Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) Refund. FREE complaints guide

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) Refund. FREE complaints guide"

Transcription

1 Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) Refund FREE complaints guide

2 Thank you for requesting The Claims Connection PPI Complaint Guide. The Claims Connection website is owned and managed by Winston Solicitors LLP. We deal with many different types of compensation cases but have a special interest in financial complaints. This free guide gives you a brief introduction to the key issues relating to the PPI mis-selling scandal in the UK and includes some very useful links and resources. This information should help you determine whether you were potentially mis-sold a PPI policy and if so what you can do to complain about your situation. Making a complaint in respect of mis-sold PPI is intended to be a straightforward process and some members of the public may wish to represent themselves rather than instruct a complaints handler or law firm to assist them in their case. At Winston Solicitors LLP, we recognise this and our PPI Complaints Guide is designed to allow you to prepare and present your case personally if you choose to do so. It is important that you arm yourself with the facts and understand the process before you make your complaint. You should be familiar with the arguments and general principles to ensure that you are not fobbed off by your lender. This guide explains each stage of the process and highlights the major mis-selling practices in the PPI market. It also highlights the defences which may be raised by lenders and what you need to do to rebut them. If you are successful, be careful when considering the amount of your refund; lenders often make mistakes or miscalculate, so ensure that you understand the formula used. If you decide not to deal with matters personally, but would prefer to have formal representation, Winston Solicitors LLP would be pleased to consider your complaint. We have provided some additional information about our specialist PPI service within the guide which you might want to consider before making up your mind. On behalf of the Winston Solicitors LLP team, thank you again for your interest in our firm and we wish you all the very best with your complaint. THE CLAIMS CONNECTION: Free PPI Complaint Guide 1

3 Getting help with your complaint At Winston Solicitors LLP, we recognise that some people prefer to go it alone. This guide provides you with the facts to help you to complain yourself, should you choose to go down that route. Alternatively, we offer representation on a no win no fee basis to people who need or prefer to be represented. 10 good reasons to instruct Winston Solicitors LLP 1. There are lots of firms on the internet promoting similar services. Few are solicitors. By instructing Winston Solicitors LLP, you are guaranteed professionalism and a high standard of service with the assurance that our work is regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority. 2. We do not charge any up-front fees or administration charges. 3. We will deal with all the correspondence and take the stress away from you. 4. We will calculate the refund amount to which you may be entitled, including interest. 5. We will ensure that you are not short changed by the lender. 6. We have an excellent track record in handling financial complaints, for example, mis-sold endowment policies. 7. Since we are solicitors, we find that lenders are more inclined to deal with us reasonably. 8. If the lender initially rejects your complaint, we understand what arguments can be used to progress your case. 9. If the complaint is unsuccessful, we will refer it to the Financial Ombudsman Service on your behalf at no extra cost to you. 10. We will not charge a penny unless the complaint is successful. If you choose to take on your lender personally, we hope that you will find the information on our website helpful. Alternatively, you may prefer to have full representation and we are well placed to provide you with the service that you need. Winston Solicitors would be happy to assess your case without any obligation call and speak to an advisor. Whatever you do... you should do something THE CLAIMS CONNECTION: Free PPI Complaint Guide 2

4 How do I complaint myself? 1. Do you have the original paperwork? Your PPI policy If not, request a copy from your lender, enclosing the fee of Bear in mind that they may provide you with a sample of what your agreement would have looked like if they have not kept the original. 2. What if you don t remember the lender? If you do not recall who the agreement was with, for a small fee you can obtain a credit report from a credit reference agency, listing all the agreements you have had in the last six years. 3. Check your agreement to see whether you have PPI Look out for references to Payment Protection, Payment Cover, Protection Plan, ASU etc. 4. Do you want to continue with the PPI? PPI can be a useful product. Before you complain, consider whether you want the PPI to end. Do you want PPI? If so, do you wish it to continue with the current provider or to seek cheaper PPI elsewhere? 5. Was your PPI mis-sold? Your complaint Check to see what your PPI covers. Was it appropriate for your requirements at the time? Use our list of 'Ten Common Failings to identify whether your lender was guilty of any mis-selling practices. 6. Send a letter of complaint. If you conclude that your PPI was mis-sold, write to your lender. Enclose a copy of the customer questionnaire (http://www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk/consumer/complaints.htm) and any relevant documentation, kee ping copies for yourself. 7. What happens next? Decision, compensation and Ombudsman Your lender will have five days to acknowledge your letter and 8 weeks to issue a substantive response. If your complaint is rejected, do not be put off; write again. If your lender fails to respond within the time frame, or you are dissatisfied with the response, you may complain to the Ombudsman. 8. Who is the Ombudsman? The Ombudsman, or Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS), is the arbiter for all complaints about financial institutions. It has jurisdiction over all PPI sales from January How do I deal with the Ombudsman There is a standard form to send to the Ombudsman, available on the FOS website (http://www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk/consumer/complaints.htm). The Ombudsman will acknowledge you r complaint, but it frequently takes at least six months for your complaint to be dealt with. 10. Can I appeal the Ombudsman s decision? The initial decision will often be made by a caseworker. You may apply to have it reviewed by an Ombudsman. If this fails, you still have the theoretical right to issue legal proceedings. However, the prospects of success will be significantly reduced by the unfavourable result of the Ombudsman process. THE CLAIMS CONNECTION: Free PPI Complaint Guide 3

5 10 Common Failings The Financial Services Authority has highlighted various mis-selling practices in the PPI market. If one of the following 10 Common Failings applied to your sale, you may have a complaint. Be aware that there are other potential failings and mis-selling practices of which your lender may have been guilty so, if you are taking on your lender personally, ensure that you do your research. 1. You felt pressured into purchasing the PPI; 2. PPI was automatically included in the loan quotation; 3. You were led to believe that PPI was necessary or would increase your chances of being approved; 4. You were not told that the policy was optional; 5. The lender did not explain whether it was advising on the sale or merely conducting it; 6. The information was not explained to you in a way and at a pace that you could understand, including any exclusions or limitations; 7. You were not provided with the documents required by the rules; 8. You were not informed of the length of the cooling off period; 9. The overall cost of the policy was not explained to you; 10. In respect of a single premium policy, it was not explained to you that interest would be charged on the premium, that no pro-rata refund was available or you were not asked about the chances of the loan being repaid early. THE CLAIMS CONNECTION: Free PPI Complaint Guide 4

6 Common defences Not all PPI policies were mis-sold. Some were good sales. In such cases, lenders are unlikely to make an offer of settlement. Even in cases where there was a failing, some lenders will prefer to defend the complaint in the first instance, rather than make an offer of settlement. If you plan to take on your lender yourself, you should be aware of the types of defence which the lender might raise and what you can do to rebut any such defence. You should be prepared to persevere and write to your lender more than once if necessary. 1. The sale was not regulated The FSA has regulated all PPI sales since January The handbook provisions only explicitly apply to sales after this date. The FSA has stated that its measures should be interpreted as guidance in relation to pre sales. This is because the handbook provisions resemble the rules which previously applied to such sales. The FSA is reluctant to exclude pre-2005 sales from the scope of its measures, since mis-selling practices were at least as bad before this date. Hence, the fact that the policy was sold before 2005 will not necessarily be a bar to a successful complaint. 2. The complaint is time-barred Even if your PPI policy is very old, it s worth looking into whether you are eligible for a refund. Theoretically, if the sale took place more than six years ago, your complaint may be rejected. However, if it s less than three years since you became aware of the cause for complaint, you will still be able to complain. Most people have only recently become aware that their PPI policy may have been mis-sold in light of recent media coverage. THE CLAIMS CONNECTION: Free PPI Complaint Guide 5

7 3. You have made a successful complaint against the policy. This is not a defence in itself and you may still be entitled to a refund. However, this is subject to two provisos: i) The but for test (see below). ii) Your refund will not include any payments which would have been made but for the successful complaint, for example, payments which were not made during a period of sickness. 4. The customer would have bought the policy but for the failing The bank may assert that the policy was suitable and that you would have bought in any event, ie, you would still have bought the policy but for the failing. There is a presumption that you would not have bought the policy were it not for the failing. Challenge the lender to produce specific evidence to rebut this presumption. You might be able to adduce positive evidence why you would not have bought the policy but for the failing. For example, if you were unemployed, self-employed or a student, evidence of your status as such would amount to strong evidence that you would not have bought the policy. 5. The information was not relevant The lender only has to disclose a lack of pro-rata refunds if it concludes that this information is relevant. The potential defence is that it was not relevant. THE CLAIMS CONNECTION: Free PPI Complaint Guide 6

8 Highlight that the onus is on the lender to demonstrate that they had good grounds for considering that the information was not relevant; Challenge the lender to point to a specific reason why it was not relevant. You do not necessarily have to give a specific reason why it was relevant. You might be able to give a positive reason why the information was relevant in your case. For example, you might have re-financed numerous times previously, demonstrating that you were likely to do so again, or you might have been due to receive some dividend which would allow you to discharge the amount due under the agreement. You might argue that such information is relevant in all cases, since there is always the possibility that you would choose to refinance at some stage, irrespective of your intentions at the point of sale. 6. You had PPI prior to re-financing with the lender Lenders have been known to argue that the fact that you had PPI previously indicates that PPI was suitable for your needs and that you would have opted for it in any event. The FSA policy statement states that lenders are not allowed to use the fact that you had taken out PPI previously to demonstrate that you had knowledge of, or were happy with, the PPI. This is because the earlier policy may also have been mis-sold. 7. You failed to exercise your right to cancel the policy The FSA handbook makes it clear that the firm should not reject a complaint because the complainant failed to exercise the right to cancel the policy THE CLAIMS CONNECTION: Free PPI Complaint Guide 7

9 8. You have not produced documentary evidence relating to the policy. The FSA handbook states that negative inferences should not be drawn from a customer s failure to keep information for any particular period. It also says that more weight should be given to specific evidence, including oral evidence, of what happened during the sale than to general evidence regarding the firm s selling practices. 9. Another firm is partly or wholly responsible for the matter complained of. In these circumstances, a firm is allowed to forward the complaint to the firm which it believes to be responsible. The matter complained of is the selling of the product, not the product itself, hence the firm is unlikely to be able to forward the complaint. 10. There is no legal cause of action. What can we do to rebut the defence? It is irrelevant whether you might have a legal claim. Breach by the lender of the FSA handbook and policy statement are sufficient grounds to make a complaint. 11. The matter complained of was disclosed to you. For example, it was disclosed to the customer that the policy would not cover a pre-existing medical condition. THE CLAIMS CONNECTION: Free PPI Complaint Guide 8

10 What can we do to rebut the defence? It is not enough for the firm to disclose the information per se. It must be disclosed in a way which is clear, fair and not misleading, taking into account your individual needs. The information must be given at a speed, tone and using language which you could understand. If you are oblivious to the information that was supposedly disclosed during the sale, this is evidence that the firm did not meet the requirements in your particular case. 12. The customer would have bought an alternative policy but for the failing. This is not a defence as such. However, it could significantly reduce the amount of your refund. You will only be entitled to the difference between the premiums paid for the PPI and those which you would have paid on the alternative policy. What can we do to rebut the defence? If you would not have bought any PPI policy, you need to make this clear and explain the reasons. An obvious example would be that you were a member of a group which would be excluded from any type of PPI policy, for example, you were unemployed. Should you choose to take on your lender personally, we wish you the best and hope that you have found this information helpful. Alternatively, if you think that you would prefer to be represented by a specialist firm Winston Solicitors LLP would be happy to assess your case call and speak to an advisor today. We will take the stress away from you and where possible ensure that you receive an appropriate refund should your complaint be successful. Whatever you do... you should do something THE CLAIMS CONNECTION: Free PPI Complaint Guide 9

Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) Refund. FREE complaints guide

Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) Refund. FREE complaints guide Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) Refund FREE complaints guide Thank you for requesting the Claims Connection PPI Complaint Guide. The Claims Connection website is owned and managed by Winston Solicitors

More information

Guidance with forms. How to make a Do-it-Yourself Claim for mis-sold Personal Protection Insurance

Guidance with forms. How to make a Do-it-Yourself Claim for mis-sold Personal Protection Insurance Guidance with forms How to make a Do-it-Yourself Claim for mis-sold Personal Protection Insurance This is an excerpt from Lawpack s PPI Claim Pack. To find out more about making a DIY PPI claim and getting

More information

Guide to Reclaiming Mis-sold Payment Protection Insurance. Debt Advisory Services (Scotland) Limited Telephone 08000112322 www.scottishdebthelp.co.

Guide to Reclaiming Mis-sold Payment Protection Insurance. Debt Advisory Services (Scotland) Limited Telephone 08000112322 www.scottishdebthelp.co. Guide to Reclaiming Mis-sold Payment Protection Insurance Debt Advisory Services (Scotland) Limited Telephone 08000112322 www.scottishdebthelp.co.uk Contents 1. Introduction 2. What is Payment Protection

More information

Payment Protection Insurance. Agent Training Guide

Payment Protection Insurance. Agent Training Guide Payment Protection Insurance Agent Training Guide Introduction Genistar has joined forces with Highbridge to provide expert advice to your clients on their PPI claims. Highbridge is an international legal

More information

Mis-Sold Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) Claims Pack

Mis-Sold Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) Claims Pack Mis-Sold Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) Claims Pack Debt Clear Solutions is delighted to enclose an information and application pack that will enable us to reclaim any mis-sold Payment Protection Insurance

More information

A few minutes of your time could earn you thousands.

A few minutes of your time could earn you thousands. A few minutes of your time could earn you thousands. Welcome to Maple Leaf Financial Ltd. We are pleased to follow up with your NO WIN, NO FEE Payment Protection Insurance dispute. The enclosed claim pack

More information

Your guide to reclaiming mis-sold PPI

Your guide to reclaiming mis-sold PPI Your guide to reclaiming mis-sold PPI a division of goldsmith williams a division of goldsmith williams PPI Return and Goldsmith Williams PPI Return makes your compensation claim simple and straightforward

More information

CLAIMLINE UK LTD GENUINE NO WIN NO FEE CLAIMS

CLAIMLINE UK LTD GENUINE NO WIN NO FEE CLAIMS YOUR PERSONAL MISSELLING PPI CLAIMS PACK CLAIMLINE UK LTD GENUINE NO WIN NO FEE CLAIMS Regulated by the Ministry of Justice in respect of Claims Management Activities Ministry of Justice Authorisation

More information

All intellectual property rights and copyright in the material on this website belongs to The Entitlements Agency, unless otherwise stated.

All intellectual property rights and copyright in the material on this website belongs to The Entitlements Agency, unless otherwise stated. Terms & Conditions Using our Services The Entitlements Agency has designed this website with the idea of offering you a source of information. Whilst we endeavour to maintain the site and keep the information

More information

PPI Claim Form. Easy steps to claim back your money. 1. Fill in all the required details and questionnaire.

PPI Claim Form. Easy steps to claim back your money. 1. Fill in all the required details and questionnaire. PPI Claim Form Easy steps to claim back your money. 1. Fill in all the required details and questionnaire. 2. Sign and date the Terms of Service and Letter of Authority where you see the Joint policies

More information

Claim Forms. Please print, complete and return to (no stamp needed):

Claim Forms. Please print, complete and return to (no stamp needed): Claim Forms Please print, complete and return to (no stamp needed): Claims Thru Us Freepost RRZK-YTRL-UEXT 1 Farnsworth Court West Parkside LONDON SE10 0QF Please enclose a copy of your loan/credit agreement

More information

PPI ADVICE LTD PRE CONTRACT GUIDE - PAYMENT PROTECTION INSURANCE

PPI ADVICE LTD PRE CONTRACT GUIDE - PAYMENT PROTECTION INSURANCE PPI ADVICE LTD PRE CONTRACT GUIDE - PAYMENT PROTECTION INSURANCE It is important to us that you make the right decision. We therefore provide guidance about what we do, how we work and our fee. PPI Advice

More information

Filling in the Form of Authority. Please ensure you have the lenders name in order to pursue the claim.

Filling in the Form of Authority. Please ensure you have the lenders name in order to pursue the claim. Filling in the Form of Authority Please ensure you have the lenders name in order to pursue the claim. 1. Print a claim form for each lender and type of finance. 2. Do not use one claim form for multiple

More information

How Do You Get Your Money? Simply fill in the enclosed claim pack and send it back to us in the pre-paid envelope provided.

How Do You Get Your Money? Simply fill in the enclosed claim pack and send it back to us in the pre-paid envelope provided. For no-hassle Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) Claims 2 The Old Stables, Mitton Road, Whalley, Clitheroe, BB7 9PA telephone 01254 822880 email: info@yourmoneyclaim.co.uk Welcome to Your Money Claim,

More information

LEGALLY ENTITLED PPI CLAIM PACK

LEGALLY ENTITLED PPI CLAIM PACK PPI CLAIM PACK INTERNAL USE ONLY COMPLAINTS HANDLING: OVERVIEW Complaints may be received directly from clients or from third party representatives. In the event of any complaint the matter must be immediately

More information

Endowment mortgage complaints

Endowment mortgage complaints Endowment mortgage complaints The Money Advice Service is here to help you manage your money better. We provide clear, unbiased advice to help you make informed choices. We try to ensure that the information

More information

Client Information and Checklist

Client Information and Checklist Gilham Capital Ltd, PO Box 362, North Ferriby, HU14 9AL Client Information and Checklist *Customer Name(s) *House Number / Name *Street Name Locality *City County *Post Code *Home Telephone Number *Mobile

More information

Information Form. Personal Information. 2nd Applicant. First Names. Surname. Address

Information Form. Personal Information. 2nd Applicant. First Names. Surname. Address No Win, No Fee Information Form Personal Information 1st 2nd Mr/Mrs/Miss/Ms/Title Date of Birth Mr/Mrs/Miss/Ms/Title Date of Birth Telephone Number Telephone Number Mobile Mobile Best Contact Time Best

More information

The dispute is about the sale of a payment protection insurance (PPI) policy in connection with a credit card account with the firm in April 2007.

The dispute is about the sale of a payment protection insurance (PPI) policy in connection with a credit card account with the firm in April 2007. FINAL DECISION complaint by: Mr E complaint about: the firm complaint reference: date of decision: April 2009 This final decision is issued by me, Robert Short, an ombudsman with the Financial Ombudsman

More information

Information Form. No Win, No Fee. Personal Information. 2nd Applicant. 1st Applicant. Financial Status. Pension Comparison. Mis Sold Mortgages

Information Form. No Win, No Fee. Personal Information. 2nd Applicant. 1st Applicant. Financial Status. Pension Comparison. Mis Sold Mortgages No Win, No Fee Information Form Personal Information 1st 2nd Mr/Mrs/Miss/Ms/Title Date of Birth Mr/Mrs/Miss/Ms/Title Date of Birth First Names First Names Surname Surname Address Address Telephone Number

More information

Payment Protection Insurance Claim Form

Payment Protection Insurance Claim Form Claim Form All forms to be completed, signed and returned to: FREEPOST RSAX GKEK HUYK Reclaim Your PPI Ltd Waters Green House Sunderland Street Macclesfield SK11 6LF Please complete the following forms

More information

Greg Vaughan Financial Services

Greg Vaughan Financial Services Greg Vaughan Financial Services Telephone: 07788630037 Fax: 0151 236 5501 Email: greg@greg-vaughan.co.uk Web: www.greg-vaughan.co.uk 127 Imperial Court Exchange Street East Liverpool L2 3AB PAYMENT PROTECTION

More information

complaint background my findings

complaint background my findings complaint Mr and Mrs R s complaint concerns the sale of five payment protection insurance (PPI) policies in 1995, 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2002 sold in conjunction with mortgages and loans. Mr and Mrs R say

More information

1 Title. 2 Full Name (Please include names of all policy holders) 3 Address. 4 Phone. 5 Mobile number. 6 Email

1 Title. 2 Full Name (Please include names of all policy holders) 3 Address. 4 Phone. 5 Mobile number. 6 Email 1 Title 2 Full Name (Please include names of all policy holders) 3 Address 4 Phone 5 Mobile number 6 Email 7 Date(s) of birth 1st Applicant 2nd Applicant 8 Have you currently complained to the company

More information

Re. The Payment Protection Insurance on your Loan/Credit Cards

Re. The Payment Protection Insurance on your Loan/Credit Cards Re. The Payment Protection Insurance on your Loan/Credit Cards Dear Sir/Madam Thank you for choosing JSK Claims to help you get back your hard earned money back from your bank. We will battle hard to fight

More information

Windsor Thompson Financial Claims

Windsor Thompson Financial Claims Windsor Thompson Financial Claims Welcome to Windsor Thompson Financial Claims This application should only take 10 minutes to complete. If the pre-populated information is incorrect, please put a cross

More information

Dear Customer, What to do now Follow these 4 simple steps:

Dear Customer, What to do now Follow these 4 simple steps: Dear Customer, Thank you for choosing Apollo Claims to help process your compensation claim. Please find attached to this letter some important documents which you need to complete and return to us as

More information

Financial Mis-selling Claims

Financial Mis-selling Claims Client focused practical legal advice We can provide advice and assistance in the following areas: Timeshare Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) Mortgage Loan Protection Mis-sold Interest Rate Hedging Products

More information

Professional Negligence Claims

Professional Negligence Claims Client focused Lawyers We can provide advice and assistance in the following areas: Mortgage Mis-selling Interest Rate Hedging Products (IRHP) Solicitors At TLW Solicitors, we offer a client focused approach

More information

www.yourmoneyclaim.co.uk tel: 01254 822880 Fighting Your Corner

www.yourmoneyclaim.co.uk tel: 01254 822880 Fighting Your Corner www.yourmoneyclaim.co.uk tel: 01254 822880 Fighting Your Corner BILLIONS set aside in compensation for mis-sold PPI & bank accounts Welcome MILLIONS to Your are Money entitled Claim, to compensation The

More information

Please complete the Account Details page of our pack and ONE Letter of Authority for each company you want to claim against.

Please complete the Account Details page of our pack and ONE Letter of Authority for each company you want to claim against. Please complete the Account Details page of our pack and ONE Letter of Authority for each company you want to claim against. Q. I don t have any account numbers or documentation, can I still claim? A.

More information

Re: Your Mis-selling Claim Against PPI

Re: Your Mis-selling Claim Against PPI Online Pack Re: Your Mis-selling Claim Against PPI Thank you for asking Refresh My Credit to handle your Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) complaint. We are committed to helping you achieve what is owed

More information

PAYMENT PROTECTION INSURANCE RESEARCH

PAYMENT PROTECTION INSURANCE RESEARCH PAYMENT PROTECTION INSURANCE RESEARCH ANALYTICAL REPORT NOVEMBER 2015 ABOUT COMRES ComRes provides specialist research and insight into reputation, public policy and communications. It is a founding member

More information

PPI Return and Goldsmith Williams. Complete your claim in 3 easy steps

PPI Return and Goldsmith Williams. Complete your claim in 3 easy steps Your PPI documents a division of goldsmith williams www.ppireturn.co.uk PPI Return and Goldsmith Williams PPI Return is a division of the law firm Goldsmith Williams. We re a leading law firm that specialises

More information

Adviceguide Advice that makes a difference

Adviceguide Advice that makes a difference Payment Protection Insurance What is Payment Protection Insurance When you take out a loan, credit or store card, you're often asked to take out an insurance policy at the same time. The policy is meant

More information

PPI POLICY STATEMENT 10/12: THE ASSESSMENT AND REDRESS OF PPI COMPLAINTS, FEEDBACK ON THE FURTHER CONSULTATION IN CP10/6 SUMMARY OF KEY POINTS

PPI POLICY STATEMENT 10/12: THE ASSESSMENT AND REDRESS OF PPI COMPLAINTS, FEEDBACK ON THE FURTHER CONSULTATION IN CP10/6 SUMMARY OF KEY POINTS PPI POLICY STATEMENT 10/12: THE ASSESSMENT AND REDRESS OF PPI COMPLAINTS, FEEDBACK ON THE FURTHER CONSULTATION IN CP10/6 SUMMARY OF KEY POINTS 1. Introduction 1.1 FSA remains of the view that the rationale

More information

www.moneyboomerang.co.uk Money Boomerang Limited Adamson House, Towers Business Park, Didsbury, Manchester, M20 2YY Tel: 0161 955 4740

www.moneyboomerang.co.uk Money Boomerang Limited Adamson House, Towers Business Park, Didsbury, Manchester, M20 2YY Tel: 0161 955 4740 : Claim Reference Dear MIS-SOLD MORTGAGE CLAIM Thank you for contacting Money Boomerang. We are specialists in claiming back mis-sold Mortgages! Please find enclosed a Form of Authority / Mis-sold Mortgage

More information

10/12. The assessment and redress of Payment Protection Insurance complaints. Feedback on the further consultation in CP10/6 and final Handbook text

10/12. The assessment and redress of Payment Protection Insurance complaints. Feedback on the further consultation in CP10/6 and final Handbook text Policy Statement 10/12 Financial Services Authority The assessment and redress of Payment Protection Insurance complaints Feedback on the further consultation in CP10/6 and final Handbook text August 2010

More information

Further to our recent conversation, I am pleased to enclose our application forms for your perusal.

Further to our recent conversation, I am pleased to enclose our application forms for your perusal. Mis-Sold PPI Insurance Complaint Customer Ref: Clients Name(s): Account Number: Dear Further to our recent conversation, I am pleased to enclose our application forms for your perusal. I would like to

More information

P.P.I. CLAIM FUND. 25.00 return on investment. SIPP SIPP COMPATIBLE

P.P.I. CLAIM FUND. 25.00 return on investment. SIPP SIPP COMPATIBLE P.P.I. SIPP SIPP COMPATIBLE COMPATIBLE CLAIM FUND % 25.00 return on investment. On average only 4 to 5 months to see a return. Capital for court costs protected by After Event Insurance. Investments accepted

More information

Explaining Enterprise Finance Guarantee Loan Mis-selling

Explaining Enterprise Finance Guarantee Loan Mis-selling Business Loan Claims Explaining Enterprise Finance Guarantee Loan Mis-selling All Square. All Fair. January 2015 1 Enterprise Finance Guarantee Loans were sold through the main UK high street banks and

More information

FEBRUARY 2009. Payment Protection Insurance challenges ahead

FEBRUARY 2009. Payment Protection Insurance challenges ahead FEBRUARY 2009 Payment Protection Insurance challenges ahead the Contents Page Introduction 2 Competition Commission Market Investigation into PPI 2 PPI and the FSA 3 Market conditions and the requirement

More information

ABOUT OUR SERVICES & COSTS

ABOUT OUR SERVICES & COSTS ABOUT OUR SERVICES & COSTS Our Promise We will always treat you fairly. You can expect in all our dealings with you that we will: treat you as we ourselves would expect to be treated never take advantage

More information

Making Sense of GAP Insurance How To Mind Your GAP

Making Sense of GAP Insurance How To Mind Your GAP Making Sense of GAP Insurance How To Mind Your GAP Customer Fact Sheet Guaranteed Asset Protection June 2012 MAKING SENSE OF GAP INSURANCE HOW TO MIND YOUR GAP 3 What is GAP insurance? If you re thinking

More information

Problems paying your mortgage

Problems paying your mortgage Problems paying your mortgage What you need to do now and how to get back on track Steps to take now What your options are Get free impartial advice The Money Advice Service is independent and set up by

More information

Click to edit Master title style

Click to edit Master title style Click to edit Master title style General Insurance and Pure Protection Products Treating Customers Fairly 1 Click to edit Master title style Contents 1. Introduction Our findings 2. Product design 3. Financial

More information

broader context the creation and growth of the claims management market

broader context the creation and growth of the claims management market broader context the creation and growth of the claims management market The current circumstances need to be set in the broader context of the development of claims companies and of the issues around the

More information

Financial Claims Specialists Ltd T/A Finance Claims. Terms and Conditions for the Provision of Services

Financial Claims Specialists Ltd T/A Finance Claims. Terms and Conditions for the Provision of Services Financial Claims Specialists Ltd T/A Finance Claims Terms and Conditions for the Provision of Services IMPORTANT: These terms and conditions form part of a legally binding contract and you should read

More information

Payment protection insurance complaints:

Payment protection insurance complaints: Financial Conduct Authority Thematic Review TR13/7 Payment protection insurance complaints: Report on the fairness of medium-sized firms decisions and redress September 2013 Payment protection insurance

More information

Please enclose a copy of your loan/credit agreement if available. For credit cards, please enclose a copy of your statement.

Please enclose a copy of your loan/credit agreement if available. For credit cards, please enclose a copy of your statement. Claim Forms Please print, complete and return to: Moneyback PPI Basepoint Business Centre Unit 106 Canada House 272 Field End Rd Eastcote Middlesex HA4 9NA Please enclose a copy of your loan/credit agreement

More information

Banking & Finance - Bulletin 60 December 2008

Banking & Finance - Bulletin 60 December 2008 Banking & Finance - Bulletin 60 December 2008 In this issue: Breaking a Fixed Rate Loan our approach to break costs Direct Debits on Transaction Accounts Maladministration and Secured Lending Dealing with

More information

Please enclose a copy of your loan/credit agreement if available. For credit cards, please enclose a copy of your statement.

Please enclose a copy of your loan/credit agreement if available. For credit cards, please enclose a copy of your statement. Claim Forms Please print, complete and return to: Moneyback PPI Basepoint Business Centre Unit 106 Canada House 272 Field End Rd Eastcote Middlesex HA4 9NA Please enclose a copy of your loan/credit agreement

More information

A HOMEOWNER S GUIDE TO MIS-SOLD MORTGAGES

A HOMEOWNER S GUIDE TO MIS-SOLD MORTGAGES A HOMEOWNER S GUIDE TO MIS-SOLD MORTGAGES HAVE YOU BEEN SOLD THE WRONG MORTGAGE? Prior to the credit crunch of 2007, the number of mortgages sold in the UK was at a record high. Most of these were correctly

More information

Claims Management Regulation. The PPI Claims market: Dealing with malpractice

Claims Management Regulation. The PPI Claims market: Dealing with malpractice Claims Management Regulation The PPI Claims market: Dealing with malpractice February 2013 CLAIMS MANAGEMENT REGULATION - THE PPI CLAIMS MARKET: DEALING WITH MALPRACTICE 3 Introduction It is generally

More information

payment protection insurance: consumer questionnaire

payment protection insurance: consumer questionnaire our ref: payment protection insurance: consumer questionnaire WHAT IS THIS QUESTIONNAIRE FOR? This questionnaire is for consumers to bring a complaint about the sale of payment protection insurance (PPI).

More information

Consultation response. Claims management regulation

Consultation response. Claims management regulation Consultation response Claims management regulation 1 1 Introduction The Legal Ombudsman is a new organisation set up to resolve complaints about lawyers. The Legal Ombudsman s vision is that: everyone

More information

Resolved Claims Ltd Tel: 01908 303655

Resolved Claims Ltd Tel: 01908 303655 Let s start your PPI claim below. Your Name(s): Home Address: In order to build up a strong case against the lenders we will need as much information as you can possibly provide. Whilst we appreciate that

More information

Santander Consumer Finance - Payment Protection Insurance Questionnaire

Santander Consumer Finance - Payment Protection Insurance Questionnaire Santander Consumer Finance - Payment Protection Insurance Questionnaire Your completed questionnaire and copies of any documents you have when you took out the payment protection insurance should be returned

More information

Financial Services Ombudsman Scheme Report at 31 st March 2010

Financial Services Ombudsman Scheme Report at 31 st March 2010 Financial Services Ombudsman Scheme Report at 31 st March 2010 Welcome to the annual review of the Financial Services Ombudsman Scheme which covers the period from 1 st April 2009 to 31 st March 2010.

More information

Evolve Financial Solutions Mortgage & Insurance Services & Costs

Evolve Financial Solutions Mortgage & Insurance Services & Costs Evolve Financial Solutions Mortgage & Insurance Services & Costs Authorisation Statement Evolve Financial Solutions is Authorised and Regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA). The FCA regulates

More information

Are you buying private medical insurance? Take a look at this guide before you decide 2008

Are you buying private medical insurance? Take a look at this guide before you decide 2008 Are you buying private medical insurance? Take a look at this guide before you decide 2008 2 Private medical insurance Private medical insurance 3 Contents 1. About this guide 4 2. What is private medical

More information

Unfair Credit Agreement & Mis-sold Payment Protection Insurance Claim Pack

Unfair Credit Agreement & Mis-sold Payment Protection Insurance Claim Pack Unfair Credit Agreement & Mis-sold Payment Protection Insurance Claim Pack Contents: Client Disclaimer & Audit Confirmation About You Loan & Credit Card Questionnaire: fill out one form for each credit

More information

Unfair Credit Agreement Promo Application Pack

Unfair Credit Agreement Promo Application Pack Unfair Credit Agreement Promo Application Pack Contents: Page: Cover Page 1 Understanding Claims Management 2 Understanding The Claims Process 3 The Claims Process Work Flow 4 Complaints Handling Procedure

More information

(b) About the money borrowed (required for each policy and product included on your claim)

(b) About the money borrowed (required for each policy and product included on your claim) (b) About the money borrowed (required for each policy and product included on your claim) Please note: If you wish to make a claim about the mis-selling of your PPI for more than one product or policy

More information

Guide to buying professional indemnity insurance

Guide to buying professional indemnity insurance Guide to buying professional indemnity insurance The Law Society has collaborated with the British Insurance Brokers Association and Association of British Insurers to provide you with this Guide to Buying

More information

HEre to Help YOu REcLaim.

HEre to Help YOu REcLaim. HEre to Help YOu REcLaim. WE re in your corner Contents 1 Why you can trust EMCAS 4 Questions 10 Mis-sold products 14 Terms of Engagement 20 How to contact us We believe mis-selling is plain wrong no different

More information

MoneySmartCo Limited Terms of Business MoneySmartCo Limited (Company Number 0861355) is a claims management company authorised and regulated by the

MoneySmartCo Limited Terms of Business MoneySmartCo Limited (Company Number 0861355) is a claims management company authorised and regulated by the MoneySmartCo Limited Terms of Business MoneySmartCo Limited (Company Number 0861355) is a claims management company authorised and regulated by the Claims Management Regulator in respect of claims management

More information

Personal Finance (U21065/S21065) Lecture 3 The Economic and Regulatory Environment

Personal Finance (U21065/S21065) Lecture 3 The Economic and Regulatory Environment Personal Finance (U21065/S21065) Lecture 3 The Economic and Regulatory Environment Protecting yourself with Insurance Introduction to Personal Finance Researching PF Products Financing a Home The Economic

More information

Have you been mis-sold a Packaged Bank Account? We are dedicated to dealing with claims where you have been mis-sold a packaged bank account

Have you been mis-sold a Packaged Bank Account? We are dedicated to dealing with claims where you have been mis-sold a packaged bank account Have you been mis-sold a Packaged Bank Account? We are dedicated to dealing with claims where you have been mis-sold a packaged bank account Welcome to Your Money Claim, We all know about mis-sold PPI,

More information

Halifax Insurance Services Limited complaint reference: date of adjudication: March 2012

Halifax Insurance Services Limited complaint reference: date of adjudication: March 2012 provisional decision complaint by: Ms W complaint about: Halifax Insurance Services Limited complaint reference: date of adjudication: March 2012 summary of complaint This provisional decision is issued

More information

CONSUMER INSURANCE LAW: PRE-CONTRACT DISCLOSURE AND MISREPRESENTATION

CONSUMER INSURANCE LAW: PRE-CONTRACT DISCLOSURE AND MISREPRESENTATION THE LAW COMMISSION AND THE SCOTTISH LAW COMMISSION CONSUMER INSURANCE LAW: PRE-CONTRACT DISCLOSURE AND MISREPRESENTATION Joint Report SUMMARY 1.1 The English and Scottish Law Commissions recommend new

More information

Payment Protection Insurance

Payment Protection Insurance Payment Protection Insurance A response from Citizens Advice Scotland Based on the evidence of Citizens Advice Bureaux clients across Scotland by Lindsay Isaacs Policy and Public Affairs Co-ordinator February

More information

Client Agreement Mortgages, Equity Release and Protection Planning

Client Agreement Mortgages, Equity Release and Protection Planning Client Agreement Mortgages, Equity Release and Protection Planning 1. INTRODUCTION This agreement sets out the terms under which our services are to be provided, including details of the specific services

More information

Long-Term Disability A GUIDE TO YOUR INSURANCE CLAIM

Long-Term Disability A GUIDE TO YOUR INSURANCE CLAIM Long-Term Disability A GUIDE TO YOUR INSURANCE CLAIM CANTINI LAW GROUP ATLANTIC CANADA S INJURY LAWYERS Table of contents 3 Background information about LTD insurance What is LTD insurance? How is LTD

More information

WHAT IS EQUITY RELEASE? WHY CONSIDER EQUITY RELEASE?

WHAT IS EQUITY RELEASE? WHY CONSIDER EQUITY RELEASE? WHAT IS EQUITY RELEASE? Equity Release can free some of the capital tied up in your home, while you continue to live there. This money can be in the form of a tax-free lump sum, a regular income or a combination

More information

Payday Loan Claims Pack

Payday Loan Claims Pack Payday Loan Claims Pack YOUR PAYDAY LOAN CLAIMS PACK Thank you for choosing Leslie Charles Solicitors. With an ever-increasing claim portfolio and satisfied customers we can assure you that your claim

More information

Claims Management Services Regulation. Conduct of Authorised Persons Rules 2013 (2)

Claims Management Services Regulation. Conduct of Authorised Persons Rules 2013 (2) Claims Management Services Regulation Conduct of Authorised Persons Rules 2013 (2) Effective from 8 July 2013 Contents Introduction 1 Definitions 1 General Rules Principles 2 Conduct of Business 2 Professional

More information

Terms and conditions

Terms and conditions Terms and conditions The Financial Conduct Authority is the independent watchdog that regulates financial services. Contained in this document is information which the Financial Conduct Authority requires

More information

These terms of business (the Terms ) explain the entire rights and obligations of You and Us regarding the provision of our Services.

These terms of business (the Terms ) explain the entire rights and obligations of You and Us regarding the provision of our Services. Investor Compensation (UK) Limited - Terms and Conditions PPI These terms of business (the Terms ) explain the entire rights and obligations of You and Us regarding the provision of our Services. You should

More information

INCOME PROTECTION POLICY

INCOME PROTECTION POLICY KEY FACTS INCOME PROTECTION POLICY INCOME PROTECTION POLICY ABOUT THIS DOCUMENT: Please note that this policy summary does not contain the full terms and conditions of the contract of insurance; so please

More information

Claims Management Regulation. Guidance for claims management companies handling mis-sold PPI claims

Claims Management Regulation. Guidance for claims management companies handling mis-sold PPI claims Claims Management Regulation Guidance for claims management companies handling mis-sold PPI claims Reissued September 2013 Contents Introduction 1 Advertising and Marketing 1 The Financial Ombudsman Service

More information

BUPA BY YOU YOUR MEMBERSHIP GUIDE

BUPA BY YOU YOUR MEMBERSHIP GUIDE BUPA BY YOU YOUR MEMBERSHIP GUIDE bupa.co.uk ABOUT THIS GUIDE Welcome to your Bupa By You guide. We know that insurance can be hard to follow. That s why we ve made this guide as simple as possible. You

More information

Claim Forms Please print, complete and return to:

Claim Forms Please print, complete and return to: Claim orms Please print, complete and return to: Moneyback PPI Basepoint Business Centre Canada House 272 ield End Rd Eastcote Middlesex HA4 9NA Please complete a separate Part 2 and Part 3 for each account.

More information

I have considered the documentation, which was submitted, and the arguments made. I am now in a position to issue this Adjudication to both parties.

I have considered the documentation, which was submitted, and the arguments made. I am now in a position to issue this Adjudication to both parties. ADJUDICATION Complainant: Mr O Firm: The Equitable Life Assurance Society Date of Adjudication: 28 August 2003 Complaint Mr O has complained that he has made a financial loss because of advice given to

More information

Explaining Fixed Rate Business Loan Mis-selling

Explaining Fixed Rate Business Loan Mis-selling Business Loan Claims Explaining Fixed Rate Business Loan Mis-selling All Square. All Fair. January 2015 1 Fixed Rate Business Loans were sold through the main UK high street banks and building societies

More information

About our services and costs Edition: July 2014

About our services and costs Edition: July 2014 Services and Costs Disclosure Document: FP 10 R Riverfall Financial Limited Suite 311 RTEC, Civic Centre, Pavilion Road, West Bridgford, Nottingham, NG2 5AW. About our services and costs Edition: July

More information

The exercise for each bank will be scrutinised by an independent reviewer and overseen by the FSA.

The exercise for each bank will be scrutinised by an independent reviewer and overseen by the FSA. INTEREST RATE HEDGING PRODUCTS Executive Summary Interest rate hedges include a variety of different products sold to customers to help protect them against interest rate risk. In principle, interest rate

More information

about our services and costs

about our services and costs Services and Costs Disclosure Document: MP8i about our services and costs FPS Financial 66 St Nicolas Park Drive Nuneaton CV11 6DJ Tel: 02476 351 123 Edition: August 2012 Intrinsic Customer Promise We

More information

Claims Management Services Regulation. Conduct of Authorised Persons Rules 2014

Claims Management Services Regulation. Conduct of Authorised Persons Rules 2014 Claims Management Services Regulation Conduct of Authorised Persons Rules 2014 Effective from 1 October 2014 Contents Introduction 1 Definitions 1 General Rules Principles 2 Conduct of Business 2 Professional

More information

Association of Mortgage Intermediaries response to FSA consultation on the assessment and redress of payment protection insurance complaints CP09/23

Association of Mortgage Intermediaries response to FSA consultation on the assessment and redress of payment protection insurance complaints CP09/23 Association of Mortgage Intermediaries response to FSA consultation on the assessment and redress of payment protection insurance complaints CP09/23 Introduction This response is submitted on behalf of

More information

Consumer Guide to Extended Warranties. December 2011

Consumer Guide to Extended Warranties. December 2011 Consumer Guide to Extended Warranties December 2011 A CONSUMER GUIDE TO EXTENDED WARRANTIES 1 A CONSUMER GUIDE TO EXTENDED WARRANTIES Introduction Before buying an expensive new item such as a washing

More information

This document contains important details about the compensation scheme. Explanatory Statement

This document contains important details about the compensation scheme. Explanatory Statement This document contains important details about the compensation scheme Explanatory Statement This document contains further details about the compensation scheme mentioned in the letter enclosed with this

More information

Re: Your PPI Mis-selling Claim

Re: Your PPI Mis-selling Claim CLIENT NAME ADDRESS ADDRESS ADDRESS ADDRESS DATE Re: Your PPI Mis-selling Claim Thank you for asking Refresh My Credit to handle your Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) complaint. We are committed to helping

More information

Adviceguide Advice that makes a difference

Adviceguide Advice that makes a difference Goods This fact sheet gives an outline of the law on the pricing and selling of goods, the choices you have if the goods are not satisfactory, and the steps you can take to solve your problem. Prices -

More information

USING LAWYERS IN HONG KONG

USING LAWYERS IN HONG KONG USING LAWYERS IN HONG KONG This Guide deals in general terms with using lawyers in Hong Kong. It aims to help a seafarer understand the legal profession in Hong Kong, and how to select, engage and if need

More information

These terms of business (the Terms ) explain the entire rights and obligations of You and Us regarding the provision of our Services.

These terms of business (the Terms ) explain the entire rights and obligations of You and Us regarding the provision of our Services. Investor Compensation (UK) Limited - Terms and Conditions PPI These terms of business (the Terms ) explain the entire rights and obligations of You and Us regarding the provision of our Services. You should

More information

G74 5DD. We only offer products from a limited number of companies.?? We only offer a particular product from a single group of companies.

G74 5DD. We only offer products from a limited number of companies.?? We only offer a particular product from a single group of companies. about our services A to Z Limited 6 Bowmore Cr, Glasgow, G74 5DD 1. The Financial Services Authority (FSA) The FSA is the independent watchdog that regulates financial services. This document is designed

More information

MP FINANCIAL - PPI (PAYMENT PROTECTION INSURANCE) COMPLAINT QUESTIONNAIRE. SECTION 1 - About You

MP FINANCIAL - PPI (PAYMENT PROTECTION INSURANCE) COMPLAINT QUESTIONNAIRE. SECTION 1 - About You www.mp-financial.net MP FINANCIAL - PPI (PAYMENT PROTECTION INSURANCE) COMPLAINT QUESTIONNAIRE SECTION 1 - About You Section 1 (A) - Personal Details Surname Title Surname Title First Name (s) First Name

More information

Holiday Illness. Personal Legal Services

Holiday Illness. Personal Legal Services Holiday Illness Personal Legal Services This information relates to the law and procedures in England and Wales. Please contact us if you need advice about the law and procedure in other legal jurisdictions.

More information