1 Fact sheet New York State Department of Labor Wage Theft prevention act A law passed in 2010 gives more protection to workers in New York State. This law, the Wage Theft Prevention Act (WTPA), took effect on April 9, Here are some key provisions of the new law that employers need to know. What is New? Public Notice of Violations If an employer breaks certain parts of the labor, the Labor Department (DOL) may post the violation in a place where employees can see it for up to a year. For a willful failure to pay all wages under this law, DOL may post a summary of violations in a place where the public can see it, for up to 90 days. It is a misdemeanor to remove or tamper with this notice without permission. What Are Changes to Existing Law? Enhanced Rules against Retaliation The WTPA extends the protections under Labor Law 215. It also gives DOL more power to enforce this law. It was always illegal to discharge, penalize and/or discriminate against an employee who makes a complaint. Threats are now included as a form of retaliation. In the past, we could only cite employers for retaliation. Now, it is illegal for any person to retaliate. In the past, penalties for breaking this rule meant we could fine an employer up to $10,000. Now, DOL can order the employer or the person who acted against the employee to pay liquidated damages. The payment can be up to $10,000. DOL may order the employer to reinstate the worker s job. Or the employer may have to pay the person for lost salary or pay a lump sum in lieu of reinstatement. Retaliation carries criminal penalties for employee complaints about any section of the Labor Law. The protection applies to any worker who alleges that the employer has done something that the employee thinks breaks a Labor Law or an Order issued by the Commissioner. This applies even if the employee is mistaken about the law, if they acted in good faith. It applies even if the employee does not cite a specific part of the Labor Law. This law protects employees even if the employer incorrectly believes they made a complaint. Written Notice The Law already required employers to give notice to employees of their wage rates at the time of hire. Now, the WTPA requires employers to give a written notice to each new hire and to all employees by February 1 each year. The notice must include: o Rate or rates of pay, including overtime rate of pay (if it applies) o How the employee is paid: by the hour, shift, day, week, commission, etc. o Regular payday o Official name of the employer and any other names used for business (DBA) o Address and phone number of the employer s main office or principal location o Allowances taken as part of the mini- mum wage (tip, meal and lodging deductions) In the past, the notices were in English. Now, the notice must appear both in English and in the employee s primary language (if the Labor Department offers a translation). Employers must have each employee sign and date the completed notice. Employers must provide a copy to each employee.
2 If any data in the notice changes, the employer must tell employees at least a week before it happens unless they issue a new paystub that carries the notice. The employer must notify an employee in writing before they reduce the employee s wage rate. Employers in the hospitality industry must give notice every time a wage rate changes. Employers that do not give notice may have to pay damages of up to $50 per week, per employee, unless they paid employees all wages required by law. (This stops at $2,500 per employee in civil lawsuits filed by workers.) Payroll Records Under prior law, some of the recordkeeping requirements were in the statute, while others were in the regulations. Now, the requirements are part of the law, which makes it easier for employers to understand their obligations. However, industry-specific regulations will still have some additional requirements. Employers must: Keep records for six years. Records include the new notice and acknowledgment and payroll records. Keep accurate records of hours worked by employees and wages paid. Now, the law clarifies the employers must keep the records on an ongoing basis. The employer may not make up the records after the fact at the end of the week, month or year. For each week an employee works, the payroll records must contain: o Hours worked - (regular and overtime) o Rate or rates of pay ( regular/overtime) o How the employee is paid: by the hour, shift, day, week, commission, etc. o Pay at the piece rate must show what rates apply and the number of pieces at each rate o Employee s gross and net wages o Itemized deductions o Itemized allowances and credits claimed by the employer, if any (tip, meal and lodging allowances or credits) Wage Statements Under the new law, employers must: Give each employee a wage statement or pay stub each payday that lists all of the above payroll data plus: o Employee s name o Employer s name, address and phone number o Dates covered by the payment Give any employee who asks a written explanation of how they computed wages Employers that do not give wage statements may have to pay damages of up to $100 per week, per employee, unless they paid employees all wages required by law. (This stops at $2,500 per employee in civil lawsuits filed by employees.) Damages and Penalties The WTPA provides for higher penalties when an employer fails to pay the wages required by law. Under prior law, liquidated damages only covered up to 25% of the unpaid wages. Now, the law provides for liquidated damages on up to 100% of the unpaid wages. Once DOL issues an Order to Comply, it includes 100% liquidated damages, as well as other civil penalties and interest. If the violation is for other than wages, benefits or wage supplements, DOL may assess civil penalties for each violation. This means up to $1,000 for a first violation, $2,000 for a second, and $3,000 for third and subsequent violations. If the Labor Commissioner has issued an Order to Comply against an employer who does not pay the money owed, then 10 days after the appeal period ends, DOL can require them to post a bond and/or provide a list of their assets. If employers fail to do so, the Commissioner may bring a court case against them. For failure to provide the list of assets, DOL may impose a penalty of up to $10,000. The WTPA permits DOL to add 15% in damages to a judgment if the employer fails to pay in full within 90 days of the final Order to Comply. Protect all Workers Assist the Unemployed Connect Employers and Workers P715 Bus(5/11) The New York State Department of Labor is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
3 Notice and Acknowledgement of Pay Rate and Payday Under Section of the New York State Labor Law Notice for Hourly Rate Employees 1. Employer Information Name: Doing Business As (DBA) Name(s): FEIN (optional): Physical Address: Mailing Address: Phone: 3. Employee s rate of pay: $ per hour 4. Allowances taken: None Tips Meals Lodging 5. Regular payday: 6. Pay is: Weekly Bi-weekly per hour per meal 7. Overtime Pay Rate: $ per hour (This must be at least 1½ times the worker s regular rate with few exceptions.) 8. Employee Acknowledgement: On this day I have been notified of my pay rate, overtime rate (if eligible), allowances, and designated pay day on the date given below. I told my employer what my primary language is. Check one: I have been given this pay notice in English because it is my primary language. My primary language is. I have been given this pay notice in English only, because the Department of Labor does not yet offer a pay notice form in my primary language. Print Employee Name Employee Signature Date 2. Notice given: At hiring On or before February 1st Before a change in pay rate(s), allowances claimed or payday LS 54 (03/11) Preparer s Name and Title The employee must receive a signed copy of this form. The employer must keep the original for 6 years.
4 Notice and Acknowledgement of Pay Rate and Payday Under Section of the New York State Labor Law Notice for Employees Paid a Weekly Rate or a Salary for a Fixed Number of Hours (40 or Fewer in a Week) 1. Employer Information Name: Doing Business As (DBA) Name(s): FEIN (optional): Physical Address: Mailing Address: 3. Employee s Pay Rate: $ per Weekly hours (Specify the number of hours for which the weekly rate or salary will be paid.) Employers may not pay a non-hourly rate to a non-exempt employee in the Hospitality Industry, except for commissioned salespeople. 4. Allowances taken: None Tips per hour Meals per meal Lodging 8. Employee Acknowledgement: On this day, I have been notified of my pay rate, overtime rate (if eligible), allowances, and designated payday. I told my employer what my primary language is. Check one: I have been given this pay notice in English because it is my primary language. My primary language is. I have been given this pay notice in English only, because the Department of Labor does not yet offer a pay notice form in my primary language. Print Employee Name Phone: 2. Notice given: At hiring On or before February 1 Before a change in pay rate(s), allowances claimed or payday 5. Regular payday: 6. Pay is: Weekly Bi-weekly 7. Overtime Pay Rate: $ per hour (This must be at least 1½ times the worker s regular rate, with few exceptions.) Employee Signature Date Preparer Name and Title The employee must receive a signed copy of this form. The employer must keep the original for 6 years. LS 56 (03/11)
5 Notice and Acknowledgement of Pay Rate and Payday Under Section of the New York State Labor Law Notice for Employees Paid a Weekly Rate or a Salary for a Fixed Number of Hours (40 or Fewer in a Week) 1. Employer Information Name: Doing Business As (DBA) Name(s): FEIN (optional): Physical Address: Mailing Address: 3. Employee s Pay Rate: $ per Weekly hours (Specify the number of hours for which the weekly rate or salary will be paid.) Employers may not pay a non-hourly rate to a non-exempt employee in the Hospitality Industry, except for commissioned salespeople. 4. Allowances taken: None Tips per hour Meals per meal Lodging 8. Employee Acknowledgement: On this day, I have been notified of my pay rate, overtime rate (if eligible), allowances, and designated payday. I told my employer what my primary language is. Check one: I have been given this pay notice in English because it is my primary language. My primary language is. I have been given this pay notice in English only, because the Department of Labor does not yet offer a pay notice form in my primary language. Print Employee Name Phone: 2. Notice given: At hiring On or before February 1 Before a change in pay rate(s), allowances claimed or payday 5. Regular payday: 6. Pay is: Weekly Bi-weekly 7. Overtime Pay Rate: $ per hour (This must be at least 1½ times the worker s regular rate, with few exceptions.) Employee Signature Date Preparer Name and Title The employee must receive a signed copy of this form. The employer must keep the original for 6 years. LS 56 (03/11)
6 Wage Theft Prevention Act Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) The Wage Theft Prevention Act, which goes into effect April 9, 2011, amends the notice of wage rate requirements and expands the civil and criminal remedies that are available when employers fail to comply with these provisions. Section 195 of the Labor Law, as amended by the Act, requires that employers provide notice to employees of their rate(s) of pay, designated pay day, the employer s intent to claim allowances (like tip or meal allowances) as part of the minimum wage, and the basis of wage payment (whether paying by hour, shift, day, week, piece, etc.). The law requires that the notice contain the employer's "doing business as" names, and that it be provided at the time of hiring, annually on or before February 1 st of each year of employment, and within 7 days of a change if the change is not listed on the employee s pay stub for the following pay period. The notice must be provided in the employee s primary language, as identified by the employee, through translated notices provided by the Department of Labor. Those notice templates are below. The Act also amends the recordkeeping and statutory payroll record and paystub requirements to include information currently required pursuant to regulation, and requires employers to maintain copies of payroll records for six years (as is currently required by regulation). The Act clarifies and expands the Department of Labor s authority to enforce the Labor Law, and expands an employee s ability to bring complaints and private actions for such violations. The protection against prohibited retaliation is strengthened by closing loopholes on what actions constitute retaliation and expands the remedies available to employees. Based upon inquiries received by the Department in anticipation of the Act s effective date, the following are frequently asked questions regarding the Notice requirements of the Wage Theft Prevention Act: 1. Q: What is the Wage Theft Prevention Act? A: A new law, effective April 9, 2011, gives greater protection to workers, and makes changes in the way they are notified of their pay rates and receive wage statements. 2. Q: Who is covered by the law? A: All private sector employers are covered. If you have employees who work in other states they are not covered. Federal, state and local government employers are also not covered, but it is important to note that charter schools, private schools, and notfor-profit corporations are covered, as they are not public entities. 3. Q: What does the law require? A: Workers have to receive yearly pay notices, proper wage statements, and be free from retaliation for complaining about possible violations of the Labor Law.
7 4. Q: What is required in the pay notice given to workers? A: The Notice must contain the following information: The employee s rate(s) of pay; The basis of the employee s rate(s) of pay (e.g. by the hour, shift, day, week, salary, piece, commission, or other); Whether the employer intends to claim allowances as part of the minimum wage, including tip, meal, or lodging allowances, and the amount of those allowances; The employee s regular pay day designated by the employer in accordance with the frequency of pay requirements in the Labor Law 1 ; The name of the employer and any "doing business as" names used by the employer; The physical address of the employer's main office or principal place of business, and a mailing address if different; The telephone number of the employer; Any such other information as the commissioner deems material and necessary. 5. Q: What if a worker s primary language is not English? A: Notices need to be given in a worker s primary language if the Department of Labor provides notice templates in that language. wise the notice need only be provided in English. Those template are available on our website, below. 6. Q: For what languages will the Department provide templates? A: Templates will be available in English, Spanish, Chinese, Korean, Creole, Polish and Russian. They will cover a number of likely situations companies may face. You can choose the one which meets your needs. 7. Q: Do I have to use the Department s templates? A: No, employers can develop their own notices so long as they contain all the information required by the law. 8. Q: When are pay notices required? A: Notices are required at the time of hire, yearly between January 1 and February 1, 1 Section 191 of the New York State Labor Law regulates how frequently an employee must be paid. Under that Section, manual workers must be paid on a weekly basis, clerical and other workers, must be paid according to the terms of their employment agreement and not less frequently than semi monthly on regular pay days designated in advance by the employer, railroad workers must be paid on or before Thursday of each week the wages earned during the seven day period ending in Tuesday of the preceding week; commission salespersons must be paid in accordance with their agreed terms of employment but not less frequently than once in each month and not later than the last day of the month following the month in which the wages are earned; and employees employed in a bona fide executive, administrative or professional capacity whose earnings are in excess of nine hundred dollars a week must be paid according to the terms of their employment contract.
8 and when there are changes in the information on the pay notices. 9. Q: When is the first yearly notice required to be given? A: Between January 1 and February 1 of Q: Can I give a notice at other times of the year to satisfy the yearly requirement? A: No. 11. Q: May the notice be included in letters and/or employment agreements provided to new hires? A: Yes, but must be on its own form. 12. Q: I have a seasonal business. If a worker is on layoff between January 1 and February 1, when is the annual notice required? A: As soon as the worker first returns from layoff. Only one annual notice needs to be given. 13. Q: Can a worker waive the notice requirement? A: No. 14. Q: Can the notice be given electronically? A: Yes, but their needs to be a system where the worker can acknowledge the receipt of the notice and print out a copy of the notice. 15. Q: What if a worker refuses to sign the notice? A: The employer should still give the notice to the worker and note the worker s refusal on its copy of the notice. 16. Q: Do employers have to keep a copy of the notice? A: Yes. Notices must be kept for six years and be available to the Department upon request. 17. Q: Do I have to give a new notice every time a wage rate changes? A: Except for the employers in the hospitality industry, notice is not required where there is an increase in a rate and the new rate is shown on the next payment of wages. For any reduction of wage rate, an employee must be notified in writing prior to the reduction being implemented. Employers in the hospitality industry currently
9 need to give a new notice every time a wage rate changes. 18. Q: What procedures should be followed if an employee has multiple pay rates? A: An employer must put all pay rates on the wage statement. 19. Q: Does a new notice need to be given each year even if none of the information has changed? A: Yes. 20. Q: Do workers exempt from state overtime requirements still need to get a pay notice? A: Yes. 21. Q: Does the employer have to identify the specific state exemption for workers exempt from overtime requirements? A: No. 22. Q: What should we do if the worker has multiple hourly or piece rates? A: The purpose of the notice is to inform workers of the wage rates that apply to them. Multiple rates need to be identified either on the notice or on a separate sheet attached to the notice. Only the rates used to determine a worker s pay need be shown on the wage statement for that period. 23. Q: What about salespersons whose wages are all or partially based on commissions? A: Labor Law section 191.1c already requires commission salespersons to receive and sign for a copy of their commission agreement. This agreement should be attached to the pay notice and a copy of each document kept by the employer. 24. Q: What if I have a bonus or incentive plan on a weekly or less frequent time period? A: So long as the employee initially was given a description or it is clearly shown on the wage statement for the period in which it is paid, no additional notice is required. 25. Q: What about retroactive wage increases? A: The amounts need to be noted separately on the wage statement for the period in which it is paid.
10 26. Q: Does the notice requirement apply to workers covered by a union contract? A: Yes. Union contracts may cover wage rates for multiple titles and not give the specific pay date or other information required by the law. Individual workers need to have notices of the wage rates that apply to them. 27. Q: Are exempt employees, including professionals, executives, or administrators, excluded from the notice requirements? A: No. Since Section 195 does not contain any exclusions or exemptions from the notice requirements, the notice requirements in Section 195 apply to all employees regardless of their exempt status. 28. Q: What is the penalty for not giving proper notice? A: Employers can be assessed damages by the Department of $50.00 per week per worker if proper notice is not given. 29. Q: Can a worker sue for damages on his/her own? A: Yes, but the maximum amount an individual worker can recover is $2, Q: How often must wage statements be given? A: A statement must be given with each payment of wages. 31. Q: In addition to those items previously required on wage statements such as wage rates, hours worked, gross wages, allowances and deductions taken and net wages paid are there any new requirements? A: Yes. The statement has to show the name, address and phone number of the employer as well as the beginning and ending date for the period covered by that payment. 32. Q: Can wage statements be provided electronically? A: Yes, but workers must be able to access their statements on a computer provided by the employer and be able to print a copy for their records. 33. Q: Will the Department of Labor provide a model wage statement for employers to use? A: Because wage statement entries will vary greatly from employer to employer, the Department will prepare a sample statement showing types of entries which may be
11 necessary. 34. Q: What is the penalty for not providing a proper wage statement? A: Employers can be assessed changes by the Department of $ per week per worker if proper wage statements are not given. 35. Q: Can a worker sue for not receiving a proper wage statement? A: Yes, but damages are capped at $2, per worker. 36. Q: What is retaliation? A: Any action which negatively affects workers such as discharge, suspension, transfer to another shift, reduction in wages or hours, which is done because a worker has engaged in a protected activity. Even threatening an employee can be considered retaliation. 37. Q: What are some of these protected activities? A: Employees have the right to complain to their employer, the Department of Labor, or the Attorney General about a possible violation of the Labor Law and regulations issued under it. They can file a complaint about these possible violations and give information about their conditions of employment to the Department or Attorney General and testify at hearings or other proceedings. 38. Q: Does there really have to be a violation for the worker to be protected? A: No. If the worker has a good faith belief that there is a problem in the workplace, their activities are protected. 39. Q: What happens if I am accused of retaliation? A: The Department will discuss the accusation with you and give you a chance to prove that the negative action was not a result of the workers exercising their rights. 40. Q: What are the penalties for retaliation? A: Employers or their agents can be fined up to $10,000 and assessed another $10,000 in liquidated damages. The Department can also request reinstatement of the worker and/or compensation for lost wages. There are also potential criminal penalties but those would be prosecuted by an agency other than DOL. 41. Q: What if I have any other questions about the Wage Theft Prevention Act? A: You can your questions to We will address your concerns in a timely manner.
12 1. Employer Information Name: Doing Business As (DBA) Name(s): FEIN (optional): Physical Address: Mailing Address: Phone: 2. Notice given: At hiring On or before February 1 Before a change in pay rate(s), allowances claimed, or payday Notice and Acknowledgement of Pay Rate and Payday Under Section of the New York State Labor Law Notice for Exempt Employees 3. Employee s pay rate(s): State if pay is based on an hourly, salary, day rate, piece rate, or other basis. Employers may not pay a non-hourly rate to a non-exempt employee in the Hospitality Industry, except for commissioned salespeople. 4. Allowances taken: None Tips per hour Meals per meal Lodging 5. Regular payday: 6. Pay is: Weekly Bi-weekly : 7. Overtime Pay Rate: Most workers in NYS must receive at least 1½ times their regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek, with few exceptions. A limited number of employees must only be paid overtime at 1½ times the minimum wage rate, or not at all. This employee is exempt from overtime under the following exemption (optional): 8. Employee Acknowledgement: On this day, I received notice of my pay rate, overtime rate (if eligible), allowances, and designated payday. I told my employer what my primary language is. Check one: I have been given this pay notice in English because it is my primary language. My primary language is. I have been given this pay notice in English only, because the Department of Labor does not yet offer a pay notice form in my primary language. Employee Signature Date Preparer Name and Title The employee must receive a signed copy of this form. The employer must keep the original for 6 years. LS 59 (03/11)
Wage Theft Prevention Act Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) The Wage Theft Prevention Act, which goes into effect April 9, 2011, amends the notice of wage rate requirements and expands the civil and criminal
Wage Theft Prevention Act Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) The Wage Theft Prevention Act, which goes into effect April 9, 2011, amends the notice of wage rate requirements and expands the civil and criminal
New York State Department of Labor Division of Labor Standards Guidelines for Written Notice of Rates of Pay and Regular Payday Effective April 9, 2011 Section 195.1 of the Labor Law, requires all employers,
March 2011 New York s New Wage Theft Law: What It Means, and What To Do Now BY ALLAN S. BLOOM & REBECCA E. RAISER The New York Wage Theft Prevention Act (the WTPA ) takes effect on April 9, 2011. The new
RECENT CHANGES IN DC EMPLOYMENT LAWS A N N E S P I E L B E R G & R U T H E I S E N B E R G March 11, 2015 DISCLAIMER This presentation is for informational purposes only, and is not intended to provide
ATTENTION TRAINERS AND BOOKKEEPERS YOU MUST BE IN COMPLIANCE WITH CHANGES IN THE NYS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR LAW! New York s Department of Labor Law, called the Wage Theft Prevention Act (WTPA), requires all
U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division H-2B Program Enforcement WHD Enforcement Source of Authority The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) requires that employers receive H 2B temporary labor
www.mccarter.com LABOR & EMPLOYMENT LAW ALERT JANUARY 2010 NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR ISSUES NEW GUIDANCE AND MODEL FORMS CONCERNING REQUIRED WRITTEN NOTICE OF PAY INFORMATION TO NEW HIRES Since
BS&K Developments and Trends in New York Employment Law HR Legislative Conference April 12, 2011 John M. Bagyi, Esq., SPHR Bond, Schoeneck & King, PLLC Attorneys At Law Since 1897 111 Washington Avenue
NOTICE AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF WAGE RATE(S) FOR TEMPORARY STAFFING FIRMS Hire Notice Initial Interview At Hire Range of Dates able to work: / / to / / Section 1 Temporary Staffing Agency Company Name: DBA:
FEBRUARY 2004 The New San Francisco Living Wage Ordinance By Jeffrey M. Tanenbaum, Esq., and Marcie A. Keenan, Esq. Effective February 23, 2004, San Francisco employers will be subject to a much higher
Typical Loan Officer Must be Paid Overtime By: Gregory P. Kult* October 11, 2010 Earlier this year, the U.S. Department of Labor ( DOL ) reversed its position on the exempt status of mortgage loan officers
City of Los Angeles Minimum Wage and Sick Time Benefits: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) This document contains answers to questions that are frequently asked about the new City of Los Angeles Minimum
EXEMPT VS. NON-EXEMPT Identifying Employee Classification Employee Classification Keeping it all straight The comptroller of a small company notices that her accounting clerk works a lot of overtime. In
Washington State Family Leave Act Q&A March 2010 The Washington State Family Leave Act (FLA) builds on the existing similar benefits found in the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) by providing
What Sets California Apart From Other States? Unique Employment Labor Laws to be aware of if you have employees located in California. Providing Human Resource Solutions for Employers Since 1937 As California
GUIDE TO THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT Prepared by Morgan & Morgan ForThePeople.com Representing the People, Not the Powerful 877-MORGAN-LAW 877-667-4265 ATTORNEY ADVERTISING: Prior results do not gurantee
Public Act No. 15-6 AN ACT CONCERNING EMPLOYEE ONLINE PRIVACY. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Assembly convened: Section 1. (NEW) (Effective October 1, 2015) (a) For
City of Los Angeles Minimum Wage Frequently Asked Questions 11/2/15 Los Angeles Minimum Wage Ordinance 1. When does the City of Los Angeles Minimum Wage Ordinance take effect? The ordinance takes effect
Recover Your Unpaid Wages With the California Labor Commissioner s Office The Labor Commissioner s Office, also called the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE), is a part of the California Department
Thank you for downloading Agent 77 s STATE EMPLOYMENT REGULATIONS FOR KANSAS. This form is provided to you as is. As provided, we believe it meets the requirements needed for state compliance, as applicable,
State and City Laws Updated September 2016 California 1 SanFrancisco Paid SickLeave 2 Paid SickLeave 3 4 5 6 7 1. Interaction of Laws Employers subject to state and local paid sick leave laws must follow
1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 0 1 Proposed measure to be submitted to the voters at the next regular or special municipal election, or the November, 01 general election, concerning an ordinance to allow employees to
Wage & Hour Workshop Avoiding Payroll Miscalculations and Paystub Violations Michael W. Kelly Nisha S. Patel Paystub Basics (Labor Code 226) Timing and Form Itemized Statement issued at time of payment
California s s New Wage Notice & Commission Agreement Requirements April 19, 2012 Aaron Buckley Brenda Kasper Wage Theft Prevention Act Notice Requires: The rate or rates of pay, including overtime rates
September 18, 2014 California s paid sick leave law no get well card for employers By Marjorie S. Fochtman and Paul R. Lynd California Governor Jerry Brown has signed into law AB 1522, the Healthy Workplaces,
Schwartz Semerdjian Cauley & Moot LLP 101 West Broadway, Suite 810 San Diego, CA 92101-8229 tel: 619.236.8821 fax: 619.236.8827 www.sscmlegal.com NEW EMPLOYMENT LAWS IN 2016 If you have any further questions
Wage & Hour Frequently Asked Questions WHAT EXACTLY DOES WAGE & HOUR DO AND WHAT SERVICES DOES IT PROVIDE? Wage & Hour enforces many aspects of labor law including the collection of unpaid wages and benefits,
New York State Department of Labor Unemployment Insurance Division State Office Campus Albany, NY 12240 www.labor.ny.gov Unemployment Insurance Benefits - An Employer s Guide The New York State Unemployment
Accountability Report Card Summary 2013 West Virginia West Virginia has a relatively balanced state whistleblower law: Scoring 57 out of a possible 100; Ranking 27 th out of 51 (50 states and the District
HOT GOODS AND FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT COMPLIANCE TEXAS WINE AND GRAPE GROWERS ASSOCIATION ANNUAL CONVENTION--FEBRUARY 19, 2015 Presented by: Ann Abrams Price, Esq. Boulette Golden & Marin firstname.lastname@example.org
Labor Laws and your Employee Rights CDHA Government Relations Council Are you paid for all time worked? Is your salary reduced if there are openings in the patient schedule? Are you being asked to clock
The Fair Labor Standards Act The New Federal Overtime Rules For the first time in decades, the U.S. Department of Labor has significantly changed the rules regarding overtime pay for millions of workers
CALIFORNIA S PAID SICK LEAVE LAW NO GET WELL CARD FOR EMPLOYERS BONNIE GLATZER, ESQ. PAUL LYND, ESQ. APRIL 8, 2015 BACKGROUND First paid sick leave mandate with San Francisco s Proposition F in 2006 Other
Wage & Hour Exempt Employees, the Salary Basis Test and Unlawful Deductions By: Christina Lewis Exemptions under the FLSA Executive Employees Administrative Employees Professional Employees Computer Employees
THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT: AN OVERVIEW MATERIALS BY: ALLISON SCHAFER, LEGAL COUNSEL/DIRECTOR OF POLICY PRESENTED BY: CHRISTINE SCHEEF, STAFF ATTORNEY NORTH CAROLINA SCHOOL BOARDS ASSOCIATION July 2013
A GUIDE TO THE LAW IN ALBERTA REGARDING version: 2014 COPYRIGHT & DISCLAIMER GENERAL All information is provided for general knowledge purposes only and is not meant as a replacement for professional legal
NYSAIS April 20, 2011 Presented by Mark E. Brossman Scott A. Gold Adam J. Rivera Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP 212.756.2000 Governing Law Fair Labor Standards Act ( FLSA ) Federal wage and hour law that requires
California Employers Must Implement Paid Sick Leave Notice Requirements by January 1, 2015 By Tom Geidt As most of you know, California has enacted a new Paid Sick Leave ( PSL ) Law the Healthy Workplaces,
Federal Labor Standards Provisions U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Office of Labor Relations Applicability The Project or Program to which the construction work covered by this contract
The Top 10 Things Employers Do to Get Sued Here are the top 10 things employers often do with the best intentions, along with the reasons employers are likely to get sued for doing them. (Note: Although
Undocumented Workers Employment Rights YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS 1. What legal rights do I have as an undocumented worker? With a few exceptions, undocumented workers enjoy the legal rights and remedies provided
Martin #2 IN THE MATTER OF THE ARBITRATION Between EMPLOYER and EMPLOYEE EMPLOYEE DISCHARGE REPORT AND DECISION OF ARBITRATOR In these proceedings, a single Grievance was submitted for an Award to James
LOS ANGELES, PASADENA, SAN DIEGO, AND SANTA MONICA PASS NEW MINIMUM WAGE, PAID SICK LEAVE ORDINANCES The cities of Los Angeles, Pasadena, San Diego, and Santa Monica have each recently passed ordinances
Appraisal Management Company Registration Act 63 P.S. 457.21 457.31 (Current through 02/02/2012) (When referring to section numbers, use a truncated version of the number after the decimal point. For example,
What is the unemployment insurance program? The Iowa unemployment insurance program provides qualified workers temporary income to help them through short periods of unemployment. Employers pay a special
Provided By Touchstone Consulting Group Workers Compensation Employer New Jersey s workers compensation laws determine the benefits available to employees who are injured in the course and scope of employment.
THE GEORGIA NON-PROFIT AND LAWS PREVENTING DISCRIMINATION IN EMPLOYMENT By: Benjamin D. Briggs Anna C. Curry TROUTMAN SANDERS LLP 600 Peachtree Street NE Bank of America Plaza, Suite 5200 Atlanta, Georgia
Payment of wages Pay & Wages Series What hourly rate should I be paid? Your hourly wage rate depends on factors such as the industry or sector you are in, your occupation and contract of employment. Pay
Thank you for downloading Agent 77 s STATE EMPLOYMENT REGULATIONS FOR OHIO. This form is provided to you as is. As provided, we believe it meets the requirements needed for state compliance, as applicable,
Unemployment Insurance Update Edward J. Delehanty Assistant Director Troy Telephone Claims Center UI Will Call Allows those expected to wait for more than 2 minutes to opt out of the call and receive a
ADVISORY 2004/3 An Advisory from the Attorney General's Fair Labor Division on an Act Protecting the Wages and Tips of Certain Employees Pursuant to M.G.L. c. 23, s. 1(b), the Office of the Attorney General
White Paper: Training the Payroll Staff Part 2: The Wage Hour Test As I said in my first white paper on this subject, there is more to running a payroll department than just producing X number of payroll
177.41 STATE PROJECTS AND STATE HIGHWAY CONSTRUCTION; PUBLIC POLICY. It is in the public interest that public buildings and other public works be constructed and maintained by the best means and highest
NOTICE OF PROPOSED CLASS ACTION SETTLEMENT AND HEARING DATE FOR COURT APPROVAL Penaloza, et al., v. PPG Industries, Inc., Case No. BC471369 As a current or former non-exempt PPG employee, you may be entitled
Member Institution--Western Michigan University Western Michigan University Code of Conduct Licensed Merchandise ARTICLE 1 GENERAL PRINCIPALS AND APPLICABILITY 1. 1 Western Michigan University Licensees
DIVISION OF CHILD & FAMILY SERVICES Children s Mental Health Services SUBJECT: False Claims Act POLICY NUMBER: 11.70 NUMBER OF PAGES: 5 + Compliance Violation Report form EFFECTIVE DATE: March 16, 2009
Wage & Hour Issues in Today's A/E Industry Hosted By ACEC Washington September 5, 2012 David K. Eckberg & Kara R. Masters Skellenger Bender, P.S. email@example.com firstname.lastname@example.org
wage & hour laws 101 Overtime Rules, Exempt to Non-Exempt, & More Table of Contents New Overtime Rules Effective December 1, 2016: How to Comply...3 The Department of Labor (DOL) has issued final rules
EXHIBIT A Protected Sick Time TITLE 9 9.01.010 Policy. It is the policy of the City of Portland to ensure that employers responsibly and compassionately maintain their workforce in support of a productive
MIGRANT AND SEASONAL WORKER PROTECTION In 1983, in response to the growing concern over abuses of migrant workers in the agricultural industry, Congress enacted the Migrant and Seasonal Agricultural Workers
NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION ANNUAL MEETING JANUARY 25, 2013 RECENT DEVELOPMENTS IMPACTING NEW YORK WAGE AND HOUR PRACTITIONERS WENDY C. BUTLER JONES DAY 222 East 41st Street New York, New York 10017
MONTEFIORE HEALTH SYSTEM ADMINISTRATIVE POLICY AND PROCEDURE SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF FEDERAL AND STATE NUMBER: JC31.1 FALSE CLAIMS LAWS OWNER: DEPARTMENT OF COMPLIANCE EFFECTIVE: REVIEW/REVISED: SUPERCEDES:
SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA FOR THE COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES Ilya Zaydenberg v. Crocs Retail, Inc., et al. Los Angeles County Superior Court Case No. BC554214; Christopher S. DuRee, et al. v.
Complying with the Illinois Day and Temporary Labor Services Act Presented by Kyle A. Petersen and Jeremy W. Stewart Temporary Employees in the General Labor Market Temporary employees make up a sizeable
POLICY: CATHOLIC CHARITIES OF THE ROMAN CATHOLIC DIOCESE OF SYRACUSE, NY Compliance Plan False Claims Act & Whistleblower Provisions 1/31/08 Catholic Charities of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Syracuse,
Client Alert Employment September 19, 2014 New California Legislation Mandates Paid Sick Days for Employees. By Paula M. Weber, Laura K. Latham, Thomas N. Makris, and Erica N. Turcios This client alert
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP 1200 Seventeenth Street NW Washington, DC 20036-3006 tel 202.663.8000 fax 202.663.8007 Julia E. Judish tel 202.663.9266 email@example.com This memorandum
GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 01 H 1 HOUSE BILL 1 Short Title: Shift Workers' Bill of Rights. (Public) Sponsors: Referred to: Representatives Brockman, Baskerville, Harrison, and Fisher (Primary
News from the Wage Hour Front: FLSA Developments and Colorado s Wage Protection Act Andy Volin 303.299.8268 firstname.lastname@example.org Two Areas: Federal & State Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) Establishes
Massachusetts Sick Leave Law & Regulations A Guide For ConstructionEmployers James W. Bucking May 20, 2015 Overview In November 2014, Massachusetts voters approved a ballot initiative that will mandate
Mini-WARN Acts: New York Scott J. Wenner, Schnader Harrison Segal & Lewis LLP This Article is published by Practical Law Company on its PLC Labor & Employment web service at http://us.practicallaw.com/1-506-0917.
CITY OF LOS ANGELES RULES AND REGULATIONS IMPLEMENTING THE MINIMUM WAGE ORDINANCE EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2016 Department of Public Works Bureau of Contract Administration Office of Wage Standards 1149 S. Broadway
Basic Provisions/Requirements The FMLA entitles eligible employees of covered employers to take job-protected, unpaid leave for specified family and medical reasons. Eligible employees are entitled to:
I. PUBLIC WORK A. What is Public Work? In determining whether a construction project is public work, two conditions must be fulfilled in order for the provisions of Article 8 to apply to the project: 1.
PASCO Mandatory Paid Leave: Understanding & Complying With California's Groundbreaking Sick Leave Law About Today Some Interesting Developments What s Going On Here? Let s Get To It Fire Away ABOUT TODAY
BAD CHECK QUESTIONS 1. I have received a bad check, what can I do? The issuance of a check on an account that is closed or has insufficient funds may constitute a crime for which the maker of the check
Guidance for managing Non-Exempt Staff Q1: What law regulates the payment of overtime? A: The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) establishes minimum wage, overtime pay, recordkeeping, and child labor standards
Do-it-Yourself Recovery of Unpaid Wages How to Represent Yourself Before the California Labor Commissioner A Publication of: The Legal Aid Society-Employment Law Center 600 Harrison Street, Suite 120 San
NELP National Employment Law Project FACT SHEET California s New Worker Protections Against Retaliation OCTOBER 2013 In October 2013, California passed three bills, AB 263, AB 524, and SB 666, into law.
CATHOLIC CHARITIES OF THE ROMAN CATHOLIC DIOCESE OF SYRACUSE, NY and TOOMEY RESIDENTIAL AND COMMUNITY SERVICES Compliance Plan False Claims Act & Whistleblower Provisions Purpose/Policy/Procedures Purpose:
SEPTEMBER 23, 2014 HANSON BRIDGETT LABOR & EMPLOYMENT PRACTICE GROUP Governor Signs New Paid Sick Leave Law: Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 [AB 1522] Background On September 10, 2014,
WHISTLEBLOWING AND CONDUCTING INVESTIGATIONS Eileen P. Kennedy Berliner Cohen 1 Topics I. New Laws Protecting Whistleblowers. II. III. IV. Other Anti-Retaliation and Whistleblower Protections. Discipline
USE SALARY CONTINUATION (IN LIEU OF BWC TEMPORARY TOTAL COMPENSATION) WORKERS COMPENSATION CLAIMS MANAGEMENT TOOLS FOR OHIO MANUFACTURERS The employer has the option at the onset of a lost time claim (a
Direct Earnings Attachment A Guide for Employers What this Guide is about This guide explains what you, as an employer, need to do if you are asked to implement a Direct Earnings Attachment (DEA). Where
What You Need to Know about the Davis-Bacon Act 1. What is the Davis-Bacon Act? a. The DBA was enacted in 1931 following the Great Depression. Through this act, the Federal Government sets the standard
CHRISTINA M. JEPSON, PARSONS BEHLE & LATIMER, WITH PRACTICAL LAW LABOR & EMPLOYMENT A Q&A guide to state-specific wage and hour laws for private employers in Utah. This Q&A addresses nuances of state law,
ABD Office Hours The San Francisco Health Care Security Ordinance: Webinar Series A Refresher Course in the HCSO Basics for SF Employers Brian Gilmore ABD Lead Benefits Counsel Recording The Big Picture
Page 1 of 9 Guide to Small Claims Court 1. Introduction 2. What is Small Claims Court? 3. Who Can Sue and What Can You Sue About? 4. Before You Sue 5. When Must a Lawyer Represent Me in Small Claims? 6.