Review for 1 sample CI Name. MULTIPLE CHOICE. Choose the one alternative that best completes the statement or answers the question.

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Review for 1 sample CI Name. MULTIPLE CHOICE. Choose the one alternative that best completes the statement or answers the question."

Transcription

1 Review for 1 sample CI Name MULTIPLE CHOICE. Choose the oe alterative that best completes the statemet or aswers the questio. Fid the margi of error for the give cofidece iterval. 1) A survey foud that 69% of a radom sample of 1024 America adults approved of cloig edagered aimals. Fid the margi of error for this survey if we wat 90% cofidece i our estimate of the percet of America adults who approve of cloig edagered aimals. A) 4.27% B) 2.38% C) 2.83% D) 24.35% E) 5.09% 2) A recet poll of 1500 ew home buyers foud that 60% hired a movig compay to help them move to their ew home. Fid the margi of error for this poll if we wat 99% cofidece i our estimate of the percet of ew home buyers who hired movers. A) 1% B) 6.52% C) 4.96% D) 0.5% E) 3.26% Use the give degree of cofidece ad sample data to costruct a cofidece iterval for the populatio proportio. 3) Of 346 items tested, 12 are foud to be defective. Costruct a 98% cofidece iterval for the percetage of all such items that are defective. A) (0.13%, 6.80%) B) (1.85%, 5.09%) C) (0.93%, 6.00%) D) (3.34%, 3.59%) E) (1.18%, 5.76%) 4) A survey of 300 uio members i New York State reveals that 112 favor the Republica cadidate for goveror. Costruct a 98% cofidece iterval for the percetage of all New York State uio members who favor the Republica cadidate. A) (30.1%, 44.5%) B) (17.8%, 56.8%) C) (31.9%, 42.8%) D) (30.8%, 43.8%) E) (26.7%, 47.9%) Solve the problem. 5) A pollster wishes to estimate the true proportio of U.S. voters who oppose capital puishmet. How may voters should be surveyed i order to be 95% cofidet that the true proportio is estimated to withi 3%? A) 752 B) 1068 C) 1842 D) 1503 E) Not eough iformatio is give. 6) A uiversityʹs admiistrator proposes to do a aalysis of the proportio of graduates who have ot foud employmet i their major field oe year after graduatio. I previous years, the percetage averaged 13%. He wats the margi of error to be withi 4% at a 99% cofidece level. What sample size will suffice? A) 469 B) 19 C) 563 D) E) 272 1

2 Provide a appropriate respose. 7) I a survey of 1,000 televisio viewers, 40% said they watch etwork ews programs. For a 90% cofidece level, the margi of error for this estimate is 2.5%. If we wat to be 95% cofidet, how will the margi of error chage? A) Sice more cofidece requires a more arrow iterval, the margi of error will be smaller. B) Sice more cofidece requires a more arrow iterval, the margi of error will be larger. C) Sice more cofidece requires a wider iterval, the margi of error will be smaller. D) Sice more cofidece requires a wider iterval, the margi of error will be larger. E) There is ot eough iformatio to determie the effect o the margi of error. Usig the t-tables, software, or a calculator, estimate the critical value of t for the give cofidece iterval ad degrees of freedom. 8) 90% cofidece iterval with df = 4. A) B) C) D) E) Iterpret the cofidece iterval. 9) Aalysis of a radom sample of 250 Illiois urses produced a 95% cofidece iterval for the mea aual salary of $42,803 < μ(nurse Salary) < $49,692. A) If we took may radom samples of Illiois urses, about 95% of them would produce this cofidece iterval. B) We are 95% cofidet that the average urse salary i the U.S. is betwee $42,803 ad $49,692. C) We are 95% cofidet that the iterval from $42,803 to $49,692 cotais the true mea salary of all Illiois urses. D) About 95% of Illiois urses ear betwee $42,803 ad $49,692. E) About 95% of the urses surveyed ear betwee $42,803 ad $49,692. Provide a appropriate respose. 10) You wat to determie if the average gas price i your city has exceeded $2.15 per gallo for regular gas. You take a radom sample of prices from 8 gas statios, recordig the followig prices: $2.13, $2.10, $1.80, $2.09, $2.17, $2.12, $2.10, $2.11. Have the coditios ad assumptios for iferece bee met? A) No, the sample is ot radom. B) No, the sample is ot represetative. C) Yes, all coditios ad assumptios have bee met. D) No, the sample is more tha 10% of the populatio. E) No, the early ormal coditio is ot met. 11) How may upopped kerels are left whe you pop a bag of microwave popcor? Each day, quality cotrol persoel take a radom sample of 50 bags of popcor. They pop each bag i a microwave ad the cout the umber of upopped kerels. Have the coditios ad assumptios for iferece bee met? A) Yes, all coditios ad assumptio are met. B) No, the sample is more tha 10% of the populatio size. C) No, this is ot a represetative sample sice the quality cotrol persoel work for the compay ad are biased. D) No, the sample does ot meet the Nearly Normal coditio. E) No, the sample is ot likely to be represetative. Use the give sample data to costruct the idicated cofidece iterval for the populatio mea. 12) = 10, x = 13.7, s = 4.4 Fid a 95% cofidece iterval for the mea. A) (10.60, 16.80) B) (10.60, 16.83) C) (10.57, 16.83) D) (11.15, 16.25) E) (10.55, 16.85) 2

3 13) A savigs ad loa associatio eeds iformatio cocerig the checkig accout balaces of its local customers. A radom sample of 14 accouts was checked ad yielded a mea balace of $ ad a stadard deviatio of $ Fid a 98% cofidece iterval for the true mea checkig accout balace for local customers. A) ($453.56, $874.72) B) ($492.52, $835.76) C) ($455.65, $835.76) D) ($455.65, $872.63) E) ($493.71, $834.57) Use the give sample data to costruct the idicated cofidece iterval for the populatio mea. 14) The pricipal radomly selected six studets to take a aptitude test. Their scores were: Determie a 90% cofidece iterval for the mea score for all studets. A) (82.90, 72.27) B) (72.37, 82.80) C) (82.80, 82.80) D) (82.80, 72.37) E) (72.27, 82.90) SHORT ANSWER. Write the word or phrase that best completes each statemet or aswers the questio. A statistics professor asked her studets whether or ot they were registered to vote. I a sample of 50 of her studets (radomly sampled from her 700 studets), 35 said they were registered to vote. 15) Fid a 95% cofidece iterval for the true proportio of the professorʹs studets who were registered to vote. (Make sure to check ay ecessary coditios ad to state a coclusio i the cotext of the problem.) 16) Explai what 95% cofidece meas i this cotext. 17) What is the probability that the true proportio of the professorʹs studets who were registered to vote is i your cofidece iterval? 18) Accordig to a September 2004 Gallup poll, about 73% of 18- to 29-year-olds said that they were registered to vote. Does the 73% figure from Gallup seem reasoable for the professorʹs class? Explai. 19) If the professor oly kew the iformatio from the September 2004 Gallup poll ad wated to estimate the percetage of her studets who were registered to vote to withi ±4% with 95% cofidece, how may studets should she sample? The coutries of Europe report that 46% of the labor force is female. The Uited Natios woders if the percetage of females i the labor force is the same i the Uited States. Represetatives from the Uited States Departmet of Labor pla to check a radom sample of over 10,000 employmet records o file to estimate a percetage of females i the Uited States labor force. 20) The represetatives from the Departmet of Labor wat to estimate a percetage of females i the Uited States labor force to withi ±5%, with 90% cofidece. How may employmet records should they sample? 21) They actually select a radom sample of 525 employmet records, ad fid that 229 of the people are females. Create the cofidece iterval. 22) Iterpret the cofidece iterval i this cotext. 23) Explai what 90% cofidece meas i this cotext. 3

4 24) Should the represetatives from the Departmet of Labor coclude that the percetage of females i their labor force is lower tha Europeʹs rate of 46%? Explai. A professor at a large uiversity believes that studets take a average of 15 credit hours per term. A radom sample of 24 studets i her class of 250 studets reported the followig umber of credit hours that they were takig: 25) Fid a 95% cofidece iterval for the umber of credit hours take by the studets i the professorʹs class. Iterpret your iterval. Textbook authors must be careful that the readig level of their book is appropriate for the target audiece. Some methods of assessig readig level require estimatig the average word legth. Weʹve radomly chose 20 words from a radomly selected page i Stats: Modelig the World ad couted the umber of letters i each word: 5, 5, 2, 11, 1, 5, 3, 8, 5, 4, 7, 2, 9, 4, 8, 10, 4, 5, 6, 6 26) For a more defiitive evaluatio of readig level the editor wats to estimate the textʹs word legth to withi 0.5 letters with 98% cofidece. How may radomly selected words does she eed to use? 4

5 Aswer Key Testame: UNTITLED1 1) B 2) E 3) E 4) D 5) B 6) A 7) D 8) D 9) C 10) E 11) A 12) E 13) A 14) B 15) We have a radom sample of less tha 10% of the professorʹs studets, with 35 expected successes (registered) ad 15 expected failures (ot registered), so a Normal model applies. = 50, p^ = = 0.70, q^ = 1 - p^ = 0.30, so SE(p^) = Our 95% cofidece iterval is: p^q^ = (0.70)(0.30) 50 p^ ± z*se(p^) = 0.70 ± 1.96(0.065) = 0.70 ± = to = We are 95% cofidet that betwee 57.3% ad 82.7% of the professorʹs studets are registered to vote. 16) If may radom samples were take, 95% of the cofidece itervals produced would cotai the actual percetage of the professorʹs studets who are registered to vote. 17) There is o probability ivolved-oce the iterval is costructed, the true proportio of the professorʹs studets who were registered to vote is i the iterval or it is ot. 18) The 73% figure from Gallup seems reasoable sice 73% lies i our cofidece iterval. pq 19) ME = z* 0.04 = 1.96 (0.73)(0.27) = (1.96) 2(0.73)(0.27) = = 474 (0.04)2 Note: Sice there are oly 700 studets i the professorʹs class, she caot sample this may studets without violatig the 10% coditio! p^q^ 20) ME = z* 0.05 = = (0.46)(0.54) (0.46)(0.54) 0.05 = They should sample at least 269 employmet records. 5

6 Aswer Key Testame: UNTITLED1 21) We have a radom sample of less tha 10% of the employmet records, with 229 successes (females) ad 296 failures (males), so a Normal model applies. p^q^ = 525, p^ = ad q^ = 0.564, so SE(p^) = = (0.436)(0.564) = margi of error: ME = z* SE(p^) =(1.645)(0.022) = Cofidece iterval: p^ ± ME = ± or (0.3998, ) 22) We are 90% cofidet that betwee 40.0% ad 47.2% of the employmet records from the Uited States labor force are for females. 23) If may radom samples were take, 90% of the cofidece itervals produced would cotai the actual percetage of all female employmet records i the Uited States labor force. 24) No. Sice 46% lies i the cofidece iterval, (0.3998, ), it is possible that the percetage of females i the labor force matches Europeʹs rate of 46% females i the labor force. 25) With the coditios satisfied (from Problem 1), we ca fid a t-iterval for mea credit hours. We kow: = 24, y = 16.6, ad s = So, SE(y) = = Our cofidece iterval has the form y ± t* = 16.6 ± 0.94, or to s. We have t* 23 = Our 95% cofidece iterval is the 16.6 ± We are 95% cofidet that the iterval to cotais the true mea umber of credit hours that studets i the professorʹs class are takig. 26) First Estimate: ME = z* SE(y) 0.5 = = Although ot ecessary, sice 157 is quite large, we could fid a better estimate usig t*140 = 2.353, from Table T. ME = t*140 SE(y) 0.5 = =

Confidence Intervals. CI for a population mean (σ is known and n > 30 or the variable is normally distributed in the.

Confidence Intervals. CI for a population mean (σ is known and n > 30 or the variable is normally distributed in the. Cofidece Itervals A cofidece iterval is a iterval whose purpose is to estimate a parameter (a umber that could, i theory, be calculated from the populatio, if measuremets were available for the whole populatio).

More information

Section 7.2 Confidence Interval for a Proportion

Section 7.2 Confidence Interval for a Proportion Sectio 7.2 Cofidece Iterval for a Proportio Before ay ifereces ca be made about a proportio, certai coditios must be satisfied: 1. The sample must be a SRS from the populatio of iterest. 2. The populatio

More information

1. C. The formula for the confidence interval for a population mean is: x t, which was

1. C. The formula for the confidence interval for a population mean is: x t, which was s 1. C. The formula for the cofidece iterval for a populatio mea is: x t, which was based o the sample Mea. So, x is guarateed to be i the iterval you form.. D. Use the rule : p-value

More information

Practice Problems for Test 3

Practice Problems for Test 3 Practice Problems for Test 3 Note: these problems oly cover CIs ad hypothesis testig You are also resposible for kowig the samplig distributio of the sample meas, ad the Cetral Limit Theorem Review all

More information

Review for Test 3. b. Construct the 90% and 95% confidence intervals for the population mean. Interpret the CIs.

Review for Test 3. b. Construct the 90% and 95% confidence intervals for the population mean. Interpret the CIs. Review for Test 3 1 From a radom sample of 36 days i a recet year, the closig stock prices of Hasbro had a mea of $1931 From past studies we kow that the populatio stadard deviatio is $237 a Should you

More information

Ch 7.1 pg. 364 #11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23, 25

Ch 7.1 pg. 364 #11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23, 25 Math 7 Elemetary Statistics: A Brief Versio, 5/e Bluma Ch 7.1 pg. 364 #11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 1, 3, 5 11. Readig Scores: A sample of the readig scores of 35 fifth-graders has a mea of 8. The stadard deviatio

More information

Definition. Definition. 7-2 Estimating a Population Proportion. Definition. Definition

Definition. Definition. 7-2 Estimating a Population Proportion. Definition. Definition 7- stimatig a Populatio Proportio I this sectio we preset methods for usig a sample proportio to estimate the value of a populatio proportio. The sample proportio is the best poit estimate of the populatio

More information

CHAPTER 8: CONFIDENCE INTERVAL ESTIMATES for Means and Proportions

CHAPTER 8: CONFIDENCE INTERVAL ESTIMATES for Means and Proportions CHAPTER 8: CONFIDENCE INTERVAL ESTIMATES for Meas ad Proportios Itroductio: We wat to kow the value of a parameter for a populatio. We do t kow the value of this parameter for the etire populatio because

More information

Confidence Intervals

Confidence Intervals Cofidece Itervals Cofidece Itervals are a extesio of the cocept of Margi of Error which we met earlier i this course. Remember we saw: The sample proportio will differ from the populatio proportio by more

More information

7.1 Inference for a Population Proportion

7.1 Inference for a Population Proportion 7.1 Iferece for a Populatio Proportio Defiitio. The statistic that estimates the parameter p is the sample proportio cout of successes i the sample ˆp = cout of observatios i the sample. Assumptios for

More information

Confidence Intervals and Sample Size

Confidence Intervals and Sample Size 8/7/015 C H A P T E R S E V E N Cofidece Itervals ad Copyright 015 The McGraw-Hill Compaies, Ic. Permissio required for reproductio or display. 1 Cofidece Itervals ad Outlie 7-1 Cofidece Itervals for the

More information

Inference on Proportion. Chapter 8 Tests of Statistical Hypotheses. Sampling Distribution of Sample Proportion. Confidence Interval

Inference on Proportion. Chapter 8 Tests of Statistical Hypotheses. Sampling Distribution of Sample Proportion. Confidence Interval Chapter 8 Tests of Statistical Hypotheses 8. Tests about Proportios HT - Iferece o Proportio Parameter: Populatio Proportio p (or π) (Percetage of people has o health isurace) x Statistic: Sample Proportio

More information

Section 7-3 Estimating a Population. Requirements

Section 7-3 Estimating a Population. Requirements Sectio 7-3 Estimatig a Populatio Mea: σ Kow Key Cocept This sectio presets methods for usig sample data to fid a poit estimate ad cofidece iterval estimate of a populatio mea. A key requiremet i this sectio

More information

Overview. Learning Objectives. Point Estimate. Estimation. Estimating the Value of a Parameter Using Confidence Intervals

Overview. Learning Objectives. Point Estimate. Estimation. Estimating the Value of a Parameter Using Confidence Intervals Overview Estimatig the Value of a Parameter Usig Cofidece Itervals We apply the results about the sample mea the problem of estimatio Estimatio is the process of usig sample data estimate the value of

More information

Confidence Intervals for the Population Mean

Confidence Intervals for the Population Mean Cofidece Itervals Math 283 Cofidece Itervals for the Populatio Mea Recall that from the empirical rule that the iterval of the mea plus/mius 2 times the stadard deviatio will cotai about 95% of the observatios.

More information

Using Excel to Construct Confidence Intervals

Using Excel to Construct Confidence Intervals OPIM 303 Statistics Ja Stallaert Usig Excel to Costruct Cofidece Itervals This hadout explais how to costruct cofidece itervals i Excel for the followig cases: 1. Cofidece Itervals for the mea of a populatio

More information

Determining the sample size

Determining the sample size Determiig the sample size Oe of the most commo questios ay statisticia gets asked is How large a sample size do I eed? Researchers are ofte surprised to fid out that the aswer depeds o a umber of factors

More information

Math C067 Sampling Distributions

Math C067 Sampling Distributions Math C067 Samplig Distributios Sample Mea ad Sample Proportio Richard Beigel Some time betwee April 16, 2007 ad April 16, 2007 Examples of Samplig A pollster may try to estimate the proportio of voters

More information

Key Ideas Section 8-1: Overview hypothesis testing Hypothesis Hypothesis Test Section 8-2: Basics of Hypothesis Testing Null Hypothesis

Key Ideas Section 8-1: Overview hypothesis testing Hypothesis Hypothesis Test Section 8-2: Basics of Hypothesis Testing Null Hypothesis Chapter 8 Key Ideas Hypothesis (Null ad Alterative), Hypothesis Test, Test Statistic, P-value Type I Error, Type II Error, Sigificace Level, Power Sectio 8-1: Overview Cofidece Itervals (Chapter 7) are

More information

Chapter 7: Confidence Interval and Sample Size

Chapter 7: Confidence Interval and Sample Size Chapter 7: Cofidece Iterval ad Sample Size Learig Objectives Upo successful completio of Chapter 7, you will be able to: Fid the cofidece iterval for the mea, proportio, ad variace. Determie the miimum

More information

1 Correlation and Regression Analysis

1 Correlation and Regression Analysis 1 Correlatio ad Regressio Aalysis I this sectio we will be ivestigatig the relatioship betwee two cotiuous variable, such as height ad weight, the cocetratio of a ijected drug ad heart rate, or the cosumptio

More information

Hypothesis testing. Null and alternative hypotheses

Hypothesis testing. Null and alternative hypotheses Hypothesis testig Aother importat use of samplig distributios is to test hypotheses about populatio parameters, e.g. mea, proportio, regressio coefficiets, etc. For example, it is possible to stipulate

More information

Confidence Intervals for One Mean

Confidence Intervals for One Mean Chapter 420 Cofidece Itervals for Oe Mea Itroductio This routie calculates the sample size ecessary to achieve a specified distace from the mea to the cofidece limit(s) at a stated cofidece level for a

More information

One-sample test of proportions

One-sample test of proportions Oe-sample test of proportios The Settig: Idividuals i some populatio ca be classified ito oe of two categories. You wat to make iferece about the proportio i each category, so you draw a sample. Examples:

More information

Confidence Intervals for One Mean with Tolerance Probability

Confidence Intervals for One Mean with Tolerance Probability Chapter 421 Cofidece Itervals for Oe Mea with Tolerace Probability Itroductio This procedure calculates the sample size ecessary to achieve a specified distace from the mea to the cofidece limit(s) with

More information

The following example will help us understand The Sampling Distribution of the Mean. C1 C2 C3 C4 C5 50 miles 84 miles 38 miles 120 miles 48 miles

The following example will help us understand The Sampling Distribution of the Mean. C1 C2 C3 C4 C5 50 miles 84 miles 38 miles 120 miles 48 miles The followig eample will help us uderstad The Samplig Distributio of the Mea Review: The populatio is the etire collectio of all idividuals or objects of iterest The sample is the portio of the populatio

More information

OMG! Excessive Texting Tied to Risky Teen Behaviors

OMG! Excessive Texting Tied to Risky Teen Behaviors BUSIESS WEEK: EXECUTIVE EALT ovember 09, 2010 OMG! Excessive Textig Tied to Risky Tee Behaviors Kids who sed more tha 120 a day more likely to try drugs, alcohol ad sex, researchers fid TUESDAY, ov. 9

More information

STA 2023 Practice Questions Exam 2 Chapter 7- sec 9.2. Case parameter estimator standard error Estimate of standard error

STA 2023 Practice Questions Exam 2 Chapter 7- sec 9.2. Case parameter estimator standard error Estimate of standard error STA 2023 Practice Questios Exam 2 Chapter 7- sec 9.2 Formulas Give o the test: Case parameter estimator stadard error Estimate of stadard error Samplig Distributio oe mea x s t (-1) oe p ( 1 p) CI: prop.

More information

Confidence Intervals for the Mean of Non-normal Data Class 23, 18.05, Spring 2014 Jeremy Orloff and Jonathan Bloom

Confidence Intervals for the Mean of Non-normal Data Class 23, 18.05, Spring 2014 Jeremy Orloff and Jonathan Bloom Cofidece Itervals for the Mea of No-ormal Data Class 23, 8.05, Sprig 204 Jeremy Orloff ad Joatha Bloom Learig Goals. Be able to derive the formula for coservative ormal cofidece itervals for the proportio

More information

Hypothesis Tests Applied to Means

Hypothesis Tests Applied to Means The Samplig Distributio of the Mea Hypothesis Tests Applied to Meas Recall that the samplig distributio of the mea is the distributio of sample meas that would be obtaied from a particular populatio (with

More information

1 Computing the Standard Deviation of Sample Means

1 Computing the Standard Deviation of Sample Means Computig the Stadard Deviatio of Sample Meas Quality cotrol charts are based o sample meas ot o idividual values withi a sample. A sample is a group of items, which are cosidered all together for our aalysis.

More information

Chapter 10. Hypothesis Tests Regarding a Parameter. 10.1 The Language of Hypothesis Testing

Chapter 10. Hypothesis Tests Regarding a Parameter. 10.1 The Language of Hypothesis Testing Chapter 10 Hypothesis Tests Regardig a Parameter A secod type of statistical iferece is hypothesis testig. Here, rather tha use either a poit (or iterval) estimate from a simple radom sample to approximate

More information

Z-TEST / Z-STATISTIC: used to test hypotheses about. µ when the population standard deviation is unknown

Z-TEST / Z-STATISTIC: used to test hypotheses about. µ when the population standard deviation is unknown Z-TEST / Z-STATISTIC: used to test hypotheses about µ whe the populatio stadard deviatio is kow ad populatio distributio is ormal or sample size is large T-TEST / T-STATISTIC: used to test hypotheses about

More information

Statistics Lecture 14. Introduction to Inference. Administrative Notes. Hypothesis Tests. Last Class: Confidence Intervals

Statistics Lecture 14. Introduction to Inference. Administrative Notes. Hypothesis Tests. Last Class: Confidence Intervals Statistics 111 - Lecture 14 Itroductio to Iferece Hypothesis Tests Admiistrative Notes Sprig Break! No lectures o Tuesday, March 8 th ad Thursday March 10 th Exteded Sprig Break! There is o Stat 111 recitatio

More information

15.075 Exam 3. Instructor: Cynthia Rudin TA: Dimitrios Bisias. November 22, 2011

15.075 Exam 3. Instructor: Cynthia Rudin TA: Dimitrios Bisias. November 22, 2011 15.075 Exam 3 Istructor: Cythia Rudi TA: Dimitrios Bisias November 22, 2011 Gradig is based o demostratio of coceptual uderstadig, so you eed to show all of your work. Problem 1 A compay makes high-defiitio

More information

Text&Tests5. Project Maths SUPPLEMENT. Frances O Regan O. D. Morris. Leaving Certificate Higher Level Maths

Text&Tests5. Project Maths SUPPLEMENT. Frances O Regan O. D. Morris. Leaving Certificate Higher Level Maths Project Maths SUPPLEMENT Text&Tests5 Leavig Certificate Higher Level Maths Cotais all the Deferred Material ad Cetral Limit Theorem Fraces O Rega O. D. Morris O.D. Morris, Fraces O Rega, 2014 All rights

More information

23.3 Sampling Distributions

23.3 Sampling Distributions COMMON CORE Locker LESSON Commo Core Math Stadards The studet is expected to: COMMON CORE S-IC.B.4 Use data from a sample survey to estimate a populatio mea or proportio; develop a margi of error through

More information

AP * Statistics Review. Inference

AP * Statistics Review. Inference AP * Statistics Review Iferece Teacher Packet AP* is a trademark of the College Etrace Examiatio Board. The College Etrace Examiatio Board was ot ivolved i the productio of this material. Copyright 009

More information

5: Introduction to Estimation

5: Introduction to Estimation 5: Itroductio to Estimatio Cotets Acroyms ad symbols... 1 Statistical iferece... Estimatig µ with cofidece... 3 Samplig distributio of the mea... 3 Cofidece Iterval for μ whe σ is kow before had... 4 Sample

More information

Center, Spread, and Shape in Inference: Claims, Caveats, and Insights

Center, Spread, and Shape in Inference: Claims, Caveats, and Insights Ceter, Spread, ad Shape i Iferece: Claims, Caveats, ad Isights Dr. Nacy Pfeig (Uiversity of Pittsburgh) AMATYC November 2008 Prelimiary Activities 1. I would like to produce a iterval estimate for the

More information

ˆ p 2. ˆ p 1. ˆ p 3. p 4. ˆ p 8

ˆ p 2. ˆ p 1. ˆ p 3. p 4. ˆ p 8 Sectio 8 1C The Techiques of Hypothesis Testig A claim is made that 10% of the populatio is left haded. A alterate claim is made that less tha 10% of the populatio is left haded. We will use the techiques

More information

CHAPTER 7: Central Limit Theorem: CLT for Averages (Means)

CHAPTER 7: Central Limit Theorem: CLT for Averages (Means) CHAPTER 7: Cetral Limit Theorem: CLT for Averages (Meas) X = the umber obtaied whe rollig oe six sided die oce. If we roll a six sided die oce, the mea of the probability distributio is X P(X = x) Simulatio:

More information

0.674 0.841 1.036 1.282 1.645 1.960 2.054 2.326 2.576 2.807 3.091 3.291 50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 95% 96% 98% 99% 99.5% 99.8% 99.9%

0.674 0.841 1.036 1.282 1.645 1.960 2.054 2.326 2.576 2.807 3.091 3.291 50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 95% 96% 98% 99% 99.5% 99.8% 99.9% Sectio 10 Aswer Key: 0.674 0.841 1.036 1.282 1.645 1.960 2.054 2.326 2.576 2.807 3.091 3.291 50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 95% 96% 98% 99% 99.5% 99.8% 99.9% 1) A simple radom sample of New Yorkers fids that 87 are

More information

Hypothesis testing in a Nutshell

Hypothesis testing in a Nutshell Hypothesis testig i a Nutshell Summary by Pamela Peterso Drake Itroductio The purpose of this readig is to discuss aother aspect of statistical iferece, testig. A is a statemet about the value of a populatio

More information

AQA STATISTICS 1 REVISION NOTES

AQA STATISTICS 1 REVISION NOTES AQA STATISTICS 1 REVISION NOTES AVERAGES AND MEASURES OF SPREAD www.mathsbox.org.uk Mode : the most commo or most popular data value the oly average that ca be used for qualitative data ot suitable if

More information

Unit 20 Hypotheses Testing

Unit 20 Hypotheses Testing Uit 2 Hypotheses Testig Objectives: To uderstad how to formulate a ull hypothesis ad a alterative hypothesis about a populatio proportio, ad how to choose a sigificace level To uderstad how to collect

More information

Explore Identifying Likely Population Proportions

Explore Identifying Likely Population Proportions COMMON CORE Locker LESSON Cofidece Itervals ad Margis of Error Commo Core Math Stadards The studet is expected to: COMMON CORE S-IC.B.4 Use data from a sample survey to estimate a populatio mea or proportio;

More information

University of California, Los Angeles Department of Statistics. Distributions related to the normal distribution

University of California, Los Angeles Department of Statistics. Distributions related to the normal distribution Uiversity of Califoria, Los Ageles Departmet of Statistics Statistics 100B Istructor: Nicolas Christou Three importat distributios: Distributios related to the ormal distributio Chi-square (χ ) distributio.

More information

CHAPTER 8. Confidence Interval Estimation LEARNING OBJECTIVES. USING Saxon Home Improvement

CHAPTER 8. Confidence Interval Estimation LEARNING OBJECTIVES. USING Saxon Home Improvement CHAPTER 8 Cofidece Iterval Estimatio USING STATISTICS @ Saxo Home Improvemet 8.1 CONFIDENCE INTERVAL ESTIMATION FOR THE MEAN (* KNOWN) 8.2 CONFIDENCE INTERVAL ESTIMATION FOR THE MEAN (* UNKNOWN) Studet

More information

PSYCHOLOGICAL STATISTICS

PSYCHOLOGICAL STATISTICS UNIVERSITY OF CALICUT SCHOOL OF DISTANCE EDUCATION B Sc. Cousellig Psychology (0 Adm.) IV SEMESTER COMPLEMENTARY COURSE PSYCHOLOGICAL STATISTICS QUESTION BANK. Iferetial statistics is the brach of statistics

More information

Stat 104 Lecture 16. Statistics 104 Lecture 16 (IPS 6.1) Confidence intervals - the general concept

Stat 104 Lecture 16. Statistics 104 Lecture 16 (IPS 6.1) Confidence intervals - the general concept Statistics 104 Lecture 16 (IPS 6.1) Outlie for today Cofidece itervals Cofidece itervals for a mea, µ (kow σ) Cofidece itervals for a proportio, p Margi of error ad sample size Review of mai topics for

More information

Sampling Distribution And Central Limit Theorem

Sampling Distribution And Central Limit Theorem () Samplig Distributio & Cetral Limit Samplig Distributio Ad Cetral Limit Samplig distributio of the sample mea If we sample a umber of samples (say k samples where k is very large umber) each of size,

More information

Measures of Central Tendency

Measures of Central Tendency Measures of Cetral Tedecy A studet s grade will be determied by exam grades ( each exam couts twice ad there are three exams, HW average (couts oce, fial exam ( couts three times. Fid the average if the

More information

Confidence Interval for a Population Proportion

Confidence Interval for a Population Proportion Coexios module: m46999 1 Cofidece Iterval for a Populatio Proportio OpeStax College This work is produced by The Coexios Project ad licesed uder the Creative Commos Attributio Licese 3.0 Durig a electio

More information

Hypothesis Testing. Definitions. H 0 : The Null Hypothesis This is the hypothesis or claim that is initially assumed to be true.

Hypothesis Testing. Definitions. H 0 : The Null Hypothesis This is the hypothesis or claim that is initially assumed to be true. Hypothesis Testig Hypothesis testig allows us to use a sample to decide betwee two statemets made about a Populatio characteristic. These two statemets are called the Null Hypothesis ad the Alterative

More information

Institute for the Advancement of University Learning & Department of Statistics

Institute for the Advancement of University Learning & Department of Statistics Istitute for the Advacemet of Uiversity Learig & Departmet of Statistics Descriptive Statistics for Research (Hilary Term, 00) Lecture 5: Cofidece Itervals (I.) Itroductio Cofidece itervals (or regios)

More information

FM4 CREDIT AND BORROWING

FM4 CREDIT AND BORROWING FM4 CREDIT AND BORROWING Whe you purchase big ticket items such as cars, boats, televisios ad the like, retailers ad fiacial istitutios have various terms ad coditios that are implemeted for the cosumer

More information

A Resource for Free-standing Mathematics Qualifications Working with %

A Resource for Free-standing Mathematics Qualifications Working with % Ca you aswer these questios? A savigs accout gives % iterest per aum.. If 000 is ivested i this accout, how much will be i the accout at the ed of years? A ew car costs 16 000 ad its value falls by 1%

More information

Case Study. Normal and t Distributions. Density Plot. Normal Distributions

Case Study. Normal and t Distributions. Density Plot. Normal Distributions Case Study Normal ad t Distributios Bret Halo ad Bret Larget Departmet of Statistics Uiversity of Wiscosi Madiso October 11 13, 2011 Case Study Body temperature varies withi idividuals over time (it ca

More information

Confidence Intervals

Confidence Intervals 1 Cofidece Itervals Recall: Iferetial statistics are used to make predictios ad decisios about a populatio based o iformatio from a sample. The two major applicatios of iferetial statistics ivolve the

More information

Probability & Statistics Chapter 9 Hypothesis Testing

Probability & Statistics Chapter 9 Hypothesis Testing I Itroductio to Probability & Statistics A statisticia s most importat job is to draw ifereces about populatios based o samples take from the populatio Methods for drawig ifereces about parameters: ) Make

More information

Economics 140A Confidence Intervals and Hypothesis Testing

Economics 140A Confidence Intervals and Hypothesis Testing Ecoomics 140A Cofidece Itervals ad Hypothesis Testig Obtaiig a estimate of a parameter is ot the al purpose of statistical iferece because it is highly ulikely that the populatio value of a parameter is

More information

Research Method (I) --Knowledge on Sampling (Simple Random Sampling)

Research Method (I) --Knowledge on Sampling (Simple Random Sampling) Research Method (I) --Kowledge o Samplig (Simple Radom Samplig) 1. Itroductio to samplig 1.1 Defiitio of samplig Samplig ca be defied as selectig part of the elemets i a populatio. It results i the fact

More information

I. Chi-squared Distributions

I. Chi-squared Distributions 1 M 358K Supplemet to Chapter 23: CHI-SQUARED DISTRIBUTIONS, T-DISTRIBUTIONS, AND DEGREES OF FREEDOM To uderstad t-distributios, we first eed to look at aother family of distributios, the chi-squared distributios.

More information

ME 101 Measurement Demonstration (MD 1) DEFINITIONS Precision - A measure of agreement between repeated measurements (repeatability).

ME 101 Measurement Demonstration (MD 1) DEFINITIONS Precision - A measure of agreement between repeated measurements (repeatability). INTRODUCTION This laboratory ivestigatio ivolves makig both legth ad mass measuremets of a populatio, ad the assessig statistical parameters to describe that populatio. For example, oe may wat to determie

More information

Statistical Inference: Hypothesis Testing for Single Populations

Statistical Inference: Hypothesis Testing for Single Populations Chapter 9 Statistical Iferece: Hypothesis Testig for Sigle Populatios A foremost statistical mechaism for decisio makig is the hypothesis test. The cocept of hypothesis testig lies at the heart of iferetial

More information

Standard Errors and Confidence Intervals

Standard Errors and Confidence Intervals Stadard Errors ad Cofidece Itervals Itroductio I the documet Data Descriptio, Populatios ad the Normal Distributio a sample had bee obtaied from the populatio of heights of 5-year-old boys. If we assume

More information

This document contains a collection of formulas and constants useful for SPC chart construction. It assumes you are already familiar with SPC.

This document contains a collection of formulas and constants useful for SPC chart construction. It assumes you are already familiar with SPC. SPC Formulas ad Tables 1 This documet cotais a collectio of formulas ad costats useful for SPC chart costructio. It assumes you are already familiar with SPC. Termiology Geerally, a bar draw over a symbol

More information

Confidence interval, sample-size formula and test statistic, concerning:

Confidence interval, sample-size formula and test statistic, concerning: Cofidece iterval, ample-ize formula ad tet tatitic, cocerig: Populatio mea : (large ample, >30): z ± c z = c E Replace by F if available (rare). µ 0 EXAMPLE: A radom ample of 55 from a pecific populatio

More information

CHAPTER 11 Financial mathematics

CHAPTER 11 Financial mathematics CHAPTER 11 Fiacial mathematics I this chapter you will: Calculate iterest usig the simple iterest formula ( ) Use the simple iterest formula to calculate the pricipal (P) Use the simple iterest formula

More information

3. Continuous Random Variables

3. Continuous Random Variables Statistics ad probability: 3-1 3. Cotiuous Radom Variables A cotiuous radom variable is a radom variable which ca take values measured o a cotiuous scale e.g. weights, stregths, times or legths. For ay

More information

3.1 Measures of Central Tendency. Introduction 5/28/2013. Data Description. Outline. Objectives. Objectives. Traditional Statistics Average

3.1 Measures of Central Tendency. Introduction 5/28/2013. Data Description. Outline. Objectives. Objectives. Traditional Statistics Average 5/8/013 C H 3A P T E R Outlie 3 1 Measures of Cetral Tedecy 3 Measures of Variatio 3 3 3 Measuresof Positio 3 4 Exploratory Data Aalysis Copyright 013 The McGraw Hill Compaies, Ic. C H 3A P T E R Objectives

More information

In nite Sequences. Dr. Philippe B. Laval Kennesaw State University. October 9, 2008

In nite Sequences. Dr. Philippe B. Laval Kennesaw State University. October 9, 2008 I ite Sequeces Dr. Philippe B. Laval Keesaw State Uiversity October 9, 2008 Abstract This had out is a itroductio to i ite sequeces. mai de itios ad presets some elemetary results. It gives the I ite Sequeces

More information

TIEE Teaching Issues and Experiments in Ecology - Volume 1, January 2004

TIEE Teaching Issues and Experiments in Ecology - Volume 1, January 2004 TIEE Teachig Issues ad Experimets i Ecology - Volume 1, Jauary 2004 EXPERIMENTS Evirometal Correlates of Leaf Stomata Desity Bruce W. Grat ad Itzick Vatick Biology, Wideer Uiversity, Chester PA, 19013

More information

MEI Structured Mathematics. Module Summary Sheets. Statistics 2 (Version B: reference to new book)

MEI Structured Mathematics. Module Summary Sheets. Statistics 2 (Version B: reference to new book) MEI Mathematics i Educatio ad Idustry MEI Structured Mathematics Module Summary Sheets Statistics (Versio B: referece to ew book) Topic : The Poisso Distributio Topic : The Normal Distributio Topic 3:

More information

Statistical Methods. Chapter 1: Overview and Descriptive Statistics

Statistical Methods. Chapter 1: Overview and Descriptive Statistics Geeral Itroductio Statistical Methods Chapter 1: Overview ad Descriptive Statistics Statistics studies data, populatio, ad samples. Descriptive Statistics vs Iferetial Statistics. Descriptive Statistics

More information

Statistical inference: example 1. Inferential Statistics

Statistical inference: example 1. Inferential Statistics Statistical iferece: example 1 Iferetial Statistics POPULATION SAMPLE A clothig store chai regularly buys from a supplier large quatities of a certai piece of clothig. Each item ca be classified either

More information

Lesson 15 ANOVA (analysis of variance)

Lesson 15 ANOVA (analysis of variance) Outlie Variability -betwee group variability -withi group variability -total variability -F-ratio Computatio -sums of squares (betwee/withi/total -degrees of freedom (betwee/withi/total -mea square (betwee/withi

More information

Lesson 17 Pearson s Correlation Coefficient

Lesson 17 Pearson s Correlation Coefficient Outlie Measures of Relatioships Pearso s Correlatio Coefficiet (r) -types of data -scatter plots -measure of directio -measure of stregth Computatio -covariatio of X ad Y -uique variatio i X ad Y -measurig

More information

Quadrat Sampling in Population Ecology

Quadrat Sampling in Population Ecology Quadrat Samplig i Populatio Ecology Backgroud Estimatig the abudace of orgaisms. Ecology is ofte referred to as the "study of distributio ad abudace". This beig true, we would ofte like to kow how may

More information

MR. STEIN S WORDS OF WISDOM

MR. STEIN S WORDS OF WISDOM MR. STEIN S WORDS OF WISDOM P a g e 1 I am writig this review essay for two tests- the AP Stat exam ad the Applied Stat Fial exam. The topics are more or less the same, so reviewig for the two tests should

More information

Simple Linear Regression

Simple Linear Regression Simple Liear Regressio We have bee itroduced to the otio that a categorical variable could deped o differet levels of aother variable whe we discussed cotigecy tables. We ll exted this idea to the case

More information

G r a d e. 2 M a t h e M a t i c s. statistics and Probability

G r a d e. 2 M a t h e M a t i c s. statistics and Probability G r a d e 2 M a t h e M a t i c s statistics ad Probability Grade 2: Statistics (Data Aalysis) (2.SP.1, 2.SP.2) edurig uderstadigs: data ca be collected ad orgaized i a variety of ways. data ca be used

More information

Compare Multiple Response Variables

Compare Multiple Response Variables Compare Multiple Respose Variables STATGRAPHICS Mobile Rev. 4/7/006 This procedure compares the data cotaied i three or more Respose colums. It performs a oe-way aalysis of variace to determie whether

More information

Chapter 10 Student Lecture Notes 10-1

Chapter 10 Student Lecture Notes 10-1 Chapter 0 tudet Lecture Notes 0- Basic Busiess tatistics (9 th Editio) Chapter 0 Two-ample Tests with Numerical Data 004 Pretice-Hall, Ic. Chap 0- Chapter Topics Comparig Two Idepedet amples Z test for

More information

Case Study. Contingency Tables. Graphing Tabled Counts. Stacked Bar Graph

Case Study. Contingency Tables. Graphing Tabled Counts. Stacked Bar Graph Case Study Cotigecy Tables Bret Halo ad Bret Larget Departmet of Statistics Uiversity of Wiscosi Madiso October 4 6, 2011 Case Study Example 9.3 begiig o page 213 of the text describes a experimet i which

More information

5.4 Amortization. Question 1: How do you find the present value of an annuity? Question 2: How is a loan amortized?

5.4 Amortization. Question 1: How do you find the present value of an annuity? Question 2: How is a loan amortized? 5.4 Amortizatio Questio 1: How do you fid the preset value of a auity? Questio 2: How is a loa amortized? Questio 3: How do you make a amortizatio table? Oe of the most commo fiacial istrumets a perso

More information

Lecture 23. Chapter 11: Testing Hypotheses About Proportions. Nancy Pfenning Stats 1000. Recall: last time we presented the following examples:

Lecture 23. Chapter 11: Testing Hypotheses About Proportions. Nancy Pfenning Stats 1000. Recall: last time we presented the following examples: Lecture 23 Nacy Pfeig Stats 1000 Chapter 11: Testig Hypotheses About Proportios Recall: last time we preseted the followig examples: 1. I a group of Pitt studets, 42 were left-haded. Is this sigificatly

More information

Hypergeometric Distributions

Hypergeometric Distributions 7.4 Hypergeometric Distributios Whe choosig the startig lie-up for a game, a coach obviously has to choose a differet player for each positio. Similarly, whe a uio elects delegates for a covetio or you

More information

Non-life insurance mathematics. Nils F. Haavardsson, University of Oslo and DNB Skadeforsikring

Non-life insurance mathematics. Nils F. Haavardsson, University of Oslo and DNB Skadeforsikring No-life isurace mathematics Nils F. Haavardsso, Uiversity of Oslo ad DNB Skadeforsikrig Mai issues so far Why does isurace work? How is risk premium defied ad why is it importat? How ca claim frequecy

More information

Analyzing Longitudinal Data from Complex Surveys Using SUDAAN

Analyzing Longitudinal Data from Complex Surveys Using SUDAAN Aalyzig Logitudial Data from Complex Surveys Usig SUDAAN Darryl Creel Statistics ad Epidemiology, RTI Iteratioal, 312 Trotter Farm Drive, Rockville, MD, 20850 Abstract SUDAAN: Software for the Statistical

More information

7818 Interval estimation and hypothesis testing - Set

7818 Interval estimation and hypothesis testing - Set 7 7818 Iterval estimatio ad hypothesis testig - Set revised Nov 9, 010 You might wat to read some of the chapter i MGB o Parametric Iterval Estimatio. There are subtle di ereces across questios. uderstad

More information

x : X bar Mean (i.e. Average) of a sample

x : X bar Mean (i.e. Average) of a sample A quick referece for symbols ad formulas covered i COGS14: MEAN OF SAMPLE: x = x i x : X bar Mea (i.e. Average) of a sample x i : X sub i This stads for each idividual value you have i your sample. For

More information

, a Wishart distribution with n -1 degrees of freedom and scale matrix.

, a Wishart distribution with n -1 degrees of freedom and scale matrix. UMEÅ UNIVERSITET Matematisk-statistiska istitutioe Multivariat dataaalys D MSTD79 PA TENTAMEN 004-0-9 LÖSNINGSFÖRSLAG TILL TENTAMEN I MATEMATISK STATISTIK Multivariat dataaalys D, 5 poäg.. Assume that

More information

Multi-server Optimal Bandwidth Monitoring for QoS based Multimedia Delivery Anup Basu, Irene Cheng and Yinzhe Yu

Multi-server Optimal Bandwidth Monitoring for QoS based Multimedia Delivery Anup Basu, Irene Cheng and Yinzhe Yu Multi-server Optimal Badwidth Moitorig for QoS based Multimedia Delivery Aup Basu, Iree Cheg ad Yizhe Yu Departmet of Computig Sciece U. of Alberta Architecture Applicatio Layer Request receptio -coectio

More information

Approximating the Sum of a Convergent Series

Approximating the Sum of a Convergent Series Approximatig the Sum of a Coverget Series Larry Riddle Ages Scott College Decatur, GA 30030 lriddle@agesscott.edu The BC Calculus Course Descriptio metios how techology ca be used to explore covergece

More information

Laboratory: Case-Control Studies. Hypothesis Testing

Laboratory: Case-Control Studies. Hypothesis Testing Laboratory: Case-Cotrol Studies How may do I eed? is oe of the most commo questios addressed to a epidemiologist. The epidemiologist aswers with What questio are you attemptig to aswer? Sample size depeds

More information

Predictive Modeling Data. in the ACT Electronic Student Record

Predictive Modeling Data. in the ACT Electronic Student Record Predictive Modelig Data i the ACT Electroic Studet Record overview Predictive Modelig Data Added to the ACT Electroic Studet Record With the release of studet records i September 2012, predictive modelig

More information

SAMPLING NTI Bulletin 2006,42/3&4, 55-62

SAMPLING NTI Bulletin 2006,42/3&4, 55-62 SAMPLING NTI Bulleti 006,4/3&4, 55-6 Sample size determiatio i health studies VK Chadha * Summary Oe of the most importat factors to cosider i the desig of a itervetio trial is the choice of a appropriate

More information

Estimating the Mean and Variance of a Normal Distribution

Estimating the Mean and Variance of a Normal Distribution Estimatig the Mea ad Variace of a Normal Distributio Learig Objectives After completig this module, the studet will be able to eplai the value of repeatig eperimets eplai the role of the law of large umbers

More information