CALGARY. a special publication on business law by the calgary herald NOVEMBER, 2012

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "CALGARY. a special publication on business law by the calgary herald www.calgaryherald.com/business/lawreview NOVEMBER, 2012"

Transcription

1 CALGARY LAW REVIEW a special publication on business law by the calgary herald NOVEMBER, 2012 Don t hamstring energy deals with demands on China by brian burton Power Calgary litigator, mother of four, spouse and university instructor you can have it all, says Maureen Killoran, managing partner for Osler Hoskin Harcourt Litigator, Calgary managing partner for Osler Hoskin Harcourt, winner of a Women in Law leadership award from the Association of Women Lawyers; mother of four and university instructor: Maureen Killoran never started out to be a downtown, power attorney for one of the biggest law firms in Canada. Killoran says it all came from taking a flexible approach to finding out what she was good at and a rather more rigid approach to setting priorities. When and how did you decide you were going to become a lawyer? I did my degree in English and history at Queens and I knew I didn t want to be a teacher. I wasn t really quite sure what I wanted to do and I was resisting my parents advice. As two people who grew up in the Depression, they told all four of their kids to get a professional degree, doctor, lawyer, engineer, and you re set for life. So after my degree I actually worked for a couple of years and then ultimately decided to apply to law school. The reason it took me so long is, I actually didn t think it was going to be my thing. And I was so pleasantly surprised in law school by how much I liked it. That s a big jump to take when you re of two minds. Yeah, I guess it was. I thought, well, if I m going to practice law, it doesn t mean I have to do it in the traditional way. I don t have to be with a big Toronto, Bay Street firm. If you d asked me, in first year, I probably thought I would do something a little left of centre and something more human rights oriented. I worked with LEAF (the Women s Legal Education and Action Fund) and one of our professors was really involved in the Bosnia Herzegovina war crimes trial, so I did some work with her on that. And then I summered at a law firm and was shocked at how much I liked the actual practice of it. So I went from thinking I was going to be a left-of-centre human rights lawyer to being at a Bay Street firm. What was it that appealed to you about corporate law? It s the problem solving, I think. It s all about trying to find the business answer for your client, with the help of the law. I think I was really encouraged to see how 99.9 per cent of the time, your gut feeling was actually the right answer and that the courts give you case law that s really based on common sense. You re a litigator. That s a very winor-lose kind of thing. What attracted you to litigation? I took kind of a circuitous route of attorney INTERVIEW BY BRIAN BURTON PHOTOS BY WIL ANDRUSCHAK and, again, wasn t entirely sure that I wanted to be on the corporate side of litigation. I started off doing quite a bit of medical malpractice defence when I was a lawyer at Bennett Jones. And, once again, the reason I turned to that was because I found the material interesting, the interaction with people interesting. And after a short period of time, I found it not so interesting. You dealt with people whose lives had really been compromised by some awful event. Sometimes children. And, to be perfectly frank, when you do energy law, as I do, or corporate litigation, you re not dealing with life and death situations and people whose lives have been turned upside down, plaintiffs who are weeping. It s just about money. It s about being creative. Sometimes, finding a solution that everybody will buy into, that s a moderate compromise, is the way to go. And sometimes it s adversarial and it s aggressive. I think I pride myself on working really hard for my clients and taking the hard stand. But never in such a way that my credibility is compromised because that s what I have to offer my clients my reputation with the judges and with the other lawyers in town. That s the most meaningful thing to me. I remember when my kids were little, somebody asked them what their mom did for a living and they said, She goes to an office and she yells at people on the telephone. (Laughs) And some days it feels like that. (Laughs) But most days it s pretty civilized. You re now managing partner for a big, corporate law firm. How did that happen? I have no idea. (Laughs) I missed a meeting, I think. It certainly wasn t anything I aspired to be. But I think, when your partners ask you to fulfill the role, it s one that you ought to step up and fulfill. And we d had someone in the position for eight years, Tris (Tristram) Mallett, and he d done a fantastic job. At Osler, the firm feels very strongly that you ought to continue to practice while you manage and I feel very strongly that I don t want to give up my practice. I want to do 100 per cent of it and I do. If a great file comes in, I m going to do it. I really love my practice. I love litigating and I m not going to give any of it up. The Canadian government should use caution and a modicum of historical perspective before demanding strict reciprocity from China in foreign investment, oil and gas lawyers say. It s worth making the point with the Chinese government about equal access to markets, they say, but big energy deals in Calgary shouldn t be hamstrung by direct linkages to specific Canadian efforts to buy into companies in China. It s harder (for us) to make investments there than it is (for them) to make investments here, concedes Peter Glossop, a competition and antitrust specialist with Osler Hoskin Harcourt. But Glossop says Canadians need only look back to the National Energy Peter Glossop Program of 1980 to recall a time when Canada sought to control foreign ownership in its oil industry. Now, as Canada promotes foreign investment to accelerate enormous energy developments in this Frank Turner country, and as state-owned enterprises (SOEs) in China have responded with more than $30 billion worth of energy investment in the past four years, Glossop suggests we should cut China some slack on the principle of equal access to their economy. In a perfect world, everybody would be perfectly reciprocal, he says. But attempting to use access to Canadian energy as a lever to open up the Chinese economy to Canadian investment might be expecting too much of a country going through rapid change, he warns. I think it s better, on balance, to have capital coming into this country than not. Osler colleague Frank Turner agrees that huge inbound energy investments could be needlessly complicated by horse trading on unrelated Canadian investments in China. Turner is a Calgary-based mergers and acquisitions (M&A) expert and he and Glossop have worked on several mega deals in which the Chinese have acquired energy assets in Canada. It s well recognized by both industry and government that we need billions and billions of dollars to develop our resources and Canadian capital markets just aren t big enough, Turner says. There are only a very small number of capital pools that are big enough to do these deals and Chinese SOEs are an important part of that picture. Glossop adds that there is also a limit to the amount of investment exposure multinational oil companies want to have in any one country and companies such as Exxon and Shell may well be near those limits with the investments they ve already made and proposed in Canada. The obvious and eager alternative is Asian SOEs. Turner says Canada also badly needs to diversify and expand markets for its increasing oilsands output. See KIDS, Page 2 See EXPORTS, Page 2 INSIDE: eyeing the arctic for resources ENERGY LAW PROGRAM CROSSES BORDERS SOCIAL MEDIA, THE GOOD AND THE cautious PROFILES OF CALGARY LAWYERS P 4 P 6 P 6 3, 5, 7

2 2 CALGARY LAW REVIEW KIDS, from page 1 How many kids do you have? Four. All boys. (Arran, 23; Fraser, 21; Josh, 14; and Liam, 13.) So, you ve got the managing partner gig, you ve got a full case load, a very full home life, obviously, and you teach at U of C. I probably will this year. The first year I think I missed was last year that s So I ll be on the schedule again in I generally try to do the intensive trial advocacy courses. That s instructing trial lawyers in town on trial skills. And then they have a similar one at the University of Calgary. The third-year class is put through a one-week intensive program. I usually instructed that. The other one I do is at the University of Notre Dame in South Bend, Ind. I try to do that once a year, which is another trial advocacy intensive training course. How did you come to teach at an American university? I met Jim Seckinger, a professor at Notre Dame Law School, while I was teaching trial skills at the University of Calgary about five years ago. He has a great intensive trial skills course that he offers his students twice per year. It s taught by trial lawyers from all over the States lots of hard-nosed Chicago litigators. He invites me down to ND to instruct annually. Jim is especially tickled to compare the U.S. trial lawyers with their Canadian counterparts. As you might expect, Canadians are much more polite but equally effective. There are lots of women graduating law schools, but if you look at senior partners, not so many. We re still losing women. It s a difficult issue, especially as a woman who who beat those odds. And if you ask me how, I m not sure I could give you an answer. Other than, I really loved what I did in the day. I think it makes me a better parent. You ve got to explain that! Not better than other parents. Just better than I would be, otherwise. For me, it s the right choice. I have a lot of energy and I m probably attention deficit. I need tons of stimulation and I m not good at taking things slow. I go home and it s been this way ever since my boys arrived and I am energized and completely focused on making the most of every moment I have with them. And I ve done what I ve done by being, not just organized with my time, but absolutely rigid when it comes to my priorities. Actions speak louder than words. So, for me, when I m home with my kids I m interacting and I play a big role in their lives and they in mine. And it wasn t always easy. Especially when they re little and they re saying, How come you don t stay home, like my friend s mom does? But the two youngest guys are now 13 and 14. Their powers of observation are such that they say, Wow. You volunteered at my kindergarten classes. Sometimes I think I couldn t have done it in another city. I mean, in Calgary, you can hop in your car and in 10 minutes flat I was at their preschool, at the hockey arenas and soccer arenas. And I think, if I were in Toronto, it just would have been an awful lot tougher to do it. As managing partner, have you been able to do anything that makes a difference for women? I m thinking of that in light of your award for Women in Law (2011). You know, naturally as you sort of ascend through the ranks of a law firm, you tend to identify more with the women who come to work for you. And I think all of us who ve reached a level of seniority tend to take a special interest in the women beneath us, to say, You can have it all. And when I say that, I really mean you can do it without sacrificing your priorities. You can be a great parent. You can be a great spouse. You probably have to have a great spouse. (Laughs) Like I do. He (Ray Daniels, senior vice-president, operations, Enerplus) and I made a commitment to each other that we are raising these kids together and they re our priority. Sometimes stuff hits the fan and we pull out our Blackberries and say, Whose day is more important and who can cancel things? You have to have an equal partner at home, but you can do it. On at least one occasion, you ve been to the London Court of International Arbitration. Whose rules do you play by there? Usually you ll find, especially in oil and gas contracts, the contract will (specify) the London Court of International Arbitration. But more often than not, I m still dealing with Alberta law. So, we re seen as a jurisdiction with so much experience in energy and in oil and gas contracts and operations, that you ll find, internationally, parties are okay with choosing Alberta law. Chinese M&A (mergers and acquisitions) in town have you acted on any of those? Lot s of them. Usually, I will be asked to take a look at an arbitration clause in one of the agreements or take a look at some of the litigation that may be exposed in the due diligence process. We have acted for many of those in-bound investments. We were on the transaction where we sold ConocoPhillips interest in Syncrude. ($4.5 billion sale to Sinopec.) There s been recent speculation that s there s a great deal of foreign M&A going on behind the scenes besides the Nexen deal that s currently getting all the press. Is that accurate? Yes. There have been stories that there s a whole bunch of activity out there and I would certainly say that that s our view, as well. And this Nexen deal is a pretty important one, right? Depending on how the government decides, it s really going to set the tone for our market and what s going to happen in the next few years. Calgary Herald Archive The Chinese National Offshore Oil Corp. s bid to buy Calgary oil producer Nexen Inc. is just one of the moves by China to invest in Canadian resources. EXPORTS, from page 1 Currently, Canada sells its oil and gas exports exclusively to the United States but pipeline constraints and rising tight-oil production in the U.S. have caused sharp discounts on prices paid for Canadian oil. The Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce has estimated Canadian producers will take an $18-billion hit on prices this year alone and Turner says the alternative is to develop Asian markets. But that will require major pipeline projects to carry oil to West Coast shipping terminals. Natural gas also badly needs a West Coast outlet to Asian markets and that means Canada needs still more foreign investment in pipelines and massive liquefaction plants. The Chinese believe they understand the (investment) rules here, Turner says, and it would be a potential setback for Canada if demands for mathematical reciprocity changed that. Much has been made of China s $30-billion buy into Canadian energy, but Glossop says Chinese investment shouldn t be seen as aggressive or threatening. He notes it s small compared with Chinese investments in Australia and Russia and minute compared with the $300 million annual investment made by U.S. companies in Canada. The Calgary office of global law firm Norton Rose has also acted in major joint ventures involving Chinese SOEs, as well as a friendly takeover of a failing Canadian oil company by a Chinese state-owned enterprise. Norton Rose is currently establishing a Canada Desk in China to support Chinese investment here and a China Desk in Canada to assist Canadian companies seeking Chinese investment or needing legal support for investments in China. This effort is backed by senior partner and former Canadian prime minister Brian Mulroney, who recently visited Beijing and Shanghai with senior Norton Rose colleagues to help raise the firm s profile there. Norton Rose partner and Calgary-based M&A specialist Craig Hoskins says Mulroney s status as a former head of government is a major door opener throughout Asia. He says that, while huge energy deals involving SOEs grab the headlines, a wave of more modest, normal course M&A investments is taking shape as private capital from mainland China seeks investment opportunities in Canadian energy. At the same time, Canadian oilsands producers are approaching Norton Rose seeking Chinese partners for projects. Where they can, he says, energy companies are dodging the volatility of stock markets and turning to private capital for more patient investment in energy joint ventures. Where major deals with SOEs are concerned, Hoskins says, a mirror image analysis of reciprocity is probably not the best way of looking at things. China is an enormous country with enormous issues and undergoing enormous changes. To think that Canada is going to push them (on investment policy) is likely fallacious. Hoskins suggests it s better to engage with China on energy investments than to wait until its market and legal reforms are completed to Western standards because Canada s energy opportunity is now. File-by-file reciprocity may be like throwing the baby out with the bath water and we could forego a lot of investment without speeding change. But he adds that now is likely a good time to make the Chinese aware that Canada is keeping score on reciprocity. Turner and Hoskins decline to comment on whether either of their firms was among those warned by the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS) about systematic hacking efforts based in China and aimed at seven Canadian law firms. But Hoskins dismisses hacking as a red herring where investment is concerned. Canada needs to engage with the world and it will encounter a whole myriad of risks, he says. You manage those risks. You don t eliminate them by closing off investment. China s thirst for oil unquenchable Wil Andruschak photo Osler Hoskin Harcourt managing partner and litigator Maureen Killoran at her firm s offices located in Calgary s TransCanada Tower. CALGARY LAW REVIEW Calgary Law Review is a special publication of the Calgary Herald Special Projects Manager/Editor: Barb Livingstone, , Co-ordinator: Jennifer Worley There s a reason China s state-owned oil companies are rapidly becoming some of the biggest clients of Calgary s top law firms. It s because, in some ways, the two vast countries are mirror opposites of each other. Put simply, each has what the other lacks. Canada has the world s second-largest oil reserves, at 170 billion barrels and the largest reserves open to foreign investment. (Saudi reserves and production are state owned, as are those of many other major exporters.) Canada also has a very small population and correspondingly smallish capital formation capacity from which to fund identified opportunities for some $200 billon worth of energy projects. And Canada is learning that it needs export alternatives to the U.S. Conversely, China is the world s second-largest and fastest-growing oil importer and its emergence as an economic powerhouse has given it immense cash reserves with which to buy oil and gas properties, projects or entire energy companies. China s vehicle fleet is the world s second largest, growing 20-fold in the decade ending in 2010 and now totalling 78 million units. It s also the world s largest vehicle manufacturer, producing 18.4 million units in By 2050, the Chinese fleet is predicted to surpass 500 million vehicles, easily making it the largest in the world. Every day, China produces about four million barrels of oil and consumes about 10 million. By 2017, Chinese daily consumption is forecast to reach 12 million barrels per day, pushing imports to nine million bpd as domestic deliveries decline. And by 2050, consumption is expected to reach 20 million barrels per day, most of it coming from offshore. Seen in this light, it s not hard to understand why Chinese state-owned oil companies are willing to spend a few billion dollars out of China s $3 trillion in depreciating foreign exchange reserves to buy oil sands assets that are likely to appreciate in value. Fees paid to Calgary law firms, running into millions of dollars, are simply inconsequential as the Chinese government seeks to maintain domestic economic growth and, thereby, it s own political legitimacy. The same logic applies to Canadian natural gas reserves but with two added incentives for Chinese investment. Gas is the lowest-carbon fossil fuel in an increasingly carbonconstrained world. And North American natural gas prices, depressed by a continental glut, are running about one-tenth of the price natural gas commands in Asia. Producing gas in Alberta and British Columbia, pipelining it to the West Coast and liquefying it for shipment to China would produce a huge and ongoing savings in energy costs on whatever reserves China might acquire. In the process, China would help to fund development of more than $100 billion worth of proposed projects in the oilsands and a somewhat smaller number of proposed liquefied natural gas projects in Alberta and B.C. Each deal would require armies of construction workers and smaller armies of Calgary lawyers.

3 CALGARY LAW REVIEW 3 PROFILE: PAT Maguire, bennett jones Pat Maguire is a partner at Bennett Jones, where he serves as co-head of the corporate department. A member of the firm s energy practice group. Maguire acts for energy companies on a broad range of commercial transactions, in Canada and internationally. Born in the U.S., Maguire grew up in the town of Millet, Alta. He obtained his law degree from the University of Alberta and articled at Bennett Jones in Calgary in 1991, where he worked until 1996 before moving on to Nexen. While at Nexen, Maguire took on a variety of international assignments, including spending a couple of years in Yemen. Because he particularly enjoyed the international environment and wanted to expand his understanding of the business world, Maguire headed back to university to do an MBA at Cambridge University in He wrote his thesis while living in the south of France, and travelled the world before rejoining Bennett Jones in The job is increasingly international, notes Maguire, 46. Our firm has offices in China and in the Middle East, and that provides me with great opportunities, as I have always been internationally focused. Most recently, Bennett Jones has been acting in connection with a lot of Asian investment into Canada. Q: How would you describe yourself? A: There are different kinds of lawyers. Some are great technical practitioners, and some are very business oriented. I would describe myself as being a balance of the best of those. I want to get the deal done, but I want to get it done right. Q: What was your first job? A: My first job was as a maintenance person for the County of Wetaskiwin. It incented me greatly to go to law school. My first legal job was at Bennett Jones, where I articled in Q: What attracted you to your area of specialization? A: The economics in Alberta are really based on the energy industry, and it seemed to be the obvious place for me to practise. My area of specialty is in commercial transactions, which is not overly bound by procedural rules, and provides room for a great degree of creativity. Q: What s the best part of your job? A: I am lucky to work at Bennett Jones with some very smart, engaged people. These are some of the best lawyers in the field and they are leaders in the community. It is a fantastic environment to be in. It challenges me every day and is really rewarding. Q: What s the most challenging part of your job? A: Time management is definitely the biggest challenge. It s not uncommon to have clients asking for more of your time than you have to give. I occasionally over-commit, based on the time I have available. Q: What makes a good lawyer? A: The right balance of brains, technical expertise, business sense and personal skills. Q: Whom do you admire? A: Nelson Mandela. His ability to always see there is a path forward into the future that will be better than where we re at today, has been awe-inspiring. On a professional level, a senior regulatory lawyer at Bennett Jones who mentored me in the early years, taught me how to be a good lawyer, a good business adviser and a good partner. Q: What are you most passionate about? A: Family, friends, my colleagues and my clients. Within the day, each of them will have priority. Q: What does a great day off look like for you? A: Spending time with the family, skiing, golfing, and in the evening, a good bottle of red wine and a nice meal. Jacqueline Louie nortonrose.com Over and Above On January 1, 2012 Macleod Dixon joined Norton Rose. Our enlarged national capabilities and unmatched international platform allows us to help our clients achieve new heights - all with a significant local presence lawyers 43 offices 6 continents 1 vision NRC_1886_HeraldLawReviewAd_OverAndAbove.indd 1 01/11/2012 1:16:32 PM

4 4 CALGARY LAW REVIEW Greenland is being eyed by countries around the world for the rich resources that lay beneath the barren island, which is a quarter the size of the U.S. Calgary Herald Archive Climate change brings Arctic resources closer by brian burton Every kid knows the North Pole is hallowed ground, free of the grasping claims of nation states. Santa, after all, is a law unto himself, who, presumably, has scant need for the services of lawyers and other mortals. And, in fact, the latest map documenting the territorial ambitions of Canada, Russia, Denmark, Norway and the United States shows an area adjacent to the pole that is, at least notionally, unclaimed. Think of it as Santa Land for now, anyway. The rest of the vast seabed between Canada and Russia is more or less up for grabs, as five nations around the pole seek legal extensions of their territorial waters beyond the established 200-nautical-mile limit. Claims are made to the United Nations Commission Wylie Spicer on the Limits of the Continental Shelf (CLCS). The commission is guided by the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) and in particular by Article 82 of the Law of the Sea Treaty. Article 82 allows extensions with respect to the exploitation of the continental shelf from 200 to as much as 350 nautical miles with certain important provisos. Article 82, then, is where Santa Land ends and the laws of men take over. Wylie Spicer, Calgary-based expert on Arctic and maritime law with Norton Rose, explains that Article 82 is based on the concept that the seafloor beyond the 200-mile limit is part of the common heritage of mankind. Regardless of who succeeds in claiming various extended tracts of seafloor and the resources under them, Article 82 specifies that the first royalties, up to seven per cent of revenues, will be shared equitably between 162 nations who are signatories to UNCLOS. This article has been sort of a sleeping giant and no one has made payments under it, so far, Spicer says. But global warming is bringing Arctic resources within reach and the U.S. Geological Survey has estimated that oil reserves alone could exceed 90 billion barrels or $7 trillion, at today s prices. Obviously, resource companies should be very aware of agreements governing these extensions of seabed boundaries, Spicer observes. The International Seabed Authority (ISA) a creature of UNCLOS based in Kingston, Jamaica is charged with distributing royalty revenues from extensions of seabed rights. Under Article 82, the ISA is directed to distribute royalties, up to seven per cent of production or revenues, taking into account the interests and needs of developing States, particularly the least developed and the landlocked among them. In Canadian terms, think of it as an equalization payment, redistributing a portion of the wealth from richer jurisdictions to poorer ones. But, unlike Canadian law, which gives each province undivided right to its own resources, UNCLOS and ISA use resources as the source for revenue redistribution. Nations which succeed in extending their claims beyond 200 miles will, in effect, become paid managers of subsea resources, overseeing their development on behalf of the 162 UNCLOS signatories, remitting the first seven-per-cent of revenues to ISA for the least developed nations and, hopefully, retaining any royalties beyond seven per cent. The unanswered question, in an extremely remote and hostile environment, is whether there will be any room for royalties to rise beyond seven per cent. Spicer describes Canada as a contented signatory to UNCLOS, willing to abide by its terms and see first royalties go to developing nations. The U.S., meanwhile, has not signed on to UN- CLOS. In July, 34 Republican senators once again indicated opposition to signing the Law of the Sea Treaty, denying the two-thirds Senate majority that international treaties need for U.S. ratification. Ironically, Spicer says, in the much more developed Gulf of Mexico, the U.S. has drafted detailed regulations for remitting royalties to ISA in the extension zone between 200 and 350 miles offshore. Canada, meanwhile, has no corresponding royalty regulations for the high Arctic or off Newfoundland. While there is some active exploration in the extension zone off Newfoundland, no drillers are active in the area above the Arctic Archipelago. As oil and gas become rarer and rarer, 51 countries have applied for extensions in various areas around the world. With that, Spicer says, the Article-82 sleeping giant is edging closer to an awakening. The first stirrings took place during an UNCLOS conference in Beijing, where Spicer attended and monitored issues important to Canada, including how resource royalties will be calculated, who controls the Lomonosov Ridge under the Arctic Ocean, who controls a section of the Beaufort Sea and how pollution management will be extended to the 350-nautical mile limit. We stand to be huge winners on the extended continental shelf issues, Spicer says. Canada and the U.S. are contesting control of a sliver of the Beaufort Sea about the size of Lake Ontario that the National Energy Board (NEB) has estimated could contain some 10 billion barrels of oil. Canada bases its claim on a straight-line extension of the Alaska/Yukon border as delineated in an 1825 treaty between Russia and Great Britain, while the U.S. bases its claim on a line drawn equidistant from both coasts. Both countries are reviewing offshore drilling regulations in light of the blowout in the Gulf of Mexico. And both have publicly suggested a resolution may lie in the fact that, beyond the 200-mile limit, the American line appears to be better for Canada, while the Canadian line appears to be better for the U.S. In 2001, Russia submitted a formal claim to extend its territory in a way that would project far onto the Canadian side of the pole, based on the huge Lomonosov Ridge having arisen from the European continental shelf. Canada says the ridge, some 1,800 kilometres long and up to 200 km wide, arose from the North American continental shelf and properly falls under Canadian jurisdiction. Russia says it has spent $50 million researching its claim, while Canada has spent $109 million on a 10-year mapping project. Canada has until 2013 to submit its counterclaim, but with seabed extension disputes going on all over the world, there s no telling when a ruling might be made. (Denmark has also signaled an interest in the Lomonosov issue, based on its ownership of Greenland.) Additionally, Spicer says the issue of resource royalty calculations requires considerable refinement, even though most countries have signed on to general terms. It s not known, for instance, whether royalties will be calculated before or after production companies recover the costs of hugely expensive arctic development projects. From recent public hearings of the National Energy Board in Inuvik, Spicer says, he learned that Northerners are generally supportive of development but the ocean is a primary food source and they want very close regulation to ensure that pollution will be prevented. An oil spill under the sea ice would be catastrophic and the NEB got that message, loud and clear, he says. Law faculty distinctively Calgarian Calgary Herald Archive Ian Holloway, U of C s dean of law. by Jacqueline louie The University of Calgary s law faculty has a clear and simple goal: to be Calgary s law school. We want our programs to be reflective of the needs of our community. We want to be a central part of Calgary and its future. We want our graduates to go on to be leaders within the community, and we want to be a part of the professional fabric of Calgary, says dean of law, Ian Holloway, Q.C. That s why, when the U of C s faculty of law recently launched a new development campaign, it brought together a diverse, broadly representative group from Calgary s legal community to help reach its goal. The level of government support for legal education has not been keeping up with inflation, and so increasingly law schools at every university in Canada have to turn to external sources of support, Holloway says. Trying to put those two things together a need for resources, and a desire to be more reflective of our community led us to put together what we call a campaign cabinet a group of women and men who are leaders within the legal profession in Calgary. They include senior people from law firms, but also include corporate counsel people from industry and that s unique. One of the things that makes Calgary such a special city, at least from the perspective of the legal profession, is the extent to which corporate counsel are involved in things. On our committee, we ve got a wonderful blend of lawyers in private practice and corporate counsel. The honorary co-chairs of the U of C law school s development campaign are Rick George, former Suncor CEO; and Jim Palmer, Q.C., chairman emeritus of law firm Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer. Senior leaders on the committee are Brian Felesky, Q.C., managing director of Credit Suisse Securities; Kerry Dyte, Q.C., executive vice-president of Cenovus; and Eric Miller, vicepresident of Agrium. Approximately 20 people are part of the campaign cabinet, which includes managing partners or senior partners of most of the major law firms in Calgary, as well as senior executives from a number of corporations, including companies such as Nexen, Trans- Canada Pipelines, Talisman Energy, Enbridge, Precision Drilling, Total, Chevron and others. The makeup of our cabinet is really unique amongst law schools in North America, Holloway says. To have such a blend of lawyers in private practice and business executives, is not something that you (typically) see in North American law school campaigns. We are very proud of it. It really does say something special about this city, and the level of civic pride and engagement in Calgary. The development campaign s objective, is to raise $20 million over the next five years. In addition to raising additional resources, the development campaign also seeks to integrate the U of C s law school more closely with Calgary s legal and professional community.

5 CALGARY LAW REVIEW 5 PROFILE: keith byblow, McCarthy Tétrault When he was 19 years old, Keith Byblow sold all his belongings and went to Hollywood to be a rock star. While his dreams of Hollywood music stardom didn t pan out, Byblow has found his calling in oil and gas law. Born and raised in Calgary, with a law degree from the University of Calgary (and a bachelor of music degree in jazz performance from St. Francis Xavier University), Byblow is a partner in McCarthy Tétrault s Energy Department of Business Law Group, with a practice that includes a wide range of domestic and international transactions. Byblow, 41, also counsels clients on structuring and negotiating international joint ventures and partnerships for the acquisition, exploration and development of oil and gas assets abroad. Q: How would you describe yourself? A: Cliché Type A, hopefully not to a fault, but enough to do my job well. I am a fairly social person. Thankfully my wife Carla is very outgoing, and I have learned from her to be a little more outgoing. Q: What was your first job? A: A paper route and washing dishes at a Bonanza restaurant. I was 14. I don t think there is a job that I haven t done in one capacity or another I like to think that keeps me grounded. Q: What attracted you to your area of specialization? A: The first clue was my interest in property and oil and gas law courses in law school. Once I articled and realized I did not want to be a litigator or a securities lawyer, I joined our oil and gas group as an associate and once I was in, I was hooked. Reading Daniel Yergin s The Prize really cinched it. I am fascinated by the industry, and how this commodity is so fundamental to every social and economic element of our lives. Q: What s the best part of your job? A: The people I work with, both clients and the people at McCarthy Tétrault. Also, I really enjoy putting deals together, particularly those that are atypical and require you to take a client s ideas and issues, and build the structure from scratch. That is very rewarding. That, and the fact that the challenges in this profession are constantly changing. Q: What s the most challenging part of your job? A: Substantively, the most challenging parts are also what make the job most interesting and rewarding. Staying up-to-date on industry and market trends, and finding innovative ways to deliver the service at the caliber that we do is very demanding. Logistically, there are always competing forces on your time, given how demanding and competitive the service element is. It makes all the difference to have a family that understands and is supportive. They make a lot of sacrifices behind the scenes. Q: What makes a good lawyer? A: Of course, the highest level of competence substantively. What sets you apart, is your approach to service and how your expertise is delivered. You need to listen and hear what your clients are saying so that you add value and are a business facilitator. What you are ultimately trying to build at the end of the day, is trust. Q: Whom do you admire? A: So many of my colleagues and friends. You can learn something from pretty much any person and situation if you watch for it and are self-aware. If I had to pick only a few, I would have to say my parents, for their tremendous work ethic and selflessness. Q: What are you most passionate about? A: My kids. I am most passionate about providing them with opportunity and seeing them be happy. Jacqueline Louie You talk. We listen. A relentless focus on client success is at the heart of our firm. Business achievement begins with the right team, asking the right questions. Our team integrates legal expertise, industry insight, and legal project management to deliver more value to our clients. We not only help clients achieve success we make the journey better. mccarthy.ca McCarthy Tétrault LLP

6 6 CALGARY LAW REVIEW Calgary, Houston connect for dual degree program by JACQUELINE LOUIE U of C law student Barrett Schitka has had a whirlwind of a semester so far. He s in Houston, enrolled in the International Energy Lawyers Program a new joint degree program offered by the University of Calgary and the University of Houston which allows law students at the U of C and the University of Houston Law Center to earn Canadian and American law degrees in four years. Students will spend two years at each institution, and at the end of the program will be able to apply for admission to bar associations in both the U.S. and Canada. That s a flagship program that we developed in partnership with the University of Houston, reflective of the Houston-Calgary axis, which is really the backbone of the North American energy industry, says Ian Holloway, dean of the U of C s faculty of law. Schitka, who was admitted to the program in July and moved to Houston in August, is the program s first and so far only student. There are a few other dual degree programs in Canada. What s unique about this program, is its focus on energy and natural resources law, he says. Born and raised in Calgary, Schitka, 24, has always had an interest in law. A student in the International Baccalaureate program at St. Mary s High School in Calgary, he enjoyed debating, and was a competitive athlete for many years. At the same time, he is also very strong in math and the sciences, and opted to study chemical engineering, choosing the best program he could find: at the University of Waterloo, where he obtained two degrees concurrently: a bachelor of applied science degree in chemical engineering, with an option in management science, and a bachelor of arts degree in Spanish. Another draw for Schitka, was Waterloo s co-operative education program, which allows students to spend every four months alternating between a study term and a work term. Over the five years that Schitka spent on his engineering degree, he received a year-and-a-half of industry work experience, doing everything from waste water treatment and research and development, to engineering simulation software. During his first term, he worked as a research assistant at the National University of Engineering in Lima, Peru, and in his third year he worked for a Sarnia, Ont. petrochemical company that was renegotiating some of its service agreements. As a co-op student, Schitka went through contracts and production data, and participated in some of the negotiations and strategy processes that were going on. That s when I started to see that maybe there was a way to put the two together law and engineering. The more I looked into things, spoke with people and did research, I knew that that was what I wanted to do, and I never looked back. Schitka returned to Calgary in 2011 to attend law school, where the drawing factor was the U of C s energy and natural resources focus. Since his acceptance into the International Energy Lawyers Program, he has continued to pack his schedule. Among other things, Schitka was selected to participate in the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition, the largest, and one of the most prestigious moot court competitions in the world. In the case of the Jessup competition, moot court is a simulation of arguments done before the International Court of Justice. The student teams participating in the competition represent fictional countries involved in an international dispute, and present and argue their case in front of a panel of judges. Schitka is also a member of the editorial boards of two student-published journals: the Alberta Law Review, and the Houston Journal of Health Law and Policy. We put out journals throughout the year. We do everything from article selection to copy editing to note writing every element of the publication process, he explains. The journals, which go into law libraries around the world, feature articles written by law faculty and legal scholars nation-wide. Through the joint degree program, Schitka is gaining an understanding of the U.S. and other countries on a more fundamental level. You start to understand why the U.S. has evolved the way it has, why laws have evolved the way they have, and how decisions made 100 years ago have an impact today, he says. You start to see things on both sides of the border that you may not have seen before. Both countries have the same English common law roots, but it s seeing things from a slightly different angle. After he graduates from law school, Schitka would like to develop an energy practice. I m not quite sure yet whether it will be a transactionalbased practice or a litigation-based practice there are elements of both that I very much enjoy, he says. My intention is to have some sort of international flavour to it, whether it be domestic clients with international interests, or international clients. Hopefully one day as I continue to develop, grow, work and learn, I ll be at the forefront of that sort of industry. Courtesy Jessica Franklin, UHLC University of Calgary law student Barrett Schitka is the first student in the International Energy Lawyers program, a new joint degree program between the U of C and the University of Houston. sorry you haven t seen us at the gym lately... but we ve been busy. Canada s Busiest M&A Firm for 2012 YTD * * Thomson Reuters ranks Gowlings the #1 Canadian law firm by deal count for worldwide M&A in the first 9 months of montréal ottawa toronto hamilton waterloo region calgary vancouver beijing moscow london gowlings.com

7 CALGARY LAW REVIEW 7 PROFILE: DALE SPACKMAN, PARLEE McLAWS Dale Spackman, Q.C., is a partner at Parlee McLaws LLP in Calgary, where he has been a lawyer for 32 years. Born and raised in Calgary, Spackman, 58, is a thirdgeneration southern Albertan. He and his wife have two grown children. Q: How would you describe yourself? A: I m a people person. I try to do the right thing and work hard. Q: What was your first job? A: As a Calgary Herald delivery boy, when I was about 15. I had one of the largest paper routes in Calgary. Q: What attracted you to your area of specialization? A: Early on, I wanted to focus my practice on solicitor s work corporate and commercial law. I took a lot of satisfaction in advising clients and working through complicated corporate and commercial transactions, and seeing the transactions come to a satisfactory conclusion. My expertise in aviation law, which is the main area of my practice now, really came out about as a consequence of circumstance. One of the first clients I had obtained as a young lawyer was a commercial air service company. I really enjoyed that work and developed a lot of relationships in that industry, and it just grew from there. My other main area of specialization is banking law. Q: What s the best part of your job? A: The interaction I have with clients, and the satisfaction I get from helping them with their legal needs. Add to that the intellectual challenges and the opportunity to continually gain new knowledge and skills. I love to learn and problem solve and I find the law gives you a really great opportunity to do that in a practical setting. Q: What s the most challenging part of your job? A: Juggling the competing demands of clients and keeping them all happy. The other very challenging part of the job is keeping up on the law in my areas of specialization because it s continually evolving. Q: What makes a good lawyer? A: In no particular order of importance: intelligence, common sense, excellent communication skills, integrity, courtesy, humility and extremely hard work. Q: Whom do you admire? A: I admire anyone who is hardworking, genuine and makes a positive difference in other people s lives. Some of the people I admire the most, are those closest to me. For example, my wife Cathy, because she has all of the qualities that I admire in people. She is a professional accountant, she is the CFO of a large public corporation and she always spends an enormous amount of time helping the community. Q: What type of volunteering do you do? A: I started doing things like coaching sports teams and refereeing sports when in high school and carried that through into my professional career. I ve done everything from being a Boy Scout leader and coaching my kids sports teams and other sports teams to coaching and serving on the board of directors of the Calgary Minor Soccer Association for eight years. I was a member of the board of directors of the Law Society of Alberta for eight years and lots of other stuff. Q: What are you most passionate about? A: My family would come first, and secondly the law. I am also passionate about sports, especially hockey and football. And I am passionate about children. That s why I got so involved in coaching and minor soccer. I am a real believer in team sports that it s one of the most important things a child can participate in, to help them in their adult life. Q: What does a great day off look like for you? A: Spending time with my family, especially at our cabin at Pigeon Lake. Jacqueline Louie

8 8 CALGARY LAW REVIEW Social media: good, bad and... cautious by barbara balfour After months agonizing over whether he should delete his Facebook profile, Sander Duncanson was pleasantly surprised when, on his first day as a summer student at a law firm, he was given instructions on how to set up his own LinkedIn account. It was 2009, a time when profiles on Facebook and other social media were as ubiquitous as they were potentially incriminating. I always thought social media would be discouraged because of certain things in your personal life that law firms didn t want you broadcasting to the world, says the 29-year-old associate at Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt. Instead, the marketing manager said, Here are the basics you should have now get out there and use them. This will be the most important tool you have to develop your personal brand as you go through your career. The use of social media to grow a firm s reputation, share legal resources, and provide instant updates is only one example of how much and how quickly technology has changed lawyers approach to their practice. Yet as younger lawyers are more likely to take for granted the accessibility and speed of today s digital world, senior colleagues are reminding them that technology is not infallible. When you re dealing with a legal area you re not familiar with, your first response is to see what comes up on Google, but that information is not always reliable, says Claire Stilwell, a 20-something lawyer at Norton Rose who specializes in technology and innovation. I was directed by a senior colleague to actually take out a textbook at the start of my research to become more familiar with this area of law. When I had that extra context, it made my searching much more efficient I knew what was useful and what wasn t. I don t think I would have had that approach otherwise. Stilwell also credits her older colleagues for stressing the importance of face-to-face time with clients when Wil Andruschak photo Claire Stilwell, a lawyer at Norton Rose specializing in technology and innovation, says Google and Facebook are no substitute for researching law or staying in touch with clients. Textbook research and face-to-face time with clients are still critical. relationships are often maintained in a virtual world. We ve heard a lot of discussion about what it really means to have 500 friends within the context of Facebook. You can use Facebook to keep in touch with people, but it s no substitute for sitting down with a client and taking them out for lunch. And sometimes, you can get so much more done by picking up the phone than by sending a million s. As a way of reaching younger audiences and potential clients, Facebook is also integral in trial preparation. Family law attorney Lisa Tose often educates her clients on the damage their online profiles can do to their case. It s very commonplace for Facebook postings to be brought into the trial or hearing, especially when children are involved, says Tose, 40. I always advise my clients to eliminate Facebook altogether prior to a trial or while we re having an ongoing issue. This is regardless of privacy settings they may believe they have locked it down or unfriended the ex-partner, but their information is still available through other people on their friends list. I can get a lot more information about the opposing party than I ever used to be able to before. In 1998, when Tose first started practicing, she would have never dared to bring a cellphone into the courtroom. Now judges expect you to have it handy to look up queries for them, quickly use applications to access case law or do child support calculations, says Tose, 40. I couldn t imagine going into a trial without my phone charged and ready to go. At legal firms such as Field Law, remote access usage is encouraged so lawyers are not confined to their offices they can practice using a virtual desktop anytime, anywhere, says insurance defence lawyer Alex Yiu, 31. Nearly 100 per cent of our lawyers use a mobile device and nearly a quarter of our members use an ipad as a staple in their everyday usage. Other examples where technology comes into play include affidavit records and legal cases now available in digital format and even full-blown trials that are run electronically in smart courtooms, says Yiu. While being connected to the office when outside of it physically can give lawyers more freedom, it can also add more pressure. When I was just starting out, fax machines had become the big thing and lawyers were bemoaning that clients expected to hear back within a day, says Robert Hawkes, 51, a partner at JS Barristers who specializes in commercial litigation and class actions. Today, Hawkes will often spend time even while on vacation fielding urgent matters electronically. With , clients expect to hear back within the hour if not within minutes. At the same time, some lawyers have noted a general reluctance to rely on technology too much. I go to a lot of hearings, and my tendency is to put all the files I need on a USB key, take my laptop, and I m good to go, says Duncanson. Most senior lawyers will say, That s great, but make sure you always have a hard copy. It may seem excessive but every once in a while computers crash and I have had that happen. When technology fails, you still have to be able to continue your practice. The older generation has learned to practice law without that technology so they still make sure they can do without it. N Plug into Canada's Oil and Gas law firm. Download our Oil Sands Backgrounder at: bennettjones.com/oilsands Your lawyer. Your law firm. Your business advisor. calgary toronto edmonton ottawa beijing dubai abu dhabi doha BennettJones_CalgaryLawReview_Nov2012.indd 2 09/11/2012 1:15:08 PM

Careers Audio Transcription Carolyn Roberts with Sally Harrison

Careers Audio Transcription Carolyn Roberts with Sally Harrison Careers Audio Transcription Carolyn Roberts with Sally Harrison I m talking to Sally Harrison now. Sally graduated from this College, as it was then, in 1984 with a Degree in Geography and Geology, but

More information

A conversation with Scott Chappell, CMO, Sessions Online Schools of Art and Design

A conversation with Scott Chappell, CMO, Sessions Online Schools of Art and Design A conversation with Scott Chappell, CMO, Sessions Online Schools of Interviewed by: Steven Groves, StevenGroves.com Guy R. Powell, DemandROMI Can you talk to us a little bit about Sessions and what Sessions

More information

Entrepreneur s M&A Journal Episode 25

Entrepreneur s M&A Journal Episode 25 Entrepreneur s M&A Journal Episode 25 Intro: Welcome to Entrepreneur s M&A Journal, with lawyer and Harvard MBA Jim Cumbee, a weekly podcast dedicated to helping entrepreneurs make better decisions when

More information

Thank you so much for having me. I m really excited to be here today.

Thank you so much for having me. I m really excited to be here today. Welcome to The Boomer Business Owner. My guest today is Ty Crandall. Ty is an honorary Baby Boomer, internationally known speaker, author, and business credit expert. With over 16 years of financial experience,

More information

Louis Gudema: Founder and President of Revenue + Associates

Louis Gudema: Founder and President of Revenue + Associates The Interview Series - Presented by SmartFunnel Interviews of Sales + Marketing Industry Leaders Louis Gudema: Founder and President of Revenue + Associates PETER: Hello folks this is Peter Fillmore speaking.

More information

Advice for Recommenders: How to write an effective Letter of Recommendation for applicants to the Stanford MBA Program

Advice for Recommenders: How to write an effective Letter of Recommendation for applicants to the Stanford MBA Program Advice for Recommenders: How to write an effective Letter of Recommendation for applicants to the Stanford MBA Program -- Edited Transcript of Interview updated 27 July 2011 What are some of your responsibilities

More information

Wholesaling Mark Ferguson

Wholesaling Mark Ferguson TRANSCRIPT OF EPISODE 14 OF THE INVEST FOUR MORE PODCAST Wholesaling Mark Ferguson Mark: Hi everyone. Mark Ferguson here with another episode of the Invest More Real Estate podcast. Today is just going

More information

John Y. Gotanda has been dean of Villanova University School

John Y. Gotanda has been dean of Villanova University School 10 Questions for John Y. Gotanda Dean, Villanova University School of Law and Boston before joining the Villanova faculty in 1994. Courtenay R. Dunn: How is law school different than it was 15 or 20 years

More information

Financial Freedom: Three Steps to Creating and Enjoying the Wealth You Deserve

Financial Freedom: Three Steps to Creating and Enjoying the Wealth You Deserve Financial Freedom: Three Steps to Creating and Enjoying the Wealth You Deserve What does financial freedom mean to you? Does it mean freedom from having to work, yet still being able to enjoy life without

More information

Spectra Energy Builds a Business

Spectra Energy Builds a Business » Introducing Spectra Energy Builds a Business CEO Fowler on Challenges Ahead By Martin Rosenberg Natural gas once again looms as an important fuel for electricity generation, given a spate of cancellations

More information

56 Key Profit Building Lessons I Learned from Jay Abraham s MasterMind Marketing Training.

56 Key Profit Building Lessons I Learned from Jay Abraham s MasterMind Marketing Training. 56 Key Profit Building Lessons I Learned from Jay Abraham s MasterMind Marketing Training. Jay Abraham is a man you should all know. If you do not - go to the library and start learning - just do it! He

More information

Prospecting Scripts. 2 keys to success in Real Estate

Prospecting Scripts. 2 keys to success in Real Estate Prospecting Scripts 2 keys to success in Real Estate 1. TALK TO PEOPLE 2. ASK THE RIGHT QUESTIONS 1. Door-knocking or cold calling properties around a new listing (inviting them to a property preview)

More information

Transcript and Model Answers

Transcript and Model Answers Transcript and Model Answers Small Businesses and the Canadian Economy Scotiabank is a leading bank in Canada. You will hear a group of senior executives discussing the impact of the Canadian economy on

More information

Chapter 11. The Forex Trading Coach Is Born

Chapter 11. The Forex Trading Coach Is Born Chapter 11 The Forex Trading Coach Is Born The Forex Trading Coach company was officially launched in May 2009 and I decided to go ahead and establish the company and the website as a result of the tremendous

More information

Networking: Don t Just Do It - Do It Well How to Network Your Way to Effective Relationship-Building. By: Kristin Rizzo, Esq.

Networking: Don t Just Do It - Do It Well How to Network Your Way to Effective Relationship-Building. By: Kristin Rizzo, Esq. Networking: Don t Just Do It - Do It Well How to Network Your Way to Effective Relationship-Building By: Kristin Rizzo, Esq. [Kristin Rizzo is a graduate of University of San Diego School of Law, serves

More information

The Contented Website

The Contented Website The Contented Website Why most business websites don t work and what to do about it Deb Jeffreys About the Author Deb Jeffreys and is the founder of Brilliant Blue Marketing. Together with her team she

More information

Club Accounts. 2011 Question 6.

Club Accounts. 2011 Question 6. Club Accounts. 2011 Question 6. Anyone familiar with Farm Accounts or Service Firms (notes for both topics are back on the webpage you found this on), will have no trouble with Club Accounts. Essentially

More information

7 Secrets To Websites That Sell. By Alex Nelson

7 Secrets To Websites That Sell. By Alex Nelson 7 Secrets To Websites That Sell By Alex Nelson Website Secret #1 Create a Direct Response Website Did you know there are two different types of websites? It s true. There are branding websites and there

More information

Franchising USA HEALTHY FRANCHISING WOMEN IN FRANCHISING: HOW MUCH MONEY WILL YOUR FRANCHISE MAKE? WEIGHT LOSS & WELLNESS: FROM MARKETING TO MILLIONS

Franchising USA HEALTHY FRANCHISING WOMEN IN FRANCHISING: HOW MUCH MONEY WILL YOUR FRANCHISE MAKE? WEIGHT LOSS & WELLNESS: FROM MARKETING TO MILLIONS THE MAGAZINE FOR FRANCHISEES VOL 02, ISSUE 05, MAR 2014 $5.95 www.franchisingusamagazine.com WEIGHT LOSS & WELLNESS: HEALTHY FRANCHISING HOW MUCH MONEY WILL YOUR FRANCHISE MAKE? WOMEN IN FRANCHISING: FROM

More information

CANADA AND THE NORTH INSUFFICIENT SECURITY RESOURCES THEN AND NOW

CANADA AND THE NORTH INSUFFICIENT SECURITY RESOURCES THEN AND NOW CANADA AND THE NORTH INSUFFICIENT SECURITY RESOURCES THEN AND NOW Prepared by: Colonel (Retired) Pierre Leblanc 9 August 2011 BACKGROUND In the late 1990 s I was the Commander of the Canadian Forces in

More information

Havelock (Hav) B. Madill, Q.C. Edmonton. Status: Counsel Phone: 780.497.4898 Email: hmadill@brownleelaw.com Fax: 780.424.3254

Havelock (Hav) B. Madill, Q.C. Edmonton. Status: Counsel Phone: 780.497.4898 Email: hmadill@brownleelaw.com Fax: 780.424.3254 Havelock (Hav) B. Madill, Q.C. Edmonton Status: Counsel Phone: 780.497.4898 Email: hmadill@brownleelaw.com Fax: 780.424.3254 Specific Practice Areas: LITIGATION, INSURANCE, ARBITRATION and MEDIATION Biography:

More information

I am interested in Business Law. WHAT COURSES SHOULD I TAKE?

I am interested in Business Law. WHAT COURSES SHOULD I TAKE? I am interested in Business Law. WHAT COURSES SHOULD I TAKE? DAVID V. SNYDER Professor of Law You probably want a list of courses, right here, right off the bat. I will give you some lists, but realize

More information

5IMPROVE OUTBOUND WAYS TO SALES PERFORMANCE: Best practices to increase your pipeline

5IMPROVE OUTBOUND WAYS TO SALES PERFORMANCE: Best practices to increase your pipeline WAYS TO 5IMPROVE OUTBOUND SALES PERFORMANCE: Best practices to increase your pipeline table of contents Intro: A New Way of Playing the Numbers Game One: Find the decision maker all of them Two: Get ahead

More information

What does student success mean to you?

What does student success mean to you? What does student success mean to you? Student success to me means to graduate with a B average with no failing grades. Ferris is ridicules tuition rates don t affect me since I was fortunate enough to

More information

THE RIGHT HON. THE LORD THOMAS OF CWMGIEDD LORD CHIEF JUSTICE OF ENGLAND AND WALES

THE RIGHT HON. THE LORD THOMAS OF CWMGIEDD LORD CHIEF JUSTICE OF ENGLAND AND WALES THE RIGHT HON. THE LORD THOMAS OF CWMGIEDD LORD CHIEF JUSTICE OF ENGLAND AND WALES SPEECH TO THE TEMPLE WOMEN S FORUM AND THE ASSOCIATION OF WOMEN BARRISTERS 29 APRIL 2015 INTRODUCTION 1. Thank you very

More information

Statement by Dean Baker, Co-Director of the Center for Economic and Policy Research (www.cepr.net)

Statement by Dean Baker, Co-Director of the Center for Economic and Policy Research (www.cepr.net) Statement by Dean Baker, Co-Director of the Center for Economic and Policy Research (www.cepr.net) Before the U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission, hearing on China and the Future of Globalization.

More information

My name is Jim Felstiner and I graduated from the University of Toronto, Factor- Inwentash Faculty of Social Work in 1961.

My name is Jim Felstiner and I graduated from the University of Toronto, Factor- Inwentash Faculty of Social Work in 1961. Profiles in Social Work Episode 23 James Felstiner Intro - Hi, I m Charmaine Williams, Associate Professor and Associate Dean, Academic, for the University of Toronto, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social

More information

Determining Future Loss of Income

Determining Future Loss of Income Welcome to the Information Podcast Series brought to you by the Lerners Injury Law Group. This podcast has been designed to help answer some questions that you may have as you make a decision to hire a

More information

Rock-N-Happy Heart: The Devotional By Yancy. by Yancy

Rock-N-Happy Heart: The Devotional By Yancy. by Yancy Rock-N-Happy Heart: The Devotional By Yancy by Yancy 1 73 Day 1-Dreams Will Come True Once upon a time a long time ago, I was a little girl with a dream. I loved to sing. (My parents have told that me

More information

AXA Global Graduate Program 2016

AXA Global Graduate Program 2016 Cynthia AXA Graduate AXA Global Graduate Program 2016 www.axa.com/graduates Contents Welcome 02 Who we are 03 Our Global Graduate Program 04 What graduates mean to our business 05 Meet Gabriel 06 Where

More information

Changing the shape of British retirement. www.homewise.co.uk

Changing the shape of British retirement. www.homewise.co.uk Changing the shape of British retirement Free Phone 0800 043 33 66 About us Welcome to Homewise Like many people, you may have spent years looking forward to a dream retirement lifestyle, perhaps wanting

More information

Lance Pitlick has built two careers from his passion for hockey

Lance Pitlick has built two careers from his passion for hockey cover story l by Liz Kohman // Photos by Silas Crews Lance Pitlick has built two careers from his passion for hockey H ockey coach Lance Pitlick was trying to teach his team to improve their stick handling

More information

Qualifying as a Lawyer in Canada: Career Options For Graduates of Cardiff University

Qualifying as a Lawyer in Canada: Career Options For Graduates of Cardiff University Qualifying as a Lawyer in Canada: Career Options For Graduates of Cardiff University See now the Guidelines Issued by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada as revised in January 2015 at http://www.flsc.ca/en/nca/nca-resources/policies/

More information

Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a Real Estate Agent

Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a Real Estate Agent Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a Real Estate Agent 1 Introduction Selling a home can be one of the most stressful situations of your life. Whether you re upsizing, downsizing, moving across the

More information

A View from the Top. An Interview with Ian Taylor, President and Chief Executive Officer of Vitol. By Walt Lukken

A View from the Top. An Interview with Ian Taylor, President and Chief Executive Officer of Vitol. By Walt Lukken A View from the Top By Walt Lukken An Interview with Ian Taylor, President and Chief Executive Officer of Vitol 38 Futures Industry www.futuresindustry.com Ian Taylor is a man on the move. As president

More information

Kim: Thank you Todd, I m delighted to be here today and totally looking forward to our conversation.

Kim: Thank you Todd, I m delighted to be here today and totally looking forward to our conversation. Filename: P4P 019 The Facts of Life Insurance Todd: [0:00:18] Hey everybody, welcome to another edition of The Prosperity Podcast, this is No BS Money Guy Todd Strobel. Once again, we re lucky enough to

More information

Realistic Job Preview Family Services Specialist (FSS)

Realistic Job Preview Family Services Specialist (FSS) Realistic Job Preview Family Services Specialist (FSS) Carol Sideris: I m Carol Sideris, Director of the Division of Client Services, and I m delighted that you re considering a position with us. Over

More information

REAL ESTATE SALES SOLUTIONS A GREG HARRELSON SALES ACADEMY

REAL ESTATE SALES SOLUTIONS A GREG HARRELSON SALES ACADEMY REAL ESTATE SALES SOLUTIONS A GREG HARRELSON SALES ACADEMY A MESSAGE FROM OUR FOUNDER AND CEO GREG HARRELSON Hello and thank you for taking the time to learn about the many benefits of working with our

More information

Public Relations in the Education market

Public Relations in the Education market Public Relations in the Education market The essence of PR is a clash of wants and desires. PR involves telling journalists, producers and editors about your product or service in a way that results in

More information

Customers, carbon and costs: A new business model now?

Customers, carbon and costs: A new business model now? Customers, carbon and costs: A new business model now? Al Monaco, President and CEO, Enbridge Inc. May 26, 2016 address to PricewaterhouseCoopers 7 th annual Energy Visions Business Forum Main Ballroom

More information

What do you love to do? Retirement Activity Book

What do you love to do? Retirement Activity Book What do you love to do? Retirement Activity Book Welcome to the AfterWorks Retirement Seminar Being able to do more of what you love is really what investing is all about. You may think that your financial

More information

Example Interview Transcript

Example Interview Transcript Ms Bossy DeBoss Namey Mc Name Thank you for coming to see us for your interview today, Namey. How was your journey, did you have any trouble finding us? My journey was fine thank you, Ms DeBoss. The instructions

More information

DESCRIBING OUR COMPETENCIES. new thinking at work

DESCRIBING OUR COMPETENCIES. new thinking at work DESCRIBING OUR COMPETENCIES new thinking at work OUR COMPETENCIES - AT A GLANCE 2 PERSONAL EFFECTIVENESS Influencing Communicating Self-development Decision-making PROVIDING EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE

More information

The Art (& Science) of Informational Interviewing. Mark Friedfeld Assistant Director Haas MBA Career Management Group

The Art (& Science) of Informational Interviewing. Mark Friedfeld Assistant Director Haas MBA Career Management Group The Art (& Science) of Informational Interviewing Mark Friedfeld Assistant Director Haas MBA Career Management Group Put yourself in the employers' shoes Post and Pray They want to hire someone who is

More information

Now More Than Ever: Community Colleges Daniel Wister

Now More Than Ever: Community Colleges Daniel Wister 28 Preview Now More Than Ever: Community Colleges Daniel Wister When Miranda left for school at a faraway university, she thought that all her dreams were on their way to coming true. Then, once disappointment

More information

Money Math for Teens. Dividend-Paying Stocks

Money Math for Teens. Dividend-Paying Stocks Money Math for Teens Dividend-Paying Stocks This Money Math for Teens lesson is part of a series created by Generation Money, a multimedia financial literacy initiative of the FINRA Investor Education

More information

Colleen s Interview With Ivan Kolev

Colleen s Interview With Ivan Kolev Colleen s Interview With Ivan Kolev COLLEEN: [TO MY READERS] Hello, everyone, today I d like to welcome you to my interview with Ivan Kolev (affectionately known as Coolice). Hi there, Ivan, and thank

More information

Copyright (c) 2015 Christopher Small and The Art of Lawyering. All rights reserved.

Copyright (c) 2015 Christopher Small and The Art of Lawyering. All rights reserved. Copyright (c) 2015 Christopher Small and The Art of Lawyering. All rights reserved. 1 In this special report, I ll be sharing with you the ten biggest mistakes that lawyers make when marketing their law

More information

Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a Divorce Lawyer

Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a Divorce Lawyer Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a Divorce Lawyer Introduction Divorce is a stressful time for everyone. Whether you ve been together for 3 months or 30 years, it s important that you follow through

More information

Rock-a-bye baby: Quad-City couple fosters infants

Rock-a-bye baby: Quad-City couple fosters infants Home / Lifestyles Rock-a-bye baby: Quad-City couple fosters infants Story Discussion Kay Luna Posted: Monday, December 15, 2008 12:00 am (2) Comments Font Size: Default font size Larger font size Andrew

More information

Income For Life Introduction

Income For Life Introduction Income For Life Introduction If you are like most Americans, you ve worked hard your entire life to create a standard of living for yourself that you wish to maintain for years to come. You have probably

More information

Three Attributes of Every Successful Merchant Services Program-20140604 1602-1

Three Attributes of Every Successful Merchant Services Program-20140604 1602-1 Three Attributes of Every Successful Merchant Services Program-20140604 1602-1 [Start of recorded material] [Starts Mid Sentence] thank everyone that s joined the call today. I know everybody is busy with

More information

UNIVERSITY OF CAMBRIDGE FACULTY OF LAW OPEN DAY 2012

UNIVERSITY OF CAMBRIDGE FACULTY OF LAW OPEN DAY 2012 UNIVERSITY OF CAMBRIDGE FACULTY OF LAW OPEN DAY 2012 Talk: Speaker: Law at Cambridge Mrs Nicky Padfield I m Nicky Padfield and I m going to start with a bit of nitty gritty on the law course in Cambridge.

More information

HE WHO WRITES THE CHECK IS FREE!

HE WHO WRITES THE CHECK IS FREE! HE WHO WRITES THE CHECK IS FREE JOSEPH WOODHOUSE WALL STREET PIONEER Jana B. Woodhouse One of the many reasons I love being affiliated with Transamerica Financial Advisors, Inc. and World Financial Group,

More information

A: We really embarrassed ourselves last night at that business function.

A: We really embarrassed ourselves last night at that business function. Dialog: VIP LESSON 049 - Future of Business A: We really embarrassed ourselves last night at that business function. B: What are you talking about? A: We didn't even have business cards to hand out. We

More information

TaxDiversity Interview: Sam Thompson

TaxDiversity Interview: Sam Thompson TaxDiversity Interview: Sam Thompson Samuel Thompson, currently a professor of law at Penn State s Dickinson School of Law and the founder and director of Penn State s Center for the Study of Mergers and

More information

Voices of SLA. Miriam (Mimi) Drake (MD) Interviewed by Gail Stahl (GS) April 22, 2009

Voices of SLA. Miriam (Mimi) Drake (MD) Interviewed by Gail Stahl (GS) April 22, 2009 1 Voices of SLA Miriam (Mimi) Drake () Interviewed by Gail Stahl () April 22, 2009 This interview is with Miriam (Mimi) Drake, past SLA president. My name is Gail Stahl; we are sitting in Mimi s living

More information

An Interview with Berlin School President Michael Conrad for Media Marketing Magazine

An Interview with Berlin School President Michael Conrad for Media Marketing Magazine An Interview with Berlin School President Michael Conrad for Media Marketing Magazine Author: Lea Stanković, Berlin School EMBA Participant, Class 10 I met Michael Conrad for the first time in Berlin in

More information

Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a Real Estate Agent

Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a Real Estate Agent Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a Real Estate Agent Seven Things To Know Before Hiring a Real Estate Agent Copyright All Rights Reserved 1 Introduction Selling a home can be one of the most stressful

More information

Bottleneck. Breaking. the ST. LOUIS

Bottleneck. Breaking. the ST. LOUIS SMART BUSINESS ST. LOUIS Insight. Advice. Strategy. How to lead with fight or flight theory in mind Effective content strategies can empower you Sometimes it s good to believe in magic Breaking the Bottleneck

More information

How to Meet EDI Compliance with Cloud ERP

How to Meet EDI Compliance with Cloud ERP How to Meet EDI Compliance with Cloud ERP Lincoln: This is Trek Talk, the Cloud ERP podcast and today s topic is Advantages of an EDI Compliant Cloud ERP. With cloud ERP you can meet your goals for EDI

More information

THE STATESMAN. A GWC Student Attends Law School. New 2005 George Wythe College Campus. Happy Holidays! From George Wythe College. On Campus Seminars:

THE STATESMAN. A GWC Student Attends Law School. New 2005 George Wythe College Campus. Happy Holidays! From George Wythe College. On Campus Seminars: THE STATESMAN Volume 8 Issue 12 December 2005 Happy Holidays! From George Wythe College On Campus Seminars: Dec 16-17 Mar 4-5 Mar 7-8 May 2-27 May 30-31 July 15-16 Roots of America How to Read a Book A

More information

Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a DUI Lawyer

Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a DUI Lawyer Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a DUI Lawyer 1 Introduction Some people don t quite understand the severity of getting a DUI. In many cases, your license is instantly taken away and you won t

More information

Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a DUI Attorney

Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a DUI Attorney Seven Things You Must Know Before Hiring a DUI Attorney Seven Things to Know Before Hiring a DUI Attorney Copyright 2014 SmartWeb Online 1 Introduction Some people don t quite understand the severity of

More information

The 7 Biggest Marketing Mistakes Small Business Owners Make and How to Avoid Them

The 7 Biggest Marketing Mistakes Small Business Owners Make and How to Avoid Them The 7 Biggest Marketing Mistakes Small Business Owners Make and How to Avoid Them www.basicbananas.com BASICBANANAS Ph:+611300691883 ABN43239027805 POBox502,Narrabeen,NSW2101,Sydney,Australia The 7 Biggest

More information

Customer Referral Programs A How-To Guide to Help You Generate Better Sales Leads

Customer Referral Programs A How-To Guide to Help You Generate Better Sales Leads Customer Referral Programs A How-To Guide to Help You Generate Better Sales Leads Whatare Customer Referral Programs? Customer referral programs are a simple, low cost and effective marketing strategy,

More information

A New Approach to Lead Generation* for Forward Thinking Firms. *These strategies consistently generate 30% response rate.

A New Approach to Lead Generation* for Forward Thinking Firms. *These strategies consistently generate 30% response rate. A New Approach to Lead Generation* for Forward Thinking Firms *These strategies consistently generate 30% response rate. Confidential: The systems and processes discussed within are proprietary and confidential

More information

Cutting to the chase What do you need to get accepted to an economics PhD program?

Cutting to the chase What do you need to get accepted to an economics PhD program? A Guide for UCSB Undergraduates Considering a PhD in Economics Dick Startz An economics PhD can be the portal to a satisfying and rewarding career. In this Guide we tell you a little bit about getting

More information

Interview: Professor Adrian Payne. Handbook of CRM: Achieving Excellence in Customer Management.

Interview: Professor Adrian Payne. Handbook of CRM: Achieving Excellence in Customer Management. Interview: Handbook of CRM: Achieving Excellence in Customer Management. Hello, this is Steve Macaulay from Cranfield School of Management. I am here today to discuss with his book Handbook of CRM: Achieving

More information

An interview with Nick Blazquez, President, Africa, Diageo

An interview with Nick Blazquez, President, Africa, Diageo 23 An interview with Nick Blazquez, President, Africa, Diageo Diageo, the international drinks company, first shipped Guinness to Sierra Leone in 1827. It built its first brewery outside the British Isles

More information

JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur

JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur An exclusive report to be distributed with THE INDEPENDENT Transcript of the interview with: Mr Mahmoud Skaf General Manager WORLD REPORT: In your opinion, what is it about

More information

Preliminary English Test

Preliminary English Test Preliminary English Test Placement Test Time allowed: 2 hours QUESTION PAPER DO NOT write on this paper Instructions: Please answer all questions DO NOT USE a dictionary Write all answers on the separate

More information

Q&A. Questions and Answers on Insurance for Housing Co-operatives. What insurance does our housing co-operative need?

Q&A. Questions and Answers on Insurance for Housing Co-operatives. What insurance does our housing co-operative need? Q&A Questions and Answers on Insurance for Housing Co-operatives What insurance does our housing co-operative need? You need at least five kinds of insurance perhaps more, depending on your circumstances.

More information

The Psychic Salesperson Speakers Edition

The Psychic Salesperson Speakers Edition The Psychic Salesperson Speakers Edition Report: The Three Parts of the Sales Process by Dave Dee Limits of Liability & Disclaimer of Warranty The author and publisher of this book and the associated materials

More information

JMU Educational Technology Program Alumni Survey Spring 2012

JMU Educational Technology Program Alumni Survey Spring 2012 James Madison University Educational Technology Graduate Survey Executive Summary On March 2, 2012, a survey was sent to individuals who have graduated since 2007 with Master s degrees or certificates

More information

MIDDLETOWN FAMILY FINDS ITS NICHE IN NURSING FIELD

MIDDLETOWN FAMILY FINDS ITS NICHE IN NURSING FIELD MIDDLETOWN FAMILY FINDS ITS NICHE IN NURSING FIELD Posted: April 25, 2015 By SALLY VOTH The Winchester Star The McNeely family (from left) Linda, Jennifer, Kyle and Keith, are shown at Winchester Medical

More information

Clear and Present Payments Danger: Fraud Shifting To U.S., Getting More Complex

Clear and Present Payments Danger: Fraud Shifting To U.S., Getting More Complex Clear and Present Payments Danger: Fraud Shifting To U.S., Getting More Complex Q: Good morning, this is Alex Walsh at PYMNTS.com. I m joined by David Mattei, the vice president and product manager for

More information

You re sitting on a gold mine right there. Are you a good accountant? And many of your clients have been with you for a while?

You re sitting on a gold mine right there. Are you a good accountant? And many of your clients have been with you for a while? Before you start, I want you to know that I believe getting a full education in marketing does not have to be expensive. I also believe that in most cases you should never have to pay retail for any educational

More information

How to Make More Money in the Fitness Industry DEANNA REITER, M.A.

How to Make More Money in the Fitness Industry DEANNA REITER, M.A. How to Make More Money in the Fitness Industry DEANNA REITER, M.A. Notice The information in this book is designed to help you make decisions regarding your fitness career. It is up to the reader to incorporate

More information

Teaching Pre-Service Mainstream Teachers about TESOL. Laurie France. 1.0 Volunteering to Teach Linda Lord s LIT311 Class About TESOL

Teaching Pre-Service Mainstream Teachers about TESOL. Laurie France. 1.0 Volunteering to Teach Linda Lord s LIT311 Class About TESOL This assignment was one that I gave to my EDU 360 class. By the time students get to this point in the TESOL (Teaching English to speakers of other languages) major, they have learned a lot about writing,

More information

It s Not Right! Neighbours, Friends and Families for Older Adults. What You Can Do to Keep Yourself Safe From Abuse

It s Not Right! Neighbours, Friends and Families for Older Adults. What You Can Do to Keep Yourself Safe From Abuse It s Not Right! Neighbours, Friends and Families for Older Adults What You Can Do to Keep Yourself Safe From Abuse Everyone has the right to be safe and free from abuse. No one should experience abuse.

More information

Spring 2011. The Magazine for Members of CMC-Canadaconsult. Gregory Richards FCMC Consulting after the double dip. What s Changed?

Spring 2011. The Magazine for Members of CMC-Canadaconsult. Gregory Richards FCMC Consulting after the double dip. What s Changed? Spring 2011 The Magazine for Members of CMC-Canadaconsult Gregory Richards FCMC Consulting after the double dip What s Changed? These experienced and accomplished professionals chose the Certified Management

More information

Selling RIGHTMOVE S GUIDE TO. PREPARING TO SELL Things you need to consider. HOW MUCH IS YOUR HOUSE WORTH? Making sure the price is right

Selling RIGHTMOVE S GUIDE TO. PREPARING TO SELL Things you need to consider. HOW MUCH IS YOUR HOUSE WORTH? Making sure the price is right RIGHTMOVE S GUIDE TO Selling PREPARING TO SELL Things you need to consider HOW MUCH IS YOUR HOUSE WORTH? Making sure the price is right GETTING THE MOST OUT OF VIEWINGS Creating the right impression PREPARING

More information

Jared Roberts (PelotonU)

Jared Roberts (PelotonU) p.1 Jared Roberts (PelotonU) Jared Roberts: Hello Dave. David Cutler: Hey, is this Jared? Jared: Yes, it is, how are you doing? David: I'm doing great, Jared. Thank you so much for speaking with me, I

More information

Transcription. Founder Interview - Panayotis Vryonis Talks About BigStash Cloud Storage. Media Duration: 28:45

Transcription. Founder Interview - Panayotis Vryonis Talks About BigStash Cloud Storage. Media Duration: 28:45 Transcription Founder Interview - Panayotis Vryonis Talks About BigStash Cloud Storage Media Duration: 28:45 Feel free to quote any passage from this interview for your articles. Please reference cloudwards.net

More information

Away. TheTake. Elm Plaza Pharmacy s drug disposal program helps the environment and attracts new business. By Chris Linville

Away. TheTake. Elm Plaza Pharmacy s drug disposal program helps the environment and attracts new business. By Chris Linville TheTake Away Elm Plaza Pharmacy s drug disposal program helps the environment and attracts new business By Chris Linville A few years ago, when Steve Hiemenz decided to start a medication take back program

More information

Nine Question You Should Always Ask Every Lawyer You Interview in a Personal Injury or Wrongful Death Case

Nine Question You Should Always Ask Every Lawyer You Interview in a Personal Injury or Wrongful Death Case Nine Question You Should Always Ask Every Lawyer You Interview in a Personal Injury or Wrongful Death Case Here are 9 questions you should ask EVERY lawyer you interview to represent you in a personal

More information

Scripts for Recruiters

Scripts for Recruiters Scripts for Recruiters Companion Script Guide for The New Recruiters Tool Kit www.greatrecruitertraining.com Copyright 2010 Scott Love 1 How to Use This Guide Use this companion script guide while watching

More information

Competition, choice and innovation driving the customer experience in banking

Competition, choice and innovation driving the customer experience in banking Competition, choice and innovation driving the customer experience in banking A Speech by Nathalie Clark General Counsel and Corporate Secretary Canadian Bankers Association For MBA Association of Quebec

More information

Copyright 2011 - Brad Kendall

Copyright 2011 - Brad Kendall Copyright 2011 - Brad Kendall Introduction!4 Are you a commodity or an expert?!6 How to become an Expert!18 Pick your field of expertise!19 Pick something that already interests you!19 Make sure you know

More information

How to Start Your Own Hosting Company for Free!

How to Start Your Own Hosting Company for Free! How to Start Your Own Hosting Company for Free! Starting your own hosting company for free is nice, but it gets even better. Imagine that your hosting company only takes a couple hours to set up. Imagine

More information

The Hottest Recruiting Scripts in MLM by Eric Worre

The Hottest Recruiting Scripts in MLM by Eric Worre The Hottest Recruiting Scripts in MLM by Eric Worre It s a stone cold fact that we have a better way, now let s go tell the world For more information on how to become a Network Marketing Professional,

More information

Each year, he mentors 24 people and helps them acquire an existing profitable business using little to no money.

Each year, he mentors 24 people and helps them acquire an existing profitable business using little to no money. Welcome to The Boomer Business Owner. My guest today is Ace Chapman. Ace is an honorary Baby Boomer and a small business buyer who has purchased 15 offline business and sold 13 of them. He has bought close

More information

The One Key Thing You Need to Be Successful In Prospecting and In Sales

The One Key Thing You Need to Be Successful In Prospecting and In Sales The One Key Thing You Need to Be Successful In Prospecting and In Sales The secret key to being successful in prospecting and in sales found in this report will work in ANY INDUSTRY for any product or

More information

>> My name is Danielle Anguiano and I am a tutor of the Writing Center which is just outside these doors within the Student Learning Center.

>> My name is Danielle Anguiano and I am a tutor of the Writing Center which is just outside these doors within the Student Learning Center. >> My name is Danielle Anguiano and I am a tutor of the Writing Center which is just outside these doors within the Student Learning Center. Have any of you been to the Writing Center before? A couple

More information

How to Generate a Consistent, Quality Flow of Referrals from CPA s and Attorneys Manual

How to Generate a Consistent, Quality Flow of Referrals from CPA s and Attorneys Manual How to Generate a Consistent, Quality Flow of Referrals from CPA s and Attorneys Manual Mike Kaselnak 2008 1 Mike Kaselnak 2008 2 Table of Contents Are we going to live with the pain or do something about

More information

ROLES TO ASSIGN. 1. Judge. 2. Courtroom Deputy. 3. Prosecutor 1 opening statement. 4. Prosecutor 2 direct of Dana Capro

ROLES TO ASSIGN. 1. Judge. 2. Courtroom Deputy. 3. Prosecutor 1 opening statement. 4. Prosecutor 2 direct of Dana Capro ROLES TO ASSIGN 1. Judge 2. Courtroom Deputy 3. Prosecutor 1 opening statement 4. Prosecutor 2 direct of Dana Capro 5. Prosecutor 3 direct of Jamie Medina 6. Prosecutor 4 cross of Pat Morton 7. Prosecutor

More information

ALL I REALLY NEED TO KNOW ABOUT PRACTICING LAW I LEARNED FROM JUDGE HOLLOWAY

ALL I REALLY NEED TO KNOW ABOUT PRACTICING LAW I LEARNED FROM JUDGE HOLLOWAY ALL I REALLY NEED TO KNOW ABOUT PRACTICING LAW I LEARNED FROM JUDGE HOLLOWAY Only in hindsight do I fully appreciate how fortunate I was to start my legal career clerking for Judge Holloway. Every year,

More information

Theory U Toolbook 1.1. www.presencing.com. Dialogue Interviews. for regular updates:

Theory U Toolbook 1.1. www.presencing.com. Dialogue Interviews. for regular updates: Theory U Toolbook 1.1 Dialogue Interviews for regular updates: www.presencing.com Dialogue Interviews At a Glance Dialogue interviews are intended to engage the interviewee in a reflective and generative

More information