Application to the Renaissance Major Grants programme - making a complaint

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Application to the Renaissance Major Grants programme - making a complaint"

Transcription

1 Application to the Renaissance Major Grants programme - making a complaint Introduction Arts Council England is committed to delivering a high quality service to applicants for funding. We take complaints about our service seriously. If we find that we have made a mistake, we will take steps to put thing right and ensure that we improve our service in the future. This document sets out how you can go about making a complaint in relation to your application to receive a Renaissance Major Grant. Making a complaint will not affect in any way the level of service you receive from us and will not affect your chances of successfully applying for a grant from us in the future. This process is unique to your application to become a Renaissance Major Grant recipient. If you want to make a complaint about any other aspect of our delivery, please refer to the Making a complaint document which is available on our website (www.artscouncil.org.uk). What can I complain about? You may be disappointed if we turn down your application for funding, but you cannot use the complaints procedure to appeal against our decision, if we have followed our decision-making process correctly. You can complain if you think that: 1. Maladministration has taken place. For example: we have failed to meet our published deadlines without reasonable cause we did not follow our published procedures for assessing your application

2 we have misunderstood a significant part of your application we did not take account of relevant information we have failed to give you access to information we have given you incorrect advice or information 2. we have not treated you politely 3. we have unlawfully discriminated against you If you can show that maladministration has occurred, we have not treated you politely or we have unlawfully discriminated against you, we will investigate your complaint. If we uphold your complaint, there are a number things we can do to rectify our mistake. We can for example issue you with a formal explanation, an apology and an acknowledgement of our responsibility or we can reassess your application for funding. We will keep all complaints confidential. If you make a complaint we will treat you with respect, and we expect you to treat our staff in the same way. What you cannot complain about: you may be disappointed if we turn down your application for funding, but you cannot use the complaints procedure to appeal against our decision, if we have followed our decision-making process correctly you cannot complain about our published policies or any government policy. If you have any comments about our policies, please send these to our Chief Executive, Alan Davey (contact details below) you cannot use this process to complain about a decision relating to another organisation s application you cannot use this complaints procedure to make a complaint about any fraud you think has taken place. You should report this to our Director, Finance How do I make a complaint? You may not be sure what information you should include or how best to set out your complaint. You should set out the facts as clearly as you can, in a logical order. Remember to include important details and dates where possible. We can give you information about how we will process your complaint. Please contact our

3 Head of Enquiries, whose contact details are given in the Getting in touch section at the end of this document, for further assistance. If you need any help, you can contact your local Citizens Advice Bureau (contact details are in The Phone Book or available at Stage one internal review If you want to make a complaint, please write to; Alan Davey Chief Executive Arts Council England 14 Great Peter Street London SW1P 3NQ If you require assistance to submit your complaint in an alternative format such as audio tape or CD, please contact our Head of Enquiries, whose contact details are given in the Getting in touch section at the end of this document. You must submit your complaint within 12 weeks of receiving our decision on your application. Please tell us: what happened when it happened who dealt with you what you would like us to do to put things right Also tell us if you would like to be contacted through formats other than letter or (for example, by textphone or on audio tape). We will contact you to say that we have received your complaint within five working days. In due course, we will also tell you who is investigating your complaint and when you can expect a reply. You will receive a reply to your complaint within 20 working days. If we cannot give a full reply in this time, we will tell you why and when you are likely to receive it.

4 Your complaint will initially be considered by a panel of senior Arts Council England staff drawn from different parts of the organisation. The panel will consider whether there are sufficient grounds to investigate a complaint and who is best placed to lead an investigation on behalf of our Chief Executive. The investigating officer will report their findings and recommendations to our Chief Executive who will make the final decision on our response to your complaint. In some cases, it may be appropriate to ask you to come to a meeting with us to discuss your complaint. This meeting would normally be held within 10 working days of us receiving your complaint. We would send you a written record of the meeting as well as a formal reply to your complaint from our Chief Executive. If your complaint is about the way we conduct any other aspect of our business, we will let you know about alternative procedures that may be open to you. Stage two independent review If you are not satisfied with our Chief Executive s reply, you can refer your complaint to the Independent Complaints Reviewer (ICR). You will need to submit your stage two complaint within four weeks of receiving our Chief Executive s reply. The ICR is unbiased and hears both sides of the complaint. The ICR is not part of our organisation and their investigations and recommendations are independent. You can ask our Chief Executive to refer your complaint to the ICR for consideration at stage two. There is no charge for using the ICR. The ICR s office will contact you within five working days of receiving your complaint. The ICR will decide whether or not to investigate a complaint, and will explain their reasons if they decide not to investigate it. If the ICR investigates your complaint and finds that it is justified, they will recommend ways for us to put things right, and how to prevent a similar situation in future. The ICR will report within three months, and usually more quickly. We will normally make any changes the ICR recommends to our current procedures as quickly as possible.

5 The ICR cannot consider complaints that have not gone through the procedure set out in this document. If you want the ICR to consider your complaint, we will need to notify them within four weeks of receiving our Chief Executive s reply. You can ask us to contact the ICR on your behalf. We will make the process for this clear when we respond to you following our stage one internal review. The ICR cannot reverse funding decisions or make comments or changes to our legal responsibilities and policies on awarding grants. Summary timetable Decision letter sent by Arts Council Stage one complaint submitted Stage one acknowledgement Stage one complaint response Stage two complaint submitted Stage two complaint response Within 12 weeks of decision letter Within five working days of receiving your complaint Within 20 working days of receiving your complaint unless we inform you otherwise Within four weeks of receipt of your stage one complaint response Within a minimum of four weeks and a maximum of three months of receipt of your complaint Other ways to make a complaint The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman The Parliamentary Commissioner for Administration (known as the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman) investigates complaints by members of the public who have suffered injustice because of maladministration by public organisations. The Ombudsman also looks at complaints about being refused access to official information. By law, the Ombudsman is independent of the Government and the civil service, and has wide powers to investigate. The Ombudsman does not normally investigate complaints if they have not been through our complaints procedures first.

6 The Ombudsman s services are free. You can get an explanatory leaflet about the Ombudsman see the Getting in touch section at the end of this document. Freedom of information Our publication scheme gives details of what information we make available to the public as a matter of course. If you want information that we do not include in our publication scheme, the Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives you the right to ask us for it. Under the Act, we must provide you with the information you ask for unless it is not covered by the Act (that is, it is exempt ). If the information you want is exempt, we have to tell you why. If you do not agree with us, you should follow stages one and two of the procedures set out in this document. If you are still not satisfied, you may ask the Information Commissioner to review our decision. You can get a copy of our publication scheme by visiting or by phoning To contact the Information Commissioner, see the Getting in touch section at the end of this document. Further information Your personal information If you use our complaints procedure, you are agreeing that we can use any personal information you send us for purposes connected with your complaint. We may also give your personal information to other people and organisations if we have to do so by law or if you have given us permission. Equal opportunities We are committed to equal opportunities and take complaints about discrimination seriously. We may use complaints about discrimination to review our policies and procedures. This is to make sure we treat everyone equally. We may record information about everyone who makes a complaint (ethnic background, gender

7 and if they have a disability or not) so that we promote and maintain our equal opportunities commitment. We will keep this information confidential. Comments and suggestions We welcome comments and suggestions as these can help us improve our services. Please send any comments or suggestions to our Head of Enquiries. The contact details are given in the Getting in touch section below. Getting in touch You can contact our Head of Enquiries at: Head of Enquiries Arts Council England The Hive 49 Lever Street Manchester M1 1FN Phone: Textphone: If you want to comment on government policy on the arts, you can contact: The Department for Culture, Media and Sport 2-4 Cockspur Street London SW1Y 5DH Website: Phone: (general enquiries)

8 To get information about the Freedom of Information Act you can contact: The Information Commissioner Wycliffe House Water Lane Wilmslow Cheshire SK9 5AF Phone: Fax: You can get an explanatory leaflet about the Ombudsman from: The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman Millbank Tower Millbank London SW1P 4QP Complaints Helpline Phone: September 2011 You can get this publication in Braille, in large print, on audio CD and in electronic formats. Please contact us if you need any of these formats.

If your complaint is concerning a funding application, we can only look at your application again if:

If your complaint is concerning a funding application, we can only look at your application again if: Making a complaint Introduction If you want to make a complaint, we have a procedure for you to use. This document explains the procedure. All the UK-wide and England lottery distributors use this procedure.

More information

What can I complain about?

What can I complain about? Making a complaint Introduction If you want to make a complaint, we have a procedure for you to use. This leaflet explains the procedure. All UK-wide and England lottery distributors use this procedure.

More information

What can I complain about? You can complain if you think that:

What can I complain about? You can complain if you think that: Making a complaint Introduction If you want to make a complaint about the Heritage Lottery Fund or the National Heritage Memorial Fund, we have a procedure for you to use which we explain in this leaflet.

More information

Creative England are committed to being open and accessible and welcomes all comments on its work and the services that it provides.

Creative England are committed to being open and accessible and welcomes all comments on its work and the services that it provides. CUSTOMER SERVICE Creative England are committed to being open and accessible and welcomes all comments on its work and the services that it provides. If you have a concern about the services provided to

More information

Creating a sporting habit for life. Sport England Complaints Procedure

Creating a sporting habit for life. Sport England Complaints Procedure Creating a sporting habit for life Sport England Complaints Procedure April 2014 Sport England Complaints Procedure This document sets out how you can complain about something done by: A. Sport England

More information

Principles of Good Complaint Handling

Principles of Good Complaint Handling Principles of Good Complaint Handling Principles of Good Complaint Handling Good complaint handling means: 1 Getting it right 2 Being customer focused 3 Being open and accountable 4 Acting fairly and proportionately

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS in England

Making a complaint about the NHS in England Making a complaint about the NHS in England The Health Service Ombudsman can carry out independent investigations into complaints made about poor treatment or service provided through the NHS. We are the

More information

How do I complain about the service I get from the Child Support Agency? Information and guidance

How do I complain about the service I get from the Child Support Agency? Information and guidance How do I complain about the service I get from the Child Support Agency? Information and guidance What is this leaflet about? This leaflet explains how you can make a complaint about the service you have

More information

Patient Experience Team (PET)

Patient Experience Team (PET) Patient Experience Team (PET) We are here to help with: Comments Concerns Compliments Complaints Information for patients This leaflet can be made available in other formats including large print, CD and

More information

PALS. Patient Advice and Liaison Service. Royal Manchester Children s Hospital. Saint Mary s Hospital. Manchester Royal Eye Hospital

PALS. Patient Advice and Liaison Service. Royal Manchester Children s Hospital. Saint Mary s Hospital. Manchester Royal Eye Hospital Royal Children s Hospital Saint Mary s Hospital Royal Eye Hospital PALS Patient Advice and Liaison Service Royal Infirmary University Dental Hospital of Central Community Services Trafford General Stretford

More information

Information guide. How to make a complaint

Information guide. How to make a complaint Information guide How to make a complaint How you can comment, compliment or complain about your treatment or service We are committed to providing you with the best service possible. We are always looking

More information

What to do if you re unhappy with the Child Maintenance Service. Help with complaints, disputes and appeals

What to do if you re unhappy with the Child Maintenance Service. Help with complaints, disputes and appeals What to do if you re unhappy with the Child Maintenance Service Help with complaints, disputes and appeals About this leaflet This leaflet explains what to do if you re unhappy with the service provided

More information

Compliments, Concerns and Complaints

Compliments, Concerns and Complaints Compliments, Concerns and Complaints When you don't know where to turn for advice Compliments The Trust would like to receive your input about our services including positive comments relating to the services

More information

St Ann Street Medical Practice. Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint

St Ann Street Medical Practice. Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint St Ann Street Medical Practice Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint Who can complain? Anyone who is receiving, or has received, NHS treatment or services can complain, as can anyone affected

More information

Principles of Good Administration

Principles of Good Administration Principles of Good Administration Principles of Good Administration Good administration by public bodies means: 1 Getting it right 2 Being customer focused 3 Being open and accountable 4 Acting fairly

More information

THE HADLEIGH PRACTICE Complimentary Information Pack

THE HADLEIGH PRACTICE Complimentary Information Pack PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET How to make Comments, Suggestions and Complaints This leaflet explains how you can make comments, suggestions and complaints about the services provided by The Hadleigh Practice.

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising concerns and complaints A step by step guide Raising concerns and complaints Questions to ask yourself: 1. What am I concerned or dissatisfied

More information

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Introduction At Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust we work hard to deliver a first-class comprehensive health care service. We value the opinions of patients

More information

How to compliment, comment or complain about our services

How to compliment, comment or complain about our services How to compliment, comment or complain about our services We welcome your compliments, comments and complaints NHS St Helens Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) welcomes any comments you may have on the

More information

Complaints, Comments & Compliments Policy

Complaints, Comments & Compliments Policy Complaints, Comments & Compliments Policy 1. INTRODUCTION We welcome our customers views and will use them to improve our services. The purpose of this policy is to provide a framework for dealing with

More information

SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP

SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP COMPLAINTS INFORMATION LEAFLET FOR PATIENTS Dr I D Whyte, Dr K K Wlodarczyk, Dr T M Golding Dr C J Brown, Dr C J Fogg, Dr C Dalton 42 King Street, Whalley, Nr Clitheroe BB7

More information

Principles for Remedy

Principles for Remedy Principles for Remedy Principles for Remedy Good practice with regard to remedies means: 1 Getting it right 2 Being customer focused 3 Being open and accountable 4 Acting fairly and proportionately 5 Putting

More information

Making a Social Care Complaint

Making a Social Care Complaint Making a Social Care Complaint You have a right to make a complaint about local authority social services. You can do this by using the local authority social services complaints procedure. To use this

More information

OLD HALL SURGERY COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE (FORM 1)

OLD HALL SURGERY COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE (FORM 1) (FORM 1) WE OPERATE A PRACTICE AS PART OF THE N.H.S. SYSTEM FOR DEALING WITH COMPLAINTS. OUR SYSTEM MEETS NATIONAL CRITERIA. OUR AIM IS TO GIVE YOU THE HIGHEST POSSIBLE STANDARD OF SERVICE AND WE TRY TO

More information

Complaints. How to raise your concerns

Complaints. How to raise your concerns Complaints How to raise your concerns Raising your Concerns RNOH NHS Trust staff will do whatever they can to make sure you get quick, proper and fair treatment. However, sometimes things can go wrong

More information

How did we do? Promoting hope and wellbeing together. How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services.

How did we do? Promoting hope and wellbeing together. How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services. West London Mental Health NHS Trust How did we do? How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services. Promoting hope and wellbeing together What do you think

More information

About the Department for Work and Pensions. Our service standards

About the Department for Work and Pensions. Our service standards About the Department for Work and Pensions Our service standards 2 About the Department for Work and Pensions Contents 3 Introduction 3 Disability and Carers Service 4 Jobcentre Plus 4 The Pension Service

More information

How we deal with complaints and concerns

How we deal with complaints and concerns I Data Protection Act How we deal with complaints and concerns A guide for data controllers 1 Data Protection Act How we deal with complaints and concerns The ICO is the UK s independent public authority

More information

Complaints procedure

Complaints procedure Complaints procedure This leaflet explains what to do if you have a complaint about any aspect of our service. We treat all complaints seriously and aim to resolve them as quickly and fully as we can.

More information

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service February 2014 Healthwatch Coventry www.healthwatchcoventry.org.uk Contents 1. About this guide page 3 2. The NHS complaints procedure page 3 3. About the

More information

Policies and Procedures

Policies and Procedures NHS Blood and Transplant Policies and Procedures Information Charter [POL13] 2 Policy Reference Title Approved by This document replaces version issued June 2008 [POL13] NHSBT Information Charter Information

More information

Customer ser vices. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind

Customer ser vices. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind Customer ser vices Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints A short guide to the customer services team and how we can provide you with support and information

More information

How to complain about a health or social care service

How to complain about a health or social care service How to complain about a health or social care service February 2014 About this leaflet Although most people have no problems when using health or social care services, sometimes things can go wrong. This

More information

THE DATA PROTECTION ACT 1998 A GUIDE FOR CUSTOMERS

THE DATA PROTECTION ACT 1998 A GUIDE FOR CUSTOMERS THE DATA PROTECTION ACT 1998 A GUIDE FOR CUSTOMERS Do you know what personal information is held about you by Angus Council and why the Council needs this information? In this leaflet Angus Council explains

More information

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA)

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) Our Ref: 003115/13 Freedom of Information Section Nottinghamshire Police HQ Sherwood Lodge, Arnold Nottingham NG5 8PP Tel: 101 Ext 800 2507 Fax: 0115 967 2896 29 May 2013 Request under the Freedom of Information

More information

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA)

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) Our Ref: 010870/13 Freedom of Information Section Nottinghamshire Police HQ Sherwood Lodge, Arnold Nottingham NG5 8PP Tel: 101 Ext 800 2507 Fax: 0115 967 2896 06 December 2013 Request under the Freedom

More information

Complaints, Comments and Appreciations

Complaints, Comments and Appreciations FOLD HERE No Stamp Required Freepost RLUJ-RKYT-AZGH Gillian Summers Complaints Officer North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust Bernicia House Goldcrest Way Newburn Riverside Newcastle upon Tyne

More information

Change Makers Fund Guidance for applicants

Change Makers Fund Guidance for applicants Change Makers Fund Guidance for applicants Below is an outline summary of key information. Please see Section three for full eligibility criteria. Summary of key information What is the focus of the fund?

More information

How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service?

How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service? How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service? I m not happy about something I d just like to say How do I? Most NHS care and treatment goes well but sometimes things can go wrong. If

More information

Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust This leaflet provides practical information on how you can provide

More information

How to see your Health Records

How to see your Health Records How to see your Health Records NHS Eileanan Siar Western Isles Who is this leaflet for? It is for people who use the NHS in Scotland. People using private healthcare services can see their health records

More information

Freedom of Information Act 2000 (Section 50) Decision Notice

Freedom of Information Act 2000 (Section 50) Decision Notice Freedom of Information Act 2000 (Section 50) Decision Notice Date: 25 August 2011 Public Authority: Address: Ministry of Justice 102 Petty France London SW1H 9AJ Summary The complainant requested information

More information

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE Cuckfield Medical Practice and The Vale Surgery 1 CONTENTS Contents Page Introduction 1.0 NHS Complaints Regulations 3 2.0 Who

More information

Raising concerns or complaints about the NHS

Raising concerns or complaints about the NHS Independent Complaints Advocacy Northumberland You can, We can, ICAN Raising concerns or complaints about the NHS A step by step guide to help you raise a concern or complaint about any service provided

More information

3 February 2010 Millbank Tower, Millbank, London SW1P 4QP

3 February 2010 Millbank Tower, Millbank, London SW1P 4QP Report on an investigation into complaint no against Thurrock Council 3 February 2010 Millbank Tower, Millbank, London SW1P 4QP Investigation into complaint no against Thurrock Council Table of Contents

More information

Guidelines for Managers on receipt of a request for financial compensation from a Complainant (Remedy)

Guidelines for Managers on receipt of a request for financial compensation from a Complainant (Remedy) Guidelines for Managers on receipt of a request for financial compensation from a Complainant (Remedy) Amendments Date Page(s) Comments Approved by Aug 2011 General review and update. Changes Head of Patient

More information

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA)

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) Our Ref: 000520/13 Freedom of Information Section Nottinghamshire Police HQ Sherwood Lodge, Arnold Nottingham NG5 8PP Tel: 101 Ext 800 2507 Fax: 0115 967 2896 3 April 2013 Request under the Freedom of

More information

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA)

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) Our Ref: 002640/13 Freedom Information Section Nottinghamshire Police HQ Sherwood Lodge, Arnold Nottingham NG5 8PP 28 March 2013 Tel: 101 Ext 800 2507 Fax: 0115 967 2896 Request under the Freedom Information

More information

EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure

EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE As a Practice we try to provide the best service possible for our patients. We recognise, however, that

More information

Comments, compliments and complaints

Comments, compliments and complaints Comments, compliments and complaints 02 Our commitment to engaging with the community We want to make sure we are open, honest and transparent commissioners of care. It is our intention to be truthful

More information

BRITISH LIBRARY COMPLAINTS POLICY

BRITISH LIBRARY COMPLAINTS POLICY BRITISH LIBRARY COMPLAINTS POLICY INTRODUCTION 1. The British Library is committed to providing excellent service, and we invite feedback - to ensure the continuous improvement of the services and facilities

More information

FOR HANDLING ORGANISATIONAL COMPLAINTS AGAINST THE PRACTICE OR INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS OF STAFF

FOR HANDLING ORGANISATIONAL COMPLAINTS AGAINST THE PRACTICE OR INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS OF STAFF 1. PURPOSE This procedure is to ensure the proper handling of any complaint about the organisation, care which a patient has received from Lintonville Medical Group or an individual member of staff. The

More information

This guide will help you to prepare a complaint letter and provide information regarding where you should send your complaint to.

This guide will help you to prepare a complaint letter and provide information regarding where you should send your complaint to. Guide to Making a Complaint About Medical Treatment If you are dissatisfied with the medical treatment that you or a family member have received then you are entitled to make a complaint. Complaint guide

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Contents Page 4 Introduction How to use this pack How can NHS Complaints Advocacy Help? Page 5 Raising concerns and complaints First Steps Step 1 - What

More information

Customer services. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind

Customer services. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind Customer services Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind A short guide to customer services and how we can provide you with support

More information

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA)

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) Our Ref: 000498/13 Freedom of Information Section Nottinghamshire Police HQ Sherwood Lodge, Arnold Nottingham NG5 8PP Tel: 101 Ext 800 2507 Fax: 0115 967 2896 18 February 2013 Request under the Freedom

More information

Guide to healthcare complaints

Guide to healthcare complaints Guide to healthcare complaints A guide to healthcare complaints The majority of patients have a positive experience of their NHS treatment. Where this is not the case there are a number of options open

More information

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA)

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) Our Ref: 007228/12 Freedom of Information Section Nottinghamshire Police HQ Sherwood Lodge, Arnold Nottingham NG5 8PP Tel: 101 Ext 800 2507 Fax: 0115 967 2896 14 January 2013 Request under the Freedom

More information

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA)

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) Our Ref: 005851/12 Freedom of Information Section Nottinghamshire Police HQ Sherwood Lodge, Arnold Nottingham NG5 8PP 1 November 2012 Tel: 101 Ext 800 2507 Fax: 0115 967 2896 Request under the Freedom

More information

Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team

Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team Worthing and Southlands Hospitals Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Trust which combines St Richard s Hospital in Chichester and Worthing and Southlands

More information

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA)

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) Our Ref: 000880/13 Freedom of Information Section Nottinghamshire Police HQ Sherwood Lodge, Arnold Nottingham NG5 8PP Tel: 101 Ext 800 2507 Fax: 0115 967 2896 28 February 2013 Request under the Freedom

More information

Helping more people by investigating more complaints about the NHS. September 2013

Helping more people by investigating more complaints about the NHS. September 2013 Helping more people by investigating more complaints about the NHS September 2013 Helping more people by investigating more NHS complaints In 2012-13 We resolved 15,944 enquiries about the NHS 12,175 3,770

More information

Patient Information Whose information is it anyway? Your health records

Patient Information Whose information is it anyway? Your health records Patient Information Whose information is it anyway? Your health records Derriford Hospital Derriford Road Plymouth PL6 8DH Tel: 0845 155 8155 www.plymouthhospitals.nhs.uk Your health record We ask you

More information

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA)

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) Our Ref: 007907/15 Freedom of Information Section Nottinghamshire Police HQ Sherwood Lodge, Arnold Nottingham NG5 8PP 04 November 2015 Tel: 101 Ext 800 2507 Fax: 0115 967 2896 Request under the Freedom

More information

Council accounts: a guide to your rights. Update July 2013

Council accounts: a guide to your rights. Update July 2013 Council accounts: a guide to your rights Update July 2013 As a local resident you have legal rights, which let you inspect your council s accounts and related documents. Contents Introduction...5 What

More information

Complaints and Compliments

Complaints and Compliments Complaints and Compliments Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Comments, Compliments, & Complaints If you require this document in an alternative format, i.e easy read, large text, audio, braille

More information

A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS

A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS Please read this first Are you worried or unhappy about your current healthcare or treatment of that of a loved one? If you are then it may be more

More information

Your rights and how to make a complaint

Your rights and how to make a complaint Your rights and how to make a complaint Most medical care and treatment goes well, but things occasionally go wrong, and you may want to complain. So where do you start? Every NHS organisation has a complaints

More information

Data protection policy

Data protection policy document: 1) Introduction The Data Protection Act 1998, places legal responsibilities on organisations who collect and use personal information and gives individuals certain rights of access. The Act covers

More information

Complaints Policy and Procedure

Complaints Policy and Procedure Complaints Policy and Procedure REFERENCE NUMBER DraftAug2012V1MH APPROVING COMMITTEE(S) AND DATE THIS DOCUMENT REPLACES REVIEW DUE DATE March 2014 RATIFICATION DATE/DRAFT No NHS West Lancashire Clinical

More information

How to complain about a doctor. England

How to complain about a doctor. England How to complain about a doctor England This booklet is for patients in England. Our procedures are the same throughout the UK, but healthcare and support organisations do vary. We have therefore also produced

More information

PERFORMANCE OF THE DEPARTMENT FOR BUSINESS, INNOVATION AND SKILLS FOR 2012

PERFORMANCE OF THE DEPARTMENT FOR BUSINESS, INNOVATION AND SKILLS FOR 2012 From the Ombudsman Dame Julie Mellor DBE Mr Martin Donnelly CMG Permanent Secretary Department for Business, Innovation and Skills Victoria Street London SWH 0ET 4 March 203 Dear Martin, PERFORMANCE OF

More information

How to see your Health Records

How to see your Health Records How to see your Health Records NHS Grampian Who is this leaflet for? It is for people who use the NHS in Scotland. People using private healthcare services can see their health records but this leaflet

More information

Environmental Information Regulations POLICY STATEMENT

Environmental Information Regulations POLICY STATEMENT Environmental Information Regulations POLICY STATEMENT Implementation Date: 1 February 2014 Next review Date: 1 February 2016 DOCUMENT CONTROL Document History Version Date Changes 2.00 18 November 2013

More information

Concerns, Complaints and Compliments

Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Exceptional healthcare, personally delivered Welcome to North Bristol NHS Trust North Bristol NHS Trust is the largest hospital trust in the South West of England,

More information

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA)

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) Our Ref: 000818/13 Freedom of Information Section Nottinghamshire Police HQ Sherwood Lodge, Arnold Nottingham NG5 8PP Tel: 101 Ext 800 2507 Fax: 0115 967 2896 26 February 2013 Request under the Freedom

More information

A: Complaints about NHS foundation trusts (which do not relate to choice and competition or pricing)

A: Complaints about NHS foundation trusts (which do not relate to choice and competition or pricing) To: The Board For meeting on: 30 April 2014 Agenda item: 7 Report by: Tom Grimes, Enquiries and Complaints Manager Report for: Decision TITLE: How Monitor handles complaints Summary 1. This paper aims

More information

How to complain about a doctor

How to complain about a doctor How to complain about a doctor England This booklet is for patients in England. Our procedures are the same throughout the UK, but healthcare and support organisations do vary. We have therefore also produced

More information

Statement of responsibilities of auditors and audited small bodies

Statement of responsibilities of auditors and audited small bodies Statement of responsibilities of auditors and audited small bodies The Audit Commission is a public corporation set up in 1983 to protect the public purse. The Commission appoints auditors to councils,

More information

Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers. Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust

Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers. Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust Welcome At Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust (CNWL) we aim to give you the best

More information

How to see your Health Records

How to see your Health Records How to see your Health Records Version 3 Produced in April 2007 Revision date April 2009 NHS SCOTLAND Who is this leaflet for? It is for people who use the NHS in Scotland. People using private healthcare

More information

The Local Government Ombudsman s Annual Letter Wokingham Borough Council for the year ended 31 March 2007

The Local Government Ombudsman s Annual Letter Wokingham Borough Council for the year ended 31 March 2007 The Local Government Ombudsman s Annual Letter Wokingham Borough Council for the year ended 3 March 7 The Local Government Ombudsman (LGO) investigates complaints by members of the public who consider

More information

DATA PROTECTION ACT YOUR RIGHTS AND HOW TO ENFORCE THEM ONE

DATA PROTECTION ACT YOUR RIGHTS AND HOW TO ENFORCE THEM ONE DATA PROTECTION ACT YOUR RIGHTS AND HOW TO ENFORCE THEM ONE DATA PROTECTION ACT - YOUR RIGHTS AND HOW TO ENFORCE THEM Introduction 1 Your rights and how to enforce them 2 What is the role of the Information

More information

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA)

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) Our Ref: 005792/13 Freedom of Information Section Nottinghamshire Police HQ Sherwood Lodge, Arnold Nottingham NG5 8PP 8 July 2013 Tel: 101 Ext 800 2507 Fax: 0115 967 2896 Request under the Freedom of Information

More information

NHS Constitution. Access to health services:

NHS Constitution. Access to health services: NHS Constitution Patients and the public your rights and NHS pledges to you Everyone who uses the NHS should understand what legal rights they have. For this reason, important legal rights are summarised

More information

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA)

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) Our Ref: 000383/14 Freedom of Information Section Nottinghamshire Police HQ Sherwood Lodge, Arnold Nottingham NG5 8PP 28 January 2014 Tel: 101 Ext 800 2507 Fax: 0115 967 2896 Request under the Freedom

More information

You can check one of the following sections to find the information you need:

You can check one of the following sections to find the information you need: Lutterworth Dental Practice 29 George Street Lutterworth Leicestershire LE17 4EQ Tel: 01455 554291 Email: lutterworthdental@gmail.com A guide to our dental services for new and existing patients Welcome

More information

Access to Health Records

Access to Health Records Access to Health Records Crown Heights Medical Centre Procedure Access to Health Records ACCESS TO MEDICAL RECORDS (DATA PROTECTION) POLICY INTRODUCTION The Access to Health Records Act 1990 gave individuals

More information

Health Service Executive

Health Service Executive The Ombudsman and the Health Service Executive The Ombudsman is Impartial Independent A free service Who is the Ombudsman and what does she do? The Ombudsman can examine complaints about the actions of

More information

Making a complaint Information Guide

Making a complaint Information Guide Making a complaint Information Guide This guidance is to assist disabled people and / or their family members who feel they may have received a less favourable service (discrimination) due to their disability.

More information

WEST LOTHIAN COUNCIL DATA PROTECTION ACT 1998 POLICY

WEST LOTHIAN COUNCIL DATA PROTECTION ACT 1998 POLICY WEST LOTHIAN COUNCIL DATA PROTECTION ACT 1998 POLICY Version 3.0 DATA PROTECTION ACT 1998 POLICY CONTENTS 1. INTRODUCTION... 3 2. PROVISIONS OF THE ACT... 4 3. SCOPE... 4 4. GENERAL POLICY STATEMENT...

More information

Complaints & Comments Leaflet

Complaints & Comments Leaflet Church Road Medical Practice Complaints & Comments Leaflet LET THE PRACTICE KNOW YOUR VIEWS PARTNERS Dr D Y Patwala Dr N Mugerwa Please Print a Copy (Revised Sept 2013) 1 Complaints Information on Website

More information

Making a complaint about government departments and services to the Parliamentary Ombudsman

Making a complaint about government departments and services to the Parliamentary Ombudsman Making a complaint about government departments and services to the Parliamentary Ombudsman Section 1 Can we look at your complaint? Have you complained to the organisation? Yes No Have you received a

More information

We are happy to discuss your concerns and are always ready to listen to your comments and views on the care we provide.

We are happy to discuss your concerns and are always ready to listen to your comments and views on the care we provide. Complaints, concerns and compliments We are sorry you have a complaint. This booklet explains what to do if you have a complaint about your clinical care and treatment, or if you are complaining on behalf

More information

Making a complaint in the independent healthcare sector. A guide for patients

Making a complaint in the independent healthcare sector. A guide for patients Contents 1. Introduction pages 3 5 2. Local Resolution Stage One pages 6 8 3. Complaints Review Stage Two page 9 4. Independent External Adjudication Stage Three pages 10 11 2 The Patients Association

More information

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA)

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) Our Ref: 002793/13 Freedom of Information Section Nottinghamshire Police HQ Sherwood Lodge, Arnold Nottingham NG5 8PP Tel: 101 Ext 800 2507 Fax: 0115 967 2896 23 April 2013 Request under the Freedom of

More information

Give us your views. Complaint. Compliment. Comment. Concern

Give us your views. Complaint. Compliment. Comment. Concern Mental & Social Healthcare Concern Complaint Compliment Comment Give us your views This leaflet explains what to do if you have a complaint, comment, concern or compliment about your experience of our

More information

Freedom of Information: guidance for applicants

Freedom of Information: guidance for applicants Freedom of Information: guidance for applicants Table of Contents Introductionn to NEST and the Freedom of Information Act What information is covered by the Act? What information is not covered by the

More information

High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Lead Author(s) Change History Document complies with the Equality Act 2010

High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Lead Author(s) Change History Document complies with the Equality Act 2010 High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Document Type CQC Standard 7 Service Application Version 2 Ratification Date Target Group All staff Last Reviewed October 2012 Next Review Date October

More information

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA)

Request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) Our Ref: 002366/15 Freedom of Information Section Nottinghamshire Police HQ Sherwood Lodge, Arnold Nottingham NG5 8PP 7 May 2015 Tel: 101 Ext 800 2507 Fax: 0115 967 2896 Request under the Freedom of Information

More information