Active Learning. for Catholic Kids. Sample pages you ll find in this product preview: PUBLISHING GROUP: PRODUCT PREVIEW. Scroll down to view the pages

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Active Learning. for Catholic Kids. Sample pages you ll find in this product preview: PUBLISHING GROUP: PRODUCT PREVIEW. Scroll down to view the pages"

Transcription

1 PUBLISHING GROUP: PRODUCT PREVIEW Active Learning for Catholic Kids Intermediate Grades: Volume 2 Filled with fun activities, puzzles, and crafts, this easy-to-use collection of themed reproducible pages helps reinforce religion lessons, enhance spiritual development, and celebrate special feasts. Make photo copies from the printed pages, or pop the CD-ROM into your computer and you re ready to print at school, in your parish office, or at home. Each book includes 88 reproducibles, plus an answers section. Themes in Intermediate Grades, Volume 2: Prayers and the Mass, the Liturgical Year, the Sacraments, the Saints. 96 pages, 8 1/2 x 11 #H3444 CD-ROM included Sample pages you ll find in this product preview: Table of Contents We Receive Jesus (Page 15) St. John Bosco: Special Dreams (page 74) Scroll down to view the pages

2 Active Learning for Catholic Kids Reproducibles for Intermediate Grades, Volume 2 The Mass We Gather as Family (Greeting) We Confess Our Sins (Penitential Rite) God Speaks, We Listen (Liturgy of the Word) Creed Crossword (Profession of Faith) Christian Love (Prayer of the Faithful) We Give Our Gifts (Offertory) Praise and Thanksgiving (Liturgy of the Eucharist) Praying as Jesus Prayed (Lord s Prayer) We Offer the Peace of Christ (The Sign of Peace) We Receive Jesus (Communion) Go in Peace (Blessing and Dismissal) Prayers Praying the Rosary Praying with the Bible The Road to Glory (Stations of the Cross) Turning Hours into Prayers (The Divine Office) Nine Times Better (Novena) The Liturgical Year Name That Saint (Advent Saints) Advent Messengers (Advent Scripture Search) Mary s Life (Feast of Immaculate Conception) Symbols of Jesus (Christmas) Gathering the Facts (The Baptism of the Lord) Mark Your Calendar (Spring Holy Days and Feast Days) Name That Day (Spring Holy Days and Feast Days) Lenten Resolutions (Ash Wednesday) The Shamrock Saint (Feast of St. Patrick) Joseph s Life (Feast of St. Joseph) Jesus Passion (Passion/Palm Sunday) Triduum Quiz Easter Gospel Search Easter Words The Spirit Comes (Pentecost) Highlights of My Life (Feast of St. Francis of Assisi) Who Is This Saint? (All Saints Day) Patron Saint Scavenger Hunt A Different Kind of King (Feast of Christ the King) Our Church Year (The Liturgical Cycle) The Sacraments Sacraments Spinner Game Life-Giving Water (Baptism) Baptism Scramble (Signs) Baptism Poster (Jesus Baptism) Confirmation Advertising (Meaning of Confirmation) The Secret of Greatness (Call to Serve) Paths to Service (Ways to Serve)

3 Last Supper Quiz (Institution of the Eucharist) Transformations (Real Presence) Stained Glass Window (Eucharistic Symbols) Three Steps to Reconciliation (Penance) What Is Sin? (Recognizing Sin) Reconciliation Word Search Create a Poem (Anointing of the Sick) Jesus Heals by Anointing Two Kinds of Healing (Spiritual Healing) Matrimony Crossword Expert Advice (Preparation for Matrimony) How Can I Minister to Others? (Ministry) Holy Orders Fill-In Sacramentals Scavenger Hunt The Saints A Different Path (St. Elizabeth Ann Seton) A Man of Many Tongues (St. John Neumann) Spreading Knowledge (St. Thomas Aquinas) Special Dreams (St. John Bosco) A Preacher in Japan (St. Paul Miki and Companions) Miraculous Vision (Our Lady of Lourdes) A Modern Woman (St. Katharine Drexel) A Righteous Man (St. Joseph) Heavenly Writer (St. Catherine of Siena) Among Outcasts (Bl. Damien of Molokai) Humorous and Humble (St. Philip Neri) Man with a Mission (Bl. Junipero Serra) A Man of Strength and Courage (St. Maximilian Kolbe) Works of Mercy (St. Roch) A Saint to Sing About (Pope St. Gregory the Great) An Outstanding Woman (St. Hildegard of Bingen) Shepherd to All (Bl. Francis X. Seelos) An Eventful Life (St. Teresa of Avila) He Loved All Things (St. Martin de Porres) An Efficient Woman (St. Frances Cabrini) Heavenly Life (St. Elizabeth of Hungary) Proof of Faith (Our Lady of Guadalupe) Solutions to Selected Activities

4 We Receive Jesus Name Together we go to the altar of God and receive the body and blood of Jesus. When we eat the bread and drink the wine, we are one with Jesus and with one another. Using the code below, solve the puzzle to find the promise Jesus makes us about the Eucharist. A B C D E F Q A O A M R G H F B I D E B D. J B C F I K L M N H K C E F B O F M L E K F O F H F B D P K N D E A P G H F B I. L A Q Q Q A O F N K H F O F H (John 6:51) Code A = I G = B M = N B = A H = R N = F C = M I = D O = V D = T J = C P = S E = H K = O Q = L F = E L = W R = G 2008, 2001, and 2000 Pflaum Publishing Group, Dayton OH ( ) Permission is granted by the publisher to reproduce this page for noncommercial use only. 15

5 Preview Another Edition Go to Online Catalog Go to Pflaum Home

ST. BERNARD CATHOLIC CHURCH WABASH, INDIANA CONFRATERNITY CORNER FOR RELIGIOUS EDUCATION KINDERGARTEN - 12TH GRADE

ST. BERNARD CATHOLIC CHURCH WABASH, INDIANA CONFRATERNITY CORNER FOR RELIGIOUS EDUCATION KINDERGARTEN - 12TH GRADE ST. BERNARD CATHOLIC CHURCH WABASH, INDIANA CONFRATERNITY CORNER FOR RELIGIOUS EDUCATION KINDERGARTEN - 12TH GRADE 2013-2014 This document has been developed and designed to give a weekly overview of the

More information

Saint Bruno Church Faith Formation 2015~2016

Saint Bruno Church Faith Formation 2015~2016 Saint Bruno Church Faith Formation 2015~2016 *Indicates normal Faith es Grades K- 5 from 9:15am-10:45am *Added Activities for all grades *NO FORMATION CLASS SEPTEMBER September 6 Labor Day September 13

More information

GOING TO MASS. St. Jane Frances de Chantal Church. Acknowledgements. Sponsored by the. Thank you for the volunteers in the pictures.

GOING TO MASS. St. Jane Frances de Chantal Church. Acknowledgements. Sponsored by the. Thank you for the volunteers in the pictures. Acknowledgements GOING TO MASS Sponsored by the Office for Ministry with Persons with Disabilities, Catholic Life & Evangelization Diocese of Allentown Director, Sr. Janice Marie Johnson, R.S.M. Parish

More information

s s s s Sample pages you ll find in this Product Preview

s s s s Sample pages you ll find in this Product Preview PUBLISHING GROUP: PRODUCT PREVIEW First Reconciliation First Eucharist Activities for Primary Grades These books of age-appropriate reproducible activities are the perfect supplement for primary-grade

More information

Lectionary Correlation to Call to Faith Year B

Lectionary Correlation to Call to Faith Year B Lectionary Correlation to Call to Faith Year B If your parish aligns its curriculum to the liturgical year, use these chapters for the following Sundays and feasts. First Sunday of Advent Doctrinal Themes

More information

THE ORDER OF THE MASS

THE ORDER OF THE MASS THE ORDER OF THE MASS The first part of the Mass is about getting to know everyone and welcoming everyone to God s house. It s called the INTRODUCTORY RITES. Entrance Song We sing to celebrate that we

More information

A Penance Service for Lent

A Penance Service for Lent A Penance Service for Lent Diocese of Madison Lent 2007 Note The Rite of Penance is available separately or as part II of The Rites of the Catholic Church. The outline below is for a Lenten Penance Service.

More information

The Sacraments. The two great sacraments given by Christ to his Church are Holy Baptism and the Holy Eucharist. Holy Baptism

The Sacraments. The two great sacraments given by Christ to his Church are Holy Baptism and the Holy Eucharist. Holy Baptism The Sacraments What are the sacraments? The sacraments are outward and visible signs of inward and spiritual grace, given by Christ as sure and certain means by which we receive that grace. What is grace?

More information

K 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 1. Fosters appreciation for sharing God s life through. I sacraments. 2. Lists and presents for memorization the seven

K 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 1. Fosters appreciation for sharing God s life through. I sacraments. 2. Lists and presents for memorization the seven THE CELEBRATON OF THE CHRSTAN MYSTERY 1. Fosters appreciation for sharing God s life through 2. Lists and presents for memorization the seven 3. Explains the meaning of the seven 4. dentifies the signs

More information

Excerpts from the Order of Mass The People s Parts

Excerpts from the Order of Mass The People s Parts Excerpts from the Order of Mass The People s Parts Roman Missal 1973 (Current Text) The Order of Mass 2010 Introductory Rites Greeting In the name of the Father, and of the Son, + and of the Holy Spirit.

More information

1. The leads the procession to the sanctuary at the beginning of Mass.

1. The leads the procession to the sanctuary at the beginning of Mass. Mass Review Name 1. The leads the procession to the sanctuary at the beginning of Mass. a. priest b. lector c. Processional Cross 2. After the priest welcomes everyone to Mass, how do we respond to the

More information

Closing Prayer. Pass around the bread. Ask each person to break off a chunk of bread and say: Thank you God, Bread of Life.

Closing Prayer. Pass around the bread. Ask each person to break off a chunk of bread and say: Thank you God, Bread of Life. Closing Prayer During the meal Jesus took some bread in his hands. He blessed the bread and broke it. Then he gave it to his disciples and said, Take this and eat it. This is my body. Pass around the bread.

More information

OVERVIEW OF 1ST GRADE CURRICULUM

OVERVIEW OF 1ST GRADE CURRICULUM OVERVIEW OF 1 ST GRADE CURRICULUM * Identify God's role as Father *Identify Jesus as God the Son * Recognize Jesus and His teachings as the foundation of the Church (anti-bullying) * Peter as the first

More information

PRAYER OF THE FAITHFUL Solemnity of Epiphany January 5/6, Lord, hear our prayer.

PRAYER OF THE FAITHFUL Solemnity of Epiphany January 5/6, Lord, hear our prayer. Solemnity of Epiphany January 5/6, 2008 Celebrant: My dear friends, the love of God reaches to the ends of the earth. As the three kings were led to the Savior, let us approach the Lord and humbly bring

More information

Diocese of Lansing Days of Special Interest January to December 2016 Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy

Diocese of Lansing Days of Special Interest January to December 2016 Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy Diocese of Lansing Days of Special Interest January to December 2016 Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God Friday, January 1, 2016 Since the Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God falls

More information

Caring for the Catholic Patient

Caring for the Catholic Patient Caring for the Catholic Patient Meeting the Pastoral Needs of Catholic Patients The Catholic Bishops Conference of England & Wales Department for Christian Responsibility and Citizenship Healthcare Reference

More information

ORDER OF MASS INTRODUCTORY RITES ENTRANCE SONG. In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

ORDER OF MASS INTRODUCTORY RITES ENTRANCE SONG. In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen. ORDER OF MASS INTRODUCTORY RITES ENTRANCE SONG In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ and the love of God and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit

More information

Session 3 THE MASS The Liturgy of the Eucharist: The Preparation of the Gifts and Eucharistic Prayer

Session 3 THE MASS The Liturgy of the Eucharist: The Preparation of the Gifts and Eucharistic Prayer Session 3 THE MASS The Liturgy of the Eucharist: The Preparation of the Gifts and Eucharistic Prayer Introductory Rites Liturgy of the Word Liturgy of the Eucharist Concluding Rites A. Preparation of the

More information

PRESIDER S TEXT: OPENING PRAYER

PRESIDER S TEXT: OPENING PRAYER PRESIDER S TEXT: OPENING PRAYER INTRODUCTORY RITE HYMN As We Gather at Your Table GREETING In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. The Lord be with you. And also with you. INTRODUCTION

More information

The Sacrament of Extreme Unction is now called what sacrament? (Anointing of the Sick)

The Sacrament of Extreme Unction is now called what sacrament? (Anointing of the Sick) Sacraments Questions Anointing the Sick The Sacrament of Extreme Unction is now called what sacrament? (Anointing of the Sick) True or False: The priest anoints the sick person with holy water. (False)

More information

Getting to know you. Intro. Chapter pg 1a. Presentation of Mary Advent Anticipation. to God, and accepted his call.

Getting to know you. Intro. Chapter pg 1a. Presentation of Mary Advent Anticipation. to God, and accepted his call. Intro. Chapter pg 1a Seasonal Getting to know you Call To Faith 6th Grade Activities will be in your boxes with supply needed to develop the activities. Title Overview Scripture Chapter Words Activities

More information

YORK CATHOLIC DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD

YORK CATHOLIC DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD YORK CATHOLIC DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD BOARD POLICY Policy Section Policy Number Students 315 Former Policy # Original Approved October 29, 2013 Page 1 of 5 Subsequent Approval s April 29, 2014 June 21, 2016

More information

The Book of Common Prayer, Formatted as the original

The Book of Common Prayer, Formatted as the original The Book of Common Prayer, Formatted as the original This document was created from a text file through a number of interations into InDesign and then to Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format. This document is intended

More information

PRAYER OF THE FAITHFUL 27 th Sunday in Ordinary Time October 6/7, 2007

PRAYER OF THE FAITHFUL 27 th Sunday in Ordinary Time October 6/7, 2007 27 th Sunday in Ordinary Time October 6/7, 2007 Celebrant: My sisters and brothers, trusting in the love and mercy of Almighty God, we bring all our needs before him: 1. For Pope Benedict and all bishops,

More information

What do you hope for your child to gain from attending CCD?

What do you hope for your child to gain from attending CCD? What do you hope for your child to gain from attending CCD? Learn all about God s love for us To grow closer to God To become aware of others that are less fortunate To enhance prayer time with God, rosary,

More information

COMPENDIUM OF THE CATECHISM OF THE CATHOLIC CHURCH

COMPENDIUM OF THE CATECHISM OF THE CATHOLIC CHURCH COMPENDIUM OF THE CATECHISM OF THE CATHOLIC CHURCH PART ONE THE PROFESSION OF FAITH COMPENDIUM OF THE CATECHISM OF THE CATHOLIC CHURCH Section One: "I Believe" "We Believe" Chapter One: Man's Capacity

More information

Sign of the Cross. 5 - Seven Sacraments. Thank you prayer Angel of God Grace before Meals. 6 - Nicene Creed. 7 - Beatitudes 1 - Hail Mary Glory Be

Sign of the Cross. 5 - Seven Sacraments. Thank you prayer Angel of God Grace before Meals. 6 - Nicene Creed. 7 - Beatitudes 1 - Hail Mary Glory Be (Lettrhd) Prayers and Major Concepts of the Catholic Religion Below is a list of prayers students need to learn at the appropriate grade level. Although people can and should pray in whatever way they

More information

Days of Special Interest YEAR OF GRACE 2016

Days of Special Interest YEAR OF GRACE 2016 Days of Special Interest YEAR OF GRACE 2016 Supplement to the Liturgical Year Calendar 2016 Diocese of Grand Rapids The latest version of this document is at http://www.dioceseofgrandrapids.org/documents/lit_year_supplement_2016.pdf

More information

THE CHURCH OF SAINT MONICA 610-647-4757 Office of Religious Education Office of Family & Youth Ministry

THE CHURCH OF SAINT MONICA 610-647-4757 Office of Religious Education Office of Family & Youth Ministry 2015-2016 Calendar Religious Education Schedule Family and Youth Ministry Schedule Edge: Grades 7&8 Lifeteen: Grades 9-12 Important Sacrament Dates Liturgy of the Word (*LOW*) Schedule *LOW indicates the

More information

Saint Theresa Parish. Welcome. Christian life and spirituality flow from Sunday.

Saint Theresa Parish. Welcome. Christian life and spirituality flow from Sunday. Saint Theresa Parish P A L A T I N E, I L L I N O I S Welcome Christian life and spirituality flow from Sunday. HERE WE FIND OUR SPECIAL PLACE to experience belief moving to active faith. Here is a holy

More information

EASTER TIME INTRODUCTORY RITES

EASTER TIME INTRODUCTORY RITES EASTER TIME INTRODUCTORY RITES When the people are gathered, the Priest approaches the altar with the ministers while the Entrance Chant is sung. When he has arrived at the altar, after making a profound

More information

Revelation. Life in Jesus. (The Way, The Truth and The Life, Teacher Book, CTS Religious Education)

Revelation. Life in Jesus. (The Way, The Truth and The Life, Teacher Book, CTS Religious Education) Religion Policy Committee Name: Curriculum Date of Approval: Validity Date: 2012-2015 Person responsible: RE Leader / Worship Leader Purpose Our primary focus... should be revelation. God is always the

More information

Explaining the history of the Roman Missal

Explaining the history of the Roman Missal The Roman Missal, Third Edition, is the new ritual text containing prayers and instructions for the celebration of the Mass, It will be implemented in the United States of America on the First Sunday of

More information

Faith and Life Series

Faith and Life Series Faith and Life Series Parish Lesson Plans Grade 2 Jesus Our Life Third Edition JESUS OUR LIFE Parish Lessons Faith and Life Series Third Edition BOOK TWO Ignatius Press, San Francisco Part I: Salvation

More information

Prayer. At every opportunity pray in the Spirit, using prayers and petitions of every sort. -Eph. 6:18

Prayer. At every opportunity pray in the Spirit, using prayers and petitions of every sort. -Eph. 6:18 Prayer Content Standard Students in the Diocese of Marquette will learn about and participate in prayer as an integral part of life. They will develop the ability to pray through the presentation and experience

More information

Faith and Life Series

Faith and Life Series Faith and Life Series Parish Lesson Plans Grade 1 Our Heavenly Father Third Edition OUR HEAVENLY FATHER Parish Lessons Faith and Life Series Third Edition BOOK ONE Ignatius Press, San Francisco Part I:

More information

Confirmation Preparation

Confirmation Preparation Confirmation Preparation A GUIDEBOOK FOR CONFIRMATION CANDIDATES AND PARENTS St. Bartholomew, St. Joseph, and St. Stephen Catholic Churches...that their hearts may be encouraged as they are brought together

More information

CELEBRATION OF THE LITURGY OF THE WORD 1 [With or without Holy Communion]

CELEBRATION OF THE LITURGY OF THE WORD 1 [With or without Holy Communion] SUNDAY CELEBRATIONS IN THE ABSENCE OF A PRIEST CELEBRATION OF THE LITURGY OF THE WORD 1 [With or without Holy Communion] INTRODUCTORY RITES 2 186. The celebration begins without a procession. The deacon

More information

First Holy Communion Prep Game

First Holy Communion Prep Game ST. JOAN OF ARC ACADEMY S First Holy Communion Prep Game Learning the CatechismThrough Play directions Game pieces needed to play: 1 game board 1 set of questions 1 dice (1-4) game pieces (button, dime,

More information

Celebrations of the Word & Communion

Celebrations of the Word & Communion Celebrations of the Word & Communion f o r Su n d ay & Weekday Celebrations in t h e Ab s e n c e o f a Pr i e s t Revised edition 2013 Celebrations of The Word & Communion This edition incorporates texts

More information

FUNERAL PLANNING THE FUNERAL LITURGY

FUNERAL PLANNING THE FUNERAL LITURGY FUNERAL PLANNING Burial or Cremation? One of the initial decisions to make about a funeral is if there will be cremation or burial. The Church allows cremation as long as no disrespect is intended toward

More information

Liturgical Guidelines for Advent and Christmas Season - 2015. Advent

Liturgical Guidelines for Advent and Christmas Season - 2015. Advent Liturgical Guidelines for Advent and Christmas Season - 2015 Advent Advent has a two-fold character: as a season to prepare for Christmas when Christ s first coming is remembered; as a season when that

More information

MAP SHOWING Religious Education Curriculum Directory links to The Way, the Truth & the Life Series Key Stage Two: 7 11 Year Olds

MAP SHOWING Religious Education Curriculum Directory links to The Way, the Truth & the Life Series Key Stage Two: 7 11 Year Olds MAP SHOWING Religious Education Curriculum Directory links to The Way, the Truth & the Life Series Key Stage Two: 7 11 Year Olds RECD BOOK MODULE EXAMPLE REVELATION How Jesus spoke of God his Father and

More information

The Celebration and Blessing of a Covenant Relationship

The Celebration and Blessing of a Covenant Relationship The Celebration and Blessing of a Covenant Relationship A hymn or anthem may be sung as the liturgical ministers enter, either here or after the opening acclamation, in place of the opening dialogue. The

More information

When Your Child Attends A Catholic School

When Your Child Attends A Catholic School When Your Child Attends A Catholic School Sources: Catechism of the Catholic Church When You Teach in a Catholic School Judith Dunlop Catholicism Confronts Modernity, a Protestant View Langdon Gilkey Catholicism

More information

Our Lady Immaculate Catholic Primary School. Religious Education Policy

Our Lady Immaculate Catholic Primary School. Religious Education Policy Our Lady Immaculate Catholic Primary School Religious Education Policy There is a variety of gifts, but always the same spirit; there are all sorts of service to be done, but always to the same Lord; working

More information

ANOINTING OF THE SICK WITHIN MASS Found in Pastoral Care of the Sick (nos )

ANOINTING OF THE SICK WITHIN MASS Found in Pastoral Care of the Sick (nos ) ANOINTING OF THE SICK WITHIN MASS Found in Pastoral Care of the Sick (nos. 131 148) OUTLINE INTRODUCTORY RITES Greeting Reception of the Sick Act of Penitence / Kyrie Gloria Opening Prayer LITURGY OF THE

More information

I. THE REVELATION OF JESUS CHRIST IN SCRIPTURE

I. THE REVELATION OF JESUS CHRIST IN SCRIPTURE STANDARDS FOR TEACHING THE DOCTRINAL ELEMENTS OF A CURRICULUM FRAMEWORK FOR SECONDARY STUDENTS Developed by the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops GRADE 9 I. THE REVELATION OF JESUS CHRIST IN SCRIPTURE

More information

PASTORAL PLAN FOR HOLY TRINITY CATHOLIC HIGH SCHOOL 2015-2016. Ut Omnes Unum Sint That All May Be One

PASTORAL PLAN FOR HOLY TRINITY CATHOLIC HIGH SCHOOL 2015-2016. Ut Omnes Unum Sint That All May Be One PASTORAL PLAN FOR HOLY TRINITY CATHOLIC HIGH SCHOOL 2015-2016 Ut Omnes Unum Sint That All May Be One Principal: Humberto Cacilhas BHNCDSB Theme: Act Justly, Love Tenderly, Walk Humbly With Our God. - 1

More information

21. What was the original sin? A. It was Adam and Eve=s sin of pride and disobedience to God=s law. 22. When did you receive a share in God=s life

21. What was the original sin? A. It was Adam and Eve=s sin of pride and disobedience to God=s law. 22. When did you receive a share in God=s life 92 Questions 1. How many Gods are there? A. One. 2. How many Persons are there in God? A. Three persons in God. 3. Who are they? What are their names? A. God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit.

More information

First Reconciliation & First Holy Communion Handbook 2016-2017

First Reconciliation & First Holy Communion Handbook 2016-2017 St. Christina Catholic Church 111 th & Christiana, Chicago, IL 60655 First Reconciliation & First Holy Communion Handbook 2016-2017 Sue Carter, CRE St. Christina Sacrament Coordinator 773 445 9539 scarter@stchristinaparish.org

More information

LEARNING OUTCOME SAMPLE ASSESSMENTS CONNECTIONS

LEARNING OUTCOME SAMPLE ASSESSMENTS CONNECTIONS GOAL ONE: GRADE TWO CREED: Understand, believe and proclaim the Triune God as revealed in the signs of creation, Sacred Scripture, Catholic Tradition and human experience. LEARNING OUTCOME SAMPLE ASSESSMENTS

More information

Rite of Anointing the Sick

Rite of Anointing the Sick JUBILEE OF MERCY Rite of Anointing the Sick For the Use of Priests In Communal Celebrations Archdiocese of Kingston Contents Communal Anointing outside of Mass............. 1 Communal Anointing within

More information

GOAL: To learn the words: liturgical, seasons, celebrations, Gospels. To understand that there is a rhythm to the seasons of the Church.

GOAL: To learn the words: liturgical, seasons, celebrations, Gospels. To understand that there is a rhythm to the seasons of the Church. October 2007 Grades 4, 5, and 6 FOCUS: The liturgical year is the Church s way of marking the seasons that remember the life of Jesus and His Church. The goal of this lesson is to teach young children

More information

FIRST HOLY COMMUNION. How can we prepare our children? 2 ND SESSION for PARENTS on the Completion of Initiation

FIRST HOLY COMMUNION. How can we prepare our children? 2 ND SESSION for PARENTS on the Completion of Initiation FIRST HOLY COMMUNION How can we prepare our children? 2 ND SESSION for PARENTS on the Completion of Initiation 1 Completion of Initiation When a child is baptised we hope that they will continue the journey

More information

SONG SUGGESTIONS FOR WEEKDAY MASSES 2013-2014

SONG SUGGESTIONS FOR WEEKDAY MASSES 2013-2014 Monday 1 st Week of Advent O Come, O Come, Emmanuel (1-3) Memorial St. Francis Xavier, priest Tuesday 1 st Week of Advent O Come, O Come, Emmanuel (1-4) Wednesday 1 st Week of Advent Table of Plenty Thursday

More information

NOTATIONS ON THE LITURGICAL CALENDAR. for the ARCHDIOCESE OF SAINT PAUL AND MINNEAPOLIS

NOTATIONS ON THE LITURGICAL CALENDAR. for the ARCHDIOCESE OF SAINT PAUL AND MINNEAPOLIS OFFICE OF WORSHIP NOTATIONS ON THE LITURGICAL CALENDAR for the ARCHDIOCESE OF SAINT PAUL AND MINNEAPOLIS 2015 Prepared by the Office of Worship for use in the Archdiocese of Saint Paul & Minneapolis 226

More information

1. Opening Prayer and Scripture (6:30-6:35 PM)

1. Opening Prayer and Scripture (6:30-6:35 PM) Level 6, Lesson Plan 14, Chapter 16: "The Beatitudes" Dinner with Father (5:30-6:30) Primary Aim: Jesus' blessings are available to all. Materials: Bibles, evaluations, pencils, rosaries, Prayer handout,

More information

The Blessed Sacrament Catholic Primary School. Prayer and Liturgy Policy. Our Mission Statement

The Blessed Sacrament Catholic Primary School. Prayer and Liturgy Policy. Our Mission Statement The Blessed Sacrament Catholic Primary School. Prayer and Liturgy Policy Our Mission Statement Why does this school exist? The school exists to increase levels of knowledge, understanding and skill, so

More information

BLESSING OF A HEADSTONE ORDER OF BLESSING. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, giver of life and conqueror of death, be with you all.

BLESSING OF A HEADSTONE ORDER OF BLESSING. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, giver of life and conqueror of death, be with you all. BLESSING OF A HEADSTONE ORDER OF BLESSING The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, giver of life and conqueror of death, be with you all. And with your spirit. Prayer Let us pray. Lord, You have made Your people

More information

UNITED STATES CONFERENCE OF CATHOLIC BISHOPS DECREE OF PUBLICATION DECREE BENDICIÓN AL CUMPLIR QUINCE AÑOS

UNITED STATES CONFERENCE OF CATHOLIC BISHOPS DECREE OF PUBLICATION DECREE BENDICIÓN AL CUMPLIR QUINCE AÑOS UNITED STATES CONFERENCE OF CATHOLIC BISHOPS DECREE OF PUBLICATION DECREE BENDICIÓN AL CUMPLIR QUINCE AÑOS In accord with the norms established by decree of the Sacred Congregation of Rites in Cum nostra

More information

THE CONFIRMATION LITURGY 1. Overview 2. Practical Matters 3. Order of Confirmation Mass 4. Liturgy Preparation Worksheet

THE CONFIRMATION LITURGY 1. Overview 2. Practical Matters 3. Order of Confirmation Mass 4. Liturgy Preparation Worksheet THE CONFIRMATION LITURGY 1. Overview 2. Practical Matters 3. Order of Confirmation Mass 4. Liturgy Preparation Worksheet The Sacrament of Confirmation normally occurs within the context of the Eucharistic

More information

Reflections on Lay-led Liturgy for the Jesuit Schools Chaplains Conference St Beuno s January 2014

Reflections on Lay-led Liturgy for the Jesuit Schools Chaplains Conference St Beuno s January 2014 Reflections on Lay-led Liturgy for the Jesuit Schools Chaplains Conference St Beuno s January 2014 What is Liturgy? Strictly, the word liturgy refers to the celebration of the Eucharist, the Sacraments,

More information

Initiation Meeting Together towards Confirmation (December 7, 2014) Parent s and Confirmandi. 10:00 Mass with meeting to follow

Initiation Meeting Together towards Confirmation (December 7, 2014) Parent s and Confirmandi. 10:00 Mass with meeting to follow All Saints Parish - Confirmation Preparation (Class Syllabus 2015-2016) Time: 8:30 All Saints Parish Hall, Mass at 10:00, Class concludes at 11:45 (NOTE: PARENTS AND SPONSORS ALWAYS WELCOME TO ATTEND)

More information

Protocol for Coordinating Mass

Protocol for Coordinating Mass Protocol for Coordinating Mass Introduction Liturgy means the work of the people. Good liturgy is essential for the spiritual well-being of any faith community. For Catholics, the Mass is the central liturgy

More information

Opening Prayer Service The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick

Opening Prayer Service The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick Opening Prayer Service The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick Opening Song Call to Prayer My dear friends, we are gathered here in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ who is present among us. As the gospels

More information

Cumulative Scripture Index

Cumulative Scripture Index Appendix B Saints Cumulative Scripture Index Index of Saints, Blessed, and Venerable of the Church This cumulative index lists the saints and other holy people officially recognized by the Church that

More information

Preparing a Funeral Liturgy

Preparing a Funeral Liturgy Preparing a Funeral Liturgy at St. Charles Parish An Aid for Families Preparing a Funeral Liturgy 1 Jesus said to his disciples: Do not let your hearts be troubled. You have faith in God; have faith also

More information

Neh 8:1-4a, 5-6, 8-10 1 Pt 2:4-9 Jn 4:19-24. Praised be Jesus Christ, now and for ever. Amen.

Neh 8:1-4a, 5-6, 8-10 1 Pt 2:4-9 Jn 4:19-24. Praised be Jesus Christ, now and for ever. Amen. MASS FOR THE DEDICATION OF A CHURCH DEDICATION OF HOLY SPIRIT CHURCH AND CONSECRATION OF THE ALTAR OF SACRIFICE, MARYLAND HEIGHTS, MISSOURI AUGUST 11, 2007 Neh 8:1-4a, 5-6, 8-10 1 Pt 2:4-9 Jn 4:19-24 Praised

More information

CONFIRMATION STUDY GUIDE

CONFIRMATION STUDY GUIDE CONFIRMATION STUDY GUIDE Introduction In a section on elements of catechetical methodology, the National Catechetical Directory has stressed the need for and the place of memory in the catechetic. In every

More information

Beverly Catholic Collaborative

Beverly Catholic Collaborative Beverly Catholic Collaborative The Roman Catholic Parishes of St. Mary Star of the Sea St. John the Evangelist St. Margaret Beverly, Massachusetts PASTORAL PLAN 2015-2018 A Message from Our Pastor: Dear

More information

RELIGION STANDARDS Kindergarten

RELIGION STANDARDS Kindergarten RELIGION STANDARDS Kindergarten THEME: The celebration of each person as a special gift from God. OBJECTIVES: A. God is the creator of all things. B. We celebrate and enjoy God's creation. C. Through experience,

More information

The Book of Common Prayer, Formatted as the original

The Book of Common Prayer, Formatted as the original The Book of Common Prayer, Formatted as the original This document was created from a text file through a number of interations into InDesign and then to Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format. This document is intended

More information

Schedule 3 Alternative Great Thanksgivings Alternative Great Thanksgiving A (alternative to Thanksgiving of the People of God)

Schedule 3 Alternative Great Thanksgivings Alternative Great Thanksgiving A (alternative to Thanksgiving of the People of God) The Lord is here. God s Spirit is with us. Lift up your hearts. We lift them to the Lord. Schedule 3 Alternative Great Thanksgivings Alternative Great Thanksgiving A (alternative to Thanksgiving of the

More information

Teachings of the Catholic Church

Teachings of the Catholic Church Teachings of the Catholic Church Section A: The Church and the Magisterium The birthday of the Church is Pentecost when the Holy Spirit came upon the Apostles (50 days after Easter) The Church is often

More information

Family Week liturgy materials

Family Week liturgy materials Family Week 2016 liturgy materials Preparation Choose hymns and readings or use the suggested ones in the liturgy. Use the written prayers or invite students to compose their own prayers. Place a symbolic

More information

13 14 15 12 16 N A 11 17 M 8 10 18 E 9 19 20 21 7 T H A T 5 23 6 4 22 24 P 3 25 R A 2 26 Y 1 E 27 R START FINISH

13 14 15 12 16 N A 11 17 M 8 10 18 E 9 19 20 21 7 T H A T 5 23 6 4 22 24 P 3 25 R A 2 26 Y 1 E 27 R START FINISH Name That Prayer Directions: The objective of the game is to get to FINISH first by answering questions about prayers. Place 2 small baskets or boxes on the table to put question cards in (one to draw

More information

A Service of Healing

A Service of Healing A Service of Healing St. Paul s Episcopal Church Key West, Florida We welcome you to this special worship time, a service of prayer and healing and wholeness. This service is for healing of every kind,

More information

The Covenant Service & Renewal of Baptismal Vows

The Covenant Service & Renewal of Baptismal Vows Church of England St. Mark s Church Bedford Methodist Church The Covenant Service & Renewal of Baptismal Vows You are standing here in order to enter into a covenant with the Lord your God Deuteronomy

More information

Liturgical Year handout

Liturgical Year handout Origins of Sunday Sunday is the weekly remembrance of Jesus death and resurrection. It was also called the Lord s Day by the early Christians. Pope John Paul II in his Apostolic Letter concerning the Lord

More information

CatholicMom.com Gospel Activity Celebrating Our Catholic Faith Religious Education Lesson Plan Helpers by Laura Grace

CatholicMom.com Gospel Activity Celebrating Our Catholic Faith Religious Education Lesson Plan Helpers by Laura Grace The Holy Mass Game Materials- large die, questions about Mass Make a die out of a large juice carton http://mssscrafts.com/crafts/creationdice.htm and put a? mark on some (at least 3) of the sides of the

More information

Stanley 8 th Grade CCD Class

Stanley 8 th Grade CCD Class Stanley 8 th Grade CCD Class Lesson Chapter 24 The Sacramental Life Focus Study Sacramentals 8thGradeCCD_20160316_Chapter24_dcp.pptx 1 Welcome to CCD Lesson Chapter 24 Call CCD Class to order at 3:45 PM

More information

Year of Mercy Guide All Saints Catholic Parish Growing in the Spirit

Year of Mercy Guide All Saints Catholic Parish Growing in the Spirit Year of Mercy Guide All Saints Catholic Parish Growing in the Spirit All Saints Catholic Parish, with the assistance of print ready materials on DynamicCatholic.com, would like to invite you to journey

More information

Guidebook. for. Funeral & Memorial. Liturgies. Church of the Holy Spirit * P.O. Box * San Antonio, Texas * [210]

Guidebook. for. Funeral & Memorial. Liturgies. Church of the Holy Spirit * P.O. Box * San Antonio, Texas * [210] Guidebook for Funeral & Memorial Liturgies Church of the Holy Spirit * P.O. Box 460729 * San Antonio, Texas 78216 * [210] 341-1395 Church of the Holy Spirit 2014 From the Pastor The sadness of death should

More information

7.1.1 The church is Christ together with his people called both to worship and to serve him in all of life.

7.1.1 The church is Christ together with his people called both to worship and to serve him in all of life. Living Faith: Chapter 7 - "God's Church" Page 1 of 6 Living Faith - Chapter 7 - God's Church 7.1 The Church 7.1.1 The church is Christ together with his people called both to worship and to serve him in

More information

Texts for use in the marriage rite and in the wedding mass

Texts for use in the marriage rite and in the wedding mass Gathering & Entrance Opening Prayer Texts for use in the marriage rite and in the wedding mass Liturgy of the Word Old Testament Reading Psalm New Testament Reading Gospel Acclamation Gospel (Homily) Liturgy

More information

The first mystery of the Last Supper. Jesus washes the feet of his apostles. We pray for the Christian spirit of service in leadership.

The first mystery of the Last Supper. Jesus washes the feet of his apostles. We pray for the Christian spirit of service in leadership. The first mystery of the Last Supper Jesus washes the feet of his apostles Jesus contrasts his teaching with the way of the world. The secular way of things is this: the strong become more powerful by

More information

BASIC CATHOLIC PRAYERS

BASIC CATHOLIC PRAYERS BASIC CATHOLIC PRAYERS Sign of the Cross In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen. The Apostles Creed I believe in God, the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth.

More information

The Book of Common Prayer, Formatted as the original

The Book of Common Prayer, Formatted as the original The Book of Common Prayer, Formatted as the original This document was created from a text file through a number of interations into InDesign and then to Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format. This document is intended

More information

Induction of Ministers of Word and Sacrament

Induction of Ministers of Word and Sacrament of Word and Sacrament A meeting of the District/Area Council, the inducting body in the United Reformed Church, shall be constituted. The Moderator of the Synod (or deputy) shall be invited by the Council

More information

The Catholic Women s League of Canada LEAGUE PRAYERS

The Catholic Women s League of Canada LEAGUE PRAYERS The Catholic Women s League of Canada LEAGUE PRAYERS LEAGUE PRAYER We humbly pray You, O God our Father, to bless The Catholic Women s League of Canada. Bless our beloved country, our homes and families.

More information

RELIGION CURRICULUM GUIDELINES DIOCESE OF FRESNO

RELIGION CURRICULUM GUIDELINES DIOCESE OF FRESNO RELIGION CURRICULUM GUIDELINES DIOCESE OF FRESNO SCHOOLWIDE STUDENT LEARNING EXPECTATIONS: RELIGION I. God, Church, and Doctrine Students will demonstrate: knowledge of God as Creator, Redeemer, Sanctifier,

More information

Prayers By Grade Level

Prayers By Grade Level Prayers By Grade Level First Grade Sign of the Cross Grace Before Meals Grace After Meals Glory Be Our Father (knowledge of) (knowledge of) Third Grade Prayers 1st-2nd Grade Apostles Creed Morning Offering

More information

Introduction to Orthodox Christianity. A Three Session Class for Inquirers

Introduction to Orthodox Christianity. A Three Session Class for Inquirers Introduction to Orthodox Christianity A Three Session Class for Inquirers Class Purpose Provide a basic introduction to Orthodox Christianity Diocese of the Midwest - Orthodox Church in America 2 Questions

More information

MINISTERS OF HOSPITALITY Guidelines

MINISTERS OF HOSPITALITY Guidelines MINISTERS OF HOSPITALITY Guidelines I. Introduction II. Selection III. Formation IV. Commissioning V. Clothing VI. Responsibilities A. General Responsibilities of a Minister of Hospitality B. Responsibilities

More information

THE PRAYER OF THE MOST HOLY ROSARY

THE PRAYER OF THE MOST HOLY ROSARY THE PRAYER OF THE MOST HOLY ROSARY WE OFFER THIS ROSARY FOR (Intention). (We raise our rosaries to Heaven and say) CELESTIAL QUEEN, WITH THIS ROSARY I BIND ALL SINNERS AND ALL NATIONS TO YOUR IMMACULATE

More information

The Concluding Rite. The Concluding Rite

The Concluding Rite. The Concluding Rite The Concluding Rite The Concluding Rite is a very brief and simple part of the Mass. It fills less than one page in the Order of Mass in the Roman Missal. Less than the rites for preparing the gifts and

More information

Make a die out of a large juice carton and put a? mark on some (at least 3) of the sides of the die.

Make a die out of a large juice carton  and put a? mark on some (at least 3) of the sides of the die. The Holy Mass Game Materials- large die, questions about Mass Make a die out of a large juice carton http://mssscrafts.com/crafts/creationdice.htm and put a? mark on some (at least 3) of the sides of the

More information

DIOCESE OF ST. PETERSBURG GUIDELINES FOR CATECHIST CERTIFICATION

DIOCESE OF ST. PETERSBURG GUIDELINES FOR CATECHIST CERTIFICATION DIOCESE OF ST. PETERSBURG GUIDELINES FOR CATECHIST CERTIFICATION Introduction The dimensions of formation: being, knowing, and savoir-faire The formation of catechists is made up of different dimensions.

More information

Rite of Baptism. Celebrant: What name have you given your child?

Rite of Baptism. Celebrant: What name have you given your child? Rite of Baptism If possible, baptism should take place on Sunday, the day on which the Church celebrates the paschal mystery. It should be conferred in a communal celebration in the presence of the faithful,

More information