Volunteer Handbook. Page 1 of 12. Last reviewed March 2015 Papworth Trust Charity number:

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Volunteer Handbook. Page 1 of 12. Last reviewed March 2015 Papworth Trust Charity number:"

Transcription

1 Volunteer Handbook Page 1 of 12 Last reviewed March 2015 Papworth Trust Charity number:

2 Contents Welcome from Vicky McDermott, Chief Executive 3 How to get in touch with the Volunteering Team 3 Part 1: About Papworth Trust Our values 4 Our services 4 Part 2: Volunteering at Papworth Trust Volunteer roles 7 How volunteering can benefit you 7 How much time is required? 7 What we ask from you 8 What you can expect from us 8 Part 3: Information for volunteers Volunteer induction 9 Training available 9 Expenses 9 Insurance 10 Health and safety 10 Safeguarding vulnerable adults 10 Confidentiality 10 Policies and guidelines 11 Leaving the Trust 11 Asking us for a reference 11 Part 4: Guidelines, your suggestions and problem solving Comments and improvements 12 Problem solving and complaints 12 Page 2 of 12 Last reviewed March 2015 Papworth Trust Charity number:

3 Welcome from Vicky McDermott, our Chief Executive Thank you for choosing to volunteer with us. I really appreciate the time and effort that you are putting in to creating a world where disabled people are seen for what they can do. You are joining an established team of over 250 volunteers, who play a critical role in supporting the organisation. Without your time and skills, Papworth Trust would be unable to deliver the excellent services we provide. I am genuinely grateful for all the great work our volunteers contribute in many different ways. I look forward to hopefully meeting you one day and thanking you personally for your commitment to supporting our work. I hope that you have a great time in your new role. Yours sincerely Vicky McDermott, CEO Papworth Trust How to get in touch with the Volunteering Team As well as being supported by your local volunteer manager and team, you will also be supported by the Volunteering Team, located at our head office in Papworth Everard, Cambridgeshire. The Volunteering Team is responsible for promoting volunteering, recruitment, good practice, problem solving, and policy and procedures. We also provide additional advice and support to both volunteers and staff. Contact the Volunteering Team: Page 3 of 12 Last reviewed March 2015 Papworth Trust Charity number:

4 Part 1: About Papworth Trust Thank you for choosing to volunteer with us. We really value and appreciate the contribution you make to support disabled people and our staff. Our values We are committed to our charity values and to allowing all staff and volunteers to follow these values in their daily activities. Whoever we re dealing with colleagues, partners, the people we support, MPs or other organisations we work hard to maintain the highest professional standards. Our values are: we listen to people s needs and build great services around them we inspire everyone to try to change our world we support people to live their lives to the full we care that every person is seen for what they can do we work together so that we can make a difference. Our services Care and support Our care and support service means that everyone can get the right kind of care for them. It is available from just a few hours a month to daily support and offers help with things like: leisure support so that people can enjoy a regular activity like swimming or a short trip away support with basic financial tasks including paying bills and record keeping personal support with everyday things like bathing, dressing and preparing meals overnight support. We are registered with the Care Quality Commission and also belong to the UK Home Care Association. Page 4 of 12 Last reviewed March 2015 Papworth Trust Charity number:

5 Work, training and rehab Our work and training service helps people to find and keep jobs that are right for them. The Work Programme can help people to prepare for, find and stay in work. If they are already working part time, it can help them to increase their hours. We work with each person to tailor a programme that suits their personal circumstances, whether they are long or short term unemployed, or have a health condition. We support our customers by giving them the tools and skills they need to apply for jobs. We also have an award winning rehabilitation service, which is for people who have had a life changing injury as a result of an accident, trauma or ill health. Our rehabilitation service is available all over the UK. Homes and repairs Our homes and repairs service helps older and disabled people to live independently. We provide accessible homes and supported housing in the East of England. Our teams offer advice and support to people who want to repair, improve or adapt their homes. We advise on making homes safer, more secure and more energy efficient. We also help our customers to claim any benefits they may be entitled to. We have a handyperson service which helps people with big or small jobs around the home or garden. Leisure, sport and social Our leisure service helps disabled people to have fun, make friends and learn new skills. Our centres offer a variety of leisure and learning activities, such as arts and crafts, computer skills, and gardening. We run youth clubs for disabled young people to get together and enjoy games, arts and crafts, karaoke, and music. Page 5 of 12

6 We have three social enterprise cafés in Cambridgeshire, which are popular places to meet, eat and drink. These cafés provide work experience and training for disabled and disadvantaged people. We offer supported holidays at Kerry Farm, which is located in the beautiful Welsh countryside. At the working farm people affected by disability can come together, try new challenges or enjoy a rare chance to relax. We also have an accessible holiday home at Kelling Heath Holiday Park in Norfolk. Information and advice We have an Information Centre, which provides free information and advice for disabled people, their families and carers. We can give advice over the phone or by to anyone who lives in the UK. Some of the things we can give people advice about include benefits, grants and accessibility. Our West Suffolk Disability Resource Centre in Bury St Edmunds provides essential services and advice for disabled people, families and carers. Page 6 of 12

7 Part 2: Volunteering at Papworth Trust As a volunteer, there are many different and interesting ways you can help Papworth Trust and support disabled people to say I can. Volunteer roles A wide range of roles are available, including: directly supporting people with disabilities administration fundraising youth clubs maintenance gardening mentoring and befriending. Every voluntary role we offer has a role description. This describes the tasks we wish you to perform, how often we hope you will volunteer for, and where you will be based. During your time as a volunteer your role may be reviewed, or developed with your agreement. If you would like more information on volunteering roles offered by Papworth Trust then please visit our website or contact us directly. How volunteering can benefit you: find something you enjoy be part of a team meet new people and make new friends gain confidence improve your health gain new skills and work experience personal growth and development make a difference to the lives of disabled people help your local community. How much time is required? You can choose to give as much time as you wish, although some roles may suit someone who can commit to attending regularly for an ongoing period of time. The time requirement varies it depends what role you choose. Page 7 of 12

8 What we ask from you Alongside guidance from your volunteer manager and this handbook, we have a summary voluntary agreement containing the standards that we ask our volunteers to meet. We ask that you: carry out your role according to our guidelines, policies and procedures and to the best of your ability complete training to enable you to perform your role where necessary let your manager know if you have a health condition we need to support you with make sure that your attitude, behaviour and language are positive and appropriate to your role and those around you do not use your position or any information you receive inappropriately use any internet access and IT equipment provided by us appropriately and only in relation to your volunteering activities do not accept money or gifts that are of significant value. You may accept small gifts, such as chocolates, birthday or other cards where refusal may cause embarrassment do not make statements to the media without approval from our Marketing Team and your volunteer manager read the Volunteer Handbook and ask for help or support if you are unsure about any part of your volunteering duties update us about any changes to your personal circumstances (including contact details, health, convictions) sign this Volunteer Agreement and return it to your volunteer manager. What you can expect from us In return we promise to: assign you a volunteer manager and coordinator to support you and provide you with an induction provide support and training to help you achieve and maintain standards in line with the policies of Papworth Trust be open to your opinions about your volunteering experience and review any changes you may suggest quickly and fairly resolve any problems, complaints or difficulties you may have while you volunteer with us reimburse agreed out-of-pocket expenses, such as reasonable travel costs, subject to you following our expense claims process provide information, training and support in line with our health and safety policy give you adequate insurance cover while you carry out agreed volunteering duties provide you with suitable specialist clothing and equipment to carry out your volunteer role, if it is needed. Page 8 of 12

9 Part 3: Information for volunteers We want your volunteering experience to be fun, rewarding and productive. This Handbook and your volunteer manager will help you achieve this. For further guidance please see the Volunteer Handbook Appendices or contact us: Volunteer induction When you start, you ll receive an induction from your manager or a nominated member of staff. The aim of the induction is to familiarise you with the role, your team, surroundings, relevant policies and procedures, the wider organisation and what you will be helping to achieve. Training available Training is available to prepare you for your voluntary role. The training you receive will vary depending on your role, topics include: data protection safeguarding vulnerable adults child protection awareness equality and diversity personal safety food hygiene. To request training please speak to your manager or team leader. Expenses Papworth Trust will pay volunteers for reasonable out-of-pocket expenses. You will need to keep your receipts, such as for parking and public transport tickets and agreed purchases. If you use your own vehicle, you will also need to record your mileage. You can get an expenses claim form from your volunteer manager or our website. Please ask your volunteer manager if you have any queries around a specific claim. Your welfare benefits will not be affected if you volunteer with us so long as you continue to meet the conditions required for receiving your benefits. The Department for Work and Pensions recommend that you tell the office that gives you your benefits about your volunteering role, and they can then advise you further. Page 9 of 12

10 Insurance All official volunteering activities are covered by our insurance policies. Health and safety We will make sure that you volunteer in a safe and healthy environment. We will take steps to reduce any risks you may face. As a volunteer, you are also responsible for your own health and safety and of the people you volunteer for and with. You must report all accidents or if you feel unwell to your volunteer manager. You must also inform your volunteer manager if you have any existing health condition we need to be aware of. We will give you information about health and safety as part of your induction this will include: who the qualified first aider is fire exits, procedures and precautions common hazards personal safety. Safeguarding vulnerable adults As part of your volunteering you may interact with vulnerable adults or children. Papworth Trust is commited to providing a safe environment for all service users. If you have concerns about someone s welfare please report them to your volunteer manager, another team member or the Volunteering Team. Confidentiality The purpose of data protection and confidentiality is to protect people from unauthorised, unreasonable use of personal information. All information about anyone you volunteer with should remain confidential unless there is a welfare or safeguarding issue that your manager should be made aware of. All departments in all offices operate a clear desk policy and important information must be stored away with no sensitive and personal data left on show. For more details on the clear desk and data protection policies please contact the Volunteering Team or see the Volunteer Handbook Appendices. Page 10 of 12

11 Policies and guidelines The main policies that relate to volunteers can be found in the Appendices to this Handbook available from our website, or by contacting the Volunteering Team. We keep our policies under review so would advise you to consult the relevant policy as and when you need to. The main policies are: volunteer policy equality and diversity policy business information systems IT policy procedures health and safety policy safeguarding vulnerable people policy data protection and clear desk policy code of conduct guidelines for complaints. Leaving Papworth Trust If you decide to leave your volunteer role, please inform your manager at the earliest opportunity. In due course we will offer to carry out an exit interview with you. This is a chance for you to give feedback on your volunteering experience. Your feedback will help us to improve our volunteering programme for future volunteers. Asking us for a reference If you would like to use Papworth Trust as a referee to support your application for employment or another voluntary role, please use the following contact details: The Volunteering Team Papworth Trust Bernard Sunley Centre Papworth Everard Cambridgeshire CB23 3RG Page 11 of 12

12 Part 4: Guidelines, your suggestions and problem solving Comments and improvements We are always trying to improve our services and welcome your comments or suggestions. Please tell your manager or the Volunteering Team if there is something we can improve, or participate when asked in one of our satisfaction surveys. Problem solving and complaints If you have a complaint or issue please speak to the Volunteering Team, your volunteer manager or another team member. Issues and complaints will be dealt with openly, fairly and quickly to: protect you minimise any disruption to staff, the people we support and other volunteers protect the reputation of Papworth Trust. If you find out about any activities that you believe to be illegal or not right, you should tell your volunteer manager or another team member immediately. If you are unable to do this, or not happy with the outcome, then please inform the Volunteering Team. Anything you say will be kept confidential. You can contact us at: Thank you for choosing to volunteer with Papworth Trust Page 12 of 12

Macmillan Cancer Support Volunteering Policy

Macmillan Cancer Support Volunteering Policy Macmillan Cancer Support Volunteering Policy Introduction Thousands of volunteers dedicate time and energy to improve the lives of people affected by cancer. Macmillan was started by a volunteer and volunteers

More information

The fostering information pack

The fostering information pack The fostering information pack Welcome to Dudley Council s fostering service Dudley Council s fostering service, meeting children s needs through high quality care. Our fostering service plays an essential

More information

Assessments and the Care Act

Assessments and the Care Act factsheet Assessments and the Care Act Getting help in England from April 2015 carersuk.org factsheet This factsheet contains information about the new system of care and support that came into place in

More information

Model Safeguarding Policy and Procedure for Smaller Voluntary and Community Groups

Model Safeguarding Policy and Procedure for Smaller Voluntary and Community Groups Introduction Model Safeguarding Policy and Procedure for Smaller Voluntary and Community Groups This NAME OF ORGANISATION policy follows guidelines set out in Bath & North East Somerset (B&NES) Safeguarding

More information

Publications code: REG-0812-032. Registering and running a childminding service: what you need to know

Publications code: REG-0812-032. Registering and running a childminding service: what you need to know Publications code: REG-0812-032 Registering and running a childminding service: what you need to know Contents Introduction 1 Section 1: What is childminding? 2 Section 2: Before you apply to register

More information

Lyminster Primary school Volunteer s Policy

Lyminster Primary school Volunteer s Policy Lyminster Primary school Volunteer s Policy Lyminster Primary school Volunteer s policy Introduction A volunteer is defined as someone who, unpaid and of their own free will, contributes their time, energy

More information

Residential & nursing care

Residential & nursing care CARE Residential & nursing care A more flexible range of care services A more individu al experience A more individu al experience 1 Our services at a glance Individualised care plans structured around

More information

Our guide to volunteering. Information and advice

Our guide to volunteering. Information and advice Our guide to volunteering Information and advice We are committed to supporting you as a volunteer... Welcome Thank you for offering your time to support the Council and its wider goals. We want your time

More information

NCS Contract Director, North East of England

NCS Contract Director, North East of England NCS Contract Director, North East of England vinspired and National Youth Agency NCS Partnership NCS Contract Director Candidate Pack March 2015 EXECUTIVE SUMMARY Accountable to: Directors of vinspired

More information

Children s Guide to Fostering

Children s Guide to Fostering Children s Guide to Fostering Welcome to your guide to fostering We are the Fostering Service and we work hard to make sure that the foster carers who are looking after you are able to meet your needs

More information

TRUSTEE WELCOME GUIDE

TRUSTEE WELCOME GUIDE TRUSTEE WELCOME GUIDE WELCOME Welcome to Ben Rhydding Pre School Playgroup (the Charity) and thank you for choosing to volunteer as a trustee. We extend a warm welcome to you and hope that your volunteering

More information

Intern Handbook. Initiated by. In association with. Oak Wood Primary & Secondary Schools

Intern Handbook. Initiated by. In association with. Oak Wood Primary & Secondary Schools Intern Handbook Initiated by In association with Oak Wood Primary & Secondary Schools Handbook Contents Page 1 What is EmployAbility?... 1 2 The history of EmployAbility... 2 3 What does my working day

More information

E-Learning Courses. Course Category

E-Learning Courses. Course Category Course Category Health and Safety E-Learning Courses Course Title Creating a Safe and Healthy Office Fire Safety at Work Health and Safety at Work Health and Safety for Managers Course Description The

More information

Corporate Fundraising Pack

Corporate Fundraising Pack Corporate Fundraising Pack Thank you! By opening this Corporate Fundraising Pack for The Gingerbread Centre you have taken the first step to creating a future for vulnerable families in Staffordshire.

More information

The guidance 2. Guidance on professional conduct for nursing and midwifery students. Your guide to practice

The guidance 2. Guidance on professional conduct for nursing and midwifery students. Your guide to practice The guidance 2 Guidance on professional conduct for nursing and midwifery students Your guide to practice The Nursing & Midwifery Council Vision, mission and values Our vision To safeguard the public by

More information

Inspection report for early years provision. Unique Reference Number 300100 Inspection date 04 April 2006

Inspection report for early years provision. Unique Reference Number 300100 Inspection date 04 April 2006 Inspection report for early years provision Unique Reference Number 300100 Inspection date 04 April 2006 Inspector Jill Lee Type of inspection Type of care Childcare Childminding ABOUT THIS INSPECTION

More information

PARENTS GUIDE TO FOSTERING

PARENTS GUIDE TO FOSTERING PARENTS GUIDE TO FOSTERING April 2014 1 The fostering regulations, standards and guidance provide the legal framework for how fostering services look after children placed within foster care. Trafford

More information

I m p r o v i n g H e a l t h & W e l l b e i n g t h r o u g h V o l u n t e e r i n g i n t h e N H S S c o t l a n d. Volunteer Induction

I m p r o v i n g H e a l t h & W e l l b e i n g t h r o u g h V o l u n t e e r i n g i n t h e N H S S c o t l a n d. Volunteer Induction I m p r o v i n g H e a l t h & W e l l b e i n g t h r o u g h V o l u n t e e r i n g i n t h e N H S S c o t l a n d Volunteer Induction Guidance to NHSScotland Boards July 2010 1. Guidance on Volunteer

More information

THE UNION VOLUNTEER POLICY. Guidance for student volunteers

THE UNION VOLUNTEER POLICY. Guidance for student volunteers THE UNION VOLUNTEER POLICY Guidance for student volunteers Developed: April 2014 Reviewed and updated: August 2014, March 2015 Review date: September 2015 Reviewed and Updated August 2015 CONTENTS 3 Section

More information

Service. Fostering. If you have any questions we will always be happy to hear from you.

Service. Fostering. If you have any questions we will always be happy to hear from you. Fostering Service The Fostering Team is part of Neath Port Talbot Council s Social Services. We believe that every child has a right to a family life, and we aim to provide, arrange and maintain foster

More information

A guide to help you make the most of Your Choice. Employee Guide

A guide to help you make the most of Your Choice. Employee Guide A guide to help you make the most of Your Choice Employee Guide This guide is to help you understand a bit more about Your Choice. This is the total package of benefits that you may be eligible for as

More information

Witness information. Investigations

Witness information. Investigations Witness information Investigations We are the nursing and midwifery regulator for England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and the Islands. We exist to safeguard the health and wellbeing of the public.

More information

Thank you for your interest in the above position. Please find enclosed the following:

Thank you for your interest in the above position. Please find enclosed the following: March 2015 Fairthorne Manor Curdridge Southampton SO30 2GH Tel: 01489 785228 Fax: 01489 798936 Dear Applicant Re: Role of Youth Worker (ref 462) at YMCA Fairthorne Group Thank you for your interest in

More information

Apple Tree Day Care Nursery

Apple Tree Day Care Nursery Apple Tree Day Care Nursery Inspection report for early years provision Unique reference number EY40994 Inspection date 09/05/011 Inspector Susan Harvey Setting address Telephone number 0175 39595 Email

More information

Volunteering with Sense Holidays

Volunteering with Sense Holidays Volunteering with Sense Holidays We have lots of fantastic volunteering opportunities coming up on our holidays, short breaks and events this year. Read on to find out more about our different volunteer

More information

Managing Your Career Tips and Tools for Self-Reflection

Managing Your Career Tips and Tools for Self-Reflection Managing Your Career Tips and Tools for Self-Reflection Your career may well be the primary vehicle for satisfying many of your personal needs, i.e. your need to feel a sense of belonging, to feel appreciated

More information

1. What types of organisation do you fund? 2. Do you give grants for individual children and young people?

1. What types of organisation do you fund? 2. Do you give grants for individual children and young people? Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) Who can apply for a grant? 1. What types of organisation do you fund? 2. Do you give grants for individual children and young people? 3. Some of the young people our organisation

More information

About the Department for Work and Pensions. Our service standards

About the Department for Work and Pensions. Our service standards About the Department for Work and Pensions Our service standards 2 About the Department for Work and Pensions Contents 3 Introduction 3 Disability and Carers Service 4 Jobcentre Plus 4 The Pension Service

More information

Investors in People First Assessment Report

Investors in People First Assessment Report Investors in People First Assessment Report K.H.Construction Cambridge Assessor: Lesley E Ling On-site Date/s: 3 rd September 2008. Recognition Date: Contents 1. Introduction Page 2 2. Assessment and Client

More information

How to set up a Friends of group on a park or green space in Leeds

How to set up a Friends of group on a park or green space in Leeds How to set up a Friends of group on a park or green space in Leeds 1. What is a Friends of group? A Friends of group (in this context) is a group of people who voluntarily work to maintain, improve and

More information

Once you ve got someone keen in your club, it s worth spending a bit of time trying to keep them.

Once you ve got someone keen in your club, it s worth spending a bit of time trying to keep them. So now if you ve used our recruiting volunteers resource, you may well have more people wanting to help. It s true that in most cases, the volunteer usually stays as long as their son/daughter/family member

More information

Volunteer Handbook February 2010

Volunteer Handbook February 2010 Volunteer Handbook February 2010 Introduction The aim of this handbook is to give you a quick guide to what you need to know to be an effective volunteer on a Camp Quality holiday. Reading this will hopefully

More information

Understand your role

Understand your role The CARE CERTIFICATE Understand your role What you need to know THE CARE CERTIFICATE WORKBOOK Standard Your role - Tasks, Behaviours and Standards of work Your role will have a job description. This tells

More information

Assessments and the Care Act

Assessments and the Care Act factsheet Assessments and the Care Act Getting help in England from April 2015 carersuk.org factsheet This factsheet contains information about the new system of care and support that will come into place

More information

Care Programme Approach (CPA)

Care Programme Approach (CPA) Care Programme Approach (CPA) The Care Programme Approach (CPA) is used to plan many people s mental health care. This factsheet explains what it is, when you should get and when it might stop. The Care

More information

By Mark Restall. Volunteers and the Law: A summary

By Mark Restall. Volunteers and the Law: A summary By Mark Restall Volunteers and the Law: A summary 2 VOLUNTEERS AND THE LAW Introduction The majority of calls to Volunteering England s information line touch upon legal issues in one form or another.

More information

Hosting for Contact the Elderly

Hosting for Contact the Elderly Hosting for Contact the Elderly Welcome! We d like to say a big thank you for volunteering with Contact the Elderly. Our volunteers are extremely important to us - in fact, they re what keep the charity

More information

Review: October 2015. Next Review Date: 2015. Page 1 of 7

Review: October 2015. Next Review Date: 2015. Page 1 of 7 Review: October 2015 Next Review Date: 2015 Page 1 of 7 Approved by Governors: Due for approval 16/11/15 MOUNT PELLON PRIMARY ACADEMY DEALING WITH ALLEGATIONS AGAINST ACADEMY STAFF Introduction It is essential

More information

Changing children s lives

Changing children s lives What is adoption? 01 What is adoption? Through adoption you can give a child a permanent, caring home and a sense of belonging, with the love and security of a stable family life guaranteed until they

More information

Details about this location

Details about this location Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Prince George Duke of Kent Court Shepherds Green, Chislehurst,

More information

getting there Models for Self- Directed Support broker support Getting There Discussion paper

getting there Models for Self- Directed Support broker support Getting There Discussion paper Models for Self- Directed Support broker support Getting There Discussion paper getting there Outside the Box November 2012 Introduction Introduction what this section covers: About Getting There Summary

More information

VOLUNTEERS & EXPENSES

VOLUNTEERS & EXPENSES VOLUNTEERS & EXPENSES I N F O R M A T I O N S H E E T What do I need to know about? Best Practice Social Security Benefits Child Care Carers Taxation National Minimum Wage Volunteers who wish to donate

More information

Could you? We care... We care for West Lothian s children

Could you? We care... We care for West Lothian s children We care for West Lothian s children We need caring and committed local people to foster babies, children and young people. Some children need to be looked after for a few days or months. Some children

More information

WIN. Factoring Services News. Factoring Services News. Common repairs what happens! page 6. worth of vouchers

WIN. Factoring Services News. Factoring Services News. Common repairs what happens! page 6. worth of vouchers Factoring news for homeowners in mixed tenure blocks in East Renfrewshire www.eastrenfrewshire.gov.uk/housing Winter 2015 Factoring Services News Complete our customer satisfaction survey inside this edition

More information

What can you expect from a good care home?

What can you expect from a good care home? What can you expect from a good care home? If you (or a member of your family or a friend) receive care, treatment or support in a care home in England, this booklet will tell you what you can expect from

More information

Policy for delegating authority to foster carers. September 2013

Policy for delegating authority to foster carers. September 2013 Policy for delegating authority to foster carers September 2013 Purpose and scope of policy 1.1 Introduction Decision-making around the care of looked after children can be an area of conflict between

More information

SAFEGUARDING POLICY. (Definition taken from the HM Government document Working together to safeguard children March 2013)

SAFEGUARDING POLICY. (Definition taken from the HM Government document Working together to safeguard children March 2013) SAFEGUARDING POLICY The Co-operative Childcare is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and expects all colleagues and volunteers to share this commitment. Safeguarding and promoting

More information

Fostering young lives. Providing foster care to children and young people.

Fostering young lives. Providing foster care to children and young people. Fostering young lives Providing foster care to children and young people. What is foster care? Foster care is the care of a child or young person who is not able to live with their own family. The reasons

More information

OUR CODE OF ETHICS. June 2013

OUR CODE OF ETHICS. June 2013 OUR CODE OF ETHICS. June 2013 OUR CODE OF ETHICS GUIDING PRINCIPLES Ethical behaviour is an integral part of the way we do business. It's crucial that all our stakeholders are able to trust us to treat

More information

101 IELTS Speaking Part Two tasks about people, places, actions, things and times

101 IELTS Speaking Part Two tasks about people, places, actions, things and times 101 IELTS Speaking Part Two tasks about people, places, actions, things and times Save each section individually A to Z for future work Although it is impossible to predict the most likely topic for an

More information

Fostering Recruitment Team London Borough of Barnet Building 4, North London Business Park Oakleigh Road South London N11 1NP

Fostering Recruitment Team London Borough of Barnet Building 4, North London Business Park Oakleigh Road South London N11 1NP Fostering Recruitment Team London Borough of Barnet Building 4, North London Business Park Oakleigh Road South London N11 1NP Phone: 020 8359 6274 Email: fostering@barnet.gov.uk Background information

More information

Host Information Pack

Host Information Pack Supporting Young People who are at risk of sleeping rough or becoming homeless in Bristol Host Information Pack Supported by Thank you for your interest in Bristol Nightstop, a project to support Young

More information

GIFTS AND HOSPITALITY POLICY

GIFTS AND HOSPITALITY POLICY Readopted: 30 July 2015 GIFTS AND HOSPITALITY POLICY 1.0 INTRODUCTION 1.1 Accepting or offering gifts or personal hospitality could be seen to influence a team member s or third party s business s actions

More information

Engaging Corporate Volunteers

Engaging Corporate Volunteers Engaging Corporate Volunteers In your non- profit organisation. Volunteer Ireland 2015 www.volunteeer.ie Corporate volunteering is any action by an employer to encourage and support the volunteer involvement

More information

How to access Adoption Support

How to access Adoption Support How to access Adoption Support Get in touch to find out more, or to speak to someone about our adoption support. For Adoptive Parents Phone: 020 7520 0383 Email: adoption@coram.org.uk Web: www.coram.org.uk/adoption

More information

Hockerill Anglo European College

Hockerill Anglo European College Hockerill Anglo European College Welfare inspection report for a boarding school Unique reference number for social care SC061728 Unique reference number for education 136482 Inspection dates 20/04/2012

More information

101 IELTS Speaking Part Two tasks about the Past, Present and Future

101 IELTS Speaking Part Two tasks about the Past, Present and Future 101 IELTS Speaking Part Two tasks about the Past, Present and Future The most challenging and least likely tasks in the exam are the tasks that are mainly about the future (towards the bottom below), with

More information

Supported Living and Community Support Contract

Supported Living and Community Support Contract Supported Living and Community Support Contract With Name of Person we Support About this agreement This is an agreement between you and Kingwood. The agreement tells you: what support service you will

More information

Volunteering Development Manager, Greater London and Central Regions

Volunteering Development Manager, Greater London and Central Regions Job Information Pack Volunteering Development Manager, Greater London and Central Regions February 2014 Alzheimer s Society, Devon House, 58 St Katharine s Way, London E1W 1LB. Telephone +44 (0) 20 7423

More information

Social Care Jargon Buster. 52 of the most commonly used social care words and phrases and what they mean

Social Care Jargon Buster. 52 of the most commonly used social care words and phrases and what they mean Social Care Jargon Buster 52 of the most commonly used social care words and phrases and what they mean 1) Abuse Harm that is caused by anyone who has power over another person, which may include family

More information

Cerebral Palsy Sport. Fundraising and Business Development Manager. Applicants Information Pack

Cerebral Palsy Sport. Fundraising and Business Development Manager. Applicants Information Pack Cerebral Palsy Sport Fundraising and Business Development Manager Applicants Information Pack Dear Applicant Thank you for showing interest in applying for the post of Fundraising and Business Development

More information

Effective Working Relationships

Effective Working Relationships 1 Effective Working Relationships 2 CREATE AND MAINTAIN EFFECTIVE WORKING RELATIONSHIPS We all work with others in our daily working life to produce the products and services that we provide to our customers.

More information

BRIDGE HOUSE COLLEGE IKOYI, LAGOS knowledge for success

BRIDGE HOUSE COLLEGE IKOYI, LAGOS knowledge for success BRIDGE HOUSE COLLEGE IKOYI, LAGOS knowledge for success CHILD PROTECTION POLICY FOR BRIDGE HOUSE COLLEGE (BHC) KEY CONTACTS WITHIN THE BRIDGE HOUSE COLLEGE (SEPTEMBER 2013) DESIGNATED CHILD PROTECTION

More information

Health and Safety Policy

Health and Safety Policy Health and Safety Policy Document Control Title : Health and Safety Policy Applicable to : All Staff and Executive Officers Date last reviewed : July 2015 Procedure Owner : People and Organisational Development

More information

Social networking and Facebook information for foster carers

Social networking and Facebook information for foster carers Social networking and Facebook information for foster carers It is important that foster carers understand about social networking, including the opportunities and the dangers, and that they can discuss

More information

Lydiate Primary School. Safeguarding Children Policy

Lydiate Primary School. Safeguarding Children Policy Lydiate Primary School Safeguarding Children Policy Introduction This policy outlines the practices to be followed in the field of safeguarding children at Lydiate Primary School. Background When the government

More information

Evaluation of the customer satisfaction survey 2012/2013

Evaluation of the customer satisfaction survey 2012/2013 Evaluation of the customer satisfaction survey 2012/2013 At Kidzone we aim to provide a service of high quality to meet the needs of both parents/carers and children. For parents/carers this means knowing

More information

London Strengthening Communities Support Officer

London Strengthening Communities Support Officer London Strengthening Communities Support Officer Job Pack Sova is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children, young people and vulnerable adults, and expects all staff and volunteers

More information

Application Pack Summer Camp Activity Manager Summer 2016 (Halewood, Liverpool)

Application Pack Summer Camp Activity Manager Summer 2016 (Halewood, Liverpool) Application Pack Summer Camp Activity Manager Summer 2016 (Halewood, Liverpool) 1 Dear Candidate, Thank you for your interest in becoming a part of the Healthy Heroes team. Healthy Heroes are a small team

More information

HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE E QUALIFICATIONS HE UNIT SHC 022

HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE E QUALIFICATIONS HE UNIT SHC 022 ARE HEALTH AND SOC H AND SOCIAL CARE H OCIAL CARE HEALTH A ARE HEALTH AND SOC ND SOCIAL CARE HEA E QUALIFICATIONS HE LTH AND EXEMPLAR SOCIAL CARE OCIAL CANDIDATE CARE HEALTH WORK A ARE HEALTH AND SOC UNIT

More information

Inspection dates 20/05/2014 to 22/05/2014

Inspection dates 20/05/2014 to 22/05/2014 Residential report Starhurst School Starhurst School, Chart Lane South, DORKING, Surrey, RH5 4DB Inspection dates 20/05/2014 to 22/05/2014 Overall effectiveness Good 2 Outcomes for residential pupils Good

More information

Could you foster a Bexley child?

Could you foster a Bexley child? Could you foster a Bexley child? Listening to you, working for you www.bexley.gov.uk What is fostering? Every day of every year, foster carers from all walks of life are playing a vital role in the lives

More information

Volunteering at Bradford Royal Infirmary, St Luke s Hospital and Local Community Hospitals

Volunteering at Bradford Royal Infirmary, St Luke s Hospital and Local Community Hospitals Voluntary Services Contact details: Tel: 01274 364309 or 01274 382860 Email: Volunteer.Information@bthft.nhs.uk Volunteering at Bradford Royal Infirmary, St Luke s Hospital and Local Community Hospitals

More information

Thank you for choosing to support YMCA Cambridgeshire and Peterborough

Thank you for choosing to support YMCA Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Corporate Partnerships Fundraising Pack Thank you for choosing to support YMCA Cambridgeshire and Peterborough YMCA Cambridgeshire and Peterborough is part of a federation of 114 YMCAs across the United

More information

Welcome to Norfolk Avenue

Welcome to Norfolk Avenue Welcome to Norfolk Avenue Norfolk Avenue is a five bed bungalow in an ideal location in the village of Glencaple, near Dumfries. Property details The attractive home is designed to offer people with physical

More information

Name a Puppy change a life

Name a Puppy change a life Name a Puppy change a life Name a Puppy A name is the first gift that a guide dog puppy receives and is a chance for you to become part of their life-changing story. Why we need your help The guide dog

More information

The NHS Constitution

The NHS Constitution for England 27 July 2015 2 The NHS Constitution The NHS belongs to the people. It is there to improve our health and wellbeing, supporting us to keep mentally and physically well, to get better when we

More information

Criminal Record Bureau checks

Criminal Record Bureau checks Information Sheet Criminal Record Bureau checks Every child and vulnerable adult deserves to be happy and secure in their activities. If your organisation works with children or vulnerable adults, there

More information

Careers. Accountants and financial planners who care about your future. Accountants Business Advisers Financial Planners

Careers. Accountants and financial planners who care about your future. Accountants Business Advisers Financial Planners Careers Accountants and financial planners who care about your future Accountants Business Advisers Financial Planners Contents and potentially priceless. Chapter 1. Our people 2. School leavers 3. Work

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Bury DCA United Response, City View Business Centre, 9 Long

More information

Statement of Purpose

Statement of Purpose Statement of Purpose Victoria Community Care Limited Unit 6 Helsby Court, Prescot Business Park, Prescot, Merseyside, L34 1PB Tel: 0151 546 4400 E mail: office@vccl.biz About this Document This document

More information

Volunteering. while getting benefits. Part of the Department for Work and Pensions

Volunteering. while getting benefits. Part of the Department for Work and Pensions Volunteering while getting benefits Part of the Department for Work and Pensions This leaflet is only a guide and does not cover every circumstance. We have done our best to make sure the leaflet is correct

More information

A POSITIVE CAREER CHOICE. www.ccwales.org.uk

A POSITIVE CAREER CHOICE. www.ccwales.org.uk A POSITIVE CAREER CHOICE www.ccwales.org.uk Looking for work? THIS JOB ADVERT may not be real, but as demand for care services is ever increasing there are opportunities in social care. This booklet covers

More information

Standards of Conduct and Practice for. Social Care Workers

Standards of Conduct and Practice for. Social Care Workers Standards of Conduct and Practice for Social Care Workers NOVEMBER 2015 Introductory Notes About us The Northern Ireland Social Care Council (NISCC) was established in 2001 as the regulatory body for the

More information

Are you: Under 65 (for men) or under 60 (for women)? Not working, or working on average less than 16 hours a week?

Are you: Under 65 (for men) or under 60 (for women)? Not working, or working on average less than 16 hours a week? EMPLOYMENT BENEFITS/NATIONAL INSURANCE What is it? Jobseeker s Allowance (JSA) is paid: If you are capable of working If you are available for work If you are actively seeking work. Can I get it? Are you:

More information

The post holder will be guided by general polices and regulations, but will need to establish the way in which these should be interpreted.

The post holder will be guided by general polices and regulations, but will need to establish the way in which these should be interpreted. JOB DESCRIPTION Job Title: Membership and Events Manager Band: 7 Hours: 37.5 Location: Elms, Tatchbury Mount Accountable to: Head of Strategic Relationship Management 1. MAIN PURPOSE OF JOB The post holder

More information

Document 5. Role of a Personal Assistant

Document 5. Role of a Personal Assistant Document 5 Role of a Personal Assistant Role of a Personal Assistant Document 5 A Personal Assistant s role can change depending on who they are working with and the tasks they have been asked to do, however,

More information

Charity. Charity Volunteers. A best practice guide

Charity. Charity Volunteers. A best practice guide Charity Charity Volunteers A best practice guide 1 Charity Volunteers Charity Most charities rely heavily on volunteers so charities do need to be aware of the legal position of volunteers and review regularly

More information

Guidelines for the Mentoring of New Academic and Research Staff

Guidelines for the Mentoring of New Academic and Research Staff Guidelines for the Mentoring of New Academic and Research Staff Background Senate agreed on 3 July 1996 that all new members of academic staff, regardless of seniority, should have an appointed mentor

More information

RECRUITMENT PACK BUSINESS SUPPORT ADMINISTRATOR

RECRUITMENT PACK BUSINESS SUPPORT ADMINISTRATOR RECRUITMENT PACK BUSINESS SUPPORT ADMINISTRATOR Chief Executive: Rick Henderson Chair: Ann Skinner Charity Registration No. 1089173 Company Registration No. 4313826 CONTENTS 1. INTRODUCTION... 3 2. ABOUT

More information

ASA HEALTH AND SAFETY POLICY

ASA HEALTH AND SAFETY POLICY ASA HEALTH AND SAFETY POLICY Policy statement The ASA places great importance on the health and safety of all its employees, visitors and the general public. Temporary staff, contractors and visitors will

More information

Inspection report for early years provision. Unique Reference Number

Inspection report for early years provision. Unique Reference Number Inspection report for early years provision Unique Reference Number Inspection date Inspector 300285 04 May 2006 Carolyn Gifford Type of inspection Type of care Childcare Childminding ABOUT THIS INSPECTION

More information

Volunteering with the. Young Lives Foundation

Volunteering with the. Young Lives Foundation Young Lives Foundation 71 College Road Maidstone Kent ME15 6SX Volunteering with the Young Lives Foundation In this pack you will find the following: About YLF Volunteering with us Introduction to the

More information

The cost of raising your child How much maintenance will your child need?

The cost of raising your child How much maintenance will your child need? The cost of raising your child How much maintenance will your child need? These sheets can help you start thinking about the things you want to include in your private agreement. The things your child

More information

ECB Guidance for Coaches Working with Children

ECB Guidance for Coaches Working with Children ECB Guidance for Coaches Working with Children Coaches have a vital role to play in safeguarding children in cricket and, at a club, will often become the focus for children and their activities. The ECB

More information

Getting social care support under the new law in England

Getting social care support under the new law in England Factsheet What does the Care Act mean for me? Getting social care support under the new law in England This factsheet concentrates on parts of the Care Act which will most affect people who use social

More information

RHODES AVENUE PRIMARY SCHOOL

RHODES AVENUE PRIMARY SCHOOL RHODES AVENUE PRIMARY SCHOOL HEADTEACHER CANDIDATE INFORMATION Rhodes Avenue School: A Vision for the Future Our children are at the heart of all we do. We aim to instil a love of learning in all our children

More information

GLEN EDEN INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL GUIDELINES FOR HOMESTAY FAMILIES HOSTING OVERSEAS STUDENTS

GLEN EDEN INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL GUIDELINES FOR HOMESTAY FAMILIES HOSTING OVERSEAS STUDENTS GLEN EDEN INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL GUIDELINES FOR HOMESTAY FAMILIES HOSTING OVERSEAS STUDENTS Hosting an overseas student can be a most rewarding experience for you and your family. Usually your student will

More information

NATIONAL CODE OF CONDUCT FOR LOCAL GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES IN SCOTLAND

NATIONAL CODE OF CONDUCT FOR LOCAL GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES IN SCOTLAND NATIONAL CODE OF CONDUCT FOR LOCAL GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES IN SCOTLAND Introduction The public expects a high standard of conduct from all local government employees in Scotland. There is a National Code

More information

Child & Vulnerable Adults Protection Policy 2009 2012

Child & Vulnerable Adults Protection Policy 2009 2012 Child & Vulnerable Adults Protection Policy 2009 2012 Contents Introduction 3 Recruitment procedures 4 Responsible adults 5 Unaccompanied children 5 School pupils on work placements 5 Lost children 5 Family

More information