RUSSELL-COOKE SOLICITORS REVIEW FOR CLIENTS 2007/8 LOOKING AHEAD ISSUES AND TRENDS SPECIALIST EXPERTISE DIRECTORY

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "RUSSELL-COOKE SOLICITORS REVIEW FOR CLIENTS 2007/8 LOOKING AHEAD ISSUES AND TRENDS SPECIALIST EXPERTISE DIRECTORY"

Transcription

1 RUSSELL-COOKE SOLICITORS REVIEW FOR CLIENTS 2007/8 LOOKING AHEAD ISSUES AND TRENDS SPECIALIST EXPERTISE DIRECTORY

2 OVERVIEW / 03 Welcome to our latest client review. Our theme, very broadly, is change. How are trends in the wider world influencing our work? What challenges (and opportunities) face our clients, and how can good legal advice help? How has Russell-Cooke itself evolved over the past couple of years? INSIDE FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS What are HIPs? What legal matters can be progressed online? How can you give feedback on the service we provide? Find out here DEVELOPING LONDON The capital s role as a global financial centre continues to exert a strong influence on the commercial property market. That means everbigger deals, ever-tighter deadlines and possibly more misrepresentation to deal with CHALLENGING TIMES How common is ageism in working life? Some clients feel they have been stigmatised as too old at 50, or even at 40. The good news is that new age discrimination laws give them a real chance of proper compensation and redress MANAGING RISK In the days before widespread statutory and professional regulation, most organisations used to wait until things went wrong before seeing a lawyer. Now legal advice has become an essential component of risk management MOVING ON Becoming an LLP Our first piece of news is that on 1 July 2007 Russell-Cooke became a Limited Liability Partnership (LLP). An LLP is widely thought to provide a more modern alternative to the traditional partnership structure for professional firms. Our becoming an LLP will make no difference at all to our clients, although the observant will notice that we have a slightly different letterhead. Our profile in the legal profession may be slightly higher than before, as LLPs are required to Who we are There are now 298 of us: Partners 44 Solicitors 63 make public some information that we ve not previously shared with the outside world. Although few have realised it, on the basis of turnover we have actually been a top-100 firm that is to say, among the 100 biggest law firms in the UK for some years. Highlighting expertise Continuing the trend of recent years, our specialist teams feature increasingly in reviews like Chambers UK and the Legal 500. This reflects the high quality of specialist expertise in the firm, with many Other fee earners 41 of our senior lawyers now acknowledged as leaders in their fields, regionally or nationally. Developing talent Last year s Lex 100 review of legal training placed us among the top 10 firms in eight fields; no other firm in our category did better. This is a real achievement, and also good news for our clients, as highquality services depend in part on our continued ability to attract some of the most talented people entering the legal profession. Trainees 16 Secretarial staff 92 Finding out more online All the information about departments and people in this review, and much more, can be found on our website, We re gradually expanding the website and incorporating more interactive elements, so it s worth an occasional look to see what s new. Organisations in relevant areas also have the option of using our dedicated online extranet facility (see pages 4-5). Support staff COMPLICATED LIVES More choices in people s personal and professional lives make for complications in the matters of tax, property ownership and inheritance, especially when different national legal systems are involved as they often are What we do for companies and organisations What we do for individuals 14 CHANGING EXPECTATIONS As charities take on new roles, like the delivery of social care, they spend more time thinking about management and governance. Our charity lawyers increasingly act not just as legal advisers but also consultants and facilitators commercial property 38% regulation 19% charities 15% corporate & employment 11% dispute resolution 17% conveyancing 19% wills, probate, tax & trusts 25% family 15% PI & clinical negligence 20% crime 8% French law & property 5% children law 6% employment 2%

3 04 / SERVICES FOR CLIENTS SERVICES FOR CLIENTS / 05 FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONSCan If I have a legal problem and am not sure I who would be the best person to handle it, what should I do? If you have dealt with one of our solicitors before, the best thing is to give them a call or send an . Even if you require advice about a different area of the law, they will be happy to discuss your needs and refer you to the right team and person. Otherwise you can russell-cooke.co.uk or call the client service team on How do I find out about legal changes that may affect me or my organisation? As well as our seminar programme (see far right), many topical legal issues are covered in the news and articles area of our website Included are copies of the articles our solicitors have written for specialist publications, from Arts Professional to Going to France your life and business companion. Subjects range from the perils of Japanese knotweed (left, worth knowing about, as its presence on your land has legal implications) to the international implications of civil partnerships and changes in inheritance tax rules. save time by downloading anything from the Russell- Cooke website, rather than contacting a solicitor directly? If you are buying or selling a property, you can obtain a conveyancing quote online (see the conveyancing area of If you re planning to consult us about making a will, you can also download a questionnaire that will help you get together the relevant personal information and provide a brief summary of your assets. Most of our teams post guides or overviews of particular areas of the law, like the information sheets on wills and trusts available in the wills, probate and trusts sections of the site. I ve seen a client extranet area on your website. What is it? It s a secure, controlled area that can be accessed remotely by participating clients and designated Russell-Cooke staff, allowing them to access and share key documents in a secure environment. At present it is used mainly by organisations in the field of regulatory work. If you think it may be relevant to your organisation do speak to a member of your legal team. How do I give feedback on the service I ve received from you? We re extremely keen to receive client feedback; it helps us know how we are doing and where there s room for improvement. We send a questionnaire to every client and encourage people to complete and return it by making a donation of 5 to one of our nominated charities (see page 14) every time we receive a completed questionnaire. Currently, just over 92 per cent of our clients are very satisfied or satisfied with the service they ve received. What is a Home Information Pack and how do I get one? Most people who are selling a property are now required to produce a Home Information Pack (HIP). Our conveyancing team will be happy to confirm whether you need one or not. Every HIP must contain an energy performance certificate; a sale statement providing basic information about the site, for example whether the property is freehold; local searches; evidence of title; and leasehold information. You can obtain a HIP from a range of sources including solicitors and estate agents, or even put one together yourself (although we wouldn t recommend this). Having a comprehensive and authoritative HIP in place will make your property significantly more marketable, so it is worth doing properly. Our conveyancing team can put a HIP together efficiently and thoroughly, with the bonus that as the relevant searches will have been done, everything can move ahead quickly when you finally find a buyer and agree a price. How do I find out about daytime or evening seminars? A convivial and convenient way of finding out about changes in the law, seminars (which are mostly free of charge) give you the opportunity to question experts in the field. Many Russell-Cooke departments hold regular or occasional seminars. Our recent programme included seminars for professionals on the introduction of Home Information Packs (see left) and on the implications of the Companies Act If you re a client of our charity, commercial property or employment teams you may already receive details of their seminar programmes. Or you can check on the departmental pages of If you complete the form included with this review and post it to us, we ll keep you informed about any forthcoming seminars in your areas of interest. Do you represent businesses abroad? Our French law team advises UK clients of all kinds who run businesses in France, or are thinking about doing so. They also help French businesses who want to expand into the UK. If you have business interests in other parts of the EU we have good international contacts and can often recommend an English-speaking legal firm overseas.

4 06 /LOOKING AHEAD COMMERCIAL PROPERTY GROUP CONTENTIOUS PROPERTY / 07 DEVELOPING LONDON Left: a simulation of one of the buildings which will form part of the 2012 Olympics site. Some businesses displaced by the 2012 Olympics will be relocated to a new brownfield site in Enfield (see page 6) Will London s economic expansion continue? Economic forecasting is an imperfect science, but the experts best guess is that the capital s economy will grow by 43 billion over the next five years, with the 2012 Olympics accounting for around ten per cent of that growth. The knock-on effects of London s strong economic performance and status as global financial centre can be seen in our commercial property work. Transactions are getting bigger; our Commercial Property Group is regularly handling deals worth tens of millions of pounds. And timescales are increasingly tight, a reflection of a fastmoving property market. Development deals are growing ever more complex, often allied to a heightened awareness of environmental impacts, especially in regeneration areas. A recent example is the brownfield development site in Enfield acquired by Greater London Enterprise under a joint venture arrangement with the London Development Agency, in part of the relocation zone for businesses displaced by the construction of the 2012 Olympics site. As in many urban development sites, some areas of the site had been used by heavy industry; others were infested with Japanese knotweed. The development contract, which was handled by our Commercial Property Group, committed GLE to restore a riverbank, provide a publicly-accessible riverside walk, preserve habitat for bats and nesting redstarts and build a new road for public adoption. We re seeing some imaginative uses of redundant buildings, like the Dutch barn and agricultural buildings converted by one of our landlord clients into a state-of-the-art veterinary practice, complete with operating theatres, a media centre and specialist hydrotherapy unit. Is there a negative side to developing London? Our contentious property specialists think there might be: they re seeing more neighbour disputes and more misrepresentation. As transactions get more valuable, parties are keen to get exactly what they re paying for, and that doesn t always happen Commercial Property Group A large specialist team which has received plaudits in legal directory the Legal 500; the Group, described as efficient, responsive and commercial, is also listed as one of London s leaders in leasehold enfranchisement work > Recent highlights: the Group acted as lead team in the sale of a 41m portfolio of 11 industrial properties; also acted in the acquisition of a 35m portfolio of betting shops > Client services: seminar programme, quarterly newsletter Contact details for these teams are on page 16 Contentious Property Many commercial property firms don t offer the services of a specialist contentious property team; ours is highly regarded both by clients and the legal directories (with Chambers listing Jason Hunter as one of the UK s leaders in the field). Much of the department s work is referred from corporate City law firms > Recent highlights: acting in the forfeiture of a multi-million pound Central London apartment; securing the appointment of a manager at the Leasehold Valuation Tribunal in respect of a badly-neglected mixed use building; handling all the assured shorthold tenancy possession and arrears recovery work for Britain s largest listed residential landlord > Client services: briefing and information material produced in conjunction with the commercial property team (see left).

5 08 / LOOKING AHEAD PERSONAL INJURY & CRIMINAL NEGLIGENCE CRIMINAL LITIGATION EMPLOYMENT / 09 CHALLENGING TIMES We are seeing more dental claims, possibly because of the greater cost and complexity of treatments like implants and bone grafts. Caveat emptor: experience suggests that some dental practitioners do not have the skills or experience required to undertake these complicated procedures. Is the UK really a compensation culture? Not if the number of accident claims is any guide. Between 2001 and 2005 they fell by over five per cent (and the number of claims brought against public bodies like schools and hospitals dropped by even more). Although accident claims are falling, the effect of recent age discrimination legislation may soon be seen in the claims statistics. It s early days, but experience in the US and Australia suggests that age-related claims could exceed the number of claims made under all other areas of anti-discrimination legislation. > Unlike unfair dismissal cases, compensation for age discrimination claims is not capped at 60,000, making such claims potentially more worthwhile for senior managers who believe they have been treated unfairly. In our youthoriented culture, there is no shortage of people who suspect that they are being penalised because of age. Our employment team sees a surprisingly high number of people who feel they are virtually unemployable in their sector by the age of 50 (or, even more disturbingly, by 40). On the personal injury and clinical negligence side, our team is seeing more enquiries from people who have caught superbug infections like MRSA or clostridium difficile in hospital. The difficulty of proving liability in these cases has prompted moves to pursue claims via a different route, using the Control of Substances Hazardous to Health Regulations. Clinical negligence lawyers hope that this may increase the chance of success. The role of inquests seems to be increasing. When someone dies as a result of medical treatment, relatives often feel they lack information and don t fully understand what has gone wrong. Inquests can provide a non-adversarial venue in which doctors and other medical staff can explain what happened and be questioned by an informed person. Personal injury and clinical negligence A leader in its field, highly recommended by both Chambers and the Legal 500, the team handles a wide range of cases, from minor injuries to catastrophic damage. > Leading cases: the claim settled for a sum in excess of 4m on behalf of Joshua Hillard, who was irreversibly brain-damaged when he was deprived of oxygen just before delivery at Mayday Hospital > Client services: ad hoc seminars for various groups including health professionals Criminal litigation The team is praised in both Chambers and the Legal 500; head of department Jae Carwardine is listed as a leader in the field. Over half of the team s serious cases are referred from other solicitors. The team has developed particular expertise in defending professionals where reputations are at stake. > Client services: the team provides a 24-hour service for clients in urgent need of assistance (available on ) Employment The team handles employment cases for both employers and individuals. > Leading cases: Alex Bearman (pictured above) successfully represented a former senior employee of the Abbey National in a landmark case heard in the Court of Appeal. It received a great deal of media and legal attention because it was the first time that the law protecting whistleblowers had been successfully applied to safeguard a person from action taken by a former employer after the employment had ended > Client services: the team has recently launched its Employment Risk Solutions package for businesses or organisations, including advice, insurance against claims (legal costs and damages), and representation if required. It also produces a quarterly update and holds seminars jointly with other Russell-Cooke teams Contact details for these teams are on page16

6 10 /LOOKING AHEAD FORENSIC INVESTIGATION & INTERVENTION COMMERCIAL LITIGATION PROFESSIONAL REGULATION CORPORATE DEPARTMENT / 11 MANAGING RISK When does regulation in the public interest (good) become red tape (bad)? Wherever you draw the line, the trend towards greater regulation of individuals, businesses and organisations shows no sign of weakening. Taking legal advice on regulatory issues is now less a response to some calamity, or the threat of it, than an essential part of a general risk management strategy. A recent report from two leading business school academics suggested that regulation in the UK had increased by 25 per cent in just one year, identifying at least 77 different groups of regulations with a significant impact on business. The burden can weigh particularly heavily on small and mediumsized businesses, which have limited resources and are likely to lack in-house professional expertise. Ratcheting up the pressure further, post-enron regulation is often enforced by criminal sanctions, as the extradition of the NatWest three (right) showed. Helping clients manage the impact of government and professional regulation has become a major focus for Russell-Cooke over the past twenty or so years. Against the backdrop of stronger regulatory regimes generally, some trends seem to be emerging from our everyday caseload. European directives seem ever more complex, affecting organisations at an increasingly detailed level. The growing regulation of pensions creates challenges (and occasionally has the power to derail business strategy altogether). And financial regulation designed to address the problem of moneylaundering, which initially affected mainly the financial sector, now has a much wider impact, with businesses increasingly expected to develop their own procedures and assess and manage risk on a more sophisticated level. A sense of fair play? Even sports organisations are not immune from legal challenge to decisions that are felt to be unfair. Our professional regulation team recently appealed on behalf of AFC Wimbledon to the Football Association over the Ryman League s 18-point deduction for fielding an ineligible player the largest ever imposed in the English league. Much to the relief of fans, the penalty was reduced to three points. Forensic Investigation and Intervention A team of solicitors and forensic accountants and solicitors specialising in financial investigation and analysis for example, when an organisation uncovers suspected financial irregularities in its accounting systems. Accredited with the externallyassessed quality assurance standard EN ISO 9001:2000 Commercial litigation We have two dispute resolution teams, one focusing on public organisations, the other on businesses and their disputes. A growing number of cases involve challenges to decisions made by public bodies or institutions. Regulatory clients include the Law Society and the Architects Registration Board. Business disputes range from simple contractual disputes, professional negligence and construction disputes, to complex claims including shareholder and partnership disputes. Contact details for these teams are on page 17 Professional regulation The team s disciplinary experience, advocacy expertise and forensic accounting capabilities are described as very much on the ball in Chambers, which lists experienced advocate Peter Cadman as a leader in his field. Clients include the Solicitors Regulation Authority, the General Dental Council and the Federation Against Copyright Theft; British Sky Broadcasting; the National Greyhound Racing Club; Premier League football clubs; and individual sportsmen and women. It has advised on matters relating to Serious Fraud Office, DTI and FSA investigations Corporate department The team deals with non-contentious corporate law and commercial work business matters that do not involve court proceedings. Clients include plcs, privately-owned businesses, statutory organisations and professional and creative partnerships and agencies > Client services: updates, available on request

7 12 /LOOKING AHEAD PRIVATE CLIENT FAMILY CHILDREN FRENCH PROPERTY CONVEYANCING / 13 COMPLICATED LIVES Whatever lies ahead for us as individuals, there s no arguing with the big picture: as a society we re getting older, less family-oriented and much more mobile. Traditional family ties are loosening: although divorces are falling, so are marriages, and the number of people living alone has more than doubled in the last thirty-five years. Geographical ties are becoming less important too: nationwide, six million of us one in ten choose to spend all or part of our time abroad (and a quarter of a million of us actually own homes there). The more fluid lives get practically and emotionally the more tangled people s financial and legal affairs can become. Life choices that initially seem straightforward, like buying a home abroad, can become nightmarishly complicated as time moves on, circumstances change and different national legal systems clash. > Wherever you re based, the unpredictability of life requires sensible estate planning, minimising tax as far as possible without creating too many inflexibilities which may create difficulties later. Our estate planning team has recently spent time trying to unravel the consequences of tax avoidance scheme heavily marketed by some City firms, which unfortunately have been rendered useless by retroactive legislation. Our private client team is seeing an increasing number of complex cases with international dimensions. A recent (and pretty typical) example: a married couple who retired fifteen years ago and moved to France. The wife has developed Alzheimer s Disease and is being cared for in the local hospital; her husband is living alone, but finding it increasingly difficult to manage. The couple s children one living in the UK, the other in Canada have an enduring power of attorney to deal with their parents assets in the UK. Coping with their parents French assets is proving problematic. What lawyers call capacity issues can only get more widespread as the number of people of pensionable age rises (by 2010, it is likely to be over 12m, compared to 11m in 2004). From October 2007, the Mental Capacity Act 2005 will allow someone to appoint a trusted person to make decisions on matters of personal care (for example, medical treatment), should they no longer have the mental ability to make such decisions themselves. See the Elderly Client and Incapacity section of the Russell-Cooke website for the unfolding story. Private client Recommended by the Legal 500, the team deals with three types of work: wills, probate and trusts; personal taxation; and contentious probate (disputes relating to wills). It provides a bespoke estate planning advice, balancing the need for flexibility against tax efficiency. The department includes an Elderly Client and Incapacity team > Client services: online wills questionnaire; ad hoc updates for clients Family The team deals with all family matters, including relationship breakdown, separation and divorce, and civil partnerships. It is recommended in Chambers and the Legal 500, which notes that Fiona Read and Camilla Thornton provide a West End quality service for value for money fees. A number of team members are accredited mediators and also practising collaborative family lawyers Children The team acts for children (either directly or through their court-appointed Children s Guardian), and for parents and other relatives and carers (including adopters) in situations where there are issues relating to children s care and welfare. These might arise where family relationships break down, or where the local authority intervenes in family life. We also act for local authorities.our team includes four members of the Law Society s specialist Children Panel. Chambers lists rising star Samantha Little as one of the leading solicitors in the field French law and property Dawn Alderson, a dual-qualified solicitor and avocat, heads the French team providing specialist bilingual services for people buying or selling property in France. The team advises on complex, high-value transactions and also provides advice on French taxation and succession law in relation to cross-border probate, estate planning and divorce. The team s dedicated website is a comprehensive resource for people buying property in France > Client services: various helpful articles and other information can be downloaded from the French property page on and the team s own website (see above) Residential conveyancing This experienced team of solicitors and legal executives provides a highquality conveyancing service. It also helps clients put together HIPs (see page 5 for more information) > Client services: online conveyancing quotes (see the conveyancing area of seminars for estate agents and property developers on the implications of HIPs and how they work in practice Contact details for these teams are on pages 17 and 18

8 14 /LOOKING AHEAD COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT / 15 CHANGING EXPECTATIONS As individuals and as a firm, we give practical and financial support to a wide range of organisations and causes, including those listed below. There s an easy way to help a good cause at no cost to yourself: simply complete and return a client service questionnaire (see pages 4-5), and we will donate 5 to one of our selected charities. For these are Cancer Research; Oxfam; the Shooting Star Children s Hospice; and the Surrey Care Trust. More details at SUPPORTING ENDEAVOUR Does society appreciate how much it depends on voluntary organisations? Maybe not: four out of every ten people never donate to charity, and nine out of ten people think (wrongly, in most cases) that they derive no personal benefit from the existence of the voluntary sector. All the same, the voluntary sector continues to grow; its annual income has topped 26 billion, nearly half of that coming from government sources. Certainly many of the charities advised by our Charity Team seem to be increasing in size, though we still count very many small community groups and arts organisations among our clients. Other things are changing too. With their many different roles (including multimedia fundraising, campaigning, social care and social enterprise), charities have to spend more time thinking about governance and management than in the past. > This in turn blurs the boundaries between straightforward legal advice and consultancy the latter now accounting for a significant part of our Charity Team s work. Consultancy work includes helping charities assess the risks of various activities; helping them with governance issues (such as the role of trustees); and acting as a facilitator when they are reorganising activities or looking for partners. The provision of social care is becoming ever more important for many charities. This can increase the influence and scope of voluntary organisations. But it makes the sector more vulnerable to changes in political agendas or funding priorities (a current example being the diversion of some government-linked funding into the 2012 Olympics). Royal Hospital for Neurodisability The Royal Hospital relies on voluntary donations and fundraising to continue its work helping to rehabilitate and care for those with a brain injury or neurological disease. We support the hospital s team of marathon runners, and also help with fundraising projects like last year s Fever Pitch summer fundraising event. Polka Theatre The Polka produces high-quality theatre for young audiences. Together with the Paul Hamlyn Foundation we sponsored Free Falling, a project using drama and arts-related activities to help young people in the area who are excluded or at risk of exclusion from school. Friends of Richmond Park The FRP is a voluntary group dedicated to protecting the beauty and tranquillity of national nature reserve Richmond Park. We sponsored a recent photography competition for children and young people. The winning photographs were displayed in the Park s new Information Centre near Pembroke Lodge. Rebecca Romero We ve supported Rebecca since she was a junior. After competing in rowing at the highest level she won a silver medal in the 2004 Olympics she has achieved a spectacularly successful switch to competitive cycling. Winning the British Time Trial Championships a mere five months after starting cycle training, she promptly became British champion! If selected for the Bejing Olympics, Rebecca will be the first British athlete to compete in the summer Olympic games in two different sports. Rugby We support two rugby clubs. Rosslyn Park is a centre of excellence in junior rugby and hosts two major tournaments, the National Schools Sevens and the Floodlit Sevens. We are supporting its Mini section (age under 7 to under 12) for the season. We also sponsor Esher Rugby Club, which plays in the First Division. Charity Team Praised as committed and streamlined, the team is one of London s leading groups of charity lawyers, working for over 600 charities, voluntary organisations and not-for-profit bodies. James Sinclair Taylor is listed in Chambers and the Legal 500 as one of the UK s leading charity lawyers. The team is ranked third in the Dresdner RCM list of Top Charity Law Firms 2006 > Client services: evening seminar series; annual Trustee and Employment conferences; free update containing latest news and information about the sector (see for details) Contact details for the Charity Team are on page 18 Orange Tree Theatre A pocket-sized National Theatre, the Orange Tree is a professional theatre in the round that supports an eclectic programme of new plays, rediscovered classics and musical and educational events. We are sponsoring the theatre's programme of chamber concerts for Left: the Allegri string quartet, featured in the Coffee Concerts

9 16 /DIRECTORY DIRECTORY / 17 These are our partners, solicitors and other fee earners, with their direct dial telephone numbers. They are listed under departmental headings; see earlier in the review for descriptions of each team s work (the page numbers indicate where to look). An address is formed from the recipient s first name and For example, Marianne Avery s address is Pages Pages > Contentious Property Jim Fairclough / Partner Carl Newman / Solicitor > Corporate Barrie Grossman / Head of FIID Therese Nichols / Partner Marianne Avery / Solicitor Matt Garrod / Solicitor Nicola O Connor / Solicitor Scott Leonard / Partner Leia Mathai / FIID Executive Fiona Read / Partner Edward Cracknell / Solicitor Ian Goldsmith / Partner Holly Stilgoe / Solicitor Lakhraj Minhas / Solicitor Andrea Peacey / Solicitor Ruth Saunders / Solicitor Paul Greatholder / Partner Arnold Isaacson / Partner Ricky Yau / Solicitor Jonathan Thornton / Partner > Professional Regulation Camilla Thornton / Partner Jason Hunter / Partner Judy Lupton / Solicitor > Employment David Webster / Solicitor Matt Bosworth / Solicitor Panay Vassiliou / Solicitor Rakhee Kotecha/Solicitor Michael Maskey / Partner Alex Bearman / Partner Guy Wilmot / Solicitor Peter Cadman / Partner > French Law and Property > Commercial Property Group Katy Peacock / Solicitor Anthony Sakrouge / Partner > Commercial Litigation James Danks / Solicitor Dawn Alderson / Partner Matthew Adams / Solicitor Paul Reed / Associate Dominic Tomkins / Solicitor Jessica Asher / Partner Pages Patrick Delas / Avocat Rachael Beaumont / Solicitor Jo Rengger / Solicitor > Personal Injury and Clinical Negligence John Gould / Partner > Children Department Emilie Totic / Paralegal Oliver Chapman / Partner Alex Riley / Solicitor Deborah Blythe / Partner Bhavini Kalaria / Solicitor Libby Carne / Solicitor > Private Client Jodi Chapman / Solicitor David Stockley / Solicitor Dominic Fairclough / Partner Francesca Kaye / Partner John Hackett / Partner Fiona Bennett / Trust Accountant Stephen Clarke / Partner Howard Swindall / Partner Kathy Fitzgerald / Solicitor Lee Ranford / Partner Joy Levi / Solicitor Rita Bhargava / Solicitor Peter Colegate / Solicitor Kelly Watson / Paralegal Janice Gardner / Partner Max Rowley / Solicitor Samantha Little / Partner David Biddle / Partner Anna Coward / Solicitor Pages Terry Lee / Consultant John Weaver / Partner Sarah Richardson / Solicitor Keiran Bowe / Solicitor Heather Cross / Solicitor > Criminal Litigation John McGuire / Solicitor Helen Whalley / Solicitor > Family Jan Brocklehurst / Solicitor Elizabeth Dawes / Solicitor Tom Beynon / Solicitor Amanda Pearson / Solicitor > Forensic Investigation and Intervention Danusia Brzezina / Solicitor David Carson / Solicitor Peter Dawson / Partner Jae Carwardine / Partner Mary Ross / Costs Analyst Lee Beesley / FIID Manager Victoria Fleming / Legal Executive continued > Angela Dennis / Partner Jonathan Conder / Solicitor Sarah Towler / Solicitor Nora Chabane / FIID Accountant Ewan Hall / Solicitor Helen Edwards / Solicitor Collette Kelly / Solicitor Sarah Wheway / Medical Assistant Helen Finch / FIID Accountant Kate Hamilton / Solicitor Elin Evans / Conveyancing Executive Jane Lyle / Legal Executive Lucy Wilton / Solicitor Hannah Minty / Solicitor

10 18 /DIRECTORY Pages Page 14 > Private Client (continued) > Residential Conveyancing > Charity Team Liz Cooksey / Trust Administrator Roger Ford / Partner Sue Fowle / Solicitor Richard Frimston / Partner Maureen Clements / Conveyancing Executive Nigel Coates /Partner Rachel Hankey / Solicitor Vickie Kilby / Partner Mary Cheves / Solicitor Dora Costas / Solicitor Jane Klauber / Partner James McCallum / Partner Putney Hill London SW15 6AB T F Chelverton Rd Norroy Rd Putney High St Werter Rd Disraeli Rd Putney Oxford Rd Pamela Gale / Legal Executive Roz Gray / Probate Administrator Gloria McDermott / Associate Frederica Millanaise / Conveyancing Executive David Mears / Partner Samantha Palmer / Solicitor Putney Hill (A219) Upper Richmond Rd (A205 South Circular) St John s Avenue East Putney Roberta Harvey / Solicitor Narinder Johal / Legal Executive Donall Murphy / Partner Richard Peat / Consultant Tamsin Priddle / Solicitor Sukanya Ransford / Solicitor Bedford Row London WC1R 4BX T F Gray s Inn Rd Fiona Macdonald / Solicitor Elaine West / Partner James Sinclair Taylor / Partner Theobald s Rd Helen MacLeod / Solicitor Alison Regan / Solicitor Andrew Robinson / Trust Accountant Lucy Willoughby / Solicitor Kate Slattery / Solicitor Penelope Slatter / Solicitor Kingsway RedLionSt Holborn Bedford Row Sandland St Lincoln s Inn Jockey s Fields High Holborn Fields Chancery Lane Anne Walter / Partner Katrina Waters / Solicitor Bishop's Palace House Kingston Bridge Kingston-upon-Thames Surrey KT1 1QN T F Vicky Wood / Solicitor Chris Young / Solicitor River Thames Kingston Bridge Vicarage Rd John Lewis Horse Fair Clarence Street Bentalls Centre Bishops Hall Thames St Union St Fife Rd Market Pl

11 RUSSELL-COOKE SOLICITORS 2 PUTNEY HILL LONDON SW15 6AB T BEDFORD ROW LONDON WC1R 4BX T BISHOP S PALACE HOUSE KINGSTON-UPON-THAMES SURREY KT1 1QN T

Family law. www.leedsday.co.uk. Providing intelligent legal solutions Providing intelligent legal solutions Providing intelligent legal solutions

Family law. www.leedsday.co.uk. Providing intelligent legal solutions Providing intelligent legal solutions Providing intelligent legal solutions Family law The Family team at Leeds Day understands that Family and Matrimonial matters require more than just keen negotiating skills and technical excellence. We never lose sight of the real issues that

More information

INTERNATIONAL LAWYERS A GUIDE FOR AND CLIENTS

INTERNATIONAL LAWYERS A GUIDE FOR AND CLIENTS INTERNATIONAL LAWYERS A GUIDE FOR AND CLIENTS The Chancery Bar Association was established in 1935 and is the oldest specialist bar association in England and Wales. In addition to its 1,200 members who

More information

enoch evans LLP to our services

enoch evans LLP to our services enoch evans LLP Solicitors YOUR GUIDE to our services Enoch Evans LLP is a law firm with offices in Walsall, having over 40 Lawyers and in excess of 65 members of staff. The central location allows the

More information

A guide to our services

A guide to our services Legal & financial advice for you and your business A guide to our services Pearson Solicitors and Financial Advisers offer The Firm Pearson Solicitors and Financial Advisers offer a complete range of legal

More information

Solicitors for You. Solicitors Ltd

Solicitors for You. Solicitors Ltd Solicitors for You Solicitors Ltd We talk in plain English and not legal jargon. 10 Fetter Lane London EC4A 1BR T 020 7611 4848 F 020 7611 4849 DX 334 London / Chancery Lane E law@rollingsons.co.uk W www.rollingsons.co.uk

More information

LEGAL SUPPORT FOR YOU AND YOUR. QualitySolicitors Burroughs Day

LEGAL SUPPORT FOR YOU AND YOUR. QualitySolicitors Burroughs Day LEGAL SUPPORT FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY QualitySolicitors Burroughs Day Thank you for such a pleasant and easy service. I will certainly be recommending you and wouldn t hesitate to use your services again.

More information

PRIVATE CLIENT. Your legal guide for life

PRIVATE CLIENT. Your legal guide for life PRIVATE CLIENT Your legal guide for life Helping you to make the right decisions Our aim is to provide our clients with quality legal advice across the broad range of private client services within an

More information

Business lawyers who speak your language...

Business lawyers who speak your language... www.vyman.co.uk Business lawyers who speak your language... Vyman is a young, dynamic law firm, established in 1998 having now grown to a complement of three offices: Harrow, Gravesend and Medway. If you

More information

WITH YOU EVERY STEP OF THE WAY Approachable, expert legal advice for all of life s issues

WITH YOU EVERY STEP OF THE WAY Approachable, expert legal advice for all of life s issues WITH YOU EVERY STEP OF THE WAY Approachable, expert legal advice for all of life s issues 0131 225 2121 Expert legal services Here for you throughout your life when you re: Buying, selling or letting a

More information

Application with reputation, excellence and trust.

Application with reputation, excellence and trust. Application with reputation, excellence and trust. Application with reputation, excellence and trust. Howard Parkinson Chairman Foskett Marr Gadsby & Head Our firm dates back to 1920 when it was established

More information

DEFENDANT PERSONAL INJURY

DEFENDANT PERSONAL INJURY DEFENDANT PERSONAL INJURY MB MOORE BLATCH solicitors Moore Blatch PI Defendant Services Our Insurance Division has acted on behalf of composites, syndicates, self-insured and fleet clients for many years.

More information

LEGAL SERVICES FOR EXPATS LIVING IN THE UK AND ABROAD

LEGAL SERVICES FOR EXPATS LIVING IN THE UK AND ABROAD LEGAL SERVICES FOR EXPATS LIVING IN THE UK AND ABROAD www.pannone.com Legal Services for Expats Living in the UK and Abroad Pannone offers clear, friendly, straightforward, good advice to its family law

More information

Services & Teams. Our Employment Service

Services & Teams. Our Employment Service Services & Teams Our Employment Service Employment Law Team Blandy & Blandy s specialist Employment law team provides a comprehensive service tailored to our clients individual needs. The team prides itself

More information

FAMILY SOLUTIONS MOORE BLATCH. solicitors

FAMILY SOLUTIONS MOORE BLATCH. solicitors FAMILY SOLUTIONS MB MOORE BLATCH solicitors Specialist Family Lawyers Divorce and separation is a stressful and emotionally draining experience. Once a relationship has broken down, you ll need the understanding

More information

HUNTINGDON 01480 411224

HUNTINGDON 01480 411224 first class legal services Business Law Commercial Property Company Law Commercial Contracts Employment Law Business Defence Commercial Litigation Insolvency Business Mediation Health & Safety Charities

More information

Guides & Advice. Our Employment Service

Guides & Advice. Our Employment Service Guides & Advice Our Employment Service Our Employment Team With a strong reputation in the region our Employment team provides expert advice to organisations and individuals on all aspects of the employment

More information

With you every step of the way

With you every step of the way With you every step of the way Legal services with a pedigree At Harrison Clark Rickerbys, we understand that you need practical, easy-to-understand advice from a solicitor that you can trust. After all,

More information

LEGAL SUPPORT FOR YOUR BUSINESS

LEGAL SUPPORT FOR YOUR BUSINESS LEGAL SUPPORT FOR YOUR BUSINESS QualitySolicitors Burroughs Day QSBD have taken time to understand our organisation and the way we operate. The relationship we ve developed with them has proven to be invaluable.

More information

Suzanne Kupsch. Dawson Chambers Room 5, 405 Little Bourke Street Melbourne Victoria T: + 61 3 9229 5022 List Y: +61 3 9225 6777

Suzanne Kupsch. Dawson Chambers Room 5, 405 Little Bourke Street Melbourne Victoria T: + 61 3 9229 5022 List Y: +61 3 9225 6777 Suzanne Kupsch Dawson Chambers Room 5, 405 Little Bourke Street Melbourne Victoria T: + 61 3 9229 5022 List Y: +61 3 9225 6777 Admission Admitted to practice as a barrister & solicitor on 6 March 2000

More information

Guides & Advice. Wills, Probate, Tax & Trusts

Guides & Advice. Wills, Probate, Tax & Trusts Guides & Advice Wills, Probate, Tax & Trusts Our Private Client Team We have nearly 300 years experience of advising on the full range of legal issues affecting individuals and families and are recognised

More information

Public Sector Charities. Healthcare. Intellectual Property. Sports Construction & Engineering. Partnership. Pensions. Transport Education

Public Sector Charities. Healthcare. Intellectual Property. Sports Construction & Engineering. Partnership. Pensions. Transport Education Accreditation: Panel Admission: 2001 2004 Languages: Location: English United Kingdom MICHAEL ORD Knew his job very well and handled some very difficult issues very competently Mediation Feedback Overview

More information

PERSONAL INJURY MOORE BLATCH. solicitors

PERSONAL INJURY MOORE BLATCH. solicitors PERSONAL INJURY MB MOORE BLATCH solicitors With Moore Blatch you re in safe hands Those who have the misfortune to suffer injury through another party s negligence need exceptional legal support if they

More information

A Guide to Our Services

A Guide to Our Services A Guide to Our Services Conveyancing Residential & Commercial Landlord & Tenant Motoring & Crime Wills, Probate & Trusts Divorce & Family Accident & Injury Employment Dispute Resolution Business & Commercial

More information

PCS legal and personal case services Defending members access to justice

PCS legal and personal case services Defending members access to justice Dealing with problems at work Employment Tribunal fees Settlement agreements PCS Personal Injury Compensation scheme Criminal legal expenses insurance Will writing service, conveyancing Medical negligence

More information

With you every step of the way

With you every step of the way With you every step of the way Legal services with a pedigree At Harrison Clark we understand that you need practical, easy-to-understand advice from a solicitor that you can trust. After all, the decisions

More information

Simpson Millar LLP working with the South Yorkshire Police Federation

Simpson Millar LLP working with the South Yorkshire Police Federation Simpson Millar LLP Background Simpson Millar LLP has been providing services to trade unions and their members for well over 100 years. We currently work with the CWU, GMB and a number of other unions

More information

mfg for me mfg Solicitors: A new shape of lawyer

mfg for me mfg Solicitors: A new shape of lawyer mfg for me mfg Solicitors: A new shape of lawyer At mfg Solicitors, we know exactly what makes our practice work so well... We are real people, not machines that recite pages of legal jargon. We empathise

More information

Come rain or shine Commercial solutions for corporate lives

Come rain or shine Commercial solutions for corporate lives 02 03 Because tomorrow there may be an opportunity Because tomorrow things may go wrong Because you need a law firm to guide you through whatever tomorrow may bring. 04 No matter how small or large your

More information

Personal Injury. How we can help

Personal Injury. How we can help Personal Injury How we can help This information relates to the law and procedures in England and Wales. Please contact us if you need advice about the law and procedure in other legal jurisdictions. The

More information

EMPLOYMENT & IMMIGRATION LAW - MAKE IT TOP OF YOUR AGENDA. Employment & Immigration Law Make it Top of Your Agenda

EMPLOYMENT & IMMIGRATION LAW - MAKE IT TOP OF YOUR AGENDA. Employment & Immigration Law Make it Top of Your Agenda Employment & Immigration Law Make it Top of Your Agenda Introduction to the employment team Steeles Law s specialist employment team delivers a comprehensive range of legal and human resources services

More information

Employment and Human Resource - Working With You

Employment and Human Resource - Working With You Employment and Human Resource - Working With You Our team prides itself on offering commercial solutions to an organisation s employment and HR issues. We never lose sight of what good employment law and

More information

Legal Support Service Scotland. Support for life after childhood brain and other serious injuries. www.childbraininjurytrust.org.

Legal Support Service Scotland. Support for life after childhood brain and other serious injuries. www.childbraininjurytrust.org. Legal Support Service Scotland Support for life after childhood brain and other serious injuries www.childbraininjurytrust.org.uk Hello and welcome to the Legal Support Services booklet for Scotland You

More information

administration of estates an introduction

administration of estates an introduction administration of estates an introduction An introduction to Administration of Estates Introduction Dealing with the administration of an estate can be a difficult time both from an emotional and a practical

More information

www.wspsolicitors.com

www.wspsolicitors.com working for you Legal Excellence, Expert Advice Stroud Dursley Gloucester Nailsworth www.wspsolicitors.com Years of experience and local knowledge We are a modern progressive practice maintaining the highest

More information

7 Bedford Row Presents: AN INTRODUCTION TO EMPLOYMENT LAW CPD ACCREDITED & AVAILABLE ONLINE. invitation

7 Bedford Row Presents: AN INTRODUCTION TO EMPLOYMENT LAW CPD ACCREDITED & AVAILABLE ONLINE. invitation 7 Bedford Row Presents: AN INTRODUCTION TO EMPLOYMENT LAW invitation CPD ACCREDITED & AVAILABLE ONLINE Objectives Now an annual fixture in 7 Bedford Row s training programme, this 4 part series is designed

More information

t h e c o m p l e t e l e g a l s e r v i c e f o r p r i v a t e c l i e n t s

t h e c o m p l e t e l e g a l s e r v i c e f o r p r i v a t e c l i e n t s t h e c o m p l e t e l e g a l s e r v i c e f o r p r i v a t e c l i e n t s C o n t e n t s Residential Property Town and Country Planning Family Law Taxes and Trusts Elderly Client Services Wills

More information

Wills, Probate & Mental Capacity

Wills, Probate & Mental Capacity Weston-super-mare Wills, Probate & Mental Capacity your local legal specialists It can be hard to plan for every eventuality. Taking some time to have a Will drawn-up or reviewing plans for wealth management

More information

SPECIALIST HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE SOLICITORS. QualitySolicitors Burroughs Day

SPECIALIST HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE SOLICITORS. QualitySolicitors Burroughs Day SPECIALIST HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE SOLICITORS QualitySolicitors Burroughs Day Specialist Health and Social Care Solicitors Our specialist Health & Social Care Team has built a strong reputation for advising

More information

Brain injury: A guide to compensation

Brain injury: A guide to compensation Brain injury: A guide to compensation Contents 1. Introduction 1 2. What is a brain injury? 2 3. How much compensation will I receive? 3 4. Medical care and rehabilitation 5 5. Funding your claim 6 6.

More information

Guides & Advice. Charities and Education

Guides & Advice. Charities and Education Guides & Advice Charities and Education Our Charities Team Many charities have faced challenging times in recent years, experiencing reduced income from the private and public sectors, against greater

More information

Family How we can help you

Family How we can help you Family How we can help you Family law Our leading family law team specialises in cases that cover all of the challenges that can arise in life. These include issues related to a family breakdown, such

More information

Neil Goodrum. He got to the nub of the issues very quickly and painlessly. Overview

Neil Goodrum. He got to the nub of the issues very quickly and painlessly. Overview CEDR Accreditation: CEDR Panel Member: CEDR Chambers: 1997 1999 2012 Languages: Location: Email: English United Kingdom ngoodrum@cedrchambers.com Neil Goodrum He got to the nub of the issues very quickly

More information

Title of section MAKING A DIFFERENCE

Title of section MAKING A DIFFERENCE Title of section MAKING A DIFFERENCE 2 Title of section ONE CULTURE ONE ETHOS ONE FIRM Our vision is to be the firm of choice for our clients and our people Our aim is to make a difference through exemplary

More information

Welcome to NEST. All the key information you need about being a member of NEST

Welcome to NEST. All the key information you need about being a member of NEST Welcome to NEST All the key information you need about being a member of NEST 2 Please write your NEST ID here: You ll find this number on the letter that came with this booklet. Welcome to NEST Building

More information

making a personal injury compensation claim

making a personal injury compensation claim W E L C O M E P A C K making a personal injury compensation claim T H A N K Y O U A N D W E L C O M E Thank you for instructing Colemans-ctts solicitors. We have been helping people claim compensation

More information

A trusted guide, counsel and expert for the things that matter over a lifetime.

A trusted guide, counsel and expert for the things that matter over a lifetime. A trusted guide, counsel and expert for the things that matter over a lifetime. Life is full of challenges, opportunities and, sometimes, unexpected moments. But they re not the same for everyone we re

More information

Legal Support Service North West. Support for life after childhood brain and other serious injuries. www.childbraininjurytrust.org.

Legal Support Service North West. Support for life after childhood brain and other serious injuries. www.childbraininjurytrust.org. Legal Support Service North West Support for life after childhood brain and other serious injuries www.childbraininjurytrust.org.uk Hello and welcome to the Legal Support Services booklet for the North

More information

POWERS OF ATTORNEY WHAT IS A GENERAL POWER OF ATTORNEY?

POWERS OF ATTORNEY WHAT IS A GENERAL POWER OF ATTORNEY? What do you do if you want someone to help look after your affairs? What if you become unable to look after yourself or make decisions about your own affairs? Who can make decisions about your welfare

More information

Spinal Cord Injuries: An introduction to claiming compensation

Spinal Cord Injuries: An introduction to claiming compensation Spinal Cord Injuries: An introduction to claiming compensation Today, I m getting on with moving forward in my life in a variety of ways and I m grateful for how Thompsons have helped with it all. Mark

More information

POWERS OF ATTORNEY. Do the right thing see your lawyer first

POWERS OF ATTORNEY. Do the right thing see your lawyer first POWERS OF ATTORNEY Do the right thing see your lawyer first Contents 1. Powers of attorney 2. What is a general power of attorney? 3. What is an enduring power of attorney (EPA)? 4. A property EPA 5. A

More information

Statutory Wills and Gifts

Statutory Wills and Gifts Statutory Wills and Gifts INJURY & NEGLIGENCE SPECIALISTS Injury & Negligence They have an impressive Court of Protection practice and wins praise for its well run and efficient team. Quote from Chambers

More information

Contentious Probate Update, Cardiff

Contentious Probate Update, Cardiff Contentious Probate Update, Cardiff Thursday, 8th October 2015 1:30-5:00pm Marriott Hotel, Cardiff St John s Chambers Wills and Trusts team, welcome you to this seminar, which aims to bring practitioners

More information

North East, Yorkshire & Humberside. November 2013 Special Edition 1 REGIONAL PANEL SOLICITORS

North East, Yorkshire & Humberside. November 2013 Special Edition 1 REGIONAL PANEL SOLICITORS UNITE LEGAL NEWS North East, Yorkshire & Humberside November 2013 Special Edition 1 REGIONAL PANEL SOLICITORS Welcome to a special edition bulletin introducing all of our regional panel solicitors who

More information

Insurance. Personal Injury Construction & Engineering. Intellectual Property. Professional Negligence Employment & Workplace

Insurance. Personal Injury Construction & Engineering. Intellectual Property. Professional Negligence Employment & Workplace CEDR Accreditation: CEDR Panel Admission: Languages: 1994 1996 English Location: United Kingdom Robust, sensible, good at knocking heads together and intensely pragmatic Paul Houghton Chambers & Partners

More information

HR & employment law support for the housing sector

HR & employment law support for the housing sector HR & employment law support for the housing sector Understanding your needs Working in social housing has never been more challenging. You re in the frontline of ensuring your organisation maintains service

More information

Employment & HR Support Package

Employment & HR Support Package Employment & HR Support Package Managing your people effectively will help your business succeed. Employment Law can be a headache and many businesses do not have the internal resources, skills or knowledge

More information

C L I N I C A L N E G L I G E N C E

C L I N I C A L N E G L I G E N C E C L I N I C A L N E G L I G E N C E MB M O O R E B L A T C H s o l i c i t o r s Clinical negligence Understanding, support and effective resolution If you have had the misfortune to suffer injury through

More information

About Just Employment Law. About our team

About Just Employment Law. About our team GLASGOW ABERDEEN LONDON About Just Employment Law The Company Employment law isn t just one of the things we do, it s the only thing we do. Our clients have on their side a team of highly qualified and

More information

making a road traffic accident claim

making a road traffic accident claim W E L C O M E P A C K making a road traffic accident claim T H A N K Y O U A N D W E L C O M E Thank you for instructing Colemans-ctts solicitors. We have been helping people claim compensation for over

More information

in partnership with Legal Services for Union Members in South Wales Freephone: 0800 3280394 union@watkinsandgunn.co.uk www.watkinsandgunn.co.

in partnership with Legal Services for Union Members in South Wales Freephone: 0800 3280394 union@watkinsandgunn.co.uk www.watkinsandgunn.co. in partnership with Legal Services for Union Members in South Wales union@watkinsandgunn.co.uk BFAWU Services are changing to make it much easier for you and your family to access them... In the past the

More information

7 Bedford Row Personal Injury Team Seminars

7 Bedford Row Personal Injury Team Seminars 7 Bedford Row Personal Injury Team Seminars The Road Ahead for Personal Injury Claims A Series of Three Seminars: Week 1 Wednesday 11th June 2008 5.30pm Road Traffic Reports Case Management Detecting the

More information

A guide to professional negligence claims for personal injury victims

A guide to professional negligence claims for personal injury victims A guide to professional negligence claims for personal injury victims If you have been let down by a solicitor or claims management company in a personal injury case and have lost out financially as a

More information

services for business looking to protect your business? we can help.

services for business looking to protect your business? we can help. looking to protect your business? we can help. Employment law Dispute resolution & debt recovery Business & commercial property law Property disputes & housing law Corporate wills hello welcome to Emsleys

More information

CONTENTS THE FIRM COMMERCIAL PROPERTY COMPANY & COMMERCIAL DISPUTE RESOLUTION RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY WILLS & WEALTH MANAGEMENT INDIVIDUALS

CONTENTS THE FIRM COMMERCIAL PROPERTY COMPANY & COMMERCIAL DISPUTE RESOLUTION RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY WILLS & WEALTH MANAGEMENT INDIVIDUALS T H E C O M P L E T E L E G A L P R A C T I C E Y O U R F O C U S CONTENTS THE FIRM 4 5 COMMERCIAL PROPERTY COMPANY & COMMERCIAL 67 8 RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY 10 INDIVIDUALS 6 DISPUTE RESOLUTION WILLS & WEALTH

More information

MAKING A WILL A guide to help you

MAKING A WILL A guide to help you MAKING A WILL A guide to help you Death is not something we like to think about or plan for and of course no amount of planning can prevent the pain your loved ones will experience when you die. However,

More information

2015 PROFESSIONAL INDEMNITY INSURANCE SHORT FORM DECLARATION - SOLICITORS

2015 PROFESSIONAL INDEMNITY INSURANCE SHORT FORM DECLARATION - SOLICITORS 2015 PROFESSIONAL INDEMNITY INSURANCE SHORT FORM DECLARATION - SOLICITORS Please provide a full answer to every question. The definitions at the end of this form should be read in conjunction with the

More information

A client s guide on what to do when someone dies

A client s guide on what to do when someone dies A client s guide on what to do when someone dies This short guide aims to give some practical information on what to do when someone passes away. This is a difficult and often stressful time for family

More information

personal injury & clinical negligence in tune with the clients needs, from the very early stages of a claim to final resolution Chambers UK

personal injury & clinical negligence in tune with the clients needs, from the very early stages of a claim to final resolution Chambers UK personal injury & clinical negligence in tune with the clients needs, from the very early stages of a claim to final resolution Chambers UK about devereux We are one of the UK s top civil and commercial

More information

Head Injuries. Personal Legal Services

Head Injuries. Personal Legal Services Head Injuries Personal Legal Services This information relates to the law and procedures in England and Wales. Please contact us if you need advice about the law and procedure in other legal jurisdictions.

More information

Brain injury lawyers Rehabilitation Change Support Care Family Pain Anger Justice Therapy

Brain injury lawyers Rehabilitation Change Support Care Family Pain Anger Justice Therapy Brain injury lawyers Rehabilitation Change Support Care Family Pain Anger Justice Therapy Fieldfisher provides a first-class service to clients. www.fieldfisher.com/personalinjury Freephone 0800 358 3848

More information

Aidan O Brien. Clinical Negligence. Contact Us. Location. Called in 2011 +44 (0)20 7583 9241

Aidan O Brien. Clinical Negligence. Contact Us. Location. Called in 2011 +44 (0)20 7583 9241 Aidan O Brien Called in 2011 +44 (0)20 7583 9241 Aidan O Brien is instructed to attend fast and multi track trials, applications and case management conferences on a daily basis. He enjoys a broad practice

More information

1. Outline the qualifications and training required to become a barrister and solicitor, and describe the work each profession carries out.

1. Outline the qualifications and training required to become a barrister and solicitor, and describe the work each profession carries out. AQA LAW - AS EXAMINATIONS Unit 1 - LAW01 - Law Making and the Legal System THE LEGAL PROFESSIONS BARRISTERS and SOLICITORS 1. Outline the qualifications and training required to become a barrister and

More information

International Business Tax Services

International Business Tax Services International Business Tax Services Introduction There are many reasons why the UK is an ideal location in which to trade. The UK itself offers a home market of approximately 62 million people, and can

More information

Brain injury claims. A niche personal injury practice focused on catastrophic and neurotrauma claims

Brain injury claims. A niche personal injury practice focused on catastrophic and neurotrauma claims Brain injury claims As specialist brain injury lawyers we are renowned for our experience in dealing with these complex claims. We focus on your claim and what you need in the early days after a serious

More information

LEGAL PROFESSION BILL REFERENCE GROUP FIRST MEETING 8 OCTOBER 2008 DEFINITION OF REGULATED LEGAL SERVICES

LEGAL PROFESSION BILL REFERENCE GROUP FIRST MEETING 8 OCTOBER 2008 DEFINITION OF REGULATED LEGAL SERVICES LEGAL PROFESSION BILL REFERENCE GROUP FIRST MEETING 8 OCTOBER 2008 DEFINITION OF REGULATED LEGAL SERVICES Aim The Group is asked to consider options for defining regulated legal services provided by alternative

More information

Supportive, considered & clear

Supportive, considered & clear Our specialist team has a wealth of knowledge and experience in dealing with claims arising from clinical negligence. We work in a supportive, considered & clear way, dedicated to gaining the best possible

More information

residential property services

residential property services individuals about us Band Hatton Button (incorporating Varley Hibbs) LLP has come into being as a result of the merger in spring 2013 of three of Coventry s leading law firms, Varley Hibbs, Button Legal

More information

Field Fisher Waterhouse

Field Fisher Waterhouse Field Fisher Waterhouse Field Fisher Waterhouse is more than just a full-service European law firm. It s our ability to embrace change and to navigate and capitalise on the changing market that makes us

More information

Solicitors for people with spinal injury. Call us free on: 0800 030 20 40

Solicitors for people with spinal injury. Call us free on: 0800 030 20 40 Solicitors for people with spinal injury Call us free on: 0800 030 20 40 Welcome to Aspire Law The only UK law firm specialising exclusively in spinal cord injury compensation claims. Aspire Law is a unique

More information

Private Prosecutions

Private Prosecutions Private Prosecutions P r i v a t e P r o s e c u t i o n s Any victim of crime may bring a private prosecution. The ability of a company or individual to bring its own prosecution is protected by law and

More information

Training courses for charity trustees

Training courses for charity trustees Training courses for charity trustees Programme for Autumn 2014 Spring 2015 Presented by: chartered accountants & tax advisers in association with WETSK Limited, company number: 6993455 Overview This series

More information

USING LAWYERS IN HONG KONG

USING LAWYERS IN HONG KONG USING LAWYERS IN HONG KONG This Guide deals in general terms with using lawyers in Hong Kong. It aims to help a seafarer understand the legal profession in Hong Kong, and how to select, engage and if need

More information

Your guide to Probate. How can we help you...? For life in all its colours. www.hklaw.eu. Humphries Kirk LLP

Your guide to Probate. How can we help you...? For life in all its colours. www.hklaw.eu. Humphries Kirk LLP Your guide to Probate How can we help you...? For life in all its colours www.hklaw.eu Humphries Kirk LLP Your guide to Probate When a person dies, someone has to deal with their affairs. This is called

More information

LEGAL SERVICES NORRIE WAITE & SLATER SOLICITORS

LEGAL SERVICES NORRIE WAITE & SLATER SOLICITORS LEGAL SERVICES NORRIE WAITE & SLATER SOLICITORS 1 Legal Services Conveyancing Criminal Defence & Motoring Offences Family Law Housing Wills, Probate & Estate Planning Accident Compensation Claims Contents

More information

expertise guidance trust

expertise guidance trust expertise guidance trust 1 Our aims Bone & Payne and Guest Pritchard strive to provide an efficient service to our clients. So much so that over 60% of our business is from previous clients who like the

More information

Brain injury lawyers. Field Fisher Waterhouse provides a first-class service to clients. The Legal 500

Brain injury lawyers. Field Fisher Waterhouse provides a first-class service to clients. The Legal 500 Brain injury lawyers Field Fisher Waterhouse provides a first-class service to clients. The Legal 500 www.ffw.com/personalinjury Freephone 0800 358 3848 Specialist brain injury solicitors Our brain injury

More information

Engineering support for life

Engineering support for life Engineering support for life Contents IET Connect 3 Introduction.... 3 Expert advice.... 4 Care and disability.... 5 Introduction Employment and education.... 6 Legal advice.... 7 A Trustee... 8 A Local

More information

Professional, Personal, Prompt.

Professional, Personal, Prompt. 17 PRIVATE CLIENT SERVICES Professional, Personal, Prompt. eatons-solicitors.co.uk PRIVATE CLIENT SERVICES eatons-solicitors.co.uk Professional, Personal, Prompt. EATON S TEAM If you work within the sport,

More information

Bindmans Employment News

Bindmans Employment News Bindmans Employment News July 2009 Dispute Resolution: Changes in the Law Contents Dispute Resolution: Changes in the Law Case Law Update Seminars & Lectures Mark Emery Promoted to Partner Bindmans Employment

More information

a refreshingly different approach

a refreshingly different approach a refreshingly different approach Finding a lawyer is easy But is a lawyer what you want? What clients need are advisers capable of delving beneath the legalities and delivering the result required. What

More information

Clinical Negligence: A guide to making a claim

Clinical Negligence: A guide to making a claim : 3 At Kingsley Napley, the first thing we do is listen to your account of the events or treatment that caused your injury. We will then advise you on what we think is the best course of action for your

More information

A guide to our legal services for individuals

A guide to our legal services for individuals A guide to our legal services for individuals Introduction Steeles Law has been built on the bedrock of the work it undertakes for individuals, many of whom we also assist in a business context. Our private

More information

JOINT INSOLVENCY EXAMINATION BOARD

JOINT INSOLVENCY EXAMINATION BOARD JOINT INSOLVENCY EXAMINATION BOARD Joint Insolvency Examination Wednesday 9 November 2011 PERSONAL INSOLVENCY (3.5 hours) ANSWER ALL FOUR QUESTIONS EACH QUESTION CARRIES TWENTY-FIVE MARKS SUBMIT ALL WORKINGS

More information

Business legal solutions

Business legal solutions www.thackraywilliams.com Offices in Bromley Kings House, Business legal solutions 32-40 Widmore Road, Bromley, BR1 1RY Telephone 020 8290 0440 Beckenham 225-235 High Street, Beckenham, BR3 1BN Telephone

More information

Sharing our insight. An introduction to our healthcare training, workshop and seminar programme

Sharing our insight. An introduction to our healthcare training, workshop and seminar programme Sharing our insight www.wardhadaway.com An introduction to our healthcare training, workshop and seminar programme "Instead of constantly hearing 'you', we are always hearing 'we' from Ward Hadaway." CHAMBERS

More information

A Guide to Lasting Powers of Attorney

A Guide to Lasting Powers of Attorney A Guide to Lasting Powers of Attorney Why do I need a Lasting Power of Attorney (LPA)? There may come a time when you lose the ability to manage your financial affairs or make decisions about your own

More information

Business Debtline www.businessdebtline.org 0800 0838 018 BANKRUPTCY

Business Debtline www.businessdebtline.org 0800 0838 018 BANKRUPTCY BUSINESS DEBTLINE Business Debtline www.businessdebtline.org 0800 0838 018 BANKRUPTCY FACT SHEET NO. 10 NORTHERN IRELAND What is bankruptcy? Bankruptcy is a way of dealing with debts that you cannot pay.

More information

Legal Services for your business

Legal Services for your business Legal Services for your business Wherever your business is heading Legal services for your business Welcome to Napthens. Where you ll find high quality legal services tailored for your business. It s also

More information

Information for Law Firms On Public Relations

Information for Law Firms On Public Relations Information for Law Firms On Public Relations USING PUBLIC RELATIONS TO PROMOTE YOUR FIRM Public relations is an extremely broad heading and can be used to cover a wide range of activities undertaken by

More information

Solicitors Professional Liability Proposal 2013-14

Solicitors Professional Liability Proposal 2013-14 Solicitors Professional Liability Proposal 2013-14 Proposer Details Practice Title(s) (including service companies) Principal Address line one Principal Address line two City and postcode Telephone number

More information