Comments, Compliments, Concerns and Complaints

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Comments, Compliments, Concerns and Complaints"

Transcription

1 WH PALS & Complaints :Layout 1 14/5/12 11:31 Page 1 Comments, Compliments, Concerns and Complaints PALS and Complaints Service, Patient Relations Office, Whittington Health, Whittington Hospital, Magdala Avenue, London N19 5NF Tel: Fax: Text:

2 WH PALS & Complaints :Layout 1 14/5/12 11:31 Page 2 Comments, Compliments, Concerns and Complaints This leaflet gives you information on how to comment on, raise concerns, make a complaint or compliment services provided by Whittington Health. Whittington Health want to offer the best possible service. If you have a query or a question ask us When we get it right compliment us When we don t raise your concern or make a complaint We will listen and learn from the feedback we receive. To tell us about health services, you can 1. Speak directly to the people providing services to you, as this is often the best way of resolving any problems or 2. Contact our PALS and Complaints Service You can come and talk, telephone, or write to us: PALS and Complaints Service, Patient Relations Office, Whittington Health, Whittington Hospital, Magdala Avenue, London N19 5NF Tel: Fax: Text: Go onto our website or NHS Choices on We will investigate your concern and do our best to sort out the problem as quickly as possible. If we are unable to deal with your concern informally within 48 hours, you will be given the opportunity to make a formal complaint. Making a formal complaint The first stage is called local resolution; where Whittington Health will try to resolve your complaint. We take complaints seriously, believing they are an opportunity to put things right and stop problems recurring.

3 WH PALS & Complaints :Layout 1 14/5/12 11:31 Page 3 Who can complain? Anyone who is receiving or has received NHS treatment or services can complain. You can also complain for a friend or a relative, but you must have their consent. When should I complain? It is always best to make your complaint as soon as possible, while the memory of the incident is still fresh for all involved. Complaints will usually only be investigated within 12 months of the event. However, this can be extended if there is a good reason why the complaint was not made within the timescale and it is still possible to investigate the complaint effectively and fairly. If you need help making a complaint Contact the Independent Complaints Advocacy Service (ICAS) at: POhWER ICAS, CAN Mezzanine, Loman Street, Southwark, London SE1 0EH Tel: Minicom: Fax: ICAS provides advocacy support to people who wish to make a complaint about the service that they have received from the NHS. ICAS Advocates can help you draft or write a complaint letter and attend meetings with you. When making a formal complaint, you will be required to provide the following information Your name, date of birth, address and telephone number If you are acting on behalf of someone else; their details and consent A list of the things you are complaining about A summary of what happened, who was involved and when it happened, giving dates if possible How you would like your complaint to be resolved e.g. by phone, through a meeting or a written response Confidentiality In order to look into your concerns, it may be necessary to review your medical and other related records. If you do not want us to do this, please tell us, but please bear in mind that this may limit our ability to investigate your concerns.

4 WH PALS & Complaints :Layout 1 14/5/12 11:31 Page 4 How will Whittington Health handle your complaint? We will ensure all complaints are investigated thoroughly and fairly and that you receive a response We will acknowledge your complaint within three working days and contact you to agree how best to address it We will usually respond within 25 working days. If there is a delay we will contact you to let you know the reason You will receive a response including a full explanation of what happened, an apology if one is due, an explanation of lessons learned and any actions taken to prevent it reoccurring. You will be given the opportunity to discuss the problem with those concerned If you are not satisfied with your response Contact us and explain why you are not satisfied. Identify the issues that you feel have not been addressed fully. The service will review the issues and respond further if they are able to do so Consider asking to meet with the service to clarify the response and try to reach a satisfactory outcome If you remain dissatisfied You may request that your complaint be reviewed by the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman (PHSO). Your request must be made within 12 months of your complaint You should explain why you consider a review necessary The Ombudsman will advise you if the complaint falls within their remit The Ombudsman will only consider a complaint after it has gone through the local resolution stage of the complaints process Contact details for The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman are as follows The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman (PHSO), Millbank Tower, Millbank, London SW1P 4QP Tel: Minicom:

5 WH PALS & Complaints :Layout 1 14/5/12 11:31 Page 5 Remember Whether you raise a concern or make a complaint, rest assured that your care will not be adversely affected. Concerns and complaints are taken seriously and never ignored. If you wish to make a comment, compliment, concern or complaint and English is not your first language, you can get help from the Interpreting Service by telephoning / 5114 / 3226 or to Greek, μ μ, μ A, μ μ / 5114 / 3226 Turkish Dusuncelerinizi, ovgulerinizi, endiselerinizi soylemek veya sikayette bulunmak istiyorsaniz ve bunlari Ingilizce olarak bizlere aktaramiyorsaniz, /5114/3226 telefon numaralarini arayarak Tercumanlik Servisimizden yardim isteyebilirsiniz. Spanish p Si usted desea hacer un comentario, cumplido o si tiene alguna inquietud o queja y su primer idioma no es el inglés, puede obtener ayuda del Servicio de Interpretación, llamando al / 5114/3226 Polish Polish JE Li CHCiELiBY PA STWO SKOMENTOWA, POCHWALI, WYRAZi ZANIEPOKOJENiE, ZROBI ZA ALENiE LUB SKARGE, JEZYK ANGiELSKi NiE JEST PA STWA PODSTAWOWYM JEZYKiEM, PROSZE O SKONTAKTOWANIE SIE Z SERWiSEM T UMACZY POD NUMEREM / 5114 / 3226 i POPROSi O POMOC Bengali / 5114 / 3226 If you require this leaflet in any other format, please contact the Patient Advice and Complaints Department.

6 WH PALS & Complaints :Layout 1 14/5/12 11:31 Page 6 You can also make comments to Voluntary Action Islington LINks - who are an independent network of local people funded to help you have a say in improving local services. Contact details are: Address: 200a Pentonville Road, London N1 9JP Tel: Website: To raise concerns about social care services, please contact: For Islington Adult Social Services London Borough of Islington, Customer Service Unit, 7 Newington Barrow Way, London N7 7EP Tel: / Website: For Islington Children s Social Services London Borough of Islington, 3 Elwood Street, London N5 1EB Tel: Website: For Haringey Children s and Adult Social Services London Borough of Haringey, Feedback & Information Governance Team, Floor 7, River Park House, 225 High Road, Wood Green, London N22 8HQ Tel: Website:

7 WH PALS & Complaints :Layout 1 14/5/12 11:31 Page 7 Comments, Compliments, Concerns and Complaints Form Please fill in this form if you have a Comment, Compliment, Concern or Complaint and send it to: PALS and Complaints Service, Patient Relations Office, Whittington Health, Whittington Hospital, Magdala Avenue, London N19 5NF Please tick one of these boxes: This is a: Comment Compliment Concern Complaint Contact details: Your name: Your address: Postcode: Daytime Phone Number: Mobile: Your Please identify your preferred method of communication: If you are making this complaint on behalf of someone else, please complete their details below: Name of the person you are representing: Their address: Postcode: Contact phone number: Signed consent for you to act on their behalf:

8 WH PALS & Complaints :Layout 1 14/5/12 11:31 Page 8 Please use the space below to give details of your comment, compliment, concern or complaint. (If necessary please continue on a separate sheet) Please sign to confirm that you would like us to progress this matter: Please tick if you would like a response:

Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints. An information guide

Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints. An information guide TO PROVIDE THE VERY BEST CARE FOR EACH PATIENT ON EVERY OCCASION Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints An information guide Compliments, Comments, Concerns or Complaints Commitment to quality At

More information

HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT

HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT HOW TO MAKE A COMPLAINT Issue Date: November 2014 Review Date: January 2016 Authors: Patient Relations Department, North Cumbria University Hospitals NHS Trust SFT-NCA8299: 10/14 REV 1 If it matters to

More information

Complaints. How to raise your concerns

Complaints. How to raise your concerns Complaints How to raise your concerns Raising your Concerns RNOH NHS Trust staff will do whatever they can to make sure you get quick, proper and fair treatment. However, sometimes things can go wrong

More information

Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints. Patient guide

Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints. Patient guide Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints Patient guide Patient satisfaction comments & compliments We hope you re delighted with the

More information

OLD HALL SURGERY COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE (FORM 1)

OLD HALL SURGERY COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE (FORM 1) (FORM 1) WE OPERATE A PRACTICE AS PART OF THE N.H.S. SYSTEM FOR DEALING WITH COMPLAINTS. OUR SYSTEM MEETS NATIONAL CRITERIA. OUR AIM IS TO GIVE YOU THE HIGHEST POSSIBLE STANDARD OF SERVICE AND WE TRY TO

More information

PALS. Patient Advice and Liaison Service. Royal Manchester Children s Hospital. Saint Mary s Hospital. Manchester Royal Eye Hospital

PALS. Patient Advice and Liaison Service. Royal Manchester Children s Hospital. Saint Mary s Hospital. Manchester Royal Eye Hospital Royal Children s Hospital Saint Mary s Hospital Royal Eye Hospital PALS Patient Advice and Liaison Service Royal Infirmary University Dental Hospital of Central Community Services Trafford General Stretford

More information

Comments, compliments and complaints

Comments, compliments and complaints Greater Manchester NHS Clinical Assessment & Treatment Service (GM CATS) Comments, compliments and complaints Patient guide Patient satisfaction comments & compliments We hope you re delighted with the

More information

St Ann Street Medical Practice. Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint

St Ann Street Medical Practice. Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint St Ann Street Medical Practice Weekend Telephone Triage Scheme Making a Complaint Who can complain? Anyone who is receiving, or has received, NHS treatment or services can complain, as can anyone affected

More information

Give us your views. Complaint. Compliment. Comment. Concern

Give us your views. Complaint. Compliment. Comment. Concern Mental & Social Healthcare Concern Complaint Compliment Comment Give us your views This leaflet explains what to do if you have a complaint, comment, concern or compliment about your experience of our

More information

Complaints and Compliments

Complaints and Compliments Complaints and Compliments Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Comments, Compliments, & Complaints If you require this document in an alternative format, i.e easy read, large text, audio, braille

More information

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints

Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Compliments, comments concerns and complaints Introduction At Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust we work hard to deliver a first-class comprehensive health care service. We value the opinions of patients

More information

Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns

Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns Compliments, Enquiries and Concerns Pleased? Tell us about it Enquiry? Let us help you Unhappy? Let s resolve it together PALS: We are here to help you As a patient, or as a carer for someone who attends

More information

COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS

COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS Information Leaflet Your Health. Our Priority. Page 2 of 6 Introduction We aim to provide the highest possible standard of care for our patients. We want to hear your

More information

Complaints, Comments and Appreciations

Complaints, Comments and Appreciations FOLD HERE No Stamp Required Freepost RLUJ-RKYT-AZGH Gillian Summers Complaints Officer North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust Bernicia House Goldcrest Way Newburn Riverside Newcastle upon Tyne

More information

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service

Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service Guide to making a complaint about an NHS service February 2014 Healthwatch Coventry www.healthwatchcoventry.org.uk Contents 1. About this guide page 3 2. The NHS complaints procedure page 3 3. About the

More information

How did we do? Promoting hope and wellbeing together. How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services.

How did we do? Promoting hope and wellbeing together. How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services. West London Mental Health NHS Trust How did we do? How to raise a concern, make a complaint or give a positive comment about one of our services. Promoting hope and wellbeing together What do you think

More information

Complaints procedure

Complaints procedure Complaints procedure This leaflet explains what to do if you have a complaint about any aspect of our service. We treat all complaints seriously and aim to resolve them as quickly and fully as we can.

More information

Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers. Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust

Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers. Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust Making a complaint? A guide for service users and carers Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust Welcome At Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust (CNWL) we aim to give you the best

More information

We are happy to discuss your concerns and are always ready to listen to your comments and views on the care we provide.

We are happy to discuss your concerns and are always ready to listen to your comments and views on the care we provide. Complaints, concerns and compliments We are sorry you have a complaint. This booklet explains what to do if you have a complaint about your clinical care and treatment, or if you are complaining on behalf

More information

EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure

EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure EASTVILLE MEDICAL PRACTICE Complaints Procedure PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE As a Practice we try to provide the best service possible for our patients. We recognise, however, that

More information

Policies and Procedures. Policy on the Handling of Complaints

Policies and Procedures. Policy on the Handling of Complaints RMP. South Tyneside NHS Foundation Trust Policies and Procedures Policy on the Handling of Complaints Approved by Trust Board December 2006 (revised version approved by RMEC May 2010) Policy Type Policy

More information

How to compliment, comment or complain about our services

How to compliment, comment or complain about our services How to compliment, comment or complain about our services We welcome your compliments, comments and complaints NHS St Helens Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) welcomes any comments you may have on the

More information

Information guide. How to make a complaint

Information guide. How to make a complaint Information guide How to make a complaint How you can comment, compliment or complain about your treatment or service We are committed to providing you with the best service possible. We are always looking

More information

How to make a comment or a complaint An easy read guide

How to make a comment or a complaint An easy read guide How to make a comment or a complaint An easy read guide 1 of 12 Making a comment We would like you to tell us what you think of our hospitals and the care you have received from us. Please tell us if you

More information

Making a complaint about the NHS in England

Making a complaint about the NHS in England Making a complaint about the NHS in England The Health Service Ombudsman can carry out independent investigations into complaints made about poor treatment or service provided through the NHS. We are the

More information

Comments, compliments and complaints

Comments, compliments and complaints Comments, compliments and complaints 02 Our commitment to engaging with the community We want to make sure we are open, honest and transparent commissioners of care. It is our intention to be truthful

More information

Complaints Procedures. Listening... Acting... Improving

Complaints Procedures. Listening... Acting... Improving x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw 17/04/2015 15:32 Page 1 Complaints Procedures Listening... Acting... Improving x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw 17/04/2015 15:32 Page 2 x147926_nfh164_p2_vw_x147926_nfh164_p2_vw

More information

THE HADLEIGH PRACTICE Complimentary Information Pack

THE HADLEIGH PRACTICE Complimentary Information Pack PATIENT INFORMATION LEAFLET How to make Comments, Suggestions and Complaints This leaflet explains how you can make comments, suggestions and complaints about the services provided by The Hadleigh Practice.

More information

SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP

SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP SABDEN & WHALLEY MEDICAL GROUP COMPLAINTS INFORMATION LEAFLET FOR PATIENTS Dr I D Whyte, Dr K K Wlodarczyk, Dr T M Golding Dr C J Brown, Dr C J Fogg, Dr C Dalton 42 King Street, Whalley, Nr Clitheroe BB7

More information

Customer ser vices. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind

Customer ser vices. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind Customer ser vices Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments concerns and complaints A short guide to the customer services team and how we can provide you with support and information

More information

Principles of Good Complaint Handling

Principles of Good Complaint Handling Principles of Good Complaint Handling Principles of Good Complaint Handling Good complaint handling means: 1 Getting it right 2 Being customer focused 3 Being open and accountable 4 Acting fairly and proportionately

More information

Patient Experience Team (PET)

Patient Experience Team (PET) Patient Experience Team (PET) We are here to help with: Comments Concerns Compliments Complaints Information for patients This leaflet can be made available in other formats including large print, CD and

More information

Compliments, Concerns and Complaints

Compliments, Concerns and Complaints Compliments, Concerns and Complaints When you don't know where to turn for advice Compliments The Trust would like to receive your input about our services including positive comments relating to the services

More information

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE

CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE CUCKFIELD MEDICAL PRACTICE & THE VALE SURGERY COMPLAINTS POLICY & PROCEDURE Cuckfield Medical Practice and The Vale Surgery 1 CONTENTS Contents Page Introduction 1.0 NHS Complaints Regulations 3 2.0 Who

More information

Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team

Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and Complaints Team Worthing and Southlands Hospitals Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Trust which combines St Richard s Hospital in Chichester and Worthing and Southlands

More information

This document can be produced in large print, in Braille, on audio cassette and in other languages on request

This document can be produced in large print, in Braille, on audio cassette and in other languages on request GIVING A COMPLIMENT, RAISING A CONCERN OR MAKING A COMPLAINT A Guide for Patients, Carers, Relatives and Visitors to the Trust to tell us what you think This document can be produced in large print, in

More information

Experiences count. We are here to listen. www.lpft.nhs.uk

Experiences count. We are here to listen. www.lpft.nhs.uk Experiences count We are here to listen www.lpft.nhs.uk Experiences count Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust (LPFT) provides specialist health services for people with a learning disability,

More information

NHS Complaints and raising concerns

NHS Complaints and raising concerns NHS Complaints and raising concerns This document is a guide to help you raise concerns yourself Raising concerns and or making a complaint can be quite daunting and can often be quite a negative experience.

More information

Your guide to making comments, compliments and complaints

Your guide to making comments, compliments and complaints Your guide to making comments, compliments and complaints Your views are important Our values and behaviours framework brings together everything we believe about the importance of kindness and compassion,

More information

Making a Complaint. The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made.

Making a Complaint. The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made. Making a Complaint The Trust is dedicated to listening, responding and improving our services when a complaint is made. Sometimes people feel let down by the NHS. They might think that the service, care

More information

Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Information about how to pay compliments, raise concerns or complain about services at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust This leaflet provides practical information on how you can provide

More information

Your right to complain. The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure. RDaSH. Corporate Services

Your right to complain. The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure. RDaSH. Corporate Services Your right to complain The Health and Social Care Complaints Procedure RDaSH Corporate Services Section One: What do I do if I want to complain? Why is it important to complain? If you are not happy with

More information

A Guide to Resolving Issues or Making a Complaint

A Guide to Resolving Issues or Making a Complaint A Guide to Resolving Issues or Making a Complaint If you are unhappy with the treatment or service you receive from the NHS you are entitled to make a complaint, have it considered, and receive a response

More information

FOR HANDLING ORGANISATIONAL COMPLAINTS AGAINST THE PRACTICE OR INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS OF STAFF

FOR HANDLING ORGANISATIONAL COMPLAINTS AGAINST THE PRACTICE OR INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS OF STAFF 1. PURPOSE This procedure is to ensure the proper handling of any complaint about the organisation, care which a patient has received from Lintonville Medical Group or an individual member of staff. The

More information

Complaints and PALS. How to make a complaint. Freephone: 0800 328 7971

Complaints and PALS. How to make a complaint. Freephone: 0800 328 7971 How to make a complaint Freephone: 0800 328 7971 Why make a complaint? Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust aims to provide the highest possible quality of health care. We try hard to ensure that we meet

More information

How to Make a Complaint Easy Read Leaflet. An information guide

How to Make a Complaint Easy Read Leaflet. An information guide TO PROVIDE THE VERY BEST CARE FOR EACH PATIENT ON EVERY OCCASION How to Make a Complaint Easy Read Leaflet An information guide Make a Complaint How to Make a Complaint Are you unhappy about the way you

More information

Your rights and how to make a complaint

Your rights and how to make a complaint Your rights and how to make a complaint Most medical care and treatment goes well, but things occasionally go wrong, and you may want to complain. So where do you start? Every NHS organisation has a complaints

More information

Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure

Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure Eastville Medical Practice Complaints Procedure Introduction The Practice aims to provide a high quality service to all its patients at all times, but we recognise that there may be times when you feel

More information

Complaints Policy & Procedure 1

Complaints Policy & Procedure 1 Introduction Complaints about the surgery or member of staff are always taken seriously at Eyam Surgery. We always try to provide the best service possible, but there may be times when a patient may feel

More information

The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services.

The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services. Xxxxxxxxxxxx Directory The Healthwatch Newham guide to local complaints services. Issue Date: 29 September 2014 Contents Page 2: Page 3: Tips on Complaining Services This guide has been produced by Healthwatch

More information

Complaints & Comments Leaflet

Complaints & Comments Leaflet Church Road Medical Practice Complaints & Comments Leaflet LET THE PRACTICE KNOW YOUR VIEWS PARTNERS Dr D Y Patwala Dr N Mugerwa Please Print a Copy (Revised Sept 2013) 1 Complaints Information on Website

More information

A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS

A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS Please read this first Are you worried or unhappy about your current healthcare or treatment of that of a loved one? If you are then it may be more

More information

GUIDANCE FOR RESPONDING TO COMPLAINTS. Director of Nursing and Quality. Patient Experience and Customer Services Manager

GUIDANCE FOR RESPONDING TO COMPLAINTS. Director of Nursing and Quality. Patient Experience and Customer Services Manager REFERENCE NUMBER: IN-007 GUIDANCE FOR RESPONDING TO COMPLAINTS AREA: NAME OF RESPONSIBLE COMMITTEE / INDIVIDUAL NAME OF ORIGINATOR / AUTHOR Trust Wide Director of Nursing and Quality Patient Experience

More information

Complaints Policy and Procedure

Complaints Policy and Procedure Complaints Policy and Procedure REFERENCE NUMBER DraftAug2012V1MH APPROVING COMMITTEE(S) AND DATE THIS DOCUMENT REPLACES REVIEW DUE DATE March 2014 RATIFICATION DATE/DRAFT No NHS West Lancashire Clinical

More information

Comments, concerns, compliments and complaints

Comments, concerns, compliments and complaints Comments, concerns, compliments and complaints Patient Information Making a comment or raising a concern If you have something to say about any of our services please talk to a member of staff such as

More information

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY A GENERAL 1. INTRODUCTION This policy sets out the process for handling complaints, generated by patients, carers and the general public, by the Clinical Commissioning Group

More information

Making a complaint about government departments and services to the Parliamentary Ombudsman

Making a complaint about government departments and services to the Parliamentary Ombudsman Making a complaint about government departments and services to the Parliamentary Ombudsman Section 1 Can we look at your complaint? Have you complained to the organisation? Yes No Have you received a

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Contents Page 4 Introduction How to use this pack How can NHS Complaints Advocacy Help? Page 5 Raising concerns and complaints First Steps Step 1 - What

More information

How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service?

How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service? How do I give feedback or make a complaint about an NHS service? I m not happy about something I d just like to say How do I? Most NHS care and treatment goes well but sometimes things can go wrong. If

More information

High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Lead Author(s) Change History Document complies with the Equality Act 2010

High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Lead Author(s) Change History Document complies with the Equality Act 2010 High Oak Surgery Complaints Policy Document Description Document Type CQC Standard 7 Service Application Version 2 Ratification Date Target Group All staff Last Reviewed October 2012 Next Review Date October

More information

Making a complaint. The difference between making a complaint and clinical negligence

Making a complaint. The difference between making a complaint and clinical negligence Macmillan and Cancerbackup have merged. Together we provide free, high quality information for all. Making a complaint This fact sheet is for people who want to make a complaint because they re unhappy

More information

ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY. Complaints Procedure General Practice

ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY. Complaints Procedure General Practice ST LAWRENCE ROAD SURGERY Complaints Procedure General Practice Index 1. Introduction 2. Practice Complaints Administrator 3. What Constitutes a Complaint 4. Matters Excluded from the Complaints Process

More information

Patient Information Service The NHS complaints procedure and how it works

Patient Information Service The NHS complaints procedure and how it works Patient Information Service The NHS complaints procedure and how it works SOU1682.indd 1 10/07/2013 14:54 SOU1682.indd 2 10/07/2013 14:54 This information is for people who wish to submit a complaint about

More information

Complaints, concerns and feedback. Our Process

Complaints, concerns and feedback. Our Process Complaints, concerns and feedback Our Process About us Devon Doctors Group comprises of Devon Doctors Ltd and other subsidiaries including Access Dental, Access Health Care and Cornwall Health. We exist

More information

Principles of Good Administration

Principles of Good Administration Principles of Good Administration Principles of Good Administration Good administration by public bodies means: 1 Getting it right 2 Being customer focused 3 Being open and accountable 4 Acting fairly

More information

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Why has this factsheet been produced? This factsheet is for anyone who

More information

Contents. Section/Paragraph Description Page Number

Contents. Section/Paragraph Description Page Number - NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICAL NON CLINICA CLINICAL NON CLINICAL - CLINICAL CLINICAL Complaints Policy Incorporating Compliments, Comments,

More information

Redbridge. CCG Complaints Handling Policy

Redbridge. CCG Complaints Handling Policy Redbridge CCG Complaints Handling Policy Contents 1.1 Purpose and Approach... 3 1.2 How to read this document... 3 1.3 The role of the CCGs... 3 2. Responsibilities... 4 2.1 Definition of a complaint...

More information

Guide to making an NHS Complaint

Guide to making an NHS Complaint Guide to making an NHS Complaint Introduction Most people are happy with their NHS treatment however if this is not the case and you are unhappy with the service you or others have received from a hospital,

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy. A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS. www.pohwer.net

NHS Complaints Advocacy. A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS. www.pohwer.net NHS Complaints Advocacy A step by step guide to making a complaint about the NHS NHS Complaints Advocacy Important Information Please read this section before the rest of this guide to ensure you take

More information

How to complain about a health service or social care service. This is an EasyRead version of How to complain about a health or social care service

How to complain about a health service or social care service. This is an EasyRead version of How to complain about a health or social care service How to complain about a health service or social care service This is an EasyRead version of How to complain about a health or social care service About this booklet Sometimes things go wrong with our

More information

Document Author(s) Rachel Bradley, Quality & Clinical Governance Manager. Andrew Lappin, Project Manager, TH CCG. Ian McDowell, Head of Engagement

Document Author(s) Rachel Bradley, Quality & Clinical Governance Manager. Andrew Lappin, Project Manager, TH CCG. Ian McDowell, Head of Engagement Complaints handling policy Number: THCCGCG5 Version: V1 The purpose of this policy is to enable Tower Hamlets CCG (TH CCG) to implement the National Health Service Complaints Regulations 2009 Formal complaints

More information

Complaints Policy. Complaints Policy. Page 1

Complaints Policy. Complaints Policy. Page 1 Complaints Policy Page 1 Complaints Policy Policy ref no: CCG 006/14 Author (inc job Kat Tucker Complaints & FOI Manager title) Date Approved 25 November 2014 Approved by CCG Governing Body Date of next

More information

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services

Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising Concerns or Complaints about NHS services Raising concerns and complaints A step by step guide Raising concerns and complaints Questions to ask yourself: 1. What am I concerned or dissatisfied

More information

Information guide. How to make a complaint

Information guide. How to make a complaint Information guide How to make a complaint How to make a complaint We always aim to provide you with the best service possible. We are committed to the consistent development and improvement of our services,

More information

Felton Surgery. Complaints Policy and Procedure

Felton Surgery. Complaints Policy and Procedure Felton Surgery Complaints Policy and Procedure Policy Statement Felton Surgery is committed to providing a high quality, patient-focused service. Complaints and comments from patients are taken very seriously,

More information

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY

COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY COMPLAINTS AND CONCERNS POLICY A GENERAL 1. INTRODUCTION 1.1 This policy sets out the process that the Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCG) will use for handling complaints, generated by patients, carers

More information

[ ] Complaint [ ] Suggestion [ ] Compliment

[ ] Complaint [ ] Suggestion [ ] Compliment [ ] Complaint [ ] Suggestion [ ] Compliment (Please tick) Your name (Please print) Address Telephone number Date 2014 Copyright Norfolk and Suffolk NHS Foundation Trust. GFX3304.2 How to complain, do something

More information

Concern / Complaints Flowchart

Concern / Complaints Flowchart Concern / Complaints Flowchart INFORMAL CONCERN (usually verbal) A concern can be made to any member of staff or the Patient Advice and Liaison Service Staff/PALS will try to resolve the issue within 1

More information

Feedback and complaints:

Feedback and complaints: Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Feedback and complaints (version 1) Produced in October 2012 - Revision

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy

NHS Complaints Advocacy NHS Complaints Advocacy Raising Concerns or Complaints About the NHS Advocacy in Surrey is provided by Surrey Disabled People s Partnership (SDPP) In partnership with SDPP is a registered Charity: 1156963

More information

Concerns, Complaints and Compliments

Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Exceptional healthcare, personally delivered Welcome to North Bristol NHS Trust North Bristol NHS Trust is the largest hospital trust in the South West of England,

More information

How to make a complaint about your care

How to make a complaint about your care How to make a complaint about your care This leaflet tells you what to do if you wish to raise any concerns about your care and what will happen if you do this. Overall, the feedback we get from patients

More information

NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY

NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY NHS LA COMPLAINTS POLICY Applies to: NHS LA employees, contractors and Non Executive Directors Date of Board Approval: May 2014 Review Date: May 2017 1 May 2014 1. Introduction The NHSLA is committed to

More information

Complaints that are not required to be considered under the arrangements

Complaints that are not required to be considered under the arrangements Under the provisions of the National Health Service (Pharmaceutical Services) Regulations 2005 pharmacy contractors are required to have in place arrangements, for the handling and consideration of complaints

More information

Complaints, compliments and suggestions

Complaints, compliments and suggestions Complaints, compliments and suggestions This leaflet gives you information about how to tell us what you think about NHS Fife. Staff at NHS Fife want to know what you think about the help that you get

More information

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with

Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Your health, your rights Feedback and complaints: how to have a say about your care and have any concerns and complaints dealt with Why has this factsheet been produced? This factsheet is for anyone who

More information

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care

Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care Factsheet 66 August 2011 Resolving problems and making a complaint about NHS care About this factsheet The factsheet explains the approach to handling complaints about National Health Service (NHS) services,

More information

Customer services. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind

Customer services. Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind Customer services Help us improve our services with your comments, compliments, concerns and complaints. With all of us in mind A short guide to customer services and how we can provide you with support

More information

NHS Complaints Handling: Briefing Note. The standard NHS complaints procedure can be used for most complaints about NHS services.

NHS Complaints Handling: Briefing Note. The standard NHS complaints procedure can be used for most complaints about NHS services. APPENDIX 1 NHS Complaints Handling: Briefing Note NHS Complaints Procedure The standard NHS complaints procedure can be used for most complaints about NHS services. The legislation governing the NHS complaints

More information

The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman, (PHSO) for NHS Complaints or the Local Government Ombudsman (LGO) for Public Health complaints, are the second

More information

About POhWER NHS Complaints Advocacy. This guide will tell you what to expect if you decide to work with POhWER to make a complaint about the NHS

About POhWER NHS Complaints Advocacy. This guide will tell you what to expect if you decide to work with POhWER to make a complaint about the NHS About POhWER NHS Complaints Advocacy This guide will tell you what to expect if you decide to work with POhWER to make a complaint about the NHS About POhWER NHS Complaints Advocacy Your Right to Complaints

More information

Complaints - what to do if you re not happy with a service

Complaints - what to do if you re not happy with a service IS 22 April 2009 Information sheet Complaints - what to do if you re not happy with a service Introduction... 1 Before you make a complaint... 2 Help with making your complaint... 2 How to make a complaint

More information

Comments, Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Policy

Comments, Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Policy Comments, Concerns, Complaints and Compliments Policy Policy ID CG05 Version: 1.2 Date ratified by Governing Body 29/11/13 Author Suzi Shettle, Head of Communications and Engagement Last review date: November

More information

PERFORMANCE OF THE DEPARTMENT FOR BUSINESS, INNOVATION AND SKILLS FOR 2012

PERFORMANCE OF THE DEPARTMENT FOR BUSINESS, INNOVATION AND SKILLS FOR 2012 From the Ombudsman Dame Julie Mellor DBE Mr Martin Donnelly CMG Permanent Secretary Department for Business, Innovation and Skills Victoria Street London SWH 0ET 4 March 203 Dear Martin, PERFORMANCE OF

More information

Helping more people by investigating more complaints about the NHS. September 2013

Helping more people by investigating more complaints about the NHS. September 2013 Helping more people by investigating more complaints about the NHS September 2013 Helping more people by investigating more NHS complaints In 2012-13 We resolved 15,944 enquiries about the NHS 12,175 3,770

More information

Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Groups

Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Groups Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Groups Corporate Policy 1 (CP1) CCG Policy for the Handling of Complaints Version: 1 Ratified by: Date ratified: April 2013 Name of originator/author: Name of responsible

More information

Giving feedback or making a complaint. about the NHS. Giving feedback about the NHS. Making a complaint. about the NHS. How can I give my feedback?

Giving feedback or making a complaint. about the NHS. Giving feedback about the NHS. Making a complaint. about the NHS. How can I give my feedback? Giving feedback or making a complaint about the NHS In the NHS in Scotland, we try to give you the best possible care and treatment. You can help us improve services by giving your views, good as well

More information

POLICY CONTROL DOCUMENT - 2

POLICY CONTROL DOCUMENT - 2 POLICY CONTROL DOCUMENT - 2 NUMBER OF PAGES (EXCLUDING APPENDICES) 8 SUMMARY OF REVISIONS: 22 nd December 2011 Sections removed from policy and placed as Appendix which include the following: Responsibilities

More information

Principles for Remedy

Principles for Remedy Principles for Remedy Principles for Remedy Good practice with regard to remedies means: 1 Getting it right 2 Being customer focused 3 Being open and accountable 4 Acting fairly and proportionately 5 Putting

More information