Introduction to e-marketing
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1 Introduction to e-marketing
2 Agenda Destination NSW overview The impact of technology and digital marketing on travel marketing Search engine marketing Social Media for Tourism Facebook advertising Bringing people to my site Exercises and resources
3 Definitions edm - Electronic Direct Mail - an (standard or newsletter) to a potential customer who has subscribed to correspondence with you or your business Open Rate - The number or percentage of people from your total pool of edm subscribers who have opened your CTR - Click-Through-Rate - the number or percentage of people from the pool of people who have opened your edm that have clicked on a link in the edm PPC - Pay-per-Click - an advertising charge model whereby you only pay for the advert when someone clicks on it CPC - Cost-per-click - the $ value you pay every time a potential customer clicks on one of your search engine or social media adverts CPM - Cost-per-thousand - the $ value you pay every thousand times your advert is displayed to potential customers CPA - Cost-per-acquisition - the $ value you pay every time a potential customer completes a required action after a click e.g. clicks a lead button or a booking button or buys a ticket Blog - Contraction of web log. A discussion or information site consisting of individual posts usually listed in reverse chronological order. Blogs can have single or multiple authors.
4 Destination NSW Overview
5 DNSW Consumer Digital Assets 3 consumer websites, 29 social media channels and 12,500 tourism products in the Get Connected database. Sydney.com and VisitNSW.com recorded more than 20 million visits and delivered over 4.9 million leads to the NSW tourism industry Number five on the list of Top Destination and Accommodation websites in Australia Digital media now comprises over 50% of all media expenditure for DNSW s marketing campaigns. Source: Web channels: DNSW Monthly Report as at June 30, 2014 Source: Hitwise Website Traffic Market Share report as at June 30, 2014
6 DNSW Consumer Digital Assets Channel Visits & Leads Channel Downloads / Products 9.4 million visits 2.3 million leads 8.8 million 2.4 million leads 1.8 million visits 239K leads 96,000+ downloads 15,400+ tourism & event products 200,000+ subscribers Channel URL Fans/followers / subscribers Facebook.com/seesydney 1.3 million Facebook.com/visitnsw 313,620 Channel URL Fans/followers / subscribers* Plus.google.com/+sydney million Plus.google.com/+visitnsw 31,737 Twitter.com/sydney_sider 113,419 Twitter.com/nswtips 9,465 Instagram.com/sydney 26,990 Instagram.com/visitnsw 14,113 Youtube.com/seesydney 1.3 million Pinterest.com/seesydney 2,166 Youtube.com/visitnsw 998,074 Pinterest.com/nswtips 465 Source: Web channels: DNSW Monthly Report as at June 30, 2014 Source: Social channels: Insights as at June 30, 2014
7 DNSW Digital Results TRAFFIC SOURCES FY 2010/2011 FY 2011/2012 FY 2012/2013 FY 2013/2014 FY 2014/2015 To date Organic Search 33% 21.5% 40% 55% 61.6% Paid Search 27% 49.0% 26% 19% 16.5% Referral 14% 15% 9% 4% 2.9% Direct 10% 7% 11% 10% 8.6% Digital Media 15% 8% 14% 12% 7.2% DEVICE TYPES FY 2010/2011 FY 2011/2012 FY 2012/2013 FY 2013/2014 FY 2014/2015 To date Desktop 87% 73% 62% 52% 48% Tablet 2% 10% 15% 18% 19% Mobile 11% 17% 23% 30% 33% KEY POINTS: - Paid & Organic Search are major contributors to DNSW website visitation delivering over 78% of total traffic. - Visits from mobile devices have increased exponentially from 13% to reach the majority of the traffic at 52% in only 3 years.
8 Digital Media Leadership VisitNSW.com and Sydney.com ranked Number One amongst State Tourism Organisation and Tourism Australia websites with over 54% share of website traffic* 60.00% 50.00% 40.00% 30.00% 20.00% 10.00% 0.00% Jul-13 Aug-13 Sep-13 Oct-13 Nov-13 Dec-13 Jan-14 Feb-14 Mar-14 Apr-14 May-14 Jun-14 Visit New South Wales Visit Victoria Tourism Australia South Australian Discover Tasmania Queensland Holidays NewZealand.com Western Australia Visit Melbourne Northern Territory Official Travel Site Source: Hitwise GTO Monthly Website Traffic Report as at June 2014
9 DNSW Digital Media Leadership 18.00% 16.00% 14.00% 12.00% 10.00% 8.00% 6.00% 4.00% 2.00% 0.00% DNSW s consumer websites now rank as Australia s 5 th largest destination and accommodation websites DNSW s consumer websites currently deliver 2.4% of website traffic in the Travel & Accommodation category average 1.8 million monthly visits By comparison, news.com.au delivers 2.76M unique visits per month smh.com.au delivers 2.75M unique visits per month A significant market opportunity exists for DNSW to continue to grow its website traffic YOY. Source: Hitwise Top 10 Destination & Accommodation Websites in Australia Monthly Report June 2014
10 The impact of technology and digital marketing on travel
11 The Modern Traveller: Online Planning and Search Focus The web is as essential for inspiring new travel as it is for planning travel 68% of travellers begin research online 42% use their mobile devices on trips. Search remains key for travellers as they seek a variety of content and information online 58% of travellers start their travel planning and booking process with search. Source: Google Travel Study May June 2013.
12 The Modern Traveller: Digital Content It is a multi-screen world and a cross-screen effort Travellers move between devices for specific travel tasks usually with search as the unifying factor. Online video: An accelerating channel Travel video consumption has increased as consumers continue to rely on videos to make decisions and learn about brands. Travellers are also creating online video content 51% of leisure travellers watch online travel videos. Source: Google Services The New Multi-Screen World: Understanding Cross-platform Consumer Behaviour Mar 2013
13 Marketing
14 Marketing Also known as edm = Electronic Direct Mail Most direct line of communication for conversion to sales Australian average open rate is 21.96% 91.66% of all Australian s are opened within 72hrs Mobile opens have increased by 34% Australian average click through rate is 4.24% Source: BrandMails Australian Marketing Benchmarks Report 2013
15 Benefits of Marketing 1. It is personal Direct way of initiating one-to-one conversation Build relationships with customers through regular contact 2. Trusted Customers already opted in to messages from you 3. Measurable Measure open rates, click through rates, bounces etc 4. It works Generally a higher ROI compared to other marketing mediums Customers pre-sold and ready to buy 5. Affordable Powerful and cost-effective
16 Tips for successful marketing Headlines: Useful Ultra-specific Unique Urgent Content: Interesting and relevant Call to action Tips about your region Make it easy to unsubscribe Link to your site Specials
17 Tips for successful marketing (continued) Important Actions: Create a communications plan Maximise your template dimensions Keep text short and easy to scan Keep list clean Images alt text, title text and links Test your edm before it is sent Create an HTML and a text only version of your
18 Best and Worst Times To Send Best Times of Day Consider: 10pm - 9am Sleeping 9am - 10am Starting Day - s opened 10am - Noon Focus on work Noon - 2pm Lunchtime 2pm - 3pm Focus on work 3pm - 5 pm Winding down 5pm - 7pm Magic moment 7pm - 10pm After work activities Best Times of the Week Consider: Test what works for your business Early in the week good for planning trips for next weekend Later in the week good for last minute deals
19 Search Engine Marketing (Pay-Per-Click)
20 Search engine marketing Why use Search Engines? Search Engine market share in Australia: Google 95.5% Bing 3% Yahoo 0.5% Others 1% You Tube is the second largest search engine In the world and is owned by Google Benefits Speed to market Reach Highly Targeted and Customisable Maximise your ROI by only paying per click Tracking
21 Search engine marketing Getting started with your Google AdWords Account Getting started Choose your budget Create your ads Select keywords that match your ads to potential customers Enter your billing information. Campaign Structure Cost-per-thousand-impressions, or CPM, bid Cost-per-click, or CPC, bid. Cost-per-acquisition, or CPA, bid Example: Clicks for your keywords are approx. $0.10. Target 100 clicks per day. $0.10 x 100 = $10 per day (Cost-per-click x Clicks per day = Daily budget) Budget = $10 per day.
22 Search Engine Marketing Writing a good advert Highlight what makes your product/ offer unique Include prices & promotions Tell your customers what they can do Purchase, Call Today, Order, Sign Up Include keywords in your text Your keyword appears bold in the advert Match your ad to your landing page Ensure your ad is able to be viewed on mobile devices Experiment
23 Search Engine Marketing Other Directory Listings PAID Yellow Pages (Sensis) Google Adwords Reachlocal Truelocal Citysearch FREE Hotfrog ATDW Truelocal Gumtree Start Local Benefits Instant traffic Benefits Free
24 Social Media for Tourism
25 Social Media is now Mass Media Channel Australian users/monthly visitors Facebook 13.4 million users YouTube 12.9 million unique AU visitors WordPress 6.2 million unique AU visitors LinkedIn 3.9 million users Twitter 2.79 million users Instagram 2.06 million users Tripadvisor 1.5 million unique AU visitors Flickr 750,000 users Google + 650,000 users Pinterest 390,000 users Benefits Free Easy to setup Target potential customers Challenges Will require time to monitor and maintain Advertising will cost Source: socialmedianews.com.au for July 2014
26 Social Media for Tourism Facebook Do s: Do post regularly relevant content Do have great photos, links, videos Do keep business separate from personal Do offer value and incentive to be liked Don ts: Don t use personal for business, it violates terms of service Don t talk to clients the way you talk to friends Don t try to flog your product constantly Don t forget to check your page daily Statistics Users Worldwide % Global Use AU Users 1.2 billion 17% 13.4 million
27 Social Media for Tourism Google + Benefits: Google+ influences search ranking Similar to Facebook but you can allocate followers to groups and target messages Challenges: Time Resources Statistics Users Worldwide 340 million AU users 650,000
28 Social Media for Tourism Twitter Benefits: Communicating Generating Leads Researching trends Seeking Feedback Customer service Challenges: Time Resources Spamming Statistics Users Worldwide 255 million Daily Use 20% AU Users 2.79 million
29 YouTube Benefits: Increase conversion rate Customers understand your product Rank better in a Google search Showcase your personality Challenges: Cost Looks professional Statistics Users Monthly Worldwide 1 billion Daily Use 40% AU Monthly Users 12.9 million
30 Social Media Points to Note Be professional Be active on social media to improve social signals Improve preference in search engines.
31 Facebook Advertising
32 Facebook advertising Different advert types Key differences: Google Ads bid on keywords people are searching for Facebook ads bid on likes and peoples interests Advert types: External Website (Standard) Ads Facebook Like Ads Promoted Page Post Ads Sponsored Stories Facebook Offers
33 Facebook advertising Setting up an ad campaign What do you want to achieve Page Likes? Promote Posts? Reach the right audience What s your ideal customer? Location, age, gender Campaign Pricing and Schedule Budget Timing Test multiple ads Have a test control Change one part at a time Measure your ad performance
34 Bringing People to My Site
35 Bringing people to my site Partnering and Clustering Links and info about other relevant attractions Regional blog Improved destination information Guest blogs Create media releases Video Google + Local
36 Exercises & Resources
37 Exercises Come up with 5 killer headlines to ensure I will open up your newsletter Write 3 posts for your Facebook Business Page this week
38 Empowering the tourism industry Free online marketing guide Over 50 tutorials including 11 new social media tutorials Online Print Video Relevant content Simple and easy to follow To access the e-kit:
39 RESOURCES USEFUL LINKS Newsletter Management Software & Google Adwords and Display Network Centres & Campaign and Website Tracking and Monitoring tools & Example directory listing websites
40 RESOURCES USEFUL LINKS Facebook Help Centre Use this tool to explore the keywords most relevant to your product For information on the Australian Tourism Data Warehouse and current distributors Get Connected/ATDW registration page Tourism e-kit free digital educational tutorials for the tourism industry in Australia
41 Tourism E-Kit tutorials Marketing Tutorial 25 Google Adwords Tutorial 27 Social Media for Tourism 31 - Tutorial 40 TXA Tutorial Tutorial 24 ATDW Tutorial - Tutorial 31
42
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