Lecture Notes 1. Brief Review of Basic Probability

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Lecture Notes 1. Brief Review of Basic Probability"

Transcription

1 Probability Review Lecture Notes Brief Review of Basic Probability I assume you know basic probability. Chapters -3 are a review. I will assume you have read and understood Chapters -3. Here is a very quick review.. Random Variables A random variable is a map X from a set Ω (equipped with a probability P ) to R. We write P (X A) = P ({ω Ω : X(ω) A}) and we write X P to mean that X has distribution P. function (cdf) of X is F X (x) = F (x) = P (X x). If X is discrete, its probability mass function (pmf) is The cumulative distribution p X (x) = p(x) = P (X = x). If X is continuous, then its probability density function function (pdf) satisfies P (X A) = p X (x)dx = p(x)dx A A and p X (x) = p(x) = F (x). The following are all equivalent: X P, X F, X p. Suppose that X P and Y Q. We say that X and Y have the same distribution if P (X A) = Q(Y A) for all A. In that case we say that X and Y are equal in distribution and we write X d = Y. Lemma X d = Y if and only if F X (t) = F Y (t) for all t.

2 .2 Expected Values The mean or expected value of g(x) is { g(x)p(x)dx if X is continuous E (g(x)) = g(x)df (x) = g(x)dp (x) = j g(x j)p(x j ) if X is discrete. Recall that:. E( k j= c jg j (X)) = k j= c je(g j (X)). 2. If X,..., X n are independent then ( n ) E X i = i= i E (X i ). 3. We often write µ = E(X). 4. σ 2 = Var (X) = E ((X µ) 2 ) is the Variance. 5. Var (X) = E (X 2 ) µ If X,..., X n are independent then ( n ) Var a i X i = i= i a 2 i Var (X i ). 7. The covariance is Cov(X, Y ) = E((X µ x )(Y µ y )) = E(XY ) µ X µ Y and the correlation is ρ(x, Y ) = Cov(X, Y )/σ x σ y. Recall that ρ(x, Y ). The conditional expectation of Y given X is the random variable E(Y X) whose value, when X = x is E(Y X = x) = y p(y x)dy where p(y x) = p(x, y)/p(x). 2

3 The Law of Total Expectation or Law of Iterated Expectation: E(Y ) = E [ E(Y X) ] = E(Y X = x)p X (x)dx. The Law of Total Variance is Var(Y ) = Var [ E(Y X) ] + E [ Var(Y X) ]. The moment generating function (mgf) is M X (t) = E ( e tx). If M X (t) = M Y (t) for all t in an interval around 0 then X d = Y. Exercise: show that M (n) X (t) t=0 = E (X n )..3 Transformations Let Y = g(x). Then F Y (y) = P(Y y) = P(g(X) y) = A(y) p X (x)dx where Then p Y (y) = F Y (y). If g is monotonic, then where h = g. A y = {x : g(x) y}. p Y (y) = p X (h(y)) dh(y) dy Example 2 Let p X (x) = e x for x > 0. Hence F X (x) = e x. Let Y = g(x) = log X. Then and p Y (y) = e y e ey for y R. F Y (y) = P (Y y) = P (log(x) y) = P (X e y ) = F X (e y ) = e ey Example 3 Practice problem. Let X be uniform on (, 2) and let Y = X 2. Find the density of Y. 3

4 Let Z = g(x, Y ). For exampe, Z = X + Y or Z = X/Y. Then we find the pdf of Z as follows:. For each z, find the set A z = {(x, y) : g(x, y) z}. 2. Find the CDF F Z (z) = P (Z z) = P (g(x, Y ) z) = P ({(x, y) : g(x, y) z}) = p X,Y (x, y)dxdy. A z 3. The pdf is p Z (z) = F Z (z). Example 4 Practice problem. Let (X, Y ) be uniform on the unit square. Let Z = X/Y. Find the density of Z..4 Independence X and Y are independent if and only if for all A and B. P(X A, Y B) = P(X A)P(Y B) Theorem 5 Let (X, Y ) be a bivariate random vector with p X,Y (x, y). X and Y are independent iff p X,Y (x, y) = p X (x)p Y (y). X,..., X n are independent if and only if P(X A,..., X n A n ) = n P(X i A i ). Thus, p X,...,X n (x,..., x n ) = n i= p X i (x i ). If X,..., X n are independent and identically distributed we say they are iid (or that they are a random sample) and we write X,..., X n P or X,..., X n F or X,..., X n p..5 Important Distributions X N(µ, σ 2 ) if i= p(x) = σ 2π e (x µ)2 /(2σ2). If X R d then X N(µ, Σ) if ( p(x) = (2π) d/2 Σ exp ) 2 (x µ)t Σ (x µ). 4

5 X χ 2 p if X = p j= Z2 j where Z,..., Z p N(0, ). X Bernoulli(θ) if P(X = ) = θ and P(X = 0) = θ and hence p(x) = θ x ( θ) x x = 0,. X Binomial(θ) if p(x) = P(X = x) = ( ) n θ x ( θ) n x x x {0,..., n}. X Uniform(0, θ) if p(x) = I(0 x θ)/θ..6 Sample Mean and Variance The sample mean is and the sample variance is X = X i, n S 2 = n i (X i X) 2. Let X,..., X n be iid with µ = E(X i ) = µ and σ 2 = Var(X i ) = σ 2. Then E(X) = µ, Theorem 6 If X,..., X n N(µ, σ 2 ) then (a) X N(µ, σ2 n ) i Var(X) = σ2 n, E(S2 ) = σ 2. (b) (n )S2 σ 2 χ 2 n (c) X and S 2 are independent.7 Delta Method If X N(µ, σ 2 ), Y = g(x) and σ 2 is small then To see this, note that Y N(g(µ), σ 2 (g (µ)) 2 ). Y = g(x) = g(µ) + (X µ)g (µ) + 5 (X µ)2 g (ξ) 2

6 for some ξ. Now E((X µ) 2 ) = σ 2 which we are assuming is small and so Y = g(x) g(µ) + (X µ)g (µ). Thus Hence, E(Y ) g(µ), Var(Y ) (g (µ)) 2 σ 2. g(x) N ( g(µ), (g (µ)) 2 σ 2). 6

7 Appendix: Common Distributions Discrete Uniform X U (,..., N) X takes values x =, 2,..., N P (X = x) = /N E (X) = x xp (X = x) = x x N = N E (X 2 ) = x x2 P (X = x) = x x2 N = N Binomial X Bin(n, p) X takes values x = 0,,..., n P (X = x) = ( ) n x p x ( p) n x Hypergeometric X Hypergeometric(N, M, K) P (X = x) = (M x )( N M K x ) ( N K) Geometric X Geom(p) P (X = x) = ( p) x p, x =, 2,... E (X) = x x( p)x = p x Poisson X Poisson(λ) P (X = x) = e λ λ x x! x = 0,, 2,... E (X) = Var (X) = λ N(N+) = (N+) 2 2 N(N+)(2N+) 6 d ( ( dp p)x ) = p p =. p 2 p M X (t) = x=0 etx e λ λ x = e λ (λe t ) x x! x=0 = e λ e λet = e λ(et ). x! 7

8 E (X) = λe t e λ(et ) t=0 = λ. Use mgf to show: if X Poisson(λ ), X 2 Poisson(λ 2 ), independent then Y = X + X 2 Poisson(λ + λ 2 ). Multinomial Distribution The multivariate version of a Binomial is called a Multinomial. Consider drawing a ball from an urn with has balls with k different colors labeled color, color 2,..., color k. Let p = (p, p 2,..., p k ) where j p j = and p j is the probability of drawing color j. Draw n balls from the urn (independently and with replacement) and let X = (X, X 2,..., X k ) be the count of the number of balls of each color drawn. We say that X has a Multinomial (n, p) distribution. The pdf is ( ) n p(x) = p x... p x k k x,..., x. k Continuous Distributions Normal X N(µ, σ 2 ) p(x) = 2πσ exp{ 2σ 2 (x µ) 2 }, x R mgf M X (t) = exp{µt + σ 2 t 2 /2}. E (X) = µ Var (X) = σ 2. e.g., If Z N(0, ) and X = µ + σz, then X N(µ, σ 2 ). Show this... Proof. M X (t) = E ( e tx) = E ( e t(µ+σz)) = e tµ E ( e tσz) = e tµ M Z (tσ) = e tµ e (tσ)2/2 = e tµ+t2 σ 2 /2 which is the mgf of a N(µ, σ 2 ). 8

9 Gamma Alternative proof: F X (x) = P (X x) = P (µ + σz x) = P ( ) x µ = F Z σ ( ) x µ p X (x) = F X(x) = p Z σ σ { = exp ( ) } 2 x µ 2π 2 σ σ { = exp ( ) } 2 x µ, 2πσ 2 σ which is the pdf of a N(µ, σ 2 ). X Γ(α, β). p X (x) = Γ(α)β α x α e x/β, x a positive real. Γ(α) = 0 x α e x/β dx. β α Important statistical distribution: χ 2 p = Γ( p 2, 2). χ 2 p = p i= X2 i, where X i N(0, ), iid. Exponential X exp(β) p X (x) = β e x/β, x a positive real. exp(β) = Γ(, β). ( Z x µ ) σ e.g., Used to model waiting time of a Poisson Process. Suppose N is the number of phone calls in hour and N P oisson(λ). Let T be the time between consecutive phone calls, then T exp(/λ) and E (T ) = (/λ). If X,..., X n are iid exp(β), then i X i Γ(n, β). Memoryless Property: If X exp(β), then P (X > t + s X > t) = P (X > s). 9

10 Multivariate Normal Distribution Let Y R d. Then Y N(µ, Σ) if ( p(y) = exp ) (2π) d/2 Σ /2 2 (y µ)t Σ (y µ). Then E(Y ) = µ and cov(y ) = Σ. The moment generating function is ( ) M(t) = exp µ T t + tt Σt. 2 Theorem 7 (a). If Y N(µ, Σ), then E(Y ) = µ, cov(y ) = Σ. (b). If Y N(µ, Σ) and c is a scalar, then cy N(cµ, c 2 Σ). (c). Let Y N(µ, Σ). If A is p n and b is p, then AY + b N(Aµ + b, AΣA T ). Theorem 8 Suppose that Y N(µ, Σ). Let ( ) Y Y =, µ = Y 2 ( µ µ 2 ), Σ = ( Σ Σ 2 Σ 2 Σ 22 where Y and µ are p, and Σ is p p. (a). Y N p (µ, Σ ), Y 2 N n p (µ 2, Σ 22 ). (b). Y and Y 2 are independent if and only if Σ 2 = 0. (c). If Σ 22 > 0, then the condition distribution of Y given Y 2 is ). Y Y 2 N p (µ + Σ 2 Σ 22 (Y 2 µ 2 ), Σ Σ 2 Σ 22 Σ 2 ). Lemma 9 Let Y N(µ, σ 2 I), where Y T = (Y,..., Y n ), µ T = (µ,..., µ n ) and σ 2 > 0 is a scalar. Then the Y i are independent, Y i N (µ, σ 2 ) and Y 2 σ 2 Theorem 0 Let Y N(µ, Σ). Then: (a). Y T Σ Y χ 2 n(µ T Σ µ). (b). (Y µ) T Σ (Y µ) χ 2 n(0). = Y T Y σ 2 χ 2 n ( µ T µ σ 2 ). 0

What is Statistics? Lecture 1. Introduction and probability review. Idea of parametric inference

What is Statistics? Lecture 1. Introduction and probability review. Idea of parametric inference 0. 1. Introduction and probability review 1.1. What is Statistics? What is Statistics? Lecture 1. Introduction and probability review There are many definitions: I will use A set of principle and procedures

More information

Definition: Suppose that two random variables, either continuous or discrete, X and Y have joint density

Definition: Suppose that two random variables, either continuous or discrete, X and Y have joint density HW MATH 461/561 Lecture Notes 15 1 Definition: Suppose that two random variables, either continuous or discrete, X and Y have joint density and marginal densities f(x, y), (x, y) Λ X,Y f X (x), x Λ X,

More information

Jointly Distributed Random Variables

Jointly Distributed Random Variables Jointly Distributed Random Variables COMP 245 STATISTICS Dr N A Heard Contents 1 Jointly Distributed Random Variables 1 1.1 Definition......................................... 1 1.2 Joint cdfs..........................................

More information

4. Joint Distributions of Two Random Variables

4. Joint Distributions of Two Random Variables 4. Joint Distributions of Two Random Variables 4.1 Joint Distributions of Two Discrete Random Variables Suppose the discrete random variables X and Y have supports S X and S Y, respectively. The joint

More information

Chapters 5. Multivariate Probability Distributions

Chapters 5. Multivariate Probability Distributions Chapters 5. Multivariate Probability Distributions Random vectors are collection of random variables defined on the same sample space. Whenever a collection of random variables are mentioned, they are

More information

P (x) 0. Discrete random variables Expected value. The expected value, mean or average of a random variable x is: xp (x) = v i P (v i )

P (x) 0. Discrete random variables Expected value. The expected value, mean or average of a random variable x is: xp (x) = v i P (v i ) Discrete random variables Probability mass function Given a discrete random variable X taking values in X = {v 1,..., v m }, its probability mass function P : X [0, 1] is defined as: P (v i ) = Pr[X =

More information

Sections 2.11 and 5.8

Sections 2.11 and 5.8 Sections 211 and 58 Timothy Hanson Department of Statistics, University of South Carolina Stat 704: Data Analysis I 1/25 Gesell data Let X be the age in in months a child speaks his/her first word and

More information

ECE302 Spring 2006 HW7 Solutions March 11, 2006 1

ECE302 Spring 2006 HW7 Solutions March 11, 2006 1 ECE32 Spring 26 HW7 Solutions March, 26 Solutions to HW7 Note: Most of these solutions were generated by R. D. Yates and D. J. Goodman, the authors of our textbook. I have added comments in italics where

More information

Lecture 6: Discrete & Continuous Probability and Random Variables

Lecture 6: Discrete & Continuous Probability and Random Variables Lecture 6: Discrete & Continuous Probability and Random Variables D. Alex Hughes Math Camp September 17, 2015 D. Alex Hughes (Math Camp) Lecture 6: Discrete & Continuous Probability and Random September

More information

MT426 Notebook 3 Fall 2012 prepared by Professor Jenny Baglivo. 3 MT426 Notebook 3 3. 3.1 Definitions... 3. 3.2 Joint Discrete Distributions...

MT426 Notebook 3 Fall 2012 prepared by Professor Jenny Baglivo. 3 MT426 Notebook 3 3. 3.1 Definitions... 3. 3.2 Joint Discrete Distributions... MT426 Notebook 3 Fall 2012 prepared by Professor Jenny Baglivo c Copyright 2004-2012 by Jenny A. Baglivo. All Rights Reserved. Contents 3 MT426 Notebook 3 3 3.1 Definitions............................................

More information

Lesson 5 Chapter 4: Jointly Distributed Random Variables

Lesson 5 Chapter 4: Jointly Distributed Random Variables Lesson 5 Chapter 4: Jointly Distributed Random Variables Department of Statistics The Pennsylvania State University 1 Marginal and Conditional Probability Mass Functions The Regression Function Independence

More information

Lecture 8: Signal Detection and Noise Assumption

Lecture 8: Signal Detection and Noise Assumption ECE 83 Fall Statistical Signal Processing instructor: R. Nowak, scribe: Feng Ju Lecture 8: Signal Detection and Noise Assumption Signal Detection : X = W H : X = S + W where W N(, σ I n n and S = [s, s,...,

More information

ST 371 (VIII): Theory of Joint Distributions

ST 371 (VIII): Theory of Joint Distributions ST 371 (VIII): Theory of Joint Distributions So far we have focused on probability distributions for single random variables. However, we are often interested in probability statements concerning two or

More information

Introduction to Probability

Introduction to Probability Introduction to Probability EE 179, Lecture 15, Handout #24 Probability theory gives a mathematical characterization for experiments with random outcomes. coin toss life of lightbulb binary data sequence

More information

3 Multiple Discrete Random Variables

3 Multiple Discrete Random Variables 3 Multiple Discrete Random Variables 3.1 Joint densities Suppose we have a probability space (Ω, F,P) and now we have two discrete random variables X and Y on it. They have probability mass functions f

More information

Joint Exam 1/P Sample Exam 1

Joint Exam 1/P Sample Exam 1 Joint Exam 1/P Sample Exam 1 Take this practice exam under strict exam conditions: Set a timer for 3 hours; Do not stop the timer for restroom breaks; Do not look at your notes. If you believe a question

More information

Overview of Monte Carlo Simulation, Probability Review and Introduction to Matlab

Overview of Monte Carlo Simulation, Probability Review and Introduction to Matlab Monte Carlo Simulation: IEOR E4703 Fall 2004 c 2004 by Martin Haugh Overview of Monte Carlo Simulation, Probability Review and Introduction to Matlab 1 Overview of Monte Carlo Simulation 1.1 Why use simulation?

More information

Statistics 100A Homework 8 Solutions

Statistics 100A Homework 8 Solutions Part : Chapter 7 Statistics A Homework 8 Solutions Ryan Rosario. A player throws a fair die and simultaneously flips a fair coin. If the coin lands heads, then she wins twice, and if tails, the one-half

More information

Topic 4: Multivariate random variables. Multiple random variables

Topic 4: Multivariate random variables. Multiple random variables Topic 4: Multivariate random variables Joint, marginal, and conditional pmf Joint, marginal, and conditional pdf and cdf Independence Expectation, covariance, correlation Conditional expectation Two jointly

More information

For a partition B 1,..., B n, where B i B j = for i. A = (A B 1 ) (A B 2 ),..., (A B n ) and thus. P (A) = P (A B i ) = P (A B i )P (B i )

For a partition B 1,..., B n, where B i B j = for i. A = (A B 1 ) (A B 2 ),..., (A B n ) and thus. P (A) = P (A B i ) = P (A B i )P (B i ) Probability Review 15.075 Cynthia Rudin A probability space, defined by Kolmogorov (1903-1987) consists of: A set of outcomes S, e.g., for the roll of a die, S = {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6}, 1 1 2 1 6 for the roll

More information

Statistics 100A Homework 7 Solutions

Statistics 100A Homework 7 Solutions Chapter 6 Statistics A Homework 7 Solutions Ryan Rosario. A television store owner figures that 45 percent of the customers entering his store will purchase an ordinary television set, 5 percent will purchase

More information

5. Continuous Random Variables

5. Continuous Random Variables 5. Continuous Random Variables Continuous random variables can take any value in an interval. They are used to model physical characteristics such as time, length, position, etc. Examples (i) Let X be

More information

Math 431 An Introduction to Probability. Final Exam Solutions

Math 431 An Introduction to Probability. Final Exam Solutions Math 43 An Introduction to Probability Final Eam Solutions. A continuous random variable X has cdf a for 0, F () = for 0 <

More information

SF2940: Probability theory Lecture 8: Multivariate Normal Distribution

SF2940: Probability theory Lecture 8: Multivariate Normal Distribution SF2940: Probability theory Lecture 8: Multivariate Normal Distribution Timo Koski 24.09.2015 Timo Koski Matematisk statistik 24.09.2015 1 / 1 Learning outcomes Random vectors, mean vector, covariance matrix,

More information

e.g. arrival of a customer to a service station or breakdown of a component in some system.

e.g. arrival of a customer to a service station or breakdown of a component in some system. Poisson process Events occur at random instants of time at an average rate of λ events per second. e.g. arrival of a customer to a service station or breakdown of a component in some system. Let N(t) be

More information

MAS108 Probability I

MAS108 Probability I 1 QUEEN MARY UNIVERSITY OF LONDON 2:30 pm, Thursday 3 May, 2007 Duration: 2 hours MAS108 Probability I Do not start reading the question paper until you are instructed to by the invigilators. The paper

More information

Master s Theory Exam Spring 2006

Master s Theory Exam Spring 2006 Spring 2006 This exam contains 7 questions. You should attempt them all. Each question is divided into parts to help lead you through the material. You should attempt to complete as much of each problem

More information

A Tutorial on Probability Theory

A Tutorial on Probability Theory Paola Sebastiani Department of Mathematics and Statistics University of Massachusetts at Amherst Corresponding Author: Paola Sebastiani. Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Massachusetts,

More information

Aggregate Loss Models

Aggregate Loss Models Aggregate Loss Models Chapter 9 Stat 477 - Loss Models Chapter 9 (Stat 477) Aggregate Loss Models Brian Hartman - BYU 1 / 22 Objectives Objectives Individual risk model Collective risk model Computing

More information

Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur Assignment 2-3, Probability and Statistics, March 2015. Due:-March 25, 2015.

Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur Assignment 2-3, Probability and Statistics, March 2015. Due:-March 25, 2015. Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur Assignment -3, Probability and Statistics, March 05. Due:-March 5, 05.. Show that the function 0 for x < x+ F (x) = 4 for x < for x

More information

PSTAT 120B Probability and Statistics

PSTAT 120B Probability and Statistics - Week University of California, Santa Barbara April 10, 013 Discussion section for 10B Information about TA: Fang-I CHU Office: South Hall 5431 T Office hour: TBA email: chu@pstat.ucsb.edu Slides will

More information

UNIT I: RANDOM VARIABLES PART- A -TWO MARKS

UNIT I: RANDOM VARIABLES PART- A -TWO MARKS UNIT I: RANDOM VARIABLES PART- A -TWO MARKS 1. Given the probability density function of a continuous random variable X as follows f(x) = 6x (1-x) 0

More information

Chapter 4. Multivariate Distributions

Chapter 4. Multivariate Distributions 1 Chapter 4. Multivariate Distributions Joint p.m.f. (p.d.f.) Independent Random Variables Covariance and Correlation Coefficient Expectation and Covariance Matrix Multivariate (Normal) Distributions Matlab

More information

STAT 430/510 Probability Lecture 14: Joint Probability Distribution, Continuous Case

STAT 430/510 Probability Lecture 14: Joint Probability Distribution, Continuous Case STAT 430/510 Probability Lecture 14: Joint Probability Distribution, Continuous Case Pengyuan (Penelope) Wang June 20, 2011 Joint density function of continuous Random Variable When X and Y are two continuous

More information

Worked examples Multiple Random Variables

Worked examples Multiple Random Variables Worked eamples Multiple Random Variables Eample Let X and Y be random variables that take on values from the set,, } (a) Find a joint probability mass assignment for which X and Y are independent, and

More information

Poisson Processes. Chapter 5. 5.1 Exponential Distribution. The gamma function is defined by. Γ(α) = t α 1 e t dt, α > 0.

Poisson Processes. Chapter 5. 5.1 Exponential Distribution. The gamma function is defined by. Γ(α) = t α 1 e t dt, α > 0. Chapter 5 Poisson Processes 5.1 Exponential Distribution The gamma function is defined by Γ(α) = t α 1 e t dt, α >. Theorem 5.1. The gamma function satisfies the following properties: (a) For each α >

More information

STAT 3502. x 0 < x < 1

STAT 3502. x 0 < x < 1 Solution - Assignment # STAT 350 Total mark=100 1. A large industrial firm purchases several new word processors at the end of each year, the exact number depending on the frequency of repairs in the previous

More information

MULTIVARIATE PROBABILITY DISTRIBUTIONS

MULTIVARIATE PROBABILITY DISTRIBUTIONS MULTIVARIATE PROBABILITY DISTRIBUTIONS. PRELIMINARIES.. Example. Consider an experiment that consists of tossing a die and a coin at the same time. We can consider a number of random variables defined

More information

Stat 704 Data Analysis I Probability Review

Stat 704 Data Analysis I Probability Review 1 / 30 Stat 704 Data Analysis I Probability Review Timothy Hanson Department of Statistics, University of South Carolina Course information 2 / 30 Logistics: Tuesday/Thursday 11:40am to 12:55pm in LeConte

More information

SF2940: Probability theory Lecture 8: Multivariate Normal Distribution

SF2940: Probability theory Lecture 8: Multivariate Normal Distribution SF2940: Probability theory Lecture 8: Multivariate Normal Distribution Timo Koski 24.09.2014 Timo Koski () Mathematisk statistik 24.09.2014 1 / 75 Learning outcomes Random vectors, mean vector, covariance

More information

M2S1 Lecture Notes. G. A. Young http://www2.imperial.ac.uk/ ayoung

M2S1 Lecture Notes. G. A. Young http://www2.imperial.ac.uk/ ayoung M2S1 Lecture Notes G. A. Young http://www2.imperial.ac.uk/ ayoung September 2011 ii Contents 1 DEFINITIONS, TERMINOLOGY, NOTATION 1 1.1 EVENTS AND THE SAMPLE SPACE......................... 1 1.1.1 OPERATIONS

More information

Exponential Distribution

Exponential Distribution Exponential Distribution Definition: Exponential distribution with parameter λ: { λe λx x 0 f(x) = 0 x < 0 The cdf: F(x) = x Mean E(X) = 1/λ. f(x)dx = Moment generating function: φ(t) = E[e tx ] = { 1

More information

Section 5.1 Continuous Random Variables: Introduction

Section 5.1 Continuous Random Variables: Introduction Section 5. Continuous Random Variables: Introduction Not all random variables are discrete. For example:. Waiting times for anything (train, arrival of customer, production of mrna molecule from gene,

More information

Math 370, Spring 2008 Prof. A.J. Hildebrand. Practice Test 2 Solutions

Math 370, Spring 2008 Prof. A.J. Hildebrand. Practice Test 2 Solutions Math 370, Spring 008 Prof. A.J. Hildebrand Practice Test Solutions About this test. This is a practice test made up of a random collection of 5 problems from past Course /P actuarial exams. Most of the

More information

6. Jointly Distributed Random Variables

6. Jointly Distributed Random Variables 6. Jointly Distributed Random Variables We are often interested in the relationship between two or more random variables. Example: A randomly chosen person may be a smoker and/or may get cancer. Definition.

More information

Generating Random Numbers Variance Reduction Quasi-Monte Carlo. Simulation Methods. Leonid Kogan. MIT, Sloan. 15.450, Fall 2010

Generating Random Numbers Variance Reduction Quasi-Monte Carlo. Simulation Methods. Leonid Kogan. MIT, Sloan. 15.450, Fall 2010 Simulation Methods Leonid Kogan MIT, Sloan 15.450, Fall 2010 c Leonid Kogan ( MIT, Sloan ) Simulation Methods 15.450, Fall 2010 1 / 35 Outline 1 Generating Random Numbers 2 Variance Reduction 3 Quasi-Monte

More information

Joint Distributions. Tieming Ji. Fall 2012

Joint Distributions. Tieming Ji. Fall 2012 Joint Distributions Tieming Ji Fall 2012 1 / 33 X : univariate random variable. (X, Y ): bivariate random variable. In this chapter, we are going to study the distributions of bivariate random variables

More information

Principle of Data Reduction

Principle of Data Reduction Chapter 6 Principle of Data Reduction 6.1 Introduction An experimenter uses the information in a sample X 1,..., X n to make inferences about an unknown parameter θ. If the sample size n is large, then

More information

Random Vectors and the Variance Covariance Matrix

Random Vectors and the Variance Covariance Matrix Random Vectors and the Variance Covariance Matrix Definition 1. A random vector X is a vector (X 1, X 2,..., X p ) of jointly distributed random variables. As is customary in linear algebra, we will write

More information

6.041/6.431 Spring 2008 Quiz 2 Wednesday, April 16, 7:30-9:30 PM. SOLUTIONS

6.041/6.431 Spring 2008 Quiz 2 Wednesday, April 16, 7:30-9:30 PM. SOLUTIONS 6.4/6.43 Spring 28 Quiz 2 Wednesday, April 6, 7:3-9:3 PM. SOLUTIONS Name: Recitation Instructor: TA: 6.4/6.43: Question Part Score Out of 3 all 36 2 a 4 b 5 c 5 d 8 e 5 f 6 3 a 4 b 6 c 6 d 6 e 6 Total

More information

Math 370, Actuarial Problemsolving Spring 2008 A.J. Hildebrand. Practice Test, 1/28/2008 (with solutions)

Math 370, Actuarial Problemsolving Spring 2008 A.J. Hildebrand. Practice Test, 1/28/2008 (with solutions) Math 370, Actuarial Problemsolving Spring 008 A.J. Hildebrand Practice Test, 1/8/008 (with solutions) About this test. This is a practice test made up of a random collection of 0 problems from past Course

More information

ECE302 Spring 2006 HW3 Solutions February 2, 2006 1

ECE302 Spring 2006 HW3 Solutions February 2, 2006 1 ECE302 Spring 2006 HW3 Solutions February 2, 2006 1 Solutions to HW3 Note: Most of these solutions were generated by R. D. Yates and D. J. Goodman, the authors of our textbook. I have added comments in

More information

Section 6.1 Joint Distribution Functions

Section 6.1 Joint Distribution Functions Section 6.1 Joint Distribution Functions We often care about more than one random variable at a time. DEFINITION: For any two random variables X and Y the joint cumulative probability distribution function

More information

STA 256: Statistics and Probability I

STA 256: Statistics and Probability I Al Nosedal. University of Toronto. Fall 2014 1 2 3 4 5 My momma always said: Life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you re gonna get. Forrest Gump. Experiment, outcome, sample space, and

More information

P(a X b) = f X (x)dx. A p.d.f. must integrate to one: f X (x)dx = 1. Z b

P(a X b) = f X (x)dx. A p.d.f. must integrate to one: f X (x)dx = 1. Z b Continuous Random Variables The probability that a continuous random variable, X, has a value between a and b is computed by integrating its probability density function (p.d.f.) over the interval [a,b]:

More information

( ) is proportional to ( 10 + x)!2. Calculate the

( ) is proportional to ( 10 + x)!2. Calculate the PRACTICE EXAMINATION NUMBER 6. An insurance company eamines its pool of auto insurance customers and gathers the following information: i) All customers insure at least one car. ii) 64 of the customers

More information

Chapter 4 Lecture Notes

Chapter 4 Lecture Notes Chapter 4 Lecture Notes Random Variables October 27, 2015 1 Section 4.1 Random Variables A random variable is typically a real-valued function defined on the sample space of some experiment. For instance,

More information

Math 141. Lecture 7: Variance, Covariance, and Sums. Albyn Jones 1. 1 Library 304. jones/courses/141

Math 141. Lecture 7: Variance, Covariance, and Sums. Albyn Jones 1. 1 Library 304.  jones/courses/141 Math 141 Lecture 7: Variance, Covariance, and Sums Albyn Jones 1 1 Library 304 jones@reed.edu www.people.reed.edu/ jones/courses/141 Last Time Variance: expected squared deviation from the mean: Standard

More information

32. PROBABILITY P(A B)

32. PROBABILITY P(A B) 32. PROBABILITY 32. Probability 1 Revised September 2011 by G. Cowan (RHUL). 32.1. General [1 8] An abstract definition of probability can be given by considering a set S, called the sample space, and

More information

( ) = 1 x. ! 2x = 2. The region where that joint density is positive is indicated with dotted lines in the graph below. y = x

( ) = 1 x. ! 2x = 2. The region where that joint density is positive is indicated with dotted lines in the graph below. y = x Errata for the ASM Study Manual for Exam P, Eleventh Edition By Dr. Krzysztof M. Ostaszewski, FSA, CERA, FSAS, CFA, MAAA Web site: http://www.krzysio.net E-mail: krzysio@krzysio.net Posted September 21,

More information

Covariance and Correlation. Consider the joint probability distribution f XY (x, y).

Covariance and Correlation. Consider the joint probability distribution f XY (x, y). Chapter 5: JOINT PROBABILITY DISTRIBUTIONS Part 2: Section 5-2 Covariance and Correlation Consider the joint probability distribution f XY (x, y). Is there a relationship between X and Y? If so, what kind?

More information

Some probability and statistics

Some probability and statistics Appendix A Some probability and statistics A Probabilities, random variables and their distribution We summarize a few of the basic concepts of random variables, usually denoted by capital letters, X,Y,

More information

University of California, Berkeley, Statistics 134: Concepts of Probability

University of California, Berkeley, Statistics 134: Concepts of Probability University of California, Berkeley, Statistics 134: Concepts of Probability Michael Lugo, Spring 211 Exam 2 solutions 1. A fair twenty-sided die has its faces labeled 1, 2, 3,..., 2. The die is rolled

More information

Topic 8 The Expected Value

Topic 8 The Expected Value Topic 8 The Expected Value Functions of Random Variables 1 / 12 Outline Names for Eg(X ) Variance and Standard Deviation Independence Covariance and Correlation 2 / 12 Names for Eg(X ) If g(x) = x, then

More information

4. Joint Distributions

4. Joint Distributions Virtual Laboratories > 2. Distributions > 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 4. Joint Distributions Basic Theory As usual, we start with a random experiment with probability measure P on an underlying sample space. Suppose

More information

Probability Calculator

Probability Calculator Chapter 95 Introduction Most statisticians have a set of probability tables that they refer to in doing their statistical wor. This procedure provides you with a set of electronic statistical tables that

More information

Parametric Models Part I: Maximum Likelihood and Bayesian Density Estimation

Parametric Models Part I: Maximum Likelihood and Bayesian Density Estimation Parametric Models Part I: Maximum Likelihood and Bayesian Density Estimation Selim Aksoy Department of Computer Engineering Bilkent University saksoy@cs.bilkent.edu.tr CS 551, Fall 2015 CS 551, Fall 2015

More information

Lecture 8. Confidence intervals and the central limit theorem

Lecture 8. Confidence intervals and the central limit theorem Lecture 8. Confidence intervals and the central limit theorem Mathematical Statistics and Discrete Mathematics November 25th, 2015 1 / 15 Central limit theorem Let X 1, X 2,... X n be a random sample of

More information

Random Variables. Chapter 2. Random Variables 1

Random Variables. Chapter 2. Random Variables 1 Random Variables Chapter 2 Random Variables 1 Roulette and Random Variables A Roulette wheel has 38 pockets. 18 of them are red and 18 are black; these are numbered from 1 to 36. The two remaining pockets

More information

THE CENTRAL LIMIT THEOREM TORONTO

THE CENTRAL LIMIT THEOREM TORONTO THE CENTRAL LIMIT THEOREM DANIEL RÜDT UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO MARCH, 2010 Contents 1 Introduction 1 2 Mathematical Background 3 3 The Central Limit Theorem 4 4 Examples 4 4.1 Roulette......................................

More information

MTH135/STA104: Probability

MTH135/STA104: Probability MTH135/STA14: Probability Homework # 8 Due: Tuesday, Nov 8, 5 Prof Robert Wolpert 1 Define a function f(x, y) on the plane R by { 1/x < y < x < 1 f(x, y) = other x, y a) Show that f(x, y) is a joint probability

More information

STAT 830 Convergence in Distribution

STAT 830 Convergence in Distribution STAT 830 Convergence in Distribution Richard Lockhart Simon Fraser University STAT 830 Fall 2011 Richard Lockhart (Simon Fraser University) STAT 830 Convergence in Distribution STAT 830 Fall 2011 1 / 31

More information

Probability Generating Functions

Probability Generating Functions page 39 Chapter 3 Probability Generating Functions 3 Preamble: Generating Functions Generating functions are widely used in mathematics, and play an important role in probability theory Consider a sequence

More information

SOLUTIONS. f x = 6x 2 6xy 24x, f y = 3x 2 6y. To find the critical points, we solve

SOLUTIONS. f x = 6x 2 6xy 24x, f y = 3x 2 6y. To find the critical points, we solve SOLUTIONS Problem. Find the critical points of the function f(x, y = 2x 3 3x 2 y 2x 2 3y 2 and determine their type i.e. local min/local max/saddle point. Are there any global min/max? Partial derivatives

More information

Institute of Actuaries of India Subject CT3 Probability and Mathematical Statistics

Institute of Actuaries of India Subject CT3 Probability and Mathematical Statistics Institute of Actuaries of India Subject CT3 Probability and Mathematical Statistics For 2015 Examinations Aim The aim of the Probability and Mathematical Statistics subject is to provide a grounding in

More information

Probability Distribution

Probability Distribution Lecture 4 Probability Distribution Continuous Case Definition: A random variable that can take on any value in an interval is called continuous. Definition: Let Y be any r.v. The distribution function

More information

Lecture 21. The Multivariate Normal Distribution

Lecture 21. The Multivariate Normal Distribution Lecture. The Multivariate Normal Distribution. Definitions and Comments The joint moment-generating function of X,...,X n [also called the moment-generating function of the random vector (X,...,X n )]

More information

Exercises with solutions (1)

Exercises with solutions (1) Exercises with solutions (). Investigate the relationship between independence and correlation. (a) Two random variables X and Y are said to be correlated if and only if their covariance C XY is not equal

More information

Notes on Continuous Random Variables

Notes on Continuous Random Variables Notes on Continuous Random Variables Continuous random variables are random quantities that are measured on a continuous scale. They can usually take on any value over some interval, which distinguishes

More information

Probability density function : An arbitrary continuous random variable X is similarly described by its probability density function f x = f X

Probability density function : An arbitrary continuous random variable X is similarly described by its probability density function f x = f X Week 6 notes : Continuous random variables and their probability densities WEEK 6 page 1 uniform, normal, gamma, exponential,chi-squared distributions, normal approx'n to the binomial Uniform [,1] random

More information

0 x = 0.30 x = 1.10 x = 3.05 x = 4.15 x = 6 0.4 x = 12. f(x) =

0 x = 0.30 x = 1.10 x = 3.05 x = 4.15 x = 6 0.4 x = 12. f(x) = . A mail-order computer business has si telephone lines. Let X denote the number of lines in use at a specified time. Suppose the pmf of X is as given in the accompanying table. 0 2 3 4 5 6 p(.0.5.20.25.20.06.04

More information

ECE302 Spring 2006 HW4 Solutions February 6, 2006 1

ECE302 Spring 2006 HW4 Solutions February 6, 2006 1 ECE302 Spring 2006 HW4 Solutions February 6, 2006 1 Solutions to HW4 Note: Most of these solutions were generated by R. D. Yates and D. J. Goodman, the authors of our textbook. I have added comments in

More information

Chapter 4 - Lecture 1 Probability Density Functions and Cumul. Distribution Functions

Chapter 4 - Lecture 1 Probability Density Functions and Cumul. Distribution Functions Chapter 4 - Lecture 1 Probability Density Functions and Cumulative Distribution Functions October 21st, 2009 Review Probability distribution function Useful results Relationship between the pdf and the

More information

Maximum Likelihood Estimation

Maximum Likelihood Estimation Math 541: Statistical Theory II Lecturer: Songfeng Zheng Maximum Likelihood Estimation 1 Maximum Likelihood Estimation Maximum likelihood is a relatively simple method of constructing an estimator for

More information

Homework set 4 - Solutions

Homework set 4 - Solutions Homework set 4 - Solutions Math 495 Renato Feres Problems R for continuous time Markov chains The sequence of random variables of a Markov chain may represent the states of a random system recorded at

More information

Some special discrete probability distributions

Some special discrete probability distributions University of California, Los Angeles Department of Statistics Statistics 100A Instructor: Nicolas Christou Some special discrete probability distributions Bernoulli random variable: It is a variable that

More information

ECE302 Spring 2006 HW5 Solutions February 21, 2006 1

ECE302 Spring 2006 HW5 Solutions February 21, 2006 1 ECE3 Spring 6 HW5 Solutions February 1, 6 1 Solutions to HW5 Note: Most of these solutions were generated by R. D. Yates and D. J. Goodman, the authors of our textbook. I have added comments in italics

More information

FEGYVERNEKI SÁNDOR, PROBABILITY THEORY AND MATHEmATICAL

FEGYVERNEKI SÁNDOR, PROBABILITY THEORY AND MATHEmATICAL FEGYVERNEKI SÁNDOR, PROBABILITY THEORY AND MATHEmATICAL STATIsTICs 4 IV. RANDOm VECTORs 1. JOINTLY DIsTRIBUTED RANDOm VARIABLEs If are two rom variables defined on the same sample space we define the joint

More information

Notes 11 Autumn 2005

Notes 11 Autumn 2005 MAS 08 Probabilit I Notes Autumn 005 Two discrete random variables If X and Y are discrete random variables defined on the same sample space, then events such as X = and Y = are well defined. The joint

More information

RANDOM VARIABLES MATH CIRCLE (ADVANCED) 3/3/2013. 3 k) ( 52 3 )

RANDOM VARIABLES MATH CIRCLE (ADVANCED) 3/3/2013. 3 k) ( 52 3 ) RANDOM VARIABLES MATH CIRCLE (ADVANCED) //0 0) a) Suppose you flip a fair coin times. i) What is the probability you get 0 heads? ii) head? iii) heads? iv) heads? For = 0,,,, P ( Heads) = ( ) b) Suppose

More information

Math 461 Fall 2006 Test 2 Solutions

Math 461 Fall 2006 Test 2 Solutions Math 461 Fall 2006 Test 2 Solutions Total points: 100. Do all questions. Explain all answers. No notes, books, or electronic devices. 1. [105+5 points] Assume X Exponential(λ). Justify the following two

More information

Chapter 3: DISCRETE RANDOM VARIABLES AND PROBABILITY DISTRIBUTIONS. Part 3: Discrete Uniform Distribution Binomial Distribution

Chapter 3: DISCRETE RANDOM VARIABLES AND PROBABILITY DISTRIBUTIONS. Part 3: Discrete Uniform Distribution Binomial Distribution Chapter 3: DISCRETE RANDOM VARIABLES AND PROBABILITY DISTRIBUTIONS Part 3: Discrete Uniform Distribution Binomial Distribution Sections 3-5, 3-6 Special discrete random variable distributions we will cover

More information

Manual for SOA Exam MLC.

Manual for SOA Exam MLC. Chapter 5. Life annuities. Extract from: Arcones Manual for the SOA Exam MLC. Spring 2010 Edition. available at http://www.actexmadriver.com/ 1/114 Whole life annuity A whole life annuity is a series of

More information

i=1 In practice, the natural logarithm of the likelihood function, called the log-likelihood function and denoted by

i=1 In practice, the natural logarithm of the likelihood function, called the log-likelihood function and denoted by Statistics 580 Maximum Likelihood Estimation Introduction Let y (y 1, y 2,..., y n be a vector of iid, random variables from one of a family of distributions on R n and indexed by a p-dimensional parameter

More information

Tenth Problem Assignment

Tenth Problem Assignment EECS 40 Due on April 6, 007 PROBLEM (8 points) Dave is taking a multiple-choice exam. You may assume that the number of questions is infinite. Simultaneously, but independently, his conscious and subconscious

More information

Summary of Formulas and Concepts. Descriptive Statistics (Ch. 1-4)

Summary of Formulas and Concepts. Descriptive Statistics (Ch. 1-4) Summary of Formulas and Concepts Descriptive Statistics (Ch. 1-4) Definitions Population: The complete set of numerical information on a particular quantity in which an investigator is interested. We assume

More information

SYSM 6304: Risk and Decision Analysis Lecture 3 Monte Carlo Simulation

SYSM 6304: Risk and Decision Analysis Lecture 3 Monte Carlo Simulation SYSM 6304: Risk and Decision Analysis Lecture 3 Monte Carlo Simulation M. Vidyasagar Cecil & Ida Green Chair The University of Texas at Dallas Email: M.Vidyasagar@utdallas.edu September 19, 2015 Outline

More information

Lecture 3: Continuous distributions, expected value & mean, variance, the normal distribution

Lecture 3: Continuous distributions, expected value & mean, variance, the normal distribution Lecture 3: Continuous distributions, expected value & mean, variance, the normal distribution 8 October 2007 In this lecture we ll learn the following: 1. how continuous probability distributions differ

More information

Definition 6.1.1. A r.v. X has a normal distribution with mean µ and variance σ 2, where µ R, and σ > 0, if its density is f(x) = 1. 2σ 2.

Definition 6.1.1. A r.v. X has a normal distribution with mean µ and variance σ 2, where µ R, and σ > 0, if its density is f(x) = 1. 2σ 2. Chapter 6 Brownian Motion 6. Normal Distribution Definition 6... A r.v. X has a normal distribution with mean µ and variance σ, where µ R, and σ > 0, if its density is fx = πσ e x µ σ. The previous definition

More information

1. Let A, B and C are three events such that P(A) = 0.45, P(B) = 0.30, P(C) = 0.35,

1. Let A, B and C are three events such that P(A) = 0.45, P(B) = 0.30, P(C) = 0.35, 1. Let A, B and C are three events such that PA =.4, PB =.3, PC =.3, P A B =.6, P A C =.6, P B C =., P A B C =.7. a Compute P A B, P A C, P B C. b Compute P A B C. c Compute the probability that exactly

More information