This study has received a favorable ethical opinion from the University of Surrey Ethics Committee.

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "This study has received a favorable ethical opinion from the University of Surrey Ethics Committee."

Transcription

1 Dear Student Nurse We would like to invite you to help us with the RIPE Project (Researching Interventions that Promote Ethics in Social Care), an exciting research project being run by the International Care Ethics Observatory at University of Surrey, funded by the Ethox Foundation (an independent registered charity with an international reputation in applied ethics). The RIPE study will evaluate the effectiveness of different types of education in supporting care home staff to deliver ethical care in residential care homes for older people. As part of the RIPE project, we are recruiting carers from residential care homes to take part in an experiential learning session in the Duke of Kent simulation suite at the University of Surrey. The session will involve carers playing the role of care recipients within a simulated residential care home for older people. In order to run this session we need student nurses to play the role of care givers within our simulated care home. We think this will be a positive learning experience for everyone who takes part. There will be seven simulation sessions in total, over 7 weekends between September and December Each simulation session will run from 12 noon on a Saturday until 4pm on the Sunday. The ratio of student nurse to care recipient will be 2:1 during the day and 4:1 throughout the night. We anticipate that each care session will include 8 care recipients. Therefore we require 4 student nurses to work a 9 hour shift on day 1 (from 12 noon until 9pm) have a 10 hour break and then return for a 9 hour shift on day 2 (from 7am until 4pm). Two different student nurses will be recruited to work a 10 hour shift from 9pm until 7am, a bed will be available for resting breaks during the night. A ratio of 1 registered nurse to 2 student nurses will be present within the simulation suite to satisfy the requirements for supervising student nurses. This study has received a favorable ethical opinion from the University of Surrey Ethics Committee. Before you decide whether to participate it is important that you understand more about the project and what it will involve. If you would like more information or are interested in taking part please get in touch with Magda Zasada on Thank you for your time. Best wishes Professor Ann Gallagher, Professor of Ethics and Care and Director of the International Care Ethics (ICE) Observatory

2 The RIPE Project: Researching Interventions that Promote Ethics in Social Care Introduction You are being invited to take part in a research study about interventions that promote ethics in social care. Before you decide whether to participate it is important that you understand why the research is being done and what it will involve. Please take time to read the following information carefully. If there is anything that is not clear, or if you would like more information please get in touch with the research team (contact details at the end of this information sheet). What is the purpose of the study? This study aims to evaluate different approaches to ethics education with staff working in residential care homes for older people. Why have I been invited to take part in the study? You are being asked whether you would like to participate in this study because you are a student nurse in the second year of your studies at the University of Surrey. Do I have to take part? No, you do not have to participate. It is completely up to you whether you do so or not. There will be no adverse consequences in terms of your studies if you decide not to participate. If you do decide to participate and then later change your mind, you are free to do so. You can withdraw at any time without giving a reason. What will my involvement require? We are recruiting care givers from residential care homes to take part in an experiential learning session in the simulation suite at the University of Surrey. The session will involve care givers playing the role of care recipients within a simulated residential care home for older people. In order to run this session we need student nurses to play the role of care givers within our simulated care home. The care recipients will have chosen a profile which they are happy to simulate, you would be expected to care for them in line with this profile, this may involve washing, feeding, taking to the toilet etc. You will not be judged on the care you give, the purpose of the session is to provide an experiential learning experience for the care recipients who usually work as professional care givers in residential care homes for older people. The ratio of student nurse to care recipient will be 2:1 during the day and 4:1 throughout the night. We anticipate that each care session will include 8 care recipients. Therefore, we require 4 student nurses to work a 9 hour shift on day 1 (from 12 noon until 9pm) have a 10 hour break and then return for a 9 hour shift on day 2 (from 7am until 4pm). Two different student nurses will be recruited to work a 10 hour shift from 9pm until 7am, a bed will be available for resting breaks during the night. A ratio of 1 registered nurse to 2 student nurses will be present within the simulation suite to satisfy the requirements for supervising student nurses.

3 There will be seven simulation sessions in total, over 7 weekends between September and December What will I have to do? If you would like to take part please sign the attached consent form and return it to your tutor in the envelope provided. What are the possible disadvantages or risks of taking part? There are no foreseen disadvantages or risks to taking part. The simulation suite employs one simulation technician and two moving and handling trainers who will be funded by the RIPE project in order to provide support before and during each simulation session where necessary. However, if as a result of the project, issues are raised which you wish to discuss further, the researchers would offer immediate support and suggest additional resources that may be helpful, for example, counselling support. What are the possible benefits of taking part? It is hoped that you will benefit from reflecting on your own practice and developing an improved awareness of, and strategies for, ethical practice. It is also hoped that the study will lead to the development of a national training programme for in residential care for older people. What happens when the research study stops? It is hoped that after the study has ended there will continue to be an improvement in, and greater awareness of, ethical practice among participants. We shall also make available a short report summarising the findings of the study. What if there is a problem? If you wish to make a complaint or have any concerns about any aspect of the way you have been approached or treated during the course of this study, please contact - Professor Ann Gallagher, Professor of Ethics and Care, Faculty of Health & Medical Sciences, University of Surrey, Duke of Kent Building, Stag Hill Campus, Guildford, Surrey, GU2 7TE, in the first instance. Telephone: Should you fail to be satisfied, please contact Professor Nora Kearney, Head of School, Faculty of Health & Medical Sciences, University of Surrey, Duke of Kent Building, Stag Hill Campus, Guildford, Surrey, GU2 7TE. Telephone: Will my taking part in the study be kept confidential? Yes. All the information which you give as part of this study will be kept strictly confidential in accordance with the Data Protection Act 1998 and in line with the University of Surrey s regulations on data management. All data will be stored securely within the Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences at the University of Surrey; access to data will be restricted to members of the project team. Any information recorded about you will have your name removed and you will be allocated a participant number. You will not be identified in any report or publication that arises from this study. Should it be disclosed however that you or someone else is at risk of harm this may have to be reported to an appropriate authority. Contact details

4 For further information, please contact: Prof Ann Gallagher, Professor of Ethics and Care, University of Surrey, Faculty of Health & Medical Sciences, Duke of Kent Building, Stag Hill Campus, Guildford, Surrey, GU2 7TE. Telephone: Who is organising and funding the research? This study is funded by the Ethox Foundation (an independent registered charity with an international reputation in applied ethics) in conjunction with the International Care Ethics Observatory (ICE) at the University of Surrey. Who has reviewed the project? The study has been reviewed and received a Favourable Ethical Opinion (FEO) from the University of Surrey Ethics Committee. Thank you for taking the time to read this Information Sheet

5 Consent Form PROJECT TITLE: The RIPE Project: Researching Interventions that Promote Ethics in Social Care Principal Investigator: Prof Ann Gallagher, Professor of Ethics and Care, University of Surrey, Faculty of Health & Medical Sciences, Duke of Kent Building, Stag Hill Campus, Guildford, Surrey, GU2 7TE Tel: I the undersigned voluntarily agree to take part in the study The RIPE Project: Researching Interventions that Promote Ethics in Social Care. I have read and understood the Information Sheet [] I have been given a full explanation by the investigators of the nature, purpose, location and likely duration of the study, and of what I will be expected to do. I have been given the opportunity to ask questions on all aspects of the study and have understood the advice and information given as a result. I agree to comply with any instruction given to me during the study and to co-operate fully with the investigators. I shall inform them immediately if I suffer any deterioration of any kind in my health or well-being. I consent to my personal data, as outlined in the accompanying information sheet, being used for this study and other research. I understand that all personal data relating to volunteers is held and processed in the strictest confidence, and in accordance with the Data Protection Act (1998). I understand that I am free to withdraw from the study at any time without needing to justify my decision and without prejudice. I confirm that I have read and understood the above and freely consent to participating in this study. I have been given adequate time to consider my participation and agree to comply with the instructions and restrictions of the study. Name of volunteer (BLOCK CAPITALS)... Signed... Date...

PARTICIPANT INFORMATION SHEET FEASIBILITY TRIAL Final Version 1.1:

PARTICIPANT INFORMATION SHEET FEASIBILITY TRIAL Final Version 1.1: PARTICIPANT INFORMATION SHEET FEASIBILITY TRIAL Final Version 1.1: 10.10.13 Title of Study: FRESH: Facilitating Return to work through Early Specialist Health-based interventions. (Working After Brain

More information

The Code: Standards of conduct, performance and ethics for nurses and midwives

The Code: Standards of conduct, performance and ethics for nurses and midwives The Code: Standards of conduct, performance and ethics for nurses and midwives We are the nursing and midwifery regulator for England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and the Islands. We exist to safeguard

More information

PARTICIPANT INFORMATION. The Oxford Access for Students Improving Sleep (OASIS) Study

PARTICIPANT INFORMATION. The Oxford Access for Students Improving Sleep (OASIS) Study PARTICIPANT INFORMATION The Oxford Access for Students Improving Sleep (OASIS) Study We would like to invite you to take part in a research study. This webpage should provide you with all the information

More information

Information about the research

Information about the research Information about the research Health beliefs in OCD participants with OCD information sheet (non-nhs participants version) We would like to invite you to take part in our research study. The study is

More information

Information about the research

Information about the research Information about the research Health beliefs in OCD participants with OCD information sheet (Non-qualitative interview version) We would like to invite you to take part in our research study. The study

More information

The ACCURE-UK Trial: The feasibility of undertaking Appendicectomy to impact upon the Clinical Course of UlceRativE Colitis

The ACCURE-UK Trial: The feasibility of undertaking Appendicectomy to impact upon the Clinical Course of UlceRativE Colitis The ACCURE-UK Trial: The feasibility of undertaking Appendicectomy to impact upon the Clinical Course of UlceRativE Colitis Patient Research Interview Information Sheet ACCURE-UK non-participants Version

More information

The Code Standards of conduct, performance and ethics for nurses and midwives

The Code Standards of conduct, performance and ethics for nurses and midwives The Code Standards of conduct, performance and ethics for nurses and midwives The people in your care must be able to trust you with their health and wellbeing. To justify that trust, you must make the

More information

The code: Standards of conduct, performance and ethics for nurses and midwives

The code: Standards of conduct, performance and ethics for nurses and midwives The code: Standards of conduct, performance and ethics for nurses and midwives We are the nursing and midwifery regulator for England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and the Islands. We exist to safeguard

More information

PARTICIPANT INFORMATION AND CONSENT FORM

PARTICIPANT INFORMATION AND CONSENT FORM PARTICIPANT INFORMATION AND CONSENT FORM STUDY TITLE: Reducing long-term disability related to pain: A randomised controlled trial of the Pain Disability Prevention Programme (PDP) in the Irish health

More information

Family Focused Therapy for Bipolar Disorder (Clinical Case Series) Participant Information Sheet

Family Focused Therapy for Bipolar Disorder (Clinical Case Series) Participant Information Sheet Family Focused Therapy for Bipolar Disorder (Clinical Case Series) Participant Information Sheet Study Title: Family Focused Therapy for Bipolar Disorder: A Clinical Case Series) We would like to invite

More information

Participant Invitation and Information Sheet MRI Test Run

Participant Invitation and Information Sheet MRI Test Run ON QE TRUST HEADED PAPER A randomised controlled trial of bariatric surgery versus a community weight loss programme for the sustained treatment of Idiopathic Intracranial Hypertension: the IIH:WT Trial

More information

Application Guide to assist completion of the ACC Research Ethics Committee Application Template

Application Guide to assist completion of the ACC Research Ethics Committee Application Template Application Guide to assist completion of the ACC Research Ethics Committee Application Template A number of guiding principles govern the review of research proposals. The following provide guidance but

More information

Imaging Markers of Brain Network Dysfunction in Multiple Sclerosis

Imaging Markers of Brain Network Dysfunction in Multiple Sclerosis Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences School of Medicine Radiological Sciences Research Group The University of Nottinham University Park Nottingham NG7 2RD t: +44 (0)115 823 0018 f: +44 (0)115 823 0004

More information

St. Mark s and Ashton House Residential Rehabilitation. Client Guide

St. Mark s and Ashton House Residential Rehabilitation. Client Guide Alcohol Services Leeds St. Mark s and Ashton House Residential Rehabilitation Client Guide St Anne s Mission To support individuals to achieve their aspirations by providing services that promote dignity,

More information

Group Income Protection Insurance - Employee s Questionnaire

Group Income Protection Insurance - Employee s Questionnaire Group Income Protection Insurance - Employee s Questionnaire Your employer has asked us to pass on this questionnaire to you. Your answers will help us to understand the current illness or injury that

More information

Appendix 7 Student Parking permits

Appendix 7 Student Parking permits Appendix 7 Student Parking permits Eligibility Criteria There is limited parking available at the University and depending on where you live you may be able to obtain a permit to park. The University operates

More information

1. Study title Is the title self explanatory to a layperson? If not, a simplified title should be included.

1. Study title Is the title self explanatory to a layperson? If not, a simplified title should be included. These guidelines apply to all research projects where human subjects are involved in the study GUIDELINES FOR RESEARCHERS PATIENT INFORMATION SHEET & CONSENT FORM The guidance, which follows, applies primarily

More information

State University of New York at Canton Institutional Review Board. Sample Informed Consent Document

State University of New York at Canton Institutional Review Board. Sample Informed Consent Document State University of New York at Canton Institutional Review Board Sample Informed Consent Document The following sample informed consent document includes instructions to the person writing the document,

More information

Families with Children in Care

Families with Children in Care Families with Children in Care A guide to your rights if your child is in care Partnership with Families Project Family Advocacy Service support for families with children in care Handbook This guide for

More information

Domiciliary Service Care and support at home for elderly and disabled people

Domiciliary Service Care and support at home for elderly and disabled people Department for Communities Domiciliary Service Care and support at home for elderly and disabled people Fact Sheet 10 (August 2015) If you are an older person or you have a disability, you may need some

More information

St. Mark s House Residential Detoxification. Client Guide

St. Mark s House Residential Detoxification. Client Guide Alcohol Services Leeds St. Mark s House Residential Detoxification Client Guide St Anne s Mission To support individuals to achieve their aspirations by providing services that promote dignity, independence,

More information

Standards of conduct, ethics and performance. July 2012

Standards of conduct, ethics and performance. July 2012 Standards of conduct, ethics and performance July 2012 Reprinted July 2012. The content of this booklet remains the same as the previous September 2010 edition. The General Pharmaceutical Council is the

More information

Participant Information Statement and Consent Form

Participant Information Statement and Consent Form Participant Information Statement and Consent Form An Open Trial of Internet-based Treatment of Anxiety Symptoms in Older Adults Invitation Thank you for volunteering for this research study into an internet-based

More information

The RADICALS trial Radiotherapy Timing Randomisation (RADICALS-RT) Clinical trial of treatment after surgery for prostate cancer

The RADICALS trial Radiotherapy Timing Randomisation (RADICALS-RT) Clinical trial of treatment after surgery for prostate cancer Stoke Mandeville Hospital Mandeville Road Aylesbury Buckinghamshire HP21 8AL Tel: 01296 315 908 www.buckshealthcare.nhs.uk The RADICALS trial Radiotherapy Timing Randomisation (RADICALS-RT) Clinical trial

More information

A Guide to Clinical Trials

A Guide to Clinical Trials A Guide to Clinical Trials For young people with cancer and their parents Children s Cancer and Leukaemia Group www.cclg.org.uk Original booklet produced in conjunction with the CCLG Patient Advocacy Committee.

More information

Review of compliance. Brico Limited t/a Bluebird Care (Guildford) Bluebird Care (Guildford) South East. Region:

Review of compliance. Brico Limited t/a Bluebird Care (Guildford) Bluebird Care (Guildford) South East. Region: Review of compliance Brico Limited t/a Bluebird Care (Guildford) Bluebird Care (Guildford) Region: Location address: Type of service: South East Unit 15, Westminster Court Hipley Street Old Woking Surrey

More information

Macmillan Cancer Support Volunteering Policy

Macmillan Cancer Support Volunteering Policy Macmillan Cancer Support Volunteering Policy Introduction Thousands of volunteers dedicate time and energy to improve the lives of people affected by cancer. Macmillan was started by a volunteer and volunteers

More information

Heads of Service made direct contact with those organisations affected by any of the budget proposals prior to them being made publically available.

Heads of Service made direct contact with those organisations affected by any of the budget proposals prior to them being made publically available. Why we consulted? Over the last four years we have had to make savings of 23m because we ve received less money from central government. We have done this by becoming more efficient at what we do, by reducing

More information

INFORMATION LEAFLET. If anything is not clear, or if you would like more information, please

INFORMATION LEAFLET. If anything is not clear, or if you would like more information, please BIO INFOBK 1492 0410:Layout 1 21/04/2010 15:24 Page 1 INFORMATION LEAFLET You are being invited to take part in a major medical research project called UK Biobank. The purpose of UK Biobank is to set up

More information

CHCAC417A Implement interventions with older people at risk of falls

CHCAC417A Implement interventions with older people at risk of falls CHCAC417A Implement interventions with older people at risk of falls Release: 1 CHCAC417A Implement interventions with older people at risk of falls Modification History Not Applicable Unit Descriptor

More information

Details about this location

Details about this location Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Prince George Duke of Kent Court Shepherds Green, Chislehurst,

More information

Immune Cell Studies in Type 1 Diabetes (ISTID) INFORMATION SHEET FOR ADULTS WITH NEWLY- DIAGNOSED DIABETES. Sponsored by Cardiff University

Immune Cell Studies in Type 1 Diabetes (ISTID) INFORMATION SHEET FOR ADULTS WITH NEWLY- DIAGNOSED DIABETES. Sponsored by Cardiff University Immune Cell Studies in Type 1 Diabetes (ISTID) INFORMATION SHEET FOR ADULTS WITH NEWLY- DIAGNOSED DIABETES Sponsored by Cardiff University Chief Investigator Wales: Professor Colin Dayan Address: Centre

More information

Managing your own personal budget

Managing your own personal budget www.surreycc.gov.uk Managing your own personal budget Information and support options Making Surrey a better place Managing your own personal budget Managing your own personal budget Surrey County Council

More information

How to comment, compliment or complain about Sweetpea Charity. Page 1 of 10

How to comment, compliment or complain about Sweetpea Charity. Page 1 of 10 How to comment, compliment or complain about Sweetpea Charity Page 1 of 10 How to comment, compliment or complain about Sweetpea Charity Sweetpea Charity wants to provide you with the best opportunity

More information

KEEPING SAFE WHEN OUT AND ABOUT

KEEPING SAFE WHEN OUT AND ABOUT SECTION 8 KEEPING SAFE WHEN OUT AND ABOUT Planning an Event Staffing Forms Safety Equipment Transport a. Responsibility of Organisers b. Consent c. The Driver d. Seat Belts in Cars e. Vehicle and Insurance

More information

Harrow Council. Overall rating for this service Good. Inspection report. Ratings. Overall summary. Is the service safe? Good

Harrow Council. Overall rating for this service Good. Inspection report. Ratings. Overall summary. Is the service safe? Good Harrow Council Harrow Council - Harrow Shared Lives Inspection report PO Box 7 Adults & Housing Services Civic Centre Harrow Middlesex HA1 2UH Tel: 020 8736 6070 Website: www.harrow.gov.uk Date of inspection

More information

WATFORD CHILD CONTACT CENTRE

WATFORD CHILD CONTACT CENTRE WATFORD CHILD CONTACT CENTRE 453 St Albans Road, Watford, Hertfordshire, WD24 7RZ Tel: 01923 251097 (24 hour answer phone) e-mail: ccc.watford@virgin.net Office hours: Friday 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. Dear

More information

An independent review into the impact on employment outcomes of drug or alcohol addiction, and obesity. Call for evidence

An independent review into the impact on employment outcomes of drug or alcohol addiction, and obesity. Call for evidence An independent review into the impact on employment outcomes of drug or alcohol addiction, and obesity Call for evidence July 2015 Contents Foreword by Professor Dame Carol Black... 3 Introduction... 4

More information

DEVELOPING ACCREDITED TRAINING FOR VOLUNTEERS

DEVELOPING ACCREDITED TRAINING FOR VOLUNTEERS DEVELOPING ACCREDITED TRAINING FOR VOLUNTEERS Training provides volunteers with a structured opportunity to learn. Accreditation adds value to this learning by formally recognising what the learner knows

More information

Miami University: Human Subjects Research General Research Application Guidance

Miami University: Human Subjects Research General Research Application Guidance Miami University: Human Subjects Research General Research Application Guidance Use the accompanying Word template for completing the research description. You must provide sufficient information regarding

More information

Making the components of inpatient care fit

Making the components of inpatient care fit Making the components of inpatient care fit Named nurse roles and responsibillities booklet RDaSH Adult Mental Health Services Contents 1 Introduction 3 2 Admission 3 3 Risk Assessment / Risk Management

More information

The Role of the Community Occupational Therapist

The Role of the Community Occupational Therapist Ceredigion County Council Social Services Department The Role of the Community Occupational Therapist taking care to make a difference 1 Large Print or other format/medium are available on request please

More information

Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS)

Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Patient information leaflet Royal Surrey County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Formal complaints PALS What does this leaflet cover? How to make a formal complaint.

More information

Information about research

Information about research Information about research Welcome to Papworth Hospital a focus on research As a specialist centre we pride ourselves on the quality of care that we provide for our patients. Knowledge in health care

More information

The National Occupational Standards. Social Work. Topss UK Partnership

The National Occupational Standards. Social Work. Topss UK Partnership The National Occupational Standards for Social Work Topss UK Partnership May 2002.doc &.pdf files edition Every effort has been made to keep the file sizes of this document to a manageable size. This edition

More information

Sample Peer Mentoring Handbook

Sample Peer Mentoring Handbook Sample Peer Mentoring Handbook Sample Peer Mentoring Handbook Designing a Scheme Booklet/Scheme Handbook First, consider your audience: Do you need a series of short pamphlets aimed at different groups

More information

Patient Information Leaflet: Part 1 select-d

Patient Information Leaflet: Part 1 select-d Patient Information Leaflet: Part 1 select-d Anticoagulation Therapy in SELECTeD Cancer Patients at Risk of Recurrence of Venous Thromboembolism Introduction This

More information

A common sense guide to the Data Protection Act 1998 for volunteers

A common sense guide to the Data Protection Act 1998 for volunteers A common sense guide to the Data Protection Act 1998 for volunteers Why is it necessary? The Data Protection Act 1998 is a law introduced to control the way information held about individuals is handled

More information

Standards of Conduct and Practice for. Social Care Workers

Standards of Conduct and Practice for. Social Care Workers Standards of Conduct and Practice for Social Care Workers NOVEMBER 2015 Introductory Notes About us The Northern Ireland Social Care Council (NISCC) was established in 2001 as the regulatory body for the

More information

Choosing, Arranging and Managing Your Care and Support

Choosing, Arranging and Managing Your Care and Support Adult Care and Health Services Choosing, Arranging and Managing Your Care and Support Your guide to Personal Budget Support www.reading.gov.uk/communitycare Welcome You have been given this booklet because

More information

LAST RESORT SUBSTITUTE CONSENT BY CARE PROVIDERS

LAST RESORT SUBSTITUTE CONSENT BY CARE PROVIDERS Form 5 (CCA) CARE CONSENT ACT Sections 13 and 38 LAST RESORT SUBSTITUTE CONSENT BY CARE PROVIDERS I N S T R U C T I O N S This form must be filled out by the care providers who make a substitute decision

More information

The guidance 2. Guidance on professional conduct for nursing and midwifery students. Your guide to practice

The guidance 2. Guidance on professional conduct for nursing and midwifery students. Your guide to practice The guidance 2 Guidance on professional conduct for nursing and midwifery students Your guide to practice The Nursing & Midwifery Council Vision, mission and values Our vision To safeguard the public by

More information

PATIENT INFORMATION SHEET

PATIENT INFORMATION SHEET PATIENT INFORMATION SHEET Surgical and large bore pleural procedures in Malignant pleural Mesothelioma And Radiotherapy Trial (SMART trial) Stoke Mandeville Hospital Mandeville Road Aylesbury Buckinghamshire

More information

What can you expect from a good care home?

What can you expect from a good care home? What can you expect from a good care home? If you (or a member of your family or a friend) receive care, treatment or support in a care home in England, this booklet will tell you what you can expect from

More information

Guidance on professional conduct. For nursing and midwifery students

Guidance on professional conduct. For nursing and midwifery students Guidance on professional conduct For nursing and midwifery students 1 We are the nursing and midwifery regulator for England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and the Islands. We exist to safeguard the

More information

JOB DESCRIPTION. Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) Single Point of Contact (SPoC) OVERALL AIM OF POST

JOB DESCRIPTION. Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) Single Point of Contact (SPoC) OVERALL AIM OF POST JOB DESCRIPTION JOB TITLE: DEPARTMENT: RESPONSIBLE TO: Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) Single Point of Contact (SPoC) Consultant Nurse SPoC OVERALL AIM OF POST The Single Point of Contact (SPoC) is the

More information

MRS Guidelines for Business-to-Business Research. October 2011

MRS Guidelines for Business-to-Business Research. October 2011 MRS Guidelines for Business-to-Business Research October 2011 Updated September 2014 MRS is the world s largest association for people and organisations that provide or use market, social and opinion research,

More information

East Lancashire Community Rehabilitation Team (CRT) Service User Information

East Lancashire Community Rehabilitation Team (CRT) Service User Information East Lancashire Community Rehabilitation Team (CRT) Service User Information 2 This Information Pack has been designed to help you understand who the Community Rehabilitation Team are and how we may be

More information

Information Sharing: Pocket guide

Information Sharing: Pocket guide Information Sharing: Pocket guide This pocket guide This pocket guide is part of the HM Government information sharing guidance package (2008), which aims to support good practice in information sharing

More information

CSCT Suggested Guidelines for Supervised Client Work Experience within a Voluntary Counselling Agency ("The Placement")

CSCT Suggested Guidelines for Supervised Client Work Experience within a Voluntary Counselling Agency (The Placement) CSCT Supervised Client Work Experience within a Voluntary Counselling Agency ("The Placement") Introduction Prospective candidates for Advanced (Level 3) counselling training must meet all of the awarding

More information

Social Care, Health and Housing Substance Misuse Team. How can we help? www.carmarthenshire.gov.uk/socialcare

Social Care, Health and Housing Substance Misuse Team. How can we help? www.carmarthenshire.gov.uk/socialcare Social Care, Health and Housing Substance Misuse Team How can we help? www.carmarthenshire.gov.uk/socialcare If you require this information in large print, Braille or on Audio please telephone 01267 228703

More information

Mental Health Services

Mental Health Services Handbook of Consumer Rights Mental Health Services Consumer Services and Rights Protection 2007 This Book Belongs To: Table of Contents Handbook of Mental Health Consumer Rights... 2 Your Right To Be Informed

More information

Your Social Care and Support Services

Your Social Care and Support Services Your Social Care and Support Services Introduction We are contacting you because you receive, or have received, care and support services that are paid for (at least in part) by [your local Social Services

More information

Statement of Purpose

Statement of Purpose Statement of Purpose Victoria Community Care Limited Unit 6 Helsby Court, Prescot Business Park, Prescot, Merseyside, L34 1PB Tel: 0151 546 4400 E mail: office@vccl.biz About this Document This document

More information

OFCOM GUIDELINES ON NUISANCE CALLING

OFCOM GUIDELINES ON NUISANCE CALLING ULTRA COMMUNICATIONS OFCOM GUIDELINES ON NUISANCE CALLING www.ultracomms.com +44 (0) 207 965 0207 Contents 1. BACKGROUND... 3 2. WHAT POWERS DOES OFCOM HAVE TO TACKLE SILENT OR ABANDONED CALLS?... 3 3.

More information

Australian Bone Marrow Donor Registry PROTECTING YOUR PRIVACY OUR PRIVACY POLICY

Australian Bone Marrow Donor Registry PROTECTING YOUR PRIVACY OUR PRIVACY POLICY Australian Bone Marrow Donor Registry PROTECTING YOUR PRIVACY OUR PRIVACY POLICY WHO ARE WE? The Australian Bone Marrow Donor Registry (ABMDR) is a non-profit organisation that manages the processes of

More information

RESEARCH PARTICIPANT INFORMED CONSENT AND PRIVACY AUTHORIZATION FORM

RESEARCH PARTICIPANT INFORMED CONSENT AND PRIVACY AUTHORIZATION FORM Patient I.D. Plate RESEARCH PARTICIPANT INFORMED CONSENT AND PRIVACY AUTHORIZATION FORM Protocol Title: Application No.: Sponsor: The National Simulation Study: Evaluating Simulated Clinical Experiences

More information

The Surrey MBA Surrey Business School

The Surrey MBA Surrey Business School The Surrey MBA Surrey Business School Surrey Business School University of Surrey Surrey Business School provides business and management education to students from around the globe. The quality of our

More information

There's No Excuse for Elder Abuse

There's No Excuse for Elder Abuse A Guide to Organising a Group Viewing of the Open Your Eyes to Elder Abuse in Your Community DVD There's No Excuse for Elder Abuse Contents 1 Introduction 3 How to use this guide? 4 Preparation and Planning

More information

Research Governance Standard Operating Procedure

Research Governance Standard Operating Procedure Research Governance Standard Operating Procedure The Management and Use of Research Participant Data for Secondary Research Purposes SOP Reference: Version Number: 01 Date: 28/02/2014 Effective Date: Review

More information

Model Safeguarding Policy and Procedure for Smaller Voluntary and Community Groups

Model Safeguarding Policy and Procedure for Smaller Voluntary and Community Groups Introduction Model Safeguarding Policy and Procedure for Smaller Voluntary and Community Groups This NAME OF ORGANISATION policy follows guidelines set out in Bath & North East Somerset (B&NES) Safeguarding

More information

Job Description Temporary IT Technician - Ref P15/27

Job Description Temporary IT Technician - Ref P15/27 Job Description Temporary IT Technician - Ref P15/27 The Institute wishes to establish a panel of suitably qualified candidates from which vacancies arising in the coming year may be filled. An immediate

More information

BRECHIN MEDICAL PRACTICE. Practice Information Booklet

BRECHIN MEDICAL PRACTICE. Practice Information Booklet BRECHIN MEDICAL PRACTICE Practice Information Booklet WELCOME to Brechin Medical Practice. We hope this booklet will give you all the information that you require about the services provided by our Primary

More information

Your Views on NHS Continuing Healthcare. A consultation on proposed policy review for Mid Essex Clinical Commissioning Group

Your Views on NHS Continuing Healthcare. A consultation on proposed policy review for Mid Essex Clinical Commissioning Group Your Views on NHS Continuing Healthcare A consultation on proposed policy review for Mid Essex Clinical Commissioning Group Monday 11th May - Sunday 5th July 2015 Contents 1. Introduction... 3 2. Who is

More information

A guide for employers

A guide for employers A guide for employers Contents 01 Contents A guide for employers 02 Discrimination the new law explained 05 Other relevant legisltation 13 02 The Equality Act 2010 and cancer how it affects you A guide

More information

Each group was asked a number of questions. The responses are given in detail below.

Each group was asked a number of questions. The responses are given in detail below. DISTRICT NURSING CONSULTATION Introduction The following information was collated in response to the District Nursing Strategy issued by the DHSSPS. The Patient and Client Council membership scheme was

More information

BABCP. Standards of Conduct, Performance and Ethics. www.babcp.com. British Association for Behavioural & Cognitive Psychotherapies

BABCP. Standards of Conduct, Performance and Ethics. www.babcp.com. British Association for Behavioural & Cognitive Psychotherapies BABCP www.babcp.com Standards of Conduct, Performance and Ethics British Association for Behavioural & Cognitive Psychotherapies 2 YOUR DUTIES AS A MEMBER OF BABCP The standards of conduct, performance

More information

Non ASPH Trust Staff - DATA ACCESS REQUEST Page 1/3

Non ASPH Trust Staff - DATA ACCESS REQUEST Page 1/3 Paper 9 Non ASPH Trust Staff - DATA ACCESS REQUEST Page 1/3 Please ensure that all THREE pages of this contract are returned to: Information Governance Manager, Health Informatics, Chertsey House, St Peter

More information

SPECIALIST TENANCIES MANAGER PERSON SPECIFICATION

SPECIALIST TENANCIES MANAGER PERSON SPECIFICATION SPECIALIST TENANCIES MANAGER PERSON SPECIFICATION The Selection Panel has identified this comprehensive specification for the ideal candidate and will use this to examine the internal candidate(s) who

More information

Private Today, Public Tomorrow

Private Today, Public Tomorrow Estimated time: 45 minutes Essential Question: How can you respect the privacy of others online? Learning Overview and Objectives Overview: Students reflect on their responsibility to protect the privacy

More information

PATIENT INFORMATION SHEET KEY FACTS

PATIENT INFORMATION SHEET KEY FACTS PATIENT INFORMATION SHEET KEY FACTS Please read this carefully and refer to the full information sheet You are invited to take part in a research study, comparing subcutaneously (injection under skin)

More information

ST IVES CHAMBERS POLICY ON THE COLLECTION AND USE OF DIVERSITY DATA

ST IVES CHAMBERS POLICY ON THE COLLECTION AND USE OF DIVERSITY DATA ST IVES CHAMBERS POLICY ON THE COLLECTION AND USE OF DIVERSITY DATA 1. This is the Data Diversity Policy for St Ives Chambers which is established in accordance with RC110 (section D1.2 Equality and diversity)

More information

Essence of Care. Benchmarks for Bladder, Bowel and Continence Care

Essence of Care. Benchmarks for Bladder, Bowel and Continence Care Essence of Care 2010 Benchmarks for Bladder, Bowel and Continence Care Document Purpose Best Practice Guidance ROCR Ref: 0 Gateway Ref: 14641 0 Title Author Publication Date Target Audience ESSENCE OF

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Watford House Residential Home 263 Birmingham Road, Shenstone

More information

Care service inspection report

Care service inspection report Care service inspection report Full inspection Carolton Care Care Home Service 53 Seabank Road Nairn Inspection completed on 05 May 2016 Service provided by: Carolton Care Ltd Service provider number:

More information

CHILDREN AND ADULTS SERVICE RESEARCH APPROVAL GROUP

CHILDREN AND ADULTS SERVICE RESEARCH APPROVAL GROUP DURHAM COUNTY COUNCIL CHILDREN AND ADULTS SERVICE RESEARCH APPROVAL GROUP INFORMATION PACK Children and Adults Service Version 4 October 2015 Children and Adults Service Research Approval Group Page 1

More information

I m p r o v i n g H e a l t h & W e l l b e i n g t h r o u g h V o l u n t e e r i n g i n t h e N H S S c o t l a n d. Volunteer Induction

I m p r o v i n g H e a l t h & W e l l b e i n g t h r o u g h V o l u n t e e r i n g i n t h e N H S S c o t l a n d. Volunteer Induction I m p r o v i n g H e a l t h & W e l l b e i n g t h r o u g h V o l u n t e e r i n g i n t h e N H S S c o t l a n d Volunteer Induction Guidance to NHSScotland Boards July 2010 1. Guidance on Volunteer

More information

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards.

We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Inspection Report We are the regulator: Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting essential standards. Bluebird Care (Milton Keynes) Suite 107, Interchange Business

More information

INFORMATION CONCERNING THE MEDICAL POWER OF ATTORNEY

INFORMATION CONCERNING THE MEDICAL POWER OF ATTORNEY INFORMATION CONCERNING THE MEDICAL POWER OF ATTORNEY THIS IS AN IMPORTANT LEGAL DOCUMENT. BEFORE SIGNING THIS DOCUMENT, YOU SHOULD KNOW THESE IMPORTANT FACTS: Except to the extent you state otherwise,

More information

NHS Complaints Advocacy

NHS Complaints Advocacy NHS Complaints Advocacy Raising Concerns or Complaints About the NHS Advocacy in Surrey is provided by Surrey Disabled People s Partnership (SDPP) In partnership with SDPP is a registered Charity: 1156963

More information

The Workplace Learning Environment

The Workplace Learning Environment FACULTY GUIDE The Workplace Learning Environment in Postgraduate Medical Training October 2013 Appendices all guidance published by NACT UK 1. Who does what in PGME 2. Roles of Supervisors 3. Job Descriptions

More information

Curriculum: Educational Visits Policy

Curriculum: Educational Visits Policy The Good Shepherd Trust Academies in partnership with the Guildford Diocese Education Trust The Education Centre, The Cathedral, Guildford, Surrey GU2 7UP Tel: 01483 450423 Curriculum: Educational Visits

More information

Patient Advice and Liaison Service

Patient Advice and Liaison Service Service We are here to help: If you need advice If you have problems with treatment If you need help but don t know who you can talk to. This information sheet is available in other languages and formats.

More information

Question & Answers. Nursing Home Incident Reporting System. October 26, 2011

Question & Answers. Nursing Home Incident Reporting System. October 26, 2011 Question & Answers Nursing Home Incident Reporting System October 26, 2011 1. Does the incident reporting system allow mandated reporting under the Elder Justice Act to demonstrate to DOH that they have

More information

Essentials of RESEARCH GOVERNANCE

Essentials of RESEARCH GOVERNANCE Promoting Good Practice in Research Essentials of RESEARCH GOVERNANCE Information for Researchers, Students and Support Staff involved in Health & Social Care Research 2005 Reproduced with the permission

More information

Code of Corporate Governance. Appendix 22 INTRODUCTION

Code of Corporate Governance. Appendix 22 INTRODUCTION Appendix 22 INTRODUCTION Corporate governance is a phrase used to describe how organisations direct and control what they do. For local authorities this also includes how a council relates to the communities

More information

Client Information Package. Hills Outreach Clinic

Client Information Package. Hills Outreach Clinic Client Information Package Hills Outreach Clinic CONTENTS 1. Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy Australia 2 a. Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy b. Music Therapy at the Hills - for children with disability c. Music

More information