The Review of Economic Studies Ltd.

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "The Review of Economic Studies Ltd."

Transcription

1 The Review of Ecoomic Studies Ltd. Walras' Tâtoemet i the Theory of Exchage Author(s): H. Uzawa Source: The Review of Ecoomic Studies, Vol. 27, No. 3 (Ju., 1960), pp Published by: The Review of Ecoomic Studies Ltd. Stable URL: Accessed: 29/12/ :07 Your use of the JSTOR archive idicates your acceptace of JSTOR's Terms ad Coditios of Use, available at. JSTOR's Terms ad Coditios of Use provides, i part, that uless you have obtaied prior permissio, you may ot dowload a etire issue of a joural or multiple copies of articles, ad you may use cotet i the JSTOR archive oly for your persoal, o-commercial use. Please cotact the publisher regardig ay further use of this work. Publisher cotact iformatio may be obtaied at. Each copy of ay part of a JSTOR trasmissio must cotai the same copyright otice that appears o the scree or prited page of such trasmissio. JSTOR is a ot-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, ad studets discover, use, ad build upo a wide rage of cotet i a trusted digital archive. We use iformatio techology ad tools to icrease productivity ad facilitate ew forms of scholarship. For more iformatio about JSTOR, please cotact The Review of Ecoomic Studies Ltd. is collaboratig with JSTOR to digitize, preserve ad exted access to The Review of Ecoomic Studies.

2 Wairas' Tatoemet i Theory of Exchagel the I Walras' theory of geeral equilibrium, a importat role is played by the cocept of tatoemet. I spite of may cotributios to the theory of tatoemet,2 there are still iterestig problems which have ot bee satisfactorily solved. I the preset paper, we ited to fill some of the gaps i that theory; especially with regards to the stability problem of tatoemet processes. I [14], Walras first cosiders a ecoomic system i which oly exchage of commodities betwee the idividuals takes place, ad the proceeds to hadle more complicated systems i which productio of commodities or capital goods becomes possible. I ay ecoomic system, however, he shows by coutig the umbers of the ecoomic variables (ukows) ad the relatios (equatios) which prescribe those variables, that it is theoretically or mathematically possible to determiequilibrium values of the ecoomic variables. He the shows that the problem of determiatio of equilibrium values of the ecoomic variables is empirically, or i the market, solved by the tdtoemet process which represets the mechaism of the competitive market. I a exchage ecoomy, the competitive market process cosists of a price adjustmet by which the price of a commodity will rise or fall accordig to whether there is a positive excess demad or a positive excess supply of the commodity. Walras himself, however, does ot make clear what is meat by his tatoemet process. I particular, he has two distict tatoemet processes i mid: the oe with simultaeous adjustmet, ad the other with successive adjustmet, both with respect to prices of commodities. For example, the passages o pp , [14], i which he attempts to prove the stability of the process, show that his process is oe of successive price adjustmets, while the summary o p. 172, [14], seems to suggest that his tatoemet process is a simultaeous price adjustmet. Let us cosider a competitive exchage ecoomy with + I commodities ad R participats. Commodities will be deoted by i = 0, 1,...,, while idividual participats will be deoted by r = 1,..., R. At the begiig of the market day, each idividual has certai amouts of commodities, ad durig the market day the exchage of commodities betwee the idividuals will take place. Let the amout of commodity i iitially held by idividual r be y'i, i = 0, 1,..., ; r = 1,..., R. Ugig vector otatio, we may say that the vector of the iitial holdigs of idividual r is yr = (YOS ir Y.... j, Yp') r = 1,.I. R. It will be assumed that each idividual has a defiite demad schedule whe a market price vector ad his icome are give. Let the demad fuctio of idividual r be xr(p, Mr) = [X?o(Ps M)..., x(p, Mr)], * This work was supported by the Office of Naval Research uder Task The author is idebted to Professors K. J. Arrow, R. Dorfma, L. Hurwicz, ad G. Titer for their valuable commets ad suggestios. 2 The reader is i particular referred to a excellet ote by Professor Patiki for the most complete treatmet of the theory; [8], pp

3 WALRAS' TATONNEMENT IN THE THEORY OF EXCHANGE 183 where p = (Po, pl..., p) is a market (accoutig) price vector ad Mr a icome of idividual r. By a price vector p is meat a o-zero vector with o-egative compoets. Each deiad fuctio Xr(p, Air) is assumed to be cotiuous at ay price vector p ad icome Mr, ad to satisfy the budget equatio E p X'r(p, Air) i=o = Air. If a price vector p = (Po, p,. p) has bee aouced to prevail i the whole market, the the icome Mr (p) of iidividual r is Mr (p) = YE piy,, r = 1,. i=o,r. Hece the demad fuctio of idividual r becomes xj[p, Mr(p)], r 1,..., R. The aggregate fuctio is ow defied by R xi (p) = E x [p, Mr(p)J, i-0 1, I X., i ad the excess demad fuctio z(p) (z0(p),..., z(p)) by where zi (p) = xi (p) -yi R yi - Sy~, i- 0,1,... The excess demad fuctio z(p) is cotiiuous at ay price vector p, ad homogeeous of order zero. It may also be oted that the Walras lawv holds (1) X pi zi(p) = 0, for ay price vector p = (po, Pi...,p) i=o A price vector p (Po, Pfi, p5) is defied to be a equilibrium price vector if zi(p) < 0, i = 0, 1,...,, which i view of the Walras Law (1), may be writte, z (fp) 0, if p3 > 0, zt( 6-< 0, ifp = 0. The mai problem i the theory of exchage of commodities is ow to ivestigate whether or ot there exists a equilibrium, ad if such exists, how oe ca determie a equilibrium. I what follows, we will rigorously show that the problem is solved by the Walras' tatoemet process.' 1 The existece of a equilibrium for the Walrasia modcl of geeral equilibrium was rigorously proved by, e.g., Wald [13] ad Arrow ad Debreu [2]. The competitive ecoomy of exchage with which we are cocered i the preset paper is a special case of the Arrow-Debreu model hece, their existece proof ca be applied. We are, however, iterested i applyig the Walrasia tztoemet process i order to give a proof of the existece of a equilibrium, which will be doe i the Appedix.

4 184 REVIEW OF ECONOMIC STUDIES Let us iterpret the competitive exchage ecoomy as a game which R idividuals ad a fictitious player, say a Secretary of Market, play accordig to the followig rules: (i) Secretary of Market aouces a price vector. (ii) Each idividual submits to Secretary of Market a " ticket" o which the quatities of demad ad supply made by the idividual accordig to the aouced price vector are described. (iii) Secretary of Market calculates the quatities of aggregate excess demads from the tickets submitted to him by the idividuals. (iv) Secretary of Market aouces a ew price vector such that prices of commodities which have a positive excess demad will rise, ad prices of commodities which have a egative excess demad (a positive excess supply) will fall. Moves (ii) ad (iii) are repeated at the ew price system. The game is cotiued util Secretary of Market aouces a equilibrium price vector. Let p(t) = (po(t),..., p4l(t) ) be the price vector aouced by Secretary of Market at the t-th stage, t = 0, 1, 2,...., ad if. The the rule (iv) may be mathematically formulated as follows :1 (2) pj(t + 1) = max {0, pi(t) + fi(t)}, t = 0, 1, 2,. i = 0, 1,... where fi(t) has the same sig as z[p(t)]. The tdtoemet process (2) leaves the price vector p(t) ivariat if ad oly if it is a equilibrium price vector.2 The process (2), as will be show i the Appedix, eables us to prove the existece of a equilibrium price vector pi = (Po0, j31... f i). Now we take as a ume'raire a commodity, say commodity 0, which has a positive price at a equilibrium, ad suppose that prices are expressed i terms of the ume'raire good, i.e., we cosider oly those price vectors p = (po, Pi,..., p) for which Po 1. I what follows, by a price vector p is meat a -vector (P,..., p) with o-egative compoets. The simultaeous tatoemet process (2) accordigly may be reformulated by (3) pi(t + 1) = max { 0, pi(t) + fi(t) }, t =,1, 2,...; i = 1,...,. We ow ivestigate the stability problem3, i.e., whether or ot the price vector p(t) determied by the tatoemet process (3) coverges to a equilibrium price vector.., 1 It may be oted that the system of differetial equatios correspodig to (2) is give by (2)' Jh = max {O, pi + fi(p)} -p, i = O, 1,...,. The process of price adjustmet represeted by (2)', is a special case of the oes discussed i Arrow, ad Hurwicz [1], p. 94. The solutio to the process (2)', however, remais positive wheever the iitial positio is positive. 2 See Walras [14], p For recet cotributios to the stability problem, see, e.g., Arrow ad Hurwicz [3] ad Arrow, Block, ad Hurwicz [1].

5 WALRAS' TATONNEMENT IN THE THEORY OF EXCHANGE 185 It is oted that the Lyapuov stability theorem' may be modified so as to be appropriately applied to our tdtoemet process ; amely we have the followig: STABILITY THEOREM.2 Let p(t; p ) be the solutio to the process (3) with iitial price vector po. If (a) the solutio p(t; po) is bouded for ay iitial price vector p0; ad (b) there exists a cotiuous defied for all price vectors p such that p(t) = ( [p(t; p0)] is strictly decreasig uless p(t; po) is a equilibrium; the the process is quasi-stable. Here the process (3) is called quasi-stable if, for ay iitial price vector p0, every limitig-poit of the solutio p(t; po) is a equilibrium. I the case i which the set of all equilibria is fiite, the quasi-stability of the process (3) implies the global stability. The fuctio ()(p) satisfyig the coditio (b) will be referred to as a Lyapuov fuctio with respect to the process (3). Let us cosider the case i which the excess demad fuctio z(p) = [z0(p), z1(p),.., z,(p)] satisfies the weak axiom of revealed preferece3 at equilibrium: (4) zo(p) + ; pizi (p) > 0, 1=1 for ay equilibrium p ad ay oequilibrium p. The the simultaeous tdtoemet process (3) is globally stable, provided the equilibrium vector p is uiquely determied; fi(t) = Pi [zi(p(t) ) ], P > 0 sufficietly small, i = 1,..., ; ad zi(p) are cotiuously twice differetiable with a osigular matrix [ a2z' - at the equilibrium p. io api pj apk, k I fact, as will be rigorously show i the Appedix, the weak axiom of revealed preferece implies that the fuctio (5) O(p) = i (p--pf)2 i=1 is a Lyapouov fuctio; ad the Stability Theorem above may be applied. The weak axiom of revealed preferece at equilibrium is satisfied if, e.g., all the commodities are strogly gross substitutes4 or there is a commuity utility fuctio. 1 We are cocered with the so called Lyapuov secod method. See Lyapuov [6] or Malki [7]. The first applicatio of the Lyapuov secod method to the ecoomic aalysis was doe by Clower ad Bushaw [4]. 2 The preset Stability Theorem is a differece equatio aalogue of the oe which was proved i Uzawa [12] for systems of differetial equatios. For the proof, see the Appedix. 3 The weak axiom of revealed preferece which was origially itroduced by Samuelso [9] ad Wald [13] is usually formulated as follows: (4)' For ay two price vectors pi ad p2, pi z(pl) 2 pl z(p2), z(pl) : z(p2) imply p2 z(pl) > p2 z(p2). It is easily see that (4)' implies (4). 4 See Arrow, Block, ad Hurwicz [1], Lemma 5, p. 90.

6 186 REVIEW OF ECONOMIC STUDIES We shall ext be cocered with the successive tdtoemet process which was itroduced by Walras i [14], pp The process uder cosideratio cosists of a price adjustmet which successively clears the markets of commodities. Let p(0) = [pi(0),..., p(o)] be a price vector iitially aouced. Secretary of Market first pays attetio to the market of commodity 1, ad determies the price pl(l) of commodity 1 at the ext stage so that there will be o excess demad at price vector [p(l)), (0), * * *(0)]. I other words, he solves the equatio Z[IP1, P2(0),..., p(0)] = 0, with respect topi. He the goes o to cosider the market of commodity 2 ad determies the price p2(l) of commodity 2 by solvig the equatio z2[p(1), P2, p3(0),..., p (0)] -= 0, with respect to P2. The prices P3 (1),..., p(l) are determied successively. I geeral, the price pj (t + 1) of commodity j at stage t + 1 is determied so as to satisfy the equatio zj [pi(t + 1),..., Pji-i (t + 1), pj(t + 1), pj+,(t),..., p(t))] = O, t = 0, 1,2,.. ;j = 1,...,. I takig ito cosideratio the requiremet that prices should be o-egative, we may modify the above process as follows: pj(t + 1) is determied so as to satisfy the relatio that' r= 0, if pj(t + 1) > 0, (6) z[p(t 1), 1), pj(t..., pl(t + ),..., p(t)] [ 0, if pj(t + 1) = 0, t = 0, 1,2,.. ;j = 1,...,. I order for the successive tdtoemet process to be possible, it is required that, for ay o-egative p(t + 1),..., pj_(t + 1), p+(t),..., p(t), the relatio (6) should have a uique o-egative solutio pjtt + 1). It is evidet that a price vector p(t) = [pl(t),..., p(t)] is left uchaged by the successive tdtoemet process if ad oly if p(t) is a equilibrium price vector. We shall ow cosider the stability of the process defied by (6). Theorem remais valid for the successive tdtoemet process (6). The Stability Let us first cosider the case i which all commodities are strogly gross substitutes; i.e., for ay commodityj, icludig the umeraire, the excess demad fuctio zj (pi..., p) is a strictly icreasig cotiuous fuctio of prices of commodities other tha j. I this case, the equilibrium price vector P = (.,... ) is uiquely determied ad is positive. We have the followig theorem: If all commodities are strogly gross substitutes, the successive tdtoemet process (6) is globally stable. 1 The system of differece equatios (6) defies a iterative method for solvig systems of equatios which is kow as the Gauss-Seidel method i umerical aalysis. The case hadled by Seidel [11] is the oe i which z(p) is liear, [azi/apj]i, j is symmetrical, ad azi/?pp are all positive. Aother formulatio of the successive tdtoemet process was discussed by Professor M. Morishima i a upublished paper.

7 WALRAS' TATONNEMENT IN THE THEORY OF EXCHANGE 187 For the case : = 2, the global stability of the process (6) may be easily see from the Figure. The geeral case will be proved i the Appedix. p2 zt(p).o z2(p)o 'Pi PI We ext cosider the stability of the process (15) for the case i which the followig two coditios are satisfied : (7) For ay fixed p..., j-, p+1,.., P, the equatio Z(pi,..., p-1, pj, P+i,.., S,) == 0 has at most oe o-egative solutio with respect to pj, ad Zj(pi.,* I P-i +- P... P) < 0, for sufficietly large p;. (8) There is a differetiable fuctio (I(p) defied for all positive price vectors p such that, for some positive fuctios X(p),..., (p), - = - Xj(p) Zj(p), j = 1,...,. The coditio (8) is satisfied if, e.g., there is a commuity utility fuctio or the excess demad fuctio has a symmetric matrix of partial derivatives. I this case, the successive tdtoemet process (6) is quasi-stable. The fuctio N(p) satisfyig the coditio (8) becomes, as will be show i the Appedix, a Lyapuov fuctio for the process (6). We thirdly cosider the two-commodity case i which the coditio (7) is satisfied. The successive tdtoemet process (6) the is trivially stable. I fact, the relatio (6) for t = 0 is reduced to z[pi(l)] = 0, which, by the Walras law, implies that pl(l) is a equilibrium price of commodity 1.

8 188 REVIEW OF ECONOMIC STUDIES It may be fially oted that the above three cases, together with the domiat diagoal case, exhaust the cases essetially for which the stability of the Samuelso processa differetial equatio formulatio of the successive tdtoemet process-is kow." Staford. See Samuelso (101, part II; Arrow ad Hurwicz [31; Arrow, Block, ad Hurwicz [1]. H. UZAWA. 1. Proof of the Existece Theorem APPENDIX We first ormalize price vectors such that the sum of prices of all commodities is oe. Let P be the set of all price vectors thus ormalized: P ={p = (Po,P1,..,pt): pt 2i= 0,i=0 1,...,, ad E pt = 1} I-0 The simultaeous tttoemet process, iduced o the set P of ormalized price vectors, defies the followig mappig p T(p) = (TO(p))..., T(p) (9) T,(p) = m()max {O,p' + f zi(p)}, i=0,1,..., l, p gp, where A is a positive umber ad X (p) = max {0, pt + zi(p)} lio It is evidet that ) (p) > 0, ad T(p) is a cotiuous mappig from P ito itself. Hece, by applyig the Brouwer fixed-poitheorem,' we kow that there exists a ormalized price vector = p (p... fi) such that p-=t(a). which, i view of (9), may be writte (10) X i = max {0jp +, zto ) i = 0, 1,...,. Multiplyig (10) bypi ad summig over i = 0, 1,..,, we get I ) 1f0 1-0 f-0 which, by the Walras law, implies Hece, p is a equilibrium price vector. Q.E.D. 1 Cf., e.g., Lefschetz [5], p. 117.

9 WALRAS' TNTONNEMENT IN THE THEORY OF EXCHANGE Proof of the Stability Theorem Let p(t) be the solutio to the process (3) with a iitial price vector p(o) which is arbitrarily give, ad let p* be ay limit-poit of p(t), as t teds to ifiity; i.e. p* = lim p(tv), V --00 for some subsequece { tv }. Cosider the solutio p*(t) to the process (3) with iitial price vector p* ad defie the fuctio qp*(t) by p*(t) = 4D[p*(t)]. Sice 9p(t) = OD[p(t)] is oicreasig ad {p(t)}is bouded, lim cp(t) exists, ad is t oo equal to, say, p* =* = lim 9(t). t --* O the other had, sice the solutio p[t; p(o)] to the system (3) is cotiuous ad uique with respect to iitial positio p(o), we have p*(t) = p(t;p*) = lim p[t ;p(t; ) V = lim p[t + tv; p(o)]. V --00 Hece, we have 9 *(t) = D(p*(t)) = lim D(p(t+tv)) = lim cp(t +tv) v---). 00 V--* 00 which, by the coditio (b), shows that p* = p*(0) is a equilibrium. = *, for all t, Q.E.D. 3. Stability of the Simultaeous Tdtoemet Process: The Weak Axiom Case We may without loss of geerality assume that fi(t) fzi (p(t)), i = 1,...,, ad - f is a sufficietly small positive umber. For the solutio p(t) = p[t; p(o)] to the system (3) with a arbitrarily give iitial price vector p(o), we cosider the fuctio qp(t) defied by 9(t) = (D[p(t)], t = 0, 1, 2. We first show that (11) 9(t + 1) g 9(t) - f3 {2[zo(t)+ ± pfizi(t)] - z2(t) where z(t) = zip(t)]. From the relatio (3), we have

10 190 REVIEW OF ECONOMIC STUDIES (12) p](t + 1) < [pi(t) + 3 Zi(t)]2 = p2(t) + 2 p{(t) zt(t) + P2 z(t), i = 1,...,. Summig (12) over i = 1,...,, we get (13) pp2(t + 1) ; p2(t) + 2p pi(t) z,(t) + 12 z?(t). i=1 i-l i=l 1= Substitutig the Wahllas law (1) ito (13), we have (14) Z p2(t + 1) < 2 p2(t) - 2p zo(t) + 2 z2(t). 1=1 /=1 i=1 O the other had, multiplyig (3) by pi ad slummig over i = 1,..,, we get (15) S pipi(t + 1) 2 ~ fipi(t) + P3 ~ pt zi(t). /=1 /-=1 /=1 Subtractig two times (15) from (14) ad addig Z p2, we ca derive the iequality (11). i=1 Let S be the set of the commodities such that, at equilibrium jp, they have egative excess demad : S = {i: zi(p) < 0}. Equilibrium prices of the commodities i S are zero: (16) pi = 0, for i S. We shall ow show that, if p is a sufficietly small positive umber, there exists to such that pi(t) = 0, for all t 2 to, i e S. Let e be a positive umber such that (17) Zi(p) - c < 0, for all i e S ad ay price vector p such that ()(p) _ e, where c is a positive umber. Sice the excess demad fuctio z(p) is cotiuous, it is possible to choose a positive umber e which satisfies (17). We may assume without loss of geerality that e< c?(0) = 0[p(0)]. Let p be ay positive umber smaller tha the followig two umbers: e/2 if (18) if e / L (/22 (p) ()] 2[zo(p) + : pi z(p)] The weak axiom (4) ad the cotiuity of the excess demad fuctio z(p) ow imply that the two umbers defied by (18) are positive, so that the choice of p is possible. The, by the iequality (11), we have (19) qp(t + 1) _?(t) + 2 e,' if?p(t)! 2'

11 WALRAS' TATONNEMENT IN THE THEORY OF EXCHANGE 191 ad (20) p(t + 1) < (t), ifj 2< 9(t)?(0), t = 0, 1, 2... The iequalities (19) ad (20) imply that there exists t, such that (21) 9(t)! e, for ay t 2 tl. Otherwise, p(t) is strictly decreasig ad the solutio p(t) is bouded, while o limit-poit of p(t) is the equilibrium, thus cotradictig the Stability Theorem. The relatio (3) together with (17) ad (21) implies that there exists to for which (16) is satisfied. The relatio (16) ad a argumet similar to the oe by which we derived (11) lead to the followig : (22) p(t + 1) 9p(t) 13 {2[zo(t) We shall ow show that + Z pizi(t)] -P z2(t) ii=1 i- S J. if [zo(p) + Z PiZi(p)] (23) 0 < AD(p) _ C Z z2(p) ifs is positive. Expadig the umerator ad the deomiator of (23) i the Taylor series at the equilibrium p, ad otig the Walras law (1), we get zo(p) + pfizi(p) = S ajk(pj - fj) (pk - k) + 0[0(p)], 1=1 j,k==l where S z(p) = Z bjk (pj - P) (pk - pk) + 0[D(p)],, ios j,k=l a2 Zo - a2 ajk (= p i Azp ) apb apk apz ( 1 apk ibjk - (P' ad 0[(D(p)] correspod to terms such that a j, k - 1,..., lim O[OD(p)] = O l0im) 0 0(p) The weak axiom together with the o-sigularity of (ajk)j, k =,..., implies, however, that the matrix (ajk)j, k i,..., is positive defiite. Hece

12 192 REVIEW OF ECONOMIC STUDIES Zo(p) + f P zi(p) lri= > 0. (D P) 0 YS z (p) iqos which implies that the umber (23) is positive. Now let 3 be ay positive umber smaller tha the umbeis defied by (18) ad (23). The, by the relatio (22), we have that y(t + 1) < y(t), wheever p(t) is ot a equilibrium. Applyig the Stability Theorem, we have the stability of the process (3). 4. Stability of the Successive Tdtoemet Process: The Gross Substitute Case Cosider the fuctios A(p) ad X(p) defied by Q.E.D. (24) A(p) maxi 1, ' -- (25) A (P) mi {19 L PI) Pi''P **s We shall show that, for ay solutio p(t) to the process (6), (26) A[p(t + 1)] ; A[p(t)], with strict iequality uless A[p(t)] = 1, ad (27)?[p(t + 1)] 2 4[(t)], with strict iequality uless 4[p(t)]J 1. Sice the relatio (27) is proved similarly to (26), we shall give a proof for (26). I order to prove (26), it suffices to prove the followig: (28) A[p1(t + 1),..., pl(t + 1), p;+1(t). * 1 p(t)] with strict iequality uless A[pl(t + 1),..., p;_.(t + 1), p;(t),.., pm(t)] 1, t-=0,1,2;j= 1,...,. Gross substitutability, homogeeity of order zero, ad the Walras law (1) imply that' (29) z;[p1(t + 1),..., pj-.(t + 1), p1, p;+l(t), *. *, pi(t)j] 0, wheever Pi > A[pl(t + 1),..., pj.1(t + 1),pj(t),... p(t)]. 1 See Arrow, Block, ad Hurwicz [1], Lemma 3, p. 89.

13 WALRAS' TATONNEMENT IN THE THEORY OF EXCHANGE 193 ad, if A[pl(t + 1),..., p1_(t + 1), pj(t),..., p(t)] > 1, (29) holds with strict iequality. But, by gross substitutability ad the Walras Law (l), zj[p1(t + 1),..., Pj- (t + l), pj pj+1(t),.., p(t)] is strictly decreasig with respect to pj. Hece, (29) implies that (30) p t A[pl(t + 1),..., p (t + 1), (t),... p(t)], with strict iequality if A[pl(t + 1),..., p-(t + 1), pj(t),..., p(t)] > 1. The iequality (28) is easily implied by (30). The relatios (26) ad (27) i particular show that the solutio p(t) to the process (6) is i a bouded set {P (Pi,... ) : (0) g A(0), j 1..., of positive price vectors. Sice A(p) = X(p) = 1 if ad oly if p is a equilibrium, the relatios (26) ad (27) show that the fuctio D(p) defied by 0(p) = A(p)- X(p), is a Lyapaov fuctio for the process (6). Q.E.D. 5. Stability of the Successive Tdtoemet Process; The Quasi-Itegrable Case Let D(p) be the fuctio satisfyig (8) ady j(pj) be the fuctio defied by (31) Vi(PJ) = I[p1(t + 1),..., pgj-(t + 1), pj, pj+l(t),... p,(t)]. The defiig relatio (6), together with (8), shows that pj(t + 1) is a solutio to the equatio (32) = 0, if p > 0, (32) s(pi)\ 2 0, if pj = 0. The relatios (7) ad (32) show that pj(t + 1) uiquely miimizes unj(pj) subject to pj _ 0. Hece, i particular, we have (33) vj[pj(t + 1)] < (t)], with strict iequality if pj(t + 1) = pj(t). By (31), we may rewrite (33) as follows: (34) $[pl(t + 1),..., pj(t + 1), pj+1(t),..., (t)] [pl(t- + 1),..., p-(t + 1), pj(t),... p(t)], with strict iequality if pj(t + 1) = pj(t). By summig (34) over j D[p(t + 1)] 1 D[p(t)], = 1,..,, we get with strict iequality if p(t + 1) = p(t).

14 194 REVIEW OF ECONOMIC STUDIES Hece, the fuctio (D(p) is a Lyapouov fuctio; ad applyig the Stability Theorem, we kow that the process (6) is quasi-stable i the preset case. REFERENCES [1] Arrow, K. J., H. D. Block, ad L. Hurwicz, " O the stability of the competitive equilibrium : II," Ecoometrica 27 (1959), [2] Arrow, K. J., ad G. Debreu, " Existece of a Equilibrium for a competitive ecoomy," Ecoometrica 22 (1954), [3] Arrow, K. J., ad L. Hurwicz, " O the stability of the competitive equilibrium: I," Ecoometrica 26 (1958), [4] Clower, R. W. ad D. W. Bushaw, " Price determiatio i a stock-flow ecoomy," Ecoometrica 22 (1954), [5] Lefschetz, S., Itroductio to Topology. Priceto : Priceto Uiversity Press, [6] Lyapuov, A. "Probleme geeral de la stabilite du mouvemet," Aales de la Faculte des Scieces de l'uiversitg de Toulouse, (2), 9 (1907), [7] Malki, I. " O the stability of motio i the sese of Lyapuov," Recueil Math6- matique [Math. Sborik], N. S., 3 (45) (1938), Traslatio: America Mathematical Society Traslatio No. 41 (1951). [8] Patiki, D., Moey, Iterest, ad Prices. Evasto: Row, Peterso ad Co., [9] Samuelso, P. A., " A ote o the pure theory of cosumers' behaviour," Ecoomica, Vol. 18 (1938), 61-71, ad [10] Samuelso, P. A., Foudatios of Ecoomic Aalysis. Cambridge: Harvard Uiversity Press, [11] Seidel, P. L., " tber ei Verfahre die Gleichuge, auf welche die Methode der kleiste Quadrate fiihrt sowie lieare Gleichuge uberhaupt durch sukzessive Aahrug aufzulose," Abhadluge der bayersche Akademie der Wisseschafte, Math-pysik. Klasse, 11 (1874), [12] Uzawa, H., "O the stability of dyamic processes," Ecoometrica, to be published. [13] Wald, A., "Uber die Produktiosgleichuge der okoomische Wertlehre," Ergebisse eies mathematische Kolloquiums, No. 7 (1934-5), 1-6. [14] Walras, L., Elkmets d'ecoomie Politique Pure, Paris et Lausae, 1926: traslated by W. Jaff6, Elemets of Pure Ecoomics, Homewood: Richard D. Irwi, Ic., 1954.

The analysis of the Cournot oligopoly model considering the subjective motive in the strategy selection

The analysis of the Cournot oligopoly model considering the subjective motive in the strategy selection The aalysis of the Courot oligopoly model cosiderig the subjective motive i the strategy selectio Shigehito Furuyama Teruhisa Nakai Departmet of Systems Maagemet Egieerig Faculty of Egieerig Kasai Uiversity

More information

Convexity, Inequalities, and Norms

Convexity, Inequalities, and Norms Covexity, Iequalities, ad Norms Covex Fuctios You are probably familiar with the otio of cocavity of fuctios. Give a twicedifferetiable fuctio ϕ: R R, We say that ϕ is covex (or cocave up) if ϕ (x) 0 for

More information

Department of Computer Science, University of Otago

Department of Computer Science, University of Otago Departmet of Computer Sciece, Uiversity of Otago Techical Report OUCS-2006-09 Permutatios Cotaiig May Patters Authors: M.H. Albert Departmet of Computer Sciece, Uiversity of Otago Micah Colema, Rya Fly

More information

Sequences and Series

Sequences and Series CHAPTER 9 Sequeces ad Series 9.. Covergece: Defiitio ad Examples Sequeces The purpose of this chapter is to itroduce a particular way of geeratig algorithms for fidig the values of fuctios defied by their

More information

In nite Sequences. Dr. Philippe B. Laval Kennesaw State University. October 9, 2008

In nite Sequences. Dr. Philippe B. Laval Kennesaw State University. October 9, 2008 I ite Sequeces Dr. Philippe B. Laval Keesaw State Uiversity October 9, 2008 Abstract This had out is a itroductio to i ite sequeces. mai de itios ad presets some elemetary results. It gives the I ite Sequeces

More information

Properties of MLE: consistency, asymptotic normality. Fisher information.

Properties of MLE: consistency, asymptotic normality. Fisher information. Lecture 3 Properties of MLE: cosistecy, asymptotic ormality. Fisher iformatio. I this sectio we will try to uderstad why MLEs are good. Let us recall two facts from probability that we be used ofte throughout

More information

Sequences II. Chapter 3. 3.1 Convergent Sequences

Sequences II. Chapter 3. 3.1 Convergent Sequences Chapter 3 Sequeces II 3. Coverget Sequeces Plot a graph of the sequece a ) = 2, 3 2, 4 3, 5 + 4,...,,... To what limit do you thik this sequece teds? What ca you say about the sequece a )? For ǫ = 0.,

More information

Asymptotic Growth of Functions

Asymptotic Growth of Functions CMPS Itroductio to Aalysis of Algorithms Fall 3 Asymptotic Growth of Fuctios We itroduce several types of asymptotic otatio which are used to compare the performace ad efficiecy of algorithms As we ll

More information

CHAPTER 3 THE TIME VALUE OF MONEY

CHAPTER 3 THE TIME VALUE OF MONEY CHAPTER 3 THE TIME VALUE OF MONEY OVERVIEW A dollar i the had today is worth more tha a dollar to be received i the future because, if you had it ow, you could ivest that dollar ad ear iterest. Of all

More information

Infinite Sequences and Series

Infinite Sequences and Series CHAPTER 4 Ifiite Sequeces ad Series 4.1. Sequeces A sequece is a ifiite ordered list of umbers, for example the sequece of odd positive itegers: 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27, 29...

More information

Modified Line Search Method for Global Optimization

Modified Line Search Method for Global Optimization Modified Lie Search Method for Global Optimizatio Cria Grosa ad Ajith Abraham Ceter of Excellece for Quatifiable Quality of Service Norwegia Uiversity of Sciece ad Techology Trodheim, Norway {cria, ajith}@q2s.tu.o

More information

The second difference is the sequence of differences of the first difference sequence, 2

The second difference is the sequence of differences of the first difference sequence, 2 Differece Equatios I differetial equatios, you look for a fuctio that satisfies ad equatio ivolvig derivatives. I differece equatios, istead of a fuctio of a cotiuous variable (such as time), we look for

More information

CME 302: NUMERICAL LINEAR ALGEBRA FALL 2005/06 LECTURE 8

CME 302: NUMERICAL LINEAR ALGEBRA FALL 2005/06 LECTURE 8 CME 30: NUMERICAL LINEAR ALGEBRA FALL 005/06 LECTURE 8 GENE H GOLUB 1 Positive Defiite Matrices A matrix A is positive defiite if x Ax > 0 for all ozero x A positive defiite matrix has real ad positive

More information

I. Chi-squared Distributions

I. Chi-squared Distributions 1 M 358K Supplemet to Chapter 23: CHI-SQUARED DISTRIBUTIONS, T-DISTRIBUTIONS, AND DEGREES OF FREEDOM To uderstad t-distributios, we first eed to look at aother family of distributios, the chi-squared distributios.

More information

Class Meeting # 16: The Fourier Transform on R n

Class Meeting # 16: The Fourier Transform on R n MATH 18.152 COUSE NOTES - CLASS MEETING # 16 18.152 Itroductio to PDEs, Fall 2011 Professor: Jared Speck Class Meetig # 16: The Fourier Trasform o 1. Itroductio to the Fourier Trasform Earlier i the course,

More information

Vladimir N. Burkov, Dmitri A. Novikov MODELS AND METHODS OF MULTIPROJECTS MANAGEMENT

Vladimir N. Burkov, Dmitri A. Novikov MODELS AND METHODS OF MULTIPROJECTS MANAGEMENT Keywords: project maagemet, resource allocatio, etwork plaig Vladimir N Burkov, Dmitri A Novikov MODELS AND METHODS OF MULTIPROJECTS MANAGEMENT The paper deals with the problems of resource allocatio betwee

More information

Chapter 7 Methods of Finding Estimators

Chapter 7 Methods of Finding Estimators Chapter 7 for BST 695: Special Topics i Statistical Theory. Kui Zhag, 011 Chapter 7 Methods of Fidig Estimators Sectio 7.1 Itroductio Defiitio 7.1.1 A poit estimator is ay fuctio W( X) W( X1, X,, X ) of

More information

INVESTMENT PERFORMANCE COUNCIL (IPC)

INVESTMENT PERFORMANCE COUNCIL (IPC) INVESTMENT PEFOMANCE COUNCIL (IPC) INVITATION TO COMMENT: Global Ivestmet Performace Stadards (GIPS ) Guidace Statemet o Calculatio Methodology The Associatio for Ivestmet Maagemet ad esearch (AIM) seeks

More information

Soving Recurrence Relations

Soving Recurrence Relations Sovig Recurrece Relatios Part 1. Homogeeous liear 2d degree relatios with costat coefficiets. Cosider the recurrece relatio ( ) T () + at ( 1) + bt ( 2) = 0 This is called a homogeeous liear 2d degree

More information

Chapter 5 Unit 1. IET 350 Engineering Economics. Learning Objectives Chapter 5. Learning Objectives Unit 1. Annual Amount and Gradient Functions

Chapter 5 Unit 1. IET 350 Engineering Economics. Learning Objectives Chapter 5. Learning Objectives Unit 1. Annual Amount and Gradient Functions Chapter 5 Uit Aual Amout ad Gradiet Fuctios IET 350 Egieerig Ecoomics Learig Objectives Chapter 5 Upo completio of this chapter you should uderstad: Calculatig future values from aual amouts. Calculatig

More information

Lecture 4: Cauchy sequences, Bolzano-Weierstrass, and the Squeeze theorem

Lecture 4: Cauchy sequences, Bolzano-Weierstrass, and the Squeeze theorem Lecture 4: Cauchy sequeces, Bolzao-Weierstrass, ad the Squeeze theorem The purpose of this lecture is more modest tha the previous oes. It is to state certai coditios uder which we are guarateed that limits

More information

Lecture 13. Lecturer: Jonathan Kelner Scribe: Jonathan Pines (2009)

Lecture 13. Lecturer: Jonathan Kelner Scribe: Jonathan Pines (2009) 18.409 A Algorithmist s Toolkit October 27, 2009 Lecture 13 Lecturer: Joatha Keler Scribe: Joatha Pies (2009) 1 Outlie Last time, we proved the Bru-Mikowski iequality for boxes. Today we ll go over the

More information

Chapter 5: Inner Product Spaces

Chapter 5: Inner Product Spaces Chapter 5: Ier Product Spaces Chapter 5: Ier Product Spaces SECION A Itroductio to Ier Product Spaces By the ed of this sectio you will be able to uderstad what is meat by a ier product space give examples

More information

Ekkehart Schlicht: Economic Surplus and Derived Demand

Ekkehart Schlicht: Economic Surplus and Derived Demand Ekkehart Schlicht: Ecoomic Surplus ad Derived Demad Muich Discussio Paper No. 2006-17 Departmet of Ecoomics Uiversity of Muich Volkswirtschaftliche Fakultät Ludwig-Maximilias-Uiversität Müche Olie at http://epub.ub.ui-mueche.de/940/

More information

CS103A Handout 23 Winter 2002 February 22, 2002 Solving Recurrence Relations

CS103A Handout 23 Winter 2002 February 22, 2002 Solving Recurrence Relations CS3A Hadout 3 Witer 00 February, 00 Solvig Recurrece Relatios Itroductio A wide variety of recurrece problems occur i models. Some of these recurrece relatios ca be solved usig iteratio or some other ad

More information

Project Deliverables. CS 361, Lecture 28. Outline. Project Deliverables. Administrative. Project Comments

Project Deliverables. CS 361, Lecture 28. Outline. Project Deliverables. Administrative. Project Comments Project Deliverables CS 361, Lecture 28 Jared Saia Uiversity of New Mexico Each Group should tur i oe group project cosistig of: About 6-12 pages of text (ca be loger with appedix) 6-12 figures (please

More information

Chapter 6: Variance, the law of large numbers and the Monte-Carlo method

Chapter 6: Variance, the law of large numbers and the Monte-Carlo method Chapter 6: Variace, the law of large umbers ad the Mote-Carlo method Expected value, variace, ad Chebyshev iequality. If X is a radom variable recall that the expected value of X, E[X] is the average value

More information

CS103X: Discrete Structures Homework 4 Solutions

CS103X: Discrete Structures Homework 4 Solutions CS103X: Discrete Structures Homewor 4 Solutios Due February 22, 2008 Exercise 1 10 poits. Silico Valley questios: a How may possible six-figure salaries i whole dollar amouts are there that cotai at least

More information

.04. This means $1000 is multiplied by 1.02 five times, once for each of the remaining sixmonth

.04. This means $1000 is multiplied by 1.02 five times, once for each of the remaining sixmonth Questio 1: What is a ordiary auity? Let s look at a ordiary auity that is certai ad simple. By this, we mea a auity over a fixed term whose paymet period matches the iterest coversio period. Additioally,

More information

SAMPLE QUESTIONS FOR FINAL EXAM. (1) (2) (3) (4) Find the following using the definition of the Riemann integral: (2x + 1)dx

SAMPLE QUESTIONS FOR FINAL EXAM. (1) (2) (3) (4) Find the following using the definition of the Riemann integral: (2x + 1)dx SAMPLE QUESTIONS FOR FINAL EXAM REAL ANALYSIS I FALL 006 3 4 Fid the followig usig the defiitio of the Riema itegral: a 0 x + dx 3 Cosider the partitio P x 0 3, x 3 +, x 3 +,......, x 3 3 + 3 of the iterval

More information

Taking DCOP to the Real World: Efficient Complete Solutions for Distributed Multi-Event Scheduling

Taking DCOP to the Real World: Efficient Complete Solutions for Distributed Multi-Event Scheduling Taig DCOP to the Real World: Efficiet Complete Solutios for Distributed Multi-Evet Schedulig Rajiv T. Maheswara, Milid Tambe, Emma Bowrig, Joatha P. Pearce, ad Pradeep araatham Uiversity of Souther Califoria

More information

MARTINGALES AND A BASIC APPLICATION

MARTINGALES AND A BASIC APPLICATION MARTINGALES AND A BASIC APPLICATION TURNER SMITH Abstract. This paper will develop the measure-theoretic approach to probability i order to preset the defiitio of martigales. From there we will apply this

More information

Irreducible polynomials with consecutive zero coefficients

Irreducible polynomials with consecutive zero coefficients Irreducible polyomials with cosecutive zero coefficiets Theodoulos Garefalakis Departmet of Mathematics, Uiversity of Crete, 71409 Heraklio, Greece Abstract Let q be a prime power. We cosider the problem

More information

4 n. n 1. You shold think of the Ratio Test as a generalization of the Geometric Series Test. For example, if a n ar n is a geometric sequence then

4 n. n 1. You shold think of the Ratio Test as a generalization of the Geometric Series Test. For example, if a n ar n is a geometric sequence then SECTION 2.6 THE RATIO TEST 79 2.6. THE RATIO TEST We ow kow how to hadle series which we ca itegrate (the Itegral Test), ad series which are similar to geometric or p-series (the Compariso Test), but of

More information

Week 3 Conditional probabilities, Bayes formula, WEEK 3 page 1 Expected value of a random variable

Week 3 Conditional probabilities, Bayes formula, WEEK 3 page 1 Expected value of a random variable Week 3 Coditioal probabilities, Bayes formula, WEEK 3 page 1 Expected value of a radom variable We recall our discussio of 5 card poker hads. Example 13 : a) What is the probability of evet A that a 5

More information

Factors of sums of powers of binomial coefficients

Factors of sums of powers of binomial coefficients ACTA ARITHMETICA LXXXVI.1 (1998) Factors of sums of powers of biomial coefficiets by Neil J. Cali (Clemso, S.C.) Dedicated to the memory of Paul Erdős 1. Itroductio. It is well ow that if ( ) a f,a = the

More information

5.4 Amortization. Question 1: How do you find the present value of an annuity? Question 2: How is a loan amortized?

5.4 Amortization. Question 1: How do you find the present value of an annuity? Question 2: How is a loan amortized? 5.4 Amortizatio Questio 1: How do you fid the preset value of a auity? Questio 2: How is a loa amortized? Questio 3: How do you make a amortizatio table? Oe of the most commo fiacial istrumets a perso

More information

*The most important feature of MRP as compared with ordinary inventory control analysis is its time phasing feature.

*The most important feature of MRP as compared with ordinary inventory control analysis is its time phasing feature. Itegrated Productio ad Ivetory Cotrol System MRP ad MRP II Framework of Maufacturig System Ivetory cotrol, productio schedulig, capacity plaig ad fiacial ad busiess decisios i a productio system are iterrelated.

More information

BENEFIT-COST ANALYSIS Financial and Economic Appraisal using Spreadsheets

BENEFIT-COST ANALYSIS Financial and Economic Appraisal using Spreadsheets BENEIT-CST ANALYSIS iacial ad Ecoomic Appraisal usig Spreadsheets Ch. 2: Ivestmet Appraisal - Priciples Harry Campbell & Richard Brow School of Ecoomics The Uiversity of Queeslad Review of basic cocepts

More information

Annuities Under Random Rates of Interest II By Abraham Zaks. Technion I.I.T. Haifa ISRAEL and Haifa University Haifa ISRAEL.

Annuities Under Random Rates of Interest II By Abraham Zaks. Technion I.I.T. Haifa ISRAEL and Haifa University Haifa ISRAEL. Auities Uder Radom Rates of Iterest II By Abraham Zas Techio I.I.T. Haifa ISRAEL ad Haifa Uiversity Haifa ISRAEL Departmet of Mathematics, Techio - Israel Istitute of Techology, 3000, Haifa, Israel I memory

More information

Recursion and Recurrences

Recursion and Recurrences Chapter 5 Recursio ad Recurreces 5.1 Growth Rates of Solutios to Recurreces Divide ad Coquer Algorithms Oe of the most basic ad powerful algorithmic techiques is divide ad coquer. Cosider, for example,

More information

Problem Set 1 Oligopoly, market shares and concentration indexes

Problem Set 1 Oligopoly, market shares and concentration indexes Advaced Idustrial Ecoomics Sprig 2016 Joha Steek 29 April 2016 Problem Set 1 Oligopoly, market shares ad cocetratio idexes 1 1 Price Competitio... 3 1.1 Courot Oligopoly with Homogeous Goods ad Differet

More information

SEQUENCES AND SERIES

SEQUENCES AND SERIES Chapter 9 SEQUENCES AND SERIES Natural umbers are the product of huma spirit. DEDEKIND 9.1 Itroductio I mathematics, the word, sequece is used i much the same way as it is i ordiary Eglish. Whe we say

More information

PROCEEDINGS OF THE YEREVAN STATE UNIVERSITY AN ALTERNATIVE MODEL FOR BONUS-MALUS SYSTEM

PROCEEDINGS OF THE YEREVAN STATE UNIVERSITY AN ALTERNATIVE MODEL FOR BONUS-MALUS SYSTEM PROCEEDINGS OF THE YEREVAN STATE UNIVERSITY Physical ad Mathematical Scieces 2015, 1, p. 15 19 M a t h e m a t i c s AN ALTERNATIVE MODEL FOR BONUS-MALUS SYSTEM A. G. GULYAN Chair of Actuarial Mathematics

More information

FIBONACCI NUMBERS: AN APPLICATION OF LINEAR ALGEBRA. 1. Powers of a matrix

FIBONACCI NUMBERS: AN APPLICATION OF LINEAR ALGEBRA. 1. Powers of a matrix FIBONACCI NUMBERS: AN APPLICATION OF LINEAR ALGEBRA. Powers of a matrix We begi with a propositio which illustrates the usefuless of the diagoalizatio. Recall that a square matrix A is diogaalizable if

More information

where: T = number of years of cash flow in investment's life n = the year in which the cash flow X n i = IRR = the internal rate of return

where: T = number of years of cash flow in investment's life n = the year in which the cash flow X n i = IRR = the internal rate of return EVALUATING ALTERNATIVE CAPITAL INVESTMENT PROGRAMS By Ke D. Duft, Extesio Ecoomist I the March 98 issue of this publicatio we reviewed the procedure by which a capital ivestmet project was assessed. The

More information

Section 11.3: The Integral Test

Section 11.3: The Integral Test Sectio.3: The Itegral Test Most of the series we have looked at have either diverged or have coverged ad we have bee able to fid what they coverge to. I geeral however, the problem is much more difficult

More information

ON AN INTEGRAL OPERATOR WHICH PRESERVE THE UNIVALENCE

ON AN INTEGRAL OPERATOR WHICH PRESERVE THE UNIVALENCE Proceedigs of the Iteratioal Coferece o Theory ad Applicatios of Mathematics ad Iformatics ICTAMI 3, Alba Iulia ON AN INTEGRAL OPERATOR WHICH PRESERVE THE UNIVALENCE by Maria E Gageoea ad Silvia Moldoveau

More information

Here are a couple of warnings to my students who may be here to get a copy of what happened on a day that you missed.

Here are a couple of warnings to my students who may be here to get a copy of what happened on a day that you missed. This documet was writte ad copyrighted by Paul Dawkis. Use of this documet ad its olie versio is govered by the Terms ad Coditios of Use located at http://tutorial.math.lamar.edu/terms.asp. The olie versio

More information

SECTION 1.5 : SUMMATION NOTATION + WORK WITH SEQUENCES

SECTION 1.5 : SUMMATION NOTATION + WORK WITH SEQUENCES SECTION 1.5 : SUMMATION NOTATION + WORK WITH SEQUENCES Read Sectio 1.5 (pages 5 9) Overview I Sectio 1.5 we lear to work with summatio otatio ad formulas. We will also itroduce a brief overview of sequeces,

More information

THE ABRACADABRA PROBLEM

THE ABRACADABRA PROBLEM THE ABRACADABRA PROBLEM FRANCESCO CARAVENNA Abstract. We preset a detailed solutio of Exercise E0.6 i [Wil9]: i a radom sequece of letters, draw idepedetly ad uiformly from the Eglish alphabet, the expected

More information

The following example will help us understand The Sampling Distribution of the Mean. C1 C2 C3 C4 C5 50 miles 84 miles 38 miles 120 miles 48 miles

The following example will help us understand The Sampling Distribution of the Mean. C1 C2 C3 C4 C5 50 miles 84 miles 38 miles 120 miles 48 miles The followig eample will help us uderstad The Samplig Distributio of the Mea Review: The populatio is the etire collectio of all idividuals or objects of iterest The sample is the portio of the populatio

More information

Elementary Theory of Russian Roulette

Elementary Theory of Russian Roulette Elemetary Theory of Russia Roulette -iterestig patters of fractios- Satoshi Hashiba Daisuke Miematsu Ryohei Miyadera Itroductio. Today we are goig to study mathematical theory of Russia roulette. If some

More information

Gregory Carey, 1998 Linear Transformations & Composites - 1. Linear Transformations and Linear Composites

Gregory Carey, 1998 Linear Transformations & Composites - 1. Linear Transformations and Linear Composites Gregory Carey, 1998 Liear Trasformatios & Composites - 1 Liear Trasformatios ad Liear Composites I Liear Trasformatios of Variables Meas ad Stadard Deviatios of Liear Trasformatios A liear trasformatio

More information

A probabilistic proof of a binomial identity

A probabilistic proof of a binomial identity A probabilistic proof of a biomial idetity Joatho Peterso Abstract We give a elemetary probabilistic proof of a biomial idetity. The proof is obtaied by computig the probability of a certai evet i two

More information

A Note on Sums of Greatest (Least) Prime Factors

A Note on Sums of Greatest (Least) Prime Factors It. J. Cotemp. Math. Scieces, Vol. 8, 203, o. 9, 423-432 HIKARI Ltd, www.m-hikari.com A Note o Sums of Greatest (Least Prime Factors Rafael Jakimczuk Divisio Matemática, Uiversidad Nacioal de Luá Bueos

More information

Basic Elements of Arithmetic Sequences and Series

Basic Elements of Arithmetic Sequences and Series MA40S PRE-CALCULUS UNIT G GEOMETRIC SEQUENCES CLASS NOTES (COMPLETED NO NEED TO COPY NOTES FROM OVERHEAD) Basic Elemets of Arithmetic Sequeces ad Series Objective: To establish basic elemets of arithmetic

More information

4.3. The Integral and Comparison Tests

4.3. The Integral and Comparison Tests 4.3. THE INTEGRAL AND COMPARISON TESTS 9 4.3. The Itegral ad Compariso Tests 4.3.. The Itegral Test. Suppose f is a cotiuous, positive, decreasig fuctio o [, ), ad let a = f(). The the covergece or divergece

More information

THE ARITHMETIC OF INTEGERS. - multiplication, exponentiation, division, addition, and subtraction

THE ARITHMETIC OF INTEGERS. - multiplication, exponentiation, division, addition, and subtraction THE ARITHMETIC OF INTEGERS - multiplicatio, expoetiatio, divisio, additio, ad subtractio What to do ad what ot to do. THE INTEGERS Recall that a iteger is oe of the whole umbers, which may be either positive,

More information

5 Boolean Decision Trees (February 11)

5 Boolean Decision Trees (February 11) 5 Boolea Decisio Trees (February 11) 5.1 Graph Coectivity Suppose we are give a udirected graph G, represeted as a boolea adjacecy matrix = (a ij ), where a ij = 1 if ad oly if vertices i ad j are coected

More information

Algebra Vocabulary List (Definitions for Middle School Teachers)

Algebra Vocabulary List (Definitions for Middle School Teachers) Algebra Vocabulary List (Defiitios for Middle School Teachers) A Absolute Value Fuctio The absolute value of a real umber x, x is xifx 0 x = xifx < 0 http://www.math.tamu.edu/~stecher/171/f02/absolutevaluefuctio.pdf

More information

Linear Algebra II. 4 Determinants. Notes 4 1st November Definition of determinant

Linear Algebra II. 4 Determinants. Notes 4 1st November Definition of determinant MTH6140 Liear Algebra II Notes 4 1st November 2010 4 Determiats The determiat is a fuctio defied o square matrices; its value is a scalar. It has some very importat properties: perhaps most importat is

More information

THE HEIGHT OF q-binary SEARCH TREES

THE HEIGHT OF q-binary SEARCH TREES THE HEIGHT OF q-binary SEARCH TREES MICHAEL DRMOTA AND HELMUT PRODINGER Abstract. q biary search trees are obtaied from words, equipped with the geometric distributio istead of permutatios. The average

More information

CHAPTER 3 DIGITAL CODING OF SIGNALS

CHAPTER 3 DIGITAL CODING OF SIGNALS CHAPTER 3 DIGITAL CODING OF SIGNALS Computers are ofte used to automate the recordig of measuremets. The trasducers ad sigal coditioig circuits produce a voltage sigal that is proportioal to a quatity

More information

3. Covariance and Correlation

3. Covariance and Correlation Virtual Laboratories > 3. Expected Value > 1 2 3 4 5 6 3. Covariace ad Correlatio Recall that by takig the expected value of various trasformatios of a radom variable, we ca measure may iterestig characteristics

More information

Analysis Notes (only a draft, and the first one!)

Analysis Notes (only a draft, and the first one!) Aalysis Notes (oly a draft, ad the first oe!) Ali Nesi Mathematics Departmet Istabul Bilgi Uiversity Kuştepe Şişli Istabul Turkey aesi@bilgi.edu.tr Jue 22, 2004 2 Cotets 1 Prelimiaries 9 1.1 Biary Operatio...........................

More information

Theorems About Power Series

Theorems About Power Series Physics 6A Witer 20 Theorems About Power Series Cosider a power series, f(x) = a x, () where the a are real coefficiets ad x is a real variable. There exists a real o-egative umber R, called the radius

More information

NUMBERS COMMON TO TWO POLYGONAL SEQUENCES

NUMBERS COMMON TO TWO POLYGONAL SEQUENCES NUMBERS COMMON TO TWO POLYGONAL SEQUENCES DIANNE SMITH LUCAS Chia Lake, Califoria a iteger, The polygoal sequece (or sequeces of polygoal umbers) of order r (where r is r > 3) may be defied recursively

More information

THE REGRESSION MODEL IN MATRIX FORM. For simple linear regression, meaning one predictor, the model is. for i = 1, 2, 3,, n

THE REGRESSION MODEL IN MATRIX FORM. For simple linear regression, meaning one predictor, the model is. for i = 1, 2, 3,, n We will cosider the liear regressio model i matrix form. For simple liear regressio, meaig oe predictor, the model is i = + x i + ε i for i =,,,, This model icludes the assumptio that the ε i s are a sample

More information

Trigonometric Form of a Complex Number. The Complex Plane. axis. ( 2, 1) or 2 i FIGURE 6.44. The absolute value of the complex number z a bi is

Trigonometric Form of a Complex Number. The Complex Plane. axis. ( 2, 1) or 2 i FIGURE 6.44. The absolute value of the complex number z a bi is 0_0605.qxd /5/05 0:45 AM Page 470 470 Chapter 6 Additioal Topics i Trigoometry 6.5 Trigoometric Form of a Complex Number What you should lear Plot complex umbers i the complex plae ad fid absolute values

More information

Building Blocks Problem Related to Harmonic Series

Building Blocks Problem Related to Harmonic Series TMME, vol3, o, p.76 Buildig Blocks Problem Related to Harmoic Series Yutaka Nishiyama Osaka Uiversity of Ecoomics, Japa Abstract: I this discussio I give a eplaatio of the divergece ad covergece of ifiite

More information

ON THE DENSE TRAJECTORY OF LASOTA EQUATION

ON THE DENSE TRAJECTORY OF LASOTA EQUATION UNIVERSITATIS IAGELLONICAE ACTA MATHEMATICA, FASCICULUS XLIII 2005 ON THE DENSE TRAJECTORY OF LASOTA EQUATION by Atoi Leo Dawidowicz ad Najemedi Haribash Abstract. I preseted paper the dese trajectory

More information

Designing Incentives for Online Question and Answer Forums

Designing Incentives for Online Question and Answer Forums Desigig Icetives for Olie Questio ad Aswer Forums Shaili Jai School of Egieerig ad Applied Scieces Harvard Uiversity Cambridge, MA 0238 USA shailij@eecs.harvard.edu Yilig Che School of Egieerig ad Applied

More information

Decomposition of Gini and the generalized entropy inequality measures. Abstract

Decomposition of Gini and the generalized entropy inequality measures. Abstract Decompositio of Gii ad the geeralized etropy iequality measures Stéphae Mussard LAMETA Uiversity of Motpellier I Fraçoise Seyte LAMETA Uiversity of Motpellier I Michel Terraza LAMETA Uiversity of Motpellier

More information

Heavy Traffic Analysis of a Simple Closed Loop Supply Chain

Heavy Traffic Analysis of a Simple Closed Loop Supply Chain Heavy Traffic Aalysis of a Simple Closed Loop Supply Chai Arka Ghosh, Sarah M. Rya, Lizhi Wag, ad Aada Weerasighe April 8, 2 Abstract We cosider a closed loop supply chai where ew products are produced

More information

Nr. 2. Interpolation of Discount Factors. Heinz Cremers Willi Schwarz. Mai 1996

Nr. 2. Interpolation of Discount Factors. Heinz Cremers Willi Schwarz. Mai 1996 Nr 2 Iterpolatio of Discout Factors Heiz Cremers Willi Schwarz Mai 1996 Autore: Herausgeber: Prof Dr Heiz Cremers Quatitative Methode ud Spezielle Bakbetriebslehre Hochschule für Bakwirtschaft Dr Willi

More information

INFINITE SERIES KEITH CONRAD

INFINITE SERIES KEITH CONRAD INFINITE SERIES KEITH CONRAD. Itroductio The two basic cocepts of calculus, differetiatio ad itegratio, are defied i terms of limits (Newto quotiets ad Riema sums). I additio to these is a third fudametal

More information

Baan Service Master Data Management

Baan Service Master Data Management Baa Service Master Data Maagemet Module Procedure UP069A US Documetiformatio Documet Documet code : UP069A US Documet group : User Documetatio Documet title : Master Data Maagemet Applicatio/Package :

More information

AP Calculus AB 2006 Scoring Guidelines Form B

AP Calculus AB 2006 Scoring Guidelines Form B AP Calculus AB 6 Scorig Guidelies Form B The College Board: Coectig Studets to College Success The College Board is a ot-for-profit membership associatio whose missio is to coect studets to college success

More information

Discrete Mathematics and Probability Theory Spring 2014 Anant Sahai Note 13

Discrete Mathematics and Probability Theory Spring 2014 Anant Sahai Note 13 EECS 70 Discrete Mathematics ad Probability Theory Sprig 2014 Aat Sahai Note 13 Itroductio At this poit, we have see eough examples that it is worth just takig stock of our model of probability ad may

More information

Investing in Stocks WHAT ARE THE DIFFERENT CLASSIFICATIONS OF STOCKS? WHY INVEST IN STOCKS? CAN YOU LOSE MONEY?

Investing in Stocks WHAT ARE THE DIFFERENT CLASSIFICATIONS OF STOCKS? WHY INVEST IN STOCKS? CAN YOU LOSE MONEY? Ivestig i Stocks Ivestig i Stocks Busiesses sell shares of stock to ivestors as a way to raise moey to fiace expasio, pay off debt ad provide operatig capital. Ecoomic coditios: Employmet, iflatio, ivetory

More information

Research Article Sign Data Derivative Recovery

Research Article Sign Data Derivative Recovery Iteratioal Scholarly Research Network ISRN Applied Mathematics Volume 0, Article ID 63070, 7 pages doi:0.540/0/63070 Research Article Sig Data Derivative Recovery L. M. Housto, G. A. Glass, ad A. D. Dymikov

More information

7. Sample Covariance and Correlation

7. Sample Covariance and Correlation 1 of 8 7/16/2009 6:06 AM Virtual Laboratories > 6. Radom Samples > 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 7. Sample Covariace ad Correlatio The Bivariate Model Suppose agai that we have a basic radom experimet, ad that X ad Y

More information

Stock Market Trading via Stochastic Network Optimization

Stock Market Trading via Stochastic Network Optimization PROC. IEEE CONFERENCE ON DECISION AND CONTROL (CDC), ATLANTA, GA, DEC. 2010 1 Stock Market Tradig via Stochastic Network Optimizatio Michael J. Neely Uiversity of Souther Califoria http://www-rcf.usc.edu/

More information

RANDOM GRAPHS WITH FORBIDDEN VERTEX DEGREES

RANDOM GRAPHS WITH FORBIDDEN VERTEX DEGREES RANDOM GRAPHS WITH FORBIDDEN VERTEX DEGREES GEOFFREY GRIMMETT AND SVANTE JANSON Abstract. We study the radom graph G,λ/ coditioed o the evet that all vertex degrees lie i some give subset S of the oegative

More information

Present Value Factor To bring one dollar in the future back to present, one uses the Present Value Factor (PVF): Concept 9: Present Value

Present Value Factor To bring one dollar in the future back to present, one uses the Present Value Factor (PVF): Concept 9: Present Value Cocept 9: Preset Value Is the value of a dollar received today the same as received a year from today? A dollar today is worth more tha a dollar tomorrow because of iflatio, opportuity cost, ad risk Brigig

More information

Lesson 17 Pearson s Correlation Coefficient

Lesson 17 Pearson s Correlation Coefficient Outlie Measures of Relatioships Pearso s Correlatio Coefficiet (r) -types of data -scatter plots -measure of directio -measure of stregth Computatio -covariatio of X ad Y -uique variatio i X ad Y -measurig

More information

2. Degree Sequences. 2.1 Degree Sequences

2. Degree Sequences. 2.1 Degree Sequences 2. Degree Sequeces The cocept of degrees i graphs has provided a framewor for the study of various structural properties of graphs ad has therefore attracted the attetio of may graph theorists. Here we

More information

Automatic Tuning for FOREX Trading System Using Fuzzy Time Series

Automatic Tuning for FOREX Trading System Using Fuzzy Time Series utomatic Tuig for FOREX Tradig System Usig Fuzzy Time Series Kraimo Maeesilp ad Pitihate Soorasa bstract Efficiecy of the automatic currecy tradig system is time depedet due to usig fixed parameters which

More information

3 Basic Definitions of Probability Theory

3 Basic Definitions of Probability Theory 3 Basic Defiitios of Probability Theory 3defprob.tex: Feb 10, 2003 Classical probability Frequecy probability axiomatic probability Historical developemet: Classical Frequecy Axiomatic The Axiomatic defiitio

More information

4.1 Sigma Notation and Riemann Sums

4.1 Sigma Notation and Riemann Sums 0 the itegral. Sigma Notatio ad Riema Sums Oe strategy for calculatig the area of a regio is to cut the regio ito simple shapes, calculate the area of each simple shape, ad the add these smaller areas

More information

1. MATHEMATICAL INDUCTION

1. MATHEMATICAL INDUCTION 1. MATHEMATICAL INDUCTION EXAMPLE 1: Prove that for ay iteger 1. Proof: 1 + 2 + 3 +... + ( + 1 2 (1.1 STEP 1: For 1 (1.1 is true, sice 1 1(1 + 1. 2 STEP 2: Suppose (1.1 is true for some k 1, that is 1

More information

Simple Annuities Present Value.

Simple Annuities Present Value. Simple Auities Preset Value. OBJECTIVES (i) To uderstad the uderlyig priciple of a preset value auity. (ii) To use a CASIO CFX-9850GB PLUS to efficietly compute values associated with preset value auities.

More information

Data Analysis and Statistical Behaviors of Stock Market Fluctuations

Data Analysis and Statistical Behaviors of Stock Market Fluctuations 44 JOURNAL OF COMPUTERS, VOL. 3, NO. 0, OCTOBER 2008 Data Aalysis ad Statistical Behaviors of Stock Market Fluctuatios Ju Wag Departmet of Mathematics, Beijig Jiaotog Uiversity, Beijig 00044, Chia Email:

More information

THE UNLIKELY UNION OF PARTITIONS AND DIVISORS

THE UNLIKELY UNION OF PARTITIONS AND DIVISORS THE UNLIKELY UNION OF PARTITIONS AND DIVISORS Abdulkadir Hasse, Thomas J. Osler, Mathematics Departmet ad Tirupathi R. Chadrupatla, Mechaical Egieerig Rowa Uiversity Glassboro, NJ 828 I the multiplicative

More information

Lecture 3. denote the orthogonal complement of S k. Then. 1 x S k. n. 2 x T Ax = ( ) λ x. with x = 1, we have. i = λ k x 2 = λ k.

Lecture 3. denote the orthogonal complement of S k. Then. 1 x S k. n. 2 x T Ax = ( ) λ x. with x = 1, we have. i = λ k x 2 = λ k. 18.409 A Algorithmist s Toolkit September 17, 009 Lecture 3 Lecturer: Joatha Keler Scribe: Adre Wibisoo 1 Outlie Today s lecture covers three mai parts: Courat-Fischer formula ad Rayleigh quotiets The

More information

Time Value of Money, NPV and IRR equation solving with the TI-86

Time Value of Money, NPV and IRR equation solving with the TI-86 Time Value of Moey NPV ad IRR Equatio Solvig with the TI-86 (may work with TI-85) (similar process works with TI-83, TI-83 Plus ad may work with TI-82) Time Value of Moey, NPV ad IRR equatio solvig with

More information

INVESTMENT PERFORMANCE COUNCIL (IPC) Guidance Statement on Calculation Methodology

INVESTMENT PERFORMANCE COUNCIL (IPC) Guidance Statement on Calculation Methodology Adoptio Date: 4 March 2004 Effective Date: 1 Jue 2004 Retroactive Applicatio: No Public Commet Period: Aug Nov 2002 INVESTMENT PERFORMANCE COUNCIL (IPC) Preface Guidace Statemet o Calculatio Methodology

More information

NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 12

NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE 12 NATIONAL SENIOR CERTIFICATE GRADE MATHEMATICS P EXEMPLAR 04 MARKS: 50 TIME: 3 hours This questio paper cosists of 8 pages ad iformatio sheet. Please tur over Mathematics/P DBE/04 NSC Grade Eemplar INSTRUCTIONS

More information

Solving Inequalities

Solving Inequalities Solvig Iequalities Say Thaks to the Authors Click http://www.ck12.org/saythaks (No sig i required) To access a customizable versio of this book, as well as other iteractive cotet, visit www.ck12.org CK-12

More information