1 Case Study: Alex Charter School Gordon Johnson, California State University, Northridge, USA Raj Kiani, California State University, Northridge, USA ABSTRACT This case discusses issues associated with charter schools. Topics include accounting, statistics, and economics. The focus is on profit planning and budgeting. Students will prepare an income statement, determine a break-even point for enrollment, contribution margin, elasticity of demand to assist in decision-making about tuition, averages, and a regression equation to estimate test scores, given class size. Finally, strategic thinking is required to write a conclusion. INTRODUCTION B ill Jensen was very unhappy with the quality of education his children received in public schools, so he started a private charter high school. In order to achieve his mission, he decided to become the principal of the Alex Charter School so he can reach his vision which will be one of the best private charter schools in the next five years. Bill Jensen is aware that by filling his vision, he can achieve his mission. As a school principal, he must make critical decisions following long-term strategic planning for each case as what to do, why to do it, and how to do it? As result of his effort, The Chamber of Commerce passed a resolution in support of the private school. He signed a lease for $3,500 per month rent and hired 13 teachers who he thought were the best in the public schools. Each teacher earns $60,000 per year. In addition, he hired three other employees, each earning $30,000 per year. Each student paid $4,000 per year tuition. Furthermore, additional cost for school activities is $1,000 per student. To maximize learning, class size is limited to 15. To balance the budget, Bill had a fundraising program (organized by volunteers), including car washes and yard sales. Direct appeals to parents and homeowner associations were also part of the program. In 2009, he raised $100,000. The main objective of the case is to maintain its quality of education. In order to achieve this, the Alex Charter School has to have financial stability. To achieve this objective, Bill Jensen should apply profit planning or budgeting techniques to determine the relationship between revenues and related expenses and also a break-even point required to manage the school in an efficient manner. Furthermore, the manager can project the budgeted income statement and statement of cash flow for the next 12 months using a profit planning concept and making sure that they are financially sound. TOP 10 CONCEPTS Financial Accounting: 1(a), 2 Managerial Accounting: 1(b &c),3,4,7 Statistics: 1,4 Microeconomics: 5 REQUIREMENTS In this case, financial, statistical, and economic information are relevant and critical for the decision maker. Therefore, the following related questions are designed to provide relevant information about the case for the principal regarding school activities in 2009 and to help the principal project financial statements for the following year. 53
2 1. Define : a. Total revenue(sales) for 2009 b. Total costs for 2009, break down the total costs into fixed and variable, and explain the fixed and variable costs behavior anyway. Then develop a cost equation model: Y=a +b(x) where Y=Total annual costs, X = Total activity driver(number of students), a= Total annual fixed costs, and b= slope of the line(variable cost per student) c. Contribution margin per student 2. Prepare an income statement for What is the break-even point (number of students) without fundraising? 4. Research into similar private schools showed: Tuition Enrollment $3, $3, $4, $4, $5, Find the elasticity of demand. Is demand elastic? 5. A sample of contributions in dollars is: 100, 10, 20,1000, 50, 25, 10, 20 a. What is the mean? b. What is the median? 6. A sample of private schools showed: Class size Test score a. Use Excel Data Analysis to obtain a regression equation to estimate test scores, given class size. b. Interpret the slope (regression coefficient) for this problem. c. Estimate the test score if class size is 13. d. Find coefficient of determination. e. Interpret coefficient of determination for this problem. f. Interpret the p-value for the regression coefficient. At the 5% significance level, can you reject the hypothesis that there is no relationship between class size and test score? 7. Apply strategic thinking to this case. Include recommendations for raising tuition, increasing class size, and shifting focus of fundraising to a small number of large donors. Learning Objectives of Accounting Subjects Related to Alex Charter School Case The accounting subjects related to this case are: 1. Cost behavior analysis 2. Cost Volume Profit (CVP) or Break-even analysis 3. Income statement determination 54
3 Following is a brief explanation for each subject. COST BEHAVIOR ANALYSIS Knowledge of cost behavior allows a manager to assess changes in costs that result from changes in business activity output. This allows a manager to examine the effects of choices that change activity. For example, if excess capacity exists, bids that at least cover variable costs may be totally appropriate. Knowing what costs are variable and what costs are fixed can help a manager make better bids and, ultimately, better business decisions. Cost behavior is the way a cost changes in relation to changes in activity output. Generally, in terms of cost behavior, costs are frequently classified into fixed and variable for managerial decision-making purposes. Fixed cost is a cost that does not change in total as output changes (i.e. total fixed cost remains constant, even if output changes); however, fixed cost decreases per unit as the output level rises and increases per unit as the activity output level falls. Variable cost increases in total with an increase in output and decreases in total with a decrease in activity output; however, variable cost per unit remains constant per unit. So, total costs = total fixed costs + total variable costs, which can be explained as Total costs = (total fixed costs) + (Variable rate) *(amount of activity output), or Y= a + b X where Y= Total costs, a= total fixed costs, b = Variable rate, and X= amount of activity output. Break-Even (CVP) Analysis Cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis estimates how changes in costs (both fixed and variable), sales volume, and price affect a company s profit. CVP analysis allows managers to focus on selling prices, volume, costs, profits, and sales mix. Many different what-if questions can be asked to assess the effect of changes in key variables on profits. The units sold approach defines sales volume in terms of units of product and gives answers in these same terms. The unit contribution margin is needed to solve for the break-even units. The sales revenue approach defines sales volume in terms of revenues and provides answers in these same terms. The overall contribution margin ratio can be used to solve for the break-even sales dollars. At the break-even point, all fixed costs are covered. Above the break-even point, only variable costs need to be covered. Thus, contribution margin per unit is profit per unit, provided that the unit selling price is greater than the unit variable cost (which it must be for break-even to be achieved). Contribution margin = Sales minus total variable cost, which is the amount available to cover fixed expenses and provide for a profit. Following is a summary of important equations: 1. Sales revenue= Price per unit X Units sold 2. Net operating income= Sales revenue - total variable cost- total fixed cost 3. Contribution margin per unit = Price per unit - Variable cost per unit 4. Break even point in units = (Total fixed costs)/(contribution margin per unit) 5. Break-even point in Sales dollars= (Break-even point in units)*(price per unit) 55
4 How to prepare Income Statement Generally, for decision-making and control purposes, management prefers to use a variable costing income statement, which is known as a contribution margin income statement. The format is as follows: Sales revenue Less: Total variable costs Contribution Margin Less: Total fixed costs Net Operating Income (loss) $xxx (xxx) $xxx (xxx) $xxx ======== The answers to accounting and statistics questions related to Alex Charter School are: A. Revenue for 2009 generated from students tuitions = ($4,000 tuition per year per student)*(x =195) =$780,000 where X = number of students = (13 classes)*(15 students per class) =195 Additional revenue generated by donations =$100,000 Therefore, Total revenue=sales= $780,000+$100,000= $880,000. B. Total costs for 2009= total fixed costs + total variable costs Y = a + bx =$912,000+ ($1,000) (195) =$912, ,000=1,107,000 where Total fixed costs for 2009= a = (annual rent expenses +annual salaries for 13 teachers + annual salaries for 3 employees) = ($3,500 *12) +(13*$60,000)+ (3*$30,000) = $42,000+$780,000+$90,000=$912,000 Total variable costs = (additional cost for school activities pre student)*(# of Students) = Bx = ($1,000)*(195 students) =$195,000 Variable Costs Generally, in terms of behavior, costs are frequently divided into two categories - variable and fixed. Variable cost behavior can be summarized as follows: Total variable cost increases and decreases in proportion to changes in activity; however, variable cost per unit remains constant per unit. Fixed Costs Fixed cost behavior can be summarized as follows: Total fixed cost is not affected by changes in activity (i.e., total fixed cost remains constant, even if activity changes); however, fixed cost decreases per unit as the activity level rises and increases per unit as the activity level falls. C. Contribution Margin = Revenue (sales) Total variable costs 56
5 The Contribution Margin Income Statement 57 Percentage Sales revenue $xxx $ 880, % Less: Total variable costs (xxx) (195,000) ( 22) Total contribution margin $xxx $685, % Less: Total fixed costs (xxx) ( 912,000) (104) Net operating income (loss) $xxx ($227,000) (26 %) ==== ======== ===== Generally, the decision maker prefers to use the Contribution Margin Income Statement for managerial decision-making rather than the traditional income statement format used for external financial reporting. D. Break-even point = (total fixed costs)/(contribution margin per unit) $912, = 304 students ($4,000-1,000) Contribution margin per student = ($4,000 tuition per student - $1,000 additional cost for school activities per student) =$3,000. At the break-even point, always revenue (sales) = total costs; that is, business does not make or lose money. RECOMMENDATIONS In case of the Alex Charter School, in order to maintain a break-even point, they must increase the student body by 109 (304 students at break-even point 195 students as planned).to achieve this goal, they must increase the class size to 23 students per teacher or increase the tuition to $5,677 and maintain the same class size; that is, 15 students per teacher. Both options will balance the budget and it will be at the break-even point. Following are the income statements using either option: The Contribution Margin Income Statement Option (1) 304Students Option (2) $5,677 Tuition Sales revenue 304*4,000 $1,216, *5,677 $1,107,000 Less: Total variable costs $1,000*304 (304,000) 195*1,000 (195,000) Total contribution margin $ 912,000 $912, 000 Less: Total fixed costs (912,000) (912,000) Net operating income (loss) $ 0.00 $ 0.00 ======== ======== Q3: Elasticity Price Quantity Elasticity /.15 = /.13 = /.12 = /.105 = 3.33
6 Demand is elastic, so an increase in tuition may NOT increase total revenue. Q4: Descriptive Statistics Mean = 1235/8 = $ 154 Median = mid point of 20 and 25 = $22.50 The large donor pushes the man up to $154, but the typical contributor, less than $30; mean much larger than median. Q5: Regression and Correlation 1. y = x, x = class size and y = test score 2. For each additional student in class, the test score decreases by almost one point. 3. Y = (13) = Coefficient of determination = % of total variation in test score can be explained by variation in class size 6. Since the p-value for the regression coefficient is.0675 >.05, there is more than a 5% probability that you would get a slope at least this large if there were no true relationship between class size and test score. You cannot reject the hypothesis that the population parameter slope is zero. Q6: Strategy 1. Raising tuition is unlikely to increase profits. 2. Increasing class size will lower test scores. 3. Focus on wealthy contributors. CONCLUSIONS FOR ALEX CHARTER SCHOOL The main objective of Alex Charter School is to provide and prepare students with a high quality of education. To achieve this objective, the School must balance its budget. The school is not currently profitable. Therefore, the decision makers for the School would need to increase the number of students more than 50%, which implies larger class sizes. However test scores will decrease if class size increases. Raising tuition will decrease total revenue due to elastic demand. The best alternative is to get large donations from wealthy contributors to balance the budget and therefore, maintain its quality of education. AUTHOR INFORMATION Gordon Johnson is Professor of Systems and Operations Management at California State University, Northridge. He has a Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin in Quantitative Business Analysis, and has published in Management Science, Journal of Education for Business, Journal of the International Academy For Case Studies, and The Journal of Operations Management. He was Program Chair for the 1978 INFORMS National Meeting. Raj Kiani is Professor of Accounting at California State University, Northridge, California. He has a Ph.D. from the University of Oklahoma, Norman, Oklahoma in Accounting, and has published in Journal of Accounting Review, Journal of International Taxation, the Tax Adviser, AICPA, International Business and Economics Research Journal, Journal of Business Economics Research, The Journal of American Academy of Business, Cambridge, Review of Business Research, and Applied Business Research. 58
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis is used to determine how changes in costs and volume affect a company's operating income and net income. In performing this analysis, there
Chapter 18 Identify how changes in volume affect Total variable change in direct proportion to changes in the volume of activity Unit variable cost remains constant Units produced 3 5 Total direct materials
Chapter 18 Cost Behavior and Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis QUESTIONS 1. A variable cost is one that varies proportionately with the volume of activity. For example, direct materials and direct labor (when
Study Unit 8 CVP Analysis and Marginal Analysis SU- 8.1 Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis - Theory CVP = Break-even analysis Allows us to analyze the relationship between revenue and fixed and variable
Chapter 6 Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Solutions to Questions 6-1 The contribution margin (CM) ratio is the ratio of the total contribution margin to total sales revenue. It can be used in a variety
Chapter 6 Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships 6-2 LEARNING OBJECTIVES After studying this chapter, you should be able to: 1. Explain how changes in activity affect contribution margin. 2. Compute the contribution
Accounting Building Business Skills Paul D. Kimmel Chapter Fourteen: Cost-volume-profit Relationships PowerPoint presentation by Kate Wynn-Williams University of Otago, Dunedin 2003 John Wiley & Sons Australia,
CHAPTER II LITE RATURE STUDY 2.1. Cost Terminology Based on Charles T.Horngren (2009: 53), cost is a resource sacrificed or forgone to achieve a specific objective. A cost is usually measured as the monetary
MANAGERIAL ACCOUNTING 7e Al L. Hartgraves Wayne J. Morse Learning Objective 1 CHAPTER 3 Cost Volume Profit Analysis and Planning Identify the uses and limitations of traditional cost volume profit analysis.
Complete Business Math for Accountants Part 1: Evaluating the Cost of Bank Loans, Business Loans, Trade Credit, and Other Financing 1. Compute the cost of credit using different methods. 2. Calculate due
Summary Chapter Five Cost Volume Relations & Break Even Analysis 1. Introduction : The main aim of an undertaking is to earn profit. The cost volume profit (CVP) analysis helps management in finding out
Chapter 6-1 Chapter 6 Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships McGraw-Hill /Irwin The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2007 Basics of Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Contribution Margin (CM) is the amount remaining from
I. Learning Objectives In this chapter students will learn: A. The significance of resource pricing. B. How the marginal revenue productivity of a resource relates to a firm s demand for that resource.
Part Five Cost Volume Profit Analysis COST VOLUME PROFIT ANALYSIS Study of the effects of changes of costs and volume on a company s profits A critical factor in management decisions Important in profit
Assumptions of CVP Analysis Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Expenses can be classified as either variable or fixed. CVP relationships are linear over a wide range of production and sales. Sales prices, unit
Financial Analysis, Modeling, and Forecasting Techniques Course #5710B/QAS5710B Course Material TECHNIQUES OF FINANCIAL ANALYSIS, MODELING, AND FORECASTING Delta Publishing Company Copyright 2011 by DELTA
1. Introduction The cost volume profit (CVP) analysis helps management in finding out the relationship of costs and revenues to profit. Cost depends on various factors like Volume of production Product
SOLUTIONS TO EXERCISES EXERCISE 3-1 (20 minutes) 1. Fixed costs B E point in units = Contribution margin per unit $180,000 $180,000 = = = 7,500 units $40 - $16 $24 B E point in sales dollars = Fixed costs
CHAPTER 3 COST-VOLUME-PROFIT ANALYSIS NOTATION USED IN CHAPTER 3 SOLUTIONS SP: Selling price VCU: Variable cost per unit CMU: Contribution margin per unit FC: Fixed costs TOI: Target operating income 3-1
TM 5-1 COST-VOLUME-PROFIT RELATIONSHIPS Cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis is concerned with the effects on net operating income of: Selling prices. Sales volume. Unit variable costs. Total fixed costs.
Chapter 25 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Questions 1. Cost-volume-profit analysis is used to accomplish the first step in the planning phase for a business, which involves predicting the volume of activity,
MBA 640 Survey of Microeconomics Fall 2006, Quiz 6 Name MULTIPLE CHOICE. Choose the one alternative that best completes the statement or answers the question. 1) A monopoly is best defined as a firm that
COST & BREAKEVEN ANALYSIS http://www.tutorialspoint.com/managerial_economics/cost_and_breakeven_analysis.htm Copyright tutorialspoint.com In managerial economics another area which is of great importance
MANAGEMENT ACCOUNTING Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Zofia Krokosz-Krynke, Ph.D., MBA email@example.com Wroclaw University of Technology, Building B4 Room 521 http://www.ioz.pwr.edu.pl/pracownicy/krokosz/
Answers for Weekly Challenge 2 Challenge 1 (i) The key to calculating the breakeven point is to determine the contribution per unit. Contribution point = $120 ($22 + $36 + $14) = $48 Fixed overhead Breakeven
Chapter 3: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis and Planning Agenda Direct Materials, Direct Labor, and Overhead Traditional vs. Contribution Margin Income Statements Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis Profit Planning
Applying the Lessons to Practice Jayaraman Vijayakumar Associate Professor of Accounting Virginia Commonwealth University and Benson Wier Associate Professor of Accounting Virginia Commonwealth University
Slide 1.3.1 1. Accounting for decision making 1.3 Cost-volume volume-profit relationships Slide 1.3.2 Introduction This chapter examines one of the most basic planning tools available to managers: cost
Microeconomics Instructor Miller Practice Problems Labor Market 1. What is a factor market? A) It is a market where financial instruments are traded. B) It is a market where stocks and bonds are traded.
Accounting 610 2C Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Page 1 I. OVERVIEW A. The managerial accountant uses analytical tools to advise line managers in decision making functions. C-V-P (CVP) analysis provides
Profit maximization and Cost minimization are fundamental concepts in Business and Economic Theory. This handout is formatted to explain the process of understanding, creating, and interpreting cost-revenue-profit
GCSE Business Studies Ratios For first teaching from September 2009 For first award in Summer 2011 Ratios At the end of this unit students should be able to: Interpret and analyse final accounts and balance
Financial Analysis, Modeling, and Forecasting Techniques Course #5710A/QAS-5710A Course Material Financial Analysis, Modeling, and Forecasting Techniques (Course #5710A/QAS-5710A) Table of Contents PART
Goldwasser AP Microeconomics Chapter 13 Perfect Competition and the Supply Curve BEFORE YOU READ THE CHAPTER Summary This chapter develops the model of perfect competition and then uses this model to discuss
Rutgers University Economics 102: Introductory Microeconomics Professor Altshuler Fall 2003 Answers to Problem Set 10 Chapter 15 1. The following table shows revenue, costs, and profits, where quantities
Microeconomics Instructor Miller Practice Problems Monopolistic Competition 1. A monopolistically competitive market is described as one in which there are A) a few firms producing an identical product.
Prepare, Apply, and Confirm etext Features Keep students engaged in learning on their own time, while helping them achieve greater conceptual understanding of course material through author-created solutions
15 COST-VOLUME-PROFIT ANALYSIS: A MANAGERIAL PLANNING TOOL DISCUSSION QUESTIONS 1. CVP analysis allows managers to focus on selling prices, volume, costs, profits, and sales mix. Many different what-if
6-1 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis: Additional Issues 6-2 Managerial Accounting Fifth Edition Weygandt Kimmel Kieso study objectives 1. Describe the essential features of a cost-volume-profit income statement.
FINANCIAL INTRODUCTION In earlier sections you calculated your cost of goods sold, overhead expenses and capital cost in order to help you determine the sales price of your product. In your business plan,
Yes, Accounting can be Fun! Joe Bittner, CPA Director, Education & Professional Development EisnerAmper LLP 2013 NBEA Annual Conference Thursday, April 18, 2013 Joe s Bio 1. Director, Education & Professional
How to Forecast Your Revenue and Sales A Step by Step Guide to Revenue and Sales Forecasting in a Small Business By BizMove Management Training Institute Other free books by BizMove that may interest you:
Managerial Economics 1 is the application of Economic theory to managerial practice. 1. Economic Management 2. Managerial Economics 3. Economic Practice 4. Managerial Theory 2 Managerial Economics relates
Chapter 5 Estimating Demand Functions 1 Why do you need statistics and regression analysis? Ability to read market research papers Analyze your own data in a simple way Assist you in pricing and marketing
C 6 - ACRONYMS notesc6.doc Instructor s Supplemental Information ACRONYMS (ABBREVIATIONS) FOR USE WITH MANAGERIAL ACCOUNTING RELATING TO COST-VOLUME-PROFIT ANALYSIS. CM Contribution Margin in total dollars
12 CHAPTER Managerial Accounting and Cost-Volume-Profit When asked by a marketing or production manager what a certain item or activity costs, the management accountant who asks Why do you want to know?
Purpose Management Accounting Fundamentals [MA1] Examination Blueprint 2014 2015 The Management Accounting Fundamentals [MA1] examination has been constructed using an examination blueprint. The blueprint,
385 356 PART FOUR Capital Budgeting a large number of NPV estimates that we summarize by calculating the average value and some measure of how spread out the different possibilities are. For example, it
(Refer Slide Time: 00:39) Managerial Economics Prof. Trupti Mishra S.J.M. School of Management Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay Lecture - 3 Introduction to Managerial Economics (Contd ) So, welcome
AP MICROECONOMICS 2015 SCORING GUIDELINES Question 1 10 points (1+5+1+3) (a) 1 point: One point is earned for stating that the firm s price is equal to the market price because the firm is a price taker.
Accounting & Financial Management Course Outline Author: John Parkinson Ph.D., Professor of Accounting Course Description Financial and management accounting knowledge is necessary to enable a Human Resource
A Primer on Forecasting Business Performance There are two common approaches to forecasting: qualitative and quantitative. Qualitative forecasting methods are important when historical data is not available.
1. Austin Manufacturing had the following operating data for the year just ended. Selling price per unit $60 per unit Variable expense per unit $22 per unit Fixed expense $504,000 Management plans to improve
PRINCIPLES OF MANAGERIAL ACCOUNTING COURSE DESCRIPTION: Prerequisites: ACC 120 Corequisites: None This course includes a greater emphasis on managerial and cost accounting skills. Emphasis is on managerial
Part Three Cost Behavior Analysis Cost Behavior Cost behavior is the manner in which a cost changes as some related activity changes An understanding of cost behavior is necessary to plan and control costs
COST DATA FOR SHORT-RUN TACTICAL DECISION MAKING To decide on the acceptance or rejection of a special order from a supplier, marginal costing and contribution analysis should be applied. The company may
19 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Learning Objectives 1 Identify how changes in volume affect costs 2 Use CVP analysis to compute breakeven points 3 Use CVP analysis for profit planning, and graph the CVP
EQUATIONS YOU MAY NEED FOR THIS EXAM Depreciation = (Purchase price - salvage value) / years of useful life Average Value or Average Value of Investment = (Purchase price + salvage value) / 2 Slope = change
5-1 Cost-Volume-Profit Managerial Accounting Fifth Edition Weygandt Kimmel Kieso 5-2 study objectives 1. Distinguish between variable and fixed costs. 2. Explain the significance of the relevant range.
BREAK-EVEN ANALYSIS In your business planning, have you asked questions like these? How much do I have to sell to reach my profit goal? How will a change in my fixed costs affect net income? How much do
MULTIPLE CHOICE. Choose the one alternative that best completes the statement or answers the question. 1) Firms that survive in the long run are usually those that A) remain small. B) strive for the largest
Page 1 of 28 Module 4: Cost behaviour and cost-volume-profit analysis Required reading Chapter 5, pages 187-213 Chapter 6, pages 230-253 Appendix 6A, pages 256-258 Overview The way in which a cost responds
Chapter 22 Helena Company reports the following total costs at two levels of production. 10,000 Units 20,000 Units Direct materials $20,000 $40,000 Maintenance 8,000 10,000 Direct labor 17,000 34,000 Indirect
Management Accounting 303 Segmental Profitability Analysis and Evaluation Unless a business is a not-for-profit business, all businesses have as a primary goal the earning of profit. In the long run, sustained
Management Level Paper P2 Performance Management March 2014 examination Examiner s Answers Note: Some of the answers that follow are fuller and more comprehensive than would be expected from a well-prepared
HOSP 2110 (Management Acct) Learning Centre Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis The basic principles of CVP analysis were covered in business math. CVP analysis can be done both graphically, through plotting the
Principles of Managerial Accounting ACC-102-TE This TECEP tests the material usually taught in a one-semester course in managerial accounting. It focuses on the information that managers need to make decisions
Economics 100 Quiz 1 Fall 2000 1. The fundamental economic problem faced by all societies is: a. unemployment c. poverty b. inequality d. scarcity 2. "Capitalism" refers to: a. the use of markets c. private
NATIONAL UNIVERSITY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY FACULTY OF COMMERCE GRADUATE SCHOOL OF BUSINESS GENERAL MASTER OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION MANAGERIAL ACCOUNTING [GMB 5162] FINAL EXAMINATION: DECEMBER 2013
Ray H. Garrison, Eric W. Noreen, Peter C. Brewer Managerial accounting Chapter One Managerial Accounting: An Overview 1 Chapter Two Managerial Accounting and Cost Concepts 24 Chapter Three Job-Order Costing
BAFS Elective Part Accounting Module Cost Accounting : Cost Accounting for Decision Making Application of Costing Concepts and Techniques in Decision Making Technology Education Section Curriculum Development
Lesson Topics Profit Maximization (3) through choosing each input into production balances the value of the marginal product of each input with the marginal cost of each input. Cost Minimization (7) balances
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Cost-Volume-Profit Assumptions and Terminology 1 Changes in the level of revenues and costs arise only because of changes in the number of product (or service) units produced
An Statement Teaching Approach for Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis by Using a Company s CVP Model Freddie Choo San Francisco State University Kim B. Tan California State University Stanislaus This paper
Section 1.5 Linear Models Some real-life problems can be modeled using linear equations. Now that we know how to find the slope of a line, the equation of a line, and the point of intersection of two lines,
Chapter 12 monopoly 1. A monopoly firm is different from a competitive firm in that A) there are many substitutes for a monopolist's product but there are no substitutes for a competitive firm's product.
The Effect of Using Break-Even-Point in Planning, Controlling, and Decision Making in the Industrial Jordanian Companies Dr. Nabil Alnasser 1, Dr. Osama Samih Shaban 2, Dr. Ziad Al-Zubi 3 1,2, 3 Al-Zaytoonah
Creating a Successful Financial Plan Basic Financial Reports Balance Sheet - Estimates the firm s worth on a given date; built on the accounting equation: Assets = Liabilities + Owner s Equity Income Statement