When Your Teen. Driver s Seat. A Guide for Parents. What else should you know?

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "When Your Teen. Driver s Seat. A Guide for Parents. What else should you know?"

Transcription

1 When Your Teen IS IN THE Driver s Seat What else should you know? Visit up-to-date inmation on teen driving laws and links to other resources, such as insurance inmation, driving schools and where to get a driver s license. Make sure you call your family s insurance nt to find out what kind cover is available while your teen is learning to drive and when he or she becomes a licensed driver. Some companies fer discounts good grades or completing an approved driver s education course. TEEN DRIVER RESOURCES: AAA Colorado Alive at 25 Colorado Department Transportation Colorado State Patrol Colorado Department Revenue Division Motor Vehicles Rocky Mountain Insurance Inmation Association Colorado Department Public Health and Environment Colorado Department Human Services Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division (303) (303) (303) A Guide Parents TEEN DRIVING AND GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING LAWS IN COLORADO Revised 06/2007

2 YOUR TEEN IS IN THE DRIVER S SEAT What s your role? Colorado s GDL Laws >INSTRUCTION PERMIT >RESTRICTED LICENSE >FULL PRIVILEGE LICENSE When your teen is in the driver s seat, you re far more than just a passenger. Teens face the greatest risk crashing during the first year their restricted license. One out every 5 licensed 16-year-olds will be in a motor vehicle crash. Your job is to steer your teen into a lifetime safe As a team, the two you can navigate Colorado s new laws and safety guidelines. Teens are less likely than adults to stand the risks driving because they lack experience. ir brains are still developing well into their 20s, affecting their judgment while Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause death and injury teenrs because teens lack driving experience. Colorado has implemented Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Laws to decrease this risk by introducing teenrs to driving in phases. This brochure explains those phases and suggests tips keeping your teen safe when he or she is in the driver s seat. What parents should do: Know the 3 Sts Colorado s Graduated Driver Licensing Law. Supervise your teen s Set family driving rules and limits by creating a Parent/Teen Contract. Impose consequences violations. Talk to other parents. By doing so, you ll know: You are being a responsible parent who is keeping your teen safe in the driver s seat.

3 > PHASE 1 Impose Consequences Instruction Violations Permit All new drivers 18 require a parent/legal Colorado s guardian s laws and your signed family s Affidavit rules Liability to get an instruction permit, are meant to keep your teen driver which allows them to drive - with restrictions - the supervision and everyone a parent else or guardian. on the Whoever road signs safe. the affidavit is responsible any financial liability. But the laws won t work unless they are enced. How Law old encement must my will teen do be its part to get to ence an instruction state laws, permit? and you must do yours to ence consequences 15-year-olds violations family who have rules. completed and passed the classroom portion a state-approved driver s education course within 6 months applying their permit Primary may and apply. secondary fenses. Teens Law encement who are 15 can years only and stop 6 months and cite to you 16 years a and primary have fense. completed If ficers a 4-hour have driver pulled awareness you over a course primary may fense, apply. they can also cite you a All secondary 16-year-olds fense. may Seatbelt apply. violations are a primary fense teens 18. All other GDL violations What are the laws teens with a permit? Teens are secondary the fenses. 18 Violations may not can drive result with in anyone fines, except accumulation their driving points instructor, on your parent, driver s legal license, guardian or community a licensed service adult 21 and/or years loss your or older license. who is authorized by the parent or legal guardian. Teens 18 and older may drive with any licensed driver 21 years or older who holds a valid Colorado driver s license. law prohibits the use cell phones while driving with an instruction permit. That means no talking or Restricted texting. License penalties seatbelt and passenger restriction After my violations teen has a permit, what does he or she need to do bee applying a driver s license? Hours License Violation Hold an instruction Fine permit at Community least one year. Suspension Log 50 hours driving time with Service an authorized, Points licensed parent, legal guardian or alternate permit 1st supervisor. Offense Ten Up those to $50hours must 8 to be 24nighttime 2 2nd Any Offense minor issued Up a to driver s $100 education 16 to permit 40 (the 2 permit minors 15 years up to 15 years and 6 Subsequent months) on or after April 23, 2007, must complete Offense behind-the-wheel training $150 prior to 16 applying to 40 their 2 driver s license. For details, go to If a accumulates or 6 or contact more your points local through Driver s 18, License Office. his or her license may be revoked. > PHASE 2 Restricted License DID YOU KNOW? Under Colorado Parent-imposed penalties law, parents can Listen After or fulfilling lose. Make the instruction have permit their teen s consequences requirements, relate teens to losing may apply license a driving privileges with the length driver s license. revoked. time dependent on the seriousness the violation. For example, if This caught first with driver s a passenger, license is take a restricted the car keys license, away the only a week. type license they may receive until they turn 18. Make consequences known. Set consequences A common restricted violations license means: bee they occur so your teen knows No what passengers to expect. Some common 21 until violations: driver has carrying held a a passenger driver s license 21 years at least six within months. the first No 6 more months than one licensure, passenger coming home after 21 curfew, until speeding, driver has being held untruthful a driver s about license his or her at whereabouts, least one not year. wearing (Siblings a seatbelt. and passengers with medical emergencies are exceptions.) All passengers with drivers 18 must wear seatbelts. This is DID YOU KNOW? a primary, enced law. Only one passenger Remember! may ride Download in the front seat. a Parent/Teen een majority No driving between midnight crashes happen Driving Contract at and 5 a.m. until teen has between 9 p.m. had a driver s license at and midnight. least one year, unless accompanied by an instructor, parent or legal guardian. For exceptions, go to No drinking and Colorado has a ZERO TOLERANCE law minor drivers. Obey all traffic laws. Carry pro insurance. Buckle up. Seatbelts save lives.

4 Set Family > PHASE 3 Driving Full Rules Privilege and License Limits Upon turning 18, the teen is issued a full privilege license and state restrictions Colorado are Most removed. families set rules has set laws young around teen drivers. Parents need to Teens with strong family determine their own family rules have fewer rules in addition to the state crashes. laws. Make sure both sets rules are clear from the start. Driving Rules Your Family Create a written contract with your teen. A Parent/Teen Contract reduces teens exposure to the riskiest driving conditions: 1.) Teen passengers 2.) Driving at night 3.) Unsafe roads 4.) Weather conditions Download a Parent/Teen Contract at Choose an appropriate vehicle your teen driver. Mid- to full-size sedans and wagons with airbags are safest. Under certain conditions, DID YOU SUVs KNOW? and small trucks may be more likely to roll over than other types vehicles. Your teen may not need to be added to your Require a full report. auto insurance policy until Require inmation about each trip bee your teen your teen receives his or her leaves, including where your teen is going, with whom and when he or she will return. restricted license. However, you should let Consider setting an your earlier insurance driving curfew, company especially the first 6 months. know Set that clear your expectations teen and ensure your teen obeys the state laws. is starting to drive. Supervise your teen s Your teen is in the driver s seat. But as Limit distractions. a parent, you still have a lot steering New drivers need to focus. Minimize things that might draw to do. their attention away from Consider prohibiting Learning to drive is a complex, ongoing process that requires cell phone patience us; and dedication. So is teaching someone eating and to drive. drinking; adjusting the radio/cd player; passenger law requires horseplay. a minimum 50 hours practice driving bee your teen can even apply a license. Don t Here are let tips your teen making drive those when hours tired. productive and Sleep-related pleasant. crashes are most common in young people. Teach your teen to recognize when he or she is too Practice tired to drive. a lot. Limit passengers. Practice as much as possible. It s best to practice Don t with just let you your and teen your drive teen in when the vehicle. overly emotional. Tell your teen not to drive when he or she is highly emotional, Get in the regardless mood. whether angry, happy or Only sad. practice when you are both ready, in good moods and have plenty time. Ence the passenger restriction law. Start simple. Prohibit riding with someone who has Learning to drive can be overwhelming your used teen and alcohol you. Begin or drugs. with the basics, such as turning, parking and backing up. When you both feel comtable, progress to more advanced skills including merging, changing lanes and parallel parking. For 16 and 17-yearolds, carrying just one Start sunny. Begin practicing during the day, in good weather. As passenger increases your teen improves, gradually start driving during different driving conditions, including the crash a variety risk by times day, weather and types about roads. 50%.

5 Be a good role model. Practicing supervision builds confidence, reinces good Go to class. habits and builds a Find a class that foundation safe teaches parents how to drive with their teen. Talk Driving with Timeyour teen. Keep the lines communication open so your teen feels comtable talking with you. This builds trust and respect. Take deep breaths. Remember, new drivers need a lot practice. Making mistakes is part learning. Remain calm and focused. Teens will show the greatest improvement in the first 1,000 to 5,000 miles the Affidavit Liability and Guardianship, m DR 2460, or als prior to signing. driving experience is true and accurate. tructor Minimum 50 hours Minimum 10 hours Drive Time Log REMIND YOUR TEEN OF THESE TIPS FOR SAFE DRIVING: USE Buckle THIS up. LOG to track your Adjust mirrors and seats bee turning on the teen s 50 hours practice driving vehicle. including Turn on 10 your hours headlights, at night. day and night, safety. Stop completely at stop signs and red lights. Brake smoothly and avoid slamming on the brakes. YOUR When INSTRUCTION stopping behind PERMIT... another car, stay at a If you distance are from which 18, you must can see comply the tires with the the following vehicle requirements: in front you. You must When be proceeding 16 years from to be a stop: issued look an instruction left, right, permit unless straight ahead, then left again bee moving. you have completed and passed the classroom portion an approved When driver s backing education up, do course, not rely then on you the may rear be view issued an instruction mirror. permit Always at the turn and 15 look years. directly You must behind submit you. pro completion, Check along all directions with your identification, to make sure at the time way you is clear. apply the permit. Or, if you Remain have 15 completed feet away a State-approved from trucks on 4-hour all sides. driver If awareness you can t course, see then truck you drivers may be in issued their a mirrors, permit at they 15 years/6 months. can t You see must you submit either. pro completion, along with your identification, at the time you apply the permit. Speed increases braking distance: If you double You are required to hold your first instruction permit at least twelve your months speed, and be quadruple at least 16 your years braking distance. bee you can get a driver's license in Colorado. This means that if you get your permit on your Vehicle 15th birthday, weight you increases will have braking to hold distance: the permit until your 16th birthday greater bee the vehicle you can weight, apply the the greater license. the breaking Bee distance. you can be issued your driver s license, you are required, by law, to complete behind-the-wheel (BTW) training if you were issued In Winter your driver s and education Wet Conditions: permit or after April 23, 2007, and you were the 15/6 months at the time you were issued your permit. BTW training can be administered two ways: Maintain you can take traction: 6 hours Start with and a driving stop instructor gradually from and a department-approved drive at steady school speeds. or, if there isn t a driving school that fers BTW training at least 20 hours per week with an address that is within Skids: 30 miles If your the vehicle permit begins holder s to residence, skid, remove you may your complete foot 12 from hours the with accelerator a parent, guardian or brake, or and alternate steer permit in the supervisor. direction the skid. At the time you apply your driver's license, you are required, by law, to Braking: submit a Be log gentle your with driving brake experience. pressure during log sheet must show slippery a minimum road total conditions. 50 hours, Avoid with 10 braking hours on those curves 50 hours having been at night. Drive Time Log Sheet is used any time you drive. by driving appropriate through them box is at filled a safe, in by the steady parent/guardian speed. driving Gear with you down or by the both driver uphill authorized and downhill by your parent/guardian to accompany you while you are y will fill in the date, the total drive time, the amount night driving (if any) and their initials. Comments section is optional licensing purposes, but is useful you to track your progress. Drive Time Log Sheet is the only log sheet acceptable as pro the required 50 hours driving experience, unless the log sheet you are presenting is from a state-approved Commercial Driving School, Driver Education or 3rd party testing organization. 50-hour total may include For your more BTW training, driving if administered tips, go by your to driver s ed teacher or the person who signed your Affidavit Liability you to get your permit. You may make photocopies the log sheet if you need more than one to complete your 50 hours.

6 When you have reached your required totals, your parent, stepparent, guardian or grandparent with Power Attorney (the same person that signed the DR 2460, Affidavit Liability and Guardianship, you to get your permit) or your driver education instructor must then verify total driving time and total night driving time on your log sheet(s). se totals are entered on the appropriate lines on the back the last log sheet. parent/guardian or driver education instructor will then sign and date only the back the log sheet that has the final completed totals. Once you have held your instruction permit at least twelve months and are at least 16 years, you are eligible to apply your license. You will need to bring the completed original Drive Time Log Sheet(s) with you when you come in. You must submit the completed Drive Time Log Sheet at the time you apply your license. If your parent/guardian/alternate permit supervisor administered the required behind-the-wheel training, they will complete the back a DR2460, the Affidavit Completion a Driver Education Classroom Course or BTW. Reminder, drive tests at driver's license fices are by appointment only. Effective August 8, 2005, regardless your, if you are driving with an instruction permit you cannot use a mobile communication device (example: a cell phone) while you are driving unless you are trying to contact the police or fire department, it is an emergency or you have parked your vehicle. Student Name Permit Number YOUR DRIVER S LICENSE... When you are issued your driver's license, if you are the 18, there are still a few things you need to be aware. law does not allow you to carry a passenger the 21 until you have held your license at least 6 months. And, you can t carry more than one passenger 21 until you ve held your license at least one year. exceptions to this are if your parent/guardian is with you, or there is an adult passenger 21 or older who has a valid license and has held that license at least one year, or the passenger 21 needs emergency medical assistance or is a member your immediate family. While you are 18, you cannot drive between the hours 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless you have held your license at least one year. exceptions to this are if your parent/guardian is with you, or there is an adult passenger 21 or older who has a valid license and has held that license at least one year, or it is an emergency, or you are an emancipated minor with a valid license. You may drive between midnight and 5:00 a.m. if it s to a school or school-authorized activity where the school doesn t provide transportation. You will need a signed statement from the school ficial showing the date the activity. And, you may drive between midnight and 5:00 a.m., if it s to and from work. You must carry a signed statement from your employer verifying your employment. While you are the 18, when you carry any allowed passengers, everyone riding with you must wear their seat belt. Only one passenger can ride in the front seat with you. You can only carry as many passengers in the back seat as there are seat belts. Once you reach 18 years, these restrictions will no longer apply to you. Your license expires 20 days after your 21st birthday. Have a safe journey and we will see you when you turn 21.

7 TOTALS Be a good role Night model. Driving Talk with your teen. Keep the lines communication open so your teen feels comtable talking with you. This builds Driving trust Timeand respect. Take deep breaths. Remember, new drivers need a lot practice. Making mistakes is part learning. Remain calm and focused. Teens will show the greatest improvement in the first 1,000 to 5,000 miles verifying signature must be from one the signers the Affidavit Liability and Guardianship, m DR 2460, or from the driver Education Instructor. Please check all totals prior to signing. BY SIGNING BELOW, I certify that the above total hours driving experience is true and accurate. Signed Parent/Guardian or Driver Education Instructor Go to class. Find Driving a class Time that teaches parents how to drive with their teen. Minimum 50 hours Practicing supervision builds confidence, reinces good habits and builds a foundation safe Minimum 10 hours Drive Time Log REMIND YOUR TEEN OF THESE TIPS FOR SAFE DRIVING: USE Buckle THIS up. LOG to track your teen s Adjust 50 mirrors hours and practice seats bee driving turning on the vehicle. including 10 hours at night. Turn on your headlights, day and night, safety. Stop completely at stop signs and red lights. Brake smoothly and avoid slamming on the brakes. YOUR INSTRUCTION PERMIT... When stopping behind another car, stay at a If you are 18, you must comply with the distance from which you can see the tires the following requirements: vehicle in front you. You must be 16 years to be issued an instruction permit unless When proceeding from a stop: look left, right, you have straight completed ahead, and then passed left the again classroom bee portion moving. an approved When driver s backing education up, do course, not rely then on you the may rear be view issued an instruction permit at the 15 years. You must submit pro completion, mirror. along Always with turn your identification, and look directly at the behind time you you. apply the permit. Check all directions to make sure the way is clear. Or, if you Remain have completed 15 feet away a State-approved from trucks 4-hour on all sides. driver If awareness course, then you may be issued a permit at 15 years/6 months. you You can t must see submit truck pro drivers completion, in their mirrors, along with they your identification, can t see at the you time either. you apply the permit. You are Speed required increases to hold your braking first instruction distance: permit If you double at least twelve your months speed, and be quadruple at least 16 your years braking bee distance. you can get a driver's license in Colorado. This means that if you get your permit on your Vehicle 15th birthday, weight you increases will have braking to hold the distance: permit until your 16th birthday bee you can apply the license. greater the vehicle weight, the greater the breaking Bee distance. you can be issued your driver s license, you are required, by law, to complete behind-the-wheel (BTW) training if you were issued your driver s education permit on or after April 23, 2007, and you In were Winter and the Wet 15/6 Conditions: months at the time you were issued your permit. BTW training can be administered two ways: you can take 6 hours with a driving instructor from a department-approved Maintain traction: school Start or, and if there stop isn t gradually a driving school and that fers BTW drive training at steady at least speeds. 20 hours per week with an address that is within 30 miles the permit holder s residence, you may complete Skids: 12 hours If your with vehicle a parent, begins guardian to skid, or alternate remove permit your supervisor. foot from the accelerator or brake, and steer in the At the direction time you apply the skid. your driver's license, you are required, by law, to submit a log your driving experience. log sheet must show a Braking: minimum Be total gentle 50 with hours, brake with 10 pressure hours during those 50 hours having slippery been at night. road conditions. Drive Time Avoid Log braking Sheet is on used curves any time you drive. by driving appropriate through box them is filled at a safe, in by the steady parent/guardian speed. driving with you or by the driver authorized by your parent/guardian to accompany Gear down you while both you uphill are and downhill y will fill in the date, the total drive time, the amount night driving (if any) and their initials. Comments section is optional licensing purposes, but is useful you to track your progress. Drive Time Log Sheet is the only log sheet acceptable as pro the required 50 hours driving experience, unless the log sheet you are presenting is from a state-approved Commercial Driving School, Driver Education or 3rd party testing organization. 50-hour total may include your BTW training, if administered by your driver s ed teacher or the For person more who signed driving your Affidavit tips, go Liability to you to get your permit. You may make photocopies the log sheet if you need more than one to complete your 50 hours.

8 Set Family > PHASE 3 Driving Full Rules Privilege and License Limits Upon turning 18, the teen is issued a full privilege license and state restrictions Colorado are Most removed. families set rules has set laws young around teen drivers. Parents need to Teens with strong family determine their own family rules have fewer rules in addition to the state crashes. laws. Make sure both sets rules are clear from the start. Driving Rules Your Family Create a written contract with your teen. A Parent/Teen Contract reduces teens exposure to the riskiest driving conditions: 1.) Teen passengers 2.) Driving at night 3.) Unsafe roads 4.) Weather conditions Download a Parent/Teen Contract at Choose an appropriate vehicle your teen driver. Mid- to full-size sedans and wagons with airbags are safest. Under certain conditions, DID YOU SUVs KNOW? and small trucks may be more likely to roll over than other types vehicles. Your teen may not need to be added to your Require a full report. auto insurance policy until Require inmation about each trip bee your teen your teen receives his or her leaves, including where your teen is going, with whom and when he or she will return. restricted license. However, you should let Consider setting an your earlier insurance driving company curfew, especially the first 6 months. know Set that clear your expectations teen and ensure your teen obeys the state laws. is starting to drive. Supervise your teen s Your teen is in the driver s seat. But as Limit distractions. a parent, you still have a lot steering New drivers need to focus. Minimize things that might draw to do. their attention away from Consider prohibiting Learning to drive is a complex, ongoing process that requires cell phone patience us; and dedication. So is teaching someone eating and to drive. drinking; adjusting the radio/cd player; passenger law requires horseplay. a minimum 50 hours practice driving bee your teen can even apply a license. Don t Here are let tips your teen making drive those when hours tired. productive and Sleep-related pleasant. crashes are most common in young people. Teach your teen to recognize when he or she is too Practice tired to drive. a lot. Limit passengers. Practice as much as possible. It s best to practice Don t with just let you your and teen your drive teen in when the vehicle. overly emotional. Tell your teen not to drive when he or she is highly emotional, Get in the regardless mood. whether angry, happy or Only sad. practice when you are both ready, in good moods and have plenty time. Ence the passenger restriction law. Start simple. Prohibit riding with someone who has Learning to drive can be overwhelming your used teen and alcohol you. Begin or drugs. with the basics, such as turning, parking and backing up. When you both feel comtable, progress to more advanced skills including merging, changing lanes and parallel parking. For 16 and 17-yearolds, carrying just one Start sunny. Begin practicing during the day, in good weather. As passenger increases your teen improves, gradually start driving during different driving conditions, including the crash a variety risk by times day, weather and types about roads. 50%.

9 > PHASE 1 Impose Consequences Instruction Violations Permit All new drivers 18 require a parent/legal Colorado s laws guardian s and your signed family s Affidavit rules Liability to get an instruction permit, are meant to keep your teen driver which allows them to drive - with restrictions - the supervision and everyone a parent else or guardian. on the Whoever road safe. signs the affidavit is responsible any financial liability. But the laws won t work unless they are enced. How Law old encement must my will teen do its be part to to get ence an instruction state laws, permit? and you must do yours to ence consequences violations 15-year-olds family who rules. have completed and passed the classroom portion a state-approved driver s education course within 6 months applying their Primary permit may and apply. secondary fenses. Law Teens encement who are 15 can years only and stop 6 and months cite to you 16 years a primary and have fense. completed If ficers a 4-hour have driver pulled awareness you over a primary course fense, may apply. they can also cite you a secondary All 16-year-olds fense. may Seatbelt apply. violations are a primary fense teens 18. All other GDL violations What are the laws teens with a permit? are Teens secondary the fenses. Violations 18 may not can drive result with in anyone fines, accumulation except their driving points instructor, on your parent, driver s legal license, guardian community or a licensed service adult and/or 21 years loss your or license. older who is authorized by the parent or legal guardian. Teens 18 and older may drive with any licensed driver 21 years or older who holds a valid Colorado driver s license. law prohibits the use cell phones while driving with an instruction permit. That means no talking or Restricted texting. License penalties seatbelt and passenger restriction After my violations teen has a permit, what does he or she need to do bee applying a driver s license? Hours License Violation Hold an instruction Fine permit Community at least one year. Suspension Log 50 hours driving time Service with an authorized, Points licensed parent, legal guardian or alternate permit 1st Offense supervisor. Ten Up to those $50 hours must 8 to 24 be nighttime 2 2nd Any Offense minor issued Up to a driver s $100 education 16 to 40permit (the 2 permit minors 15 years up to 15 years and 6 Subsequent months) on or after April 23, 2007, must complete $ to 40 2 Offense behind-the-wheel training prior to applying their driver s license. For details, go to If a accumulates 6 or contact more points your local through Driver s 18, License Office. his or her license may be revoked. > PHASE 2 Restricted License DID YOU KNOW? Under Colorado law, parents can Parent-imposed penalties After Listen fulfilling or lose. Make the instruction have permit their teen s requirements, consequences relate teens to losing may apply license a driving privileges with the length driver s license. revoked. time dependent on the seriousness the violation. For example, This if caught first driver s with a passenger, license is a take restricted the car license, keys away the only a type week. license they may receive until they turn 18. Make consequences known. Set consequences A restricted common license violations means: bee they occur so your teen knows No passengers what to expect. Some common 21 until violations: driver has carrying held a driver s passenger license 21 at years least six months. within the No first more 6 months than one licensure, passenger coming home after 21 curfew, until speeding, driver has being held untruthful a driver s about license his or her at whereabouts, least one year. not wearing (Siblings a seatbelt. and passengers with medical emergencies are exceptions.) All passengers with drivers 18 must wear seatbelts. This is DID YOU KNOW? a primary, enced law. Only one passenger Remember! may ride in Download the front seat. a Parent/Teen een majority No driving between midnight crashes happen Driving Contract at and 5 a.m. until teen has between 9 p.m. had a driver s license at and midnight. least one year, unless accompanied by an instructor, parent or legal guardian. For exceptions, go to No drinking and Colorado has a ZERO TOLERANCE law minor drivers. Obey all traffic laws. Carry pro insurance. Buckle up. Seatbelts save lives.

GET IT IN WRITING. PARENTS ARE THE KEY TO SAFE TEEN DRIVING. LEARN HOW.

GET IT IN WRITING. PARENTS ARE THE KEY TO SAFE TEEN DRIVING. LEARN HOW. GET IT IN WRITING. Don t just talk about safe driving; set your family s own driving rules and get your teen to agree to them in writing through a Parent-Teen Driving Agreement. Put a copy of your agreement

More information

Welcome! Phone: 720.261.8591 Web site: topcopsdrivingschool.com Email: topcopsds@gmail.com. Instructor: Sgt. Matt Cabot

Welcome! Phone: 720.261.8591 Web site: topcopsdrivingschool.com Email: topcopsds@gmail.com. Instructor: Sgt. Matt Cabot Welcome! Instructions: please fill out your half sheet with your student s legal name as it appears on their birth certificate- also use the address of the parent that will take them to the DMV to get

More information

Chapter 3 INTERMEDIATE LICENSES FOR DRIVERS UNDER 18 GRADUATED LICENSE PROCEDURES

Chapter 3 INTERMEDIATE LICENSES FOR DRIVERS UNDER 18 GRADUATED LICENSE PROCEDURES Drivers under 18 years old are required to go through graduated steps of driving experience to gain full, unrestricted Driver License status. The graduated Driver License steps are designed to incrementally

More information

Steer Clear. Driver s. Program. Safety Awareness Program by State Farm

Steer Clear. Driver s. Program. Safety Awareness Program by State Farm Steer Clear Driver s Program Safety Awareness Program by State Farm Parent/Driver Agreement As a parent/guardian, I will: Try to remember that I was a new driver once too. Be fair and reasonable in my

More information

Look Who s Driving Now. A Parent s Guide to Graduated Driver Licensing

Look Who s Driving Now. A Parent s Guide to Graduated Driver Licensing Look Who s Driving Now A Parent s Guide to Graduated Driver Licensing Welcome Introduction what to expect from this session The driver education course Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3 licenses Coaching tips

More information

DRIVING CONTRACT FOR NEW DRIVERS AND THEIR PARENTS A Message to Teenagers and Their Parents Concerning Safe Driving in Maine

DRIVING CONTRACT FOR NEW DRIVERS AND THEIR PARENTS A Message to Teenagers and Their Parents Concerning Safe Driving in Maine DRIVING CONTRACT FOR NEW DRIVERS AND THEIR PARENTS A Message to Teenagers and Their Parents Concerning Safe Driving in Maine While obtaining a driver's license is the dream of most teenagers, it can lead

More information

License To Survive. Presented by: Jim Jensen Douglas County Sheriff s Office

License To Survive. Presented by: Jim Jensen Douglas County Sheriff s Office License To Survive Presented by: Jim Jensen Douglas County Sheriff s Office South Metro Safety Foundation South Metro Fire Rescue Authority Sponsorship by State Farm Insurance Overall Goals of Program

More information

JUVENILES BEHIND THE WHEEL LAWS FOR YOUNG DRIVERS

JUVENILES BEHIND THE WHEEL LAWS FOR YOUNG DRIVERS JUVENILES BEHIND THE WHEEL LAWS FOR YOUNG DRIVERS Mara Dudley Llano Municipal Court Where Are We Going? Identify relevant statutes applicable to young drivers Discuss the need for restrictive laws on young

More information

Why are Teens at Risk? Teens are more likely to be involved in a crash than other drivers. Teen drivers:

Why are Teens at Risk? Teens are more likely to be involved in a crash than other drivers. Teen drivers: T E EN DRIVI NG Learning to drive is a major milestone in a teen s life, bringing increased freedom and independence. However, teens who drive also face an increased risk of getting seriously injured

More information

GEICO produced DVD REAL TEEN DRIVING. 4 real teens in real driving situations in-car cameras no scripts it s all very, very real

GEICO produced DVD REAL TEEN DRIVING. 4 real teens in real driving situations in-car cameras no scripts it s all very, very real GEICO is: proud to be the nation s fastest growing auto insurer proud to serve more than 10 million policyholders proud to help spread the message on safe driving to new drivers and their families GEICO

More information

What Every Driver Must Know Review Assignment

What Every Driver Must Know Review Assignment What Every Driver Must Know Review Assignment 1. Who is the Michigan Secretary of State? What services does the Secretary of State office offer? What days and hours is your local Secretary of State branch

More information

The. Graduated Licensing. System in Ontario. What s NEW! Increasing penalties for not following licence conditions

The. Graduated Licensing. System in Ontario. What s NEW! Increasing penalties for not following licence conditions The Graduated Licensing System in Ontario What s NEW! Graduated Licensing Increasing penalties for not following licence conditions Fully licensed drivers Zero alcohol condition for all drivers 21 and

More information

Driver Certification

Driver Certification Driver Certification Environmental Health & Safety/Risk Management Department of Campus Operations 300 College Park Dayton, Ohio 45469-2904 937-229-4503 Agenda: Part I: Review of UD Driver Certification

More information

CONGRATULATIONS! YOU HAVE YOUR G1

CONGRATULATIONS! YOU HAVE YOUR G1 CONGRATULATIONS! YOU HAVE YOUR G1 Exciting times for you. Nervous times for your parents but it doesn t have to be. Driving a car is one of the biggest responsibilities you will ever undertake. One mistake

More information

Graduated Driver Licensing

Graduated Driver Licensing Graduated Driver Licensing In June 2013, the State Farm Strategic Resources Department conducted an online survey to examine teen drivers and parents views on Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws. State

More information

A Guide to Obtaining a Pennsylvania Junior Learner s Permit and Junior Driver s License

A Guide to Obtaining a Pennsylvania Junior Learner s Permit and Junior Driver s License A Guide to Obtaining a Pennsylvania Junior Learner s Permit and Junior Driver s License PUB 178 (6-15) NEW DRIVERS Now that you re almost 16 years of age or older, you re probably thinking about getting

More information

SAMPLE VEHICLE FLEET SAFETY & USAGE POLICY

SAMPLE VEHICLE FLEET SAFETY & USAGE POLICY SAMPLE VEHICLE FLEET SAFETY & USAGE POLICY Policy The purpose of this policy is to ensure the safety of those individuals who drive company vehicles and to provide guidance on the proper use of company

More information

Back to School Car Safety. Direct Buy Warranty Staff September 19, 2014

Back to School Car Safety. Direct Buy Warranty Staff September 19, 2014 Back to School Car Safety Direct Buy Warranty Staff September 19, 2014 It s back to school season, and that means kids are picking out new clothes, putting on their backpacks, and hitting the road to get

More information

FAQ s About Teen Driving Laws

FAQ s About Teen Driving Laws FAQ s About Teen Driving Laws RESTRICTIONS What restrictions apply to 16 and 17 year olds who hold a learner's permit? Restrictions for ALL permit holders are: Curfew - No curfew, but must be accompanied

More information

Connecticut Parent Overview Guide WELCOMING YOUR. New Driver SAFETY SECURITY SERVICE

Connecticut Parent Overview Guide WELCOMING YOUR. New Driver SAFETY SECURITY SERVICE Connecticut Parent Overview Guide WELCOMING YOUR New Driver SAFETY SECURITY SERVICE ARE YOU READY FOR THIS? YYesterday, you were putting them on the school bus. Today, you are handing over the car keys.

More information

Facilitator s Guide How much do you know?

Facilitator s Guide How much do you know? Facilitator s Guide How much do you know? Table of Contents I. Table of Contents Page 1 II. Letter from The Century Council President & CEO Page 3 III. IKnowEverything Program Overview Page 5 IV. Suggested

More information

The Price You ll Pay...

The Price You ll Pay... The Price You ll Pay... DUI in North Dakota December 2012 DL1212 Ten Tips to Save Your Life Always plan ahead. If you wait until you start drinking to figure out how you ll get home, it s too late. Designate

More information

www.njteendriving.com/share-the-keys

www.njteendriving.com/share-the-keys Resource Guide Dear Parent: This guide contains research based tools and resources you can use to cultivate safe driving attitudes and behaviors in your teen. By supporting and monitoring your young driver,

More information

USING THE MOBILE PHONE WHILE DRIVING. Using a mobile phone while driving can significantly impair a driver s:

USING THE MOBILE PHONE WHILE DRIVING. Using a mobile phone while driving can significantly impair a driver s: USING THE MOBILE PHONE WHILE DRIVING Is it dangerous to use the phone while driving? Driving is a complex task, requiring drivers to use and coordinate a number of skills. Any lapse in concentration increases

More information

so your teen wants a car?

so your teen wants a car? resources Following is information about several resources cited in this brochure. AAA encourages parents and teens to take advantage of them as they shop for a vehicle and work together through the learningto-drive

More information

State of Minnesota Model Fleet Safety Management Standards

State of Minnesota Model Fleet Safety Management Standards State of Minnesota Model Fleet Safety Management Standards Anyone who has ever been involved in even a minor fender bender is aware of the resulting fallout which involves time, money and effort. Accidents

More information

I DRIVE SAFELY s Parent-Teen Driving Agreement

I DRIVE SAFELY s Parent-Teen Driving Agreement I DRIVE SAFELY s Parent-Teen Driving Agreement This contract is designed to be a mutually agreed by all parties involved, Parents AND the New Driver. By signing this agreement, both parties agree to obey

More information

Teen Drivers. Honest Talk. Real Solutions.

Teen Drivers. Honest Talk. Real Solutions. Teen Drivers. Honest Talk. Real Solutions. A Handbook for Parents Provided through an alliance between State Farm and The Children s Hospital of Philadelphia statefarm.com Traffic crashes No. 1 killer

More information

New Driver & Coach Practice Guide

New Driver & Coach Practice Guide New Driver & Coach Practice Guide Welcome to Driving in Maryland Dear Coach and Rookie Driver: For the Rookie Driver: Congratulations. In getting your Learner s Instructional Permit, you have just completed

More information

Annual Field Trip Forms

Annual Field Trip Forms Annual Field Trip Forms Dear Parents: We are excited about the field trips planned for this year. They have a significant role in your child s education. In an effort to provide safe field trips for your

More information

GENERAL KNOWLEDGE PRACTICE TEST

GENERAL KNOWLEDGE PRACTICE TEST GENERAL KNOWLEDGE PRACTICE TEST 1. Driving under the influence of any drug that makes you drive unsafely is: a. Permitted if it is prescribed by a doctor b. Against the law c. Permitted if it is a diet

More information

Michigan s Graduated Driver Licensing: A GUIDE FOR PARENTS

Michigan s Graduated Driver Licensing: A GUIDE FOR PARENTS Michigan s Graduated Driver Licensing: A GUIDE FOR PARENTS TABLE OF CONTENTS Please note: All of the following information is also available on the Michigan Department of State s Web site www.michigan.gov/teendriver

More information

TEENS. b e h i n d t h e WHEEL

TEENS. b e h i n d t h e WHEEL TEENS b e h i n d t h e WHEEL BUILDING understanding B E T W E E N parents and teens Blue River dear TEENS & PARENTS Turning over the keys to the family car can be a stressful time for any parent. That

More information

Help your teen head down the right road

Help your teen head down the right road Teen Safe Driving COACHING TIPS FOR PARENTS OF TEEN DRIVERS Help your teen head down the right road Car crashes are the No. 1 killer of teens in America causing far more teen deaths than drugs, illness,

More information

DUI (Driving Under the Influence)

DUI (Driving Under the Influence) DUI (Driving Under the Influence) Driving Under the Influence (DUI) In Illinois, a person is considered to be driving under the influence when: The driver has an alcohol concentration on the breath of.08

More information

BASED UPON THE PRINCIPLES OF GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING. A Family Guide to Teen Driver Safety

BASED UPON THE PRINCIPLES OF GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING. A Family Guide to Teen Driver Safety F I R S T E D I T I O N BASED UPON THE PRINCIPLES OF GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING TEEN DRIVER A Family Guide to Teen Driver Safety SUMMER 2004 To the Family of a Soon-To-Be Teen Driver: We have learned much

More information

Model Fleet Safety Program Short

Model Fleet Safety Program Short TM Model Fleet Safety Program Short CORPORATE HEADQUARTERS 518 EAST BROAD STREET COLUMBUS, OHIO 43215 614.464.5000 STATEAUTO.COM TM Disclaimer: The information contained in this publication was obtained

More information

HOW TO PREPARE FOR YOUR MARYLAND NONCOMMERCIAL CLASS C DRIVER S TEST

HOW TO PREPARE FOR YOUR MARYLAND NONCOMMERCIAL CLASS C DRIVER S TEST ` HOW TO PREPARE FOR YOUR MARYLAND NONCOMMERCIAL CLASS C DRIVER S TEST A portion of your noncommercial driving test will be conducted on a closed course to test your basic control of the vehicle, and a

More information

Young Drivers The High-Risk Years

Young Drivers The High-Risk Years Chubb Personal Insurance (CPI) is the personal lines property and casualty strategic business unit of Chubb & Son, a division of Federal Insurance Company, as manager and/or agent for the insurers of the

More information

Parents of Teen Drivers with AD/HD: Proceed with Caution

Parents of Teen Drivers with AD/HD: Proceed with Caution Parents of Teen Drivers with AD/HD: Proceed with Caution Of all the health risks to young people diseases, drug over-doses, homicides, suicides none is as likely to cause serious injury or even death than

More information

Teaching Your Teen to Drive

Teaching Your Teen to Drive Teaching Your Teen to Drive A guide for parents of teenagers on the Colorado Graduated Drivers License System Sponsored by Weld County Sheriff s Office Greeley Police Department Weld County Department

More information

Guide. Crease Lines. Perf Line 6.85. accident EXTRA PANEL NOT NEEDED. Parent-Teen Contract Preparing your teen for the road ahead

Guide. Crease Lines. Perf Line 6.85. accident EXTRA PANEL NOT NEEDED. Parent-Teen Contract Preparing your teen for the road ahead Printed Side outside view 18 3 9/16 3 5/8 9/ 16 3 7/8 3 7/8 3 5/8 What to do if you re in an accident Stop! If you leave the site of an accident, you could be Road Ahead charged with a hit and run regardless

More information

Michigan s Graduated Driver Licensing: A GUIDE FOR PARENTS

Michigan s Graduated Driver Licensing: A GUIDE FOR PARENTS Michigan s Graduated Driver Licensing: A GUIDE FOR PARENTS TABLE OF CONTENTS Please note: All of the following information is also available on the Michigan Department of State s Web site www.michigan.gov/teendriver

More information

RESOURCE GUIDE FOR TEEN DRIVERS. New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. www.dmv.ny.gov

RESOURCE GUIDE FOR TEEN DRIVERS. New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. www.dmv.ny.gov RESOURCE GUIDE FOR TEEN DRIVERS New York State Department of Motor Vehicles www.dmv.ny.gov RESOURCE GUIDE FOR TEEN DRIVERS THE TIME HAS FINALLY ARRIVED! You ve been counting the days and it probably seems

More information

Driving Above the Influence. Parenting Tips to Prevent Teen Drunk & Drugged Driving

Driving Above the Influence. Parenting Tips to Prevent Teen Drunk & Drugged Driving Driving Above the Influence Parenting Tips to Prevent Teen Drunk & Drugged Driving Objectives To understand the unique factors that make a teen vulnerable on the road. To learn statistics regarding risk

More information

20 Tips for Safe Driving

20 Tips for Safe Driving 20 Tips for Safe Driving www.libertymutualinsurance.com Liberty Mutual 20 Tips What s Your Driving Skill Level? As you can see, this national survey 1 found that drivers rated themselves highly. The tendency

More information

Inside Front Cover. This page is intentionally blank. Print this document double-sided for maximum effectiveness of the content.

Inside Front Cover. This page is intentionally blank. Print this document double-sided for maximum effectiveness of the content. Inside Front Cover This page is intentionally blank. Print this document double-sided for maximum effectiveness of the content. Field Services Division Reno/Sparks/Carson City (775) 684-4DMV (4368) Las

More information

Tips for Safer Driving

Tips for Safer Driving Fleet Management Fleet Management Introduction Improvements in technology will continue to help bring auto accident numbers down, but the bottom line remains that most car accidents are the result of human

More information

Associate Vice President of Public Safety & Administrative Services

Associate Vice President of Public Safety & Administrative Services Policy Title: Vehicle Use Policy Policy No.: 5810 Effective Date: June 1 2013 Responsible Office: Responsible Official: Department of Public Safety Associate Vice President of Public Safety & Administrative

More information

The TerKeurst Teen Driver Contract

The TerKeurst Teen Driver Contract The TerKeurst Teen Driver Contract General Principles The new driver must initial each point to show it is read and understood: Permission to drive is not a legal right. It is granted to me by my parents,

More information

20 Tips for Safe Driving

20 Tips for Safe Driving Helping People Live Safer, More Secure Lives Since 1912 Thank you for considering Liberty Mutual for your insurance needs. As one of the leading providers of auto, home and life insurance in the United

More information

Managing risk. Alcohol and drugs 51 Speed 52 Mobile phones and other electronic devices 53

Managing risk. Alcohol and drugs 51 Speed 52 Mobile phones and other electronic devices 53 Alcohol and drugs 51 Speed 52 Mobile phones and other electronic devices 53 Passengers 55 Other distractions 56 Fatigue 57 Seatbelts 58 Vehicle safety 59 Vehicle maintenance 59 Keys to reducing your risk

More information

THE LAW AND YOU. What can I do when the School Board and I disagree on discipline? Do I have a choice when Family Court decides who I ll live with?

THE LAW AND YOU. What can I do when the School Board and I disagree on discipline? Do I have a choice when Family Court decides who I ll live with? THE LAW AND YOU 15-1 Each state has particular laws that deal with acts usually committed by young people. Just because someone is under the age of 17 (considered a juvenile) does not mean that laws do

More information

Florida Class E Knowledge Exam Road Rules Practice Questions www.gdlinstitute.org

Florida Class E Knowledge Exam Road Rules Practice Questions www.gdlinstitute.org If you purchase the Value Package from GDL Institute, over 100 additional practice questions are included at no additional cost. Use discount code PQ10 and receive 10% off of the package price! 1. If you

More information

Atlanta, Georgia Road Test

Atlanta, Georgia Road Test 1. When driving your car Into traffic from a parked position, you should: A. Sound your horn and pull Into the other lane. B. Signal and proceed when safe. C. Signal other traffic and pull directly into

More information

Preparing your teen for the road ahead.

Preparing your teen for the road ahead. Preparing your teen for the road ahead. Helpful tips for safe driving. CONGRATULATIONS Your teenager will soon be driving a major milestone for both of you. You and your teen may be experiencing all kinds

More information

University Fleet Services

University Fleet Services University Fleet Services Policies and Procedures May 2008 Contents Assignment and use of vehicles................. 2 Definition of personal use...................... 2 Driver requirements...........................

More information

12 & 15- Passenger Van Defensive Driver Training

12 & 15- Passenger Van Defensive Driver Training 12 & 15- Passenger Van Defensive Driver Training NHTS-national Highway Traffic Safety Administration Recognizes that 12-15 passenger vans (include driver) are similar type vehicle and offer the same hazards

More information

DEFENSIVE DRIVING. It s an Attitude

DEFENSIVE DRIVING. It s an Attitude DEFENSIVE DRIVING It s an Attitude RLI Design Professionals Design Professionals Learning Event DPLE 155 July 15, 2015 RLI Design Professionals RLI Design Professionals is a Registered Provider with The

More information

POLICY SEAT BELTS IMPACT{ National Center for Injury Prevention and Control Division of Unintentional Injury Prevention

POLICY SEAT BELTS IMPACT{ National Center for Injury Prevention and Control Division of Unintentional Injury Prevention IMPACT{ POLICY SEAT BELTS National Center for Injury Prevention and Control Division of Unintentional Injury Prevention What s the Issue? Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death in the first

More information

Community Legal Information Association of Prince Edward Island, Inc.

Community Legal Information Association of Prince Edward Island, Inc. Community Legal Information Association of Prince Edward Island, Inc. Driving Safely As You Age The over-50 population in Prince Edward Island is growing larger people are living longer and baby boomers

More information

The Risks and Solutions... for Families with Teen Drivers

The Risks and Solutions... for Families with Teen Drivers The Risks and Solutions... for Families with Teen Drivers When we bring our babies home from the hospital, we are very concerned about their survival. They are precious to us. We become super- sensitive

More information

RULES OF THE ROAD BY LWTL Staff Writer

RULES OF THE ROAD BY LWTL Staff Writer RULES OF THE ROAD BY LWTL Staff Writer Publisher s Note This is the First of a Three Part Series on Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety. This First Part is made available to all readers. The final two parts

More information

STATE OWNED OR LEASED FLEET VEHICLE USE PROCEDURE

STATE OWNED OR LEASED FLEET VEHICLE USE PROCEDURE I. General Rules A. State owned or leased vehicles will be used for official state business only. B. Authorized drivers of vehicles are state employees, students, workstudy students and student employees

More information

Safety-conscious Drivers Prevent Crashes. Defensive Driving: Managing Visibility, Time and Space. Improve Your Defensive Driving Skills

Safety-conscious Drivers Prevent Crashes. Defensive Driving: Managing Visibility, Time and Space. Improve Your Defensive Driving Skills Defensive Driving: Managing Visibility, Time and Space Motor vehicle travel is the primary means of travel in the United States. With all the benefits that come along with mobility, there are thousands

More information

BECOMING THE NEW DRIVER IN YOUR FAMILY 1

BECOMING THE NEW DRIVER IN YOUR FAMILY 1 START SMART BBecoming a driver brings independence but also more responsibility. This guide will help you make good decisions about every aspect of operating and maintaining a vehicle. You ll find information

More information

What You Should Know About 15-Passenger Vans

What You Should Know About 15-Passenger Vans What You Should Know About s Why should I read this guide? This document provides licensing, registration, and other safety information for owners and operators of 15-passenger vans in the Northwest Territories.

More information

Driver Disciplinary Program

Driver Disciplinary Program Driver Disciplinary Program www.alterisus.com To reduce the costs associated with vehicle accidents and to ensure that safe driving practices are being followed, management should have a program in place

More information

Peer Group Road Safety Agreement

Peer Group Road Safety Agreement In Australia every year, hundreds of us are devastated by the death and injury of family and friends on the roads. Evidence shows that while improvements in car design, road design and safety equipment

More information

Teen Drivers and Passengers: The Role of Parents A Guide For Parents

Teen Drivers and Passengers: The Role of Parents A Guide For Parents Teen Drivers and Passengers: The Role of Parents A Guide For Parents Table of Contents Introduction Why Parents Matter Assess Your Role The Facts Why Your Teen is a Risk The Role of Parents: Quick Tips

More information

Driver Guide for Parents and Teens

Driver Guide for Parents and Teens Driver Guide for Parents and Teens Welcome to the World of Teen Driving Each year thousands of Hoosier teens receive learner s permits or driver s licenses from the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).

More information

The Older And Wiser Driver

The Older And Wiser Driver The Older And Wiser Driver AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety Sharpening Your Driving Skills Aging is inevitable, but growing older doesn t have to mean giving up an active life. While aging does impose

More information

Collision Avoidance Training (CAT) Program

Collision Avoidance Training (CAT) Program Collision Avoidance Training (CAT) Program What is CAT For Teens? The Collision Avoidance Training program is an advanced driver training and defensive driver program for licensed teen drivers. The course

More information

Commentary Drive Assessment

Commentary Drive Assessment Commentary Drive Assessment Time start: Time finish: Candidate s Name: Candidate s Email: Date of Assessment: Location: Candidate s Supervisor: Supervisors Contact Number: Supervisors Email: Assessor s

More information

Golf Cart/Utility Vehicle Operation Policy & Procedures

Golf Cart/Utility Vehicle Operation Policy & Procedures Golf Cart/Utility Vehicle Operation Policy & Procedures Purpose To establish standards for to the safe operation and use of Golf Cart/Utility Vehicles at Florida Institute of Technology. Background Information

More information

safety behind the wheel a practice driving guide for teens and parents

safety behind the wheel a practice driving guide for teens and parents safety behind the wheel a practice driving guide for teens and parents our mission The mission of The USAA Educational Foundation is to help consumers make informed decisions by providing information on

More information

Parent-Teen Driving Guide

Parent-Teen Driving Guide ILLINOIS GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING PROGRAM Parent-Teen Driving Guide JESSE WHITE SECRETARY OF STATE It takes time and practice to learn how to be a good driver. This Parent-Teen Driving Guide is a tool

More information

BASELINE Trading Co. Ltd. W.L.L P O box 2185 Doha, Qatar Tel. +974 4581 398 mob.+974 5520 6569 DRIVING IN QATAR

BASELINE Trading Co. Ltd. W.L.L P O box 2185 Doha, Qatar Tel. +974 4581 398 mob.+974 5520 6569 DRIVING IN QATAR بيزلاين شركه التجاريه المحدوده ذ.م.م BASELINE Trading Co. Ltd. W.L.L P O box 2185 Doha, Qatar Tel. +974 4581 398 mob.+974 5520 6569 DRIVING IN QATAR Qatar driving can be intimidating, frustrating and even

More information

Driving and your Teen an 8 Step Guide for Parents

Driving and your Teen an 8 Step Guide for Parents Driving and your Teen an 8 Step Guide for Parents #DriveSafer Learning to drive is a rite of passage; a sacred experience between parent and teen. Helping your son or daughter on their journey doesn t

More information

All About Auto Insurance

All About Auto Insurance All About Auto Insurance The legal responsibility involved when you are in a car accident is extraordinary. Basically, if you hurt someone else while driving, there s no limit to the amount he or she can

More information

AHIS Road safety project Student Council THINK!

AHIS Road safety project Student Council THINK! AHIS Road safety project Student Council 2013 THINK! Today, we drive safer cars on safer roads; decades of advertisements and public information campaigns have made most of us safer drivers. Improvements

More information

The information contained in this Guide is not intended to be a comprehensive document for teaching good driving habits. As a helpful guide it

The information contained in this Guide is not intended to be a comprehensive document for teaching good driving habits. As a helpful guide it The information contained in this Guide is not intended to be a comprehensive document for teaching good driving habits. As a helpful guide it contains information that, if used, can help reduce risk.

More information

Points, Suspension and Insurance Requirements

Points, Suspension and Insurance Requirements CHAPTER THREE Points, Suspension and Insurance Requirements The Point Study Committee assesses a point value for traffic violations. The point value relates to the severity and history of the violation

More information

PARENT S. the. supervised driving program. A Requirement for Teen Licensing. Washington State Department of Licensing.

PARENT S. the. supervised driving program. A Requirement for Teen Licensing. Washington State Department of Licensing. Washington State Department of Licensing PARENT S supervised driving program the A Requirement for Teen Licensing With Support From DOWNLOAD OUR FREE MOBILE APP A Message from the Director Your teen has

More information

FAQs About Learner s Permits & Junior Operator Licenses. Q & A Index

FAQs About Learner s Permits & Junior Operator Licenses. Q & A Index Q & A Index FAQs About Learner s Permits & Junior Operator Licenses Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT) Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) June 2014 General Information 1. A Summary of Junior

More information

Code of Conduct for Commercial Drivers

Code of Conduct for Commercial Drivers Code of Conduct for Commercial Drivers RoadDriver 2011 Safe Use of Vehicles Watch your Speed Drive within the speed limit at all times. You should drive at speeds that are safe for the conditions, recognising

More information

DRIVE TO STAY ALIVE END DISTRACTED DRIVING

DRIVE TO STAY ALIVE END DISTRACTED DRIVING DRIVE TO STAY ALIVE END DISTRACTED DRIVING Presented by: DRIVE TO STAY ALIVE End Distracted Driving Table of Contents FOUR KEY DRIVING SKILLS page 2 STATISTICALLY SPEAKING page 3 ALL ABOUT DISTRACTED DRIVING

More information

Talking Points. About Roadway Users

Talking Points. About Roadway Users General facts regarding the driver: Talking Points About Roadway Users Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death in the U.S. for people ages 6-33. They annually account for more than 1 million

More information

JHU Transportation. Van Manual. 2015 Edition

JHU Transportation. Van Manual. 2015 Edition JHU Transportation Van Manual 2015 Edition Van Reservations Van requests should be made online at www.ts.jhu.edu. Fill out the form with all requested information, leave it in the appropriate box, and

More information

BACKGROUND. National. Cell Phone Use and Text Messaging

BACKGROUND. National. Cell Phone Use and Text Messaging BACKGROUND National Developing public policies and legislation is an important component of injury and violence prevention. Implementing and enforcing regulations and laws can help reduce injuries, reduce

More information

Wesley Theological Seminary Motor Vehicle Operation Policy

Wesley Theological Seminary Motor Vehicle Operation Policy Wesley ological Seminary Motor Vehicle Operation Policy Effective Date: 2/1/2007 Related Materials: Covenant for Drivers PURPOSE: following guidelines for the operation and maintenance of motor vehicles

More information

AUTO INSURANCE: A CONSUMER GUIDE FOR TEEN & YOUNG ADULT DRIVERS

AUTO INSURANCE: A CONSUMER GUIDE FOR TEEN & YOUNG ADULT DRIVERS MARTIN O MALLEY Governor ANTHONY G. BROWN Lt. Governor PEGGY J. WATSON Interim Commissioner JAMES V. MCMAHAN, III Deputy Commissioner 525 St. Paul Place, Baltimore, Maryland 21202-2272 1-800-492-6116 TTY:

More information

general, accidents caused by misjudging

general, accidents caused by misjudging Unit 3: The Effect of Natural Forces on your Vehicle Page 1 of 11 Purpose: Acquaint the student with some of the natural forces acting on a vehicle while stopping, maneuvering, and during a crash. Explain

More information

maintenance is the responsibility of the departments to which they have been assigned.

maintenance is the responsibility of the departments to which they have been assigned. Eastern University Vehicle Policy Revised August 2015 I. Policy Purpose and Objectives... 1 II. Safe Driving Requirements... 2 III. The Van Fleet: Use and Licensing... 2 a. Seeking Approved Driver Status...

More information

UIC Safe Driver Auto Policy & Procedures 1.5

UIC Safe Driver Auto Policy & Procedures 1.5 UIC Safe Driver Auto Policy & Procedures Adopted 6/1/2007 TABLE OF CONTENTS: SECTION 1 INTRODUCTION AND GENERAL INFORMATION...1 A. POLICY STATEMENT:... 1 B. STAFF IMPLEMENTATION:... 1 C. AMENDMENT HISTORY:...

More information

Vehicle Use and Driver Responsibilities Policy Rev. 7/25/14

Vehicle Use and Driver Responsibilities Policy Rev. 7/25/14 Vehicle Use and Driver Responsibilities Policy Rev. 7/25/14 Office of Student Support Services (808) 735-4724, M-F, 8:30am-5:00pm Policy Administration Chaminade University Van Administration Contact List

More information

Auto Insurance for New Mexico s Young Drivers

Auto Insurance for New Mexico s Young Drivers Auto Insurance for New Mexico s Young Drivers Prepared for New Mexico s Young Drivers and Their Parents by: One of the major events in many people s lives is earning the privilege of driving a motor vehicle.

More information

Think Before You Drive is a global road safety initiative of the FIA Foundation, Bridgestone Corporation and motoring clubs worldwide. FIA Foundation for the Automobile and Society www.fiafoundation.com

More information

Field Trip, Offsite Tutoring and Transportation Policy

Field Trip, Offsite Tutoring and Transportation Policy Field Trip, Offsite Tutoring and Transportation Policy This policy is intended to protect the safety of School on Wheels, Inc. (SOW) students and volunteers while participating in field trips, offsite

More information

TEACHING YOUR TEEN TO DRIVE

TEACHING YOUR TEEN TO DRIVE TEACHING YOUR TEEN TO DRIVE A Handbook for Parents Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles 2300 West Broad Street Post Office Box 27412 Richmond, VA 23269-0001 (804) 367-0538 Dear Parents: Thank you for

More information