK OF SEPTEMBER. LESSON TITLE: The Birth of Jesus. THEME: God is in control of all things. SCRIPTURE: Luke 2:1-7

CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE THIRD WEEK OF SEPTEMBER. LESSON TITLE: The Birth of Jesus. THEME: God is in control of all things. SCRIPTURE: Luke 2:1-7 CHILDREN S DEVOTIONS FOR THE THIRD WEEK OF SEPTEMBER LESSON TITLE: The Birth of Jesus THEME: God is in control of all things. SCRIPTURE: Luke 2:1-7 Dear Parents Welcome to Bible Time for Kids! Bible Time

More information

WELCOME TO PUKETAPAPA CHRISTMAS FESTIVAL Featuring Three Kings Carols by Candlelight 2015

WELCOME TO PUKETAPAPA CHRISTMAS FESTIVAL Featuring Three Kings Carols by Candlelight 2015 BC5029 Puketapapa Christmas Festival Featuring Three Kings Carols by Candlelight CAROL BOOK Friday 4 December, 6-9pm Three Kings Reserve, Three Kings WELCOME TO PUKETAPAPA CHRISTMAS FESTIVAL Featuring

More information

Night of the Father s Love

Night of the Father s Love Night of the Father s Love The Awe and Mystery of God with Us by Pepper Choplin 2010 Lorenz Publishing Co. CCLI #68805 Here are Daily Prayers You Might Use This Week: Household Prayer: Morning Thank you,

More information

The Perfect Gift A Jesus Cares Christmas Service

The Perfect Gift A Jesus Cares Christmas Service The Perfect Gift A Jesus Cares Christmas Service Level A 1 The Perfect Gift: A Jesus Cares Ministries Christmas Service Written by Julie Luetke Edited by Jane Mose To God be the glory! Overview: The Perfect

More information