AST-2003 Review for Final Exam

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "AST-2003 Review for Final Exam"

Transcription

1 AST-2003 Review for Final Exam Please do not forget to do the evaluations. Last day is Friday April 26th Bring Gator 1 ID card Bring pencil #2 with eraser No use of calculator or any electronic device during the exam We provide the scantrons If formulas are needed they will be projected on the screen You can use the exam sheets as scrap paper if you need to do calculations. The exam will have questions. 5 possible answers, only one valid answer. Exam is on Thursday May 2 nd at 7:30 AM. There are two hours allocated for the exam Exam will be in this room, FLG 230 Please arrive early If you are late and you arrive after the first person turn in the exam, you will not be allowed to take the exam. There is no time for makeup exams. Grades must be entered during the weekend right after we give the exam Material for Final Exam : Ch 1, 2,3, 4, 5, 6,7, 8, 9, 10 and 11 Material for this review: Ch 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11

2 Chapter 7 Our Planetary System Main characteristics of terrestrial planets Main characteristics of Jovian planets The Sun: Surface temperature (5,800 K), core temperature (15 million K) Basic process for the production of energy in the Sun: Fusion of H into He. Basic differences between terrestrial and Jovian planets Comparison of mass, diameter, density, number of satellites and distance from the Sun for the terrestrial and Jovian planets What is unusual regarding the number of satellites of the terrestrial planets Satellites (or moons) that are unique in the solar system What makes Io a unique satellite? What makes Titan a special satellite? The orbits of terrestrial planets are close to each other. The orbits of the Jovian planets are well separated Main gasses in the atmosphere of Earth, Venus and Mars Jupiter Great Red Spot: largest and longer duration storm in the solar system

3 Chapter 7 Our Planetary System Which group of planets (terrestrial or Jovian) has more moons or satellites? How many moons or satellites have the terrestrial planets? Do the terrestrial planets have rings? Which of the Jovian planets have rings? Which planets has rings are easily visible in a small telescope? What is the density of the terrestrial planets compared with the density of Jovian planets? Which planet has the lowest density? Which has the highest densities? Which planet has more mass than all the masses of all the rest of the planets together? Which terrestrial planet doesn t have an atmosphere The density (and pressure) of the atmosphere of Venus compared with the Earth? The density (and pressure) of the atmosphere of Mars compared with the Earth? Name the four Galilean satellites of Jupiter What has Io in particular that distinguish from the rest of the Galilean satellites? What has Europa under the ice crust If we look through a telescope, what does Saturn has that is different from the other Jovian planets? What does Titan has in particular that make it a unique satellite in the solar system? Why Uranus and Neptune look greenish/bluish? What causes those colors? What is the tilt of the rotational axis of Uranus? How many moons Pluto has?

4 Chapter 8 Formation of the Solar System Topics Explain the nebular hypothesis for the formation of the solar system What is the composition of the material of the nebula from which the planetary system formed? Where is this material came from? How this material got enriched in heavier elements? Conservation of angular momentum in the collapse of the interstellar cloud Conservation of energy in the collapse of the interstellar cloud (gravitational energy) What are the main characteristics of the solar system that needs to be explained by the theory of the formation of the solar system? What is the role of the stellar wind (or solar wind) regarding the material present in the protoplanetray disk while the planets are still forming? Discovery of exoplanets Theory of the formation of the Moon. Collision with large object, about size of Mars Name a few characteristics that the model of formation of the solar system has to explain Name some exceptions found in the solar system After the cloud collapse, what is the object that forms at the center? what is formed around the central body? What is the shape of the material that forms around the central body What is the minimum temperature necessary for the central body to start converting H into He? Why do we mean when we say that the material from which the solar system form is recycled material? What causes the lost of material from the protoplanetary disk once the central star began generating energy What material can condense inside the frost line? What material condense outside? What ends the planets accretion of matter during the formation of the planets? What effect had the solar magnetic field in the rotation of the Sun during the formation?

5 Chapter 9 Planetary Geology Topics Internal structure of the terrestrial planets: Core, mantle, crust What is differentiation? Where did the heat necessary to melt the interior of a planet came from/ Sources of heat that rises the internal temperature of terrestrial planets Method to determine the internal structure of the Earth Propagation of P and S waves in the interior of the Earth. Shaping the surface of the planets: Impact cratering, volcanism, plate tectonics, erosion, deposition What roles all these mechanisms have in shaping the surface of Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars What features characterize the surface of Mercury? What features characterize the surface of the Moon? Evidence of liquid water in Mars: Present and past evidence Runoff and outflow channels in Mars Salty water running down the slopes of Martian craters, gullies. Why it has to be salty water? Discovery of ice under the surface, Phoenix trench and white material that melted or sublimated Lunar features. Highlands, lowlands and maria. Cratering in lunar hightlands and lowlands On Earth, convection drives the plate tectonics Where convection get the energy? Conditions to produce magnetic field in planets The protective role of Earth magnetic field

6 Chapter 9 Planetary Geology Describe what happened during the differentiation process What are the three layer that form the interior of the terrestrial planets Describe how the waves generated in an earthquake are used to learn about the internal structure of the Earth Name and explain the type of seismic waves used to learn about the interior of the Earth Where is now the water that once was running in the outflow and runoff channels? Any discovery of ice under a few cm of soil lately? What is the composition of the Venus clouds? What drives the plates tectonics on Earth? How it has been possible to map the surface of Venus? What method has been used? What type of feature characterize Venus surface? Evidence of plate tectonics in Venus? What is the origin of the energy that drives the convection in the mantle? What are the conditions needed to create a magnetic field in a planet? How are terrestrial auroras produced?

7 Chapter 10 Planetary atmospheres Topics Composition of the atmospheres of the terrestrial planets Surface pressure of the atmospheres of terrestrial planets compared with Earth Effect of Greenhouse in the terrestrial planets Interaction of light and atmospheric gasses The planets magnetosphere and its interaction with the solar wind Why Mars lost its magnetic field? Why Mars cooled off faster than the Earth? What protection provided the Earth magnetic field to life on Earth? Auroral emission Weather and Climate Major factors that cause long tern effects in climate The atmosphere of Mars, Venus and the Earth. Main gasses in each atmosphere. Surface gravity, escape velocity and thermal velocity of gas molecules Evidence of water in Mars. Liquid water in the past. Runoff and outflow channels. Recent indication liquid water on the surface Origin of oxygen in the atmosphere of Earth. The carbon dioxide cycle Effect of Greenhouse in the temperature of the atmosphere of Earth. Global warming Correlation between carbon dioxide density and increase in overall temperature of Earth Which are the greenhouse gasses in the terrestrial planets? Why some planets and satellites are able to retain an atmosphere? Why is the sky blue? What caused the changes in the atmosphere of Mars? What is the connection between the lost of carbon dioxide in Mars atmosphere and the lost of magnetic field. How an atmosphere gain and loses gases?

8 Chapter 11 Jovian Planets Main characteristics of Jovian planets. How do they compare with terrestrial planets Basic differences between terrestrial and Jovian planets Comparison of mass, diameter, density, number of satellites, distance from the Sun Satellites (or moons) that are unique in the solar system The orbits of terrestrial planets are close to each other. The orbits of the Jovian planets are well separated Exploration of Jovian planets by spacecrafts. Which planets have been explored and studied mainly by spacecraft? The mass-radius dependence of a planet with H and He composition. Mass and diameter of Jupiter and Saturn Distortion of Jupiter and Saturn due to fast rotation Interior composition of Jupiter and Saturn. The presence of metallic H Zones and belts in Jupiter s atmosphere Jupiter Great Red Spot: largest and longer duration storm in the solar system Presence of magnetic fields in all the Jovian planets Jupiter strong magnetic field. Responsible for the strong low frequency radio emission The four Galilean satellites of Jupiter: Io, Europa, Ganymede and Callisto Io volcanic activity and the generation of heat by tidal effect due to elliptical orbit Europa and the ocean of liquid water under the surface What causes the elliptical orbit of Io, Europa and Ganymide? Resonance Titan, lakes of methane/ethane. Presence of methane and hydrocarbons in Titan atmosphere Triton and its retrograde orbit. Possible origin of Triton Rings in Jovian planets. The Roche limit. Differential gravitational force

9 Chapter 11 Jovian Planets What causes the internal heat in Io that trigger the volcanic activity What causes the internal heat in Europa that makes possible to have an ocean of salty water? Why Io, Europa and Ganymede have an elliptical orbit? Explain what is resonance in the orbits of these satellites. Resonance: 1 orbit of Ganymede (7.155 days) 2 orbits of Europa (3.551 days) 4 orbits of Io (1.769 days) Jupiter has about three times more mass than Saturn. How can we explain their relative radius (Size)? Why Saturn and Jupiter are not perfectly spherical? What causes the blue color in the atmosphere of Uranus and Neptune? What will happen to a body if it get closer to a planet and crosses the Roche limit? Do the particles of a ring follow Kepler s law?

Chapter 6: Our Solar System and Its Origin

Chapter 6: Our Solar System and Its Origin Chapter 6: Our Solar System and Its Origin What does our solar system look like? The planets are tiny compared to the distances between them (a million times smaller than shown here), but they exhibit

More information

2007 Pearson Education Inc., publishing as Pearson Addison-Wesley. The Jovian Planets

2007 Pearson Education Inc., publishing as Pearson Addison-Wesley. The Jovian Planets The Jovian Planets The Jovian planets are gas giants - much larger than Earth Sizes of Jovian Planets Planets get larger as they get more massive up to a point... Planets more massive than Jupiter are

More information

The Jovian Planets Pearson Education Inc., publishing as Pearson Addison-Wesley

The Jovian Planets Pearson Education Inc., publishing as Pearson Addison-Wesley The Jovian Planets 1 Great Exam Performance! Class average was 79.5% This is the highest average I ve ever had on any ASTR 100 exam Wonderful job! Exams will be handed back in your sections Don t let up;

More information

ASTR 380 Possibilities for Life on the Moons of Giant Planets

ASTR 380 Possibilities for Life on the Moons of Giant Planets Let s first consider the large gas planets: Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune Planets to scale with Sun in background 67 62 14 The many moons of the outer planets.. Most of the moons are very small 1

More information

7. Our Solar System. Planetary Orbits to Scale. The Eight Planetary Orbits

7. Our Solar System. Planetary Orbits to Scale. The Eight Planetary Orbits 7. Our Solar System Terrestrial & Jovian planets Seven large satellites [moons] Chemical composition of the planets Asteroids & comets The Terrestrial & Jovian Planets Four small terrestrial planets Like

More information

Formation of the Solar System

Formation of the Solar System Formation of the Solar System Any theory of formation of the Solar System must explain all of the basic facts that we have learned so far. 1 The Solar System The Sun contains 99.9% of the mass. The Solar

More information

The Origin of the Solar System and Other Planetary Systems

The Origin of the Solar System and Other Planetary Systems The Origin of the Solar System and Other Planetary Systems Modeling Planet Formation Boundary Conditions Nebular Hypothesis Fixing Problems Role of Catastrophes Planets of Other Stars Modeling Planet Formation

More information

Chapter 6 Formation of Planetary Systems Our Solar System and Beyond

Chapter 6 Formation of Planetary Systems Our Solar System and Beyond Chapter 6 Formation of Planetary Systems Our Solar System and Beyond The solar system exhibits clear patterns of composition and motion. Sun Over 99.9% of solar system s mass Made mostly of H/He gas (plasma)

More information

CHAPTER 6 THE TERRESTRIAL PLANETS

CHAPTER 6 THE TERRESTRIAL PLANETS CHAPTER 6 THE TERRESTRIAL PLANETS MULTIPLE CHOICE 1. Which of the following is NOT one of the four stages in the development of a terrestrial planet? 2. That Earth, evidence that Earth differentiated.

More information

Chapter 7 Earth and the Terrestrial Worlds

Chapter 7 Earth and the Terrestrial Worlds Chapter 7 Earth and the Terrestrial Worlds Mercury craters smooth plains, cliffs Venus volcanoes few craters Radar view of a twinpeaked volcano Mars some craters volcanoes riverbeds? Moon craters smooth

More information

Planetary Trading Cards

Planetary Trading Cards Planetary Order: 1 st planet from the sun Planet Size: 4,880 Kilometers Rotation Time (Earth Days): 59 Orbit Time (Earth Years):.241 Orbit Time (Earth Days): 88 MERCURY 38 lbs AU s:.4 Kilometers: 60 million

More information

Chapter 7 Reading Quiz Clickers. The Cosmic Perspective Seventh Edition. Our Planetary System Pearson Education, Inc.

Chapter 7 Reading Quiz Clickers. The Cosmic Perspective Seventh Edition. Our Planetary System Pearson Education, Inc. Reading Quiz Clickers The Cosmic Perspective Seventh Edition Our Planetary System 7.1 Studying the Solar System What does the solar system look like? What can we learn by comparing the planets to one another?

More information

The Formation of Planetary Systems. Astronomy 1-1 Lecture 20-1

The Formation of Planetary Systems. Astronomy 1-1 Lecture 20-1 The Formation of Planetary Systems Astronomy 1-1 Lecture 20-1 Modeling Planet Formation Any model for solar system and planet formation must explain 1. Planets are relatively isolated in space 2. Planetary

More information

WELCOME to Aurorae In the Solar System. J.E. Klemaszewski

WELCOME to Aurorae In the Solar System. J.E. Klemaszewski WELCOME to Aurorae In the Solar System Aurorae in the Solar System Sponsoring Projects Galileo Europa Mission Jupiter System Data Analysis Program ACRIMSAT Supporting Projects Ulysses Project Outer Planets

More information

Lecture Outlines. Chapter 15. Astronomy Today 7th Edition Chaisson/McMillan. 2011 Pearson Education, Inc.

Lecture Outlines. Chapter 15. Astronomy Today 7th Edition Chaisson/McMillan. 2011 Pearson Education, Inc. Lecture Outlines Chapter 15 Astronomy Today 7th Edition Chaisson/McMillan Chapter 15 The Formation of Planetary Systems Units of Chapter 15 15.1 Modeling Planet Formation 15.2 Terrestrial and Jovian Planets

More information

Solar System Overview

Solar System Overview Solar System Overview Planets: Four inner planets, Terrestrial planets Four outer planets, Jovian planets Asteroids: Minor planets (planetesimals) Meteroids: Chucks of rocks (smaller than asteroids) (Mercury,

More information

Class 2 Solar System Characteristics Formation Exosolar Planets

Class 2 Solar System Characteristics Formation Exosolar Planets Class 1 Introduction, Background History of Modern Astronomy The Night Sky, Eclipses and the Seasons Kepler's Laws Newtonian Gravity General Relativity Matter and Light Telescopes Class 2 Solar System

More information

Solar System Fundamentals. What is a Planet? Planetary orbits Planetary temperatures Planetary Atmospheres Origin of the Solar System

Solar System Fundamentals. What is a Planet? Planetary orbits Planetary temperatures Planetary Atmospheres Origin of the Solar System Solar System Fundamentals What is a Planet? Planetary orbits Planetary temperatures Planetary Atmospheres Origin of the Solar System Properties of Planets What is a planet? Defined finally in August 2006!

More information

Solar Nebula Theory. Basic properties of the Solar System that need to be explained:

Solar Nebula Theory. Basic properties of the Solar System that need to be explained: Solar Nebula Theory Basic properties of the Solar System that need to be explained: 1. All planets orbit the Sun in the same direction as the Sun s rotation 2. All planetary orbits are confined to the

More information

The Layout of the Solar System

The Layout of the Solar System The Layout of the Solar System Planets fall into two main categories Terrestrial (i.e. Earth-like) Jovian (i.e. Jupiter-like or gaseous) [~5000 kg/m 3 ] [~1300 kg/m 3 ] What is density? Average density

More information

Composition of planets. Mercury

Composition of planets. Mercury The Solar System Solar System Nebular Hypothesis of Solar System Formation. Planets drawn to scale Distances not to scale Earth approximately 12,800 km diameter Earth is about 150,000,000 km from Sun Composition

More information

Solar System Formation

Solar System Formation Solar System Formation Solar System Formation Question: How did our solar system and other planetary systems form? Comparative planetology has helped us understand Compare the differences and similarities

More information

The moons of the planets

The moons of the planets 22th of October 2007 The planets of our solar system Our solar system contains eight planets. Beginning with the closest one to the sun they are in order: Mercury Venus Earth Uranus The moons in our solar

More information

Related Standards and Background Information

Related Standards and Background Information Related Standards and Background Information Earth Patterns, Cycles and Changes This strand focuses on student understanding of patterns in nature, natural cycles, and changes that occur both quickly and

More information

Chapter 7 Our Planetary System. Agenda. Intro Astronomy. Intro Astronomy. What does the solar system look like? A. General Basics

Chapter 7 Our Planetary System. Agenda. Intro Astronomy. Intro Astronomy. What does the solar system look like? A. General Basics Chapter 7 Our Planetary System Agenda Pass back & discuss Test 2 Where we are (at) Ch. 7 Our Planetary System Finish Einstein s Big Idea Earth, as viewed by the Voyager spacecraft A. General Basics Intro

More information

The Origin of the Solar System

The Origin of the Solar System The Origin of the Solar System Questions: How did the various constituents of Solar System form? What were the physical processes involved? When did they form? Did they all form more-or less simultaneously?

More information

Chapter 7 Our Planetary System. What does the solar system look like? Thought Question How does the Earth-Sun distance compare with the Sun s radius

Chapter 7 Our Planetary System. What does the solar system look like? Thought Question How does the Earth-Sun distance compare with the Sun s radius Chapter 7 Our Planetary System 7.1 Studying the Solar System Our goals for learning:! What does the solar system look like?! What can we learn by comparing the planets to one another?! What are the major

More information

Lecture 10 Formation of the Solar System January 6c, 2014

Lecture 10 Formation of the Solar System January 6c, 2014 1 Lecture 10 Formation of the Solar System January 6c, 2014 2 Orbits of the Planets 3 Clues for the Formation of the SS All planets orbit in roughly the same plane about the Sun. All planets orbit in the

More information

Assignment 5. Multiple Choice Identify the letter of the choice that best completes the statement or answers the question.

Assignment 5. Multiple Choice Identify the letter of the choice that best completes the statement or answers the question. Assignment 5 Multiple Choice Identify the letter of the choice that best completes the statement or answers the question. 1. What is the single most important reason that astronomers have learned more

More information

The Main Point. Lecture #34: Solar System Origin II. Chemical Condensation ( Lewis ) Model. How did the solar system form? Reading: Chapter 8.

The Main Point. Lecture #34: Solar System Origin II. Chemical Condensation ( Lewis ) Model. How did the solar system form? Reading: Chapter 8. Lecture #34: Solar System Origin II How did the solar system form? Chemical Condensation ("Lewis") Model. Formation of the Terrestrial Planets. Formation of the Giant Planets. Planetary Evolution. Reading:

More information

SURFACE ACTIVITY LESSON

SURFACE ACTIVITY LESSON SURFACE ACTIVITY LESSON Ronald Wilhelm & Jennifer Wilhelm, University of Kentucky 2007 Surface Activity on Planets and Moons The Earth and the Moon: Investigations of the Earth and the Moon show that both

More information

THE SOLAR SYSTEM NAME. I. Physical characteristics of the solar system

THE SOLAR SYSTEM NAME. I. Physical characteristics of the solar system NAME I. Physical characteristics of the solar system THE SOLAR SYSTEM The solar system consists of the sun and 9 planets. Table 2 lists a number of the properties and characteristics of the sun and the

More information

DESCRIPTION ACADEMIC STANDARDS INSTRUCTIONAL GOALS VOCABULARY BEFORE SHOWING. Subject Area: Science

DESCRIPTION ACADEMIC STANDARDS INSTRUCTIONAL GOALS VOCABULARY BEFORE SHOWING. Subject Area: Science DESCRIPTION Host Tom Selleck conducts a stellar tour of Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto--the outer planets of Earth's solar system. Information from the Voyager space probes plus computer models

More information

Homework #3 Solutions

Homework #3 Solutions Chap. 7, #40 Homework #3 Solutions ASTR100: Introduction to Astronomy Fall 2009: Dr. Stacy McGaugh Which of the following is a strong greenhouse gas? A) Nitrogen. B) Water Vapor. C) Oxygen) The correct

More information

Homework #6 Chapter 5: Earth and Moon Due: 15 Oct 2013

Homework #6 Chapter 5: Earth and Moon Due: 15 Oct 2013 Homework #6 Chapter 5: Earth and Moon Due: 15 Oct 2013 Review and Discussion: RD5.1 Explain how the Moon produces tides in Earth s oceans. The Moon pulls on the side of Earth facing it with a stronger

More information

Chapter 8 Formation of the Solar System Agenda

Chapter 8 Formation of the Solar System Agenda Chapter 8 Formation of the Solar System Agenda Announce: Mercury Transit Part 2 of Projects due next Thursday Ch. 8 Formation of the Solar System Philip on The Physics of Star Trek Radiometric Dating Lab

More information

Our Planetary System. Earth, as viewed by the Voyager spacecraft. 2014 Pearson Education, Inc.

Our Planetary System. Earth, as viewed by the Voyager spacecraft. 2014 Pearson Education, Inc. Our Planetary System Earth, as viewed by the Voyager spacecraft 7.1 Studying the Solar System Our goals for learning: What does the solar system look like? What can we learn by comparing the planets to

More information

Lecture 7 Formation of the Solar System. Nebular Theory. Origin of the Solar System. Origin of the Solar System. The Solar Nebula

Lecture 7 Formation of the Solar System. Nebular Theory. Origin of the Solar System. Origin of the Solar System. The Solar Nebula Origin of the Solar System Lecture 7 Formation of the Solar System Reading: Chapter 9 Quiz#2 Today: Lecture 60 minutes, then quiz 20 minutes. Homework#1 will be returned on Thursday. Our theory must explain

More information

California Standards Grades 9 12 Boardworks 2009 Science Contents Standards Mapping

California Standards Grades 9 12 Boardworks 2009 Science Contents Standards Mapping California Standards Grades 912 Boardworks 2009 Science Contents Standards Mapping Earth Sciences Earth s Place in the Universe 1. Astronomy and planetary exploration reveal the solar system s structure,

More information

Names of Group Members:

Names of Group Members: Names of Group Members: Using telescopes and spacecraft, astronomers can collect information from objects too big or too far away to test and study in a lab. This is fortunate, because it turns out that

More information

1 The Nine Planets. What are the parts of our solar system? When were the planets discovered? How do astronomers measure large distances?

1 The Nine Planets. What are the parts of our solar system? When were the planets discovered? How do astronomers measure large distances? CHAPTER 4 1 The Nine Planets SECTION A Family of Planets BEFORE YOU READ After you read this section, you should be able to answer these questions: What are the parts of our solar system? When were the

More information

Chapter 8 Formation of the Solar System. What theory best explains the features of our solar system? Close Encounter Hypothesis

Chapter 8 Formation of the Solar System. What theory best explains the features of our solar system? Close Encounter Hypothesis Chapter 8 Formation of the Solar System What properties of our solar system must a formation theory explain? 1. Patterns of motion of the large bodies Orbit in same direction and plane 2. Existence of

More information

Chapter 7 Earth and the Terrestrial Worlds Mercury

Chapter 7 Earth and the Terrestrial Worlds Mercury 9/28/11 Important Stuff (section 003) Important Stuff (section 004) The First Midterm is Tuesday, October 11 The First Midterm will be given in Bell Museum 100 The First Midterm is Wednesday, October 12

More information

Science Standard 4 Earth in Space Grade Level Expectations

Science Standard 4 Earth in Space Grade Level Expectations Science Standard 4 Earth in Space Grade Level Expectations Science Standard 4 Earth in Space Our Solar System is a collection of gravitationally interacting bodies that include Earth and the Moon. Universal

More information

Solar System Fact Sheet

Solar System Fact Sheet Solar System Fact Sheet (Source: http://solarsystem.nasa.gov; http://solarviews.com) The Solar System Categories Mercury Venus Earth Mars Jupiter Saturn Uranus Neptune Rocky or Gas Rocky Rocky Rocky Rocky

More information

4 HOW OUR SOLAR SYSTEM FORMED 750L

4 HOW OUR SOLAR SYSTEM FORMED 750L 4 HOW OUR SOLAR SYSTEM FORMED 750L HOW OUR SOLAR SYSTEM FORMED A CLOSE LOOK AT THE PLANETS ORBITING OUR SUN By Cynthia Stokes Brown, adapted by Newsela Planets come from the clouds of gas and dust that

More information

ASTR 115: Introduction to Astronomy. Stephen Kane

ASTR 115: Introduction to Astronomy. Stephen Kane ASTR 115: Introduction to Astronomy Stephen Kane ASTR 115: The Second Mid-Term Exam What will be covered? - Everything from chapters 6-10 of the textbook. What will be the format of the exam? - It will

More information

15.6 Planets Beyond the Solar System

15.6 Planets Beyond the Solar System 15.6 Planets Beyond the Solar System Planets orbiting other stars are called extrasolar planets. Until 1995, whether or not extrasolar planets existed was unknown. Since then more than 300 have been discovered.

More information

Summary: Four Major Features of our Solar System

Summary: Four Major Features of our Solar System Summary: Four Major Features of our Solar System How did the solar system form? According to the nebular theory, our solar system formed from the gravitational collapse of a giant cloud of interstellar

More information

Cosmic Journey: A Solar System Adventure General Information

Cosmic Journey: A Solar System Adventure General Information Cosmic Journey: A Solar System Adventure General Information Imagine it a huge spiral galaxy containing hundreds of billions of stars, spiraling out from a galactic center. Nestled deep within one of the

More information

STUDY GUIDE: Earth Sun Moon

STUDY GUIDE: Earth Sun Moon The Universe is thought to consist of trillions of galaxies. Our galaxy, the Milky Way, has billions of stars. One of those stars is our Sun. Our solar system consists of the Sun at the center, and all

More information

Lesson 6: Earth and the Moon

Lesson 6: Earth and the Moon Lesson 6: Earth and the Moon Reading Assignment Chapter 7.1: Overall Structure of Planet Earth Chapter 7.3: Earth s Interior More Precisely 7-2: Radioactive Dating Chapter 7.5: Earth s Magnetosphere Chapter

More information

CHARACTERISTICS OF THE SOLAR SYSTEM

CHARACTERISTICS OF THE SOLAR SYSTEM reflect Our solar system is made up of thousands of objects, at the center of which is a star, the Sun. The objects beyond the Sun include 8 planets, at least 5 dwarf planets, and more than 170 moons.

More information

Chapter 8 Welcome to the Solar System

Chapter 8 Welcome to the Solar System Chapter 8 Welcome to the Solar System 8.1 The Search for Origins What properties of our solar system must a formation theory explain? What theory best explains the features of our solar system? What properties

More information

NOTES: GEORGIA HIGH SCHOOL SCIENCE TEST THE SOLAR SYSTEM

NOTES: GEORGIA HIGH SCHOOL SCIENCE TEST THE SOLAR SYSTEM NOTES: GEORGIA HIGH SCHOOL SCIENCE TEST THE SOLAR SYSTEM 1.What is a Solar system? A solar system consists of: * one central star, the Sun and * nine planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn,

More information

Asteroids. Earth. Asteroids. Earth Distance from sun: 149,600,000 kilometers (92,960,000 miles) Diameter: 12,756 kilometers (7,926 miles) dotted line

Asteroids. Earth. Asteroids. Earth Distance from sun: 149,600,000 kilometers (92,960,000 miles) Diameter: 12,756 kilometers (7,926 miles) dotted line Image taken by NASA Asteroids About 6,000 asteroids have been discovered; several hundred more are found each year. There are likely hundreds of thousands more that are too small to be seen from Earth.

More information

ASTR 1010 Astronomy of the Solar System Professor Caillault Fall 2009 Semester Exam 3 Answers

ASTR 1010 Astronomy of the Solar System Professor Caillault Fall 2009 Semester Exam 3 Answers ASTR 1010 Astronomy of the Solar System Professor Caillault Fall 2009 Semester Exam 3 Answers 1. Earth's atmosphere differs from those of near-neighbor planets, Venus and Mars, in one important respect

More information

Lecture 23: Terrestrial Worlds in Comparison. This lecture compares and contrasts the properties and evolution of the 5 main terrestrial bodies.

Lecture 23: Terrestrial Worlds in Comparison. This lecture compares and contrasts the properties and evolution of the 5 main terrestrial bodies. Lecture 23: Terrestrial Worlds in Comparison Astronomy 141 Winter 2012 This lecture compares and contrasts the properties and evolution of the 5 main terrestrial bodies. The small terrestrial planets have

More information

THE SOLAR SYSTEM - EXERCISES 1

THE SOLAR SYSTEM - EXERCISES 1 THE SOLAR SYSTEM - EXERCISES 1 THE SUN AND THE SOLAR SYSTEM Name the planets in their order from the sun. 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 The asteroid belt is between and Which planet has the most moons? About how many?

More information

LESSON 3 THE SOLAR SYSTEM. Chapter 8, Astronomy

LESSON 3 THE SOLAR SYSTEM. Chapter 8, Astronomy LESSON 3 THE SOLAR SYSTEM Chapter 8, Astronomy OBJECTIVES Identify planets by observing their movement against background stars. Explain that the solar system consists of many bodies held together by gravity.

More information

Lecture 12: The Solar System Briefly

Lecture 12: The Solar System Briefly Lecture 12: The Solar System Briefly Formation of the Moonhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WpOKztEiMqo&feature =related Formation of our Solar System Conservation of Angular Momentum Why are the larger,

More information

astronomy 2008 1. A planet was viewed from Earth for several hours. The diagrams below represent the appearance of the planet at four different times.

astronomy 2008 1. A planet was viewed from Earth for several hours. The diagrams below represent the appearance of the planet at four different times. 1. A planet was viewed from Earth for several hours. The diagrams below represent the appearance of the planet at four different times. 5. If the distance between the Earth and the Sun were increased,

More information

Study Guide due Friday, 1/29

Study Guide due Friday, 1/29 NAME: Astronomy Study Guide asteroid chromosphere comet corona ellipse Galilean moons VOCABULARY WORDS TO KNOW geocentric system meteor gravity meteorite greenhouse effect meteoroid heliocentric system

More information

Lab 7: Gravity and Jupiter's Moons

Lab 7: Gravity and Jupiter's Moons Lab 7: Gravity and Jupiter's Moons Image of Galileo Spacecraft Gravity is the force that binds all astronomical structures. Clusters of galaxies are gravitationally bound into the largest structures in

More information

Solar System GK Notes in PDF

Solar System GK Notes in PDF Solar System GK Notes in PDF Our little corner of the Universe is called the solar system. Questions on the Solar System funnily turn up in both Geography and Science. You can find a few questions on the

More information

Lecture Outlines. Chapter 8. Astronomy Today 7th Edition Chaisson/McMillan Pearson Education, Inc.

Lecture Outlines. Chapter 8. Astronomy Today 7th Edition Chaisson/McMillan Pearson Education, Inc. Lecture Outlines Chapter 8 Astronomy Today 7th Edition Chaisson/McMillan Chapter 8 The Moon and Mercury Units of Chapter 8 8.1 Orbital Properties 8.2 Physical Properties 8.3 Surface Features on the Moon

More information

Chapter 12 Remnants of Rock and Ice Asteroids, Comets, and the Kuiper Belt. Asteroid Facts. What are asteroids like? Asteroids with Moons

Chapter 12 Remnants of Rock and Ice Asteroids, Comets, and the Kuiper Belt. Asteroid Facts. What are asteroids like? Asteroids with Moons Chapter 12 Remnants of Rock and Ice Asteroids, Comets, and the Kuiper Belt 12.1 Asteroids and Meteorites Our goals for learning What are asteroids like? Why is there an asteroid belt? Where do meteorites

More information

Moons in Orbit by Katie Clark

Moons in Orbit by Katie Clark Did you know that other planets have moons, too? These moons are called satellites. A satellite is something that orbits, or moves around a planet. Some of these moons are small. Some of these moons are

More information

UNIT V. Earth and Space. Earth and the Solar System

UNIT V. Earth and Space. Earth and the Solar System UNIT V Earth and Space Chapter 9 Earth and the Solar System EARTH AND OTHER PLANETS A solar system contains planets, moons, and other objects that orbit around a star or the star system. The solar system

More information

Motion and Gravity in Space

Motion and Gravity in Space Motion and Gravity in Space Each planet spins on its axis. The spinning of a body, such a planet, on its axis is called rotation. The orbit is the path that a body follows as it travels around another

More information

SGL 101 MATERIALS OF THE EARTH Lecture 1 C.M.NYAMAI LECTURE 1. 1.0 ORIGIN, STRUCTURE AND COMPOSITION OF THE EARTH

SGL 101 MATERIALS OF THE EARTH Lecture 1 C.M.NYAMAI LECTURE 1. 1.0 ORIGIN, STRUCTURE AND COMPOSITION OF THE EARTH LECTURE 1. 1.0 ORIGIN, STRUCTURE AND COMPOSITION OF THE EARTH 1.1 INTRODUCTION. Welcome to Lecture 1 of this unit. To start with, stop and look around you wherever you are. Take a look at all the things

More information

Chapter 11 Jupiter. Physics 1312 Solar System Astronomy Practice Test 3

Chapter 11 Jupiter. Physics 1312 Solar System Astronomy Practice Test 3 Chapter 11 Jupiter MULTIPLE CHOICE. 1) How does the mass of Jupiter compare with that of the other planets? A) It is slightly larger and more massive than Saturn. B) It is similar to that of the Earth

More information

The Solar System. Olivia Paquette

The Solar System. Olivia Paquette The Solar System Olivia Paquette Table of Contents The Sun 1 Mercury 2,3 Venus 4,5 Earth 6,7 Mars 8,9 Jupiter 10,11 Saturn 12 Uranus 13 Neptune Pluto 14 15 Glossary. 16 The Sun Although it may seem like

More information

Name: João Fernando Alves da Silva Class: 7-4 Number: 10

Name: João Fernando Alves da Silva Class: 7-4 Number: 10 Name: João Fernando Alves da Silva Class: 7-4 Number: 10 What is the constitution of the Solar System? The Solar System is constituted not only by planets, which have satellites, but also by thousands

More information

Bangkok Christian College EIP Matayom Course Description Semester One 2011-2012

Bangkok Christian College EIP Matayom Course Description Semester One 2011-2012 Bangkok Christian College EIP Matayom Course Description Semester One 2011-2012 Subject: General Science Grade: Matayom 6 Course Description This semester the General Science course will continue covering

More information

This paper is also taken for the relevant Examination for the Associateship. For Second Year Physics Students Wednesday, 4th June 2008: 14:00 to 16:00

This paper is also taken for the relevant Examination for the Associateship. For Second Year Physics Students Wednesday, 4th June 2008: 14:00 to 16:00 Imperial College London BSc/MSci EXAMINATION June 2008 This paper is also taken for the relevant Examination for the Associateship SUN, STARS, PLANETS For Second Year Physics Students Wednesday, 4th June

More information

L3: The formation of the Solar System

L3: The formation of the Solar System credit: NASA L3: The formation of the Solar System UCL Certificate of astronomy Dr. Ingo Waldmann A stable home The presence of life forms elsewhere in the Universe requires a stable environment where

More information

Geol 116 The Planet Class 7-1 Feb 28, 2005. Exercise 1, Calculate the escape velocities of the nine planets in the solar system

Geol 116 The Planet Class 7-1 Feb 28, 2005. Exercise 1, Calculate the escape velocities of the nine planets in the solar system Exercises/Discussions Atmospheric Composition: Escape Velocities and Surface Temperature Objectives Escape velocity and the mass and size of a planetary body The effect of escape velocity and surface temperature

More information

Europa and Titan: Oceans in the Outer Solar System? Walter S. Kiefer, Lunar and Planetary Institute, Houston TX

Europa and Titan: Oceans in the Outer Solar System? Walter S. Kiefer, Lunar and Planetary Institute, Houston TX Europa and Titan: Oceans in the Outer Solar System? Walter S. Kiefer, Lunar and Planetary Institute, Houston TX Biologists believe that life requires the presence of some sort of liquid to serve as a medium

More information

The Earth s magnetosphere

The Earth s magnetosphere The Earth s magnetosphere 1 Re-call: Earth s magnetosphere C. Russell, The solar wind interaction with the Earth s magnetosphere: Tutorial 2 Magnetospheres Term introduced by Thomas Gold in 1959 Not a

More information

Earth Sciences -- Grades 9, 10, 11, and 12. California State Science Content Standards. Mobile Climate Science Labs

Earth Sciences -- Grades 9, 10, 11, and 12. California State Science Content Standards. Mobile Climate Science Labs Earth Sciences -- Grades 9, 10, 11, and 12 California State Science Content Standards Covered in: Hands-on science labs, demonstrations, & activities. Investigation and Experimentation. Lesson Plans. Presented

More information

Astronomy 100 Exam 2

Astronomy 100 Exam 2 1 Prof. Mo Exam Version A Astronomy 100 Exam 2 INSTRUCTIONS: Write your name and ID number on BOTH this sheet and the computer grading form. Use a #2 Pencil on the computer grading form. Be careful to

More information

TO GO TO ANY OF THE PAGES LISTED BELOW, CLICK ON ITS TITLE

TO GO TO ANY OF THE PAGES LISTED BELOW, CLICK ON ITS TITLE TO GO TO ANY OF THE PAGES LISTED BELOW, CLICK ON ITS TITLE CHAPTER 17 The Solar System 1 17-1 What is the solar system? 2 17-2 What do we know about orbits? 3 Comparing Planetary Revolutions Enrichment

More information

ASTR 1010 Astronomy of the Solar System Professor Caillault Fall 2009 Semester Exam 2 Answers

ASTR 1010 Astronomy of the Solar System Professor Caillault Fall 2009 Semester Exam 2 Answers ASTR 1010 Astronomy of the Solar System Professor Caillault Fall 2009 Semester Exam 2 Answers 1. Radio waves travel through space at what speed? (d) at the speed of light, 3 10 8 m/s 2. In 1675, Rømer

More information

Introduction and Origin of the Earth

Introduction and Origin of the Earth Page 1 of 5 EENS 1110 Tulane University Physical Geology Prof. Stephen A. Nelson Introduction and Origin of the Earth This page last updated on 30-Jul-2015 Geology, What is it? Geology is the study of

More information

Probing for Information

Probing for Information Name Class Date Inquiry Lab Probing for Information Using Scientific Methods Information about planets in our solar system has been collected by observation from Earth and from probes, or scientific instruments,

More information

Our Solar System Students will travel through the solar system and learn how far apart the planets are and how they move through the solar system.

Our Solar System Students will travel through the solar system and learn how far apart the planets are and how they move through the solar system. Our Solar System Students will travel through the solar system and learn how far apart the planets are and how they move through the solar system. Grade Level: 2nd Objectives: Students will create a model

More information

Grade 6 Standard 3 Unit Test A Astronomy. 1. The four inner planets are rocky and small. Which description best fits the next four outer planets?

Grade 6 Standard 3 Unit Test A Astronomy. 1. The four inner planets are rocky and small. Which description best fits the next four outer planets? Grade 6 Standard 3 Unit Test A Astronomy Multiple Choice 1. The four inner planets are rocky and small. Which description best fits the next four outer planets? A. They are also rocky and small. B. They

More information

Science 9 Worksheet 13-1 The Solar System

Science 9 Worksheet 13-1 The Solar System Name Date Due Date Science 9 Read pages 264-287 of SP to help you answer the following questions: Also, go to a school computer connected to the internet. Go to Mr. Colgur s Webpage at http://sd67.bc.ca/teachers/dcolgur

More information

20, (PAGES 267 279 IN YOUR MANUAL,

20, (PAGES 267 279 IN YOUR MANUAL, GEOLOGY 306 Laboratory Instructor: TERRY J. BOROUGHS NAME: Examining the Terrestrial Planets (Chapter 20) For this assignment you will require: a calculator, colored pencils, a metric ruler, and your geology

More information

Introduction to the Solar System

Introduction to the Solar System Introduction to the Solar System Lesson Objectives Describe some early ideas about our solar system. Name the planets, and describe their motion around the Sun. Explain how the solar system formed. Introduction

More information

4 HOW OUR SOLAR SYSTEM FORMED 1020L

4 HOW OUR SOLAR SYSTEM FORMED 1020L 4 HOW OUR SOLAR SYSTEM FORMED 1020L HOW OUR SOLAR SYSTEM FORMED A CLOSE LOOK AT THE PLANETS ORBITING OUR SUN By Cynthia Stokes Brown, adapted by Newsela Planets are born from the clouds of gas and dust

More information

DE2410: Learning Objectives. SOLAR SYSTEM Formation, Evolution and Death. Solar System: To Size Scale. Learning Objectives : This Lecture

DE2410: Learning Objectives. SOLAR SYSTEM Formation, Evolution and Death. Solar System: To Size Scale. Learning Objectives : This Lecture DE2410: Learning Objectives SOLAR SYSTEM Formation, Evolution and Death To become aware of our planet, solar system, and the Universe To know about how these objects and structures were formed, are evolving

More information

Lecture 13. Gravity in the Solar System

Lecture 13. Gravity in the Solar System Lecture 13 Gravity in the Solar System Guiding Questions 1. How was the heliocentric model established? What are monumental steps in the history of the heliocentric model? 2. How do Kepler s three laws

More information

Solar System. 1. The diagram below represents a simple geocentric model. Which object is represented by the letter X?

Solar System. 1. The diagram below represents a simple geocentric model. Which object is represented by the letter X? Solar System 1. The diagram below represents a simple geocentric model. Which object is represented by the letter X? A) Earth B) Sun C) Moon D) Polaris 2. Which object orbits Earth in both the Earth-centered

More information

4 HOW OUR SOLAR SYSTEM FORMED 890L

4 HOW OUR SOLAR SYSTEM FORMED 890L 4 HOW OUR SOLAR SYSTEM FORMED 890L HOW OUR SOLAR SYSTEM FORMED A CLOSE LOOK AT THE PLANETS ORBITING OUR SUN By Cynthia Stokes Brown, adapted by Newsela Planets are born from the clouds of gas and dust

More information

Chapter 9 Asteroids, Comets, and Dwarf Planets. Their Nature, Orbits, and Impacts

Chapter 9 Asteroids, Comets, and Dwarf Planets. Their Nature, Orbits, and Impacts Chapter 9 Asteroids, Comets, and Dwarf Planets Their Nature, Orbits, and Impacts Asteroid Facts Asteroids are rocky leftovers of planet formation. The largest is Ceres, diameter ~1,000 km. There are 150,000

More information

1.1 A Modern View of the Universe" Our goals for learning: What is our place in the universe?"

1.1 A Modern View of the Universe Our goals for learning: What is our place in the universe? Chapter 1 Our Place in the Universe 1.1 A Modern View of the Universe What is our place in the universe? What is our place in the universe? How did we come to be? How can we know what the universe was

More information

12.001: Origin and Interior of the Earth Taylor Perron/Oliver Jagoutz

12.001: Origin and Interior of the Earth Taylor Perron/Oliver Jagoutz 12.001: Origin and Interior of the Earth Taylor Perron/Oliver Jagoutz Begin with the story of Fritz Haber, and how he followed up his discovery of a procedure for industrial Nitrogen fixation by spending

More information

Earth Is Not the Center of the Universe

Earth Is Not the Center of the Universe Earth Is Not the Center of the Universe Source: Utah State Office of Education Introduction Have you ever looked up at the night sky and wondered about all the pinpoint lights? People through the ages

More information