COMMENTS, COMPLAINTS AND COMPLIMENTS POLICY

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "COMMENTS, COMPLAINTS AND COMPLIMENTS POLICY"

Transcription

1 COMMENTS, COMPLAINTS AND COMPLIMENTS POLICY DOCUMENT STATUS SCOPE Unclassified This policy sets out Genesis Housing Association's approach to managing complaints from customers. This policy does not cover complaints from landlords who own properties we manage, such as private landlords whose properties are leased for the purposes of providing temporary housing, or from other businesses we contract with. VERSION NUMBER 2.0 REASON FOR REVIEW APPROVED BY Genesis Way Programme review CSG APPROVAL DATE 4 December 2012 EFFECTIVE FROM 10 June 2013 ACCOUNTABLE DIRECTOR POLICY OWNER POLICY AUTHOR Laurice Ponting, Executive Director of Communities John Pender, Head of Customer Engagement Laura Smith DATE OF NEXT REVIEW 10 June 2016 STAFF CONSULTATION Complaints review consultation undertaken with: Complaints Property Services Housing Management Voids and Allocations Temporary Housing Care and Support Contact Centre Contracts Page 1 of 10

2 RESIDENT CONSULTATION EQUALITY IMPACT ASSESSMENT (EIA) Customer Accounts (including leasehold) Sales Development Genesis Community Complaints review consultation undertaken with: Complainants Regional Committee members COMPLETION DATE December 2012 TYPE OF EIA UNDERTAKEN Initial Page 2 of 10

3 1 INTRODUCTION We welcome feedback on our services, whether positive or negative. Effective handling of complaints increases resident confidence and satisfaction and can provide valuable insights into what we do well and where we need to improve. Good complaint handling comes from good customer relationship management. Genesis believes that in order to resolve the complaints of our customers we must understand their needs through actively listening to the individual. Objectives Genesis Housing Association aims to: encourage feedback, both positive and negative resolve complaints to the resident s satisfaction, quickly and sensitively resolve complaints at the first point of contact, wherever possible use comments, complaints and compliments to help us improve our services and reduce the level of complaints in future. 2 DEFINITIONS Comment A comment is positive or negative feedback about our service, which does not require a response. Complaint A complaint is any expression of dissatisfaction, in any form, with our services, whether justified or not, which requires a response. Compliment A compliment is an unsolicited expression of gratitude or praise for a member of staff or service area. Formal complaint Either a complaint that cannot be resolved quickly at point of contact, or one where the customer has requested a formal, written response. Page 3 of 10

4 Informal complaint A complaint that can be resolved quickly at first point of contact, which means a written response is unnecessary. Service request A request for a service, such as a repair or the logging of an ASB incident, which has not been made to Genesis previously. 3 MAKING A COMMENT Anyone can make a comment to Genesis. All comments will be recorded and be investigated, and we will take action as required. Comments on areas of strength or weakness are used to continuously improve our service. Comments should be sent to 4 GIVING A COMPLIMENT Anyone who has a relationship with Genesis can compliment a member of staff, a team or the organisation as a whole. Compliments are passed on to staff and their line manager, and are used to identify areas of good practice we can learn from. Compliments should be sent to 5 MAKING A COMPLAINT Anyone who receives a service from us can make a complaint. This includes: residents, or prospective residents, of properties owned or managed by Genesis customers in receipt of services such as floating support, domiciliary care or community development work from Genesis residents neighbouring Genesis properties or development sites. MPs, Councillors and other advocates Residents may also complain through a third party such as an MP or Councillor, the Citizen s Advice bureau or other advocate. Where the third party is not an MP, Councillor or a person with power of attorney, we will require the written permission of the resident to correspond with their advocate. We will correspond with the advocate and copy the resident in on any communications. Enquiries from MPs and Councillors about operational matters should be logged and tracked as general enquiries. How to complain Residents who wish to complain about our service should contact the contact centre, a Genesis reception or, in the case of those in Care and Support, a member of the team at that scheme. Complaints can be made on our website or Page 4 of 10

5 by , letter, phone, fax or in person. The address is Support We accept complaints in any language. If a customer needs help to put their complaint in writing, or needs an interpreter to help them make a verbal complaint, we will make the necessary arrangements for this on request. Properties managed by agents If a complaint relates to an agency providing a service on behalf of Genesis Housing Association, the customer must finish the agency s complaints procedure before making a complaint to us. Time limits Complaints must be made within six months of the matter occurring, unless it has only recently become known or concerns an on-going delay. We may accept older complaints at the discretion of the manager responsible for the service. Complaints received by executive or board members Where a member of the Genesis Executive or the Board receives a complaint, they will pass it on to the Contact Centre to be processed in accordance with our procedure. Responding officers should send a copy of the final response at any stage to the relevant member of the executive or board. Exclusions If the issue is not a complaint within the definition of this policy, we will deal with it through the relevant alternative procedure. This includes: a first request for service, information or an explanation of our policies and procedures neighbour disputes or anti-social behaviour, unless the complaint refers to our failure to deal with the disagreement appropriately issues regarding hate crime or domestic violence a claim being dealt with by our insurers issues where a resident has commenced legal action against us a dispute against the amount of rent or service charge being charged appeals against policy decisions. How we will deal with complaints We will deal with complaints impartially, objectively and professionally. Making a complaint will not result in any adverse consequence such as removing a service. We will take ownership, apologise where we have made a mistake and aim to resolve the complaint to the customer s satisfaction. Page 5 of 10

6 Initial contact Customers may make a complaint to anyone in the organisation. We will try to deal with the issue right away at first point of contact. If the member of staff receiving the complaint cannot resolve it within our standard enquiry timescale of three days, the complaint will be formally logged and referred to the relevant service. Investigation When we log a formal complaint, we will acknowledge it within 24 hours, and refer it to the relevant member of staff. They will contact the customer within two working days to establish what they need for resolution and to agree a timescale. We will check whether they need any kind of support, and we will explain the procedure. It is expected that most complaints can be resolved within 10 working days, but there may be times when it is necessary to agree a longer timescale. All formal complaints must receive a written response within 28 days outlining any future action to be taken if resolution within that timescale is not possible. If the timescale we agree needs to be changed for any reason, we will consult the customer. We will provide a full written response in plain English. It will contain a summary of the complaint, our response including any action we are taking, an apology if appropriate, and details of how to appeal against our decision. Appeal If the customer believes we have not provided them with an adequate response, or they believe that our response is wrong, they can appeal. On receipt of an appeal, we will contact them to establish the reasons. If we cannot easily resolve any outstanding actions, the appeal will be referred to an Investigations Officer. After we establish the reason, the Investigations Officer will either: Refer the complaint back to the service with a request to reconsider all or specific parts of the complaint Investigate the matter and review the original decision Advise that no further action will be taken, if they decide that the complaint has been dealt with fairly, and in accordance with our policies and procedures at the formal stage. If the decision is taken to refer or to investigate, the person responsible for the appeal response will contact the customer to agree timescales. We will provide a full written response in plain English. It will contain a summary of the appeal, our response, an apology if appropriate, and confirmation that they have now completed our complaints process. The timescales for appeals are as follows: Page 6 of 10

7 Type of appeal Referral back to service Independent investigation No further action Timescale 10 working days 28 days 5 working days The Investigations Officer will decide which of these options to pursue. This decision will be based on the suitability of the route according to the information available to them and not on the preference of the customer. It may occasionally be necessary for a member of staff who is not an Investigations Officer to conduct the independent investigation, for example where the appeal is with regard to how an Investigations Officer handled an initial complaint. In these circumstances a deputy director, head of service or member of the executive will carry out the investigation. Compensation Compensation, where appropriate, can be paid at any stage in the complaints process. All compensation payments should be made in line with our Compensation policy and authorised by someone with the relevant budgetary authority. Complaints about a member of staff If a complaint is made about the conduct of a member of staff, the individual(s) will not be asked to investigate. Their line manager will investigate and will keep the individual member of staff informed in line with our policies on staff conduct. Details of individual performance management action plans will not be discussed with residents. Suspected abuse If something leads the person managing the complaint to suspect that abuse is taking place, they should refer to our Safeguarding policies and procedures. Vexatious or abusive complaints Complaints must be made in a reasonable manner. We will not accept the complaint where the behaviour of the customer has become unreasonable for example, if they are being threatening or abusive in any way. Where a resident makes repeated complaints about the same issue, with little or no new information, we will treat the subsequent complaints as follows. If the customer has not exhausted our internal complaints process, we will escalate their complaint to the next stage. Where we consider the original complaint to have exhausted our complaints process, they may apply to the ombudsman. If they continue to send correspondence regarding the complaint once we advise the matter is closed, we will advise once more that we will not enter into the matter further without significant new information. Any further Page 7 of 10

8 correspondence should be logged against the customer, but the responding officer should not send a response. Anonymous complaints If we receive an anonymous complaint, this may highlight a problem with the way residents perceive a service, or it might raise a whistle-blowing issue that needs to be followed up. We will therefore record, investigate and monitor anonymous complaints in the same way that we treat comments. Page 8 of 10

9 Media involvement If the complainant refers to a media story, the responding officer must refer to the Press and PR team for advice in line with our media handling protocol. Alternative dispute resolution Where a complaint has not been resolved at the point of the customer s initial contact with us, we may consider using mediation or adjudication. Whether mediation or adjudication is used will be decided on a case-by-case basis. The customer can refuse mediation and insist that the complaint be dealt with through the formal procedure only. 6 EXTERNAL APPEALS AGAINST COMPLAINT RESPONSES Customers and applicants If a complaint has reached the final stage of our procedure and they still believe our response is incorrect or incomplete, tenants, leaseholders and applicants can request a referral to the Housing Ombudsman by a designated person. This designated person could be any MP in England, a councillor for the local authority for the property, or a tenant panel recognised by Genesis. Alternatively, if the complainant waits 8 weeks, they can contact the ombudsman directly. They can be contacted at: Housing Ombudsman Service, 81, Aldwych London WC2B 4HN Tel: We will follow any recommendations made by the Housing Ombudsman. Any actions recommended by the designated person will be passed to the relevant head of service for consideration. Local authorities/care commission Customers in temporary housing can also complain to their local authority. Customerss in receipt of services such as floating support or domiciliary care can refer their complaint to: the relevant local authority supporting people team for complaints about a support service; or the Care Quality Commission for complaints about registered care services. Charity commission Customers receiving services from our charitable foundation, Genesis Community, can refer their complaint to the Charity Commission. Page 9 of 10

10 7 MONITORING AND LEARNING FROM COMMENTS, COMPLIMENTS AND COMPLAINTS Gathering feedback from our customers on their experience of our services is important. We use this feedback to improve the service we provide. We will keep and analyse all complaints, compliments and comments we receive and will monitor timescales for responding to them. We will use diversity analysis to understand the nature of our complaints. We will provide regular reports on the quantity of comments, compliments and complaints submitted, and on the lessons we have learned from them. We will report this information to senior management teams, the Board and to customers. 8 TRAINING All staff will be appropriately trained to provide high quality, customer-focused services. Staff who handle complaints will be trained to manage them effectively. 9 PUBLICISING OUR POLICY AND PROCEDURES Our Comments, Compliments and Complaints policy and the process for making a complaint will be publicised and easy to access. We will publicise our approach in a variety of formats, including large print, audio, Braille and other languages on request. 10 RELATED DOCUMENTS Internal Compensation policy Anti-social behaviour policy Harassment policy Safeguarding policies Domestic violence policy Code of conduct (HR) Disciplinary procedure (HR) Whistleblowing Policy (HR) Relevant operational policies and procedures, occupancy agreements and handbooks. External Housing Ombudsman: Complaints Procedures Good Practice Page 10 of 10

Tenant Services Complaints, Compliments and Feedback

Tenant Services Complaints, Compliments and Feedback Tenant Services Complaints, Compliments and Feedback Tenant Services is committed to listening and involving our tenants and leaseholders in all aspects of its housing service.»www.wokingham.gov.uk/housing/council/tenancy/tenants/tenantsfeedback/

More information

Sheffield City Council Complaints Policy

Sheffield City Council Complaints Policy Sheffield City Council Complaints Policy April 2014 Sheffield City Council Complaints Policy 1 Introduction 1.1 The purpose of Sheffield City Council s Complaints Policy is to ensure that complaints about

More information

Clydebank Housing Association Ltd. Factoring Complaints Handling Procedure

Clydebank Housing Association Ltd. Factoring Complaints Handling Procedure Clydebank Housing Association Ltd. Factoring Complaints Handling Procedure Management Committee submission: 27 November 2012 Approved: 27 November 2012 Review date: November 2015 This policy can be made

More information

Complaints Policy. Complaints Policy. Page 1

Complaints Policy. Complaints Policy. Page 1 Complaints Policy Page 1 Complaints Policy Policy ref no: CCG 006/14 Author (inc job Kat Tucker Complaints & FOI Manager title) Date Approved 25 November 2014 Approved by CCG Governing Body Date of next

More information

NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY

NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY Applies to: NHS LA employees, contractors and Non Executive Directors Date of Board Approval: May 2014 Review Date: May 2017 1 May 2014 1. Introduction The NHSLA is committed to

More information

Glasgow Life. Comments, Compliments and Complaints Policy

Glasgow Life. Comments, Compliments and Complaints Policy Glasgow Life Comments, Compliments and Complaints Policy 1. Introduction Glasgow Life is committed to delivering high quality services that enriches the lives of all of Glasgow's citizens and visitors

More information

Dumfries and Galloway Housing Partnership Dumfries and Galloway Housing Partnership Ltd Complaints Policy

Dumfries and Galloway Housing Partnership Dumfries and Galloway Housing Partnership Ltd Complaints Policy Dumfries and Galloway Housing Partnership Ltd Complaints Policy Owner: Service Improvement Manager Page 1 Background 3 Aims 3 Definition of a Complaint? 3 What can you complain about? 3 What can t I complain

More information

NHS England Complaints Policy

NHS England Complaints Policy NHS England Complaints Policy 1 2 NHS England Complaints Policy NHS England Policy and Corporate Procedures Version number: 1.1 First published: September 2014 Prepared by: Kerry Thompson, Senior Customer

More information

The University of the Highlands and Islands Complaints Handling Procedure

The University of the Highlands and Islands Complaints Handling Procedure The University of the Highlands and Islands Complaints Handling Procedure The University of the Highlands and Islands Complaints Handling Procedure Foreword Our Complaints Handling Procedure reflects

More information

Complaints, Comments & Compliments Policy

Complaints, Comments & Compliments Policy Complaints, Comments & Compliments Policy 1. INTRODUCTION We welcome our customers views and will use them to improve our services. The purpose of this policy is to provide a framework for dealing with

More information

Guidance on a Model Complaints Handling Procedure

Guidance on a Model Complaints Handling Procedure Guidance on a Model Complaints Handling Procedure Scottish Public Services Ombudsman This document is available on request in other languages and formats (such as large print or Braille). SPSO Guidance

More information

Effective complaint handling

Effective complaint handling This guide sets out key information for state sector agencies about developing and operating an effective complaints process. It also provides information about the Ombudsman s role, as an independent,

More information

Policy and Procedure for Handling and Learning from Feedback, Comments, Concerns and Complaints

Policy and Procedure for Handling and Learning from Feedback, Comments, Concerns and Complaints Policy and Procedure for Handling and Learning from Feedback, Comments, Concerns and Complaints Author: Shona Welton, Head of Patient Affairs Responsible Lead Executive Director: Endorsing Body: Governance

More information

Customer Service Standards

Customer Service Standards Our Commitment The Commitment to Quality means that customers of the Association can expect the highest levels of service across all aspects of the business. The Shire Housing Association Commitment to

More information

Complaints Policy and Procedure

Complaints Policy and Procedure Complaints Policy and Procedure REFERENCE NUMBER DraftAug2012V1MH APPROVING COMMITTEE(S) AND DATE THIS DOCUMENT REPLACES REVIEW DUE DATE March 2014 RATIFICATION DATE/DRAFT No NHS West Lancashire Clinical

More information

Customer Feedback Management Policy

Customer Feedback Management Policy Customer Feedback Management Policy Version 2.0 Table of Contents 1 Document Control... 3 1.1 Document Information... 3 1.2 Document History... 3 1.3 Scheduled amendments... 3 1.4 Document Approvals...

More information

Complaints and Compensation Policy

Complaints and Compensation Policy Complaints and Compensation Policy 1. Principles 2. Aims 3. Methods 4. Statutory and contractual rights to compensation 5. Statutory and regulatory requirements 6. Performance monitoring 7. Review 8. Date

More information

Scomis Customer Feedback Policy

Scomis Customer Feedback Policy Scomis Customer Feedback Policy Scomis recognises that customer feedback is an opportunity for us to learn and improve. We are committed to focusing on the needs of our customers and using customer feedback

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising concerns and complaints A step by step guide Raising concerns and complaints Questions to ask yourself: 1. What am I concerned or dissatisfied

More information

NHS CHOICES COMPLAINTS POLICY

NHS CHOICES COMPLAINTS POLICY NHS CHOICES COMPLAINTS POLICY 1 TABLE OF CONTENTS: INTRODUCTION... 5 DEFINITIONS... 5 Complaint... 5 Concerns and enquiries (Incidents)... 5 Unreasonable or Persistent Complainant... 5 APPLICATIONS...

More information

Principles of Good Complaint Handling

Principles of Good Complaint Handling Principles of Good Complaint Handling Principles of Good Complaint Handling Good complaint handling means: 1 Getting it right 2 Being customer focused 3 Being open and accountable 4 Acting fairly and proportionately

More information

Camden Council adult social care services

Camden Council adult social care services Camden Council adult social care services Complaints procedure Complaints and representations procedure for adult social services. 1 Contents Page Introduction 4 Principles 4 What is a Complaint? 5 Who

More information

Essex County Council Complaints, Comments and Compliments Policy

Essex County Council Complaints, Comments and Compliments Policy Essex County Council Complaints, Comments and Compliments Policy We want to hear about your experiences of our services. Complaints, compliments and feedback can help us improve the services we provide

More information

Contents. Appendices. 1. Complaints Relating to Commissioned Services Page 15

Contents. Appendices. 1. Complaints Relating to Commissioned Services Page 15 COMPLAINTS POLICY 1 Contents 1. Introduction Page 3 2. Purpose Page 3 3. Principles Page 4 4. Scope Page 4 5. Exclusions Page 5 6. Responsibilities Page 5 7. Complaints Management Process: Local Resolution

More information

It s about good service. Tips for Toronto Public Service. Complaint Handling Guide

It s about good service. Tips for Toronto Public Service. Complaint Handling Guide It s about good service Tips for Toronto Public Service Foreword This guide is intended to assist the Toronto Public Service and its Agencies, Boards and Commissions in developing and/or improving their

More information

CUMBRIA COUNTY COUNCIL COMPLIMENTS, COMMENTS AND COMPLAINTS POLICY

CUMBRIA COUNTY COUNCIL COMPLIMENTS, COMMENTS AND COMPLAINTS POLICY CUMBRIA COUNTY COUNCIL COMPLIMENTS, COMMENTS AND COMPLAINTS POLICY 1 Introduction Cumbria County Council is committed to providing high-quality services. Feedback is essential to this and we welcome all

More information

The State Hospital s Board for Scotland

The State Hospital s Board for Scotland The State Hospital s Board for Scotland PATIENT & CARER FEEDBACK Procedure for Feedback; Comments, Concerns, Compliments and Complaints (Incorporating the NHS Can I Help you Guidance) Policy Reference

More information

Birkbeck, University of London. Student Complaints Policy and Procedure

Birkbeck, University of London. Student Complaints Policy and Procedure Birkbeck, University of London Student Complaints Policy and Procedure Introduction 1. Birkbeck College is committed to giving to you the best student experience possible. However, there may be times when

More information

Our Ref : None Contact Name : Mrs K. Fisher Date : 17/03/2016 Your Ref : Telephone : 01229 876543

Our Ref : None Contact Name : Mrs K. Fisher Date : 17/03/2016 Your Ref :   Telephone : 01229 876543 Mr Roger Probert Our Ref : None Contact Name : Mrs K. Fisher Date : 17/03/2016 Your Ref : Email : xxxxxxxx@xxxxxxxx.xxx.xx Telephone : 01229 876543 Dear Mr Roger Probert Stage 1 Complaint I am sorry that

More information

Customer Complaint Policy

Customer Complaint Policy Customer Complaint Policy POLICY STATEMENT Inverness Leisure aims to provide its customers, partners and suppliers (our stakeholders) with an excellent customer service. The Organisation will listen to

More information

Policies, Procedures, Guidelines and Protocols

Policies, Procedures, Guidelines and Protocols Policies, Procedures, Guidelines and Protocols Document Details Title Complaints and Compliments Policy Trust Ref No 1353-29025 Local Ref (optional) N/A Main points the document This policy and procedure

More information

STATE HOSPITAL QUALITY PROCEDURES MANUAL

STATE HOSPITAL QUALITY PROCEDURES MANUAL APPROVED BY: PAGE: Page 1 of 8 1.0 Purpose To define a complaints procedure which is as transparent, fair and impartial as possible to all users and providers of the services undertaken by the State Hospital.

More information

Complaints, Suggestions and Compliments Policy and Procedure

Complaints, Suggestions and Compliments Policy and Procedure Complaints, Suggestions and Compliments Policy and Procedure The Senior Management Team hereby formally recognises the adoption of this policy for use by staff at St Michael s Hospice, Hastings. This document

More information

COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE ENGLAND BEAUFORT ROAD SURGERY INTRODUCTION

COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE ENGLAND BEAUFORT ROAD SURGERY INTRODUCTION COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE ENGLAND BEAUFORT ROAD SURGERY INTRODUCTION This procedure sets out the Practice s approach to the handling of complaints and is intended as an internal guide who should be made readily

More information

Complaints Policy. What is a Complaint?

Complaints Policy. What is a Complaint? Complaints Policy Statement and Purpose Natural Resources Wales is committed to dealing effectively with any concerns or complaints that we receive about our service. We aim to clarify any issues our customer(s)

More information

Complaints handling procedure

Complaints handling procedure East Ayrshire Council Complaints handling procedure September 2012 2 East Ayrshire Council Complaints handling procedure: September 2012 East Ayrshire Council - Complaints handling procedure Foreword Our

More information

Ratification by: Haringey CCG Governing Body (is on agenda for March 2013 meeting)

Ratification by: Haringey CCG Governing Body (is on agenda for March 2013 meeting) NHS Haringey Clinical Commissioning Group Complaints Policy V1 Approved by: Haringey CCG Quality Committee (29/01/13) Ratification by: Haringey CCG Governing Body (is on agenda for March 2013 meeting)

More information

Client Complaints Management Policy Summary

Client Complaints Management Policy Summary Client Complaints Management Policy Summary Purpose The purpose of this Policy is to: Provide an avenue for client communication and feedback; Recognise, promote and protect the client s rights, including

More information

North Ayrshire Council. Management of Unacceptable Contact Policy

North Ayrshire Council. Management of Unacceptable Contact Policy North Ayrshire Council Management of Unacceptable Contact Policy 1. INTRODUCTION 1.1 This Policy sets out North Ayrshire Council s approach to managing the relatively few customers whose actions or behaviours

More information

Complaints. Code of Practice. Complaints Management in the Independent Healthcare Sector. May 2013

Complaints. Code of Practice. Complaints Management in the Independent Healthcare Sector. May 2013 Complaints Management in the Independent Healthcare Sector Contents Complaints Code of Practice May 2013 About this Code 2 Learning from complaints 3 Principles 3 The standards 3 Stage 1: Local Resolution

More information

The progress of a dispute

The progress of a dispute The progress of a dispute You have reached the end of the tenancy but can t agree what should happen to the deposit. What should you do now? This document explains: how you bring your dispute to us; how

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Contents Page 4 Introduction How to use this pack How can NHS Complaints Advocacy Help? Page 5 Raising concerns and complaints First Steps Step 1 - What

More information

B6 Student complaints procedure

B6 Student complaints procedure B6 Student complaints procedure 1. Introduction 1.1.1 King s College London is committed to considering and investigating genuine complaints from students. The College defines a complaint as an expression

More information

Complaints Handling Procedure

Complaints Handling Procedure Data Label: PUBLIC West Lothian Council Complaints Handling Procedure February 2013 Foreword West Lothian Council is committed to providing services to people living and working in our communities that

More information

Addressing parents concerns and complaints effectively: policy and guides. Office for Government School Education

Addressing parents concerns and complaints effectively: policy and guides. Office for Government School Education Addressing parents concerns and complaints effectively: policy and guides Office for Government School Education Published by the Group Coordination Division, Office for Government School Education, Department

More information

Shetland Islands Council Complaints Handling Procedure

Shetland Islands Council Complaints Handling Procedure Shetland Islands Council Complaints Handling Procedure Implemented April 2014 Shetland Islands Council Complaints Handling Procedure Foreword Our complaints handling procedure reflects Shetland Islands

More information

NORTH AYRSHIRE COUNCIL COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE

NORTH AYRSHIRE COUNCIL COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE NORTH AYRSHIRE COUNCIL COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE North Ayrshire is committed to providing high-quality customer services. We value complaints and use information from them to help us improve our services. North

More information

The IB complaints and whistleblowing procedure

The IB complaints and whistleblowing procedure The IB complaints and whistleblowing procedure This procedure has been created to assist all of the International Baccalaureate s ( IB ) external stakeholders with the resolution of complaints related

More information

The Local Authority Model Complaints Handling Procedure

The Local Authority Model Complaints Handling Procedure The Local Authority Model Complaints Handling Procedure Scottish Public Services Ombudsman The Local Authority Model Complaints Handling Procedure I 2 The Local Authority Complaints Handling Procedure

More information

Client complaint management policy

Client complaint management policy Client complaint management policy 1. Policy purpose This policy implements section 219A of the Public Service Act 2008 in the Department of Justice and Attorney-General (DJAG). Under this section, Queensland

More information

Policies and Procedures. Policy on the Handling of Complaints

Policies and Procedures. Policy on the Handling of Complaints RMP. South Tyneside NHS Foundation Trust Policies and Procedures Policy on the Handling of Complaints Approved by Trust Board December 2006 (revised version approved by RMEC May 2010) Policy Type Policy

More information

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Introduction At Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust we work hard to deliver a first-class comprehensive health care service. We value the opinions of patients

More information

Contents. Section/Paragraph Description Page Number

Contents. Section/Paragraph Description Page Number - NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICA CLINICAL NON CLINICAL - CLINICAL CLINICAL Complaints Policy Incorporating Compliments, Comments,

More information

COMPLIMENTS, CONCERNS AND COMPLAINTS POLICY. Compliments, Concerns and Complaints

COMPLIMENTS, CONCERNS AND COMPLAINTS POLICY. Compliments, Concerns and Complaints COMPLIMENTS, CONCERNS AND COMPLAINTS POLICY Document information Document type: Document reference: Document title: Policy Compliments, Concerns and Complaints Policy Document operational date: 1 st February

More information

COMPLIMENTS, CONCERNS AND COMPLAINTS POLICY. Compliments, Concerns and Complaints Policy

COMPLIMENTS, CONCERNS AND COMPLAINTS POLICY. Compliments, Concerns and Complaints Policy Document information COMPLIMENTS, CONCERNS AND COMPLAINTS POLICY Document type: Document reference Document title: Policy TBC Compliments, Concerns and Complaints Policy Document operational date: 25 th

More information

Your Guide to the HSE s Comments and Complaints Policy

Your Guide to the HSE s Comments and Complaints Policy your service your say your service your service your say your say HSE Complaints Policy and Procedures Manual Your Guide to the HSE s Comments and Complaints Policy Your Guide to the HSE s Comments and

More information

The Trust. Tenancy Management Policy. Neighbourhood Team. Draft: Final. Effective Date: February 2015. Affected Teams: All

The Trust. Tenancy Management Policy. Neighbourhood Team. Draft: Final. Effective Date: February 2015. Affected Teams: All The Trust Tenancy Management Policy Neighbourhood Team Draft: Final Effective Date: February 2015 Affected Teams: All Peaks & Plains Tenancy Management Policy February 2015 Page 1 of 12 TABLE OF CONTENTS

More information

GRIEVANCE POLICY. Human Resources Service

GRIEVANCE POLICY. Human Resources Service GRIEVANCE POLICY Human Resources Service NB. This policy is available on the University of Cumbria website and it should be noted that any printed copies are uncontrolled and cannot be guaranteed to constitute

More information

Devon County Council. Children & Young Peoples Services Directorate. Complaints & Representations Policy

Devon County Council. Children & Young Peoples Services Directorate. Complaints & Representations Policy Devon County Council Children & Young Peoples Services Directorate Complaints & Representations Policy Created April 2008-amended Sept 2009 1 Index 1. Introduction 2. Legislative Background and National

More information

The Italia Conti Chislehurst is grateful to the council for Dance Education and Training for providing the template for this policy.

The Italia Conti Chislehurst is grateful to the council for Dance Education and Training for providing the template for this policy. Italia Conti Chislehurst Customer Service Policy The Italia Conti Chislehurst is grateful to the council for Dance Education and Training for providing the template for this policy. Customer Service Policy

More information

Complaints Policy (Listening, Responding and Learning from Views and Concerns)

Complaints Policy (Listening, Responding and Learning from Views and Concerns) (Listening, Responding and Learning from Views and Concerns) Version 1.0 Ratified By Date Ratified 14 th November 2012 Author(s) Responsible Committee / Officers Date Issue 1 st April 2013 Review Date

More information

Principles of Good Administration

Principles of Good Administration Principles of Good Administration Principles of Good Administration Good administration by public bodies means: 1 Getting it right 2 Being customer focused 3 Being open and accountable 4 Acting fairly

More information

Customer Services (Enquiries/Concerns/Complaints) Framework 2012/13

Customer Services (Enquiries/Concerns/Complaints) Framework 2012/13 Customer Services (Enquiries/Concerns/Complaints) Framework 2012/13 Version: One Responsible Committee: The Audit & Governance Group Date approved: Name of author: JANET SMART Name of responsible director/

More information

Full house: Councils role in allocating social housing

Full house: Councils role in allocating social housing Full house: Councils role in allocating social housing Focus report: learning lessons from complaints January 2016 www.lgo.org.uk Contents Introduction 1 Housing allocations background 2 The role of the

More information

Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Groups

Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Groups Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Groups Corporate Policy 1 (CP1) CCG Policy for the Handling of Complaints Version: 1 Ratified by: Date ratified: April 2013 Name of originator/author: Name of responsible

More information

Management agement of Complai. nts, Concerns, Comments

Management agement of Complai. nts, Concerns, Comments Policy: C1 Management agement of Complai nts, Concerns, Comments & Com pliments Po licy Version: C1 / 09 Ratified by: TMT Date ratified: 12 th December 2012 Title of Author: Title of responsible Director

More information

NHS SOUTH DEVON AND TORBAY CLINICAL COMMISSIONING GROUP COMPLAINTS POLICY

NHS SOUTH DEVON AND TORBAY CLINICAL COMMISSIONING GROUP COMPLAINTS POLICY NHS SOUTH DEVON AND TORBAY CLINICAL COMMISSIONING GROUP COMPLAINTS POLICY Version: 1.4 dated 26 March 2014 DATE VERSION CONTROL 01/08/2013 1.0 First draft Phil Stimpson Based upon initial policy produced

More information

Customer Service Strategy 2010-2013

Customer Service Strategy 2010-2013 Service Strategy 2010-2013 Introduction Our vision for customer service is: Oxfordshire County Council aims to deliver excellent customer service by putting our customers at the heart of everything we

More information

The SPSO and compensation claims

The SPSO and compensation claims Scottish Public Services Ombudsman advice leaflet: compensation The SPSO and compensation claims We provide a free, independent and impartial service for dealing with complaints about public services in

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy

NHS Complaints Advocacy NHS Complaints Advocacy Raising Concerns or Complaints About the NHS Advocacy in Surrey is provided by Surrey Disabled People s Partnership (SDPP) In partnership with SDPP is a registered Charity: 1156963

More information

Policy No Customer Service Charter

Policy No Customer Service Charter Policy No 2014-22 Customer Service Charter Responsible Officers: General Manager For Review By: General Manager Review Date: 31/12/2015 Signed By: / / Mayor General Manager Date / / Date Adopted at Council

More information

The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman, (PHSO) for NHS Complaints or the Local Government Ombudsman (LGO) for Public Health complaints, are the second

More information

POLICY & PROCEDURE FOR THE MANAGEMENT OF COMPLIMENTS, PALS ENQUIRIES AND COMPLAINTS INCLUDING UNREASONABLE OR PERSISTENT COMPLAINANTS

POLICY & PROCEDURE FOR THE MANAGEMENT OF COMPLIMENTS, PALS ENQUIRIES AND COMPLAINTS INCLUDING UNREASONABLE OR PERSISTENT COMPLAINANTS POLICY & PROCEDURE FOR THE MANAGEMENT OF COMPLIMENTS, PALS ENQUIRIES AND COMPLAINTS INCLUDING UNREASONABLE OR PERSISTENT COMPLAINANTS APPROVED BY: South Gloucestershire Clinical Commissioning Group Quality

More information

Chesterfield Royal Hospital NHS Foundation Trust THE ADVICE CENTRE AND COMPLAINTS POLICY

Chesterfield Royal Hospital NHS Foundation Trust THE ADVICE CENTRE AND COMPLAINTS POLICY Chesterfield Royal Hospital NHS Foundation Trust THE ADVICE CENTRE AND COMPLAINTS POLICY 1. INTRODUCTION 1.1 The aim of the Advice Centre is to support the Trust s Service Experience Strategy by providing

More information

Guide to to good handling of complaints for CCGs. CCGs. May 2013. April 2013 1

Guide to to good handling of complaints for CCGs. CCGs. May 2013. April 2013 1 Guide to to good handling of complaints for CCGs CCGs May 2013 April 2013 1 NHS England INFORMATION READER BOX Directorate Commissioning Development Publications Gateway Reference: 00087 Document Purpose

More information

COMPLAINTS MANAGEMENT POLICY AND PROCEDURES

COMPLAINTS MANAGEMENT POLICY AND PROCEDURES COMPLAINTS MANAGEMENT POLICY AND PROCEDURES CONTENTS 1 POLICY... 3 2 BACKGROUND... 3 2.1 RATIONALE... 3 2.2 RELATED POLICIES AND PROCEDURES... 4 2.3 KEY DEFINITIONS... 5 2.4 PRINCIPLES UNDERLYING THE POLICY...

More information

Requests For Services, Compliments and Complaints

Requests For Services, Compliments and Complaints Requests For Services, Compliments and Complaints Policy Type: Reference Number: COU 22 Responsible Department: Responsible Officer: Legislation Relevant Delegations: Related Policies and Procedures Community

More information

Claims and Compensation Policy

Claims and Compensation Policy Claims and Compensation Policy If you need this publication in larger print, audio form, Braille, or in another language, please contact our office and we will try to help you. 1. Statement of Intent KINGDOM

More information

FOUR HOUSING. Compensation Policy

FOUR HOUSING. Compensation Policy FOUR HOUSING Compensation Policy Registered Office: Three Rivers House Abbeywoods Business Park Pity Me Durham DH1 5TG March 2015 1. Introduction 1 1.1 Scope of the policy This policy sets out Four Housing

More information

NHS Waltham Forest Clinical Commissioning Group Complaints Policy

NHS Waltham Forest Clinical Commissioning Group Complaints Policy NHS Waltham Forest Clinical Commissioning Group Complaints Policy Author: David Pearce, Head of Governanace Version V 3.0 Amendments to previous version - Policy updated to reflect latest reporting processes.

More information

Policy Document Control Page

Policy Document Control Page Policy Document Control Page Title Title: Complaints and Compliments Policy Version: 10 Reference Number: CO3 Supersedes Supersedes: Version 9 Description of Amendment(s): Amendment of review date to reflect

More information

Dealing with customer complaints and compliments procedure

Dealing with customer complaints and compliments procedure Dealing with customer complaints and compliments procedure Classification: Policy Name: First Issued / Approved: 05/08/08 Last Reviewed: Management Policies & Procedures Dealing with customer complaints

More information

Service standard: Feedback, Complaints and Compensation

Service standard: Feedback, Complaints and Compensation Service standard: Feedback, Complaints and Compensation Feedback, Complaints and Compensation Standards how to tell us what you think about our services and how we ll respond if things go wrong is committed

More information

Council accounts: A guide to your rights

Council accounts: A guide to your rights Council accounts: A guide to your rights This document is available on our website at: www.nao.org.uk/code-auditpractice/council-accounts-a-guideto-your-rights If you have any enquiries regarding this

More information

COMPLAINTS POLICY AND PROCEDURE TWC7

COMPLAINTS POLICY AND PROCEDURE TWC7 COMPLAINTS POLICY AND PROCEDURE TWC7 Version: 3.0 Ratified by: Complaints Group Date ratified: July 2011 Name of originator/author: Name of responsible committee/ individual: Date issued: July 2011 Review

More information

How to compliment, comment or complain about our services

How to compliment, comment or complain about our services How to compliment, comment or complain about our services We welcome your compliments, comments and complaints NHS St Helens Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) welcomes any comments you may have on the

More information

GOOD LANDLORD CODE OF PRACTICE FOR PRIVATE RENTED SECTOR MANAGEMENT

GOOD LANDLORD CODE OF PRACTICE FOR PRIVATE RENTED SECTOR MANAGEMENT GOOD LANDLORD CODE OF PRACTICE FOR PRIVATE RENTED SECTOR MANAGEMENT GUIDANCE DOCUMENT Each section contains general information on why the standard was set (Yellow text boxes). In many cases, the standards

More information

CUSTOMER SERVICE CHARTER. our promise our commitment our action your trust

CUSTOMER SERVICE CHARTER. our promise our commitment our action your trust CUSTOMER SERVICE CHARTER our promise our commitment our action your trust Our Commitment to Customer Service: At the City of Bayswater we value you as our customer and have introduced this charter as an

More information

A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care

A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care A step-by-step guide to making a complaint about health and social care www.healthwatchhampshire.co.uk Step by step Page 3 Are you concerned about something that is happening now? Do you need to make a

More information

The Ombudsman. and. Local Authorities. The Ombudsman is. Impartial Independent A free service

The Ombudsman. and. Local Authorities. The Ombudsman is. Impartial Independent A free service The Ombudsman and Local Authorities The Ombudsman is Impartial Independent A free service 2 Who is the Ombudsman and what does he do? The Ombudsman can examine complaints about the actions of a range of

More information

Council accounts: a guide to your rights. Update July 2013

Council accounts: a guide to your rights. Update July 2013 Council accounts: a guide to your rights Update July 2013 As a local resident you have legal rights, which let you inspect your council s accounts and related documents. Contents Introduction...5 What

More information

Tenure and Tenancy management. Issue 06 Board approved: February 2015. Responsibility: Operations/C&SH Review Date: February 2017

Tenure and Tenancy management. Issue 06 Board approved: February 2015. Responsibility: Operations/C&SH Review Date: February 2017 Operational Manual Tenure and Tenancy management Corporate Policy Issue 06 Board approved: February 2015 Responsibility: Operations/C&SH Review Date: February 2017 1. INTRODUCTION Hightown provides a range

More information

Procedures for Handling and Monitoring Commendations, Comments and Complaints

Procedures for Handling and Monitoring Commendations, Comments and Complaints Procedures for Handling and Monitoring Commendations, Comments and Putting Our Customers First A Corporate Approach Section 1-The Procedure Content Page Introduction 2 Section1. Definitions and General

More information

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY A GENERAL 1. INTRODUCTION This policy sets out the process for handling complaints, generated by patients, carers and the general public, by the Clinical Commissioning Group

More information

Customer Service Policy

Customer Service Policy Customer Service Policy Page 1 of 14 Contents Paragraph Description Page Number 1.0 Intoduction 4 2.0 Policy Aims & Objectives 4 3.0 Policy Scope 4 4.0 Linkage to Corporate Plan 5 5.0 Roles and Responsibilities

More information

POLICY FOR THE REPORTING AND MANAGEMENT OF PATIENT COMPLAINTS

POLICY FOR THE REPORTING AND MANAGEMENT OF PATIENT COMPLAINTS Item 9 POLICY FOR THE REPORTING AND MANAGEMENT OF PATIENT COMPLAINTS Authorship: Chief Operating Officer Approved date: 20 September 2012 Approved Governing Body Review Date: April 2013 Equality Impact

More information

tenancy management Introduction Care of Neighbourhoods Car Parking

tenancy management Introduction Care of Neighbourhoods Car Parking tenancy management Introduction The term Tenancy Management covers many of the services we provide in our role as a landlord. Your Housing Officer is your main point of contact and you can arrange to see

More information

Planning Services. Customer focus strategy 2011. westlothian.gov.uk

Planning Services. Customer focus strategy 2011. westlothian.gov.uk Planning Services Customer focus strategy 2011 westlothian.gov.uk 1 Contents Introduction 3 Customer care 4 Planning Services Customer Care Standards 6 Equal opportunities 8 Customer confidentiality 8

More information

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service February 2014 Healthwatch Coventry www.healthwatchcoventry.org.uk Contents 1. About this guide page 3 2. The NHS complaints procedure page 3 3. About the

More information

University of the Arts London. Complaints Procedures. Introduction

University of the Arts London. Complaints Procedures. Introduction University of the Arts London Complaints Procedures Introduction 1. The University has clear procedures for dealing with student complaints which form part of its quality assurance system and reflect current

More information