Math 152 Final Exam Review

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Math 152 Final Exam Review"

Transcription

1 Math 5 Fial Eam Review Problems Math 5 Fial Eam Review Problems appearig o your i-class fial will be similar to those here but will have umbers ad fuctios chaged. Here is a eample of the way problems selected may be chaged for your i-class fial eam. If problems ad were selected, they might appear like this: # modified A water tak has the shape of the surface geerated by revolvig the parabola segmet,0 4, about y the y-ais. If the tak is filled to a depth of 6 feet with a fluid weighig 80 lbs per cubic foot, fid the work W required to pump the cotets of the tak to a height of 4 feet above the top of the tak. # modified... below by the curve y cos, 0 /,... with the remaider of the questio as prited.. A water tak has the shape of the surface geerated by revolvig the parabola segmet y,0 6 about the y-ais. If the tak is filled to a depth of 8 feet with a fluid weighig 80 lbs. per cubic foot, fid the work W required to pump the cotets of the tak to a height of feet above the top of the tak.. Fid the eact value of the volume geerated by rotatig the regio i the first quadrat bouded above by the lie y, o the left by the y-ais, ad below by the curve y = ta, 0 π/, about (a) the -ais; (b) the lie y.. The desig of a ew airplae requires a gasolie tak of costat cross-sectio area i each wig. The tak must hold 5000 lb. of gasolie that weighs 4 lb/ft. A scale drawig of a cross sectio of the wig is show. Estimate the legth of the tak. y 0 =. ft., y =. ft., y =.0 ft, y =.9 ft, y 4 =.8 ft, y 5 =.6 ft, y 6 =.5 ft.; Horizotal spacig = ft. Use h b a T y0 y y y... y y (for subitervals of legth h )

2 Math 5 Fial Eam Review Problems b. A cross sectio of a wig is i the shape of the area below y6e si o the iterval [0, 7.5]. The presece of wires ad other mechaisms mea the tak must fit i the iterval from [0., 6.]. Use si trapezoids to estimate the area ad calculate the legth of the tak. If the legth of the tak (ad the wig) is to be accurate to the earest teth of a ich (ad all other values are assumed to be eact), how may trapezoids would be eeded to estimate the area of the tak cross sectio? Hit: To have the desired accuracy, the area of a cross sectio must have sigificat figures, or accuracy to the earest hudredth. 4. Fid the eact value of the legth of the curve: Completely simplify your aswer. e t, y e t for 0 t l. 8 t 5. Evaluate the followig itegrals. Show the details of substitutios you make i reachig your aswer. b. d. 4 si ( ) cos ( ) si ( ) cos ( ) 4 e e ta l e. arccot ( )

3 Math 5 Fial Eam Review Problems f. si( ) g. 9 (l ) h. i. 0 ta ( t) e 4t dt arcta( ) j. 0 4 k Sketch the curve y arccos. Fid the area betwee this curve ad the -ais from = - to =. 7. Compute the volume V of the solid formed by rotatig the area betwee the curve y ad the -ais (for < ) aroud the -ais. Is the volume a fiite umber? Sketch. 8. Iterpret the itegrals as areas ad use the result to epress the 0 4 sum above as oe defiite itegral. Evaluate the ew itegral. 9. Suppose b is a sequece of positive umbers covergig to m 0, with b =. Prove that the series b b coverges to a sum epressible i terms of m.

4 Math 5 Fial Eam Review Problems 0. Fid the Taylor series epasio of f ( ) cos( ) about π/. Write the series i sigma otatio i two forms: the first with ide value startig at zero, ad the secod with ide value startig at oe.. Determie whether the followig series are absolutely coverget, coverget, or diverget. Specify which tests you use ad show all relevat reasoig. b l a! ( ) d. e. f. ( ) ( ) ta e. The base of a certai solid is the regio of the y-plae bouded by y = ad y =. Every cross sectio perpedicular to the -ais is a semicircle with a diameter i the base. Fid the eact volume of this solid.. Determie whether coverges. If it coverges, fid its eact sum. 4 4

5 Math 5 Fial Eam Review Problems 4. Use the miimum umber of series terms eeded to compute 0. 0 si with a error of 7 magitude less tha 0. Show how you kow whe you have used the miimum umber of terms. 5. Fid the ceter of mass coordiates for the thi plate of costat desity coverig the regio bouded by y = l, y = -4, =, ad =. 6. Fid the iterval of covergece, clearly showig testig details ad ames of tests used at iterval edpoits. 4 b. k 0 l k k 5 k 7. Fid eactly the volume geerated whe the area bouded by y ais, y-ais, ad = is revolved about the y-ais. Simplify your aswer., the - 8. Write the equatio of the plae cotaiig the poits (0,, ) ad (, -, 7) ad orthogoal to the plae + y z = Fid the distace betwee the lies y z ad y z Fid the parametric equatios of the lie through the poit (, 6, 4) that itersects the z- ais ad is parallel to the plae y + 5z = 6. 5

6 Math 5 Fial Eam Review Problems. The force F (i Newtos) of a hydraulic cylider i a press is proportioal to the square of sec, where is the distace (i meters) that the cylider is eteded i its cycle. The domai of F is [0, π/] ad F(0) = 500. Fid F as a fuctio of. b. Fid the average force eerted by the press over the iterval [0, π/].. A weight of 55 pouds is to be lifted straight up with ropes at agles of 0 ad 0 degrees to the directio of travel as show below. Fid the tesio i each rope.. Fid the poit i which the lie through the origi perpedicular to the plae y z = 4 itersects the plae 5y + z = Fid all umbers b ad c such that the vectors bi -j + k ad ci + j + k are orthogoal ad have the same magitude. 5. Epress the vector a = i + 4j + 5k as the sum of a vector p which is parallel to the vector b = i j k ad a vector which is ormal to p. 6. Fid the volume of the solid formed by rotatig the regio bouded by y 9, the - ais, ad the lies = ± about the -ais. 6

7 Math 5 Fial Eam Review Problems 7. Use the Maclauri series represetatio of to fid a Maclauri represetatio of f ( ) l( ) which coverges for. Write the series i sigma otatio i two forms: the first with ide value startig at zero, ad the secod with ide value startig at two. 8. Fid the Maclauri series for of 0.6 e with error of magitude less tha f ( ) e. b. Use the series to estimate the value π ft-lbs MATH 5 Fial Eam Review Aswers. cubic uits b feet b. 4.4 feet ; uits 5. b. C cos ( ) cos ( ) d. 56. cubic uits. coverges to (.5, -.80) 6.,0 b. [,4) 7. cubic uits y + z = 5 e. 7

8 Math 5 Fial Eam Review Problems f. g = t + ; y = 6t + 6; z = t + 4 h. i. j. coverges to k. diverges 6. π 7. The solid has a fiite volume of π cubic uits.. F() = 500 sec b. 87 ewtos. rope at 0 : T 4 lb, T 57i 99 j rope at 0 : T 6 lb, T 57i 56 j. (4/, -/,-/) b = c = ; b = c = coverges absolutely because b. diverges coverges absolutely d. coverges e. coverges absolutely f. coverges absolutely b

http://www.webassign.net/v4cgijeff.downs@wnc/control.pl

http://www.webassign.net/v4cgijeff.downs@wnc/control.pl Assigmet Previewer http://www.webassig.et/vcgijeff.dows@wc/cotrol.pl of // : PM Practice Eam () Questio Descriptio Eam over chapter.. Questio DetailsLarCalc... [] Fid the geeral solutio of the differetial

More information

AP Calculus BC 2003 Scoring Guidelines Form B

AP Calculus BC 2003 Scoring Guidelines Form B AP Calculus BC Scorig Guidelies Form B The materials icluded i these files are iteded for use by AP teachers for course ad exam preparatio; permissio for ay other use must be sought from the Advaced Placemet

More information

4.1 Sigma Notation and Riemann Sums

4.1 Sigma Notation and Riemann Sums 0 the itegral. Sigma Notatio ad Riema Sums Oe strategy for calculatig the area of a regio is to cut the regio ito simple shapes, calculate the area of each simple shape, ad the add these smaller areas

More information

SAMPLE QUESTIONS FOR FINAL EXAM. (1) (2) (3) (4) Find the following using the definition of the Riemann integral: (2x + 1)dx

SAMPLE QUESTIONS FOR FINAL EXAM. (1) (2) (3) (4) Find the following using the definition of the Riemann integral: (2x + 1)dx SAMPLE QUESTIONS FOR FINAL EXAM REAL ANALYSIS I FALL 006 3 4 Fid the followig usig the defiitio of the Riema itegral: a 0 x + dx 3 Cosider the partitio P x 0 3, x 3 +, x 3 +,......, x 3 3 + 3 of the iterval

More information

AP Calculus AB 2006 Scoring Guidelines Form B

AP Calculus AB 2006 Scoring Guidelines Form B AP Calculus AB 6 Scorig Guidelies Form B The College Board: Coectig Studets to College Success The College Board is a ot-for-profit membership associatio whose missio is to coect studets to college success

More information

4.3. The Integral and Comparison Tests

4.3. The Integral and Comparison Tests 4.3. THE INTEGRAL AND COMPARISON TESTS 9 4.3. The Itegral ad Compariso Tests 4.3.. The Itegral Test. Suppose f is a cotiuous, positive, decreasig fuctio o [, ), ad let a = f(). The the covergece or divergece

More information

2-3 The Remainder and Factor Theorems

2-3 The Remainder and Factor Theorems - The Remaider ad Factor Theorems Factor each polyomial completely usig the give factor ad log divisio 1 x + x x 60; x + So, x + x x 60 = (x + )(x x 15) Factorig the quadratic expressio yields x + x x

More information

Section 11.3: The Integral Test

Section 11.3: The Integral Test Sectio.3: The Itegral Test Most of the series we have looked at have either diverged or have coverged ad we have bee able to fid what they coverge to. I geeral however, the problem is much more difficult

More information

Sequences and Series

Sequences and Series CHAPTER 9 Sequeces ad Series 9.. Covergece: Defiitio ad Examples Sequeces The purpose of this chapter is to itroduce a particular way of geeratig algorithms for fidig the values of fuctios defied by their

More information

Trigonometric Form of a Complex Number. The Complex Plane. axis. ( 2, 1) or 2 i FIGURE 6.44. The absolute value of the complex number z a bi is

Trigonometric Form of a Complex Number. The Complex Plane. axis. ( 2, 1) or 2 i FIGURE 6.44. The absolute value of the complex number z a bi is 0_0605.qxd /5/05 0:45 AM Page 470 470 Chapter 6 Additioal Topics i Trigoometry 6.5 Trigoometric Form of a Complex Number What you should lear Plot complex umbers i the complex plae ad fid absolute values

More information

3. If x and y are real numbers, what is the simplified radical form

3. If x and y are real numbers, what is the simplified radical form lgebra II Practice Test Objective:.a. Which is equivalet to 98 94 4 49?. Which epressio is aother way to write 5 4? 5 5 4 4 4 5 4 5. If ad y are real umbers, what is the simplified radical form of 5 y

More information

Equation of a line. Line in coordinate geometry. Slope-intercept form ( 斜 截 式 ) Intercept form ( 截 距 式 ) Point-slope form ( 點 斜 式 )

Equation of a line. Line in coordinate geometry. Slope-intercept form ( 斜 截 式 ) Intercept form ( 截 距 式 ) Point-slope form ( 點 斜 式 ) Chapter : Liear Equatios Chapter Liear Equatios Lie i coordiate geometr I Cartesia coordiate sstems ( 卡 笛 兒 坐 標 系 統 ), a lie ca be represeted b a liear equatio, i.e., a polomial with degree. But before

More information

In nite Sequences. Dr. Philippe B. Laval Kennesaw State University. October 9, 2008

In nite Sequences. Dr. Philippe B. Laval Kennesaw State University. October 9, 2008 I ite Sequeces Dr. Philippe B. Laval Keesaw State Uiversity October 9, 2008 Abstract This had out is a itroductio to i ite sequeces. mai de itios ad presets some elemetary results. It gives the I ite Sequeces

More information

REVISION SHEET FP2 (AQA) CALCULUS. x x π π. Standard Calculus of Inverse Trig and Hyperbolic Trig Functions = + arcsin x = + ar sinh x

REVISION SHEET FP2 (AQA) CALCULUS. x x π π. Standard Calculus of Inverse Trig and Hyperbolic Trig Functions = + arcsin x = + ar sinh x the Further Mathematics etwork www.fmetwork.org.uk V 07 REVISION SHEET FP (AQA) CALCULUS The mai ideas are: Calculus usig iverse trig fuctios & hperbolic trig fuctios ad their iverses. Calculatig arc legths.

More information

MATH 083 Final Exam Review

MATH 083 Final Exam Review MATH 08 Fial Eam Review Completig the problems i this review will greatly prepare you for the fial eam Calculator use is ot required, but you are permitted to use a calculator durig the fial eam period

More information

Math 113 HW #11 Solutions

Math 113 HW #11 Solutions Math 3 HW # Solutios 5. 4. (a) Estimate the area uder the graph of f(x) = x from x = to x = 4 usig four approximatig rectagles ad right edpoits. Sketch the graph ad the rectagles. Is your estimate a uderestimate

More information

TAYLOR SERIES, POWER SERIES

TAYLOR SERIES, POWER SERIES TAYLOR SERIES, POWER SERIES The followig represets a (icomplete) collectio of thigs that we covered o the subject of Taylor series ad power series. Warig. Be prepared to prove ay of these thigs durig the

More information

NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 11

NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 11 NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE MATHEMATICS P NOVEMBER 007 MARKS: 50 TIME: 3 hours This questio paper cosists of 9 pages, diagram sheet ad a -page formula sheet. Please tur over Mathematics/P DoE/November

More information

Taylor Series and Polynomials

Taylor Series and Polynomials Taylor Series ad Polyomials Motivatios The purpose of Taylor series is to approimate a fuctio with a polyomial; ot oly we wat to be able to approimate, but we also wat to kow how good the approimatio is.

More information

MATHEMATICS P1 COMMON TEST JUNE 2014 NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 12

MATHEMATICS P1 COMMON TEST JUNE 2014 NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 12 Mathematics/P1 1 Jue 014 Commo Test MATHEMATICS P1 COMMON TEST JUNE 014 NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 1 Marks: 15 Time: ½ hours N.B: This questio paper cosists of 7 pages ad 1 iformatio sheet. Please

More information

8.1 Arithmetic Sequences

8.1 Arithmetic Sequences MCR3U Uit 8: Sequeces & Series Page 1 of 1 8.1 Arithmetic Sequeces Defiitio: A sequece is a comma separated list of ordered terms that follow a patter. Examples: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 : a sequece of the first

More information

NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 11

NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 11 NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE MATHEMATICS P EXEMPLAR 007 MARKS: 50 TIME: 3 hours This questio paper cosists of pages, 4 diagram sheets ad a -page formula sheet. Please tur over Mathematics/P DoE/Exemplar

More information

NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 12

NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 12 NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE MATHEMATICS P EXEMPLAR 04 MARKS: 50 TIME: 3 hours This questio paper cosists of 8 pages ad iformatio sheet. Please tur over Mathematics/P DBE/04 NSC Grade Eemplar INSTRUCTIONS

More information

7. Sample Covariance and Correlation

7. Sample Covariance and Correlation 1 of 8 7/16/2009 6:06 AM Virtual Laboratories > 6. Radom Samples > 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 7. Sample Covariace ad Correlatio The Bivariate Model Suppose agai that we have a basic radom experimet, ad that X ad Y

More information

S. Tanny MAT 344 Spring 1999. be the minimum number of moves required.

S. Tanny MAT 344 Spring 1999. be the minimum number of moves required. S. Tay MAT 344 Sprig 999 Recurrece Relatios Tower of Haoi Let T be the miimum umber of moves required. T 0 = 0, T = 7 Iitial Coditios * T = T + $ T is a sequece (f. o itegers). Solve for T? * is a recurrece,

More information

Overview of some probability distributions.

Overview of some probability distributions. Lecture Overview of some probability distributios. I this lecture we will review several commo distributios that will be used ofte throughtout the class. Each distributio is usually described by its probability

More information

Sequences II. Chapter 3. 3.1 Convergent Sequences

Sequences II. Chapter 3. 3.1 Convergent Sequences Chapter 3 Sequeces II 3. Coverget Sequeces Plot a graph of the sequece a ) = 2, 3 2, 4 3, 5 + 4,...,,... To what limit do you thik this sequece teds? What ca you say about the sequece a )? For ǫ = 0.,

More information

Approximating Area under a curve with rectangles. To find the area under a curve we approximate the area using rectangles and then use limits to find

Approximating Area under a curve with rectangles. To find the area under a curve we approximate the area using rectangles and then use limits to find 1.8 Approximatig Area uder a curve with rectagles 1.6 To fid the area uder a curve we approximate the area usig rectagles ad the use limits to fid 1.4 the area. Example 1 Suppose we wat to estimate 1.

More information

GCE Further Mathematics (6360) Further Pure Unit 2 (MFP2) Textbook. Version: 1.4

GCE Further Mathematics (6360) Further Pure Unit 2 (MFP2) Textbook. Version: 1.4 GCE Further Mathematics (660) Further Pure Uit (MFP) Tetbook Versio: 4 MFP Tetbook A-level Further Mathematics 660 Further Pure : Cotets Chapter : Comple umbers 4 Itroductio 5 The geeral comple umber 5

More information

Chapter 7 - Sampling Distributions. 1 Introduction. What is statistics? It consist of three major areas:

Chapter 7 - Sampling Distributions. 1 Introduction. What is statistics? It consist of three major areas: Chapter 7 - Samplig Distributios 1 Itroductio What is statistics? It cosist of three major areas: Data Collectio: samplig plas ad experimetal desigs Descriptive Statistics: umerical ad graphical summaries

More information

Approximating the Sum of a Convergent Series

Approximating the Sum of a Convergent Series Approximatig the Sum of a Coverget Series Larry Riddle Ages Scott College Decatur, GA 30030 lriddle@agesscott.edu The BC Calculus Course Descriptio metios how techology ca be used to explore covergece

More information

M06/5/MATME/SP2/ENG/TZ2/XX MATHEMATICS STANDARD LEVEL PAPER 2. Thursday 4 May 2006 (morning) 1 hour 30 minutes INSTRUCTIONS TO CANDIDATES

M06/5/MATME/SP2/ENG/TZ2/XX MATHEMATICS STANDARD LEVEL PAPER 2. Thursday 4 May 2006 (morning) 1 hour 30 minutes INSTRUCTIONS TO CANDIDATES IB MATHEMATICS STANDARD LEVEL PAPER 2 DIPLOMA PROGRAMME PROGRAMME DU DIPLÔME DU BI PROGRAMA DEL DIPLOMA DEL BI 22067304 Thursday 4 May 2006 (morig) 1 hour 30 miutes INSTRUCTIONS TO CANDIDATES Do ot ope

More information

Theorems About Power Series

Theorems About Power Series Physics 6A Witer 20 Theorems About Power Series Cosider a power series, f(x) = a x, () where the a are real coefficiets ad x is a real variable. There exists a real o-egative umber R, called the radius

More information

FOUNDATIONS OF MATHEMATICS AND PRE-CALCULUS GRADE 10

FOUNDATIONS OF MATHEMATICS AND PRE-CALCULUS GRADE 10 FOUNDATIONS OF MATHEMATICS AND PRE-CALCULUS GRADE 10 [C] Commuicatio Measuremet A1. Solve problems that ivolve liear measuremet, usig: SI ad imperial uits of measure estimatio strategies measuremet strategies.

More information

Properties of MLE: consistency, asymptotic normality. Fisher information.

Properties of MLE: consistency, asymptotic normality. Fisher information. Lecture 3 Properties of MLE: cosistecy, asymptotic ormality. Fisher iformatio. I this sectio we will try to uderstad why MLEs are good. Let us recall two facts from probability that we be used ofte throughout

More information

Lecture 4: Cauchy sequences, Bolzano-Weierstrass, and the Squeeze theorem

Lecture 4: Cauchy sequences, Bolzano-Weierstrass, and the Squeeze theorem Lecture 4: Cauchy sequeces, Bolzao-Weierstrass, ad the Squeeze theorem The purpose of this lecture is more modest tha the previous oes. It is to state certai coditios uder which we are guarateed that limits

More information

INFINITE SERIES KEITH CONRAD

INFINITE SERIES KEITH CONRAD INFINITE SERIES KEITH CONRAD. Itroductio The two basic cocepts of calculus, differetiatio ad itegratio, are defied i terms of limits (Newto quotiets ad Riema sums). I additio to these is a third fudametal

More information

NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 12

NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 12 NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE MATHEMATICS P NOVEMBER 0 MARKS: 50 TIME: 3 hours This questio paper cosists of 8 pages, diagram sheet ad iformatio sheet. Please tur over Mathematics/P DBE/November 0

More information

Infinite Sequences and Series

Infinite Sequences and Series CHAPTER 4 Ifiite Sequeces ad Series 4.1. Sequeces A sequece is a ifiite ordered list of umbers, for example the sequece of odd positive itegers: 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27, 29...

More information

Chapter 9: Correlation and Regression: Solutions

Chapter 9: Correlation and Regression: Solutions Chapter 9: Correlatio ad Regressio: Solutios 9.1 Correlatio I this sectio, we aim to aswer the questio: Is there a relatioship betwee A ad B? Is there a relatioship betwee the umber of emploee traiig hours

More information

Soving Recurrence Relations

Soving Recurrence Relations Sovig Recurrece Relatios Part 1. Homogeeous liear 2d degree relatios with costat coefficiets. Cosider the recurrece relatio ( ) T () + at ( 1) + bt ( 2) = 0 This is called a homogeeous liear 2d degree

More information

Lecture 13. Lecturer: Jonathan Kelner Scribe: Jonathan Pines (2009)

Lecture 13. Lecturer: Jonathan Kelner Scribe: Jonathan Pines (2009) 18.409 A Algorithmist s Toolkit October 27, 2009 Lecture 13 Lecturer: Joatha Keler Scribe: Joatha Pies (2009) 1 Outlie Last time, we proved the Bru-Mikowski iequality for boxes. Today we ll go over the

More information

Building Blocks Problem Related to Harmonic Series

Building Blocks Problem Related to Harmonic Series TMME, vol3, o, p.76 Buildig Blocks Problem Related to Harmoic Series Yutaka Nishiyama Osaka Uiversity of Ecoomics, Japa Abstract: I this discussio I give a eplaatio of the divergece ad covergece of ifiite

More information

CHAPTER 7: Central Limit Theorem: CLT for Averages (Means)

CHAPTER 7: Central Limit Theorem: CLT for Averages (Means) CHAPTER 7: Cetral Limit Theorem: CLT for Averages (Meas) X = the umber obtaied whe rollig oe six sided die oce. If we roll a six sided die oce, the mea of the probability distributio is X P(X = x) Simulatio:

More information

NOTES AND FORMULAE SPM MATHEMATICS Cone

NOTES AND FORMULAE SPM MATHEMATICS Cone FORM 3 NOTES. SOLID GEOMETRY (a) Area ad perimeter Triagle NOTES AND FORMULAE SPM MATHEMATICS Coe V = 3 r h A = base height = bh Trapezium A = (sum of two parallel sides) height = (a + b) h Circle Area

More information

Chapter 7: Confidence Interval and Sample Size

Chapter 7: Confidence Interval and Sample Size Chapter 7: Cofidece Iterval ad Sample Size Learig Objectives Upo successful completio of Chapter 7, you will be able to: Fid the cofidece iterval for the mea, proportio, ad variace. Determie the miimum

More information

Our aim is to show that under reasonable assumptions a given 2π-periodic function f can be represented as convergent series

Our aim is to show that under reasonable assumptions a given 2π-periodic function f can be represented as convergent series 8 Fourier Series Our aim is to show that uder reasoable assumptios a give -periodic fuctio f ca be represeted as coverget series f(x) = a + (a cos x + b si x). (8.) By defiitio, the covergece of the series

More information

3. Covariance and Correlation

3. Covariance and Correlation Virtual Laboratories > 3. Expected Value > 1 2 3 4 5 6 3. Covariace ad Correlatio Recall that by takig the expected value of various trasformatios of a radom variable, we ca measure may iterestig characteristics

More information

WHEN IS THE (CO)SINE OF A RATIONAL ANGLE EQUAL TO A RATIONAL NUMBER?

WHEN IS THE (CO)SINE OF A RATIONAL ANGLE EQUAL TO A RATIONAL NUMBER? WHEN IS THE (CO)SINE OF A RATIONAL ANGLE EQUAL TO A RATIONAL NUMBER? JÖRG JAHNEL 1. My Motivatio Some Sort of a Itroductio Last term I tought Topological Groups at the Göttige Georg August Uiversity. This

More information

Listing terms of a finite sequence List all of the terms of each finite sequence. a) a n n 2 for 1 n 5 1 b) a n for 1 n 4 n 2

Listing terms of a finite sequence List all of the terms of each finite sequence. a) a n n 2 for 1 n 5 1 b) a n for 1 n 4 n 2 74 (4 ) Chapter 4 Sequeces ad Series 4. SEQUENCES I this sectio Defiitio Fidig a Formula for the th Term The word sequece is a familiar word. We may speak of a sequece of evets or say that somethig is

More information

7.1 Finding Rational Solutions of Polynomial Equations

7.1 Finding Rational Solutions of Polynomial Equations 4 Locker LESSON 7. Fidig Ratioal Solutios of Polyomial Equatios Name Class Date 7. Fidig Ratioal Solutios of Polyomial Equatios Essetial Questio: How do you fid the ratioal roots of a polyomial equatio?

More information

a 4 = 4 2 4 = 12. 2. Which of the following sequences converge to zero? n 2 (a) n 2 (b) 2 n x 2 x 2 + 1 = lim x n 2 + 1 = lim x

a 4 = 4 2 4 = 12. 2. Which of the following sequences converge to zero? n 2 (a) n 2 (b) 2 n x 2 x 2 + 1 = lim x n 2 + 1 = lim x 0 INFINITE SERIES 0. Sequeces Preiary Questios. What is a 4 for the sequece a? solutio Substitutig 4 i the expressio for a gives a 4 4 4.. Which of the followig sequeces coverge to zero? a b + solutio

More information

I. Chi-squared Distributions

I. Chi-squared Distributions 1 M 358K Supplemet to Chapter 23: CHI-SQUARED DISTRIBUTIONS, T-DISTRIBUTIONS, AND DEGREES OF FREEDOM To uderstad t-distributios, we first eed to look at aother family of distributios, the chi-squared distributios.

More information

Chapter 6: Variance, the law of large numbers and the Monte-Carlo method

Chapter 6: Variance, the law of large numbers and the Monte-Carlo method Chapter 6: Variace, the law of large umbers ad the Mote-Carlo method Expected value, variace, ad Chebyshev iequality. If X is a radom variable recall that the expected value of X, E[X] is the average value

More information

Basic Elements of Arithmetic Sequences and Series

Basic Elements of Arithmetic Sequences and Series MA40S PRE-CALCULUS UNIT G GEOMETRIC SEQUENCES CLASS NOTES (COMPLETED NO NEED TO COPY NOTES FROM OVERHEAD) Basic Elemets of Arithmetic Sequeces ad Series Objective: To establish basic elemets of arithmetic

More information

Descriptive Statistics

Descriptive Statistics Descriptive Statistics We leared to describe data sets graphically. We ca also describe a data set umerically. Measures of Locatio Defiitio The sample mea is the arithmetic average of values. We deote

More information

Confidence Intervals for One Mean

Confidence Intervals for One Mean Chapter 420 Cofidece Itervals for Oe Mea Itroductio This routie calculates the sample size ecessary to achieve a specified distace from the mea to the cofidece limit(s) at a stated cofidece level for a

More information

University of California, Los Angeles Department of Statistics. Distributions related to the normal distribution

University of California, Los Angeles Department of Statistics. Distributions related to the normal distribution Uiversity of Califoria, Los Ageles Departmet of Statistics Statistics 100B Istructor: Nicolas Christou Three importat distributios: Distributios related to the ormal distributio Chi-square (χ ) distributio.

More information

SEQUENCES AND SERIES CHAPTER

SEQUENCES AND SERIES CHAPTER CHAPTER SEQUENCES AND SERIES Whe the Grat family purchased a computer for $,200 o a istallmet pla, they agreed to pay $00 each moth util the cost of the computer plus iterest had bee paid The iterest each

More information

Confidence Intervals. CI for a population mean (σ is known and n > 30 or the variable is normally distributed in the.

Confidence Intervals. CI for a population mean (σ is known and n > 30 or the variable is normally distributed in the. Cofidece Itervals A cofidece iterval is a iterval whose purpose is to estimate a parameter (a umber that could, i theory, be calculated from the populatio, if measuremets were available for the whole populatio).

More information

x(x 1)(x 2)... (x k + 1) = [x] k n+m 1

x(x 1)(x 2)... (x k + 1) = [x] k n+m 1 1 Coutig mappigs For every real x ad positive iteger k, let [x] k deote the fallig factorial ad x(x 1)(x 2)... (x k + 1) ( ) x = [x] k k k!, ( ) k = 1. 0 I the sequel, X = {x 1,..., x m }, Y = {y 1,...,

More information

1. C. The formula for the confidence interval for a population mean is: x t, which was

1. C. The formula for the confidence interval for a population mean is: x t, which was s 1. C. The formula for the cofidece iterval for a populatio mea is: x t, which was based o the sample Mea. So, x is guarateed to be i the iterval you form.. D. Use the rule : p-value

More information

Chapter 5: Inner Product Spaces

Chapter 5: Inner Product Spaces Chapter 5: Ier Product Spaces Chapter 5: Ier Product Spaces SECION A Itroductio to Ier Product Spaces By the ed of this sectio you will be able to uderstad what is meat by a ier product space give examples

More information

Sequences, Series and Convergence with the TI 92. Roger G. Brown Monash University

Sequences, Series and Convergence with the TI 92. Roger G. Brown Monash University Sequeces, Series ad Covergece with the TI 92. Roger G. Brow Moash Uiversity email: rgbrow@deaki.edu.au Itroductio. Studets erollig i calculus at Moash Uiversity, like may other calculus courses, are itroduced

More information

Lesson 17 Pearson s Correlation Coefficient

Lesson 17 Pearson s Correlation Coefficient Outlie Measures of Relatioships Pearso s Correlatio Coefficiet (r) -types of data -scatter plots -measure of directio -measure of stregth Computatio -covariatio of X ad Y -uique variatio i X ad Y -measurig

More information

Measures of Spread and Boxplots Discrete Math, Section 9.4

Measures of Spread and Boxplots Discrete Math, Section 9.4 Measures of Spread ad Boxplots Discrete Math, Sectio 9.4 We start with a example: Example 1: Comparig Mea ad Media Compute the mea ad media of each data set: S 1 = {4, 6, 8, 10, 1, 14, 16} S = {4, 7, 9,

More information

A Combined Continuous/Binary Genetic Algorithm for Microstrip Antenna Design

A Combined Continuous/Binary Genetic Algorithm for Microstrip Antenna Design A Combied Cotiuous/Biary Geetic Algorithm for Microstrip Atea Desig Rady L. Haupt The Pesylvaia State Uiversity Applied Research Laboratory P. O. Box 30 State College, PA 16804-0030 haupt@ieee.org Abstract:

More information

Convexity, Inequalities, and Norms

Convexity, Inequalities, and Norms Covexity, Iequalities, ad Norms Covex Fuctios You are probably familiar with the otio of cocavity of fuctios. Give a twicedifferetiable fuctio ϕ: R R, We say that ϕ is covex (or cocave up) if ϕ (x) 0 for

More information

Measures of Central Tendency

Measures of Central Tendency Measures of Cetral Tedecy A studet s grade will be determied by exam grades ( each exam couts twice ad there are three exams, HW average (couts oce, fial exam ( couts three times. Fid the average if the

More information

Heat (or Diffusion) equation in 1D*

Heat (or Diffusion) equation in 1D* Heat (or Diffusio) equatio i D* Derivatio of the D heat equatio Separatio of variables (refresher) Worked eamples *Kreysig, 8 th Ed, Sectios.4b Physical assumptios We cosider temperature i a log thi wire

More information

Normal Distribution.

Normal Distribution. Normal Distributio www.icrf.l Normal distributio I probability theory, the ormal or Gaussia distributio, is a cotiuous probability distributio that is ofte used as a first approimatio to describe realvalued

More information

SEQUENCES AND SERIES

SEQUENCES AND SERIES Chapter 9 SEQUENCES AND SERIES Natural umbers are the product of huma spirit. DEDEKIND 9.1 Itroductio I mathematics, the word, sequece is used i much the same way as it is i ordiary Eglish. Whe we say

More information

Quadratics - Revenue and Distance

Quadratics - Revenue and Distance 9.10 Quadratics - Reveue ad Distace Objective: Solve reveue ad distace applicatios of quadratic equatios. A commo applicatio of quadratics comes from reveue ad distace problems. Both are set up almost

More information

Finding the circle that best fits a set of points

Finding the circle that best fits a set of points Fidig the circle that best fits a set of poits L. MAISONOBE October 5 th 007 Cotets 1 Itroductio Solvig the problem.1 Priciples............................... Iitializatio.............................

More information

1 Computing the Standard Deviation of Sample Means

1 Computing the Standard Deviation of Sample Means Computig the Stadard Deviatio of Sample Meas Quality cotrol charts are based o sample meas ot o idividual values withi a sample. A sample is a group of items, which are cosidered all together for our aalysis.

More information

3 Energy. 3.3. Non-Flow Energy Equation (NFEE) Internal Energy. MECH 225 Engineering Science 2

3 Energy. 3.3. Non-Flow Energy Equation (NFEE) Internal Energy. MECH 225 Engineering Science 2 MECH 5 Egieerig Sciece 3 Eergy 3.3. No-Flow Eergy Equatio (NFEE) You may have oticed that the term system kees croig u. It is ecessary, therefore, that before we start ay aalysis we defie the system that

More information

CS103X: Discrete Structures Homework 4 Solutions

CS103X: Discrete Structures Homework 4 Solutions CS103X: Discrete Structures Homewor 4 Solutios Due February 22, 2008 Exercise 1 10 poits. Silico Valley questios: a How may possible six-figure salaries i whole dollar amouts are there that cotai at least

More information

Literal Equations and Formulas

Literal Equations and Formulas . Literal Equatios ad Formulas. OBJECTIVE 1. Solve a literal equatio for a specified variable May problems i algebra require the use of formulas for their solutio. Formulas are simply equatios that express

More information

Repeating Decimals are decimal numbers that have number(s) after the decimal point that repeat in a pattern.

Repeating Decimals are decimal numbers that have number(s) after the decimal point that repeat in a pattern. 5.5 Fractios ad Decimals Steps for Chagig a Fractio to a Decimal. Simplify the fractio, if possible. 2. Divide the umerator by the deomiator. d d Repeatig Decimals Repeatig Decimals are decimal umbers

More information

Incremental calculation of weighted mean and variance

Incremental calculation of weighted mean and variance Icremetal calculatio of weighted mea ad variace Toy Fich faf@cam.ac.uk dot@dotat.at Uiversity of Cambridge Computig Service February 009 Abstract I these otes I eplai how to derive formulae for umerically

More information

Statistical Methods. Chapter 1: Overview and Descriptive Statistics

Statistical Methods. Chapter 1: Overview and Descriptive Statistics Geeral Itroductio Statistical Methods Chapter 1: Overview ad Descriptive Statistics Statistics studies data, populatio, ad samples. Descriptive Statistics vs Iferetial Statistics. Descriptive Statistics

More information

Determining the sample size

Determining the sample size Determiig the sample size Oe of the most commo questios ay statisticia gets asked is How large a sample size do I eed? Researchers are ofte surprised to fid out that the aswer depeds o a umber of factors

More information

Department of Computer Science, University of Otago

Department of Computer Science, University of Otago Departmet of Computer Sciece, Uiversity of Otago Techical Report OUCS-2006-09 Permutatios Cotaiig May Patters Authors: M.H. Albert Departmet of Computer Sciece, Uiversity of Otago Micah Colema, Rya Fly

More information

Figure 40.1. Figure 40.2

Figure 40.1. Figure 40.2 40 Regular Polygos Covex ad Cocave Shapes A plae figure is said to be covex if every lie segmet draw betwee ay two poits iside the figure lies etirely iside the figure. A figure that is ot covex is called

More information

15.075 Exam 3. Instructor: Cynthia Rudin TA: Dimitrios Bisias. November 22, 2011

15.075 Exam 3. Instructor: Cynthia Rudin TA: Dimitrios Bisias. November 22, 2011 15.075 Exam 3 Istructor: Cythia Rudi TA: Dimitrios Bisias November 22, 2011 Gradig is based o demostratio of coceptual uderstadig, so you eed to show all of your work. Problem 1 A compay makes high-defiitio

More information

Algebra Vocabulary List (Definitions for Middle School Teachers)

Algebra Vocabulary List (Definitions for Middle School Teachers) Algebra Vocabulary List (Defiitios for Middle School Teachers) A Absolute Value Fuctio The absolute value of a real umber x, x is xifx 0 x = xifx < 0 http://www.math.tamu.edu/~stecher/171/f02/absolutevaluefuctio.pdf

More information

INDR 262 Optimization Models and Mathematical Programming LINEAR PROGRAMMING MODELS

INDR 262 Optimization Models and Mathematical Programming LINEAR PROGRAMMING MODELS LINEAR PROGRAMMING MODELS Commo termiology for liear programmig: - liear programmig models ivolve. resources deoted by i, there are m resources. activities deoted by, there are acitivities. performace

More information

Arithmetic Sequences and Partial Sums. Arithmetic Sequences. Definition of Arithmetic Sequence. Example 1. 7, 11, 15, 19,..., 4n 3,...

Arithmetic Sequences and Partial Sums. Arithmetic Sequences. Definition of Arithmetic Sequence. Example 1. 7, 11, 15, 19,..., 4n 3,... 3330_090.qxd 1/5/05 11:9 AM Page 653 Sectio 9. Arithmetic Sequeces ad Partial Sums 653 9. Arithmetic Sequeces ad Partial Sums What you should lear Recogize,write, ad fid the th terms of arithmetic sequeces.

More information

Now here is the important step

Now here is the important step LINEST i Excel The Excel spreadsheet fuctio "liest" is a complete liear least squares curve fittig routie that produces ucertaity estimates for the fit values. There are two ways to access the "liest"

More information

The following example will help us understand The Sampling Distribution of the Mean. C1 C2 C3 C4 C5 50 miles 84 miles 38 miles 120 miles 48 miles

The following example will help us understand The Sampling Distribution of the Mean. C1 C2 C3 C4 C5 50 miles 84 miles 38 miles 120 miles 48 miles The followig eample will help us uderstad The Samplig Distributio of the Mea Review: The populatio is the etire collectio of all idividuals or objects of iterest The sample is the portio of the populatio

More information

where: T = number of years of cash flow in investment's life n = the year in which the cash flow X n i = IRR = the internal rate of return

where: T = number of years of cash flow in investment's life n = the year in which the cash flow X n i = IRR = the internal rate of return EVALUATING ALTERNATIVE CAPITAL INVESTMENT PROGRAMS By Ke D. Duft, Extesio Ecoomist I the March 98 issue of this publicatio we reviewed the procedure by which a capital ivestmet project was assessed. The

More information

Chapter 10. Hypothesis Tests Regarding a Parameter. 10.1 The Language of Hypothesis Testing

Chapter 10. Hypothesis Tests Regarding a Parameter. 10.1 The Language of Hypothesis Testing Chapter 10 Hypothesis Tests Regardig a Parameter A secod type of statistical iferece is hypothesis testig. Here, rather tha use either a poit (or iterval) estimate from a simple radom sample to approximate

More information

Module 4: Mathematical Induction

Module 4: Mathematical Induction Module 4: Mathematical Iductio Theme 1: Priciple of Mathematical Iductio Mathematical iductio is used to prove statemets about atural umbers. As studets may remember, we ca write such a statemet as a predicate

More information

Case Study. Normal and t Distributions. Density Plot. Normal Distributions

Case Study. Normal and t Distributions. Density Plot. Normal Distributions Case Study Normal ad t Distributios Bret Halo ad Bret Larget Departmet of Statistics Uiversity of Wiscosi Madiso October 11 13, 2011 Case Study Body temperature varies withi idividuals over time (it ca

More information

1 Correlation and Regression Analysis

1 Correlation and Regression Analysis 1 Correlatio ad Regressio Aalysis I this sectio we will be ivestigatig the relatioship betwee two cotiuous variable, such as height ad weight, the cocetratio of a ijected drug ad heart rate, or the cosumptio

More information

Confidence Intervals

Confidence Intervals Cofidece Itervals Cofidece Itervals are a extesio of the cocept of Margi of Error which we met earlier i this course. Remember we saw: The sample proportio will differ from the populatio proportio by more

More information

Escola Federal de Engenharia de Itajubá

Escola Federal de Engenharia de Itajubá Escola Federal de Egeharia de Itajubá Departameto de Egeharia Mecâica Pós-Graduação em Egeharia Mecâica MPF04 ANÁLISE DE SINAIS E AQUISÇÃO DE DADOS SINAIS E SISTEMAS Trabalho 02 (MATLAB) Prof. Dr. José

More information

UNIT 3 SUMMARY STATIONS THROUGHOUT THE NEXT 2 DAYS, WE WILL BE SUMMARIZING THE CONCEPT OF EXPONENTIAL FUNCTIONS AND THEIR VARIOUS APPLICATIONS.

UNIT 3 SUMMARY STATIONS THROUGHOUT THE NEXT 2 DAYS, WE WILL BE SUMMARIZING THE CONCEPT OF EXPONENTIAL FUNCTIONS AND THEIR VARIOUS APPLICATIONS. Name: Group Members: UNIT 3 SUMMARY STATIONS THROUGHOUT THE NEXT DAYS, WE WILL BE SUMMARIZING THE CONCEPT OF EXPONENTIAL FUNCTIONS AND THEIR VARIOUS APPLICATIONS. EACH ACTIVITY HAS A COLOR THAT CORRESPONDS

More information

0.7 0.6 0.2 0 0 96 96.5 97 97.5 98 98.5 99 99.5 100 100.5 96.5 97 97.5 98 98.5 99 99.5 100 100.5

0.7 0.6 0.2 0 0 96 96.5 97 97.5 98 98.5 99 99.5 100 100.5 96.5 97 97.5 98 98.5 99 99.5 100 100.5 Sectio 13 Kolmogorov-Smirov test. Suppose that we have a i.i.d. sample X 1,..., X with some ukow distributio P ad we would like to test the hypothesis that P is equal to a particular distributio P 0, i.e.

More information

3. Greatest Common Divisor - Least Common Multiple

3. Greatest Common Divisor - Least Common Multiple 3 Greatest Commo Divisor - Least Commo Multiple Defiitio 31: The greatest commo divisor of two atural umbers a ad b is the largest atural umber c which divides both a ad b We deote the greatest commo gcd

More information